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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 1. General Provisions
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SUBCHAPTER 1.100 APPLICABILITY; CONSTRUCTION

RULE 1.101 TITLE; CITATION

These rules are the “Michigan Court Rules of 1985.” An individual rule may be referred to 
as “Michigan Court Rule __________,” and cited by the symbol “MCR __________.” For 
example, this rule may be cited as MCR 1.101.

RULE 1.102 EFFECTIVE DATE

These rules take effect on March 1, 1985. They govern all proceedings in actions brought 
on or after that date, and all further proceedings in actions then pending. A court may permit a 
pending action to proceed under the former rules if it finds that the application of these rules to 
that action would not be feasible or would work injustice.

RULE 1.103 APPLICABILITY

The Michigan Court Rules govern practice and procedure in all courts established by the 
constitution and laws of the State of Michigan. Rules stated to be applicable only in a specific 
court or only to a specific type of proceeding apply only to that court or to that type of proceeding 
and control over general rules.

RULE 1.104 STATUTORY PRACTICE PROVISIONS

Rules of practice set forth in any statute, if not in conflict with any of these rules, are 
effective until superseded by rules adopted by the Supreme Court.

RULE 1.105 CONSTRUCTION

These rules are to be construed, administered, and employed by the parties and the court to 
secure the just, speedy, and economical determination of every action and to avoid the 
consequences of error that does not affect the substantial rights of the parties.

RULE 1.106 CATCH LINES

The catch lines of a rule are not part of the rule and may not be used to construe the rule 
more broadly or more narrowly than the text indicates.
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RULE 1.107 NUMBER

Words used in the singular also apply to the plural, where appropriate.

RULE 1.108 COMPUTATION OF TIME

In computing a period of time prescribed or allowed by these rules, by court order, or by 
statute, the following rules apply:

(1) The day of the act, event, or default after which the designated period of time begins to 
run is not included. The last day of the period is included, unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, 
legal holiday, or day on which the court is closed pursuant to court order; in that event the 
period runs until the end of the next day that is not a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or 
day on which the court is closed pursuant to court order.

(2) If a period is measured by a number of weeks, the last day of the period is the same day 
of the week as the day on which the period began.

(3) If a period is measured by months or years, the last day of the period is the same day of 
the month as the day on which the period began. If what would otherwise be the final 
month does not include that day, the last day of the period is the last day of that month. For 
example, “2 months” after January 31 is March 31, and “3 months” after January 31 is 
April 30.

RULE 1.109 COURT RECORDS DEFINED; DOCUMENT DEFINED; FILING STANDARDS; SIGNATURES; 
ELECTRONIC FILING AND SERVICE; ACCESS

(A) Court Records Defined.

(1) Court records are defined by MCR 8.119 and this subrule. Court records are 
recorded information of any kind that has been created by the court or filed with the 
court in accordance with Michigan Court Rules. Court records may be created using 
any means and may be maintained in any medium authorized by these court rules 
provided those records comply with other provisions of law and these court rules.

(a) Court records include, but are not limited to:

(i) documents, attachments to documents, discovery materials, and other 
materials filed with the clerk of the court, 

(ii) documents, recordings, data, and other recorded information created or 
handled by the court, including all data produced in conjunction with the use of 
any system for the purpose of transmitting, accessing, reproducing, or 
maintaining court records.

(b) For purposes of this subrule:

(i) Documents include, but are not limited to, pleadings, orders, and judgments.
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(ii) Recordings refer to audio and video recordings (whether analog or digital), 
stenotapes, log notes, and other related records.

(iii) Data refers to any information entered in the case management system that 
is not ordinarily reduced to a document but that is still recorded information, 
and any data entered into or created by the statewide electronic-filing system.

(iv) Other recorded information includes, but is not limited to, notices, bench 
warrants, arrest warrants, and other process issued by the court that do not have 
to be maintained on paper or digital image. 

(2) Discovery materials that are not filed with the clerk of the court are not court 
records. Exhibits that are maintained by the court reporter or other authorized staff 
pursuant to MCR 2.518 or MCR 3.930 during the pendency of a proceeding are not 
court records.

(B) Document Defined. A document means a record produced on paper or a digital image 
of a record originally produced on paper or originally created by an approved electronic 
means, the output of which is readable by sight and can be printed to 81/2 x 11 inch paper 
without manipulation.

(C) Filing With Court Defined. Pleadings and other documents and materials filed with 
the court as required by these court rules must be filed with the clerk of the court in 
accordance with MCR 1.109(D), except that the judge to whom the case is assigned may 
accept materials for filing when circumstances warrant. A judge who does so shall note 
the filing date on the materials and immediately transmit them to the clerk. It is the 
responsibility of the party who presented the materials to the judge to confirm that they 
have been filed with the clerk. If the clerk records the receipt of materials on a date other 
than the filing date, the clerk shall record the filing date in the case history.

(D) Filing Standards.

(1) Form and Captions of Documents.

(a) All documents prepared for filing in the courts of this state and all documents 
issued by the courts for placement in a case file must be legible and in the English 
language, comply with standards established by the State Court Administrative 
Office, and be on good quality 8½ by 11 inch paper or transmitted through an 
approved electronic means and maintained as a digital image. Except for 
attachments, the font size must be 12 or 13 point for body text and no less than 10 
point for footnotes, except with regard to forms approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office. Transcripts filed with the court must contain only a single 
transcript page per document page, not multiple pages combined on a single 
document page.

(b) The first part of every document must contain a caption stating:

(i) the name of the court;
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(ii) the names of the parties or the title of the action or proceeding, subject to 
(c);

(iii) the case number, including a prefix of the year filed and a two-letter suffix 
for the case-type code from a list provided by the State Court Administrator 
pursuant to MCR 8.117, according to the principal subject matter of the 
proceeding;

(iv) the identification of the document;

(v) the name, business address, telephone number, and state bar number of 
each attorney appearing in the case; and

(vi) the name, an address, and telephone number of each party appearing 
without an attorney.

Parties and attorneys may also include Ms., Mr., or Mx. as a preferred form of 
address and one of the following personal pronouns in the name section of the 
caption: he/him/his, she/her/hers, or they/them/theirs. Courts must use the 
individual's name, the designated salutation or personal pronouns, or other 
respectful means that are not inconsistent with the individual's designated 
salutation or personal pronouns when addressing, referring to, or identifying the 
party or attorney, either orally or in writing.

(c) In a civil action initiating document, the title of the action must include the 
names of all the parties, with the plaintiff’s name placed first. In subsequent 
documents, it is sufficient to state the name of the first party on each side with an 
appropriate indication of other parties, such as “et al.”

(d) In a case filed under the juvenile code, the caption must also contain a petition 
number, where appropriate.

(e) If an action has been assigned to a particular judge in a multi-judge court, the 
name of that judge must be included in the caption of a document later filed with 
the court.

(f) An affidavit must be verified by oath or affirmation.

(2) Case Initiation Information. A party filing a case initiating document and a party 
filing any response or answer to a case initiating document shall provide specified case 
information in the form and manner established by the State Court Administrative 
Office and as specified in other applicable rules. At a minimum, specified case 
information shall include the name, an address for service, an e-mail address, and a 
telephone number of every party, and: 

(a) in a civil action, either of the following statements:

(i) There is no other pending or resolved civil action arising out of the 
transaction or occurrence alleged in the complaint, or 

(ii) A civil action between these parties or other parties arising out of the 
transaction or occurrence alleged in the complaint has been previously filed in 
[this court]/ [_________ Court], where it was given case number __________ 
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and was assigned to Judge ___________. The action [remains]/[is no longer] 
pending.

(b) in proceedings governed by chapters 3.200 and 3.900, except for outgoing 
requests to other states and incoming registration actions filed under the Revised 
Uniform Reciprocal Enforcement of Support Act, MCL 780.151 et seq. and the 
Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, MCL 552.2101 et seq., either of the 
following statements, if known:

(i) There are no pending or resolved cases within the jurisdiction of the family 
division of the circuit court involving the family or family members of the 
person[s] who [is/are] the subject of the complaint or petition, or

(ii) There is one or more pending or resolved cases within the jurisdiction of 
the family division of the circuit court involving the family or family members 
of the person[s] who [is/are] the subject of the complaint or petition. I have 
filed a completed case inventory listing those cases.

(3) Verification. Except when otherwise specifically provided by rule or statute, a 
document need not be verified or accompanied by an affidavit. If a document is 
required or permitted to be verified, it may be verified by 

(a) oath or affirmation of the party or of someone having knowledge of the facts 
stated; or

(b) except as to an affidavit, including the following signed and dated declaration:

“I declare under the penalties of perjury that this _________ has been examined by 
me and that its contents are true to the best of my information, knowledge, and 
belief.” Any requirement of law that a document filed with the probate court must 
be sworn may be also met by this declaration. 

In addition to the sanctions provided by subrule (E), a person who knowingly makes a 
false declaration under this subrule may be found in contempt of court.

(4) All other materials submitted for filing shall be prepared in accordance with this 
subrule and standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. An 
attachment or discovery material that is submitted for filing shall be made part of the 
public case file unless otherwise confidential.

(5) Except where electronic filing is implemented, all original documents filed on 
paper may be reproduced and maintained by the court as a digital image in place of the 
paper original in accordance with standards established by the State Court 
Administrative Office. Any document reproduced under this subrule replaces the 
paper as the official record. 

(6) A clerk of the court may reject nonconforming documents as prescribed by MCR 
8.119.

(7) Electronic filing and electronic service of documents is governed by subrule (G) 
and the policies and standards of the State Court Administrative Office.
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(8) Filing Documents Under Seal. Public documents may not be filed under seal 
except when the court has previously entered an order in the case under MCR 
2.302(C). However, a document may be made nonpublic temporarily before an order 
is entered as follows:

(a) A filer may request that a public document be made nonpublic temporarily 
when filing a motion to seal a document under MCR 8.119(I). As part of the filing, 
the filer shall provide a proposed order granting the motion to seal and shall 
identify each document that is to be sealed under the order. The filer shall bear the 
burden of establishing good cause for sealing the document.

(b) Pending the court’s order, the filer shall serve on all the parties:

(i) copies of the motion to seal and the request to make each document 
nonpublic temporarily,

(ii) each document to be sealed, and

(iii) the proposed order.

(c) The clerk of the court shall ensure that the documents identified in the motion 
are made nonpublic pending entry of the order.

(d) Before entering an order sealing a document under this rule, the court shall 
comply with MCR 8.119(I). On entry of the order on the motion, the clerk shall 
seal only those documents stated in the court’s order and shall remove the 
nonpublic status of any of the documents that were not stated in the order. 

(9) Personal Identifying Information.

(a) The following personal identifying information is protected and shall not be 
included in any public document or attachment filed with the court on or after 
April 1, 2022, except as provided by these rules:

(i) date of birth,

(ii) social security number or national identification number,

(iii) driver’s license number or state-issued personal identification card 
number,

(iv) passport number, and

(v) financial account numbers.

(b) Filing, Accessing, and Serving Personal Identifying Information

(i) All protected personal identifying information listed in this rule that is 
required by law or court rule to be filed with the court or that is necessary to 
the court for purposes of identifying a particular person in a case must be 
provided to the court in the form and manner established by the State Court 
Administrative Office. 

(ii) Where a social security number is required to be filed with the court, it 
shall be the last four digits only. This requirement does not apply to documents 
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required to be filed with the friend of the court that are not placed in the court's 
legal file under MCR 8.119(D).

(iii) Except as otherwise provided by these rules, if a party is required to 
include protected personal identifying information in a public document filed 
with the court, the party shall file the document with the protected personal 
identifying information redacted, along with a personal identifying information 
form approved by the State Court Administrative Office under subrule (i). The 
personal identifying information form must identify each item of redacted 
information and specify an appropriate reference that uniquely corresponds to 
each item of redacted information listed. All references in the case to the 
redacted identifiers listed in the personal identifying information form will be 
understood to refer to the corresponding complete identifier. A party may 
amend the personal identifying information form as of right. Fields for 
protected personal identifying information may be included in SCAO-
approved court forms, and the information will be protected in the form and 
manner established by the State Court Administrative Office.

Unredacted protected personal identifying information may be included on 
Uniform Law Citations filed with the court and on proposed orders submitted 
to the court. If a party submits to the court a proposed order that is required to 
contain unredacted protected personal identifying information once issued by 
the court, the party shall not attach the proposed order to another document.

(iv) Protected personal identifying information provided under this subrule is 
nonpublic and available, as required for case activity or as otherwise 
authorized by law or these court rules, only to the parties to the case; interested 
persons as defined in these court rules; and other persons, entities, or agencies 
entitled by law or these court rules to access nonpublic records filed with the 
court. 

(v) Consent.

(A) A party may stipulate in writing to allow access to his or her protected 
personal identifying information to any person, entity, or agency. Unless 
otherwise provided by this subrule, the stipulation must be presented to the 
court when trying to access the protected personal identifying information.

(B) The State Court Administrative Office will maintain a list of authorized 
individuals who are permitted access to a party’s date of birth contained in 
a court record for purposes of verifying the identity of that particular 
person without the need to present a stipulation to the court. To be placed 
on this list, these individuals must conform to the following procedures:

(1) In a written document, identify the entity for which they work and 
provide assurance to the State Court Administrative Office that each 
time they seek verification of a party's date of birth, it will be in the 
course of their work and with that person's consent. The consent must 
be retained in the possession of the authorized individual, the entity for 
whom the individual works, the person or organization seeking the 
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information about the person, or someone acting on behalf of that 
person or organization. Such assurance may be satisfied by a letter 
from the entity for which the individual works or other document 
establishing authorization. The assurance required under this provision 
shall be updated at least every six months, beginning from the date of 
the original submission. The update must be provided by the individual 
who seeks access to a person's date of birth or by the entity that 
authorizes the individual to operate on its behalf in accessing the 
information. 

(2) Submit proof of their employer’s or hiring entity’s current 
professional liability insurance in effect during the period when an 
authorized individual will be seeking date of birth information from a 
court. Failure to do so will result in the individual being removed from 
the list or in the individual not being placed on the list. The information 
provided in support of this provision shall be nonpublic. The proof of 
insurance required under this provision shall be updated upon the 
expiration or termination of the insurance policy.

(3) Courts must verify the identity of anyone who claims to be an 
authorized individual by ensuring the name on the individual’s state-
issued identification matches the name in SCAO’s authorized user list. 
Courts and the State Court Administrative Office may create secure, 
individualized accounts that allow authorized individuals to access a 
party’s date of birth electronically. A court must issue a public register 
of actions or other public document that includes a party's date of birth 
to an authorized individual.

(vi) A party or a court is not exempt from the requirement to serve a nonpublic 
document containing protected personal identifying information that has been 
filed with the court under subrule (i), except by court order in accordance with 
subrule (vii).

(vii) Upon a finding of just cause, on the court’s own motion or on motion of 
the party, the court may order any personal identifying information be made 
confidential. The order shall identify the party, person, or entity to whom 
access is restricted. If a party’s home address or telephone number is made 
confidential, the order shall designate an alternative address for serving 
documents on that party or provide an alternative telephone number for 
making contact with that party for purposes of case activity.

(c) Local court forms shall not contain fields for protected personal identifying 
information. A court shall not reject a document for filing, dismiss a case, or take 
other negative action against a party for failure to file protected personal 
identifying information on a local court form.

(d) Failure to Comply.
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(i) A party waives the protection of personal identifying information as to the 
party’s own protected information by filing it in a public document and not 
providing it in the form and manner established under this rule. 

(ii) If a party fails to comply with the requirements of this rule, the court may, 
upon motion or its own initiative, seal the improperly filed documents and 
order new redacted documents to be prepared and filed. 

(e) Protected personal identifying information provided to the court as required by 
subrule (b) shall be entered into the court's case management system in accordance 
with standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. The 
information shall be maintained for the purposes for which it was collected and for 
which its use is authorized by federal or state law or court rule; however, it shall 
not be included or displayed as case history under MCR 8.119(D)(1). 

(10) Request for Copy of Public Document with Protected Personal Identifying 
Information; Redacting Personal Identifying Information; Responsibility; Certifying 
Original Record; Other.

(a) The responsibility for excluding or redacting personal identifying information 
listed in subrule (9) from all documents filed with or offered to the court rests 
solely with the parties and their attorneys. The clerk of the court is not required to 
review, redact, or screen documents at time of filing for personal identifying 
information, protected or otherwise, whether filed electronically or on paper. For a 
document filed with or offered to the court, except as otherwise provided in these 
rules, the clerk of the court is not required to redact protected personal identifying 
information from that document, regardless of whether filed before or after April 
1, 2022, before providing a requested copy of the document (whether requested in 
person or via the internet) or before providing direct access to the document via a 
publicly accessible computer at the courthouse.   

(b) Dissemination of social security numbers by the courts is restricted to the 
purposes for which its use is authorized by federal or state law. When a court 
receives a request for copies of any public document filed on or after March 1, 
2006, the court must review the document and redact all social security numbers 
on the copy. This requirement does not apply to certified copies or true copies 
when they are required by law, or copies made for those uses for which the social 
security number was provided.

(c) Redacting Personal Identifying Information.

(i) Protected personal identifying information contained in a document and 
filed with the court shall be redacted by the clerk of the court on written 
request by the person to whom it applies. The clerk of the court shall process 
the request promptly. The request does not require a motion fee, must specify 
the protected personal identifying information to be redacted, and shall be 
maintained in the case file as a nonpublic document.    

(ii) Personal identifying information that is not protected as identified in this 
rule may also be redacted or made confidential or nonpublic. The party or 
person whose personal identifying information is in a public document filed 
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with the court may file an ex parte motion asking the court to direct the clerk to 
redact the information from that document or to make the information either 
confidential or nonpublic. The court may schedule a hearing on the motion at 
its discretion. The court shall enter such an order if the party or person’s 
privacy interest outweighs the public's interest in the information. The motion 
shall be on a form approved by the state court administrative office, must 
specify the personal identifying information to be redacted, and shall be 
maintained in the case file as a nonpublic document.   

(iii) A party or person whose protected personal identifying information is in 
an exhibit offered for hearing or trial may file a written request that the 
information be redacted. The request does not require a motion fee, must 
specify the protected personal identifying information to be redacted, and shall 
be maintained in the case file as a nonpublic document. The court shall enter 
such an order if the party or person's privacy interest outweighs the public’s 
interest in the information.

(iv) Unredacted protected personal identifying information may be included on 
transcripts filed with the court but must be redacted by the clerk of the court 
pursuant to a written request submitted under MCR 1.109(D)(10)(c)(i).  The 
written request must identify the page and line number for each place in the 
transcript where the protected information is located.  

(d) Certifying a Record. The clerk of the court may certify a redacted record as a 
true copy of an original record on file with the court by stating that information has 
been redacted in accordance with law or court rule, or sealed as ordered by the 
court.

(e) Maintenance of Redacted or Restricted Access Personal Identifying 
Information. A document from which personal identifying information has been 
redacted shall be maintained in accordance with standards established by the State 
Court Administrative Office.

(11) Change in Contact Information for Purposes of Service; Modified Captions of 
Documents.

(a) A party or attorney must file with the court and serve on other parties or 
attorneys written notice of a change in contact information that is needed for 
service under MCR 2.107(C) or MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a). Contact information 
includes name, physical address, mailing address, phone number, and when 
required, email address. The written notice of changed contact information must 
be served in accordance with MCR 2.107(C) or MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a), as 
applicable.

(i) In all cases, written notice of a change in name, physical address, mailing 
address, and phone number shall be on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(ii) In cases using alternative electronic service under MCR 2.107(C)(4), 
written notice of a change in email address shall be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office.
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(iii) In cases using the electronic filing system for service, written notice of a 
change in email address shall be provided using the electronic filing system.

(b) The clerk of the court must update the case caption with the modified contact 
information; however, the case title shall not be modified as a result of a change of 
name.

(c) The court and parties to the case must send or serve subsequent documents to 
the new mailing address as required by MCR 2.107(C) or the new email address as 
required by MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(E) Signatures.

(1) A signature, as required by these court rules and law, means a written signature as 
defined by MCL 8.3q or an electronic signature as defined by this subrule.

(2) Requirement. Every document of a party represented by an attorney shall be signed 
by at least one attorney of record. A party who is not represented by an attorney must 
sign the document. In probate proceedings the following also applies:

(a) When a person is represented by an attorney, the signature of the attorney is 
required on any paper filed in a form approved by the State Court Administrator 
only if the form includes a place for a signature.

(b) An application, petition, or other paper may be signed by the attorney for the 
petitioner, except that an inventory, account, acceptance of appointment, and 
sworn closing statement must be signed by the fiduciary or trustee. A receipt for 
assets must be signed by the person entitled to the assets.

(3) Failure to Sign. If a document is not signed, it shall be stricken unless it is signed 
promptly after the omission is called to the attention of the party.

(4) An electronic signature is acceptable in accordance with this subrule.

(a) An electronic signature means an electronic sound, symbol, or process, 
attached to or logically associated with a record and executed or adopted by a 
person with the intent to sign the record. The following form is acceptable: /s/ John 
L. Smith.

(b) Retention of a signature electronically affixed to a document that will be 
retained by the court in electronic format must not be dependent upon the 
mechanism that was used to affix that signature.

(5) Effect of Signature. The signature of a person filing a document, whether or not 
represented by an attorney, constitutes a certification by the signer that:

(a) he or she has read the document;

(b) to the best of his or her knowledge, information, and belief formed after 
reasonable inquiry, the document is well grounded in fact and is warranted by 
existing law or a good-faith argument for the extension, modification, or reversal 
of existing law; and
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 (c) the document is not interposed for any improper purpose, such as to harass or 
to cause unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of litigation.

(6) Sanctions for Violation. If a document is signed in violation of this rule, the court, 
on the motion of a party or on its own initiative, shall impose upon the person who 
signed it, a represented party, or both, an appropriate sanction, which may include an 
order to pay to the other party or parties the amount of the reasonable expenses 
incurred because of the filing of the document, including reasonable attorney fees. The 
court may not assess punitive damages.

(7) Sanctions for Frivolous Claims and Defenses. In addition to sanctions under this 
rule, a party pleading a frivolous claim or defense is subject to costs as provided in 
MCR 2.625(A)(2). The court may not assess punitive damages.

(F) Requests for access to public court records shall be granted in accordance with MCR 
8.119(H).

(G) Electronic Filing and Service.

(1) Definitions. For purposes of this subrule:

(a) “Authorized user” means a user of the e-filing system who is registered to file, 
serve, and receive documents and related data through approved electronic means. 
A court may revoke user authorization for good cause as determined by the court, 
including but not limited to a security breach.

(b) “Electronic filing” or “e-filing” means the electronic transmission of data and 
documents to the court through the electronic-filing system.

(c) “Electronic-filing system” means a system provided by the State Court 
Administrative Office that permits electronic transmission of data and documents.

(d) “Electronic notification” means the electronic transmission of information 
from the court to authorized users through the electronic-filing system. This does 
not apply to service of documents. See subrule (f).

(e) “Electronic service” or “e-service” means the electronic service of information 
by means of the electronic-filing system under this rule. It does not include service 
by alternative electronic service under MCR 2.107(C)(4).

(f) “Notice of electronic filing or service” means a notice automatically generated 
by the e-filing system at the time a document is filed or served.

(2) Electronic-Filing and Electronic-Service Standards. Courts shall implement 
electronic filing and electronic service capabilities in accordance with this rule and 
shall comply with the standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. 
Confidential and nonpublic information or documents and sealed documents that are 
electronically filed or electronically served must be filed or served in compliance with 
these standards to ensure secure transmission of the information.

(3) Scope and Applicability.

(a) A court shall:
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(i) accept electronic filing and permit electronic service of documents; 

(ii) comply with the electronic-filing guidelines and plans approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office; and

(iii) maintain electronic documents in accordance with the standards 
established by the State Court Administrative Office.

(b) A court may allow documents, including but not limited to materials related to 
case evaluations or inventory information for decedent estates, to be transmitted to 
the court for purposes other than filing in a case file.

(c) Non-Electronic Materials. Courts must accommodate the filing and serving of 
materials that cannot be filed or served electronically.

(d) Converting Paper Documents. The clerk of the court shall convert to electronic 
format certain documents filed on paper in accordance with the electronic filing 
implementation plans established by the State Court Administrative Office.

(e) A court may electronically send any notice, order, opinion, or other document 
issued by the court in that case by means of the electronic-filing system. This rule 
shall not be construed to eliminate any responsibility of a party, under these rules, 
to serve documents that have been issued by the court.

(f) For the required case types, attorneys must electronically file documents in 
courts where electronic filing has been implemented, unless an attorney filing on 
behalf of a party is exempted from electronic filing under subrule (h) because of a 
disability. All other filers are required to electronically file documents only in 
courts that have been granted approval to mandate electronic filing by the State 
Court Administrative Office under AO 2019-2.

(g) Where electronic filing is mandated, a party may file paper documents with 
that court and be served with paper documents according to subrule (G)(6)(a)(ii) if 
the party can demonstrate good cause for an exemption. For purposes of this rule, a 
court shall consider the following factors in determining whether the party has 
demonstrated good cause:

(i) Whether the person has a lack of reliable access to an electronic device that 
includes access to the Internet;

(ii) Whether the person must travel an unreasonable distance to access a public 
computer or has limited access to transportation and is unable to access the e-
Filing system from home; 

(iii) Whether the person has the technical ability to use and understand email 
and electronic filing software;

(iv) Whether access from a home computer system or the ability to gain access 
at a public computer terminal present a safety issue for the person;

(v) Any other relevant factor raised by a person.

(h) Upon request, the following persons are exempt from electronic filing without 
the need to demonstrate good cause:
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(i) a person who has a disability as defined under the Americans with 
Disabilities Act that prevents or limits the person’s ability to use the electronic 
filing system;

(ii) a person who has limited English proficiency that prevents or limits the 
person’s ability to use the electronic filing system; and

(iii) a party who is confined by governmental authority, including but not 
limited to an individual who is incarcerated in a jail or prison facility, detained 
in a juvenile facility, or committed to a medical or mental health facility.

(i) A request for an exemption must be filed with the court in paper where the 
individual’s case will be or has been filed as follows:

(i) The request for an exemption must be on a form approved by the State 
Court Administrative Office, must specify the reasons that prevent the 
individual from filing electronically, and be verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). 
The individual may file supporting documents along with the request for the 
court’s consideration. There is no fee for the request.

(ii) A request made under subrule (h) shall be approved by the clerk of the 
court on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office. If the clerk 
of the court is unable to grant an exemption, the clerk shall immediately submit 
the request for judicial review.

A judge must review requests that are not granted by a clerk, requests made 
under subrule (g), and requests made under subrule(h)(i). The judge shall issue 
an order granting or denying the request within two business days of the date 
the request was filed.

(j) If the individual filed paper documents at the same time as the request for 
exemption under subrule (i), the clerk shall process the documents for filing. If the 
documents meet the filing requirements of subrule (D), they will be considered 
filed on the day they were submitted.

(k) The clerk of the court must hand deliver or promptly mail the clerk approval 
granted or order entered under subrule (i) to the individual. The clerk must place 
the request, any supporting documentation, and the clerk approval or order in the 
case file. If the request was made under subrule (h)(i), both the Request for 
Exemption from Use of MiFILE and the Request for Reasonable 
Accommodations, along with any supporting documentation and the clerk 
approval or order shall be maintained confidentially. If there is no case file, the 
documents must be maintained in a group file.

(l) An exemption granted under this rule is valid only for the court in which it was 
filed and for the life of the case unless the individual exempted from filing 
electronically registers with the electronic-filing system. In that event, the 
individual waives the exemption and becomes subject to the rules of electronic 
filing and the requirements of the electronic-filing system. An individual who 
waives an exemption under this rule may file another request for exemption.
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(4) Official Court Record. The electronic version of any document filed with or 
generated by the court under this rule and any case initiation data transmitted in 
accordance with subrule (D)(2) is an official court record.

(5) Electronic-Filing Process.

(a) General Provisions.

(i) Specified case information, including e-mail addresses for achieving 
electronic service, shall be provided electronically by the authorized user in the 
form and manner established by the State Court Administrative Office 
pursuant to subrule (D)(2).

(ii) The authorized user has the responsibility of ensuring that a filing has been 
received by the electronic-filing system. If the authorized user discovers that 
the version of the document available for viewing through the e-filing system 
does not depict the document as submitted, the authorized user shall notify the 
clerk of the court immediately and resubmit the filing if necessary. In the event 
of a controversy between the clerk of the court and the authorized user, the 
authorized user may file a motion with the court under subrule (G)(7).

(iii) If the clerk of the court rejects a submitted document pursuant to MCR 
8.119(C), the clerk shall notify the authorized user of the rejection and the 
reason for the rejection. A rejected document shall not become part of the 
official court record and the rejection shall be recorded in an electronic-filing 
transaction from the court to the authorized user in accordance with subrule 
(c).

(b) Time and Effect of Electronic Filing. A document submitted electronically is 
deemed filed with the court when the transmission to the electronic-filing system 
is completed and the required filing fees have been paid or waived. If a document 
is submitted with a request to waive the filing fees, no fees will be charged at the 
time of filing and the document is deemed filed on the date the document was 
submitted to the court. A transmission is completed when the transaction is 
recorded as prescribed in subrule (c). Regardless of the date a filing is accepted by 
the clerk of the court, the date of filing is the date submitted. Electronic filing is 
not restricted by the operating hours of a court and any document submitted at or 
before 11:59 p.m. of a business day is deemed filed on that business day. Any 
document submitted on a Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, or other day on which 
the court is closed pursuant to court order is deemed filed on the next business day.

(c) Electronic-Filing Transaction. On receipt of a submission or on rejection of a 
submission for nonpayment, the electronic-filing system shall record the filing 
transaction and send a notice of receipt of the submission and payment or rejection 
to the authorized user. When the filing transaction is date and time stamped, the 
electronic-filing system shall record the filing transaction and send a notice of 
electronic-filing to the authorized user. If the filing is rejected, the electronic-filing 
system shall record the rejection and send a notice of the rejection to the 
authorized user. The system shall maintain for every court a record of each 
submission, payment, filing, and rejection transaction in accordance with the 
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records retention and disposal schedules and standards established by the State 
Court Administrative Office. A notice of electronic filing shall include the date 
and time of the transaction, the name of the authorized user filing the document(s), 
the type of document, the name of the authorized user receiving the notice, and a 
hyperlink to the filed or rejected document(s). 

(d) Documents Under Seal. Except for documents filed pursuant to a protective 
order issued under MCR 2.302(C), a party seeking to file a document under seal 
must comply with subrule (D)(8).

(6) Electronic-Service Process.

(a) General Provisions.

(i) Service of process of case initiating documents shall be made in accordance 
with the rules and laws required for the particular case type.

(ii) Service of process of all other documents electronically filed shall be 
accomplished electronically among authorized users through the electronic-
filing system. If a party has been exempted from electronic filing or has not 
registered with the electronic-filing system, service shall be made on that party 
by any other method required by Michigan Court Rules.

(iii) Delivery of documents through the electronic-filing system in conformity 
with these rules is valid and effective personal service and is proof of service 
under Michigan Court Rules.

(iv) Except for service of process of initiating documents and as otherwise 
directed by the court or court rule, service may be performed simultaneously 
with filing.

(v) When a court rule permits service by mail, service may be accomplished 
electronically under this subrule.

(b) Time and Effect. A document served electronically through the electronic-
filing system in conformity with all applicable requirements of this rule is 
considered served when the transmission to the recipient’s e-mail address is 
completed. A transmission is completed when the transaction is recorded as 
prescribed in subrule (c).

(c) Electronic-Service Transaction. On transmission of a document, the electronic-
filing system shall record the service transaction. The system shall maintain for 
every court a record of each service transaction in accordance with the state-
approved records retention and disposal schedules and standards established by the 
State Court Administrative Office.

(7) Transmission Failures.

(a) In the event the electronic-filing system fails to transmit a document submitted 
for filing, the authorized user may file a motion requesting that the court enter an 
order permitting the document to be deemed filed on the date it was first attempted 
to be sent electronically. The authorized user must prove to the court’s satisfaction 
that:
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(i) the filing was attempted at the time asserted by the authorized user;

(ii) the electronic-filing system failed to transmit the electronic document; and

(iii) the transmission failure was not caused, in whole or in part, by any action 
or inaction of the authorized user. A transmission failure caused by a problem 
with a filer’s telephone line, ISP, hardware, or software shall be attributed to 
the filer.

(b) Scheduled system outages, such as for system maintenance, shall be posted on 
the MiFILE website.

(c) Notice shall be provided on the MiFILE website and/or the One Court of 
Justice website if the electronic-filing system becomes unavailable for an extended 
or indefinite period. The notice shall indicate that filers are responsible for filing 
documents on paper and serving paper in another manner required by Michigan 
Court Rules in order to meet any deadlines imposed by statute or court rule.

(d) Notice of Undeliverable Transmission of Served Document. Electronic service 
by the electronic-filing system is complete upon transmission as defined in subrule 
(G)(6)(b) unless the person or entity making service learns that the attempted 
service did not reach the intended recipient.

(i) If the transmission is undeliverable, the person or entity responsible for 
serving the document must immediately serve by regular mail under MCR 
2.107(C)(3) or by delivery under MCR 2.107(C)(1) or (2) the document and a 
copy of the notice indicating that the transmission was undeliverable. The 
person or entity must also include a copy of the notice when filing proof of 
service with the court under this subrule.

(ii) A recipient who is served with a notice under subrule (7)(d)(i) should 
ensure the electronic filing system reflects their current email address.

(e) In the event the electronic-filing system fails to transmit a document selected 
for service, if deemed necessary to ensure due process rights are protected, the 
State Court Administrator shall provide notice to the affected persons in either of 
the following ways:

(i) file, as a nonparty, a notice of defective service in each affected case and, as 
deemed appropriate, serve the notice, or    

(ii) send notice of a system-wide transmission failure to each affected system 
user. 

(f) If notice is provided under subrule (d), the clerk of the court where the affected 
case is filed must enter the event in the case history in accordance with MCR 
8.119(D)(1)(a).

(g) A fee shall not be assessed on a motion filed claiming that rights in the case 
were adversely affected by transmission failure of a document selected for service.

(H) Definitions. The following definitions apply to case records as defined in MCR 
8.119(D) and (E).
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(1) “Confidential” means that a case record is nonpublic and accessible only to those 
individuals or entities specified in statute or court rule. A confidential record is 
accessible to parties only in the manner specified in statute or court rule.

(2) “Nonpublic” means that a case record is not accessible to the public. A nonpublic 
case record is accessible to parties and only those other individuals or entities 
specified in statute or court rule. A record may be made nonpublic only pursuant to 
statute or court rule. A court may not make a record nonpublic by court order.

(3) “Redact” means to obscure individual items of information within an otherwise 
publicly accessible document.

(4) “Redacted document” means a copy of an original document in which items of 
information have been redacted.

(5) “Sealed” means that a document or portion of a document is sealed by court order 
pursuant to MCR 8.119(I). Except as required by statute, an entire case may not be 
sealed.

RULE 1.110 COLLECTION OF FINES AND COSTS

Fines, costs, and other financial obligations imposed by the court must be paid at the time 
of assessment, except when the court allows otherwise, for good cause shown.

RULE 1.111 FOREIGN LANGUAGE INTERPRETERS

(A) Definitions

When used in this rule, the following words and phrases have the following definitions:

(1)“Case or Court Proceeding” means any hearing, trial, or other appearance before 
any court in this state in an action, appeal, or other proceeding, including any matter 
conducted by a judge, magistrate, referee, or other hearing officer.

(2)“Party” means a person named as a party or a person with legal decision-making 
authority in the case or court proceeding.

(3) A person is “financially able to pay for interpretation costs” if the court determines 
that requiring reimbursement of interpretation costs will not pose an unreasonable 
burden on the person’s ability to have meaningful access to the court. For purposes of 
this rule, a person is financially able to pay for interpretation costs when:

(a) The person’s family or household income is greater than 125% of the federal 
poverty level; and

(b) An assessment of interpretation costs at the conclusion of the litigation would 
not unreasonably impede the person’s ability to defend or pursue the claims 
involved in the matter.

(4) “Certified foreign language interpreter” means a person who has:
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(a) passed a foreign language interpreter test administered by the State Court 
Administrative Office or a similar state or federal test approved by the state court 
administrator,

(b) met all the requirements established by the state court administrator for this 
interpreter classification, and

(c) registered with the State Court Administrative Office.

(5) “Interpret” and “interpretation” mean the oral rendering of spoken communication 
from one language to another without change in meaning.

(6) “Qualified foreign language interpreter” means:

(a) A person who provides interpretation services, provided that the person has:

(i) registered with the State Court Administrative Office; and

(ii) passed the consecutive portion of a foreign language interpreter test 
administered by the State Court Administrative Office or a similar state or 
federal test approved by the state court administrator (if testing exists for the 
language), and is actively engaged in becoming certified; and

(iii) met the requirements established by the state court administrator for this 
interpreter classification; and

(iv) been determined by the court after voir dire to be competent to provide 
interpretation services for the proceeding in which the interpreter is providing 
services, or

(b) A person who works for an entity that provides in-person interpretation 
services provided that:

(i) both the entity and the person have registered with the State Court 
Administrative Office; and

(ii) the person has met the requirements established by the state court 
administrator for this interpreter classification; and

(iii) the person has been determined by the court after voir dire to be competent 
to provide interpretation services for the proceeding in which the interpreter is 
providing services, or

(c) A person who works for an entity that provides interpretation services by 
telecommunication equipment, provided that:

(i) the entity has registered with the State Court Administrative Office; and

(ii) the entity has met the requirements established by the state court 
administrator for this interpreter classification; and

(iii) the person has been determined by the court after voir dire to be competent 
to provide interpretation services for the proceeding in which the interpreter is 
providing services

(B) Appointment of a Foreign Language Interpreter
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(1) If a person requests a foreign language interpreter and the court determines such 
services are necessary for the person to meaningfully participate in the case or court 
proceeding, or on the court’s own determination that foreign language interpreter 
services are necessary for a person to meaningfully participate in the case or court 
proceeding, the court shall appoint a foreign language interpreter for that person if the 
person is a witness testifying in a civil or criminal case or court proceeding or is a 
party.

(2) The court may appoint a foreign language interpreter for a person other than a 
party or witness who has a substantial interest in the case or court proceeding.

(3) In order to determine whether the services of a foreign language interpreter are 
necessary for a person to meaningfully participate under subrule (B)(1), the court shall 
rely upon a request by an LEP individual (or a request made on behalf of an LEP 
individual) or prior notice in the record. If no such requests have been made, the court 
may conduct an examination of the person on the record to determine whether such 
services are necessary. During the examination, the court may use a foreign language 
interpreter. For purposes of this examination, the court is not required to comply with 
the requirements of subrule (F) and the foreign language interpreter may participate 
remotely.

(C) Waiver of Appointment of Foreign Language Interpreter

A person may waive the right to a foreign language interpreter established under 
subrule (B)(1) unless the court determines that the interpreter is required for the 
protection of the person's rights and the integrity of the case or court proceeding. The 
court must find on the record that a person’s waiver of an interpreter is knowing and 
voluntary. When accepting the person’s waiver, the court may use a foreign language 
interpreter. For purposes of this waiver, the court is not required to comply with the 
requirements of subrule (F) and the foreign language interpreter may participate 
remotely.

(D) Recordings

The court may make a recording of anything said by a foreign language interpreter or a 
limited English proficient person while testifying or responding to a colloquy during 
those portions of the proceedings.

(E) Avoidance of Potential Conflicts of Interest

(1) The court should use all reasonable efforts to avoid potential conflicts of interest 
when appointing a person as a foreign language interpreter and shall state its reasons 
on the record for appointing the person if any of the following applies:

(a) The interpreter is compensated by a business owned or controlled by a party or 
a witness;

(b) The interpreter is a friend, a family member, or a household member of a party 
or witness;

(c) The interpreter is a potential witness;
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(d) The interpreter is a law enforcement officer;

(e) The interpreter has a pecuniary or other interest in the outcome of the case;

(f) The appointment of the interpreter would not serve to protect a party’s rights or 
ensure the integrity of the proceedings;

(g) The interpreter does have, or may have, a perceived conflict of interest;

(h) The appointment of the interpreter creates an appearance of impropriety.

(2) A court employee may interpret legal proceedings as follows:

(a) The court may employ a person as an interpreter. The employee must meet the 
minimum requirements for interpreters established by subrule (A)(4). The state 
court administrator may authorize the court to hire a person who does not meet the 
minimum requirements established by subrule (A)(4) for good cause including the 
unavailability of a certification test for the foreign language and the absence of 
certified interpreters for the foreign language in the geographic area in which the 
court sits. The court seeking authorization from the state court administrator shall 
provide proof of the employee’s competency to act as an interpreter and shall 
submit a plan for the employee to meet the minimum requirements established by 
subrule (A)(4) within a reasonable time.

(b) The court may use an employee as an interpreter if the employee meets the 
minimum requirements for interpreters established by this rule and is not 
otherwise disqualified.

(F) Appointment of Foreign Language Interpreters

(1) When the court appoints a foreign language interpreter under subrule (B)(1), the 
court shall appoint a certified foreign language interpreter whenever practicable. If a 
certified foreign language interpreter is not reasonably available, and after considering 
the gravity of the proceedings and whether the matter should be rescheduled, the court 
may appoint a qualified foreign language interpreter who meets the qualifications in 
(A)(6). The court shall make a record of its reasons for using a qualified foreign 
language interpreter.

(2) If neither a certified foreign language interpreter nor a qualified foreign language 
interpreter is reasonably available, and after considering the gravity of the proceeding 
and whether the matter should be rescheduled, the court may appoint a person whom 
the court determines through voir dire to be capable of conveying the intent and 
content of the speaker's words sufficiently to allow the court to conduct the proceeding 
without prejudice to the limited English proficient person.

(3) The court shall appoint a single interpreter for a case or court proceeding. The 
court may appoint more than one interpreter after consideration of the nature and 
duration of the proceeding; the number of parties in interest and witnesses requiring an 
interpreter; the primary languages of those persons; and the quality of the remote 
technology that may be utilized when deemed necessary by the court to ensure 
effective communication in any case or court proceeding.
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(4) The court may set reasonable compensation for interpreters who are appointed by 
the court. Court-appointed interpreter costs are to be paid out of funds provided by law 
or by the court.

(5) If a party is financially able to pay for interpretation costs, the court may order the 
party to reimburse the court for all or a portion of interpretation costs.

(6) Any doubts as to eligibility for interpreter services should be resolved in favor of 
appointment of an interpreter.

(7) At the time of determining eligibility, the court shall inform the party or witness of 
the penalties for making a false statement. The party has the continuing obligation to 
inform the court of any change in financial status and, upon request of the court, the 
party must submit financial information.

(G) Administration of Oath or Affirmation to Interpreters

The court shall administer an oath or affirmation to a foreign language interpreter 
substantially conforming to the following: “Do you solemnly swear or affirm that you 
will truly, accurately, and impartially interpret in the matter now before the court and 
not divulge confidential communications, so help you God?”

(H) Request for Review

(1) Any time a court denies a request for the appointment of a foreign language 
interpreter or orders reimbursement of interpretation costs, it shall do so by written 
order.

(2) An LEP individual may immediately request review of the denial of appointment 
of a foreign language interpreter or an assessment for the reimbursement of 
interpretation costs. A request for review must be submitted to the court within 56 
days after entry of the order.

(a) In a court having two or more judges, the chief judge shall decide the request 
for review de novo.

(b) In a single-judge court, or if the denial was issued by a chief judge, the judge 
shall refer the request for review to the state court administrator for assignment to 
another judge, who shall decide the request de novo.

(c) A pending request for review under this subrule stays the underlying litigation.

(d) A pending request for review under this subrule must be decided on an 
expedited basis.

(e) No motion fee is required for a request for review made under this subrule.

RULE 1.112 FILINGS BY INCARCERATED INDIVIDUALS

If filed by an unrepresented individual who is incarcerated in a prison or jail, a pleading or 
other document must be deemed timely filed if it was deposited in the institution’s outgoing mail 
on or before the filing deadline. Proof of timely filing may include a receipt of mailing, a sworn 
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statement setting forth the date of deposit and that postage has been prepaid, or other evidence 
(such as a postmark or date stamp) showing that the document was timely deposited and that 
postage was prepaid.

SUBCHAPTER 1.200 AMENDMENT OF MICHIGAN COURT RULES

RULE 1.201 AMENDMENT PROCEDURE

(A) Notice of Proposed Amendment. Before amending the Michigan Court Rules or 
other sets of rules within its jurisdiction, the Supreme Court will notify the secretary of 
the State Bar of Michigan and the state court administrator of the proposed 
amendment, and the manner and date for submitting comments. The notice also will 
be posted on the Court’s website.

(B) Notice to Bar. The state bar secretary shall notify the appropriate state bar 
committees or sections of the proposed amendment, and the manner and date for 
submitting comments. Unless otherwise directed by the Court, the proposed 
amendment shall be published in the Michigan Bar Journal.

(C) Notice to Judges. The state court administrator shall notify the presidents of the 
Michigan Judges Association, the Michigan District Judges Association, and the 
Michigan Probate and Juvenile Court Judges Association of the proposed amendment, 
and the manner and date for submitting comments.

(D) Exceptions. The Court may modify or dispense with the notice requirements of 
this rule if it determines that there is a need for immediate action or if the proposed 
amendment would not significantly affect the delivery of justice.

(E) Administrative Public Hearings. The Court will conduct a public hearing pursuant 
to Supreme Court Administrative Order 1997-11 before acting on a proposed 
amendment that requires notice, unless there is a need for immediate action, in which 
event the amendment will be considered at a public hearing following adoption. Public 
hearing agendas will be posted on the Court's website.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 2. Civil Procedure
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 2.000 GENERAL PROVISIONS

RULE 2.001 APPLICABILITY

The rules in this chapter govern procedure in all civil proceedings in all courts established 
by the constitution and laws of the State of Michigan, except where the limited jurisdiction of a 
court makes a rule inherently inapplicable or where a rule applicable to a specific court or a 
specific type of proceeding provides a different procedure.

RULE 2.002 WAIVER OF FEES FOR INDIGENT PERSONS

(A) Applicability and Scope.

(1) Only an individual is eligible for the waiver of fees under this rule. A private or 
public organization is not eligible for a waiver of fees unless an applicable statute 
provides that no fee(s) shall be required.

(2) Except as provided in subrule (I), for the purpose of this rule “fees” applies only to 
fees required by MCL 600.857, MCL 600.880, MCL 600.880a, MCL 600.880b, MCL 
600.880c, MCL 600.1027, MCL 600.1986, MCL 600.2529, MCL 600.5756, MCL 
600.8371, MCL 600.8420, MCL 700.2517, MCL 700.5104, and MCL 722.717.

(3) Waiver of filing fees for prisoners who are under the jurisdiction of the Michigan 
Department of Corrections is governed by MCL 600.2963 and as provided in this rule. 

(4) A request to waive fees must be filed in each case for which a waiver is requested. 
A request cannot be applied to multiple cases involving the same individual.

(5) If fees are waived under this rule before judgment, the waiver continues through 
the date of judgment unless ordered otherwise under subrule (J). If fees are waived 
under this rule postjudgment, the waiver continues through the date of adjudication of 
the postjudgment proceedings. In probate proceedings, “postjudgment” means any 
proceeding in the case after the original petition is adjudicated. If jurisdiction of the 
case is transferred to another court, the waiver continues in the receiving court 
according to this rule unless ordered otherwise by the receiving court under subrule 
(J). If an interlocutory appeal is filed in another court, the waiver continues in the 
appellate court.

(6) If the case is appealed, the waiver is void in the appellate court. A request to waive 
appellate filing fees may be filed in the appellate court in accordance with this rule.

(B) Request for Waiver of Fees. A request to waive fees must accompany the documents 
the individual is filing with the court. If the request is being made by a prisoner under the 
jurisdiction of the Michigan Department of Corrections, the prisoner must also file a 
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certified copy of their institutional account showing the current balance and a 12-month 
history of any deposits and withdrawals. The request must be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office entitled “Fee Waiver Request.” Except as provided in 
(K), no additional documentation may be required. The information contained on the form 
shall be nonpublic. The request must be verified in accordance with MCR 1.109(D)(3)(b) 
and may be signed either 

(1) by the individual in whose behalf the request is made; or

(2) by a person having personal knowledge of the facts required to be shown, if the 
individual in whose behalf the request is made is unable to sign it because of minority 
or other disability.

(C) Persons Receiving Public Assistance. If a party shows that he or she is receiving any 
form of means-tested public assistance, the clerk of the court must waive payment of fees 
as to that party on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office. For purposes 
of this rule, means-tested public assistance includes but is not limited to:

(1) Food Assistance Program through the State of Michigan;

(2) Medicaid;

(3) Family Independence Program through the State of Michigan;

(4) Women, Infants, and Children benefits;

(5) Supplemental Security Income through the federal government; or

(6) Any other federal, state, or locally administered means-tested income or

benefit.

The clerk of the court must provide a copy of the signed waiver of fees to the individual. 
The waiver shall be nonpublic.

(D) Representation by a Legal Services Program. If a party is represented by a legal 
services program that is a grantee of the federal Legal Services Corporation or the 
Michigan State Bar Foundation, or by a law school clinic that provides services on the 
basis of indigence, the clerk of the court must waive payment of fees as to that party on a 
form approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

The clerk of the court must provide a copy of the signed waiver of fees to the individual. 
The waiver shall be nonpublic.

(E) If the clerk of the court is unable to waive fees under (C) or (D), the clerk shall 
immediately submit the request for judicial review.

(F) Other Indigent Individuals. If an individual shows that he or she is unable because of 
indigence to pay fees, the court shall order those fees waived. The court must waive fees 
when the individual lives in a household with gross income under 125% of the federal 
poverty guidelines. The court must also waive fees when gross household income is above 
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125% of the federal poverty guidelines if the payment of fees would constitute a financial 
hardship on the individual.

(G) Order regarding a request to waive fees. A judge shall enter an order either granting or 
denying a request made under (E) or (F) within three business days and such order shall be 
nonpublic. If required financial information is not provided in the waiver request, the 
judge may deny the waiver. An order denying shall indicate the reason for denial. The 
order granting a request must include a statement that the person for whom fees are 
waived is required to notify the court when the reason for waiver no longer exists.

(1) The clerk of the court shall send a copy of the order to the individual. Except as 
otherwise provided in the subrule, if the court denied the request, the clerk shall also 
send a notice that to preserve the filing date the individual must pay the fees within 14 
days from the date the clerk sends notice of the order or the filing will be rejected. If 
the individual is a prisoner under the jurisdiction of the Michigan Department of 
Corrections, the clerk’s notice shall indicate that the prisoner must pay the full or 
partial payment ordered by the court within 21 days after the date of the order, or the 
filing will be rejected.

(2) De Novo Review of Fee Waiver Denials.

(a) Request for De Novo Review. Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, if 
the court denies a request for fee waiver, the individual may file a request for de 
novo review within 14 days of the notice denying the waiver. A prisoner under the 
jurisdiction of the Michigan Department of Corrections may file the de novo 
review request within 21 days of the notice denying the waiver. There is no motion 
fee for the request. A request for de novo review automatically stays the case or 
preserves the filing date until the review is decided. A de novo review must be held 
within 14 days of receiving the request.

(b) Review.

(i) If the court holds a hearing on the request for de novo review, it shall be 
closed and held on the record. The clerk of the court shall serve notice of the 
review at least 9 days before the time set for the hearing if served by mail, or at 
least 7 days before the time set for the hearing if served by delivery under 
MCR 2.107(C)(1) or (2). The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply at this 
hearing.

(ii) If a hearing is held, the individual shall bring documents to verify the 
statements made in the fee waiver request and request for de novo review. The 
court may question the individual regarding the statements made in the 
requests.

(c) Chief Judge Ruling, Judicial Assignment.

(i) In a court having two or more judges, the chief judge shall decide the 
request for de novo review. In a single-judge court, or if the order denying 
waiver was issued by the chief judge, the judge shall refer the request to the 
state court administrator for assignment to another judge, who shall decide the 
request for de novo review.
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(ii) The court shall enter an order reflecting its decision on the de novo review. 
If the court denies the request, it shall explain its reasoning in the order.

(H) Domestic Relations Cases; Payment of Fees by Spouse. If a party entitled to relief in 
an action for divorce, separate maintenance, annulment, or affirmation of marriage is 
qualified for waiver of filing fees under subrule (C), (D), or (F) and is also entitled to an 
order requiring the other party to pay attorney fees, the court shall order waiver of 
payment of those fees and shall require the other party to pay them, unless the other party 
is also qualified to have filing fees waived under subrule (C) or (D) or (F).

(I) Payment of Service Fees and Costs of Publication for Indigent Individuals. If payment 
of fees has been waived for an individual and service of process must be made by an 
official process server or by publication, the court shall order the service fees or costs of 
publication paid by the county or funding unit in which the action is pending, if the 
individual files an ex parte affidavit stating facts showing the necessity for that type of 
service of process. If known at the time, the affidavit may be included in or with the 
request to waive fees.

(J) Reinstatement of Requirement to Pay Fees. If the payment of fees has been waived 
under this rule, the court may on its own initiative order the individual for whom the fees 
were waived to pay those fees when, upon a finding of fact, the court determines the 
reason for the waiver no longer exists. If an order to reinstate fees is entered, the 
individual must pay the fees as ordered. If fees are reinstated, the court shall not delay 
entry of orders or judgments or in any other way delay the progress of the case pending 
payment of the fees.

(K) Review of Fee Waiver Petitions. Only if a court finds that a request for a fee waiver is 
incomplete or if a court has a reasonable belief that a request is inaccurate, the court may 
conduct further inquiries reasonably necessary to prove indigence or financial hardship. 
Any hearing regarding these further inquiries shall be on the record. The notice of hearing 
shall indicate the specific issues that are subject to further inquiry.

(L) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, courts must enable a litigant who 
seeks a fee waiver to do so by an entirely electronic process.

RULE 2.003 DISQUALIFICATION OF JUDGE

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to all judges, including justices of the Michigan 
Supreme Court, unless a specific provision is stated to apply only to judges of a certain 
court. The word “judge” includes a justice of the Michigan Supreme Court.

(B) Who May Raise. A party may raise the issue of a judge’s disqualification by motion or 
the judge may raise it.

(C) Grounds.
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(1) Disqualification of a judge is warranted for reasons that include, but are not limited 
to, the following:

(a) The judge is biased or prejudiced for or against a party or attorney.

(b) The judge, based on objective and reasonable perceptions, has either (i) a 
serious risk of actual bias impacting the due process rights of a party as enunciated 
in Caperton v Massey, 556 US 868; 129 S Ct 2252; 173 L Ed 2d 1208 (2009), or 
(ii) has failed to adhere to the appearance of impropriety standard set forth in 
Canon 2 of the Michigan Code of Judicial Conduct.

(c) The judge has personal knowledge of disputed evidentiary facts concerning the 
proceeding.

(d) The judge has been consulted or employed as an attorney in the matter in 
controversy.

(e) The judge was a partner of a party, attorney for a party, or a member of a law 
firm representing a party within the preceding two years.

(f) The judge knows that he or she, individually or as a fiduciary, or the judge’s 
spouse, parent or child wherever residing, or any other member of the judge’s 
family residing in the judge’s household, has more than a de minimis economic 
interest in the subject matter in controversy that could be substantially impacted by 
the proceeding. 

(g) The judge or the judge’s spouse, or a person within the third degree of 
relationship to either of them, or the spouse of such a person:

(i) is a party to the proceeding, or an officer, director, or trustee of a party;

(ii) is acting as a lawyer in the proceeding;

(iii) is known by the judge to have a more than de minimis interest that could 
be substantially affected by the proceeding;

(iv) is to the judge's knowledge likely to be a material witness in the 
proceeding.

(2) Disqualification not warranted.

(a) A judge is not disqualified merely because the judge's former law clerk is an 
attorney of record for a party in an action that is before the judge or is associated 
with a law firm representing a party in an action that is before the judge.

(b) A judge is not disqualified based solely upon campaign speech protected by 
Republican Party of Minn v White, 536 US 765 (2002), so long as such speech 
does not demonstrate bias or prejudice or an appearance of bias or prejudice for or 
against a party or an attorney involved in the action.

(D) Procedure.

(1)(a) Time for Filing in the Trial Courts. To avoid delaying trial and 
inconveniencing the witnesses, all motions for disqualification must be filed 
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within 14 days of the discovery of the grounds for disqualification. If the discovery 
is made within 14 days of the trial date, the motion must be made forthwith.

(b) Time for Filing in the Court of Appeals. All motions for disqualification must 
be filed within 14 days of disclosure of the judge’s assignment to the case or 
within 14 days of the discovery of the grounds for disqualification. If a party 
discovers the grounds for disqualification within 14 days of a scheduled oral 
argument or argument on the application for leave to appeal, the motion must be 
made forthwith.

(c) Time for Filing in the Supreme Court. If an appellant is aware of grounds for 
disqualification of a justice, the appellant must file a motion to disqualify with the 
application for leave to appeal. All other motions must be filed within 28 days after 
the filing of the application for leave to appeal or within 28 days of the discovery 
of the grounds for disqualification. If a party discovers the grounds for 
disqualification within 28 days of a scheduled oral argument or argument on the 
application for leave to appeal, the motion must be made forthwith.

All requests for review by the entire Court pursuant to subsection (3)(b) must be 
made within 14 days of the entry of the decision by the individual justice.

(d) Untimely Motions. Untimely motions in the trial court, the Court of Appeals, 
and the Supreme Court may be granted for good cause shown. If a motion is not 
timely filed in the trial court, the Court of Appeals, or the Supreme Court, 
untimeliness is a factor in deciding whether the motion should be granted.

(2) All Grounds to be Included; Affidavit. In any motion under this rule, the moving 
party must include all grounds for disqualification that are known at the time the 
motion is filed. An affidavit must accompany the motion.

(3) Ruling.

(a) For courts other than the Supreme Court, the challenged judge shall decide the 
motion. If the challenged judge denies the motion,

(i) in a court having two or more judges, on the request of a party, the 
challenged judge shall refer the motion to the chief judge, who shall decide the 
motion de novo;

(ii) in a single-judge court, or if the challenged judge is the chief judge, on the 
request of a party, the challenged judge shall refer the motion to the state court 
administrator for assignment to another judge, who shall decide the motion de 
novo.

(b) In the Supreme Court, if a justice’s participation in a case is challenged by a 
written motion or if the issue of participation is raised by the justice himself or 
herself, the challenged justice shall decide the issue and publish his or her reasons 
about whether to participate.

If the challenged justice denies the motion for disqualification, a party may move 
for the motion to be decided by the entire Court. The entire Court shall then decide 
the motion for disqualification de novo. The Court’s decision shall include the 
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reasons for its grant or denial of the motion for disqualification. The Court shall 
issue a written order containing a statement of reasons for its grant or denial of the 
motion for disqualification. Any concurring or dissenting statements shall be in 
writing.

(4) If Disqualification Motion is Granted.

(a) For courts other than the Supreme Court, when a judge is disqualified, the 
action must be assigned to another judge of the same court, or, if one is not 
available, the state court administrator shall assign another judge.

(b) In the Supreme Court, when a justice is disqualified, the underlying action will 
be decided by the remaining justices of the Court.

(E) Waiver of Disqualification. Parties to the proceeding may waive disqualification even 
where it appears that there may be grounds for disqualification of the judge. Such waiver 
may occur whether the grounds for disqualification were raised by a party or by the judge, 
so long as the judge is willing to participate. Any agreement to waive the disqualification 
must be made by all parties to the litigation and shall be in writing or placed on the record.

RULE 2.004 INCARCERATED PARTIES

(A) This subrule applies to

(1) domestic relations actions involving minor children, and

(2) other actions involving the custody, guardianship, neglect, or foster-care placement 
of minor children, or the termination of parental rights, in which a party is incarcerated 
under the jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections.

(B) The party seeking an order regarding a minor child shall 

(1) contact the department to confirm the incarceration and the incarcerated party’s 
prison number and location; 

(2) serve the incarcerated person with the petition or motion seeking an order 
regarding the minor child, and file proof with the court that the papers were served; 
and

(3) file with the court the petition or motion seeking an order regarding the minor 
child, stating that a party is incarcerated and providing the party’s prison number and 
location; the caption of the petition or motion shall state that a telephonic or video 
hearing is required by this rule.

(C) When all the requirements of subrule (B) have been accomplished to the court’s 
satisfaction, the court shall issue an order requesting the department, or the facility where 
the party is located if it is not a department facility, to allow that party to participate with 
the court or its designee by way of a noncollect and unmonitored telephone call or by 
videoconferencing technology in a hearing or conference, including a friend of the court 
adjudicative hearing or meeting. The order shall include the date and time for the hearing 
or conference, and the prisoner’s name and prison identification number, and shall be 
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served at least 7 days before the hearing or conference by the court upon the parties and 
the warden or supervisor of the facility where the incarcerated party resides. The initial 
telephone call or videoconference shall be conducted in accordance with subrule (E). If 
the prisoner indicates an interest in participating in subsequent proceedings following an 
initial telephone call or videoconference pursuant to subrule (E), the court shall issue an 
order in accordance with this subrule for each subsequent hearing or conference. 

(D) All court documents or correspondence mailed to the incarcerated party concerning 
any matter covered by this rule shall include the name and the prison number of the 
incarcerated party on the envelope. 

(E) The purpose of the initial telephone call or videoconference with the incarcerated 
party, as described in subrule (C), is to determine

(1) whether the incarcerated party has received adequate notice of the proceedings and 
has had an opportunity to respond and to participate,

(2) whether counsel is necessary in matters allowing for the appointment of counsel to 
assure that the incarcerated party's access to the court is protected,

(3) whether the incarcerated party is capable of self-representation, if that is the party’s 
choice, 

(4) how the incarcerated party can communicate with the court or the friend of the 
court during the pendency of the action, and whether the party needs special assistance 
for such communication, including participation by way of additional telephone calls 
or videoconferencing technology as permitted by the Michigan Court Rules, and 

(5) the scheduling and nature of future proceedings, to the extent practicable, and the 
manner in which the incarcerated party may participate. 

(F) A court may not grant the relief requested by the moving party concerning the minor 
child if the incarcerated party has not been offered the opportunity to participate in the 
proceedings, as described in this rule. This provision shall not apply if the incarcerated 
party actually does participate in a telephone call or video conference, or if the court 
determines that immediate action is necessary on a temporary basis to protect the minor 
child. 

(G) The court may impose sanctions if it finds that an attempt was made to keep 
information about the case from an incarcerated party in order to deny that party access to 
the courts. 

SUBCHAPTER 2.100 COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION; SERVICE OF PROCESS; 
PLEADINGS; MOTIONS

RULE 2.101 FORM AND COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION

(A) Form of Action. There is one form of action known as a “civil action.”
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(B) Commencement of Action. A civil action is commenced by filing a complaint with a 
court.

RULE 2.102 SUMMONS; EXPIRATION OF SUMMONS; DISMISSAL OF ACTION FOR FAILURE TO 
SERVE

(A) Issuance. On the filing of a complaint, the court clerk shall issue a summons to be 
served as provided in MCR 2.103 and 2.105. A separate summons may issue against a 
particular defendant or group of defendants. A duplicate summons may be issued from 
time to time and is as valid as the original summons.

(B) Form. A summons must be issued “In the name of the people of the State of 
Michigan,” under the seal of the court that issued it. It must be directed to the defendant, 
and include

(1) the name and address of the court,

(2) the names of the parties,

(3) the case number,

(4) the name and address of the plaintiff’s attorney or the address of a plaintiff 
appearing without an attorney,

(5) the defendant’s address, if known, 

(6) the name of the court clerk,

(7) the date on which the summons was issued,

(8) the last date on which the summons is valid,

(9) a statement that the summons is invalid unless served on or before the last date on 
which it is valid,

(10) the time within which the defendant is required to answer or take other action, and

(11) a notice that if the defendant fails to answer or take other action within the time 
allowed, judgment may be entered against the defendant for the relief demanded in the 
complaint.

(C) Amendment. At any time on terms that are just, a court may allow process or proof of 
service of process to be amended, unless it clearly appears that to do so would materially 
prejudice the substantive rights of the party against whom the process issued. An 
amendment relates back to the date of the original issuance or service of process unless the 
court determines that relation back would unfairly prejudice the party against whom the 
process issued.

(D) Expiration. A summons expires 91 days after the date the summons is issued. 
However, within those 91 days, on a showing of due diligence by the plaintiff in 
attempting to serve the original summons, the judge to whom the action is assigned may 
order a second summons to issue for a definite period not exceeding 1 year from the date 
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the summons is issued. If such an extension is granted, the new summons expires at the 
end of the extended period. The judge may impose just conditions on the issuance of the 
second summons. Duplicate summonses issued under subrule (A) do not extend the life of 
the original summons. The running of the 91-day period is tolled while a motion 
challenging the sufficiency of the summons or of the service of the summons is pending.

(E) Dismissal as to Defendant Not Served.

(1) On the expiration of the summons as provided in subrule (D), the action is deemed 
dismissed without prejudice as to a defendant who has not been served with process as 
provided in these rules, unless the defendant has submitted to the court’s jurisdiction. 
As to a defendant added as a party after the filing of the first complaint in the action, 
the time provided in this rule runs from the filing of the first pleading that names that 
defendant as a party.

(2) After the time stated in subrule (E)(1), the clerk shall examine the court records 
and enter an order dismissing the action as to a defendant who has not been served 
with process or submitted to the court’s jurisdiction. The clerk’s failure to enter a 
dismissal order does not continue an action deemed dismissed.

(3) The clerk shall give notice of the entry of a dismissal order under MCR 2.107 and 
record the date of the notice in the case file. The failure to give notice does not affect 
the dismissal.

(F) Setting Aside Dismissal. A court may set aside the dismissal of the action as to a 
defendant under subrule (E) only on stipulation of the parties or when all of the following 
conditions are met:

(1) within the time provided in subrule (D), service of process was in fact made on the 
dismissed defendant, or the defendant submitted to the court's jurisdiction;

(2) proof of service of process was filed or the failure to file is excused for good cause 
shown;

(3) the motion to set aside the dismissal was filed within 28 days after notice of the 
order of dismissal was given, or, if notice of dismissal was not given, the motion was 
promptly filed after the plaintiff learned of the dismissal.

(G) Exception; Summary Proceedings to Recover Possession of Realty. Subrules (D), (E), 
and (F) do not apply to summary proceedings governed by MCL 600.5701-600.5759 and 
by subchapter 4.200 of these rules.

RULE 2.103 PROCESS; WHO MAY SERVE

(A) Service Generally. Process in civil actions may be served by any legally competent 
adult who is not a party or an officer of a corporate party.

(B) Service Requiring Seizure of Property. A writ of restitution or process requiring the 
seizure or attachment of property may only be served by



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 34   Updated April 26, 2024 

(1) a sheriff or deputy sheriff, or a bailiff or court officer appointed by the court for 
that purpose,

(2) an officer of the Department of State Police in an action in which the state is a 
party, or

(3) a police officer of an incorporated city or village in an action in which the city or 
village is a party.

A writ of garnishment may be served by any person authorized by subrule (A).

(C) Service in a Governmental Institution. If personal service of process is to be made on a 
person in a governmental institution, hospital, or home, service must be made by the 
person in charge of the institution or by someone designated by that person.

(D) Process Requiring Arrest. Process in civil proceedings requiring the arrest of a person 
may be served only by a sheriff, deputy sheriff, or police officer, or by a court officer 
appointed by the court for that purpose.

RULE 2.104 PROCESS; PROOF OF SERVICE

(A) Requirements. Proof of service may be made by 

(1) written acknowledgment of the receipt of a summons and a copy of the complaint, 
dated and signed by the person to whom the service is directed or by a person 
authorized under these rules to receive the service of process;

(2) a certificate stating the facts of service, including the manner, time, date, and place 
of service, if service is made within the State of Michigan by

(a) a sheriff,

(b) a deputy sheriff or bailiff, if that officer holds office in the county in which the 
court issuing the process is held,

(c) an appointed court officer,

(d) an attorney for a party; or

(3) a written statement of the facts of service, verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). The 
statement shall include the manner, time, date, and place of service, and indicate the 
process server's official capacity, if any.

The place of service must be described by giving the address where the service was 
made or, if the service was not made at a particular address, by another description of 
the location.

(B) Failure to File. Failure to file proof of service does not affect the validity of the 
service.

(C) Publication, Posting, and Mailing. If the manner of service used requires sending a 
copy of the summons and complaint by mail, the party requesting issuance of the 



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 35   Updated April 26, 2024 

summons is responsible for arranging the mailing and filing proof of service. Proof of 
publication, posting, and mailing under MCR 2.106 is governed by MCR 2.106(G).

RULE 2.105 PROCESS; MANNER OF SERVICE

(A) Individuals. Process may be served on a resident or nonresident individual by

(1) delivering a summons and a copy of the complaint to the defendant personally; or

(2) sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered or certified mail, 
return receipt requested, and delivery restricted to the addressee. Service is made when 
the defendant acknowledges receipt of the mail. A copy of the return receipt signed by 
the defendant must be attached to proof showing service under subrule (A)(2).

(B) Individuals; Substituted Service. Service of process may be made 

(1) on a nonresident individual, by

(a) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint in Michigan on an agent, 
employee, representative, sales representative, or servant of the defendant, and

(b) sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail addressed 
to the defendant at his or her last known address;

(2) on a minor, by serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on a person having 
care and control of the minor and with whom he or she resides;

(3) on a defendant for whom a guardian or conservator has been appointed and is 
acting, by serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on the guardian or 
conservator;

(4) on an individual doing business under an assumed name, by 

(a) serving a summons and copy of the complaint on the person in charge of an 
office or business establishment of the individual, and

(b) sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail addressed 
to the individual at his or her usual residence or last known address.

(C) Partnerships; Limited Partnerships. Service of process on a partnership or limited 
partnership may be made by

(1) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on any general partner or agent for 
service of process; or

(2) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on the person in charge of a 
partnership office or business establishment and sending a summons and a copy of the 
complaint by registered mail, addressed to a general partner or agent for service of 
process at his or her usual residence or last known address.

(D) Private Corporations, Domestic and Foreign. Service of process on a domestic or 
foreign corporation may be made by
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(1) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on an officer or the resident agent;

(2) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on a director, trustee, or person in 
charge of an office or business establishment of the corporation and sending a 
summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail, addressed to the principal 
office of the corporation;

(3) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on the last presiding officer, 
president, cashier, secretary, or treasurer of a corporation that has ceased to do 
business by failing to keep up its organization by the appointment of officers or 
otherwise, or whose term of existence has expired;

(4) sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail to the 
corporation or an appropriate corporation officer and to the Michigan Bureau of 
Commercial Services, Corporation Division if

(a) the corporation has failed to appoint and maintain a resident agent or to file a 
certificate of that appointment as required by law;

(b) the corporation has failed to keep up its organization by the appointment of 
officers or otherwise; or

(c) the corporation's term of existence has expired. 

(E) Partnership Associations; Unincorporated Voluntary Associations. Service of process 
on a partnership association or an unincorporated voluntary association may be made by

(1) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on an officer, director, trustee, 
agent, or person in charge of an office or business establishment of the association, 
and

(2) sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail, addressed to an 
office of the association. If an office cannot be located, a summons and a copy of the 
complaint may be sent by registered mail to a member of the association other than the 
person on whom the summons and complaint was served.

(F) Service on Insurer. To the extent that it is permitted by statute, service on an insurer 
may be satisfied by providing two summonses and a copy of the complaint to the 
Commissioner of the Office of Financial and Insurance Regulation via delivery or 
registered mail.

(G) Public Corporations. Service of process on a public, municipal, quasi-municipal, or 
governmental corporation, unincorporated board, or public body may be made by serving 
a summons and a copy of the complaint on:

(1) the chairperson of the board of commissioners or the county clerk of a county;

(2) the mayor, the city clerk, or the city attorney of a city; 

(3) the president, the clerk, or a trustee of a village; 

(4) the supervisor or the township clerk of a township; 



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 37   Updated April 26, 2024 

(5) the president, the secretary, or the treasurer of a school district;

(6) the president or the secretary of the Michigan State Board of Education;

(7) the president, the secretary, or other member of the governing body of a corporate 
body or an unincorporated board having control of a state institution;

(8) the president, the chairperson, the secretary, the manager, or the clerk of any other 
public body organized or existing under the constitution or laws of Michigan, when no 
other method of service is specially provided by statute.

The service of process may be made on an officer having substantially the same duties 
as those named or described above, irrespective of title. In any case, service may be 
made by serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on a person in charge of the 
office of an officer on whom service may be made and sending a summons and a copy 
of the complaint by registered mail addressed to the officer at his or her office.

(H) Limited Liability Company. Service of process on a limited liability company may be 
made by:

(1) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on the managing member, the non-
member manager, or the resident agent;

(2) serving a summons and a copy of the complaint on a member or other person in 
charge of an office or business establishment of the limited liability company and 
sending a summons and a copy of the complaint by registered mail, addressed to the 
registered office of the limited liability company.

(3) If a limited liability company fails to appoint or maintain an agent for service of 
process, or service under subsections (1) and (2) cannot be accomplished through the 
exercise of reasonable diligence, service of process may be made by delivering or 
mailing by registered mail to the administrator (pursuant to MCL 450.4102[2][a]) a 
summons and copy of the complaint.

(I) Agent Authorized by Appointment or by Law.

(1) Service of process on a defendant may be made by serving a summons and a copy 
of the complaint on an agent authorized by written appointment or by law to receive 
service of process.

(2) Whenever, pursuant to statute or court rule, service of process is to be made on a 
nongovernmental defendant by service on a public officer, service on the public 
officer may be made by registered mail addressed to his or her office.

(J) Discretion of the Court.

(1) On a showing that service of process cannot reasonably be made as provided by 
this rule, the court may by order permit service of process to be made in any other 
manner reasonably calculated to give the defendant actual notice of the proceedings 
and an opportunity to be heard. 
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(2) A request for an order under the rule must be made in a verified motion dated not 
more than 14 days before it is filed. The motion must set forth sufficient facts to show 
that process cannot be served under this rule and must state the defendant's address or 
last known address, or that no address of the defendant is known. If the name or 
present address of the defendant is unknown, the moving party must set forth facts 
showing diligent inquiry to ascertain it. A hearing on the motion is not required unless 
the court so directs.

(3) Service of process may not be made under this subrule before entry of the court's 
order permitting it.

(K) Jurisdiction; Range of Service; Effect of Improper Service.

(1) Provisions for service of process contained in these rules are intended to satisfy the 
due process requirement that a defendant be informed of an action by the best means 
available under the circumstances. These rules are not intended to limit or expand the 
jurisdiction given the Michigan courts over a defendant. The jurisdiction of a court 
over a defendant is governed by the United States Constitution and the constitution 
and laws of the State of Michigan. See MCL 600.701 et seq. 

(2) There is no territorial limitation on the range of process issued by a Michigan 
court.

(3) An action shall not be dismissed for improper service of process unless the service 
failed to inform the defendant of the action within the time provided in these rules for 
service.

(L) Registered and Certified Mail.

(1) If a rule uses the term “registered mail,” that term includes the term “certified 
mail,” and the term “registered mail, return receipt requested” includes the term 
“certified mail, return receipt requested.” However, if certified mail is used, the receipt 
of mailing must be postmarked by the post office.

(2) If a rule uses the term “certified mail,” a postmarked receipt of mailing is not 
required. Registered mail may be used when a rule requires certified mail.

RULE 2.106 NOTICE BY POSTING OR PUBLICATION

(A) Availability. This rule governs service of process by publication or posting pursuant to 
an order under MCR 2.105(J).

(B) Procedure. A request for an order permitting service under this rule shall be made by 
motion in the manner provided in MCR 2.105(J). In ruling on the motion, the court shall 
determine whether mailing is required under subrules (D)(2) or (E)(2).

(C) Notice of Action; Contents.

(1) The order directing that notice be given to a defendant under this rule must include

(a) the name of the court,
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(b) the names of the parties,

(c) a statement describing the nature of the proceedings,

(d) directions as to where and when to answer or take other action permitted by 
law or court rule, and

(e) a statement as to the effect of failure to answer or take other action.

(2) If the names of some or all defendants are unknown, the order must describe the 
relationship of the unknown defendants to the matter to be litigated in the best way 
possible, as, for example, unknown claimants, unknown owners, or unknown heirs, 
devisees, or assignees of a named person.

(D) Publication of Order; Mailing. If the court orders notice by publication, the defendant 
shall be notified of the action by

(1) publishing a copy of the order once each week for 3 consecutive weeks, or for such 
further time as the court may require, in a newspaper in the county where the 
defendant resides, if known, and if not, in the county where the action is pending; and

(2) sending a copy of the order to the defendant at his or her last known address by 
registered mail, return receipt requested, before the date of the last publication. If the 
plaintiff does not know the present or last known address of the defendant, and cannot 
ascertain it after diligent inquiry, mailing a copy of the order is not required. The 
moving party is responsible for arranging for the mailing and proof of mailing.

(E) Posting; Mailing. If the court orders notice by posting, the defendant shall be notified 
of the action by

(1) posting a copy of the order in the courthouse and 2 or more other public places as 
the court may direct for 3 continuous weeks or for such further time as the court may 
require; and

(2) sending a copy of the order to the defendant at his or her last known address by 
registered mail, return receipt requested, before the last week of posting. If the plaintiff 
does not know the present or last known address of the defendant, and cannot ascertain 
it after diligent inquiry, mailing a copy of the order is not required. The moving party 
is responsible for arranging for the mailing and proof of mailing.

The order must designate who is to post the notice and file proof of posting. Only a 
person listed in MCR 2.103(B)(1), (2), or (3) may be designated.

(F) Newspaper Defined.

(1) The term “newspaper” as used in this rule is limited to a newspaper published in 
the English language for the dissemination of general news and information or for the 
dissemination of legal news. The newspaper must have a bona fide list of paying 
subscribers or have been published at least once a week in the same community 
without interruption for at least 2 years, and have been established, published, and 
circulated at least once a week without interruption for at least 1 year in the county 
where publication is to occur.
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(2) If no newspaper qualifies in the county where publication is to be made under 
subrule (D)(1) the term “newspaper” includes a newspaper that by this rule is qualified 
to publish notice of actions commenced in an adjoining county.

(G) Proof of Service. Service of process made pursuant to this rule may be proven as 
follows:

(1) Publication must be proven by an affidavit of the publisher or the publisher's agent

(a) stating facts establishing the qualification of the newspaper in which the order 
was published,

(b) setting out a copy of the published order, and

(c) stating the dates on which it was published.

(2) Posting must be proven by a verified statement of the person designated in the 
order under subrule (E) attesting that a copy of the order was posted for the required 
time in the courthouse in a conspicuous place open to the public and in the other places 
as ordered by the court.

(3) Mailing must be proven by a verified statement. The person signing the verified 
statement must attach a copy of the order as mailed, and a return receipt.

RULE 2.107 SERVICE AND FILING OF PLEADINGS AND OTHER DOCUMENTS

(A) Service; When Required.

(1) Unless otherwise stated in this rule, every party who has filed a pleading, an 
appearance, or a motion must be served with a copy of every document later filed in 
the action. A nonparty who has filed a motion or appeared in response to a motion 
need only be served with documents that relate to that motion.

(2) Except as provided in MCR 2.603, after a default is entered against a party, further 
service of documents need not be made on that party unless he or she has filed an 
appearance or a written demand for service of documents. However, a pleading that 
states a new claim for relief against a party in default must be served in the manner 
provided by MCR 2.105.

(3) If an attorney appears on behalf of a person who has not received a copy of the 
complaint, a copy of the complaint must be delivered to the attorney on request.

(4) All documents filed on behalf of a defendant must be served on all other 
defendants not in default.

(B) Service on Attorney or Party.

(1) Service required or permitted to be made on a party for whom an attorney has 
appeared in the action must be made on the attorney except as follows:

(a) The original service of the summons and complaint must be made on the party 
as provided by MCR 2.105;
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(b) When a contempt proceeding for disobeying a court order is initiated, the 
notice or order must be personally delivered to the party, unless the court orders 
otherwise;

(c) After a final judgment or final order has been entered and the time for an appeal 
of right has passed, documents must be served on the party unless the rule 
governing the particular postjudgment procedure specifically allows service on the 
attorney;

(d) The court may order service on the party;

(e) If an attorney files a notice of limited appearance under MCR 2.117 on behalf 
of a self-represented party, service of every document later filed in the action must 
continue to be made on the party, and must also be made on the limited scope 
attorney for the duration of the limited appearance. At the request of the limited 
scope attorney, and if circumstances warrant, the court may order service to be 
made only on the party.

(2) If two or more attorneys represent the same party, service of documents on one of 
the attorneys is sufficient. An attorney who represents more than one party is entitled 
to service of only one copy of a document.

(3) If a party prosecutes or defends the action on his or her own behalf, service of 
documents must be made on the party in the manner provided by subrule (C).

(C) Manner of Service. Except under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a), service of a copy of a 
document on an attorney must be made by delivery or by mailing to the attorney at his or 
her last known business address or, if the attorney does not have a business address, then 
to his or her last known residence address. Except under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a), service on 
a party must be made by delivery or by mailing to the party at the address stated in the 
party's pleadings.

(1) Delivery to Attorney. Delivery of a copy to an attorney within this rule means

(a) handing it to the attorney personally, serving it electronically under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a), or, if agreed to by the parties, e-mailing it to the attorney as 
allowed under MCR 2.107(C)(4);

(b) leaving it at the attorney's office with the person in charge or, if no one is in 
charge or present, by leaving it in a conspicuous place; or

(c) if the office is closed or the attorney has no office, by leaving it at the attorney's 
usual residence with some person of suitable age and discretion residing there.

(2) Delivery to Party. Delivery of a copy to a party within this rule means

(a) handing it to the party personally, serving it electronically under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a), or, if agreed to by the parties, e-mailing it to the party as allowed 
under MCR 2.107(C)(4); or 

(b) leaving it at the party's usual residence with some person of suitable age and 
discretion residing there.
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(3) Mailing. Mailing a copy under this rule means enclosing it in a sealed envelope 
with first class postage fully prepaid, addressed to the person to be served, and 
depositing the envelope and its contents in the United States mail. Service by mail is 
complete at the time of mailing.

(4) Alternative Electronic Service

(a) Except as provided by MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a)(ii), the parties may agree to 
alternative electronic service among themselves by filing a stipulation in that case. 
Some or all of the parties may also agree to alternative electronic service of notices 
and court documents in a particular case by a court or a friend of the court by filing 
an agreement with the court or friend of the court respectively. Alternative 
electronic service may be by any of the following methods:

(i) e-mail,

(ii) text message, or

(iii) alert consisting of an e-mail or text message to log into a secure website to 
view notices and court papers.

(b) Obligation to Provide and Update Information.

(i) The agreement for alternative electronic service shall set forth the e-mail 
addresses or phone numbers for service. Attorneys who agree to e-mail service 
shall include the same e-mail address currently on file with the State Bar of 
Michigan. If an attorney is not a member of the State Bar of Michigan, the 
email address shall be the e-mail address currently on file with the appropriate 
registering agency in the state of the attorney’s admission. Parties or attorneys 
who have agreed to alternative electronic service under this subrule shall 
immediately notify, as required, the court or the friend of the court if the e-mail 
address or phone number for service changes.

(ii) The agreement for service by text message or text message alert shall set 
forth the phone number for service. Parties or attorneys who have agreed to 
service by text message or text message alert under this subrule shall 
immediately notify, as required, the court or the friend of the court if the phone 
number for service changes.

(c) The party or attorney shall set forth in the agreement all limitations and 
conditions concerning e-mail or text message service, including but not limited to:

(i) the maximum size of the document that may be attached to an e-mail or text 
message,

(ii) designation of exhibits as separate documents,

(iii) the obligation (if any) to furnish paper copies of e-mailed or text message 
documents, and

(iv) the names and e-mail addresses of other individuals in the office of an 
attorney of record designated to receive e-mail service on behalf of a party.
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(d) Documents served by e-mail or text message must be in PDF format or other 
format that prevents the alteration of the document contents. Documents served by 
alert must be in PDF format or other format for which a free downloadable reader 
is available.

(e) A document served by alternative electronic service that the court or friend of 
the court or his or her authorized designee is required to sign may be signed in 
accordance with MCR 1.109(E).

(f) Each e-mail or text message that transmits a document or provides an alert to 
log in to view a document shall identify in the e-mail subject line or at the 
beginning of the text message the name of the court, case name, case number, and 
the title of each document being sent.

(g) An alternative electronic service transmission sent at or before 11:59 p.m. shall 
be deemed to be served on that day. If the transmission is sent on a Saturday, 
Sunday, legal holiday, or other day on which the court is closed pursuant to court 
order, it is deemed to be served on the next business day.

(h) A party or attorney may withdraw from an agreement for alternative electronic 
service by notifying the party or parties, court, and the friend of the court, as 
appropriate, in writing and shall take effect immediately.

(i) Alternative electronic service is complete upon transmission, unless the party, 
court, or friend of the court making service learns that the attempted service did 
not reach the intended recipient. If an alternative electronic service transmission is 
undeliverable, the entity responsible for serving the document must serve the 
document by regular mail under MCR 2.107(C)(3) or by delivery under MCR 
2.107(C)(1) or (2), and include a copy of the return notice indicating that the 
electronic transmission was undeliverable. The court or friend of the court must 
also retain a notice that the electronic transmission was undeliverable.

(j) The party, court, or friend of the court shall maintain an archived record of sent 
items that shall not be purged until a judgment or final order is entered and all 
appeals have been completed.

(k) This rule does not require the court or the friend of the court to create 
functionality it does not have nor accommodate more than one standard for 
alternative electronic service.

(l) The party or attorney requesting electronic service under this subrule is required 
to submit a request to initiate, update, modify, or withdraw from electronic service 
to the court independently from the friend of the court office.

(D) Proof of Service. Except as otherwise provided by MCR 2.104, 2.105, or 2.106, proof 
of service of documents required or permitted to be served must be by written 
acknowledgment of service, or a written statement by the individual who served the 
documents verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). The proof of service may be included at the 
end of the document as filed. Proof of service must be filed promptly and at least at or 
before a hearing to which the document relates.
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(E) Service Prescribed by Court. When service of documents after the original complaint 
cannot reasonably be made because there is no attorney of record, because the party 
cannot be found, or for any other reason, the court, for good cause on ex parte application, 
may direct in what manner and on whom service may be made.

(F) Numerous Parties. In an action in which there is an unusually large number of parties 
on the same side, the court on motion or on its own initiative may order that

(1) they need not serve their documents on each other; 

(2) responses to their pleadings need only be served on the party to whose pleading the 
response is made;

(3) a cross-claim, counterclaim, or allegation in an answer demanding a reply is 
deemed denied by the parties not served; and

(4) the filing of a pleading and service on an adverse party constitutes notice of it to all 
parties.

A copy of the order must be served on all parties in the manner the court directs.

(G) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, until further order of the Court, all 
service of process except for case initiation must be performed using electronic means (e-
Filing where available, email, or fax, where available) to the greatest extent possible. 
Email transmission does not require agreement by the other party(s) but should otherwise 
comply as much as possible with the provisions of subsection (C)(4).

RULE 2.108 TIME

(A) Time for Service and Filing of Pleadings.

(1) A defendant must serve and file an answer or take other action permitted by law or 
these rules within 21 days after being served with the summons and a copy of the 
complaint in Michigan in the manner provided in MCR 2.105(A)(1).

(2) If service of the summons and a copy of the complaint is made outside Michigan, 
or if the manner of service used requires the summons and a copy of the complaint to 
be sent by registered mail addressed to the defendant, the defendant must serve and 
file an answer or take other action permitted by law or these rules within 28 days after 
service.

(3) When service is made in accordance with MCR 2.106, the court shall allow a 
reasonable time for the defendant to answer or take other action permitted by law or 
these rules, but may not prescribe a time less than 28 days after publication or posting 
is completed.

(4) A party served with a pleading stating a cross-claim or counterclaim against that 
party must serve and file an answer or take other action permitted by law or these rules 
within 21 days after service.

(5) A party served with a pleading to which a reply is required or permitted may serve 
and file a reply within 21 days after service of the pleading to which it is directed.
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(6) In an action alleging medical malpractice filed on or after October 1, 1986, unless 
the defendant has responded as provided in subrule (A)(1) or (2), the defendant must 
serve and file an answer within 21 days after being served with the notice of filing the 
security for costs or the affidavit in lieu of such security required by MCL 600.2912d.

(B) Time for Filing Motion in Response to Pleading. A motion raising a defense or an 
objection to a pleading must be served and filed within the time for filing the responsive 
pleading or, if no responsive pleading is required, within 21 days after service of the 
pleading to which the motion is directed.

(C) Effect of Particular Motions and Amendments. When a motion or an amended 
pleading is filed, the time for pleading set in subrule (A) is altered as follows, unless a 
different time is set by the court:

(1) If a motion under MCR 2.115(A) or MCR 2.116 made before filing a responsive 
pleading is denied, the moving party must serve and file a responsive pleading within 
21 days after notice of the denial. However, if the moving party, within 21 days, files 
an application for leave to appeal from the order, the time is extended until 21 days 
after the denial of the application unless the appellate court orders otherwise.

(2) An order granting a motion under MCR 2.116 must set the time for service and 
filing of the amended pleading, if one is allowed.

(3) The response to a supplemental pleading or to a pleading amended either as of 
right or by leave of court must be served and filed within the time remaining for 
response to the original pleading or within 21 days after service of the supplemental or 
amended pleading, whichever period is longer.

(4) If the court has granted a motion for more definite statement, the responsive 
pleading must be served and filed within 21 days after the more definite statement is 
served.

(D) Time for Service of Order to Show Cause. An order to show cause must set the time 
for service of the order and for the hearing, and may set the time for answer to the 
complaint or response to the motion on which the order is based.

(E) Extension of Time. A court may, with notice to the other parties who have appeared, 
extend the time for serving and filing a pleading or motion or the doing of another act, if 
the request is made before the expiration of the period originally prescribed. After the 
expiration of the original period, the court may, on motion, permit a party to act if the 
failure to act was the result of excusable neglect. However, if a rule governing a particular 
act limits the authority to extend the time, those limitations must be observed. MCR 
2.603(D) applies if a default has been entered.

(F) Unaffected by Expiration of Term. The time provided for the doing of an act or the 
holding of a proceeding is not affected or limited by the continuation or expiration of a 
term of court. The continuation or expiration of a term of court does not affect the power 
of a court to do an act or conduct a proceeding in a civil action pending before it.
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RULE 2.109 SECURITY FOR COSTS

(A) Motion. On motion of a party against whom a claim has been asserted in a civil action, 
if it appears reasonable and proper, the court may order the opposing party to file with the 
court clerk a bond with surety as required by the court in an amount sufficient to cover all 
costs and other recoverable expenses that may be awarded by the trial court, or, if the 
claiming party appeals, by the trial and appellate courts. The court shall determine the 
amount in its discretion. MCR 3.604(E) and (F) govern objections to the surety.

(B) Exceptions. Subrule (A) does not apply in the following circumstances:

(1) The court may allow a party to proceed without furnishing security for costs if the 
party’s pleading states a legitimate claim and the party shows by affidavit that he or 
she is financially unable to furnish a security bond.

(2) Security shall not be required of

(a) the United States or an agency or instrumentality of the United States;

(b) the State of Michigan or a governmental unit of the state, including but not 
limited to a public, municipal, quasi-municipal or governmental corporation, 
unincorporated board, public body, or political subdivision; or

(c) an officer of a governmental unit or agency exempt from security who brings 
an action in his or her official capacity.

(C) Modification of Order. The court may order new or additional security at any time on 
just terms,

(1) if the party or the surety moves out of Michigan, or

(2) if the original amount of the bond proves insufficient. 

A person who becomes a new or additional surety is liable for all costs from the 
commencement of the action, as if he or she had been the original surety.

RULE 2.110 PLEADINGS

(A) Definition of “Pleading.” The term “pleading” includes only:

(1) a complaint,

(2) a cross-claim,

(3) a counterclaim,

(4) a third-party complaint,

(5) an answer to a complaint, cross-claim, counterclaim, or third-party complaint, and

(6) a reply to an answer.

No other form of pleading is allowed.
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(B) When Responsive Pleading Required. A party must file and serve a responsive 
pleading to

(1) a complaint,

(2) a counterclaim,

(3) a cross-claim,

(4) a third-party complaint, or

(5) an answer demanding a reply.

(C) Designation of Cross-Claim or Counterclaim. A cross-claim or a counterclaim may be 
combined with an answer. The counterclaim or cross-claim must be clearly designated as 
such.

(1) A responsive pleading is not required to a cross-claim or counterclaim that is not 
clearly designated as such in the answer.

(2) If a party has raised a cross-claim or counterclaim in the answer, but has not 
designated it as such, the court may treat the pleading as if it had been properly 
designated and require the party to amend the pleading, direct the opposing party to 
file a responsive pleading, or enter another appropriate order.

(3) The court may treat a cross-claim or counterclaim designated as a defense, or a 
defense designated as a cross-claim or counterclaim, as if the designation had been 
proper and issue an appropriate order.

RULE 2.111 GENERAL RULES OF PLEADING

(A) Pleading to be Concise and Direct; Inconsistent Claims.

(1) Each allegation of a pleading must be clear, concise, and direct.

(2) Inconsistent claims or defenses are not objectionable. A party may

(a) allege two or more statements of fact in the alternative when in doubt about 
which of the statements is true;

(b) state as many separate claims or defenses as the party has, regardless of 
consistency and whether they are based on legal or equitable grounds or on both.

All statements made in a pleading are subject to the requirements of MCR 
1.109(D)(3) and (E).

(B) Statement of Claim. A complaint, counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party complaint 
must contain the following:

(1) A statement of the facts, without repetition, on which the pleader relies in stating 
the cause of action, with the specific allegations necessary reasonably to inform the 
adverse party of the nature of the claims the adverse party is called on to defend; and

(2) A demand for judgment for the relief that the pleader seeks. If the pleader seeks an 
award of money, a specific amount must be stated if the claim is for a sum certain or a 
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sum that can by computation be made certain, or if the amount sought is $25,000 or 
less. Otherwise, a specific amount may not be stated, and the pleading must include 
allegations that show that the claim is within the jurisdiction of the court. Declaratory 
relief may be claimed in cases of actual controversy. See MCR 2.605. Relief in the 
alternative or relief of several different types may be demanded.

(C) Form of Responsive Pleading. As to each allegation on which the adverse party relies, 
a responsive pleading must

(1) state an explicit admission or denial; 

(2) plead no contest; or

(3) state that the pleader lacks knowledge or information sufficient to form a belief as 
to the truth of an allegation, which has the effect of a denial.

(D) Form of Denials. Each denial must state the substance of the matters on which the 
pleader will rely to support the denial.

(E) Effect of Failure to Deny.

(1) Allegations in a pleading that requires a responsive pleading, other than allegations 
of the amount of damage or the nature of the relief demanded, are admitted if not 
denied in the responsive pleading.

(2) Allegations in a pleading that does not require a responsive pleading are taken as 
denied.

(3) A pleading of no contest, provided for in subrule (C)(2), permits the action to 
proceed without proof of the claim or part of the claim to which the pleading is 
directed. Pleading no contest has the effect of an admission only for purposes of the 
pending action.

(F) Defenses; Requirement That Defense Be Pleaded.

(1) Pleading Multiple Defenses. A pleader may assert as many defenses, legal or 
equitable or both, as the pleader has against an opposing party. A defense is not 
waived by being joined with other defenses.

(2) Defenses Must Be Pleaded; Exceptions. A party against whom a cause of action 
has been asserted by complaint, cross-claim, counterclaim, or third-party claim must 
assert in a responsive pleading the defenses the party has against the claim. A defense 
not asserted in the responsive pleading or by motion as provided by these rules is 
waived, except for the defenses of lack of jurisdiction over the subject matter of the 
action, and failure to state a claim on which relief can be granted. However,

(a) a party who has asserted a defense by motion filed pursuant to MCR 2.116 
before filing a responsive pleading need not again assert that defense in a 
responsive pleading later filed;
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(b) if a pleading states a claim for relief to which a responsive pleading is not 
required, a defense to that claim may be asserted at the trial unless a pretrial 
conference summary pursuant to MCR 2.401(C) has limited the issues to be tried.

(3) Affirmative Defenses. Affirmative defenses must be stated in a party's responsive 
pleading, either as originally filed or as amended in accordance with MCR 2.118. 
Under a separate and distinct heading, a party must state the facts constituting

(a) an affirmative defense, such as contributory negligence; the existence of an 
agreement to arbitrate; assumption of risk; payment; release; satisfaction; 
discharge; license; fraud; duress; estoppel; statute of frauds; statute of limitations; 
immunity granted by law; want or failure of consideration; or that an instrument or 
transaction is void, voidable, or cannot be recovered on by reason of statute or 
nondelivery;

(b) a defense that by reason of other affirmative matter seeks to avoid the legal 
effect of or defeat the claim of the opposing party, in whole or in part;

(c) a ground of defense that, if not raised in the pleading, would be likely to take 
the adverse party by surprise.

RULE 2.112 PLEADING SPECIAL MATTERS

(A) Capacity; Legal Existence.

(1) Except to the extent required to show jurisdiction of a court, it is not necessary to 
allege

(a) the capacity of a party to sue,

(b) the authority of a party to sue or be sued in a representative capacity, or

(c) the legal existence of an organized association of persons that is made a party.

(2) A party wishing to raise an issue about 

(a) the legal existence of a party,

(b) the capacity of a party to sue or be sued, or 

(c) the authority of a party to sue or be sued in a representative capacity, must do 
so by specific allegation, including supporting facts peculiarly within the pleader's 
knowledge.

(B) Fraud, Mistake, or Condition of Mind.

(1) In allegations of fraud or mistake, the circumstances constituting fraud or mistake 
must be stated with particularity.

(2) Malice, intent, knowledge, and other conditions of mind may be alleged generally.

(C) Conditions Precedent.

(1) In pleading performance or occurrence of conditions precedent, it is sufficient to 
allege generally that all conditions precedent have been performed or have occurred.
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(2) A denial of performance or occurrence must be made specifically and with 
particularity.

(D) Action on Policy of Insurance.

(1) In an action on a policy of insurance, it is sufficient to allege

(a) the execution, date, and amount of the policy, 

(b) the premium paid or to be paid,

(c) the property or risk insured,

(d) the interest of the insured, and

(e) the loss.

(2) A defense of

(a) breach of condition, agreement, representation, or warranty of a policy of 
insurance or of an application for a policy; or

(b) failure to furnish proof of loss as required by the policy must be stated 
specifically and with particularity.

(E) Action on Written Instrument.

(1) In an action on a written instrument, the execution of the instrument and the 
handwriting of the defendant are admitted unless the defendant specifically denies the 
execution or the handwriting and supports the denial with an affidavit filed with the 
answer. The court may, for good cause, extend the time for filing the affidavits.

(2) This subrule also applies to an action against an indorser and to a party against 
whom a counterclaim or a cross-claim on a written instrument is filed.

(F) Official Document or Act. In pleading an official document or official act, it is 
sufficient to allege that the document was issued or the act done in compliance with law.

(G) Judgment. A judgment or decision of a domestic or foreign court, a tribal court of a 
federally recognized Indian tribe, a judicial or quasi-judicial tribunal, or a board or officer, 
must be alleged with sufficient particularity to identify it; it is not necessary to state facts 
showing jurisdiction to render it.

(H) Statutes, Ordinances, or Charters. In pleading a statute, ordinance, or municipal 
charter, it is sufficient to identify it, without stating its substance, except as provided in 
subrule (M).

(I) Special Damages. When items of special damage are claimed, they must be specifically 
stated.

(J) Law of Other Jurisdictions; Notice in Pleadings. A party who intends to rely on or raise 
an issue concerning the law of



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 51   Updated April 26, 2024 

(1) a state other than Michigan, 

(2) a United States territory,

(3) a foreign nation or unit thereof, or

(4) a federally recognized Indian tribe must give notice of that intention either in his or 
her pleadings or in a written notice served by the close of discovery.

(K) Fault of Nonparties; Notice.

(1) Applicability. This subrule applies to actions based on tort or another legal theory 
seeking damages for personal injury, property damage, or wrongful death to which 
MCL 600.2957 and MCL 600.6304, as amended by 1995 PA 249, apply.

(2) Notice Requirement. Notwithstanding MCL 600.6304, the trier of fact shall not 
assess the fault of a nonparty unless notice has been given as provided in this subrule.

(3) Notice.

(a) A party against whom a claim is asserted may give notice of a claim that a 
nonparty is wholly or partially at fault. A notice filed by one party identifying a 
particular nonparty serves as notice by all parties as to that nonparty.

(b) The notice shall designate the nonparty and set forth the nonparty’s name and 
last known address, or the best identification of the nonparty that is possible, 
together with a brief statement of the basis for believing the nonparty is at fault.

(c) The notice must be filed within 91 days after the party files its first responsive 
pleading. On motion, the court shall allow a later filing of the notice on a showing 
that the facts on which the notice is based were not and could not with reasonable 
diligence have been known to the moving party earlier, provided that the late filing 
of the notice does not result in unfair prejudice to the opposing party.

(4) Amendment Adding Party. A party served with a notice under this subrule may file 
an amended pleading stating a claim or claims against the nonparty within 91 days of 
service of the first notice identifying that nonparty. The court may permit later 
amendment as provided in MCR 2.118.

(L) Medical Malpractice Actions. 

(1) In an action alleging medical malpractice filed on or after October 1, 1993, each 
party must file an affidavit as provided in MCL 600.2912d and 600.2912e. Notice of 
filing the affidavit must be promptly served on the opposing party. If the opposing 
party has appeared in the action, the notice may be served in the manner provided by 
MCR 2.107. If the opposing party has not appeared, the notice must be served in the 
manner provided by MCR 2.105. Proof of service of the notice must be promptly filed 
with the court.

(2)In a medical malpractice action, unless the court allows a later challenge for good 
cause:
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(a) all challenges to a notice of intent to sue must be made by motion, filed 
pursuant to MCR 2.119, at the time the defendant files its first response to the 
complaint, whether by answer or motion, and

(b) all challenges to an affidavit of merit or affidavit of meritorious defense, 
including challenges to the qualifications of the signer, must be made by motion, 
filed pursuant to MCR 2.119, within 63 days of service of the affidavit on the 
opposing party. An affidavit of merit or meritorious defense may be amended in 
accordance with the terms and conditions set forth in MCR 2.118 and MCL 
600.2301.

(M) Headlee Amendment Actions. In an action brought pursuant to Const 1963, art 9, §  
32, alleging a violation of Const 1963, art 9, §§ 25-34, the pleadings shall set forth with 
particularity the factual basis for the alleged violation or a defense and indicate whether 
there are any factual questions that are anticipated to require resolution by the court. In an 
action involving Const 1963, art 9, § 29, the plaintiff shall state with particularity the type 
and extent of the harm and whether there has been a violation of either the first or second 
sentence of that section. In an action involving the second sentence of Const 1963, art 9, 
§29, the plaintiff shall state with particularity the activity or service involved. The 
pleadings shall identify all statutes involved in the case, and the parties shall append to 
their pleadings copies of all ordinances and municipal charter provisions involved, and 
any available documentary evidence supportive of a claim or defense. The parties may 
supplement their pleadings with additional documentary evidence as it becomes available 
to them.

(N)A party whose cause of action is to collect a consumer debt as defined in the Michigan 
collection practices act (MCL 445.251[a] and [d]) must also include the following 
information in its complaint: 

(1)the name of the creditor (as defined in MCL 445.251[e] and [f]), and

(2)the corresponding account number or identification number, or if none is available, 
information sufficient to identify the alleged debt, and 

(3)the balance due to date. 

(O) Business and Commercial Disputes

(1) If a case involves a business or commercial dispute as defined in MCL 600.8031 
and the court maintains a business court docket, a party shall verify on the face of the 
party’s initial pleading that the case meets the statutory requirements to be assigned to 
the business court. If a cross-claim, counterclaim, third-party complaint, amendment, 
or any other modification of the action includes a business or commercial dispute, a 
party shall verify on the face of the party’s pleading that the case meets the statutory 
requirements to be assigned to the business court.

(2) If a party files a pleading alleging a business or commercial dispute as defined in 
MCL 600.8031 but fails to verify that the case meets the statutory requirements to be 
assigned to the business court as required in subsection (1) of this subrule, any party to 



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 53   Updated April 26, 2024 

the action may thereafter file a motion for determination that the case is eligible for 
assignment to the business court.

(3) On the motion of a party or the court’s own initiative, if the court determines that 
the action meets the statutory requirements of MCL 600.8031, the court shall assign 
the case to the business court.    

(4) A party may file a motion requesting the chief judge review a decision made under 
subsection 3. The chief judge’s ruling is not an order that may be appealed.

RULE 2.113 FORM, CAPTIONING, SIGNING, AND VERIFYING OF DOCUMENTS

(A) Applicability. The form, captioning, signing, and verifying of all documents are 
prescribed in MCR 1.109(D) and (E).

(B) Paragraphs; Separate Statements.

(1) All allegations must be made in numbered paragraphs, and the paragraphs of a 
responsive pleading must be numbered to correspond to the numbers of the paragraphs 
being answered.

(2) The content of each paragraph must be limited as far as practicable to a single set 
of circumstances.

(3) Each statement of a claim for relief founded on a single transaction or occurrence 
or on separate transactions or occurrences, and each defense other than a denial, must 
be stated in a separately numbered count or defense.

(C) Written Instruments.

(1) If a claim or defense is based on a written instrument, a copy of the instrument or 
its pertinent parts must be attached to the pleading and labeled according to standards 
established by the State Court Administrative Office unless the instrument is

(a) a matter of public record in the county in which the action is commenced and 
its location in the record is stated in the pleading;

(b) in the possession of the adverse party and the pleading so states;

(c) inaccessible to the pleader and the pleading so states, giving the reason; or

(d) of a nature that attaching the instrument would be unnecessary or impractical 
and the pleading so states, giving the reason.

(2) An attachment or reference to an attachment under subrule (C)(1)(a) or (b) is a part 
of the pleading for all purposes.

(D) Adoption by Reference. Statements in a pleading may be adopted by reference only in 
another part of the same pleading.
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RULE 2.115 MOTION TO CORRECT OR TO STRIKE PLEADINGS

(A) Motion for More Definite Statement. If a pleading is so vague or ambiguous that it 
fails to comply with the requirements of these rules, an opposing party may move for a 
more definite statement before filing a responsive pleading. The motion must point out the 
defects complained of and the details desired. If the motion is granted and is not obeyed 
within 14 days after notice of the order, or within such other time as the court may set, the 
court may strike the pleading to which the motion was directed or enter an order it deems 
just.

(B) Motion to Strike. On motion by a party or on the court's own initiative, the court may 
strike from a pleading redundant, immaterial, impertinent, scandalous, or indecent matter, 
or may strike all or part of a pleading not drawn in conformity with these rules.

RULE 2.116 SUMMARY DISPOSITION

(A) Judgment on Stipulated Facts.

(1) The parties to a civil action may submit an agreed-upon stipulation of facts to the 
court.

(2) If the parties have stipulated to facts sufficient to enable the court to render 
judgment in the action, the court shall do so.

(B) Motion.

(1) A party may move for dismissal of or judgment on all or part of a claim in 
accordance with this rule. A party against whom a defense is asserted may move under 
this rule for summary disposition of the defense. A request for dismissal without 
prejudice under MCL 600.2912c must be made by motion under MCR 2.116 and 
MCR 2.119.

(2) A motion under this rule may be filed at any time consistent with subrule (D) and 
subrule (G)(1), but the hearing on a motion brought by a party asserting a claim shall 
not take place until at least 28 days after the opposing party was served with the 
pleading stating the claim.

(C) Grounds. The motion may be based on one or more of these grounds, and must specify 
the grounds on which it is based:

(1) The court lacks jurisdiction over the person or property.

(2) The process issued in the action was insufficient.

(3) The service of process was insufficient.

(4) The court lacks jurisdiction of the subject matter. 

(5) The party asserting the claim lacks the legal capacity to sue.

(6) Another action has been initiated between the same parties involving the same 
claim.
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(7) Entry of judgment, dismissal of the action, or other relief is appropriate because of 
release, payment, prior judgment, immunity granted by law, statute of limitations, 
statute of frauds, an agreement to arbitrate or to litigate in a different forum, infancy or 
other disability of the moving party, or assignment or other disposition of the claim 
before commencement of the action.

(8) The opposing party has failed to state a claim on which relief can be granted.

(9) The opposing party has failed to state a valid defense to the claim asserted against 
him or her.

(10) Except as to the amount of damages, there is no genuine issue as to any material 
fact, and the moving party is entitled to judgment or partial judgment as a matter of 
law.

(D) Time to Raise Defenses and Objections. The grounds listed in subrule (C) must be 
raised as follows:

(1) The grounds listed in subrule (C)(1), (2), and (3) must be raised in a party's first 
motion under this rule or in the party's responsive pleading, whichever is filed first, or 
they are waived.

(2) The grounds listed in subrule (C)(5), (6), and (7) must be raised in a party's 
responsive pleading, unless the grounds are stated in a motion filed under this rule 
prior to the party's first responsive pleading. Amendment of a responsive pleading is 
governed by MCR 2.118.

(3) The grounds listed in subrule (C)(4) and the ground of governmental immunity 
may be raised at any time, regardless of whether the motion is filed after the expiration 
of the period in which to file dispositive motions under a scheduling order entered 
pursuant to MCR 2.401.

(4) The grounds listed in subrule (C)(8), (9), and (10) may be raised at any time, unless 
a period in which to file dispositive motions is established under a scheduling order 
entered pursuant to MCR 2.401. It is within the trial court’s discretion to allow a 
motion filed under this subsection to be considered if the motion is filed after such 
period.

(E) Consolidation; Successive Motions.

(1) A party may combine in a single motion as many defenses or objections as the 
party has based on any of the grounds enumerated in this rule.

(2) No defense or objection is waived by being joined with one or more other defenses 
or objections.

(3) A party may file more than one motion under this rule, subject to the provisions of 
subrule (F).

(F) Motion or Affidavit Filed in Bad Faith. A party or an attorney found by the court to 
have filed a motion or an affidavit in violation of the provisions of MCR 1.109(D)(3) and 
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(E) may, in addition to the imposition of other penalties prescribed by that rule, be found 
guilty of contempt.

(G) Affidavits; Hearing.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, MCR 2.119 applies to motions 
brought under this rule.

(a) Unless a different period is set by the court,

(i) a written motion under this rule with supporting brief and any affidavits 
must be filed and served at least 21 days before the time set for the hearing, and

(ii) any response to the motion (including brief and any affidavits) must be 
filed and served at least 7 days before the hearing.

(iii) the moving party or parties may file a reply brief in support of the motion. 
Reply briefs must be confined to rebuttal of the arguments in the nonmoving 
party or parties’ response brief and must be limited to 5 pages. The reply brief 
must be filed and served at least 4 days before the hearing.

(iv) no additional or supplemental briefs may be filed without leave of the 
court.

(b) If the court sets a different time for filing and serving a motion, or a reply brief, 
its authorization must be endorsed in writing on the face of the notice of hearing or 
made by separate order.

(c) Except where electronic filing has been implemented, a copy of a motion, 
response (including brief and any affidavits), or reply brief filed under this rule 
must be provided by counsel to the office of the judge hearing the motion. The 
judge's copy must be clearly marked JUDGE'S COPY on the cover sheet; that 
notation may be handwritten. Where electronic filing has been implemented, a 
judge’s copy shall not be required.

(2) Except as to a motion based on subrule (C)(8) or (9), affidavits, depositions, 
admissions, or other documentary evidence may be submitted by a party to support or 
oppose the grounds asserted in the motion.

(3) Affidavits, depositions, admissions, or other documentary evidence in support of 
the grounds asserted in the motion are required

(a) when the grounds asserted do not appear on the face of the pleadings, or

(b) when judgment is sought based on subrule (C)(10). 

