

# **Michigan Supreme Court**

State Court Administrative Office **Field Services Division** Michigan Hall of Justice P.O. Box 30048 Lansing, Michigan 48909 Phone (517) 373-4835

Ryan P. Gamby Field Services Director

#### **MEMORANDUM**

DATE: August 15, 2022

TO: District Court Judges

**District Court Magistrates** 

**District Court Probation Officers** 

Michigan Department of Corrections Probation Officers

Circuit Court Judges Court Administrators

FROM: Ryan Gamby, Field Services Director

RE: Amendments of MCR 6.001, 6.003, 6.102, 6.103, 6.106, 6.445, 6.615, and 6.933

Addition of MCR 6.105, 6.441, and 6.450

In 2020, a series of Public Acts<sup>1</sup> codified many recommendations of the Michigan Joint Task Force on Jail and Pretrial Incarceration. The State Court Administrative Office (SCAO) issued a <u>Legislative Analysis</u> at the time and offered multiple trainings to assist courts with implementation.

On November 17, 2021, the Michigan Supreme Court published for comment various amendments and additions to Chapter 6 of the Michigan Court Rules to align with these statutory revisions. The Court issued an <u>Order</u> on May 18, 2022 adopting the amendments and additions with an effective date of **September 1, 2022**.

This memorandum summarizes the Order, focusing exclusively on new procedures that differ from current practices. This resource is not exhaustive—trial courts should still independently review the Order to ensure a complete understanding of the amendments and additions. For ease of reference, this memo cites to court rules as they will appear, effective on September 1, 2022.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 2020 PA 375-387, 2020 PA 393-398, 2021 PA 39.

# MCR 6.001 (Scope; Applicability of Civil Rules; Superseded Rules and Statues)

#### What's New?

• **Felony and Misdemeanor Cases:** Under MCR 6.001, the court rule amendments and additions in this Order apply to cases cognizable in *both* district and circuit court. MCR 6.001(A)-(B).

## MCR 6.102 (Warrants and Summonses)

#### What's New?

- **Service:** MCR 6.102 clarifies a criminal summons may be served by *either* the court or the prosecuting attorney.
- SCAO Forms: DC 225w (Warrant Misdemeanor) and MC 200w (Warrant Felony) now contain fields for the court to identify the reason a warrant is being issued rather than a summons. MCL 764.1a(2); MCR 6.102(D).

### MCR 6.103 (Failure to Appear)

#### What's New?

- **Bench Warrant Delay:** MCL 764.3(1) currently requires a court to wait, subject to certain exceptions, 48 hours before issuing a bench warrant for failing to appear in court. MCR 6.103(A) now clarifies the 48-hour delay must *exclude weekends and holidays if the court is closed to the public*.
- **Show Cause:** MCR 6.103(B) indicates the court rule does not abridge a court's authority to issue an order to show cause, instead of a bench warrant, for a failure to appear in court.

### [NEW] MCR 6.441 (Early Probation Discharge)

MCL 771.2 establishes a process for early probation discharge. It identifies eligibility criteria for early discharge, the process for notifying the court of early probation discharge eligibility, and the requirements for when a hearing must be held.

#### What's New?

• **Prosecutor Service and Objection:** Under MCR 6.441(B), if the probation department notifies the court of a probationer's eligibility for early discharge, the probation department must serve copies on the *prosecuting attorney and probationer*. If the probationer notifies the court, the probationer must serve copies on the *prosecuting attorney and the probation department*.

The prosecuting attorney must file any written objection to an early probation discharge within 14 days of receiving service of the notice. If the prosecutor submits a timely objection, the court must hold a hearing before authorizing an early probation discharge.

- **Burden of Proof:** At the early probation discharge hearing, the probationer carries the burden of proving the probationer's eligibility for early probation discharge by a preponderance of the evidence. MCR 6.441(F).
- **Impact on Sentencing:** The eligibility for early probation discharge must not influence the court's sentencing decision regarding the length of the *original* probationary period. MCR 6.441(G)
- SCAO Forms: <u>MC 243 (Order of Probation)</u> now contains Item #11 from which the court can specify whether the probationer may be eligible for early discharge from probation under <u>MCL 771.2</u>.

