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MEMORANDUM 
 
DATE:  March 8, 2012 
 
TO:  Circuit Court Administrators and County Clerks 
  District Court Administrators and District Court Clerks 
  Probate Court Administrators and Probate Registers 

cc: Chief Circuit Judges 
  Chief District Judges 
  Chief Probate Judges 
 
FROM: Jennifer Warner, Director 
 
RE:  Certification of Copies and Exemplifications of Records; Fees 
 

 
 The State Court Administrative Office (SCAO) has received inquiries about differing 
local practices in assessing and collecting fees governed by MCL 600.2546.  That statute permits 
the court to charge a fee for the act of certifying a copy of a record or for the act of exemplifying 
records.  However, as a result of recent changes in the requirements of other states regarding the 
exemplification of records pursuant to 28 USC 1738, some courts are now being asked to 
perform other acts that are not authorized by statute, which is creating uncertainty about how to 
respond to these requests, as well as what fee to assess. 
 

The following guidelines provide direction for certifying copies of records and for 
attestation (exemplification) when records are being sent out-of-state, including collection of 
associated fees. 
 
A. Assessing Fees for Certification of Copies and Exemplifications of Records 
 
 Pursuant to MCL 600.25461, a court may charge $10.00 for certifying a copy of a record, 

and may charge $10.00 for the act of exemplifying records (attestation) as required by 28 

                                                 
1  MCL 600.2546. Except as otherwise provided by law, in the circuit court, district court, or probate court, for all 
certified copies, and exemplifications of records, pleadings and proceedings furnished on request, where no special 
provision is otherwise made, the fee is $10.00 plus $1.00 per page.  
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USC 17382, regardless of the number of signatures and seals on the exemplification.  
There is no fee associated with sealing a certified copy of a document or an attestation of 
the clerk (exemplification of records). 

 
B. Guidelines for Collecting Certified Copy and Exemplification of Records Fees 
 
 1. Certification 
 
  A copy of a record (affidavit, document, paper, etc.) is certified by affixing or 

stamping a certification onto that record in accordance with Component 10 of the 
Michigan Trial Court Case File Management Standards.  A certified copy of a 
record need not be sealed by the court unless it is to be admitted into evidence in a 
court.  See Component 10 of the Michigan Trial Court Case File Management 
Standards for a list of documents that require a court seal.  There is no fee for 
affixing a court seal to a certified copy. 

 
 2. Attestation/Exemplification and Sealing 
 
  SCAO-Approved form MC 202 (Attestation/Exemplification of Records), or a 

similar document, is used to enable a clerk to exemplify a record pursuant to 28 
USC 1738.  The attestation of the clerk must be certified by a judge of the court.  
The court must affix its seal to the attestation in accordance with Component 10 
of the Michigan Trial Court Case File Management Standards.  There is no fee 
for affixing a court seal to an attestation/exemplification of records. 

 
 3. Certifying an Attestation/Exemplification; Affixing Additional Court Seals 
 
  The act of attestation pursuant to 28 USC 1738 is not a certification, and a clerk 

of the court is not authorized to certify the attestation pursuant to either 28 USC 
1738 or MCL 600.2546.  If a court is asked to certify form MC 202 or a document 
serving the same purpose as form MC 202, or to seal it more than once, the court 
may do so at its own discretion, but it may not charge for these additional actions.  

 
Court and county clerk staffs with questions should contact Amy Garoushi at 517-373-4864. 

                                                                                                                                                             
 
2 28 USC 1738. The records and judicial proceedings of any court of any such State, Territory or Possession, or 
copies thereof, shall be proved or admitted in other courts within the United States and its Territories and 
Possessions by the attestation of the clerk and seal of the court annexed, if a seal exists, together with a certificate of 
a judge of the court that the said attestation is in proper form.   
 