(4) A motion under subrule (C)(10) must specifically identify the issues as to which 
the moving party believes there is no genuine issue as to any material fact. When a 
motion under subrule (C)(10) is made and supported as provided in this rule, an 
adverse party may not rest upon the mere allegations or denials of his or her pleading, 
but must, by affidavits or as otherwise provided in this rule, set forth specific facts 
showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. If the adverse party does not so respond, 
judgment, if appropriate, shall be entered against him or her.
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(5) The affidavits, together with the pleadings, depositions, admissions, and 
documentary evidence then filed in the action or submitted by the parties, must be 
considered by the court when the motion is based on subrule (C)(1)-(7) or (10). Only 
the pleadings may be considered when the motion is based on subrule (C)(8) or (9).

(6) Affidavits, depositions, admissions, and documentary evidence offered in support 
of or in opposition to a motion based on subrule (C)(1)-(7) or (10) shall only be 
considered to the extent that the content or substance would be admissible as evidence 
to establish or deny the grounds stated in the motion.

(H) Affidavits Unavailable.

(1) A party may show by affidavit that the facts necessary to support the party’s 
position cannot be presented because the facts are known only to persons whose 
affidavits the party cannot procure. The affidavit must

(a) name these persons and state why their testimony cannot be procured, and

(b) state the nature of the probable testimony of these persons and the reason for 
the party’s belief that these persons would testify to those facts.

(2) When this kind of affidavit is filed, the court may enter an appropriate order, 
including an order

(a) denying the motion, or 

(b) allowing additional time to permit the affidavit to be supported by further 
affidavits, or by depositions, answers to interrogatories, or other discovery.

(I) Disposition by Court; Immediate Trial.

(1) If the pleadings show that a party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law, or if 
the affidavits or other proofs show that there is no genuine issue of material fact, the 
court shall render judgment without delay.

(2) If it appears to the court that the opposing party, rather than the moving party, is 
entitled to judgment, the court may render judgment in favor of the opposing party.

(3) A court may, under proper circumstances, order immediate trial to resolve any 
disputed issue of fact, and judgment may be entered forthwith if the proofs show that a 
party is entitled to judgment on the facts as determined by the court. An immediate 
trial may be ordered if the grounds asserted are based on subrules (C)(1) through 
(C)(6), or if the motion is based on subrule (C)(7) and a jury trial as of right has not 
been demanded on or before the date set for hearing. If the motion is based on subrule 
(C)(7) and a jury trial has been demanded, the court may order immediate trial, but 
must afford the parties a jury trial as to issues raised by the motion as to which there is 
a right to trial by jury.

(4) The court may postpone until trial the hearing and decision on a matter involving 
disputed issues of fact brought before it under this rule.
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(5) If the grounds asserted are based on subrule (C)(8), (9), or (10), the court shall give 
the parties an opportunity to amend their pleadings as provided by MCR 2.118, unless 
the evidence then before the court shows that amendment would not be justified.

(J) Motion Denied; Case Not Fully Adjudicated on Motion.

(1) If a motion under this rule is denied, or if the decision does not dispose of the entire 
action or grant all the relief demanded, the action must proceed to final judgment. The 
court may:

(a) set the time for further pleadings or amendments required;

(b) examine the evidence before it and, by questioning the attorneys, ascertain 
what material facts are without substantial controversy, including the extent to 
which damages are not disputed; and

(c) set the date on which all discovery must be completed.

(2) A party aggrieved by a decision of the court entered under this rule may:

(a) seek interlocutory leave to appeal as provided for by these rules;

(b) claim an immediate appeal as of right if the judgment entered by the court 
constitutes a final judgment under MCR 2.604(B); or

(c) proceed to final judgment and raise errors of the court committed under this 
rule in an appeal taken from final judgment.

RULE 2.117 APPEARANCES

(A) Appearance by Party.

(1) A party may appear in an action by filing a notice to that effect or by physically 
appearing before the court for that purpose. In the latter event, the party must promptly 
file a written appearance and serve it on all persons entitled to service. A written 
appearance must comply with the caption requirements in MCR 1.109(D)(1)(b). 

(2) Filing an appearance without taking any other action toward prosecution or 
defense of the action neither confers nor enlarges the jurisdiction of the court over the 
party. An appearance entitles a party to be served with all documents as provided by 
MCR 2.107(A). In all other respects, the party is treated as if the appearance had not 
been filed.

(B) Appearance by Attorney.

(1) In General. An attorney may appear by an act indicating that the attorney 
represents a party in the action. An appearance by an attorney for a party is deemed an 
appearance by the party. Unless a particular rule indicates otherwise, any act required 
to be performed by a party may be performed by the attorney representing the party.

(2) Notice of Appearance.
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(a) If an appearance is made in a manner not involving the filing of a document 
with the court, the attorney must promptly file a written appearance and serve it on 
the parties entitled to service. The written appearance must comply with the 
caption requirements in MCR 1.109(D)(1)(b).

(b) If an attorney files an appearance, but takes no other action toward prosecution 
or defense of the action, the appearance entitles the attorney to be served with all 
documents as provided by MCR 2.107(A).

(c) Pursuant to MRPC 1.2(b), a party to a civil action may appear through an 
attorney for limited purposes during the course of an action, including, but not 
limited to, depositions, hearings, discovery, and motion practice, if the following 
conditions are satisfied:

(i) The attorney files and serves a notice of limited appearance with the court 
before or during the relevant action or proceeding, and all parties of record are 
served with the limited entry of appearance; and

(ii) The notice of limited appearance identifies the limitation of the scope by 
date, time period, and/or subject matter.

(d) An attorney who has filed a notice of limited appearance must restrict activities 
in accordance with the notice or any amended limited appearance. Should an 
attorney’s representation exceed the scope of the limited appearance, opposing 
counsel (by motion), or the court (by order to show cause), may set a hearing to 
establish the actual scope of the representation.

(3) Appearance by Appointing Authority.

(a) In some actions, an appointing authority independent of the judiciary 
determines the attorney that will represent a party for the entirety of the action. In 
some actions, an appointing authority independent of the judiciary determines that 
an attorney will represent a party for a single hearing-like an arraignment.

(b) In actions where an attorney is appointed for the entirety of the action, the 
appointed attorney shall file an appearance with the court.

(c) In actions where an attorney is appointed for a single hearing, the attorney 
should orally inform the court of the limited appointment at the time of the 
hearing. It is not necessary for the appointing authority to file a notice of 
appointment or for the attorney to file an appearance.

(4) Appearance by Law Firm.

(a) A pleading, appearance, motion, or other document filed by a law firm on 
behalf of a client is deemed the appearance of the individual attorney first filing a 
document in the action. All notices required by these rules may be served on that 
individual. That attorney’s appearance continues until an order of substitution or 
withdrawal is entered, or a confirming notice of withdrawal of a notice of limited 
appearance is filed as provided by subrule (C)(3). This subrule is not intended to 
prohibit other attorneys in the law firm from appearing in the action on behalf of 
the party.
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(b) The appearance of an attorney is deemed to be the appearance of every member 
of the law firm. Any attorney in the firm may be required by the court to conduct a 
court ordered conference or trial.

(C) Duration of Appearance by Attorney.

(1) Unless otherwise stated or ordered by the court, an attorney's appearance applies 
only in the court in which it is made, or to which the action is transferred, until a final 
judgment or final order is entered disposing of all claims by or against the party whom 
the attorney represents and the time for appeal of right has passed. The appearance 
applies in an appeal taken before entry of final judgment or final order by the trial 
court.

(2) Unless otherwise stated in this rule, an attorney who has entered an appearance 
may withdraw from the action or be substituted for only on order of the court.

(3) In appointed cases, substitute counsel shall file an appearance with the court after 
receiving the assignment from the appointing authority.

(4) An attorney who has filed a notice of limited appearance pursuant to MCR 
2.117(B)(2)(c) and MRPC 1.2(b) may withdraw by filing a notice of withdrawal from 
limited appearance with the court, served on all parties of record, stating that the 
attorney’s limited representation has concluded and the attorney has taken all actions 
necessitated by the limited representation, and providing to the court a current service 
address and telephone number for the self-represented litigant. If the notice of 
withdrawal from limited appearance is signed by the client, it shall be effective 
immediately upon filing and service. If it is not signed by the client, it shall become 
effective 14 days after filing and service, unless the self-represented client files and 
serves a written objection to the withdrawal on the grounds that the attorney did not 
complete the agreed upon services.

(D) Nonappearance of Attorney Assisting in Document Preparation. An attorney who 
assists in the preparation of pleadings or other documents without signing them, as 
authorized in MRPC 1.2(b), has not filed an appearance and shall not be deemed to 
have done so. This provision shall not be construed to prevent the court from 
investigating issues concerning the preparation of such a document.

(E) Service of Documents After Removal of Appearance. If an attorney has filed a 
limited appearance or the attorney is removed from the case for any other reason, the 
attorney shall not continue to be served with documents in the case after the limited 
appearance ends or after an order is entered removing the attorney from the case.

RULE 2.118 AMENDED AND SUPPLEMENTAL PLEADINGS

(A) Amendments.

(1) A party may amend a pleading once as a matter of course within 14 days after 
being served with a responsive pleading by an adverse party, or within 14 days after 
serving the pleading if it does not require a responsive pleading.
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(2) Except as provided in subrule (A)(1), a party may amend a pleading only by leave 
of the court or by written consent of the adverse party. Leave shall be freely given 
when justice so requires.

(3) On a finding that inexcusable delay in requesting an amendment has caused or will 
cause the adverse party additional expense that would have been unnecessary had the 
request for amendment been filed earlier, the court may condition the order allowing 
amendment on the offending party's reimbursing the adverse party for the additional 
expense, including reasonable attorney fees.

(4) Amendments must be filed in writing, dated, and numbered consecutively, and 
must comply with MCR 2.113. Unless otherwise indicated, an amended pleading 
supersedes the former pleading.

(B) Response to Amendments. Within the time prescribed by MCR 2.108, a party served 
with an amendment to a pleading requiring a response under MCR 2.110(B) must

(1) serve and file a pleading in response to the amended pleading, or

(2) serve and file a notice that the party's pleading filed in response to the opposing 
party's earlier pleading will stand as the response to the amended pleading.

(C) Amendments to Conform to the Evidence.

(1) When issues not raised by the pleadings are tried by express or implied consent of 
the parties, they are treated as if they had been raised by the pleadings. In that case, 
amendment of the pleadings to conform to the evidence and to raise those issues may 
be made on motion of a party at any time, even after judgment.

(2) If evidence is objected to at trial on the ground that it is not within the issues raised 
by the pleadings, amendment to conform to that proof shall not be allowed unless the 
party seeking to amend satisfies the court that the amendment and the admission of the 
evidence would not prejudice the objecting party in maintaining his or her action or 
defense on the merits. The court may grant an adjournment to enable the objecting 
party to meet the evidence.

(D) Relation Back of Amendments. An amendment that adds a claim or a defense relates 
back to the date of the original pleading if the claim or defense asserted in the amended 
pleading arose out of the conduct, transaction, or occurrence set forth, or attempted to be 
set forth, in the original pleading.   In a medical malpractice action, an amendment of an 
affidavit of merit or affidavit of meritorious defense relates back to the date of the original 
filing of the affidavit.

(E) Supplemental Pleadings. On motion of a party the court may, on reasonable notice and 
on just terms, permit the party to serve a supplemental pleading to state transactions or 
events that have happened since the date of the pleading sought to be supplemented, 
whether or not the original pleading is defective in its statement of a claim for relief or a 
defense. The court may order the adverse party to plead, specifying the time allowed for 
pleading.
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RULE 2.119 MOTION PRACTICE

(A) Form of Motions.

(1) An application to the court for an order in a pending action must be by motion. 
Unless made during a hearing or trial, a motion must

(a) be in writing,

(b) state with particularity the grounds and authority on which it is based,

(c) state the relief or order sought, and

(d) be signed by the party or attorney as provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3) and (E).

(2) A motion or response to a motion that presents an issue of law must be 
accompanied by a brief citing the authority on which it is based, and must comply with 
the provisions of MCR 7.215(C) regarding citation of unpublished Court of Appeals 
opinions. 

(a) Except as permitted by the court, the combined length of any motion and brief, 
or of a response and brief, may not exceed 20 pages double spaced, exclusive of 
attachments and exhibits. 

(b) Except as permitted by the court or as otherwise provided in these rules, no 
reply briefs, additional briefs, or supplemental briefs may be filed.

(c) Quotations and footnotes may be single-spaced. At least one-inch margins must 
be used, and printing shall not be smaller than 12-point type. 

(d) Except where electronic filing has been implemented, a copy of a motion or 
response (including brief) filed under this rule must be provided by counsel to the 
office of the judge hearing the motion. The judge's copy must be clearly marked 
JUDGE’S COPY on the cover sheet; that notation may be handwritten. Where 
electronic filing has been implemented, a judge’s copy shall not be required.

(3) A motion and notice of the hearing on it may be combined in the same document.

(4) If a contested motion is filed after rejection of a proposed order under subrule (D), 
a copy of the rejected order and an affidavit establishing the rejection must be filed 
with the motion.

(B) Form of Affidavits.

(1) If an affidavit is filed in support of or in opposition to a motion, it must:

(a) be made on personal knowledge;

(b) state with particularity facts admissible as evidence establishing or denying the 
grounds stated in the motion; and

(c) show affirmatively that the affiant, if sworn as a witness, can testify 
competently to the facts stated in the affidavit.

(2) Sworn or certified copies of all documents or parts of documents referred to in an 
affidavit must be attached to the affidavit unless the documents:
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(a) have already been filed in the action;

(b) are matters of public record in the county in which the action is pending;

(c) are in the possession of the adverse party, and this fact is stated in the affidavit 
or the motion; or

(d) are of such nature that attaching them would be unreasonable or impracticable, 
and this fact and the reasons are stated in the affidavit or the motion.

(C) Time for Service and Filing of Motions and Responses.

(1) Unless a different period is set by these rules or by the court for good cause, a 
written motion (other than one that may be heard ex parte), notice of the hearing on the 
motion, and any supporting brief or affidavits must be served as follows:

(a) at least 9 days before the time set for the hearing, if served by first-class mail, 
or

(b) at least 7 days before the time set for the hearing, if served by delivery under 
MCR 2.107(C)(1) or (2) or MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(2) Unless a different period is set by these rules or by the court for good cause, any 
response to a motion (including a brief or affidavits) required or permitted by these 
rules must be served as follows:

(a) at least 5 days before the hearing, if served by first-class mail, or

(b) at least 3 days before the hearing, if served by delivery under MCR 2.107(C)(1) 
or (2) or MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(3) If the court sets a different time for serving a motion or response its authorization 
must be endorsed in writing on the face of the notice of hearing or made by separate 
order.

(4) Unless the court sets a different time, a motion must be filed at least 7 days before 
the hearing, and any response to a motion required or permitted by these rules must be 
filed at least 3 days before the hearing.

(D) Uncontested Orders.

(1) Before filing a motion, a party may serve on the opposite party a copy of a 
proposed order and a request to stipulate to the court's entry of the proposed order.

(2) On receipt of a request to stipulate, a party may

(a) stipulate to the entry of the order by signing the following statement at the end 
of the proposed order: “I stipulate to the entry of the above order”; or

(b) waive notice and hearing on the entry of an order by signing the following 
statement at the end of the proposed order: “Notice and hearing on entry of the 
above order is waived.”

A proposed order is deemed rejected unless it is stipulated to or notice and hearing 
are waived within 7 days after it is served.
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(3) If the parties have stipulated to the entry of a proposed order or waived notice and 
hearing, the court may enter the order. If the court declines to enter the order, it shall 
notify the moving party that a hearing on the motion is required. The matter then 
proceeds as a contested motion under subrule (E).

(4) The moving party must serve a copy of an order entered by the court pursuant to 
subrule (D)(3) on the parties entitled to notice under MCR 2.107, or notify them that 
the court requires the matter to be heard as a contested motion.

(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of subrule (D)(3), stipulations and orders for 
adjournment are governed by MCR 2.503.

(E) Contested Motions.

(1) Contested motions should be noticed for hearing at the time designated by the 
court for the hearing of motions. A motion will be heard on the day for which it is 
noticed, unless the court otherwise directs. If a motion cannot be heard on the day it is 
noticed, the court may schedule a new hearing date or the moving party may renotice 
the hearing.

(2) When a motion is based on facts not appearing of record, the court may hear the 
motion on affidavits presented by the parties, or may direct that the motion be heard 
wholly or partly on oral testimony or deposition.

(3) A court may, in its discretion, dispense with or limit oral arguments on motions, 
and may require the parties to file briefs in support of and in opposition to a motion.

(4) Appearance at the hearing is governed by the following:

(a) A party who, pursuant to subrule (D)(2), has previously rejected the proposed 
order before the court must either

(i) appear at the hearing held on the motion, or

(ii) before the hearing, file a response containing a concise statement of 
reasons in opposition to the motion and supporting authorities.

A party who fails to comply with this subrule is subject to assessment of costs 
under subrule (E)(4)(c).

(b) Unless excused by the court, the moving party must appear at a hearing on the 
motion. A moving party who fails to appear is subject to assessment of costs under 
subrule (E)(4)(c); in addition, the court may assess a penalty not to exceed $100, 
payable to the clerk of the court.

(c) If a party violates the provisions of subrule (E)(4)(a) or (b), the court shall 
assess costs against the offending party, that party's attorney, or both, equal to the 
expenses reasonably incurred by the opposing party in appearing at the hearing, 
including reasonable attorney fees, unless the circumstances make an award of 
expenses unjust.

(F) Motions for Rehearing or Reconsideration.
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(1) Unless another rule provides a different procedure for reconsideration of a decision 
(see, e.g., MCR 2.604[A], 2.612), a motion for rehearing or reconsideration of the 
decision on a motion must be served and filed not later than 21 days after entry of an 
order deciding the motion.

(2) No response to the motion may be filed, and there is no oral argument, unless the 
court otherwise directs.

(3) Generally, and without restricting the discretion of the court, a motion for 
rehearing or reconsideration which merely presents the same issues ruled on by the 
court, either expressly or by reasonable implication, will not be granted. The moving 
party must demonstrate a palpable error by which the court and the parties have been 
misled and show that a different disposition of the motion must result from correction 
of the error.

(G) Motion Fees. The following provisions apply to actions in which a motion fee is 
required:

(1) A motion fee must be paid on the filing of any request for an order in a pending 
action, whether the request is entitled “motion,” “petition,” “application,” or 
otherwise.

(2) The clerk shall charge a single motion fee for all motions filed at the same time in 
an action regardless of the number of separately captioned documents filed or the 
number of distinct or alternative requests for relief included in the motions.

(3) A motion fee may not be charged:

(a) in criminal cases;

(b) for a notice of settlement of a proposed judgment or order under MCR 
2.602(B);

(c) for a request for an order waiving fees under MCR 2.002 or MCL 600.2529(4) 
or MCL 600.8371(6);

(d) if the motion is filed at the same time as another document in the same action 
as to which a fee is required; or

(e) for entry of an uncontested order under subrule (D).

SUBCHAPTER 2.200 PARTIES; JOINDER OF CLAIMS AND PARTIES; VENUE; 
TRANSFER OF ACTIONS

RULE 2.201 PARTIES PLAINTIFF AND DEFENDANT; CAPACITY

(A) Designation of Parties. The party who commences a civil action is designated as 
plaintiff and the adverse party as defendant. In an appeal the relative position of the parties 
and their designations as plaintiff and defendant are the same, but they are also designated 
as appellant and appellee.
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(B) Real Party in Interest. An action must be prosecuted in the name of the real party in 
interest, subject to the following provisions:

(1) A personal representative, guardian, conservator, trustee of an express trust, a party 
with whom or in whose name a contract has been made for the benefit of another, or a 
person authorized by statute may sue in his or her own name without joining the party 
for whose benefit the action is brought.

(2) An action on the bond of a public officer required to give bond to the people of the 
state may be brought in the name of the person to whom the right on the bond accrues.

(3) An action on a bond, contract, or undertaking made with an officer of the state or 
of a governmental unit, including but not limited to a public, municipal, quasi-
municipal, or governmental corporation, an unincorporated board, a public body, or a 
political subdivision, may be brought in the name of the state or the governmental unit 
for whose benefit the contract was made.

(4) An action to prevent illegal expenditure of state funds or to test the 
constitutionality of a statute relating to such an expenditure may be brought:

(a) in the name of a domestic nonprofit corporation organized for civic, protective, 
or improvement purposes; or

(b) in the names of at least 5 residents of Michigan who own property assessed for 
direct taxation by the county where they reside.

(C) Capacity to Sue or be Sued.

(1) A natural person may sue or be sued in his or her own name. 

(2) A person conducting a business under a name subject to certification under the 
assumed name statute may be sued in that name in an action arising out of the conduct 
of that business.

(3) A partnership, partnership association, or unincorporated voluntary association 
having a distinguishing name may sue or be sued in its partnership or association 
name, in the names of any of its members designated as such, or both.

(4) A domestic or a foreign corporation may sue or be sued in its corporate name, 
unless a statute provides otherwise.

(5) Actions to which the state or a governmental unit (including but not limited to a 
public, municipal, quasi-municipal, or governmental corporation, an unincorporated 
board, a public body, or a political subdivision) is a party may be brought by or against 
the state or governmental unit in its own name, or in the name of an officer authorized 
to sue or be sued on its behalf. An officer of the state or governmental unit must be 
sued in the officer's official capacity to enforce the performance of an official duty. An 
officer who sues or is sued in his or her official capacity may be described as a party 
by official title and not by name, but the court may require the name to be added.

(D) Unknown Parties; Procedure.
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(1) Persons who are or may be interested in the subject matter of an action, but whose 
names cannot be ascertained on diligent inquiry, may be made parties by being 
described as:

(a) unknown claimants;

(b) unknown owners; or

(c) unknown heirs, devisees, or assignees of a deceased person who may have been 
interested in the subject matter of the action.

If it cannot be ascertained on diligent inquiry whether a person who is or may be 
interested in the subject matter of the action is alive or dead, what disposition the 
person may have made of his or her interest, or where the person resides if alive, 
the person and everyone claiming under him or her may be made parties by 
naming the person and adding “or [his or her] unknown heirs, devisees, or 
assignees.”

(2) The names and descriptions of the persons sought to be made parties, with a 
statement of the efforts made to identify and locate them, must be stated in the 
complaint and verified by oath or affirmation by the plaintiff or someone having 
knowledge of the facts in the plaintiff's behalf. The court may require a more specific 
description to be made by amendment.

(3) A publication giving notice to persons who cannot be personally served must 
include the description of unknown persons as set forth in the complaint or amended 
complaint.

(4) The publication and all later proceedings in the action are conducted as if the 
unknown parties were designated by their proper names. The judgment rendered 
determines the nature, validity, and extent of the rights of all parties.

(5) A person desiring to appear and show his or her interest in the subject matter of the 
action must proceed under MCR 2.209. Subject to that rule, the person may be made a 
party in his or her proper name.

(E) Minors and Incompetent Persons. This subrule does not apply to proceedings under 
chapter 5.

(1) Representation.

(a) If a minor or incompetent person has a conservator, actions may be brought and 
must be defended by the conservator on behalf of the minor or incompetent person.

(b) If a minor or incompetent person does not have a conservator to represent the 
person as plaintiff, the court shall appoint a competent and responsible person to 
appear as next friend on his or her behalf, and the next friend is responsible for the 
costs of the action.

(c) If the minor or incompetent person does not have a conservator to represent the 
person as defendant, the action may not proceed until the court appoints a guardian 
ad litem, who is not responsible for the costs of the action unless, by reason of 
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personal misconduct, he or she is specifically charged costs by the court. It is 
unnecessary to appoint a representative for a minor accused of a civil infraction.

(2) Appointment of Representative.

(a) Appointment of a next friend or guardian ad litem shall be made by the court as 
follows:

(i) if the party is a minor 14 years of age or older, on the minor's nomination, 
accompanied by a written consent of the person to be appointed;

(ii) if the party is a minor under 14 years of age or an incompetent person, on 
the nomination of the party's next of kin or of another relative or friend the 
court deems suitable, accompanied by a written consent of the person to be 
appointed; or

(iii) if a nomination is not made or approved within 21 days after service of 
process, on motion of the court or of a party.

(b) The court may refuse to appoint a representative it deems unsuitable.

(c) The order appointing a person next friend or guardian ad litem must be 
promptly filed with the clerk of the court.

(3) Security.

(a) Except for costs and expenses awarded to the next friend or guardian ad litem 
or the represented party, a person appointed under this subrule may not receive 
money or property belonging to the minor or incompetent party or awarded to that 
party in the action, unless he or she gives security as the court directs.

(b) The court may require that the conservator representing a minor or incompetent 
party give security as the court directs before receiving the party's money or 
property.

(4) Incompetency While Action Pending. A party who becomes incompetent while an 
action is pending may be represented by his or her conservator, or the court may 
appoint a next friend or guardian ad litem as if the action had been commenced after 
the appointment.

RULE 2.202 SUBSTITUTION OF PARTIES

(A) Death.

(1) If a party dies and the claim is not thereby extinguished, the court may order 
substitution of the proper parties.

(a) A motion for substitution may be made by a party, or by the successor or 
representative of the deceased party.

(b) Unless a motion for substitution is made within 91 days after filing and service 
of a statement of the fact of the death, the action must be dismissed as to the 
deceased party, unless the party seeking substitution shows that there would be no 
prejudice to any other party from allowing later substitution.



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 69   Updated April 26, 2024 

(c) Service of the statement or motion must be made on the parties as provided in 
MCR 2.107, and on persons not parties as provided in MCR 2.105.

(2) If one or more of the plaintiffs or one or more of the defendants in an action dies, 
and the right sought to be enforced survives only to the surviving plaintiffs or only 
against the surviving defendants, the action does not abate. A party or attorney who 
learns that a party has died must promptly file a notice of the death.

(B) Transfer or Change of Interest. If there is a change or transfer of interest, the action 
may be continued by or against the original party in his or her original capacity, unless the 
court, on motion supported by affidavit, directs that the person to whom the interest is 
transferred be substituted for or joined with the original party, or directs that the original 
party be made a party in another capacity. Notice must be given as provided in subrule 
(A)(1)(c).

(C) Public Officers; Death or Separation From Office. When an officer of the class 
described in MCR 2.201(C)(5) is a party to an action and during its pendency dies, 
resigns, or otherwise ceases to hold office, the action may be continued and maintained by 
or against the officer's successor without a formal order of substitution.

(D) Substitution at Any Stage. Substitution of parties under this rule may be ordered by 
the court either before or after judgment or by the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court 
pending appeal. If substitution is ordered, the court may require additional security to be 
given.

RULE 2.203 JOINDER OF CLAIMS, COUNTERCLAIMS, AND CROSS-CLAIMS

(A) Compulsory Joinder. In a pleading that states a claim against an opposing party, the 
pleader must join every claim that the pleader has against that opposing party at the time 
of serving the pleading, if it arises out of the transaction or occurrence that is the subject 
matter of the action and does not require for its adjudication the presence of third parties 
over whom the court cannot acquire jurisdiction.

(B) Permissive Joinder. A pleader may join as either independent or alternate claims as 
many claims, legal or equitable, as the pleader has against an opposing party. If a claim is 
one previously cognizable only after another claim has been prosecuted to a conclusion, 
the two claims may be joined in a single action; but the court may grant relief only in 
accordance with the substantive rights of the parties.

(C) Counterclaim Exceeding Opposing Claim. A counterclaim may, but need not, 
diminish or defeat the recovery sought by the opposing party. It may claim relief 
exceeding in amount or different in kind from that sought in the pleading of the opposing 
party.

(D) Cross-Claim Against Co-Party. A pleading may state as a cross-claim a claim by one 
party against a co-party arising out of the transaction or occurrence that is the subject 
matter of the original action or of a counterclaim, or that relates to property that is the 
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subject matter of the original action. The cross-claim may include a claim that the party 
against whom it is asserted is or may be liable to the cross-claimant for all or part of a 
claim asserted in the action against the cross-claimant.

(E) Time for Filing Counterclaim or Cross-Claim. A counterclaim or cross-claim must be 
filed with the answer or filed as an amendment in the manner provided by MCR 2.118. If 
a motion to amend to state a counterclaim or cross-claim is denied, the litigation of that 
claim in another action is not precluded unless the court specifies otherwise.

(F) Separate Trials; Separate Judgment. If the court orders separate trials as provided in 
MCR 2.505(B), judgment on a claim, counterclaim, or cross-claim may be rendered in 
accordance with the terms of MCR 2.604 when the court has jurisdiction to do so. The 
judgment may be rendered even if the claims of the opposing party have been dismissed or 
otherwise disposed of.

(G)Joining Additional Parties

(1)Persons Who May be Joined. Persons other than those made parties to the original 
action may be made parties to a counterclaim or cross-claim, subject to MCR 2.205 
and 2.206.

(2)Summons. On the filing of a counterclaim or cross-claim adding new parties, the 
court clerk shall issue a summons for each new party in the same manner as on the 
filing of a complaint, as provided in MCR 2.102(A)-(C). Unless the court orders 
otherwise, the summons is valid for 21 days after the court issues it.

RULE 2.204 THIRD-PARTY PRACTICE

(A) When Defendant May Bring in Third Party.

(1) Subject to the provisions of MCL 500.3030, any time after commencement of an 
action, a defending party, as a third-party plaintiff, may serve a summons and 
complaint on a person not a party to the action who is or may be liable to the third-
party plaintiff for all or part of the plaintiff's claim. The third-party plaintiff need not 
obtain leave to make the service if the third-party complaint is filed within 21 days 
after the third-party plaintiff's original answer was filed. Otherwise, leave on motion 
with notice to all parties is required. Unless the court orders otherwise, the summons 
issued on the filing of a third-party complaint is valid for 21 days after it is issued, and 
must include the expiration date. See MCR 2.102(B)(8).

(2) Within the time provided by MCR 2.108(A)(1)-(3), the person served with the 
summons and third-party complaint (the “third-party defendant”) must respond to the 
third-party plaintiff's claim as provided in MCR 2.111, and may file counterclaims 
against the third-party plaintiff and cross-claims against other parties as provided in 
MCR 2.203. The third-party defendant may assert against the plaintiff any defenses 
which the third-party plaintiff has to the plaintiff's claim. The third-party defendant 
may also assert a claim against the plaintiff arising out of the transaction or occurrence 
that is the subject matter of the plaintiff's claim against the third-party plaintiff.
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(3) The plaintiff may assert a claim against the third-party defendant arising out of the 
transaction or occurrence that is the subject matter of the plaintiff's claim against the 
third-party plaintiff, and the third-party defendant must respond as provided in MCR 
2.111 and may file counterclaims and cross-claims as provided in MCR 2.203.

(4) A party may move for severance, separate trial, or dismissal of the third-party 
claim. The court may direct entry of a final judgment on either the original claim or the 
third-party claim, in accordance with MCR 2.604(B).

(5) A third-party defendant may proceed under this rule against a person not a party to 
the action who is or may be liable to the third-party defendant for all or part of a claim 
made in the action against the third-party defendant.

(B) When Plaintiff May Bring in Third Party. A plaintiff against whom a claim or 
counterclaim is asserted may bring in a third party under this rule to the same extent as a 
defendant.

(C) Exception; Small Claims. The provisions of this rule do not apply to actions in the 
small claims division of the district court.

RULE 2.205 NECESSARY JOINDER OF PARTIES

(A) Necessary Joinder. Subject to the provisions of subrule (B) and MCR 3.501, persons 
having such interests in the subject matter of an action that their presence in the action is 
essential to permit the court to render complete relief must be made parties and aligned as 
plaintiffs or defendants in accordance with their respective interests.

(B) Effect of Failure to Join. When persons described in subrule (A) have not been made 
parties and are subject to the jurisdiction of the court, the court shall order them 
summoned to appear in the action, and may prescribe the time and order of pleading. If 
jurisdiction over those persons can be acquired only by their consent or voluntary 
appearance, the court may proceed with the action and grant appropriate relief to persons 
who are parties to prevent a failure of justice. In determining whether to proceed, the court 
shall consider

(1) whether a valid judgment may be rendered in favor of the plaintiff in the absence 
of the person not joined;

(2) whether the plaintiff would have another effective remedy if the action is 
dismissed because of the nonjoinder;

(3) the prejudice to the defendant or to the person not joined that may result from the 
nonjoinder; and

(4) whether the prejudice, if any, may be avoided or lessened by a protective order or a 
provision included in the final judgment.

Notwithstanding the failure to join a person who should have been joined, the court 
may render a judgment against the plaintiff whenever it is determined that the plaintiff 
is not entitled to relief as a matter of substantive law.
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(C) Names of Omitted Persons and Reasons for Nonjoinder to be Pleaded. In a 
pleading in which relief is asked, the pleader must state the names, if known, of 
persons who are not joined, but who ought to be parties if complete relief is to be 
accorded to those already parties, and must state why they are not joined.

RULE 2.206 PERMISSIVE JOINDER OF PARTIES

(A) Permissive Joinder.

(1) All persons may join in one action as plaintiffs

(a) if they assert a right to relief jointly, severally, or in the alternative, in respect of 
or arising out of the same transaction, occurrence, or series of transactions or 
occurrences and if a question of law or fact common to all of the plaintiffs will 
arise in the action; or

(b) if their presence in the action will promote the convenient administration of 
justice.

(2) All persons may be joined in one action as defendants 

(a) if there is asserted against them jointly, severally, or in the alternative, a right to 
relief in respect of or arising out of the same transaction, occurrence, or series of 
transactions or occurrences and if a question of law or fact common to all of the 
defendants will arise in the action; or

(b) if their presence in the action will promote the convenient administration of 
justice.

(3) A plaintiff or defendant need not be interested in obtaining or defending against all 
the relief demanded. Judgment may be rendered for one or more of the parties against 
one or more of the parties as the rights and liabilities of the parties are determined.

(B) Separate Trials. The court may enter orders to prevent a party from being 
embarrassed, delayed, or put to expense by the joinder of a person against whom the party 
asserts no claim and who asserts no claim against the party, and may order separate trials 
or enter other orders to prevent delay or prejudice.

RULE 2.207 MISJOINDER AND NONJOINDER OF PARTIES

Misjoinder of parties is not a ground for dismissal of an action. Parties may be added or 
dropped by order of the court on motion of a party or on the court's own initiative at any stage of 
the action and on terms that are just. When the presence of persons other than the original parties 
to the action is required to grant complete relief in the determination of a counterclaim or cross-
claim, the court shall order those persons to be brought in as defendants if jurisdiction over them 
can be obtained. A claim against a party may be severed and proceeded with separately.
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RULE 2.209 INTERVENTION

(A) Intervention of Right. On timely application a person has a right to intervene in an 
action:

(1) when a Michigan statute or court rule confers an unconditional right to intervene;

(2) by stipulation of all the parties; or

(3) when the applicant claims an interest relating to the property or transaction which 
is the subject of the action and is so situated that the disposition of the action may as a 
practical matter impair or impede the applicant's ability to protect that interest, unless 
the applicant's interest is adequately represented by existing parties.

(B) Permissive Intervention. On timely application a person may intervene in an action

(1) when a Michigan statute or court rule confers a conditional right to intervene; or

(2) when an applicant's claim or defense and the main action have a question of law or 
fact in common.

In exercising its discretion, the court shall consider whether the intervention will 
unduly delay or prejudice the adjudication of the rights of the original parties.

(C) Procedure. A person seeking to intervene must apply to the court by motion and give 
notice in writing to all parties under MCR 2.107. The motion must

(1) state the grounds for intervention, and

(2) be accompanied by a pleading stating the claim or defense for which intervention 
is sought.

(D) Notice to Attorney General. When the validity of a Michigan statute or a rule or 
regulation included in the Michigan Administrative Code is in question in an action to 
which the state or an officer or agency of the state is not a party, the court may require that 
notice be given to the Attorney General, specifying the pertinent statute, rule, or 
regulation.

RULE 2.221 MOTION FOR CHANGE OF VENUE

(A) Time to File. A motion for change of venue must be filed before or at the time the 
defendant files an answer.

(B) Late Motion. Untimeliness is not a ground for denial of a motion filed after the answer 
if the court is satisfied that the facts on which the motion is based were not and could not 
with reasonable diligence have been known to the moving party more than 14 days before 
the motion was filed.

(C) Waiver. An objection to venue is waived if it is not raised within the time limits 
imposed by this rule.
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RULE 2.222 CHANGE OF VENUE; VENUE PROPER

(A) Grounds. The court may order a change of venue of a civil action, or of an appeal from 
an order or decision of a state board, commission, or agency authorized to promulgate 
rules or regulations, for the convenience of parties and witnesses or when an impartial trial 
cannot be had where the action is pending. In the case of appellate review of 
administrative proceedings, venue may also be changed for the convenience of the 
attorneys.

(B) Motion Required. If the venue of the action is proper, the court may not change the 
venue on its own initiative, but may do so only on motion of a party.

(C) Multiple Claims. If multiple claims are joined in an action, and the venue of one or 
more of them would have been improper if the claims had been brought in separate 
actions, the defendant may move to separate the claims and to transfer those as to which 
venue would have been improper. The court has discretion to

(1) order the transfer of all claims,

(2) order the separation and transfer moved for, or

(3) retain the entire action for trial.

(D) Order for Change of Venue; Case Records.

(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and transfer of the action to the receiving court. The court must order the party that 
moved for change of venue to pay the applicable statutory filing fee to the receiving 
court, unless fees have been waived in accordance with MCR 2.002.

(2) The transferring court must serve the order on the parties and send a copy to the 
receiving court. The clerk of the transferring court must prepare the case records for 
transfer in accordance with the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan 
Trial Court Records Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a 
secure method.

(3) The receiving court must temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee as ordered by the transferring court. The 
receiving court must notify the party that moved for change of venue of the new case 
number in the receiving court, the amount due, and the due date.

(E) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees.

(1) The party that moved for change of venue must pay to the receiving court within 
28 days of the date of the transfer order the applicable filing fee as ordered by the 
transferring court. No further action may be had in the case until payment is made. If 
the fee is not paid to the receiving court within 28 days of the date of the order, the 
receiving court must order the case transferred back to the transferring court.
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(2) If a jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the transferring court must forward it to the 
clerk of the receiving court as soon as possible after the case records have been 
transferred.

RULE 2.223 CHANGE OF VENUE; VENUE IMPROPER

(A) Motion; Court's Own Initiative. If the venue of a civil action is improper, the court

(1) shall order a change of venue on timely motion of a defendant, or

(2) may order a change of venue on its own initiative with notice to the parties and 
opportunity for them to be heard on the venue question.

If venue is changed because the action was brought where venue was not proper, the 
action may be transferred only to a county in which venue would have been proper.

(B) Order for Change of Venue; Case Records.

(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and transfer of the action to the receiving court. The court must order the plaintiff to 
pay the applicable statutory filing fee directly to the receiving court, unless fees have 
been waived in accordance with MCR 2.002. The court may also order the plaintiff to 
pay reasonable compensation and attorney fees to the defendant if the case was filed in 
the wrong court.

(2) The transferring court must serve the order on the parties and send a copy to the 
receiving court. The clerk of the transferring court must prepare the case records for 
transfer in accordance with the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan 
Trial Court Records Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a 
secure method.

(3) The receiving court must temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee and costs as ordered by the transferring court. 
The receiving court must notify the plaintiff of the new case number in the receiving 
court, the amount due, and the due date.

(C) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees After Change of Venue.

(1) The plaintiff must pay to the receiving court within 28 days of the date of the 
transfer order the applicable filing fee, costs, and expenses as ordered by the 
transferring court or the receiving court will dismiss the action. No further proceedings 
may be had in the action until payment has been made.

(2) If a jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the transferring court must forward it to the 
clerk of the receiving court as soon as possible after the case records have been 
transferred.

(3) MCL 600.1653 applies to tort actions filed on or after October 1, 1986.
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RULE 2.224 CHANGE OF VENUE IN TORT ACTIONS

[Repealed November 6, 1996, effective February 1, 1997–Reporter.] 

RULE 2.225 JOINDER OF PARTY TO CONTROL VENUE

(A) Joinder Not in Good Faith. On a defendant's motion, venue must be changed on a 
showing that the venue of the action is proper only because of the joinder of a codefendant 
who was not joined in good faith but only to control venue.

(B) Order for Change of Venue; Case Records.

(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and transfer of the action to the receiving court. The court must order the plaintiff to 
pay the applicable statutory filing fee directly to the receiving court, unless fees have 
been waived in accordance with MCR 2.002. The court may also order the plaintiff to 
pay reasonable compensation and attorney fees to the defendant when necessary to 
accomplish the transfer.

(2) The transferring court must serve the order on the parties and send a copy to the 
receiving court. The clerk of the court must prepare the case records for transfer in 
accordance with the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan Trial Court 
Records Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a secure 
method.

(3) The receiving court shall temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee and costs as ordered by the transferring court. 
The receiving court must notify the plaintiff of the new case number in the receiving 
court, the amount due, and the due date.

(C) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees After Transfer.

(1) The plaintiff must pay to the receiving court within 28 days of the date of the 
transfer order the applicable filing fee and any expenses or attorney fees as ordered by 
the transferring court or the receiving court will dismiss the action.

(2) If a jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the transferring court must forward it to the 
clerk of the receiving court as soon as possible after the case records have been 
transferred.

RULE 2.226 CHANGE OF VENUE; TRANSFER OF JURISDICTION; ORDERS

(A) The court ordering a change of venue or transfer of jurisdiction shall enter all 
necessary orders pertaining to the certification and transfer of the action to the court to 
which the action is transferred on a form approved by the State Court Administrative 
Office.

(B) If a change of venue or transfer of jurisdiction order is not prepared as required under 
subrule (A), and the order lacks the information necessary for the receiving court to 
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determine under which rule the transfer was ordered, the clerk of the receiving court shall 
refuse to accept the transfer and shall prepare a notice of refusal on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office and return the case to the transferring court for a proper 
order within seven business days of receipt of the transfer order.

(C) If a transferring court receives a refusal to accept a transferred case under subrule (B), 
the transferring court shall prepare a proper order in accordance with subrule (A) and 
retransfer the case within seven business days.

RULE 2.227 TRANSFER OF ACTIONS ON FINDING OF LACK OF JURISDICTION

(A) Transfer to Court Which Has Jurisdiction. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, 
when the court in which a civil action is pending determines that it lacks jurisdiction of the 
subject matter of the action, but that some other Michigan court would have jurisdiction of 
the action, the court may order the action transferred to the other court in a place where 
venue would be proper. If the question of jurisdiction is raised by the court on its own 
initiative, the action may not be transferred until the parties are given notice and an 
opportunity to be heard on the jurisdictional issue.

(B) Transfers From Circuit Court to District Court. 

(1) A circuit court may not transfer an action to district court under this rule based on 
the amount in controversy unless: 

(a) the parties stipulate in good faith to the transfer and to an amount in 
controversy not greater than the applicable jurisdictional limit of the district court; 
or 

(b)  from the allegations of the complaint, it appears to a legal certainty that the 
amount in controversy is not greater than the applicable jurisdictional limit of the 
district court. 

(C) Order Transferring Jurisdiction; Case Records.

(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and transfer of the action to the receiving court. The court must order the plaintiff to 
pay the applicable statutory filing fee directly to the receiving court, unless fees have 
been waived in accordance with MCR 2.002. The court may also order the plaintiff to 
pay reasonable compensation and attorney fees to the defendant for filing the case in 
the wrong court.

(2) The transferring court must serve the order on the parties and send a copy to the 
receiving court. The clerk of the court must prepare the case records for transfer in 
accordance with the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan Trial Court 
Records Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a secure 
method.

(3) The receiving court shall temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee and costs as ordered by the transferring court. 
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The receiving court must notify the plaintiff of the new case number in the receiving 
court, the amount due, and the due date.

(D) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees After Transfer.

(1) The plaintiff must pay to the receiving court within 28 days of the date of the 
transfer order the applicable filing fee and must submit proof of the payment of any 
expenses as ordered by the transferring court or the receiving court will dismiss the 
action.

(2) If a jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the transferring court must forward it to the 
clerk of the receiving court as soon as possible after the case records have been 
transferred.

(E) Procedure After Transfer.

(1) The action proceeds in the receiving court to as if it had been originally filed there. 
If further pleadings are required or allowed, the time for filing them runs from the date 
the filing fee is paid under subrule (D)(1). The receiving court may order the filing of 
new or amended pleadings. If part of the action remains pending in the transferring 
court, certified copies of the papers filed may be forwarded, with the cost to be paid by 
the plaintiff.

(2) If a defendant had not been served with process at the time the action was 
transferred, the plaintiff must obtain the issuance of a new summons from the 
receiving court.

(3) A waiver of jury trial in the court in which the action was originally filed is 
ineffective after transfer. A party who had waived trial by jury may demand a jury trial 
after transfer by filing a demand and paying the applicable jury fee within 28 days 
after the filing fee is paid under subrule (D)(1). A demand for a jury trial in the court in 
which the action was originally filed is preserved after transfer.

(F) Relation to Other Transfer Provisions. This rule does not affect transfers (pursuant to 
other rules or statutes) of actions over which the transferring court had jurisdiction.

RULE 2.228 TRANSFER TO THE COURT OF CLAIMS

(A) A notice of transfer to the Court of Claims must be provided before or at the time the 
defendant files an answer.

(B) After the time provided in subrule (A) –

(1) If the court in which a civil action is pending has concurrent jurisdiction with the 
Court of Claims, the defendant must seek leave to file a notice of transfer and the court 
may grant leave if it is satisfied that the facts on which the motion is based were not 
and could not with reasonable diligence have been known to the moving party more 
than 14 days before the motion was filed.
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(2) If the court in which a civil action is pending does not have subject matter 
jurisdiction because the case is within the exclusive jurisdiction of the Court of 
Claims, MCR 2.227 governs.

SUBCHAPTER 2.300 DISCOVERY

RULE 2.301 AVAILABILITY AND TIMING OF DISCOVERY

(A) Availability of Discovery.

(1) In a case where initial disclosures are required, a party may seek discovery only 
after the party serves its initial disclosures under MCR 2.302(A). Otherwise, a party 
may seek discovery after commencement of the action when authorized by these rules, 
by stipulation, or by court order.

(2) In actions in the district court, no discovery is permitted before entry of judgment 
except by leave of the court or on the stipulation of all parties. A motion for discovery 
may not be filed unless the discovery sought has previously been requested and 
refused.

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of this or any other rule, discovery is not permitted 
in actions in the small claims division of the district court or in civil infraction actions.

(4) After a post judgment motion is filed in a domestic relations action as defined by 
subchapter 3.200 of these rules, parties may obtain discovery by any means provided 
in subchapter 2.300 of these rules.

(B) Completion of Discovery.

(1) In circuit and probate court, the time for completion of discovery shall be set by an 
order entered under MCR 2.401(B).

(2) In an action in which discovery is available only on leave of the court or by 
stipulation, the order or stipulation shall set a time for completion of discovery. A time 
set by stipulation may not delay the scheduling of the action for trial.

(3) After the time for completion of discovery, a deposition of a witness taken solely 
for the purpose of preservation of testimony may be taken at any time before 
commencement of trial without leave of court.

(4) Unless ordered otherwise, a date for the completion of discovery means the serving 
party shall initiate the discovery by a time that provides for a response or appearance, 
per these rules, before the completion date. As may be reasonable under the 
circumstances, or by leave of court, motions with regard to discovery may be brought 
after the date for completion of discovery.

(C) Course of Discovery. The court may control the scope, order, and amount of 
discovery, consistent with these rules.
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RULE 2.302 DUTY TO DISCLOSE; GENERAL RULES GOVERNING DISCOVERY

(A) Required Initial Disclosures.

(1) In General. Except as exempted by these rules, stipulation, or court order, a party 
must, without awaiting a discovery request, provide to the other parties:

(a) the factual basis of the party’s claims and defenses;

(b) the legal theories on which the party’s claims and defenses are based, 
including, if necessary for a reasonable understanding of the claim or defense, 
citations to relevant legal authorities; 

(c) the name and, if known, the address and telephone number of each individual 
likely to have discoverable information—along with the subjects of that 
information—that the disclosing party may use to support its claims or defenses, 
unless the use would be solely for impeachment;

(d) a copy—or a description by category and location—of all documents, ESI, and 
tangible things that the disclosing party has in its possession, custody, or control 
and may use to support its claims or defenses, unless the use would be solely for 
impeachment;

(e) a description by category and location of all documents, ESI, and tangible 
things that are not in the disclosing party’s possession, custody, or control that the 
disclosing party may use to support its claims or defenses, unless the use would be 
solely for impeachment. The description must include the name and, if known, the 
address and telephone number of the person who has possession, custody, or 
control of the material;

(f) a computation of each category of damages claimed by the disclosing party, 
who must also make available for inspection and copying as under MCR 2.310 the 
documents or other evidentiary material, unless privileged or protected from 
disclosure, on which each computation is based, including materials bearing on the 
nature and extent of injuries suffered;

(g) a copy (or an opportunity to inspect a copy) of pertinent portions of any 
insurance, indemnity, security equivalent, or suretyship agreement under which 
another person may be liable to satisfy all or part of a possible judgment in the 
action or to indemnify or reimburse for payments made to satisfy the judgment, 
including self-insured retention and limitations on coverage, indemnity, or 
reimbursement for amounts available to satisfy a judgment; and

(h) the anticipated subject areas of expert testimony.

(2) Additional Disclosures for No-Fault Cases. In addition to the disclosures under 
subrule (A)(1), in a case asserting a first-party claim for benefits under the Michigan 
no-fault act, MCL 500.3101, et seq., the following disclosures must be made without 
awaiting a discovery request:

(a) A defendant from whom no-fault benefits are claimed must disclose:

(i) a copy of the first-party claim file and a privilege log for any redactions and
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(ii) the payments the insurance company has made on the claim.

(b) The plaintiff must disclose all applicable claims, including all of the following 
information within the plaintiff’s possession, custody, or control:

(i) the identity of those who provided medical, household, and attendant care 
services to plaintiff,

(ii) all provider bills or outstanding balances for which the plaintiff seeks 
reimbursement,

(iii) the name, address, and phone number of plaintiff’s employers, and

(iv) the additional disclosures under subrule (A)(3).

(3) Additional Disclosures by Claimants for Damages for Personal Injury. A party 
claiming damages for injury arising from a mental or physical condition must provide 
the other parties with executed medical record authorizations in the form approved by 
the State Court Administrative Office or in a form agreed by the parties for all persons, 
institutions, hospitals, and other custodians in actual possession of medical 
information relating to the condition, unless the party asserts privilege pursuant to 
MCR 2.314(B).

(4) Cases Exempt from Initial Disclosure. Unless otherwise stipulated or ordered, the 
following are exempt from initial disclosure under subrule (A)(1)-(3):

(a) an appeal to the circuit court under subchapter 7.100;

(b) an action in district court (see MCR 2.301[A][2]);

(c) an action under subchapter 3.200;

(d) an action brought without an attorney by a person in the custody of the United 
States, a state, or a state subdivision;

(e) an action to enforce or quash an administrative summons or a subpoena;

(f) a proceeding ancillary to a proceeding in another court, including an action for 
a subpoena under MCR 2.305(E) or (F);

(g) an action to compel or stay arbitration or to confirm, vacate, enforce, modify, 
or correct an arbitration award;

(h) an action for collection of penalties, fines, forfeitures, or forfeited 
recognizances under MCR 3.605;

(i) personal protection proceedings under subchapter 3.700; and

(j) an action for habeas corpus under MCR 3.303 and 3.304.

(5) Time for Initial Disclosures.

(a) Application of Time Limits. These deadlines apply unless a stipulation or order 
sets a different time.

(b) In General.
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(i) A party that files a complaint, counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party 
complaint must serve its initial disclosures within 14 days after any opposing 
party files an answer to that pleading.

(ii) A party answering a complaint, counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party 
complaint must serve its initial disclosures within the later of 14 days after the 
opposing party’s disclosures are due or 28 days after the party files its answer.

(iii) A party serving disclosures need only serve parties that have appeared. 
The party must serve later-appearing parties within 14 days of the appearance.

(c) Parties Served or Joined Later. A party first served or otherwise joined after the 
time for initial disclosures under subrule (A)(5)(a) or (b) must serve its initial 
disclosures within 14 days after filing the party’s first pleading, unless a stipulation 
or order sets a different time.

(6) Basis for Initial Disclosure; Unacceptable Excuses. A party must serve initial 
disclosures based on the information then reasonably available to the party. However, 
a party is not excused from making disclosures because the party has not fully 
investigated the case or because the party challenges the sufficiency of another party’s 
disclosures or because another party has not made its disclosures.

(7) Form of Disclosures. Disclosures under subrule (A) are subject to MCR 2.302(G), 
must be in writing, signed, and served, and a proof of service must be promptly filed.

(B) Scope of Discovery.

(1) In General. Parties may obtain discovery regarding any non-privileged matter that 
is relevant to any party’s claims or defenses and proportional to the needs of the case, 
taking into account all pertinent factors, including whether the burden or expense of 
the proposed discovery outweighs its likely benefit, the complexity of the case, the 
importance of the issues at stake in the action, the amount in controversy, and the 
parties’ resources and access to relevant information. Information within the scope of 
discovery need not be admissible in evidence to be discoverable. 

(2) Insurance Agreements. A party may obtain discovery of the existence and contents 
of an insurance agreement under which a person carrying on an insurance business 
may be liable to satisfy part or all of a judgment which may be entered in the action or 
to indemnify or reimburse for payments made to satisfy the judgment. Information 
concerning the insurance agreement is not by reason of disclosure admissible at trial. 
For purposes of this subrule, an application for insurance is not part of an insurance 
agreement.

(3) Trial Preparation; Materials.

(a) Subject to the provisions of subrule (B)(4), a party may obtain discovery of 
documents and tangible things otherwise discoverable under subrule (B)(1) and 
prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial by or for another party or another 
party's representative (including an attorney, consultant, surety, indemnitor, 
insurer, or agent) only on a showing that the party seeking discovery has 
substantial need of the materials in the preparation of the case and is unable 
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without undue hardship to obtain the substantial equivalent of the materials by 
other means. In ordering discovery of such materials when the required showing 
has been made, the court shall protect against disclosure of the mental impressions, 
conclusions, opinions, or legal theories of an attorney or other representative of a 
party concerning the litigation.

(b) Without the showing required by subrule (B)(3)(a), a party or a nonparty may 
obtain a statement concerning the action or its subject matter previously made by 
the person making the request. A nonparty whose request is refused may move for 
a court order. The provisions of MCR 2.313(A)(5) apply to the award of expenses 
incurred in relation to the motion.

(c) For purposes of subrule (B)(3)(b), a statement previously made is

(i) a written statement signed or otherwise adopted or approved by the person 
making it; or

(ii) a stenographic, mechanical, electrical, or other recording, or a transcription 
of it, which is a substantially verbatim recital of an oral statement by the person 
making it and contemporaneously recorded.

(4) Trial Preparation; Experts. Discovery of facts known and opinions held by experts, 
otherwise discoverable under the provisions of subrule (B)(1) and acquired or 
developed in anticipation of litigation or for trial, may be obtained only as follows:

(a)(i) A party may through interrogatories require another party to identify each 
person whom the other party expects to call as an expert witness at trial, to state the 
subject matter about which the expert is expected to testify, and to state the 
substance of the facts and opinions to which the expert is expected to testify and a 
summary of the grounds for each opinion.

(ii) A party may take the deposition of a person whom the other party expects 
to call as an expert witness at trial.   The party taking the deposition may notice 
that the deposition is to be taken for the purpose of discovery only and that it 
shall not be admissible at trial except for the purpose of impeachment, without 
the necessity of obtaining a protective order as set forth in MCR 2.302(C)(7).

 (iii) On motion, the court may order further discovery by other means, subject 
to such restrictions as to scope and such provisions (pursuant to subrule 
[B][4][c]) concerning fees and expenses as the court deems appropriate.

(b) A party may not discover the identity of and facts known or opinions held by 
an expert who has been retained or specially employed by another party in 
anticipation of litigation or preparation for trial and who is not expected to be 
called as a witness at trial, except

(i) as provided in MCR 2.311, or

(ii) where an order has been entered on a showing of exceptional 
circumstances under which it is impracticable for the party seeking discovery 
to obtain facts or opinions on the same subject by other means.

(c) Unless manifest injustice would result
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(i) the court shall require that the party seeking discovery under subrules 
(B)(4)(a)(ii) or (iii) or (B)(4)(b) pay the expert a reasonable fee for time spent 
in a deposition, but not including preparation time; and

(ii) with respect to discovery obtained under subrule (B)(4)(a)(ii) or (iii), the 
court may require, and with respect to discovery obtained under subrule 
(B)(4)(b) the court shall require, the party seeking discovery to pay the other 
party a fair portion of the fees and expenses reasonably incurred by the latter 
party in obtaining facts and opinions from the expert.

(d) A party may depose a witness that he or she expects to call as an expert at trial. 
The deposition may be taken at any time before trial on reasonable notice to the 
opposite party, and may be offered as evidence at trial as provided in MCR 
2.308(A). The court need not adjourn the trial because of the unavailability of 
expert witnesses or their depositions.

(e) Subrule (B)(3)(a) protects drafts of any interrogatory answer required under 
subrule (B)(4)(a)(i), regardless of the form in which the draft is recorded.

(f) Subrule (B)(3)(a) protects communications between the party’s attorney and 
any expert witness under subrule (B)(4), regardless of the form of the 
communications, except to the extent that the communications:

(i) relate to compensation for the expert’s study or testimony;

(ii) identify facts or data that the party’s attorney provided and that the expert 
considered in forming the opinions to be expressed; or

(iii) identify assumptions that the party’s attorney provided and that the expert 
relied on in forming the opinions to be expressed.

(5) Duty to Preserve ESI. A party has the same obligation to preserve ESI as it does for 
all other types of information.

(6) Limitation of Discovery of ESI. A party need not provide discovery of ESI from 
sources that the party identifies as not reasonably accessible because of undue burden 
or cost. On motion to compel discovery or for a protective order, the party from whom 
discovery is sought must show that the information is not reasonably accessible 
because of undue burden or cost. If that showing is made, the court may nonetheless 
order discovery if the requesting party shows good cause, considering proportionality 
under subrule (B)(1) and the limitations of subrule (C). The court may specify 
conditions for the discovery, including allocation of the expense, and may limit the 
frequency or extent of discovery of ESI (whether or not the ESI is from a source that is 
reasonably accessible).

(7)Information Inadvertently Produced. If information that is subject to a claim of 
privilege or of protection as trial-preparation material is produced in discovery, the 
party making the claim may notify any party that received the information of the claim 
and the basis for it. After being notified, a party must promptly return, sequester, or 
destroy the specified information and any copies it has and may not use or disclose the 
information until the claim is resolved. A receiving party may promptly present the 
information to the court under seal for a determination of the claim. If the receiving 
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party disclosed the information before being notified, it must take reasonable steps to 
retrieve it. The producing party must preserve the information until the claim is 
resolved.

(C) Protective Orders. On motion by a party or by the person from whom discovery is 
sought, and on reasonable notice and for good cause shown, the court in which the action 
is pending may issue any order that justice requires to protect a party or person from 
annoyance, embarrassment, oppression, or undue burden or expense, including one or 
more of the following orders:

(1) that the discovery not be had;

(2) that the discovery may be had only on specified terms and conditions, including a 
designation of the time or place;

(3) that the discovery may be had only by a method of discovery other than that 
selected by the party seeking discovery;

(4) that certain matters not be inquired into, or that the scope of the discovery be 
limited to certain matters;

(5) that discovery be conducted with no one present except persons designated by the 
court;

(6) that a deposition, after being sealed, be opened only by order of the court;

(7) that a deposition shall be taken only for the purpose of discovery and shall not be 
admissible in evidence except for the purpose of impeachment;

(8) that a trade secret or other confidential research, development, or commercial 
information not be disclosed or be disclosed only in a designated way;

(9) that the parties simultaneously file specified documents or information enclosed in 
sealed envelopes to be opened as directed by the court.

If the motion for a protective order is denied in whole or in part, the court may, on 
terms and conditions as are just, order that a party or person provide or permit 
discovery. The provisions of MCR 2.313(A)(5) apply to the award of expenses 
incurred in relation to the motion.

(D) Sequence of Discovery. Unless the court orders otherwise, methods of discovery may 
be used in any sequence, and the fact that a party is conducting discovery, whether by 
deposition or otherwise, does not operate to delay another party's discovery.

(E) Supplementing Disclosures and Responses.

(1) Duty to Supplement. 

(a) In General. A party that has made a disclosure under MCR 2.302(A)—or that 
has responded to an interrogatory, request for production, or request for 
admission—must supplement or correct its disclosure or response:
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(i) in a timely manner if the party learns that in some material respect the 
disclosure or response is incomplete or incorrect, and if the additional or 
corrective information has not otherwise been made known to the other parties 
during the discovery process or in writing or 

(ii) as ordered by the court

(b) Order, Agreement, or Request. A duty to supplement disclosures or responses 
may be imposed by order of the court, agreement of the parties, or at any time 
before trial through requests for supplementation.

(2) Failure to Supplement. If the court finds, by way of motion or otherwise, that a 
party has not supplemented disclosures or responses as required by this subrule the 
court may enter an order as is just, including an order providing the sanctions stated in 
MCR 2.313(B), and, in particular, MCR 2.313(B)(2)(b).

(F) Changes to Discovery Procedure. A court order or written and filed stipulation of the 
affected parties may:

(1) provide that depositions may be taken before any person, at any time or place, on 
any notice, and in any manner, and when so taken may be used like other depositions; 
and

(2) change the disclosure requirements in MCR 2.302(A) and the limits on 
interrogatories in MCR 2.309(A)(2); and 

(3) modify or waive the other procedures of these rules regarding discovery so long as 
not inconsistent with a court order, but a stipulation may not change scheduling order 
deadlines without court approval.

(G) Signing of Disclosures, Discovery Requests, Responses, and Objections; Sanctions.

(1) In addition to any other signature required by these rules, every disclosure under 
MCR 2.302(A), every request for discovery, and every response or objection to such a 
request made by a party represented by an attorney shall be signed by at least one 
attorney of record. A party who is not represented by an attorney must sign the 
disclosure, request, response, or objection.

(2) If a disclosure, request, response, or objection is not signed, it shall be stricken 
unless it is signed promptly after the omission is called to the attention of the party 
making the disclosure, request, response, or objection, and another party need not take 
any action with respect to it until it is signed.

(3) The signature of the attorney or party constitutes a certification that he or she has 
read the disclosure, request, response, or objection, and that to the best of the signer’s 
knowledge, information, and belief formed after a reasonable inquiry:

(a) the disclosure is

(i) complete and correct as of the time it is made; and

(ii) consistent with these rules and warranted by existing law or a good-faith 
argument for the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law;
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(b) the discovery request, response, or objection is:

(i) consistent with these rules and warranted by existing law or a good faith 
argument for the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law;

(ii) not interposed for any improper purpose, such as to harass or to cause 
unnecessary delay or needless increase in the cost of litigation; and

(iii) not unreasonable or unduly burdensome or expensive, given the needs of 
the case, the discovery already had in the case, the amount in controversy, and 
the importance of the issues at stake in the litigation.

(4) If a certification is made in violation of this rule, the court, on the motion of a party 
or on its own initiative, may impose upon the person who made the certification, the 
party on whose behalf the disclosure, request, response, or objection is made, or both, 
an appropriate sanction, which may include an order to pay the amount of the 
reasonable expenses incurred because of the violation, including reasonable attorney 
fees.

(H) Filing and Service of Disclosure and Discovery Materials.

(1) Unless required by a particular rule, disclosures, requests, responses, depositions, 
and other discovery materials may not be filed with the court except as follows:

(a) If the materials are to be used in connection with a motion, they must be 
attached to the motion, response, or an accompanying affidavit.

(b) If the materials are to be used at trial, they shall not be filed with the court, but 
must be submitted to the judge and made an exhibit under MCR 2.518 or MCR 
3.930;

(c) The court may order disclosure or discovery materials to be filed.

(2) Copies of disclosure and discovery materials served under these rules must be 
served on all parties, unless the court has entered an order under MCR 2.107(F).

(3) On appeal, only disclosure and discovery materials that were filed or made exhibits 
are part of the record on appeal.

(4) MCR 2.316 governs removal and destruction of disclosure and discovery 
materials.

RULE 2.303 DEPOSITIONS BEFORE ACTION OR PENDING APPEAL

(A) Before Action.

(1) Petition. A person who desires to perpetuate his or her own testimony or that of 
another person, for use as evidence and not for the purpose of discovery, regarding a 
matter that may be cognizable in a Michigan court may file a verified petition in the 
circuit court of the county of the residence of an expected adverse party. The petition 
must be entitled in the name of the petitioner and must show:
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(a) that the petitioner expects to be a party to an action cognizable in a Michigan 
court but is presently unable to bring it or cause it to be brought and the reasons 
why;

(b) the subject matter of the expected action and the petitioner's interest in it;

(c) the facts sought to be established by the proposed testimony and the reasons for 
desiring to perpetuate it;

(d) the names or a description of the persons that the petitioner expects will be 
adverse parties and their addresses so far as known; and

(e) the names and addresses of the persons to be examined and the substance of the 
testimony that the petitioner expects to elicit from each.

The petition must ask for an order authorizing the petitioner to take the depositions 
of the persons to be examined named in the petition for the purpose of perpetuating 
their testimony.

(2) Notice and Service. The petitioner shall serve a notice on each person named in the 
petition as an expected adverse party, together with a copy of the petition, stating that 
the petitioner will apply to the court, at a specified time and place, for the order 
described in the petition. At least 21 days before the date of hearing, the notice must be 
served in the manner provided in MCR 2.105 for service of summons. If service 
cannot be made on an expected adverse party with due diligence, the court may issue 
an order as is just for service by publication or otherwise, and shall appoint, for 
persons not served in the manner provided in MCR 2.105, an attorney to represent 
them, and to cross-examine the deponent. If an expected adverse party is a minor or an 
incompetent person, the law relating to minors and incompetents, including MCR 
2.201(E), applies.

(3) Order and Examination. If the court is satisfied that the perpetuation of the 
testimony may prevent a failure or delay of justice, it shall issue an order designating 
or describing the persons whose depositions may be taken and specifying the subject 
matter of the examination and whether the depositions are to be taken on oral 
examination or written interrogatories. The depositions may then be taken in 
accordance with these rules. In addition the court may issue orders of the character 
provided for by MCR 2.310 and 2.311.

(4) Use of Deposition.

(a) If a deposition to perpetuate testimony is taken under these rules, it may be 
used in an action involving the same subject matter subsequently brought in a 
Michigan court, in accordance with MCR 2.308.

(b) If a deposition to perpetuate testimony has been taken under the Federal Rules 
of Civil Procedure, or the rules of another state, the court may, if it finds that the 
deposition was taken in substantial compliance with these rules, allow the 
deposition to be used as if it had been taken under these rules.

(B) Pending Appeal. If an appeal has been taken from a judgment of a trial court, or before 
the taking of an appeal if the time for appeal has not expired, the court in which the 
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judgment was rendered may allow the taking of the depositions of witnesses to perpetuate 
their testimony for use if there are further proceedings in that court. The party who wishes 
to perpetuate the testimony may move for leave to take the depositions, with the same 
notice and service of the motion as if the action were then pending in the trial court. The 
motion must show

(1) the names and addresses of the persons to be examined and the substance of the 
testimony that the party expects to elicit from each; and

(2) the reasons for perpetuating their testimony.

If the court finds that the perpetuation of testimony is proper to avoid a failure or delay 
of justice, it may issue an order allowing the depositions to be taken and may issue 
orders of the character provided for by MCR 2.310 and 2.311. The depositions may 
then be taken and used in the same manner and under the same conditions prescribed 
in these rules for depositions taken in actions pending before the court.

RULE 2.304 PERSONS BEFORE WHOM DEPOSITIONS MAY BE TAKEN

(A) Within the United States. Within the United States or within a territory or insular 
possession subject to the dominion of the United States, depositions may be taken

(1) before a person authorized to administer oaths by the laws of Michigan, the United 
States, or the place where the examination is held;

(2) before a person appointed by the court in which the action is pending; or

(3) before a person on whom the parties agree by stipulation under MCR 2.302(F)(1).

A person acting under subrule (A)(2) or (3) has the power to administer oaths, take 
testimony, and do all other acts necessary to take a deposition.

(B) In Foreign Countries. In a foreign country, depositions may be taken

(1) on notice before a person authorized to administer oaths in the place in which the 
examination is held, by either the law of that place or of the United States; or

(2) before a person commissioned by the court, and a person so commissioned has the 
power by virtue of the commission to administer a necessary oath and take testimony; 
or

(3) pursuant to a letter rogatory.

A commission or a letter rogatory may be issued on motion and notice and on terms 
that are just and appropriate. It is not requisite to the issuance of a commission or a 
letter rogatory that the taking of the deposition in another manner is impracticable or 
inconvenient; both a commission and a letter rogatory may be issued in a proper case. 
A notice or commission may designate the person before whom the deposition is to be 
taken either by name or descriptive title. A letter rogatory may be addressed “To the 
Appropriate Authority in [name of country].” Evidence obtained in response to a letter 
rogatory need not be excluded merely because it is not a verbatim transcript or the 
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testimony was not taken under oath, or because of a similar departure from the 
requirements for depositions taken within the United States under these rules.

(C) Disqualification for Interest. Unless the parties agree otherwise by stipulation in 
writing or on the record, a deposition may not be taken before a person who is

(1) a relative or employee of or an attorney for a party,

(2) a relative or employee of an attorney for a party, or

(3) financially interested in the action.

RULE 2.305 DISCOVERY SUBPOENA TO A NON-PARTY

(A) General Provisions.

(1) A represented party may issue a subpoena to a non-party for a deposition, 
production or inspection of documents, inspection of tangible things, or entry to land 
upon court order or after all parties have had a reasonable opportunity to obtain an 
attorney, as determined under MCR 2.306(A). An unrepresented party may move the 
court for issuance of non-party discovery subpoenas. MCR 2.306(B)(1)-(2) and (C)-
(G) apply to a subpoena under this rule. This rule governs discovery from a non-party 
under MCR 2.303(A)(4), 2.307, 2.310(B)(2) or 2.315. MCR 2.506(A)(2) and (3) apply 
to any request for production of ESI. A subpoena for hospital records is governed by 
MCR 2.506(I).

(2) A subpoena may provide that it is solely for producing documents or other tangible 
things for inspection and copying, and that the party does not intend to examine the 
deponent. The subpoena shall specify whether an inspection is requested or whether 
the subpoena may be satisfied by delivering a copy of the requested documents. Any 
request for documents shall indicate that the subpoenaing party will pay reasonable 
copying costs.

(3) A subpoena shall provide a minimum of 14 days after service of the subpoena (or a 
shorter time if the court directs) for the requested act. The subpoenaing party may file 
a motion to compel compliance with the subpoena under MCR 2.313(A). The motion 
must include a copy of the request and proof of service of the subpoena. The movant 
must serve the motion on the non-party as provided in MCR 2.105.

(4) A subpoena issued under this rule is subject to the provisions of MCR 2.302(C), 
and the court in which the action is pending or in which the subpoena is served, on 
timely motion made by a party or the subpoenaed non-party before the time specified 
in the subpoena for compliance, may:

(a) quash or modify the subpoena if it is unreasonable or oppressive;

(b) enter an order permitted by MCR 2.302(C); or

(c) conditionally deny the motion on prepayment by the party on whose behalf the 
subpoena is issued of the reasonable cost of producing documents or other tangible 
things.
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The non-party’s obligation to respond to the subpoena is stayed until the motion is 
resolved.

(5) Service of a subpoena on the deponent must be made as provided in MCR 
2.506(G). A copy of the subpoena must be served on all other parties on the date of 
issuance.

(6) In a subpoena for a non-party deposition, a party may name as the deponent a 
public or private corporation, partnership, association, or governmental agency and 
describe with reasonable particularity the matters on which examination is requested. 
The subpoena shall be served at least 14 days prior to the scheduled deposition. No 
later than 10 days after being served with the subpoena, the subpoenaed entity may 
serve objections, or file a motion for protective order, upon which the party seeking 
discovery may either proceed on topics as to which there was no objection or move to 
enforce the subpoena. The organization named must designate one or more officers, 
directors, managing agents, or other persons, who consent to testify on its behalf, and 
may set forth, for each person designated, the matters on which the person will testify. 
The deposition of each produced witness may not exceed one day of seven hours. The 
persons designated shall testify to matters known or reasonably available to the 
organization.

(7) Upon written request from another party and payment of reasonable copying costs, 
the subpoenaing party shall provide copies of documents received pursuant to a 
subpoena.

(B) Place of Compliance. Except for a subpoena for delivery of copies of documents only 
under subrule (A)(2), a non-party served with a subpoena in Michigan may be required to 
comply with the subpoena only in the county where the deponent resides, is employed, has 
its principal place of business or transacts relevant business; or at the location of the things 
to be inspected or land to be entered; or at another convenient place specified by order of 
the court.

(C) Petition to Courts Outside Michigan. When the place of compliance is in another state, 
territory, or country, the subpoenaing party may petition a court of that state, territory, or 
country for a subpoena or equivalent process.

(D) Action Pending in Another Country. An officer or a person authorized by the laws of 
another country to issue a subpoena in Michigan, with or without a commission, in an 
action pending in a court of that country may submit an application to a court of record in 
the county in which the subpoenaed person resides, is employed, has its principal place of 
business, transacts relevant business, or is found, for a subpoena. The court may hear and 
act on the application with or without notice, as the court directs.

(E) Action Pending in Another State or Territory. A person may request issuance of a 
subpoena in this state for an action pending in another state or territory under the Uniform 
Interstate Depositions and Discovery Act, MCL 600.2201 et seq., to require a person to 
attend a deposition, to produce and permit inspection and copying of materials, or to 
permit inspection of premises under the control of the person.
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(F) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, a subpoena issued under this rule 
may require a party or witness to appear by telephone or by videoconferencing 
technology. Telephonic proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.402, and 
videoconference proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.407.

RULE 2.306 DEPOSITIONS ON ORAL EXAMINATION OF A PARTY

(A) When Depositions May Be Taken; Limits.

(1) Subject to MCR 2.301(A) and these rules, after commencement of the action, a 
party may take the testimony of a party by deposition on oral examination. Leave of 
court, granted with or without notice, must be obtained if the plaintiff seeks to take a 
deposition before the defendant has had a reasonable time to obtain an attorney. A 
reasonable time is deemed to have elapsed if:

(a) the defendant has filed an answer;

(b) the defendant's attorney has filed an appearance;

(c) the defendant has served notice of the taking of a deposition or has taken other 
action seeking discovery;

(d) the defendant has filed a motion under MCR 2.116; or

(e) 28 days have expired after service of the summons and complaint on a 
defendant or after service made under MCR 2.106.

(2) The deposition of a person confined in prison or of a patient in a state home, 
institution, or hospital for the mentally ill or mentally handicapped, or any other state 
hospital, home, or institution, may be taken only by leave of court on terms as the 
court provides.

(3) A deposition may not exceed one day of seven hours.

(B) Notice of Examination; Production of Documents and Things.

(1) A party desiring to take the deposition of a party on oral examination must give 
reasonable notice in writing to every other party to the action. The notice must state

(a) the time and place for taking the deposition, and

(b) the name and address of each person to be examined, if known, or, if the name 
is not known, a general description sufficient to identify the person or the 
particular class or group to which the person belongs.

(2) The notice may be accompanied by a request for the production of documents and 
tangible things at the taking of the deposition. MCR 2.310 applies to the request.

(3) In a notice, a party may name as the deponent a public or private corporation, 
partnership, association, or governmental agency and describe with reasonable 
particularity the matters on which examination is requested. The notice shall be served 
at least 14 days prior to the scheduled deposition. No later than 10 days after being 



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 93   Updated April 26, 2024 

served with the notice, the noticed entity may serve objections or file a motion for 
protective order, upon which the party seeking discovery may either proceed on topics 
as to which there was no objection or motion, or move to enforce the notice. The 
organization named must designate one or more officers, directors, or managing 
agents, or other persons, who consent to testify on its behalf, and may set forth, for 
each person designated, the matters on which the person will testify. The deposition of 
each produced witness may not exceed one day of seven hours. The persons 
designated shall testify to matters known or reasonably available to the organization. 
This subrule does not preclude taking a deposition by another procedure authorized in 
these rules.

(C) Conduct of Deposition; Examination and Cross-Examination; Manner of Recording; 
Objections; Communicating with Deponent.

(1) Examination of Deponent

(a) The person before whom the deposition is to be taken must put the witness on 
oath. 

(b) Examination and cross-examination of the witness shall proceed as   permitted 
at a trial under the Michigan Rules of Evidence. 

(c) In lieu of participating in the oral examination, a party may send written 
questions to the person conducting the examination, who shall propound them to 
the witness and record the witness's answers.

(2) Recording of Deposition. The person before whom the deposition is taken shall 
personally, or by someone acting under his or her direction and in his or her presence, 
record the testimony of the witness.

(a) The testimony must be taken stenographically or recorded by other means in 
accordance with this subrule. The testimony need not be transcribed unless 
requested by one of the parties.

(b) While the testimony is being taken, a party, as a matter of right, may also make 
a record of it by nonsecret mechanical or electronic means, except that video 
recording is governed by MCR 2.315. Any use of the recording in court is within 
the discretion of the court. A person making such a record must furnish a duplicate 
of the record to another party at the request and expensed of the other party.

(3) Recording by Nonstenographic Means. The court may order, or the parties may 
stipulate, that the testimony at a deposition be recorded by other than stenographic 
means.

(a) The order or stipulation must designate the manner of recording and preserving 
the deposition, and may include other provisions to assure that the recorded 
testimony will be accurate and trustworthy. A deposition in the form of a recording 
may be filed with the court as are other depositions.

(b) If a deposition is taken by other than stenographic means on order of the court, 
a party may nevertheless arrange to have a stenographic transcription made at that 
party's own expense.
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(c) Before a deposition taken by other than stenographic means may be used in 
court it must be transcribed unless the court enters an order waiving transcription. 
The costs of transcription are borne by the parties as determined by the court.

(d) Subrule (C)(3) does not apply to video depositions, which are governed by 
MCR 2.315.

(4) Objections During Deposition.

(a) All objections made at the deposition, including objections to 

(i) the qualifications of the person taking the deposition,

(ii) the manner of taking it,

(iii) the evidence presented, or

(iv) the conduct of a party, must be noted on the record by the person before 
whom the deposition is taken. Subject to limitation imposed by an order under 
MCR 2.302(C) or subrule (D) of this rule, evidence objected to on grounds 
other than privilege shall be taken subject to the objections.

(b) An objection during a deposition must be stated concisely in a civil and 
nonsuggestive manner.

(c) Objections are limited to

(i) objections that would be waived under MCR 2.308(C)(2) or (3), and

(ii) those necessary to preserve a privilege or other legal protection or   to 
enforce a limitation ordered by the court.

(5) Communicating with Deponent.

(a) A person may instruct a deponent not to answer only when necessary to 
preserve a privilege or other legal protection, to enforce a limitation ordered by the 
court, or to present a motion under MCR 2.306(D)(1).

(b) A deponent may not communicate with another person while a question is 
pending, except to decide whether to assert a privilege or other legal protection.

(c) For purposes of this rule, “communicate” includes electronic communication 
conducted by text message, email or other transmission using an electronic device.

(D) Motion to Terminate or Limit Examination; Sanctions; Asserting Privilege.

(1) Motion. At any time during the taking of the deposition, on motion of a party or of 
the deponent and on a showing that the examination is being conducted in bad faith or 
in a manner unreasonably to annoy, embarrass, or oppress the deponent or party, or 
that the matter inquired about is privileged, a court in which the action is pending or 
the court in the county or district where the deposition is being taken may order the 
person conducting the examination to cease taking the deposition, or may limit the 
scope and manner of the taking of the deposition as provided in MCR 2.302(C). If the 
order entered terminates the examination, it may resume only on order of the court in 
which the action is pending.
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(2) Sanctions. On motion, the court may impose an appropriate sanction- including the 
reasonable expenses and attorney fees incurred by any party- on a person who 
impedes, delays, or frustrates the fair examination of the deponent or otherwise 
violates this rule.

(3) Suspending Deposition. On demand of the objecting party or deponent, the taking 
of the deposition must be suspended for the time necessary to move for an order. MCR 
2.313(A)(5) applies to the award of expenses incurred in relation to the motion.

(4) Raising Privilege before Deposition. If a party knows before the time scheduled for 
the taking of a deposition that he or she will assert that the matter to be inquired about 
is privileged, the party must move to prevent the taking of the deposition before its 
occurrence or be subject to costs under subrule (G).

(5) Failure to Assert Privilege.   A party who has a privilege regarding part or all of the 
testimony of a deponent must either assert the privilege at the deposition or lose the 
privilege as to that testimony for purposes of the action. A party who claims a 
privilege at a deposition may not at the trial offer the testimony of the deponent 
pertaining to the evidence objected to at the deposition. A party who asserts a privilege 
regarding medical information is subject to the provisions of MCR 2.314(B).

(E) Exhibits. Documents and things produced for inspection during the examination of the 
witness must, on the request of a party, be marked for identification and annexed to the 
deposition, if practicable, and may be inspected and copied by a party, except as follows:

(1) The person producing the materials may substitute copies to be marked for 
identification, if he or she affords to all parties fair opportunity to verify the copies by 
comparison with the originals.

(2) If the person producing the materials requests their return, the person conducting 
the examination or the stenographer must mark them, give each party an opportunity 
to inspect and copy them, and return them to the person producing them, and the 
materials may then be used in the same manner as if annexed to the deposition. A party 
may move for an order that the original be annexed to and filed with the deposition, 
pending final disposition of the action.

(F) Certification and Transcription; Filing; Copies.

(1) If transcription is requested by a party, the person conducting the examination or 
the stenographer must certify on the deposition that the witness was duly sworn and 
that the deposition is a true record of the testimony given by the witness. A deposition 
transcribed and certified in accordance with subrule (F) need not be submitted to the 
witness for examination and signature.

(2) On payment of reasonable charges, the person conducting the examination shall 
furnish a copy of the deposition to a party or to the deponent. Where transcription is 
requested by a party other than the party requesting the deposition, the court may 
order, or the parties may stipulate, that the expense of transcription or a portion of it be 
paid by the party making the request.
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(3) Except as provided in subrule (C)(3) or in MCR 2.315(E), a deposition may not be 
filed with the court unless it has first been transcribed. If a party requests that the 
transcript be filed, the person conducting the examination or the stenographer shall 
promptly file the certified transcript with the court in which the action is pending via 
the statewide electronic-filing system, by delivering it personally to the court, or by 
registered or certified mail to the clerk of the court and shall give prompt notice of its 
filing to all other parties, unless the parties agree otherwise by stipulation in writing or 
on the record.

If the transcript is personally delivered to the court, it must be securely sealed in an 
envelope endorsed with the title and file number of the action and marked “Deposition 
of [name of witness].” 

(G) Failure to Attend or to Serve Subpoena; Expenses.

(1) If the party giving the notice of the taking of a deposition fails to attend and 
proceed with the deposition and another party attends in person or by attorney 
pursuant to the notice, the court may order the party giving the notice to pay to the 
other party the reasonable expenses incurred in attending, including reasonable 
attorney fees.

(2) If the party giving the notice of the taking of a deposition of a witness fails to serve 
a subpoena on the witness, and the witness because of the failure does not attend, and 
if another party attends in person or by attorney because he or she expects the 
deposition of that witness to be taken, the court may order the party giving the notice 
to pay to the other party the reasonable expenses incurred in attending, including 
reasonable attorney fees.

RULE 2.307 DEPOSITIONS ON WRITTEN QUESTIONS

(A) Serving Questions; Notice.

(1) Under the same circumstances and under the same limitations as set out in MCR 
2.305(A) and MCR 2.306(A), a party may take the testimony of a person, including a 
party, by deposition on written questions. The attendance of non-party witnesses may 
be compelled by the use of a subpoena as provided in MCR 2.305. A deposition on 
written questions may be taken of a public or private corporation or partnership or 
association or governmental agency in accordance with the provisions of MCR 
2.305(A)(6) or 2.306(B)(3).

(2) A party desiring to take a deposition on written questions shall serve them on every 
other party with a notice stating

(a) the name and address of the person who is to answer them, if known, and, if the 
name is not known, a general description sufficient to identify the person or the 
particular class or group to which the person belongs; and

(b) the name or descriptive title and address of the person before whom the 
deposition is to be taken.
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(3) Within 14 days after the notice and written questions are served, a party may serve 
cross-questions on all other parties. Within 7 days after being served with cross-
questions, a party may serve redirect questions on all other parties. Within 7 days after 
being served with redirect questions, a party may serve recross-questions on all other 
parties. The parties, by stipulation in writing, or the court, for cause shown, may 
extend or shorten the time requirements.

(B) Taking of Responses and Preparation of Record. A copy of the notice, any stipulation, 
and copies of all questions served must be delivered by the party who proposed the 
deposition to the person before whom the deposition will be taken as stated in the notice. 
The person before whom the deposition is to be taken must proceed promptly to take the 
testimony of the witness in response to the questions, and, if requested, to transcribe, 
certify, and file the deposition in the manner provided by MCR 2.306(C), (E), and (F), 
attaching the copy of the notice, the questions, and any stipulations of the parties.

RULE 2.308 USE OF DEPOSITIONS IN COURT PROCEEDINGS

(A) In General.

Depositions or parts thereof shall be admissible at trial or on the hearing of a motion or in 
an interlocutory proceeding only as provided in the Michigan Rules of Evidence.

(B) Objections to Admissibility. Subject to the provisions of subrule (C) and MCR 
2.306(C)(4), objection may be made at the trial or hearing to receiving in evidence a 
deposition or part of a deposition for any reason that would require the exclusion of the 
evidence.

(C) Effect of Errors or Irregularities in Depositions.

(1) Notice. Errors or irregularities in the notice for taking a deposition are waived 
unless written objection is promptly served on the party giving notice.

(2) Disqualification of Person Before Whom Taken. Objection to taking a deposition 
because of disqualification of the person before whom it is to be taken is waived 
unless made before the taking of the deposition begins or as soon thereafter as the 
disqualification becomes known or could be discovered with reasonable diligence.

(3) Taking of Deposition.

(a) Objections to the competency of a witness or to the competency, relevancy, or 
materiality of testimony are not waived by failure to make them before or during 
the taking of a deposition, unless the ground of the objection is one which might 
have been obviated or removed if presented at that time.

(b) Errors and irregularities occurring at the deposition in the manner of taking the 
deposition, in the form of the questions or answers, in the oath or affirmation, or in 
the conduct of parties and errors of any other kind which might be cured if 
promptly presented, are waived unless seasonable objection is made at the taking 
of the deposition.
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(c) Objections to the form of written questions submitted under MCR 2.307 are 
waived unless served in writing on the party propounding them within the time 
allowed for serving the succeeding cross-questions or other questions and within 7 
days after service of the last questions authorized.

(d) On motion and notice a party may request a ruling by the court on an objection 
in advance of the trial.

(4) Certification, Transcription, and Filing of Deposition. Errors and irregularities in 
the manner in which the testimony is transcribed or the deposition is prepared, signed, 
certified, sealed, endorsed, transmitted, filed, or otherwise dealt with by the person 
before whom it was taken are waived unless a motion objecting to the deposition is 
filed within a reasonable time.

(5) Harmless Error. None of the foregoing errors or irregularities, even when not 
waived, or any others, preclude or restrict the use of the deposition, except insofar as 
the court finds that the errors substantially destroy the value of the deposition as 
evidence or render its use unfair or prejudicial.

RULE 2.309 INTERROGATORIES TO PARTIES

(A) Availability; Procedure for Service; Limits. 

(1) A party may serve on another party written interrogatories to be answered by the 
party served or, if the party served is a public or private corporation, partnership, 
association, or governmental agency, by an officer or agent. Subject to MCR 2.302(B), 
interrogatories may, without leave of court, be served:

(a) on the plaintiff after commencement of the action or

(b) on a defendant with or after the service of the summons and complaint on that 
defendant.

(2) Each separately represented party may serve no more than twenty interrogatories 
upon each party. A discrete subpart of an interrogatory counts as a separate 
interrogatory. 

(B) Answers and Objections.

(1) Each interrogatory must be answered separately and fully in writing under oath. 
The answers must include such information as is available to the party served or that 
the party could obtain from his or her employees, agents, representatives, sureties, or 
indemnitors. If the answering party objects to an interrogatory, the reasons for the 
objection must be stated in lieu of an answer.

(2) The answering party shall repeat each interrogatory or subquestion immediately 
before the answer to it.

(3) The answers must be signed by the person making them and the objections signed 
by the attorney or an unrepresented party making them.
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(4) The party on whom the interrogatories are served must serve the answers and 
objections, if any, on all other parties within 28 days after the interrogatories are 
served, except that a defendant may serve answers within 42 days after being served 
with the summons and complaint. The court may allow a longer or shorter time and, 
for good cause shown, may excuse service on parties other than the party who served 
the interrogatories.

(C) Motion to Compel Answers. The party submitting the interrogatories may move for an 
order under MCR 2.313(A) with respect to an objection to or other failure to answer an 
interrogatory. If the motion is based on the failure to serve answers, proof of service of the 
interrogatories must be filed with the motion. The motion must state that the movant has in 
good faith conferred or attempted to confer with the party not making the disclosure in an 
effort to secure the disclosure without court action.

(D) Scope; Use at Trial.

(1) An interrogatory may relate to matters that can be inquired into under MCR 
2.302(B).

(2) An interrogatory otherwise proper is not necessarily objectionable merely because 
an answer to the interrogatory involves an opinion or contention that relates to fact or 
the application of law to fact, but the court may order that an interrogatory need not be 
answered until after designated discovery has been completed or until a pretrial 
conference or other later time.

(3) The answer to an interrogatory may be used to the extent permitted by the rules of 
evidence.

(E) Option to Produce Business Records. Where the answer to an interrogatory may be 
derived from

(1) the business records of the party on whom the interrogatory has been served,

(2) an examination, audit, or inspection of business records, or

(3) a compilation, abstract, or summary based on such records, and the burden of 
deriving the answer is substantially the same for the party serving the interrogatory as 
for the party served, it is a sufficient answer to the interrogatory to specify the records 
from which the answer may be derived and to afford to the party serving the 
interrogatory reasonable opportunity to examine, audit, or inspect the records and to 
make copies, compilations, abstracts, or summaries. A specification shall be in 
sufficient detail to permit the interrogating party to identify, as readily as can the party 
served, the records from which the answer may be derived.

RULE 2.310 REQUESTS FOR PRODUCTION OF DOCUMENTS AND OTHER THINGS; ENTRY ON LAND 
FOR INSPECTION AND OTHER PURPOSES

(A) Definitions. For the purpose of this subchapter,
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(1) “Documents” includes writings, drawings, graphs, charts, photographs, sound 
recordings, images, and other data or data compilations stored in any medium, 
including ESI.

(2) “ESI” means electronically stored information, regardless of format, system, or 
properties.

(3) “Entry on land” means entry upon designated land or other property in the 
possession or control of the person on whom the request is served for the purpose of 
inspecting, measuring, surveying, photographing, testing, or sampling the property or 
a designated object or operation on the property, within the scope of MCR 2.302(B).

(B) Scope.

(1) A party may serve on another party a request

(a) to produce and permit the requesting party, or someone acting for that party,

(i) to inspect and copy designated documents or

(ii) to inspect and copy, test, or sample other tangible things that constitute or 
contain matters within the scope of MCR 2.302(B) and that are in the 
possession, custody, or control of the party on whom the request is served; or

(b) to permit entry on land.

(2) A party may serve on a nonparty a request

(a) to produce and permit the requesting party or someone acting for that party to 
inspect and test or sample tangible things that constitute or contain matters within 
the scope of MCR 2.302(B) and that are in the possession, custody, or control of 
the person on whom the request is served; or

(b) to permit entry on land.

(C) Request to Party.

(1) The request may, without leave of court, be served on the plaintiff after 
commencement of the action and on the defendant with or after the service of the 
summons and complaint on that defendant. The request must list the items to be 
inspected, either by individual item or by category, and describe each item and 
category with reasonable particularity. The request must specify a reasonable time, 
place, and manner of making the inspection and performing the related acts, as well as 
the form or forms in which electronically stored information is to be produced, subject 
to objection.

(2) The party on whom the request is served must serve a written response within 28 
days after service of the request, except that a defendant may serve a response within 
42 days after being served with the summons and complaint. The court may allow a 
longer or shorter time. With respect to each item or category, the response must state 
that inspection and related activities will be permitted as requested or that the request 
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is objected to, in which event the reasons for objection must be stated. If objection is 
made to part of an item or category, the part must be specified. If the request does not 
specify the form or forms in which electronically stored information is to be produced, 
the party responding to the request must produce the information in a form or forms in 
which the party ordinarily maintains it, or in a form or forms that is or are reasonably 
usable. A party producing electronically stored information need only produce the 
same information in one form.

(3) The party submitting the request may move for an order under MCR 2.313(A) with 
respect to an objection to or a failure to respond to the request or a part of it, or failure 
to permit inspection as requested. If the motion is based on a failure to respond to a 
request, proof of service of the request must be filed with the motion. The motion must 
state that the movant has in good faith conferred or attempted to confer with the party 
not making the disclosure in an effort to secure the disclosure without court action.

(4) The party to whom the request is submitted may seek a protective order under 
MCR 2.302(C).

(5) A party who produces documents for inspection shall produce them as they are 
kept in the usual course of business or shall organize and label them to correspond 
with the categories in the request.

(6) Unless otherwise ordered by the court for good cause, the party producing items 
for inspection shall bear the cost of assembling them and the party requesting the items 
shall bear any copying costs.

RULE 2.311 PHYSICAL AND MENTAL EXAMINATION OF PERSONS

(A) Order for Examination. When the mental or physical condition (including the blood 
group) of a party, or of a person in the custody or under the legal control of a party, is in 
controversy, the court in which the action is pending may order the party to submit to a 
physical or mental or blood examination by a physician (or other appropriate professional) 
or to produce for examination the person in the party’s custody or legal control. The order 
may be entered only on motion for good cause with notice to the person to be examined 
and to all parties. The order must specify the time, place, manner, conditions, and scope of 
the examination and the person or persons by whom it is to be made. Upon request of a 
party, the order may also provide that

(1) the attorney for the person to be examined may be present at the examination, or

(2) a mental examination be recorded by video or audio.

(B) If the court orders that a mental examination be recorded, the recording must

(1) be unobtrusive, 

(2) capture the examinee's and the examiner's conduct throughout the examination, 
and

(3) be filed under seal.
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(C) Report of Examining Physician.

(1) If requested by the party against whom an order is entered under subrule (A) or by 
the person examined, the party causing the examination to be made must deliver to the 
requesting person a copy of a detailed written report of the examining physician 
setting out the findings, including results of all tests made, diagnosis, and conclusions, 
together with like reports on all earlier examinations of the same condition, and must 
make available for inspection and examination x-rays, cardiograms, and other 
diagnostic aids.

(2) After delivery of the report, the party causing the examination to be made is 
entitled on request to receive from the party against whom the order is made a similar 
report of any examination previously or thereafter made of the same condition, and to 
a similar inspection of all diagnostic aids unless, in the case of a report on the 
examination of a nonparty, the party shows that he or she is unable to obtain it.

(3) If either party or a person examined refuses to deliver a report, the court on motion 
and notice may enter an order requiring delivery on terms as are just, and if a physician 
refuses or fails to comply with this rule, the court may order the physician to appear 
for a discovery deposition.

(4) By requesting and obtaining a report on the examination ordered under this rule, or 
by taking the deposition of the examiner, the person examined waives any privilege he 
or she may have in that action, or another action involving the same controversy, 
regarding the testimony of every other person who has examined or may thereafter 
examine the person as to the same mental or physical condition.

(5) Subrule (B) applies to examinations made by agreement of the parties, unless the 
agreement expressly provides otherwise.

(6) Subrule (B) does not preclude discovery of a report of an examining physician or 
the taking of a deposition of the physician under any other rule.

RULE 2.312 REQUEST FOR ADMISSION

(A) Availability; Scope. Within the time for completion of discovery, a party may serve 
on another party a written request for the admission of the truth of a matter within the 
scope of MCR 2.302(B) stated in the request that relates to statements or opinions of fact 
or the application of law to fact, including the genuineness of documents described in the 
request. Copies of the documents must be served with the request unless they have been or 
are otherwise furnished or made available for inspection and copying. The request must 
clearly identify in the caption and before each request that it is a Request for Admission. 
Each matter of which an admission is requested must be stated separately.

(B) Answer; Objection.

(1) Each matter as to which a request is made is deemed admitted unless, within 28 
days after service of the request, or within a shorter or longer time as the court may 
allow, the party to whom the request is directed serves on the party requesting the 
admission a written answer or objection addressed to the matter. Unless the court 
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orders a shorter time a defendant may serve an answer or objection within 42 days 
after being served with the summons and complaint.

(2) The answer must specifically deny the matter or state in detail the reasons why the 
answering party cannot truthfully admit or deny it. A denial must fairly meet the 
substance of the request, and when good faith requires that a party qualify an answer 
or deny only part of the matter of which an admission is requested, the party must 
specify the parts that are admitted and denied.

(3) An answering party may not give lack of information or knowledge as a reason for 
failure to admit or deny unless the party states that he or she has made reasonable 
inquiry and that the information known or readily obtainable is insufficient to enable 
the party to admit or deny.

(4) If an objection is made, the reasons must be stated. A party who considers that a 
matter of which an admission has been requested presents a genuine issue for trial may 
not, on that ground alone, object to the request. The party may, subject to the 
provisions of MCR 2.313(C), deny the matter or state reasons why he or she cannot 
admit or deny it.

(C) Motion Regarding Answer or Objection. The party who has requested the admission 
may move to determine the sufficiency of the answer or objection. The motion must state 
that the movant has in good faith conferred or attempted to confer with the party not 
making the disclosure in an effort to secure the disclosure without court action. Unless the 
court determines that an objection is justified, it shall order that an answer be served. If the 
court determines that an answer does not comply with the requirements of the rule, it may 
order either that the matter is admitted, or that an amended answer be served. The court 
may, in lieu of one of these orders, determine that final disposition of the request be made 
at a pretrial conference or at a designated time before trial. The provisions of MCR 
2.313(A)(5) apply to the award of expenses incurred in relation to the motion.

(D) Effect of Admission.

(1) A matter admitted under this rule is conclusively established unless the court on 
motion permits withdrawal or amendment of an admission. For good cause the court 
may allow a party to amend or withdraw an admission. The court may condition 
amendment or withdrawal of the admission on terms that are just.

(2) An admission made by a party under this rule is for the purpose of the pending 
action only and is not an admission for another purpose, nor may it be used against the 
party in another proceeding.

(E) Public Records.

(1) A party intending to use as evidence

(a) a record that a public official is required by federal, state, or municipal 
authority to receive for filing or recording or is given custody of by law, or

(b) a memorial of a public official, may prepare a copy, synopsis, or abstract of the 
record, insofar as it is to be used, and serve it on the adverse party sufficiently in 
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advance of trial to allow the adverse party a reasonable opportunity to determine 
its accuracy.

(2) The copy, synopsis, or abstract is then admissible in evidence as admitted facts in 
the action, if otherwise admissible, except insofar as its inaccuracy is pointed out by 
the adverse party in an affidavit filed and served within a reasonable time before trial.

(F) Filing With Court. Requests and responses under this rule must be filed with the court 
either before service or within a reasonable time thereafter.

RULE 2.313 FAILURE TO SERVE DISCLOSURE OR TO PROVIDE OR TO PERMIT DISCOVERY; 
SANCTIONS

(A) Motion for Order Compelling Disclosure or Discovery. A party, on reasonable notice 
to other parties and all persons affected, may apply for an order compelling disclosure or 
discovery as follows:

(1) Appropriate Court. A motion for an order under this rule may be made to the court 
in which the action is pending, or, as to a matter relating to a deposition in, or non-
party subpoena served outside of, the county where the action is pending, to a court in 
that county.

(2) Motion. 

(a) To Compel Disclosure. If a party fails to serve a disclosure required by MCR 
2.302(A), another party may move to compel disclosure and for appropriate 
sanctions.

(b) To Compel Discovery. If

(i) a deponent fails to answer a question propounded or submitted under MCR 
2.306 or 2.307,

(ii) a corporation or other entity fails to make a designation under MCR 
2.306(B)(3) or 2.307(A)(1),

(iii) a party fails to answer an interrogatory submitted under MCR 2.309(A) or 
(B),

(iv) in response to a request for inspection submitted under MCR 2.310, a 
person fails to respond that inspection will be permitted as requested, or

(v) if a party; an officer, director, or managing agent of a party; or a person 
designated under MCR 2.306(B)(3) or 2.307(A)(1) to testify on behalf of a 
party fails to appear before the person who is to take his or her deposition, after 
being served with a proper notice,the party seeking discovery may move for an 
order compelling compliance. When taking a deposition on oral examination, 
the proponent of the question may complete or adjourn the examination before 
applying for an order.

(c) To Compel Compliance with a Non-Party Discovery Subpoena. If a recipient 
of a non-party discovery subpoena under MCR 2.305 fails to comply, the issuing 
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party may move to compel compliance. When taking a deposition on oral 
examination, the proponent of the question may complete or adjourn the 
examination before applying for an order. The motion must include a copy of the 
subpoena and proof of service of the subpoena. The movant must serve the motion 
on the person from whom discovery is sought as provided in MCR 2.105.

(3) Ruling; Protective Order. If the court denies the motion in whole or in part, it may 
enter a protective order that it could have entered on motion made under MCR 
2.302(C).

(4) Evasive or Incomplete Disclosure, Answer, or Response. For purposes of this 
subrule an evasive or incomplete disclosure, answer, or response must be treated as a 
failure to disclose, answer, or respond.

(5) Award of Expenses of Motion.

(a) If the motion is granted—or if the disclosure or requested discovery is provided 
after the motion was filed—the court may, after opportunity for hearing, require 
the party or deponent whose conduct necessitated the motion or the party or 
attorney advising such conduct, or both, to pay to the moving party the reasonable 
expenses incurred in making the motion, including attorney fees, unless the court 
finds that the moving party filed the motion before attempting in good faith to 
obtain the disclosure or discovery without court action, the opposition to the 
motion was substantially justified, or other circumstances make an award unjust.

(b) If the motion is denied, the court may, after opportunity for hearing, require the 
moving party or the attorney advising the motion, or both, to pay to the person who 
opposed the motion the reasonable expenses incurred in opposing the motion, 
including attorney fees, unless the court finds that the making of the motion was 
substantially justified or that other circumstances make an award of expenses 
unjust.

(c) If the motion is granted in part and denied in part, the court may after 
opportunity for hearing, apportion the reasonable expenses incurred in relation to 
the motion among the parties and other persons in a just manner.

(6) Additional Sanctions. The court in which the action is pending may order such 
sanctions as are just. Among others, it may take an action authorized under subrule 
(B)(2)(a), (b), and (c).

(B) Failure to Comply With Order.

(1) Sanctions by Court Where Deposition Is Taken. If a deponent fails to be sworn or 
to answer a question after being directed to do so by a court in the county or district in 
which the deposition is being taken, the failure may be considered a contempt of that 
court.

(2) Sanctions by Court in Which Action Is Pending. If a party or an officer, director, or 
managing agent of a party, or a person designated under MCR 2.306(B)(5) or 
2.307(A)(1) to testify on behalf of a party, fails to obey an order to provide or permit 
discovery, including an order entered under subrule (A) of this rule or under MCR 



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 106   Updated April 26, 2024 

2.311, the court in which the action is pending may order such sanctions as are just, 
including, but not limited to the following:

(a) an order that the matters regarding which the order was entered or other 
designated facts may be taken to be established for the purposes of the action in 
accordance with the claim of the party obtaining the order;

(b) an order refusing to allow the disobedient party to support or oppose 
designated claims or defenses, or prohibiting the party from introducing 
designated matters into evidence;

(c) an order striking pleadings or parts of pleadings, staying further proceedings 
until the order is obeyed, dismissing the action or proceeding or a part of it, or 
rendering a judgment by default against the disobedient party;

(d) in lieu of or in addition to the foregoing orders, an order treating as a contempt 
of court the failure to obey an order, except an order to submit to a physical or 
mental examination;

(e) where a party has failed to comply with an order under MCR 2.311(A) 
requiring the party to produce another for examination, such orders as are listed in 
subrules (B)(2)(a), (b), and (c), unless the party failing to comply shows that he or 
she is unable to produce such person for examination.

In lieu of or in addition to the foregoing orders, the court may require the party 
failing to obey the order or the attorney advising the party, or both, to pay the 
reasonable expenses, including attorney fees, caused by the failure, unless the 
court finds that the failure was substantially justified or that other circumstances 
make an award of expenses unjust.

(C) Failure to Disclose, Supplement, or Admit. 

(1) Failure to Disclose or Supplement. If a party fails to provide information or 
identify a witness as required by MCR 2.302(A) or (E), the party is not allowed to use 
that information or witness to supply evidence on a motion, at a hearing, or at a trial, 
unless the failure was substantially justified or is harmless. In addition to or instead of 
this sanction, the court, on motion and after giving an opportunity to be heard:

(a) may order payment of the reasonable expenses, including attorney fees, caused 
by the failure;

(b) may inform the jury of the party’s failure; and

(c) may impose other appropriate sanctions, including any of the orders listed in 
MCR 2.313(B)(2)(a)-(c).

(2) Failure to Admit. If a party denies the genuineness of a document, or the truth of a 
matter as requested under MCR 2.312, and if the party requesting the admission later 
proves the genuineness of the document or the truth of the matter, the requesting party 
may move for an order requiring the other party to pay the expenses incurred in 
making that proof, including attorney fees. The court shall enter the order unless it 
finds that



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 107   Updated April 26, 2024 

(a) the request was held objectionable pursuant to MCR 2.312,

(b) the admission sought was of no substantial importance,

(c) the party failing to admit had reasonable ground to believe that he or she might 
prevail on the matter, or

(d) there was other good reason for the failure to admit.

(D) Failure to preserve ESI. If ESI that should have been preserved in the anticipation or 
conduct of litigation is lost because a party failed to take reasonable steps to preserve it, 
and it cannot be restored or replaced through additional discovery, the court:

(1) upon finding prejudice to another party from loss of the information, may order 
measures no greater than necessary to cure the prejudice or

(2) only upon finding that the party acted with the intent to deprive another party of the 
information’s use in the litigation, may order appropriate remedies, including:

(a) a presumption that the lost information was unfavorable to the party;

(b) a jury instruction directing that the jury may or must presume the information 
was unfavorable to the party; or

(c) dismissal of the action or entry of a default judgment.

RULE 2.314 DISCOVERY OF MEDICAL INFORMATION CONCERNING PARTY

(A) Scope of Rule.

(1) When a mental or physical condition of a party is in controversy, medical 
information about the condition is subject to discovery under these rules to the extent 
that

(a) the information is otherwise discoverable under MCR 2.302(B), and

(b) the party does not assert that the information is subject to a valid privilege.

(2) Medical information subject to discovery includes, but is not limited to, medical 
records in the possession or control of a physician, hospital, or other custodian, and 
medical knowledge discoverable by deposition or interrogatories.

(3) For purposes of this rule, medical information about a mental or physical condition 
of a party is within the control of the party, even if the information is not in the party's 
immediate physical possession.

(B) Privilege; Assertion; Waiver; Effects.

(1) A party who has a valid privilege may assert the privilege and prevent discovery of 
medical information relating to his or her mental or physical condition. The privilege 
must be asserted in the party's disclosure under 2.302(A), in written response to a 
request for production of documents under MCR 2.310, in answers to interrogatories 
under MCR 2.309(B), before or during the taking of a deposition, or by moving for a 
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protective order under MCR 2.302(C). A privilege not timely asserted is waived in 
that action, but is not waived for the purposes of any other action.

(2) Unless the court orders otherwise, if a party asserts that the medical information is 
subject to a privilege and the assertion has the effect of preventing discovery of 
medical information that must be disclosed or is otherwise discoverable under MCR 
2.302(B), the party may not thereafter present or introduce any physical, documentary, 
or testimonial evidence relating to the party's medical history or mental or physical 
condition.

(C) Response by Party to Request for Medical Information.

(1) A party who is served with a request for production of medical information under 
MCR 2.310 must either:

(a) make the information available for inspection and copying as requested;

(b) assert that the information is privileged;

(c) object to the request as permitted by MCR 2.310(C)(2); or

(d) furnish the requesting party with signed authorizations in the form approved by 
the state court administrator sufficient in number to enable the requesting party to 
obtain the information requested from persons, institutions, hospitals, and other 
custodians in actual possession of the information requested.

(2) A party responding to a request for medical information as permitted by subrule 
(C)(1)(d) must also inform the adverse party of the physical location of the 
information requested.

(D) Release of Medical Information by Custodian.

(1) A physician, hospital, or other custodian of medical information (referred to in this 
rule as the “custodian”) shall comply with a properly authorized request for the 
medical information within 28 days after the receipt of the request, or, if at the time the 
request is made the patient is hospitalized for the mental or physical condition for 
which the medical information is sought, within 28 days after the patient's discharge or 
release. The court may extend or shorten these time limits for good cause.

(2) In responding to a request for medical information under this rule, the custodian 
will be deemed to have complied with the request if the custodian

(a) makes the information reasonably available for inspection and copying; or

(b) delivers to the requesting party the original information or a true and exact 
copy of the original information accompanied by a sworn certificate in the form 
approved by the state court administrator, signed by the custodian verifying that 
the copy is a true and complete reproduction of the original information.

(3) If it is essential that an original document be examined when the authenticity of the 
document, questions of interpretation of handwriting, or similar questions arise, the 
custodian must permit reasonable inspection of the original document by the 
requesting party and by experts retained to examine the information.
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(4) If x-rays or other records incapable of reproduction are requested, the custodian 
may inform the requesting party that these records exist, but have not been delivered 
pursuant to subrule (D)(2). Delivery of the records may be conditioned on the 
requesting party or the party's agent signing a receipt that includes a promise that the 
records will be returned to the custodian after a reasonable time for inspection 
purposes has elapsed.

(5) In complying with subrule (D)(2), the custodian is entitled to receive reasonable 
reimbursement in advance for expenses of compliance.

(6) If a custodian does not respond within the time permitted by subrule (D)(1) to a 
party's authorized request for medical information, a subpoena may be issued under 
MCR 2.305(A)(1), directing that the custodian present the information for 
examination and copying at the time and place stated in the subpoena.

(E) Persons Not Parties. Medical information concerning persons not parties to the action 
is not discoverable under this rule.

RULE 2.315 VIDEO DEPOSITIONS

(A) When Permitted. Depositions authorized under MCR 2.303 and 2.306 may be taken 
by means of simultaneous audio and visual electronic recording without leave of the court 
or stipulation of the parties, provided the deposition is taken in accordance with this rule.

(B) Rules Governing. Except as provided in this rule, the taking of video depositions is 
governed by the rules governing the taking of other depositions unless the nature of the 
video deposition makes compliance impossible or unnecessary.

(C) Procedure.

(1) A notice of the taking of a video deposition and a subpoena for attendance at the 
deposition must state that the deposition is to be visually recorded.

(2) A video deposition must be timed by means of a digital clock or clocks capable of 
displaying the hours, minutes, and seconds. The clock or clocks must be in the picture 
at all times during the taking of the deposition.

(3) A video deposition must begin with a statement on camera of the date, time, and 
place at which the recording is being made, the title of the action, and the 
identification of the attorneys.

(4) The person being deposed must be sworn as a witness on camera by an authorized 
person.

(5) More than one camera may be used, in sequence or simultaneously.

(6) The parties may make audio recordings while the video deposition is being taken.