# MCR 6.445 (Probation Violation and Revocation)

#### What's New?

• **Probation Violation Arraignments:** MCR 6.445(B)(2) requires the court to inform the probationer at the arraignment *whether the alleged probation violation is charged as a technical or non-technical violation of probation*, and the maximum possible jail or prison sentence.

To assist with this, MC 246 (Request and Summons for Probation Violation) and MC 246a (Request and Warrant for Probation Violation) were amended to allow the probation officer to identify whether the alleged violation is a technical or non-technical violation.

- **Guilty Pleas:** MCR 6.445(F)(4) requires the court to establish factual support for a finding of *whether the violation is a technical or non-technical violation of probation*.
- **Probation Violation Hearing:** MCR 6.445(E)(2) requires the court to determine, if the violation is proven, whether the violation is a technical or non-technical violation of probation.

MC 433 (Order Following Probation Violation Hearing) contains a field allowing the court to identify how many technical violations the probationer has received. This is important information to capture to maintain a record and accurately inform the defendant of potential jail time at arraignments for any future violations.

### [NEW] MCR 6.450 (Technical Probation Violation Acknowledgment)

MCL 771.4b(2) indicates a probationer may acknowledge a technical probation violation in writing without a hearing before the court. MCR 6.450 is a new rule that provides procedural clarity regarding how a technical probation violation is acknowledged and processed.

### What's New?

• **Acknowledgment Requirements:** An acknowledgment of a technical probation violation must be in writing and advise the probationer of the following information:

- 1. The probationer has a right to contest the alleged technical probation violation at a formal probation violation hearing.
- 2. The probationer is entitled to a lawyer's assistance at the probation violation hearing and at all subsequent court proceedings, and that the court will appoint a lawyer at public expense if the probationer wants one and is financially unable to retain one.
- 3. The court will not revoke probation or sentence the probationer to incarceration as a result of the acknowledgment, but the court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, or extend probation.
- 4. If a probationer violates probation again, the court may consider the acknowledgment a prior technical probation violation conviction for the purposes of determining the maximum jail or prison sentence and probation revocation eligibility authorized by law.
- 5. Acknowledging a technical probation violation may delay the probationer's eligibility for an early discharge from probation. MCR 6.450(A)(1)-(5).
- **Court Action:** The court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, or extend the term of probation upon an acknowledged technical probation violation. The court *may not* impose a sentence of incarceration or revoke probation. An acknowledged probation violation may be counted for the purpose of identifying the number of technical probation violations under MCL 771.4b. MCR 6.450(B).

The court is not required to allow a probationer to acknowledge a technical probation violation. MCR 6.450(A). If the court is inclined to impose incarceration or revoke probation, a formal probation violation proceeding must be initiated.

• SCAO Forms: MC 521 (Technical Probation Violation Acknowledgment) is a new form and may be used to acknowledge technical probation violations.

#### MCR 6.615 (Misdemeanor Cases)

#### What's New?

• **Applicability:** MCR 6.615 is now applicable to all misdemeanor cases, not only to misdemeanor traffic cases.

Please contact your SCAO regional administrator with any questions.

Order

Michigan Supreme Court
Lansing, Michigan

May 18, 2022

ADM File No. 2021-41

Amendments of Rules 6.001, 6.003, 6.102, 6.103, 6.106, 6.445, 6.615, and 6.933 and Addition of Rules 6.105, 6.441, and 6.450 of the Michigan Court Rules

Bridget M. McCormack, Chief Justice

> Brian K. Zahra David F. Viviano Richard H. Bernstein Elizabeth T. Clement Megan K. Cavanagh Elizabeth M. Welch, Justices

On order of the Court, notice of the proposed changes and an opportunity for comment in writing and at a public hearing having been provided, and consideration having been given to the comments received, the following amendments of Rules 6.001, 6.003, 6.102, 6.103, 6.106, 6.445, 6.615, and 6.933 and additions of Rules 6.105, 6.441, and 6.450 of the Michigan Court Rules are adopted, effective September 1, 2022.

