<u>President</u>: Hon. Michelle M. Rick Court of Appeals 925 W. Ottawa Street Lansing, MI 48915 Office: (517) 373-3834 Email: <u>MRick@courts.mi.gov</u>

<u>President-Elect</u>: Hon. Kathleen Feeney Court of Appeals

<u>Vice-President</u>: Hon. Charles LaSata Berrien County

<u>Secretary</u>: Hon. Janice Cunningham Eaton County

<u>Treasurer</u>: Hon. Gerald Prill Huron County

<u>Immediate Past President</u>: Hon. Christopher Yates Court of Appeals

<u>Court of Appeals</u>: Hon. Michael Gadola

Executive Committee: Hon. Margaret Bakker Hon. Annette Berry Hon. Kathleen Brickley Hon. Patrick Conlin Hon. Dan Damman Hon. Patricia Fresard Hon. Kameshia Gant Hon. John Gillis, Jr. Hon. Michael Hatty Hon. Tina Yost Johnson Hon. Oiana Lillard Hon. Jeff Matis Hon. Deborah McNabb Hon. Christopher Ninomiya Hon. Joseph Rossi Hon. Kwame Rowe Hon. Shannon Schlegel Hon. Annette Smedlev Hon. Wanda Stokes Hon. Paul Stutesman Hon. Carla Testani Hon. Joseph Toia Hon. John Van Allsburg Hon. Michael Warren Hon. Michael West Hon. Tracey Yokich

Executive Director: Tim Ward, MLC

Michigan Judges Association Founded 1927

November 30, 2023

ELECTRONICALLY SUBMITTED

Public Policy Position

Re: ADM File No. 2023-24: Proposed Amendment of MCR 3.701 and Proposed Additions of MCR 3.715, 3.716, 3.717, 3.718, 3.719, 3.720, 3.721, and 3.722

The Michigan Judges Association

The board members eligible to vote and who voted on the motion passed it unanimously. Of the 30 eligible members to vote, 22 voted yes and 8 did not vote to join the Family Law Section and the State Bar of Michigan Board of Commissioners in their positions to support with amendments. The Michigan Judges Association reviewed the proposed comments of the Family Law Council and feel they are consistent with the statute. The suggested amendments will make the rules more clear and easier to enforce in line with the content of the statute. As jurists, we urge that the amendments proposed by the Family Law Council and the Board of Commissioners be adopted.

Respectfully Submitted Lick

Honorable Michelle Rick President, MJA