(7) At the conclusion of the deposition a statement must be made on camera that the 
deposition is completed.
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(D) Custody of Tape and Copies.

(1) The person making the video recording must retain possession of it. The video 
recording must be securely sealed and marked for identification purposes.

(2) The parties may purchase audio or audio-visual copies of the recording from the 
operator.

(E) Filing; Notice of Filing. If a party requests that the deposition be filed, the person who 
made the recording shall

(1) file the recording with the court under MCR 2.306(F)(3), together with an affidavit 
identifying the recording, stating the total elapsed time, and attesting that no 
alterations, additions, or deletions other than those ordered by the court have been 
made;

(2) give the notice required by MCR 2.306(F)(3), and

(3) serve copies of the recording on all parties who have requested them under MCR 
2.315(D)(2).

A video deposition cannot be electronically filed with the court.

(F) Use as Evidence; Objections.

(1) A video deposition may not be used in a court proceeding unless it has been filed 
with the court.

(2) Except as modified by this rule, the use of video depositions in court proceedings is 
governed by MCR 2.308.

(3) A party who seeks to use a video deposition at trial must provide the court with 
either

(a) a transcript of the deposition, which shall be used for ruling on any objections, 
or

(b) a stipulation by all parties that there are no objections to the deposition and that 
the recording (or an agreed portion of it) may be played.

(4) When a video deposition is used in a court proceeding, the court must indicate on 
the record what portions of the recording have been played. The court reporter or 
recorder need not make a record of the statements in the recording.

(G) Custody of Video Deposition After Filing. After filing, a video deposition shall 
remain in the custody of the court unless the court orders the recording stored elsewhere 
for technical reasons or because of special storage problems. The order directing the 
storage must direct the custodian to keep the recordings sealed until the further order of 
the court. Video depositions filed with the court shall have the same status as other 
depositions and documents filed with the court, and may be reproduced, preserved, 
destroyed, or salvaged as directed by order of the court.
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(H) Appeal. On appeal the recording remains part of the record and shall be transmitted 
with it. A party may request that the appellate court view portions of the video deposition. 
If a transcript was not provided to the court under subrule (F)(3), the appellant must 
arrange and pay for the preparation of a transcript to be included in the record on appeal.

(I) Costs. The costs of taking a video deposition and the cost for its use in evidence may be 
taxed as costs as provided by MCR 2.625 in the same manner as depositions recorded in 
other ways.

RULE 2.316 REMOVAL OF DISCLOSURE AND DISCOVERY MATERIALS FROM FILE

(A) Definition. For the purpose of this rule, “disclosure material” means disclosures under 
MCR 2.302(A) and “discovery material” means deposition transcripts, audio or video 
recordings of depositions, interrogatories, and answers to interrogatories, documents 
produced during discovery and made a part of the court file, and requests to admit.

(B) Removal from File. In civil actions, disclosure and discovery materials may be 
removed from files and destroyed in the manner provided in this rule.

(1) By Stipulation. If the parties stipulate to the removal of disclosure and discovery 
materials from the file, the clerk may remove the materials and dispose of them in the 
manner provided in the stipulation.

(2) By the Clerk.

(a) The clerk may initiate the removal of disclosure and discovery materials from 
the file in the following circumstances.

(i) If an appeal has not been taken, 18 months after entry of judgment on the 
merits or dismissal of the action.

(ii) If an appeal has been taken, 91 days after the appellate proceedings are 
concluded, unless the action is remanded for further proceedings in the trial 
court.

(b) The clerk shall notify the parties and counsel of record, when possible, that 
disclosure and discovery materials will be removed from the file of the action and 
destroyed on a specified date at least 28 days after the notice is served unless 
within that time

(i) the party who filed the disclosure or discovery materials retrieves them 
from the clerk's office, or

(ii) a party files a written objection to removal of disclosure or discovery 
materials from the file.

If an objection to removal of disclosure or discovery materials is filed, the 
materials may not be removed unless the court so orders after notice and 
opportunity for the objecting party to be heard. The clerk shall schedule a hearing 
and give notice to the parties. The rules governing motion practice apply.
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(3) By Order. On motion of a party, or on its own initiative after notice and hearing, 
the court may order disclosure and discovery materials removed at any other time on a 
finding that the materials are no longer necessary. However, no disclosure or 
discovery materials may be destroyed by court personnel or the clerk until the periods 
set forth in subrule (2)(a)(i) or (2)(a)(ii) have passed.

SUBCHAPTER 2.400 PRETRIAL PROCEDURE; ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION; 
OFFERS OF JUDGMENT; SETTLEMENTS

RULE 2.401 PRETRIAL PROCEDURES; CONFERENCES; SCHEDULING ORDERS

(A) Time; Discretion of Court. At any time after the commencement of the action, on its 
own initiative or the request of a party, the court may direct that the attorneys for the 
parties, alone or with the parties, appear for a conference. The court shall give reasonable 
notice of the scheduling of a conference. More than one conference may be held in an 
action.

(B) Early Scheduling Conference and Order.

(1) Early Scheduling Conference. The court may direct that an early scheduling 
conference be held. During this conference the court should consider any matters that 
will facilitate the fair and expeditious disposition of the action, including:

(a) whether jurisdiction and venue are proper or whether the case is frivolous;

(b) whether to refer the case to an alternative dispute resolution procedure under 
MCR 2.410;

(c) the complexity of a particular case and enter a scheduling order setting time 
limitations for the processing of the case and establishing dates when future 
actions should begin or be completed in the case; 

(d) disclosure, discovery, preservation, and claims of privilege of ESI;

(e) the simplification of the issues;

(f) the amount of time necessary for discovery, staging of discovery, and any 
modification to the extent of discovery;

(g) the necessity or desirability of amendments to the pleadings;

(h) the possibility of obtaining admissions of fact and of documents to avoid 
unnecessary proof;

(i) the form and content of the pretrial order;

(j) the timing of disclosures under MCR 2.302(A);

(k) the limitation of the number of expert witnesses, whether to have a separate 
discovery period for experts, whether to require preparation and disclosure of 
testifying expert reports, and whether to specify expert disclosure deadlines;
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(l) the consolidation of actions for trial, the separation of issues, and the order of 
trial when some issues are to be tried by a jury and some by the court;

(m) the possibility of settlement;

(n) whether mediation, case evaluation, or some other form of alternative dispute 
resolution would be appropriate for the case, and what mechanisms are available to 
provide such services;

(o) the identity of the witnesses to testify at trial;

(p) the estimated length of trial;

(q) whether all claims arising out of the transaction or occurrence that is the 
subject matter of the action have been joined as required by MCR 2.203(A); and

(r) other matters that may aid in the disposition of the action.

(2) Scheduling Order.

(a) At an early scheduling conference under subrule (B)(1), or at such other time as 
the court concludes that such an order would facilitate the progress of the case, the 
court shall establish times for events and adopt other provisions the court deems 
appropriate, including

(i) the initiation or completion of an ADR process,

(ii) the amendment of pleadings, adding of parties, or filing of motions,

(iii) what, if any, changes should be made in the timing, form, or requirement 
for disclosures under MCR 2.302(A),

(iv) what, if any, changes should be made to the limitations on discovery 
imposed under these rules and whether other presumptive limitations should be 
established,

(v) the completion of discovery,

(vi) the exchange of witness lists under subrule (H)(2)(h), and

(vii) the scheduling of a pretrial conference, a settlement conference, or trial.

More than one such order may be entered in a case.

(b) The scheduling of events under this subrule shall take into consideration the 
nature and complexity of the case, including the issues involved, the number and 
location of parties and potential witnesses, including experts, the extent of 
expected and necessary discovery, and the availability of reasonably certain trial 
dates.

(c)The scheduling order also may include provisions concerning initial disclosure, 
discovery of ESI, any agreements the parties reach for asserting claims of privilege 
or of protection as trial-preparation material after production, preserving 
discoverable information, and the form in which ESI shall be produced.

(d) Whenever reasonably practical, the scheduling of events under this subrule 
shall be made after meaningful consultation with all counsel of record.
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(i) If a scheduling order is entered under this subrule in a manner that does not 
permit meaningful advance consultation with counsel, within 14 days after 
entry of the order, a party may file and serve a written request for amendment 
of the order detailing the reasons why the order should be amended.

(ii) Upon receiving such a written request, the court shall reconsider the order 
in light of the objections raised by the parties. Whether the reconsideration 
occurs at a conference or in some other manner, the court must either enter a 
new scheduling order or notify the parties in writing that the court declines to 
amend the order. The court must schedule a conference, enter the new order, or 
send the written notice, within 14 days after receiving the request.

(iii) The submission of a request pursuant to this subrule, or the failure to 
submit such a request, does not preclude a party from filing a motion to modify 
a scheduling order.

(C) Discovery Planning.

(1) Upon court order or written request by another party, the parties must confer 
among themselves and prepare a proposed discovery plan. The attorneys of record and 
all unrepresented parties that have appeared are jointly responsible for arranging the 
conference and for attempting in good faith to agree on a proposed discovery plan.

(2) A proposed discovery plan must address all disclosure and discovery matters, 
including the matters set forth in subrule (B), and propose deadlines for completion of 
disclosure and discovery. The parties must show good cause to request a change in 
deadlines set by a scheduling order.

(3) A discovery plan, noting any disagreements between the parties, may be submitted 
to the court as part of a stipulation or motion. The court may enter an order governing 
disclosure, discovery, and any other case management matter the court deems 
appropriate.

(4) If a party or attorney fails to participate in good faith in developing and submitting 
a proposed discovery plan, the court may enter an appropriate sanction, including 
payment of attorney fees and costs caused by the failure.

(D) Order for Trial Briefs. The court may direct the attorneys to furnish trial briefs as to 
any or all of the issues involved in the action.

(E) Appearance of Counsel. The attorneys attending the conference shall be thoroughly 
familiar with the case and have the authority necessary to fully participate in the 
conference. The court may direct that the attorneys who intend to try the case attend the 
conference.

(F) Presence of Parties at Conference. If the court anticipates meaningful discussion of 
settlement, the court may direct that the parties to the action, agents of parties, 
representatives of lienholders, or representatives of insurance carriers, or other persons:
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(1) be present at the conference or be immediately available at the time of the 
conference; and

(2) have information and authority adequate for responsible and effective participation 
in the conference for all purposes, including settlement. 

The court's order may require the availability of a specified individual; provided, 
however, that the availability of a substitute who has the information and authority 
required by subrule (F)(2) shall constitute compliance with the order. 

The court's order may specify whether the availability is to be in person or by 
telephone. 

This subrule does not apply to an early scheduling conference held pursuant to subrule 
(B). 

(G) Failure to Attend or to Participate.

(1) Failure of a party or the party's attorney or other representative to attend a 
scheduled conference or to have information and authority adequate for responsible 
and effective participation in the conference for all purposes, including settlement, as 
directed by the court, may constitute a default to which MCR 2.603 is applicable or a 
ground for dismissal under MCR 2.504(B).

(2) The court shall excuse a failure to attend a conference or to participate as directed 
by the court, and shall enter a just order other than one of default or dismissal, if the 
court finds that

(a) entry of an order of default or dismissal would cause manifest injustice; or

(b) the failure was not due to the culpable negligence of the party or the party's 
attorney.

The court may condition the order on the payment by the offending party or attorney 
of reasonable expenses as provided in MCR 2.313(B)(2).

(H) Final Pretrial Conference and Order. 

(1) If the court finds at a final pretrial conference that due to a lack of reasonable 
diligence by a party the action is not ready for trial, the court may enter an appropriate 
order to facilitate preparation of the action for trial and may require the offending 
party to pay the reasonable expenses, including attorney fees, caused by the lack of 
diligence.

(2) The court may hold a final pretrial conference to facilitate preparation of the action 
for trial and to formulate a trial plan. The conference may be combined with a 
settlement conference. At least one lead attorney who will conduct the trial for each 
party and any unrepresented party shall attend the conference. At the conference the 
parties may discuss the following, and the court may order the parties to prepare, 
either before or after the conference, a joint final pretrial order that may provide for:

(a) scheduling motions in limine;
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(b) a concise statement of plaintiff’s claims, including legal theories;

(c) a concise statement of defendant’s defenses and claims, including crossclaims 
and claims of third-party plaintiffs, and defenses of cross defendants or third-party 
defendants, including legal theories;

(d) a statement of any stipulated facts or other matters;

(e) issues of fact to be litigated;

(f) issues of law to be litigated;

(g) evidence problems likely to arise at trial;

(h) a list of witnesses to be called unless reasonable notice is given that they will 
not be called, and a list of witnesses that may be called, listed by category as 
follows:

(i) live lay witnesses;

(ii) lay deposition transcripts or videos including resolving objections and 
identifying portions to be read or played;

(iii) live expert witnesses; and

(iv) expert deposition transcripts or videos including resolving objections and 
identifying portions to be read or played.

(i) a list of exhibits with stipulations or objections to admissibility;

(j) an itemized statement of damages and stipulations to those items not in dispute;

(k) estimated length of trial:

(i) time for plaintiff’s proofs;

(ii) time for defendant’s proofs; and

(iii) whether it is a jury or nonjury trial.

(l) trial date and schedule;

(m) whether the parties will agree to arbitration;

(n) a statement that counsel have met, conferred and considered the possibility of 
settlement and alternative dispute resolution, giving place, time and date and the 
current status of these negotiations as well as plans for further negotiations;

(o) rules governing conduct of trial;

(p) jury instructions;

(q) trial briefs;

(r) voir dire; and

(s) any other appropriate matter.

(I) Witness Lists.
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(1) No later than the time directed by the court under subrule (B)(2)(a), the parties 
shall file and serve witness lists. The witness list must include:

(a) the name of each witness, and the witness' address, if known; however, records 
custodians whose testimony would be limited to providing the foundation for the 
admission of records may be identified generally;

(b) whether the witness is an expert, and the field of expertise.

(2) The court may order that any witness not listed in accordance with this rule will be 
prohibited from testifying at trial except upon good cause shown.

(3) This subrule does not prevent a party from obtaining an earlier disclosure of 
witness information by other discovery means as provided in these rules.

(J) ESI Conference, Plan and Order.

(1) ESI Conference. Where a case is reasonably likely to include the discovery of ESI, 
parties may agree to an ESI Conference, the judge may order the parties to hold an ESI 
Conference, or a party may file a motion requesting an ESI Conference. At the ESI 
Conference, the parties shall consider:

(a) any issues relating to preservation of discoverable information, including 
adoption of a preservation plan for potentially relevant ESI;

(b) identification of potentially relevant types, categories, and time frames of ESI;

(c) identification of potentially relevant sources of ESI and whether the ESI is 
reasonably accessible;

(d) disclosure of the manner in which ESI is maintained;

(e) implementation of a preservation plan for potentially relevant ESI;

(f) the form in which each type of ESI will be produced;

(g) what metadata, if any, will be produced;

(h) the time to produce ESI;

(i) the method for asserting or preserving claims of privilege or protection of trial 
preparation materials, including whether such claims may be asserted after 
production;

(j) privilege log format and related issues;

(k) the method for asserting or preserving confidential and proprietary status of 
information either of a party or a person not a party to the proceeding;

(l) whether allocation among the parties of the expense of production is 
appropriate; and

(m) any other issue related to the discovery of ESI.

(2) ESI Discovery Plan. Within 14 days after an ESI Conference, the parties shall file 
with the court an ESI discovery plan and a statement concerning any issues upon 
which the parties cannot agree. Unless the parties agree otherwise, the attorney for the 
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plaintiff shall be responsible for submitting the ESI discovery plan to the court. The 
ESI discovery plan may include:

(a) a statement of the issues in the case and a brief factual outline;

(b) a schedule of discovery including discovery of ESI;

(c) a defined scope of preservation of information and appropriate conditions for 
terminating the duty to preserve prior to the final resolution of the case;

(d) the forms in which ESI will be produced; and

(e) the sources of any ESI that are not reasonably accessible because of undue 
burden or cost.

(3) ESI Competence. Attorneys who participate in an ESI Conference or who appear at 
a conference addressing ESI issues must be sufficiently versed in matters relating to 
their clients’ technological systems to competently address ESI issues; counsel may 
bring a client representative or outside expert to assist in such discussions.

(4) ESI Order. The court may enter an order governing the discovery of ESI pursuant 
to the parties’ ESI discovery plan, upon motion of a party, by stipulation of the parties, 
or on its own.

RULE 2.402 USE OF COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT

(A) Definition. “Communication equipment” means a conference telephone or other 
electronic device that permits all those appearing or participating to hear and speak to each 
other. It does not include use of a remote video platform through an audio-only option.

(B) Use. A court may, on its own initiative or on the written request of a party, direct that 
communication equipment be used for a motion hearing, pretrial conference, scheduling 
conference, or status conference. The court must give notice to the parties before directing 
on its own initiative that communication equipment be used. A party wanting to use 
communication equipment must submit a written request to the court at least 7 days before 
the day on which such equipment is sought to be used, and serve a copy on the other 
parties, unless good cause is shown to waive this requirement. The requesting party also 
must provide a copy of the request to the office of the judge to whom the request is 
directed. The court may, with the consent of all parties or for good cause, direct that the 
testimony of a witness be taken through communication equipment. A verbatim record of 
the proceeding must still be made.

(C) Burden of Expense. The party who initiates the use of communication equipment shall 
pay the cost for its use, unless the court otherwise directs. If the use of communication 
equipment is initiated by the court, the cost for its use is to be shared equally, unless the 
court otherwise directs.

RULE 2.403 CASE EVALUATION

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rule.
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(1) A court may submit to case evaluation any civil action in which the relief sought is 
primarily money damages or division of property unless the parties stipulate to an 
ADR process as outlined in subsections (A)(2)-(3) of this rule. Parties who participate 
in a stipulated ADR process approved by the court may not subsequently be ordered to 
participate in case evaluation without their written consent.

(2) In a case in which a discovery plan has been filed with the court under MCR 
2.401(C), an included stipulation to use an ADR process other than case evaluation 
must:   

(a) identify the ADR process to be used;  

(b) describe the timing of the ADR process in relation to other discovery 
provisions; and  

(c) state that the ADR process be completed no later than 60 days after the close of 
discovery.     

(3) In a case in which no discovery plan has been filed with the court, a stipulated 
order to use an ADR process other than case evaluation must:   

(a) be submitted to the court within 120 days of the first responsive pleading;  

(b) identify the ADR process to be used and its timing in relationship to the 
deadlines for completion of disclosure and discovery; and   

(c) state that the ADR process be completed no later than 60 days after the close of 
discovery.  

(4) A court may exempt claims seeking equitable relief from case evaluation for good 
cause shown on motion or by stipulation of the parties if the court finds that case 
evaluation of such claims would be inappropriate.

(5) Cases filed in district court may be submitted to case evaluation under this rule. 
The time periods set forth in subrules (B)(1), (G)(1), (L)(1) and (L)(2) may be 
shortened at the discretion of the district judge to whom the case is assigned.

(B) Selection of Cases.

(1) The judge to whom an action is assigned or the chief judge may select it for case 
evaluation by written order after the filing of the answer

(a) on written stipulation by the parties,

(b) on written motion by a party, or

(c) if the parties have not submitted an ADR plan under subsection (A).

(2) Selection of an action for case evaluation has no effect on the normal progress of 
the action toward trial.

(C) Objections to Case Evaluation.

(1) To object to case evaluation, a party must file a written motion to remove from 
case evaluation and a notice of hearing of the motion and serve a copy on the attorneys 
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of record and the ADR clerk within 14 days after notice of the order assigning the 
action to case evaluation. The motion must be set for hearing within 14 days after it is 
filed, unless the court orders otherwise.

(2) A timely motion must be heard before the case is submitted to case evaluation.

(D) Case Evaluation Panel.

(1) Case evaluation panels shall be composed of 3 persons.

(2) The procedure for selecting case evaluation panels is as provided in MCR 2.404.

(3) A judge may be selected as a member of a case evaluation panel, but may not 
preside at the trial of any action in which he or she served as a case evaluator.

(4) A case evaluator may not be called as a witness at trial.

(E) Disqualification of Case Evaluators. The rule for disqualification of a case evaluator is 
the same as that provided in MCR 2.003 for the disqualification of a judge.

(F) ADR Clerk. The court shall designate the ADR clerk specified under MCR 2.410, or 
some other person, to administer the case evaluation program. In this rule and MCR 2.404, 
“ADR clerk” refers to the person so designated.

(G) Scheduling Case Evaluation Hearing.

(1) The ADR clerk shall set a time and place for the hearing and send notice to the case 
evaluators and the attorneys at least 42 days before the date set.

(2) Adjournments may be granted only for good cause, in accordance with MCR 
2.503.

(H) Fees.

(1) Each party must send a check for $75 made payable in the manner and within the 
time specified in the notice of the case evaluation hearing. However, if a judge is a 
member of the panel, the fee is $50. If the order for case evaluation directs that 
payment be made to the ADR clerk, the ADR clerk shall arrange payment to the case 
evaluators. Except by stipulation and court order, the parties may not make any other 
payment of fees or expenses to the case evaluators than that provided in this subrule.

(2) Only a single fee is required of each party, even where there are counterclaims, 
cross-claims, or third-party claims. A person entitled to a fee waiver under MCR 2.002 
is entitled to a waiver of fees under this rule.

(3) If one claim is derivative of another (e.g., husband-wife, parent-child) they must be 
treated as a single claim, with one fee to be paid and a single award made by the case 
evaluators.

(4) Fees paid pursuant to subrule (H) shall be refunded to the parties if

(a) the court sets aside the order submitting the case to case evaluation or on its 
own initiative adjourns the case evaluation hearing, or
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(b) the parties notify the ADR clerk in writing at least 14 days before the case 
evaluation hearing of the settlement, dismissal, or entry of judgment disposing of 
the action, or of an order of adjournment on stipulation or the motion of a party.

If case evaluation is rescheduled at a later time, the fee provisions of subrule (H) apply 
regardless of whether previously paid fees have been refunded. 

(5) Fees paid pursuant to subrule (H) shall not be refunded to the parties if

(a) in the case of an adjournment, the adjournment order sets a new date for case 
evaluation and the fees are applied to the new date, or

(b) the request for and granting of adjournment is made within 14 days of the 
scheduled case evaluation, unless waived for good cause.

Penalties for late filing of papers under subrule (I)(2) are not to be refunded.

(I) Submission of Summary and Supporting Documents.

(1) Unless otherwise provided in the notice of hearing, at least 7 days before the 
hearing, each party shall 

(a) serve a copy of the case evaluation summary and supporting documents in 
accordance with MCR 2.107, and

(b) file a proof of service and three copies of a case evaluation summary and 
supporting documents with the ADR clerk.

(2) Each failure to timely file and serve the materials identified in subrule (1) and each 
subsequent filing of supplemental materials within 7 days of the hearing, subjects the 
offending attorney or party to a $150 penalty to be paid in the manner specified in the 
notice of the case evaluation hearing. Filing and serving the materials identified in 
subrule (1) within 24 hours of the hearing subjects the offending attorney or party to 
an additional $150 penalty.

(3) The case evaluation summary shall consist of a concise summary setting forth that 
party’s factual and legal position on issues presented by the action. Except as 
permitted by the court, the summary shall not exceed 20 pages double spaced, 
exclusive of attachments. Quotations and footnotes may be single spaced. At least one 
inch margins must be used, and printing shall not be smaller than 12-point font.

(J) Conduct of Hearing.

(1) A party has the right, but is not required, to attend a case evaluation hearing. If 
scars, disfigurement, or other unusual conditions exist, they may be demonstrated to 
the panel by a personal appearance; however, no testimony will be taken or permitted 
of any party.

(2) The rules of evidence do not apply before the case evaluation panel. Factual 
information having a bearing on damages or liability must be supported by 
documentary evidence, if possible.
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(3) Oral presentation shall be limited to 15 minutes per side unless multiple parties or 
unusual circumstances warrant additional time. Information on settlement negotiations 
not protected under MCR 2.412 and applicable insurance policy limits shall be 
disclosed at the request of the case evaluation panel.

(4) Statements by the attorneys and the briefs or summaries are not admissible in any 
court or evidentiary proceeding.

(5) Counsel or the parties may not engage in ex parte communications with the case 
evaluators concerning the action prior to the hearing. After the evaluation, the case 
evaluators need not respond to inquiries by the parties or counsel regarding the 
proceeding or the evaluation.

(K) Decision.

(1) Within 7 days after the hearing, the panel will make an evaluation and submit the 
evaluation to the ADR clerk. If an evaluation is made immediately following the 
hearing, the panel will provide a copy to the attorney for each party of its evaluation in 
writing. If an evaluation is not made immediately following the hearing, the evaluation 
must be served by the ADR clerk on each party within 14 days after the hearing. If an 
award is not unanimous, the evaluation must so indicate.

(2) Except as provided in subrule (H)(3), the evaluation must include a separate award 
as to each plaintiff's claim against each defendant and as to each cross-claim, 
counterclaim, or third-party claim that has been filed in the action. For the purpose of 
this subrule, all such claims filed by any one party against any other party shall be 
treated as a single claim.

(3) The evaluation may not include a separate award on any claim for equitable relief, 
but the panel may consider such claims in determining the amount of an award.

(4) In a tort case to which MCL 600.4915(2) or MCL 600.4963(2) applies, if the panel 
unanimously finds that a party's action or defense as to any other party is frivolous, the 
panel shall so indicate on the evaluation. For the purpose of this rule, an action or 
defense is “frivolous” if, as to all of a plaintiff's claims or all of a defendant's defenses 
to liability, at least 1 of the following conditions is met:

(a) The party's primary purpose in initiating the action or asserting the defense was 
to harass, embarrass, or injure the opposing party.

(b) The party had no reasonable basis to believe that the facts underlying that 
party's legal position were in fact true.

(c) The party's legal position was devoid of arguable legal merit.

(5) In an action alleging medical malpractice to which MCL 600.4915 applies, the 
evaluation must include a specific finding that

(a) there has been a breach of the applicable standard of care,

(b) there has not been a breach of the applicable standard of care, or
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(c) reasonable minds could differ as to whether there has been a breach of the 
applicable standard of care.

(L) Acceptance or Rejection of Evaluation.

(1) Each party shall file a written acceptance or rejection of the panel's evaluation with 
the ADR clerk within 28 days after service of the panel's evaluation. Even if there are 
separate awards on multiple claims, the party must either accept or reject the 
evaluation in its entirety as to a particular opposing party. The failure to file a written 
acceptance or rejection within 28 days constitutes rejection.

(2) There may be no disclosure of a party's acceptance or rejection of the panel's 
evaluation until the expiration of the 28-day period, at which time the ADR clerk shall 
send a notice indicating each party's acceptance or rejection of the panel's evaluation.

(3) In case evaluations involving multiple parties the following rules apply:

(a) Each party has the option of accepting all of the awards covering the claims by 
or against that party or of accepting some and rejecting others. However, as to any 
particular opposing party, the party must either accept or reject the evaluation in its 
entirety.

(b) A party who accepts all of the awards may specifically indicate that he or she 
intends the acceptance to be effective only if

(i) all opposing parties accept, and/or

(ii) the opposing parties accept as to specified coparties.

If such a limitation is not included in the acceptance, an accepting party is deemed 
to have agreed to entry of judgment, or dismissal as provided in subrule (M)(1), as 
to that party and those of the opposing parties who accept, with the action to 
continue between the accepting party and those opposing parties who reject.

(M) Effect of Acceptance of Evaluation.

(1) If all the parties accept the panel's evaluation, judgment will be entered in 
accordance with the evaluation, unless the amount of the award is paid within 28 days 
after notification of the acceptances, in which case the court shall dismiss the action 
with prejudice. The judgment or dismissal shall be deemed to dispose of all claims in 
the action and includes all fees, costs, and interest to the date it is entered, except for 
cases involving rights to personal protection insurance benefits under MCL 500.3101 
et seq., for which judgment or dismissal shall not be deemed to dispose of claims that 
have not accrued as of the date of the case evaluation hearing.

(2) If only a part of an action has been submitted to case evaluation pursuant to subrule 
(A)(3) and all of the parties accept the panel’s evaluation, the court shall enter an order 
disposing of only those claims.

(3)In a case involving multiple parties, judgment, or dismissal as provided in subrule 
(1), shall be entered as to those opposing parties who have accepted the portions of the 
evaluation that apply to them.
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(N) Proceedings After Rejection.

(1) If all or part of the evaluation of the case evaluation panel is rejected, the action 
proceeds to trial in the normal fashion.

(2) If a party's claim or defense was found to be frivolous under subrule (K)(4), that 
party may request that the court review the panel's finding by filing a motion within 14 
days after the ADR clerk sends notice of the rejection of the case evaluation award.

(a) The motion shall be submitted to the court on the case evaluation summaries 
and documents that were considered by the case evaluation panel. No other 
exhibits or testimony may be submitted. However, oral argument on the motion 
shall be permitted.

(b) After reviewing the materials submitted, the court shall determine whether the 
action or defense is frivolous.

(c) If the court agrees with the panel's determination, the provisions of subrule 
(N)(3) apply, except that the bond must be filed within 28 days after the entry of 
the court's order determining the action or defense to be frivolous.

(d) The judge who hears a motion under this subrule may not preside at a nonjury 
trial of the action.

(3) Except as provided in subrule (2), if a party's claim or defense was found to be 
frivolous under subrule (K)(4), that party shall post a cash or surety bond, pursuant to 
MCR 3.604, in the amount of $5,000 for each party against whom the action or 
defense was determined to be frivolous.

(a) The bond must be posted within 56 days after the case evaluation hearing or at 
least 14 days before trial, whichever is earlier.

(b) If a surety bond is filed, an insurance company that insures the defendant 
against a claim made in the action may not act as the surety.

(c) If the bond is not posted as required by this rule, the court shall dismiss a claim 
found to have been frivolous, and enter the default of a defendant whose defense 
was found to be frivolous. The action shall proceed to trial as to the remaining 
claims and parties, and as to the amount of damages against a defendant in default.

(d) If judgment is entered against the party who posted the bond, the bond shall be 
used to pay any costs awarded against that party by the court under any applicable 
law or court rule. MCR 3.604 applies to proceedings to enforce the bond.

(4) The ADR clerk shall place a copy of the case evaluation and the parties' 
acceptances and rejections in a sealed envelope for filing with the clerk of the court. In 
a nonjury action, the envelope may not be opened and the parties may not reveal the 
amount of the evaluation until the judge has rendered judgment.

RULE 2.404 SELECTION OF CASE EVALUATION PANELS

(A) Case Evaluator Selection Plans.
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(1) Requirement. Each trial court that submits cases to case evaluation under MCR 
2.403 shall adopt by local administrative order a plan to maintain a list of persons 
available to serve as case evaluators and to assign case evaluators from the list to 
panels. The plan must be in writing and available to the public in the ADR clerk's 
office.

(2) Alternative Plans.

(a) A plan adopted by a district or probate court may use the list of case evaluators 
and appointment procedure of the circuit court for the circuit in which the court is 
located.

(b) Courts in adjoining circuits or districts may jointly adopt and administer a case 
evaluation plan.

(c) If it is not feasible for a court to adopt its own plan because of the low volume 
of cases to be submitted or because of inadequate numbers of available case 
evaluators, the court may enter into an agreement with a neighboring court to refer 
cases for case evaluation under the other court's system. The agreement may 
provide for payment by the referring court to cover the cost of administering case 
evaluation. However, fees and costs may not be assessed against the parties to 
actions evaluated except as provided by MCR 2.403.

(d) Other alternative plans must be submitted as local court rules under MCR 
8.112(A).

(B) Lists of Case Evaluators.

(1) Application. An eligible person desiring to serve as a case evaluator may apply to 
the ADR clerk to be placed on the list of case evaluators. Application forms shall be 
available in the office of the ADR clerk. The form shall include an optional section 
identifying the applicant's gender and racial/ethnic background. The form shall include 
a certification that

(a) the case evaluator meets the requirements for service under the court's selection 
plan, and

(b) the case evaluator will not discriminate against parties, attorneys, or other case 
evaluators on the basis of race, ethnic origin, gender, or other protected personal 
characteristic.

(2) Eligibility. To be eligible to serve as a case evaluator, a person must meet the 
qualifications provided by this subrule.

(a) The applicant must have been a practicing lawyer for at least 5 years and be a 
member in good standing of the State Bar of Michigan. The plan may not require 
membership in any other organization as a qualification for service as a case 
evaluator.

(b) An applicant must reside, maintain an office, or have an active practice in the 
jurisdiction for which the list of case evaluators is compiled.
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(c) An applicant must demonstrate that a substantial portion of the applicant's 
practice for the last 5 years has been devoted to civil litigation matters, including 
investigation, discovery, motion practice, case evaluation, settlement, trial 
preparation, and/or trial.

(d) If separate sublists are maintained for specific types of cases, the applicant 
must have had an active practice in the practice area for which the case evaluator is 
listed for at least the last 3 years.

If there are insufficient numbers of potential case evaluators meeting the qualifications 
stated in this rule, the plan may provide for consideration of alternative qualifications.

(3) Review of Applications. The plan shall provide for a person or committee to 
review applications annually, or more frequently if appropriate, and compile one or 
more lists of qualified case evaluators. Persons meeting the qualifications specified in 
this rule shall be placed on the list of approved case evaluators. Selections shall be 
made without regard to race, ethnic origin, or gender.

(a) If an individual performs this review function, the person must be an employee 
of the court.

(b) If a committee performs this review function, the following provisions apply.

(i) The committee must have at least three members.

(ii) The selection of committee members shall be designed to assure that the 
goals stated in subrule (D)(2) will be met.

(iii) A person may not serve on the committee more than 3 years in any 9 year 
period.

(c) Applicants who are not placed on the case evaluator list or lists shall be notified 
of that decision. The plan shall provide a procedure by which such an applicant 
may seek reconsideration of the decision by some other person or committee. The 
plan need not provide for a hearing of any kind as part of the reconsideration 
process. Documents considered in the initial review process shall be retained for at 
least the period of time during which the applicant can seek reconsideration of the 
original decision.

(4) Specialized Lists. If the number and qualifications of available case evaluators 
makes it practicable to do so, the ADR clerk shall maintain

(a) separate lists for various types of cases, and,

(b) where appropriate for the type of cases, separate sublists of case evaluators 
who primarily represent plaintiffs, primarily represent defendants, and neutral case 
evaluators whose practices are not identifiable as representing primarily plaintiffs 
or defendants. Neutral evaluators may be selected on the basis of the applicant’s 
representing both plaintiffs and defendants, or having served as a neutral 
alternative dispute resolution provider, for a period of up to 15 years prior to an 
application to serve as a case evaluator. 
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(5) Reapplication. Persons shall be placed on the list of case evaluators for a fixed 
period of time, not to exceed seven years, and must reapply at the end of that time in 
the manner directed by the court.

(6) Availability of Lists. The list of case evaluators must be available to the public in 
the ADR clerk's office.

(7) Removal from List. The plan must include a procedure for removal from the list of 
case evaluators who have demonstrated incompetency, bias, made themselves 
consistently unavailable to serve as a case evaluator, or for other just cause.

(8) The court may require case evaluators to attend orientation or training sessions or 
provide written materials explaining the case evaluation process and the operation of 
the court's case evaluation program. However, case evaluators may not be charged any 
fees or costs for such programs or materials.

(C) Assignments to Panels.

(1) Method of Assignment. The ADR clerk shall assign case evaluators to panels in a 
random or rotating manner that assures as nearly as possible that each case evaluator 
on a list or sublist is assigned approximately the same number of cases over a period of 
time. If a substitute case evaluator must be assigned, the same or similar assignment 
procedure shall be used to select the substitute. The ADR clerk shall maintain records 
of service of case evaluators on panels and shall make those records available on 
request.

(2) Assignment from Sublists. If sublists of plaintiff, defense, and neutral case 
evaluators are maintained for a particular type of case, the panel shall include one case 
evaluator who primarily represents plaintiffs, one case evaluator who primarily 
represents defendants, and one neutral case evaluator. If a judge is assigned to a panel 
as permitted by MCR 2.403(D)(3), the judge shall serve as the neutral case evaluator if 
sublists are maintained for that class of cases.

(3) Special Panels. On stipulation of the parties, the court may appoint a panel selected 
by the parties. In such a case, the qualification requirements of subrule (B)(2) do not 
apply, and the parties may agree to modification of the procedures for conduct of case 
evaluation. Nothing in this rule or MCR 2.403 precludes parties from stipulating to 
other ADR procedures that may aid in resolution of the case.

(D) Supervision of Selection Process.

(1) The chief judge shall exercise general supervision over the implementation of this 
rule and shall review the operation of the court's case evaluation plan at least annually 
to assure compliance with this rule. In the event of noncompliance, the court shall take 
such action as is needed. This action may include recruiting persons to serve as case 
evaluators or changing the court's case evaluation plan. 

(2) In implementing the selection plan, the court, court employees, and attorneys 
involved in the procedure shall take all steps necessary to assure that as far as 
reasonably possible the list of case evaluators fairly reflects the racial, ethnic, and 
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gender diversity of the members of the state bar in the jurisdiction for which the list is 
compiled who are eligible to serve as case evaluators.

RULE 2.405 OFFERS TO STIPULATE TO ENTRY OF JUDGMENT

(A) Definitions. As used in this rule:

(1) “Offer” means a written notification to an adverse party of the offeror’s 
willingness to stipulate to the entry of a judgment in a sum certain, which is deemed to 
include all costs and interest then accrued. If a party has made more than one offer, the 
most recent offer controls for the purposes of this rule.

(2) “Counteroffer” means a written reply to an offer, served within 21 days after 
service of the offer, in which a party rejects an offer of the adverse party and makes his 
or her own offer.

(3) “Average offer” means the sum of an offer and a counteroffer, divided by two. If 
no counteroffer is made, the offer shall be used as the average offer.

(4) “Verdict” includes,

(a) a jury verdict,

(b) a judgment by the court after a nonjury trial,

(c) a judgment entered as a result of a ruling on a motion after rejection of the offer 
of judgment, including a motion entering judgment on an arbitration award.

(5) “Adjusted verdict” means the verdict plus interest and costs from the filing of the 
complaint through the date of the offer.

(6) “Actual costs” means the costs and fees taxable in a civil action and a reasonable 
attorney fee, dating to the rejection of the prevailing party’s last offer or counteroffer, 
for services necessitated by the failure to stipulate to the entry of judgment.

(B) Offer. Until 28 days before trial, a party may serve on the adverse party a written offer 
to stipulate to the entry of a judgment for the whole or part of the claim, including interest 
and costs then accrued.

(C) Acceptance or Rejection of Offer.

(1) To accept, the adverse party, within 21 days after service of the offer, must serve 
on the other parties a written notice of agreement to stipulate to the entry of the 
judgment offered, and file the offer, the notice of acceptance, and proof of service of 
the notice with the court. The court shall enter a judgment according to the terms of the 
stipulation.

(2) An offer is rejected if the offeree

(a) expressly rejects it in writing, or

(b) does not accept it as provided by subrule (C)(1).

A rejection does not preclude a later offer by either party.
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(3) A counteroffer may be accepted or rejected in the same manner as an offer.

(D) Imposition of Costs Following Rejection of Offer. If an offer is rejected, costs are 
payable as follows:

(1) If the adjusted verdict is more favorable to the offeror than the average offer, the 
offeree must pay to the offeror the offeror’s actual costs incurred in the prosecution or 
defense of the action.

(2) If the adjusted verdict is more favorable to the offeree than the average offer, the 
offeror must pay to the offeree the offeree’s actual costs incurred in the prosecution or 
defense of the action. However, an offeree who has not made a counteroffer may not 
recover actual costs unless the offer was made less than 42 days before trial.

(3) The court shall determine the actual costs incurred. The court may, in the interest 
of justice, refuse to award an attorney fee under this rule. Interest of justice exceptions 
may apply, but are not limited to: 

(i) cases involving offers that are token or de minimis in the context of the case; or 

(ii) cases involving an issue of first impression or an issue of public interest.

(4) Evidence of an offer is admissible only in a proceeding to determine costs.

(5) Proceedings under this rule do not affect a contract or relationship between a party 
and his or her attorney.

(6) A request for costs under this subrule must be filed and served within 28 days after 
the entry of the judgment or entry of an order denying a timely motion 

(i) for a new trial,

(ii) to set aside the judgment, or

(iii) for rehearing or reconsideration.

(E) This rule does not apply to class action cases filed under MCR 3.501.

RULE 2.406 USE OF FACSIMILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT

(A) Definition. “Facsimile communication equipment” means a machine that transmits 
and reproduces graphic matter (as printing or still pictures) by means of signals sent over 
telephone lines.

(B) Use. Courts may permit the filing of pleadings, motions, affidavits, opinions, orders, 
or other documents by the use of facsimile communication equipment. Except as provided 
by MCR 2.002, a clerk shall not permit the filing of any document for which a filing fee is 
required unless the full amount of the filing fee is paid or deposited in advance with the 
clerk.

(C) Paper. All filings must be on good quality 8½ by 11-inch paper, and the print must be 
no smaller than 12-point type. These requirements do not apply to attachments and 
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exhibits, but parties are encouraged to reduce or enlarge such documents to 8½ by 11 
inches, if practical.

(D) Fees. In addition to fees required by statute, courts may impose fees for facsimile 
filings in accordance with the schedule that is established by the State Court 
Administrative Office for that purpose.

(E) Number of Pages. Courts may establish a maximum number of pages that may be sent 
at one time.

(F) Hours. Documents received during the regular business hours of the court will be 
deemed filed on that business day. Documents received after regular business hours and 
on weekends or designated court holidays will be deemed filed on the next business day. 
A document is considered filed if the transmission begins during regular business hours, 
as verified by the court, and the entire document is received. 

(G) Originals. Documents filed by facsimile communication equipment shall be 
considered original documents. The filing party shall retain the documents that were 
transmitted by facsimile communication equipment.

(H) Signature. For purposes of MCR 1.109(E), a signature includes a signature transmitted 
by facsimile communication equipment.

RULE 2.407 VIDEOCONFERENCING

(A)Definitions. In this subchapter:

(1)“Participants” include, but are not limited to, parties, counsel, and subpoenaed 
witnesses, but do not include the general public. 

(2)“Videoconferencing” means the use of an interactive technology, including a 
remote digital platform, that sends video, voice, and/or data signals over a 
transmission circuit so that two or more individuals or groups can communicate with 
each other simultaneously using video codecs, monitors, cameras, audio microphones, 
and audio speakers. It includes use of a remote video platform through an audio-only 
option.

(B) Application.

(1) All proceedings occurring by videoconferencing, including the manner and extent 
of the use of videoconferencing, are subject to requirements, standards, and guidelines 
published by the State Court Administrative Office and the criteria set forth in subrule 
(C). 

(2) Consistent with these rules and subject to subrule (4), courts may determine the 
manner and extent of the use of videoconferencing technology and may require 
participants to attend court proceedings by videoconferencing technology.
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(3) This rule does not supersede a participant’s ability to participate by telephonic 
means under MCR 2.402.

(4) Nothing in this rule shall preclude a participant from requesting to physically 
appear in person for any proceeding. If there is a request to appear in person, or a 
participant is found to be unable to adequately use the technology, to hear or 
understand or be heard or understood, the presiding judge and any attorney of record 
for said participant must appear in person with the participant for said proceeding. 
Subject to subrule (5), the court must allow other participants to participate using 
videoconferencing technology.

(5) Nothing in this rule shall prevent the court from determining that a case is not 
suited for videoconferencing, and may require any hearing, even a proceeding 
categorized as presumptively subject to videoconferencing technology, to be 
conducted in person.

(a) In determining whether a particular case or proceeding should be conducted by 
videoconferencing technology or ruling on an objection to the use of 
videoconferencing technology, the court shall consider the factors listed in subrule 
(C).

(b) The court shall state its decision and reasoning, either in writing or on the 
record, when requiring in-person proceedings in each case where there is a 
presumption for the use of videoconferencing technology. 

(6) Courts must provide reasonable notice to participants of the time and mode of a 
proceeding. If a proceeding will be held using videoconferencing technology, the 
court must provide reasonable notice of the way(s) to access that proceeding.

(7) Courts must allow a party and their counsel to engage in confidential 
communication during a proceeding being conducted by videoconferencing 
technology.

(8) If, during the course of a videoconference proceeding, the court or a participant is 
unable to proceed due to failure of technology, the court must reschedule the 
proceeding and promptly notify the participants of the rescheduled date and time and 
whether the proceeding will be held using videoconferencing technology or in person.

(9) All proceedings that are held using videoconferencing technology or 
communication equipment must be recorded verbatim by the court with the exception 
of hearings that are not required to be recorded by law.   

(10) Courts must provide access to a proceeding held using videoconferencing 
technology to the public either during the proceeding or immediately after via access 
to a video recording of the proceeding, unless the proceeding is closed or access would 
otherwise be limited by statute or rule.

(C) Criteria for Videoconferencing. 
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In determining in a particular case the use of videoconferencing technology and the 
manner of proceeding with videoconferencing, the court shall consider the following 
factors:

(1) The capabilities of the court and the parties to participate in a videoconference.

(2) Whether a specific articulable prejudice would result.

(3) The convenience of the parties and the proposed witness(es), the cost of producing 
the witness in person in relation to the importance of the offered testimony, and the 
potential to increase access to courts by allowing parties and/or their counsel to appear 
by videoconferencing technology.

(4) Whether the procedure would allow for full and effective cross-examination, 
especially when the cross-examination would involve documents or other exhibits.

(5) Whether the court has reason to believe that the participants in this hearing will not 
be able to maintain the dignity, solemnity, and decorum of court while using 
videoconferencing technology, or that the use of videoconferencing technology will 
undermine the integrity, fairness, or effectiveness of the proceeding.

(6) Whether a physical liberty or other fundamental interest is at stake in the 
proceeding.

(7) Whether the court sufficiently control the participants in this hearing or matter so 
as to effectively extend the courtroom to the remote location.

(8) Whether the use of videoconferencing technology presents the person at a remote 
location in a diminished or distorted sense that negatively reflects upon the individual 
at the remote location to persons present in the courtroom.

(9) Whether the person appearing by videoconferencing technology presents a 
significant security risk to transport and be present physically in the courtroom.

(10) Whether the parties or witness(es) have waived personal appearance or stipulated 
to videoconferencing.

(11) The proximity of the videoconferencing request date to the proposed appearance 
date.

(12) Any other factors that the court may determine to be relevant. 

(D) Request for videoconferencing and Participant Contact Information. 

(1) A participant who requests the use of videoconferencing technology shall ensure 
that the equipment available at the remote location meets the technical and operational 
standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. 

(2) A participant who will be using videoconferencing technology must provide the 
court with the participant’s contact information, including mobile phone number(s) 
and email address(es), in advance of the court date when videoconferencing 
technology will be used. A court may collect the contact information using an SCAO-
approved form. The contact information form used under this provision shall be 
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confidential. An email address for an attorney must be the same address as the one on 
file with the State Bar of Michigan.

(3) There is no motion fee for requests submitted under this rule.

(E) Notwithstanding any other provision in this rule, until further order of the Court, AO 
No. 2012-7 is suspended.

RULE 2.408 USE OF VIDEOCONFERENCING TECHNOLOGY IN CIVIL CASES

(A) Generally. 

(1) A court may, at the request of any participant, or sua sponte, allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology by any participant in any civil proceeding. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, the use of videoconferencing 
technology shall not be used in bench or jury trials, or any civil proceeding 
wherein the testimony of witnesses or presentation of evidence may occur, 
except in the discretion of the court after all parties have had notice and 
opportunity to be heard on the use of videoconferencing technology.
(3) This rule does not supersede a participant's ability to participate by telephonic 
means under MCR 2.402.

(B) Use of Videoconferencing Technology in Circuit Court. Subject to a determination by 
the court that the use of videoconferencing technology is inappropriate for a particular 
case under an analysis as contained in MCR 2.407(C), the use of videoconferencing 
technology shall be presumed for: 

(1) civil pretrials; 

(2) early scheduling conferences under MCR 2.401(B); 

(3) motions filed pursuant to MCR 2.119 regarding discovery; 

(4) adjournments; 

(5) modifications to scheduling orders; 

(6) motions in limine; 

(7) postjudgment collection or discovery matters; 

(8) testimonial proofs for hearings under MCR 3.210(A)(4);

(9) motions to correct, strike, or amend pleadings; and 

(10) motions pursuant to MCR 2.116.

(C) Use of Videoconferencing Technology in District Court. Subject to a determination by 
the court that the use of videoconferencing technology is inappropriate for a particular 
case under an analysis as contained in MCR 2.407(C), the use of videoconferencing 
technology shall be presumed for: 
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(1) civil pretrials; 

(2) early scheduling conferences under MCR 2.401(B); 

(3) motions filed pursuant to MCR 2.119 regarding discovery; 

(4) adjournments; 

(5) postjudgment collection matters; and 

(6) motions to correct, strike, or amend pleadings.   

RULE 2.410 ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rule; Definitions.

(1) All civil cases are subject to alternative dispute resolution processes unless 
otherwise provided by statute or court rule.

(2) For the purposes of this rule, alternative dispute resolution (ADR) means any 
process designed to resolve a legal dispute in the place of court adjudication, and 
includes settlement conferences ordered under MCR 2.401; case evaluation under 
MCR 2.403; mediation under MCR 2.411; domestic relations mediation under MCR 
3.216; child protection mediation under MCR 3.970; and other procedures provided 
by local court rule or ordered on stipulation of the parties.

(B) ADR Plan.

(1) Each trial court that submits cases to ADR processes under this rule shall adopt an 
ADR plan by local administrative order. The plan must be in writing and available to 
the public in the ADR clerk's office.

(2) At a minimum, the ADR plan must:

(a) designate an ADR clerk, who may be the clerk of the court, the court 
administrator, the assignment clerk, or some other person;

(b) if the court refers cases to mediation under MCR 2.411, specify how the list of 
persons available to serve as mediators will be maintained and the system by 
which mediators will be assigned from the list under MCR 2.411(B)(3);

(c) include provisions for disseminating information about the operation of the 
court's ADR program to litigants and the public; and

(d) specify how access to ADR processes will be provided for indigent persons. If 
a party qualifies for waiver of filing fees under MCR 2.002 or the court determines 
on other grounds that the party is unable to pay the full cost of an ADR provider's 
services, and free or low-cost dispute resolution services are not available, the 
court shall not order that party to participate in an ADR process.

(3) The plan may also provide for referral relationships with local dispute resolution 
centers, including those affiliated with the Community Dispute Resolution Program. 
In establishing a referral relationship with centers or programs, courts, at a minimum, 
shall take into consideration factors that include whether parties are represented by 
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counsel, the number and complexity of issues in dispute, the jurisdictional amount of 
the cases to be referred, and the ability of the parties to pay for dispute resolution 
services. The plan must preserve the right of parties to stipulate to the selection of their 
own mediator under MCR 2.411(B)(1).

(4) Courts in adjoining circuits or districts may jointly adopt and administer an ADR 
plan.

(C) Order for ADR.

(1) At any time, after consultation with the parties, the court may order that a case be 
submitted to an appropriate ADR process. More than one such order may be entered in 
a case.

(2) Unless the specific rule under which the case is referred provides otherwise, in 
addition to other provisions the court considers appropriate, the order shall

(a) specify, or make provision for selection of, the ADR provider;

(b) provide time limits for initiation and completion of the ADR process; and

(c) make provision for the payment of the ADR provider.

(3) The order may require attendance at ADR proceedings as provided in subrule 
(D).

(D) Attendance at ADR Proceedings.

(1) Appearance of Counsel. The attorneys attending an ADR proceeding shall be 
thoroughly familiar with the case and have the authority necessary to fully participate 
in the proceeding. The court may direct that the attorneys who intend to try the case 
attend ADR proceedings.

(2) Presence of Parties. The court may direct that the parties to the action, agents of 
parties, representatives of lienholders, representatives of insurance carriers, or other 
persons:

(a) be present at the ADR proceeding or be immediately available at the time of the 
proceeding; and

(b) have information and authority adequate for responsible and effective 
participation in the conference for all purposes, including settlement.

The court's order may specify whether the availability is to be in person or by 
telephone.

(3) Failure to Attend.

(a) Failure of a party or the party's attorney or other representative to attend a 
scheduled ADR proceeding, as directed by the court, may constitute a default to 
which MCR 2.603 is applicable or a ground for dismissal under MCR 2.504(B).

(b) The court shall excuse a failure to attend an ADR proceeding, and shall enter a 
just order other than one of default or dismissal, if the court finds that
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(i) entry of an order of default or dismissal would cause manifest injustice; or

(ii) the failure to attend was not due to the culpable negligence of the party or 
the party's attorney.

The court may condition the order on the payment by the offending party or 
attorney of reasonable expenses as provided in MCR 2.313(B)(2).

(E) Objections to ADR. Within 14 days after entry of an order referring a case to an ADR 
process, a party may move to set aside or modify the order. A timely motion must be 
decided before the case is submitted to the ADR process.

(F) Supervision of ADR Plan. The chief judge shall exercise general supervision over the 
implementation of this rule and shall review the operation of the court's ADR plan at least 
annually to assure compliance with this rule. In the event of noncompliance, the court 
shall take such action as is needed. This action may include recruiting persons to serve as 
ADR providers or changing the court's ADR plan.

RULE 2.411 MEDIATION

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rule; Definitions.

(1) This rule applies to cases that the court refers to mediation as provided in MCR 
2.410. MCR 3.216 governs mediation of domestic relations cases. MCR 3.970 governs 
mediation in child protective proceedings.

(2) “Mediation” is a process in which a neutral third party facilitates communication 
between parties, assists in identifying issues, and helps explore solutions to promote a 
mutually acceptable settlement. A mediator has no authoritative decision-making 
power.

(B) Selection of Mediator.

(1) The parties may stipulate to the selection of a mediator. A mediator selected by 
agreement of the parties need not meet the qualifications set forth in subrule (F). The 
court must appoint a mediator stipulated to by the parties, provided the mediator is 
willing to serve within a period that would not interfere with the court's scheduling of 
the case for trial.

(2) If the order referring the case to mediation does not specify a mediator, the order 
shall set the date by which the parties are to have conferred on the selection of a 
mediator. If the parties do not advise the ADR clerk of the mediator agreed upon by 
that date, the court shall appoint one as provided in subrule (B)(3).

(3) The procedure for selecting a mediator from the approved list of mediators must be 
established by local ADR plan adopted under MCR 2.410(B). The ADR clerk shall 
assign mediators in a rotational manner that assures as nearly as possible that each 
mediator on the list is assigned approximately the same number of cases over a period 
of time. If a substitute mediator must be assigned, the same or similar assignment 
procedure shall be used to select the substitute.
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(4) The court shall not appoint, recommend, direct, or otherwise influence a party’s or 
attorney’s selection of a mediator except as provided pursuant to this rule. The court 
may recommend or advise parties on the selection of a mediator only upon request of 
all parties by stipulation in writing or orally on the record.

(5) The rule for disqualification of a mediator is the same as that provided in MCR 
2.003 for the disqualification of a judge. The mediator must promptly disclose any 
potential basis for disqualification.

(C) Scheduling and Conduct of Mediation.

(1) Scheduling. The order referring the case for mediation shall specify the time within 
which the mediation is to be completed. The ADR clerk shall send a copy of the order 
to each party and the mediator selected. Upon receipt of the court's order, the mediator 
shall promptly confer with the parties to schedule mediation in accordance with the 
order. Factors that may be considered in arranging the process may include the need 
for limited discovery before mediation, the number of parties and issues, and the 
necessity for multiple sessions. The mediator may direct the parties to submit in 
advance, or bring to the mediation, documents or summaries providing information 
about the case.

(2) Conduct of Mediation. The mediator shall meet with counsel and the parties, 
explain the mediation process, and then proceed with the process. The mediator shall 
discuss with the parties and counsel, if any, the facts and issues involved. The 
mediation will continue until a settlement is reached, the mediator determines that a 
settlement is not likely to be reached, the end of the first mediation session, or until a 
time agreed to by the parties. Additional sessions may be held as long as it appears that 
the process may result in settlement of the case.

(3) Completion of Mediation. Within 7 days after the completion of the ADR process, 
the mediator shall so advise the court, stating only the date of completion of the 
process, who participated in the mediation, whether settlement was reached, and 
whether further ADR proceedings are contemplated.

(4) Settlement. If the case is settled through mediation, within 21 days the attorneys 
shall prepare and submit to the court the appropriate documents to conclude the case.

(5) Confidentiality in the mediation process is governed by MCR 2.412.

(D) Fees.

(1) A mediator is entitled to reasonable compensation commensurate with the 
mediator's experience and usual charges for services performed.

(2) The costs of mediation shall be divided between the parties on a pro-rata basis 
unless otherwise agreed by the parties or ordered by the court. The mediator's fee shall 
be paid no later than

(a) 42 days after the mediation process is concluded, or

(b) the entry of judgment, or
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(c) the dismissal of the action, whichever occurs first.

(3) If acceptable to the mediator, the court may order an arrangement for the payment 
of the mediator's fee other than that provided in subrule (D)(2).

(4) The mediator's fee is deemed a cost of the action, and the court may make an 
appropriate order to enforce the payment of the fee.

(5) If a party objects to the total fee of the mediator, the matter may be scheduled 
before the trial judge for determination of the reasonableness of the fee.

(E) List of Mediators.

(1) Application. To appear on a roster, an applicant, which may be an individual or 
organization may apply to the ADR clerk to be placed on the court's list of mediators. 
Application forms shall be available in the office of the ADR clerk.

(a) The form shall include a certification that

(i) the applicant meets the requirements for service under the court's selection 
plan;

(ii) the applicant will not discriminate against parties or attorneys on the basis 
of race, ethnic origin, gender, or other protected personal characteristic; and

(iii) the applicant will comply with the court's ADR plan, orders of the court 
regarding cases submitted to mediation, and the standards of conduct adopted 
by the State Court Administrator under subrule (G).

(b) The applicant shall indicate on the form the applicant's rate for providing 
mediation services.

(c) The form shall include an optional section identifying the applicant's gender 
and racial/ethnic background.

(d) An applicant Community Dispute Resolution Program center must select only 
mediators who meet the qualifications of this rule or training requirements 
established by the State Court Administrator to mediate cases ordered by the court.

(2) Review of Applications. The court's ADR plan shall provide for a person or 
committee to review applications annually, or more frequently if appropriate, and 
compile a list of qualified mediators.

(a) Applicants meeting the qualifications specified in this rule shall be placed on 
the list of approved mediators. Approved mediators shall be placed on the list for a 
fixed period, not to exceed seven years, and must reapply at the end of that time in 
the manner directed by the court.

(b) Selections shall be made without regard to race, ethnic origin, or gender. 
Residency or principal place of business may not be a qualification.

(c) The approved list and the applications of approved mediators, except for the 
optional section identifying the applicant's gender and racial/ethnic background, 
shall be available to the public in the office of the ADR clerk.
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(d) An applicant may attach a résumé or biographical information to the 
application.

(3) Rejection; Reconsideration. Applicants who are not placed on the list shall be 
notified of that decision. Within 21 days of notification of the decision to reject an 
application, the applicant may seek reconsideration of the ADR clerk's decision by the 
Chief Judge. The court does not need to provide a hearing. Documents considered in 
the initial review process shall be retained for at least the period during which the 
applicant can seek reconsideration of the original decision.

(4) Removal from List. The ADR clerk may remove from the list mediators who have 
demonstrated incompetence, bias, made themselves consistently unavailable to serve 
as a mediator, or for other just cause. Within 21 days of notification of the decision to 
remove a mediator from the list, the mediator may seek reconsideration of the ADR 
clerk's decision by the Chief Judge. The court does not need to provide a hearing.

(F) Qualification of Mediators.

(1) Small Claims Mediation. District courts may develop individual plans to establish 
qualifications for persons serving as mediators in small claims cases.

(2) General Civil Mediation. To be eligible to serve as a general civil mediator, a 
person must meet the following minimum qualifications:

(a) Complete a training program approved by the State Court Administrator 
providing the generally accepted components of mediation skills;

(b) Have one or more of the following:

(i) Juris doctor degree or graduate degree in conflict resolution; or

(ii) 40 hours of mediation experience over two years, including mediation, co-
mediation, observation, and role-playing in the context of mediation.

(c) Upon completion of the training required under subrule (F)(2)(a), observe two 
general civil mediation proceedings conducted by an approved mediator, and 
conduct one general civil mediation to conclusion under the supervision and 
observation of an approved mediator.

(3) An applicant who has specialized experience or training, but does not meet the 
specific requirements of subrule (F)(2), may apply to the ADR clerk for special 
approval. The ADR clerk shall make the determination on the basis of criteria 
provided by the State Court Administrator. Service as a case evaluator under MCR 
2.403 does not constitute a qualification for serving as a mediator under this section.

(4) Approved mediators are required to obtain 8 hours of advanced mediation training 
during each 2-year period. Failure to submit documentation establishing compliance is 
ground for removal from the list under subrule(E)(4).

(5) Additional qualifications may not be imposed upon mediators.

(G) Standards of Conduct for Mediators. The State Court Administrator shall develop and 
approve standards of conduct for mediators designed to promote honesty, integrity, and 
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impartiality in providing court-connected dispute resolution services. These standards 
shall be made a part of all training and educational requirements for court-connected 
programs, shall be provided to all mediators involved in court-connected programs, and 
shall be available to the public.

(H) Mediation of Discovery Disputes. The parties may stipulate to or the court may order 
the mediation of discovery disputes (unless precluded by MCR 3.216[C][3]). The 
discovery mediator may by agreement of the parties be the same mediator otherwise 
selected under subrule (B). All other provisions of this rule shall apply to a discovery 
mediator except:

(1) The order under subrule (C)(1) will specify the scope of issues or motions referred 
to the discovery mediator, or whether the mediator is appointed on an ongoing basis.

(2) The mediation sessions will be conducted as determined by the mediator, with or 
without parties, in any manner deemed reasonable and consistent with these rules and 
any court order.

(3) The court may specify that discovery disputes must first be submitted to the 
mediator before being filed as a motion unless there is a need for expedited attention 
by the court. In such cases, the moving party shall certify in the motion that it is filed 
only after failure to resolve the dispute through mediation or due to a need for 
immediate attention by the court.

(4) In cases involving complex issues of ESI, the court may appoint an expert under 
MRE 706. By stipulation of the parties, the court may also designate the expert as a 
discovery mediator of ESI issues under this rule, in which case the parties should 
address in the order appointing the mediator whether the restrictions of MCR 
2.411(C)(3) and 2.412(D) should be modified to expand the scope of permissible 
communications with the court.

RULE 2.412   MEDIATION COMMUNICATIONS; CONFIDENTIALITY AND DISCLOSURE

(A)Scope. This rule applies to cases that the court refers to mediation as defined and 
conducted under MCR 2.411 and MCR 3.216.

(B)Definitions. 

(1)“Mediator” means an individual who conducts a mediation. 

(2)“Mediation communications” include statements whether oral or in a record, verbal 
or nonverbal, that occur during the mediation process or are made for purposes of 
retaining a mediator or for considering, initiating, preparing for, conducting, 
participating in, continuing, adjourning, concluding, or reconvening a mediation. 

(3)“Mediation party” means a person who or entity that participates in a mediation and 
whose agreement is necessary to resolve the dispute.

(4)“Mediation participant” means a mediation party, a nonparty, an attorney for a 
party, or a mediator who participates in or is present at a mediation.
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(5)“Protected individual” is used as defined in the Estates and Protected Individuals 
Code, MCL 700.1106(y).

(6)“Vulnerable” is used as defined in the Social Welfare Act, MCL 400.11(f).

(C)Confidentiality. Mediation communications are confidential. They are not subject to 
discovery, are not admissible in a proceeding, and may not be disclosed to anyone other 
than mediation participants except as provided in subrule (D).

(D)Exceptions to Confidentiality.Mediation communications may be disclosed under the 
following circumstances:

(1)All mediation parties agree in writing to disclosure.

(2)A statute or court rule requires disclosure.

(3)The mediation communication is in the mediator’s report under MCR 2.411(C)(3) 
or MCR 3.216(H)(6).

(4)The disclosure is necessary for a court to resolve disputes about the mediator’s fee.

(5)The disclosure is necessary for a court to consider issues about a party’s failure to 
attend under MCR 2.410(D)(3).

(6)The disclosure is made during a mediation session that is open or is required by law 
to be open to the public.

(7)Court personnel reasonably require disclosure to administer and evaluate the 
mediation program. 

(8)The mediation communication is

(a)a threat to inflict bodily injury or commit a crime, 

(b)a statement of a plan to inflict bodily injury or commit a crime, or 

(c)is used to plan a crime, attempt to commit or commit a crime, or conceal a 
crime.

(9)The disclosure

(a)Involves a claim of abuse or neglect of a child, a protected individual, or a 
vulnerable adult; and

(b)Is included in a report about such a claim or sought or offered to prove or 
disprove such a claim; and

(i)Is made to a governmental agency or law enforcement official responsible 
for the protection against such conduct, or

(ii)Is made in any subsequent or related proceeding based on the disclosure 
under subrule (D)(9)(b)(i).

(10)The disclosure is included in a report of professional misconduct filed against a 
mediation participant or is sought or offered to prove or disprove misconduct 
allegations in the attorney disciplinary process. 
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(11)The mediation communication occurs in a case out of which a claim of 
malpractice arises and the disclosure is sought or offered to prove or disprove a claim 
of malpractice against a mediation participant. 

(12)The disclosure is in a proceeding to enforce, rescind, reform, or avoid liability on a 
document signed by the mediation parties or acknowledged by the parties on an audio 
or video recording that arose out of mediation, if the court finds, after an in camera 
hearing, that the party seeking discovery or the proponent of the evidence has shown

(a)that the evidence is not otherwise available, and

(b)that the need for the evidence substantially outweighs the interest in protecting 
confidentiality.

(E)Scope of Disclosure When Permitted; Limitation on Confidentiality.

(1)If a mediation communication may be disclosed under subrule (D), only that 
portion of the communication necessary for the application of the exception may be 
disclosed.

(2)Disclosure of a mediation communication under subrule (D) does not render the 
mediation communication subject to disclosure for another purpose.

(3)Evidence or information that is otherwise admissible or subject to discovery does 
not become inadmissible or protected from discovery solely by reason of its disclosure 
or use in a mediation.

RULE 2.420 SETTLEMENTS AND JUDGMENTS FOR MINORS AND LEGALLY INCAPACITATED 
INDIVIDUALS

(A) Applicability. This rule governs the procedure to be followed for the entry of a 
consent judgment, a settlement, or a dismissal pursuant to settlement in an action brought 
for a minor or a legally incapacitated individual person by a next friend, guardian, or 
conservator or where a minor or a legally incapacitated individual is to receive a 
distribution from a wrongful death claim. Before an action is commenced, the settlement 
of a claim on behalf of a minor or a legally incapacitated individual is governed by the 
Estates and Protected Individuals Code.

(B) Procedure. In actions covered by this rule, a proposed consent judgment, settlement, 
or dismissal pursuant to settlement must be brought before the judge to whom the action is 
assigned, and the judge shall pass on the fairness of the proposal.

(1) If the claim is for damages because of personal injury to the minor or legally 
incapacitated individual,

(a) the minor or legally incapacitated individual shall appear in court personally to 
allow the judge an opportunity to observe the nature of the injury unless, for good 
cause, the judge excuses the minor's or legally incapacitated individual’s presence, 
and
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(b) the judge may require medical testimony, by deposition or in court, if not 
satisfied of the extent of the injury.

(2) If the next friend, guardian, or conservator is a person who has made a claim in the 
same action and will share in the settlement or judgment of the minor or legally 
incapacitated individual, then a guardian ad litem for the minor or legally 
incapacitated individual must be appointed by the judge before whom the action is 
pending to approve the settlement or judgment.

(3) If a guardian or conservator for the minor or legally incapacitated individual has 
been appointed by a probate court the terms of the proposed settlement or judgment 
may be approved by the court in which the action is pending upon a finding that the 
payment arrangement is in the best interests of the minor or legally incapacitated 
individual, but no judgment or dismissal may enter until the court receives written 
verification from the probate court, on a form substantially in the form approved by 
the state court administrator, that it has passed on the sufficiency of the bond and the 
bond, if any, has been filed with the probate court.

(4) The following additional provisions apply to settlements for minors.

(a) If the settlement or judgment requires payment of more than $5,000 to the 
minor either immediately, or if the settlement or judgment is payable in 
installments that exceed $5000 in any single year during minority, a conservator 
must be appointed by the probate court before the entry of the judgment or 
dismissal. The judgment or dismissal must require that payment be made payable 
to the minor’s conservator on behalf of the minor. The court shall not enter the 
judgment or dismissal until it receives written verification, on a form substantially 
in the form approved by the state court administrator, that the probate court has 
passed on the sufficiency of the bond of the conservator.

(b) If the settlement or judgment does not require payment of more than $5,000 to 
the minor in any single year, the money may be paid in accordance with the 
provisions of MCL 700.5102.

(5) If a settlement or judgment provides for the creation of a trust for the minor or 
legally incapacitated individual, the circuit court shall determine the amount to be paid 
to the trust, but the trust shall not be funded without prior approval of the trust by the 
probate court pursuant to notice to all interested persons and a hearing. 

RULE 2.421 NOTICE OF BANKRUPTCY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to all state court actions in which a party is a named 
debtor in a bankruptcy proceeding under 11 USC 101 et seq.

(B) Party Subject to Bankruptcy Proceeding. Any party in a state court action who is a 
named debtor in a bankruptcy proceeding must

(1) file a notice of the bankruptcy proceeding in the state court action no later than 3 
days after becoming subject to such bankruptcy proceeding, and
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(2) serve the notice on all other parties in the state court action as provided in MCR 
2.107.

(C) Other Parties. If a party to a state court action learns that another party in such action is 
a named debtor in a bankruptcy proceeding and notice of the bankruptcy proceeding in 
subrule (B) has not previously been filed and served by the debtor, then such party may

(1) file a notice of the bankruptcy proceeding in the state court action, and

(2) serve the notice on all other parties in the state court action as provided in MCR 
2.107.

(D) Notice Contents. Notice of a bankruptcy proceeding filed under this rule must, at a 
minimum, include all of the following:

(1) name(s) of the debtor(s) described in subrule (A);

(2) the court name and case number(s) of the bankruptcy proceeding(s); and,

(3) if available, the name, telephone number, physical address, and email address for 
the debtor’s attorney in the bankruptcy proceeding(s).

(E) Effect of Notice. If a notice is filed under this rule, the court may hold in abeyance any 
further proceedings and may schedule a status conference to consider the administrative 
closure of all or a portion of the state court action. To the extent that all or a portion of the 
state court action is administratively closed under this subrule or otherwise, it may be 
reopened if, on the motion of a party or on the court’s own initiative, the court determines 
that the automatic stay has been lifted, removed, or otherwise no longer impairs 
adjudication of all or a portion of the state court action.

(F) This rule does not abridge, enlarge, or in any way modify existing rights and 
procedures under federal law, including bankruptcy proceedings under 11 USC 101 et seq.

SUBCHAPTER 2.500 TRIALS; SUBPOENAS; JURIES

RULE 2.501 SCHEDULING TRIALS; COURT CALENDARS

(A) Scheduling Conferences or Trial.

(1) Unless the further processing of the action is already governed by a scheduling 
order under MCR 2.401(B)(2), the court shall

(a) schedule a pretrial conference under MCR 2.401,

(b) schedule the action for an alternative dispute resolution process,

(c) schedule the action for trial, or

(d) enter another appropriate order to facilitate preparation of the action for trial.

(2) A court may adopt a trial calendar or other method for scheduling trials without the 
request of a party.
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(B) Expedited Trials.

(1) On its own initiative, the motion of a party, or the stipulations of all parties, the 
court may shorten the time in which an action will be scheduled for trial, subject to the 
notice provisions of subrule (C).

(2) In scheduling trials, the court shall give precedence to actions involving a contest 
over the custody of minor children and to other actions afforded precedence by statute 
or court rule.

(C) Notice of Trial. Attorneys and parties must be given 28 days' notice of trial 
assignments, unless

(1) a rule or statute provides otherwise as to a particular type of action,

(2) the adjournment is of a previously scheduled trial, or

(3) the court otherwise directs for good cause.

Notice may be given orally if the party is before the court when the matter is scheduled, or 
by mailing or delivering copies of the notice or calendar to attorneys of record and to any 
party who appears on his or her own behalf.

(D) Attorney Scheduling Conflicts.

(1) The court and counsel shall make every attempt to avoid conflicts in the scheduling 
of trials.

(2) When conflicts in scheduled trial dates do occur, it is the responsibility of counsel 
to notify the court as soon as the potential conflict becomes evident. In such cases, the 
courts and counsel involved shall make every attempt to resolve the conflict in an 
equitable manner, with due regard for the priorities and time constraints provided by 
statute and court rule. When counsel cannot resolve conflicts through consultation 
with the individual courts, the judges shall consult directly to resolve the conflict.

(3) Except where a statute, court rule, or other special circumstance dictates otherwise, 
priority for trial shall be given to the case in which the pending trial date was set first.

RULE 2.502 DISMISSAL FOR LACK OF PROGRESS

(A) Notice of Proposed Dismissal.

(1) On motion of a party or on its own initiative, the court may order that an action in 
which no steps or proceedings appear to have been taken within 91 days be dismissed 
for lack of progress unless the parties show that progress is being made or that the lack 
of progress is not attributable to the party seeking affirmative relief.

(2) A notice of proposed dismissal may not be sent with regard to a case

(a) in which a scheduling order has been entered under MCR 2.401(B)(2) and the 
times for completion of the scheduled events have not expired,
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(b) which is set for a conference, an alternative dispute resolution process, hearing, 
or trial.

(3) The notice shall be given in the manner provided in MCR 2.501(C) for notice of 
trial.

(B) Action by Court.

(1) If a party does not make the required showing, the court may direct the clerk to 
dismiss the action for lack of progress. Such a dismissal is without prejudice unless the 
court specifies otherwise.

(2) If an action is not dismissed under this rule, the court shall enter orders to facilitate 
the prompt and just disposition of the action.

(C) Reinstatement of Dismissed Action. On motion for good cause, the court may 
reinstate an action dismissed for lack of progress on terms the court deems just. On 
reinstating an action, the court shall enter orders to facilitate the prompt and just 
disposition of the action.

RULE 2.503 ADJOURNMENTS

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to adjournments of trials, alternative dispute resolution 
processes, pretrial conferences, and all motion hearings.

(B) Motion or Stipulation for Adjournment.

(1) Unless the court allows otherwise, a request for an adjournment must be by motion 
or stipulation made in writing or orally in open court and is based on good cause.

(2) A motion or stipulation for adjournment must state

(a) which party is requesting the adjournment,

(b) the reason for it, and

(c) whether other adjournments have been granted in the proceeding and, if so, the 
number granted.

(3) The entitlement of a motion or stipulation for adjournment must specify whether it 
is the first or a later request, e.g., “Plaintiff’s Request for Third Adjournment.”

(C) Absence of Witness or Evidence.

(1) A motion to adjourn a proceeding because of the unavailability of a witness or 
evidence must be made as soon as possible after ascertaining the facts.

(2) An adjournment may be granted on the ground of unavailability of a witness or 
evidence only if the court finds that the evidence is material and that diligent efforts 
have been made to produce the witness or evidence.

(3) If the testimony or the evidence would be admissible in the proceeding, and the 
adverse party stipulates in writing or on the record that it is to be considered as 
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actually given in the proceeding, there may be no adjournment unless the court deems 
an adjournment necessary.

(D) Order for Adjournment; Costs and Conditions.

(1) In its discretion the court may grant an adjournment to promote the cause of 
justice. An adjournment may be entered by order of the court either in writing or on 
the record in open court, and the order must state the reason for the adjournment.

(2) In granting an adjournment, the court may impose costs and conditions. When an 
adjournment is granted conditioned on payment of costs, the costs may be taxed 
summarily to be paid on demand of the adverse party or the adverse party's attorney, 
and the adjournment may be vacated if nonpayment is shown by written statement 
verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3).

(E) Rescheduling.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (E)(2), at the time the proceeding is adjourned under 
this rule, or as soon thereafter as possible, the proceeding must be rescheduled for a 
specific date and time.

(2) A court may place the matter on a specified list of actions or other matters which 
will automatically reappear before the court on the first available date.

(F) Death or Change of Status of Attorney. If the court finds that an attorney

(1) has died or is physically or mentally unable to continue to act as an attorney for a 
party,

(2) has been disbarred,

(3) has been suspended,

(4) has been placed on inactive status, or

(5) has resigned from active membership in the bar, the court shall adjourn a 
proceeding in which the attorney was acting for a party. The party is entitled to 28 
days' notice that he or she must obtain a substitute attorney or advise the court in 
writing that the party intends to appear on his or her own behalf. See MCR 9.119.

RULE 2.504 DISMISSAL OF ACTIONS

(A) Voluntary Dismissal; Effect.

(1) By Plaintiff; by Stipulation. Subject to the provisions of MCR 2.420 and MCR 
3.501(E), an action may be dismissed by the plaintiff without an order of the court and 
on the payment of costs

(a) by filing a notice of dismissal before service by the adverse party of an answer 
or of a motion under MCR 2.116, whichever first occurs; or

(b) by filing a stipulation of dismissal signed by all the parties.
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Unless otherwise stated in the notice of dismissal or stipulation, the dismissal is 
without prejudice, except that a dismissal under subrule (A)(1)(a) operates as an 
adjudication on the merits when filed by a plaintiff who has previously dismissed an 
action in any court based on or including the same claim.

(2) By Order of Court. Except as provided in subrule (A)(1), an action may not be 
dismissed at the plaintiff's request except by order of the court on terms and conditions 
the court deems proper.

(a) If a defendant has pleaded a counterclaim before being served with the 
plaintiff's motion to dismiss, the court shall not dismiss the action over the 
defendant's objection unless the counterclaim can remain pending for independent 
adjudication by the court.

(b) Unless the order specifies otherwise, a dismissal under subrule (A)(2) is 
without prejudice.

(B) Involuntary Dismissal; Effect.

(1) If a party fails to comply with these rules or a court order, upon motion by an 
opposing party, or sua sponte, the court may enter a default against the noncomplying 
party or a dismissal of the noncomplying party’s action or claims.

(2) In an action, claim, or hearing tried without a jury, after the presentation of the 
plaintiff's evidence, the court, on its own initiative, may dismiss, or the defendant, 
without waiving the defendant’s right to offer evidence if the motion is not granted, 
may move for dismissal on the ground that on the facts and the law, the plaintiff has no 
right to relief. The court may then determine the facts and render judgment against the 
plaintiff, or may decline to render judgment until the close of all the evidence. If the 
court renders judgment on the merits against the plaintiff, the court shall make 
findings as provided in MCR 2.517.

(3) Unless the court otherwise specifies in its order for dismissal, a dismissal under 
this subrule or a dismissal not provided for in this rule, other than a dismissal for lack 
of jurisdiction or for failure to join a party under MCR 2.205, operates as an 
adjudication on the merits.

(C) Dismissal of Counterclaim, Cross-Claim, or Third-Party Claim. This rule applies to 
the dismissal of a counterclaim, cross-claim, or third-party claim. A voluntary dismissal 
by the claimant alone, pursuant to subrule (A)(1), must be made before service by the 
adverse party of a responsive pleading or a motion under MCR 2.116, or, if no pleading or 
motion is filed, before the introduction of evidence at the trial.

(D) Costs of Previously Dismissed Action. If a plaintiff who has once dismissed an action 
in any court commences an action based on or including the same claim against the same 
defendant, the court may order the payment of such costs of the action previously 
dismissed as it deems proper and may stay proceedings until the plaintiff has complied 
with the order.
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(E) Dismissal for Failure to Serve Defendant. An action may be dismissed as to a 
defendant under MCR 2.102(E).

RULE 2.505 CONSOLIDATION; SEPARATE TRIALS

(A) Consolidation. When actions involving a substantial and controlling common question 
of law or fact are pending before the court, it may

(1) order a joint hearing or trial of any or all the matters in issue in the actions;

(2) order the actions consolidated; and

(3) enter orders concerning the proceedings to avoid unnecessary costs or delay.

(B) Separate Trials. For convenience or to avoid prejudice, or when separate trials will be 
conducive to expedition and economy, the court may order a separate trial of one or more 
claims, cross-claims, counterclaims, third-party claims, or issues.

RULE 2.506 SUBPOENA; ORDER TO ATTEND

(A) Attendance of Party or Witness.

(1) The court in which a matter is pending may by order or subpoena command a party 
or witness to appear for the purpose of testifying in open court on a date and time 
certain and from time to time and day to day thereafter until excused by the court, and/
or to produce documents, or other portable tangible things. A request for documents or 
tangible things under this rule must comply with MCR 2.302(B) and any scheduling 
order. A person or entity subpoenaed under this rule may file written objections to the 
request for documents before the designated time for appearance; such objections shall 
be adjudicated under subrule (H). This subrule does not apply to discovery subpoenas 
(MCR 2.305) or requests for documents to a party where discovery is available (MCR 
2.310). A copy of any subpoena for documents or tangible things shall be provided to 
the opposing party or his/her counsel.

(2)A subpoena may specify the form or forms in which ESI is to be produced, subject 
to objection. If the subpoena does not so specify, the person responding to the 
subpoena must produce the information in a form or forms in which the person 
ordinarily maintains it, or in a form or forms that are reasonably usable. A person 
producing ESI need only produce the same information in one form.

(3)A person responding to a subpoena need not provide discovery of ESI from sources 
that the person identifies as not reasonably accessible because of undue burden or cost. 
In a hearing or submission under subrule (H), the person responding to the subpoena 
must show that the information sought is not reasonably accessible because of undue 
burden or cost. If that showing is made, the court may nonetheless order discovery 
from such sources if the requesting party shows good cause, considering the 
limitations of MCR 2.302(C). The court may specify conditions for such discovery, 
including who bears the cost.
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(4) The court may require a party and a representative of an insurance carrier for a 
party with information and authority adequate for responsible and effective 
participation in settlement discussions to be present or immediately available at trial.

(5) A subpoena may be issued only in accordance with this rule or MCR 2.305, 
2.621(C), 9.112(D), 9.115(I)(1), or 9.221 and 9.234.

(B) Authorized Signatures.

(1) A subpoena signed by an attorney of record in the action or by the clerk of the 
court in which the matter is pending has the force and effect of an order signed by the 
judge of that court.

(2) For the purpose of this subrule, an authorized signature includes but is not limited 
to signatures written by hand, printed, stamped, typewritten, engraved, photographed, 
lithographed, or executed under MCR 1.109(E)(4).

(C) Notice to Witness of Required Attendance.

(1) The signer of a subpoena must issue it for service on the witness sufficiently in 
advance of the trial or hearing to give the witness reasonable notice of the date and 
time the witness is to appear. Unless the court orders otherwise, the subpoena must be 
served at least 2 days before the appearance or 14 days before the appearance when 
documents are requested.

(2) The party having the subpoena issued must take reasonable steps to keep the 
witness informed of adjournments of the scheduled trial or hearing.

(3) If the served witness notifies the party that it is impossible for the witness to be 
present in court as directed, the party must either excuse the witness from attendance 
at that time or notify the witness that a special hearing may be held to adjudicate the 
issue.

(D) Form of Subpoena. A subpoena must:

(1) be entitled in the name of the People of the State of Michigan;

(2) be imprinted with the seal of the Supreme Court of Michigan;

(3) have typed or printed on it the name of the court in which the matter is pending;

(4) state the place where the trial or hearing is scheduled;

(5) state the title of the action in which the person is expected to testify;

(6) state the file number assigned by the court; and

(7) state that failure to obey the commands of the subpoena or reasonable directions of 
the signer as to time and place to appear may subject the person to whom it is directed 
to penalties for contempt of court.

The state court administrator shall develop and approve a subpoena form for statewide 
use.
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(E) Refusal of Witness to Attend or to Testify; Contempt.

(1) If a person fails to comply with a subpoena served in accordance with this rule or 
with a notice under subrule (C)(2), the failure may be considered a contempt of court 
by the court in which the action is pending.

(2) If a person refuses to be sworn or to testify regarding a matter not privileged after 
being ordered to do so by the court, the refusal may be considered a contempt of court.

(F) Failure of Party to Attend. If a party or an officer, director, or managing agent of a 
party fails to attend or produce documents or other tangible evidence pursuant to a 
subpoena or an order to attend without having served written objections, the court may:

(1) stay further proceedings until the order is obeyed;

(2) tax costs to the other party or parties to the action;

(3) strike all or a part of the pleadings of that party;

(4) refuse to allow that party to support or oppose designated claims and defenses;

(5) dismiss the action or any part of it; or

(6) enter judgment by default against that party.

(G) Service of Subpoena and Order to Attend; Fees.

(1) A subpoena may be served anywhere in Michigan in the manner provided by MCR 
2.105. The fee for attendance and mileage provided by law must be tendered to the 
person on whom the subpoena is served at the time of service. Tender must be made in 
cash, by money order, by cashier's check, or by a check drawn on the account of an 
attorney of record in the action or the attorney's authorized agent.

(2) A subpoena may also be served by mailing to a witness a copy of the subpoena and 
a postage-paid card acknowledging service and addressed to the party requesting 
service. The fees for attendance and mileage provided by law are to be given to the 
witness after the witness appears at the court, and the acknowledgment card must so 
indicate. If the card is not returned, the subpoena must be served in the manner 
provided in subrule (G)(1).

(3) A subpoena or order to attend directed to the Michigan Department of Corrections, 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services, Michigan State Police Forensic 
Laboratory, other accredited forensic laboratory, law enforcement, or other 
governmental agency may be served by electronic transmission, including by 
facsimile or over a computer network, provided there is a memorandum of 
understanding between the parties indicating the contact person, the method of 
transmission, and the e-mail or facsimile number where the subpoena or order to 
attend should be sent. A confirmation correspondence must be received from the 
recipient within 2 business days after email or facsimile service is complete, and the 
confirmation correspondence shall be filed with the court. If no confirmation 
correspondence is provided within 2 business days after email or facsimile 
transmission, the subpoena must be served in the manner provided in subrule (G)(1).
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(4) A subpoena or order to attend directed to a party, or to an officer, director, or 
managing agent of a party, may be served in the manner provided by MCR 2.107, and 
fees and mileage need not be paid.

(H) Hearing on Subpoena or Order to attend.

(1) A person served with a subpoena or order to attend under this rule may appear 
before the court in person or by writing to explain why the person should not be 
compelled to comply with the subpoena, order to attend, or directions of the party 
having it issued.

(2) The court may direct that a special hearing be held to adjudicate the issue.

(3) For good cause with or without a hearing, the court may excuse a witness from 
compliance with a subpoena, the directions of the party having it issued, or an order to 
attend.

(4) A person must comply with the command of a subpoena unless relieved by order 
of the court or written direction of the person who had the subpoena issued except that 
any obligation to produce documents, if timely written objections are served, is stayed 
pending resolution under this subrule.

(5) Any party may move to quash or modify a subpoena by motion under MCR 
2.302(C) filed before the time specified in the subpoena, and serve same upon the 
nonparty, in which case the non-party’s obligation to respond is stayed until the 
motion is resolved.

(I) Subpoena for Production of Hospital Medical Records.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (I)(5), a hospital may comply with a subpoena 
calling for production of medical records belonging to the hospital in the manner 
provided in this subrule. This subrule does not apply to x-ray films or to other portions 
of a medical record that are not susceptible to photostatic reproduction.

(a) The hospital may deliver or mail to the clerk of the court in which the action is 
pending, without cost to the parties, a complete and accurate copy of the original 
record.

(b) The copy of the record must be accompanied by a sworn certificate, in the form 
approved by the state court administrator, signed by the medical record librarian or 
another authorized official of the hospital, verifying that it is a complete and 
accurate reproduction of the original record.

(c) The envelope or other container in which the record is delivered to the court 
shall be clearly marked to identify its contents. If the hospital wishes the record 
returned when it is no longer needed in the action, that fact must be stated on the 
container, and, with the record, the hospital must provide the clerk with a self-
addressed, stamped envelope that the clerk may use to return the record.

(d) The hospital shall promptly notify the attorney for the party who caused the 
subpoena to be issued that the documents involved have been delivered or mailed 
to the court in accordance with subrule (I)(1).
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(2) The clerk shall keep the copies sealed in the container in which they were supplied 
by the hospital. The container shall be clearly marked to identify the contents, the 
name of the patient, and the title and number of the action. The container shall not be 
opened except at the direction of the court.

(3) If the hospital has requested that the record be returned, the clerk shall return the 
record to the hospital when 42 days have passed after a final order terminating the 
action, unless an appeal has been taken. In the event of an appeal, the record shall be 
returned when 42 days have passed after a final order terminating the appeal. If the 
hospital did not request that the record be returned as provided in subrule (I)(1)(c), the 
clerk may destroy the record after the time provided in this subrule.

(4) The admissibility of the contents of medical records produced under this rule or 
under MCR 2.314 is not affected or altered by these procedures and remains subject to 
the same objections as if the original records were personally produced by the 
custodian at the trial or hearing.

(5) A party may have a subpoena issued directing that an original record of a person be 
produced at the trial or hearing by the custodian of the record. The subpoena must 
specifically state that the original records, not copies, are required. A party may also 
require, by subpoena, the attendance of the custodian without the records.

RULE 2.507 CONDUCT OF TRIALS

(A) Opening Statements. Before the introduction of evidence, the attorney for the party 
who is to commence the evidence must make a full and fair statement of that party's case 
and the facts the party intends to prove. Immediately thereafter or immediately before the 
introduction of evidence by the adverse party, the attorney for the adverse party must 
make a like statement. Opening statements may be waived with the consent of the court 
and the opposing attorney.

(B) Opening the Evidence. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, the plaintiff must first 
present the evidence in support of the plaintiff's case. However, the defendant must first 
present the evidence in support of his or her case, if

(1) the defendant's answer has admitted facts and allegations of the plaintiff's 
complaint to the extent that, in the absence of further statement on the defendant's 
behalf, judgment should be entered on the pleadings for the plaintiff, and

(2) the defendant has asserted a defense on which the defendant has the burden of 
proof, either as a counterclaim or as an affirmative defense.

(C) Examination and Cross-Examination of Witnesses. Unless otherwise ordered by the 
court, no more than one attorney for a party may examine or cross-examine a witness.

(D)Court View. On application of either party or on its own initiative, the court sitting as 
trier of fact without a jury may view property or a place where a material event occurred.
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(E) Final Arguments. After the close of all the evidence, the parties may rest their cases 
with or without final arguments. The party who commenced the evidence is entitled to 
open the argument and, if the opposing party makes an argument, to make a rebuttal 
argument not beyond the issues raised in the preceding arguments.

(F) Time Allowed for Opening Statements and Final Arguments. The court may limit the 
time allowed each party for opening statements and final arguments. It shall give the 
parties adequate time for argument, having due regard for the complexity of the action, 
and may make separate time allowances for co-parties whose interests are adverse.

(G) Agreements to be in Writing. An agreement or consent between the parties or their 
attorneys respecting the proceedings in an action is not binding unless it was made in open 
court, or unless evidence of the agreement is in writing, subscribed by the party against 
whom the agreement is offered or by that party's attorney.

RULE 2.508 JURY TRIAL OF RIGHT

(A) Right Preserved. The right of trial by jury as declared by the constitution must be 
preserved to the parties inviolate.

(B) Demand for Jury.

(1) A party may demand a trial by jury of an issue as to which there is a right to trial by 
jury by filing a written demand for a jury trial within 28 days after the filing of the 
answer or a timely reply. The demand for jury must be filed as a separate document. 
The jury fee provided by law must be paid at the time the demand is filed.

(2) If a party appealing to the circuit court from a municipal court desires a trial by 
jury of an issue triable of right, demand for jury must be included in the claim of 
appeal. If another party desires trial by jury of an issue triable of right, the demand 
must be included in the party's notice of appearance.

(3)(a) If a case is entirely removed from circuit court to district court, or is entirely 
removed or transferred from district court to circuit court, a timely demand for a 
trial by jury in the court from which the case is removed or transferred remains 
effective in the court to which the case is removed or transferred. If a case is 
entirely removed or transferred from district court to circuit court, and if the 
amount paid to the district court for the jury fee is less than the circuit court jury 
fee, then the party requesting the jury shall pay the difference to the circuit court. If 
a case is entirely removed from circuit court to district court, no additional jury fee 
is to be paid to the district court nor is there to be a refund of any amount by which 
the circuit court jury fee exceeds the district court jury fee.

(b) If part of a case is removed from circuit court to district court, or part of a case 
is removed or transferred from district court to circuit court, but a portion of the 
case remains in the court from which the case is removed or transferred, then a 
demand for a trial by jury in the court from which the case is removed or 
transferred is not effective in the court to which the case is removed or transferred. 
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A party who seeks a trial by jury in the court to which the case is partially removed 
or transferred must file a written demand for a trial by jury within 21 days of the 
removal or transfer order, and must pay the jury fee provided by law, even if the 
jury fee was paid in the court from which the case is removed or transferred.

(c) The absence of a timely demand for a trial by jury in the court from which a 
case is entirely or partially removed or transferred does not preclude filing a 
demand for a trial by jury in the court to which the case is removed or transferred. 
A party who seeks a trial by jury in the court to which the case is removed or 
transferred must file a written demand for a trial by jury within 21 days of the 
removal or transfer order, and must pay the jury fee provided by law.

(d) A party who is added to a case after it has been removed or transferred may 
demand trial by jury in accordance with paragraph (B)(1).

(C) Specifications of Issues.

(1) In a demand for jury trial, a party may specify the issues the party wishes so tried; 
otherwise, the party is deemed to have demanded trial by jury of all the issues so 
triable.

(2) If a party has demanded trial by jury of only some of the issues, another party, 
within 14 days after service of a copy of the demand or within less time as the court 
may order, may serve a demand for trial by jury of another or all the issues of fact in 
the action.

(D) Waiver; Withdrawal.

(1) A party who fails to file a demand or pay the jury fee as required by this rule 
waives trial by jury.

(2) Waiver of trial by jury is not revoked by an amendment of a pleading asserting 
only a claim or defense arising out of the conduct, transaction, or occurrence stated, or 
attempted to be stated, in the original pleading.

(3) A demand for trial by jury may not be withdrawn without the consent, expressed in 
writing or on the record, of the parties or their attorneys.

RULE 2.509 TRIAL BY JURY OR BY COURT

(A) By Jury. If a jury has been demanded as provided in MCR 2.508, the action or appeal 
must be designated in the court records as a jury action. The trial of all issues so demanded 
must be by jury unless

(1) the parties agree otherwise by stipulation in writing or on the record, or

(2) the court on motion or on its own initiative finds that there is no right to trial by 
jury of some or all of those issues.

(B) By Court. Issues for which a trial by jury has not been demanded as provided in MCR 
2.508 will be tried by the court. In the absence of a demand for a jury trial of an issue as to 
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which a jury demand might have been made of right, the court in its discretion may order 
a trial by jury of any or all issues.

(C) Sequence of Trial. In an action in which some issues are to be tried by jury and others 
by the court, or in which a number of claims, cross-claims, defenses, counterclaims, or 
third-party claims involve a common issue, the court may determine the sequence of trial 
of the issues, preserving the constitutional right to trial by jury according to the basic 
nature of every issue for which a demand for jury trial has been made under MCR 2.508.

(D) Advisory Jury and Trial by Consent. In appeals to circuit court from a municipal court 
and in actions involving issues not triable of right by a jury because of the basic nature of 
the issue, the court on motion or on its own initiative may

(1) try the issues with an advisory jury; or

(2) with the consent of all parties, order a trial with a jury whose verdict has the same 
effect as if trial by jury had been a matter of right.

RULE 2.510 JUROR PERSONAL HISTORY QUESTIONNAIRE

(A) Form. The state court administrator shall adopt a juror personal history questionnaire.

(B) Completion of Questionnaire.

(1) The court clerk or the jury board, as directed by the chief judge, shall supply each 
juror drawn for jury service with a questionnaire in the form adopted pursuant to 
subrule (A). The court clerk or the jury board shall direct the juror to complete the 
questionnaire before the juror is called for service.

(2) Refusal to answer the questions on the questionnaire, or answering the 
questionnaire falsely, is contempt of court.

(C) Return of the Questionnaire.

(1) On completion, the questionnaire shall be returned to the court clerk or the jury 
board, as designated under subrule (B)(1). The only persons allowed to examine the 
questionnaire are:

(a) the judges of the court;

(b) the court clerk and deputy clerks;

(c) parties to actions in which the juror is called to serve and their attorneys; and

(d) persons authorized access by court rule or by court order.

(2) The attorneys must be given a reasonable opportunity to examine the 
questionnaires before being called on to challenge for cause.

(a) The state court administrator shall develop model procedures for providing 
attorneys and parties reasonable access to juror questionnaires.
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(b) Each court shall select and implement one of these procedures by local 
administrative order adopted pursuant to MCR 8.112(B). If the state court 
administrator determines that, given the circumstances existing in an individual 
court, the procedure selected does not provide reasonable access, the state court 
administrator may direct the court to implement one of the other model 
procedures.

(c) If the procedure selected allows attorneys or parties to receive copies of juror 
questionnaires, an attorney or party may not release them to any person who would 
not be entitled to examine them under subrule (C)(1).

(3) The questionnaires must be maintained for 3 years from the time they are returned. 
They may be created and maintained in any medium authorized by court rules 
pursuant to MCR 1.109.

(D) Summoning Jurors for Court Attendance. The court clerk, the court administrator, the 
sheriff, or the jury board, as designated by the chief judge, shall summon jurors for court 
attendance at the time and in the manner directed by the chief judge. For a juror's first 
required court appearance, service must be by written notice addressed to the juror at the 
juror's residence as shown by the records of the clerk or jury board. The notice may be by 
ordinary mail or by personal service. For later service, notice may be in the manner 
directed by the court. The person giving notice to jurors shall keep a record of the notice 
and make a return if directed by the court. The return is presumptive evidence of the fact 
of service.

(E) Special Provision Pursuant to MCL 600.1324. If a city located in more than one 
county is entirely within a single district of the district court, jurors shall be selected for 
court attendance at that district from a list that includes the names and addresses of jurors 
from the entire city, regardless of the county where the juror resides or the county where 
the cause of action arose.

RULE 2.511 IMPANELING THE JURY

(A) Selection of Jurors.

(1) Persons who have not been discharged or excused as prospective jurors by the 
court are subject to selection for the action or actions to be tried during their term of 
service as provided by law.

(2) In an action that is to be tried before a jury, the names or corresponding numbers of 
the prospective jurors shall be deposited in a container, and the prospective jurors must 
be selected for examination by a random blind draw from the container.

(3) The court may provide for random selection of prospective jurors for examination 
from less than all of the prospective jurors not discharged or excused.

(4) Prospective jurors may be selected by any other fair and impartial method directed 
by the court or agreed to by the parties.



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 158   Updated April 26, 2024 

(B) Alternate Jurors. The court may direct that 7 or more jurors be impaneled to sit. After 
the instructions to the jury have been given and the action is ready to be submitted, unless 
the parties have stipulated that all the jurors may deliberate, the names of the jurors must 
be placed in a container and names drawn to reduce the number of jurors to 6, who shall 
constitute the jury. The court may retain the alternate jurors during deliberations. If the 
court does so, it shall instruct the alternate jurors not to discuss the case with any other 
person until the jury completes its deliberations and is discharged. If an alternate juror 
replaces a juror after the jury retires to consider its verdict, the court shall instruct the jury 
to begin its deliberations anew.

(C) Examination of Jurors. The court may examine prospective jurors or permit the 
attorneys for the parties to do so. If the court examines the prospective jurors, it must 
permit the attorneys for the parties to

(1) ask further questions that the court considers proper, or

(2) submit further questions that the court may ask if it considers them proper.

(D) Discharge of Unqualified Juror. When the court finds that a person in attendance at 
court as a juror is not qualified to serve as a juror, the court shall discharge him or her from 
further attendance and service as a juror.

(E) Challenges for Cause. The parties may challenge jurors for cause, and the court shall 
rule on each challenge. A juror challenged for cause may be directed to answer questions 
pertinent to the inquiry. It is grounds for a challenge for cause that the person:

(1) is not qualified to be a juror;

(2) is biased for or against a party or attorney;

(3) shows a state of mind that will prevent the person from rendering a just verdict, or 
has formed a positive opinion on the facts of the case or on what the outcome should 
be;

(4) has opinions or conscientious scruples that would improperly influence the 
person's verdict;

(5) has been subpoenaed as a witness in the action;

(6) has already sat on a trial of the same issue;

(7) has served as a grand or petit juror in a criminal case based on the same 
transaction;

(8) is related within the ninth degree (civil law) of consanguinity or affinity to one of 
the parties or attorneys;

(9) is the guardian, conservator, ward, landlord, tenant, employer, employee, partner, 
or client of a party or attorney;

(10) is or has been a party adverse to the challenging party or attorney in a civil action, 
or has complained of or has been accused by that party in a criminal prosecution;
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(11) has a financial interest other than that of a taxpayer in the outcome of the action;

(12) is interested in a question like the issue to be tried.

Exemption from jury service is the privilege of the person exempt, not a ground for 
challenge.

(F) Peremptory Challenges.

(1) A juror peremptorily challenged is excused without cause.

(2) Each party may peremptorily challenge three jurors. Two or more parties on the 
same side are considered a single party for purposes of peremptory challenges. 
However, when multiple parties having adverse interests are aligned on the same side, 
three peremptory challenges are allowed to each party represented by a different 
attorney, and the court may allow the opposite side a total number of peremptory 
challenges not exceeding the total number of peremptory challenges allowed to the 
multiple parties.

(3) Peremptory challenges must be exercised in the following manner:

(a) First the plaintiff and then the defendant may exercise one or more peremptory 
challenges until each party successively waives further peremptory challenges or 
all the challenges have been exercised, at which point jury selection is complete.

(b) A “pass” is not counted as a challenge but is a waiver of further challenge to 
the panel as constituted at that time.

(c) If a party has exhausted all peremptory challenges and another party has 
remaining challenges, that party may continue to exercise their remaining 
peremptory challenges until such challenges are exhausted.

(G) Discrimination in the Selection Process.

(1) No person shall be subjected to discrimination during voir dire on the basis of race, 
color, religion, national origin, or sex.

(2) Discrimination during voir dire on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, 
or sex for the purpose of achieving what the court believes to be a balanced, 
proportionate, or representative jury in terms of these characteristics shall not 
constitute an excuse or justification for a violation of this subsection.

(H) Replacement of Challenged Jurors. After the jurors have been seated in the jurors' box 
and a challenge for cause is sustained or a peremptory challenge or challenges exercised, 
another juror or other jurors must be selected and examined. Such jurors are subject to 
challenge as are previously seated jurors.

(I) Oath of Jurors; Instruction regarding prohibited actions.

(1) The jury must be sworn by the clerk substantially as follows:



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 160   Updated April 26, 2024 

“Each of you do solemnly swear (or affirm) that, in this action now before the court, 
you will justly decide the questions submitted to you, that, unless you are discharged 
by the court from further deliberation, you will render a true verdict, and that you will 
render your verdict only on the evidence introduced and in accordance with the 
instructions of the court, so help you God.”

(2) The court shall instruct the jurors that until their jury service is concluded, they 
shall not 

(a)discuss the case with others, including other jurors, except as otherwise 
authorized by the court;

(b)read or listen to any news reports about the case;

(c)use a computer, cellular phone, or other electronic device with communication 
capabilities while in attendance at trial or during deliberation. These devices may 
be used during breaks or recesses but may not be used to obtain or disclose 
information prohibited in subsection (d) below;

(d)use a computer, cellular phone, or other electronic device with communication 
capabilities, or any other method, to obtain or disclose information about the case 
when they are not in court. As used in this subsection, information about the case 
includes, but is not limited to, the following:

(i) information about a party, witness, attorney, or court officer;

(ii)news accounts of the case;

(iii)information collected through juror research on any topics raised or 
testimony offered by any witness;

(iv)information collected through juror research on any other topic the juror 
might think would be helpful in deciding the case.

RULE 2.512 INSTRUCTIONS TO JURY

(A)Request for Instructions.

(1)At a time the court reasonably directs, the parties must file written requests that the 
court instruct the jury on the law as stated in the requests. In the absence of a direction 
from the court, a party may file a written request for jury instructions at or before the 
close of the evidence.

(2)In addition to requests for instructions submitted under subrule (A)(1), after the 
close of the evidence, each party shall submit in writing to the court a statement of the 
issues and may submit the party’s theory of the case regarding each issue. The 
statement must be concise, be narrative in form, and set forth as issues only those 
disputed propositions of fact that are supported by the evidence. The theory may 
include those claims supported by the evidence or admitted.

(3)A copy of the requested instructions must be served on the adverse parties in 
accordance with MCR 2.107.
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(4)The court shall inform the attorneys of its proposed action on the requests before 
their arguments to the jury.

(5)The court need not give the statements of issues or theories of the case in the form 
submitted if the court presents to the jury the material substance of the issues and 
theories of each party.

(B)Instructing the Jury.

(1)At any time during the trial, the court may, with or without request, instruct the jury 
on a point of law if the instruction will materially aid the jury in understanding the 
proceedings and arriving at a just verdict.

(2)Before or after arguments or at both times, as the court elects, the court shall 
instruct the jury on the applicable law, the issues presented by the case, and, if a party 
requests as provided in subrule (A)(2), that party’s theory of the case.

(C)Objections. A party may assign as error the giving of or the failure to give an 
instruction only if the party objects on the record before the jury retires to consider the 
verdict (or, in the case of instructions given after deliberations have begun, before the jury 
resumes deliberations), stating specifically the matter to which the party objects and the 
grounds for the objection. Opportunity must be given to make the objection out of the 
hearing of the jury.

(D)Model Civil Jury Instructions and Model Criminal Jury Instructions.

(1)The Committee on Model Civil Jury Instructions and the Committee on Model 
Criminal Jury Instructions appointed by the Supreme Court have the authority to adopt 
model jury instructions and to amend or repeal those instructions approved by the 
predecessor committee. Before adopting, amending, or repealing an instruction, each 
committee shall publish notice of the committee’s intent, together with the text of the 
instruction to be adopted, or the amendment to be made, or a reference to the 
instruction to be repealed, in the manner provided in MCR 1.201. The notice shall 
specify the time and manner for commenting on the proposal. If the committee finds it 
necessary to take immediate action, the committee may adopt a new instruction or 
revision while the public comment period is pending. The committee shall thereafter 
publish notice of its final action on the proposed change, including, if appropriate, the 
effective date of the adoption, amendment, or repeal. A model jury instruction does 
not have the force and effect of a court rule.

(2)Pertinent portions of the instructions approved by the Committee on Model Civil 
Jury Instructions or the Committee on Model Criminal Jury Instructions or a 
predecessor committee must be given in each action in which jury instructions are 
given if

(a)they are applicable,

(b)they accurately state the applicable law, and

(c)they are requested by a party.



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 162   Updated April 26, 2024 

(3)Whenever a committee recommends that no instruction be given on a particular 
matter, the court shall not give an instruction unless it specifically finds for reasons 
stated on the record that

(a)the instruction is necessary to state the applicable law accurately, and

(b)the matter is not adequately covered by other pertinent model jury instructions.

(4)This subrule does not limit the power of the court to give additional instructions on 
applicable law not covered by the model instructions. Additional instructions, when 
given, must be patterned as nearly as practicable after the style of the model 
instructions and must be concise, understandable, conversational, unslanted, and 
nonargumentative.

RULE 2.513 CONDUCT OF JURY TRIAL

(A)Preliminary Instructions. After the jury is sworn and before evidence is taken, the court 
shall orally provide the jury with pretrial instructions reasonably likely to assist in its 
consideration of the case. Such instructions, at a minimum, shall communicate the duties 
of the jury, trial procedure, and the law applicable to the case as are reasonably necessary 
to enable the jury to understand the proceedings and the evidence. The jury also shall be 
orally instructed about the elements of all civil claims or all charged offenses, as well as 
the legal presumptions and burdens of proof. The court shall also provide each juror with a 
written copy of such instructions. MCR 2.512(D)(2) does not apply to such preliminary 
instructions. 

(B) Court’s Responsibility. The trial court must control the proceedings during trial, limit 
the evidence and arguments to relevant and proper matters, and take appropriate steps to 
ensure that the jurors will not be exposed to information or influences that might affect 
their ability to render an impartial verdict on the evidence presented in court. The court 
may not communicate with the jury or any juror pertaining to the case without notifying 
the parties and permitting them to be present. The court must ensure that all 
communications pertaining to the case between the court and the jury or any juror are 
made a part of the record.

(C)Opening Statements. Unless the parties and the court agree otherwise, the plaintiff or 
the prosecutor, before presenting evidence, must make a full and fair statement of the case 
and the facts the plaintiff or the prosecutor intends to prove. Immediately thereafter, or 
immediately before presenting evidence, the defendant may make a similar statement. The 
court may impose reasonable time limits on the opening statements.

(D)Interim Commentary. Each party may, in the court’s discretion, present interim 
commentary at appropriate junctures of the trial.

(E)Reference Documents. The court may authorize or require counsel in civil and criminal 
cases to provide the jurors with a reference document or notebook, the contents of which 
should include, but which is not limited to, a list of witnesses, relevant statutory 
provisions, and, in cases where the interpretation of a document is at issue, copies of the 
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relevant document. The court and the parties may supplement the reference document 
during trial with copies of the preliminary jury instructions, admitted exhibits, and other 
admissible information to assist jurors in their deliberations.

(F)Deposition Summaries. Where it appears likely that the contents of a deposition will be 
read to the jury, the court should encourage the parties to prepare concise, written 
summaries of depositions for reading at trial in lieu of the full deposition. Where a 
summary is prepared, the opposing party shall have the opportunity to object to its 
contents. Copies of the summaries should be provided to the jurors before they are read.

(G)Scheduling Expert Testimony. In a civil action, the court may, in its discretion, craft a 
procedure for the presentation of all expert testimony to assist the jurors in performing 
their duties. Such procedures may include, but are not limited to:

(1)Scheduling the presentation of the parties’ expert witnesses sequentially; or

(2)allowing the opposing experts to be present during the other’s testimony and to aid 
counsel in formulating questions to be asked of the testifying expert on cross-
examination.

(H)Note Taking by Jurors. The court may permit the jurors to take notes regarding the 
evidence presented in court. If the court permits note taking, it must instruct the jurors that 
they need not take notes, and they should not permit note taking to interfere with their 
attentiveness. If the court allows jurors to take notes, jurors must be allowed to refer to 
their notes during deliberations, but the court must instruct the jurors to keep their notes 
confidential except as to other jurors during deliberations. The court shall ensure that all 
juror notes are collected and destroyed when the trial is concluded.

(I)Juror Questions. The court may permit the jurors to ask questions of witnesses. If the 
court permits jurors to ask questions, it must employ a procedure that ensures that such 
questions are addressed to the witnesses by the court itself, that inappropriate questions 
are not asked, and that the parties have an opportunity outside the hearing of the jury to 
object to the questions. The court shall inform the jurors of the procedures to be followed 
for submitting questions to witnesses.

(J)Jury View. On motion of either party, on its own initiative, or at the request of the jury, 
the court may order a jury view of property or of a place where a material event occurred. 
The parties are entitled to be present at the jury view, provided, however, that in a criminal 
case, the court may preclude a defendant from attending a jury view in the interests of 
safety and security. During the view, no person, other than an officer designated by the 
court, may speak to the jury concerning the subject connected with the trial. Any such 
communication must be recorded in some fashion.

(K)Juror Discussion. In a civil case, after informing the jurors that they are not to decide 
the case until they have heard all the evidence, instructions of law, and arguments of 
counsel, the court may instruct the jurors that they are permitted to discuss the evidence 
among themselves in the jury room during trial recesses. The jurors should be instructed 
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that such discussions may only take place when all jurors are present and that such 
discussions must be clearly understood as tentative pending final presentation of all 
evidence, instructions, and argument.