[Additions to the text are indicated in underlining and deleted text is shown by strikeover.]

Rule 6.001 Scope; Applicability of Civil Rules; Superseded Rules and Statutes

- (A) [Unchanged.]
- (B) Misdemeanor Cases. MCR 6.001-6.004, 6.005(B) and (C), 6.006, 6.101-, 6.102(D) and (F), 6.103, 6.104(A), 6.105-6.106, 6.125, 6.202, 6.425(D)(3), 6.427, 6.430, 6.435, 6.440, 6.441, 6.445(A) (G), 6.450, and the rules in subchapter 6.600 govern matters of procedure in criminal cases cognizable in the district court.

(C)-(E) [Unchanged.]

Rule 6.003 Definitions

For purposes of subchapters 6.000-6.800:

- (1)-(6) [Unchanged.]
- (7) "Technical probation violation" means any violation of the terms of a probation order, including missing or failing a drug test, excluding the following:
  - (a) A violation of an order of the court requiring that the probationer have no contact with a named individual.

- (b) A violation of a law of this state, a political subdivision of this state, another state, or the United States or of tribal law, whether or not a new criminal offense is charged.
- (c) The consumption of alcohol by a probationer who is on probation for a felony violation of MCL 257.625.
- (d) Absconding, defined as the intentional failure of a probationer to report to his or her supervising agent or to advise his or her supervising agent of his or her whereabouts for a continuous period of not less than 60 days.

# Rule 6.102 Arrest on a Warrants and Summonses

- (A) Issuance of <u>Summons</u>; Warrant. A court must issue an arrest warrant, or a summons as provided in this rulein accordance with MCR 6.103, if presented with a proper complaint and if the court finds probable cause to believe that the accused committed the alleged offense.
- (B) [Unchanged.]
- (C) Summons. A court must issue a summons unless otherwise provided in subrule (D).
  - (1) Form. A summons must contain the same information as an arrest warrant, except that it should summon the accused to appear before a designated court at a stated time and place.
  - (2) Service and Return of Summons. A summons may be served by the court or prosecuting attorney by
    - (a) delivering a copy to the named individual; or
    - (b) leaving a copy with a person of suitable age and discretion at the individual's home or usual place of abode; or
    - (c) mailing a copy to the individual's last known address.

Service should be made promptly to give the accused adequate notice of the appearance date. Unless service is made by the court, the person serving the summons must make a return to the court before the person is summoned to appear.

(3) If the accused fails to appear in response to a summons, the court may issue a bench warrant pursuant to MCR 6.103.

- (D) Arrest Warrant. A court may issue an arrest warrant, rather than a summons, if any of the following circumstance apply
  - (1) the complaint is for an assaultive crime or an offense involving domestic violence, as defined in MCL 764.1a.
  - (2) there is reason to believe from the complaint that the person against whom the complaint is made will not appear upon a summons.
  - (3) the issuance of a summons poses a risk to public safety.
  - (4) the prosecutor has requested an arrest warrant.

(C)-(F) [Relettered (E)-(H) but otherwise unchanged.]

### Rule 6.103 Failure to Appear Summons Instead of Arrest

- (A) In General. Except as provided in MCR 6.615(B), if a defendant fails to appear in court, the court must wait 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays if the court is closed to the public, before issuing a bench warrant to allow the defendant an opportunity to voluntarily appear before the court.
  - (1) This rule does not apply if the case is for an assaultive crime or domestic violence offense, as defined in MCL 764.3, or if the defendant previously failed to appear in the case.
  - (2) If this rule does apply, the court may immediately issue a bench warrant only if the court has a specific articulable reason, stated on the record, to suspect any of the following apply:
    - (a) the defendant has committed a new crime.
    - (b) a person or property will be endangered if a bench warrant is not issued.
    - (c) prosecution witnesses have been summoned and are present for the proceeding.
    - (d) the proceeding is to impose a sentence for the crime.
    - (e) there are other compelling circumstances that require the immediate issuance of a bench warrant.

