Name: Alec Vincent

Date: 10/25/2022

ADM File Number: 2020-08

Comment:

As a landlord, we care about our tenants and want to better their lives. By adding this amendment it will put a burden on us and take away our ability to help improve the lives of our tenants who do their part. Allowing these non-paying tenants to reside on the property for a longer period of time is NOT the solution. It will drive the well rounded paying tenants away from the property and cause long term problems.

Vote NO!!

Please accept these comments in opposition to the proposed amendments to Michigan Court Rule 4.201 – ADM File No. 2020-08. Procedures utilized to address a once-in-a-hundred-years pandemic should not be made permanent. COVID-19 was a unique situation and required extraordinary measures. To make permanent, the rules of justice designed to assist a public health crisis is neither appropriate nor does it further fair and efficient administration of justice. Rule 4.201 (B)(3)(c): A required affirmation of compliance with local and state health and safety laws in this rule conflicts with MCL 125.530.

Rule 4.201 (G)(4): Non-Payment of Rent cases rarely go to a jury trial, so the proposed allowance for a defendant to wait until two days before the trial date to demand a jury trial will only provide for unnecessary delaying tactics and place a significant administrative burden on district courts.

Rule 4.201 (G)(5)(a) and (b): The proposal to require personal service of process before a default judgment can be entered will further delay the court process. When you consider a defendant has already been provided with a written notice from the property owner, and the court has mailed the defendant a notice to appear, this proposal is completely unnecessary. It does not advance the goal of ensuring the parties proper review of their claims.

Rule 4.201 (G)(5)(d): The proposed rule change to require adjournment of the trial for at least 7 days infringes upon state law – specifically MCL 600.5735(2) – which requires landlord-tenant cases be set for trial no more than 10 days after summons.

Rule 4.201: The current proposal treats termination of tenancy cases as non-payment of rent cases. This change would further delay court proceedings and add an administrative burden to already overburdened court administrative staff. Michigan Law separates these two types of cases for good reason, and court rules should not attempt to change that.

Rule 4.201 (I)(3): The addition of a 30-day stay of proceedings related to rental assistance application is simply unconstitutional. State law provides for recovery of possession due to non-payment, and this requirement intrudes upon that pathway. I appreciate your consideration of these comments.

I appreciate your consideration of these comments.