(L)Closing Arguments. After the close of all the evidence, the parties may make closing 
arguments. The plaintiff or the prosecutor is entitled to make the first closing argument. If 
the defendant makes an argument, the plaintiff or the prosecutor may offer a rebuttal 
limited to the issues raised in the defendant’s argument. The court may impose reasonable 
time limits on the closing arguments.

(M)Summing up the Evidence. After the close of the evidence and arguments of counsel, 
the court may fairly and impartially sum up the evidence if it also instructs the jury that it 
is to determine for itself the weight of the evidence and the credit to be given to the 
witnesses and that jurors are not bound by the court’s summation. The court shall not 
comment on the credibility of witnesses or state a conclusion on the ultimate issue of fact 
before the jury.

(N)Final Instructions to the Jury.

(1)Before closing arguments, the court must give the parties a reasonable opportunity 
to submit written requests for jury instructions. Each party must serve a copy of the 
written requests on all other parties. The court must inform the parties of its proposed 
action on the requests before their closing arguments. After closing arguments are 
made or waived, the court must orally instruct the jury as required and appropriate, but 
at the discretion of the court, and on notice to the parties, the court may orally instruct 
the jury before the parties make closing arguments. After jury deliberations begin, the 
court may give additional instructions that are appropriate.

(2)Solicit Questions about Final Instructions. As part of the final jury instructions, the 
court shall advise the jury that it may submit in a sealed envelope given to the bailiff 
any written questions about the jury instructions that arise during deliberations. After 
orally delivering the final instructions, the court shall invite the jurors to ask any 
questions in order to clarify the instructions before they retire to deliberate.

If questions arise, the court and the parties shall convene, in the courtroom or by other 
agreed-upon means. The question shall be read into the record, and the attorneys shall 
offer comments on an appropriate response. The court may, in its discretion, provide 
the jury with a specific response to the jury’s question, but the court shall respond to 
all questions asked, even if the response consists of a directive for the jury to continue 
its deliberations.

(3)Copies of Final Instructions. The court shall provide a written copy of the final jury 
instructions to take into the jury room for deliberation. Upon request by any juror, the 
court may provide additional copies as necessary. The court, in its discretion, also may 
provide the jury with a copy of electronically recorded instructions.

(4)Clarifying or Amplifying Final Instructions. When it appears that a deliberating 
jury has reached an impasse, or is otherwise in need of assistance, the court may invite 
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the jurors to list the issues that divide or confuse them in the event that the judge can 
be of assistance in clarifying or amplifying the final instructions.

(O)Materials in the Jury Room. The court shall permit the jurors, on retiring to deliberate, 
to take into the jury room their notes and final instructions. The court may permit the 
jurors to take into the jury room the reference document, if one has been prepared, as well 
as any exhibits and writings admitted into evidence.

(P)Provide Testimony or Evidence. If, after beginning deliberation, the jury requests a 
review of certain testimony or evidence that has not been allowed into the jury room under 
subrule (O), the court must exercise its discretion to ensure fairness and to refuse 
unreasonable requests, but it may not refuse a reasonable request. The court may make a 
video or audio recording of witness testimony, or prepare an immediate transcript of such 
testimony, and such tape or transcript, or other testimony or evidence, may be made 
available to the jury for its consideration. The court may order the jury to deliberate 
further without the requested review, as long as the possibility of having the testimony or 
evidence reviewed at a later time is not foreclosed.

RULE 2.514 RENDERING VERDICT

(A)Majority Verdict; Stipulations Regarding Number of Jurors and Verdict. The parties 
may stipulate in writing or on the record that

(1)the jury will consist of any number less than 6, 

(2)a verdict or a finding of a stated majority of the jurors will be taken as the verdict or 
finding of the jury, or

(3)if more than 6 jurors were impaneled, all the jurors may deliberate.

Except as provided in MCR 5.740(C), in the absence of such stipulation, a verdict in a 
civil action tried by 6 jurors will be received when 5 jurors agree.

(B)Return; Poll.

(1)The jury must return its verdict in open court. 

(2)A party may require a poll to be taken by the court asking each juror if it is his or 
her verdict.

(3)If the number of jurors agreeing is less than required, the jury must be sent back for 
further deliberation; otherwise, the verdict is complete, and the court shall discharge 
the jury.

(C)Discharge From Action; New Jury. The court may discharge a jury from the action:

(1)because of an accident or calamity requiring it; 

(2)by consent of all the parties;

(3)whenever an adjournment or mistrial is declared;
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(4)whenever the jurors have deliberated and it appears that they cannot agree.

The court may order another jury to be drawn, and the same proceedings may be had 
before the new jury as might have been had before the jury that was discharged.

(D)Responsibility of Officers.

(1)All court officers, including trial attorneys, must attend during the trial of an action 
until the verdict of the jury is announced.

(2)A trial attorney may, on request, be released by the court from further attendance, 
or the attorney may designate an associate or other attorney to act for him or her 
during the deliberations of the jury.

RULE 2.515 SPECIAL VERDICTS

(A)Use of Special Verdicts; Form. The court may require the jury to return a special 
verdict in the form of a written finding on each issue of fact, rather than a general verdict. 
If a special verdict is required, the court shall, in advance of argument and in the absence 
of the jury, advise the attorneys of this fact and, on the record or in writing, settle the form 
of the verdict. The court may submit to the jury:

(1)written questions that may be answered categorically and briefly;

(2)written forms of the several special findings that might properly be made under the 
pleadings and evidence; or

(3)the issues by another method, and require the written findings it deems most 
appropriate.

The court shall give to the jury the necessary explanation and instruction concerning 
the matter submitted to enable the jury to make its findings on each issue.

(B)Judgment. After a special verdict is returned, the court shall enter judgment in 
accordance with the jury's findings.

(C)Failure to Submit Question; Waiver; Findings by Court. If the court omits from the 
special verdict form an issue of fact raised by the pleadings or the evidence, a party waives 
the right to a trial by jury of the issue omitted unless the party demands its submission to 
the jury before it retires for deliberations. The court may make a finding with respect to an 
issue omitted without a demand. If the court fails to do so, it is deemed to have made a 
finding in accord with the judgment on the special verdict.

RULE 2.516 MOTION FOR DIRECTED VERDICT

A party may move for a directed verdict at the close of the evidence offered by an 
opponent. The motion must state specific grounds in support of the motion. If the motion is not 
granted, the moving party may offer evidence without having reserved the right to do so, as if the 
motion had not been made. A motion for a directed verdict that is not granted is not a waiver of 
trial by jury, even though all parties to the action have moved for directed verdicts.
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RULE 2.517 FINDINGS BY COURT

(A) Requirements.

(1) In actions tried on the facts without a jury or with an advisory jury, the court shall 
find the facts specially, state separately its conclusions of law, and direct entry of the 
appropriate judgment.

(2) Brief, definite, and pertinent findings and conclusions on the contested matters are 
sufficient, without over elaboration of detail or particularization of facts.

(3) The court may state the findings and conclusions on the record or include them in a 
written opinion.

(4) Findings of fact and conclusions of law are unnecessary in decisions on motions 
unless findings are required by a particular rule. See, e.g., MCR 2.504(B).

(5) The clerk shall notify the attorneys for the parties of the findings of the court.

(6) Requests for findings are not necessary for purposes of review.

(7) No exception need be taken to a finding or decision.

(B) Amendment. On motion of a party made within 21 days after entry of judgment, the 
court may amend its findings or make additional findings, and may amend the judgment 
accordingly. The motion may be made with a motion for new trial pursuant to MCR 2.611. 
When findings of fact are made in an action tried by the court without a jury, the question 
of the sufficiency of the evidence to support the findings may thereafter be raised whether 
the party raising the question has objected to the findings or has moved to amend them or 
for judgment.

RULE 2.518 RECEIPT AND RETURN OR DISPOSAL OF EXHIBITS

(A) Receipt of Exhibits. Except as otherwise required by statute or court rule, materials 
that are intended to be used as evidence at or during a trial shall not be filed with the clerk 
of the court, but shall be submitted to the judge for introduction into evidence as exhibits. 
Exhibits introduced into evidence at or during court proceedings shall be received and 
maintained as provided by Michigan Supreme Court trial court records management 
standards. As defined in MCR 1.109, exhibits received and accepted into evidence under 
this rule are not court records.

(B) Return or Disposal of Exhibits. At the conclusion of a trial or hearing, the court shall 
direct the parties to retrieve the exhibits submitted by them except that any weapons and 
drugs shall be returned to the confiscating agency for proper disposition. If the exhibits are 
not retrieved by the parties as directed within 56 days after conclusion of the trial or 
hearing, the court may properly dispose of the exhibits without notice to the parties.

(C) Confidentiality. If the court retains discovery materials filed pursuant to MCR 
1.109(D) or an exhibit submitted pursuant to this rule after a hearing or trial and the 
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material is confidential as provided by law, court rule, or court order pursuant to MCR 
8.119(I), the court must continue to maintain the material in a confidential manner.

SUBCHAPTER 2.600 JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS; POSTJUDGMENT PROCEEDINGS

RULE 2.601 JUDGMENTS

(A) Relief Available. Except as provided in subrule (B), every final judgment may grant 
the relief to which the party in whose favor it is rendered is entitled, even if the party has 
not demanded that relief in his or her pleadings.

(B) Default Judgment. A judgment by default may not be different in kind from, nor 
exceed in amount, the relief demanded in the pleading, unless notice has been given 
pursuant to MCR 2.603(B)(1).

RULE 2.602 ENTRY OF JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS

(A) Signing; Statement; Date of Entry.

(1) Except as provided in this rule and in MCR 2.603, all judgments and orders must 
be in writing, signed by the court and dated with the date they are signed.

(2) The date of signing an order or judgment is the date of entry.

(3) Each judgment must state, immediately preceding the judge's signature, whether it 
resolves the last pending claim and closes the case. Such a statement must also appear 
on any other order that disposes of the last pending claim and closes the case.

(4) Where electronic filing is implemented, judgments and orders must be issued 
under the seal of the court.

(B) Procedure of Entry of Judgments and Orders. An order or judgment shall be entered 
by one of the following methods:

(1) The court may sign the judgment or order at the time it grants the relief provided 
by the judgment or order.

(2) The court shall sign the judgment or order when its form is approved by all the 
parties and if, in the court's determination, it comports with the court's decision.

(3) Within 7 days after the granting of the judgment or order, or later if the court 
allows, a party may serve a copy of the proposed judgment or order on the other 
parties, with a notice to them that it will be submitted to the court for signing if no 
written objections to its accuracy or completeness are filed with the court clerk within 
7 days after service of the notice. The party must file with the court clerk the notice 
and proof of service along with the proposed judgment or order.

(a) If no written objections are filed within 7 days of the date of service of the 
notice, the judge shall sign the judgment or order if, in the court's determination, it 
comports with the court's decision. If the proposed judgment or order does not 
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comport with the decision, the court shall direct the clerk to notify the parties to 
appear before the court on a specified date for settlement of the matter.

(b) Objections regarding the accuracy or completeness of the judgment or order 
must state with specificity the inaccuracy or omission.

(c) The party filing the objections must serve them on all parties as required by 
MCR 2.107, together with a notice of hearing and an alternative proposed 
judgment or order.

(d) The court must schedule the hearing upon filing of the first objection, and the 
party filing the objection must serve the notice of hearing under subrule (B)(3)(c). 
Other parties to the action may file objections with the court through the end of the 
7-day period. The court must schedule a hearing for all objections within 14 days 
after the first objection is filed or as soon as is practical afterward.

(4) A party may prepare a proposed judgment or order and notice it for settlement 
before the court. Pursuant to MCR 2.119(G)(3)(b), a motion fee may not be charged.

(C) Conditional Dismissal. The court may enter a consent order for conditional dismissal 
under the following conditions:

(1) A consent order for conditional dismissal shall be signed and approved by all 
parties and shall clearly state the terms for reinstatement of the case and entry of 
judgment. 

(2) If the breaching party defaults on the terms of the settlement agreement as 
provided for in the conditional dismissal order, the non-defaulting party may seek 
entry of an order for reinstatement of the case and entry of judgment.

(a) To obtain an order for reinstatement of the case and entry of judgment, the non-
defaulting party shall file with the court an affidavit stating that the breaching 
party defaulted on the terms of the settlement agreement. 

(b) The non-defaulting party shall serve a copy of an affidavit of non-compliance 
on the breaching party at its current address listed in the court records and file 
proof of service with the court.

(c) If the order for conditional dismissal states that judgment may be entered 
without notice or further process, the court shall enter the proposed judgment upon 
determining the conditions for entry of judgment in the conditional dismissal order 
are satisfied.

(d) If the order for conditional dismissal does not provide for immediate entry of 
judgment, the affidavit shall be accompanied by a notice to the breaching party 
that an order for reinstatement and for entry of judgment is being submitted to the 
court for entry if no written objections to its accuracy or completeness are filed 
with the court clerk within 14 days after service of the notice. Unless an objection 
is filed within 14 days after service of the notice, an order for reinstatement of the 
case and entry of judgment shall be signed by the court and entered.
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(i) An objection must be verified and state with specificity the reasons that an 
order for reinstatement of the case and entry of judgment should not enter.

(ii) If an objection is filed, the court shall set a hearing and serve notice of that 
hearing to all parties.

(iii) This 14-day notice provision may be waived in cases filed pursuant to 
MCR 4.201 if such waiver is acknowledged in writing.

(3) For the purposes of any statute of limitation, an action conditionally dismissed 
under this rule is deemed to have been initiated on the date the original complaint was 
properly filed.

(4) All parties to a conditional dismissal bear the affirmative duty to inform the court 
with jurisdiction over that case of any change of address until the terms of the 
settlement agreement have been satisfied.

(D) Placement in Case File. The signed judgment or order must be placed in the case file.

(E) Service.

(1) The party securing the signing of the judgment or order shall serve a copy, within 7 
days after it has been signed, on all other parties, and file proof of service with the 
court clerk.

(2) If a judgment for reimbursement to the state for the value of game or protected 
animals is entered pursuant to MCL 324.40119 or for the value of fish is entered 
pursuant to MCL 324.48740, the clerk shall provide a copy of the judgment to the 
Department of Natural Resources. The judgment may be enforced as a civil judgment.

RULE 2.603 DEFAULT AND DEFAULT JUDGMENT

(A) Entry of Default; Notice; Effect.

(1) If a party against whom a judgment for affirmative relief is sought has failed to 
plead or otherwise defend as provided by these rules, the clerk must enter the default 
of that party if that fact is:

(a) known to the clerk of the court, or

(b) verified in the manner prescribed by MCR 1.109(D)(3) and filed with the court 
in a request for default.

(2) Notice that the default has been entered must be sent to all parties who have 
appeared and to the defaulted party. If the defaulted party has not appeared, the notice 
to the defaulted party may be served by personal service, by ordinary first-class mail at 
his or her last known address or the place of service, or as otherwise directed by the 
court.

The notice must be sent by the party who sought entry of the default. Proof of service 
and a copy of the notice must be filed with the court.



Chapter 2. Civil Procedure Page 171   Updated April 26, 2024 

(3) After the default of a party has been entered, that party may not proceed with the 
action until the default has been set aside by the court in accordance with subrule (D) 
or MCR 2.612.

(B) Default Judgment.

(1) Notice of Request for Default Judgment.

(a) A party requesting a default judgment must give notice of the request to the 
defaulted party, if

(i) the party against whom the default judgment is sought has appeared in the 
action;

(ii) the request for entry of a default judgment seeks relief different in kind 
from, or greater in amount than, that stated in the pleadings; or

(iii) the pleadings do not state a specific amount demanded.

(b) The notice required by this subrule must be served at least 7 days before entry 
of the requested default judgment.

(c) If the defaulted party has appeared, the notice may be given in the manner 
provided by MCR 2.107. If the defaulted party has not appeared, the notice may be 
served by personal service, by ordinary first-class mail at the defaulted party's last 
known address or the place of service, or as otherwise directed by the court.

(d) If the default is entered for failure to appear for a scheduled trial, notice under 
this subrule is not required.

(2) Default Judgment Entered by Clerk. On written request of the plaintiff verified 
under MCR 1.109(D)(3) as to the amount due, the clerk may sign and enter a default 
judgment for that amount and costs against the defendant, if

(a) the plaintiff's claim against a defendant is for a sum certain or for a sum that 
can by computation be made certain;

(b) the default was entered because the defendant failed to appear; 

(c) the defaulted defendant is not an infant or incompetent person; and

(d) the damages amount requested is not greater than the amount stated in the 
complaint.

(3) Default Judgment Entered by Court. In all other cases, the party entitled to a 
default judgment must file a motion that asks the court to enter the default judgment.

(a) A default judgment may not be entered against a minor or an incompetent 
person unless the person is represented in the action by a conservator, guardian ad 
litem, or other representative.

(b) If, in order for the court to enter a default judgment or to carry it into effect, it is 
necessary to

(i) take an account,
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(ii) determine the amount of damages,

(iii) establish the truth of an allegation by evidence, or

(iv) investigate any other matter, the court may conduct hearings or order 
references it deems necessary and proper, and shall accord a right of trial by 
jury to the parties to the extent required by the constitution.

(4) Notice of Entry of Default Judgment. The party who sought entry of the default 
judgment must promptly serve all parties with the default judgment. The default 
judgment shall be mailed to the defendant's last known address or the address of the 
place of service. Proof of service must be filed with the court.

(C) Nonmilitary Affidavit. Nonmilitary affidavits required by law must be filed before 
judgment is entered in actions in which the defendant has failed to appear.

(D) Setting Aside Default or Default Judgment.

(1) A motion to set aside a default or a default judgment, except when grounded on 
lack of jurisdiction over the defendant, shall be granted only if good cause is shown 
and a statement of facts showing a meritorious defense, verified in the manner 
prescribed by MCR 1.109(D)(3), is filed.

(2) Except as provided in MCR 2.612, if personal service was made on the party 
against whom the default was taken, the default, and default judgment if one has been 
entered, may be set aside only if the motion is filed

(a) before entry of a default judgment, or

(b) if a default judgment has been entered, within 21 days after the default 
judgment was entered.

(3) In addition, the court may set aside a default and a default judgment in accordance 
with MCR 2.612.

(4) An order setting aside the default or default judgment must be conditioned on the 
defaulted party paying the taxable costs incurred by the other party in reliance on the 
default or default judgment, except as prescribed in MCR 2.625(D). The order may 
also impose other conditions the court deems proper, including a reasonable attorney 
fee.

(E) Application to Parties Other Than Plaintiff. The provisions of this rule apply whether 
the party entitled to the default judgment is a plaintiff or a party who pleaded a cross-claim 
or counterclaim. In all cases a default judgment is subject to the limitations of MCR 
2.601(B).

RULE 2.604 JUDGMENT IN ACTIONS INVOLVING MULTIPLE CLAIMS OR MULTIPLE PARTIES

(A) Except as provided in subrule (B), an order or other form of decision adjudicating 
fewer than all the claims, or the rights and liabilities of fewer than all the parties, does not 
terminate the action as to any of the claims or parties, and the order is subject to revision 
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before entry of final judgment adjudicating all the claims and the rights and liabilities of 
all the parties. Such an order or other form of decision is not appealable as of right before 
entry of final judgment. A party may file an application for leave to appeal from such an 
order.

(B) In receivership and similar actions, the court may direct that an order entered before 
adjudication of all of the claims and rights and liabilities of all the parties constitutes a 
final order on an express determination that there is no just reason for delay.

RULE 2.605 DECLARATORY JUDGMENTS

(A) Power to Enter Declaratory Judgment.

(1) In a case of actual controversy within its jurisdiction, a Michigan court of record 
may declare the rights and other legal relations of an interested party seeking a 
declaratory judgment, whether or not other relief is or could be sought or granted.

(2) For the purpose of this rule, an action is considered within the jurisdiction of a 
court if the court would have jurisdiction of an action on the same claim or claims in 
which the plaintiff sought relief other than a declaratory judgment.

(B) Procedure. The procedure for obtaining declaratory relief is in accordance with these 
rules, and the right to trial by jury may be demanded under the circumstances and in the 
manner provided in the constitution, statutes, and court rules of the State of Michigan.

(C) Other Adequate Remedy. The existence of another adequate remedy does not preclude 
a judgment for declaratory relief in an appropriate case.

(D) Hearing. The court may order a speedy hearing of an action for declaratory relief and 
may advance it on the calendar.

(E) Effect; Review. Declaratory judgments have the force and effect of, and are 
reviewable as, final judgments.

(F) Other Relief. Further necessary or proper relief based on a declaratory judgment may 
be granted, after reasonable notice and hearing, against a party whose rights have been 
determined by the declaratory judgment.

RULE 2.610 MOTION FOR JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT

(A) Motion.

(1) Within 21 days after entry of judgment, a party may move to have the verdict and 
judgment set aside, and to have judgment entered in the moving party's favor. The 
motion may be joined with a motion for a new trial, or a new trial may be requested in 
the alternative.
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(2) If a verdict was not returned, a party may move for judgment within 21 days after 
the jury is discharged.

(3) A motion to set aside or otherwise nullify a verdict or a motion for a new trial is 
deemed to include a motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict as an alternative.

(B) Ruling.

(1) If a verdict was returned, the court may allow the judgment to stand or may reopen 
the judgment and either order a new trial or direct the entry of judgment as requested 
in the motion.

(2) If a verdict was not returned, the court may direct the entry of judgment as 
requested in the motion or order a new trial.

(3) In ruling on a motion under this rule, the court must give a concise statement of the 
reasons for the ruling, either in a signed order or opinion filed in the action, or on the 
record.

(C) Conditional Ruling on Motion for New Trial.

(1) If the motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict under subrule (A) is 
granted, the court shall also conditionally rule on any motion for a new trial, 
determining whether it should be granted if the judgment is vacated or reversed, and 
shall specify the grounds for granting or denying the motion for a new trial.

(2) A conditional ruling under this subrule has the following effects:

(a) If the motion for a new trial is conditionally granted, that ruling does not affect 
the finality of the judgment.

(b) If the motion for a new trial is conditionally granted and the judgment is 
reversed on appeal, the new trial proceeds unless the appellate court orders 
otherwise.

(c) If the motion for a new trial is conditionally denied, on appeal the appellee may 
assert error in that denial. If the judgment is reversed on appeal, subsequent 
proceedings are in accordance with the order of the appellate court.

(D) Motion for New Trial After Ruling. The party whose verdict has been set aside on a 
motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict may serve and file a motion for a new 
trial pursuant to MCR 2.611 within 14 days after entry of judgment. A party who fails to 
move for a new trial as provided in this subrule has waived the right to move for a new 
trial.

(E) Appeal After Denial of Motion.

(1) If the motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict is denied, the party who 
prevailed on that motion may, as appellee, assert grounds entitling that party to a new 
trial if the appellate court concludes that the trial court erred in denying the motion for 
judgment notwithstanding the verdict.
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(2) If the appellate court reverses the judgment, nothing in this rule precludes it from 
determining that the appellee is entitled to a new trial, or from directing the trial court 
to determine whether a new trial should be granted.

RULE 2.611 NEW TRIALS; AMENDMENT OF JUDGMENTS

(A) Grounds.

(1) A new trial may be granted to all or some of the parties, on all or some of the 
issues, whenever their substantial rights are materially affected, for any of the 
following reasons:

(a) Irregularity in the proceedings of the court, jury, or prevailing party, or an order 
of the court or abuse of discretion which denied the moving party a fair trial.

(b) Misconduct of the jury or of the prevailing party.

(c) Excessive or inadequate damages appearing to have been influenced by passion 
or prejudice.

(d) A verdict clearly or grossly inadequate or excessive.

(e) A verdict or decision against the great weight of the evidence or contrary to 
law.

(f) Material evidence, newly discovered, which could not with reasonable 
diligence have been discovered and produced at trial.

(g) Error of law occurring in the proceedings, or mistake of fact by the court.

(h) A ground listed in MCR 2.612 warranting a new trial.

(2) On a motion for a new trial in an action tried without a jury, the court may

(a) set aside the judgment if one has been entered,

(b) take additional testimony,

(c) amend findings of fact and conclusions of law, or

(d) make new findings and conclusions and direct the entry of a new judgment.

(B) Time for Motion. A motion for a new trial made under this rule or a motion to alter or 
amend a judgment must be filed and served within 21 days after entry of the judgment.

(C) On Initiative of Court. Within 21 days after entry of a judgment, the court on its own 
initiative may order a new trial for a reason for which it might have granted a new trial on 
motion of a party. The order must specify the grounds on which it is based.

(D) Affidavits.

(1) If the facts stated in the motion for a new trial or to amend the judgment do not 
appear on the record of the action, the motion must be supported by affidavit, which 
must be filed and served with the motion.
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(2) The opposing party has 21 days after service within which to file and serve 
opposing affidavits. The period may be extended by the parties by written stipulation 
for 21 additional days, or may be extended or shortened by the court for good cause 
shown.

(3) The court may permit reply affidavits and may call and examine witnesses.

(E) Remittitur and Additur.

(1) If the court finds that the only error in the trial is the inadequacy or excessiveness 
of the verdict, it may deny a motion for new trial on condition that within 14 days the 
nonmoving party consent in writing to the entry of judgment in an amount found by 
the court to be the lowest (if the verdict was inadequate) or highest (if the verdict was 
excessive) amount the evidence will support.

(2) If the moving party appeals, the agreement in no way prejudices the nonmoving 
party's argument on appeal that the original verdict was correct. If the nonmoving 
party prevails, the original verdict may be reinstated by the appellate court.

(F) Ruling on Motion. In ruling on a motion for a new trial or a motion to amend the 
judgment, the court shall give a concise statement of the reasons for the ruling, either in an 
order or opinion filed in the action or on the record.

(G) Notice of Decision. The clerk must notify the parties of the decision on the motion for 
a new trial, unless the decision is made on the record while the parties are present.

RULE 2.612 RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT OR ORDER

(A) Clerical Mistakes.

(1) Clerical mistakes in judgments, orders, or other parts of the record and errors 
arising from oversight or omission may be corrected by the court at any time on its 
own initiative or on motion of a party and after notice, if the court orders it.

(2) If a claim of appeal is filed or an appellate court grants leave to appeal, the trial 
court may correct errors as provided in MCR 7.208(A) and (C).

(B) Defendant Not Personally Notified. A defendant over whom personal jurisdiction was 
necessary and acquired, but who did not in fact have knowledge of the pendency of the 
action, may enter an appearance within 1 year after final judgment, and if the defendant 
shows reason justifying relief from the judgment and innocent third persons will not be 
prejudiced, the court may relieve the defendant from the judgment, order, or proceedings 
for which personal jurisdiction was necessary, on payment of costs or on conditions the 
court deems just.

(C) Grounds for Relief From Judgment.
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(1) On motion and on just terms, the court may relieve a party or the legal 
representative of a party from a final judgment, order, or proceeding on the following 
grounds:

(a) Mistake, inadvertence, surprise, or excusable neglect.

(b) Newly discovered evidence which by due diligence could not have been 
discovered in time to move for a new trial under MCR 2.611(B).

(c) Fraud (intrinsic or extrinsic), misrepresentation, or other misconduct of an 
adverse party.

(d) The judgment is void.

(e) The judgment has been satisfied, released, or discharged; a prior judgment on 
which it is based has been reversed or otherwise vacated; or it is no longer 
equitable that the judgment should have prospective application.

(f) Any other reason justifying relief from the operation of the judgment.

(2) The motion must be made within a reasonable time, and, for the grounds stated in 
subrules (C)(1)(a), (b), and (c), within one year after the judgment, order, or 
proceeding was entered or taken. Except as provided in MCR 2.614(A)(1), a motion 
under this subrule does not affect the finality of a judgment or suspend its operation.

(3) This subrule does not limit the power of a court to entertain an independent action 
to relieve a party from a judgment, order, or proceeding; to grant relief to a defendant 
not actually personally notified as provided in subrule (B); or to set aside a judgment 
for fraud on the court.

(4) The procedure for obtaining relief from a judgment shall be by motion as 
prescribed in these rules or by an independent action. Relief may not be sought or 
obtained by the writs of coram vobis, audita querela, bills of review, or bills in the 
nature of a bill of review.

RULE 2.613 LIMITATIONS ON CORRECTIONS OF ERROR

(A) Harmless Error. An error in the admission or the exclusion of evidence, an error in a 
ruling or order, or an error or defect in anything done or omitted by the court or by the 
parties is not ground for granting a new trial, for setting aside a verdict, or for vacating, 
modifying, or otherwise disturbing a judgment or order, unless refusal to take this action 
appears to the court inconsistent with substantial justice.

(B) Correction of Error by Other Judges. A judgment or order may be set aside or vacated, 
and a proceeding under a judgment or order may be stayed, only by the judge who entered 
the judgment or order, unless that judge is absent or unable to act. If the judge who entered 
the judgment or order is absent or unable to act, an order vacating or setting aside the 
judgment or order or staying proceedings under the judgment or order may be entered by a 
judge otherwise empowered to rule in the matter.
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(C) Review of Findings by Trial Court. Findings of fact by the trial court may not be set 
aside unless clearly erroneous. In the application of this principle, regard shall be given to 
the special opportunity of the trial court to judge the credibility of the witnesses who 
appeared before it.

RULE 2.614 STAY OF PROCEEDINGS TO ENFORCE JUDGMENT

(A) Automatic Stay; Exceptions: Injunctions, Receiverships, and Family Litigation.

(1) Except as provided in this rule, execution may not issue on a judgment and 
proceedings may not be taken for its enforcement until 21 days after a final judgment 
(as defined in MCR 7.202[6]) is entered in the case. If a motion for new trial, a motion 
for rehearing or reconsideration, or a motion for other relief from judgment is filed and 
served within 21 days after entry of the judgment or within further time the trial court 
has allowed for good cause during that 21-day period, execution may not issue on the 
judgment and proceedings may not be taken for its enforcement until the expiration of 
21 days after the entry of the order deciding the motion, unless otherwise ordered by 
the court on motion for good cause. Nothing in this rule prohibits the court from 
enjoining the transfer or disposition of property during the 21-day period.

(2) The following orders may be enforced immediately after entry unless the court 
orders otherwise on motion for good cause:

(a) A temporary restraining order.

(b) A preliminary injunction.

(c) Injunctive relief included in a final judgment.

(d) An interlocutory order in a receivership action.

(e) In a domestic relations action, an order before judgment concerning the 
custody, control, and management of property; for temporary alimony; or for 
support or custody of minor children and expenses.

(3) Subrule (C) governs the suspending, modifying, restoring, or granting of an 
injunction during the pendency of an appeal.

(B) Stay on Motion for Relief From Judgment. In its discretion and on proper conditions 
for the security of the adverse party, the court may stay the execution of, or proceedings to 
enforce, a judgment pending the disposition of a motion for relief from a judgment or 
order under MCR 2.612.

(C) Injunction Pending Appeal. If an appeal is taken from an interlocutory or final 
judgment granting, dissolving, or denying an injunction, the court may suspend, modify, 
restore, or grant an injunction during the pendency of the appeal on terms as to bond or 
otherwise that are proper for the security of the adverse party's rights.

(D) Stay on Appeal. Stay on appeal is governed by MCR 7.108, 7.209, and 7.305(I). If a 
party appeals a trial court’s denial of the party’s claim of governmental immunity, the 
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party’s appeal operates as an automatic stay of any and all proceedings in the case until the 
issue of the party’s status is finally decided.

(E) Stay in Favor of Governmental Party. In an action or proceeding in which the state, an 
authorized state officer, a corporate body in charge of a state institution, or a municipal 
corporation, is a party, bond may not be required of that party as a prerequisite to taking an 
appeal or making an order staying proceedings.

(F) Power of Appellate Court Not Limited. This rule does not limit the power of the Court 
of Appeals or the Supreme Court to

(1) stay proceedings during the pendency of an appeal before them;

(2) suspend, modify, restore, or grant an injunction during the pendency of the appeal; 
or

(3) enter an order appropriate to preserve the status quo or effectiveness of the 
judgment to be entered.

(G) Stay of Judgment on Multiple Claims. When a court has ordered a final judgment on 
some, but not all, of the claims presented in the action under the conditions stated in MCR 
2.604(B), the court may

(1) stay enforcement of the judgment until the entry of a later judgment or judgments, 
and

(2) prescribe conditions necessary to secure the benefit of the judgment to the party in 
whose favor it was entered.

RULE 2.615 ENFORCEMENT OF TRIBAL JUDGMENTS

(A) The judgments, decrees, orders, warrants, subpoenas, records, and other judicial acts 
of a tribal court of a federally recognized Indian tribe are recognized, and have the same 
effect and are subject to the same procedures, defenses, and proceedings as judgments, 
decrees, orders, warrants, subpoenas, records, and other judicial acts of any court of record 
in this state, subject to the provisions of this rule.

(B) The recognition described in subrule (A) applies only if the tribe or tribal court

(1) enacts an ordinance, court rule, or other binding measure that obligates the tribal 
court to enforce the judgments, decrees, orders, warrants, subpoenas, records, and 
judicial acts of the courts of this state, and

(2) transmits the ordinance, court rule or other measure to the State Court 
Administrative Office. The State Court Administrative Office shall make available to 
state courts the material received pursuant to paragraph (B)(1).

(C) A judgment, decree, order, warrant, subpoena, record, or other judicial act of a tribal 
court of a federally recognized Indian tribe that has taken the actions described in subrule 
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(B) is presumed to be valid. To overcome that presumption, an objecting party must 
demonstrate that

(1) the tribal court lacked personal or subject-matter jurisdiction, or

(2) the judgment, decree, order, warrant, subpoena, record, or other judicial act of the 
tribal court

(a) was obtained by fraud, duress, or coercion,

(b) was obtained without fair notice or a fair hearing,

(c) is repugnant to the public policy of the State of Michigan, or

(d) is not final under the laws and procedures of the tribal court.

(D) This rule does not apply to judgments or orders that federal law requires be given full 
faith and credit.

RULE 2.620 SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT

A judgment may be shown satisfied of record in whole or in part by:

(1) filing with the clerk a satisfaction signed and acknowledged by the party or parties 
in whose favor the judgment was rendered, or their attorneys of record;

(2) payment to the clerk of the judgment, interest, and costs, if it is a money judgment 
only; or

(3) filing a motion for entry of an order that the judgment has been satisfied.

The court shall hear proofs to determine whether the order should be entered.

The clerk must, in each instance, indicate in the court records that the judgment is satisfied 
in whole or in part.

RULE 2.621 PROCEEDINGS SUPPLEMENTARY TO JUDGMENT

(A) Relief Under These Rules. When a party to a civil action obtains a money judgment, 
that party may, by motion in that action or by a separate civil action:

(1) obtain the relief formerly obtainable by a creditor's bill;

(2) obtain relief supplementary to judgment under MCL 600.6101-600.6143 and

(3) obtain other relief in aid of execution authorized by statute or court rule.

(B) Pleading.

(1) If the motion or complaint seeks to reach an equitable interest of a debtor, it must 
be verified, and

(a) state the amount due the creditor on the judgment, over and above all just 
claims of the debtor by way of setoff or otherwise, and
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(b) show that the debtor has equitable interests exceeding $100 in value.

(2) The judgment creditor may obtain relief under MCL 600.6110, and discovery 
under subchapter 2.300 of these rules.

(C) Subpoenas and Orders. A subpoena or order to enjoin the transfer of assets pursuant to 
MCL 600.6119 must be served under MCR 2.105. The subpoena must specify the amount 
claimed by the judgment creditor. The court shall endorse its approval of the issuance of 
the subpoena on the original subpoena, which must be filed in the action. The subrule does 
not apply to subpoenas for ordinary witnesses.

(D) Order Directing Delivery of Property or Money.

(1) When a court orders the payment of money or delivery of personal property to an 
officer who has possession of the writ of execution, the order may be entered on notice 
the court deems just, or without notice.

(2) If a receiver has been appointed, or a receivership has been extended to the 
supplementary proceeding, the order may direct the payment of money or delivery of 
property to the receiver.

(E) Receivers. When necessary to protect the rights of a judgment creditor, the court may, 
under MCR 2.622, appoint a receiver in a proceeding under subrule (A)(2), pending the 
determination of the proceeding.

(F) Violation of Injunction. The court may punish for contempt a person who violates the 
restraining provision of an order or subpoena or, if the person is not the judgment debtor, 
may enter judgment against the person in the amount of the unpaid portion of the 
judgment and costs allowed by law or these rules or in the amount of the value of the 
property transferred, whichever is less.

(G) New Proceeding. If there has been a prior supplementary proceeding with respect to 
the same judgment against the party, whether the judgment debtor or another person, 
further proceedings may be commenced against that party only by leave of court. Leave 
may be granted on ex parte motion of the judgment creditor, but only on a finding by the 
court, based on affidavit of the judgment creditor or another person having personal 
knowledge of the facts, other than the attorney of the judgment creditor. The affidavit 
must state that

(1) there is reason to believe that the party against whom the proceeding is sought to 
be commenced has property or income the creditor is entitled to reach, or, if a third 
party, is indebted to the judgment debtor;

(2) the existence of the property, income, or indebtedness was not known to the 
judgment creditor during the pendency of a prior supplementary proceeding; and

(3) the additional supplementary proceeding is sought in good faith to discover assets 
and not to harass the judgment debtor or third party.
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(H) Appeal; Procedure; Bonds. A final order entered in a supplementary proceeding may 
be appealed in the usual manner. The appeal is governed by the provisions of chapter 7 of 
these rules except as modified by this subrule.

(1) The appellant must give a bond to the effect that he or she will pay all costs and 
damages that may be awarded against him or her on the appeal. If the appeal is by the 
judgment creditor, the amount of the bond may not exceed $200, and subrules (H)(2)-
(4) do not apply. If the appeal is by a party other than the judgment creditor, subrules 
(H)(2)-(4) apply.

(2) If the order appealed from is for the payment of money or the delivery of property, 
the bond of the appellant must be in an amount at least double the amount of the 
money or property ordered to be paid or delivered. The bond must be on the condition 
that if the order appealed from is affirmed in whole or in part the appellant will

(a) pay the amount directed to be paid or deliver the property in as good condition 
as it is at the time of the appeal, and

(b) pay all damages and costs that may be awarded against the appellant.

(3) If the order appealed from directs the assignment or delivery of documents by the 
appellant, the documents must be delivered to the clerk of the court in which the 
proceeding is pending or placed in the hands of an officer or receiver, as the judge who 
entered the order directs, to await the appeal, subject to the order of the appellate 
courts.

(4) If the order appealed from directs the sale of real estate of the appellant or delivery 
of possession by the appellant, the appeal bond must also provide that during the 
possession of the property by the appellant, or any person holding under the appellant, 
he or she will not commit or suffer any waste of the property, and that if the order is 
affirmed he or she will pay the value of the use of the property from the time of appeal 
until the delivery of possession.

RULE 2.622 RECEIVERS

(A) Appointment of Receiver. Upon the motion of a party or on its own initiative, and for 
good cause shown, the court may appoint a receiver as provided by law. A receiver 
appointed under this section is a fiduciary for the benefit of all persons appearing in the 
action or proceeding. For purposes of this rule, “receivership estate” means the entity, 
person, or property subject to the receivership.

(B) Selection of Receiver. If the court determines there is good cause to appoint a receiver, 
the court shall select the receiver in accordance with this subrule. Every receiver selected 
by the court must have sufficient competence, qualifications, and experience to administer 
the receivership estate. 

(1) Stipulated Receiver or No Objection Raised. The moving party may request, or the 
parties may stipulate to, the selection of a receiver. The moving party shall describe 
how the nominated receiver meets the requirement in subsection (B) that a receiver 
selected by the court have sufficient competence, qualifications, and experience to 
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administer the receivership estate, considering the factors listed in subsection (B)(5). 
If the nonmoving party does not file an objection to the moving party’s nominated 
receiver within 14 days after the petition or motion is served, or if the parties stipulate 
to the selection of a receiver, the court shall appoint the receiver nominated by the 
party or parties, unless the court finds that a different receiver should be appointed. 

(2) Receiver Appointed Sua Sponte. If the court appoints a receiver on its own 
initiative, any party may file objection to the selected receiver and submit an 
alternative nominee for appointment as receiver within 14 days after the order 
appointing the receiver is served. The objecting party shall describe how the 
alternative nominee meets the requirement in subsection (B) that a receiver selected by 
the court have sufficient competence, qualifications, and experience to administer the 
receivership estate, considering the factors listed in subsection (B)(5).

(3) Reduction in Time to Object. The court, for good cause shown, may in its 
discretion, with or without motion or notice, order the period for objection to the 
selected receiver reduced.

(4) Objections. The party filing an objection must serve it on all parties as required by 
MCR 2.107, together with a notice of hearing.

(5) If a party objects under subsection (B)(2) or the court makes an initial 
determination that a different receiver should be appointed than the receiver 
nominated by a party under subsection (B)(1), the court shall state its rationale for 
selecting a particular receiver after considering the following factors:

(a) experience in the operation and/or liquidation of the type of assets to be 
administered;

(b) relevant business, legal and receivership knowledge, if any;

(c) ability to obtain the required bonding if more than a nominal bond is required;

(d) any objections to any receiver considered for appointment;

(e) whether the receiver considered for appointment is disqualified under subrule 
(B)(6); and

(f) any other factor the court deems appropriate.

(6) Except as otherwise provided by law or by subrule (B)(7), a person or entity may 
not serve as a receiver or in any other professional capacity representing or assisting 
the receiver, if such person or entity:

(a) is a creditor or a holder of an equity security of the receivership estate:

(b) is or was an investment banker for any outstanding security of the receivership 
estate;

(c) has been, within three years before the date of the appointment of a receiver, an 
investment banker for a security of the receivership estate, or an attorney for such 
an investment banker, in connection with the offer, sale, or issuance of a security 
of the receivership estate;
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(d) is or was, within two years before the date of the appointment of a receiver, a 
director, an officer, or an employee of the receivership estate or of an investment 
banker specified in subrule (b) or (c) of this section, unless the court finds the 
appointment is in the best interest of the receivership estate and that there is no 
actual conflict of interest by reason of the employment;

(e) has an interest materially adverse to the interest of any class of creditors or 
equity security holders by reason of any direct or indirect relationship to, 
connection with, or interest in the receivership estate or an investment banker 
specified in subrule (b) or (c) of this section, or for any other reason;

(f) has or represents an interest adverse to the receivership estate or stands in any 
relation to the subject of the action or proceeding that would tend to interfere with 
the impartial discharge of duties as an officer of the court.

(g) has, at any time within five years before the date of the appointment of a 
receiver, represented or been employed by the receivership estate or any secured 
creditor of the receivership estate as an attorney, accountant, appraiser, or in any 
other professional capacity and the court finds an actual conflict of interest by 
reason of the representation or employment;

(h) is an “insider” as defined by MCL 566.31(i);

(i) represents or is employed by a creditor of the receivership estate and, on 
objection of an interested party, the court finds an actual conflict of interest by 
reason of the representation or employment; or

(j) has a relationship to the action or proceeding that will interfere with the 
impartial discharge of the receiver’s duties.

(7) Any person who has represented or has been employed by the receivership estate is 
eligible to serve for a specified limited purpose, if the court determines such 
employment or appointment is in the best interest of the receivership estate and if such 
professional does not represent or hold an interest materially adverse to the 
receivership estate.

(C) Order of Appointment. The order of appointment shall include provisions related to 
the following:

(1) bonding amounts and requirements as provided in subrule (G);

(2) identification of real and personal property of the receivership estate;

(3) procedures and standards related to the reasonable compensation of the receiver as 
provided in subrule (F);

(4) reports required to be produced and filed by the receiver, including the final report 
and accounting;

(5) a description of the duties, authority and powers of the receiver;

(6) a listing of property to be surrendered to the receiver; and

(7) any other provision the court deems appropriate.
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(D) Duties.

(1) Within 7 days after entry of the order of appointment, the receiver shall file an 
acceptance of receivership with the court. The acceptance shall be served on all parties 
to the action.

(2) Unless otherwise ordered, within 28 days after the filing of the acceptance of 
appointment, the receiver shall provide notice of entry of the order of appointment to 
any person or entity having a recorded interest in all or any part of the receivership 
estate.

(3) The receiver shall file with the court an inventory of the property of the 
receivership estate within 35 days after entry of the order of appointment, unless an 
inventory has already been filed.

(4) The receiver shall account for all receipts, disbursements and distributions of 
money and property of the receivership estate.

(5) If there are sufficient funds to make a distribution to a class of creditors, the 
receiver may request that each creditor in the class of all creditors file a written proof 
of claim with the court. The receiver may contest the allowance of any claim.

(6) The receiver shall furnish information concerning the receivership estate and its 
administration as reasonably requested by any party to the action or proceeding.

(7) The receiver shall file with the court a final written report and final accounting of 
the administration of the receivership estate.

(E) Powers.

(1) Except as otherwise provided by law or by the order of appointment, a receiver has 
general power to sue for and collect all debts, demands, and rents of the receivership 
estate, and to compromise or settle claims.

(2) A receiver may liquidate the personal property of the receivership estate into 
money. By separate order of the court, a receiver may sell real property of the 
receivership estate.

(3) A receiver may pay the ordinary expenses of the receivership but may not 
distribute the funds in the receivership estate to a party to the action without an order 
of the court.

(4) A receiver may only be discharged on order of the court. 

(F)Compensation and Expenses of Receiver.

(1)A receiver shall be entitled to reasonable compensation for services rendered to the 
receivership estate.

(2)The order appointing a receiver shall specify:

(a)the source and method of compensation of the receiver;
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(b)that interim compensation may be paid to the receiver after notice to all parties 
to the action or proceeding and opportunity to object as provided in subsection (5);

(c)that all compensation of the receiver is subject to final review and approval of 
the court.

(3)All approved fees and expenses incurred by a receiver, including fees and expenses 
for persons or entities retained by the receiver, shall be paid or reimbursed as provided 
in the order appointing the receiver.

(4)The receiver shall file with the court an application for payment of fees and the 
original notice of the request. The notice shall provide that fees and expenses will be 
deemed approved if no written objection is filed with the court within 7 days after 
service of the notice. The receiver shall serve the notice and a copy of the application 
on all parties to the action or proceedings, and file a proof of service with the court.

(5)The application by a receiver, for interim or final payment of fees and expenses, 
shall include:

(a)A description in reasonable detail of the services rendered, time expended, and 
expenses incurred;

(b)The amount of compensation and expenses requested;

(c)The amount of any compensation and expenses previously paid to the receiver;

(d)The amount of any compensation and expenses received by the receiver from or 
to be paid by any source other than the receivership estate;

(e)A description in reasonable detail of any agreement or understanding for a 
division or sharing of compensation between the person rendering the services and 
any other person except as permitted in subpart (6).

If written objections are filed or if, in the court’s determination, the application for 
compensation requires a hearing, the court shall schedule a hearing and notify all 
parties of the scheduled hearing.

(6)A receiver or person performing services for a receiver shall not, in any form or 
manner, share or agree to share compensation for services rendered to the receivership 
estate with any person other than a firm member, partner, employer, or regular 
associate of the person rendering the services except as authorized by order of the 
court.

(G) Bond. 

In setting an appropriate bond for the receiver, the court may consider factors including 
but not limited to:

(1)The value of the receivership estate, if known;

(2)The amount of cash or cash equivalents expected to be received into the 
receivership estate;
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(3)The amount of assets in the receivership estate on deposit in insured financial 
institutions or invested in U.S. Treasury obligations;

(4)Whether the assets in the receivership estate cannot be sold without further order of 
the court;

(5)If the receiver is an entity, whether the receiver has sufficient assets or acceptable 
errors and omissions insurance to cover any potential losses or liabilities of the 
receivership estate;

(6)The extent to which any secured creditor is undersecured;

(7)Whether the receivership estate is a single parcel of real estate involving few trade 
creditors; and

(8)Whether the parties have agreed to a nominal bond.

(H)Intervention. An interested person or entity may move to intervene. Any motion to 
intervene shall comply with MCR 2.209.

(I)Removal of Receiver. After notice and hearing, the court may remove any receiver for 
good cause shown.

RULE 2.625 TAXATION OF COSTS

(A) Right to Costs.

(1) In General. Costs will be allowed to the prevailing party in an action, unless 
prohibited by statute or by these rules or unless the court directs otherwise, for reasons 
stated in writing and filed in the action.

(2) Frivolous Claims and Defenses. In an action filed on or after October 1, 1986, if 
the court finds on motion of a party that an action or defense was frivolous, costs shall 
be awarded as provided by MCL 600.2591.

(B) Rules for Determining Prevailing Party.

(1) Actions With Several Judgments. If separate judgments are entered under MCR 
2.116 or 2.505(A) and the plaintiff prevails in one judgment in an amount and under 
circumstances which would entitle the plaintiff to costs, he or she is deemed the 
prevailing party. Costs common to more than one judgment may be allowed only 
once.

(2) Actions With Several Issues or Counts. In an action involving several issues or 
counts that state different causes of action or different defenses, the party prevailing on 
each issue or count may be allowed costs for that issue or count. If there is a single 
cause of action alleged, the party who prevails on the entire record is deemed the 
prevailing party.

(3) Actions With Several Defendants. If there are several defendants in one action, and 
judgment for or dismissal of one or more of them is entered, those defendants are 
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deemed prevailing parties, even though the plaintiff ultimately prevails over the 
remaining defendants.

(4) Costs on Review in Circuit Court. An appellant in the circuit court who improves 
his or her position on appeal is deemed the prevailing party.

(C) Costs in Certain Trivial Actions. In an action brought for damages in contract or tort in 
which the plaintiff recovers less than $100 (unless the recovery is reduced below $100 by 
a counterclaim), the plaintiff may recover costs no greater than the amount of damages.

(D) Costs When Default or Default Judgment Set Aside. The following provisions apply 
to an order setting aside a default or a default judgment:

(1) If personal jurisdiction was acquired over the defendant, the order must be 
conditioned on the defendant's paying or securing payment to the party seeking 
affirmative relief the taxable costs incurred in procuring the default or the default 
judgment and acting in reliance on it;

(2) If jurisdiction was acquired by publication, the order may be conditioned on the 
defendant's paying or securing payment to the party seeking affirmative relief all or a 
part of the costs as the court may direct;

(3) If jurisdiction was in fact not acquired, costs may not be imposed.

(E) Costs in Garnishment Proceedings Brought Pursuant to 3.101(M). Costs in 
garnishment proceedings to resolve the dispute between a plaintiff and a garnishee 
regarding the garnishee’s liability are allowed as in civil actions. Costs may be awarded to 
the garnishee defendant as follows:

(1) The court may award the garnishee defendant as costs against the plaintiff 
reasonable attorney fees and other necessary expenses the garnishee defendant 
incurred in filing the disclosure, if the issue of the garnishee defendant's liability to the 
principal defendant is not brought to trial.

(2) The court may award the garnishee defendant, against the plaintiff, the total costs 
of the garnishee defendant's defense, including all necessary expenses and reasonable 
attorney fees, if the issue of the garnishee defendant's liability to the principal 
defendant is tried and

(a) the garnishee defendant is held liable in a sum no greater than that admitted in 
disclosure, or

(b) the plaintiff fails to recover judgment against the principal defendant.

In either (a) or (b), the garnishee defendant may withhold from the amount due the 
principal defendant the sum awarded for costs, and is chargeable only for the balance.

(F) Procedure for Taxing Costs at the Time of Judgment.

(1) Costs may be taxed by the court on signing the judgment, or may be taxed by the 
clerk as provided in this subrule.
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(2)When costs are to be taxed by the clerk, the party entitled to costs must present to 
the clerk, within 28 days after the judgment is signed, or within 28 days after entry of 
an order denying a motion for new trial, a motion to set aside the judgment, a motion 
for rehearing or reconsideration, or a motion for other postjudgment relief except a 
motion under MCR 2.612(C),

(a) a bill of costs conforming to subrule (G),

(b) a copy of the bill of costs for each other party, and

(c) a list of the names and addresses of the attorneys for each party or of parties not 
represented by attorneys.

In addition, the party presenting the bill of costs shall immediately serve a copy of the bill 
and any accompanying affidavits on the other parties. Failure to present a bill of costs 
within the time prescribed constitutes a waiver of the right to costs.

(3) Within 14 days after service of the bill of costs, another party may file objections to 
it, accompanied by affidavits if appropriate. After the time for filing objections, the 
clerk must promptly examine the bill and any objections or affidavits submitted and 
allow only those items that appear to be correct, striking all charges for services that in 
the clerk's judgment were not necessary. The clerk shall notify the parties in the 
manner provided in MCR 2.107.

(4) The action of the clerk is reviewable by the court on motion of any affected party 
filed within 7 days from the date that notice of the taxing of costs was sent, but on 
review only those affidavits or objections that were presented to the clerk may be 
considered by the court.

(G) Bill of Costs; Supporting Affidavits.

(1) Each item claimed in the bill of costs, except fees of officers for services rendered, 
must be specified particularly.

(2) The bill of costs must be verified and must contain a statement that

(a) each item of cost or disbursement claimed is correct and has been necessarily 
incurred in the action, and

(b) the services for which fees have been charged were actually performed.

(3) If witness fees are claimed, an affidavit in support of the bill of costs must state the 
distance traveled and the days actually attended. If fees are claimed for a party as a 
witness, the affidavit must state that the party actually testified as a witness on the days 
listed.

(H) Taxation of Fees on Settlement. Unless otherwise specified a settlement is deemed to 
include the payment of any costs that might have been taxable.

(I) Special Costs or Damages.
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(1) In an action in which the plaintiff's claim is reduced by a counterclaim, or another 
fact appears that would entitle either party to costs, to multiple costs, or to special 
damages for delay or otherwise, the court shall, on the application of either party, have 
that fact entered in the records of the court. A taxing officer may receive no evidence 
of the matter other than a certified copy of the court records or the certificate of the 
judge who entered the judgment.

(2) Whenever multiple costs are awarded to a party, they belong to the party. Officers, 
witnesses, jurors, or other persons claiming fees for services rendered in the action are 
entitled only to the amount prescribed by law.

(3) A judgment for multiple damages under a statute entitles the prevailing party to 
single costs only, except as otherwise specially provided by statute or by these rules.

(J) Costs in Headlee Amendment Suits. A plaintiff who prevails in an action brought 
pursuant to Const 1963, art 9, § 32 shall receive from the defendant the costs incurred by 
the plaintiff in maintaining the action as authorized by MCL 600.308a(1) and (6). Costs 
include a reasonable attorney fee.

(K) Procedure for Taxing Costs and Fees After Judgment.

(1) A judgment creditor considered a prevailing party to the action under subrule (B) 
may recover from the judgment debtor(s) the taxable costs and fees expended after a 
judgment is entered, including all taxable filing fees, service fees, certification fees, 
and any other costs, fees, and disbursements associated with postjudgment actions as 
allowed by MCL 600.2405.

(2) Until the judgment is satisfied, the judgment debtor may serve on the judgment 
creditor a request to review postjudgment taxable costs and fees.

(a) Within 28 days of receipt from a judgment debtor of a request to review 
postjudgment taxable costs and fees, the judgment creditor shall file with the court 
a memorandum of postjudgment taxable costs and fees and serve the same upon 
the judgment debtor. A memorandum of postjudgment taxable costs and fees shall 
include an itemized list of postjudgment taxable costs and fees. The memorandum 
must be verified by oath under MCR 1.109(D)(3).

(b) Within 28 days after receiving the memorandum of postjudgment taxable costs 
and fees from the judgment creditor, the judgment debtor may file a motion to 
review postjudgment taxable costs and fees. Upon receipt of a timely motion, the 
court shall review the memorandum filed by the judgment creditor and issue an 
order allowing or disallowing the postjudgment costs and fees. The review may be 
conducted at a hearing at the court’s discretion. If the court disallows the 
postjudgment costs and fees or otherwise amends them in favor of the judgment 
debtor, the court may order the judgment creditor to deduct from the judgment 
balance the amount of the motion fee paid by the judgment debtor under this rule.

(c) The judgment creditor shall deduct any costs or fees disallowed by the court 
within 28 days after receipt of an order from the court disallowing the same.
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(d) Any error in adding costs or fees to the judgment balance by the judgment 
creditor or its attorney is not actionable unless there is an affirmative finding by 
the court that the costs and fees were added in bad faith.

RULE 2.626 ATTORNEY FEES

An award of attorney fees may include an award for the time and labor of any legal 
assistant who contributed nonclerical, legal support under the supervision of an attorney, provided 
the legal assistant meets the criteria set forth in Article 1, § 6 of the Bylaws of the State Bar of 
Michigan.

RULE 2.630 DISABILITY OF JUDGE

If, after a verdict is returned or findings of fact and conclusions of law are filed, the judge 
before whom an action has been tried is unable to perform the duties prescribed by these rules 
because of death, illness, or other disability, another judge regularly sitting in or assigned to the 
court in which the action was tried may perform those duties. However, if the substitute judge is 
not satisfied that he or she can do so, the substitute judge may grant a new trial.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 3.000 GENERAL PROVISIONS

RULE 3.001 APPLICABILITY AND SCOPE

The rules in this chapter apply in circuit court and in other courts as provided by law or by 
these rules. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter and law, proceedings under this chapter 
are governed by the Michigan Court Rules.

RULE 3.002 INDIAN CHILDREN

For purposes of applying the Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 et seq., and the 
Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, MCL 712B.1 et seq., to proceedings under the Juvenile 
Code, the Adoption Code, and the Estates and Protected Individuals Code, the following 
definitions taken from MCL 712B.3 and MCL 712B.7 shall apply.

(1) “Active efforts” means actions to provide remedial services and rehabilitative 
programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian family and to reunify the child 
with the Indian family. Active efforts require more than a referral to a service without 
actively engaging the Indian child and family. Active efforts include reasonable efforts as 
required by title IV-E of the social security act, 42 USC 670 to 679c, and also include 
doing or addressing all of the following:

(a) Engaging the Indian child, child’s parents, tribe, extended family members, and 
individual Indian caregivers through the utilization of culturally appropriate services 
and in collaboration with the parent or child’s Indian tribes and Indian social services 
agencies.

(b) Identifying appropriate services and helping the parents to overcome barriers to 
compliance with those services.

(c) Conducting or causing to be conducted a diligent search for extended family 
members for placement.

(d) Requesting representatives designated by the Indian child’s tribe with substantial 
knowledge of the prevailing social and cultural standards and child rearing practice 
within the tribal community to evaluate the circumstances of the Indian child’s family 
and to assist in developing a case plan that uses the resources of the Indian tribe and 
Indian community, including traditional and customary support, actions, and services, 
to address those circumstances.

(e) Completing a comprehensive assessment of the situation of the Indian child’s 
family, including a determination of the likelihood of protecting the Indian child’s 
health, safety, and welfare effectively in the Indian child’s home.
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(f) Identifying, notifying, and inviting representatives of the Indian child’s tribe to 
participate in all aspects of the Indian child custody proceeding at the earliest possible 
point in the proceeding and actively soliciting the tribe’s advice throughout the 
proceeding.

(g) Notifying and consulting with extended family members of the Indian child, 
including extended family members who were identified by the Indian child’s tribe or 
parents, to identify and to provide family structure and support for the Indian child, to 
assure cultural connections, and to serve as placement resources for the Indian child.

(h) Making arrangements to provide natural and family interaction in the most natural 
setting that can ensure the Indian child’s safety, as appropriate to the goals of the 
Indian child’s permanency plan, including, when requested by the tribe, arrangements 
for transportation and other assistance to enable family members to participate in that 
interaction.

(i) Offering and employing all available family preservation strategies and requesting 
the involvement of the Indian child’s tribe to identify those strategies and to ensure 
that those strategies are culturally appropriate to the Indian child’s tribe.

(j) Identifying community resources offering housing, financial, and transportation 
assistance and in-home support services, in-home intensive treatment services, 
community support services, and specialized services for members of the Indian 
child’s family with special needs, and providing information about those resources to 
the Indian child’s family, and actively assisting the Indian child’s family or offering 
active assistance in accessing those resources.

(k) Monitoring client progress and client participation in services.

(l) Providing a consideration of alternative ways of addressing the needs of the Indian 
child’s family, if services do not exist or if existing services are not available to the 
family.

 (2)“Child custody proceeding” shall mean and include

(a) “foster-care placement,” which shall mean any action removing an Indian child 
from his or her parent or Indian custodian for temporary placement in a foster home or 
institution or the home of a guardian or conservator where the parent or Indian 
custodian cannot have the child returned upon demand, but where parental rights have 
not been terminated, 

(b) “termination of parental rights,” which shall mean any action resulting in the 
termination of the parent-child relationship, 

(c) “preadoptive placement,” which shall mean the temporary placement of an Indian 
child in a foster home or institution after the termination of parental rights, but before 
or in lieu of adoptive placement, and 

(d) “adoptive placement,” which shall mean the permanent placement of an Indian 
child for adoption, including any action resulting in a final decree of adoption. 
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Such term or terms shall not include a placement based upon an act that, if committed 
by an adult, would be deemed a crime or upon an award, in a divorce proceeding, of 
custody to one of the parents.

(3) “Court” means the family division of circuit court or the probate court.

(4) “Culturally appropriate services” means services that enhance an Indian child’s and 
family’s relationship to, identification, and connection with the Indian child’s tribe. 
Culturally appropriate services should provide the opportunity to practice the teachings, 
beliefs, customs, and ceremonies of the Indian child’s tribe so those may be incorporated 
into the Indian child’s daily life, as well as services that address the issues that have 
brought the child and family to the attention of the department that are consistent with the 
tribe’s beliefs about child rearing, child development, and family wellness. Culturally 
appropriate services may involve tribal representatives, extended family members, tribal 
elders, spiritual and cultural advisors, tribal social services, individual Indian caregivers, 
medicine men or women, and natural healers. If the Indian child’s tribe establishes a 
different definition of culturally appropriate services, the court shall follow the tribe’s 
definition.

(5) “Department” means the department of health and human services or any successor 
department or agency.

(6)“Exclusive jurisdiction” shall mean that an Indian tribe has jurisdiction exclusive as to 
any state over any child custody proceeding as defined above involving an Indian child 
who resides or is domiciled within the reservation of such tribe, except where such 
jurisdiction is otherwise vested in the state by existing federal law. Where an Indian child 
is a ward of a tribal court, the Indian tribe retains exclusive jurisdiction, regardless of the 
residence or domicile or subsequent change in his or her residence or domicile.

(7)“Extended family member” shall be as defined by the law or custom of the Indian 
child’s tribe or, in the absence of such law or custom, shall be a person who has reached 
the age of 18 years and who is the Indian child’s grandparent, aunt or uncle, brother or 
sister, brother-in-law or sister-in-law, niece or nephew, first or second cousin, or 
stepparent and includes the term “relative” as that term is defined in MCL 712A.13a(1)(j).

(8)“Foster home or institution” means a child caring institution as that term is defined in 
section 1 of 1973 PA 116, MCL 722.111.

(9) “Guardian” means a person who has qualified as a guardian of a minor under a 
parental or spousal nomination or a court order issued under section 19a or 19c of chapter 
XIIA, section 5204 or 5205 of the estates and protected individuals code, 1998 PA 386, 
MCL 700.5204 and 700.5205, or sections 600 to 644 of the mental health code, 1974 PA 
258, MCL 330.1600 to 330.1644. Guardian may also include a person appointed by a 
tribal court under tribal code or custom. Guardian does not include a guardian ad litem.
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(10)“Guardian ad litem” means an individual whom the court appoints to assist the court 
in determining the child’s best interests. A guardian ad litem does not need to be an 
attorney.

(11)“Indian” means any member of any Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized 
group or community of Indians recognized as eligible for the services provided to Indians 
by the secretary because of their status as Indians, including any Alaska native village as 
defined in section 1602(c) of the Alaska native claims settlement act, 43 USC 1602.

(12)“Indian child” means any unmarried person who is under age 18 and is either

(a) a member of an Indian tribe, or 

(b)is eligible for membership in an Indian tribe as determined by that Indian tribe. 

(13)“Indian child’s tribe” means

(a)the Indian tribe in which an Indian child is a member or eligible for membership, or 

(b)in the case of an Indian child who is a member of or eligible for membership in 
more than one tribe, the Indian tribe with which the Indian child has the most 
significant contacts.

(14)“Indian child welfare act” means the Indian child welfare act of 1978, 25 USC 1901 to 
1963.

(15)“Indian custodian” means any Indian person who has custody of an Indian child under 
tribal law or custom or under state law, or to whom temporary physical care, custody, and 
control have been transferred by the child’s parent.

(16)“Indian organization” means any group, association, partnership, corporation, or other 
legal entity owned or controlled by Indians, or a majority of whose members are Indians.

(17)“Indian tribe” means any Indian tribe, band, nation, or other organized group or 
community of Indians recognized as eligible for the services provided to Indians by the 
Secretary because of their status as Indians, including any Alaska Native village as 
defined in section 43 USC 1602(c).

(18)“Lawyer-guardian ad litem” means an attorney appointed under MCL 712B.21 to 
represent the child with the powers and duties as set forth in MCL 712A.17d. The 
provisions of MCL 712A.17d also apply to a lawyer-guardian ad litem appointed for the 
purposes of MIFPA under each of the following:

(a) MCL 700.5213 and 700.5219,

(b)MCL 722.24, and

(c) MCL 722.630.
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(19)“Official tribal representative” means an individual who is designated by the Indian 
child’s tribe to represent the tribe in a court overseeing a child custody proceeding. An 
official tribal representative does not need to be an attorney.

(20)“Parent” means any biological parent or parents of an Indian child or any Indian 
person who has lawfully adopted an Indian child, including adoptions under tribal law or 
custom. It does not include the putative father if paternity has not been acknowledged or 
established.

(21)“Reservation” means Indian country as defined in section 18 USC 1151 and any lands 
not covered under such section, for which title is either held by the United States in trust 
for the benefit of any Indian tribe or individual or held by any Indian tribe or individual 
subject to a restriction by the United States against alienation.

(22)“Secretary” means the Secretary of the Interior.

(23)“Tribal court” means a court with jurisdiction over child custody proceedings and that 
is either a Court of Indian Offenses, a court established and operated under the code or 
custom of an Indian tribe, or any other administrative body of a tribe that is vested with 
authority over child custody proceedings.

(24)“Ward of tribal court” means a child over whom an Indian tribe exercises authority by 
official action in tribal court or by the governing body of the tribe.

SUBCHAPTER 3.100 DEBTOR-CREDITOR

RULE 3.101 GARNISHMENT AFTER JUDGMENT

(A) Definitions. In this rule,

(1) “plaintiff” refers to any judgment creditor, 

(2) “defendant” refers to any judgment debtor,

(3) “garnishee” refers to the garnishee defendant,

(4) “periodic payments” includes but is not limited to, wages, salary, commissions, 
bonuses, and other income paid to the defendant during the period of the writ; land 
contract payments; rent; and other periodic debt or contract payments. Interest 
payments and other payments listed in MCL 600.4012(14)(a)-(d) are not periodic 
payments. 

(B) Postjudgment Garnishments.

(1) Periodic garnishments are garnishments of periodic payments, as provided in this 
rule.
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(a) Unless otherwise ordered by the court, a writ of periodic garnishment served on 
a garnishee who is obligated to make periodic payments to the defendant is 
effective until the first to occur of the following events:

(i) the amount withheld pursuant to the writ equals the amount of the unpaid 
judgment, interest, and costs stated in the verified statement in support of the 
writ; however, if the plaintiff has sent a statement to the garnishee in 
accordance with MCL 600.4012(5)(a), the balance on which may include 
additional interest and costs, the periodic garnishment is effective until the 
balance on the most recent statement is withheld or

(ii) the plaintiff files and serves on the defendant and the garnishee a notice 
that the amount withheld exceeds the remaining unpaid judgment, interest, and 
costs, or that the judgment has otherwise been satisfied.

(b) The plaintiff may not obtain the issuance of a second writ of garnishment on a 
garnishee who is obligated to make periodic payments to the defendant while a 
prior writ served on that garnishee remains in effect relating to the same judgment. 

(c) If a writ of periodic garnishment is served on a garnishee who is obligated to 
make periodic payments to the defendant while another order that has priority 
under MCL 600.4012(2) is in effect, or if a writ or order with higher priority is 
served on the garnishee while another writ is in effect, the garnishee is not 
obligated to withhold payments pursuant to the lower priority writ until the higher 
priority writ ceases to be effective under subrule (B)(1)(a). However, in the case of 
garnishment of earnings, the garnishee shall withhold pursuant to the lower 
priority writ to the extent that the amount being withheld pursuant to the higher 
priority order is less than the maximum that could be withheld by law pursuant to 
the lower priority writ (see, e.g., 15 USC 1673). Upon the expiration of the higher 
priority writ, the lower priority one becomes effective until it ceases to be effective 
under subrule (B)(1)(a). The garnishee shall notify the plaintiff of receipt of any 
higher priority writ or order and provide the information required by subrule 
(H)(2)(c).

(2) Nonperiodic garnishments are garnishments of property or obligations other than 
periodic payments.

(C) Forms. The State Court Administrative Office shall publish approved forms for use in 
garnishment proceedings. The verified request and writ forms and the garnishment release 
form approved by the State Court Administrative Office must be used. Where e-Filing is 
implemented, when a request and writ form is filed with a court, the instructions and blank 
proof of service must not be filed. The disclosure filed in garnishment proceedings must 
be substantially in the form approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

(D) Request for and Issuance of Writ. The clerk of the court that entered the judgment 
shall review the request. The clerk shall issue a writ of garnishment if the writ appears to 
be correct, complies with these rules and the Michigan statutes, and if the plaintiff, or 
someone on the plaintiff's behalf, makes and files a statement verified in the manner 
provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3) stating:
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(1) that a judgment has been entered against the defendant and remains unsatisfied;

(2) the amount of the judgment; the total amount of the postjudgment interest accrued 
to date; the total amount of the postjudgment costs accrued to date, which may include 
the costs associated with filing the current writ of garnishment; the total amount of the 
postjudgment payments made to date, and the amount of the unsatisfied judgment now 
due (including interest and costs), which may include the costs associated with filing 
the current writ of garnishment;

(3) that the person signing the verified statement knows or has good reason to believe 
that

(a) a named person has control of property belonging to the defendant, 

(b) a named person is indebted to the defendant, or

(c) a named person is obligated to make periodic payments to the defendant.

(4) whether the garnishee is to make all payments directly to the plaintiff or the 
plaintiff's attorney or to send the funds to the court.

(E) Writ of Garnishment.

(1) The writ of garnishment and the verified request for issuance of the writ must be 
included on the same form. The writ must include information that will permit the 
garnishee to identify the defendant, such as the defendant's address, social security 
number, employee identification number, federal tax identification number, employer 
number, or account number, if known.

(2) Upon issuance of the writ, it shall be served upon the garnishee as provided in 
subrule (F)(1). The writ shall include the date on which it was issued and the last day 
by which it must be served to be valid, which is 182 days after it was issued.

(3) The writ shall direct the garnishee to:

(a) serve a copy of the writ on the defendant as provided in subrule (F)(2);

(b) within 14 days after the service of the writ, file with the court clerk a verified 
disclosure indicating the garnishee's liability (as specified in subrule [G][1]) to the 
defendant and mail or deliver a copy to the plaintiff and the defendant;

(c) deliver no tangible or intangible property to the defendant, unless allowed by 
statute or court rule;

(d) pay no obligation to the defendant, unless allowed by statute or court rule; and

(e) in accordance with subrule (J), either make all payments directly to the plaintiff 
or the plaintiff’s attorney or send the funds to the court, as specified by the plaintiff 
in the request under subrule (D)(4).

(4) The writ shall direct the defendant to refrain from disposing of

(a) any negotiable instrument representing a debt of the garnishee (except the 
earnings of the defendant), or
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(b) any negotiable instrument of title representing property in which the defendant 
claims an interest held in the possession or control of the garnishee.

(5) The writ shall inform the defendant that unless the defendant files objections 
within 14 days after the service of the writ on the defendant or as otherwise provided 
under MCL 600.4012,

(a) without further notice the property or debt held under the garnishment may be 
applied to the satisfaction of the plaintiff's judgment, and

(b) periodic payments due to the defendant may be withheld and paid according to 
subrule (3)(e) until the judgment is satisfied.

(6) The writ shall direct the plaintiff to serve the garnishee as provided in subrule 
(F)(1), and to file a proof of service.

(F) Service of Writ.

(1) The plaintiff shall serve the writ of garnishment, a copy of the writ for the 
defendant, the disclosure form, and any applicable fees, on the garnishee within 182 
days after the date the writ was issued in the manner provided for the service of a 
summons and complaint in MCR 2.105, except that service upon the state treasurer 
may be made in the manner provided under subrule (3).

(2) The garnishee shall within 7 days after being served with the writ deliver a copy of 
the writ to the defendant or mail a copy to the defendant at the defendant's last known 
address by first class mail.

(3) Unless service is subject to electronic filing under MCR 1.109(G), service upon the 
state treasurer or any designated employee may be completed electronically in a 
manner provided under guidelines established by the state treasurer. Guidelines 
established under this subsection shall be published on the department of treasury’s 
website and shall identify, at a minimum, each acceptable method of electronic 
service, the requirements necessary to complete service, and the address or location 
for each acceptable method of service. For purposes of this subsection:   

(i) Electronic service authorized under the guidelines shall include magnetic 
media, e-mail, and any other method permitted at the discretion of the state 
treasurer. 

(ii) Service in the manner provided under this subsection shall be treated as 
completed as of the date and time submitted by the plaintiff, except that any 
submission made on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday shall be deemed to be 
served on the next business day.     

(G) Liability of Garnishee.

(1) Subject to the provisions of the garnishment statute and any setoff permitted by 
law or these rules, the garnishee is liable for

(a) all tangible or intangible property belonging to the defendant in the garnishee's 
possession or control when the writ is served on the garnishee, unless the property 
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is represented by a negotiable document of title held by a bona fide purchaser for 
value other than the defendant;

(b) all negotiable documents of title and all goods represented by negotiable 
documents of title belonging to the defendant if the documents of title are in the 
garnishee's possession when the writ is served on the garnishee;

(c) all corporate share certificates belonging to the defendant in the garnishee's 
possession or control when the writ is served on the garnishee;

(d) all debts, whether or not due, owing by the garnishee to the defendant when the 
writ is served on the garnishee, except for debts evidenced by negotiable 
instruments or representing the earnings of the defendant;

(e) all debts owing by the garnishee evidenced by negotiable instruments held or 
owned by the defendant when the writ of garnishment is served on the defendant, 
as long as the instruments are brought before the court before their negotiation to a 
bona fide purchaser for value;

(f) the portion of the defendant's earnings that are not protected from garnishment 
by law (see, e.g., 15 USC 1673) as provided in subrule (B);

(g) all judgments in favor of the defendant against the garnishee in force when the 
writ is served on the garnishee;

(h) all tangible or intangible property of the defendant that, when the writ is served 
on the garnishee, the garnishee holds by conveyance, transfer, or title that is void 
as to creditors of the defendant, whether or not the defendant could maintain an 
action against the garnishee to recover the property; and

(i) the value of all tangible or intangible property of the defendant that, before the 
writ is served on the garnishee, the garnishee received or held by conveyance, 
transfer, or title that was void as to creditors of the defendant, but that the 
garnishee no longer held at the time the writ was served, whether or not the 
defendant could maintain an action against the garnishee for the value of the 
property.

(2) The garnishee is liable for no more than the amount of the unpaid judgment, 
interest, and costs as stated in the verified statement requesting the writ of garnishment 
unless a statement is sent to the garnishee in accordance with MCL 600.4012(5)(a), in 
which case the garnishee is liable for the amount of the remaining judgment balance as 
provided in the most recent statement. Property or debts exceeding that amount may 
be delivered or paid to the defendant notwithstanding the garnishment.

(H) Disclosure. The garnishee shall file with the court and deliver to the plaintiff and 
defendant, a verified disclosure within 14 days after being served with the writ.

(1) Nonperiodic Garnishments.

(a) If indebted to the defendant, the garnishee shall file a disclosure revealing the 
garnishee's liability to the defendant as specified in subrule (G)(1) and claiming 



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 201   Updated April 26, 2024 

any setoff that the garnishee would have against the defendant, except for claims 
for unliquidated damages for wrongs or injuries.

(b) If not indebted to the defendant, the garnishee shall file a disclosure so 
indicating.

(c)If the garnishee is indebted to the defendant, but claims that withholding is 
exempt under MCR 3.101(I)(6), the garnishee shall indicate on the disclosure the 
specific exemption. If the garnishee is indebted, but claims that withholding is 
exempt for some reason other than those set forth in MCR 3.101(I)(6), the 
garnishee shall indicate on the disclosure the basis for its claim of exemption and 
cite the legal authority for the exemption.

(2) Periodic Garnishments.

(a) If not obligated to make periodic payments to the defendant, the disclosure 
shall so indicate, and the garnishment shall be considered to have expired.

(b) If obligated to make periodic payments to the defendant, the disclosure shall 
indicate the nature and frequency of the garnishee's obligation. The information 
must be disclosed even if money is not owing at the time of the service of the writ.

(c) If a writ or order with a higher priority is in effect, in the disclosure the 
garnishee shall specify the court that issued the writ or order, the file number of the 
case in which it was issued, the date it was issued, and the date it was served.

(I) Withholding. This subrule applies only if the garnishee is indebted to or obligated 
to make periodic payments to the defendant.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, the writ shall be effective as to 
obligations owed and property held by the garnishee as of the time the writ is 
served on the garnishee.

(2) In the case of periodic earnings, withholding shall commence according to the 
following provisions:

(a) For garnishees with weekly, biweekly, or semimonthly pay periods, 
withholding shall commence with the first full pay period after the writ was 
served.

(b) For garnishees with monthly pay periods, if the writ is served on the 
garnishee within the first 14 days of the pay period, withholding shall 
commence on the date the writ is served. If the writ is served on the garnishee 
on or after the 15th day of the pay period, withholding shall commence the first 
full pay period after the writ was served.

(3) In the case of periodic earnings, withholding shall cease when the periodic 
garnishment becomes no longer effective under subrule (B)(1).

(4) At the time that a periodic payment is withheld, the garnishee shall provide the 
following information to the plaintiff and defendant:

(a) the name of the parties;

(b) the case number;
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(c) the date and amount withheld;

(d) the balance due on the writ.

The information shall also be provided to the court if funds are sent to the court.

(5) If funds have not been withheld because a higher priority writ or order was in 
effect, and the higher priority writ ceases to be effective before the lower priority writ 
ceases to be effective, the garnishee shall begin withholding pursuant to the lower 
priority writ as of the date that the higher priority writ ceases to be effective.

(6) A bank or other financial institution, as garnishee, shall not withhold exempt funds 
of the debtor from an account into which only exempt funds are directly deposited and 
where such funds are clearly identifiable upon deposit as exempt Social Security 
benefits, Supplemental Security Income benefits, Railroad Retirement benefits, Black 
Lung benefits, or Veterans Assistance benefits.

(J) Payment.

(1) After 28 days from the date of the service of the writ on the garnishee, the 
garnishee shall transmit all withheld funds to the plaintiff, plaintiff’s attorney, or the 
court as directed by the court pursuant to subrule (E)(3)(e) unless notified that 
objections have been filed.

(2) For periodic garnishments, all future payments shall be paid as they become due as 
directed by the court pursuant to subrule (E)(3)(e) until the garnishment ceases to be 
effective under subrule (B)(1).

(3) Upon receipt of proceeds from the writ, the court shall forward such proceeds to 
the plaintiff.

(4) Payment to the plaintiff may not exceed the amount of the unpaid judgment, 
interest, and costs stated in the verified statement requesting the writ of garnishment; 
however, if the plaintiff has sent a statement to the garnishee in accordance with MCL 
600.4012(5)(a), the balance on which may include additional interest and costs, the 
garnishee shall pay to the plaintiff the amount provided in the most recent statement.

(5) In the case of earnings, the garnishee shall maintain a record of all payment 
calculations and shall make such information available for review by the plaintiff, the 
defendant, or the court, upon request.

(6) For periodic garnishments, within 14 days after the writ ceases to be effective 
under subrule (B)(1) or after the garnishee is no longer obligated to make periodic 
payments, the garnishee shall file with the court and mail or deliver to the plaintiff and 
the defendant, a final statement of the total amount paid on the writ. If the garnishee is 
the defendant's employer, the statement is to be filed within 14 days after the writ 
cease to be effective, regardless of changes in employment status during the time that 
the writ was in effect. The statement shall include the following information:

(a) the names of the parties and the court in which the case is pending;

(b) the case number;
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(c) the date of the statement;

(d) the total amount withheld.

(7) If the disclosure states that the garnishee holds property other than money 
belonging to the defendant, the plaintiff must proceed by motion (with notice to the 
defendant and the garnishee) to seek an appropriate order regarding application of the 
property to satisfaction of the judgment. If there are no pending objections to the 
garnishment, and the plaintiff has not filed such a motion within 56 days after the 
filing of the disclosure, the garnishment is dissolved and the garnishee may release the 
property to the defendant.

(K) Objections.

(1) Objections shall be filed with the court within 14 days of the date of service of the 
writ on the defendant or within 14 days of the date of the most recent statement sent to 
the defendant pursuant to MCL 600.4012(5)(a). Objections may be filed after the time 
provided in this subrule but do not suspend payment pursuant to subrule (J) unless 
ordered by the court. Objections may only be based on defects in or the invalidity of 
the garnishment proceeding itself or the balance provided on the statement sent 
pursuant to MCL 600.4012(5)(a), and may not be used to challenge the validity of the 
judgment previously entered.

(2) Objections shall be based on one or more of the following:

(a) the funds or property are exempt from garnishment by law;

(b) garnishment is precluded by the pendency of bankruptcy proceedings;

(c) garnishment is barred by an installment payment order;

(d) garnishment is precluded because the maximum amount permitted by law is 
being withheld pursuant to a higher priority garnishment or order;

(e) the judgment has been paid;

(f) the garnishment was not properly issued or is otherwise invalid;

(g) the balance on the statement sent pursuant to MCL 600.4012(5)(a) is incorrect.

(3) Within 7 days of the filing of objections, notice of the date of hearing on the 
objections shall be sent to the plaintiff, the defendant, and the garnishee. The hearing 
date shall be within 21 days of the date the objections are filed. In district court, notice 
shall be sent by the court. In circuit and probate court, notice shall be sent by the 
objecting party.

(4) The court shall notify the plaintiff, the defendant, and the garnishee of the court's 
decision.

(L) Steps After Disclosure; Third Parties; Interpleader; Discovery.

(1) Within 14 days after service of the disclosure, the plaintiff may serve the garnishee 
with written interrogatories or notice the deposition of the garnishee. The answers to 
the interrogatories or the deposition testimony becomes part of the disclosure.
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(2) If the garnishee's disclosure declares that a named person other than the defendant 
and the plaintiff claims all or part of the disclosed indebtedness or property, the court 
may order that the claimant be added as a defendant in the garnishment action under 
MCR 2.207. The garnishee may proceed under MCR 3.603 as in interpleader actions, 
and other claimants may move to intervene under MCR 2.209.

(3) The discovery rules apply to garnishment proceedings.

(4) The filing of a disclosure, the filing of answers to interrogatories, or the personal 
appearance by or on behalf of the garnishee at a deposition does not waive the 
garnishee's right to question the court's jurisdiction, the validity of the proceeding, or 
the plaintiff's right to judgment.

(M) Determination of Garnishee’s Liability.

(1) If there is a dispute regarding the garnishee's liability or if another person claims an 
interest in the garnishee's property or obligation, the issue shall be tried in the same 
manner as other civil actions.

(2) The verified statement acts as the plaintiff's complaint against the garnishee, and 
the disclosure serves as the answer. The facts stated in the disclosure must be accepted 
as true unless the plaintiff has served interrogatories or noticed a deposition within the 
time allowed by subrule (L)(1) or another party has filed a pleading or motion denying 
the accuracy of the disclosure. Except as the facts stated in the verified statement are 
admitted by the disclosure, they are denied. Admissions have the effect of admissions 
in responsive pleadings. The defendant and other claimants added under subrule (L)(2) 
may plead their claims and defenses as in other civil actions. The garnishee's liability 
to the plaintiff shall be tried on the issues thus framed.

(3) Even if the amount of the garnishee's liability is disputed, the plaintiff may move 
for judgment against the garnishee to the extent of the admissions in the disclosure. 
The general motion practice rules govern notice (including notice to the garnishee and 
the defendant) and hearing on the motion.

(4) The issues between the plaintiff and the garnishee will be tried by the court unless 
a party files a demand for a jury trial within 7 days after the filing of the disclosure, 
answers to interrogatories, or deposition transcript, whichever is filed last. The 
defendant or a third party waives any right to a jury trial unless a demand for a jury is 
filed with the pleading stating the claim.

(5) On the trial of the garnishee's liability, the plaintiff may offer the record of the 
garnishment proceeding and other evidence. The garnishee may offer evidence not 
controverting the disclosure, or in the discretion of the court, may show error or 
mistakes in the disclosure.

(6) If the court determines that the garnishee is indebted to the defendant, but the time 
for payment has not arrived, a judgment may not be entered until after the time of 
maturity stated in the verdict or finding.

(N) Orders for Installment Payments.
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(1) An order for installment payments under MCL 600.6201 et seq. suspends the 
effectiveness of a writ of garnishment of periodic payments for work and labor 
performed by the defendant from the time the order is served on the garnishee. An 
order for installment payments does not suspend the effectiveness of a writ of 
garnishment of nonperiodic payments or of an income tax refund or credit. 

(2) If an order terminating the installment payment order is entered and served on the 
garnishee, the writ again becomes effective and retains its priority and remains in force 
as if the installment payment order had never been entered.

(O) Judgment and Execution.

(1) Judgment may be entered against the garnishee for the payment of money or the 
delivery of specific property as the facts warrant. A money judgment against the 
garnishee may not be entered in an amount greater than the amount of the unpaid 
judgment, interest, and costs as stated in the verified statement requesting the writ of 
garnishment. Judgment for specific property may be enforced only to the extent 
necessary to satisfy the judgment against the defendant.

(2) The judgment against the garnishee discharges the garnishee from all demands by 
the defendant for the money paid or property delivered in satisfaction of the judgment. 
If the garnishee is sued by the defendant for anything done under the provisions of 
these garnishment rules, the garnishee may introduce as evidence the judgment and the 
satisfaction.

(3) If the garnishee is chargeable for specific property that the garnishee holds for or is 
bound to deliver to the defendant, judgment may be entered and execution issued 
against the interest of the defendant in the property for no more than is necessary to 
satisfy the judgment against the defendant. The garnishee must deliver the property to 
the officer serving the execution, who shall sell, apply, and account as in other 
executions.

(4) If the garnishee is found to be under contract for the delivery of specific property to 
the defendant, judgment may be entered and execution issued against the interest of 
the defendant in the property for no more than is necessary to satisfy the judgment 
against the defendant. The garnishee must deliver the property to the officer serving 
the execution according to the terms of the contract. The officer shall sell, apply, and 
account as in ordinary execution.

(5) If the garnishee is chargeable for specific property and refuses to expose it so that 
execution may be levied on it, the court may order the garnishee to show cause why 
general execution should not issue against the garnishee. Unless sufficient cause is 
shown to the contrary, the court may order that an execution be issued against the 
garnishee in an amount not to exceed twice the value of the specifically chargeable 
property.

(6) The court may issue execution against the defendant for the full amount due the 
plaintiff on the judgment against the defendant. Execution against the garnishee may 
not be ordered by separate writ, but must always be ordered by endorsement on or by 
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incorporation within the writ of execution against the defendant. The court may order 
additional execution to satisfy the plaintiff's judgment as justice requires.

(7) Satisfaction of all or part of the judgment against the garnishee constitutes 
satisfaction of a judgment to the same extent against the defendant.

(P) Appeals. A judgment or order in a garnishment proceeding may be set aside or 
appealed in the same manner and with the same effect as judgments or orders in other civil 
actions.

(Q) Receivership.

(1) If on disclosure or trial of a garnishee's liability, it appears that when the writ was 
served the garnishee possessed,

(a) a written promise for the payment of money or the delivery of property 
belonging to the defendant, or

(b) personal property belonging to the defendant, the court may order the garnishee 
to deliver it to a person appointed as receiver.

(2) The receiver must

(a) collect the written promise for payment of money or for the delivery of 
property and apply the proceeds on any judgment in favor of the plaintiff against 
the garnishee and pay any surplus to the garnishee, and

(b) dispose of the property in an amount greater than any encumbrance on it can be 
obtained, and after paying the amount of the encumbrance, apply the balance to the 
plaintiff's judgment against the garnishee and pay any surplus to the garnishee.

(3) If the garnishee refuses to comply with the delivery order, the garnishee is liable 
for the amount of the written promise for the payment of money, the value of the 
promise for the delivery of property, or the value of the defendant’s interest in the 
encumbered personal property. The facts of the refusal and the valuation must be 
included in the receiver's report to the court.

(4) The receiver shall report all actions pertaining to the promise or property to the 
court. The report must include a description and valuation of any property, with the 
valuation to be ascertained by appraisal on oath or in a manner the court may direct.

(R) Costs and Fees.

(1) Costs and fees are as provided by law or these rules.

(2) Within 28 days after receipt of the disclosure filed pursuant to subrule (H) by a 
garnishee of a periodic garnishment disclosing that it does not employ the defendant 
and is not otherwise liable for periodic payments, or from a garnishee of a nonperiodic 
garnishment disclosing that it does not hold property subject to garnishment and the 
defendant is not indebted to the garnishee, the plaintiff shall deduct any costs 
associated with that garnishment that may have been added to the judgment balance 
pursuant to MCR 2.625(K), unless the court otherwise directs.
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(S) Failure to Disclose or to Do Other Acts; Default; Contempt.

(1) For garnishments filed under MCR 3.101(B)(2) (nonperiodic):

(a) If the garnishee fails to disclose or do a required act within the time limit 
imposed, a default may be taken as in other civil actions. A default judgment 
against a garnishee may not exceed the amount of the garnishee's liability as 
provided in subrule (G)(2).

(b) If the garnishee fails to comply with the court order, the garnishee may be 
adjudged in contempt of court.

(2) For garnishments filed under MCR 3.101(B)(1) (periodic):

MCL 600.4012 (6)-(10) governs default, default judgments, and motions to set aside 
default judgments for periodic garnishments.

(3) The court may impose costs on a garnishee whose default or contempt results in 
expense to other parties. Costs imposed shall include reasonable attorney fees and 
shall not be less than $100.

(4) This rule shall not apply to nonperiodic garnishments filed for an income tax 
refund or credit.

(T) Judicial Discretion. On motion the court may by order extend the time for:

(1) the garnishee’s disclosure;

(2) the plaintiff’s filing of written interrogatories;

(3) the plaintiff’s filing of a demand for oral examination of the garnishee;

(4) the garnishee’s answer to written interrogatories;

(5) the garnishee’s appearance for oral examination; and

(6) the demand for jury trial.

The order must be filed with the court and served on the other parties.

RULE 3.102 GARNISHMENT BEFORE JUDGMENT

(A) Availability of Prejudgment Garnishment.

(1) After commencing an action on a contract, the plaintiff may obtain a prejudgment 
writ of garnishment under the circumstances and by the procedures provided in this 
rule.

(2) Except as provided in subrule (A)(3), a prejudgment garnishment may not be used

(a) unless the defendant is subject to the jurisdiction of the court under chapter 7 of 
the Revised Judicature Act, MCL 600.701 et seq.; 

(b) to garnish a defendant's earnings; or

(c) to garnish property held or an obligation owed by the state or a governmental 
unit of the state.
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(3) This rule also applies to a prejudgment garnishment in an action brought to enforce 
a foreign judgment. However, the following provisions apply:

(a) The defendant need not be subject to the court's jurisdiction;

(b) The request for garnishment must show that

(i) the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff on a foreign judgment in a stated 
amount in excess of all setoffs;

(ii) the defendant is not subject to the jurisdiction of the state, or that after 
diligent effort the plaintiff cannot serve the defendant with process; and

(iii) the person making the request knows or has good reason to believe that a 
named person

(A) has control of property belonging to the defendant, or

(B) is indebted to the defendant.

(c) Subrule (H) does not apply.

(B) Request for Garnishment. After commencing an action, the plaintiff may seek a writ 
of garnishment by filing an ex parte motion supported by a verified statement setting forth 
specific facts showing that:

(1) the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff on a contract in a stated amount in excess 
of all setoffs;

(2) the defendant is subject to the jurisdiction of the state;

(3) after diligent effort the plaintiff cannot serve the defendant with process; and

(4) the person signing the statement knows or has good reason to believe that a named 
person

(a) has control of property belonging to the defendant, or

(b) is indebted to the defendant.

On a finding that the writ is available under this rule and that the verified statement 
states a sufficient basis for issuance of the writ, the judge to whom the action is 
assigned may issue the writ.

(C) Writ of Garnishment. The writ of garnishment must have attached or include a copy of 
the verified statement, and must:

(1) direct the garnishee to:

(a) file with the court clerk within 14 days after the service of the writ on him or 
her a verified disclosure indicating his or her liability (as specified in subrule [E]) 
to the defendant;

(b) deliver no tangible or intangible property to the defendant, unless allowed by 
statute or court rule;

(c) pay no obligation to the defendant, unless allowed by statute or court rule; and
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(d) promptly provide the defendant with a copy of the writ and verified statement 
by personal delivery or by first class mail directed to the defendant's last known 
address;

(2) direct the defendant to refrain from disposing of any negotiable instrument 
representing a debt of the garnishee or of any negotiable instrument of title 
representing property in which he or she claims an interest held in the possession or 
control of the garnishee;

(3) inform the defendant that unless the defendant files objections within 14 days after 
service of the writ on the defendant, or appears and submits to the jurisdiction of the 
court, an order may enter requiring the garnishee to deliver the garnished property or 
pay the obligation to be applied to the satisfaction of the plaintiff's claim; and

(4) command the process server to serve the writ and to file a proof of service.

(D) Service of Writ. MCR 3.101(F) applies to prejudgment garnishment.

(E) Liability of Garnishee. MCR 3.101(G) applies to prejudgment garnishment except that 
the earnings of the defendant may not be garnished before judgment.

(F) Disclosure. The garnishee shall file and serve a disclosure as provided in MCR 
3.101(H).

(G) Payment or Deposit Into Court. MCR 3.101(I) and (J) apply to prejudgment 
garnishment, except that payment may not be made to the plaintiff until after entry of 
judgment, as provided in subrule (I).

(H) Objection; Dissolution of Prejudgment Garnishment. Objections to and dissolution of 
a prejudgment garnishment are governed by MCR 3.101(K) and MCR 3.103(H).

(I) Proceedings After Judgment.

(1) If the garnishment remains in effect until entry of judgment in favor of the plaintiff 
against the defendant, the garnished property or obligation may be applied to the 
satisfaction of the judgment in the manner provided in MCR 3.101(I), (J), (M), and 
(O).

(2) MCR 3.101(P) and (Q) and MCR 3.103(I)(2) apply to prejudgment garnishment.

(J) Costs and Fees; Default; Contempt; Judicial Discretion. MCR 3.101(R), (S), and (T) 
apply to prejudgment garnishment.

RULE 3.103 ATTACHMENT

(A) Availability of Writ. After commencing an action, the plaintiff may obtain a writ of 
attachment under the circumstances and by the procedures provided in this rule. Except in 
an action brought on a foreign judgment, attachment may not be used unless the defendant 
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is subject to the jurisdiction of the court under chapter 7 of the Revised Judicature Act. 
MCL 600.701 et seq.

(B) Motion for Writ.

(1) The plaintiff may seek a writ of attachment by filing an ex parte motion supported 
by an affidavit setting forth specific facts showing that

(a) at the time of the execution of the affidavit the defendant is indebted to the 
plaintiff in a stated amount on a contract in excess of all setoffs,

(b) the defendant is subject to the judicial jurisdiction of the state, and

(c) after diligent effort the plaintiff cannot serve the defendant with process.

In an action brought on a tort claim or a foreign judgment, subrules (B)(2) and (3), 
respectively, apply.

(2) In a tort action the following provisions apply:

(a) Instead of the allegations required by subrule (B)(1)(a), the affidavit in support 
of the motion must describe the injury claimed and state that the affiant in good 
faith believes that the defendant is liable to the plaintiff in a stated amount. The 
other requirements of subrule (B)(1) apply.

(b) If the writ is issued the court shall specify the amount or value of property to be 
attached.

(3) In an action brought on a foreign judgment, instead of the allegations required by 
subrule (B)(1), the affidavit in support of the motion must show that

(a) the defendant is indebted to the plaintiff on a foreign judgment in a stated 
amount in excess of all setoffs,

(b) the defendant is not subject to the jurisdiction of the state or that after diligent 
effort the plaintiff cannot serve the defendant with process.

(C) Issuance of Writ.

(1) On a finding that the writ is available under this rule and that the affidavit states a 
sufficient basis for issuance of the writ, the judge to whom the action is assigned may 
issue the writ.

(2) The judge's order shall specify what further steps, if any, must be taken by the 
plaintiff to notify the defendant of the action and the attachment.

(D) Contents of Writ. The writ of attachment must command the sheriff or other officer to 
whom it is directed

(1) to attach so much of the defendant's real and personal property not exempt from 
execution as is necessary to satisfy the plaintiff's demand and costs, and

(2) to keep the property in a secure place to satisfy any judgment that may be 
recovered by the plaintiff in the action until further order of the court.
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(E) Execution of Writ; Subsequent Attachments.

(1) The sheriff or other officer to whom a writ of attachment is directed shall execute 
the writ by seizing and holding so much of the defendant's property not exempt from 
execution, wherever found within the county, as is necessary to satisfy the plaintiff's 
demand and costs. If insufficient property is seized, then the officer shall seize other 
property of the defendant not exempt from execution, wherever found within 
Michigan, as is necessary when added to that already seized, to satisfy the plaintiff's 
demand and costs. The property seized must be inventoried by the officer and 
appraised by two disinterested residents of the county in which the property was 
seized. After being sworn under oath to make a true appraisal, the appraisers shall 
make and sign an appraisal. The inventory and appraisal must be filed and a copy 
served on the parties under MCR 2.107.

(2) In subsequent attachments of the same property while in the hands of the officer, 
the original inventory and appraisal satisfy the requirement of subrule (E)(1).

(F) Attachment of Realty; Stock.

(1) The officer may seize an interest in real estate by depositing a certified copy of the 
writ of attachment, including a description of the land affected, with the register of 
deeds for the county in which the land is located. It is not necessary that the officer 
enter on the land or be within view of it.

(2) Shares of stock or the interest of a stockholder in a domestic corporation must be 
seized in the manner provided for the seizure of that property on execution.

(G) Animals or Perishable Property; Sale; Distribution of Proceeds.

(1) When any of the property attached consists of animals or perishable property, the 
court may order the property sold and the money from the sale brought into court, to 
await the order of the court.

(2) After the order for a sale is entered, the officer having the property shall advertise 
and sell it in the manner that personal property of like character is required to be 
advertised and sold on execution. The officer shall deposit the proceeds with the clerk 
of the court in which the action is pending.

(3) If the plaintiff recovers judgment, the court may order the money paid to the 
plaintiff. If the judgment is entered against the plaintiff or the suit is dismissed or the 
attachment is dissolved, the court shall order the money paid to the defendant or other 
person entitled to it.

(H) Dissolution of Attachment.

(1) Except in an action brought on a foreign judgment, if the defendant submits to the 
jurisdiction of the court, the court shall dissolve the attachment.

(2) A person who owns, possesses, or has an interest in attached property may move at 
any time to dissolve the attachment. The defendant may move to dissolve the 
attachment without submitting to the jurisdiction of the court.
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(a) When a motion for dissolution of attachment is filed, the court shall enter an 
order setting a time and place for hearing the motion, and may issue subpoenas to 
compel witnesses to attend.

(b) The plaintiff must be served with notice under MCR 2.107 at least 3 days 
before the hearing unless the court's order prescribes a different notice 
requirement.

(c) At the hearing, the proofs are heard in the same manner as in a nonjury trial. If 
the court decides that the defendant was not subject to the jurisdiction of the state 
or that the property was not subject to or was exempt from attachment, it shall 
dissolve the attachment and restore the property to the defendant, and the 
attachment may be dissolved for any other sufficient reason. The court may order 
the losing party to pay the costs of the dissolution proceeding.

(3) If the action is dismissed or judgment is entered for the defendant, the attachment 
is dissolved.

(I) Satisfaction of Judgment.

(1) If the attachment remains in effect until the entry of judgment against the 
defendant, the attached property may be applied to the satisfaction of the judgment, 
including interest and costs, in the same manner as in the case of an execution.

(2) If the court does not acquire personal jurisdiction over the defendant, either by 
service or by the defendant's appearance, a judgment against the defendant is not 
binding beyond the value of the attached property.

RULE 3.104 INSTALLMENT PAYMENT ORDERS

(A) Motion for Installment Payment Order. A party against whom a money judgment has 
been entered may move for entry of an order permitting the judgment to be paid in 
installments in accordance with MCL 600.6201 et seq. A copy of the motion must be 
served on the plaintiff.

(B) Consideration of Motion. The motion will be granted without further hearing unless 
the plaintiff files, and serves on the defendant, written objections within 14 days after the 
service date of the defendant's motion. If objections are filed, the clerk must promptly 
present the motion and objections to the court. The court will decide the motion based on 
the documents filed or notify the parties that a hearing will be required. Unless the court 
schedules the hearing, the moving party is responsible for noticing the motion for hearing.

(C) Failure to Comply with Installment Order. If the defendant fails to make payments 
pursuant to the order for installment payments, the plaintiff may file and serve on the 
defendant a motion to set aside the order for installment payments. Unless a hearing is 
requested within 14 days after service of the motion, the order to set aside the order for 
installment payments will be entered.
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(D) Request After Failure to Comply with Previous Order. If the defendant moves for an 
order for installment payments within 91 days after a previous installment order has been 
set aside, unless good cause is shown the court shall assess costs against the defendant as a 
condition of entry of the new order.

RULE 3.105 CLAIM AND DELIVERY

(A) Nature of Action; Replevin. Claim and delivery is a civil action to recover

(1) possession of goods or chattels which have been unlawfully taken or unlawfully 
detained, and

(2) damages sustained by the unlawful taking or unlawful detention.

A statutory reference to the action of replevin is to be construed as a reference to the 
action of claim and delivery.

(B) Rules Applicable. A claim and delivery action is governed by the rules applicable to 
other civil actions, except as provided in MCL 600.2920, and this rule.

(C) Complaint; Joinder of Claims; Interim Payments. A claim and delivery complaint 
must:

(1) specifically describe the property claimed;

(2) state the value of the property claimed (which will be used only to set the amount 
of bond and not as an admission of value);

(3) state if the property claimed is an independent piece of property or a portion of 
divisible property of uniform kind, quality, and value; and

(4) specifically describe the nature of the claim and the basis for the judgment 
requested.

If the action is based on a security agreement, a claim for the debt may be joined as a 
separate count in the complaint. If the plaintiff, while the action is pending, receives 
interim payments equal to the amount originally claimed, the action must be 
dismissed.

(D) Answer. An answer to a claim and delivery complaint may concede the claim for 
possession and yet contest any other claim.

(E) Possession Pending Final Judgment.

(1) Motion for Possession Pending Final Judgment. After the complaint is filed, the 
plaintiff may file a verified motion requesting possession pending final judgment. The 
motion must

(a) describe the property to be seized, and
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(b) state sufficient facts to show that the property described will be damaged, 
destroyed, concealed, disposed of, or used so as to substantially impair its value, 
before final judgment unless the property is taken into custody by court order.

(2) Court Order Pending Hearing. After a motion for possession pending final 
judgment is filed, the court, if good cause is shown, must order the defendant to

(a) refrain from damaging, destroying, concealing, disposing of, or using so as to 
substantially impair its value, the property until further order of the court; and

(b) appear before the court at a specified time to answer the motion.

(3) Hearing on Motion for Possession Pending Final Judgment.

(a) At least 7 days before a hearing on a motion filed under this subrule, the 
defendant must be served with

(i) a copy of the motion; and

(ii) an order entered under subrule (E)(2).

(b) At the hearing, each party may present proofs. To obtain possession before 
judgment, the plaintiff must establish

(i) that the plaintiff’s right to possession is probably valid; and

(ii) that the property will be damaged, destroyed, concealed, disposed of, or 
used so as to substantially impair its value, before trial.

(c) Adjournment. A court may not

(i) grant an adjournment of this hearing on the basis that a defendant has not 
yet answered the complaint or the motion filed under this subrule; or

(ii) allow a hearing on this motion if the hearing date has been adjourned more 
than 56 days with the assent of the plaintiff, unless the plaintiff files a new 
motion which includes recitations of any payments made by the defendant 
after the original motion was filed.

(4) Order for Custody Pending Final Judgment. After proofs have been taken on the 
plaintiff's motion for possession pending final judgment, the court may order whatever 
relief the evidence requires. This includes:

(a) denying the motion;

(b) leaving the defendant in possession of the property and restraining the 
defendant from damaging, destroying, concealing, or disposing of the property. 

The court may condition the defendant's continued possession by requiring the 
defendant to

(i) furnish a penalty bond, payable to the plaintiff, of not less than $100 and at 
least twice the value of the property stated in the complaint; and

(ii) agree that he or she will surrender the property to the person adjudged 
entitled to possession and will pay any money that may be recovered against 
him or her in the action;
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(c) ordering the sheriff or court officer to seize the property within 21 days and 
either hold it or deliver it to the plaintiff. The court may condition the plaintiff's 
possession by requiring the plaintiff to

(i) furnish a penalty bond payable to the defendant, and to the sheriff or court 
officer, of not less than $100 and at least twice the value of the property stated 
in the complaint; and

(ii) agree that he or she will surrender the property to the person adjudged 
entitled to possession, diligently prosecute the suit to final judgment, and pay 
any money that may be recovered against him or her in the action.

A bond required in a claim and delivery action must be approved by and filed with 
the court within the time the order provides.

(F) Seizure. A copy of an order issued under subrule (E)(4)(c) must be delivered to the 
sheriff or court officer, who must

(1) seize the property described in the order;

(2) serve a copy of the order on the defendant, under MCR 2.107; and

(3) file a return with the court showing seizure and service.

(G) Custody; Delivery. After seizing the property, the sheriff or court officer shall keep it 
in a secure place and deliver it in accordance with the court order. The sheriff or court 
officer is entitled to receive the lawful fees for seizing the property and the necessary 
expenses for seizing and keeping it.

(H) Judgment.

(1) The judgment must determine

(a) the party entitled to possession of the property,

(b) the value of the property,

(c) the amount of any unpaid debt, and

(d) any damages to be awarded.

(2) If the property is not in the possession of the party who is entitled to possession, a 
judgment must order the property to be immediately delivered to that party.

(3) If the action is tried on the merits, the value of the property and the damages are 
determined by the trier of fact.

(4) If the defendant has been deprived of the property by a prejudgment order and the 
main action is dismissed, the defendant may apply to the court for default judgment 
under MCR 2.603.

(5) If the plaintiff takes a default judgment, the value of the property and the damages 
are determined under MCR 2.603. A defendant who appeared at a show-cause 
proceeding is deemed to have filed an appearance.
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(6) The party adjudged entitled to possession of the property described may elect to 
take judgment for the value of the property instead of possession. The judgment value 
may not exceed the unpaid debt, if any, secured by such property.

(7) The liability of a surety on a bond given under this rule may be determined on 
motion under MCR 3.604.

(I) Costs. Costs may be taxed in the discretion of the court. Costs may include the cost of a 
bond required by the court, and the costs of seizing and keeping the property.

(J) Execution.

(1) The execution issued on a judgment in a claim and delivery action must command 
the sheriff or court officer

(a) to levy the prevailing party's damages and costs on the property of the opposite 
party, as in other executions against property; and

(b) if the property described in the judgment is found in the possession of the 
defendant, to seize the property described in the judgment and deliver it to the 
prevailing party; or, if the property is not found in the possession of the defendant, 
to levy the value of it. The value may not exceed the total of the unpaid debt, costs, 
and damages.

(2) Execution may not issue on a judgment in a claim and delivery action if more than 
28 days have passed from the signing of the judgment, unless

(a) the plaintiff files a motion for execution which must include, if money has been 
paid on the judgment, the amount paid and the conditions under which it was 
accepted; and

(b) a hearing is held after the defendant has been given notice and an opportunity 
to appear.

RULE 3.106 PROCEDURES REGARDING ORDERS FOR THE SEIZURE OF PROPERTY AND ORDERS OF 
EVICTION

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule applies to orders for the seizure of property and orders of 
eviction.

(B) Persons Who May Seize Property or Conduct Evictions. The persons who may seize 
property or conduct evictions are those persons named in MCR 2.103(B), and they are 
subject to the provisions of this rule unless a provision or a statute specifies otherwise.

(1) A court may provide that property shall be seized and evictions conducted only by

(a) court officers and bailiffs serving that court;

(b) sheriffs and deputy sheriffs;

(c) officers of the Department of State Police in an action in which the state is a 
party; and
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(d) police officers of an incorporated city or village in an action in which the city 
or village is a party.

(2) Each court must post, in a public place at the court, a list of those persons who are 
serving as court officers or bailiffs. The court must provide the State Court 
Administrative Office with a copy of the list and a copy of each court officer’s bond 
required under subsection (D)(1), and must notify the State Court Administrative 
Office of any changes.

(C) Appointment of Court Officers. Court officers may be appointed by a court for a term 
not to exceed 2 years.

(1) The appointment shall be made by the chief judge. Two or more chief judges may 
jointly appoint court officers for their respective courts.

(2) The appointing court must specify the nature of the court officer's employment 
relationship at the time of appointment.

(3) The appointing court must maintain a copy of each court officer's application, as 
required by the State Court Administrative Office.

(4) The State Court Administrative Office shall develop a procedure for the 
appointment and supervision of court officers, including a model application form. 
Considerations shall include, but are not limited to, an applicant's character, 
experience, and references.

(D) Conditions of Service as a Court Officer or Bailiff. Court officers and bailiffs must

(1) post a surety bond pursuant to MCR 8.204;

(2) provide the names and addresses of all financial institutions in which they deposit 
funds obtained under this rule, and the respective account numbers; and

(3) provide the names and addresses of those persons who regularly provide services 
to them in the seizure of property or evictions.

(E) Forms. The State Court Administrative Office shall publish forms approved for use 
with regard to the procedures described in this rule.

(F) Procedures Generally.

(1) All persons specified in MCR 2.103(B) must carry and display identification 
authorized by the court or the agency that they serve.

(2) A copy of the order for seizure of property or eviction shall be served on the 
defendant or the defendant's agent, or left or posted on the premises in a conspicuous 
place. If property is seized from any other location, a copy of the order shall be mailed 
to the defendant's last known address.

(G) Procedures Regarding Orders for Seizure of Property.
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(1) Orders for seizure of property shall be issued pursuant to statute and endorsed upon 
receipt.

(2) No funds may be collected pursuant to an order for seizure of property prior to 
service under subrule (F)(2).

(3) An inventory and receipt shall be prepared upon seizure of property or payment of 
funds.

(a) The original shall be filed with the court within 7 days of the seizure or 
payment.

(b) A copy shall be

(i) provided to the parties or their respective attorneys or agents and posted on 
the premises in a conspicuous place; if the property is seized from any other 
location, a copy shall be mailed to the nonprevailing party's last known 
address, and

(ii) retained by the person who seized the property.

(4) Property seized shall be disposed of according to law.

(5) Within 21 days, and as directed by the court, any money that is received shall be 
paid to the court or deposited in a trust account for payment to the prevailing party or 
that party's attorney.

(6) Costs allowed by statute shall be paid according to law.

(a) Copies of all bills and receipts for service shall be retained for one year by the 
person serving the order.

(b) Statutory collection fees shall be paid in proportion to the amount received.

(c) There shall be no payment except as provided by law.

(7) Within 14 days after the expiration of the order or satisfaction of judgment, 
whichever is first, the following shall be filed with the court and a copy provided to the 
prevailing party or that party's attorney:

(a) a report summarizing collection activities, including an accounting of all 
money or property collected,

(b) a report that collection activities will continue pursuant to statute, if applicable, 
or

(c) a report that no collection activity occurred.