- (3) If the defendant does not appear within 48 hours, the court must issue a bench warrant unless the court believes there is good reason to instead schedule the case for further hearing.
- (B) Show Cause. This rule does not abridge a court's authority to issue an order to show cause, instead of a bench warrant, if a defendant fails to appear in court.
- (C) Release Order. The court must not revoke a defendant's release order or forfeit bond during the 48-hour period of delay before a warrant is issued.
- (A) Issuance of Summons. If the prosecutor so requests, the court may issue a summons instead of an arrest warrant. If an accused fails to appear in response to a summons, the court, on request, must issue an arrest warrant.
- (B) Form. A summons must contain the same information as an arrest warrant, except that it should summon the accused to appear before a designated court at a stated time and place.
- (C) Service and Return of Summons. A summons may be served by
  - (1) delivering a copy to the named individual; or
  - (2) leaving a copy with a person of suitable age and discretion at the individual's home or usual place of abode; or
  - (3) mailing a copy to the individual's last known address. Service should be made promptly to give the accused adequate notice of the appearance date. The person serving the summons must make a return to the court before which the person is summoned to appear.

# [NEW] Rule 6.105 Voluntary Appearance

- (A) In General. If a defendant, wanted on a bench or arrest warrant, voluntarily presents himself or herself to the court that issued the warrant within one year of the warrant issuance, the court must either
  - (1) arraign the defendant, if the court is available to do so within two hours of the defendant presenting himself or herself to the court; or
  - (2) recall the warrant and schedule the case for a future appearance.

- It is presumed the defendant is not a flight risk when the court sets bond or other conditions of release at an arraignment under this rule.
- (B) Exceptions. This rule does not apply to assaultive crimes or domestic violence offenses, as defined in MCL 762.10d, or to defendants who have previously benefited from this rule on any pending criminal charge.

Rule 6.106 Pretrial Release

(A)-(H) [Unchanged.]

- (I) Termination of Release Order.
  - (1) [Unchanged.]
  - (2) If the defendant has failed to comply with the conditions of release, the court may, <u>pursuant to MCR 6.103</u>, issue a warrant for the arrest of the defendant and enter an order revoking the release order and declaring the bail money deposited or the surety bond, if any, forfeited.
    - (a)-(c) [Unchanged.]
  - (3) [Unchanged.]

[NEW] Rule 6.441 Early Probation Discharge

- (A) Eligibility. Except as otherwise provided in statute, a probationer is eligible for early discharge from probation when the probationer has completed half of the original probationary period and all required programming. The court must notify the probationer at the time of sentencing, either orally or in writing, about the probationer's early probation discharge eligibility and the notice process contained in this rule.
- (B) Notice of Eligibility. The probation department may file notice with the sentencing court when a probationer becomes eligible for early probation discharge. The notice must be served on the prosecuting attorney and probationer. If the probation department does not file the notice, and the probationer has not violated probation within the last 3 months, the probationer may file the notice with the sentencing court and serve copies to the prosecuting attorney and probation department. The prosecuting attorney must file any written objection to early probation discharge within 14 days of receiving service of the notice.

- (C) Case Review. Upon receiving notice under subrule (B), the court must conduct a preliminary review of the case to determine whether the probationer's behavior warrants a reduction in the original probationary term. A court must not deny early discharge because of outstanding court-ordered fines, fees, or costs, if the probationer has an inability to pay and has made good-faith efforts to make payments. Before granting early discharge to a probationer who owes outstanding restitution, the court must consider the impact of early discharge on the victim and the payment of outstanding restitution.
- (D) Discharge Without a Hearing. Except as provided in subrule (E), the court must discharge a probationer from probation, without a hearing, if the prosecutor does not submit a timely objection and the court's review in subrule (C) determines the probationer
  - (1) is eligible for early probation discharge;
  - (2) achieved all the rehabilitation goals of probation; and
  - (3) is not a specific, articulable, and ongoing risk of harm to a victim that can only be mitigated with continued probation supervision.

If the probationer owes outstanding restitution but has made a good-faith effort to make payments, the court may retain the probationer on probation up to the maximum allowable probation term with the sole condition of continuing restitution payments.

