Order

July 2, 2025

ADM File No. 2024-40

Amendment of Rules 2, 3, 3.3, 4, 4.1, 4.2, 6, 7, and 9 of the Michigan Continuing Judicial Education Rules

Michigan Supreme Court Lansing, Michigan

Megan K. Cavanagh, Chief Justice

Brian K. Zahra Richard H. Bernstein Elizabeth M. Welch Kyra H. Bolden Kimberly A. Thomas Noah P. Hood, Justices

On order of the Court, notice of the proposed changes and an opportunity for comment in writing and at a public hearing having been provided, and consideration having been given to the comments received, the following amendments of Rules 2, 3, 3.3, 4, 4.1, 4.2, 6, 7, and 9 of the Michigan Continuing Judicial Education Rules are adopted immediately with retroactive effect to January 1, 2024.

[Additions to the text are indicated in underlining and deleted text is shown by strikeover.]

Rule 2 Definitions

When used in these rules, the words and phrases listed below shall have the following meanings:

(A)-(C) [Unchanged.]

- (D) "Judicial Officer" is a Justice, full- or part-time judge, full- or part-time <u>circuit court</u> referee, full- or part-time district court magistratequasi-judicial officer (including a district court magistrate or circuit court family division referee), or a <u>formerretired</u> judge taking assignment as a visiting judge.
- (E) "Judicial Practice" includes legal knowledge of procedural and substantive lawand ability, communication, and administrative capacity.

(E)-(O) [Unchanged.]

Rule 3 Judicial Education Board

(A) [Unchanged.]

(B) Composition. The Board shall consist of 12 members appointed by the Michigan

Supreme Court as follows:

(1)-(5) [Unchanged.]

(6) 1 member selected as a <u>formerretired</u> judge.

(C)-(D) [Unchanged.]

Rule 3.3 Compensation and Expenses

- (A) The Board shall annually submit to the Michigan Supreme Court's budget committee for its approval the Board's anticipated expenses for the next fiscal year. The Board's submission is due to the budget committee by July 1. For purposes of this subrule, the fiscal year is October 1-September 30.
- (B) [Unchanged.]

Rule 4 Minimum Continuing Judicial Education Requirements

Beginning January 1, 2024, every judicial officer, except for <u>formerretired</u> judges taking assignment, shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of continuing judicial education every two years. Beginning January 1, 2024, <u>formerretired</u> judges taking assignment shall complete a minimum of 8 hours of continuing judicial education every two years.

- (A) [Unchanged.]
- (B) A judicial officer's credited hours shall be distributed as follows:
 - (1) 2 hours in the subject area of integrity and demeanor for <u>formerretired</u> judges taking assignment and <u>46</u> hours for all other judicial officers; and
 - (2) 6 hours in the subject area of judicial practice and related areas for <u>formerretired</u> judges taking assignment and <u>2018</u> hours for all other judicial officers.

If, during the first reporting period under these rules (2024-2025), a judicial officer obtains 5 or 6 credits under subrule (B)(1), the extra 1 or 2 credits shall apply to the credit type required by subrule (B)(2).

(C) [Unchanged.]

Rule 4.1 Fulfillment

The MCJE requirement shall be fulfilled by completing the required number of MCJE hours delivered by accredited providers, or by completing other MCJE activities.

(A) Required Courses. Every judicial officer except for former judges taking assignment must earn aAt least eighthalf of the MCJE required hours for each reporting period shall be earned through courses offered by the Michigan Judicial Institute. Former judges taking assignment must earn at least two of the MCJE required hours for each reporting period through courses offered by the Michigan Judicial Institute. Credits earned during the mandatory Michigan Supreme Court Judicial Conference count as MCJE activity offered by the Michigan Judicial Institute. Courses offered by the Michigan Judicial Institute. Office should be provided at no cost to those required to comply with the MCJE rules.

(B)-(F) [Unchanged.]

Rule 4.2 MCJE Credit for Teaching Activities

Up to 8 of the MCJE required hours for each reporting period may be earned through Board-approved teaching activities under Mich CJE R 7.1.

- (A) [Unchanged.]
- (B) Credit for teaching activities will be given on the basis of 2 hours credit for each hour of presentation the first_-time credit is sought in any reporting period, representing 1 hour of preparation per 1 hour of instruction. Repeat presentations during the reporting period will receive 1 hour of credit per hour of instruction but will not be eligible for the additional hour of preparation time awarded for teaching creditnot be entitled to any further credit.

Rule 6 Activity Approval Standards

An MCJE Activity <u>may be in any format, including but not limited to lectures, panel</u> <u>discussions, or roundtables, and shall</u>:

(A)-(D) [Unchanged.]

(E) <u>Be led or facilitated by individuals whoHave program leaders or lecturers that</u> are qualified with the practical or academic experience necessary to conduct the program effectively.

(F)-(G) [Unchanged.]

Rule 7 Credit for MCJE Activities

(A)-(B) [Unchanged.]

- (C) Credit Increments. Credits will be awarded in 15-minute increments, rounded up or down to the nearest 15 minutes.
- (D)-(E) [Unchanged.]

Rule 9 Reporting Responsibility

- (A) [Unchanged.]
- (B) Form of Reporting of MCJE Activities. A judicial officer shall report MCJE activities to the Board in a manner approved by the Board. <u>Educational providers may, but are not required to, report MCJE activity on behalf of judicial officers. If an educational provider reports MCJE activity on behalf of a judicial officer, the educational provider shall notify the judicial officer, and the judicial officer shall refrain from filing or have removed from their record a duplicate report of the same activity. Educational providers may satisfy this notice requirement in any manner reasonably calculated to provide notice.</u>
- (C) Time for Reporting. A judicial officer shall report MCJE activities <u>prior to the close</u> of each reporting period within 42 days after successfully completing the activity or receiving approval from the Board regarding credit for educational or teaching activities under Mich CJE R 7.1.
- (D) [Unchanged.]

Staff Comment (ADM File No. 2024-40): The amendments of Mich CJE R 2, 3, 3.3, 4, 4.1, 4.2, 6, 7, and 9 implement several suggested changes including: (1) updating the definition of a "judicial officer" to clarify its scope and to replace "retired" with "former" judge, (2) reducing the number of credit hours that must come from MJI offerings, (3) redefining how teaching credit hours may be earned, (4) adjusting the number of required integrity and demeanor hours, (5) clarifying that MCJE activities may be in any format as long as the content meets the requirements of Rule 6 and any other applicable rules, and (6) clarifying reporting responsibilities.

The staff comment is not an authoritative construction by the Court. In addition, adoption of a new rule or amendment in no way reflects a substantive determination by this Court.

HOOD, J., did not participate in the disposition of this administrative matter because the Court considered it before he assumed office.



I, Larry S. Royster, Clerk of the Michigan Supreme Court, certify that the foregoing is a true and complete copy of the order entered at the direction of the Court.

July 2, 2025

Sar Clerk