(H) Procedures Regarding Orders of Eviction. Copies of all bills and receipts for services 
shall be retained by the person serving the order for one year.

RULE 3.110 STOCKHOLDERS' LIABILITY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule applies to actions brought under MCL 600.2909.
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(B) When Action May Be Brought. An action against stockholders in which it is claimed 
that they are individually liable for debts of a corporation may not be brought until:

(1) a judgment has been recovered against the corporation for the indebtedness;

(2) an execution on the judgment has been issued to the county in which the 
corporation has its principal office or carries on its business; and

(3) the execution has been returned unsatisfied in whole or in part.

(C) Order for List of Stockholders. When the conditions set out in subrule (B) are met, the 
plaintiff may apply to the court that entered the judgment to order a list of stockholders. 
The court shall enter an order to be served on the secretary or other proper officer of the 
corporation, requiring the officer, within the time provided in the order, to file a statement 
under oath listing the names and addresses of all persons who appear by the corporation 
books to have been, or who the officer has reason to believe were, stockholders when the 
debt accrued, and the amount of stock held by each of them.

(D) Commencement of Action; Complaint. An action against the stockholders to impose 
personal liability on them for the debt of the corporation may be commenced and carried 
on as other civil actions under these rules. The complaint must, among other things, state:

(1) that the plaintiff has obtained a judgment against the corporation and the amount;

(2) that execution has been issued and returned unsatisfied in whole or in part, and the 
amount remaining unpaid;

(3) that the persons named as defendants are the persons listed in the statement filed by 
the officer of the corporation under subrule (C);

(4) the amount of stock held by each defendant, or that the plaintiff could not, with 
reasonable diligence, ascertain the amounts;

(5) the consideration received by the corporation for the debt on which judgment was 
rendered;

(6) a request for judgment against the stockholders in favor of the plaintiff for the 
amount alleged to be due from the corporation.

(E) Judgment Against Corporation As Evidence. At the trial the judgment against the 
corporation and the amount remaining unpaid are prima facie evidence of the amount due 
to the plaintiff but are not evidence that the debt on which the judgment was rendered is 
one for which the defendants are personally liable.

(F) Entry of Judgment Against Defendant. If a defendant admits the facts set forth in the 
complaint or defaults by failing to answer, or if the issues are determined against the 
defendant, judgment may be entered against him or her for the amount of the judgment 
against the corporation remaining unpaid, on proof that the debt is one for which that 
defendant is personally liable as a stockholder.
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(G) Order of Apportionment; Execution. After judgment has been entered against all or 
some of the defendants, the court may apportion among these defendants the sum for 
which they have been adjudged liable pro rata according to the stock held by each. If any 
defendant fails to pay the amount apportioned against that defendant within 21 days, 
execution may issue as in other civil actions.

(H) Reapportionment. If execution is returned unsatisfied in whole or in part against any 
of the defendants as to whom apportionment has been made, the court has the power and 
the duty on application by the plaintiff to reapportion the sum remaining uncollected on 
the basis of subrule (G) among the remaining defendants adjudged liable. Execution may 
issue for the collection of these amounts.

(I) Contribution Among Stockholders. A stockholder who has been compelled to pay 
more than his or her pro rata share of the debts of the corporation, according to the amount 
of stock held, is entitled to contribution from other stockholders who are also liable for the 
debt and who have not paid their portions.

SUBCHAPTER 3.200 DOMESTIC RELATIONS ACTIONS

RULE 3.201 APPLICABILITY OF RULES

(A) Subchapter 3.200 applies to

(1) actions for divorce, separate maintenance, the annulment of marriage, the 
affirmation of marriage, paternity, support under MCL 552.451 et seq. or MCL 722.1 
et seq., the custody of minors or parenting time under MCL 722.21 et seq. or MCL 
722.1101 et seq.,

(2) an expedited proceeding to determine paternity or child support under MCL 
722.1491 et seq., or to register a foreign judgment or order under MCL 552.2101 et 
seq. or MCL 722.1101 et seq., and to

(3) proceedings that are ancillary or subsequent to the actions listed in subrules (A)(1) 
and (A)(2) and that relate to

(a) the custody of minors,

(b) parenting time with minors, or

(c) the support of minors and spouses or former spouses.

(B) As used in this subchapter with regard to child support, the terms “minor” or “child” 
may include children who have reached the age of majority, in the circumstances where 
the legislature has so provided.

(C) Except as otherwise provided in this subchapter, practice and procedure in domestic 
relations actions is governed by other applicable provisions of the Michigan Court Rules, 
except the number of interrogatories set forth in MCR 2.309(A)(2) shall be thirty-five.
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(D) When used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise indicates:

(1) “Case” means an action commenced in the family division of the circuit court by 
filing one of the following case initiating documents:

(a) an original complaint;

(b) transfer of an action from another court or tribunal;

(c) a foreign judgment or order;

(d) a petition under MCR 3.222(C);

(e) a consent judgment under MCR 3.223;

(f) a complaint and notice under MCR 3.230; or

(g) a request for entry of a consent agreement and a consent judgment or order 
under MCR 3.230.

(2) “File” means the repository for collection of the pleadings and other documents 
and materials related to a case. A file may include more than one case involving a 
family.

(3) “Jurisdiction” means the authority of the court to hear cases and make decisions 
and enter orders on cases.

(4) “Case initiating document” includes a statement, letter, or other document 
filed in lieu of a complaint to open a case and request relief under the Summary 
Support and Paternity Act, MCL 722.1491 et seq., or to register a foreign 
judgment or order under the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act, MCL 
552.2101 et seq. or the Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act, 
MCL 722.1101 et seq. 

RULE 3.202 CAPACITY TO SUE

(A) Minors and Incompetent Persons. Except as provided in subrule (B), minors and 
incompetent persons may sue and be sued as provided in MCR 2.201.

(B) Emancipated Minors. An emancipated minor may sue and be sued in the minor's own 
name, as provided in MCL 722.4e(1)(b).

RULE 3.203 SERVICE OF NOTICE AND COURT DOCUMENTS IN DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES

(A) Manner of Service. Unless otherwise required by court rule or statute, the summons 
and complaint must be served pursuant to MCR 2.105. In cases in which the court retains 
jurisdiction

(1) notice must be provided as set forth in the statute requiring the notice. Unless 
otherwise required by court rule or statute, service by mail shall be to a party's last 
known mailing address, and 
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(2) court documents and notice for which the statute or court rule does not specify the 
manner of service must be served as provided in MCR 2.107, except that service by 
mail shall be to a party's last known mailing address. 

(3) Alternative Electronic Service.

A party or an attorney may file an agreement with the friend of the court to 
authorize the friend of the court to serve notices and court papers on the party or 
attorney in accordance with MCR 2.107(C)(4).

(B) Place of Service; After Entry of Judgment or Order. When a domestic relations 
judgment or order requires the parties to inform the friend of the court office of any 
changes in their mailing address, a party's last known mailing address means the most 
recent address

(1) that the party provided in writing to the friend of the court office, or

(2) set forth in the most recent judgment or order entered in the case, or

(3) the address established by the friend of the court office pursuant to subrule (D).

(C) Place of Service; Before Entry of Judgment or Order. After a summons and complaint 
has been filed and served on a party, but before entry of a judgment or order that requires 
the parties to inform the friend of the court of any changes in their mailing address, the last 
known mailing address is the most recent address

(1) set forth in the pleadings, or

(2) that a party provides in writing to the friend of the court office.

(D) Administrative Change of Address. The friend of the court office may change a party's 
address administratively pursuant to the policy established by the state court administrator 
for that purpose when:

(1) a party’s address changes in another friend of the court office pursuant to these 
rules, or

(2) notices and court documents are returned to the friend of the court office as 
undeliverable or the friend of the court determines that a federal automated database 
has determined that mail is not deliverable to the party’s listed address.

(E) Service on Nonparties. Notice to a nonparty must be provided as set forth in the statute 
requiring the notice. Absent statutory direction, the notice may be provided by regular 
mail. Absent statutory direction, court documents initiating an action against nonparties to 
enforce a notice must be served in the same manner as a summons and complaint pursuant 
to MCR 2.105.

(F) Confidential Addresses. When a court order makes a party's address confidential, the 
party shall provide an alternative address for service of notice and court documents.
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(G) Notice to Friend of the Court. Except where electronic filing is implemented, if a child 
of the parties or a child born during the marriage is under the age of 18, or if a party is 
pregnant, or if child support or spousal support is requested, the parties must provide the 
friend of the court with a copy of all pleadings and other documents filed in the action. 
The copy must be marked “friend of the court” and submitted to the court clerk at the time 
of filing. The court clerk must send the copy to the friend of the court. Where electronic 
filing is implemented, the court and the friend of the court shall determine the manner in 
which the court will make pleadings and other documents filed in the action available to 
the friend of the court. The court and friend of the court shall not require the parties to 
provide paper copies of electronically filed pleadings.

(H) Notice to Prosecuting Attorney. In an action for divorce or separate maintenance in 
which a child of the parties or a child born during the marriage is under the age of 18, or if 
a party is pregnant, the plaintiff must serve a copy of the summons and complaint on the 
prosecuting attorney when required by law.

(I) Notice to Attorneys.

(1) Copies of notices required to be given to the parties also must be sent to the 
attorneys of record.

(2) The notice requirement of this subrule remains in effect until 21 days after 
judgment is entered or until postjudgment matters are concluded, whichever is later. 

(J) Service of Informational Pamphlet. If a child of the parties or a child born during the 
marriage is under the age of 18, or if a party is pregnant, or if child support or spousal 
support is requested, the plaintiff must serve with the complaint a copy of the friend of the 
court informational pamphlet required by MCL 552.505(1)(c). The proof of service must 
state that service of the informational pamphlet has been made. 

RULE 3.204 PROCEEDINGS AFFECTING CHILDREN

(A) Unless the court orders otherwise for good cause, if a circuit court action involving 
child support, custody, or parenting time is pending, or if the circuit court has continuing 
jurisdiction over such matters because of a prior action:

(1) A new action concerning support, custody or parenting time of the same child must 
be filed as a motion in the earlier action if the relief sought would have been available 
in the original cause of action. If the relief sought was not available in the original 
action, the new action must be filed as a new complaint.

(2) A new action for the support, custody, or parenting time of a different child of the 
same parents must be filed in the same county as the prior action if the circuit court for 
that county has jurisdiction over the new action and the new case must be assigned to 
the same judge to whom the previous action was assigned. 

(3) Whenever possible, all actions involving the custody, parenting time, and 
support of children of the same parents shall be administered together. Unless the 
court finds that good cause exists not to do so, when the court enters a final order 
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in a new action involving a new child of those parents, the order shall consolidate 
the provisions for custody, parenting time, and support for both that child and any 
children named in previous actions over which the court has jurisdiction involving 
the same parents. The order must reference the other cases and state that it 
supersedes the custody, parenting time, and support provisions of the orders 
entered previously in those cases. In the new action, the court may modify custody, 
parenting time, and support provisions in preexisting orders involving another 
child or children of the same parents, provided that the modification is supported 
by evidence presented in the new case and both parents have had an opportunity to 
be heard concerning the proposed modifications. 

(B) When more than one circuit court action involving support, custody, or parenting time 
of a child is pending, or more than one circuit court has continuing jurisdiction over those 
matters because of prior actions, a complaint for the support, custody, or parenting time of 
a different child of the same parents must be filed in whichever circuit court has 
jurisdiction to decide the new action. If more than one of the previously involved circuit 
courts would have jurisdiction to decide the new action, or if the action might be filed in 
more than one county within a circuit:

(1) The new action must be filed in the same county as a prior action involving the 
parents’ separate maintenance, divorce, or annulment.

(2) If no prior action involves separate maintenance, divorce, or annulment, the new 
action must be filed:

(a) in the county of the circuit court that has issued a judgment affecting the 
majority of the parents’ children in common, or

(b) if no circuit court for a county has issued a judgment affecting a majority of the 
parents’ children in common, then in the county of the circuit court that has issued 
the most recent judgment affecting a child of the same parents. 

(C) The court may enter an order that consolidates the custody, parenting time, and 
support provisions of multiple orders administratively when:

(1) the cases involve different children of the same parents but all other parties are the 
same, or

(2) more than one action involves the same child and parents.

The order must reference the other cases and state that it supersedes the custody, 
parenting time, and support provisions of the orders in those cases.

(D) In a case involving a dispute regarding the custody of a minor child, the court may, on 
motion of a party or on its own initiative, for good cause shown, appoint a guardian ad 
litem to represent the child and assess the costs and reasonable fees against the parties 
involved in full or in part.
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RULE 3.205 PRIOR AND SUBSEQUENT ORDERS AND JUDGMENTS AFFECTING MINORS

(A) Jurisdiction. If an order or judgment has provided for continuing jurisdiction of a 
minor and proceedings are commenced in another Michigan court having separate 
jurisdictional grounds for an action affecting that minor, a waiver or transfer of 
jurisdiction is not required for the full and valid exercise of jurisdiction by the subsequent 
court.

(B) Notice to Prior Court, Friend of the Court, Juvenile Officer, and Prosecuting Attorney.

(1) As used in this rule, “appropriate official” means the friend of the court, juvenile 
officer, or prosecuting attorney, depending on the nature of the prior or subsequent 
court action and the court involved.

(2) If a minor is known to be subject to the prior continuing jurisdiction of a Michigan 
court, the plaintiff or other initiating party must send notice of proceedings in the 
subsequent court to

(a) the clerk or register of the prior court, and

(b) the appropriate official of the prior court.

(3) The notice must be sent at least 21 days before the date set for hearing. If the fact of 
continuing jurisdiction is not then known, notice must be sent immediately when it 
becomes known.

(4) The notice requirement of this subrule is not jurisdictional and does not preclude 
the subsequent court from entering interim orders before the expiration of the 21-day 
period, if required by the best interests of the minor.

(C) Prior Orders.

(1) Each provision of a prior order remains in effect until the provision is superseded, 
changed, or terminated by a subsequent order.

(2) A subsequent court must give due consideration to prior continuing orders of other 
courts, and may not enter orders contrary to or inconsistent with such orders, except as 
provided by law.

(D) Duties of Officials of Prior and Subsequent Courts.

(1) Upon receipt of the notice required by subrule (B), the appropriate official of the 
prior court

(a) must provide the subsequent court with copies of all relevant orders then in 
effect and copies of relevant records and reports, and

(b) may appear in person at proceedings in the subsequent court, as the welfare of 
the minor and the interests of justice require.

(2) Upon request of the prior court, the appropriate official of the subsequent court
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(a) must notify the appropriate official of the prior court of all proceedings in the 
subsequent court, and

(b) must send copies of all orders entered in the subsequent court to the attention of 
the clerk or register and the appropriate official of the prior court.

(3) If a circuit court awards custody of a minor pursuant to MCL 722.26b, the clerk of 
the circuit court must send a copy of the judgment or order of disposition to the 
probate court that has prior or continuing jurisdiction of the minor as a result of the 
guardianship proceedings, regardless whether there is a request.

(4) Upon receipt of an order from the subsequent court, the appropriate official of the 
prior court must take the steps necessary to implement the order in the prior court.

RULE 3.206 INITIATING A CASE

(A) Information in Case Initiating Document.

(1) The form, captioning, signing, and verifying of documents are prescribed in MCR 
1.109(D) and (E).

(2) Except for matters considered confidential by statute or court rule, in all domestic 
relations actions, the complaint or other case initiating document must state

(a) the allegations required by applicable statutes;

(b) the residence information required by statute; and

(c) the complete names of any minors involved in the action, including all minor 
children of the parties and all minor children born during the marriage, and for 
complaints for divorce, the ages of all children born of the marriage.

(3) When any pending or resolved family division or tribal court case exists that 
involves family members of the person(s) named in the case initiation document filed 
under subrule (2), the filing party must complete and file a case inventory listing those 
cases, if known. The case inventory is confidential, not subject to service 
requirements, and is available only to the party that filed it, the filing party’s attorney, 
the court, and the friend of the court. The case inventory must be on a form approved 
by the State Court Administrative Office. This does not apply to outgoing requests to 
other states and incoming registration actions filed under the Revised Uniform 
Reciprocal Enforcement of Support Act, MCL 780.151 et seq. and the Uniform 
Interstate Family Support Act, MCL 552.2101 et seq.

(4) In an action for divorce, separate maintenance, annulment of marriage, or 
affirmation of marriage, regardless of the contentions of the parties with respect to the 
existence or validity of the marriage, the complaint also must state

(a) the names of the parties before the marriage;

(b) whether there are minor children of the parties or minor children born during 
the marriage;

(c) whether a party is pregnant;
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(d) the factual grounds for the action, except that in an action for divorce or 
separate maintenance the grounds must be stated in the statutory language, without 
further particulars; and

(e) whether there is property to be divided.

(5) A party who requests spousal support in an action for divorce, separate 
maintenance, annulment, affirmation of marriage, or spousal support, must allege facts 
sufficient to show a need for such support and that the other party is able to pay.

(6) A party who requests an order for personal protection or for the protection of 
property, including but not limited to restraining orders and injunctions against 
domestic violence, must allege facts sufficient to support the relief requested.

(B) In a case in which the custody or parenting time of a minor is to be determined or 
modified, the filing party shall file a Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Enforcement Act 
Affidavit, on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office, as required by 
MCL 722.1209(1).

(C) Verified Statement and Verified Financial Information Form.

(1) Verified Statement. In an action involving a minor, or if child support or spousal 
support is requested, the party seeking relief must provide to the friend of the court a 
verified statement containing, at a minimum, personal identifying, financial, and 
health care coverage information of the parties and minor children. A copy of the 
Verified Statement must be served on the other party. The Verified Statement must be 
completed on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

(2) Verified Financial Information Form. Unless waived in writing by the parties, or 
unless a settlement agreement or consent judgment of divorce or other final order 
disposing of the case has been signed by both parties at the time of filing, and except 
as set forth below, each party must serve a Verified Financial Information Form (as 
provided by SCAO) within 28 days following the date of service of defendant’s initial 
responsive pleading. If a party is self-represented and his or her address is not 
disclosed due to domestic violence, the parties’ Verified Financial Information forms 
will be exchanged at the first scheduled matter involving the parties or in another 
manner as specified by the court or stipulated to by the parties. A party who is a victim 
of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking by another party to the case, may omit 
any information which might lead to the location of where the victim lives or works, or 
where a minor child may be found. Failing to provide this Verified Financial 
Information form may be addressed by the court or by motion consistent with MCR 
2.313. The Verified Financial Information form does not preclude other discovery. A 
proof of service must be filed when Verified Financial Information forms are served.

(3) The information in the Verified Statement and Verified Financial Information 
forms is confidential, and is not to be released other than to the court, the parties, or the 
attorneys for the parties, except on court order. For good cause, the addresses of a 
party and minors may be omitted from the copy of the Verified Statement and Verified 
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Financial Information forms that are served on the other party. If a party excludes his 
or her address for good cause, that party shall either:

(a) submit to electronic filing and electronic service under MCR 1.109(G), or

(b) provide an alternative address where mail can be received.

(4) If any of the information required to be in the Verified Statement or Verified 
Financial Information forms is omitted, the party seeking relief must explain the 
reasons for the omission in those forms, or in a separate statement, verified under 
MCR 1.109(D)(3)(b) to be filed with the court by the due date of the form.

(5) A party who has served a Verified Financial Information form must supplement or 
correct its disclosure as ordered by the court or otherwise in a timely manner if the 
party learns that in some material respect the Verified Financial Information form is 
incomplete or incorrect, and if the additional or corrective information has not 
otherwise been made known to the other parties during the action or in writing.

(6) When the action is to establish paternity or child support and the pleadings are 
generated from Michigan’s automated child support enforcement system, the party is 
not required to comply with subrule (C)(1), (C)(2), or MCR 3.211(F)(2). However, the 
party may comply with subrule (C)(1), (C)(2), or MCR 3.211(F)(2) to provide the 
other party an opportunity to supply any omissions or correct any inaccuracies.

(D) Attorney Fees and Expenses.

(1) A party may, at any time, request that the court order the other party to pay all or 
part of the attorney fees and expenses related to the action or a specific proceeding, 
including a post-judgment proceeding.

(2) A party who requests attorney fees and expenses must allege facts sufficient to 
show that

(a) the party is unable to bear the expense of the action, including the expense of 
engaging in discovery appropriate for the matter, and that the other party is able to 
pay, or

(b) the attorney fees and expenses were incurred because the other party refused to 
comply with a previous court order, despite having the ability to comply, or 
engaged in discovery practices in violation of these rules.

RULE 3.207 EX PARTE, TEMPORARY, AND PROTECTIVE ORDERS

(A) Scope of Relief. The court may issue ex parte and temporary orders with regard to any 
matter within its jurisdiction, and may issue protective orders against domestic violence as 
provided in subchapter 3.700.

(B) Ex Parte Orders.

(1) Pending the entry of a temporary order, the court may enter an ex parte order if the 
court is satisfied by specific facts set forth in an affidavit or verified pleading that 
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irreparable injury, loss, or damage will result from the delay required to effect notice, 
or that notice itself will precipitate adverse action before an order can be issued.

(2) The moving party must arrange for the service of true copies of the ex parte order 
on the friend of the court and the other party.

(3) An ex parte order is effective upon entry and enforceable upon service.

(4) An ex parte order remains in effect until modified or superseded by a temporary or 
final order.

(5) An ex parte order providing for child support, custody, or visitation pursuant to 
MCL 722.27a, must include the following notice:

“Notice:

“1. You may file a written objection to this order or a motion to modify or rescind 
this order. You must file the written objection or motion with the clerk of the court 
within 14 days after you were served with this order. You must serve a true copy of 
the objection or motion on the friend of the court and the party who obtained the 
order.

“2. If you file a written objection, the friend of the court must try to resolve the 
dispute. If the friend of the court cannot resolve the dispute and if you wish to 
bring the matter before the court without the assistance of counsel, the friend of the 
court must provide you with form pleadings and written instructions and must 
schedule a hearing with the court.

“3. The ex parte order will automatically become a temporary order if you do not 
file a written objection or motion to modify or rescind the ex parte order and a 
request for a hearing. Even if an objection is filed, the ex parte order will remain in 
effect and must be obeyed unless changed by a later court order.”

(6) In all other cases, the ex parte order must state that it will automatically become a 
temporary order if the other party does not file a written objection or motion to modify 
or rescind the ex parte order and a request for a hearing. The written objection or 
motion and the request for a hearing must be filed with the clerk of the court, and a 
true copy provided to the friend of the court and the other party, within 14 days after 
the order is served.

(a) If there is a timely objection or motion and a request for a hearing, the hearing 
must be held within 21 days after the objection or motion and request are filed.

(b) A change that occurs after the hearing may be made retroactive to the date the 
ex parte order was entered.

(7) The provisions of MCR 3.310 apply to temporary restraining orders in domestic 
relations cases.

(C) Temporary Orders.
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(1) A request for a temporary order may be made at any time during the pendency of 
the case by filing a verified motion that sets forth facts sufficient to support the relief 
requested.

(2) A temporary order may not be issued without a hearing, unless the parties agree 
otherwise or fail to file a written objection or motion as provided in subrules (B)(5) 
and (6).

(3) A temporary order may be modified at any time during the pendency of the case, 
following a hearing and upon a showing of good cause.

(4) A temporary order must state its effective date and whether its provisions may be 
modified retroactively by a subsequent order.

(5) A temporary order remains in effect until modified or until the entry of the final 
judgment or order.

(6) A temporary order not yet satisfied is vacated by the entry of the final judgment or 
order, unless specifically continued or preserved. This does not apply to support 
arrearages that have been assigned to the state, which are preserved unless specifically 
waived or reduced by the final judgment or order.

RULE 3.208 FRIEND OF THE COURT

(A) General. The friend of the court has the powers and duties prescribed by statute, 
including those duties in the Friend of the Court Act, MCL 552.501 et seq., and the 
Support and Parenting Time Enforcement Act, MCL 552.601 et seq.

(B) Enforcement. The friend of the court is responsible for initiating proceedings to 
enforce an order or judgment for support, parenting time, or custody. The procedures in 
this subrule govern contempt proceedings under the Support and Parenting Time 
Enforcement Act. MCR 3.606 governs contempt proceedings under MCL 600.1701.

(1) If a party has failed to comply with an order or judgment, the friend of the court 
may move for an order to show cause why the party should not be held in contempt. 
Alternatively, in nonpayment of support cases and as allowed by the court, the friend 
of the court may schedule a hearing before a judge or referee for the party to show 
cause why the party should not be held in contempt.

(2) The order to show cause or the notice of the show cause hearing must be served 
personally, by ordinary mail at the party’s last known address, or in another manner 
permitted by MCR 3.203.

(3) The notice of the show cause hearing shall comply with requirements for the form 
of a subpoena under MCR 2.506(D).

(a) For the purpose of this subrule, an authorized signature is one that comports 
with MCR 1.109(E).

(b) A notice under this subrule must state the amount past due and the source of 
information regarding the past due amount and act or failure to act that constitutes 
a violation of the court order. The state court administrator shall develop and 
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approve a show cause hearing and notice form for statewide use. The show cause 
hearing and notice form may be combined in a single document. 

(c) A person must comply with the notice unless relieved by order of the court or 
written direction of the person who executed the notice.

(4) The show cause hearing may be held no sooner than seven days after the order or 
notice is served on the party. If service is by ordinary mail, the hearing may be held no 
sooner than nine days after the order or notice is mailed.

(5) The court may hold the show cause hearing without the friend of the court unless a 
party presents evidence that requires the court to receive further information from the 
friend of the court’s records before making a decision. If the party fails to appear at the 
show cause hearing, the court may issue an order for arrest.

(6) The relief available under this rule is in addition to any other relief available by 
statute.

(7) The friend of the court may petition for an order of arrest at any time, if immediate 
action is necessary.

(C) Allocation and Distribution of Payments.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, all payments shall be allocated and 
distributed as required by the guidelines established by the office of child support for 
that purpose.

(2) If the court determines that following the guidelines established by the office of 
child support would produce an unjust result in a particular case, the court may order 
that payments be made in a different manner. The order must include specific findings 
of fact that set forth the basis for the court's decision, and must direct the payer to 
designate with each payment the name of the payer and the payee, the case number, 
the amount, and the date of the order that allows the special payment.

(3) If a payer with multiple cases makes a payment directly to the friend of the court 
rather than through income withholding, the payment shall be allocated among all the 
cases unless the payer requests a different allocation in writing at the time of payment 
and provides the following information about each case for which payment is 
intended:

(a) the name of the payer,

(b) the name of the payee,

(c) the case number, and 

(d) the amount designated for that case.

(D) Exceptions to Friend of the Court Enforcement.

The friend of the court may inactivate its case and is not required to perform activities 
under the Friend of the Court Act, MCL 552.501 et seq., and the Support and Parenting 
Time Enforcement Act, MCL 552.601 et seq., when the case is no longer eligible for 
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federal funding because a party fails or refuses to take action to allow the friend of the 
court's activities to receive federal funding or because the federal child support case is 
closed pursuant to Title IV, Part D of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 651 et seq.

RULE 3.209 SUSPENSION OF ENFORCEMENT AND DISMISSAL

(A) Suspension of Enforcement.

(1) Because of a reconciliation or for any other reason, a party may file a motion to 
suspend the automatic enforcement of a support obligation by the friend of the court. 
Such a motion may be filed before or after the entry of a judgment.

(2) A support obligation cannot be suspended except by court order.

(B) Dismissal. Unless the order of dismissal specifies otherwise, dismissal of an action 
under MCR 2.502 or MCR 2.504 cancels past-due child support, except for that owed to 
the State of Michigan.

RULE 3.210 HEARINGS AND TRIALS

(A) In General.

(1) Proofs or testimony may not be taken in an action for divorce or separate 
maintenance until the expiration of the time prescribed by the applicable statute, 
except as otherwise provided by this rule.

(2) In cases of unusual hardship or compelling necessity, the court may, upon motion 
and proper showing, take testimony and render judgment at any time 60 days after 
commencing a case regardless of any stay.

(3) Testimony may be taken conditionally at any time for the purpose of perpetuating 
it.

(4) Testimony must be taken in person, except as provided in MCR 2.408(B) or when 
the court may otherwise allow testimony to be taken by telephone in extraordinary 
circumstances, or by videoconferencing technology under MCR 2.407 and MCR 
2.408.

(B) Default Cases.

(1) This subrule applies to the entry of a default and a default judgment in all cases 
governed by this subchapter.

(2) Entry of Default. 

(a) A party may request the entry of a default of another party for failure to plead 
or otherwise defend by asserting facts setting forth proof of service and failure to 
plead or otherwise defend in a written request verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). 
On filing of the request, the clerk must enter a default of the party.
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(b) The party who requested entry of the default must provide prompt notice, as 
provided by MCR 3.203, to the defaulted party and all other parties and persons 
entitled to notice that the default has been entered, and file a proof of service.

(c) Except as provided under subrule (B)(2)(d), after the default of a party has been 
entered, that party may not proceed with the action until the default has been set 
aside by the court under subrule (B)(3).

(d) The court may permit a party in default to participate in discovery as provided 
in Subchapter 2.300, file motions, and participate in court proceedings, referee 
hearings, mediations, arbitrations, and other alternative dispute resolution 
proceedings. The court may impose conditions or limitations on the defaulted 
party's participation.

(e) A party in default must be served with the notice of default and a copy of every 
document later filed in the case as provided by MCR 3.203, and the person serving 
the notice or other document must file a proof of service with the court.

(3) Setting Aside Default Before Entry of Default Judgment.

A motion to set aside a default, except when grounded on lack of jurisdiction over the 
defendant or subject matter, shall be granted only upon verified motion of the 
defaulted party showing good cause.

(4) Notice of Hearing and Motion for Entry of Default Judgment.

(a) A party moving for default judgment must schedule a hearing and serve the 
motion, notice of hearing, and a copy of the proposed judgment upon the defaulted 
party at least 14 days before the hearing on entry of the default judgment, and 
promptly file a proof of service when:

(i) the action involves entry of a judgment of divorce, separate maintenance, or 
annulment under subrule (B)(5)(a);

(ii) the proposed judgment involves a request for relief that is different from 
the relief requested in the complaint; or

(iii) the moving party does not have sufficient facts to complete the judgment 
or order without a judicial determination of the relief to which the party is 
entitled.

(b) If the action does not require a hearing under subrule (B)(4)(a) and if the relief 
can be determined based on information available to the moving party that is stated 
in or attached to the motion or complaint, the moving party for default judgment 
may either:

(i) schedule a hearing and serve the motion, notice of hearing, and a copy of 
the proposed judgment upon the defaulted party at least 14 days before the 
hearing on entry of the default judgment, and promptly file a proof of service, 
or

(ii) serve a verified motion for default judgment supporting the relief requested 
and a copy of the proposed judgment upon the defaulted party, along with a 
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notice that it will be submitted to the court for signing if no written objections 
are filed with the court clerk within 14 days. If no written objections are filed 
within 14 days after filing, the moving party shall submit the judgment or order 
to the court for entry. If objections are filed, the moving party shall notice the 
entry of default judgment for hearing. 

(c) Service under this subrule shall be made in the manner provided by MCR 3.203 
or, as permitted by the court, in any manner reasonably calculated to give the 
defaulted party actual notice of the proceedings and an opportunity to be heard. 

(d) If the default is entered for failure to appear for a scheduled trial or hearing, 
notice under this subrule is not required.

(5) Entry of Default Judgment.

(a) A judgment of divorce, separate maintenance, or annulment may not be entered 
as a matter of course on the default of a party because of failure to appear at the 
hearing or by consent, and the case must be heard in open court on proofs taken, 
except as otherwise provided by statute or court rule.

(b) Proofs for a default judgment may not be taken unless the proposed judgment 
has been given to the court. Nonmilitary affidavits required by law must be filed 
before a default judgment is entered in cases in which the defendant has failed to 
appear. A default judgment may not be entered against a minor or an incompetent 
person unless the person is represented in the action by a conservator or other 
representative, except as otherwise provided by law.

(c) The moving party may be required to present evidence sufficient to satisfy the 
court that the terms of the proposed judgment are in accordance with law. The 
court may consider relevant and material affidavits, testimony, documents, 
exhibits, or other evidence.

(d) In cases involving minor children, the court may take testimony and receive or 
consider relevant and material affidavits, testimony, documents, exhibits, or other 
evidence, as necessary, to make findings concerning the award of custody, 
parenting time, and support of the children.

(e) If the court does not approve the proposed judgment, the party who prepared it 
must, within 14 days, submit a modified judgment under MCR 2.602(B)(3), in 
conformity with the court’s ruling, or as otherwise directed by the court.

(f) Upon entry of a default judgment and as provided by MCR 3.203, the moving 
party must serve a copy of the judgment as entered by the court on the defaulted 
party within 7 days after it has been entered, and promptly file a proof of service.

(6) Setting Aside Default Judgment.

(a) A motion to set aside a default judgment, except when grounded on lack of 
jurisdiction over the defendant, lack of subject matter jurisdiction, failure to serve 
the notice of default as required by subrule (B)(2)(b), or failure to serve the 
proposed default judgment and notice of hearing for the entry of the judgment 
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under subrule (B)(4), shall be granted only if the motion is filed within 21 days 
after the default judgment was entered and if good cause is shown.

(b) In addition, the court may set aside a default judgment or modify the terms of 
the judgment in accordance with statute or MCR 2.612.

(7) Costs. An order setting aside the default or default judgment must be conditioned 
on the defaulted party paying the taxable costs incurred by the other party in reliance 
on the default or default judgment, except as prescribed in MCR 2.625(D). The order 
may also impose other conditions, including imposition of a reasonable attorney fee.

(C) Custody of a Minor.

(1) When the custody of a minor is contested, a hearing on the matter must be held 
within 56 days

(a) after the court orders, or

(b) after the filing of notice that a custody hearing is requested, unless both parties 
agree to mediation under MCL 552.513 and mediation is unsuccessful, in which 
event the hearing must be held within 56 days after the final mediation session.

(2) If a custody action is assigned to a probate judge pursuant to MCL 722.26b, a 
hearing on the matter must be held by the probate judge within 56 days after the case is 
assigned.

(3) The court must enter a decision within 28 days after the hearing.

(4) The notice required by this subrule may be filed as a separate document, or may be 
included in another paper filed in the action if the notice is mentioned in the caption.

(5) The court may interview the child privately to determine if the child is of sufficient 
age to express a preference regarding custody, and, if so, the reasonable preference of 
the child. The court shall focus the interview on these determinations, and the 
information received shall be applied only to the reasonable preference factor. 

(6) If a report has been submitted by the friend of the court, the court must give the 
parties an opportunity to review the report and to file objections before a decision is 
entered.

(7) The court may extend for good cause the time within which a hearing must be held 
and a decision rendered under this subrule.

(8) In deciding whether an evidentiary hearing is necessary with regard to a 
postjudgment motion to change custody, the court must determine, by requiring an 
offer of proof or otherwise, whether there are contested factual issues that must be 
resolved in order for the court to make an informed decision on the motion.

(D) The court must make findings of fact as provided in MCR 2.517, except that

(1) findings of fact and conclusions of law are required on contested postjudgment 
motions to modify a final judgment or order, and
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(2) the court may distribute pension, retirement, and other deferred compensation 
rights with a qualified domestic relations order, without first making a finding with 
regard to the value of those rights.

(E) Consent Judgment.

(1) At a hearing that involves entry of a judgment of divorce, separate maintenance, or 
annulment under subrule (B)(5)(a), or at any time for all other actions, any party may 
present to the court for entry a judgment approved as to form and content and signed 
by all parties and their attorneys of record.

(2) If the court determines that the proposed consent judgment is not in accordance 
with law, the parties shall submit a modified consent judgment in conformity with the 
court’s ruling within 14 days, or as otherwise directed by the court.

(3) Upon entry of a consent judgment and as provided by MCR 3.203, the moving 
party must serve a copy of the judgment as entered by the court on all other parties 
within 7 days after it has been entered and promptly file a proof of service.

RULE 3.211 JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS

(A) Each separate subject in a judgment or order must be set forth in a separate paragraph 
that is prefaced by an appropriate heading.

(B) A judgment of divorce, separate maintenance, or annulment must include

(1) the insurance provisions required by MCL 552.101;

(2) a determination of the rights of the parties in pension, annuity, and retirement 
benefits, as required by MCL 552.101(3);

(3) a determination of the property rights of the parties; and

(4) a provision reserving or denying spousal support, if spousal support is not granted; 
a judgment silent with regard to spousal support reserves it.

(C) A judgment or order awarding custody of a minor must provide that

(1) the domicile or residence of the minor may not be moved from Michigan without 
the approval of the judge who awarded custody or the judge's successor,

(2) the person awarded custody must promptly notify the friend of the court in writing 
when the minor is moved to another address, and

(3) a parent whose custody or parenting time of a child is governed by the order shall 
not change the legal residence of the child except in compliance with section 11 of the 
Child Custody Act, MCL 722.31.

(D) Uniform Support Orders

(1) Any provisions regarding child support or spousal support must be prepared on the 
latest version of the Uniform Support Order approved by the state court administrative 
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office. This order must accompany any judgment or order affecting child support or 
spousal support, and both documents must be signed by the judge. If only child 
support or spousal support is ordered, then only the Uniform Support Order must be 
submitted to the court for entry. The Uniform Support Order shall govern if the terms 
of the judgment or order conflict with the Uniform Support Order. 

(2) No judgment or order concerning a minor or a spouse shall be entered unless 
either:

(a) the final judgment or order incorporates by reference a Uniform Support Order, 
or

(b) the final judgment or order states that no Uniform Support Order is required 
because support is reserved or spousal support is not ordered.

(E) Unless otherwise ordered, all support arrearages owing to the state are preserved upon 
entry of a final order or judgment. Upon a showing of good cause and notice to the friend 
of the court, the prosecuting attorney, and other interested parties, the court may waive or 
reduce such arrearages.

(F) Entry of Judgment or Order

(1) Within 21 days after the court renders an opinion or the settlement agreement is 
placed on the record, the moving party must submit a judgment, order, or a motion to 
settle the judgment or order, unless the court has granted an extension.

(2) The party submitting the first temporary order awarding child custody, parenting 
time, or support and the party submitting any final proposed judgment awarding child 
custody, parenting time, or support must:

(a) serve the friend of the court office and, unless the court orders otherwise, all 
other parties, with a completed copy of the latest version of the state court 
administrative office's Domestic Relations Judgment Information form, and 

(b) file a proof of service with the court certifying that the Domestic Relations 
Judgment Information form has been provided to the friend of the court office and, 
unless the court orders otherwise, to all other parties.

(3) If the court modifies the proposed judgment or order before signing it, the party 
submitting the judgment or order must, within 7 days, submit a new Domestic 
Relations Judgment Information form to the friend of the court if any of the 
information previously submitted changes as a result of the modification.

(4) Before it signs a judgment or order awarding child support or spousal support, the 
court must determine that:

(a) the party submitting the judgment or order has certified that the Domestic 
Relations Judgment Information form in subrule (F)(2) has been submitted to the 
friend of the court, and



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 238   Updated April 26, 2024 

(b) pursuant to subrule (D)(2) any judgment or order concerning a minor or a 
spouse is accompanied by a Uniform Support Order or explains why a Uniform 
Support Order is unnecessary.

(5) Except as otherwise provided in MCR 3.206(C), the Domestic Relations Judgment 
Information form must be submitted to the friend of the court in addition to the 
verified statement that is required by MCR 3.206(C).

(G) Friend of the Court Review. The court may require that the judgment or order be 
submitted to the friend of the court for review to determine that it contains the provisions 
required by subrules (C), (D), (E), and (F).

(H) Service of Judgment or Order.

(1) When a judgment or order is obtained for temporary or permanent spousal support, 
child support, or separate maintenance, the prevailing party must immediately deliver 
one copy to the court clerk. The court clerk must file it with the friend of the court.

(2) The party securing entry of a judgment or order that provides for child support or 
spousal support must serve a copy on the party ordered to pay the support, as provided 
in MCR 2.602(E)(1), even if that party is in default.

(3) The record of divorce and annulment required by MCL 333.2864 must be filed at 
the time of the filing of the judgment.

RULE 3.212 POSTJUDGMENT TRANSFER OF DOMESTIC RELATIONS CASES

(A) Motion.

(1) A party, court-ordered custodian, or friend of the court may move for the 
postjudgment transfer of a domestic relations action in accordance with this rule, or 
the court may transfer such an action on its own motion. A transfer includes a change 
of venue and a transfer of all friend of the court responsibilities. The court may enter a 
consent order transferring a postjudgment domestic relations action, provided the 
conditions under subrule (B) are met.

(2) The postjudgment transfer of an action initiated pursuant to MCL 780.151 et seq., 
is controlled by MCR 3.214. 

(B) Conditions.

(1) A motion filed by a party or court-ordered custodian may be granted only if all of 
the following conditions are met:

(a) the transfer of the action is requested on the basis of the residence and 
convenience of the parties, or other good cause consistent with the best interests of 
the child;

(b) neither party nor the court-ordered custodian has resided in the county of 
current jurisdiction for at least 6 months prior to the filing of the motion;
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(c) at least one party or the court-ordered custodian has resided in the county to 
which the transfer is requested for at least 6 months prior to the filing of the 
motion; and

(d) the county to which the transfer is requested is not contiguous to the county of 
current jurisdiction.

(2) When the court or the friend of the court initiates a transfer, the conditions stated in 
subrule (B)(1) do not apply.

(C) Unless the court orders otherwise for good cause, if a friend of the court becomes 
aware of a more recent final judgment involving the same parties issued in a different 
county, the friend of the court must initiate a transfer of the older case to the county in 
which the new judgment was entered if neither of the parents, any of their children who 
are affected by the judgment in the older case, nor another party resides in the county in 
which the older case was filed. 

(D) Order for Transfer; Case Records.

(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and postjudgment transfer of the action to the receiving court.

(a) The court may not enter an order transferring until all pending matters in the 
case have been resolved.

(b) The court must order the party who moved for the transfer to pay the applicable 
statutory filing fee directly to the receiving court unless fees have been waived in 
accordance with MCR 2.002.

(c) If the parties stipulate to the transfer of a case, they must share equally the cost 
of transfer unless the court orders otherwise.

(d) The court may also order one or both of the parties or the court ordered 
custodian to pay past-due fees and costs under subrule (D)(4). Until all filing fees 
and court-ordered past-due fees and costs are paid, no further action in the case 
shall occur in the transferring court unless the moving party first demonstrates 
good cause and that substantial harm will occur absent the transferring court’s 
immediate consideration.

(e) If the court or the friend of the court initiates the transfer, the statutory filing fee 
is waived.

(2) Except as otherwise ordered under subrule (D)(4), the transferring court must serve 
the order on the parties and send a copy to the receiving court. The clerk of the court 
and the friend of the court each must prepare the court’s case records and the friend of 
the court’s case records for transfer in accordance with the orders entered under 
subrule (1) and the Michigan Trial Court Records Management Standards and send 
them to the receiving court by a secure method.

(3) The receiving court shall temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee as ordered by the transferring court. The 
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receiving court must notify the party of the new case number in the receiving court, the 
amount due, and the due date. 

(4) The court may order that any past-due fees and costs be paid to the transferring 
friend of the court office at the time of transfer. If the court orders payment of past-due 
fees and costs, the order must state that the court will not send the order to the 
receiving court under subrule (1) and the records will not be transferred under subrule 
(2) until the past-due fees and costs are paid. If the past-due fees and costs are not paid 
within 28 days of entry, the transfer order becomes void.

(E) Payment of Filing Fee After Transfer. The party that moved for transfer must pay to 
the receiving court within 28 days of the due date provided under subrule (D)(3) the 
applicable filing fee as ordered by the transferring court. No further action in the case shall 
occur in the receiving court until the filing fee is paid unless the moving party first 
demonstrates good cause and that substantial harm will occur absent the receiving court’s 
immediate consideration. If the fee is not paid to the receiving court within 28 days of the 
due date, the receiving court must order the case transferred back to the transferring court.

(F) Upon completion of the transfer, the transferee friend of the court must review the case 
and determine whether the case contains orders specific to the transferring court or county. 
The friend of the court must take such action as is necessary, which may include obtaining 
ex parte orders to transfer court- or county-specific actions to the transferee court.

RULE 3.213 POSTJUDGMENT MOTIONS AND ENFORCEMENT

Postjudgment motions in domestic relations actions are governed by MCR 2.119.

RULE 3.214 ACTIONS UNDER UNIFORM ACTS

(A) Governing Rules. Actions under the Revised Uniform Reciprocal Enforcement of 
Support Act (RURESA), MCL 780.151 et seq., the Uniform Interstate Family Support Act 
(UIFSA), MCL 552.2101 et seq., and the Uniform Child-Custody Jurisdiction and 
Enforcement Act (UCCJEA), MCL 722.1101 et seq., are governed by the rules applicable 
to other civil actions, except as otherwise provided by those acts and this rule.

(B) RURESA Actions.

(1) Definition. As used in this subrule, “support order” is defined by MCL 
780.153b(8).

(2) Transfer; Initiating and Responding RURESA Cases.

(a) If a Michigan court initiates a RURESA action and there exists in another 
Michigan court a prior valid support order, the initiating court must transfer to that 
other court any RURESA order entered in a responding state. The initiating court 
must inform the responding court of the transfer.

(b) If a court in another state initiates a RURESA action and there exists in 
Michigan a prior valid support order, the responsive proceeding should be 
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commenced in the court that issued the prior valid support order. If the responsive 
proceeding is commenced erroneously in any other Michigan court and a 
RURESA order enters, that court, upon learning of the error, must transfer the 
RURESA order to the court that issued the prior valid support order. The 
transferring court must inform the initiating court of the transfer.

(c) A court ordering a transfer must send to the court that issued the prior valid 
support order all pertinent records. The clerk of the court and the friend of the 
court office must prepare the court and friend of the court records for transfer in 
accordance with the transfer order and the Michigan Trial Court Records 
Management Standards. The records must be sent to the court that issued the prior 
valid support order by a secure method within one business day of the date of the 
transfer order.

(d) The friend of the court office that issued the prior valid support order must 
receive and disburse immediately all payments made by the obligor or sent by a 
responding state.

(C) Sending Notices in UIFSA cases. The friend of the court office shall send all notices 
and copies of orders required to be sent by the tribunal under MCL 552.2101 et seq.

(D) Registration of Child Custody Determinations Under UCCJEA. The procedure for 
registration and enforcement of a child custody determination by the court of another state 
is as provided in MCL 722.1304. There is no fee for the registration of such a 
determination.

RULE 3.215 DOMESTIC RELATIONS REFEREES

(A) Qualifications of Referees. A referee appointed pursuant to MCL 552.507(1) must be 
a member in good standing of the State Bar of Michigan. A non-attorney friend of the 
court who was serving as a referee when this rule took effect on May 1, 1993, may 
continue to serve.

(B) Referrals to the Referee.

(1) The chief judge may, by administrative order, direct that specified types of 
domestic relations motions be heard initially by a referee.

(2) To the extent allowed by law, the judge to whom a domestic relations action is 
assigned may refer other motions in that action to a referee

(a) on written stipulation of the parties,

(b) on a party's motion, or

(c) on the judge's own initiative.

(3) In domestic relations matters, the judge to whom an action is assigned, or the chief 
judge by administrative order, may authorize referees to conduct settlement 
conferences and, subject to judicial review, scheduling conferences.
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(C) Scheduling of the Referee Hearing.

(1) Within 14 days after receiving a motion referred under subrule (B)(1) or (B)(2), the 
referee must arrange for service of a notice scheduling a referee hearing on the 
attorneys for the parties, or on the parties if they are not represented by counsel. The 
notice of hearing must clearly state that the matter will be heard by a referee

(2) The referee may adjourn a hearing for good cause without preparing a 
recommendation for an order, except that if the adjournment is subject to any terms or 
conditions, the referee may only prepare a recommendation for an adjournment order 
to be signed by a judge.

(D) Conduct of Referee Hearings.

(1) The Michigan Rules of Evidence apply to referee hearings.

(2) A referee must provide the parties with notice of the right to request a judicial 
hearing by giving

(a) oral notice during the hearing, and

(b) written notice in the recommendation for an order.

(3) Testimony must be taken in person, except that a referee may allow testimony to be 
taken by telephone for good cause, or under MCR 2.407.

(4) An electronic or stenographic record must be kept of all hearings.

(a) The parties must be allowed to make contemporaneous copies of the record if 
the referee's recording equipment can make multiple copies simultaneously and if 
the parties supply the recording media. A recording made under this rule may be 
used solely to assist the parties during the proceeding recorded or, at the discretion 
of the trial judge, in any judicial hearing following an objection to the referee's 
recommended order; it may not be used publicly.

(b) If ordered by the court, or if stipulated by the parties, the referee must provide a 
transcript, verified by oath, of each hearing held. The cost of preparing a transcript 
must be apportioned equally between the parties, unless otherwise ordered by the 
court.

(c) At least 7 days before the judicial hearing, a party who intends to offer 
evidence from the record of the referee hearing must provide notice to the court 
and each other party. If a stenographic transcript is necessary, except as provided 
in subrule (4)(b), the party offering the evidence must pay for the transcript.

(d) If the court on its own motion uses the record of the referee hearing to limit the 
judicial hearing under subrule (F), the court must make the record available to the 
parties and must allow the parties to file supplemental objections within 7 days of 
the date the record is provided to the parties. Following the judicial hearing, the 
court may assess the costs of preparing a transcript of the referee hearing to one or 
more of the parties. This subrule does not apply when a party requests the court to 
limit the judicial hearing under subrule (F) or when the court orders a transcript to 
resolve a dispute concerning what occurred at the referee hearing.
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(E) Posthearing Procedures.

(1) Within 21 days after a hearing, the referee must either make a statement of findings 
on the record or submit a written, signed report containing a summary of testimony 
and a statement of findings. In either event, the referee must make a recommendation 
for an order and arrange for it to be submitted to the court and the attorneys for the 
parties, or the parties if they are not represented by counsel. A proof of service must be 
filed with the court.

(a) The referee must find facts specially and state separately the law the referee 
applied. Brief, definite, and pertinent findings and conclusions on the contested 
matters are sufficient, without overelaboration of detail or particularization of 
facts.

(b) The referee's recommended order must include:

(i) a signature line for the court to indicate its approval of the referee's 
recommended order;

(ii) notice that if the recommended order is approved by the court and no 
written objection is filed with the court clerk within 21 days after the 
recommended order is served, the recommended order will become the final 
order;

(iii) notice advising the parties of any interim effect the recommended order 
may have; and

(iv) prominent notice of all available methods for obtaining a judicial hearing.

(c) If the court approves the referee's recommended order, the recommended order 
must be served within 7 days of approval, or within 3 days of approval if the 
recommended order is given interim effect, and a proof of service must be filed 
with the court. If the recommendation is approved by the court and no written 
objection is filed with the court clerk within 21 days after service, the 
recommended order will become a final order.

(2) If the hearing concerns income withholding, the referee must arrange for a 
recommended order to be submitted to the court forthwith. If the recommended order 
is approved by the court, it must be given immediate effect pursuant to MCL 
552.607(4).

(3) The recommended order may be prepared using any of the following methods:

(a) the referee may draft a recommended order;

(b) the referee may approve a proposed recommended order prepared by a party 
and submitted to the referee at the conclusion of the referee hearing;

(c) within 7 days of the date of the referee's findings, a party may draft a proposed 
recommended order and have it approved by all the parties and the referee; or

(d) within 7 days after the conclusion of the referee hearing, a party may serve a 
copy of a proposed recommended order on all other parties with a notice to them 
that it will be submitted to the referee for approval if no written objections to its 
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accuracy or completeness are filed with the court clerk within 7 days after service 
of the notice. The party must file with the court clerk the original of the proposed 
recommended order and proof of its service on the other parties.

(i) If no written objections are filed within 7 days, the clerk shall submit the 
proposed recommended order to the referee for approval. If the referee does 
not approve the proposed recommended order, the referee may notify the 
parties to appear on a specified date for settlement of the matter.

(ii) To object to the accuracy or completeness of a proposed recommended 
order, the party must within 7 days after service of the proposed order, file 
written objections with the court clerk that state with specificity the inaccuracy 
or omission in the proposed recommended order, and serve the objections on 
all parties as required by MCR 2.107, together with a notice of hearing and an 
alternative proposed recommended order. Upon conclusion of the hearing, the 
referee shall sign the appropriate recommended order.

(4) A party may obtain a judicial hearing on any matter that has been the subject of a 
referee hearing and that resulted in a statement of findings and a recommended order 
by filing a written objection and notice of hearing within 21 days after the referee's 
recommendation for an order is served on the attorneys for the parties, or the parties if 
they are not represented by counsel. The objection must include a clear and concise 
statement of the specific findings or application of law to which an objection is made. 
Objections regarding the accuracy or completeness of the recommendation must state 
with specificity the inaccuracy or omission.

(5) The party who requests a judicial hearing must serve the objection and notice of 
hearing on the opposing party or counsel in the manner provided in MCR 2.119(C).

(6) A circuit court may, by local administrative order, establish additional methods for 
obtaining a judicial hearing.

(7) The court may hear a party's objection to the referee's recommendation for an order 
on the same day as the referee hearing, provided that the notice scheduling the referee 
hearing advises the parties that a same-day judicial hearing will be available and the 
parties have the option of refusing a same-day hearing if they have not yet decided 
whether they will object to the referee's recommendation for an order.

(8) The parties may waive their right to object to the referee's recommendation for an 
order by consenting in writing to the immediate entry of the recommended order.

(F) Judicial Hearings.

(1) The judicial hearing must be held within 21 days after the written objection is filed, 
unless the time is extended by the court for good cause.

(2) To the extent allowed by law, the court may conduct the judicial hearing by review 
of the record of the referee hearing, but the court must allow the parties to present live 
evidence at the judicial hearing. The court may, in its discretion:

(a) prohibit a party from presenting evidence on findings of fact to which no 
objection was filed;



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 245   Updated April 26, 2024 

(b) determine that the referee's finding was conclusive as to a fact to which no 
objection was filed;

(c) prohibit a party from introducing new evidence or calling new witnesses 
unless there is an adequate showing that the evidence was not available at the 
referee hearing;

(d) impose any other reasonable restrictions and conditions to conserve the 
resources of the parties and the court.

(3) If the court determines that an objection is frivolous or has been interposed for the 
purpose of delay, the court may assess reasonable costs and attorney fees.

(G) Interim Effect for Referee's Recommendation for an Order.

(1) Except as limited by subrules (G)(2) and (G)(3), the court may, by an 
administrative order or by an order in the case, provide that the referee's recommended 
order will take effect on an interim basis pending a judicial hearing. The court must 
provide notice that the referee's recommended order will be an interim order by 
including that notice under a separate heading in the referee's recommended order, or 
by an order adopting the referee's recommended order as an interim order.

(2) The court may not give interim effect to a referee's recommendation for any of the 
following orders:

(a) An order for incarceration;

(b) An order for forfeiture of any property;

(c) An order imposing costs, fines, or other sanctions.

(3) The court may not, by administrative order, give interim effect to a referee's 
recommendation for the following types of orders:

(a) An order under subrule (G)(2);

(b) An order that changes a child's custody;

(c) An order that changes a child's domicile;

(d) An order that would render subsequent judicial consideration of the matter 
moot.

RULE 3.216 DOMESTIC RELATIONS MEDIATION

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rule, Definitions. 

(1) All domestic relations cases, as defined in MCL 552.502(m), and actions for 
divorce and separate maintenance that involve the distribution of property are subject 
to mediation under this rule, unless otherwise provided by statute or court rule.

(2) Domestic relations mediation is a nonbinding process in which a neutral third party 
facilitates communication between parties to promote settlement. If the parties so 
request, and the mediator agrees to do so, the mediator may provide a written 
recommendation for settlement of any issues that remain unresolved at the conclusion 
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of a mediation proceeding. This procedure, known as evaluative mediation, is 
governed by subrule (I).

(3) This rule does not restrict the Friend of the Court from enforcing custody, 
parenting time, and support orders.

(4) The court may order, on stipulation of the parties, the use of other settlement 
procedures.

(B) Mediation Plan. Each trial court that submits domestic relations cases to mediation 
under this rule shall include in its alternative dispute resolution plan adopted under MCR 
2.410(B) provisions governing selection of domestic relations mediators, and for 
providing parties with information about mediation in the family division as soon as 
reasonably practical.

(C) Referral to Mediation.

(1) On written stipulation of the parties, on written motion of a party, or on the court's 
initiative, the court may submit to mediation by written order any contested issue in a 
domestic relations case, including postjudgment matters.

(2) The court may not submit contested issues to evaluative mediation unless all 
parties so request.

(3) Unless a court first conducts a hearing to determine whether mediation is 
appropriate, the court shall not submit a contested issue in a domestic relations action, 
including postjudgment proceedings, if the parties are subject to a personal protection 
order or are involved in a child abuse and neglect proceeding. The court may order 
mediation without a hearing if a protected party requests mediation.

(D) Objections to Referral to Mediation.

(1) To object to mediation, a party must file a written motion to remove the case from 
mediation and a notice of hearing of the motion, and serve a copy on the attorneys of 
record within 14 days after receiving notice of the order assigning the action to 
mediation. The motion must be set for hearing within 14 days after it is filed, unless 
the hearing is adjourned by agreement of counsel or unless the court orders otherwise.

(2) A timely motion must be heard before the case is mediated.

(3) Cases may be exempt from mediation on the basis of the following:

(a) child abuse or neglect;

(b) domestic abuse, unless attorneys for both parties will be present at the 
mediation session;

(c) inability of one or both parties to negotiate for themselves at the mediation, 
unless attorneys for both parties will be present at the mediation session;

(d) reason to believe that one or both parties' health or safety would be endangered 
by mediation; or
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(e) for other good cause shown.

(E) Selection of Mediator.

(1) Domestic relations mediation will be conducted by a mediator selected as provided 
in this subrule.

(2) The parties may stipulate to the selection of a mediator. A mediator selected by 
agreement of the parties need not meet the qualifications set forth in subrule (G). The 
court must appoint a mediator stipulated to by the parties, provided the mediator is 
willing to serve within a period that would not interfere with the court's scheduling of 
the case for trial.

(3) If the parties have not stipulated to a mediator:

(a) the parties must indicate whether they prefer a mediator who is willing to 
conduct evaluative mediation. Failure to indicate a preference will be treated as not 
requesting evaluative mediation.

(b) the ADR clerk will assign a mediator from the list of qualified mediators 
maintained under subrule (F). The assignment shall be made on a rotational basis, 
except that if the parties have requested evaluative mediation, only a mediator who 
is willing to provide an evaluation may be assigned.

(4) The court shall not appoint, recommend, direct, or otherwise influence a party’s or 
attorney’s selection of a mediator except as provided pursuant to this rule. The court 
may recommend or advise parties on the selection of a mediator only upon request of 
all parties by stipulation in writing or orally on the record.

(5) The rule for disqualification of a mediator is the same as that provided in MCR 
2.003 for the disqualification of a judge. The mediator must promptly disclose any 
potential basis for disqualification.

(F) List of Mediators.

(1) Application. To appear on a roster, an applicant, which may be an individual or 
organization, may apply to the ADR clerk to be placed on the court's list of mediators. 
Application forms shall be available in the office of the ADR clerk.

(a) The form shall include a certification that

(i) the applicant meets the requirements for service under the court's selection 
plan;

(ii) the applicant will not discriminate against parties or attorneys on the basis 
of race, ethnic origin, gender, or other protected personal characteristic; and

(iii) the applicant will comply with the court's ADR plan, orders of the court 
regarding cases submitted to mediation, and the standards of conduct adopted 
by the State Court Administrator under subrule (K).
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(b) The applicant shall indicate on the form whether the applicant is willing to 
offer evaluative mediation, and the applicant's rate for providing mediation 
services.

(c) The form shall include an optional section identifying the applicant's gender 
and racial/ethnic background; however, this section shall not be made available to 
the public.

(2) Review of Applications. The court's ADR plan shall provide for a person or 
committee to review applications annually, or more frequently if appropriate, and 
compile a list of qualified mediators.

(a) Applicants meeting the qualifications specified in this rule shall be placed on 
the list of approved mediators. Approved mediators shall be placed on the list for a 
fixed period of time, not to exceed seven years, and must reapply at the end of that 
time in the manner directed by the court.

(b) Selections shall be made without regard to race, ethnic origin, or gender. 
Residency or principal place of business may not be a qualification.

(c) The approved list and the applications of approved mediators, except for the 
optional section identifying the applicant's gender and racial/ethnic background, 
shall be available to the public in the office of the ADR clerk.

(d) An applicant may attach a résumé or biographical information to the 
application.

(e) An applicant Community Dispute Resolution Program center must select only 
mediators who meet the qualifications of this rule or training requirements 
established by the State Court Administrator to mediate cases ordered by the court.

(3) Rejection; Reconsideration. Applicants who are not placed on the list shall be 
notified of that decision. Within 21 days of notification of the decision to reject an 
application, the applicant may seek reconsideration of the ADR clerk's decision by the 
presiding judge of the family division. The court does not need to provide a hearing. 
Documents considered in the initial review process shall be retained for at least the 
period during which the applicant can seek reconsideration of the original decision.

(4) Removal from List. The ADR clerk may remove from the list mediators who have 
demonstrated incompetence, bias, made themselves consistently unavailable to serve 
as a mediator, or for other just cause. Within 21 days of notification of the decision to 
remove a mediator from the list, the mediator may seek reconsideration of the ADR 
clerk's decision by the presiding judge of the family division. The court does not need 
to provide a hearing.

(G) Qualification of Mediators.

(1) To be eligible to serve as a domestic relations mediator under this rule, an applicant 
must meet the following minimum qualifications:

(a) The applicant must
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(i) be a licensed attorney, a licensed or limited licensed psychologist, a 
licensed professional counselor, or a licensed marriage and family therapist;

(ii) have a master’s degree in counseling, social work, or marriage and family 
therapy;

(iii) have a graduate degree in a behavioral science; or

(iv) have 5 years experience in family counseling.

(b) The applicant must have completed a training program approved by the State 
Court Administrator providing the generally accepted components of domestic 
relations mediation skills.

(c) Upon completion of the training required under subrule (G)(1)(b), the applicant 
must observe two domestic relations mediation proceedings conducted by an 
approved mediator, and conduct one domestic relations mediation to conclusion 
under the supervision and observation of an approved mediator.

(2) An applicant who has specialized experience or training, but does not meet the 
specific requirements of subrule (G)(1), may apply to the ADR clerk for special 
approval. The ADR clerk shall make the determination on the basis of criteria 
provided by the State Court Administrator.

(3) Approved mediators are required to obtain 8 hours of advanced mediation training 
during each 2-year period. Failure to submit documentation establishing compliance is 
grounds for removal from the list under subrule(F)(4).

(4) Additional qualifications may not be imposed upon mediators.

(H) Mediation Procedure.

(1) The mediator must schedule a mediation session within a reasonable time at a 
location accessible by the parties.

(2) The mediator must make reasonable inquiry as to whether either party has a history 
of a coercive or violent relationship with the other party. Throughout the mediation 
process, the mediator must make reasonable efforts to screen for the presence of 
coercion or violence that would make mediation physically or emotionally unsafe for 
any participant or that would impede achieving a voluntary and safe resolution of 
issues. A reasonable inquiry includes the use of the domestic violence screening 
protocol for mediators provided by the state court administrative office as directed by 
the supreme court.

(3) A mediator may require that no later than 3 business days before the mediation 
session, each party submit to the mediator, and serve on the opposing party, a 
mediation summary that provides the following information, where relevant:

(a) the facts and circumstances of the case;

(b) the issues in dispute;

(c) a description of the marital assets and their estimated value, where such 
information is appropriate and reasonably ascertainable;
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(d) the income and expenses of the parties;

(e) a proposed settlement; and

(f) such documentary evidence as may be available to substantiate information 
contained in the summary.

Failure to submit these materials to the mediator within the designated time may 
subject the offending party to sanctions imposed by the court.

(4) The parties must attend the mediation session in person unless excused by the 
mediator.

(5) Except for legal counsel, the parties may not bring other persons to the mediation 
session, whether expert or lay witnesses, unless permission is first obtained from the 
mediator, after notice to opposing counsel. If the mediator believes it would be helpful 
to the settlement of the case, the mediator may request information or assistance from 
third persons at the time of the mediation session.

(6) The mediator shall discuss with the parties and counsel, if any, the facts and issues 
involved. The mediation will continue until a settlement is reached, the mediator 
determines that a settlement is not likely to be reached, the end of the first mediation 
session, or until a time agreed to by the parties.

(7) Within 7 days of the completion of mediation, the mediator shall so advise the 
court, stating only the date of completion of the process, who participated in the 
mediation, whether settlement was reached, and whether further ADR proceedings are 
contemplated. If an evaluation will be made under subrule (I), the mediator may delay 
reporting to the court until completion of the evaluation process.

(8) If a settlement is reached as a result of the mediation, to be binding, the terms of 
that settlement must be reduced to a signed writing by the parties or acknowledged by 
the parties on an audio or video recording. After a settlement has been reached, the 
parties shall take steps necessary to enter judgment as in the case of other settlements.

(9) Confidentiality in the mediation process is governed by MCR 2.412.

(I) Evaluative Mediation.

(1) This subrule applies if the parties requested evaluative mediation, or if they do so 
at the conclusion of mediation and the mediator is willing to provide an evaluation.

(2) If a settlement is not reached during mediation, the mediator, within a reasonable 
period after the conclusion of mediation shall prepare a written report to the parties 
setting forth the mediator's proposed recommendation for settlement purposes only. 
The mediator's recommendation shall be submitted to the parties of record only and 
may not be submitted or made available to the court.

(3) If both parties accept the mediator's recommendation in full, the attorneys shall 
proceed to have a judgment entered in conformity with the recommendation.
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(4) If the mediator's recommendation is not accepted in full by both parties and the 
parties are unable to reach an agreement as to the remaining contested issues, mediator 
shall report to the court under subrule (H)(6), and the case shall proceed toward trial.

(5) A court may not impose sanctions against either party for rejecting the mediator's 
recommendation. The court may not inquire and neither the parties nor the mediator 
may inform the court of the identity of the party or parties who rejected the mediator's 
recommendation.

(6) The mediator's report and recommendation may not be read by the court and may 
not be admitted into evidence or relied upon by the court as evidence of any of the 
information contained in it without the consent of both parties. The court shall not 
request the parties' consent to read the mediator's recommendation.

(J) Fees.

(1) A mediator is entitled to reasonable compensation based on an hourly rate 
commensurate with the mediator's experience and usual charges for services 
performed.

(2) Before mediation, the parties shall agree in writing that each shall pay one-half of 
the mediator's fee no later than:

(a) 42 days after the mediation process is concluded or the service of the mediator's 
report and recommendation under subrule (I)(2), or

(b) the entry of judgment, or

(c) the dismissal of the action, whichever occurs first. If the court finds that some 
other allocation of fees is appropriate, given the economic circumstances of the 
parties, the court may order that one of the parties pay more than one-half of the 
fee.

(3) If acceptable to the mediator, the court may order an arrangement for the payment 
of the mediator's fee other than that provided in subrule (J)(2).

(4) The mediator's fee is deemed a cost of the action, and the court may make an 
appropriate judgment under MCL 552.13(1) to enforce the payment of the fee.

(5) In the event either party objects to the total fee of the mediator, the matter may be 
scheduled before the trial judge for determination of the reasonableness of the fee.

(K) Standards of Conduct. The State Court Administrator shall develop and approve 
standards of conduct for domestic relations mediators designed to promote honesty, 
integrity, and impartiality in providing court-connected dispute resolution services. These 
standards shall be made a part of all training and educational requirements for court-
connected programs, shall be provided to all mediators involved in court-connected 
programs, and shall be available to the public.
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RULE 3.217 ACTIONS UNDER THE PATERNITY ACT

(A) Governing Law. Procedure in actions under the Paternity Act, MCL 722.711 et seq. is 
governed by the rules applicable to other civil actions except as otherwise provided by this 
rule and the act.

(B) Blood or Tissue Typing Tests. A petition for blood or tissue typing tests under MCL 
722.716 must be filed at or before the pretrial conference or, if a pretrial conference is not 
held, within the time specified by the court. Failure to timely petition waives the right to 
such tests, unless the court, in the interest of justice, permits a petition at a later time.

(C) Advice Regarding Right to an Attorney.

(1) The summons issued under MCL 722.714 must include a form advising the alleged 
father of the right to an attorney as described in subrule (C)(2), and the procedure for 
requesting the appointment of an attorney. The form must be served with the summons 
and the complaint, and the proof of service must so indicate.

(2) If the alleged father appears in court following the issuance of a summons under 
MCL 722.714, the court must personally advise him that he is entitled to the assistance 
of an attorney, and that the court will appoint an attorney at public expense, at his 
request, if he is financially unable to retain an attorney of his choice.

(3) If the alleged father indicates that he wants to proceed without an attorney, the 
record must affirmatively show that he was given the advice required by subrule 
(C)(2) and that he waived the right to counsel.

(4) If the alleged father does not appear in court following the issuance of a summons 
under MCL 722.714, subrule (C)(3) does not apply.

(D) Visitation Rights of Noncustodial Parent.

(1) On the petition of either party, the court may provide in the order of filiation for 
such reasonable visitation by the noncustodial parent as the court deems justified and 
in the best interests of the child.

(2) Absent a petition from either party, the right of reasonable visitation is reserved.

RULE 3.218 FRIEND OF THE COURT RECORDS; ACCESS

(A) General. Friend of the court records are not subject to a subpoena issued under these 
Michigan Court Rules. Unless another rule specifically provides for the protection or 
release of friend of the court records, this rule governs. When used in this subrule, unless 
the context indicates otherwise,

(1) “records” means any case-specific information the friend of the court office 
maintains in any media;

(2) “access” means inspection of records, obtaining copies of records upon receipt of 
payment for costs of reproduction, and oral transmission by staff of information 
contained in friend of the court records;
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(3) “confidential information” means

(a) staff notes;

(b) any confidential information from the Department of Health and Human 
Services child protective services unit or information included in any reports to 
protective services from a friend of the court office;

(c) records from alternative dispute resolution processes, including the 
confidentiality of mediation records as defined in MCR 2.412;

(d) communications from minors;

(e) friend of the court grievances filed by the opposing party and the responses;

(f) any information when a court order prohibits its release;

(g) except as provided in MCR 3.219, any information for which a privilege could 
be claimed, or that was provided by a governmental agency subject to the express 
written condition that it remain confidential; and

(h) all information classified as confidential by the laws and regulations of title IV, 
part D of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 651 et seq. 

(4) Reference to an agency, office, officer, or capacity includes an employee or 
contractor working within that agency or office, or an employee or caseworker acting 
on behalf of that office or working in the capacity referred to.

(5) “Governmental agency” means any entity exercising constitutional, legislative, 
executive, or judicial authority, when providing benefits or services.

(B) A friend of the court office must provide access to nonconfidential records to the 
following:

(1) A party; third-party custodian; guardian or conservator; guardian ad litem or 
counsel for a minor; lawyer-guardian ad litem; an attorney of record; and the personal 
representative of the estate of a party. 

The friend of the court may honor a request from a person identified in this paragraph 
to release information to a governmental agency providing services to that individual, 
or before which an application for services is pending.

(2) An officer in the Judge Advocate General’s office in any branch of the United 
States military, if the request is made on behalf of a service member on active duty 
otherwise identified in this subrule.

(C) Unless the release is otherwise prohibited by law, a friend of the court office must 
provide access to all nonconfidential and confidential records to the following:

 (1) Other agencies and individuals as necessary for the friend of the court to 
implement the state’s plan under Title IV, Part D of the Social Security Act, 42 USC 
651 et seq. or as required by the court, state law, or regulation that is consistent with 
this state’s IV-D plan.
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(2) The Department of Health and Human Services, as necessary to report suspected 
abuse or neglect or to allow the Department of Health and Human Services to 
investigate or provide services to a party or child in the case.

(3) Other agencies that provide services under Title IV, part D of the Social Security 
Act, 42 USC 651 et seq.

(4) Auditors from state and federal agencies, as required to perform their audit 
functions with respect to a friend of the court matter. 

(5) Corrections, parole, or probation officers, when, in the opinion of the friend of the 
court, access would assist the office in enforcing a provision of a custody, parenting 
time, or support order.

(6) Michigan law enforcement personnel who are conducting a civil or criminal 
investigation related directly to a friend of the court matter, and to federal law 
enforcement officers pursuant to a federal subpoena in a criminal or civil 
investigation. 

(D) A citizen advisory committee established under the Friend of the Court Act, MCL 
552.501 et seq. 

(1) shall be given access to a grievance filed with the friend of the court, and to 
information related to the case, other than confidential information.

(2) may be given access to confidential information related to a grievance if the court 
so orders, upon demonstration by the committee that the information is necessary to 
the performance of its duties and that the release will not impair the rights of a party or 
the well-being of a child involved in the case. 

When a citizen advisory committee requests information that may be confidential, the 
friend of the court shall notify the parties of the request and that they have 14 days 
from the date the notice was mailed to file a written response with the court.

If the court grants access to the information, it may impose such terms and conditions 
as it determines are appropriate to protect the rights of a party of the well-being of a 
child.

 (E) A friend of the court office may refuse to provide access to a record in the friend of 
the court file if the friend of the court did not create or author the record. On those 
occasions, the requestor may request access from the person or entity that created the 
record.

(F) Any person who is denied access to friend of the court records or confidential 
information may file a motion for an order of access with the judge assigned to the case or, 
if none, the chief judge.

(G) A court, by administrative order adopted pursuant to MCR 8.112(B), may make 
reasonable regulations necessary to protect friend of the court records and to prevent 
excessive and unreasonable interference with the discharge of friend of the court 
functions.
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RULE 3.219 DISSEMINATION OF A PROFESSIONAL REPORT

If there is a dispute involving custody, visitation, or change of domicile, and the court uses 
a community resource to assist its determination, the court must assure that copies of the written 
findings and recommendations of the resource are provided to the friend of the court and to the 
attorneys of record for the parties, or the parties if they are not represented by counsel. The 
attorneys for the parties, or the parties if they are not represented by counsel, may file objections 
to the report before a decision is made.

RULE 3.221 HEARINGS ON SUPPORT AND PARENTING TIME ENFORCEMENT ACT BENCH 
WARRANTS

(A) Definitions.

(1) Unless the context indicates otherwise, the term “bond” means the performance 
bond required by MCL 552.631.

(2) The term “cash” means money or the equivalent of money, such as a money order, 
cashier's check, or negotiable check or a payment by debit or credit card, which 
equivalent is accepted as cash by the agency accepting the payment.

(3) Unless the context indicates otherwise, the term “person,” when used in this rule, 
means a party who has been arrested on a bench warrant issued pursuant to MCL 
552.631.

(B) Hearing on the Merits. The court shall hold a hearing in connection with the matter in 
which the warrant was issued within 21 days of the date of arrest. Except as provided in 
this rule, a person who does not post a bond, within 48 hours of arrest excluding weekends 
and holidays, shall be brought before the court that issued the warrant for further 
proceedings on the matter in which the warrant was issued. The hearing may be adjourned 
when necessary to give notice of the proceedings to another party or to receive additional 
evidence. In the event the hearing is adjourned, the court shall set terms of release under 
subrule (F). Failure to hold a hearing within 21 days will not deprive the court of 
jurisdiction to proceed.

(C) Bond Review Hearing. A person who has not posted a bond, and whose case cannot be 
heard as provided in subrule (B), must without unnecessary delay be brought before a 
judge, or referee for a review of the bond.

(D) Place of Bond Review Hearing. Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, a bond 
review hearing under subrule (E) must be held in the circuit court specified in the warrant. 
If a person is arrested in a circuit other than the one specified in the warrant, the arresting 
agency must make arrangements to assure that the person is promptly transported to the 
court specified in the warrant for a hearing in accordance with the provisions of this rule. 
If prompt transportation cannot be arranged, the bond review hearing must be held in the 
jurisdiction in which the individual is being held.
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(E) Conduct of Bond Review Hearing. At the bond review hearing, the person must be 
advised of the purpose of the hearing on the merits and a determination must be made of 
what form of prehearing release is appropriate. A verbatim record must be made of the 
bond review hearing. Pending the hearing required under subrule (B), the person must be 
released on conditions under subrule (F). 

(F) Conditional Release. The person must be released on condition that the person will 
appear for a hearing under subrule (B) and any other conditions that are appropriate to 
ensure that the person will appear as required for a hearing under subrule (B), including 
requiring the person to:

(1) make reports to a court agency as required by the court or the agency;

(2) comply with restrictions on personal associations, place of residence, place of 
employment, or travel;

(3) surrender driver's license or passport;

(4) comply with a specified curfew;

(5) continue or seek employment or participate in a work program;

(6) continue or begin an educational program;

(7) remain in the custody of a responsible member of the community who agrees to 
monitor the person and report any violation of any release condition to the court;

(8) post a bond as described in subrule (G).

In the event the person cannot satisfy a condition of release, the arresting agency must 
make arrangements with the authorities in the county of the court specified in the warrant 
to have the person promptly transported to that county for a hearing in accordance with the 
provisions of this rule.

(G) Performance Bond Modification. If it is determined for reasons stated on the record 
that the person's appearance cannot otherwise be assured, the person, in addition to any 
conditions described in subrule (F), may be required to post a bond at the person's option, 
executed:

(1) by the person, or by another who is not a licensed surety, and secured by a cash 
deposit for the full bond amount, or

(2) by a surety approved by the court.

(H) Decision; Statement of Reasons.

(1) In deciding what terms and conditions to impose under subrule (F), relevant 
information, including the following shall be considered:

(a) the person's record for reporting information to the friend of the court and 
complying with court orders;

(b) the person's record of appearance or nonappearance at court proceedings;
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(c) the person's history of substance abuse or addiction;

(d) the amount of support owed;

(e) the person's employment status and history and financial history insofar as 
these factors relate to the ability to post bond; 

(f) the availability of responsible members of the community who would vouch for 
or monitor the person;

(g) facts indicating the person's ties to the community, including family ties and 
relationships, and length of residence; and

(h) any other facts bearing on the risk of nonappearance.

(2) The reasons for requiring a bond under subrule (F), must be stated on the record. A 
finding on each of the enumerated factors is not necessary.

(3) Nothing in this rule may be construed to sanction the determination of prehearing 
release on the basis of race, religion, gender, economic status, or other impermissible 
criteria.

(I) Review; Modification of Release Decision.

(1) Review. A party seeking review of a release decision may file a motion in the court 
having appellate jurisdiction over the decision maker. If the decision was made by a 
referee, a party is entitled to a new hearing. Otherwise, the reviewing court may not 
stay, vacate, modify, or reverse the release decision except on finding an abuse of 
discretion. 

(2) Emergency Release. If a person is ordered released from custody as a result of a 
court order or law requiring the release of prisoners to relieve jail conditions, the court 
ordering the release shall impose conditions of release in accordance with this rule to 
ensure the appearance of the individual as required. If such conditions of release are 
imposed, the court must inform the person of the conditions on the record or by 
furnishing to the person or the person's lawyer a copy of the release order setting forth 
the conditions.

(J) Termination of Release Order.

(1) After a bond is set pursuant to subrule (G), if the person appears for the hearing in 
subrule (B) the court must vacate the release order, discharge a third party who has 
posted the bond, and return the cash posted in the full amount of a bond. At the court's 
discretion, an arrested person who has deposited money with the court may be 
required to forfeit all or a portion of the amount to pay support, fines, fees, costs, and 
sanctions. 

(2) If the person fails to comply with any conditions of release, the court that issued 
the original bench warrant may issue a new bench warrant for the person's arrest and 
enter an order revoking the release order and declaring the bond, if any, forfeited. 
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(a) The court must mail notice of any revocation order immediately to the person 
at the person's last known address and, if forfeiture of bond has been ordered, to 
anyone who posted bond. 

(b) If the person does not appear and surrender to the court within 28 days after the 
revocation date or does not within the period satisfy the court that there was 
compliance with the conditions of release or that compliance was impossible 
through no fault of the person, the court may continue the revocation order and 
enter judgment forfeiting the bond against the individual and anyone who posted 
bond for the entire amount of the bond and costs of the court proceedings and costs 
associated with the arrest. 

(K) Plan for Remote Bond Review Hearings. In each county, the court with trial 
jurisdiction over friend of the court cases must adopt and file with the State Court 
Administrator a plan for conducting bond review hearings on bench warrants issued as a 
result of a show cause hearing when the person is arrested in another county and cannot be 
transported immediately. The plan shall provide for the use of available technology for a 
person's appearance and the transmission and presentation of evidence in hearings under 
this rule. 

RULE 3.222 UNIFORM COLLABORATIVE LAW ACT PROCESS AND AGREEMENTS

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rules. This rule and MCL 691.1331 et seq., the Uniform 
Collaborative Law Act, govern collaborative law practice in domestic relations cases.

(1) Definitions. For purposes of this rule:

(a) “Collaborative matter” means a dispute, transaction, claim, problem, or issue 
for resolution, including a dispute, claim, or issue in a proceeding, that is described 
in a collaborative law participation agreement and arises under the family or 
domestic relations law of this state.

(b) “Collaborative law participation agreement” means an agreement by persons to 
participate in a collaborative law process.

(c) “Collaborative law process” means a procedure intended to resolve a 
collaborative matter without intervention by a court in which persons sign a 
collaborative law participation agreement and are represented by collaborative 
lawyers.

(d) “Party A” is the equivalent of a plaintiff and means the party responsible for 
filing and service requirements.

(e) “Party B” is the equivalent of a defendant and means the non-filing party.

(B) Commencing an Action Involving Parties in a Collaborative Law Process.

(1) Where the parties have entered into a collaborative law participation agreement 
and do not already have a pending domestic relations case, the parties shall proceed 
under subrule (C).
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(2) Where a party has filed a domestic relations case with the court under MCR 2.102 
and the parties subsequently sign a collaborative law participation agreement, the 
parties shall file notice of the signed agreement and a motion to stay proceedings on a 
form approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

(a) The court shall either stay the proceedings without a hearing or schedule a 
hearing on the notice within 28 days after the motion is filed. An initial order 
granting a stay shall be effective for 364 days from the date of filing of the motion. 
Upon stipulation of the parties, the court may extend the stay period.

(b) The court may require the parties and collaborative lawyers to file a status 
report on the collaborative law process. The status report shall be on a form 
approved by the State Court Administrative Office and shall include only 
information on whether the process is ongoing, concluded, or terminated. It shall 
not include a report, assessment, evaluation, recommendation, finding, or other 
communication regarding the matter.

(c) The parties shall promptly file notice with the court when a collaborative law 
process concludes or terminates. The notice shall be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office.

(i) The stay of the proceeding is lifted when the notice is filed. If the parties 
reached an agreement, they shall proceed under MCR 3.222(D).

(ii) If the parties have not filed notice before the stay expires, the court shall 
provide notice of intent to dismiss the case for lack of progress as prescribed 
by subrule (E). Before dismissing the proceeding, the court shall provide 
parties an opportunity to be heard.

(C) Establishing Jurisdiction and Starting the Statutory Waiting Period. At any time after a 
collaborative law participation agreement is signed, if the parties are not already under the 
court’s jurisdiction, the parties may commence an action to submit to the court’s 
jurisdiction.

(1) When the parties have concluded a collaborative law process and are requesting 
entry of a final judgment or final order, the parties shall file a petition to submit to 
court jurisdiction and request for entry of a final judgment or final order on a form 
approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

(a) The petition shall be brought “In the Matter of” the names of Party A and Party 
B and the subject matter of the collaborative law agreement using the case type 
codes under MCR 8.117. The petition shall:

(i) contain, at a minimum, the grounds for jurisdiction, the statutory grounds to 
enter the judgment or order, and a request to enter the judgment or order;

(ii) comply with the provisions of MCR 2.113 and MCR 3.206(A) and (B);

(iii) be signed by both parties;

(iv) be accompanied by the proposed final judgment or proposed final order, 
that complies with MCR 3.211 and is signed by both parties;
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(v) be accompanied by a verified statement if required by MCR 3.206(C) and 
judgment information form if required by MCR 3.211(F); and

(vi) under MCL 691.1345, be accompanied by domestic violence screening 
forms. The domestic violence screening form shall be limited to reporting 
personal protection actions, domestic violence criminal actions, and child 
protective actions involving the parties and shall be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office. Each party must complete a separate form.

The petition may also contain a request to waive the six-month statutory waiting 
period under MCL 552.9f.

(b) On the filing of the petition and request for entry of final judgment or final 
order and payment of the filing fees, the court clerk shall assign a case number and 
judge. The requirement to issue a summons under MCR 2.102(A) is not 
applicable. Unless requested by the parties on filing of a motion, the court clerk 
shall not schedule the matter until the conclusion of the statutory waiting period. 
The petition under this subrule serves as a complaint and answer and as an 
appearance of both attorneys, and starts the statutory waiting period(s) under MCL 
552.9f.

(2) To commence an action at any time before the conclusion of the collaborative law 
process, the parties shall file a petition for court jurisdiction and declaration of intent 
to file a proposed final judgment or proposed final order on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office.

(a) The petition shall be brought “In the Matter of” the names of Party A and Party 
B and shall state the type of action corresponding to the assigned case type code 
under MCR 8.117. The petition shall:

(i) contain, at a minimum, the grounds for jurisdiction, the statutory grounds to 
enter the judgment or order, and a request to enter the judgment or order;

(ii) comply with the provisions of MCR 2.113 and MCR 3.206(A) and (B);

(iii) be signed by both parties;

(iv) be accompanied by a verified statement if required by MCR 3.206(C), and

(v) under MCL 691.1345, be accompanied by domestic violence screening 
forms. The domestic violence screening form shall be limited to reporting 
personal protection actions, domestic violence criminal actions, and child 
protective actions involving the parties and shall be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office. Each party must complete a separate form.

The petition may also contain a request to waive the six-month statutory waiting 
period under MCL 552.9f.

(b) On the filing of the petition and payment of the filing fees, the court clerk shall 
assign a case number and judge. The requirement to issue a summons under MCR 
2.102(A) is not applicable. Unless requested by the parties on filing of a motion, 
the court clerk shall not schedule the matter for a pretrial or settlement conference. 
The petition under this subrule serves as a complaint and answer and as an 
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appearance of both attorneys and starts the statutory waiting period(s) under MCL 
552.9f.

(c) At any time during the collaborative law process, the parties may request the 
court to issue, in addition to a final judgment or final order, any other order 
approving an agreement resulting from the process.

(d) Unless the collaborative law process has concluded, the parties shall file a 
status report with the court within 182 days of the filing date of the petition and 
again at 364 days. The status report shall be on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office and shall include only information on whether the process is 
ongoing or concluded. It may not include a report, assessment, evaluation, 
recommendation, finding, or other communication regarding the matter.

(e) At the conclusion of the collaborative law process, the parties shall file a 
proposed final judgment or proposed final order that complies with MCR 3.211 
and a judgment information form if required by MCR 3.211(F).

(D) Entry of Final Judgment or Final Order.

(1) At its discretion, the court may conduct a hearing before entering the final 
judgment or final order.

(2) The final judgment or final order shall be served in accordance with MCR 
2.602(E).

(3) Nothing in this rule precludes the court from waiving the six-month statutory 
waiting period in accordance with MCL 552.9f.

(E) Dismissal.

(1) Lack of Progress. The clerk shall provide notice of intent to dismiss the case for 
lack of progress if:

(a) the parties have not filed a notice that a collaborative law process has 
concluded or terminated before the expiration of a stay under subrule (B)(2)(c), or

(b) the parties have not filed a proposed final judgment or proposed final order 
within 28 days after the statutory waiting period has expired.

(2) Notice of Intent to Dismiss. A notice of intent to dismiss the case for lack of 
progress shall be given in the manner provided in MCR 2.501(C) for notice of trial. 
The notice shall state that the case will be dismissed no sooner than 28 days after the 
date of the notice unless the parties do one of the following:

(a) file a proposed final judgment or proposed final order under this rule,

(b) file a complaint under MCR 2.101, or

(c) request a hearing.

(3) Other Dismissal. A party may dismiss a collaborative law matter commenced 
under this rule at any time under MCR 2.504.
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(F) Terminating the Collaborative Law Process. If a party files a complaint under MCL 
691.1335(4)(b)(i), the clerk shall proceed on the complaint in accordance with MCR 
2.102(A). The court shall dismiss the petition filed under subrule (C)(1) or (C)(2). 
Pursuant to MCL 691.1339, the attorneys in the collaborative law agreement are 
disqualified from representing either party in the new action.

RULE 3.223 SUMMARY PROCEEDING FOR ENTRY OF CONSENT JUDGMENT OR ORDER

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rules. This rule governs practice and procedure for 
entering a consent judgment or consent order as an original action.

(B) Definitions. For purposes of this rule:

(1) “Party A” is the equivalent of a plaintiff and means the party responsible for filing 
and service requirements.

(2) “Party B” is the equivalent of a defendant and means the non-filing party.

(C) Commencing an Action.

(1) The parties shall file a petition to submit to court jurisdiction and request for entry 
of a proposed consent judgment or proposed consent order on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office.

(a) The petition shall be brought “In the Matter of” the names of Party A and Party 
B and the subject matter of the proposed consent judgment or proposed consent 
order using the case type codes under MCR 8.117. The petition shall:

(i) contain, at a minimum, the grounds for jurisdiction, the statutory grounds to 
enter the judgment or order, and a request to enter the judgment or order;

(ii) comply with the provisions of MCR 2.113 and MCR 3.206(A) and (B);

(iii) be signed by both parties;

(iv) be accompanied by the proposed consent judgment or consent order, that 
complies with MCR 3.211 and is signed by both parties;

(v) be accompanied by a verified statement if required by MCR 3.206(C) and a 
judgment information form if required by MCR 3.211(F); and

(vi) under MCL 691.1345, be accompanied by domestic violence screening 
forms. The domestic violence screening form shall be limited to reporting 
personal protection actions, domestic violence criminal actions, and child 
protective actions involving the parties and shall be on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office. Each party must complete a separate form.

(b) The petition may contain a request to waive the six-month statutory waiting 
period under MCL 552.9f.

(2) The petition filed under subrule (1)(a) serves as a complaint and answer unless a 
party files an objection under subrule (5). It also serves as an appearance of the 
attorney who signs the petition.
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(3) On the filing of the petition and request for entry of consent judgment or consent 
order and payment of the filing fees, the court clerk shall:

(a) assign a case number and judge, and shall issue a notice of the filing on a form 
approved by the State Court Administrative Office to be served by Party A as 
provided in MCR 2.103 and 2.105. The court clerk shall not issue a summons 
under MCR 2.102(A), and

(b) schedule a hearing date on the proposed consent judgment or consent order but 
shall not schedule the matter for any pretrial proceedings unless requested by the 
parties on filing of a motion. The hearing date may not be scheduled sooner than 
60 days after the date of the notice of filing. Nothing in this rule precludes the 
court from waiving the six-month statutory waiting period in accordance with 
MCL 552.9f.

(4) The notice of the filing must be issued “In the name of the people of the State of 
Michigan,” under the seal of the court that issued it. It must be directed to both parties 
and include:

(a) the name and address of the court,

(b) the names of the parties,

(c) the case number and name of assigned judge,

(d) the names, addresses, and bar numbers of any attorneys representing the 
parties,

(e) the date on which the notice of filing was issued,

(f) the date on which the proposed consent judgment or order will be heard by the 
court,

(g) a statement that if either party objects to this summary proceeding at any time 
before entry of the proposed consent judgment or consent order, the case will be 
dismissed, and

(h) a statement that the hearing on the proposed consent judgment or consent order 
will be held under MCR 3.210 at the conclusion of any applicable statutory 
waiting period.

(5) If either party objects to this summary proceeding any time before entry of the 
proposed consent judgment or proposed consent order, the court shall dismiss the case.

(6) At any time after the filing of the proposed consent judgment or proposed consent 
order, the parties may file stipulations and motions and the court may enter temporary 
orders.

(D) Entry of Final Consent Judgment or Consent Order. The court shall conduct a hearing 
on the proposed consent judgment or proposed consent order in accordance with MCR 
3.210. Except when a consent judgment is derived through MCR 3.222, both petitioners 
shall be present for this hearing. The final consent judgment or final consent order shall be 
served in accordance with MCR 2.602(D).
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(E) Dismissal. A party may dismiss a matter commenced under this rule at any time under 
MCR 2.504 or as provided under subrule (C)(5).

RULE 3.224 FRIEND OF THE COURT ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION

(A) Friend of the Court Alternative Dispute Resolution Plan. The chief judge of each 
circuit court shall submit a friend of the court alternative dispute resolution (ADR) plan to 
the State Court Administrative Office (SCAO) for approval as a local administrative 
order. The plan shall:

(1) Require the use of the domestic violence screening protocol provided by the SCAO 
to identify domestic violence, the existence of a protection order as defined in MCL 
552.513 between the parties or other protective order, child abuse or neglect, and other 
safety concerns. The plan shall provide a method to address those concerns.

(2) State the circumstances under which the friend of the court may exclude a case 
from friend of the court ADR under subrule (D)(2).

(3) Designate the matters each friend of the court ADR process will address, subject to 
subrule (C)(1).

(4) Designate which friend of the court ADR processes are used in prejudgment or 
postjudgment friend of the court domestic relations cases.

(5) Designate the manner in which the friend of the court will conduct each process.

(6) Specify how cases are referred to friend of the court ADR.

(7) Address how the court complies with the training, qualifications, and 
confidentiality provisions for friend of the court ADR processes established by the 
SCAO pursuant to subrule (J).

(8) Provide that attorneys of record will be allowed to attend, and participate in, all 
friend of the court ADR processes, or elect not to attend upon mutual agreement with 
opposing counsel and their client.

(9) Set forth any additional procedures, standards, training, qualifications, and 
confidentiality requirements of any other friend of the court ADR process the court 
uses other than those processes set forth in this rule.

(10) Provide that participants in a friend of the court ADR process may not record the 
proceeding.

(B) Definitions. When used in this rule, unless the context indicates otherwise:

(1) “Domestic violence” means the presence of coercion or violence that would make 
friend of the court ADR physically or emotionally unsafe for any participant, or that 
would impede the achievement of a voluntary and safe resolution of issues.

(2) “Friend of the court ADR” means a process established under MCL 552.513 by 
which the parties are assisted to voluntarily agree to resolve a dispute concerning child 
custody, parenting time, or support that arises from a domestic relations matter. Friend 
of the court ADR includes friend of the court mediation, and may include facilitative 
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and information-gathering conferences, joint meetings, and other friend of the court 
alternative dispute resolution services.

(3) “Friend of the court facilitative and information-gathering conference” is a process 
in which a facilitator assists the parties in reaching an agreement. If the parties fail to 
reach an agreement, the facilitator may prepare a report and/or recommended order.

(4) “Friend of the court domestic relations mediation” means a process in which a 
neutral third party facilitates confidential communication between parties to explore 
solutions to settle custody and parenting time or support issues for friend of the court 
cases. Friend of the court domestic relations mediation is not governed by MCR 3.216, 
which relates to domestic relations mediation conducted without participation or 
supervision of the friend of the court.

(5) “Joint meeting” means a process in which a person discusses proposed solutions 
with the parties to a custody or parenting time complaint or an objection to a friend of 
the court support recommendation.

(6) “Protected party” means a person who has a personal protection order or other 
protective order against another party to the case or a person who, due to the presence 
of coercion or violence in a relationship with another party to the case, could be 
physically or emotionally unsafe.

(C) Friend of the Court ADR Referral.

(1) On written stipulation of the parties, on written motion of a party, or on the court’s 
initiative, the court may order any contested custody, parenting time, or support issue 
in a domestic relations case, including postjudgment matters to the friend of the court 
mediation by written order.

(2) The court may, by an order or through its friend of the court ADR plan, provide 
that the parties are to meet with a person conducting ADR other than friend of the 
court domestic relations mediation concerning custody, parenting time, and support 
issues, unless otherwise provided by statute or court rule.

(D) Cases Exempt from Friend of the Court ADR.

(1) Parties who are, or have been, subject to a personal protection order or other 
protective order or who are involved in a past or present child abuse and neglect 
proceeding may not be referred to friend of the court ADR without a hearing to 
determine whether friend of the court ADR is appropriate. The court may order ADR 
if a protected party requests it without holding a hearing.

(2) The friend of the court may exempt cases from ADR by the friend of the court on 
the basis of the following:

(a) child abuse or neglect;

(b) domestic abuse, unless the protected party submits a written consent and the 
friend of the court takes additional precautions to ensure the safety of the protected 
party and court staff;
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(c) inability of one or both parties to negotiate for themselves at the ADR, unless 
attorneys for both parties will be present at the ADR session;

(d) reason to believe that one or both parties’ health or safety would be endangered 
by ADR; or

(e) for other good cause shown.

(3) The friend of the court shall notify the court when a friend of the court case has 
been exempted from friend of the court ADR.

(4) If the friend of the court exempts a case from ADR, a party may file a motion and 
schedule a hearing to request the court to order friend of the court ADR.

(E) Objections to Friend of the Court ADR.

(1) A party may object to ADR under this rule. An objection must be based on one or 
more of the factors in subrule (D)(2), and must allege facts in support of the objection.

(2) Objection to Mediation:

(a) To object to friend of the court domestic relations mediation, a party must file a 
written motion to remove the case from friend of the court mediation and a notice 
of hearing of the motion, and serve a copy on all parties or their attorneys of record 
within 14 days after receiving notice of the order. The motion must be set for 
hearing within 14 days after it is filed, unless the hearing is adjourned by 
agreement of counsel or the court orders otherwise.

(b) A timely motion must be heard before the case is mediated.

(3) Objection to Friend of the Court Facilitative Information-Gathering Conference:

(a) To object to a friend of the court facilitative and information gathering 
conference, a party must include the objection within the pleading or postjudgment 
motion initiating the action, a responsive pleading or answer, or file the objection 
within 14 days of the date that the notice is sent to the party. All objections must be 
filed with the court.

(b) The objecting party must schedule the hearing, and serve a copy of the 
objection and notice of hearing on all parties and/or attorneys of record.

(c) If a party timely objects, the friend of the court shall not hold a facilitative and 
information-gathering conference unless the court orders a conference after motion 
and hearing or the objecting party withdraws the objection.

(4) Objection to Joint Meetings:

(a) To object to a joint meeting, the party must file a written objection with the 
friend of the court and provide a copy to all parties and their attorneys of record 
before the time scheduled for the joint meeting.

(b) If a party files an objection, the friend of the court shall not hold a joint meeting 
unless the court orders a joint meeting following a hearing on motion of a party or 
the objecting party withdraws the objection.
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(F) Friend of the Court Facilitative and Information-Gathering Conference Procedure.

(1) A friend of the court facilitative and information-gathering conference shall use the 
following procedure:

(a) The conference may not begin until the friend of the court case has been 
screened for domestic violence using a screening protocol provided by the State 
Court Administrative Office as directed by the Supreme Court.

(b) If domestic violence is identified or suspected, the conference may not proceed 
unless the protected party submits a written consent and the friend of the court 
takes additional precautions to ensure the safety of court staff and the protected 
party. Throughout the facilitative and information-gathering conference process, 
the facilitator must make reasonable efforts to screen domestic violence that would 
make the conference physically or emotionally unsafe for any participant or that 
would impede achieving a voluntary and safe resolution of issues.

(c) At the beginning of the conference, the facilitator will advise the parties and 
their attorneys, if applicable, of the following:

(i) the purpose of the conference and how the facilitator will conduct the 
conference and submit an order or recommendation to the court under 
(F)(2)(a);

(ii) how information gathered during the conference will be used;

(iii) that statements made during the conference are not confidential and can be 
used in other court proceedings, and shall not be recorded; and

(iv) that the parties are expected to provide information as required by MCL 
552.603 to the friend of the court and the consequences of not doing so.

(2) If the parties resolve all contested issues, the facilitator shall submit a report to the 
court as provided in subrule (I) and may provide a proposed order to the court setting 
forth the parties’ agreements.

(a) If the parties do not resolve all contested issues at the conference or the parties 
agree to resolve all or some contested issues but do not sign the proposed order, the 
facilitator shall submit a report as provided in subrule (I) and may do one of the 
following:

(i) Prepare and forward a recommended order to the court within seven days 
from the date of the conference. The court may enter the recommended order if 
it approves the order and must serve it on all parties and attorneys of record 
within seven days after the date the court enters the order. Accompanying the 
order must be a notice that a party may object to the order by filing a written 
objection to the court within 21 days after the date of service, and by 
scheduling a hearing on the objection. If there is a timely objection, the hearing 
must be held within 21 days after the objection is filed. If a party objects, the 
order remains in effect pending a hearing on a party’s objection unless the 
court orders otherwise.
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(ii) Prepare and serve a recommended order on the parties within seven days 
from the date of the conference along with a notice that the recommended 
order will be presented to the court for entry unless a party objects by filing a 
written objection within 21 days after the date of service, and by scheduling a 
hearing on the objection. If neither party files a timely objection, the court may 
enter the order if it approves.

(iii) Submit a recommendation to the court for further action the court might 
take to help the parties resolve the remaining contested issues in the case, or 
alert the court there are contested issues that might require the court’s 
immediate attention.

(b) A party may consent to entry of a recommended order by signing a copy of the 
order at the time of the conference or after receiving the recommended order. A 
party who consents to entry of the order waives the right to object to the order and 
must file a motion to set the order aside once it enters.

(c) Except for communications made during domestic violence screening under 
subrule (A)(1), (F)(1)(a), and (H)(1)(a), communications made during a friend of 
the court facilitative and information-gathering conference are not confidential and 
may be used in court proceedings.

(G) Friend of the Court Domestic Relations Mediation Procedure.

(1) Domestic relations mediation will be conducted by a mediator selected by the 
friend of the court.

(a) The mediation may not begin until the friend of the court case has been 
screened for domestic violence using a screening protocol provided by the State 
Court Administrative Office as directed by the Supreme Court.

(b) If domestic violence is identified or suspected, the mediation process may not 
continue unless the protected party submits a written consent and the friend of the 
court takes additional precautions to ensure the safety of the protected party and 
court staff. Throughout the mediation process, the mediator must make reasonable 
efforts to screen for the presence of coercion or violence that would make 
mediation physically or emotionally unsafe for any participant or that would 
impede achieving a voluntary and safe resolution of issues.

(c) At the beginning of the mediation, the mediator will advise the parties and their 
attorneys, if applicable, of the following:

(i) the purpose of mediation;

(ii) how the mediator will conduct mediation;

(iii) except as provided for in MCR 2.412(D)(8), statements made during the 
mediation process are confidential and cannot be used in court proceedings.

(d) If the parties reach an agreement, the mediator shall submit a proposed order 
and a report pursuant to subrule (I) within seven days.
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(e) If the parties do not reach an agreement within seven days of the completion of 
mediation, the mediator shall so advise the court stating only the date of 
completion of the process, who participated in the mediation, whether settlement 
was reached, and whether additional friend of the court ADR proceedings are 
contemplated.

(2) With the exceptions provided for in MCR 2.412(D), communications during friend 
of the court domestic relations mediation process are confidential and cannot be used 
in court proceedings and cannot be recorded.

(H) Joint Meeting Procedure.

(1) Joint meetings shall be conducted as provided in this subrule:

(a) The joint meeting may not begin until the friend of the court case has been 
screened for domestic violence using a screening protocol provided by the State 
Court Administrative Office as directed by the Supreme Court.

(b) If domestic violence is identified or suspected, the meeting may not proceed 
unless the protected party submits a written consent and the friend of the court 
takes additional precautions to ensure the safety of the protected party and court 
staff. Throughout the joint meeting, the person conducting the joint meeting must 
make reasonable efforts to screen for the presence of coercion or violence that 
would make the joint meeting physically or emotionally unsafe for any participant 
or that would impede achieving a voluntary and safe resolution of issues.

(c) At the beginning of a joint meeting, the person conducting the meeting shall do 
the following:

(i) advise the parties that statements made during the joint meeting are not 
confidential and can be used in other court proceedings;

(ii) advise the parties that the purpose of the meeting is for the parties to reach 
an accommodation and how the person will conduct the meeting;

(iii) advise the parties that the person may recommend an order to the court to 
resolve the dispute; and

(iv) explain to the parties the information provided for in subrules (H)(1)(d)-
(e).

(d) At the conclusion of a joint meeting, the person conducting the meeting shall 
submit a report within seven days pursuant to subrule (I) and may do one of the 
following:

(i) If the parties reach an accommodation, record the accommodation in 
writing and provide a copy to the parties and attorneys of record. If the 
accommodation modifies an order, the person must submit a proposed order to 
the court. If the court approves the order, the court shall enter it; or

(ii) Submit an order to the court stating the person’s recommendation for 
resolving the dispute. The parties may consent by signing the recommended 
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order and waiving the objection period in accordance with (H)(1)(e)(iii). If the 
court approves the order, the court shall enter it.

(e) If the person conducting the joint meeting submits a recommended order within 
seven days to the court, the friend of the court must serve the parties and attorneys 
of record a copy of the order and a notice that provides the following information:

(i) that the court may enter the recommended order resolving the dispute unless 
a party objects to the order within 21 days after the notice is sent;

(ii) when and where a written objection must be submitted;

(iii) that a party may waive the 21-day objection period by returning a signed 
copy of the recommended order; and

(iv) if a party files a written objection within the 21-day limit, the friend of the 
court office shall set a court hearing before a judge or referee to resolve the 
dispute. If a party fails to file a written objection within the 21-day limit, the 
office shall submit the proposed order to the court for entry if the court 
approves it.

(2) Except for communications made during domestic violence screening, 
communications made during a joint meeting are not confidential and may be used in 
other court proceedings and cannot be recorded.

(I) The SCAO shall develop forms for reports and orders that the friend of the court shall 
use in the ADR processes under this court rule.

(1) A report form for a proposed consent order shall contain sufficient information to 
allow the court to make an independent determination that the proposed order is in the 
child’s best interest.

(2) When the parties do not resolve some or all of the issues in a facilitative and 
information-gathering conference or when the friend of the court submits a proposed 
order following a joint meeting, the report shall contain the parties’ agreed-upon and 
disputed facts and issues.

(3) A report under this subrule is not a friend of the court report entitled to 
consideration under MRE 1101(b)(9). In any contested hearing, the court may use the 
report to:

(a) decide the contested matter to the extent the parties do not dispute the issues or 
facts in the report or to the extent that the contested issues and facts are not 
material to the court’s decision; or

(b) if the parties dispute any issues or facts in the report, the court must make an 
independent determination based on evidence and testimony presented at the 
hearing or a subsequent hearing.

(4) The court may, on its own motion, order the friend of the court to conduct an 
investigation and provide a report under MCL 552.505(1)(G).

(J) Qualification of ADR Providers.
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(1) The SCAO shall establish training and qualification requirements for persons 
conducting each type of ADR under this court rule.

(2) The SCAO shall also provide a process for waiving training and qualification 
requirements when:

(a) the trial court demonstrates a person who meets the requirements is not 
reasonably available and the court’s proposed candidate has suitable qualifications 
equivalent to those established by the SCAO; or

(b) the person will complete the requirements within a reasonable time determined 
by the SCAO.

RULE 3.229 FILING CONFIDENTIAL MATERIALS

(A) If a party or interested party files any of the following items with the court, the party 
shall identify the document as a confidential document and the items shall be served on 
the other parties in the case and maintained in a nonpublic file in accordance with subrule 
(B):

(1) verified statements and disclosure forms under MCR 3.206(C);

(2) child protective services reports;

(3) psychological evaluations;

(4) custody evaluations;

(5) medical, mental health, and academic records of a minor;

(6) any part of a confidential file under MCR 3.903(A)(3);

(7) any item designated as confidential or nonpublic by statute or court rule; and

(8) any other document which, in the court’s discretion, should not be part of the 
public record.

(B) Any item filed and identified under subrule (A) is nonpublic and must be maintained 
separately from the legal file. The filer waives any claim of confidentiality to any item 
filed under subrule (A) that is not identified by the filer as confidential. The nonpublic file 
must be made available for any appellate review.

RULE 3.230 ACTIONS UNDER THE SUMMARY SUPPORT AND PATERNITY ACT

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rules; Definitions. 

(1) Procedure in actions under the Summary Support and Paternity Act, MCL 
722.1491 et seq., is governed by the rules applicable to other domestic relations 
actions, except as otherwise provided in this rule and the act.

(2) Definitions. For purposes of this rule

(a) “IV-D agency” means the agency in a county that provides support and 
paternity establishment services under MCL 722.1501.
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(b) “Plaintiff” means

(i) The child’s mother, father, or alleged father on whose behalf the IV-D 
agency files the action, or

(ii) The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services when the IV-D 
agency files an action on behalf of a child.

(c) “Expedited paternity action” means an action commenced to establish either 
paternity or paternity and support under MCL 722.1491 et seq.

(d) “Expedited support action” means an action commenced to establish a parent’s 
support obligation under MCL 722.1499.

(B) Commencing an Action.

(1) A IV-D agency commences an expedited paternity or expedited support action by 
filing one of the following with the court:

(a) A complaint and notice, or

(b) A request to enter a consent agreement, and a consent judgment or order signed 
by the parties.

(2) Upon filing an action, the court clerk shall assign a case number and judge. The 
court clerk shall not issue a summons under MCR 2.102.

(3) A complaint, notice, and request for entry of a consent agreement used to initiate 
an action or set child support must be completed on forms approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(4) Complaint. A complaint filed in an expedited action shall:

(a) comply with MCR 1.109, MCR 2.113, and MCR 3.206(A),

(b) be verified and signed by the mother or alleged father, or signed “on 
information and belief” by the IV-D agency,

(c) comply with MCR 2.201(E) if the plaintiff is a minor,

(d) state the relief being requested, and either

(i) comply with MCL 722.1495 and other applicable laws and rules if filed in 
an expedited paternity action, or 

(ii) comply with MCL 722.1499 and other applicable laws and rules if filed in 
an expedited support action. 

(5) Notice. A notice to initiate an expedited paternity or expedited support action shall 
be titled “In the name of the people of the state of Michigan,” and shall be signed by 
the IV-D agency. The notice must be directed to the defendant and:

(a) comply with MCR 1.109(D);

(b) include the name, address, and phone number of the IV-D agency filing the 
action;
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(c) state that written responses, agreements, and other actions must be filed with 
the court within 21 days after being served, and if the defendant fails to file a 
written response pursuant to statute or take other action within 21 days, an order or 
a judgment may be entered granting the relief requested in the complaint without 
further notice or hearing; and

(d) include an expiration date, which does not exceed 126 days after the date the 
action is filed.  

(6) Request to Enter Consent Agreement. A request for entry of a consent judgment or 
order to initiate an expedited paternity or expedited support action shall: 

(a) comply with MCR 1.109(D)(1),

(b) contain the grounds for jurisdiction, the statutory grounds to enter the judgment 
or order, and a request for entry of the judgment or order without further notice; 
and

(c) be signed by the parties and the IV-D agency.

(7) The requirement to submit a verified statement or disclosure form required under 
MCR 3.206(C) does not apply to an expedited paternity or expedited support action, 
unless otherwise directed by the court.

(C) Service.

(1) A complaint and notice filed under subrule (B)(1)(a) must be served on the 
parties by the IV-D agency in accordance with MCR 2.105, or in the alternative, 
may be served by mail in accordance with MCL 722.1495(4). 

(2) Pursuant to MCL 722.1501(4)(c), a request to enter a consent judgment or 
order filed under subrule (B)(1)(b) is considered served at the time of filing, and a 
party’s signature on the request to enter a consent agreement, judgment, or order 
acknowledges service.

(3) After a party has been served under subrule (C)(1) or (2), other court papers, 
orders, and notices shall be served in accordance with MCR 3.203.

(D) Dismissal as to Defendant Not Served. 

(1) Upon expiration of the notice under subrule (B)(5)(d), the action is deemed 
dismissed without prejudice if the defendant has not been served with notice of the 
action unless the defendant has responded. 