- (E) Hearing Requirement. The court must hold a hearing after conducting the review in subrule (C) if
  - (1) the prosecutor submits a timely objection, or
  - (2) a circumstance identified in MCL 771.2(7) is applicable, or
  - (3) the court reviewed the case and does not grant an early discharge or retain the probationer on probation with the sole condition of continuing restitution payment.

If the hearing is held pursuant to MCL 771.2(7), the prosecuting attorney shall notify the victim of the date and time of the hearing. Both the probationer and victim, if applicable, must be given an opportunity to be heard at the hearing.

(F) Discharge After Hearing. Upon the conclusion of the hearing, the court must either grant early discharge or, if applicable, retain the probationer on probation with the

sole condition of continuing restitution payments, if the probationer proves by a preponderance of the evidence that he or she

- (1) is eligible for early probation discharge;
- (2) achieved all the rehabilitation goals of probation; and
- is not a specific, articulable, and ongoing risk of harm to a victim that can only be mitigated with continued probation supervision.
- (G) Impact on Sentencing. The eligibility for early probation discharge under this rule must not influence the court's sentencing decision regarding the length of the original probationary period.
- (H) Motions. This rule does not prohibit a defendant from motioning, a probation officer from recommending, or the court from considering, a probationer for early discharge from probation at the court's discretion at any time during the duration of the probation term.

### Rule 6.445 Probation Violation and Revocation

- (A) Issuance of Summons; Warrant. The court may issue a bench warrant or summons uponOn finding probable cause to believe that a probationer has committed a non-technical violation violated a condition of probation, the court may. The court must issue a summons, rather than a bench warrant, upon finding probable cause to believe a probationer has committed a technical violation of probation unless the court states on the record a specific reason to suspect that one or more of the following apply:
  - (1) The probationer presents an immediate danger to himself or herself, another person, or the public.issue a summons in accordance with MCR 6.103(B) and (C) for the probationer to appear for arraignment on the alleged violation, or
  - (2) The probationer has left court-ordered inpatient treatment without the court's or the treatment facility's permission. issue a warrant for the arrest of the probationer.
  - (3) A summons has already been issued for the technical probation violation and the probationer failed to appear as ordered.

An arrested probationer must promptly be brought before the court for arraignment on the alleged violation.

- (B) Arraignment on the Charge. At the arraignment on the alleged probation violation, the court must
  - (1) [Unchanged.]
  - (2) inform the probationer whether the alleged violation is charged as a technical or non-technical violation of probation, and the maximum possible jail or prison sentence,
  - (2)-(5) [Renumbered (3)-(6) but otherwise unchanged.]
- (C) Scheduling or Postponement of Hearing. The hearing of a probationer being held in custody for an alleged probation violation must be held within the permissible jail sentence for the probation violation, but in no event longer than 14 days after the arrestarraignment or the court must order the probationer released from that custody pending the hearing. If the alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a separate criminal prosecution, the court may postpone the hearing for the outcome of that prosecution.
- (D) [Unchanged.]
- (E) The Violation Hearing.
  - (1) [Unchanged.]
  - (2) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make findings in accordance with MCR 6.403 and, if the violation is proven, whether the violation is a technical or non-technical violation of probation.
- (F) Pleas of Guilty. The probationer may, at the arraignment or afterward, plead guilty to the violation. Before accepting a guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the probationer and receiving the probationer's response, must
  - (1) advise the probationer that by pleading guilty the probationer is giving up the right to a contested hearing and, if the probationer is proceeding without legal representation, the right to a lawyer's assistance as set forth in subrule  $(B)(\underline{32})(b)$ ,
  - (2)-(3) [Unchanged.]
  - (4) establish factual support for a finding that the probationer is guilty of the alleged violation and whether the violation is a technical or non-technical violation of probation.

(G) Sentencing. If the court finds that the probationer has violated a condition of probation, or if the probationer pleads guilty to a violation, the court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, extend the probation period, or revoke probation and impose a sentence of incarceration <u>pursuant to law</u>. The court may not sentence the probationer to prison without having considered a current presentence report and may not sentence the probationer to prison or jail (including for failing to pay fines, costs, restitution, and other financial obligations imposed by the court) without having complied with the provisions set forth in MCR 6.425(B) and (D).

