Waiver of Preliminary Examination
ChecKlist!

Q Call the case and ask for oral (or written) appearances of the
prosecutor, defendant, and defense attorney (if present).

Q If defendant is not represented by counsel:

QAdvise defendant of the right to an attorney at public
expense if defendant is indigent.

QIf defendant requests counsel, appoint counsel if defendant
is indigent, or allow defendant a reasonable opportunity to
retain counsel, or obtain a waiver of the right to counsel.
MCL 767.42(1).

QAdvise defendant that if he/she is going to retain counsel,
this may be treated as “good cause” to adjourn the
preliminary examination.

Q If the defendant desires to waive counsel, the court must first:

UAdvise defendant of the charge, the maximum possible
penalties, any mandatory minimum sentence required by
law, and the risk involved in self-representation; and

QOffer the defendant the opportunity to consult with a
retained lawyer or, if the defendant is indigent, the
opportunity to consult with an appointed lawyer.

0 Advise defendant that he/she has a right to a preliminary
examination and ask if he/she wishes to have a preliminary

examination conducted or to waive the examination. MCL
767.42(1); MCR 6.110(A).

1 For more detailed information on this topic, see the Michigan Judicial Institute’s Criminal Proceedings
Benchbook, Vol. 1.

Michigan Judicial Institute Page 1


http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4a26a5/siteassets/publications/benchbooks/criminal/crimpttresponsivehtml5.zip/index.html#t=Crim_PTT%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments-.htm
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4a26a5/siteassets/publications/benchbooks/criminal/crimpttresponsivehtml5.zip/index.html#t=Crim_PTT%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments-.htm
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4a26a5/siteassets/publications/benchbooks/criminal/crimpttresponsivehtml5.zip/index.html#t=Crim_PTT%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments%2FCover_and_Acknowledgments-.htm
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42

Last Updated 9/7/22 Waiver of Preliminary Examination Checklist

0 Advise a juvenile defendant that he/she may not waive a
preliminary examination unless represented by an attorney.

U Advise defendant:

UThat he/she and the prosecutor both have a right to a
preliminary examination, which is a hearing where the
prosecutor must show two things: (1) probable cause to
believe that a felony or circuit court misdemeanor was
committed; (2) probable cause to believe that he/she
committed it.

UThat he/she will be bound over to circuit court on the
charge(s) in the complaint and warrant if he/she waives the
preliminary examination. MCL 767.42(1); MCR 6.110(A);
MCR 6.110(E).

0 Ask defendant if he/she wishes to waive the right to a
preliminary examination. The waiver may be on the charge(s)
in the complaint or amended complaint. MCL 767.42(1); MCR
6.110(A).

Q0 Determine and state for the record that defendant’s waiver of
the preliminary examination is freely, understandingly, and
voluntarily given. The court should make such a determination
in every case, regardless of whether defendant is represented
by counsel. MCL 767.42(1).

0 Ask defendant (or defense counsel) and the prosecutor to state
for the record:

UAny plea agreement made in exchange for the waiver of
the preliminary examination; and

QO Any promises made in exchange for the waiver.

Q If desired, ask defendant (and defense counsel) to read and
sign the form pertaining to waivers of preliminary
examinations, SCAO Form MC 200w, Bindover/Transfer After
Preliminary Examination Felony. Although executing the form is
optional for adult defendants, it is not optional for juvenile
defendants.

Q Verify the prosecutor’s consent to the defendant’s waiver of the
preliminary examination. MCR 6.110(A).

0 Accept defendant’s waiver and, if a plea is not taken, bind him/
her over to circuit court on the charge(s) contained in the
complaint or amended complaint. MCR 6.110(E).

Page 2 Michigan Judicial Institute


http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
http://legislature.mi.gov/doc.aspx?mcl-767-42
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
http://courts.mi.gov/Courts/MichiganSupremeCourt/rules/Documents/HTML/CRs/Ch%206/Court%20Rules%20Book%20Ch%206-Responsive%20HTML5/index.html#t=Court_Rules_Book_Ch_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6%2FCourt_Rules_Chapter_6.htm
https://www.courts.michigan.gov/4a2d9d/siteassets/forms/scao-approved/mc200w.pdf

Waiver of Preliminary Examination Checklist Last Updated 9/7/22

Q If a plea agreement is reached between the parties, proceed to
take the plea.? [NOTE: A district court magistrate may not
accept a felony plea.’]

QVerify that a circuit court judge has been assigned to the
case for purposes of sentencing and other post-plea
matters.

QVerify that the parties know the identity of the assigned
circuit court judge.

UProceed to take the plea.
Q Set, deny, continue, or revoke bail.

U Execute the bindover form, SCAO Form MC 200w, Bindover/
Transfer After Preliminary Examination Felony, if defendant is

bound over for trial to the criminal division of circuit court.
MCR 6.110(E).

Q Schedule the arraignment in circuit court, or have defendant
execute a written waiver of circuit court arraignment, SCAO
Form CC 261, Waiver of Arraignment and Election to Stand Mute
or Enter Not Guilty Plea, if defendant is bound over for trial.
MCR 6.110(I).

Q Order the defendant to undergo venereal disease, hepatitis B,
hepatitis C, and HIV testing in appropriate cases, SCAO Form
MC 234, Order for Counseling and Testing for Disease/Infection.

2 A district judge has the authority to accept a felony plea and must take a plea as provided by court rule if
a plea agreement is reached between the parties. MCL 766.4(3). However, “[s]entencing for a felony shall
be conducted by a circuit judge, who shall be assigned and whose name shall be available to the litigants,
pursuant to court rule, before the plea is taken.” Id.

3 see MCL 766.1; MCL 600.8511.
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