(2) A court shall set aside a dismissal of an action under this subrule without 
hearing upon showing by the IV-D agency within 28 days of the expiration of the 
notice that the defendant did in fact receive timely notice or had submitted to the 
court’s jurisdiction before the dismissal.

(E) Setting Child Support.

(1) At the time that a complaint is filed, or any time after establishing paternity or a 
duty to support a child, the IV-D agency may provide notice setting a proposed 
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support amount. The proposed support obligation shall be calculated by application of 
the Michigan Child Support Formula or a properly documented deviation from the 
amount calculated using the formula.  The notice or an accompanying calculation 
results report must state the amounts calculated for support, the proposed effective 
date, and the facts and assumptions upon which the calculation is based. 

(2) A notice and calculation report setting a child support amount shall be filed with 
the court and provided to the parties. The notice shall contain statements notifying the 
parties of all of the following:

(a) that objections and responses to the notice must be filed within 21 days from:

(i) the date of service, if the notice setting child support is served at the same 
time as the complaint and notice; or

(ii) the date of mailing or service, if the notice is served under MCR 3.203.  

(b) a party may object to the proposed child support amount based on either a 
mistake in the facts or assumptions used to calculate support, or on an error in the 
calculation by filing an answer requesting a hearing on the proposed obligation; 

(c) if no objection is filed, an order will be submitted to the court in the proposed 
amounts for entry without further notice or hearing;

(d) if an objection is filed, a hearing will be scheduled, unless the IV-D agency 
recalculates the amount and sends a new notice. 

(3) If the IV-D agency receives information from a party after filing a notice setting a 
child support amount and before a support order is submitted for entry, the agency 
may recalculate support and issue a new notice and calculation report under this 
subrule proposing a corrected child support amount.

(F) Response.

(1) Within 21 days after being served with a notice under subrule (B) or a notice under 
subrule (E), a party must file a response with the court or take another action permitted 
by law or these rules.  The party must serve copies of the response on the IV-D agency 
and the other party in accordance with MCR 3.203. 

(2) The IV-D agency shall immediately forward to the court any response it receives 
from a party who has not filed the response with the court.

 (3) A request to enter a consent agreement, or a consent judgment or order filed under 
subrule (B)(1)(b) does not require a response.  A party may file an additional response 
or motion regarding issues not resolved by the agreement, consent judgment or order, 
or the other party filing an additional response.

(4) Within 14 days after the time permitted for responses under subrule (F)(1), if a 
party has filed a response, or pursuant to any matter left unresolved, the IV-D agency 
shall take one or more of the following actions: 

(a) schedule genetic testing, if a party in an expedited paternity action requests 
genetic testing;
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(b) schedule a hearing on any matters or relief proposed in a complaint or notice 
that are contested, and the IV-D agency may submit a proposed order or judgment 
that incorporates any proposed relief that was not contested; or 

(c) submit a proposed judgment or order that incorporates any proposed relief that 
a party agrees to or that was not contested.  

(G) Failure to Respond.

(1) Subrule MCR 3.210(B) does not apply to proceedings under this rule.

(2) If neither party in an action to establish paternity brought against an alleged father 
requests genetic tests and the defendant does not otherwise defend within 21 days after 
receiving notice, the IV-D agency may request entry of a judgment establishing 
defendant as the child’s legal father by submitting a proposed judgment for entry. 

(3) In an action to establish paternity brought by an alleged father against the child’s 
mother, if the mother does not admit the alleged father’s paternity, the court shall not 
determine paternity unless based on genetic test results.

(4) When a defendant does not respond or otherwise defend, the IV-D agency shall 
submit a proposed order that establishes the duty to support the child.

(5) If neither party files an objection to a notice setting a support amount within 21 
days, the IV-D agency shall submit a support order in the recommended amounts to 
the court. 

(6) Nonmilitary affidavits required by law must be filed before a judgment is entered 
in cases in which the defendant has failed to respond or appear.

(7) A judgment may not be entered against a minor or an incompetent person who has 
failed to respond or appear unless the person is assisted in the action by a conservator 
or other representative, except as otherwise provided by law.

(H) Judgments and Orders.

(1) The court may consider the complaints and other documents filed with the court, 
relevant and material affidavits, or other evidence when entering an order in an 
expedited paternity or support action.

(2) Entering Orders. The court may enter a proposed judgment or order submitted by 
the IV-D agency without hearing if the court is satisfied of all of the following:

(a) that the parties were given proper notice and opportunity to file a response, 

(b) the statutory and rule requirements were met, and 

(c) the terms of the judgment or order are in accordance with the law.  

(3) The IV-D agency seeking entry of a proposed judgment or order must schedule a 
hearing and serve the motion, notice of hearing, and a copy of the proposed judgment 
or orders upon the parties at least 14 days before the hearing, and promptly file a proof 
of service when:
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(a) the proposed judgment involves a request for relief that is different from the 
relief requested in the complaint; or 

(b) the IV-D agency does not have sufficient facts to complete the judgment or 
order without a judicial determination of the relief to which the party is entitled.

(4) If the court determines that a proposed judgment or order is not in accordance with 
the law or that the court needs additional information to decide the matter, the court 
may direct the IV-D agency or the parties to do any of the following within 14 days: 

(a) submit a modified proposed judgment or order in conformity with the court’s 
ruling;

(b) file additional affidavits or other documents and notices, or 

(c) schedule a hearing to present evidence sufficient to satisfy the court or to meet 
statutory requirements.

(5) A party may waive a statutory waiting period or further notice prior to entry of a 
consent judgment or order. 

(6) If paternity of a child has not been established and a party or IV-D agency requests 
genetic testing, the court may order the parties and child to submit to genetic testing 
without a hearing.

(7) Upon entry of a judgment or order and as provided by MCR 3.203, the IV-D 
agency must serve a copy as entered by the court on all parties within 7 days after 
entry, and promptly file a proof of service.

SUBCHAPTER 3.300 EXTRAORDINARY WRITS

RULE 3.301 EXTRAORDINARY WRITS IN GENERAL

(A) Applicability and Scope of Rules.

(1) A civil action or appropriate motion in a pending action may be brought to obtain

(a) superintending control,

(b) habeas corpus,

(c) mandamus, or

(d) quo warranto.

Unless a particular rule or statute specifically provides otherwise, an original action 
may not be commenced in the Supreme Court or the Court of Appeals if the circuit 
court would have jurisdiction of an action seeking that relief.

(2) These special rules govern the procedure for seeking the writs or relief formerly 
obtained by the writs, whether the right to relief is created by statute or common law. 
If the right to relief is created by statute, the limitations on relief in the statute apply, as 
well as the limitations on relief in these rules.
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(3) The general rules of procedure apply except as otherwise provided in this 
subchapter.

(B) Joinder of Claims. More than one kind of writ may be sought in an action either as an 
independent claim or as an alternative claim. Subject to MCR 2.203, other claims may be 
joined in an action for a writ or writs.

(C) Process; Service of Writs. Process must be issued and served as in other civil actions. 
However, if a writ, order, or order to show cause is issued before service of process, then 
service of the writ, order, or order to show cause in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.105, 
accompanied by a copy of the complaint, makes service of other process unnecessary.

(D) Assignment for Trial. Actions brought under these special rules may be given 
precedence under MCR 2.501(B).

(E) Records. The action taken on applications for writs or orders to show cause must be 
noted in court records in the same manner as actions taken in other civil actions.

(F) No Automatic Stay. The automatic stay provisions of MCR 2.614(A) do not apply to 
judgments in actions brought under this subchapter.

(G) Procedure Where Relief Is Sought in Supreme Court or Court of Appeals.

(1) MCR 7.306 applies to original proceedings brought in the Supreme Court to obtain 
relief under this subchapter.

(2) MCR 7.206 applies to original proceedings brought in the Court of Appeals to 
obtain relief under this subchapter.

RULE 3.302 SUPERINTENDING CONTROL

(A) Scope. A superintending control order enforces the superintending control power of a 
court over lower courts or tribunals.

(B) Policy Concerning Use. If another adequate remedy is available to the party seeking 
the order, a complaint for superintending control may not be filed. See subrule (D)(2) and 
MCR 7.306(A).

(C) Writs Superseded. A superintending control order replaces the writs of certiorari and 
prohibition and the writ of mandamus when directed to a lower court or tribunal.

(D) Jurisdiction.

(1) The Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, and the circuit court have jurisdiction to 
issue superintending control orders to lower courts or tribunals. 
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(2) When an appeal in the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeals, or the circuit court is 
available, that method of review must be used. If superintending control is sought and 
an appeal is available, the complaint for superintending control must be dismissed.

(E) Procedure for Superintending Control in Circuit Court.

(1) Complaint. A person seeking superintending control in the circuit court must file a 
complaint with the court. Only the plaintiff's name may appear in the title of the action 
(for example, In re Smith). The plaintiff must serve a copy of the complaint on the 
court or tribunal over which superintending control is sought. If the superintending 
control action arises out of a particular action, a copy of the complaint must also be 
served on each other party to the proceeding in that court or tribunal. 

(2) Answer. Anyone served under subrule (E)(1) may file an answer within 21 days 
after the complaint is served.

(3) Issuance of Order; Dismissal.

(a) After the filing of a complaint and answer or, if no answer is filed, after 
expiration of the time for filing an answer, the court may

(i) issue an order to show cause why the order requested should not be issued,

(ii) issue the order requested, or

(iii) dismiss the complaint.

(b) If a need for immediate action is shown, the court may enter an order before an 
answer is filed.

(c) The court may require in an order to show cause that additional records and 
documents be filed.

(d) An order to show cause must specify the date for hearing the complaint.

RULE 3.303 HABEAS CORPUS TO INQUIRE INTO CAUSE OF DETENTION

(A) Jurisdiction and Venue; Persons Detained on Criminal Charges.

(1) An action for habeas corpus to inquire into the cause of detention of a person may 
be brought in any court of record except the probate court.

(2) The action must be brought in the county in which the prisoner is detained. If it is 
shown that there is no judge in that county empowered and available to issue the writ 
or that the judicial circuit for that county has refused to issue the writ, the action may 
be brought in the Court of Appeals.

(3) A prisoner detained in a county jail for a criminal charge, who has not been 
sentenced to detention by a court of competent jurisdiction, may be removed from 
detention by a writ of habeas corpus to inquire into the cause of detention only if the 
writ is issued by the court in which the prisoner would next appear if the criminal 
process against the prisoner continued, or by the judicial circuit for the county in 
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which the prisoner is detained. This subrule does not limit the power of the Court of 
Appeals or Supreme Court to issue the writ.

(B) Who May Bring. An action for habeas corpus may be brought by the prisoner or by 
another person on the prisoner's behalf.

(C) Complaint. The complaint must state:

(1) that the person on whose behalf the writ is applied for (the prisoner) is restrained of 
his or her liberty;

(2) the name, if known, or the description of the prisoner;

(3) the name, if known, or the description of the officer or person by whom the 
prisoner is restrained;

(4) the place of restraint, if known;

(5) that the action for habeas corpus by or on behalf of the prisoner is not prohibited;

(6) the cause or pretense of the restraint, according to the plaintiff's best knowledge 
and belief; and

(7) why the restraint is illegal.

(D) Issuance of the Writ or Order to Show Cause.

(1) On the filing of the complaint, the court may issue

(a) a writ of habeas corpus directed to the person having custody of the prisoner, or 
that person's superior, ordering him or her to bring the prisoner before the court 
forthwith; or

(b) an order to show cause why the writ should not be issued, unless it appears that 
the prisoner is not entitled to relief.

(2) On the showing required by MCL 600.4337, the court may issue a warrant in lieu 
of habeas corpus.

(3) Duplicate original writs may be issued.

(E) Certification of Record. When proceedings in another court or agency are pertinent to 
a determination of the issue raised in a habeas corpus action, the court may order the 
transcript of the record and proceedings certified to the court within a specified time. The 
order must identify the records to be certified with sufficient specificity to allow them to 
be located.

(F) Issuance Without Application or Before Filing.

(1) A judge of a court of record, except the probate court, may issue a writ of habeas 
corpus or order to show cause if

(a) the judge learns that a person within the judge's jurisdiction is illegally 
restrained, or
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(b) an application is presented to the judge before or after normal court hours.

(2) If the prisoner is being held on criminal charges, the writ or order may only be 
issued by a judge of a court authorized to issue a writ of habeas corpus under subrule 
(A)(3).

(3) If a complaint is presented to a judge under the provisions of subrule (F)(1)(b), it 
need not be filed with the court before the issuance of a writ of habeas corpus. The 
complaint must subsequently be filed with the court whether or not the writ is granted.

(G) Endorsement of Allowance of Writ. Every writ issued must be endorsed with a 
certificate of its allowance and the date of the allowance. The endorsement must be signed 
by the judge issuing the writ, or, if the writ is issued by a panel of more than 1 judge, by a 
judge of the court.

(H) Form of Writ. A writ of habeas corpus must be substantially in the form approved by 
the state court administrator.

(I) Service of Writ.

(1) Person to be Served. The writ or order to show cause must be served on the 
defendant in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.105. If the defendant cannot be found, 
or if the defendant does not have the prisoner in custody, the writ or order to show 
cause may be served on anyone having the prisoner in custody or that person's 
superior, in the manner and with the same effect as if that person had been made a 
defendant in the action.

(2) Tender of Fees. If the Attorney General or a prosecuting attorney brings the action, 
or if a judge issues the writ on his or her own initiative, there is no fee. In other 
actions, to make the service of a writ of habeas corpus effective, the person making 
service must give the fee provided by law or this rule to the person having custody of 
the prisoner or to that person's superior.

(a) If the prisoner is in the custody of a sheriff, coroner, constable, or marshal, the 
fee is that allowed by law to a sheriff for bringing up a prisoner.

(b) If the prisoner is in the custody of another person, the fee is that, if any, allowed 
by the court issuing the writ, not exceeding the fee allowed by law to a sheriff for 
similar services.

(J) Sufficiency of Writ. The writ or order to show cause may not be disobeyed because of 
a defect in form. The writ or order to show cause is sufficient if the prisoner is designated 
by name, if known, or by a description sufficient to permit identification. The writ or order 
may designate the person to whom it is directed as the person having custody of the 
prisoner. Anyone served with the writ or order is deemed the person to whom it is directed 
and is considered a defendant in the action.

(K) Time for Answer and Hearing.
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(1) If the writ is to be answered and the hearing held on a specified day and hour, the 
answer must be made and the prisoner produced at the time and place specified in the 
writ.

(2) If an order to show cause is issued, it must be answered as provided in subrule (N), 
and the hearing must be held at the time and place specified in the order.

(L) Notice of Hearing Before Discharge.

(1) When the answer states that the prisoner is in custody on process under which 
another person has an interest in continuing the custody, an order of discharge may not 
be issued unless the interested person or that person's attorney has had at least 4 days' 
notice of the time and place of the hearing.

(2) When the answer states that the prisoner is detained on a criminal charge, the 
prisoner may not be discharged until sufficient notice of the time and place of the 
hearing is given to the prosecuting attorney of the county within which the prisoner is 
detained or, if there is no prosecuting attorney within the county, to the Attorney 
General.

(M) Habeas Corpus to Obtain Custody of Child.

(1) A complaint seeking a writ of habeas corpus to inquire into a child's custody must 
be presented to the judicial circuit for the county in which the child resides or is found.

(2) An order to show cause, not a writ of habeas corpus, must be issued initially if the 
action is brought by a parent, foster parent, or other relative of the child, to obtain 
custody of a child under the age of 16 years from a parent, foster parent, or other 
relative of the child. The court may direct the friend of the court to investigate the 
circumstances of the child's custody.

(N) Answer.

(1) Contents of Answer; Contempt. The defendant or person served must obey the writ 
or order to show cause or show good cause for not doing so, and must answer the writ 
or order to show cause within the time allowed. Failure to file an answer is contempt. 
The answer must state plainly and unequivocally

(a) whether the defendant then has, or at any time has had, the prisoner under his or 
her control and, if so, the reason; and

(b) if the prisoner has been transferred, to whom, when the transfer was made, and 
the reason or authority for the transfer.

(2) Attachments. If the prisoner is detained because of a writ, warrant, or other written 
authority, a copy must be attached to the answer, and the original must be produced at 
the hearing. If an order under subrule (E) requires it, the answer must be accompanied 
by the certified transcript of the record and proceedings.

(3) Verification. The answer must be signed by the person answering, and, except 
when the person is a sworn public officer and answers in his or her official capacity, it 
must be verified by oath.
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(O) Answer May Be Controverted. In a reply or at a hearing, the plaintiff or the prisoner 
may controvert the answer under oath, to show either that the restraint is unlawful or that 
the prisoner is entitled to discharge.

(P) Prisoner; When Bailed. Because a habeas corpus action must be decided promptly 
with no more than the brief delay provided by subrule (Q)(2), release of a prisoner on bail 
will not normally be considered until after determination that legal cause exists for the 
detention. Thereafter, if the prisoner is entitled to bail, the court issuing the writ or order 
may set bail.

(Q) Hearing and Judgment.

(1) The court shall proceed promptly to hear the matter in a summary manner and 
enter judgment.

(2) In response to the writ of habeas corpus or order to show cause, the defendant may 
request adjournment of the hearing. Adjournment may be granted only for the brief 
delay necessary to permit the defendant

(a) to prepare a written answer (unless waived by the plaintiff); or

(b) to present to the court or judge issuing the writ or order testimonial or 
documentary evidence to establish the cause of detention at the time for answer.

(3) In the defendant's presence, the court shall inform the prisoner that he or she has 
the right to an attorney and the right to remain silent.

(4) From the time the prisoner is produced in response to the writ or order until 
judgment is entered, the judge who issued the writ or order has custody of the prisoner 
and shall make certain that the prisoner's full constitutional rights are protected.

(5) The hearing on the return to a writ of habeas corpus or an order to show cause must 
be recorded verbatim, unless a court reporter or recorder is not available. If the hearing 
is conducted without a verbatim record being made, as soon as possible the judge shall 
prepare and certify a narrative written report. The original report is part of the official 
record in the action, and copies must be sent forthwith to the parties or their attorneys.

(6) If the prisoner is restrained because of mental disease, the court shall consider the 
question of the prisoner's mental condition at the time of the hearing, rather than 
merely the legality of the original detention.

RULE 3.304 HABEAS CORPUS TO BRING PRISONER TO TESTIFY OR FOR PROSECUTION

(A) Jurisdiction; When Available. A court of record may issue a writ of habeas corpus 
directing that a prisoner in a jail or prison in Michigan be brought to testify

(1) on the court's own initiative; or

(2) on the ex parte motion of a party in an action before a court or an officer or body 
authorized to examine witnesses.
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A writ of habeas corpus may also be issued to bring a prisoner to court for prosecution. 
Subrules (C)-(G) apply to such a writ.

(B) Contents of Motion. The motion must be verified by the party and must state

(1) the title and nature of the action in which the testimony of the prisoner is desired; 
and

(2) that the testimony of the prisoner is relevant and necessary to the party in that 
proceeding.

(C) Direction to Surrender Custody for Transportation. The writ may direct that the 
prisoner be placed in the custody of a designated officer for transportation to the place 
where the hearing or trial is to be held, rather than requiring the custodian to bring the 
prisoner to that place.

(D) Form of Writ. A writ of habeas corpus to produce a prisoner to testify or for 
prosecution must be substantially in the form approved by the state court administrator.

(E) Answer and Hearing. If the prisoner is produced or delivered to the custody of a 
designated officer as ordered, the person served with the writ need not answer the writ, 
and a hearing on the writ is unnecessary.

(F) Remand. When a prisoner is brought on a writ of habeas corpus to testify or for 
prosecution, the prisoner must be returned to the original custodian after testifying or 
prosecution.

(G) Applicability of Other Rules. MCR 3.303(G), (I), (J), and (K)(1) apply to habeas 
corpus to produce a prisoner to testify or for prosecution.

RULE 3.305 MANDAMUS

(A) Jurisdiction.

(1) An action for mandamus against a state officer may be brought in the Court of 
Appeals or the Court of Claims.

(2) All other actions for mandamus must be brought in the circuit court unless a statute 
or rule requires or allows the action to be brought in another court.

(B) Venue.

(1) The general venue statutes and rules apply to actions for mandamus unless a 
specific statute or rule contains a special venue provision.

(2) In addition to any other county in which venue is proper, an action for mandamus 
against a state officer may be brought in Ingham County.
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(C) Order to Show Cause. On ex parte motion and a showing of the necessity for 
immediate action, the court may issue an order to show cause. The motion may be made in 
the complaint. The court shall indicate in the order when the defendant must answer the 
order.

(D) Answer. If necessity for immediate action is not shown, and the action is not 
dismissed, the defendant must answer the complaint as in an ordinary civil action.

(E) Exhibits. A party may attach to the pleadings, as exhibits, certified or authenticated 
copies of record evidence on which the party relies.

(F) Hearings in Circuit Court. The court may hear the matter or may allow the issues to be 
tried by a jury.

(G) Writ Contained in Judgment. If the judgment awards a writ of mandamus, the writ 
may be contained in the judgment in the form of an order, and a separate writ need not be 
issued or served.

RULE 3.306 QUO WARRANTO

(A) Jurisdiction.

(1) An action for quo warranto against a person who usurps, intrudes into, or 
unlawfully holds or exercises a state office, or against a state officer who does or 
suffers an act that by law works a forfeiture of the office, must be brought in the Court 
of Appeals.

(2) All other actions for quo warranto must be brought in the circuit court.

(B) Parties.

(1) Actions by Attorney General. An action for quo warranto is to be brought by the 
Attorney General when the action is against:

(a) a person specified in subrule (A)(1);

(b) a person who usurps, intrudes into, or wrongfully holds or exercises an office 
in a public corporation created by this state's authority;

(c) an association, or number of persons, acting as a corporation in Michigan 
without being legally incorporated;

(d) a corporation that is in violation of a provision of the act or acts creating, 
offering, or renewing the corporation;

(e) a corporation that has violated the provisions of a law under which the 
corporation forfeits its charter by misuse;

(f) a corporation that has forfeited its privileges and franchises by nonuse;
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(g) a corporation that has committed or omitted acts that amount to a surrender of 
its corporate rights, privileges, and franchises, or has exercised a franchise or 
privilege not conferred on it by law.

(2) Actions by Prosecutor or Citizen. Other actions for quo warranto may be brought 
by the prosecuting attorney of the proper county, without leave of court, or by a citizen 
of the county by special leave of the court.

(3) Application to Attorney General.

(a) A person may apply to the Attorney General to have the Attorney General 
bring an action specified in subrule (B)(1). The Attorney General may require the 
person to give security to indemnify the state against all costs and expenses of the 
action. The person making the application, and any other person having the proper 
interest, may be joined as parties plaintiff.

(b) If, on proper application and offer of security, the Attorney General refuses to 
bring the action, the person may apply to the appropriate court for leave to bring 
the action himself or herself.

(C) Person Alleged to be Entitled to Office. If the action is brought against the defendant 
for usurping an office, the complaint may name the person rightfully entitled to the office, 
with an allegation of his or her right to it, and that person may be made a party.

(D) Venue. The general venue statutes and rules apply to actions for quo warranto, unless 
a specific statute or rule contains a special venue provision applicable to an action for quo 
warranto.

(E) Hearing. The court may hear the matter or may allow the issues to be tried by a jury.

RULE 3.310 INJUNCTIONS

(A) Preliminary Injunctions.

(1) Except as otherwise provided by statute or these rules, an injunction may not be 
granted before a hearing on a motion for a preliminary injunction or on an order to 
show cause why a preliminary injunction should not be issued.

(2) Before or after the commencement of the hearing on a motion for a preliminary 
injunction, the court may order the trial of the action on the merits to be advanced and 
consolidated with the hearing on the motion. Even when consolidation is not ordered, 
evidence received at the hearing for a preliminary injunction that would be admissible 
at the trial on the merits becomes part of the trial record and need not be repeated at the 
trial. This provision may not be used to deny the parties any rights they may have to 
trial by jury.

(3) A motion for a preliminary injunction must be filed and noticed for hearing in 
compliance with the rules governing other motions unless the court orders otherwise 
on a showing of good cause.
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(4) At the hearing on an order to show cause why a preliminary injunction should not 
issue, the party seeking injunctive relief has the burden of establishing that a 
preliminary injunction should be issued, whether or not a temporary restraining order 
has been issued.

(5) If a preliminary injunction is granted, the court shall promptly schedule a pretrial 
conference. The trial of the action on the merits must be held within 6 months after the 
injunction is granted, unless good cause is shown or the parties stipulate to a longer 
period. The court shall issue its decision on the merits within 56 days after the trial is 
completed. 

(B) Temporary Restraining Orders.

(1) A temporary restraining order may be granted without written or oral notice to the 
adverse party or the adverse party's attorney only if

(a) it clearly appears from specific facts shown by affidavit or by a verified 
complaint that immediate and irreparable injury, loss, or damage will result to the 
applicant from the delay required to effect notice or from the risk that notice will 
itself precipitate adverse action before an order can be issued;

(b) the applicant's attorney certifies to the court in writing the efforts, if any, that 
have been made to give the notice and the reasons supporting the claim that notice 
should not be required; and

(c) a permanent record or memorandum is made of any nonwritten evidence, 
argument, or other representations made in support of the application.

(2) A temporary restraining order granted without notice must:

(a) be endorsed with the date and time of issuance;

(b) describe the injury and state why it is irreparable and why the order was 
granted without notice;

(c) except in domestic relations actions, set a date for hearing at the earliest 
possible time on the motion for a preliminary injunction or order to show cause 
why a preliminary injunction should not be issued.

(3) Except in domestic relations actions, a temporary restraining order granted without 
notice expires by its terms within such time after entry, not to exceed 14 days, as the 
court sets unless within the time so fixed the order, for good cause shown, is extended 
for a like period or unless the party against whom the order is directed consents that it 
may be extended for a longer period. The reasons for the extension must be stated on 
the record or in a document filed in the action.

(4) A temporary restraining order granted without notice must be filed forthwith in the 
clerk's office and entered in the court records.

(5) A motion to dissolve a temporary restraining order granted without notice takes 
precedence over all matters except older matters of the same character, and may be 
heard on 24 hours' notice. For good cause shown, the court may order the motion 
heard on shorter notice. The court may set the time for the hearing at the time the 
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restraining order is granted, without waiting for the filing of a motion to dissolve it, 
and may order that the hearing on a motion to dissolve a restraining order granted 
without notice be consolidated with the hearing on a motion for a preliminary 
injunction or an order to show cause why a preliminary injunction should not be 
issued. At a hearing on a motion to dissolve a restraining order granted without notice, 
the burden of justifying continuation of the order is on the applicant for the restraining 
order whether or not the hearing has been consolidated with a hearing on a motion for 
a preliminary injunction or an order to show cause.

(C) Form and Scope of Injunction. An order granting an injunction or restraining order

(1) must set forth the reasons for its issuance;

(2) must be specific in terms;

(3) must describe in reasonable detail, and not by reference to the complaint or other 
document, the acts restrained; and

(4) is binding only on the parties to the action, their officers, agents, servants, 
employees, and attorneys, and on those persons in active concert or participation with 
them who receive actual notice of the order by personal service or otherwise.

(D) Security.

(1) Before granting a preliminary injunction or temporary restraining order, the court 
may require the applicant to give security, in the amount the court deems proper, for 
the payment of costs and damages that may be incurred or suffered by a party who is 
found to have been wrongfully enjoined or restrained.

(2) Security is not required of the state or of a Michigan county or municipal 
corporation or its officer or agency acting in an official capacity. As to other parties, if 
security is not required the order must state the reason.

(3) If the party enjoined deems the security insufficient and has had no prior 
opportunity to be heard, the party may object to the sufficiency of the surety in the 
manner provided in MCR 3.604(E). The procedures provided in MCR 3.604(F) apply 
to the objection.

(4) When a bond is required before the issuance of an injunction or temporary 
restraining order, the bond must be filed with the clerk before the sealing and delivery 
of the injunction or restraining order.

(E) Stay of Action. An injunction or temporary restraining order may not be granted in one 
action to stay proceedings in another action pending in another court if the relief requested 
could be sought in the other pending action.

(F) Denial of Application. When an application for a preliminary injunction or temporary 
restraining order is denied, but an order is not signed, an endorsement of the denial must 
be made on the complaint or affidavit, and the complaint or affidavit filed.

(G) Later Application After Denial of Injunction.
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(1) If a circuit judge has denied an application for an injunction or temporary 
restraining order, in whole or in part, or has granted it conditionally or on terms, later 
application for the same purpose and in relation to the same matter may not be made to 
another circuit judge.

(2) If an order is entered on an application in violation of subrule (G)(1), it is void and 
must be revoked by the judge who entered it, on due proof of the facts. A person 
making the later application contrary to this rule is subject to punishment for 
contempt.

(H) Motion for Injunction in Pending Actions. An injunction may also be granted before 
or in connection with final judgment on a motion filed after an action is commenced.

(I) Application to Special Actions. This rule applies to a special statutory action for an 
injunction only to the extent that it does not conflict with special procedures prescribed by 
the statute or the rules governing the special action.

SUBCHAPTER 3.400 PROCEEDINGS INVOLVING REAL PROPERTY

RULE 3.401 PARTITION

(A) Matters to be Determined by Court. On the hearing of an action or proceeding for 
partition, the court shall determine

(1) whether the premises can be partitioned without great prejudice to the parties;

(2) the value of the use of the premises and of improvements made to the premises; 
and

(3) other matters the court considers pertinent.

(B) Partition or Sale in Lieu of Partition. If the court determines that the premises can be 
partitioned, MCR 3.402 governs further proceedings. If the court determines that the 
premises cannot be partitioned without undue prejudice to the owners, it may order the 
premises sold in lieu of partition under MCR 3.403.

(C) Joinder of Lienholders. A creditor having a lien on all or part of the premises, by 
judgment, mortgage, or otherwise, need not be made a party to the partition proceedings. 
However, the plaintiff may join every creditor having a specific lien on the undivided 
interest or estate of a party. If the creditors are made parties, the complaint must state the 
nature of every lien or encumbrance.

RULE 3.402 PARTITION PROCEDURE

(A) Determination of Parties' Interests. In ordering partition the court shall determine the 
rights and interests of the parties in the premises, and describe parts or shares that are to 
remain undivided for owners whose interests are unknown or not ascertained.
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(B) Appointment of Partition Commissioner.

(1) The court shall appoint a disinterested person as partition commissioner to make 
the partition according to the court's determination of the rights and interests of the 
parties. If the parties agree, three commissioners may be appointed who shall meet 
together to perform their duties and act by majority vote.

(2) The partition commissioner must be sworn before an officer authorized to 
administer oaths to honestly and impartially partition the property as directed by the 
court. The oath must be filed with the clerk of the court.

(3) If the partition commissioner dies, resigns, or neglects to serve, the court may 
appoint a replacement.

(C) Proceedings Before Partition Commissioner.

(1) The partition commissioner

(a) may apply to the court for instructions;

(b) must give notice of the meeting to consider the problems of the partition to the 
parties so that they may be heard if they wish to be; and

(c) may take evidence at the meeting concerning the problems of partition.

(2) The partition commissioner shall divide the premises and allot the respective 
shares according to the terms in the court's judgment or separate order, and shall 
designate the several shares and portions by reference to a plat or survey prepared by a 
land surveyor or engineer licensed by the state.

(3) The partition commissioner must report to the court, specifying the procedures 
followed, describing the land divided and the shares allotted to each party, and listing 
the commissioner's charges. The parties shall not be present during the preparation of 
the report or during the deliberations of a panel of three commissioners. A copy of the 
report must be sent to each party who has appeared in the action.

(D) Setting Aside, Modification, or Confirmation of Partition Commissioner's Report.

(1) The court may modify or set aside the report and may refer the action to either the 
same or a newly appointed partition commissioner as often as necessary.

(2) On confirming the report, the court shall enter a judgment binding and conclusive 
on:

(a) all parties named in the action who

(i) have an interest in the partitioned premises as owners in fee or tenants for 
years,

(ii) are entitled to the reversion, remainder, or inheritance of the premises after 
the termination of a particular estate in the premises,

(iii) are or will become entitled to a beneficial interest in the premises, or
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(iv) have an interest in an undivided share of the premises as tenants for years, 
for life, or in dower;

(b) the legal representatives of the parties listed in subrule (D)(2)(a);

(c) all persons interested in the premises who were unknown at the time the action 
was commenced and were given sufficient notice either by publication or 
personally; and

(d) all other persons claiming from any of the above parties or persons.

(3) The judgment and partition do not affect persons who have claims as tenants in 
dower or for life to the entire premises subject to the partition; nor do they preclude a 
person, except those specified in subrule (D)(2), from claiming title to the premises in 
question or from controverting the title or interest of the parties among whom the 
partition was made.

(4) An authenticated copy of the report, the judgment confirming it, and any 
incorporated surveys may be recorded with the register of deeds of the county in 
which the land is located. Copies of subdivision plats already of record need not be 
recorded.

(E) Expenses and Costs. The court may order that the expenses and costs, including 
attorney fees, be paid by the parties in accordance with their respective rights and equities 
in the premises. An order requiring a party to pay expenses and costs may be enforced in 
the same manner as a judgment.

(F) Setting Off of Interests in Special Cases.

(1) The court may by order set off the interest that belonged to a deceased party, 
without subdivision, to those claiming under that party when it is expedient to do so. 
Those legally entitled under or through the deceased party must be mentioned by name 
in the judgment.

(2) If the original parties in interest were fully known, but death, legal proceedings, or 
other operation of law has caused uncertainty about the identity of the present parties 
in interest, the interests originally owned by known parties but now owned by 
unknown persons may be separated as provided in this rule, instead of being left 
undivided. The division and judgment operate to convey the title to the persons 
claiming under the known party, according to their legal rights.

(3) If an interest in the premises belongs to known or unknown parties who have not 
appeared in the action, the court shall order partition of the ascertained interests of the 
known parties who have appeared in the action. The residue of the premises remains 
for the parties whose interests have not been ascertained, subject to future division.

RULE 3.403 SALE OF PREMISES AND DIVISION OF PROCEEDS AS SUBSTITUTE FOR PARTITION

(A) Order of Sale.
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(1) If a party has a dower interest or life estate in all or a part of the premises at the 
time of the order for sale, the court shall determine whether, under all the 
circumstances and with regard for the interests of all the parties, that interest should be 
excepted from the sale or be sold with the premises. If the court orders that the sale 
include that party's interest, the sale conveys that interest.

(2) In the order of sale the court shall designate:

(a) which premises are to be sold;

(b) whether the premises are to be sold in separate parcels or together;

(c) whether there is a minimum price at which the premises may be sold;

(d) the terms of credit to be allowed and the security to be required; and

(e) how much of the proceeds will be invested, as required by this rule, for the 
benefit of unknown owners, infants, parties outside Michigan, and parties who 
have dower interests or life estates.

(B) Specific Procedures and Requirements of Sale.

(1) The person appointed by the court to conduct the sale shall give notice of the sale, 
including the terms. Notice must be given in the same manner as required by MCL 
600.6052.

(2) Neither the person conducting the sale nor anyone acting in his or her behalf may 
directly or indirectly purchase or be interested in the purchase of the premises sold. 
The conservator of a minor or legally incapacitated individual may not purchase or be 
interested in the purchase of lands that are the subject of the proceedings, except for 
the benefit of the ward. Sales made contrary to this provision are voidable, except as 
provided by MCL 700.5421.

(3) The part of the price for which credit is allowed must be secured at interest by a 
mortgage of the premises sold, a note of the purchaser, and other security the court 
prescribes.

(a) The person conducting the sale may take separate mortgages and other 
securities in the name of the clerk of the court and the clerk's successors for the 
shares of the purchase money the court directs to be invested, and in the name of a 
known owner, 18 years of age or older, who desires to have his or her share so 
invested.

(b) When the sale is confirmed, the person conducting the sale must deliver the 
mortgages and other securities to the clerk of the court, or to the known owners 
whose shares are invested.

(4) After completing the sale, the person conducting the sale shall file a report with the 
court, stating

(a) the name of each purchaser,

(b) a description of the parcels of land sold to each purchaser, and

(c) the price paid for each parcel.
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A copy of the report must be sent to each party who has appeared in the action.

(5) If the court confirms the sale, it shall enter an order authorizing and directing the 
person conducting the sale to execute conveyances pursuant to the sale.

(6) Conveyances executed according to these rules shall be recorded in the county 
where the land is located. These conveyances are a bar against

(a) all interested persons who were made parties to the proceedings;

(b) all unknown parties who were ordered to appear and answer by proper 
publication or personal service of notice;

(c) all persons claiming through parties listed in subrules (B)(6)(a) and (b);

(d) all persons who have specific liens on an undivided share or interest in the 
premises, if they were made parties to the proceedings.

(7) If the court confirms the sale, and the successful bidder fails to purchase under the 
terms of the sale, the court may order that the premises be resold at that bidder's risk. 
That bidder is liable to pay the amount of his or her bid minus the amount received on 
resale.

(C) Costs and Expenses of the Proceeding. The person conducting the sale shall deduct the 
costs and expenses of the proceeding, including the plaintiff's reasonable attorney fees as 
determined by the court, from the proceeds of the sale and pay them to the plaintiff or the 
plaintiff's attorney.

(D) Distribution of Proceeds of Sale.

(1) When premises that include a dower interest or life estate are sold, the owner of the 
dower interest or life estate shall be compensated as provided in this subrule.

(a) Unless the owner consents to the alternative compensation provided in subrule 
(D)(1)(b), the court shall order that the following amount be invested in interest-
bearing accounts insured by an agency of the United States government, with the 
interest paid annually for life to the owner of the dower interest or life estate:

(i) in the case of a dower interest, one-third of the proceeds of the sale of the 
premises or of the undivided share of the premises on which the claim of 
dower existed, after deduction of the owner's share of the expenses of the 
proceeding;

(ii) in the case of a life estate, the entire proceeds of the sale of the premises, or 
undivided share of the premises in which the life estate existed, after deduction 
of the proportion of the owner's share of the expenses of the proceeding.

If the owner of the dower interest or life estate is unknown, the court shall 
order the protection of the person's rights in the same manner, as far as 
possible, as if he or she were known and had appeared.

(b) If, before the person conducting the sale files the report of sale, the owner of 
the dower interest or life estate consents, the court shall direct that the owner be 
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paid an amount that, on the principles of law applicable to annuities, is reasonable 
compensation for the interest or estate. To be effective the consent must be by a 
written instrument witnessed and acknowledged in the manner required to make a 
deed eligible for recording.

(2) If there are encumbrances on the estate or interest in the premises of a party to the 
proceeding, the person conducting the sale must pay to the clerk the portion of the 
proceeds attributable to the sale of that estate or interest, after deducting the share of 
the costs, charges, and expenses for which it is liable. The party who owned that estate 
or interest may apply to the court for payment of his or her claim out of these proceeds. 
The application must be accompanied by

(a) an affidavit stating the amount due on each encumbrance and the name and 
address of the owner of each encumbrance, as far as known; and

(b) proof by affidavit that notice was served on each owner of an encumbrance, in 
the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107.

The court shall hear the proofs, determine the rights of the parties, and direct who must 
pay the costs of the trial.

After ascertaining the amount of existing encumbrances, the court shall order the 
distribution of the money held by the clerk among the creditors having encumbrances, 
according to their priority. When paying an encumbrance the clerk must procure 
satisfaction of the encumbrance, acknowledged in the form required by law, and must 
record the satisfaction of the encumbrance. The clerk may pay the expenses of these 
services out of the portion of the money in court that belongs to the party by whom the 
encumbrance was payable.

The proceedings under this subrule to ascertain and settle the amounts of 
encumbrances do not affect other parties to the proceedings for partition and do not 
delay the payment to a party whose estate in the premises is not subject to an 
encumbrance or the investing of the money for the benefit of such a person.

(3) The proceeds of a sale, after deducting the costs, must be divided among the parties 
whose rights and interests have been sold, in proportion to their respective rights in the 
premises.

(a) The shares of the parties who are 18 years of age or older must be paid to them 
or to their legal representatives (or brought into court for their use) by the person 
conducting the sale.

(b) The court may direct that the share of a minor or a legally incapacitated 
individual be paid to his or her conservator or be invested in interest-bearing 
accounts insured by an agency of the United States government in the name and 
for the benefit of the minor or legally incapacitated individual.

(c) If a party whose interest has been sold is absent from the state and has no legal 
representative in the state or is not known or named in the proceedings, the court 
shall direct that his or her share be invested in interest-bearing accounts insured by 
the United States government for the party's benefit until claimed.
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(4) The court may require that before receiving a share of the proceeds of a sale a party 
give a note to secure refund of the share, with interest, if the party is later found not 
entitled to it.

(5) When the court directs that security be given or investments be made, or the person 
conducting the sale takes security on the sale of real estate, the bonds, notes, and 
investments must be taken in the name of the clerk of the court and the clerk's 
successors in office, unless provision is made to take them in the name of a known 
owner.

The clerk must hold them and deliver them to his or her successor, and must receive 
the interest and principal as they become due and apply or reinvest them, as the court 
directs. The clerk shall annually give to the court a written, sworn account of the 
money received and the disposition of it.

A security, bond, note, mortgage, or other evidence of the investment may not be 
discharged, transferred, or impaired by an act of the clerk without the order of the 
court. A person interested in an investment, with the leave of the court, may prosecute 
it in the name of the existing clerk, and an action is not abated by the death, removal 
from office, or resignation of the clerk to whom the instruments were executed or the 
clerk's successors.

RULE 3.410 FORECLOSURE OF MORTGAGES AND LAND CONTRACTS

(A) Rules Applicable. Except as prescribed in this rule, the general rules of procedure 
apply to actions to foreclose mortgages and land contracts.

(B) Pleading.

(1) A plaintiff seeking foreclosure or satisfaction of a mortgage on real estate or a land 
contract must state in the complaint whether an action has ever been brought to 
recover all or part of the debt secured by the mortgage or land contract and whether 
part of the debt has been collected or paid.

(2) In a complaint for foreclosure or satisfaction of a mortgage or a land contract, it is 
not necessary to set out in detail the rights and interests of the defendants who are 
purchasers of, or who have liens on, the premises, subsequent to the recording of the 
mortgage or land contract. It is sufficient for the plaintiff, after setting out his or her 
own interest in the premises, to state generally that the defendants have or claim some 
interest in the premises as subsequent purchasers, encumbrancers, or otherwise.

(C) Time for Sale. A sale under a judgment of foreclosure may not be ordered on less than 
42 days' notice. Publication may not begin until the time set by the judgment for payment 
has expired, and

(1) until 6 months after an action to foreclose a mortgage is begun;

(2) until 3 months after an action to foreclose a land contract is begun.
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(D) Disposition of Surplus. When there is money remaining from a foreclosure sale after 
paying the amount due the plaintiff, a party to the action may move for the disposition of 
the surplus in accordance with the rights of the parties entitled to it.

(E) Administration of Mortgage Trusts in Equity.

(1) Proceedings of the kind described in MCL 600.3170 are governed by the 
procedures prescribed by MCL 451.401-451.405, except as modified by this subrule.

(2) A bond, other obligation, or beneficial interest held by or for the benefit of the 
mortgagor or the mortgagor's successor in estate, or subject to an agreement or option 
by which the mortgagor or the mortgagor's successor in estate may acquire it or an 
interest in it, may not be considered in determining a majority of such obligations or 
beneficial interests, either as part of the majority or as part of the whole number of 
which the majority is required.

RULE 3.411 CIVIL ACTION TO DETERMINE INTERESTS IN LAND

(A) This rule applies to actions to determine interests in land under MCL 600.2932. It 
does not apply to summary proceedings to recover possession of premises under MCL 
600.5701-600.5759.

(B) Complaint.

(1) The complaint must describe the land in question with reasonable certainty by 
stating

(a) the section, township, and range of the premises;

(b) the number of the block and lot of the premises; or

(c) another description of the premises sufficiently clear so that the premises may 
be identified.

(2) The complaint must allege

(a) the interest the plaintiff claims in the premises;

(b) the interest the defendant claims in the premises; and

(c) the facts establishing the superiority of the plaintiff's claim.

(C) Written Evidence of Title to be Referred to in Pleadings.

(1) Written evidence of title may not be introduced at trial unless it has been 
sufficiently referred to in the pleadings in accordance with this rule.

(2) The plaintiff must attach to the complaint, and the defendant must attach to the 
answer, a statement of the title on which the pleader relies, showing from whom the 
title was obtained and the page and book where it appears of record.
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(3) Within a reasonable time after demand for it, a party must furnish to the adverse 
party a copy of an unrecorded conveyance on which he or she relies or give a 
satisfactory reason for not doing so.

(4) References to title may be amended or made more specific in accordance with the 
general rules regarding amendments and motions for more definite statement.

(D) Findings As to Rights in and Title to Premises.

(1) After evidence has been taken, the court shall make findings determining the 
disputed rights in and title to the premises.

(2) If a party not in possession of the premises is found to have had a right to 
possession at the time the action was commenced, but that right expired before the 
trial, that party must prove the damages sustained because the premises were 
wrongfully withheld, and the court shall enter judgment in the amount proved.

(E) Claim for Reasonable Value of Use of Premises.

(1) Within 28 days after the finding of title, the party found to have title to the 
premises may file a claim against the party who withheld possession of the premises 
for the reasonable value of the use of the premises during the period the premises were 
withheld, beginning 6 years before the action was commenced.

(2) The court shall hear evidence and make findings, determining the value of the use 
of the premises.

(a) The findings must be based on the value of the use of the premises in their 
condition at the time the withholding party, or those through whom that party 
claims, first went into possession. The use of the buildings or improvements put on 
the land by the party who withheld possession may not be considered.

(b) The findings must be based on the general value of the use of the premises, not 
on a peculiar value the use of the premises had to the party who withheld 
possession or might have had to the party who had title.

(F) Claim for Value of Buildings Erected and Improvements Made on Premises.

(1) Within 28 days after the finding of title, a party may file a claim against the party 
found to have title to the premises for the amount that the present value of the premises 
has been increased by the erection of buildings or the making of improvements by the 
party making the claim or those through whom he or she claims.

(2) The court shall hear evidence as to the value of the buildings erected and the 
improvements made on the premises, and the value the premises would have if they 
had not been improved or built upon. The court shall determine the amount the 
premises would be worth at the time of the claim had the premises not been improved, 
and the amount the value of the premises was increased at the time of the claim by the 
buildings erected and improvements made.

(3) The party claiming the value of the improvements may not recover their value if 
they were made in bad faith.
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(G) Election by Party in Title.

(1) The person found to have title to the premises may elect to abandon them to the 
party claiming the value of the improvements and to take a judgment against that party 
for the value the premises would have had at the time of the trial if they had not been 
improved. The election must be filed with the court within 28 days after the findings 
on the claim for improvements. The judgment for the value of the premises is a lien 
against the premises.

(2) If the person found to have title does not elect to abandon the premises under 
subrule (G)(1), the judgment will provide that he or she recover the premises and pay 
the value of the improvements to the clerk of the court within the time set in the 
judgment.

(a) The person found to have title must pay the amount, plus accrued interest, 
before taking possession of the premises under the judgment, if that person is not 
already in possession.

(b) If the person found to have title fails to pay the amount of the judgment and the 
accrued interest within the time set in the judgment, he or she is deemed to have 
abandoned all claim of title to the premises to the parties in whose favor the 
judgment for the value of the improvements runs.

(H) Judgment Binding Only on Parties to Action. Except for title acquired by adverse 
possession, the judgment determining a claim to title, equitable title, right to possession, 
or other interests in lands under this rule, determines only the rights and interests of the 
known and unknown persons who are parties to the action, and of persons claiming 
through those parties by title accruing after the commencement of the action.

(I) Possession Under Judgment Not to be Affected by Vacation of Judgment Alone. When 
the judgment in an action under these rules determines that a party is entitled to possession 
of the premises in dispute, that party's right to possession is not affected by vacation of the 
judgment and the granting of a new trial, until a contrary judgment is rendered as a result 
of the new trial.

RULE 3.412 CONSTRUCTION LIENS

In an action to enforce a lien under MCL 570.1101 et seq., or other similar law, if the 
plaintiff has joined others holding liens or others have filed notice of intention to claim liens 
against the same property, it is not necessary for the plaintiff to answer the counterclaim or cross-
claim of another lien claimant, nor for the other lien claimants to answer the plaintiff's complaint 
or the cross-claim of another lien claimant, unless one of them disputes the validity or amount of 
the lien sought to be enforced. If no issue has been raised between lien claimants as to the validity 
or amount of a lien, the action is ready for hearing when at issue between the lien claimants and 
the owners, part owners, or lessees of the property.
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SUBCHAPTER 3.500 REPRESENTATIVE ACTIONS

RULE 3.501 CLASS ACTIONS

(A) Nature of Class Action.

(1) One or more members of a class may sue or be sued as representative parties on 
behalf of all members in a class action only if:

(a) the class is so numerous that joinder of all members is impracticable;

(b) there are questions of law or fact common to the members of the class that 
predominate over questions affecting only individual members;

(c) the claims or defenses of the representative parties are typical of the claims or 
defenses of the class;

(d) the representative parties will fairly and adequately assert and protect the 
interests of the class; and

(e) the maintenance of the action as a class action will be superior to other 
available methods of adjudication in promoting the convenient administration of 
justice.

(2) In determining whether the maintenance of the action as a class action will be 
superior to other available methods of adjudication in promoting the convenient 
administration of justice, the court shall consider among other matters the following 
factors:

(a) whether the prosecution of separate actions by or against individual members 
of the class would create a risk of

(i) inconsistent or varying adjudications with respect to individual members of 
the class that would confront the party opposing the class with incompatible 
standards of conduct; or

(ii) adjudications with respect to individual members of the class that would as 
a practical matter be dispositive of the interests of other members not parties to 
the adjudications or substantially impair or impede their ability to protect their 
interests;

(b) whether final equitable or declaratory relief might be appropriate with respect 
to the class;

(c) whether the action will be manageable as a class action;

(d) whether in view of the complexity of the issues or the expense of litigation the 
separate claims of individual class members are insufficient in amount to support 
separate actions;

(e) whether it is probable that the amount which may be recovered by individual 
class members will be large enough in relation to the expense and effort of 
administering the action to justify a class action; and
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(f) whether members of the class have a significant interest in controlling the 
prosecution or defense of separate actions.

(3) Class members shall have the right to be excluded from the action in the manner 
provided in this rule, subject to the authority of the court to order them made parties to 
the action pursuant to other applicable court rules.

(4) Class members have the right to intervene in the action, subject to the authority of 
the court to regulate the orderly course of the action.

(5) An action for a penalty or minimum amount of recovery without regard to actual 
damages imposed or authorized by statute may not be maintained as a class action 
unless the statute specifically authorizes its recovery in a class action.

(B) Procedure for Certification of Class Action.

(1) Motion.

(a) Within 91 days after the filing of a complaint that includes class action 
allegations, the plaintiff must move for certification that the action may be 
maintained as a class action.

(b) The time for filing the motion may be extended by order on stipulation of the 
parties or on motion for cause shown.

(2) Effect of Failure to File Motion. If the plaintiff fails to file a certification motion 
within the time allowed by subrule (B)(1), the defendant may file a notice of the 
failure. On the filing of such a notice, the class action allegations are deemed stricken, 
and the action continues by or against the named parties alone. The class action 
allegations may be reinstated only if the plaintiff shows that the failure was due to 
excusable neglect.

(3) Action by Court.

(a) Except on motion for good cause, the court shall not proceed with 
consideration of the motion to certify until service of the summons and complaint 
on all named defendants or until the expiration of any unserved summons under 
MCR 2.102(D).

(b) The court may allow the action to be maintained as a class action, may deny the 
motion, or may order that a ruling be postponed pending discovery or other 
preliminary procedures.

(c) In an order certifying a class action, the court shall set forth a description of the 
class.

(d) When appropriate the court may order that

(i) the action be maintained as a class action limited to particular issues or 
forms of relief, or

(ii) a proposed class be divided into separate classes with each treated as a 
class for purposes of certifying, denying certification, or revoking a 
certification.



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 300   Updated April 26, 2024 

(e) If certification is denied or revoked, the action shall continue by or against the 
named parties alone.

(C) Notice to Class Members.

(1) Notice Requirement. Notice shall be given as provided in this subrule to persons 
who are included in a class action by certification or amendment of a prior 
certification, and to persons who were included in a class action by a prior certification 
but who are to be excluded from the class by amendment or revocation of the 
certification.

(2) Proposals Regarding Notice. The plaintiff shall include in the motion for 
certification a proposal regarding notice covering the matters that must be determined 
by the court under subrule (C)(3). In lieu of such a proposal, the plaintiff may state 
reasons why a determination of these matters cannot then be made and offer a proposal 
as to when such a determination should be made. Such a proposal must also be 
included in a motion to revoke or amend certification.

(3) Action by Court. As soon as practicable, the court shall determine how, when, by 
whom, and to whom the notice shall be given; the content of the notice; and to whom 
the response to the notice is to be sent. The court may postpone the notice 
determination until after the parties have had an opportunity for discovery, which the 
court may limit to matters relevant to the notice determination.

(4) Manner of Giving Notice.

(a) Reasonable notice of the action shall be given to the class in such manner as the 
court directs.

(b) The court may require individual written notice to all members who can be 
identified with reasonable effort. In lieu of or in addition to individual notice, the 
court may require notice to be given through another method reasonably calculated 
to reach the members of the class. Such methods may include using publication in 
a newspaper or magazine; broadcasting on television or radio; posting; or 
distribution through a trade or professional association, union, or public interest 
group.

(c) In determining the manner of notice, the court shall consider, among other 
factors,

(i) the extent and nature of the class,

(ii) the relief requested,

(iii) the cost of notifying the members,

(iv) the resources of the plaintiff, and

(v) the possible prejudice to be suffered by members of the class or by others if 
notice is not received.

(5) Content of Notice. The notice shall include:
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(a) a general description of the action, including the relief sought, and the names 
and addresses of the representative parties;

(b) a statement of the right of a member of the class to be excluded from the action 
by submitting an election to be excluded, including the manner and time for 
exercising the election;

(c) a description of possible financial consequences for the class;

(d) a general description of any counterclaim or notice of intent to assert a 
counterclaim by or against members of the class, including the relief sought;

(e) a statement that the judgment, whether favorable or not, will bind all members 
of the class who are not excluded from the action;

(f) a statement that any member of the class may intervene in the action;

(g) the address of counsel to whom inquiries may be directed; and

(h) other information the court deems appropriate.

(6) Cost of Notice.

(a) The plaintiff shall bear the expense of the notification required by subrule 
(C)(1). The court may require the defendant to cooperate in the notice process, but 
any additional costs incurred by the defendant in doing so shall be paid by the 
plaintiff.

(b) Upon termination of the action, the court may allow as taxable costs the 
expenses of notification incurred by the prevailing party.

(c) Subrules (C)(6)(a) and (b) shall not apply when a statute provides for a 
different allocation of the cost of notice in a particular class of actions.

(7) Additional Notices. In addition to the notice required by subrule (C)(1), during the 
course of the action the court may require that notice of any other matter be given in 
such manner as the court directs to some or all of the members of the class.

(D) Judgment.

(1) The judgment shall describe the parties bound.

(2) A judgment entered before certification of a class binds only the named parties.

(3) A motion for judgment (including partial judgment) under MCR 2.116 may be 
filed and decided before the decision on the question of class certification. A judgment 
entered before certification in favor of a named party does not preclude that party from 
representing the class in the action if that is otherwise appropriate.

(4) A complaint that does not include class action allegations may not be amended to 
include such allegations after the granting of judgment or partial judgment under MCR 
2.116.

(5) A judgment entered in an action certified as a class action binds all members of the 
class who have not submitted an election to be excluded, except as otherwise directed 
by the court.
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(6) Residual Funds.

(a) “Residual Funds” are funds that remain after the payment of approved class 
member claims, expenses, litigation costs, attorney’s fees, and other court-
approved disbursements made to implement the relief granted in the judgment 
approving a proposed settlement of a class action.

(b) Nothing in this rule is intended to limit the parties to a class action from 
proposing a settlement, or the court from entering a judgment approving a 
settlement, that does not create Residual Funds.

(c) Any judgment approving a proposed settlement of a class action certified under 
this rule that may result in the existence of Residual Funds shall provide for the 
disbursement of any such Residual Funds upon the stipulation of the parties and 
subject to the approval of the court. In matters where the claims process has been 
exhausted and Residual Funds remain, unless the judgment provides otherwise, the 
Residual Funds shall be disbursed to the Michigan State Bar Foundation to support 
activities and programs that promote access to the civil justice system for low 
income residents of Michigan.

(E) Dismissal or Compromise. An action certified as a class action may not be dismissed 
or compromised without the approval of the court, and notice of the proposed dismissal or 
compromise shall be given to the class in such manner as the court directs.

(F) Statute of Limitations.

(1) The statute of limitations is tolled as to all persons within the class described in the 
complaint on the commencement of an action asserting a class action.

(2) The statute of limitations resumes running against class members other than 
representative parties and intervenors:

(a) on the filing of a notice of the plaintiff's failure to move for class certification 
under subrule (B)(2);

(b) 28 days after notice has been made under subrule (C)(1) of the entry, 
amendment, or revocation of an order of certification eliminating the person from 
the class;

(c) on entry of an order denying certification of the action as a class action;

(d) on submission of an election to be excluded;

(e) on final disposition of the action.

(3) If the circumstance that brought about the resumption of the running of the statute 
is superseded by a further order of the trial court, by reversal on appeal, or otherwise, 
the statute of limitations shall be deemed to have been tolled continuously from the 
commencement of the action.

(G) Discovery. Representative parties and intervenors are subject to discovery in the same 
manner as parties in other civil actions. Other class members are subject to discovery in 
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the same manner as persons who are not parties, and may be required to submit to 
discovery procedures applicable to parties to the extent ordered by the court.

(H) Counterclaims.

(1) Right to File Counterclaims. A party to a class action may file counterclaims as in 
any other action, including counterclaims by or against a class or an individual class 
member.

(2) Notice of Intent to File Counterclaims. The defendant may file notice of intent to 
assert counterclaims against absent class members before notice of certification is 
given under subrule (C)(1), identifying or describing the persons against whom 
counterclaims may be filed and describing the nature of the counterclaims.

(3) Time to File. A counterclaim against a class member other than a representative 
party must be filed and served within 56 days after the class member intervenes or 
submits a claim for distribution of a share of any award recovered in the action, 
whichever is earlier, or within such further time as the court allows.

(4) Notice to Class Members. If the notice of certification given under subrule (C)(1) 
did not notify potential class members of the counterclaim, each class member against 
whom a counterclaim is asserted shall be permitted to elect to be excluded from the 
action. Notice of this right shall be served with the counterclaim.

(5) Control of Action. The court shall take such steps as are necessary to prevent the 
pendency of counterclaims from making the action unmanageable as a class action. 
Such steps include but are not limited to severing counterclaims for separate trial 
under MCR 2.505(B) or ordering that consideration of the counterclaims be deferred 
until after determination of the issue of the defendant's liability, at which time the 
court may hear the counterclaims, remove them to a lower court, change venue, 
dismiss them without prejudice, or take other appropriate action.

(I) Defendant Classes.

(1) An action that seeks to recover money from individual members of a defendant 
class may not be maintained as a class action.

(2) A representative of a defendant class, other than a public body or a public officer, 
may decline to defend the action in a representative capacity unless the court finds that 
the convenient administration of justice otherwise requires.

RULE 3.502 SECONDARY ACTION BY SHAREHOLDERS

(A) Pleading. In an action brought by one or more shareholders in an incorporated or 
unincorporated association because the association has refused or failed to enforce rights 
which may properly be asserted by it, the complaint shall set forth under oath and with 
particularity the efforts of the plaintiff to secure from the managing directors or trustees 
the action the plaintiff desires and the reasons for the failure to obtain such action, or the 
reasons for not making such an effort.
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(B) Security. At any stage of an action under this subrule the court may require such 
security and impose such terms as shall fairly and adequately protect the interests of the 
class or association in whose behalf the action is brought or defended.

(C) Notice. The court may order that notice be given, in the manner and to the persons it 
directs,

(1) of the right of absent persons to appear and present claims and defenses;

(2) of the pendency of the action;

(3) of a proposed settlement;

(4) of entry of judgment; or

(5) of any other proceedings in the action.

(D) Inadequate Representation. Whenever the representation appears to the court 
inadequate to protect the interests of absent persons who may be bound by the judgment, 
the court may at any time prior to judgment order an amendment of the pleadings to 
eliminate references to representation of absent persons, and the court shall enter 
judgment in such form as to affect only the parties to the action and those adequately 
represented.

RULE 3.503 ACTION BY FIDUCIARY

(A) Court Order. When a proceeding is instituted by a fiduciary seeking instruction or 
authorization with respect to fiduciary duties or the trust property, and it appears that it is 
impracticable to bring all of the beneficiaries before the court, the court shall enter an 
order:

(1) setting forth the form of and manner for giving notice of the proceedings to the 
beneficiaries, and

(2) selecting representatives of the beneficiaries to act as representatives of the class.

(B) Notice. The contents of the notice shall fairly state the purpose of the proceedings and 
shall specify the time and place of hearing. Where an applicable statute provides for 
notice, the court may dispense with other notice.

SUBCHAPTER 3.600 MISCELLANEOUS PROCEEDINGS

RULE 3.601 PUBLIC NUISANCES

(A) Procedure to Abate Public Nuisance. Actions to abate public nuisances are governed 
by the general rules of procedure and evidence applicable to nonjury actions, except as 
provided by the statutes covering public nuisances and by this rule.
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(B) Default; Hearing; Notice and Time. If a defendant fails to answer within the time 
provided, his or her default may be taken. On answer of a defendant or entry of a 
defendant's default, a party other than a defendant in default may notice the action for 
hearing on 7 days' notice. Hearings in actions under this rule take precedence over actions 
that are not entitled to priority by statute or rule and may be held at the time they are 
noticed without further pretrial proceedings.

(C) Motions; Hearing. Motions by the defendant filed and served with the answer are 
heard on the day of the hearing of the action.

(D) Entry of Order or Judgment; Preliminary Injunction.

(1) On the day noticed for hearing, the court shall hear and determine the disputed 
issues and enter a proper order and judgment.

(2) If the hearing is adjourned at the defendant's request, and the court is satisfied by 
affidavit or otherwise that the allegations in the complaint are true and that the plaintiff 
is entitled to relief, an injunction as requested may be granted, to be binding until 
further order.

(3) If service is not obtained on all of the defendants named in the complaint, the court 
has jurisdiction to hear the action and enter a proper order of abatement and judgment 
against those defendants who have been served. The order and judgment may not 
adversely affect the interests of the defendants who have not been served.

(E) Temporary Restraining Order. If a preliminary injunction is requested in the complaint 
and the court is satisfied by affidavit or otherwise that the material allegations are true, and 
that the plaintiff is entitled to relief, it may issue a temporary restraining order in 
accordance with MCR 3.310(B), restraining the defendant from conducting, maintaining, 
and permitting the continuance of the nuisance and from removing or permitting the 
removal of the liquor, furniture, fixtures, vehicles, or other things used in the maintenance 
of the nuisance, until the final hearing and determination on the complaint or further order.

(F) Substitution for Complaining Party. The court may substitute the Attorney General or 
prosecuting attorney for the complaining party and direct the substituted officer to 
prosecute the action to judgment.

(G) Further Orders of Court. The court may enter other orders consistent with equity and 
not inconsistent with the provisions of the statute and this rule.

RULE 3.602 ARBITRATION

(A) Applicability of Rule. Courts shall have all powers described in MCL 691.1681 et 
seq., or reasonably related thereto, for arbitrations governed by that statute. The remainder 
of this rule applies to all other forms of arbitration, in the absence of contradictory 
provisions in the arbitration agreement or limitations imposed by statute, including MCL 
691.1683(2).
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(B) Proceedings Regarding Arbitration.

(1) A request for an order to compel or to stay arbitration or for another order under 
this rule must be by motion, which shall be heard in the manner and on the notice 
provided by these rules for motions. If there is not a pending action between the 
parties, the party seeking the requested relief must first file a complaint as in other 
civil actions.

(2) On motion of a party showing an agreement to arbitrate and the opposing party's 
refusal to arbitrate, the court may order the parties to proceed with arbitration and to 
take other steps necessary to carry out the arbitration agreement. If the opposing party 
denies the existence of an agreement to arbitrate, the court shall summarily determine 
the issues and may order arbitration or deny the motion.

(3) On motion, the court may stay an arbitration proceeding commenced or threatened 
on a showing that there is no agreement to arbitrate. If there is a substantial and good-
faith dispute, the court shall summarily try the issue and may enter a stay or direct the 
parties to proceed to arbitration.

(4) A motion to compel arbitration may not be denied on the ground that the claim 
sought to be arbitrated lacks merit or is not filed in good faith, or because fault or 
grounds for the claim have not been shown.

(C) Action Involving Issues Subject to Arbitration; Stay. Subject to MCR 3.310(E), an 
action or proceeding involving an issue subject to arbitration must be stayed if an order for 
arbitration or motion for such an order has been made under this rule. If the issue subject 
to arbitration is severable, the stay may be limited to that issue. If a motion for an order 
compelling arbitration is made in the action or proceeding in which the issue is raised, an 
order for arbitration must include a stay.

(D) Hearing; Time; Place; Adjournment.

(1) The arbitrator shall set the time and place for the hearing, and may adjourn it as 
necessary.

(2) On a party's request for good cause, the arbitrator may postpone the hearing to a 
time not later than the day set for rendering the award.

(E) Oath of Arbitrator and Witnesses.

(1) Before hearing testimony, the arbitrator must be sworn to hear and fairly consider 
the matters submitted and to make a just award according to his or her best 
understanding.

(2) The arbitrator has the power to administer oaths to the witnesses.

(F) Discovery and Subpoenas.

(1) The court may enforce a subpoena or discovery-related order for the attendance of 
a witness in this state and for the production of records and other evidence issued by 
an arbitrator in connection with an arbitration proceeding in another state on 
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conditions determined by the court so as to make the arbitration proceeding fair, 
expeditious, and cost effective.

(2) A subpoena or discovery-related order issued by an arbitrator in another state shall 
be served in the manner provided by law for service of subpoenas in a civil action in 
this state and, on motion to the court by a party to the arbitration proceeding or the 
arbitrator, enforced in the manner provided by law for enforcement of subpoenas in a 
civil action in this state.

(3) On a party's request, the arbitrator may permit the taking of a deposition, for use as 
evidence, of a witness who cannot be subpoenaed or is unable to attend the hearing. 
The arbitrator may designate the manner of and the terms for taking the deposition.

(G) Representation by Attorney. A party has the right to be represented by an attorney at a 
proceeding or hearing under this rule. A waiver of the right before the proceeding or 
hearing is ineffective.

(H) Award by Majority; Absence of Arbitrator. If the arbitration is by a panel of 
arbitrators, the hearing shall be conducted by all of them, but a majority may decide any 
question and render a final award unless the concurrence of all of the arbitrators is 
expressly required by the agreement to submit to arbitration. If, during the course of the 
hearing, an arbitrator ceases to act for any reason, the remaining arbitrator or arbitrators 
may continue with the hearing and determine the controversy.

(I) Award; Confirmation by Court. A party may move for confirmation of an arbitration 
award within one year after the award was rendered. The court may confirm the award, 
unless it is vacated, corrected, or modified, or a decision is postponed, as provided in this 
rule.

(J) Vacating Award.

(1) A request for an order to vacate an arbitration award under this rule must be made 
by motion. If there is not a pending action between the parties, the party seeking the 
requested relief must first file a complaint as in other civil actions. A complaint or 
motion to vacate an arbitration award must be filed no later than 21 days after the date 
of the arbitration award.

(2) On motion of a party, the court shall vacate an award if:

(a) the award was procured by corruption, fraud, or other undue means;

(b) there was evident partiality by an arbitrator appointed as a neutral, corruption 
of an arbitrator, or misconduct prejudicing a party’s rights;

(c) the arbitrator exceeded his or her powers; or

(d) the arbitrator refused to postpone the hearing on a showing of sufficient cause, 
refused to hear evidence material to the controversy, or otherwise conducted the 
hearing to prejudice substantially a party’s rights.
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The fact that the relief could not or would not be granted by a court of law or equity is 
not ground for vacating or refusing to confirm the award.

(3) A motion to vacate an award must be filed within 91 days after the date of the 
award. However, if the motion is predicated on corruption, fraud, or other undue 
means, it must be filed within 21 days after the grounds are known or should have 
been known. A motion to vacate an award in a domestic relations case must be filed 
within 21 days after the date of the award.

(4) In vacating the award, the court may order a rehearing before a new arbitrator 
chosen as provided in the agreement, or, if there is no such provision, by the court. If 
the award is vacated on grounds stated in subrule (J)(2)(c) or (d), the court may order a 
rehearing before the arbitrator who made the award. The time within which the 
agreement requires the award to be made is applicable to the rehearing and 
commences from the date of the order.

(5) If the motion to vacate is denied and there is no motion to modify or correct the 
award pending, the court shall confirm the award.

(K) Modification or Correction of Award.

(1)A request for an order to modify or correct an arbitration award under this rule must 
be made by motion. If there is not a pending action between the parties, the party 
seeking the requested relief must first file a complaint as in other civil actions. A 
complaint to correct or modify an arbitration award must be filed no later than 21 days 
after the date of the arbitration award.

 (2) On motion made within 91 days after the date of the award, the court shall modify 
or correct the award if:

(a) there is an evident miscalculation of figures or an evident mistake in the 
description of a person, a thing, or property referred to in the award;

(b) the arbitrator has awarded on a matter not submitted to the arbitrator, and the 
award may be corrected without affecting the merits of the decision on the issues 
submitted; or

(c) the award is imperfect in a matter of form, not affecting the merits of the 
controversy.

(3) If the motion is granted, the court shall modify and correct the award to effect its 
intent and shall confirm the award as modified and corrected. Otherwise, the court 
shall confirm the award as made.

(4) A motion to modify or correct an award may be joined in the alternative with a 
motion to vacate the award.

(L) Judgment. The court shall render judgment giving effect to the award as corrected, 
confirmed, or modified. The judgment has the same force and effect, and may be enforced 
in the same manner, as other judgments.
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(M) Costs. The costs of the proceedings may be taxed as in civil actions, and, if provision 
for the fees and expenses of the arbitrator has not been made in the award, the court may 
allow compensation for the arbitrator’s services as it deems just. The arbitrator’s 
compensation is a taxable cost in the action.

(N) Appeals. Appeals may be taken as from orders or judgments in other civil actions.

RULE 3.603 INTERPLEADER

(A) Availability.

(1) Persons having claims against the plaintiff may be joined as defendants and 
required to interplead when their claims are such that the plaintiff is or may be 
exposed to double or multiple liability. It is not a ground for objection to the joinder 
that the claims of the several claimants or the titles on which their claims depend do 
not have a common origin or are not identical, but are adverse to and independent of 
one another, or that the plaintiff denies liability to any or all of the claimants in whole 
or in part.

(2) A defendant exposed to liability as described in subrule (A)(1), may obtain 
interpleader by counterclaim or cross-claim. A claimant not already before the court 
may be joined as defendant, as provided in MCR 2.207 or MCR 2.209.

(3) If one or more actions concerning the subject matter of the interpleader action have 
already been filed, the interpleader action must be filed in the court where the first 
action was filed.

(B) Procedure.

(1) The court may order the property or the amount of money as to which the plaintiff 
admits liability to be deposited with the court or otherwise preserved, or to be secured 
by a bond in an amount sufficient to assure payment of the liability admitted.

(2) The court may thereafter enjoin the parties before it from commencing or 
prosecuting another action regarding the subject matter of the interpleader action.

(3) On hearing, the court may order the plaintiff discharged from liability as to 
property deposited or secured before determining the rights of the claimants.

(C) Rule Not Exclusive. The provisions of this rule supplement and do not in any way 
limit the joinder of parties permitted by MCR 2.206.

(D) Disposition of Earlier Action. If another action concerning the subject matter of the 
interpleader action has previously been filed, the court in which the earlier action was filed 
may:

(1) transfer the action, entirely or in part, to the court in which the interpleader action 
is pending,

(2) hold the action entirely or partially in abeyance, pending resolution of the 
interpleader action,
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(3) dismiss the action, entirely or in part, or

(4) upon a showing of good cause, proceed with the action, explaining on the record 
the basis of the decision to proceed.

(E) Actual Costs. The court may award actual costs to an interpleader plaintiff. For the 
purposes of this rule, actual costs are those costs taxable in any civil action, and a 
reasonable attorney fee as determined by the trial court.

(1) The court may order that the plaintiff's actual costs of filing the interpleader 
request, tendering the disputed property to the court, and participating in the case as a 
disinterested stakeholder be paid from the disputed property or by another party.

(2) If the plaintiff incurs actual costs other than those described in subrule (1) due to 
another party's unreasonable litigation posture, the court may order that the other party 
pay those additional actual costs.

(3) An award made pursuant to this rule may not include reimbursement for the actual 
costs of asserting the plaintiff's own claim to the disputed property, or of supporting or 
opposing another party's claim.

RULE 3.604 BONDS

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule applies to bonds given under the Michigan Court Rules and 
the Revised Judicature Act, unless a rule or statute clearly indicates that a different 
procedure is to be followed.

(B) Submission to Jurisdiction of Court by Surety. A surety on a bond or undertaking 
given under the Michigan Court Rules or the Revised Judicature Act submits to the 
jurisdiction of the court and consents that further proceedings affecting the surety's 
liability on the bond or undertaking may be conducted under this rule.

(C) Death of Party; Substitution of Surety. If the only plaintiff or the only defendant dies 
during the pendency of an action, in addition to the parties substituted under MCR 2.202, 
each surety on a bond given by the deceased party shall be made a party to the action, on 
notice to the surety in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107.

(D) Affidavit of Surety; Notice of Bond.

(1) A surety on a bond, except for a surety company authorized to do business in 
Michigan, must execute an affidavit that he or she has pecuniary responsibility and 
attach the affidavit to the bond.

(2) In alleging pecuniary responsibility, a surety must affirm that he or she owns assets 
not exempt from execution having a fair market value exceeding his or her liabilities 
by at least twice the amount of the bond.

(3) A copy of a bond and the accompanying affidavit must be promptly served on the 
party for whose benefit it is given in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107. Proof of 
service must be filed promptly with the court in which the bond has been filed.
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(4) In an action alleging medical malpractice filed on or after October 1, 1986, notice 
of the filing of security for costs or the affidavit in lieu of such security, required by 
MCL 600.2912d, 600.2912e, shall be given as provided in MCR 2.109(B).

(E) Objections to Surety. A party for whose benefit a bond is given may, within 7 days 
after receipt of a copy of the bond, serve on the officer taking the bond and the party 
giving the bond a notice that the party objects to the sufficiency of the surety. Failure to do 
so waives all objections to the surety.

(F) Hearing on Objections to Surety. Notice of objection to a surety must be filed as a 
motion for hearing on objections to the bond.

(1) On demand of the objecting party, the surety must appear at the hearing of the 
motion and be subject to examination as to the surety's pecuniary responsibility or the 
validity of the execution of the bond.

(2) After the hearing, the court may approve or reject the bond as filed or require an 
amended, substitute, or additional bond, as the circumstances warrant.

(3) In an appeal to the circuit court from a lower court or tribunal, an objection to the 
surety is heard in the circuit court.

(G) Surety Company Bond. A surety company certified by the Commissioner of Insurance 
as authorized to do business in Michigan may act as surety on a bond.

(H) Assignment or Delivery of Bond. If the condition of a bond is broken, or the 
circumstances require, the court shall direct the delivery or assignment of the bond for 
prosecution to the person for whose benefit it was given. Proceedings to enforce the bond 
may be taken in the action pursuant to subrule (I).

(I) Judgment Against Surety.

(1) Judgment on Motion. In an action in which a bond or other security has been 
posted, judgment may be entered directly against the surety or the security on motion 
without the necessity of an independent action on a showing that the condition has 
occurred giving rise to the liability on the bond or to the forfeiture of the security.

(2) Notice. Notice of the hearing on the motion for judgment must be given to the 
surety or the owner of the security in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107. The notice 
may be mailed to the address stated in the bond or stated when the security was 
furnished unless the surety or owner has given notice of a change of address.

(3) Restitution. If in later proceedings in the action, on appeal or otherwise, it is 
determined that the surety is not liable or that the security should not have been 
forfeited, the court may order restitution of money paid or security forfeited.

(J) Application to Another Judge After Supersedeas Refused.
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(1) If a circuit judge has denied an application for supersedeas in whole or in part, or 
has granted it conditionally or on terms, a later application for the same purpose and in 
the same matter may not be made to another circuit judge if the first judge is available.

(2) If an order is entered contrary to the provisions of subrule (J)(1), it is void and must 
be revoked by the judge who entered it, on proof of the facts. A person making a later 
application contrary to this rule is subject to punishment for contempt.

(K) Cash or Securities Bond. The furnishing of a cash or securities bond under MCL 
600.2631 is deemed compliance with these rules.

(L) Stay of Proceedings Without Bond. If a party required to give a bond under these rules 
for supersedeas, appeal, or otherwise is unable to give the bond by reason of poverty, the 
court may, on proof of the inability, limit or eliminate the requirement for surety on the 
bond on appropriate conditions and for a reasonable time.

RULE 3.605 COLLECTION OF PENALTIES, FINES, FORFEITURES, AND FORFEITED RECOGNIZANCES

(A) Definition. The term “penalty,” as used in this rule, includes fines, forfeitures, and 
forfeited recognizances, unless otherwise provided in this rule.

(B) Parties. The civil action for a pecuniary penalty incurred for the violation of an 
ordinance of a city or village must be brought in the name of the city or village. Other 
actions to recover penalties must be brought in the name of the people of the State of 
Michigan.

(C) Judgment on Penalty. In an action against a party liable for a penalty, judgment may 
be rendered directly against the party and in favor of the other party on motion and 
showing that the condition has occurred giving rise to the penalty. This subrule does not 
apply to forfeited civil recognizances under MCR 3.604 or to forfeited criminal 
recognizances under MCL 765.28.

(D) Remission of Penalty. An application for the remission of a penalty, including a bond 
forfeiture, may be made to the judge who imposed the penalty or ordered the forfeiture. 
The application may not be heard until reasonable notice has been given to the prosecuting 
attorney (or municipal attorney) and he or she has had an opportunity to examine the 
matter and prepare to resist the application. The application may not be granted without 
payment of the costs and expenses incurred in the proceedings for the collection of the 
penalty, unless waived by the court.

(E) Duty of Clerk When Fine Without Order for Commitment; Duty of Prosecutor. When 
a fine is imposed by a court on a person, without an order for the immediate commitment 
of the person until the fine is paid, the clerk of the court shall deliver a copy of the order 
imposing the fine to the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the court is held, or 
the municipal attorney in the case of a fine that is payable to a municipality. The 
prosecuting attorney (or municipal attorney) shall obtain execution to collect the fine.
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RULE 3.606 CONTEMPTS OUTSIDE IMMEDIATE PRESENCE OF COURT

(A) Initiation of Proceeding. For a contempt committed outside the immediate view and 
presence of the court, on a proper showing on ex parte motion supported by affidavits, the 
court shall either

(1) order the accused person to show cause, at a reasonable time specified in the order, 
why that person should not be punished for the alleged misconduct; or

(2) issue a bench warrant for the arrest of the person.

(B) Writ of Habeas Corpus. A writ of habeas corpus to bring up a prisoner to testify may 
be used to bring before the court a person charged with misconduct under this rule. The 
court may enter an appropriate order for the disposition of the person.

(C) Bond for Appearance.

(1) The court may allow the giving of a bond in lieu of arrest, prescribing in the bench 
warrant the penalty of the bond and the return day for the defendant.

(2) The defendant is discharged from arrest on executing and delivering to the 
arresting officer a bond

(a) in the penalty endorsed on the bench warrant to the officer and the officer's 
successors,

(b) with two sufficient sureties, and

(c) with a condition that the defendant appear on the return day and await the order 
and judgment of the court.

(3) Return of Bond. On returning a bench warrant, the officer executing it must return 
the bond of the defendant, if one was taken. The bond must be filed with the bench 
warrant.

(D) Assignment of Bond; Damages. The court may order assignment of the bond to an 
aggrieved party who is authorized by the court to prosecute the bond under MCR 
3.604(H). The measure of the damages to be assessed in an action on the bond is the extent 
of the loss or injury sustained by the aggrieved party because of the misconduct for which 
the order for arrest was issued, and that party's costs and expenses in securing the order. 
The remainder of the penalty of the bond is paid into the treasury of the county in which 
the bond was taken, to the credit of the general fund.

(E) Prosecution on Bond by Attorney General or Prosecutor. If the court does not order an 
assignment as provided in (D), it shall order the breach prosecuted by the Attorney 
General or by the prosecuting attorney for the county in which the bond was taken, under 
MCR 3.604. The penalty recovered is to be paid into the treasury of the county in which 
the bond was taken, to the credit of the general fund.

(F) The court shall not sentence a person to a term of incarceration for nonpayment unless 
the court has complied with the provisions of MCR 6.425(D)(3). Proceedings to which the 
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Child Support and Parenting Time Enforcement Act, MCL 552.602 et seq., applies are 
subject to the requirements of that act.

RULE 3.607 PROCEEDINGS TO RESTORE LOST RECORDS OR DOCUMENTS IN COURTS OF RECORD

(A) Application for Order. When a record or paper relating to an action or proceeding 
pending or determined in a Michigan court of record is lost, a person having an interest in 
its recovery may apply to the court having jurisdiction of the action or the record for an 
order that a duplicate of the lost record or paper be prepared and filed in the court.

(B) Manner of Proceeding; Notice to Interested Parties. The party making the application 
must show to the satisfaction of the court that the record or paper once existed and has 
been lost, without the fault or connivance, directly or indirectly, of the applicant. On that 
showing, the court shall direct the manner of proceeding to replace the lost item, and the 
notice to be given to parties interested in the application.

(C) Witnesses; Interrogatories. The court before which the application is pending may 
issue subpoenas for and compel the attendance of witnesses, or may compel witnesses to 
submit to examination on interrogatories and to establish facts relevant to the proceeding.

(D) Order; Effect of Duplicate. If the court is satisfied that the record or paper proposed as 
a substitute for the lost one exhibits all the material facts of the original, the court shall 
enter an order providing that the substitute record or paper be filed or recorded with the 
officer who had custody of the original. During the continuance of the loss, the substituted 
record or paper has the same effect in all respects and in all places as the original. 

RULE 3.611 VOLUNTARY DISSOLUTION OF CORPORATIONS

(A) Scope; Rules Applicable. This rule governs actions to dissolve corporations brought 
under MCL 600.3501. The general rules of procedure apply to these actions, except as 
provided in this rule and in MCL 600.3501-600.3515.

(B) Contents of Complaint; Statements Attached. A complaint seeking voluntary 
dissolution of a corporation must state why the plaintiff desires a dissolution of the 
corporation, and there must be attached:

(1) an inventory of all the corporation's property;

(2) a statement of all encumbrances on the corporation's property;

(3) an account of the corporation's capital stock, specifying the names of the 
stockholders, their addresses, if known, the number of shares belonging to each, the 
amount paid in on the shares, and the amount still due on them;

(4) an account of all the corporation's creditors and the contracts entered into by the 
corporation that may not have been fully satisfied and canceled, specifying:

(a) the address of each creditor and of every known person with whom the 
contracts were made, if known, and if not known, that fact to be stated;
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(b) the amount owing to each creditor;

(c) the nature of each debt, demand, or obligation; and

(d) the basis of and consideration for each debt, demand, or obligation; and

(5) the affidavit of the plaintiff that the facts stated in the complaint, accounts, 
inventories, and statements are complete and true, so far as the plaintiff knows or has 
the means of knowing.

(C) Notice of Action. Process may be served as in other actions, or, on the filing of the 
complaint, the court may order all persons interested in the corporation to show cause why 
the corporation should not be dissolved, at a time and place to be specified in the order, 
but at least 28 days after the date of the order. Notice of the contents of the order must be 
served by mail on all creditors and stockholders at least 28 days before the hearing date, 
and must be published once each week for 3 successive weeks in a newspaper designated 
by the court.

(D) Hearing. At a hearing ordered under subrule (C), the court shall hear the allegations 
and proofs of the parties and take testimony relating to the property, debts, credits, 
engagements, and condition of the corporation. After the hearing, the court may dismiss 
the action, order the corporation dissolved, appoint a receiver, schedule further 
proceedings, or enter another appropriate order.

(E) Suits by Receiver. An action may be brought by the receiver in his or her own name 
and may be continued by the receiver's successor or co-receiver. An action commenced by 
or against the corporation before the filing of the complaint for dissolution is not abated by 
the complaint or by the judgment of dissolution, but may be prosecuted or defended by the 
receiver. The court in which an action is pending may on motion order substitution of 
parties or enter another necessary order.

RULE 3.612 WINDING UP OF CORPORATION WHOSE TERM OR CHARTER HAS EXPIRED

(A) Scope; Rules Applicable. This rule applies to actions under MCL 450.1801 et seq. The 
general rules of procedure apply to these actions, except as provided in this rule and in 
MCL 450.1801 et seq.

(B) Contents of Complaint. The complaint must include:

(1) the nature of the plaintiff's interest in the corporation or its property, the date of 
organization of the corporation, the title and the date of approval of the special act 
under which the corporation is organized, if appropriate, and the term of corporate 
existence;

(2) whether any of the corporation's stockholders are unknown to the plaintiff;

(3) that the complaint is filed on behalf of the plaintiff and all other persons interested 
in the property of the corporation as stockholders, creditors, or otherwise who may 
choose to join as parties plaintiff and share the expense of the action;
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(4) an incorporation by reference of the statements required by subrule (C);

(5) other appropriate allegations; and

(6) a demand for appropriate relief, which may include that the affairs of the 
corporation be wound up and its assets disposed of and distributed and that a receiver 
of its property be appointed.

(C) Statements Attached to Complaint. The complaint must have attached:

(1) a copy of the corporation's articles of incorporation, if they are on file with the 
Department of Commerce, and, if the corporation is organized by special act, a copy of 
the act;

(2) a statement of the corporation's assets, so far as known to the plaintiff;

(3) a statement of the amount of capital stock and of the amount paid in, as far as 
known, from the last report of the corporation on file with the Department of 
Commerce or, if none has been filed, from the articles of incorporation on file with the 
Department of Commerce, or the special legislative act organizing the corporation;

(4) if the corporation's stock records are accessible to the plaintiff, a list of the 
stockholders' names and addresses and the number of shares held by each, insofar as 
shown in the records;

(5) a statement of all encumbrances on the corporation's property, and all claims 
against the corporation, and the names and addresses of the encumbrancers and 
claimants, so far as known to the plaintiff; and

(6) a statement of the corporation's debts, the names and addresses of the creditors, and 
the nature of the consideration for each debt, so far as known to the plaintiff.

(D) Parties Defendant. The corporation must be made a defendant. All persons claiming 
encumbrances on the property may be made defendants. It is not necessary to make a 
stockholder or creditor of the corporation a defendant.

(E) Process and Order for Appearance; Publication.

(1) Process must be issued and served as in other civil actions or, on the filing of the 
complaint, the court may order the appearance and answer of the corporation, its 
stockholders, and creditors at least 28 days after the date of the order.

(2) The order for appearance must be published in the manner prescribed in MCR 
2.106.

(3) When proof of the publication is filed and the time specified in the order for the 
appearance of the corporation, stockholders, and creditors has expired, an order may 
be entered taking the complaint as confessed by those who have not appeared.

(F) Appearance by Defendants.

(1) Within the time the order for appearance sets, the following persons may appear 
and defend the suit as the corporation might have:
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(a) a stockholder in the corporation while it existed and who still retains rights in 
its property by owning stock;

(b) an assignee, purchaser, heir, devisee, or personal representative of a 
stockholder; or

(c) a creditor of the corporation, whose claim is not barred by the statute of 
limitations.

(2) All persons so appearing must defend in the name of the corporation.

(3) If a person other than the corporation has been named as a defendant in the 
complaint, that person must be served with process as in other civil actions.

(G) Subsequent Proceedings. So far as applicable, the procedures established in MCR 
3.611 govern hearings and later proceedings in an action under this rule.

(H) Continuation of Proceeding for Benefit of Stockholder or Creditor. If the plaintiff fails 
to establish that he or she is a stockholder or creditor of the corporation, the action may be 
continued by another stockholder or creditor who has appeared in the action.

RULE 3.613 CHANGE OF NAME

(A) A petition to change a name must be made on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(B) Published Notice; Contents. Unless otherwise provided in this rule, the court must 
order publication of the notice of the proceeding to change a name in a newspaper in the 
county where the action is pending. If the court has waived fees under MCR 2.002, it 
must pay the cost of any ordered publication, including any affidavit fee charged by 
the publisher or the publisher’s agent for preparing the affidavit pursuant to MCR 
2.106(G). Any case record reflecting court payment must be nonpublic. A published 
notice of a proceeding to change a name must include the name of the petitioner; the 
current name of the subject of the petition; the proposed name; and the time, date, and 
place of the hearing. Proof of service must be made as provided by MCR 2.106(G)(1).

(C) No Publication of Notice; Confidential Record. Upon receiving a petition establishing 
good cause, the court must order that no publication of notice of the proceeding take place 
and that the record of the proceeding be confidential. Good cause includes but is not 
limited to evidence that publication or availability of a record of the proceeding could 
place the petitioner or another individual in physical danger or increase the likelihood of 
such danger, such as evidence that the petitioner or another individual has been the victim 
of stalking, domestic violence, human trafficking, harassment, or an assaultive crime, or 
evidence that publication or the availability of a record of the proceeding could place the 
petitioner or another individual at risk of unlawful retaliation or discrimination.

(1) Evidence supporting good cause must include the petitioner’s or the endangered 
individual’s sworn statement stating the reason supporting good cause, including but 
not limited to fear of physical danger, if the record is published or otherwise available. 
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The court must not require proof of an arrest or prosecution to reach a finding of good 
cause.

(2) The court must issue an ex parte order granting or denying a petition requesting 
nonpublication and confidential record under this subrule.

(3) If a petition requesting nonpublication under this subrule is granted, the court must:

(a) issue a written order;

(b) notify the petitioner of its decision and the time, date, and place of the hearing 
on the requested name change under subrule (A); and

(c) if a minor is the subject of the petition, direct the petitioner to notify the 
noncustodial parent as provided in subrule (E), except that if the noncustodial 
parent’s address or whereabouts is not known and cannot be ascertained after 
diligent inquiry, notice to the noncustodial parent that is not directed solely to that 
parent, such as by publication under subrule (E)(2)(a), must not include the current 
or proposed name of the minor.

(4) If a petition requesting nonpublication under this subrule is denied, the court must 
issue a written order that states the reasons for denying relief and advises the petitioner 
of the right to

(a) request a hearing regarding the denial,

(b) file a notice of dismissal, or

(c) proceed with a hearing on the name change petition by submitting a publication 
of notice of hearing for name change form with the court within 14 days of entry of 
the order denying the petition requesting nonpublication. If the petitioner submits 
such form, in accordance with subrule (B) the court must set a time, date, and place 
of a hearing and order publication.

(5) If the petitioner does not request a hearing under subrule (4)(a) within 14 days of 
entry of the order, the order is final.

(6) If the petitioner does not request a hearing under subrule (4)(a) or file a notice of 
dismissal under subrule (4)(b) within 14 days of entry of the order denying the petition 
requesting nonpublication, the court may set a time, date, and place of a hearing on the 
petition for a name change and order publication of notice as provided in subrule (B), 
and if applicable, subrule (E).

(7) A hearing under subrule (4)(a) must be held on the record.

(8) The petitioner must attend the hearing under subrule (4)(a). If the petitioner fails to 
attend the hearing, the court must adjourn and reschedule. If the petitioner fails to 
attend the rescheduled hearing, the court may adjourn and reschedule, dismiss the 
petition for name change, or notify the petitioner that it will publish notice of the name 
change proceeding if the petitioner does not file a notice of dismissal within 14 days 
from the date of the rescheduled hearing.
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(9) Following the hearing under subrule (4)(a), the court must provide the reasons for 
granting or denying a petition requesting nonpublication on the record and enter an 
appropriate order.

(10) If a petition requesting nonpublication under this subrule is denied, and the 
petitioner or the court proceed with setting a time, date, and place of a hearing on the 
petition for a name change as provided in subrules (4)(c) or (6), the court must order 
that the record is no longer confidential.

(D) Minor’s Signature. A petition for a change of name by a minor need not be signed in 
the presence of a judge. However, the separate written consent that must be signed by a 
minor 14 years of age or older shall be signed in the presence of the judge.

(E) Notice to Noncustodial Parent. Service on a noncustodial parent of a minor who is the 
subject of a petition for change of name must be made in the following manner:

(1) Address Known. If the noncustodial parent’s address or whereabouts is known, 
that parent must be served with a copy of the petition and a notice of hearing at least 
14 days before the hearing in a manner prescribed by MCR 2.107(C).

(2) Address Unknown. If the noncustodial parent’s address or whereabouts is not 
known and cannot be ascertained after diligent inquiry, that parent must be served with 
a notice of hearing by one of the following methods:

(a) by publishing in a newspaper and filing a proof of service as provided by MCR 
2.106(G)(1). Unless otherwise provided in this rule, the notice must be published 
one time at least 14 days before the date of the hearing, must include the name of 
the noncustodial parent and a statement that the result of the hearing may be to bar 
or affect the noncustodial parent’s interest in the matter, and that publication must 
be in the county where the court is located unless a different county is specified by 
statute, court rule, or order of the court. A notice published under this subrule need 
not set out the contents of the petition if it contains the information required under 
subrule (B). A single publication may be used to notify the general public and the 
noncustodial parent whose address cannot be ascertained if the notice contains the 
noncustodial parent's name.

(b) upon the petitioner’s request, and in the court’s discretion, the court may order 
service by any manner reasonably calculated to give the noncustodial parent actual 
notice of the proceedings and an opportunity to be heard. The petitioner must 
specify the proposed method of service and explain how it is reasonably 
calculated. The request and order under this subrule must be made on a form 
approved by the State Court Administrative Office. Proof of service must be made 
as provided by MCR 2.104(A)(2) or (3).

(F) Consultation with Minor, Presumption. A child 7 years of age and under is presumed 
not of sufficient age to be consulted concerning a preference on change of name. 

(G) Confidential Records. In cases where the court orders that records are to be 
confidential and that no publication is to take place, records are to be maintained in a 
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sealed envelope marked confidential and placed in a private file. Except as otherwise 
ordered by the court, only the original petitioner may gain access to confidential files, and 
no information relating to a confidential record, including whether the record exists, shall 
be accessible to the general public.

RULE 3.614 HEALTH THREATS TO OTHERS

(A) Public Health Code, Application. Except as modified by this rule, proceedings relating 
to carriers of contagious diseases who pose threats to the health of others under part 52 of 
the public health code are governed by the rules generally applicable to civil proceedings.

(B) Service of Documents. The moving party is responsible for service when service is 
required.

(C) Interested Parties. The interested parties in a petition for treatment of infectious 
disease are the petitioner and the respondent.

(D) Commitment Review Panel.

(1) Appointment. On receipt of a petition for treatment of infectious disease which 
requests that the individual be committed to an appropriate facility, the Court shall 
forthwith appoint a Commitment Review Panel from a list of physicians prepared by 
the Department of Public health.

(2) Respondent's Choice of Physician. On motion of the respondent requesting that a 
specific physician be appointed to the Commitment Review Panel, the Court shall 
appoint the physician so requested, unless the physician refuses. If the individual is 
unable to pay such physician, the court shall pay such physician a reasonable fee 
comparable with fees paid to other court appointed experts. On appointment of the 
requested physician, the Court shall discharge one of the initially appointed 
physicians.

(3) The Commitment Review Panel shall make written recommendations to the Court 
prior to the date of hearing on the petition. The recommendations shall be substantially 
in a form approved by the State Court Administrator.

(E) Commitment to Facility.

(1) Renewal of Order of Commitment. A motion for continuing commitment shall be 
filed at least 14 days prior to the expiration of the order of commitment. The motion 
shall be made by the director of the commitment facility or the director's designee. The 
court shall conduct a hearing on the motion prior to the expiration of the existing order 
of commitment. Notice shall be given as on the initial petition and to the local 
department of public health. The court shall reconvene the respondent's Commitment 
Review Panel. At the hearing, the petitioner must show good cause for continued 
commitment in the facility. No order of commitment shall exceed 6 months in length.

(2) Reevaluation at Request of Respondent. Once within any six-month period or more 
often by leave of the court, an individual committed to a facility for treatment of an 
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infectious disease may file in the court a petition for a new Commitment Review Panel 
recommendation on whether the patient's commitment should be terminated. Within 
14 days after receipt of the report of the reconvened Commitment Review Panel, the 
court shall review the panel's report and enter an order. The court may modify, 
continue or terminate its order of commitment without a hearing.

RULE 3.615 PARENTAL RIGHTS RESTORATION ACT PROCEEDINGS

(A) Applicable Rules. A proceeding by a minor to obtain a waiver of parental consent for 
an abortion shall be governed by the rules applicable to civil proceedings except as 
modified by this rule.

(B) Confidentiality, Use of Initials, Private File, Reopening.

(1) The court shall assure the confidentiality of the file, the assistance given the minor 
by court personnel, and the proceedings.

(2) If requested by the minor, the title of the proceeding shall be by initials or some 
other means of assuring confidentiality. At the time the petition is filed, the minor 
shall file a Confidential Information Sheet listing the minor's name, date of birth, 
permanent residence, title to be used in the proceeding and the method by which the 
minor may be reached during the pendency of the proceeding. The Confidential 
Information Sheet and all other documents containing identifying information shall be 
sealed in an envelope marked confidential on which the case number has been written 
and placed in a private file. Confidential information shall not be entered into a 
computer file.

(3) The court shall maintain only one file of all papers for each case. The file shall be 
inspected only by the judge, specifically authorized court personnel, the minor, her 
attorney, her next friend, the guardian ad litem, and any other person authorized by the 
minor. After the proceedings are completed, the file may be opened only by order of 
the court for good cause shown and only for a purpose specified in the order of the 
court.

(4) The file of a completed case shall not be destroyed until two years after the minor 
has reached the age of majority. The court shall not microfilm or otherwise copy the 
file.

(C) Advice of Rights, Method of Contact.

(1) If a minor seeking a waiver of parental consent makes first contact with the court 
by personal visit to the court, the court shall provide a written notice of rights and 
forms for a petition for waiver of parental consent, a confidential information sheet, 
and a request for appointment of an attorney, each substantially in the form approved 
by the state court administrator.

(2) If a minor seeking a waiver of parental consent makes first contact with the court 
by telephone, the court shall tell the minor that she can receive a notice of rights and 
forms for a petition, a confidential information sheet, and a request for appointment of 
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an attorney by coming to the court or that the court will mail such forms to the minor. 
If the minor requests that the court mail the forms, the court shall mail the forms 
within 24 hours of the telephone contact to an address specified by the minor.

(3) Any person on personal visit to the court shall be given, on request, a copy of the 
notice of rights or any other form.

(D) Assistance with Preparation of Petition. On request of the minor or next friend, the 
court shall provide the minor with assistance in preparing and filing of a petition, 
confidential information sheet and request for appointment of an attorney, each 
substantially in the form approved by the state court administrator.

(E) Next Friend. If the minor proceeds through a next friend, the petitioner shall certify 
that the next friend is not disqualified by statute and that the next friend is an adult. The 
next friend may act on behalf of the minor without prior appointment of the court and is 
not responsible for the costs of the action.

(F) Attorney, Request, Appointment, Duties.

(1) At the request of the minor or next friend before or after filing the petition, the 
court shall immediately appoint an attorney to represent the minor. The request shall 
be in writing in substantially the form approved by the state court administrator. 
Except for good cause stated on the record, the court shall appoint an attorney selected 
by the minor if the minor has secured the attorney's agreement to represent her or the 
attorney has previously indicated to the court a willingness to be appointed.

(2) If it deems necessary, the court may appoint an attorney to represent the minor at 
any time.

(3) The minor shall contact the court appointed attorney within 24 hours of such 
appointment. The court shall advise the minor of this requirement.

(4) If an attorney is appointed to represent a minor prior to filing a petition, the 
attorney shall consult with the minor within 48 hours of appointment.

(G) Guardian Ad Litem, Appointment, Duties.

(1) Request of Minor. The court shall immediately appoint a guardian ad litem to 
represent the minor at the request of the minor or next friend before or after filing the 
petition.

(2) Appointment on Court's Motion.

(a) At any time if it deems necessary, the court may appoint a guardian ad litem to 
assist the court.

(b) The guardian ad litem may obtain information by contacting the minor and 
other persons with the consent of the minor, provided the confidentiality of the 
proceedings is not violated.

(H) Filing Petition, Setting Hearing, Notice of Hearing.
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(1) The petition shall be filed in person by the minor, attorney or next friend.

(2) The court shall set a time and place for a hearing and notify the filer at the time the 
petition is filed. The court shall give notice of the hearing only to the minor, the 
minor's attorney, next friend and guardian ad litem. Notice of hearing may be oral or 
written and may be given at any time prior to the hearing. The hearing may be 
scheduled to commence immediately if the minor and her attorney, if any, are ready to 
proceed.

(3) Insofar as practical, at the minor's request the hearing shall be scheduled at a time 
and place that will not interfere with the minor's school attendance.

(I) Venue, Transfer. Venue is in the county of the minor's residence or where the minor is 
found at the time of the filing of the petition. Transfer of venue properly laid shall not be 
made without consent of the minor.

(J) Hearing.

(1) Burden and Standard of Proof. The petitioner has the burden of proof by 
preponderance of the evidence and must establish the statutory criteria at a hearing.

(2) Closed Hearing. The hearing shall be closed to the public. The court shall limit 
attendance at the hearing to the minor, the minor's attorney, the next friend, the 
guardian ad litem, persons who are called to testify by the minor or with the minor's 
consent, necessary court personnel and one support person who would not be 
disqualified as a next friend by MCL 722.902(d).

(3) All relevant and material evidence may be received.

(4) The hearing may be conducted informally in the chambers of a judge.

(5) The hearing shall commence and be concluded within 72 hours, excluding Sundays 
and holidays, of the filing of the petition, unless the minor consents to an adjournment. 
The order of the court shall be issued within 48 hours, excluding Sundays and 
holidays, of the conclusion of the hearing.

(K) Order.

(1) Order Granting Waiver, Duration, Effect. If the petition is granted, the court 
immediately shall provide the minor with two certified copies of the order granting 
waiver of parental consent. The order shall be valid for 90 days from the date of entry. 
Nothing in the order shall require or permit an abortion that is otherwise prohibited by 
law.

(2) Order Denying Waiver, Notice of Appeal, Appointment of Counsel, Preparation of 
Transcript. If the order denies relief, the court shall endorse the time and date on the 
order. The order shall be served on the minor's attorney or, if none, the minor along 
with

(a) a unified appellate document substantially in the form approved by the state 
court administrator which may be used as notice of appeal, claim of appeal, 
request for appointment of an attorney and order of transcript, and



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 324   Updated April 26, 2024 

(b) a notice that, if the minor desires to appeal, the minor must file the notice of 
appeal with the court within 24 hours.

(3) Appeal.

(a) Upon receipt of a timely notice of appeal, the court must appoint counsel and 
order that the transcript be prepared immediately and two copies filed within 72 
hours. If the minor was represented by counsel in the court proceedings, the court 
must reappoint the same attorney unless there is good cause for a different 
appointment. As soon as the transcript is filed, the court shall forward the file to 
the Court of Appeals.

(b) Time for filing notice.

(1) If the order was entered at the conclusion of the hearing or at any other time 
when the minor's attorney or, if none, the minor was in attendance at court, the 
minor must file the notice of appeal within 24 hours of the date and time 
stamped on the order, or

(2) If the order was entered at any other time, the minor must file the notice of 
appeal within 24 hours of the time when the order was received by the minor's 
attorney or, if none, the minor.

(c) If a court in which a document is to be filed is closed for business at the end of 
a filing period, the document will be filed on a timely basis if filed during the 
morning of the next day when the court is open for business.

(d) Perfection of Appeal. The minor's attorney must perfect the appeal by filing in 
the Court of Appeals a claim of appeal and a copy of the order denying waiver. 
The appeal must be perfected within 72 hours, excluding Sundays and holidays, of 
the filing of the notice of appeal.

(e) Brief. The minor's attorney shall file at the time of perfecting appeal five copies 
of the brief on appeal. The brief need not contain citations to the transcript.

(f) Oral Argument. There will be no oral argument, unless ordered by the Court of 
Appeals.

RULE 3.616 PROCEEDING TO DETERMINE CONTINUATION OF VOLUNTARY FOSTER CARE 
SERVICES.

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule governs review of all voluntary foster care agreements made 
pursuant to article II of the Young Adult Voluntary Foster Care Act, MCL 400.645 
through MCL 400.663.

(B) Jurisdiction. Upon the filing of a petition under this rule, the family division of the 
circuit court has jurisdiction to review an agreement for the voluntary extension of foster 
care services after age 18.
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(C) Court File. Upon the filing of a petition under subrule (E), the court shall open a file 
using the appropriate case classification code as referenced in MCR 8.117. The file shall 
be closed following the issuance of the court’s determination under subrule (F).

(D) Form. The petition and the judicial determination shall be prepared on forms approved 
by the state court administrator.

(E) Ex Parte Petition; Filing, Contents, Service. Within 150 days after the signing of a 
voluntary foster care agreement, the Department of Health and Human Services shall file 
with the family division of the circuit court, in the county where the youth resides, an ex 
parte petition requesting the court’s determination that continuing in voluntary foster care 
is in the youth’s best interests. 

(1) Contents of Petition. The petition shall contain

(a) the youth’s name, date of birth, race, gender, and current address;

(b) the name, date of birth, and residence address of the youth’s parents or legal 
custodian (if parental rights have not been terminated); 

(c) the name and address of the youth’s foster parent or parents;

(d) a statement that the youth has been notified of the right to request a hearing 
regarding continuing in foster care;

(e) a showing that jurisdiction of a court over the youth’s child protective 
proceeding has been terminated, including the name of the court and the date 
jurisdiction was terminated; and

(f) any other information the Department of Health and Human Services, parent or 
legal custodian, youth, or foster parent wants the court to consider.

(2) Supporting Documents. The petition shall be accompanied by a written report 
prepared pursuant to MCL 400.655 and a copy of the signed voluntary foster care 
agreement. 

(3) Service. The Department of Health and Human Services shall serve the petition on

(a) the youth; and

(b) the foster parent or parents, if any.

(F) Judicial Determination. The court shall review the petition, report, and voluntary 
foster care agreement filed pursuant to subrule (E), and then make a determination 
whether continuing in voluntary foster care is in the best interests of the youth.

(1) Written Order; Time. The court shall issue an order that includes its determination 
and individualized findings that support its determination. The findings shall be based 
on the Department of Health and Human Services’ written report and other 
information filed with the court. The order must be signed and dated within 21 days of 
the filing of the petition.

(2) Service. The court shall serve the order on
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(a) the Department of Health and Human Services; 

(b) the youth; and

(c) the foster parent or parents, if any.

(G) Confidential File. The Department of Health and Human Services and the youth are 
entitled to access to the records contained in the file, but otherwise, the file is confidential.

RULE 3.617 DELAYED REGISTRATION OF BIRTH

The entire record for delayed registration of birth is confidential. Except as otherwise 
ordered by the court, only the legal parent or parents and the child may gain access to the 
confidential file, and no information relating to a confidential record, including whether the 
record exists, shall be accessible to the general public. 

RULE 3.618 EMANCIPATION OF MINOR

(A) Interested Persons. The persons interested in a petition for emancipation of a minor 
are

(1) the minor,

(2) parents of the minor,

(3) the affiant on an affidavit supporting emancipation, and

(4) any guardian or conservator.

(B) Summons.

(1) A summons in an emancipation proceeding must be served on an interested person 
at least 14 days before the date of hearing unless the interested person has waived his 
or her right to service.

(2) The summons must direct the person to whom it is addressed to appear at a time 
and place specified by the court and must identify the nature of hearing.

(C) Manner of Serving Summons and Petition.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (C)(2), a summons and petition for emancipation 
must be served by personal service.

(2) If service of the summons and petition cannot be made under subrule (C)(1) 
because the whereabouts of an interested person could not be ascertained after diligent 
inquiry, the petitioner must file proof of the efforts made to locate the interested 
person in a statement verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). If the court finds, on reviewing 
the statement, that a reasonable attempt was made, the court may issue an ex parte 
order directing another manner of service reasonably calculated to give notice of the 
proceedings, including notice by publication under subrule (3).
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(3) Service by Publication.

(a) Requirements. A notice of hearing or other notice required to be made by 
publication must be published in a newspaper as defined by MCR 2.106(F) at least 
one time 21 days before the date of hearing. Publication shall be in the county in 
which the court is located.

(b) Contents of Notice. The published notice must include the name of the 
individual to whom the notice is given, a statement describing the nature of the 
hearing, and a statement that the hearing may affect the individual’s interest in the 
matter. If an interested person has once been served by publication, notice is only 
required on an interested person whose address is known or becomes known 
during the proceedings.

(c) Service of Notice. A copy of the notice shall be mailed to the individual to 
whom the notice is given at his or her last known address. If the last known address 
of the individual cannot be ascertained after diligent inquiry, mailing a copy of the 
notice is not required.

(d) Proof of service under this subrule shall be made according to MCR 2.106(G).

(D) Time of Service.

(1) A summons shall be personally served at least 14 days before hearing on a petition 
of emancipation, except as allowed under subrule (C)(2).

(2) If the summons is served by registered mail, it must be sent at least 21 days before 
hearing if the interested person to be served resides in Michigan, or at least 28 days 
before hearing if the interested person to be served resides outside of Michigan.

(E) Other Service. The clerk of the court shall serve an order issued by the court. If notice 
of the petition and hearing was given to an interested person by publication, a copy of an 
order issued by the court need not be served on that interested person.

(F) Proof of Service

(1) Summons and Petition. Proof of service of the summons and petition must be made 
in the manner provided in MCR 2.104(A).

(2) Other Documents. Proof of service of other documents permitted or required to be 
served under this rule must be made in the manner provided in MCR 2.107(D).

(G) Order. To fulfill requirements of the Social Security Administration, the court must 
provide the minor with a copy of the order of emancipation that includes the minor's full 
social security number, if the minor has one. The court shall not include the minor's social 
security number on the order maintained in the court's file.

(1) The minor must show his or her social security card to the judge at the hearing and 
the judge shall enter the number on the minor's copy of the order. If the minor does not 
bring his or her social security card to the hearing or does not have a social security 
card, the minor can present his or her social security card to the clerk of the court at a 
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later date, and after verifying the identity of the minor, the clerk of the court shall enter 
the social security number on a copy of the order to be given to the minor. 

(2) The order must be entered on a form approved by the State Court Administrative 
Office, consisting of two parts. The first part is placed in the case file and shall not 
contain the minor's social security number. The second part shall contain the minor's 
social security number and a statement that the order is a certified copy of the order on 
file with the court except that the social security number appears only on the minor's 
copy of the order. The minor's copy of the order shall be signed by the clerk of the 
court. There is no fee for the certified copy.

(H) A minor’s birth certificate filed with the court as requir3ed by MCL 722.4a must be 
maintained confidentially.

SUBCHAPTER 3.700 PERSONAL PROTECTION AND EXTREME RISK PROTECTION 
PROCEEDINGS

RULE 3.701 APPLICABILITY OF RULES; FORMS

(A) Scope. Except as provided by this subchapter and the provisions of MCL 600.2950, 
MCL 600.2950a, and MCL 691.1801 to MCL 691.1821, actions for personal protection 
for relief against domestic violence or stalking and actions for extreme risk protection are 
governed by the Michigan Court Rules. Procedure related to personal protection orders 
against adults is governed by MCR 3.702 to MCR 3.709, and procedure related to extreme 
risk protection is governed by MCR 3.715 to MCR 3.722. Procedure related to personal 
protection orders against minors is governed by subchapter 3.900, except as provided in 
MCR 3.981.