# (H) [Unchanged.]

# [NEW] Rule 6.450 Technical Probation Violation Acknowledgment

- (A) Acknowledgment. In lieu of initiating a probation violation proceeding under MCR 6.445, the court may allow a probationer to acknowledge a technical probation violation without a hearing. The acknowledgment must be in writing and advise the probationer of the following information
  - (1) the probationer has a right to contest the alleged technical probation violation at a formal probation violation hearing;
  - (2) the probationer is entitled to a lawyer's assistance at the probation violation hearing and at all subsequent court proceedings, and that the court will appoint a lawyer at public expense if the probationer wants one and is financially unable to retain one;
  - (3) the court will not revoke probation or sentence the probationer to incarceration as a result of the acknowledgment, but the court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, or extend probation;
  - (4) if the probationer violates probation again, the court may consider the acknowledgment a prior technical probation violation conviction for the purposes of determining the maximum jail or prison sentence and probation revocation eligibility authorized by law;
  - (5) acknowledging a technical probation violation may delay the probationer's eligibility for an early discharge from probation.
- (B) Review. Upon acknowledgment of a technical probation violation by a probationer, the court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, or extend the term of probation. The court may not impose a sentence of incarceration or revoke

probation for acknowledging a technical probation violation under this rule, but the court may count the acknowledgment for the purpose of identifying the number of technical probation violations under MCL 771.4b.

### Rule 6.615 Misdemeanor Traffic Cases

- (A) Citation; Complaint; Summons; Warrant.
  - (1) A misdemeanor traffic case may be initiated by one of the following procedures:
    - (a) Subject to the exceptions in MCL 764.9c, sService of a written citation by a law enforcement officer on the defendant, and the filing of the citation in the district court. The citation may be prepared electronically or on paper. The citation must be signed by the officer in accordance with MCR 1.109(E)(4); if a citation is prepared electronically and filed with a court as data, the name of the officer that is associated with the issuance of the citation satisfies this requirement.
    - (b) The filing of a sworn complaint in the district court and the issuance of <u>a summons or</u> an arrest warrant. A citation may serve as the sworn complaint and as the basis for a misdemeanor warrant.
    - (c) [Unchanged.]
  - (2) The citation <u>may</u> serves <u>as a sworn complaint and as a summons to command</u>
    - (a) [Unchanged.]
    - (b) <u>for misdemeanor traffic cases,</u> a response from the defendant as to his or her guilt of the violation alleged.
- (B) Appearances; Failure to Appear. If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise to respond to any matter pending relative to a misdemeanor traffic citation issued under MCL 764.9c, the court shall issue an order to show cause proceed as provided in this subrule.
  - (1) The court may immediately issue a bench warrant, rather than an order to show cause, if the court has a specific articulable reason to suspect that any of the following apply and states it on the record:
    - (a) the defendant has committed a new crime.

- (b) the defendant's failure to appear is the result of a willful intent to avoid or delay the adjudication of the case.
- (c) another person or property will be endangered if a warrant is not issued.
- (2) If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise respond to any matter pending relative to a misdemeanor traffic citation, the court must also initiate the procedures required by MCL 257.321a.
- (1) If the defendant is a Michigan resident, the court
  - (a) must initiate the procedures required by MCL 257.321a for the failure to answer a citation; and
  - (b) may issue a warrant for the defendant's arrest.
- (2) If the defendant is not a Michigan resident,
  - (a) the court may mail a notice to appear to the defendant at the address in the citation:
  - (b) the court may issue a warrant for the defendant's arrest; and
  - (c) if the court has received the driver's license of a nonresident, pursuant to statute, it may retain the license as allowed by statute. The court need not retain the license past its expiration date.
- (C) Arraignment. An arraignment in a misdemeanor traffic-case may be conducted by (1)-(2) [Unchanged.]
- (D) Contested Cases. A misdemeanor traffic case must be conducted in compliance with the constitutional and statutory procedures and safeguards applicable to misdemeanors cognizable by the district court.

