Name: Daniel Isaia
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ADM File Number: 2020-08

Comment:

| am a real estate investor in Michigan. | have been in business for 32 years investing in real estate.
Please accept these comments in opposition to the proposed amendments to Michigan Court

Rule 4.201 — ADM File No. 2020-08. Procedures utilized to address a once-in-a-hundredyears pandemic should
not be made permanent. COVID-19 was a unique situation and

required extraordinary measures. To make permanent the rules of justice designed to assist a
public health crisis is neither appropriate nor does it further fair and efficient administration of
justice.

Rule 4.201 (B)(3)(c): A required affirmation of compliance with local and state health and

safety laws in this rule conflicts with MCL 125.530.

Rule 4.201 (G)(4): Non-Payment of Rent cases rarely go to a jury trial, so the proposed

allowance for a defendant to wait until two days prior to the trial date to demand a jury trial

will only provide for unnecessary delaying tactics and place a significant administrative

burden on district courts and property owners.

Rule 4.201 (G)(5)(a) and (b): The proposal to require personal service of process before a

default judgement can be entered will further delay the court process. When you consider a
defendant has already been provided with a written notice from the property owner, and the

court has mailed the defendant a notice to appear, this proposal is completely unnecessary and
does not advance the goal of ensuring the parties proper review of their claims.

Rule 4.201 (G)(5)(d): The proposed rule change to require adjournment of the trial for at least

7 days infringes upon state law — specifically MCL 600.5735(2) — which requires landlordtenant cases be set for
trial no more than 10 days after summons.

Rule 4.201: The current proposal treats termination of tenancy cases the same as non-payment

of rent cases. This change would further delay court proceedings and add an administrative

burden to already overburdened court administrative staff. Michigan Law separates these two
types of cases for good reason and court rules should not attempt to change that.

Rule 4.201 (1)(3): The addition of a 30-day stay of proceedings related to rental assistance
application is simply unconstitutional. State law provides for recovery of possession due to
non-payment, and this requirement intrudes upon that pathway.

Thank you for your consideration of these comments.

Daniel Isaia