(B) Forms. The state court administrator shall approve forms for use in personal protection 
act proceedings and for use in extreme risk protection act proceedings. The forms shall be 
made available for public distribution by the clerk of the circuit court.

RULE 3.702 DEFINITIONS

When used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise indicates:

(1) “personal protection order” means a protection order as described under MCL 
600.2950 and 600.2950a;

(2) “petition” refers to a pleading for commencing an independent action for personal 
protection and is not considered a motion as defined in MCR 2.119;

(3) “petitioner” refers to the party seeking protection;

(4) “respondent” refers to the party to be restrained;
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(5) “existing action” means an action in this court or any other court in which both the 
petitioner and the respondent are parties; existing actions include, but are not limited to, 
pending and completed domestic relations actions, criminal actions, other actions for 
personal protection orders.

(6) “minor” means a person under the age of 18.

(7) “minor personal protection order” means a personal protection order issued by a court 
against a minor and under jurisdiction granted by MCL 712A.2(h).

RULE 3.703 COMMENCING A PERSONAL PROTECTION ACTION

(A) Filing. A personal protection action is an independent action commenced by filing a 
petition with a court. Where e-filing is implemented, a partially-completed personal 
protection order must be prepared on a form approved by the State Court Administrative 
Office and submitted at the same time as the petition. The petitioner, or an individual who 
is assisting the petitioner under MCL 600.2950b(4), shall complete in the form only the 
case caption and the known fields with identifying information, including protected 
personal identifying information of the respondent; however, at a minimum the race, sex, 
and date of birth or age of the respondent must be provided for LEIN entry. The personal 
identifying information form required by MCR 1.109(D)(9)(b)(iii) shall not be filed under 
this rule. There are no fees for filing a personal protection action, and no summons is 
issued. A personal protection action may not be commenced by filing a motion in an 
existing case or by joining a claim to an action.

(B) Petition in General. The petition must

(1) be in writing;

(2) state with particularity the facts on which it is based;

(3) state the relief sought and the conduct to be restrained;

(4) state whether an ex parte order is being sought;

(5) state whether a personal protection order action involving the same parties has 
been commenced in another jurisdiction; and

(6) be signed by the party or attorney as provided in MCR 1.109(E). The petitioner 
may omit his or her residence address from the documents filed with the court, but 
must provide the court with a mailing address.

(C) Petition Against a Minor. In addition to the requirements outlined in (B), a petition 
against a minor must list:

(1) the minor's name, address, and either age or date of birth; and

(2) if known or can be easily ascertained, the names and addresses of the minor's 
parent or parents, guardian, or custodian.

(D) Other Pending Actions; Order, Judgments.
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(1) The petition must specify whether there are any other pending actions in this or any 
other court, or orders or judgments already entered by this or any other court affecting 
the parties, including the name of the court and the case number, if known.

(a) If the petition is filed in the same court as a pending action or where an order or 
judgment has already been entered by that court affecting the parties, it shall be 
assigned to the same judge.

(b) If there are pending actions in another court or orders or judgments already 
entered by another court affecting the parties, the court should contact the court 
where the pending actions were filed or orders or judgments were entered, if 
practicable, to determine any relevant information.

(2) If the prior action resulted in an order providing for continuing jurisdiction of a 
minor, and the new action requests relief with regard to the minor, the court must 
comply with MCR 3.205.

(E) Venue.

(1) If the respondent is an adult, the petitioner may file a personal protection action in 
any county in Michigan regardless of residency.

(2) If the respondent is a minor, the petitioner may file a personal protection order in 
either the petitioner's or respondent's county of residence. If the respondent does not 
live in this state, venue for the action is proper in the petitioner's county of residence.

(F) Minor or Legally Incapacitated Individual as Petitioner.

(1) If the petitioner is a minor or a legally incapacitated individual, the petitioner shall 
proceed through a next friend. The petitioner shall certify that the next friend is not 
disqualified by statute and that the next friend is an adult.

(2) Unless the court determines appointment is necessary, the next friend may act on 
behalf of the minor or legally incapacitated person without appointment. However, the 
court shall appoint a next friend if the minor is less than 14 years of age. The next 
friend is not responsible for the costs of the action.

(G) Request for Ex Parte Order. If the petition requests an ex parte order, the petition must 
set forth specific facts showing that immediate and irreparable injury, loss, or damage will 
result to the petitioner from the delay required to effect notice or from the risk that notice 
will itself precipitate adverse action before an order can be issued.

RULE 3.704 DISMISSAL

Except as specified in MCR 3.705(A)(5) and (B), an action for a personal protection order 
may only be dismissed upon motion by the petitioner prior to the issuance of an order. There is no 
fee for such a motion.
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RULE 3.705 ISSUANCE OF PERSONAL PROTECTION ORDERS

(A) Ex Parte Orders.

(1) The court must rule on a request for an ex parte order within one business day of 
the filing date of the petition.

(2) If it clearly appears from specific facts shown by verified complaint, written 
petition, or affidavit that the petitioner is entitled to the relief sought, an ex parte order 
shall be granted if immediate and irreparable injury, loss, or damage will result from 
the delay required to effectuate notice or that the notice will itself precipitate adverse 
action before a personal protection order can be issued. In a proceeding under MCL 
600.2950a, the court must state in writing the specific reasons for issuance of the 
order. A permanent record or memorandum must be made of any nonwritten evidence, 
argument or other representations made in support of issuance of an ex parte order.

(3) An ex parte order is valid for not less than 182 days, and must state its expiration 
date.

(4) If an ex parte order is entered, the petitioner shall serve the petition and order as 
provided in MCR 3.706(D). However, failure to make service does not affect the 
order's validity or effectiveness.

(5) If the court refuses to grant an ex parte order, it shall state the reasons in writing 
and shall advise the petitioner of the right to request a hearing as provided in subrule 
(B). If the petitioner does not request a hearing within 21 days of entry of the order, the 
order denying the petition is final. The court shall not be required to give such notice if 
the court determines after interviewing the petitioner that the petitioner's claims are 
sufficiently without merit that the action should be dismissed without a hearing.

(B) Hearings.

(1) The court shall schedule a hearing as soon as possible in the following instances, 
unless it determines after interviewing the petitioner that the claims are sufficiently 
without merit that the action should be dismissed without a hearing:

(a) the petition does not request an ex parte order; or

(b) the court refuses to enter an ex parte order and the petitioner subsequently 
requests a hearing.

(2) The petitioner shall serve on the respondent notice of the hearing along with the 
petition as provided in MCR 2.105(A). If the respondent is a minor, and the where-
abouts of the respondent's parent or parents, guardian, or custodian is known, the 
petitioner shall also in the same manner serve notice of the hearing and the petition on 
the respondent's parent or parents, guardian, or custodian. One day before the hearing 
on a petition seeking a PPO under MCL 600.2950 or MCL 600.2950a(1) is deemed 
sufficient notice. Two days before the hearing on a petition seeking a PPO under MCL 
600.2950a(2) is deemed sufficient notice.



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 332   Updated April 26, 2024 

(3) The hearing shall be held on the record. In accordance with MCR 2.407, the court 
may allow the use of videoconferencing technology by any participant as defined in 
MCR 2.407(A)(1).

(4) The petitioner must attend the hearing. If the petitioner fails to attend the hearing, 
the court may adjourn and reschedule the hearing or dismiss the petition.

(5) If the respondent fails to appear at a hearing on the petition and the court 
determines the petitioner made diligent attempts to serve the respondent, whether the 
respondent was served or not, the order may be entered without further notice to the 
respondent if the court determines that the petitioner is entitled to relief.

(6) At the conclusion of the hearing the court must state the reasons for granting or 
denying a personal protection order on the record and enter an appropriate order. In 
addition, the court must state the reasons for denying a personal protection order in 
writing, and, in a proceeding under MCL 600.2950a, the court must state in writing the 
specific reasons for issuance of the order.

(C) Pursuant to 18 USC 2265(d)(3), a court is prohibited from making available to the 
public on the Internet any information regarding the registration of, filing of a petition for, 
or issuance of an order under this rule if such publication would be likely to publicly 
reveal the identity or location of the party protected under the order.

RULE 3.706 ORDERS

(A) Form and Scope of Order. An order granting a personal protection order must include 
the following:

(1) A statement that the personal protection order has been entered, listing the type or 
types of conduct enjoined.

(2) A statement that the personal protection order is effective when signed by the 
judge and is immediately enforceable anywhere in Michigan, and that, after service, 
the personal protection order may be enforced by another state, an Indian tribe, or a 
territory of the United States.

(3) A statement that violation of the personal protection order will subject the 
individual restrained or enjoined to either of the following:

(a) If the respondent is 17 years of age or more, immediate arrest and, if the 
respondent is found guilty of criminal contempt, imprisonment for not more than 
93 days and may be fined not more than $500; or

(b) If the respondent is less than 17 years of age, immediate apprehension and, if 
the respondent is found in contempt, the dispositional alternatives listed in MCL 
712A.18.

(4) An expiration date stated clearly on the face of the order.

(5) A statement that the personal protection order is enforceable anywhere in 
Michigan by any law enforcement agency, and that if the respondent violates the 
personal protection order in another jurisdiction, the respondent is subject to the 
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enforcement procedures and penalties of the jurisdiction in which the violation 
occurred.

(6) Identification of the law enforcement agency, designated by the court to enter the 
personal protection order into the law enforcement information network.

(7) For ex parte orders, a statement that, within 14 days after being served with or 
receiving actual notice of the order, the individual restrained or enjoined may file a 
motion to modify or terminate the personal protection order and a request for a 
hearing, and that motion forms and filing instructions are available from the clerk of 
the court.

(B) Mutual Orders Prohibited. A personal protection order may not be made mutual.

(C) Existing Custody and Parenting Time Orders.

(1) Contact With Court Having Prior Jurisdiction. The court issuing a personal 
protection order must contact the court having jurisdiction over the parenting time or 
custody matter as provided in MCR 3.205, and where practicable, the judge should 
consult with that court, as contemplated in MCR 3.205(C)(2), regarding the impact 
upon custody and parenting time rights before issuing the personal protection order.

(2) Conditions Modifying Custody and Parenting Time Provisions. If the respondent's 
custody or parenting time rights will be adversely affected by the personal protection 
order, the issuing court shall determine whether conditions should be specified in the 
order which would accommodate the respondent's rights or whether the situation is 
such that the safety of the petitioner and minor children would be compromised by 
such conditions.

(3) Effect of Personal Protection Order. A personal protection order takes precedence 
over any existing custody or parenting time order until the personal protection order 
has expired, or the court having jurisdiction over the custody or parenting time order 
modifies the custody or parenting time order to accommodate the conditions of the 
personal protection order.

(a) If the respondent or petitioner wants the existing custody or parenting time 
order modified, the respondent or petitioner must file a motion with the court 
having jurisdiction of the custody or parenting time order and request a hearing. 
The hearing must be held within 21 days after the motion is filed.

(b) Proceedings to modify custody and parenting time orders are subject to 
subchapter 3.200.

(D) Service. The petitioner shall serve the order on the respondent as provided in MCR 
2.105(A). If the respondent is a minor, and the whereabouts of the respondent's parent or 
parents, guardian, or custodian is known, the petitioner shall also in the same manner 
serve the order on the respondent's parent or parents, guardian, or custodian. On an 
appropriate showing, the court may allow service in another manner as provided in MCR 
2.105(J). Failure to serve the order does not affect its validity or effectiveness.
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(E) Oral Notice. If oral notice of the order is made by a law enforcement officer as 
described in MCL 600.2950(22) or 600.2950a(22), proof of the notification must be filed 
with the court by the law enforcement officer.

RULE 3.707 MODIFICATION, TERMINATION, OR EXTENSION OF ORDER

(A) Modification or Termination.

(1) Time for Filing and Service.

(a) The petitioner may file a motion to modify or terminate the personal protection 
order and request a hearing at any time after the personal protection order is issued.

(b) The respondent may file a motion to modify or terminate an ex parte personal 
protection order or an ex parte order extending a personal protection order and 
request a hearing within 14 days after being served with, or receiving actual notice 
of, the order. Any motion otherwise to modify or terminate a personal protection 
order by the respondent requires a showing of good cause.

(c) The moving party shall serve the motion to modify or terminate the order and 
the notice of hearing at least 7 days before the hearing date as provided in MCR 
2.105(A)(2) at the mailing address or addresses provided to the court. On an 
appropriate showing, the court may allow service in another manner as provided in 
MCR 2.105(J). If the moving party is a respondent who is issued a license to carry 
a concealed weapon and is required to carry a weapon as a condition of 
employment, a police officer certified by the Michigan law enforcement training 
council act of 1965, 1965 PA 203, MCL 28.601 to 28.616, a sheriff, a deputy 
sheriff or a member of the Michigan department of state police, a local corrections 
officer, department of corrections employee, or a federal law enforcement officer 
who carries a firearm during the normal course of employment, providing notice 
one day before the hearing is deemed as sufficient notice to the petitioner.

(2) Hearing on the Motion. The court must schedule and hold a hearing on a motion to 
modify or terminate a personal protection order within 14 days of the filing of the 
motion, except that if the respondent is a person described in MCL 600.2950(2) or 
600.2950a(5), the court shall schedule the hearing on the motion within 5 days after 
the filing of the motion.

(3) Notice of Modification or Termination. If a personal protection order is modified 
or terminated, the clerk must immediately notify the law enforcement agency specified 
in the personal protection order of the change. A modified or terminated order must be 
served as provided in MCR 2.107.

(B) Extension of Order.

(1) Time for Filing. The petitioner may file an ex parte motion to extend the 
effectiveness of the order, without hearing, by requesting a new expiration date. The 
motion must be filed with the court that issued the personal protection order no later 
than 3 days before the order is to expire. The court must act on the motion within 3 
days after it is filed. Failure to timely file a motion to extend the effectiveness of the 



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 335   Updated April 26, 2024 

order does not preclude the petitioner from commencing a new personal protection 
action regarding the same respondent, as provided in MCR 3.703.

(2) Notice of Extension. If the expiration date on a personal protection order is 
extended, an amended order must be entered. The clerk must immediately notify the 
law enforcement agency specified in the personal protection order of the change. The 
order must be served on the respondent as provided in MCR 2.107.

(C) Minors and Legally Incapacitated Individuals. Petitioners or respondents who are 
minors or legally incapacitated individuals must proceed through a next friend, as 
provided in MCR 3.703(F).

(D) Fees. There are no motion fees for modifying, terminating, or extending a personal 
protection order.

RULE 3.708 CONTEMPT PROCEEDINGS FOR VIOLATION OF PERSONAL PROTECTION ORDERS

(A) In General.

(1) A personal protection order is enforceable under MCL 600.2950(23), (25), 
600.2950a(23), (25), 764.15b, and 600.1701 et seq. For the purpose of this rule, 
“personal protection order” includes a foreign protection order enforceable in 
Michigan under MCL 600.29501. 

(2) Proceedings to enforce a minor personal protection order where the respondent is 
under 18 are governed by subchapter 3.900. Proceedings to enforce a personal 
protection order issued against an adult, or to enforce a minor personal protection 
order still in effect when the respondent is 18 or older, are governed by this rule.

(B) Motion to Show Cause.

(1) Filing. If the respondent violates the personal protection order, the petitioner may 
file a motion, supported by appropriate affidavit, to have the respondent found in 
contempt. There is no fee for such a motion. If the petitioner's motion and affidavit 
establish a basis for a finding of contempt, the court shall either:

(a) order the respondent to appear at a specified time to answer the contempt 
charge; or

(b) issue a bench warrant for the arrest of the respondent.

(2) Service. The petitioner shall serve the motion to show cause and the order on the 
respondent by personal service at least 7 days before the show cause hearing.

(C) Arrest.

(1) If the respondent is arrested for violation of a personal protection order as provided 
in MCL 764.15b(1), the court in the county where the arrest is made shall proceed as 
provided in MCL 764.15b(2)-(5), except as provided in this rule.
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(2) A contempt proceeding brought in a court other than the one that issued the 
personal protection order shall be entitled “In the Matter of Contempt of 
[Respondent].” The clerk shall provide a copy of any documents pertaining to the 
contempt proceeding to the court that issued the personal protection order.

(3) If it appears that a circuit judge will not be available within 24 hours after arrest, 
the respondent shall be taken, within that time, before a district court, which shall set 
bond and order the respondent to appear for arraignment before the family division of 
the circuit court in that county.

(D) Appearance or Arraignment; Advice to Respondent. At the respondent's first 
appearance before the circuit court, whether for arraignment under MCL 764.15b, 
enforcement under MCL 600.2950, 600.2950a, or 600.1701, or otherwise, the court must:

(1) advise the respondent of the alleged violation, 

(2) advise the respondent of the right to contest the charge at a contempt hearing,

(3) advise the respondent that he or she is entitled to a lawyer's assistance at the 
hearing and, if the court determines it might sentence the respondent to jail, that the 
court, or the local funding unit’s appointing authority if the local funding unit has 
determined that it will provide representation to respondents alleged to have violated a 
personal protection order, will appoint a lawyer at public expense if the individual 
wants one and is financially unable to retain one,

(4) if requested and appropriate, appoint a lawyer or refer the matter to the appointing 
authority,

(5) set a reasonable bond pending a hearing of the alleged violation,

(6) take a guilty plea as provided in subrule (E) or schedule a hearing as provided in 
subrule (F).

As long as the respondent is either present in the courtroom or has waived the right to 
be present, on motion of either party, the court may use telephonic, voice, or 
videoconferencing technology to take testimony from an expert witness or, upon a 
showing of good cause, any person at another location.

(E) Pleas of Guilty. The respondent may plead guilty to the violation. Before accepting a 
guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the respondent and receiving the respondent's 
response, must

(1) advise the respondent that by pleading guilty the respondent is giving up the right 
to a contested hearing and, if the respondent is proceeding without legal 
representation, the right to a lawyer's assistance as set forth in subrule (D)(3),

(2) advise the respondent of the maximum possible jail sentence for the violation,

(3) ascertain that the plea is understandingly, voluntarily, and knowingly made, and

(4) establish factual support for a finding that the respondent is guilty of the alleged 
violation.
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(F) Scheduling or Postponing Hearing. Following the respondent's appearance or 
arraignment, the court shall do the following:

(1) Set a date for the hearing at the earliest practicable time except as required under 
MCL 764.15b.

(a) The hearing of a respondent being held in custody for an alleged violation of a 
personal protection order must be held within 72 hours after the arrest, unless 
extended by the court on the motion of the arrested individual or the prosecuting 
attorney. The court must set a reasonable bond pending the hearing unless the 
court determines that release will not reasonably ensure the safety of the 
individuals named in the personal protection order.

(b) If a respondent is released on bond pending the hearing, the bond may include 
any condition specified in MCR 6.106(D) necessary to reasonably ensure the 
safety of the individuals named in the personal protection order, including 
continued compliance with the personal protection order. The release order shall 
also comply with MCL 765.6b.

(c) If the alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a 
separate criminal prosecution, upon motion of the prosecutor, the court may 
postpone the hearing for the outcome of that prosecution.

(2) Notify the prosecuting attorney of a criminal contempt proceeding.

(3) Notify the petitioner and his or her attorney, if any, of the contempt proceeding and 
direct the party to appear at the hearing and give evidence on the charge of contempt.

(G) Prosecution After Arrest. In a criminal contempt proceeding commenced under MCL 
764.15b, the prosecuting attorney shall prosecute the proceeding unless the petitioner 
retains his or her own attorney for the criminal contempt proceeding.

(H) The Violation Hearing.

(1) Jury. There is no right to a jury trial.

(2) Conduct of the Hearing. The respondent has the right to be present at the hearing, 
to present evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses. As long as the 
respondent is either present in the courtroom or has waived the right to be present, on 
motion of either party, and with the consent of the parties, the court may use 
telephonic, voice, or videoconferencing technology to take testimony from an expert 
witness or, upon a showing of good cause, any person at another location.

(3) Evidence; Burden of Proof. The rules of evidence apply to both criminal and civil 
contempt proceedings. The petitioner or the prosecuting attorney has the burden of 
proving the respondent's guilt of criminal contempt beyond a reasonable doubt and the 
respondent's guilt of civil contempt by clear and convincing evidence.

(4) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must find the facts 
specially, state separately its conclusions of law, and direct entry of the appropriate 
judgment. The court must state its findings and conclusions on the record or in a 
written opinion made a part of the record.
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(5) Sentencing.

(a) If the respondent pleads or is found guilty of criminal contempt, the court shall 
impose a sentence of incarceration for no more than 93 days and may impose a 
fine of not more than $500.00.

(b) If the respondent pleads or is found guilty of civil contempt, the court shall 
impose a fine or imprisonment as specified in MCL 600.1715 and 600.1721.

In addition to such a sentence, the court may impose other conditions to the 
personal protection order.

(I) Mechanics of Use. The use of videoconferencing technology under this rule must be in 
accordance with the standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. All 
proceedings at which videoconferencing technology is used must be recorded verbatim by 
the court.

RULE 3.709 APPEALS

(A) Rules Applicable. Except as provided by this rule, appeals involving personal 
protection order matters must comply with subchapter 7.200. Appeals involving minor 
personal protection actions under the Juvenile Code must additionally comply with MCR 
3.993.

(B) From Entry of Personal Protection Order.

(1) Either party has an appeal of right from

(a) an order granting or denying a personal protection order after a hearing under 
subrule 3.705(B)(6), or

(b) the ruling on respondent's first motion to rescind or modify the order if an ex 
parte order was entered.

(2) Appeals of all other orders are by leave to appeal.

(C) From Finding after Violation Hearing.

(1) The respondent has an appeal of right from a sentence for criminal contempt 
entered after a contested hearing.

(2) All other appeals concerning violation proceedings are by application for leave.

RULE 3.715 DEFINITIONS

When used in MCR 3.716-3.722, unless the context otherwise indicates:

(1) “Complaint.” An individual seeking an extreme risk protection order is petitioning a 
court for relief. However, the Legislature uses the terms “complaint” and “summons” 
throughout the Extreme Risk Protection Order Act, MCL 691.1801 et seq., rather than the 
term “petition.” Therefore, for the purposes of MCR 3.716-3.722 only, a complaint means 



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 339   Updated April 26, 2024 

the act of petitioning the court to issue an extreme risk protection order. Petitioning the 
court in this manner commences an independent action for an extreme risk protection 
order and is not considered a motion as defined in MCR 2.119.

(2) “Dating relationship” means that term as defined in MCL 691.1803.

(3) “Existing action” means an action in any court in which both the petitioner and the 
respondent are parties; existing action includes, but is not limited to, pending and 
completed domestic relations actions, and other actions for personal protection or extreme 
risk protection orders.

(4) “Extreme risk protection order” means that term as defined in MCL 691.1803.

(5) “Family member,” “guardian,” “health care provider,” “law enforcement agency,” and 
“law enforcement officer,” mean those terms as defined in MCL 691.1803.

(6) “Minor” means a person under the age of 18.

(7) “Petitioner” means the party seeking an extreme risk protection order.

(8) “Possession or control” means that term as defined in MCL 691.1803.

(9) “Respondent” means the party to be restrained by the extreme risk protection order.

RULE 3.716 COMMENCING AN EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ACTION

(A) Filing.

(1) An extreme risk protection action is an independent action commenced by filing a 
complaint with the family division of the circuit court. A complaint may be filed 
regardless of whether the respondent owns or possesses a firearm. A proposed extreme 
risk protection order must be prepared on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office and submitted at the same time as the complaint. When 
completing the proposed order, the petitioner must complete the case caption and the 
known fields with identifying information, including the race, sex, and date of birth or 
age of the respondent. The personal identifying information form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office does not need to be completed or filed in extreme 
risk protection actions. There are no fees for filing an extreme risk protection action, 
and no summons is issued. An extreme risk protection action may not be commenced 
by filing a motion in an existing case or by joining a claim to an action.

(2) An extreme risk protection action may only be commenced by the following 
individuals:

(a) the spouse of the respondent;

(b) a former spouse of the respondent;

(c) an individual who:
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(i) has a child in common with the respondent,

(ii) has or has had a dating relationship with the respondent, or

(iii) resides or has resided in the same household with the respondent;

(d) a family member;

(e) a guardian of the respondent;

(f) a law enforcement officer; or

(g) a health care provider, if filing and maintaining the action does not violate 
requirements of the health insurance portability and accountability act of 1996, 
Public Law 104-191, or regulations promulgated under that act, 45 CFR parts 160 
and 164, or physician-patient confidentiality.

(B) Complaint in General. The complaint must

(1) be in writing;

(2) state the respondent’s name and address;

(3) state with particularity any facts that show the issuance of an extreme risk 
protection order is necessary because the respondent can reasonably be expected 
within the near future to intentionally or unintentionally seriously physically injure 
themselves or another individual by possessing a firearm, and has engaged in an act or 
acts or made significant threats that are substantially supportive of the expectation, 
including facts that address the factors in MCL 691.1807(1) that the court must 
consider when determining whether to issue an extreme risk protection order;

(4) if known by the petitioner, state whether any following circumstances are 
applicable:

(a) the respondent is required to carry a pistol as a condition of the respondent’s 
employment and is issued a license to carry a concealed pistol,

(b) the respondent is any of the following:

(i) a police officer licensed or certified under the Michigan Commission on 
Law Enforcement Standards Act (MCOLES), MCL 28.601 to MCL 28.615,

(ii) a sheriff or deputy sheriff,

(iii) a member of the Department of State Police,

(iv) a local corrections officer,

(v) an employee of the Michigan Department of Corrections, or

(vi) a federal law enforcement officer who carries a pistol during the normal 
course of the officer’s employment or an officer of the Federal Bureau of 
Prisons,

(5) state whether the petitioner knows or believes that the respondent owns or 
possesses firearms and, to the extent possible, identify the firearms, giving their 
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location and any additional information that would help a law enforcement officer find 
the firearms;

(6) state the relief sought;

(7) state whether an ex parte order is being sought and, if so, state with particularity 
the facts that show the issuance of an ex parte order is necessary because

(a) immediate and irreparable injury, loss, or damage will result from the delay 
required to effectuate notice, or

(b) the notice will itself precipitate adverse action before an order can be issued,

(8) state whether an extreme risk protection action involving the respondent has been 
commenced in another jurisdiction and, if so, identify the jurisdiction;

and

(9) be signed by the party or attorney as provided in MCR 1.109(E). If the complaint 
requests an ex parte order, the complaint must also comply with MCR 3.718(A)(2).

(C) The petitioner’s address must not be disclosed in any pleading, paper, or in any other 
manner. The petitioner must provide the court with an address and contact information, 
including an email address and telephone number if available, in the form and manner 
established by the State Court Administrative Office. The clerk of the court must maintain 
the petitioner’s address as confidential in the court file.

(D) Complaint Against a Minor. In addition to the requirements outlined in subrule (B), a 
complaint against a minor must also list, if known or can be easily ascertained, the names 
and addresses of the minor’s parent(s), guardian, or custodian.

(E) Other Existing Actions; Order, Judgments.

(1) The complaint must specify whether there are any other existing actions in this or 
any other court, or orders or judgments already entered by this or any other court 
affecting the parties, including the name of the court and the case number, if known.

(a) If the complaint is filed in the same court as an existing action or where an 
order or judgment has already been entered by that court affecting the parties, it 
shall be assigned to the same judge.

(b) If there are existing actions in another court or orders or judgments already 
entered by another court affecting the parties, the court may contact the court 
where the existing actions were filed or orders or judgments were entered, if 
practicable, to determine any relevant information.

(2) If the prior action resulted in an order providing for continuing jurisdiction of a 
minor, and the new action requests relief with regard to the minor, the court must 
comply with MCR 3.205.

(F) Venue.
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(1) If the respondent is an adult, the petitioner may file an extreme risk protection 
action in any county in Michigan regardless of the parties’ residency or location.

(2) If the respondent is a minor, the petitioner must file an extreme risk protection 
action in either the petitioner’s or respondent’s county of residence.

(3) If the respondent does not live in Michigan, the petitioner must file an extreme risk 
protection action in the petitioner’s county of residence.

(G) Minor or Legally Incapacitated Individual as Petitioner or Respondent. If a petitioner 
or respondent is a minor or a legally incapacitated individual, the court must appoint a 
next friend or guardian ad litem as provided by MCR 2.201(E).

RULE 3.717 DISMISSALS

Except as specified in MCR 3.718(B), MCR 3.718(D), and MCR 3.720, an action for an 
extreme risk protection order may only be dismissed upon motion by the petitioner prior to the 
issuance of an order. There is no fee for such a motion. This rule does not preclude a dismissal as 
otherwise permitted by law.

RULE 3.718 ISSUING EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDERS

(A) Ex Parte Orders. Except as otherwise provided in this rule:

(1) The court must rule on a request for an ex parte order within one business day of 
the filing date of the complaint. The court must expedite and give priority to ruling on 
a request for an ex parte order.

(2) An ex parte order must be granted if it clearly appears from the specific facts 
shown by a verified, written complaint that

(a) by a preponderance of the evidence after considering the factors identified in 
MCL 691.1807(1), the respondent can reasonably be expected within the near 
future to intentionally or unintentionally seriously physically injure themselves or 
another individual by possessing a firearm, and has engaged in an act or acts or 
made significant threats that substantially support the expectation that the 
respondent will intentionally or unintentionally seriously physically injure 
themselves or another individual by possessing a firearm; and

(b) pursuant to MCL 691.1807(2), there is clear and convincing evidence that 
immediate and irreparable injury, loss, or damage will result from the delay 
required to effectuate notice or that the notice will itself precipitate adverse action 
before an order can be issued.

(3) An ex parte order expires one year after the date of issuance.

(4) If an ex parte order is entered, the complaint and order must be served as provided 
in MCR 3.719(B). However, failure to effectuate service does not affect the order’s 
validity or effectiveness.
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(5) If the court refuses to grant an ex parte order, it must immediately state the reasons 
in writing and advise the petitioner of the right to request a hearing as provided in 
subrule (D). If the petitioner does not request a hearing within 21 days of entry of the 
order, the order denying the complaint is final.

(B) Immediate Emergency Ex Parte Orders.

(1) A petitioner who is a law enforcement officer may verbally request by telephone 
that a judge or magistrate on duty within that jurisdiction immediately issue an 
emergency ex parte order under subrule (A) if the officer is responding to a complaint 
involving the respondent and the respondent can reasonably be expected within the 
near future to intentionally or unintentionally seriously physically injure the 
respondent or another individual by possessing a firearm.

(2) The judge or magistrate must immediately rule on a verbal request made under this 
subrule, and if the judge or magistrate issues an immediate emergency ex parte order,

(a) the officer must notify the respondent of the order and advise where they can 
obtain a copy of the order;

(b) within one business day, the officer must file a sworn written petition detailing 
the facts and circumstances presented verbally to the judge or magistrate; and

(c) if the officer does not file the complaint within one business day, the court 
must, unless good cause is shown,

(i) terminate the immediate emergency ex parte order,

(ii) order that the respondent, subject to the restrictions in MCL 691.1815, may 
reclaim any seized firearm(s), and

(iii) dismiss the case.

(3) In each county, the circuit court must file for approval with the state court 
administrator a plan to make a judge or magistrate on duty and available each day of 
the year to immediately review and rule on a verbal request made under this subrule. 
The court must provide their approved plan to all law enforcement agencies within 
their jurisdiction.

(C) Anticipatory Search Warrant. If the court orders the firearms immediately 
surrendered, the law enforcement officer serving the order pursuant to MCR 3.719(B)(2) 
may file an affidavit requesting that the court issue an anticipatory search warrant 
authorizing a law enforcement agency to search the location or locations where the 
firearm(s) or concealed pistol license is believed to be and to seize any firearm(s) or 
concealed pistol license discovered during the search in compliance with 1966 PA 189, 
MCL 780.651 to 780.659. The law enforcement officer’s affidavit may include 
affirmative allegations contained in the complaint. An anticipatory search warrant issued 
under this subrule is subject to and contingent on the failure or refusal of the respondent, 
following service of the order, to immediately comply with the order and immediately 
surrender to a law enforcement officer any firearm or concealed pistol license in the 
individual’s possession or control. The court must issue the anticipatory search warrant if 
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the affidavit establishes probable cause to believe that if the respondent refuses to 
immediately comply with the order, there is a fair probability that the respondent’s 
firearm(s) or concealed pistol license will be found in the location or locations to be 
searched.

(D) Hearing.

(1) The court must expedite and give priority to hearings required by the extreme risk 
protection act.

(2) The court must schedule a hearing for the issuance of an extreme risk protection 
order in the following instances:

(a) The complaint does not request an ex parte order. If the petitioner does not 
request an ex parte order, the hearing must occur within 14 days of the date the 
complaint is filed.

(b) The court refuses to enter an ex parte order and the petitioner timely requests a 
hearing. If the court refuses to enter an ex parte order, the hearing must occur 
within 14 days of the petitioner’s request for a hearing.

(c) The court entered an ex parte order and the respondent requests a hearing.

(3) If the court enters an ex parte order or an immediate emergency ex parte order and 
the respondent requests a hearing, the hearing must occur

(a) unless subrule (3)(b) applies, within 14 days after the order is served on the 
respondent or after the respondent receives actual notice of the order. A respondent 
must request this hearing within 7 days after the order is served or after the 
respondent receives actual notice of the order.

(b) within 5 days, excluding weekends and holidays if the court is closed to the 
public, after the order is served on the respondent or after the respondent receives 
actual notice of the order, if the respondent is an individual described in MCL 
691.1805(5). A respondent must request this hearing within 3 days after the order 
is served or after the respondent receives actual notice of the order. If the court is 
closed to the public upon the expiration of this 3-day period, the request must be 
made not later than the next business day. To ensure timely notice, the clerk of the 
court must notify the petitioner of this hearing at the email address and telephone 
number provided by the petitioner under MCR 3.716(C).

A respondent waives their right to a hearing on an ex parte order under subrule 
(D)(2)(c) if the respondent does not request a hearing within the timeframes specified 
in subrules (D)(3)(a) and (D)(3)(b).

(4) The petitioner must serve on the respondent the complaint and notice of the 
hearing as provided in MCR 2.105(A), for a hearing scheduled under subrules 
(D)(2)(a)-(b). If the respondent is a minor, and the whereabouts of the respondent’s 
parent(s), guardian, or custodian are known, the petitioner must also in the same 
manner serve the complaint and notice of the hearing on the respondent’s parent(s), 
guardian, or custodian. The clerk of the court must serve the respondent’s request for a 
hearing under subrule (D)(2)(c) on the petitioner, as provided in MCR 2.107(C) and 
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subrule (D)(3)(b), due to the confidential nature of the petitioner’s address unless the 
petitioner electronically filed the case under MCR 1.109(G) and the respondent has 
registered with the electronic-filing system. In that instance, the respondent must serve 
the petitioner electronically at the petitioner’s registered email address. If the 
respondent is a person described in MCL 691.1805(5), providing notice one day 
before the hearing is deemed as sufficient notice to the petitioner.

(5) The hearing must be held on the record. In accordance with MCR 2.407 and MCR 
2.408, the court may allow the use of videoconferencing technology.

(6) The petitioner must attend the hearing and carries the burden of proving, by a 
preponderance of the evidence, that the respondent can reasonably be expected within 
the near future to, intentionally or unintentionally, seriously physically injure 
themselves or another individual by possessing a firearm and has engaged in an act or 
acts or made significant threats that are substantially supportive of the expectation. If 
the petitioner fails to attend the hearing, the court may adjourn and reschedule the 
hearing or dismiss the complaint.

(7) If the respondent fails to appear at a hearing on the complaint under subrules 
(D)(2)(a)-(b) and the court determines the petitioner made diligent attempts to serve 
the respondent, whether the respondent was served or not, the order may be entered 
without further notice to the respondent if the court determines an extreme risk 
protection order is necessary. If the respondent fails to appear at a hearing on the 
complaint requested under subrule (D)(2)(c), the court may adjourn and reschedule the 
hearing or continue the order without further hearing.

(8) At the hearing, the court must consider the factors identified in MCL 691.1807(1) 
and state on the record the reasons for granting, denying, or continuing an extreme risk 
protection order and enter an appropriate order. Additionally, the court must 
immediately state the reasons for granting, denying, or continuing an extreme risk 
protection order in writing.

RULE 3.719 ORDERS

(A) Form and Scope of Order. An order granting an extreme risk protection order must 
include the following provisions:

(1) Respondent Responsibilities. The respondent must complete the filing 
requirements contained in subrule (D)(1). A failure to comply with the filing 
requirements will result in the issuance of either a warrant or an order to show cause 
why the respondent should not be held in contempt of court.

(2) Purchase/Possession of Firearms. The respondent must not purchase or possess a 
firearm. If the respondent has been issued a license under MCL 28.422 that the 
respondent has not used and that is not yet void, the respondent must not use it and 
must surrender it to the law enforcement agency designated under MCL 
691.1809(1)(g).

(3) Concealed Carry Licenses. The respondent must not apply for a concealed pistol 
license. If the respondent has been issued a license to carry a concealed pistol, the 
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license will be suspended or revoked under MCL 28.428 once the extreme risk 
protection order is entered into the law enforcement information network (LEIN). The 
respondent must surrender the license to carry a concealed pistol as required by MCL 
28.428.

(4) Firearm Surrender. The respondent must, within 24 hours, or at the court’s 
discretion, immediately after being served with the order, surrender any firearms in the 
respondent’s possession or control to the law enforcement agency designated under 
MCL 691.1809(1)(g), or if allowed as ordered by the court, to a licensed firearm 
dealer on the list prepared under MCL 691.1818.

If the court orders the respondent to immediately surrender the individual’s firearms, 
the order must include a statement that the law enforcement agency designated under 
MCL 691.1809(1)(g) must proceed to seize the respondent’s firearms after the 
respondent is served with or receives actual notice of the extreme risk protection order, 
after giving the respondent an opportunity to surrender the respondent’s firearms. 
Unless the petitioner is a law enforcement officer or health care provider, there is a 
presumption that the respondent will have 24 hours to surrender the firearms.

(5) Firearm Description. If the petitioner has identified any firearms in the complaint, 
a specific description of the firearms to be surrendered or seized.

(6) Hearing Request. If the extreme risk protection order was issued without written or 
oral notice to the respondent, the order must include a statement that the respondent 
may request and attend a hearing to modify or rescind the order as provided in MCR 
3.718(D)(3).

(7) Motions. A statement that the respondent may file a motion to modify or rescind 
the order as allowed under MCL 691.1801 et seq., and that motion forms and filing 
instructions are available from the clerk of the court.

(8) Law Enforcement Agency Designation. A designation of the law enforcement 
agency that is responsible for forwarding the order to the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation under MCL 691.1815(1). The designated law enforcement agency must 
be an agency within whose jurisdiction the respondent resides.

(9) LEIN Entry. Directions to a local entering authority or the law enforcement agency 
designated under MCL 691.1809(1)(g) to enter the order into LEIN.

(10) Order Violations. A statement that violating the order will subject the respondent 
to the following:

 (a) immediate arrest;

 (b) contempt of court;

 (c) an automatic extension of the order; and

(d) criminal penalties, including imprisonment for up to one year for an initial 
violation and up to five years for a subsequent violation.

(11) Right to Attorney. A statement that the respondent has the right to seek the advice 
of, and be represented by, an attorney.
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(12) Expiration Date. An expiration date that is one year after the date of issuance.

(B) Service.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (B)(2), the petitioner must serve the order on the 
respondent as provided in MCR 2.105(A). If the respondent is a minor, and the 
whereabouts of the respondent’s parent(s), guardian, or custodian is known, the 
petitioner must also in the same manner serve the order on the respondent’s parent(s), 
guardian, or custodian. On an appropriate showing, the court may allow service in 
another manner as provided in MCR 2.105(J). Failure to serve the order does not 
affect its validity or effectiveness.

(2) If the court ordered the immediate surrender of the respondent’s firearms, the order 
must be served personally by a law enforcement officer.

(3) Proof of service must be filed with the court within one business day after service.

(C) Oral Notice. If oral notice of the order is made by a law enforcement officer as 
described in MCL 691.1813(3), proof of the notification must be filed with the court by 
the law enforcement officer within one business day after the notification.

(D) Respondent Responsibilities.

(1) Not later than 24 hours after the respondent receives a copy of the extreme risk 
protection order or has actual notice of the order, the respondent must do one of the 
following:

(a) File with the court that issued the order one or more documents or other 
evidence verifying that all of the following are true:

(i) All firearms previously in the respondent’s possession or control were 
surrendered to or seized by the local law enforcement agency designated under 
MCL 691.1809(1)(g), or if allowed as ordered by the court, to a licensed 
firearm dealer on the list prepared under MCL 691.1818.

(ii) Any concealed pistol license was surrendered to or seized by the local law 
enforcement agency designated under MCL 691.1809(1)(g) or surrendered to 
the county clerk as required by the order and MCL 28.428.

(iii) At the time of the verification, the respondent does not have any firearms 
or a concealed pistol license in the respondent’s possession or control.

(b) File with the court that issued the order one or more documents or other 
evidence verifying that both of the following are true:

(i) At the time the order was issued, the respondent did not have a firearm or 
concealed pistol license in the respondent’s possession or control.

(ii) At the time of the verification, the respondent does not have a firearm or 
concealed pistol license in the respondent’s possession or control.

If the court is closed when the 24-hour period expires, the respondent must 
complete the required filing not later than the next business day.
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(2) Failure to File. The clerk of the court must review the proof of service filed with 
the court and determine whether the respondent has complied with the filing 
requirements of subrule (D)(1). If the respondent has not complied with the filing 
requirements of subrule (D)(1), the clerk and the court must take the following actions:

(a) Clerk of the Court. The clerk of the court must notify the local law enforcement 
agency identified in MCL 691.1809(1)(g) and the assigned judge of the failure to 
comply with the filing requirements. If this notice is provided, the clerk of the 
court must again notify the local law enforcement agency and the assigned judge 
when the respondent has complied with the filing requirements.

(b) Court. The court must issue either a bench warrant or an order to show cause to 
initiate contempt proceedings as identified in MCR 3.721. If issuing an order to 
show cause, the hearing must be scheduled within 5 days of the date the proof of 
service is filed with the court. The court may recall the bench warrant or cancel the 
order to show cause if the respondent makes the required filings identified in 
subrule (D)(1). If the respondent fails to appear for the show cause hearing, the 
court must issue a bench warrant.

If the court issues a bench warrant under this subrule, a law enforcement officer 
may file an affidavit requesting that the court issue a search warrant to search the 
location or locations where the firearm(s) or concealed pistol license is believed to 
be and to seize any firearm(s) or concealed pistol license discovered during the 
search. The law enforcement officer’s affidavit may include affirmative 
allegations contained in the complaint. If the affidavit establishes probable cause 
to believe the location or locations to be searched are places where the firearm(s) 
or concealed pistol license is believed to be, the court must issue the search 
warrant.

(E) Clerk of the Court Responsibilities. The clerk of the court that issues an extreme risk 
protection order must complete the actions identified in MCL 691.1811.

RULE 3.720 MODIFICATION, TERMINATION, OR EXTENSION OF ORDER

(A) Modification or Termination.

(1) Time for Filing and Number of Motions.

(a) The petitioner may file a motion to modify or terminate the extreme risk 
protection order and request a hearing at any time after the extreme risk protection 
order is issued.

(b) In addition to requesting a hearing under MCR 3.718(D)(3), the respondent 
may file one motion to modify or terminate an extreme risk protection order during 
the first six months that the order is in effect and one motion during the second six 
months that the order is in effect. If the order is extended under subrule (B), the 
respondent may file one motion to modify or terminate the order during the first 
six months that the extended order is in effect, and one motion during the second 
six months that the extended order is in effect. If the respondent files more than 
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one motion during these times, the court must review the motion before a hearing 
is held and may summarily dismiss the motion without a response from the 
petitioner and without a hearing.

(c) The moving party carries the burden and must prove by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the respondent no longer poses a risk to seriously physically injure 
another individual or the respondent by possessing a firearm.

(2) Service. The nonmoving party must be served, as provided in MCR 2.107 at the 
mailing address or addresses provided to the court, the motion to modify or terminate 
the order and the notice of hearing at least 7 days before the hearing date. The 
petitioner must serve the petitioner’s motion on the respondent. The clerk of the court 
must serve the respondent’s motion on the petitioner due to the confidential nature of 
the petitioner’s address unless the petitioner electronically filed the case under MCR 
1.109(G) and the respondent has registered with the electronic-filing system. In that 
instance, the respondent must serve the petitioner electronically at the petitioner’s 
registered email address.

(3) Hearing on the Motion. The court must schedule and hold a hearing on a motion to 
modify or terminate an extreme risk protection order within 14 days of the filing of the 
motion.

(4) Notice of Modification or Termination. If an extreme risk protection order is 
modified or terminated, the clerk must immediately notify the law enforcement agency 
specified in the extreme risk protection order of the change. A modified or terminated 
order must be served on the respondent as provided in MCR 2.107.

(5) If the extreme risk protection order expires or is terminated, the court must order, 
subject to the restrictions in MCL 691.1815, that the respondent may reclaim any 
seized firearm(s). Upon the motion of the respondent, the court may also order, at any 
time, the transfer of the respondent’s firearm(s) seized by law enforcement under the 
extreme risk protection order to a licensed firearm dealer if the respondent sells or 
transfers ownership of the firearm to the dealer.

(B) Extension of Order.

(1) Motions.

(a) Time for Filing and Service. Upon motion by the petitioner or the court’s own 
motion, the court may issue an extended extreme risk protection order that is 
effective for one year after the expiration of the preceding order. The respondent 
must be served the motion to extend the order and the notice of hearing at least 7 
days before the hearing date as provided in MCR 2.107 at the mailing address or 
addresses provided to the court. The petitioner must serve the petitioner’s motion 
on the respondent. The clerk of the court must serve both the petitioner and 
respondent if upon the court’s own motion. Failure to timely file a motion to 
extend the effectiveness of the order does not preclude the petitioner from 
commencing a new extreme risk protection action regarding the same respondent, 
as provided in MCR 3.716.



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 350   Updated April 26, 2024 

(b) Legal Standard. The court must only issue the extended order under this 
subrule if the preponderance of the evidence shows that the respondent can 
reasonably be expected within the near future to intentionally or unintentionally 
seriously physically injure themselves or another individual by possessing a 
firearm and has engaged in an act or acts or made significant threats that are 
substantially supportive of the expectation.

(2) Automatic Extensions. If the court or a jury finds that the respondent has refused or 
failed to comply with an extreme risk protection order, the court that issued the order 
must issue an extended extreme risk protection order effective for 1 year after the 
expiration of the preceding order.

(3) Notice of Extension. If the court issues an extended extreme risk protection order, 
it must enter an amended order. The clerk must immediately notify the law 
enforcement agency specified in the extreme risk protection order if the court enters an 
amended order. The petitioner must serve an amended order on the respondent as 
provided in MCR 2.107.

(C) Minors and Legally Incapacitated Individuals. Petitioners or respondents who are 
minors or legally incapacitated individuals must proceed through a next friend, as 
provided in MCR 3.716(G). 

(D) Fees. There are no motion fees for modifying, terminating, or extending an extreme 
risk protection order.

RULE 3.721 CONTEMPT PROCEEDINGS FOR VIOLATION OF EXTREME RISK PROTECTION ORDER

(A) In General. An extreme risk protection order is enforceable under MCL 691.1810(4)-
(5), MCL 691.1815(4), and MCL 691.1819.

(B) Motion to Show Cause.

(1) Filing. If the respondent violates the extreme risk protection order, the prosecuting 
attorney for the county in which the order was issued or a law enforcement officer may 
file a motion, supported by appropriate affidavit, to have the respondent found in 
contempt. There is no fee for such a motion. If the motion and affidavit establish 
probable cause for a finding of contempt, the court must either:

(a) order the respondent to appear at a specified time to answer the contempt 
charge; or

 (b) issue a bench warrant for the arrest of the respondent.

(2) Service. If issuing an order to show cause, the hearing must be held within 5 days. 
The prosecuting attorney or law enforcement officer must serve the motion to show 
cause and the order on the respondent and petitioner as provided in MCR 2.107.

(C) Search Warrant. If the violation alleges that the respondent has a firearm or concealed 
pistol license in the respondent’s possession or control, a law enforcement officer or 
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prosecuting attorney may also file an affidavit requesting that the court issue a search 
warrant to search the location or locations where the firearm(s) or concealed pistol license 
is believed to be and to seize any firearm(s) or concealed pistol license discovered during 
the search. The law enforcement officer’s affidavit may include affirmative allegations 
contained in the complaint. If the affidavit establishes probable cause to believe the 
location or locations to be searched are places where the firearm(s) or concealed pistol 
license is believed to be, the court must issue the search warrant.

(D) Arraignment; Advice to Respondent.

At the respondent’s first appearance before the court for arraignment on contempt of 
court, the court must:

(1) advise the respondent

(a) of the alleged violation,

(b) of the right to contest the charge at a contempt hearing, and

(c) that they are entitled to a lawyer’s assistance at the hearing and, if the court 
determines it might sentence the respondent to jail, that the court, or the local 
funding unit’s appointing authority if the local funding unit has determined that it 
will provide representation to respondents alleged to have violated an extreme risk 
protection order, will appoint a lawyer at public expense if the individual wants 
one and is financially unable to retain one;

(2) if requested and appropriate, appoint a lawyer or refer the matter to the appointing 
authority;

(3) set a reasonable bond pending a hearing of the alleged violation; and

(4) take a guilty plea as provided in subrule (E) or schedule a hearing as provided in 
subrule (F).

(E) Pleas of Guilty. The respondent may plead guilty to the violation. Before accepting a 
guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the respondent and receiving the respondent’s 
response, must:

(1) advise the respondent

(a) that by pleading guilty the respondent is giving up the right to a contested 
hearing, and if the respondent is proceeding without legal representation, the right 
to a lawyer’s assistance as set forth in subrule (D)(1)(c);

(b) of the maximum possible jail sentence for the violation; and

(c) that if they plead guilty to violating the extreme risk protection order, the court 
will automatically extend the duration of the extreme risk protection order for 1 
year after the expiration of the preceding order;

(2) ascertain that the plea is understandingly, voluntarily, and knowingly made; and
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(3) establish factual support for a finding that the respondent is guilty of the alleged 
violation.

(F) Scheduling or Postponing Hearing. Following the respondent’s appearance or 
arraignment, the court shall do the following:

(1) Set a date for the hearing at the earliest practicable time.

(a) The hearing of a respondent being held in custody for an alleged violation of an 
extreme risk protection order must be held within 72 hours after the arrest, unless 
extended by the court on the motion of the arrested individual or the prosecuting 
attorney. The court must set a reasonable bond pending the hearing unless the 
court determines that release will not reasonably ensure the safety of the 
respondent or any other individual(s).

(b) If a respondent is released on bond pending the hearing, the bond may include 
any condition specified in MCR 6.106(D) necessary to reasonably ensure the 
safety of the respondent and other individuals, including continued compliance 
with the extreme risk protection order. The release order shall comply with MCL 
765.6b.

(c) If the alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a 
separate criminal prosecution, upon motion of the prosecutor, the court may 
postpone the hearing for the outcome of that prosecution.

(2) Notify the prosecuting attorney of the contempt proceeding.

(3) Notify the petitioner and the petitioner’s attorney, if any, and the law enforcement 
officer that filed the motion, if applicable, of the contempt proceeding and direct the 
party to appear at the hearing and give evidence on the charge of contempt.

(G) Prosecution After Arrest. If the court holds a contempt proceeding, the prosecuting 
attorney must prosecute the proceeding.

(H) The Violation Hearing.

(1) Jury. There is no right to a jury trial.

(2) Conduct of the Hearing. The respondent has the right to be present at the hearing, 
to present evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses.

(3) Evidence; Burden of Proof. The rules of evidence apply to both criminal and civil 
contempt proceedings. The prosecuting attorney has the burden of proving the 
respondent’s guilt of criminal contempt beyond a reasonable doubt and the 
respondent’s guilt of civil contempt by clear and convincing evidence.

(4) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must find the facts 
specifically, state separately its conclusion of law, and direct entry of the appropriate 
judgment. The court must state its findings and conclusion on the record or in a written 
opinion made a part of the record.
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(5) Sentencing. If the respondent is found in contempt, the court may impose sanctions 
as provided by MCL 600.1701 et seq.

RULE 3.722 APPEALS

(A) Rules Applicable. Except as provided by this rule, appeals involving an extreme risk 
protection order must comply with subchapter 7.200.

(B) From Entry of Extreme Risk Protection Order.

(1) Either party has an appeal of right from:

(a) an order granting, denying, or continuing an extreme risk protection order after 
a hearing under MCR 3.718(D).

(b) an order granting or denying an extended extreme risk protection order after a 
hearing under MCR 3.720(B).

(2) Appeals of all other orders are by leave to appeal.

(C) From Finding After Violation Hearing. The respondent has an appeal of right from a 
judgment of sentence for criminal contempt entered after a contested hearing. 

 SUBCHAPTER 3.800 ADOPTION

RULE 3.800 APPLICABLE RULES; INTERESTED PARTIES; INDIAN CHILD

(A) Generally. Except as modified by the rules in this chapter, adoption proceedings, are 
governed by Michigan Court Rules.

(B) Interested Parties. 

(1) The persons interested in various adoption proceedings, including proceedings 
involving an Indian child, are as provided by MCL 710.24a except as otherwise 
provided in subrules (2) and (3). 

(2) If the court knows or has reason to know the adoptee is an Indian child, in addition 
to subrule (B)(1), the persons interested are the Indian child’s tribe and the Indian 
custodian, if any, and, if the Indian child’s parent or Indian custodian, or tribe, is 
unknown, the Secretary of the Interior.

(3) The interested persons in a petition to terminate the rights of the noncustodial 
parent pursuant to MCL 710.51(6) are:

(a) the petitioner;

(b) the adoptee, if over 14 years of age; 

(c) the noncustodial parent; and
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(d) if the court knows or has reason to know the adoptee is an Indian child, the 
Indian child’s tribe and the Indian custodian, if any, and, if the Indian child’s 
parent or Indian custodian, or tribe, is unknown, the Secretary of the Interior.

RULE 3.801 DOCUMENTS, EXECUTION

(A) A waiver, affirmation, or disclaimer to be executed by the father of a child born out of 
wedlock may be executed any time after the conception of the child. If a putative father 
acknowledges paternity, he must receive notice of the hearing if the child is an Indian 
child.

(B) A release or consent is valid if executed in accordance with the law at the time of 
execution.

RULE 3.802 MANNER AND METHOD OF SERVICE

(A) Service of Documents.

(1) A notice of intent to release or consent pursuant to MCL 710.34(1) may only be 
served by personal service by a peace officer or a person authorized by the court.

(2) Notice of a petition to identify a putative father and to determine or terminate his 
rights, or a petition to terminate the rights of a parent under MCL 710.51(6), must be 
served on the individual or the individual's attorney in the manner provided in:

(a) MCR 2.107(C)(1) or (2), or

(b) MCR 2.105(A)(2), but service is not made for purpose of this subrule until the 
individual or the individual’s attorney receives the notice or petition.

(3) Notice of Proceeding Concerning Indian Child.

If the court knows or has reason to know an Indian child is the subject of an adoption 
proceeding and an Indian tribe does not have exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 
3.002(6),

(a)in addition to any other service requirements, the petitioner shall notify the 
parent or Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe, by personal service or by 
registered mail with return receipt requested and delivery restricted to the 
addressee, of the pending proceedings on a petition for adoption of the Indian child 
and of their right of intervention on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office. If the identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian, 
or of the Indian child’s tribe, cannot be determined, notice shall be given to the 
Secretary of the Interior by registered mail with return receipt requested. 

(b)the court shall notify the parent or Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe 
of all other hearings pertaining to the adoption proceeding as provided in this rule. 
If the identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian, or of the tribe, cannot 
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be determined, notice of the hearings shall be given to the Secretary of the Interior. 
Such notice may be made by first-class mail.

(4) Except as provided in subrules (B) and (C), all other documents may be served by 
mail under MCR 2.107(C)(3), e-mail under MCR 2.107(C)(4), or electronic service 
under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(B) Service When Identity or Whereabouts of Father are Unascertainable

(1) If service cannot be made under subrule (A)(2) because the identity of the father of 
a child born out of wedlock or the whereabouts of the identified father has not been 
ascertained after diligent inquiry, the petitioner must file proof of the efforts made to 
identify or locate the father in a statement verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). No further 
service is necessary before the hearing to identify the father and to determine or 
terminate his rights.

(2) At the hearing, the court shall take evidence concerning the attempt to identify or 
locate the father. If the court finds that a reasonable attempt was made, the court shall 
proceed under MCL 710.37(2). If the court finds that a reasonable attempt was not 
made, the court shall adjourn the hearing under MCL 710.36(7) and shall

(a) order a further attempt to identify or locate the father so that service can be 
made under subrule (A)(2)(a), or

(b) direct any manner of substituted service of the notice of hearing except service 
by publication.

(C) Service When Whereabouts of Parent are Unascertainable. If service of a petition to 
terminate the parental rights of a parent pursuant to MCL 710.51(6) cannot be made under 
subrule (A)(2) because the whereabouts of that parent have not been ascertained after 
diligent inquiry, the petitioner must file proof of the efforts made to locate that parent in a 
statement verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). If the court finds, on reviewing the statement, 
that service cannot be made because the whereabouts of the person have not been 
determined after reasonable efforts, the court may direct any manner of substituted service 
of the notice of hearing, including service by publication.

(D) Service by Publication.

(1) Requirements. A notice of hearing or other notice required to be made by 
publication must be published in a newspaper as defined by MCR 2.106(F) at least one 
time 21 days before the date of the hearing. Publication shall be in the county in which 
the court is located.

(2) Contents of Notice. The published notice must include the name of the individual 
to whom the notice is given, a statement describing the nature of the hearing, and a 
statement that the result of the hearing may affect the individual’s interest in the 
matter, including possible termination of parental rights.

(3) Service of Notice. A copy of the notice shall be mailed to the individual to whom 
the notice is given at his or her last known address. If the last known address of the 
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individual cannot be ascertained after diligent inquiry, mailing a copy of the notice is 
not required.

(4) Proof of service under this subrule shall be made according to MCR 2.106(G). 

RULE 3.803 FINANCIAL REPORTS, SUBSEQUENT ORDERS

(A) Updated Accounting and Statements.

(1) The update of the accounting filed pursuant to MCL 710.54(8) may include by 
reference the total expenses itemized in the accounting required by MCL 710.54(7).

(2) Any verified statement filed pursuant to MCL 710.54(7) need not be filed again 
unless, at the time of the update required by MCL 710.54(8), any such statement does 
not reflect the facts at that time.

(B) Subsequent Orders.

(1) Only one order approving fees disclosed in the financial reports by MCL 710.54(7) 
need be entered, and it must be entered after the filing required by MCL 710.54(8).

(2) The order placing the child may be entered before the elapse of the 7-day period 
required by MCL 710.54(7).

(3) The final order of adoption may be entered before the elapse of the 21-day period 
required by MCL 710.54(8).

RULE 3.804 CONSENT AND RELEASE

(A) Contents and Execution of Consent or Release; Indian Child.

In addition to the requirements of MCL 710.29 or MCL 710.44, if a parent of an Indian 
child intends to voluntarily consent to adoptive placement or the termination of his or her 
parental rights for the express purpose of adoption pursuant to MCL 712B.13, the 
following requirements must be met:

(1)except in stepparent adoptions under MCL 710.23a(4), both parents must consent.

(2)to be valid, consent must be executed on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office, in writing, recorded before a judge of a court of competent 
jurisdiction, and accompanied by the presiding judge's certificate that the terms and 
consequences of the consent were fully explained in detail and were fully understood 
by the parent. The court shall also certify that either the parent fully understood the 
explanation in English or that it was interpreted into a language that the parent 
understood. Any consent given before, or within 10 days after, the birth of the Indian 
child is not valid.

(3)the consent must contain the information prescribed by MCL 712B.13(2).

(4)in a direct placement, as defined in MCL 710.22(o), a consent by a parent shall be 
accompanied by a verified statement that complies with MCL 712B.13(6).
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(B) Hearing on Consent to Adopt.

(1)The consent hearing required by MCL.710.44(1) must be promptly scheduled by 
the court after the court examines and approves the report of the investigation or foster 
family study filed pursuant to MCL 710.46. If an interested party has requested a 
consent hearing, the hearing shall be held within 7 days of the filing of the report or 
foster family study.

(2)A consent hearing involving an Indian child pursuant to MCL 712B.13 must be 
held in conjunction with either a consent to adopt, as required by MCL 710.44, or a 
release, as required by MCL 710.29. Notice of the hearing must be sent to the parties 
prescribed in MCR 3.800(B) in compliance with MCR 3.802(A)(3).

(3) Use of Videoconferencing Technology. Videoconferencing technology may not be 
used for a consent hearing under this subrule involving an Indian child pursuant to 
MCL 712B.13.

(C) Notice of Child Support Obligation.

(1) Before executing a release, as part of the explanation of the parent's legal rights, 
the parent shall be informed that the obligation to support the child will continue until 
a court of competent jurisdiction modifies or terminates the obligation, an order of 
adoption is entered, or the child is emancipated by operation of law. 

(2) Before executing the consent, as part of the explanation of the parent's legal rights, 
the parent shall be informed that the obligation to support the child will continue until 
a court of competent jurisdiction modifies or terminates the obligation, an order of 
adoption is entered, or the child is emancipated by operation of law.

(3) Failure to provide required notice under this subsection does not affect the 
obligation imposed by law or otherwise establish a remedy or cause of action on 
behalf of the parent. 

(D)Withdrawal of Consent to Adopt Indian Child.

A parent who executes a consent under MCL 712B.13 may withdraw that consent at 
any time before entry of a final order of adoption by filing a written demand 
requesting the return of the child. Once a demand is filed with the court, the court shall 
order the return of the child. Withdrawal of consent under MCL 712B.13 constitutes a 
withdrawal of a release executed under MCL 710.29 or a consent to adopt executed 
under MCL 710.44. 

RULE 3.805 TEMPORARY PLACEMENTS, TIME FOR SERVICE OF NOTICE OF HEARING TO 
DETERMINE DISPOSITION OF CHILD 

(A) Time for Service. Service of notice of hearing on a petition for disposition of a child 
under MCL 710.23e(1) must be served at least:
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(1) 3 days before the date set for hearing for personal service under MCR 2.107(C)(1) 
or (2), e-mail service under MCR 2.107(C)(4), or electronic service under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a); or

(2) 7 days before the date set for hearing when served by first-class mail under MCR 
2.107(C)(3). 

(B) Interested Party, Whereabouts Unknown. If the whereabouts of an interested party, 
other than the putative father who did not join in the temporary placement, is unknown, 
service on that interested party will be sufficient if service is attempted at the last known 
address of the interested party.

(C) Putative Father, Identity or Whereabouts Unknown. If the identity of the putative 
father is unknown or the whereabouts of a putative father who did not join in the 
temporary placement is unknown, he need not be served notice of the hearing.

RULE 3.806 REHEARINGS

(A) Filing, Notice and Response. A party may seek rehearing under MCL 710.64(1) by 
timely filing a petition stating the basis for rehearing. Immediately upon filing the petition, 
the petitioner must give all interested parties notice of its filing in accordance with MCR 
3.802. Any interested party may file a response within 7 days of the date of service of 
notice on the interested party. 

(B) Procedure for Determining Whether to Grant a Rehearing. The court must base a 
decision on whether to grant a rehearing on the record, the pleading filed, or a hearing on 
the petition. The court may grant a rehearing only for good cause. The reasons for its 
decision must be in writing or stated on the record. 

(C) Procedure if Rehearing Granted. If the court grants a rehearing, the court may, after 
notice, take new evidence on the record. It may affirm, modify, or vacate its prior decision 
in whole or in part. The court must state the reasons for its action in writing or on the 
record. 

(D) Stay. Pending a ruling on the petition for rehearing, the court may stay any order, or 
enter another order in the best interest of the minor. 

RULE 3.807 INDIAN CHILD

(A)Definitions. If an Indian child, as defined by the Michigan Indian Family Preservation 
Act, MCL 712B.3, is the subject of an adoption proceeding, the definitions in MCR 3.002 
shall control. 

(B)Jurisdiction, Notice, Transfer, Intervention. 

(1)If an Indian child is the subject of an adoption proceeding and an Indian tribe has 
exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), the matter shall be dismissed. 
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(2)If an Indian child is the subject of an adoption proceeding and an Indian tribe does 
not have exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), the court shall ensure that 
the petitioner has given notice of the proceedings to the persons prescribed in MCR 
3.800(B) in accordance with MCR 3.802(A)(3). 

(a)If either parent or the Indian custodian or the Indian child’s tribe petitions the 
court to transfer the proceeding to the tribal court, the court shall transfer the case 
to the tribal court unless either parent objects to the transfer of the case to tribal 
court jurisdiction or the court finds good cause not to transfer. When the court 
makes a good-cause determination under MCL 712B.7, adequacy of the tribe, 
tribal court, or tribal social services shall not be considered. A court may 
determine that good cause not to transfer a case to tribal court exists only if the 
person opposing the transfer shows by clear and convincing evidence that either of 
the following applies:

(i)The Indian tribe does not have a tribal court.

(ii)The requirement of the parties or witnesses to present evidence in tribal 
court would cause undue hardship to those parties or witnesses that the Indian 
tribe is unable to mitigate. 

(b)The court shall not dismiss the matter until the transfer has been accepted by the 
tribal court.

(c)If the tribal court declines transfer, the Michigan Indian Family Preservation 
Act applies, as do the provisions of these rules that pertain to an Indian child (see 
MCL 712B.3 and MCL 712B.5).

(d)A petition to transfer may be made at any time in accordance with MCL 
712B.7(3).

(3)The Indian custodian of the child, the Indian child’s tribe, and the Indian child have 
a right to intervene at any point in the proceeding pursuant to MCL 712B.7(6).

(C)Record of Tribal Affiliation. Upon application by an Indian individual who has 
reached the age of 18 and who was the subject of an adoption placement, the court that 
entered the final decree shall inform such individual of the tribal affiliation, if any, of the 
individual’s biological parents and provide such other information as may be necessary to 
protect any rights flowing from the individual’s tribal relationship. (25 USC 1917.)

RULE 3.808 FINALIZING ADOPTION; FINDINGS OF COURT

Before entering a final order of adoption, the trial court shall determine that the adoptee is 
not the subject of any pending proceedings on rehearing or reconsideration, or on appeal from a 
decision to terminate parental rights. The trial court shall make the following findings on the 
record:

That any appeal of the decision to terminate parental rights has 
reached disposition; that no appeal, application for leave to appeal, 
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or motion for rehearing or reconsideration is pending; and that the 
time for all appellate proceedings in this matter has expired.

RULE 3.809 NOTICE FOLLOWING INVOLUNTARY TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

(A) If the parental rights of a parent whose identity and whereabouts are known are 
involuntarily terminated, the court shall notify the parent, either orally or in a writing, that 
the obligation to support the child will continue until a court of competent jurisdiction 
modifies or terminates the obligation, an order of adoption is entered, or the child is 
emancipated by operation of law. 

(B) If the whereabouts of a parent are unknown, the notice required by subsection (A) may 
be provided in a notice of hearing provided pursuant to MCR 3.802(C). 

(C) Failure to provide required notice under this subsection does not affect the obligation 
imposed by law or otherwise establish a remedy or cause of action on behalf of the parent.

RULE 3.810 TRANSCRIPTS FOR PURPOSES OF APPEAL

In an appeal following the involuntary termination of parental rights, if the court finds that 
the respondent is financially unable to pay for the preparation of transcripts for appeal, the court 
must order transcripts prepared at public expense.

RULE 3.811 USE OF VIDEOCONFERENCING TECHNOLOGY

Except as otherwise provided, the court may allow the use of videoconferencing 
technology for proceedings under this subchapter in accordance with MCR 2.407.

SUBCHAPTER 3.900 PROCEEDINGS INVOLVING JUVENILES

RULE 3.901 APPLICABILITY OF RULES

(A) Scope.

(1) The rules in this subchapter, in subchapter 1.100, and in subchapter 8.100 govern 
practice and procedure in the family division of the circuit court in all cases filed under 
the Juvenile Code.

(2) Other Michigan Court Rules apply to juvenile cases in the family division of the 
circuit court only when this subchapter specifically provides.

(3) The Michigan Rules of Evidence, except with regard to privileges, do not apply to 
proceedings under this subchapter, except where a rule in this subchapter specifically 
so provides. MCL 722.631 governs privileges in child protective proceedings.

(B) Application. Unless the context otherwise indicates:
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(1) MCR 3.901-3.930, and 3.991-3.993 apply to delinquency proceedings and child 
protective proceedings;

(2) MCR 3.931-3.950 apply only to delinquency proceedings;

(3) MCR 3.951-3.956 apply only to designated proceedings;

(4) MCR 3.961-3.979 apply only to child protective proceedings;

(5) MCR 3.981-3.989 apply only to minor personal protection order proceedings.

RULE 3.902 CONSTRUCTION

(A) In General. The rules are to be construed to secure fairness, flexibility, and simplicity. 
The court shall proceed in a manner that safeguards the rights and proper interests of the 
parties. Limitations on corrections of error are governed by MCR 2.613.

(B) Philosophy. The rules must be interpreted and applied in keeping with the philosophy 
expressed in the Juvenile Code. The court shall ensure that each minor coming within the 
jurisdiction of the court shall:

(1) receive the care, guidance, and control, preferably in the minor's own home, that is 
conducive to the minor's welfare and the best interests of the public; and

(2) when removed from parental control, be placed in care as nearly as possible 
equivalent to the care that the minor's parents should have given the minor.

RULE 3.903 DEFINITIONS

(A) General Definitions. When used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise 
indicates:

(1) “Case” means an action initiated in the family division of the circuit court by:

(a) submission of an original complaint, petition, or citation;

(b) acceptance of transfer of an action from another court or tribunal; or

(c) filing or registration of a foreign judgment or order.

(2) “Child protective proceeding” means a proceeding concerning an offense against a 
child.

(3) “Confidential file” means

(a) records of a case brought before the court under Chapter XIIA of the Probate 
Code, MCL 712A.1 et seq., including, but not limited to,

(i) the diversion record of a minor pursuant to the Juvenile Diversion Act, 
MCL 722.821 et seq.; 

(ii) the separate statement about known victims of juvenile offenses, as 
required by the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 780.751 et seq.; 
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(iii) the testimony taken during a closed proceeding pursuant to MCR 
3.925(A)(2) and MCL 712A.17(7);

(iv) the dispositional reports pursuant to MCR 3.943(C)(3) and 3.973(E)(4);

(v) biometric data required to be maintained pursuant to MCL 28.243;

(vi) reports of sexually motivated crimes, MCL 28.247;

(vii) test results of those charged with certain sexual offenses or substance 
abuse offenses, MCL 333.5129;

(b) the contents of a social file maintained by the court, including materials such 
as:

(i) youth and family record fact sheet;

(ii) social study;

(iii) reports (such as dispositional, investigative, laboratory, medical, 
observation, psychological, psychiatric, progress, treatment, school, and police 
reports);

(iv) Department of Health and Human Services records;

(v) correspondence;

(vi) victim statements;

(vii) information regarding the identity or location of a foster parent, 
preadoptive parent, or relative caregiver.

(4) “Court” means the family division of the circuit court.

(5) “Delinquency proceeding” means a proceeding concerning an offense by a 
juvenile, as defined in MCR 3.903(B)(3).

(6) “Designated proceeding” means a proceeding in which the prosecuting attorney 
has designated, or has requested the court to designate, the case for trial in the family 
division of the circuit court in the same manner as an adult.

(7) “Father” means:

(a) A man married to the mother at any time from a minor's conception to the 
minor's birth, unless a court has determined, after notice and a hearing, that the 
minor was conceived or born during the marriage, but is not the issue of the 
marriage;

(b) A man who legally adopts the minor;

(c) A man who by order of filiation or by judgment of paternity is judicially 
determined to be the father of the minor;

(d) A man judicially determined to have parental rights; or

(e) A man whose paternity is established by the completion and filing of an 
acknowledgment of parentage in accordance with the provisions of the 
Acknowledgment of Parentage Act, MCL 722.1001 et seq., or a previously 
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applicable procedure. For an acknowledgment under the Acknowledgment of 
Parentage Act, the man and mother must each sign the acknowledgment of 
parentage before a notary public appointed in this state. The acknowledgment shall 
be filed at either the time of birth or another time during the child's lifetime with 
the state registrar. 

(8) “File” means a repository for collection of the pleadings and other documents and 
materials related to a case.

(9) A petition is deemed “filed” when it is delivered to, and accepted by, the clerk of 
the court.

(10) “Formal calendar” means judicial proceedings other than a delinquency 
proceeding on the consent calendar, a preliminary inquiry, or a preliminary hearing of 
a delinquency or child protective proceeding.

(11) “Guardian” means a person appointed as guardian of a child by a Michigan court 
pursuant to MCL 700.5204 or 700.5205, by a court of another state under a 
comparable statutory provision, or by parental or testamentary appointment as 
provided in MCL 700.5202, or a juvenile guardian appointed pursuant to MCL 
712A.19a or MCL 712A.19c.

(12) “Juvenile Code” means 1944 (1st Ex Sess) PA 54, MCL 712A.1 et seq., as 
amended. 

(13) “Juvenile Guardian” means a person appointed guardian of a child by a Michigan 
court pursuant to MCL 712A.19a or MCL 712A.19c. A juvenile guardianship is 
distinct from a guardianship authorized under the Estates and Protected Individuals 
Code.

(14) “Legal Custodian” means an adult who has been given legal custody of a minor 
by order of a circuit court in Michigan or a comparable court of another state or who 
possesses a valid power of attorney given pursuant to MCL 700.5103 or a comparable 
statute of another state. It also includes the term “Indian custodian” as defined in MCR 
3.002(15).

(15) “Legally admissible evidence” means evidence admissible under the Michigan 
Rules of Evidence.

(16) “Minor” means a person under the age of 18, and may include a person of age 18 
or older over whom the court has continuing jurisdiction pursuant to MCL 712A.2a.

(17) “Officer” means a government official with the power to arrest or any other 
person designated and directed by the court to apprehend, detain, or place a minor.

(18) “Parent” means the mother, the father as defined in MCR 3.903(A)(7), or both, of 
the minor. It also includes the term “parent” as defined in MCR 3.002(20).

(19) “Party” includes

(a) in a delinquency proceeding,

(i) the petitioner and juvenile.

(b) in a protective proceeding,
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(i) the petitioner, child, and respondent

(ii) the parent, guardian, or legal custodian.

(20) “Petition” means a complaint or other written allegation, verified in the manner 
provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3), that a parent, guardian, nonparent adult, or legal 
custodian has harmed or failed to properly care for a child, or that a juvenile has 
committed an offense.

(21) “Petition authorized to be filed” refers to written permission given by the court to 
proceed with placement on the formal calendar. Until a petition is authorized, it 
remains on the informal calendar.

(22) “Petitioner” means the person or agency who requests the court to take action.

(23) “Preliminary inquiry” means informal review by the court to determine 
appropriate action on a petition.

(24) “Putative father” means a man who is alleged to be the biological father of a child 
who has no father as defined in MCR 3.903(A)(7).

(25) “Records” are as defined in MCR 1.109 and MCR 8.119 and include, but are not 
limited to, pleadings, complaints, citations, motions, authorized and unauthorized 
petitions, notices, memoranda, briefs, exhibits, available transcripts, findings of the 
court, registers of action, consent calendar case plans, and court orders.

(26) “Register of actions” means the case history of all cases, as defined in subrule 
(A)(1), maintained in accordance with Michigan Supreme Court Records Management 
Standards. See MCR 8.119(D)(1)(a).

(27) “Trial” means the fact-finding adjudication of an authorized petition to determine 
if the minor comes within the jurisdiction of the court. “Trial” also means a specific 
adjudication of a parent’s unfitness to determine whether the parent is subject to the 
dispositional authority of the court.

(B) Delinquency Proceedings. When used in delinquency proceedings, unless the context 
otherwise indicates:

(1) “Detention” means court-ordered removal of a juvenile from the custody of a 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian, pending trial, disposition, commitment, or further 
order.

(2) “Juvenile” means a minor alleged or found to be within the jurisdiction of the court 
for having committed an offense.

(3) “Offense by a juvenile” means an act that violates a criminal statute, a criminal 
ordinance, a traffic law, or a provision of MCL 712A.2(a) or (d).

(4) “Prosecuting attorney” means the prosecuting attorney for a county, an assistant 
prosecuting attorney for a county, the attorney general, the deputy attorney general, an 
assistant attorney general, a special prosecuting attorney, and, in connection with the 
prosecution of an ordinance violation, an attorney for the political subdivision or 
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governmental entity that enacted the ordinance, charter, rule, or regulation upon which 
the ordinance violation is based.

(C) Child Protective Proceedings. When used in child protective proceedings, unless the 
context otherwise indicates:

(1) “Agency” means a public or private organization, institution, or facility 
responsible pursuant to court order or contractual arrangement for the care and 
supervision of a child.

(2) “Amended petition” means a petition filed to correct or add information to an 
original petition, as defined in subrule (A)(20) before it is adjudicated.

(3) “Child” means a minor alleged or found to be within the jurisdiction of the court 
pursuant to MCL 712A.2(b).

(4) “Contrary to the welfare of the child” includes, but is not limited to, situations in 
which the child's life, physical health, or mental well-being is unreasonably placed at 
risk.

(5) “Foster care” means 24-hour a day substitute care for children placed away from 
their parents, guardians, or legal custodians, and for whom the court has given the 
Department of Health and Human Services placement and care responsibility, 
including, but not limited to,

(a) care provided to a child in a foster family home, foster family group home, or 
child caring institution licensed or approved under MCL 722.111 et seq., or 

(b) care provided to a child in a relative’s home pursuant to an order of the court.

(6) “Lawyer-guardian ad litem” means that term as defined in MCL 712A.13a(1)(g).

(7) “Nonparent adult” means a person who is 18 years of age or older and who, 
regardless of the person's domicile, meets all the following criteria in relation to a 
child over whom the court takes jurisdiction under this chapter:

(a) has substantial and regular contact with the child,

(b) has a close personal relationship with the child's parent or with a person 
responsible for the child's health or welfare, and

(c) is not the child's parent or a person otherwise related to the child by blood or 
affinity to the third degree.

(8) “Nonrespondent parent” means a parent who is not named as a respondent in a 
petition filed under MCL 712A.2(b).

(9) “Offense against a child” means an act or omission by a parent, guardian, 
nonparent adult, or legal custodian asserted as grounds for bringing the child within 
the jurisdiction of the court pursuant to the Juvenile Code.

(10) “Placement” means court-approved transfer of physical custody of a child to 
foster care, a shelter home, a hospital, or a private treatment agency.
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(11) “Prosecutor” or “prosecuting attorney” means the prosecuting attorney of the 
county in which the court has its principal office or an assistant to the prosecuting 
attorney.

(12) Except as provided in MCR 3.977(B), “respondent” means the parent, guardian, 
legal custodian, or nonparent adult who is alleged to have committed an offense 
against a child.

(13)“Supplemental petition” means:

(a)a written allegation, verified in the manner provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3), that a 
parent, for whom a petition was authorized, has committed an additional offense 
since the adjudication of the petition, or

(b)a written allegation, verified in the manner provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3), that a 
nonrespondent parent is being added as an additional respondent in a case in which 
an original petition has been authorized and adjudicated against the other parent 
under MCR 3.971 or MCR 3.972, or 

(c)a written allegation, verified in the manner provided in MCR 1.109(D)(3), that 
requests the court terminate parental rights of a parent or parents under MCR 
3.977(F) or MCR 3.977(H).

(14) “Qualified Residential Treatment Program” means a residential program that has 
met all of the following criteria:

(a) Use of a trauma-informed treatment model;

(b) Registered or licensed nursing staff and other licensed clinical staff must be on-
site or available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week;

(c) Accredited by an independent not-for-profit organization as described in 42 
USC 672(k)(4)(G);

(d) Integration of families into treatment, including sibling connections;

(e) Discharge planning and aftercare support for at least six months post discharge; 
and

(f) Does not include a detention center, forestry camp training school, or other 
facility operated primarily for minor children determined to be delinquent.

(15) “Qualified Individual” means a trained professional or licensed clinician who is 
not an employee of the department and who is not connected to, or affiliated with, any 
placement setting in which children are placed by the department, and who is 
responsible for conducting an assessment of a child placed in a qualified residential 
treatment program pursuant to MCL 722.123a.

(D) Designated Proceedings.

(1) “Arraignment” means the first hearing in a designated case at which

(a) the juvenile is informed of the allegations, the juvenile's rights, and the 
potential consequences of the proceeding;
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(b) the matter is set for a probable cause or designation hearing; and,

(c) if the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested pending trial, a decision is 
made regarding custody pursuant to MCR 3.935(C).

(2) “Court-designated case” means a case in which the court, pursuant to a request by 
the prosecuting attorney, has decided according to the factors set forth in MCR 
3.952(C)(3) that the juvenile is to be tried in the family division of circuit court in the 
same manner as an adult for an offense other than a specified juvenile violation.

(3) “Designated case” means either a prosecutor-designated case or a court-designated 
case.

(4) “Designation hearing” means a hearing on the prosecuting attorney's request that 
the court designate the case for trial in the same manner as an adult in the family 
division of circuit court.

(5) “Preliminary examination” means a hearing at which the court determines whether 
there is probable cause to believe that the specified juvenile violation or alleged 
offense occurred and whether there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile 
committed the specified juvenile violation or alleged offense.

(6) “Prosecutor-designated case” means a case in which the prosecuting attorney has 
endorsed a petition charging a juvenile with a specified juvenile violation with the 
designation that the juvenile is to be tried in the same manner as an adult in the family 
division of the circuit court.

(7) “Sentencing” means the imposition of any sanction on a juvenile that could be 
imposed on an adult convicted of the offense for which the juvenile was convicted or 
the decision to delay the imposition of such a sanction.

(8) “Specified juvenile violation” means any offense, attempted offense, conspiracy to 
commit an offense, or solicitation to commit an offense, as enumerated in MCL 
712A.2d, that would constitute:

(a) burning of a dwelling house, MCL 750.72;

(b) assault with intent to commit murder, MCL 750.83;

(c) assault with intent to maim, MCL 750.86;

(d) assault with intent to rob while armed, MCL 750.89;

(e) attempted murder, MCL 750.91;

(f) first-degree murder, MCL 750.316;

(g) second-degree murder, MCL 750.317;

(h) kidnapping, MCL 750.349;

(i) first-degree criminal sexual conduct, MCL 750.520b;

(j) armed robbery, MCL 750.529;

(k) carjacking, MCL 750.529a;
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(l) robbery of a bank, safe, or vault, MCL 750.531;

(m) possession, manufacture, or delivery of, or possession with intent to 
manufacture or deliver, 650 grams(1,000 grams beginning March 1, 2003) or more 
of any schedule 1 or 2 controlled substance, MCL 333.7401, 333.7403;

(n) assault with intent to do great bodily harm less than murder, MCL 750.84, if 
armed with a dangerous weapon as defined by MCL 712A.2d(9)(b);

(o) first-degree home invasion, MCL 750.110a(2), if armed with a dangerous 
weapon as defined by MCL 712A.2d(9)(b);

(p) escape or attempted escape from a medium security or high security facility 
operated by the Department of Health and Human Services or a high-security 
facility operated by a private agency under contract with the Department of Health 
and Human Services, MCL 750.186a;

(q) any lesser-included offense of an offense described in subrules (a)-(p), if the 
petition alleged that the juvenile committed an offense described in subrules (a)-
(p); or

(r) any offense arising out of the same transaction as an offense described in 
subrules (a)-(p), if the petition alleged that the juvenile committed an offense 
described in subrules (a)-(p).

(9) “Tried in the same manner as an adult” means a trial in which the juvenile is 
afforded all the legal and procedural protections that an adult would be given if 
charged with the same offense in a court of general criminal jurisdiction.

(E) Minor Personal Protection Order Proceedings. When used in minor personal 
protection order proceedings, unless the context otherwise indicates:

(1) “Minor personal protection order” means a personal protection order issued by a 
court against a minor under jurisdiction granted by MCL 712A.2(h).

(2) “Original petitioner” means the person who originally petitioned for the minor 
personal protection order.

(3) “Prosecutor” or “prosecuting attorney” means the prosecuting attorney of the 
county in which the court has its principal office or an assistant to the prosecuting 
attorney.

(F)Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act.

If an Indian child, as defined by the Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, MCL 
712B.1 et seq., is the subject of a protective proceeding or is charged with a status offense 
in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d), the definitions in MCR 3.002 shall control.
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RULE 3.904 USE OF VIDEOCONFERENCING TECHNOLOGY.

(A) Delinquency, Designated, and Personal Protection Violation Proceedings. Courts may 
use videoconferencing technology in delinquency, designated, and personal protection 
violation proceedings as follows. 

(1)Juvenile in the Courtroom or at a Separate Location. Videoconferencing technology 
may be used between a courtroom and a facility when conducting preliminary 
hearings under MCR 3.935(A)(1), preliminary examinations under MCR 3.953 and 
MCR 3.985, postdispositional progress reviews, and dispositional hearings where the 
court does not order a more restrictive placement or more restrictive treatment. 

(2)Juvenile in the Courtroom-Other Proceedings. Except as otherwise provided in this 
rule, as long as the juvenile is either present in the courtroom or has waived the right to 
be present, on motion of either party showing good cause, the court may use 
videoconferencing technology to take testimony from an expert witness or a person at 
another location in any delinquency, designated, or personal protection violation 
proceeding under this subchapter. If the proceeding is a trial, the court may use 
videoconferencing technology with the consent of the parties. A party who does not 
consent to the use of videoconferencing technology to take testimony from a person at 
trial shall not be required to articulate any reason for not consenting. 

(3) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, until further order of the Court, 
courts may use two-way videoconferencing technology or other remote participation 
tools where the court orders a more restrictive placement or more restrictive treatment.

(B) Child Protective and Juvenile Guardianship Proceedings. 

(1)Except as provided in subrule (B)(2), courts may allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology by any participant, as defined in MCR 2.407(A)(1), in 
any proceeding. 

(2)As long as the respondent is either present in the courtroom or has waived the right 
to be present, on motion of either party showing good cause, the court may use 
videoconferencing technology to take testimony from an expert witness or any person 
at another location in the following proceedings: 

(a)removal hearings under MCR 3.967 and evidentiary hearings; and

(b)termination of parental rights proceedings under MCR 3.977 and trials, with the 
consent of the parties. A party who does not consent to the use of 
videoconferencing technology to take testimony from a person at trial shall not be 
required to articulate any reason for not consenting.    

(C)Mechanics of Use. The use of videoconferencing technology under this rule must be in 
accordance with the standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. All 
proceedings at which videoconferencing technology is used must be recorded verbatim by 
the court.
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RULE 3.905 INDIAN CHILDREN; JURISDICTION, NOTICE, TRANSFER, INTERVENTION

(A)If an Indian child is the subject of a protective proceeding or is charged with a status 
offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d), and if an Indian tribe has exclusive 
jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), and the matter is not before the state court as a 
result of emergency removal pursuant to MCL 712B.7(2), the matter shall be dismissed.

(B)If an Indian child is the subject of a protective proceeding or is charged with a status 
offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d), and if an Indian tribe has exclusive 
jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), and the matter is before the state court as a result 
of emergency removal pursuant to MCL 712B.7(2), and either the tribe notifies the state 
court that it is exercising its jurisdiction, or the emergency no longer exists, then the state 
court shall dismiss the matter.

(C)If an Indian child is the subject of a protective proceeding or is charged with a status 
offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d) and an Indian tribe does not have 
exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), the court shall ensure that the 
petitioner has given notice of the proceedings to the persons described in MCR 3.921 in 
accordance with MCR 3.920(C).

(1)If either parent or the Indian custodian or the Indian child’s tribe petitions the court 
to transfer the proceeding to the tribal court, the court shall transfer the case to the 
tribal court unless either parent objects to the transfer of the case to tribal court 
jurisdiction or the court finds good cause not to transfer. When the court makes a 
good-cause determination under this section, adequacy of the tribe, tribal court, or 
tribal social services shall not be considered. A court may determine that good cause 
not to transfer a case to tribal court exists only if the person opposing the transfer 
shows by clear and convincing evidence that either of the following applies:

(a)The Indian tribe does not have a tribal court.

(b)The requirement of the parties or witnesses to present evidence in tribal court 
would cause undue hardship to those parties or witnesses that the Indian tribe is 
unable to mitigate. 

(2)The court shall not dismiss the matter until the transfer has been accepted by the 
tribal court.

(3)If the tribal court declines transfer, the Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act 
applies to the continued proceeding in state court, as do the provisions of these rules 
that pertain to an Indian child. See MCL 712B.3 and MCL 712B.5. 

(4)A petition to transfer may be made at any time in accordance with MCL 712B.7(3).

(D)The Indian custodian of the child, the Indian child’s tribe and the Indian child have a 
right to intervene at any point in the proceeding pursuant to MCL 712B.7(6).
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RULE 3.906 USE OF RESTRAINTS ON A JUVENILE

(A) Instruments of restraint, such as handcuffs, chains, irons, or straitjackets, cloth and 
leather restraints, and other similar items, may not be used on a juvenile during a court 
proceeding unless the court finds that the use of restraints is necessary due to one of the 
following factors:

(1) Instruments of restraint are necessary to prevent physical harm to the juvenile or 
another person.

(2) The juvenile has a history of disruptive courtroom behavior that has placed others 
in potentially harmful situations or presents a substantial risk of inflicting physical 
harm on himself or herself or others as evidenced by recent behavior.

(3) There is a founded belief that the juvenile presents a substantial risk of flight from 
the courtroom.

(B) The court’s determination that restraints are necessary must be made prior to the 
juvenile being brought into the courtroom and appearing before the court. The court shall 
provide the juvenile’s attorney an opportunity to be heard before the court orders the use 
of restraints. If restraints are ordered, the court shall state on the record or in writing its 
findings of fact in support of the order.

(C) Any restraints used on a juvenile in the courtroom shall allow the juvenile limited 
movement of the hands to read and handle documents and writings necessary to the 
hearing. Under no circumstances should a juvenile be restrained using fixed restraints to a 
wall, floor, or furniture.

RULE 3.911 JURY

(A) Right. The right to a jury in a juvenile proceeding exists only at the trial.

(B) Jury Demand. A party who is entitled to a trial by jury may demand a jury by filing a 
written demand with the court within:

(1) 14 days after the court gives notice of the right to jury trial, or

(2) 14 days after an appearance by an attorney or lawyer-guardian ad litem, whichever 
is later, but no later than 21 days before trial.

The court may excuse a late filing in the interest of justice.

(C) Jury Procedure. Jury procedure in juvenile cases is governed by MCR 2.508-2.516, 
except as provided in this subrule.

(1) In a delinquency proceeding,

(a) each party is entitled to 5 peremptory challenges, and

(b) the verdict must be unanimous.

(2) In a child protective proceeding,
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(a) each party is entitled to 5 peremptory challenges, with the child considered a 
separate party, and

(b) a verdict in a case tried by 6 jurors will be received when 5 jurors agree.

(3) Two or more parties on the same side, other than a child in a child protective 
proceeding, are considered a single party for the purpose of peremptory challenges.

(a) When two or more parties are aligned on the same side and have adverse 
interests, the court shall allow each such party represented by a different attorney 3 
peremptory challenges.

(b) When multiple parties are allowed more than 5 peremptory challenges under 
this subrule, the court may allow the opposite side a total number of peremptory 
challenges not to exceed the number allowed to the multiple parties.

(4) In a designated case, jury procedure is governed by MCR 6.401-6.420.

RULE 3.912 JUDGE

(A) Judge Required. A judge must preside at:

(1) a jury trial;

(2) a waiver proceeding under MCR 3.950;

(3) the preliminary examination, trial, and sentencing in a designated case;

(4) a proceeding on the issuance, modification, or termination of a minor personal 
protection order.

(B) Right; Demand. The parties have the right to a judge at a hearing on the formal 
calendar. A party may demand that a judge rather than a referee preside at a nonjury trial 
by filing a written demand with the court within:

(1) 14 days after the court gives notice of the right to a judge, or

(2) 14 days after an appearance by an attorney or lawyer-guardian ad litem, whichever 
is later, but no later than 21 days before trial.

The court may excuse a late filing in the interest of justice.

(C) Designated Cases.

(1) The judge who presides at the preliminary examination may not preside at the trial 
of the same designated case unless a determination of probable cause is waived. The 
judge who presides at a preliminary examination may accept a plea in the designated 
case.

(2) The juvenile has the right to demand that the same judge who accepted the plea or 
presided at the trial of a designated case preside at sentencing or delayed imposition of 
sentence, but not at a juvenile disposition of the designated case.

(D) Disqualification of Judge. The disqualification of a judge is governed by MCR 2.003.
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RULE 3.913 REFEREES

(A) Assignment of Matters to Referees.

(1) General. Subject to the limitations in subrule (A)(2), the court may assign a referee 
to conduct a preliminary inquiry or to preside at a hearing other than those specified in 
MCR 3.912(A) and to make recommended findings and conclusions.

(2) Attorney and Nonattorney Referees.

(a) Delinquency Proceedings. Except as otherwise provided by MCL 712A.10, 
only a person licensed to practice law in Michigan may serve as a referee at a 
delinquency proceeding other than a preliminary inquiry or preliminary hearing, if 
the juvenile is before the court under MCL 712A.2(a)(1).

(b) Child Protective Proceedings. Only a person licensed to practice law in 
Michigan may serve as a referee at a child protective proceeding other than a 
preliminary inquiry, preliminary hearing, a progress review under MCR 3.974(A) 
or (B), or an emergency removal hearing under MCR 3.974(C). In addition, either 
an attorney or a nonattorney referee may issue an ex parte placement order under 
MCR 3.963(B).

(c) Designated Cases. Only a referee licensed to practice law in Michigan may 
preside at a hearing to designate a case or to amend a petition to designate a case 
and to make recommended findings and conclusions.

(d) Minor Personal Protection Actions. A nonattorney referee may preside at a 
preliminary hearing for enforcement of a minor personal protection order. Only a 
referee licensed to practice law in Michigan may preside at any other hearing for 
the enforcement of a minor personal protection order and make recommended 
findings and conclusions.

(B) Duration of Assignment. Unless a party has demanded trial by jury or by a judge 
pursuant to MCR 3.911 or 3.912, a referee may conduct the trial and further proceedings 
through disposition.

(C) Advice of Rights. 

(1) During a hearing held by a referee, the referee must inform the parties of the right 
to file a request for review of the referee's recommended findings and conclusions as 
provided in MCR 3.991(B).

(2) At the conclusion of a hearing described in MCR 3.937(A), the referee must 
provide the juvenile with advice of appellate rights in accordance with MCR 3.937. 
When providing this advice, the referee must state that the appellate rights do not 
attach until the judge enters an order described in MCR 3.993(A)
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RULE 3.914 PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

(A) General. On request of the court, the prosecuting attorney shall review the petition for 
legal sufficiency and shall appear at any child protective proceeding or any delinquency 
proceeding.

(B) Delinquency Proceedings.

(1) Petition Approval. Only the prosecuting attorney may request the court to take 
jurisdiction of a juvenile under MCL 712A.2(a)(1).

(2) Appearance. The prosecuting attorney shall participate in every delinquency 
proceeding under MCL 712A.2(a)(1) that requires a hearing and the taking of 
testimony.

(C) Child Protective Proceedings.

(1) Legal Consultant to Agency. On request of the Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services or of an agent under contract with the department, the prosecuting 
attorney shall serve as a legal consultant to the department or agent at all stages of a 
child protective proceeding.

(2) Retention of Counsel. In a child protective proceeding, the agency may retain legal 
representation of its choice when the prosecuting attorney does not appear on behalf of 
the agency or an agent under contract with the agency.

(D) Designated Proceedings.

(1) Specified Juvenile Violation. In a case in which the petition alleges a specified 
juvenile violation, only the prosecuting attorney may designate the case, or request 
leave to amend a petition to designate the case, for trial of the juvenile in the same 
manner as an adult.

(2) Other Offenses. In a case in which the petition alleges an offense other than the 
specified juvenile violation, only the prosecuting attorney may request the court to 
designate the case for trial of the juvenile in the same manner as an adult.

(E) Minor Personal Protection Orders. The prosecuting attorney shall prosecute criminal 
contempt proceedings as provided in MCR 3.987(B).

RULE 3.915 ASSISTANCE OF ATTORNEY

(A) Delinquency Proceedings.

(1) Advice. If the juvenile is not represented by an attorney, the court shall advise the 
juvenile of the right to the assistance of an attorney at each stage of the proceedings on 
the formal calendar, including trial, plea of admission, and disposition.

(2) Appointment of an Attorney. The court shall appoint an attorney to represent the 
juvenile in a delinquency proceeding if:
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(a) the parent, guardian, or legal custodian refuses or fails to appear and participate 
in the proceedings;

(b) the parent, guardian, or legal custodian is the complainant or victim;

(c) the juvenile and those responsible for the support of the juvenile are found 
financially unable to retain an attorney, and the juvenile does not waive an 
attorney;

(d) those responsible for the support of the juvenile refuse or neglect to retain an 
attorney for the juvenile, and the juvenile does not waive an attorney; or

(e) the court determines that the best interests of the juvenile or the public require 
appointment.

(3) Waiver of Attorney. The juvenile may waive the right to the assistance of an 
attorney except where a parent, guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem objects 
or when the appointment is based on subrule (A)(2)(e). The waiver by a juvenile must 
be made in open court to the judge or referee, who must find and place on the record 
that the waiver was voluntarily and understandingly made.

(B) Child Protective Proceedings.

(1) Respondent.

(a) Advice and Right to Counsel. At respondent's first court appearance, the court 
shall advise the respondent of the right to retain an attorney to represent the 
respondent at any hearing conducted pursuant to these rules and that

(i) the respondent has the right to a court appointed attorney at any hearing 
conducted pursuant to these rules, including the preliminary hearing, if the 
respondent is financially unable to retain an attorney, and,

(ii) if the respondent is not represented by an attorney, the respondent may 
request a court-appointed attorney at any later hearing.

(b) Appointment of an Attorney. The court shall appoint an attorney to represent 
the respondent at any hearing, including the preliminary hearing, conducted 
pursuant to these rules if

(i) the respondent requests appointment of an attorney, and

(ii) it appears to the court, following an examination of the record, through 
written financial statements, or otherwise, that the respondent is financially 
unable to retain an attorney.

(c) The respondent may waive the right to the assistance of an attorney, except that 
the court shall not accept the waiver by a respondent who is a minor when a parent, 
guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem objects to the waiver.

(2) Child.

(a) The court must appoint a lawyer-guardian ad litem to represent the child at 
every hearing, including the preliminary hearing. The child may not waive the 
assistance of a lawyer-guardian ad litem. The duties of the lawyer-guardian ad 
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litem are as provided by MCL 712A.17d. At each hearing, the court shall inquire 
whether the lawyer-guardian ad litem has met or had contact with the child, as 
required by the court or MCL 712A.17d(1)(d) and if the lawyer-guardian ad litem 
has not met or had contact with the child, the court shall require the lawyer-
guardian ad litem to state, on the record, the reasons for failing to do so.

(b) If a conflict arises between the lawyer-guardian ad litem and the child 
regarding the child's best interests, the court may appoint an attorney to represent 
the child's stated interests.

(C) Appearance. The appearance of an attorney is governed by MCR 2.117(B).

(D) Duration.

(1) An attorney retained by a party may withdraw only on order of the court.

(2) An attorney or lawyer-guardian ad litem appointed by the court to represent a party 
shall serve until discharged by the court. The court may permit another attorney to 
temporarily substitute for the child's lawyer-guardian ad litem at a hearing, if that 
would prevent the hearing from being adjourned, or for other good cause. Such a 
substitute attorney must be familiar with the case and, for hearings other than a 
preliminary hearing or emergency removal hearing, must review the agency case file 
and consult with the foster parents and caseworker before the hearing unless the child's 
lawyer-guardian ad litem has done so and communicated that information to the 
substitute attorney. The court shall inquire on the record whether the attorneys have 
complied with the requirements of this subrule.

(E) Costs. When an attorney is appointed for a party under this rule, the court may enter an 
order assessing costs of the representation against the party or against a person responsible 
for the support of that party, which order may be enforced as provided by law.

RULE 3.916 GUARDIAN AD LITEM

(A) General. The court may appoint a guardian ad litem for a party if the court finds that 
the welfare of the party requires it.

(B) Appearance. The appearance of a guardian ad litem must be in writing and in a manner 
and form designated by the court. The appearance shall contain a statement regarding the 
existence of any interest that the guardian ad litem holds in relation to the minor, the 
minor's family, or any other person in the proceeding before the court or in other matters.

(C) Access to Information. The appearance entitles the guardian ad litem to be furnished 
copies of all petitions, motions, and orders filed or entered, and to consult with the 
attorney of the party for whom the guardian ad litem has been appointed.

(D) Costs. The court may assess the cost of providing a guardian ad litem against the party 
or a person responsible for the support of the party, and may enforce the order of 
reimbursement as provided by law.
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RULE 3.917 COURT APPOINTED SPECIAL ADVOCATE

(A) General. The court may, upon entry of an appropriate order, appoint a volunteer 
special advocate to assess and make recommendations to the court concerning the best 
interests of the child in any matter pending in the family division.

(B) Qualifications. All court appointed special advocates shall receive appropriate 
screening.

(C) Duties. Each court appointed special advocate shall maintain regular contact with the 
child, investigate the background of the case, gather information regarding the child's 
status, provide written reports to the court and all parties before each hearing, and appear 
at all hearings when required by the court.

(D) Term of Appointment. A court appointed special advocate shall serve until discharged 
by the court.

(E) Access to Information. Upon appointment by the court, the special advocate may be 
given access to all information, confidential or otherwise, contained in the court file if the 
court so orders. The special advocate shall consult with the child's lawyer-guardian ad 
litem.

RULE 3.920 SERVICE OF PROCESS

(A) General.

(1) Unless a party must be summoned as provided in subrule (B), a party shall be given 
notice of a juvenile proceeding in any manner authorized by the rules in this 
subchapter.

(2) MCR 2.004 applies in juvenile proceedings involving incarcerated parties.

(B) Summons.

(1) In General. A summons may be issued and served on a party before any juvenile 
proceeding.

(2) When Required. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the court shall direct 
the service of a summons in the following circumstances:

(a) In a delinquency proceeding, a summons must be served on the parent or 
parents, guardian, or legal custodian having physical custody of the juvenile, 
directing them to appear with the juvenile for trial. The juvenile must also be 
served with a summons to appear for trial. A parent without physical custody must 
be notified by service as provided in subrule (D), unless the whereabouts of the 
parent remain unknown after a diligent inquiry.

(b) In a child protective proceeding, a summons must be served on any respondent 
and any nonrespondent parent. A summons may be served on a person having 
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physical custody of the child directing such person to appear with the child for 
hearing. A guardian or legal custodian who is not a respondent must be served with 
notice of hearing in the manner provided by subrule (D).

(c) In a personal protection order enforcement proceeding involving a minor 
respondent, a summons must be served on the minor. A summons must also be 
served on the parent or parents, guardian, or legal custodian, unless their 
whereabouts remain unknown after a diligent inquiry.

(3) Content. The summons must direct the person to whom it is addressed to appear at 
a time and place specified by the court and must:

(a) identify the nature of hearing;

(b) explain the right to an attorney and the right to trial by judge or jury, including, 
where appropriate, that there is no right to a jury at a termination hearing;

(c) if the summons is for a child protective proceeding, include a notice that the 
hearings could result in termination of parental rights; and

(d) have a copy of the petition attached. The confidential case inventory required 
by MCR 3.931(A) and MCR 3.961(A) shall not be served on any party.

(4) Manner of Serving Summons.

(a) Except as provided in subrule (B)(4)(b), a summons required under subrule 
(B)(2) must be served by delivering the summons to the party personally.

(b) If the court finds, on the basis of testimony or a motion and affidavit, that 
personal service of the summons is impracticable or cannot be achieved, the court 
may by ex parte order direct that it be served in any manner reasonably calculated 
to give notice of the proceedings and an opportunity to be heard, including 
publication.

(c) If personal service of a summons is not required, the court may direct that it be 
served in a manner reasonably calculated to provide notice.

(5) Time of Service.

(a) A summons shall be personally served at least:

(i) 14 days before hearing on a petition that seeks to terminate parental rights 
or a permanency planning hearing,

(ii) 7 days before trial or a child protective dispositional review hearing, or

(iii) 3 days before any other hearing.

(b) If the summons is served by registered mail, it must be sent at least 7 days 
earlier than subrule (a) requires for personal service of a summons if the party to 
be served resides in Michigan, or 14 days earlier than required by subrule (a) if the 
party to be served resides outside Michigan.

(c) If service is by publication, the published notice must appear in a newspaper in 
the county where the party resides, if known, and, if not, in the county where the 
action is pending. The published notice need not include the petition itself. The 
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notice must be published at least once 21 days before a hearing specified in subrule 
(a)(i), 14 days before trial or a hearing specified in subrule (a)(ii), or 7 days before 
any other hearing.

(C)Notice of Proceeding Concerning Indian Child. If the court knows or has reason to 
know an Indian child is the subject of a protective proceeding or is charged with a status 
offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d) and an Indian tribe does not have 
exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6): 

(1)in addition to any other service requirements, the petitioner shall notify the parent 
or Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe by registered mail with return receipt 
requested of the pending proceedings on a petition filed under MCR 3.931 or MCR 
3.961 and of their right of intervention on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office. If the identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian, or 
of the tribe, cannot be determined, notice shall be given to the Secretary of the Interior 
by registered mail with return receipt requested. Subsequent notices shall be served in 
accordance with this subrule for proceedings under MCR 3.967 and MCR 3.977.

(2)the court shall notify the parent or Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe of 
all hearings other than those specified in subrule (1) as provided in subrule (D). If the 
identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian or the tribe cannot be determined, 
notice of the hearings shall be given to the Secretary of the Interior. Such notice may 
be by first-class mail. 

(D) Notice of Hearing.

(1) General. Notice of a hearing must be given in writing or on the record at least 7 
days before the hearing except as provided in subrules (D)(2) and (D)(3), or as 
otherwise provided in the rules.

(2) Preliminary Hearing; Emergency Removal Hearing.

(a) When a juvenile is detained, notice of the preliminary hearing must be given to 
the juvenile and to the parent of the juvenile as soon as the hearing is scheduled. 
The notice may be in person, in writing, on the record, or by telephone.

(b) When a child is placed outside the home, notice of the preliminary hearing or 
an emergency removal hearing under MCR 3.974(C)(3) must be given to the 
parent of the child as soon as the hearing is scheduled. The notice may be in 
person, in writing, on the record, or by telephone.

(3) Permanency Planning Hearing; Termination Proceedings.

(a) Notice of a permanency planning hearing must be given in writing at least 14 
days before the hearing.

(b) Notice of a hearing on a petition requesting termination of parental rights in a 
child protective proceeding must be given in writing at least 14 days before the 
hearing.
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(4) Failure to Appear. When a party fails to appear in response to a notice of hearing, 
the court may order the party's appearance by summons or subpoena.

(E) Subpoenas.

(1) The attorney for a party or the court on its own motion may cause a subpoena to be 
served upon a person whose testimony or appearance is desired.

(2) It is not necessary to tender advance fees to the person served a subpoena in order 
to compel attendance.

(3) Except as otherwise stated in this subrule, service of a subpoena is governed by 
MCR 2.506.

(F) Waiver of Notice and Service. A person may waive notice of hearing or service of 
process. The waiver shall be in writing. When a party waives service of a summons 
required by subrule (B), the party must be provided the advice required by subrule (B)(3).

(G) Subsequent Notices. After a party's first appearance before the court, subsequent 
notice of proceedings and pleadings shall be served on that party or, if the party has an 
attorney, on the attorney for the party as provided in subrule (D), except that a summons 
must be served for trial or termination hearing as provided in subrule (B).

(H) Notice Defects. The appearance and participation of a party at a hearing is a waiver by 
that party of defects in service with respect to that hearing unless objections regarding the 
specific defect are placed on the record. If a party appears or participates without an 
attorney, the court shall advise the party that the appearance and participation waives 
notice defects and of the party's right to seek an attorney.

(I) Proof of Service.

(1) Summons. Proof of service of a summons must be made in the manner provided in 
MCR 2.104(A).

(2) Other Papers. Proof of service of other papers permitted or required to be served 
under these rules must be made in the manner provided in MCR 2.107(D).

(3) Publication. If the manner of service used involves publication, proof of service 
must be made in the manner provided in MCR 2.106(G)(1), and (G)(3) if the 
publication is accompanied by a mailing.

(4) Content. The proof of service must identify the papers served. A proof of service 
for papers served on a foster parent, preadoptive parent, or relative caregiver shall be 
maintained in the confidential social file as identified in MCR 3.903(A)(3)(b)(vii).

(5) Failure to File. Failure to file proof of service does not affect the validity of the 
service.

RULE 3.921 PERSONS ENTITLED TO NOTICE

(A) Delinquency Proceedings.
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(1) General. In a delinquency proceeding, the court must notify the following persons 
of each hearing except as provided in subrule (A)(3):

(a) the juvenile,

(b) the custodial parents, guardian, or legal custodian of the juvenile,

(c) the noncustodial parent who has requested notice at a hearing or in writing,

(d) the guardian ad litem or lawyer-guardian ad litem of a juvenile appointed 
pursuant to these rules,

(e) the attorney retained or appointed to represent the juvenile,

(f) the prosecuting attorney, and

(g)in accordance with the notice provisions of MCR 3.905, if the juvenile is 
charged with a status offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d) and if 
the court knows or has reason to know the juvenile is an Indian child:

(i)the juvenile’s tribe and, if the tribe is unknown, the Secretary of the Interior, 
and

(ii)the juvenile’s parents or Indian custodian, and if unknown, the Secretary of 
the Interior.

(2) Notice to the Petitioner. The petitioner must be notified of the first hearing on the 
petition.

(3) Parent Without Physical Custody. A parent of the minor whose parental rights over 
the minor have not been terminated at the time the minor comes to court, must be 
notified of the first hearing on the formal calendar, unless the whereabouts of the 
parent are unknown.

(B) Protective Proceedings.

(1) General. In a child protective proceeding, except as provided in subrules (B)(2) 
and (3), the court shall ensure that the following persons are notified of each hearing:

(a) the respondent,

(b) the attorney for the respondent,

(c) the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child,

(d) subject to subrule (D), the parents, guardian, or legal custodian, if any, other 
than the respondent,

(e) the petitioner,

(f) a party's guardian ad litem appointed pursuant to these rules,

(g) the foster parents, preadoptive parents, and relative caregivers of a child in 
foster care under the responsibility of the state,

(h)in accordance with the notice provisions of MCR 3.905, if the court knows or 
has reason to know the child is an Indian child: 
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(i)the child’s tribe and, if the tribe is unknown, the Secretary of the Interior, 
and

(ii)the child’s parents or Indian custodian, and if unknown, the Secretary of the 
Interior, and

(i) any other person the court may direct to be notified.