## Rule 6.933 Juvenile Probation Revocation

(A) General Procedure. When a juvenile, who was placed on juvenile probation and committed to an institution as a state ward, is alleged to have violated juvenile probation, the court shall proceed as provided in MCR 6.445(A) (F). Issuance of Summons; Warrant. When a juvenile, who was placed on juvenile probation and

committed to an institution as a state ward, is alleged to have violated juvenile probation, on finding probable cause to believe that a probationer has violated a condition of probation, the court may

- (1) issue a summons in accordance with MCR 6.102 for the probationer to appear for arraignment on the alleged violation, or
- (2) issue a warrant for the arrest of the probationer.

An arrested probationer must promptly be brought before the court for arraignment on the alleged violation.

- (B) Arraignment on the Charge. At the arraignment on the alleged probation violation, the court must
  - (1) ensure that the probationer receives written notice of the alleged violation,
  - (2) advise the probationer that
    - (a) the probationer has a right to contest the charge at a hearing, and
    - (b) the probationer is entitled to a lawyer's assistance at the hearing and at all subsequent court proceedings, and that the court will appoint a lawyer at public expense if the probationer wants one and is financially unable to retain one,
  - (3) if requested and appropriate, appoint a lawyer,
  - (4) determine what form of release, if any, is appropriate, and
  - (5) <u>subject to subrule (C), set a reasonably prompt hearing date or postpone the</u> hearing.
- (C) Scheduling or Postponement of Hearing. The hearing of a probationer being held in custody for an alleged probation violation must be held within 14 days after the arraignment or the court must order the probationer released from that custody pending the hearing. If the alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a separate criminal prosecution, the court may postpone the hearing for the outcome of that prosecution.
- (D) Continuing Duty to Advise of Right to Assistance of Lawyer. Even though a probationer charged with probation violation has waived the assistance of a lawyer,

at each subsequent proceeding the court must comply with the advice and waiver procedure in MCR 6.005(E).

# (E) The Violation Hearing.

- (1) Conduct of the Hearing. The evidence against the probationer must be disclosed to the probationer. The probationer has the right to be present at the hearing, to present evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses. The court may consider only evidence that is relevant to the violation alleged, but it need not apply the rules of evidence except those pertaining to privileges. The state has the burden of proving a violation by a preponderance of the evidence.
- (2) <u>Judicial Findings</u>. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make findings in accordance with MCR 6.403.
- (F) Pleas of Guilty. The probationer may, at the arraignment or afterward, plead guilty to the violation. Before accepting a guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the probationer and receiving the probationer's response, must
  - advise the probationer that by pleading guilty the probationer is giving up the right to a contested hearing and, if the probationer is proceeding without legal representation, the right to a lawyer's assistance as set forth in subrule (B)(2)(b),
  - (2) advise the probationer of the maximum possible jail or prison sentence for the offense,
  - (3) ascertain that the plea is understandingly, voluntarily, and accurately made, and
  - (4) establish factual support for a finding that the probationer is guilty of the alleged violation.

# (<u>G</u>B) Disposition In General.

- (1) Certain Criminal Offense Violations.
  - (a) [Unchanged.]

(b) The court may not revoke probation and impose sentence under subrule (G)(B)(1) unless at the original sentencing the court gave the advice, as required by MCR 6.931(F)(2), that subsequent conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by more than one year's imprisonment would result in the revocation of juvenile probation and in the imposition of a sentence of imprisonment.

(2)-(3) [Unchanged.]

(C)-(E) [Relettered (H)-(J) but otherwise unchanged.]

*Staff Comment*: The amendments make the rules consistent with recent statutory revisions that resulted from recommendations of the Michigan Joint Task Force on Jail and Pretrial Incarceration.

The staff comment is not an authoritative construction by the Court. In addition, adoption of a new rule or amendment in no way reflects a substantive determination by this Court.



I, Larry S. Royster, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme Court, certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of the order entered at the direction of the Court.

May 18, 2022