(2) Dispositional Review Hearings and Permanency Planning Hearings. Before a 
dispositional review hearing or a permanency planning hearing, the court shall ensure 
that the following persons are notified in writing of each hearing:

(a) the agency responsible for the care and supervision of the child,

(b) the person or institution having court-ordered custody of the child,

(c) the parents of the child, subject to subrule (D), and the attorney for the 
respondent parent, unless parental rights have been terminated,

(d) the guardian or legal custodian of the child, if any,

(e) the guardian ad litem for the child,

(f) the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child,

(g) the attorneys for each party,

(h) the prosecuting attorney if the prosecuting attorney has appeared in the case,

(i) the child, if 11 years old or older,

(j) if the court knows or has reason to know the child is an Indian child, the child’s 
tribe,

(k) the foster parents, preadoptive parents, and relative caregivers of a child in 
foster care under the responsibility of the state,

(l)if the court knows or has reason to know the child is an Indian child and the 
parents, guardian, legal custodian, or tribe are unknown, to the Secretary of 
Interior, and

(m) any other person the court may direct to be notified.

(3) Termination of Parental Rights. Written notice of a hearing to determine if the 
parental rights to a child shall be terminated must be given to those appropriate 
persons or entities listed in subrule (B)(2), except that if the court knows or has reason 
to know the child is an Indian child, notice shall be given in accordance with MCR 
3.920(C)(1).

(C) Juvenile Guardianships. In a juvenile guardianship, the following persons shall be 
entitled to notice:

(1) the child, if 11 years old or older;

(2) the Department of Health and Human Services;

(3) the parents of the child, unless parental rights over the child have been terminated;
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(4) the juvenile guardian or proposed juvenile guardian;

(5) any court that previously had jurisdiction over the child in a child protective 
proceeding, if different than the court that entered an order authorizing a juvenile 
guardianship;

(6) the attorneys for any party;

(7) the prosecuting attorney, if the prosecuting attorney has appeared in the case;

(8) if the court knows or has reason to know the child is an Indian child, the child’s 
tribe, Indian custodian, or if the tribe is unknown, the Secretary of the Interior;

(9) the Michigan Children’s Institute superintendent; and

(10) any other person the court may direct to be notified.

(D) Putative Fathers. If, at any time during the pendency of a proceeding, the court 
determines that the minor has no father as defined in MCR 3.903(A)(7), the court may, in 
its discretion, take appropriate action as described in this subrule.

(1) The court may take initial testimony on the tentative identity and address of the 
natural father. If the court finds probable cause to believe that an identifiable person is 
the natural father of the minor, the court shall direct that notice be served on that 
person in any manner reasonably calculated to provide notice to the putative father, 
including publication if his whereabouts remain unknown after diligent inquiry. Any 
notice by publication must not include the name of the putative father. If the court 
finds that the identity of the natural father is unknown, the court must direct that the 
unknown father be given notice by publication. The notice must include the following 
information:

(a) if known, the name of the child, the name of the child's mother, and the date 
and place of birth of the child;

(b) that a petition has been filed with the court;

(c) the time and place of hearing at which the natural father is to appear to express 
his interest, if any, in the minor; and

(d) a statement that failure to attend the hearing will constitute a denial of interest 
in the minor, a waiver of notice for all subsequent hearings, a waiver of a right to 
appointment of an attorney, and could result in termination of any parental rights.

(2) After notice to the putative father as provided in subrule (D)(1), the court may 
conduct a hearing and determine, as appropriate, that:

(a) the putative father has been served in a manner that the court finds to be 
reasonably calculated to provide notice to the putative father.

(b) a preponderance of the evidence establishes that the putative father is the 
natural father of the minor and justice requires that he be allowed 14 days to 
establish his relationship according to MCR 3.903(A)(7). The court may extend 
the time for good cause shown.
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(c) there is probable cause to believe that another identifiable person is the natural 
father of the minor. If so, the court shall proceed with respect to the other person in 
accord with subrule (D).

(d) after diligent inquiry, the identity of the natural father cannot be determined. If 
so, the court may proceed without further notice and without appointing an 
attorney for the unidentified person.

(3) The court may find that the natural father waives all rights to further notice, 
including the right to notice of termination of parental rights, and the right to an 
attorney if

(a) he fails to appear after proper notice, or

(b) he appears, but fails to establish paternity within the time set by the court.

(E) Failure to Appear; Notice by Publication. When persons whose whereabouts are 
unknown fail to appear in response to notice by publication or otherwise, the court need 
not give further notice by publication of subsequent hearings, except a hearing on the 
termination of parental rights.

RULE 3.922 PRETRIAL PROCEDURES IN DELINQUENCY AND CHILD PROTECTION PROCEEDINGS

(A) Discovery.

(1) The following materials are discoverable as of right in all proceedings and shall be 
produced no less than 21 days before trial, even without a discovery request:

(a) all written or recorded statements and notes of statements made by the juvenile 
or respondent that are in possession or control of petitioner or a law enforcement 
agency, including oral statements if they have been reduced to writing;

(b) all written or recorded statements made by any person with knowledge of the 
events in possession or control of petitioner or a law enforcement agency, 
including, but not limited to, police reports, allegations of neglect and/or abuse 
included on a complaint submitted to Child Protective Services, and Child 
Protective Services investigation reports, except that the identity of the reporting 
person shall be protected in accordance with MCL 722.625;

(c) the names of all prospective witnesses;

(d) a list of all prospective exhibits;

(e) a list of all physical or tangible objects that are prospective evidence that are in 
the possession or control of petitioner or a law enforcement agency;

(f) the results of all scientific, medical, psychiatric, psychological, or other expert 
tests, experiments, or evaluations, including the reports or findings of all experts, 
that are relevant to the subject matter of the petition;

(g) the results of any lineups or showups, including written reports or lineup 
sheets; 
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(h) all search warrants issued in connection with the matter, including applications 
for such warrants, affidavits, and returns or inventories;

(i) any written, video, or recorded statement that pertains to the case and made by a 
witness whom the party may call at trial;

(j) the curriculum vitae of an expert the party may call at trial and either a report 
prepared by the expert containing, or a written description of, the substance of the 
proposed testimony of the expert, the expert’s opinion, and the underlying bases of 
that opinion; and

(k) any criminal record that the party may use at trial to impeach a witness.

(2) On motion of a party, the court may permit discovery of any other materials and 
evidence, including untimely requested materials and evidence that would have been 
discoverable of right under subrule (A)(1) if timely requested. Absent manifest 
injustice, no motion for discovery will be granted unless the moving party has 
requested and has not been provided the materials or evidence sought through an order 
of discovery.

(3) Depositions may only be taken as authorized by the court.

(4) Failure to comply with subrules (1) and (2) may result in such sanctions in keeping 
with those assessable under MCR 2.313.

(B) Discovery and Disclosure in Delinquency Matters.

(1) In delinquency matters, in addition to disclosures required by provisions of law and 
as required or allowed by subrule (A)(1)-(3), a party shall provide all other parties the 
following, which are discoverable as of right and, even without a discovery request, 
shall be produced no less than 21 days before trial:

(a) a description or list of criminal convictions, known to the respondent’s attorney 
or prosecuting attorney, of any witness whom the party may call at trial;

(b) any exculpatory information or evidence known to the prosecuting attorney;

(c) any written or recorded statements, including electronically recorded 
statements, by a defendant, codefendant, or accomplice pertaining to the case even 
if that person is not a prospective witness at trial; and

(d) any plea agreement, grant of immunity, or other agreement for testimony in 
connection with the case.

(2) In delinquency matters, notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, there is no 
right to have disclosed or to discover information or evidence that is protected by 
constitution, statute, or privilege, including information or evidence protected by a 
respondent’s right against self-incrimination, except as provided in subrule (B)(3).

(3) In delinquency matters, if a respondent demonstrates a good-faith belief, grounded 
in articulable fact, that there is a reasonable probability that records protected by 
privilege are likely to contain material information necessary to the defense, the court 
shall conduct an in camera inspection of the records.
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(a) If the privilege is absolute, and the privilege holder refuses to waive the 
privilege to permit an in camera inspection, the court shall suppress or strike the 
privilege holder’s testimony.

(b) If the court is satisfied, following an in camera inspection, that the records 
reveal evidence necessary to the defense, the court shall direct that such evidence 
as is necessary to the defense be made available to respondent’s counsel. If the 
privilege is absolute and the privilege holder refuses to waive the privilege to 
permit disclosure, the court shall suppress or strike the privilege holder’s 
testimony.

(c) Regardless of whether the court determines that the records should be made 
available to the respondent, the court shall make findings sufficient to facilitate 
meaningful appellate review. 

(d) The court shall seal and preserve the records for review in the event of an 
appeal:

(i) by the respondent, on an interlocutory basis or following conviction, if the 
court determines that the records should not be made available to the defense 
or

(ii) by the prosecution, on an interlocutory basis, if the court determines that 
the records should be made available to the defense.

(e) Records disclosed under this subrule shall remain in the exclusive custody of 
counsel for the parties, shall be used only for the limited purpose approved by the 
court, and shall be subject to such other terms and conditions as the court may 
provide.

(f) Excision. When some parts of material or information are discoverable and 
other parts are not discoverable, the party must disclose the discoverable parts and 
may excise the remainder. The party must inform the other party that 
nondiscoverable information has been excised and withheld. On motion, the court 
must conduct a hearing in camera to determine whether the reasons for excision 
are justifiable. If the court upholds the excision, it must seal and preserve the 
record of the hearing for review in the event of an appeal.

(4) At delinquency dispositions, reviews, designation hearings, hearings on alleged 
violation of court orders or probation, and detention hearings, the following shall be 
provided to the respondent, respondent’s counsel, and the prosecuting attorney no less 
than seven (7) days before the hearing:

(a) assessments and evaluations to be considered by the court during the hearing;

(b) documents including but not limited to police reports, witnesses statements, 
reports prepared by probation officers, reports prepared by intake officers, and 
reports prepared by placement/detention staff to be considered by the court during 
the hearing; and

(c) predisposition reports and documentation regarding recommendations in the 
report including but not limited to documents regarding restitution.
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(5) Failure to comply with subrules (B)(1) and (B)(4) may result in sanctions in 
keeping with those assessable under MCR 2.313.

(C) Notice of Defenses; Rebuttal.

(1) Within 21 days after the juvenile has been given notice of the date of trial, but no 
later than 7 days before the trial date, the juvenile or the juvenile's attorney must file a 
written notice with the court and prosecuting attorney of the intent to rely on a defense 
of alibi or insanity. The notice shall include a list of the names and addresses of 
defense witnesses.

(2) Within 7 days after receipt of notice, but no later than 2 days before the trial date, 
the prosecutor shall provide written notice to the court and defense of an intent to offer 
rebuttal to the above-listed defenses. The notice shall include names and addresses of 
rebuttal witnesses.

(3) Failure to comply with subrules (1) and (2) may result in the sanctions set forth in 
MCL 768.21.

(D) Motion Practice. Motion practice in juvenile proceedings is governed by MCR 2.119.

(E) Pretrial Conference. The court may direct the parties to appear at a pretrial conference. 
The scope and effect of a pretrial conference are governed by MCR 2.401, except as 
otherwise provided in or inconsistent with the rules of this subchapter.

(F) Notice of Intent.

(1) Within 21 days after the parties have been given notice of the date of trial, but no 
later than 7 days before the trial date, the proponent must file with the court, and serve 
all parties, written notice of the intent to:

(a) use a support person, including the identity of the support person, the 
relationship to the witness, and the anticipated location of the support person 
during the hearing.

(b) request special arrangements for a closed courtroom or for restricting the view 
of the respondent/defendant from the witness or other special arrangements 
allowed under law and ordered by the court.

(c) use a videotaped deposition as permitted by law.

(d) admit out-of-court hearsay statements under MCR 3.972(C)(2), including the 
identity of the persons to whom a statement was made, the circumstances leading 
to the statement, and the statement to be admitted.

(2) Within 7 days after receipt or notice, but no later than 2 days before the trial date, 
the nonproponent parties must provide written notice to the court of an intent to offer 
rebuttal testimony or evidence in opposition to the request and must include the 
identity of the witnesses to be called.

(3) The court may shorten the time periods provided in this subrule if good cause is 
shown.
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RULE 3.923 MISCELLANEOUS PROCEDURES

(A) Additional Evidence. If at any time the court believes that the evidence has not been 
fully developed, it may:

(1) examine a witness,

(2) call a witness, or

(3) adjourn the matter before the court, and

(a) cause service of process on additional witnesses, or

(b) order production of other evidence.

(B) Examination or Evaluation. The court may order that a minor or a parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian be examined or evaluated by a physician, dentist, psychologist, or 
psychiatrist.

(C) Biometric Data and Photographing. A juvenile must have biometric data collected 
when required by law. The court may permit the collection of biometric data or 
photographing, or both, of a minor concerning whom a petition has been filed. Biometric 
data and photographs must be placed in the confidential files, capable of being located and 
destroyed on court order.

(D) Lineup. If a complaint or petition is filed against a juvenile alleging violation of a 
criminal law or ordinance, the court may, at the request of the prosecuting attorney, order 
the juvenile to appear at a place and time designated by the court for identification by 
another person, including a corporeal lineup pursuant to MCL 712A.32. If the court orders 
the juvenile to appear for such an identification procedure, the court must notify the 
juvenile and the juvenile's parent, guardian or legal custodian that the juvenile has the 
right to consult with an attorney and have an attorney present during the identification 
procedure and that if the juvenile and the juvenile's parent, guardian or legal custodian 
cannot afford an attorney, the court will appoint an attorney for the juvenile if requested 
on the record or in writing by the juvenile or the juvenile's parent, guardian or legal 
custodian.

(E) Electronic Equipment; Support Person. The court may allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology, speaker telephone, or other similar electronic equipment to 
facilitate hearings or to protect the parties. The court may allow the use of videotaped 
statements and depositions, anatomical dolls, or support persons, and may take other 
measures to protect the child witness as authorized by MCL 712A.17b.

(F) Impartial Questioner. The court may appoint an impartial person to address questions 
to a child witness at a hearing as the court directs.

(G) Adjournments. Adjournments of trials or hearings in child protective proceedings 
should be granted only
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(1) for good cause,

(2) after taking into consideration the best interests of the child, and

(3) for as short a period of time as necessary.

RULE 3.924 INFORMATION FURNISHED ON REQUEST BY COURT

Persons or agencies providing testimony, reports, or other information at the request of the 
court, including otherwise confidential information, records, or reports that are relevant and 
material to the proceedings following authorization of a petition, are immune from any 
subsequent legal action with respect to furnishing the information to the court.

RULE 3.925 OPEN PROCEEDINGS; JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS; RECORDS CONFIDENTIALITY; 
DESTRUCTION OF COURT RECORDS; SETTING ASIDE ADJUDICATIONS

(A) Open Proceedings.

(1) General. Except as provided in subrule (A)(2), juvenile proceedings on the formal 
calendar and preliminary hearings shall be open to the public.

(2) Closed Proceedings; Criteria. The court, on motion of a party or a victim, may 
close the proceedings to the public during the testimony of a child or during the 
testimony of the victim to protect the welfare of either. In making such a 
determination, the court shall consider the nature of the proceedings; the age, maturity, 
and preference of the witness; and, if the witness is a child, the preference of a parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian that the proceedings be open or closed. The court may not 
close the proceedings to the public during the testimony of the juvenile if jurisdiction 
is requested under MCL 712A.2(a)(1).

(B) Record of Proceedings. A record of all hearings must be made. All proceedings on the 
formal calendar must be recorded by stenographic recording or by mechanical or 
electronic recording as provided by statute or MCR 8.108. A plea of admission or no 
contest, including any agreement with or objection to the plea, must be recorded.

(C) Judgments and Orders. The form and signing of judgments are governed by MCR 
2.602(A)(1) and (2). Judgments and orders may be served on a person by first-class mail 
to the person's last known address, by e-mail under MCR 2.107(C)(4), or electronic 
service under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(D) Public Access to Case File Records; Social File.

(1) General. Records of a case brought before the court under Chapter XIIA of the 
Probate Code, MCL 712A.1 et seq., are only open to persons having a legitimate 
interest.“Persons having a legitimate interest” includes, but is not limited to, the 
juvenile, the juvenile’s parent, the juvenile’s guardian or legal custodian, the 
juvenile’s guardian ad litem, counsel for the juvenile, the department or a licensed 
child caring institution or child placing agency under contract with the department to 
provide for the juvenile’s care and supervision if related to an investigation of child 
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neglect or child abuse, law enforcement personnel, a prosecutor, a member of a local 
foster care review board established under 1984 PA 422, MCL 722.131 to 722.139a, 
the Indian child’s tribe if the juvenile is an Indian child, and a court of this state.

(2) Social Files. Confidential files are defined in MCR 3.903(A)(3) and include the 
social case file and those records in the legal case file made confidential by statute, 
court rule, or court order. Only persons who are found by the court to have a legitimate 
interest may be allowed access to the confidential files. In determining whether a 
person has a legitimate interest, the court shall consider the nature of the proceedings, 
the welfare and safety of the public, the interest of the minor, and any restriction 
imposed by state or federal law.

(E)Retention and Destruction of Court Records. 

The court shall destroy its case files and other court records only as prescribed by the 
records retention and disposal schedule established under MCR 8.119(K). Destruction of a 
case record does not negate, rescind, or set aside an adjudication.

(F) Setting Aside Adjudications and Convictions.

(1) Adjudications. The setting aside of juvenile adjudications is governed by MCL 
712A.18e and MCL 712A.18t.

(2) Convictions. The court may only set aside a conviction as provided by MCL 
780.621 et seq. 

(G) Access to Juvenile Offense Record of Convicted Adults. When the juvenile offense 
record of an adult convicted of a crime is made available to the appropriate agency, as 
provided in MCL 791.228(1), the record must state whether, with regard to each 
adjudication, the juvenile had an attorney or voluntarily waived an attorney.

RULE 3.926 TRANSFER OF JURISDICTION; CHANGE OF VENUE

(A) Definition. As used in MCL 712A.2, a child is “found within the county” in which the 
offense against the child occurred, in which the offense committed by the juvenile 
occurred, or in which the minor is physically present.

(B) Transfer to County of Residence. When a minor is brought before the family division 
of the circuit court in a county other than that in which the minor resides, the court may 
request transfer of the case to the court in the county of residence before trial. The court 
shall not order transfer of the case until the court to which the case is to be transferred has 
granted the request to accept the transfer.

(1) If both parents reside in the same county, or if the child resides in the county with a 
parent who has been awarded legal custody, a guardian, a legal custodian, or the 
child's sole legal parent, that county will be presumed to be the county of residence.
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(2) In circumstances other than those enumerated in subsection (1) of this section, the 
court shall consider the following factors in determining the child's county of 
residence:

(a) The county of residence of the parent or parents, guardian, or legal custodian.

(b) Whether the child has ever lived in the county, and, if so, for how long.

(c) Whether either parent has moved to another county since the inception of the 
case.

(d) Whether the child is subject to the prior continuing jurisdiction of another 
court. 

(e) Whether a court has entered an order placing the child in the county for the 
purpose of adoption.

(f) Whether the child has expressed an intention to reside in the county.

(g) Any other factor the court considers relevant.

(3) If the child has been placed in a county by court order or by placement by a public 
or private agency, the child shall not be considered a resident of the county in which he 
or she has been placed, unless the child has been placed for the purpose of adoption.

(C) Costs. When a court other than the court in a county in which the minor resides orders 
disposition, it will be responsible for any costs incurred in connection with such order 
unless

(1) the court in the county in which the minor resides agrees to pay the costs of such 
disposition, or

(2) the minor is made a state ward pursuant to the Youth Rehabilitation Services Act, 
MCL 803.301 et seq., and the county of residence withholds consent to a transfer of 
the case. 

(D) Change of Venue; Grounds. The court, on motion by a party, may order a case to be 
heard before a court in another county:

(1) for the convenience of the parties and witnesses, provided that a judge of the other 
court agrees to hear the case; or

(2) when an impartial trial cannot be had where the case is pending.

All costs of the proceeding in another county are to be borne by the court ordering the 
change of venue.

(E) Bifurcated Proceeding. If the judge of the transferring court and the judge of the 
receiving court agree, the case may be bifurcated to permit adjudication in the transferring 
court and disposition in the receiving court. The case may be returned to the receiving 
court immediately after the transferring court enters its order of adjudication.

(F) Transfer of Records. 
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(1) The transferring court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification 
and transfer of the action to the receiving court. Where the courts have agreed to 
bifurcate the proceedings, the court adjudicating the case shall send any supplemented 
pleadings and other records to the court entering the disposition in the case.

(2) The clerk of the court must prepare the case records for transfer in accordance with 
the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan Trial Court Records 
Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a secure method.

(G) Designated Cases. Designated cases are to be filed in the county in which the offense 
is alleged to have occurred. Other than a change of venue for the purpose of trial, a 
designated case may not be transferred to any other county, except, after conviction, a 
designated case may be transferred to the juvenile's county of residence for entry of a 
juvenile disposition only. Sentencing of a juvenile, including delayed imposition of 
sentence, may only be done in the county in which the offense occurred.

RULE 3.927 PRIOR COURT ORDERS

In a juvenile proceeding involving a minor who is subject to a prior order of another 
Michigan court, the manner of notice to the other court and the authority of the family division of 
the circuit court to proceed are governed by MCR 3.205.

RULE 3.928 CONTEMPT OF COURT

(A) Power. The court has the authority to hold persons in contempt of court as provided by 
MCL 600.1701 and 712A.26. A parent, guardian, or legal custodian of a juvenile who is 
within the court's jurisdiction and who fails to attend a hearing as required is subject to the 
contempt power as provided in MCL 712A.6a.

(B) Procedure. Contempt of court proceedings are governed by MCL 600.1711, 600.1715, 
and MCR 3.606. MCR 3.982-3.989 govern proceedings against a minor for contempt of a 
minor personal protection order.

(C) Contempt by Juvenile. A juvenile under court jurisdiction who is convicted of 
criminal contempt of court, and who was at least 18 years of age when the contempt was 
committed, may be sentenced to up to 93 days in the county jail as a disposition for the 
contempt. Juveniles sentenced under this subrule need not be lodged separately and apart 
from adult prisoners. Younger juveniles found in contempt of court are subject to a 
juvenile disposition under these rules.

(D) Determination of Ability to Pay. A juvenile and/or parent shall not be detained or 
incarcerated for the nonpayment of court-ordered financial obligations as ordered by the 
court, unless the court determines that the juvenile and/or parent has the resources to pay 
and has not made a good-faith effort to do so.
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RULE 3.929 USE OF FACSIMILE COMMUNICATION EQUIPMENT

The parties may file records, as defined in MCR 3.903(A)(25), by the use of facsimile 
communication equipment. Filing of records by the use of facsimile communication equipment in 
juvenile proceedings is governed by MCR 2.406.

RULE 3.930 RECEIPT AND RETURN OR DISPOSAL OF EXHIBITS IN JUVENILE PROCEEDINGS

(A) Receipt of Exhibits. Except as otherwise required by statute or court rule, materials 
that are intended to be used as evidence at or during a trial shall not be filed with the clerk 
of the court, but shall be submitted to the judge for introduction into evidence as exhibits. 
Exhibits introduced into evidence at or during court proceedings shall be received and 
maintained as provided by the Michigan Supreme Court trial court case file management 
standards. As defined in MCR 1.109, exhibits received and accepted into evidence under 
this rule are not court records.

(B) Return or Disposal of Exhibits. At the conclusion of a trial or hearing, the court shall 
direct the parties to retrieve the exhibits submitted by them except that any weapons and 
drugs shall be returned to the confiscating agency for proper disposition. If the exhibits are 
not retrieved by the parties as directed within 56 days after conclusion of the trial or 
hearing, the court may properly dispose of the exhibits without notice to the parties. 

(C)Confidentiality. If the court retains discovery materials filed pursuant to MCR 
1.109(D) or an exhibit submitted pursuant to this rule after a hearing or trial and the 
material is confidential as provided by MCR 3.903(A)(3) or order of the court pursuant to 
MCR 8.119(I), the court must continue to maintain the material in a confidential manner.

RULE 3.931 INITIATING DELINQUENCY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Commencement of Proceeding. Any request for court action against a juvenile must 
be by written petition. The form, captioning, signing, and verifying of documents are 
prescribed in MCR 1.109(D) and (E). When any pending or resolved family division or 
tribal court case exists that involves family members of the person(s) named in the petition 
filed under subrule (B), the petitioner must complete and file a case inventory listing those 
cases, if known. The case inventory is confidential, not subject to service requirements, 
and is available only to the party that filed it, the filing party’s attorney, the court, and the 
friend of the court. The case inventory must be on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(B) Content of Petition. A petition must contain the following information:

(1) the juvenile's name, address, and date of birth, if known;

(2) the names and addresses, if known, of

(a) the juvenile's mother and father,
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(b) the guardian, legal custodian, or person having custody of the juvenile, if other 
than a mother or father,

(c) the nearest known relative of the juvenile, if no parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian can be found, and

(d) the juvenile’s membership or eligibility for membership in an Indian tribe, if 
any, and the identity of the tribe;

(3) sufficient allegations that, if true, would constitute an offense by the juvenile;

(4) a citation to the section of the Juvenile Code relied upon for jurisdiction;

(5) a citation to the federal, state, or local law or ordinance allegedly violated by the 
juvenile;

(6) the court action requested; and

(7) if applicable, the notice required by MCL 257.732(8), and the juvenile's Michigan 
driver's license number.

(C) Citation or Appearance Ticket.

(1) A citation or appearance ticket may be used to initiate a delinquency proceeding if 
the charges against the juvenile are limited to violations of the Michigan Vehicle 
Code, or of a provision of an ordinance substantially corresponding to any provision of 
that law, as provided by MCL 712A.2b.

(2) The citation or appearance ticket shall be treated by the court as if it were a 
petition, except that it may not serve as a basis for pretrial detention.

(D) Motor Vehicle Violations; Failure to Appear. If the juvenile is a Michigan resident 
and fails to appear or otherwise to respond to any matter pending relative to a motor 
vehicle violation, the court

(1) must initiate the procedure required by MCL 257.321a for the failure to answer a 
citation, and

(2) may issue an order to apprehend the juvenile after a petition is filed with the court.

RULE 3.932 SUMMARY INITIAL PROCEEDINGS

(A) Preliminary Inquiry. When a petition is not accompanied by a request for detention of 
the juvenile, the court may conduct a preliminary inquiry. Except in cases involving 
offenses enumerated in the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 780.781(1)(g), the 
preliminary inquiry need not be conducted on the record. The court may, in the interest of 
the juvenile and the public:

(1) deny authorization of the petition;

(2) refer the matter to a public or private agency providing available services pursuant 
to the Juvenile Diversion Act, MCL 722.821 et seq.; 
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(3) direct that the juvenile and the parent, guardian, or legal custodian be notified to 
appear for further informal inquiry on the petition;

(4) proceed on the consent calendar as provided in subrule (C); or

(5) place the matter on the formal calendar as provided in subrule (D).

(B) Offenses Listed in the Crime Victim's Rights Act. A case involving the alleged 
commission of an offense listed in the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 780.781(1)(g), 
may only be removed from the adjudicative process upon compliance with the procedures 
set forth in that act. See MCL 780.786b.

(C) Consent Calendar.

(1) If the court determines that formal jurisdiction should not be acquired over the 
juvenile, the court may proceed with the case on the consent calendar. A case 
transferred to the consent calendar shall be transferred before disposition but may 
occur any time after receiving a petition, citation, or appearance ticket. Upon transfer, 
the clerk of the court shall make the case nonpublic.

(2) A case shall not be placed on the consent calendar unless the juvenile and the 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian and the prosecutor, agree to have the case placed 
on the consent calendar. A case involving the alleged commission of an offense as that 
term is defined in section 31 of the Crime Victim’s Rights Act, MCL 780.781 et seq., 
shall only be placed on the consent calendar upon compliance with procedures set 
forth in MCL 780.786b.

(3) Biometric Data. Except as otherwise required by law, a juvenile shall not have 
biometric data collected unless the court has authorized the petition. If the court 
authorizes the petition and the juvenile is alleged to have committed an offense that 
requires the juvenile to have biometric data collected according to law, the court shall 
ensure the juvenile has biometric data collected before placing the case on consent 
calendar under subrule (C)(1).

(4) Victim Notice. After a case is placed on consent calendar, the prosecutor shall 
provide the victim notice as required by article 2 of the Crime Victim’s Rights act, 
MCL 780.781 to 780.802.

(5) Conference. After placing a matter on the consent calendar, the court shall conduct 
a consent calendar case conference with the juvenile, the juvenile’s attorney, if any, 
and the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian. The prosecutor and victim may, 
but need not, be present. At the conference, the court shall discuss the allegations with 
the juvenile and issue a written consent calendar case plan in accordance with MCL 
712A.2f(7).

(6) Case Plan. The case plan is not an order of the court, but shall be included as part 
of the case record. If the court determines the juvenile has violated the terms of the 
case plan, it may transfer the case to the formal calendar in accordance with subrule 
(C)(9).
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(7) Disposition. The court shall not enter an order of disposition in a case while it is on 
the consent calendar.

(8) Access to Consent Calendar Case Records. Records of consent calendar 
proceedings shall be nonpublic. Access to consent calendar case records is governed 
by MCL 712A.2f(5).

(9) Transfer to Formal Calendar. If it appears to the court at any time that proceeding 
on the consent calendar is not in the best interest of either the juvenile or the public, 
the court may transfer the case from the consent calendar to the formal calendar. The 
court shall proceed with the case where court proceedings left off before the case was 
placed on the consent calendar.

(a) If the original petition was not authorized before being placed on the consent 
calendar, the court may, without hearing, transfer the case from the consent 
calendar to the formal calendar on the charges contained in the original petition to 
determine whether the petition should be authorized.

(b) If the original petition was authorized before being placed on the consent 
calendar, the court shall conduct a hearing on the record before transferring the 
case to the formal calendar. At the hearing, the court shall:

(i) Advise the juvenile that any statements made during the consent calendar 
proceedings cannot be used against the juvenile at a trial on the same charge.

(ii) Allow the juvenile and the juvenile’s attorney, if any, the opportunity to 
address the court and state on the record why the case should not be transferred 
to the formal calendar.

(10) Closing the Case. Upon a judicial determination that the juvenile has completed 
the terms of the consent calendar case plan, the court shall report the successful 
completion to the juvenile and the Department of State Police. The report to the 
Department of State police shall be in a form prescribed by the Department of State 
Police.

(11) Record Retention. The case records shall only be destroyed in accordance with 
the approved record retention and disposal schedule established by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(D) Formal Calendar. The court may authorize a petition to be filed and docketed on the 
formal calendar if it appears to the court that formal court action is in the best interest of 
the juvenile and the public. The court shall not authorize an original petition under MCL 
712A.2(a)(1), unless the prosecuting attorney has approved submitting the petition to the 
court. At any time before disposition, the court may transfer the matter to the consent 
calendar.

RULE 3.933 ACQUIRING PHYSICAL CONTROL OF JUVENILE

(A) Custody Without Court Order. When an officer apprehends a juvenile for an offense 
without a court order and does not warn and release the juvenile, does not refer the 
juvenile to a diversion program, and does not have authorization from the prosecuting 
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attorney to file a complaint and warrant charging the juvenile with an offense as though an 
adult pursuant to MCL 764.1f, the officer may:

(1) issue a citation or ticket to appear at a date and time to be set by the court and 
release the juvenile;

(2) accept a written promise of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian to bring the 
juvenile to court, if requested, at a date and time to be set by the court, and release the 
juvenile to the parent, guardian, or legal custodian; or

(3) take the juvenile into custody and request the prosecutor to file a petition, if:

(a) the officer has reason to believe that because of the nature of the offense, the 
interest of the juvenile or the interest of the public would not be protected by 
release of the juvenile, or

(b) a parent, guardian, or legal custodian cannot be located or has refused to take 
custody of the juvenile.

(B) Custody With Court Order. When a petition is presented to the court, and probable 
cause exists to believe that a juvenile has committed an offense, the court may issue an 
order to apprehend the juvenile. The order may include authorization to

(1) enter specified premises as required to bring the juvenile before the court, and

(2) detain the juvenile pending preliminary hearing.

(C) Notification of Court. The officer who apprehends a juvenile must immediately 
contact the court when:

(1) the officer detains the juvenile,

(2) the officer is unable to reach a parent, guardian, or legal custodian who will appear 
promptly to accept custody of the juvenile, or

(3) the parent, guardian, or legal custodian will not agree to bring the juvenile to court 
as provided in subrule (A)(2).

(D) Separate Custody of Juvenile. While awaiting arrival of the parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian, appearance before the court, or otherwise, the juvenile must be maintained 
separately from adult prisoners to prevent any verbal, visual, or physical contact with an 
adult prisoner.

RULE 3.934 ARRANGING COURT APPEARANCE; DETAINED JUVENILE

(A) General. Unless the prosecuting attorney has authorized a complaint and warrant 
charging the juvenile with an offense as though an adult pursuant to MCL 764.1f, when a 
juvenile is apprehended and not released, the officer shall:

(1) forthwith take the juvenile

(a) before the court for a preliminary hearing, or
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(b) to a place designated by the court pending the scheduling of a preliminary 
hearing;

(2) ensure that the petition is prepared and presented to the court;

(3) notify the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the detaining of the juvenile and 
of the need for the presence of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian at the 
preliminary hearing;

(4) prepare a custody statement for submission to the court including:

(a) the grounds for and the time and location of detention, and

(b) the names of persons notified and the times of notification, or the reason for 
failure to notify.

(B) Temporary Detention; Court Not Open.

(1) Grounds. A juvenile apprehended without court order when the court is not open 
may be detained pending preliminary hearing if the offense or the juvenile meets a 
circumstance set forth in MCR 3.935(D)(1), or if no parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian can be located.

(2) Designated Court Person. The court must designate a judge, referee, or other 
person who may be contacted by the officer taking a juvenile into custody when the 
court is not open. In each county there must be a designated facility open at all times at 
which an officer may obtain the name of the person to be contacted for permission to 
detain the juvenile pending preliminary hearing.

RULE 3.935 PRELIMINARY HEARING

(A) Time.

(1) Commencement. The preliminary hearing must commence no later than 24 hours 
after the juvenile has been taken into court custody, excluding Sundays and holidays, 
as defined by MCR 8.110(D)(2), or the juvenile must be released.

(2) General Adjournment. The court may adjourn the hearing for up to 14 days:

(a) to secure the attendance of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian or 
of a witness, or

(b) for other good cause shown.

(3) Special Adjournment; Specified Juvenile Violation. This subrule applies to a 
juvenile accused of an offense that allegedly was committed between the juvenile's 
14th and 18th birthdays and that would constitute a specified juvenile violation listed 
in MCL 712A.2(a)(1).

(a) On a request of a prosecuting attorney who has approved the submission of a 
petition with the court, conditioned on the opportunity to withdraw it within 5 days 
if the prosecuting attorney authorizes the filing of a complaint and warrant with a 
magistrate, the court shall comply with subrules (i)-(iii).
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(i) The court shall adjourn the preliminary hearing for up to 5 days to give the 
prosecuting attorney the opportunity to determine whether to authorize the 
filing of a criminal complaint and warrant charging the juvenile with an 
offense as though an adult pursuant to MCL 764.1f, instead of unconditionally 
approving the filing of a petition with the court.

(ii) The court, during the special adjournment under subrule 3(a), must defer a 
decision regarding whether to authorize the filing of the petition.

(iii) The court, during the special adjournment under subrule (3)(a), must 
release the juvenile pursuant to MCR 3.935(E) or detain the juvenile pursuant 
to MCR 3.935(D).

(b) If, at the resumption of the preliminary hearing following special adjournment, 
the prosecuting attorney has not authorized the filing with a magistrate of a 
criminal complaint and warrant on the charge concerning the juvenile, approval of 
the petition by the prosecuting attorney shall no longer be deemed conditional and 
the court shall proceed with the preliminary hearing and decide whether to 
authorize the petition to be filed.

(c) This rule does not preclude the prosecuting attorney from moving for a waiver 
of jurisdiction over the juvenile under MCR 3.950.

(B) Procedure.

(1) The court shall determine whether the parent, guardian, or legal custodian has been 
notified and is present. The preliminary hearing may be conducted without a parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian present, provided a guardian ad litem or attorney appears 
with the juvenile.

(2) The court shall read the allegations in the petition.

(3) The court shall determine whether the petition should be dismissed, whether the 
matter should be referred to alternate services pursuant to the Juvenile Diversion Act, 
MCL 722.821 et seq., whether the matter should be heard on the consent calendar as 
provided by MCR 3.932(C), or whether to continue the preliminary hearing. 

(4) If the hearing is to continue, the court shall advise the juvenile on the record in 
plain language of:

(a) the right to an attorney pursuant to MCR 3.915(A)(1);

(b) the right to trial by judge or jury on the allegations in the petition and that a 
referee may be assigned to hear the case unless demand for a jury or judge is filed 
pursuant to MCR 3.911 or 3.912; and

(c) the privilege against self-incrimination and that any statement by the juvenile 
may be used against the juvenile.

(5) If the charge is a status offense in violation of MCL 712A.2(a)(2)-(4) or (d), the 
court must inquire if the juvenile or a parent is a member of an Indian tribe. If the court 
knows or has reason to know the child is an Indian child, the court must determine the 
identity of the tribe and comply with MCR 3.905 before proceeding with the hearing.
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(6) The juvenile must be allowed an opportunity to deny or otherwise plead to the 
allegations.

(7) Unless the preliminary hearing is adjourned, the court must decide whether to 
authorize the petition to be filed pursuant to MCR 3.932(D). If it authorizes the filing 
of the petition, the court must:

(a) determine if biometric data must be taken as provided by MCL 712A.11(5) and 
MCR 3.936; and

(b) determine if the juvenile should be released, with or without conditions, or 
detained, as provided in subrules (C)-(F).

(8) The juvenile may be detained pending the completion of the preliminary hearing if 
the conditions for detention under subrule (D) are established.

(C) Determination Whether to Release or Detain.

(1) Factors. In determining whether the juvenile is to be released, with or without 
conditions, or detained, the court shall consider the following factors:

(a) the juvenile's family ties and relationships,

(b) the juvenile's prior delinquency record,

(c) the juvenile's record of appearance or nonappearance at court proceedings,

(d) the violent nature of the alleged offense,

(e) the juvenile's prior history of committing acts that resulted in bodily injury to 
others,

(f) the juvenile's character and mental condition,

(g) the court's ability to supervise the juvenile if placed with a parent or relative, 
and

(h) any other factor indicating the juvenile's ties to the community, the risk of 
nonappearance, and the danger to the juvenile or the public if the juvenile is 
released.

(2) Findings. The court must state the reasons for its decision to grant or deny release 
on the record or in a written memorandum. The court's statement need not include a 
finding on each of the enumerated factors. 

(D) Detention.

(1) Conditions for Detention. A juvenile may be ordered detained or continued in 
detention if the court finds probable cause to believe the juvenile committed the 
offense, and that one or more of the following circumstances are present:

(a) the offense alleged is so serious that release would endanger the public safety;

(b) the juvenile is charged with an offense that would be a felony if committed by 
an adult and will likely commit another offense pending trial, if released, and
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(i) another petition is pending against the juvenile,

(ii) the juvenile is on probation, or

(iii) the juvenile has a prior adjudication, but is not under the court's 
jurisdiction at the time of apprehension;

(c) there is a substantial likelihood that if the juvenile is released to the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian, with or without conditions, the juvenile will fail to 
appear at the next court proceeding;

(d) the home conditions of the juvenile make detention necessary;

(e) the juvenile has run away from home;

(f) the juvenile has failed to remain in a detention facility or nonsecure facility or 
placement in violation of a valid court order; or

(g) pretrial detention is otherwise specifically authorized by law.

(2) Waiver. A juvenile may waive the probable cause determination required by 
subrule (1) only if the juvenile is represented by an attorney.

(3) Evidence; Findings. The juvenile may contest the sufficiency of evidence by cross-
examination of witnesses, presentation of defense witnesses, or by other evidence. The 
court shall permit the use of subpoena power to secure attendance of defense 
witnesses. The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply, other than those with respect 
to privileges.

(4) Type of Detention. The detained juvenile must be placed in the least restrictive 
environment that will meet the needs of the juvenile and the public, and that will 
conform to the requirements of MCL 712A.15 and 712A.16.

(E) Release; Conditions.

(1) The court may release a juvenile to a parent pending the resumption of the 
preliminary hearing, pending trial, or until further order without conditions, or, if the 
court determines that release with conditions is necessary to reasonably ensure the 
appearance of the juvenile as required or to reasonably ensure the safety of the public, 
the court may, in its discretion, order that the release of the juvenile be on the 
condition or combination of conditions that the court determines to be appropriate, 
including, but not limited to:

(a) that the juvenile will not commit any offense while released,

(b) that the juvenile will not use alcohol or any controlled substance or tobacco 
product,

(c) that the juvenile will participate in a substance abuse assessment, testing, or 
treatment program,

(d) that the juvenile will participate in a treatment program for a physical or mental 
condition,
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(e) that the juvenile will comply with restrictions on personal associations or place 
of residence,

(f) that the juvenile will comply with a specified curfew,

(g) that the juvenile will maintain appropriate behavior and attendance at an 
educational program, and

(h) that the juvenile's driver's license or passport will be surrendered.

(2) Violation of Conditions of Release. If a juvenile is alleged to have violated the 
conditions set by the court, the court may order the juvenile apprehended and detained 
immediately. The court may then modify the conditions or revoke the juvenile's 
release status after providing the juvenile an opportunity to be heard on the issue of the 
violation of conditions of release.

(F) Bail. In addition to any other conditions of release, the court may require a parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian to post bail.

(1) Cash or Surety Bond. The court may require a parent, guardian, or legal custodian 
to post a surety bond or cash in the full amount of the bail, at the option of the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian. A surety bond must be written by a person or company 
licensed to write surety bonds in Michigan. Except as otherwise provided by this rule, 
MCR 3.604 applies to bonds posted under this rule.

(2) Option to Deposit Cash or 10 Percent of Bail. Unless the court requires a surety 
bond or cash in the full amount of the bail as provided in subrule (F)(1), the court shall 
advise the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the option to satisfy the monetary 
requirement of bail by:

(a) posting either cash or a surety bond in the full amount of bail set by the court or 
a surety bond written by a person or company licensed to write surety bonds in 
Michigan, or

(b) depositing with the register, clerk, or cashier of the court currency equal to 10 
percent of the bail, but at least $10.

(3) Revocation or Modification. The court may modify or revoke the bail for good 
cause after providing the parties notice and an opportunity to be heard.

(4) Return of Bail. If the conditions of bail are met, the court shall discharge any 
surety.

(a) If disposition imposes reimbursement or costs, the bail money posted by the 
parent must first be applied to the amount of reimbursement and costs, and the 
balance, if any, returned.

(b) If the juvenile is discharged from all obligations in the case, the court shall 
return the cash posted, or return 90 percent and retain 10 percent if the amount 
posted represented 10 percent of the bail.
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(5) Forfeiture. If the conditions of bail are not met, the court may issue a writ for the 
apprehension of the juvenile and enter an order declaring the bail money, if any, 
forfeited.

(a) The court must immediately mail notice of the forfeiture order to the parent at 
the last known address and to any surety.

(b) If the juvenile does not appear and surrender to the court within 28 days from 
the forfeiture date, or does not within the period satisfy the court that the juvenile 
is not at fault, the court may enter judgment against the parent and surety, if any, 
for the entire amount of the bail and, when allowed, costs of the court proceedings.

RULE 3.936 BIOMETRIC DATA

(A) General. The court must permit the collection of biometric data of a juvenile pursuant 
to MCL 712A.11(5) and 712A.18(10), and as provided in this rule. Notice of biometric 
data collection retained by the court is confidential.

(B) Order for Biometric Data. At the time that the court authorizes the filing of a petition 
alleging a juvenile offense and before the court enters an order of disposition on a juvenile 
offense or places the case on the consent calendar, the court shall examine the confidential 
files and verify that the juvenile has had biometric data collected. If it appears to the court 
that the juvenile has not had biometric data collected, the court must:

(1) direct the juvenile to go to the law enforcement agency involved in the 
apprehension of the juvenile, or to the sheriff's department, so biometric data may be 
collected; or

(2) issue an order to the sheriff's department to apprehend the juvenile and to collect 
the biometric data of the juvenile.

(C) Notice of Disposition. The court shall notify the Department of State Police in writing:

(1) of any juvenile who had biometric data collected for a juvenile offense and who 
was found not to be within the jurisdiction of the court under MCL 712A.2(a)(1); or

(2) that the court took jurisdiction of a juvenile under MCL 712A.2(a)(1), who had 
biometric data collected for a juvenile offense, specifying the offense, the method of 
adjudication, and the disposition ordered.

(D) Order for Destruction of Biometric Data. The court, on motion filed pursuant to MCL 
28.243(10), shall issue an order directing the Department of State Police, or other official 
holding the information, to destroy the biometric data and arrest card of the juvenile 
pertaining to the offense, other than an offense as listed in MCL 28.243(14), when a 
juvenile has had biometric data collected for a juvenile offense and no petition on the 
offense is submitted to the court, the court does not authorize the petition, or the court has 
neither placed the case on the consent calendar nor taken jurisdiction of the juvenile under 
MCL 712A.2(a)(1).
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RULE 3.937 ADVICE OF APPELLATE RIGHTS

(A) At the conclusion of a dispositional hearing under MCR 3.943 or any delinquency 
hearing at which the court orders that the juvenile be removed from a parent’s care and 
custody, the court must advise the juvenile on the record that:

(1) The juvenile has a right to appellate review of the order.

(2) If the juvenile cannot afford an attorney for appeal, the court will appoint an 
attorney at public expense and provide the attorney with the complete transcripts and 
record of all proceedings.

(3) A request for the appointment of an appellate attorney must be made within 21 
days after notice of the order is given or an order is entered denying a timely-filed 
postjudgment motion.

(B) An advisement of rights must be made in language designed to ensure the juvenile’s 
understanding of their rights. After advising a juvenile of their rights, the court must 
inquire whether the juvenile understands each of their rights.

(C) The court must provide the juvenile with a request for appointment of appellate 
counsel form containing an instruction that the form must be completed and filed as 
required by MCR 3.993(D) if the juvenile wants the court to appoint an appellate attorney.

RULE 3.939 CASE TRANSFERRED FROM DISTRICT COURT PURSUANT TO SUBCHAPTER 6.900

(A) General Procedure. Except as provided in subrule (B), the court shall hear and dispose 
of a case transferred pursuant to MCL 766.14 in the same manner as if the case had been 
commenced in the family division of circuit court. A petition that has been approved by 
the prosecuting attorney must be submitted to the court.

(B) Probable Cause Finding of Magistrate. The court may use the probable cause finding 
of the magistrate made at the preliminary examination to satisfy the probable cause 
requirement of MCR 3.935(D)(1).

RULE 3.941 PLEAS OF ADMISSION OR NO CONTEST

(A) Capacity. A juvenile may offer a plea of admission or of no contest to an offense with 
the consent of the court. The court shall not accept a plea to an offense unless the court is 
satisfied that the plea is accurate, voluntary, and understanding.

(B) Conditional Pleas. The court may accept a plea of admission or of no contest 
conditioned on preservation of an issue for appellate review.

(C) Plea Procedure. Before accepting a plea of admission or of no contest, the court must 
personally address the juvenile and must comply with subrules (1)-(4).

(1) An Understanding Plea. The court shall tell the juvenile:
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(a) the name of the offense charged,

(b) the possible dispositions,

(c) that if the plea is accepted, the juvenile will not have a trial of any kind, so the 
juvenile gives up the rights that would be present at trial, including the right:

(i) to trial by jury,

(ii) to trial by the judge if the juvenile does not want trial by jury,

(iii) to be presumed innocent until proven guilty,

(iv) to have the petitioner or prosecutor prove guilt beyond a reasonable doubt,

(v) to have witnesses against the juvenile appear at the trial,

(vi) to question the witnesses against the juvenile,

(vii) to have the court order any witnesses for the juvenile's defense to appear 
at the trial,

(viii) to remain silent and not have that silence used against the juvenile, and

(ix) to testify at trial, if the juvenile wants to testify.

(2) A Voluntary Plea.

(a) The court shall confirm any plea agreement on the record.

(b) The court shall ask the juvenile if any promises have been made beyond those 
in a plea agreement or whether anyone has threatened the juvenile.

(3) An Accurate Plea. The court may not accept a plea of admission or of no contest 
without establishing support for a finding that the juvenile committed the offense:

(a) either by questioning the juvenile or by other means when the plea is a plea of 
admission, or

(b) by means other than questioning the juvenile when the juvenile pleads no 
contest. The court shall also state why a plea of no contest is appropriate.

(4) Support for Plea. The court shall inquire of the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or 
guardian ad litem, if present, whether there is any reason why the court should not 
accept the plea tendered by the juvenile.

(D) Plea Withdrawal. The court may take a plea of admission or of no contest under 
advisement. Before the court accepts the plea, the juvenile may withdraw the plea offer by 
right. After the court accepts the plea, the court has discretion to allow the juvenile to 
withdraw a plea.

RULE 3.942 TRIAL

(A) Time. In all cases the trial must be held within 6 months after the authorization of the 
petition, unless adjourned for good cause. If the juvenile is detained, the trial has not 
started within 63 days after the juvenile is taken into custody, and the delay in starting the 
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trial is not attributable to the defense, the court must immediately order the juvenile 
released pending trial without requiring that bail be posted, unless the juvenile is being 
detained on another matter.

(B) Preliminary Matters.

(1) The court shall determine whether all parties are present.

(a) The juvenile has the right to be present at the trial with an attorney, parent, 
guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem, if any.

(b) The court may proceed in the absence of a parent, guardian, or legal custodian 
who was properly notified to appear.

(c) The victim has the right to be present at trial as provided by MCL 780.789.

(2) The court shall read the allegations contained in the petition, unless waived.

(3) The court shall inform the juvenile of the right to the assistance of an attorney 
pursuant to MCR 3.915 unless an attorney appears representing the juvenile. If the 
juvenile requests to proceed without the assistance of an attorney, the court must 
advise the juvenile of the dangers and disadvantages of self-representation and make 
sure the juvenile is literate and competent to conduct the defense.

(C) Evidence; Standard of Proof. The Michigan Rules of Evidence and the standard of 
proof beyond a reasonable doubt apply at trial.

(D) Verdict. In a delinquency proceeding, the verdict must be guilty or not guilty of either 
the offense charged or a lesser included offense.

RULE 3.943 DISPOSITIONAL HEARING

(A) General. A dispositional hearing is conducted to determine what measures the court 
will take with respect to a juvenile and, when applicable, any other person, once the court 
has determined following trial or plea that the juvenile has committed an offense.

(B) Time. The interval between the plea of admission or trial and disposition, if any, is 
within the court's discretion. When the juvenile is detained, the interval may not be more 
than 35 days, except for good cause.

(C) Evidence.

(1) The Michigan Rules of Evidence, other than those with respect to privileges, do 
not apply at dispositional hearings. All relevant and material evidence, including oral 
and written reports, may be received by the court and may be relied upon to the extent 
of its probative value, even though such evidence may not be admissible at trial.

(2) The juvenile, or the juvenile's attorney, and the petitioner shall be afforded an 
opportunity to examine and controvert written reports so received and, in the court's 
discretion, may be allowed to cross-examine individuals making reports when those 
individuals are reasonably available.
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(3) No assertion of an evidentiary privilege, other than the privilege between attorney 
and client, shall prevent the receipt and use, at a dispositional hearing, of materials 
prepared pursuant to a court-ordered examination, interview, or course of treatment.

(D) Presence of Juvenile and Victim.

(1) The juvenile may be excused from part of the dispositional hearing for good cause 
shown, but must be present when the disposition is announced.

(2) The victim has the right to be present at the dispositional hearing and to make an 
impact statement as provided by the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 780.751 et seq. 

(E) Dispositions.

(1) If the juvenile has been found to have committed an offense, the court may enter an 
order of disposition as provided by MCL 712A.18.

(2) In making second and subsequent dispositions in delinquency cases, the court must 
consider imposing increasingly severe sanctions, which may include imposing 
additional conditions of probation; extending the term of probation; imposing 
additional costs; ordering a juvenile who has been residing at home into an out-of-
home placement; ordering a more restrictive placement; ordering state wardship for a 
child who has not previously been a state ward; or any other conditions deemed 
appropriate by the court. Waiver of jurisdiction to adult criminal court, either by 
authorization of a warrant or by judicial waiver, is not considered a sanction for the 
purpose of this rule.

(3) Before a juvenile is placed in an institution outside the state of Michigan as a 
disposition, the court must find that:

(a) institutional care is in the best interests of the juvenile,

(b) equivalent facilities to meet the juvenile's needs are not available within 
Michigan, and

(c) the placement will not cause undue hardship.

(4) The court shall not enter an order of disposition for a juvenile offense until the 
court verifies that the juvenile has had biometric data collected. If the juvenile has not 
had biometric data collected, the court shall proceed as provided by MCR 3.936.

(5) If the court enters an order pursuant to the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 
780.751 et seq., the court shall only order the payment of one assessment at any 
dispositional hearing, regardless of the number of offenses. 

(6) The court shall prepare and forward to the Secretary of State an abstract of its 
findings at such times and for such offenses as are required by law.

(7) Mandatory Detention for Use of a Firearm.

(a) In addition to any other disposition, a juvenile, other than a juvenile sentenced 
in the same manner as an adult under MCL 712A.18(1)(o), shall be committed 
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under MCL 712A.18(1)(e) to a detention facility for a specified period of time if 
all the following circumstances exist:

(i) the juvenile is under the jurisdiction of the court under MCL 712A.2(a)(1),

(ii) the juvenile was found to have violated a law of this state or of the United 
States or a criminal municipal ordinance, and

(iii) the juvenile was found to have used a firearm during the offense.

(b) The length of the commitment to a detention facility shall not exceed the length 
of the sentence that could have been imposed if the juvenile had been sentenced as 
an adult.

(c) “Firearm” includes any weapon which will, is designed to, or may readily be 
converted to expel a projectile by action of an explosive.

(F) Advice of Appellate Rights. At the conclusion of the dispositional hearing, the court 
must provide the juvenile with advice of appellate rights in accordance with MCR 3.937.

RULE 3.944 PROBATION VIOLATION

(A) Petition; Temporary Custody.

(1) Upon receipt of a sworn supplemental petition alleging that the juvenile has 
violated any condition of probation, the court may:

(a) direct that the juvenile be notified pursuant to MCR 3.920 to appear for a 
hearing on the alleged violation, which notice must include a copy of the probation 
violation petition and a notice of the juvenile's rights as provided in subrule (C)(1); 
or

(b) order that the juvenile be apprehended and brought to the court for a detention 
hearing, which, except as otherwise provided in this rule, must be commenced 
within 24 hours after the juvenile has been taken into court custody, excluding 
Sundays and holidays as defined in MCR 8.110 (D)(2).

(2) When a juvenile is apprehended pursuant to court order as provided in subrule 
(A)(1)(b), the officer must:

(a) forthwith take the juvenile

(i) to the court for a detention hearing, or

(ii) to the place designated by the court pending the scheduling of a detention 
hearing; and

(b) notify the custodial parent, guardian, or legal custodian that the juvenile has 
been taken into custody, of the time and place of the detention hearing, if known, 
and of the need for the presence of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian at the 
detention hearing.

(B) Detention Hearing; Procedure. At the detention hearing:
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(1) The court must determine whether a parent, guardian, or legal custodian has been 
notified and is present. If a parent, guardian, or legal custodian has been notified, but 
fails to appear, the detention hearing may be conducted without a parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian if a guardian ad litem or attorney appears with the juvenile.

(2) The court must provide the juvenile with a copy of the petition alleging probation 
violation.

(3) The court must read the petition to the juvenile, unless the attorney or juvenile 
waives the reading.

(4) The court must advise the juvenile of the juvenile's rights as provided in subrule 
(C)(1) and of the possible dispositions.

(5) The juvenile must be allowed an opportunity to deny or otherwise plead to the 
probation violation. If the juvenile wishes to admit the probation violation or plead no 
contest, the court must comply with subrule (D) before accepting the plea.

(a) If the juvenile admits the probation violation or pleads no contest, and the court 
accepts the plea, the court may modify the existing order of probation or may order 
any disposition available under MCL 712A.18 or MCL 712A.18a.

(b) If the juvenile denies the probation violation or remains silent, the court must 
schedule a probation violation hearing, which must commence within 42 days. The 
court may order the juvenile detained without bond pending the probation 
violation hearing if there is probable cause to believe the juvenile violated 
probation. If the hearing is not commenced within 42 days, and the delay in 
commencing the hearing is not attributable to the juvenile, the juvenile must be 
released pending hearing without requiring that bail be posted.

(c) If the juvenile is taken into custody for violating a court order under MCL 
712A.2(a)(2) to (4) and is detained in a secure facility, the petitioner shall ensure 
that an appropriately trained, licensed, or certified mental health or substance 
abuse professional interviews the juvenile in person within 24 hours to assess the 
immediate mental health and substance abuse needs of the juvenile. The 
assessment may alternatively be done upon filing of the petition, prior to any order 
for placement in a secure facility. The completed assessment shall be provided to 
the court within 48 hours of the placement and the court shall conduct a hearing to 
determine all of the following:

(i) If there is reasonable cause to believe that the juvenile violated the court 
order.

(ii) The appropriate placement of the juvenile pending the disposition of the 
alleged violation, including if the juvenile should be placed in a secure facility.

(C) Probation Violation Hearing.

(1) At the probation violation hearing, the juvenile has the following rights:

(a) the right to be present at the hearing,

(b) the right to an attorney pursuant to MCR 3.915(A)(1),
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(c) the right to have the petitioner prove the probation violation by a 
preponderance of the evidence,

(d) the right to have the court order any witnesses to appear at the hearing,

(e) the right to question witnesses against the juvenile,

(f) the right to remain silent and not have that silence used against the juvenile, and

(g) the right to testify at the hearing, if the juvenile wants to testify.

(2) At the probation violation hearing, the Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply, 
other than those with respect to privileges. There is no right to a jury.

(3) If it is alleged that the juvenile violated probation by having been found, pursuant 
to MCR 3.941 or MCR 3.942, to have committed an offense, the juvenile may then be 
found to have violated probation pursuant to this rule.

(D) Pleas of Admission or No Contest. If the juvenile wishes to admit the probation 
violation or plead no contest, before accepting the plea, the court must:

(1) tell the juvenile the nature of the alleged probation violation;

(2) tell the juvenile the possible dispositions;

(3) tell the juvenile that if the plea is accepted, the juvenile will not have a contested 
hearing of any kind, so the juvenile would give up the rights that the juvenile would 
have at a contested hearing, including the rights as provided in subrule (C)(1);

(4) confirm any plea agreement on the record;

(5) ask the juvenile if any promises have been made beyond those in the plea 
agreement and whether anyone has threatened the juvenile;

(6) establish support for a finding that the juvenile violated probation,

(a) by questioning the juvenile or by other means when the plea is a plea of 
admission, or

(b) by means other than questioning the juvenile when the juvenile pleads no 
contest. The court must also state why a plea of no contest is appropriate;

(7) inquire of the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem whether there 
is any reason why the court should not accept the juvenile's plea. Agreement or 
objection by the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem to a plea of 
admission or of no contest by a juvenile shall be placed on the record if the parent, 
guardian, legal custodian, or guardian ad litem is present; and

(8) determine that the plea is accurately, voluntarily and understandingly made.

(E) Disposition of Probation Violation; Reporting.

(1) If, after hearing, the court finds that a violation of probation has occurred, the court 
may modify the existing order of probation or order any disposition available under 
MCL 712A.18 or MCL 712A.18a.
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(2) If, after hearing, the court finds that the juvenile has violated a court order under 
MCL 712A.2(a)(2) to (4), and the juvenile is ordered to be placed in a secure facility, 
the order shall include all of the following individualized findings by the court:

(a) The court order the juvenile violated;

(b) The factual basis for determining that there was a reasonable cause to believe 
that the juvenile violated the court order;

(c) The court’s finding of fact to support a determination that there is no 
appropriate less restrictive alternative placement available considering the best 
interests of the juvenile;

(d) The length of time, not to exceed 7 days, that the juvenile may remain in the 
secure facility and the plan for the juvenile’s release from the facility; and

(e) The order may not be renewed or extended. 

(3) If, after hearing, the court finds that a violation of probation occurred on the basis 
of the juvenile having committed an offense, that finding must be recorded as a 
violation of probation only and not a finding that the juvenile committed the 
underlying offense. That finding must not be reported to the State Police or the 
Secretary of State as an adjudication or a disposition.

(F) Determination of Ability to Pay. A juvenile and/or parent shall not be detained or 
incarcerated for the nonpayment of court-ordered financial obligations as ordered by the 
court, unless the court determines that the juvenile and/or parent has the resources to pay 
and has not made a good-faith effort to do so.

RULE 3.945 DISPOSITIONAL REVIEW

(A) Dispositional Review Hearings.

(1) Generally. The court must conduct periodic hearings to review the dispositional 
orders in delinquency cases in which the juvenile has been placed outside the home. 
Such review hearings must be conducted at intervals designated by the court, or may 
be requested at any time by a party or by a probation officer or caseworker. The victim 
has a right to make a statement at the hearing or submit a written statement for use at 
the hearing, or both. At a dispositional review hearing, the court may modify or amend 
the dispositional order or treatment plan to include any disposition permitted by MCL 
712A.18 and MCL 712A.18a or as otherwise permitted by law; and shall permit the 
court to approve or disapprove of the child’s initial or continued placement in a 
qualified residential treatment. The Michigan Rules of Evidence, other than those with 
respect to privileges, do not apply.

(2) Required Review Hearings.

(a) If the juvenile is placed in out-of-home care, the court must hold dispositional 
review hearings no later than every 182 days after the initial disposition, as 
provided in MCL 712A.19(2).
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(b) A review hearing is required before a juvenile is moved to a more physically 
restrictive type of placement, unless the court in its dispositional order has 
provided for a more physically restrictive type of placement. A review hearing is 
not required if the juvenile and a parent consent to the new placement in a writing 
filed with the court. A juvenile, who has been ordered placed in a juvenile facility, 
may be released only with the approval of the court.

(c) At a review hearing held under this section, the court shall approve or 
disapprove of a child’s initial placement or continued placement in a qualified 
residential treatment program.

(B) Hearing to Extend Jurisdiction.

(1) When Required. When a juvenile committed under MCL 712A.18(1)(e) for an 
offense specified in MCL 712A.18d remains under court jurisdiction after the 
juvenile's 18th birthday, the court must conduct a hearing to determine whether to 
extend the court's jurisdiction to age 21, pursuant to MCL 712A.18d.

(a) Time of Hearing. Unless adjourned for good cause, a commitment review 
hearing must be held as nearly as possible to, but before, the juvenile's 19th 
birthday.

(b) Notice of Hearing. Notice of the hearing must be given to the prosecuting 
attorney, the agency or the superintendent of the institution or facility to which the 
juvenile has been committed, the juvenile, and, if the address or whereabouts are 
known, the parent, guardian or legal custodian of the juvenile, at least 14 days 
before the hearing. The notice must clearly indicate that the court may extend 
jurisdiction over the juvenile until the juvenile reaches 21 years of age and must 
include advice to the juvenile and the parent, guardian, or legal custodian that the 
juvenile has the right to an attorney.

(2) Appointment of Attorney. The court must appoint an attorney to represent the 
juvenile at the hearing unless an attorney has been retained.

(3) Evidence; Commitment Report. The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply, 
other than those with respect to privileges. The institution, agency, or facility must 
prepare a report for use at the hearing to extend jurisdiction. The report must contain 
information required by MCL 803.225. The court must consider this information in 
determining whether to extend jurisdiction beyond the age of 19.

(4) Burden of Proof; Findings. The court must extend jurisdiction over the juvenile 
until the age of 21, unless the juvenile proves by a preponderance of the evidence that 
the juvenile has been rehabilitated and does not present a serious risk to public safety. 
In making the determination, the court must consider the following factors:

(a) the extent and nature of the juvenile's participation in education, counseling, or 
work programs;

(b) the juvenile's willingness to accept responsibility for prior behavior;

(c) the juvenile's behavior in the current placement;
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(d) the juvenile's prior record, character, and physical and mental maturity;

(e) the juvenile's potential for violent conduct, as demonstrated by prior behavior;

(f) the recommendations of the institution, agency, or facility charged with the 
juvenile's care regarding the appropriateness of the juvenile's release or continued 
custody; and

(g) any other information the prosecuting attorney or the juvenile submits.

(C) Review of Extended Jurisdiction Cases.

(1) Out-of-Home Care. If the juvenile is placed outside the home, the court must hold 
a dispositional review hearing no later than every 182 days after the hearing to extend 
jurisdiction.

(2) Periodic Review. If the institution, agency, or facility to which the juvenile was 
committed believes that the juvenile has been rehabilitated and does not present a 
serious risk to public safety, the institution, agency, or facility may petition the court to 
conduct a review hearing at any time before the juvenile becomes 21 years of age.

(D) Juvenile on Conditional Release. The procedures set forth in MCR 3.944 apply to 
juveniles committed under MCL 712A.18 who have allegedly violated a condition of 
release after being returned to the community on release from a public institution. The 
court need not conduct such a hearing when there will be an administrative hearing by the 
agency to which the juvenile is committed, provided the court has not retained 
jurisdiction.

RULE 3.946 POST-DISPOSITIONAL SECURE DETENTION PENDING RETURN TO PLACEMENT

(A) If a juvenile who has been found to have committed an offense that would be a 
misdemeanor or a felony if committed by an adult has been placed out of the home by 
court order or by the Department of Health and Human Services, and the juvenile leaves 
such placement without authority, upon being apprehended the juvenile may be detained 
without the right to bail. Any detention must be authorized by the court.

(B) If a juvenile is placed in secure detention pursuant to this rule and no new petition is 
filed that would require a preliminary hearing pursuant to MCR 3.935, and no probation 
violation petition is filed, the court must conduct a detention hearing within 48 hours after 
the juvenile has been taken into custody, excluding Sundays and holidays as defined by 
MCR 8.110(D)(2).

(C) At the detention hearing the court must:

(1) assure that the custodial parent, guardian, or legal custodian has been notified, if 
that person's whereabouts are known,

(2) advise the juvenile of the right to be represented by an attorney,

(3) determine whether the juvenile should be released or should continue to be 
detained.
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RULE 3.947 OTHER PLACEMENT REVIEW PROCEEDINGS

(A) Review of Juvenile’s Placement in A Qualified Residential Treatment Program.

(1) Ex Parte Petition for Review. Within 45 days of the juvenile’s initial placement in 
a qualified residential treatment program, the Agency shall file an ex parte petition 
requesting the court approve or disapprove the placement.

(a) Supporting Documents. The petition shall be accompanied by the assessment, 
determination, and documentation made by the qualified individual.

(b) Service. The Agency shall serve the ex parte petition and accompanying 
documentation on all parties.

(2) Judicial Determination. Within 14 days of filing, the court, or an administrative 
body appointed or approved by the court independently, shall review the petition, and 
any supporting documentation filed pursuant to this subrule, and issue an order 
approving or disapproving of the placement. The order shall include individualized 
findings by the court or administrative body as to whether:

(a) the needs of the juvenile can be met in a foster family home, and if not,

(b) whether placement of the juvenile provides the most effective and appropriate 
level of care for the juvenile in the least restrictive environment, and

(c) whether that placement is consistent with the goals in the permanency plan for 
the juvenile.

The court shall serve the order on parties. The court is not required to hold a hearing 
on the ex parte petition under this subrule.

RULE 3.950 WAIVER OF JURISDICTION

(A) Authority. Only a judge assigned to hear cases in the family division of the circuit 
court of the county where the offense is alleged to have been committed may waive 
jurisdiction pursuant to MCL 712A.4.

(B) Definition. As used in this rule, “felony” means an offense punishable by 
imprisonment for more than one year or an offense designated by law as a felony.

(C) Motion by Prosecuting Attorney. A motion by the prosecuting attorney requesting that 
the family division waive its jurisdiction to a court of general criminal jurisdiction must be 
in writing and must clearly indicate the charges and that if the motion is granted the 
juvenile will be prosecuted as though an adult.

(1) A motion to waive jurisdiction of the juvenile must be filed within 14 days after the 
petition has been authorized to be filed. Absent a timely motion and good cause 
shown, the juvenile shall no longer be subject to waiver of jurisdiction on the charges.

(2) A copy of the motion seeking waiver must be personally served on the juvenile and 
the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the juvenile, if their addresses or 
whereabouts are known or can be determined by the exercise of due diligence.
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(D) Hearing Procedure. The waiver hearing consists of two phases. Notice of the date, 
time, and place of the hearings may be given either on the record directly to the juvenile or 
to the attorney for the juvenile, the prosecuting attorney, and all other parties, or in 
writing, served on each individual.

(1) First Phase. The first-phase hearing is to determine whether there is probable cause 
to believe that an offense has been committed that if committed by an adult would be a 
felony, and that there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile who is 14 years of 
age or older committed the offense.

(a) The probable cause hearing must be commenced within 28 days after the 
authorization of the petition unless adjourned for good cause.

(b) At the hearing, the prosecuting attorney has the burden to present legally 
admissible evidence to establish each element of the offense and to establish 
probable cause that the juvenile committed the offense.

(c) The court need not conduct the first phase of the waiver hearing, if:

(i) the court has found the requisite probable cause at a hearing under MCR 
3.935(D)(1), provided that at the earlier hearing only legally admissible 
evidence was used to establish probable cause that the offense was committed 
and probable cause that the juvenile committed the offense; or

(ii) the juvenile, after being informed by the court on the record that the 
probable cause hearing is equivalent to and held in place of preliminary 
examination in district court, waives the hearing. The court must determine 
that the waiver of hearing is freely, voluntarily, and understandingly given and 
that the juvenile knows there will be no preliminary examination in district 
court if the court waives jurisdiction.

(2) Second Phase. If the court finds the requisite probable cause at the first-phase 
hearing, or if there is no hearing pursuant to subrule (D)(1)(c), the second-phase 
hearing shall be held to determine whether the interests of the juvenile and the public 
would best be served by granting the motion. However, if the juvenile has been 
previously subject to the general criminal jurisdiction of the circuit court under MCL 
712A.4 or 600.606, the court shall waive jurisdiction of the juvenile to the court of 
general criminal jurisdiction without holding the second-phase hearing.

(a) The second-phase hearing must be commenced within 28 days after the 
conclusion of the first phase, or within 35 days after the authorization of the 
petition if there was no hearing under subrule (D)(1)(c), unless adjourned for good 
cause.

(b) The Michigan Rules of Evidence, other than those with respect to privileges, 
do not apply to the second phase of the waiver hearing.

(c) The prosecuting attorney has the burden of establishing by a preponderance of 
the evidence that the best interests of the juvenile and the public would be served 
by waiver.
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(d) The court, in determining whether to waive the juvenile to the court having 
general criminal jurisdiction, shall consider and make findings on the following 
criteria, giving greater weight to the seriousness of the alleged offense and the 
juvenile's prior record of delinquency than to the other criteria:

(i) the seriousness of the alleged offense in terms of community protection, 
including, but not limited to, the existence of any aggravating factors 
recognized by the sentencing guidelines, the use of a firearm or other 
dangerous weapon, and the effect on any victim;

(ii) the culpability of the juvenile in committing the alleged offense, including, 
but not limited to, the level of the juvenile's participation in planning and 
carrying out the offense and the existence of any aggravating or mitigating 
factors recognized by the sentencing guidelines;

(iii) the juvenile's prior record of delinquency including, but not limited to, any 
record of detention, any police record, any school record, or any other evidence 
indicating prior delinquent behavior;

(iv) the juvenile's programming history, including, but not limited to, the 
juvenile's past willingness to participate meaningfully in available 
programming;

(v) the adequacy of the punishment or programming available in the juvenile 
justice system;

(vi) the dispositional options available for the juvenile.

(e) In determining whether to waive the juvenile to the court having general 
criminal jurisdiction, the court may also consider any stipulation by the defense to 
a finding that the best interests of the juvenile and the public support a waiver.

(E) Grant of Waiver Motion.

(1) If the court determines that it is in the best interests of the juvenile and public to 
waive jurisdiction over the juvenile, the court must:

(a) Enter a written order granting the motion to waive jurisdiction and transferring 
the matter to the appropriate court having general criminal jurisdiction for 
arraignment of the juvenile on an information.

(b) Make findings of fact and conclusions of law forming the basis for entry of the 
waiver order. The findings and conclusions may be incorporated in a written 
opinion or stated on the record.

(c) Advise the juvenile, orally or in writing, that

(i) the juvenile is entitled to appellate review of the decision to waive 
jurisdiction,

(ii) the juvenile must seek review of the decision in the Court of Appeals 
within 21 days of the order to preserve the appeal of right, and
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(iii) if the juvenile is financially unable to retain an attorney, the court will 
appoint one to represent the juvenile on appeal.

(d) The court shall send, without cost, a copy of the order and a copy of the written 
opinion or transcript of the court's findings and conclusions, to the court having 
general criminal jurisdiction.

(2) Upon the grant of a waiver motion, a juvenile must be transferred to the adult 
criminal justice system and is subject to the same procedures used for adult criminal 
defendants. Juveniles waived pursuant to this rule are required to be kept separate and 
apart from adult prisoners as required by MCL 764.27a.

(F) Denial of Waiver Motion. If the waiver motion is denied, the court shall make written 
findings or place them on the record. A transcript of the court's findings or, if a written 
opinion is prepared, a copy of the written opinion must be sent to the prosecuting attorney 
and the juvenile, or juvenile's attorney, upon request. If the juvenile is detained and the 
trial of the matter in the family division has not started within 28 days after entry of the 
order denying the waiver motion, and the delay is not attributable to the defense, the court 
shall forthwith order the juvenile released pending trial without requiring that bail be 
posted, unless the juvenile is being detained on another matter.

(G) Psychiatric Testimony.

(1) A psychiatrist, psychologist, or certified social worker who conducts a court-
ordered examination for the purpose of a waiver hearing may not testify at a 
subsequent criminal proceeding involving the juvenile without the juvenile's written 
consent.

(2) The juvenile's consent may only be given:

(a) in the presence of an attorney representing the juvenile or, if no attorney 
represents the juvenile, in the presence of a parent, guardian, or legal custodian;

(b) after the juvenile has had an opportunity to read the report of the psychiatrist, 
psychologist, or certified social worker; and

(c) after the waiver decision is rendered.

(3) Consent to testimony by the psychiatrist, psychologist, or certified social worker 
does not waive the juvenile's privilege against self-incrimination.

RULE 3.951 INITIATING DESIGNATED PROCEEDINGS

(A) Prosecutor-Designated Cases. The procedures in this subrule apply if the prosecuting 
attorney submits a petition designating the case for trial in the same manner as an adult.

(1) Time for Arraignment.

(a) If the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, the arraignment must 
commence no later than 24 hours after the juvenile has been taken into court 
custody, excluding Sundays and holidays as defined by MCR 8.110(D)(2), or the 
juvenile must be released. The court may adjourn the arraignment for up to 7 days 
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to secure the attendance of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian or of 
a witness, or for other good cause shown.

(b) If the juvenile is not in custody and custody is not requested, the juvenile must 
be brought before the court for an arraignment as soon as the juvenile's attendance 
can be secured.

(2) Procedure.

(a) The court shall determine whether the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian has been notified and is present. The arraignment may be conducted 
without a parent, guardian, or legal custodian, provided a guardian ad litem or 
attorney appears with the juvenile. Attorney appointments, even if just for the 
arraignment, are to be done by the court’s local funding unit’s appointing 
authority.

(b) The court shall read the allegations in the petition and advise the juvenile on 
the record in plain language:

(i) of the right to an attorney at all court proceedings, including the 
arraignment;

(ii) of the right to trial by judge or jury on the allegations in the petition;

(iii) of the right to remain silent and that any statement made by the juvenile 
may be used against the juvenile;

(iv) of the right to have a preliminary examination within 14 days;

(v) that the case has been designated for trial in the same manner as an adult 
and, if the prosecuting attorney proves that there is probable cause to believe 
an offense was committed and there is probable cause to believe that the 
juvenile committed the offense, the juvenile will be afforded all the rights of an 
adult charged with the same crime and that upon conviction the juvenile may 
be sentenced as an adult; and

(vi) of the maximum possible prison sentence and any mandatory minimum 
sentence required by law.

(c) Unless the arraignment is adjourned, the court must decide whether to 
authorize the petition to be filed. If it authorizes the filing of the petition, the court 
must:

(i) determine if biometric data must be taken as provided by MCR 3.936;

(ii) schedule a preliminary examination within 14 days before a judge other 
than the judge who would conduct the trial;

(iii) if the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, determine whether to 
detain or release the juvenile as provided in MCR 3.935(C).

(d) If the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, the juvenile may be 
detained pending the completion of the arraignment if it appears to the court that 
one of the circumstances in MCR 3.935(D)(1) is present.
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(3) Amendment of Petition. If a petition submitted by the prosecuting attorney alleging 
a specified juvenile violation did not include a designation of the case for trial as an 
adult:

(a) The prosecuting attorney may, by right, amend the petition to designate the 
case during the preliminary hearing.

(b) The prosecuting attorney may request leave of the court to amend the petition 
to designate the case no later than the pretrial hearing or, if there is no pretrial 
hearing, at least 21 days before trial, absent good cause for further delay. The court 
may permit the prosecuting attorney to amend the petition to designate the case as 
the interests of justice require.

(B) Court-Designated Cases. The procedures in this subrule apply if the prosecuting 
attorney submits a petition charging an offense other than a specified juvenile violation 
and requests the court to designate the case for trial in the same manner as an adult.

(1) Time for Arraignment.

(a) If the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, the arraignment must 
commence no later than 24 hours after the juvenile has been taken into court 
custody, excluding Sundays and holidays as defined by MCR 8.110(D)(2), or the 
juvenile must be released. The court may adjourn the arraignment for up to 7 days 
to secure the attendance of the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian or of 
a witness, or for other good cause shown.

(b) If the juvenile is not in custody and custody is not requested, the juvenile must 
be brought before the court for an arraignment as soon as the juvenile's attendance 
can be secured.

(2) Procedure.

(a) The court shall determine whether the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian has been notified and is present. The arraignment may be conducted 
without a parent, guardian, or legal custodian, provided a guardian ad litem or 
attorney appears with the juvenile. Attorney appointments, even if just for the 
arraignment, are to be done by the court’s local funding unit’s appointing 
authority.

(b) The court shall read the allegations in the petition, and advise the juvenile on 
the record in plain language:

(i) of the right to an attorney at all court proceedings, including the 
arraignment;

(ii) of the right to trial by judge or jury on the allegations in the petition;

(iii) of the right to remain silent and that any statement made by the juvenile 
may be used against the juvenile;

(iv) of the right to have a designation hearing within 14 days;
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(v) of the right to have a preliminary examination within 14 days after the case 
is designated if the juvenile is charged with a felony or offense for which an 
adult could be imprisoned for more than one year;

(vi) that if the case is designated by the court for trial in the same manner as an 
adult and, if a preliminary examination is required by law, the prosecuting 
attorney proves that there is probable cause to believe that an offense was 
committed and there is probable cause to believe that the juvenile committed 
the offense, the juvenile will be afforded all the rights of an adult charged with 
the same crime and that upon conviction the juvenile may be sentenced as an 
adult;

(vii) of the maximum possible prison sentence and any mandatory minimum 
sentence required by law.

(c) Unless the arraignment is adjourned, the court must decide whether to 
authorize the petition to be filed. If it authorizes the filing of the petition, the court 
must:

(i) determine if biometric data must be taken as provided by MCR 3.936;

(ii) schedule a designation hearing within 14 days;

(iii) if the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, determine whether to 
detain or release the juvenile as provided in MCR 3.935(C).

(d) If the juvenile is in custody or custody is requested, the juvenile may be 
detained pending the completion of the arraignment if it appears to the court that 
one of the circumstances in MCR 3.935(D)(1) is present.

(3) Amendment of Petition. If a petition submitted by the prosecuting attorney alleging 
an offense other than a specified juvenile violation did not include a request that the 
court designate the case for trial as an adult:

(a) The prosecuting attorney may, by right, amend the petition to request the court 
to designate the case during the preliminary hearing.

(b) The prosecuting attorney may request leave of the court to amend the petition 
to request the court to designate the case no later than the pretrial hearing or, if 
there is no pretrial hearing, at least 21 days before trial, absent good cause for 
further delay. The court may permit the prosecuting attorney to amend the petition 
to request the court to designate the case as the interests of justice require.

RULE 3.952 DESIGNATION HEARING

(A) Time. The designation hearing shall be commenced within 14 days after the 
arraignment, unless adjourned for good cause.

(B) Notice.

(1) A copy of the petition or a copy of the petition and separate written request for 
court designation must be personally served on the juvenile and the juvenile's parent, 
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guardian, or legal custodian, if the address or whereabouts of the juvenile's parent, 
guardian, or custodian is known or can be determined by the exercise of due diligence.

(2) Notice of the date, time, and place of the designation hearing must be given to the 
juvenile, the juvenile's parent, guardian, or legal custodian, the attorney for the 
juvenile, if any, and the prosecuting attorney. The notice may be given either orally on 
the record or in writing, served on each individual by mail, or given in another manner 
reasonably calculated to provide notice.

(C) Hearing Procedure.

(1) Evidence. The Michigan Rules of Evidence, other than those with respect to 
privileges, do not apply.

(2) Burden of Proof. The prosecuting attorney has the burden of proving by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the best interests of the juvenile and the public 
would be served by designation.

(3) Factors to be Considered. In determining whether to designate the case for trial in 
the same manner as an adult, the court must consider all the following factors, giving 
greater weight to the seriousness of the alleged offense and the juvenile's prior 
delinquency record than to the other factors:

(a) the seriousness of the alleged offense in terms of community protection, 
including, but not limited to, the existence of any aggravating factors recognized 
by the sentencing guidelines, the use of a firearm or other dangerous weapon, and 
the effect on any victim;

(b) the culpability of the juvenile in committing the alleged offense, including, but 
not limited to, the level of the juvenile's participation in planning and carrying out 
the offense and the existence of any aggravating or mitigating factors recognized 
by the sentencing guidelines;

(c) the juvenile's prior record of delinquency, including, but not limited to, any 
record of detention, any police record, any school record, or any other evidence 
indicating prior delinquent behavior;

(d) the juvenile's programming history, including, but not limited to, the juvenile's 
past willingness to participate meaningfully in available programming;

(e) the adequacy of the punishment or programming available in the juvenile 
justice system; and

(f) the dispositional options available for the juvenile.

(D) Grant of Request for Court Designation.

(1) If the court determines that it is in the best interests of the juvenile and the public 
that the juvenile be tried in the same manner as an adult in the family division of the 
circuit court, the court must:

(a) Enter a written order granting the request for court designation and 
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(i) schedule a preliminary examination within 14 days if the juvenile is charged 
with a felony or an offense for which an adult could be imprisoned for more 
than one year, or

(ii) schedule the matter for trial or pretrial hearing if the juvenile is charged 
with a misdemeanor.

(b) Make findings of fact and conclusions of law forming the basis for entry of the 
order designating the petition. The findings and conclusions may be incorporated 
in a written opinion or stated on the record.

(E) Denial of Request for Designation. If the request for court designation is denied, the 
court shall make written findings or place them on the record. Further proceedings shall be 
conducted pursuant to MCR 3.941-3.944.

RULE 3.953 PRELIMINARY EXAMINATION IN DESIGNATED CASES

(A) Requirement. A preliminary examination must be held only in designated cases in 
which the juvenile is alleged to have committed a felony or an offense for which an adult 
could be imprisoned for more than one year.

(B) Waiver. The juvenile may waive the preliminary examination if the juvenile is 
represented by an attorney and the waiver is made and signed by the juvenile in open 
court. The judge shall find and place on the record that the waiver was freely, 
understandingly, and voluntarily given.

(C) Combined Hearing. The preliminary examination may be combined with a 
designation hearing provided that the Michigan Rules of Evidence, except as otherwise 
provided by law, apply only to the preliminary examination phase of the combined 
hearing.

(D) Time. The preliminary examination must commence within 14 days of the 
arraignment in a prosecutor-designated case or within 14 days after court-ordered 
designation of a petition, unless the preliminary examination was combined with the 
designation hearing.

(E) Procedure. The preliminary examination must be conducted in accordance with MCR 
6.110.

(F) Findings.

(1) If the court finds there is probable cause to believe that the alleged offense was 
committed and probable cause to believe the juvenile committed the offense, the court 
may schedule the matter for trial or a pretrial hearing.

(2) If the court does not find there is probable cause to believe that the alleged offense 
was committed or does not find there is probable cause to believe the juvenile 
committed the offense, the court shall dismiss the petition, unless the court finds there 
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is probable cause to believe that a lesser included offense was committed and probable 
cause to believe the juvenile committed that offense.

(3) If the court finds there is probable cause to believe that a lesser included offense 
was committed and probable cause to believe the juvenile committed that offense, the 
court may, as provided in MCR 3.952, further determine whether the case should be 
designated as a case in which the juvenile should be tried in the same manner as an 
adult. If the court designates the case following the determination of probable cause 
under this subrule, the court may schedule the matter for trial or a pretrial hearing.

(G) Confinement. If the court has designated the case and finds probable cause to believe 
that a felony or an offense for which an adult could be imprisoned for more than one year 
has been committed and probable cause to believe that the juvenile committed the offense, 
the judge may confine the juvenile in the county jail pending trial. If the juvenile is under 
18 years of age, the juvenile may be confined in jail only if the juvenile can be separated 
by sight and sound from adult prisoners and if the sheriff has approved the confinement.

RULE 3.954 TRIAL OF DESIGNATED CASES

Trials of designated cases are governed by subchapter 6.400, except for MCR 6.402(A). 
The court may not accept a waiver of trial by jury until after the juvenile has been offered an 
opportunity to consult with a lawyer. Pleas in designated cases are governed by subchapter 6.300.

RULE 3.955 SENTENCING OR DISPOSITION IN DESIGNATED CASES

(A) Determining Whether to Sentence or Impose Disposition. If a juvenile is convicted 
under MCL 712A.2d, sentencing or disposition shall be made as provided in MCL 
712A.18(1)(o) and the Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 780.751 et seq., if applicable. In 
deciding whether to enter an order of disposition, or impose or delay imposition of 
sentence, the court shall consider all the following factors, giving greater weight to the 
seriousness of the offense and the juvenile's prior record: 

(1) the seriousness of the alleged offense in terms of community protection, including 
but not limited to, the existence of any aggravating factors recognized by the 
sentencing guidelines, the use of a firearm or other dangerous weapon, and the effect 
on any victim;

(2) the culpability of the juvenile in committing the alleged offense, including, but not 
limited to, the level of the juvenile's participation in planning and carrying out the 
offense and the existence of any aggravating or mitigating factors recognized by the 
sentencing guidelines;

(3) the juvenile's prior record of delinquency including, but not limited to, any record 
of detention, any police record, any school record, or any other evidence indicating 
prior delinquent behavior;

(4) the juvenile's programming history, including, but not limited to, the juvenile's past 
willingness to participate meaningfully in available programming;
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(5) the adequacy of the punishment or programming available in the juvenile justice 
system; and

(6) the dispositional options available for the juvenile.

The court also shall give the juvenile, the juvenile’s lawyer, the prosecutor, and the 
victim an opportunity to advise the court of any circumstances they believe the court 
should consider in deciding whether to enter an order of disposition or to impose or 
delay imposition of sentence.

(B) Burden of Proof. The court shall enter an order of disposition unless the court 
determines that the best interests of the public would be served by sentencing the juvenile 
as an adult. The prosecuting attorney has the burden of proving by a preponderance of the 
evidence that, on the basis of the criteria in subrule (A), it would be in the best interests of 
the public to sentence the juvenile as an adult.

(C) Sentencing. If the court determines that the juvenile should be sentenced as an adult, 
either initially or following a delayed imposition of sentence, the sentencing hearing shall 
be held in accordance with the procedures set forth in MCR 6.425.

(D) Delayed Imposition of Sentence. If the court determines that the juvenile should be 
sentenced as an adult, the court may, in its discretion, enter an order of disposition 
delaying imposition of sentence and placing the juvenile on probation on such terms and 
conditions as it considers appropriate, including ordering any disposition under MCL 
712A.18. A delayed sentence may be imposed in accordance with MCR 3.956.

(E) Disposition Hearing. If the court does not determine that the juvenile should be 
sentenced as an adult, the court shall hold a dispositional hearing and comply with the 
procedures set forth in MCR 3.943.

RULE 3.956 REVIEW HEARINGS; PROBATION VIOLATION

(A) Review Hearings in Delayed Imposition of Sentence Cases.

(1) When Required. If the court entered an order of disposition delaying imposition of 
sentence, the court shall conduct a review hearing to determine whether the juvenile 
has been rehabilitated and whether the juvenile presents a serious risk to public safety.

(a) Time of Hearing.

(i) Annual Review. The court shall conduct an annual review of the probation, 
including, but not limited to, the services being provided to the juvenile, the 
juvenile's placement, and the juvenile's progress in placement. In conducting 
the review, the court must examine any report prepared under MCL 803.223, 
and any report prepared by the officer or agency supervising probation. The 
court may order changes in the juvenile's probation on the basis of the review 
including, but not limited to, imposition of sentence.
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(ii) Review on Request of Institution or Agency. If an institution or agency to 
which the juvenile was committed believes that the juvenile has been 
rehabilitated and does not present a serious risk to public safety, the institution 
or agency may petition the court to conduct a review hearing at any time before 
the juvenile becomes 19 years of age or, if the court has extended jurisdiction, 
any time before the juvenile becomes 21 years of age.

(iii) Mandatory Review. The court shall schedule a review hearing to be held 
within 42 days before the juvenile attains the age of 19, unless adjourned for 
good cause.

(iv) Final Review. The court shall conduct a final review of the juvenile's 
probation not less than 91 days before the end of the probation period.

(b) Notice of Hearing. Notice of the hearing must be given at least 14 days before 
the hearing to

(i) the prosecuting attorney;

(ii) the agency or the superintendent of the institution or facility to which the 
juvenile has been committed;

(iii) the juvenile; and

(iv) if the address or whereabouts are known, the parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian of the juvenile.

The notice must clearly indicate that the court may extend jurisdiction over the 
juvenile or impose sentence and must advise the juvenile and the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian of the juvenile that the juvenile has a right to an 
attorney.

(2) Appointment of Attorney. The court must appoint an attorney to represent the 
juvenile unless an attorney has been retained. The court may assess the cost of 
providing an attorney as costs against the juvenile or those responsible for the 
juvenile's support, or both, if the persons to be assessed are financially able to comply.

(3) Evidence; Commitment Report. The court may consider the commitment report 
prepared as provided in MCL 803.225 and any report prepared upon the court's order 
by the officer or agency supervising probation.

(4) Burden of Proof; Findings.

(a) Before the court may continue jurisdiction over the juvenile or impose 
sentence, the prosecuting attorney must demonstrate by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the juvenile has not been rehabilitated or that the juvenile presents a 
serious risk to public safety. The Michigan Rules of Evidence, other than those 
with respect to privileges, do not apply. In making the determination, the court 
must consider the following factors:

(i) the extent and nature of the juvenile's participation in education, counseling, 
or work programs;

(ii) the juvenile's willingness to accept responsibility for prior behavior;
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(iii) the juvenile's behavior in the current placement;

(iv) the juvenile's prior record, character, and physical and mental maturity;

(v) the juvenile's potential for violent conduct as demonstrated by prior 
behavior;

(vi) the recommendation of the institution, agency, or facility charged with the 
juvenile's care for the juvenile's release or continued custody;

(vii) any other information the prosecuting attorney or the juvenile submit.

(b) Before the court may impose a sentence at the final review hearing, the court 
must determine that the best interests of the public would be served by the 
imposition of a sentence provided by law for an adult offender. In making the 
determination, the court must consider the following factors, in addition to the 
criteria specified in subrule (4)(a):

(i) the effect of treatment on the juvenile's rehabilitation;

(ii) whether the juvenile is likely to be dangerous to the public if released;

(iii) the best interests of the public welfare and the protection of public 
security.

(5) Sentencing credit. If a sentence of imprisonment is imposed, the juvenile shall 
receive credit for the time served on probation.

(B) Violation of Probation in Delayed Imposition of Sentence Cases.

(1) Subsequent Conviction. If a juvenile placed on probation under an order of 
disposition delaying imposition of sentence is found by the court to have violated 
probation by being convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment for more than 1 year, or adjudicated as responsible for an offense that if 
committed by an adult would be a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by 
imprisonment for more than 1 year, the court shall revoke probation and sentence the 
juvenile to imprisonment for a term that does not exceed the penalty that could have 
been imposed for the offense for which the juvenile was originally convicted and 
placed on probation.

(2) Other Violations of Probation. If a juvenile placed on probation under an order of 
disposition delaying imposition of sentence is found by the court to have violated 
probation other than as provided in subrule (B)(1), the court may impose sentence or 
may order any of the following for the juvenile:

(a) A change in placement.

(b) Community service.

(c) Substance abuse counseling.

(d) Mental health counseling.

(e) Participation in a vocational-technical program.
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(f) Incarceration in the county jail for not more than 30 days if the present county 
jail facility would meet all requirements under federal law and regulations for 
housing juveniles, and if the court has consulted with the sheriff to determine when 
the sentence will begin to ensure that space will be available for the juvenile. If the 
juvenile is under 18 years of age, the juvenile must be placed in a room or ward out 
of sight and sound from adult prisoners.

(g) Other participation or performance as the court considers necessary.

(3) Hearing. The probation violation hearing must be conducted pursuant to MCR 
3.944(C).

(4) Sentencing Credit. If a sentence of imprisonment is imposed, the juvenile must 
receive credit for the time served on probation.

(C) Determination of Ability to Pay. A juvenile and/or parent shall not be detained or 
incarcerated for the nonpayment of court-ordered financial obligations as ordered by the 
court, unless the court determines that the juvenile and/or parent has the resources to pay 
and has not made a good-faith effort to do so.

RULE 3.961 INITIATING CHILD PROTECTIVE PROCEEDINGS

(A) Form. Absent exigent circumstances, a request for court action to protect a child must 
be in the form of a petition. The form, captioning, signing, and verifying of documents are 
prescribed in MCR 1.109(D) and (E). When any pending or resolved family division or 
tribal court case exists that involves family members of the person(s) named in the petition 
filed under subrule (B), the petitioner must complete and file a case inventory listing those 
cases, if known. The case inventory is confidential, not subject to service requirements, 
and is available only to the party that filed it, the filing party’s attorney, the court, and the 
friend of the court. The case inventory must be on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office.

(B) Content of Petition. A petition must contain the following information, if known:

(1) The child's name, address, and date of birth.

(2) The names and addresses of:

(a) the child's mother and father,

(b) the parent, guardian, legal custodian, or person who has custody of the child, if 
other than a mother or father, and

(c) the nearest known relative of the child, if no parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian can be found.

(3) The essential facts that constitute an offense against the child under the Juvenile 
Code.

(4) A citation to the section of the Juvenile Code relied on for jurisdiction.
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(5) The child's membership or eligibility for membership in an Indian tribe, if any, and 
the identity of the tribe.

(6) The type of relief requested. A request for removal of the child or a parent or for 
termination of parental rights at the initial disposition must be specifically stated. If 
the petition requests removal of an Indian child or if an Indian child was taken into 
protective custody pursuant to MCR 3.963 as a result of an emergency, the petition 
must specifically describe:

(a)the active efforts as defined in MCR 3.002, that have been made to provide 
remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of 
the Indian family; and 

(b) documentation, including attempts, to identify the child’s tribe.

(C)Amended and Supplemental Petitions.

(1)If a nonrespondent parent is being added as an additional respondent to a petition 
that has been authorized by the court under MCR 3.962 or MCR 3.965 against the first 
respondent parent, and the first respondent parent has not made a plea under MCR 
3.971 or a trial has not been conducted under MCR 3.972, the allegations against the 
second respondent shall be filed in an amended petition. 

(2)If a nonrespondent parent is being added as an additional respondent in a case in 
which a petition has been authorized under MCR 3.962 or MCR 3.965, and 
adjudicated by plea under MCR 3.971 or by trial under MCR 3.972, the allegations 
against the second respondent shall be filed in a supplemental petition.

(3)If either an amended or supplemental petition is not accompanied by a request for 
placement of the child or the child is not in protective or temporary custody, the court 
shall conduct a preliminary inquiry to determine the appropriate action to be taken on 
a petition. If either the amended or supplemental petition contains a request for 
removal, the court shall conduct a preliminary hearing to determine the appropriate 
action to be taken on the petition consistent with MCR 3.965(B). If either the amended 
or supplemental petition is authorized, the court shall proceed against each respondent 
parent in accordance with MCR 3.971 or MCR 3.972.

RULE 3.962 PRELIMINARY INQUIRY

(A) Purpose. When a petition is not accompanied by a request for placement of the child 
and the child is not in temporary custody, the court may conduct a preliminary inquiry to 
determine the appropriate action to be taken on a petition.

(B) Action by Court. A preliminary inquiry need not be conducted on the record or in the 
presence of the parties. At the preliminary inquiry, the court may:

(1) Deny authorization of the petition.

(2) Refer the matter to alternative services.
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(3) Authorize the filing of the petition if it contains the information required by MCR 
3.961(B), and there is probable cause to believe that one or more of the allegations is 
true. For the purpose of this subrule, probable cause may be established with such 
information and in such a manner as the court deems sufficient.

RULE 3.963 ACQUIRING PHYSICAL CUSTODY OF CHILD

(A) Taking Custody Without Court Order. 

(1) An officer may without court order remove a child from the child's surroundings 
and take the child into protective custody if, after investigation, the officer has 
reasonable grounds to believe that a child is at substantial risk of harm or is in 
surroundings that present an imminent risk of harm and the child’s immediate removal 
from those surroundings is necessary to protect the child’s health and safety. If the 
child is an Indian child who resides or is domiciled on a reservation, but is temporarily 
located off the reservation, the officer may take the child into protective custody only 
when necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child.

(2) An officer who takes a child into protective custody under this rule shall 
immediately notify the Department of Health and Human Services. While awaiting the 
arrival of the Department of Health and Human Services, the child shall not be held in 
a detention facility.

(3) If a child taken into protective custody under this subrule is not released, the 
Department of Health and Human Services shall immediately contact the designated 
judge or referee as provided in subrule (D) to seek an ex parte court order for 
placement of the child pursuant to subrule (B)(4).

(B) Court-Ordered Custody.

(1) Order to Take Child into Protective Custody. The court may issue a written order, 
electronically or otherwise, authorizing a child protective services worker, an officer, 
or other person deemed suitable by the court to immediately take a child into 
protective custody when, after presentment of a petition or affidavit of facts to the 
court, the court has reasonable cause to believe that all the following conditions exist, 
together with specific findings of fact:

(a) The child is at substantial risk of harm or is in surroundings that present an 
imminent risk of harm and the child’s immediate removal from those surroundings 
is necessary to protect the child’s health and safety. If the child is an Indian child 
who resides or is domiciled on a reservation, but is temporarily located off the 
reservation, the child is subject to the exclusive jurisdiction of the tribal court. 
However, the state court may enter an order for protective custody of that child 
when it is necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm to the child. 

(b) The circumstances warrant issuing an order pending a hearing in accordance 
with:

(i)MCR 3.965 for a child who is not yet under the jurisdiction of the court, or
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(ii)MCR 3.974(C) for a child who is already under the jurisdiction of the court 
under MCR 3.971 or 3.972.

(c) Consistent with the circumstances, reasonable efforts were made to prevent or 
eliminate the need for removal of the child.

(d) No remedy other than protective custody is reasonably available to protect the 
child.

(e) Continuing to reside in the home is contrary to the child’s welfare.

(2) The court may include in such an order authorization to enter specified premises to 
remove the child.

(3) The court shall inquire whether a member of the child's immediate or extended 
family is available to take custody of the child pending a preliminary hearing, or an 
emergency removal hearing if the court already has jurisdiction over the child under 
MCR 3.971 or MCR 3.972, whether there has been a central registry clearance, and 
whether a criminal history check has been initiated.

(4) Ex parte Placement Order. If an officer has taken a child into protective custody 
without court order under subrule (A), or if the Department of Health and Human 
Services is requesting the court grant it protective custody and placement authority, 
the Department of Health and Human Services shall present to the court a petition or 
affidavit of facts and request a written ex parte placement order. If a judge finds all the 
factors in subrule (B)(1)(a)-(e) are present, the judge may issue a placement order; if a 
referee finds all the factors in subrule (B)(1)(a)-(e) are present, the referee may issue 
an interim placement order pending a preliminary hearing. The written order shall 
contain specific findings of fact. It shall be communicated, electronically or otherwise, 
to the Department of Health and Human Services.

(C) Arranging for Court Appearance. An officer or other person who takes a child into 
protective custody must:

(1) immediately attempt to notify the child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the 
protective custody;

(2) inform the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the date, time, and place of the 
preliminary or emergency removal hearing scheduled by the court;

(3) immediately bring the child to the court for preliminary hearing, or immediately 
contact the court for instructions regarding placement pending preliminary hearing;

(4) if the court is not open, DHHS must contact the person designated under subrule 
(D) for permission to place the child pending the hearing;

(5) ensure that the petition is prepared and submitted to the court;

(6) file a custody statement with the court that includes:

(a)a specific and detailed account of the circumstances that led to the emergency 
removal, and
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(b)the names of persons notified and the times of notification or the reason for 
failure to notify.

(D) Designated Court Contact

(1) When the Department of Health and Human Services seeks a placement order for a 
child in protective custody under subrule (A) or (B), DHHS shall contact a judge or 
referee designated by the court for that purpose.

(2) If the court is closed, the designated judge or referee may issue an ex parte order 
for placement upon receipt, electronically or otherwise, of a petition or affidavit of 
facts. The order must be communicated in writing, electronically or otherwise, to the 
appropriate county DHHS office and filed with the court the next business day.

RULE 3.965 PRELIMINARY HEARING

(A) Time for Preliminary Hearing.

(1) Child in Protective Custody. The preliminary hearing must commence no later than 
24 hours after the child has been taken into protective custody, excluding Sundays and 
holidays, as defined by MCR 8.110(D)(2), unless adjourned for good cause shown, or 
the child must be released.

(2) Seriously Physically Harmed or Sexually Abused Child. When the Department of 
Health and Human Services submits a petition in cases in which the child has been 
seriously physically harmed, as that term is defined in MCL 722.622, or sexually 
abused, and subrule (A)(1) does not apply, the preliminary hearing must commence no 
later than 24 hours after the agency submits a petition or on the next business day 
following the submission of the petition.

(B) Procedure.

(1) The court must determine if the parent, guardian, or legal custodian has been 
notified, and if the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child is present. The preliminary 
hearing may be adjourned for the purpose of securing the appearance of an attorney, 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian or may be conducted in the absence of the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian if notice has been given or if the court finds that a 
reasonable attempt to give notice was made.

(2) The court must inquire if the child or either parent is a member of an Indian tribe. If 
the court knows or has reason to know the child is an Indian child, the court must 
determine the identity of the child’s tribe and, if the child was taken into protective 
custody pursuant to MCR 3.963(A) or the petition requests removal of the child, 
follow the procedures set forth in MCR 3.967. If necessary, the court may adjourn the 
preliminary hearing pending the conclusion of the removal hearing. A removal hearing 
may be held in conjunction with the preliminary hearing if all necessary parties have 
been notified as required by MCR 3.905, there are no objections by the parties to do 
so, and at least one qualified expert witness is present to provide testimony.
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(3) The child's lawyer-guardian ad litem must be present to represent the child at the 
preliminary hearing. The court may make temporary orders for the protection of the 
child pending the appearance of an attorney or pending the completion of the 
preliminary hearing. The court must direct that the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the 
child receive a copy of the petition.

(4) If the respondent is present, the court must assure that the respondent has a copy of 
the petition. The court must read the allegations in the petition in open court, unless 
waived.

(5) The court shall determine if the petition should be dismissed or the matter referred 
to alternate services. If the court so determines the court must release the child. 
Otherwise, the court must continue the hearing.

(6) The court must advise the respondent of the right to the assistance of an attorney at 
the preliminary hearing and any subsequent hearing pursuant to MCR 3.915(B)(1)(a).

(7) The court must advise the respondent of the right to trial on the allegations in the 
petition and that the trial may be before a referee unless a demand for a jury or judge is 
filed pursuant to MCR 3.911 or 3.912.

(8) The court must advise a nonrespondent parent of his or her right to seek placement 
of his or her children in his or her home.

(9) The court shall allow the respondent an opportunity to deny or admit the 
allegations and make a statement of explanation.

(10) The court must inquire whether the child is subject to the continuing jurisdiction 
of another court and, if so, which court.

(11) The court may adjourn the hearing for up to 14 days to secure the attendance of 
witnesses or for other good cause shown. If the court knows or has reason to know the 
child is an Indian, the court may adjourn the hearing for up to 21 days to ensure proper 
notice to the tribe or Secretary of the Interior as required by MCR 3.920(C)(1). If the 
preliminary hearing is adjourned, the court may make temporary orders for the 
placement of the child when necessary to assure the immediate safety of the child, 
pending the completion of the preliminary hearing and subject to subrule (C), and as 
applicable, MCR 3.967.

(12) Unless the preliminary hearing is adjourned, the court must decide whether to 
authorize the filing of the petition and, if authorized, whether the child should remain 
in the home, be returned home, or be placed in foster care pending trial. The court may 
authorize the filing of the petition upon a showing of probable cause, unless waived, 
that one or more of the allegations in the petition are true and fall within MCL 
712A.2(b). The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply, other than those with 
respect to privileges, except to the extent that such privileges are abrogated by MCL 
722.631.

(13) If the court authorizes the filing of the petition, the court:
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(a) may release the child to a parent, guardian, or legal custodian and may order 
such reasonable terms and conditions believed necessary to protect the physical 
health or mental well-being of the child; or

(b) may order placement of the child after making the determinations specified in 
subrule (C), if those determinations have not previously been made. If the child is 
an Indian child, the child must be placed in descending order of preference with: 

(i) a member of the child’s extended family, 

(ii) a foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the child’s tribe, 

(iii) an Indian foster family licensed or approved by the department, 

(iv) an institution for children approved by an Indian tribe or operated by an 
Indian organization that has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs.

The court may order another placement for good cause shown in accordance 
with MCL 712B.23(3)-(5). If the Indian child’s tribe has established a different 
order of preference than the order prescribed above, placement shall follow 
that tribe’s order of preference as long as the placement is the least restrictive 
setting appropriate to the particular needs of the child, as provided in MCL 
712B.23(6). The standards to be applied in meeting the preference 
requirements above shall be the prevailing social and cultural standards of the 
Indian community in which the parent or extended family resides or with 
which the parent or extended family members maintain social and cultural ties.

(14) The court must inquire of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian regarding the 
identity of relatives of the child who might be available to provide care. If the father of 
the child has not been identified, the court must inquire of the mother regarding the 
identity and whereabouts of the father.

(15) If the court orders removal of the child from a parent’s care or custody, the court 
shall advise the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the right to appeal that action.

(C) Pretrial Placement.

(1) Placement; Proofs. If the child was not released under subrule (B), the court shall 
receive evidence, unless waived, to establish that the criteria for placement set forth in 
subrule 3.965(C)(2) are present. The respondent shall be given an opportunity to 
cross-examine witnesses, to subpoena witnesses, and to offer proofs to counter the 
admitted evidence.

(2) Criteria. The court may order placement of the child into foster care if the court 
finds all of the following: 

(a) Custody of the child with the parent presents a substantial risk of harm to the 
child’s life, physical health, or mental well-being.

(b) No provision of service or other arrangement except removal of the child is 
reasonably available to adequately safeguard the child from the risk as described in 
subrule (a).
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(c) Continuing the child’s residence in the home is contrary to the child’s welfare.

(d) Consistent with the circumstances, reasonable efforts were made to prevent or 
eliminate the need for removal of the child. 

(e) Conditions of child custody away from the parent are adequate to safeguard the 
child’s health and welfare. 

(3) Contrary to the Welfare Findings. Contrary to the welfare findings must be made. 
If placement is ordered, the court must make a statement of findings, in writing or on 
the record, explicitly including the finding that it is contrary to the welfare of the child 
to remain at home and the reasons supporting that finding. If the “contrary to the 
welfare of the child” finding is placed on the record and not in a written statement of 
findings, it must be capable of being transcribed. The findings may be made on the 
basis of hearsay evidence that possesses adequate indicia of trustworthiness. If 
continuing the child’s residence in the home is contrary to the welfare of the child, the 
court shall not return the child to the home, but shall order the child placed in the most 
family-like setting available consistent with the child’s needs.

(4) Reasonable Efforts Findings. Reasonable efforts findings must be made. In making 
the reasonable efforts determination under this subrule, the child’s health and safety 
must be of paramount concern to the court. When the court has placed a child with 
someone other than the custodial parent, guardian, or legal custodian, the court must 
determine whether reasonable efforts to prevent the removal of the child have been 
made or that reasonable efforts to prevent removal are not required. The court must 
make this determination at the earliest possible time, but no later than 60 days from the 
date of removal, and must state the factual basis for the determination in the court 
order. Nunc pro tunc orders or affidavits are not acceptable. Reasonable efforts to 
prevent a child's removal from the home are not required if a court of competent 
jurisdiction has determined that 

(a) the parent has subjected the child to aggravated circumstances as listed in 
sections 18(1) and (2) of the Child Protection Law, MCL 722.638(1) and (2); or 

(b) the parent has been convicted of 1 or more of the following: 

(i) murder of another child of the parent, 

(ii) voluntary manslaughter of another child of the parent, 

(iii) aiding or abetting, attempting, conspiring, or soliciting to commit such a 
murder or such a voluntary manslaughter, or 

(iv) a felony assault that results in serious bodily injury to the child or another 
child of the parent; or 

(c) parental rights of the parent with respect to a sibling have been terminated 
involuntarily; or 

(d) the parent is required to register under the Sex Offender Registration Act. 

(5) Record Checks; Home Study. If the child has been placed in a relative’s home,
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(a) the court may order the Department of Health and Human Services to report the 
results of a criminal record check and central registry clearance of the residents of 
the home to the court before, or within 7 days after, the placement, and

(b) the court must order the Department of Health and Human Services to perform 
a home study with a copy to be submitted to the court not more than 30 days after 
the placement.

(6) No Right to Bail. No one has the right to post bail in a protective proceeding for the 
release of a child in the custody of the court.

(7) Parenting Time or Visitation.

(a) Unless the court suspends parenting time pursuant to MCL 712A.19b(4), or 
unless the child has a guardian or legal custodian, the court must permit each 
parent frequent parenting time with a child in placement unless parenting time, 
even if supervised, may be harmful to the child.

(b) If the child was living with a guardian or legal custodian, the court must 
determine what, if any, visitation will be permitted with the guardian or legal 
custodian.

(8) Medical Information. Unless the court has previously ordered the release of 
medical information, the order placing the child in foster care must include:

(a) an order that the child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian provide the 
supervising agency with the name and address of each of the child's medical 
providers, and

(b) an order that each of the child's medical providers release the child's medical 
records.

 (D) Advice; Initial Service Plan. If placement is ordered, the court must, orally or in 
writing, inform the parties:

(1) that the agency designated to care and supervise the child will prepare an initial 
service plan no later than 30 days after the placement;

(2) that participation in the initial service plan is voluntary unless otherwise ordered by 
the court;

(3) that the general elements of an initial service plan include:

(a) the background of the child and the family,

(b) an evaluation of the experiences and problems of the child,

(c) a projection of the expected length of stay in foster care, and

(d) an identification of specific goals and projected time frames for meeting the 
goals; 

(4) that, on motion of a party, the court will review the initial service plan and may 
modify the plan if it is in the best interests of the child; and

(5) that the case may be reviewed for concurrent planning.
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The court shall direct the agency to identify, locate, and consult with relatives to 
determine if placement with a relative would be in the child’s best interests, as 
required by MCL 722.954a(2). In a case to which MCL 712A.18f(6) applies, the court 
shall require the agency to provide the name and address of the child’s attending 
physician of record or primary care physician.

RULE 3.966 OTHER PLACEMENT REVIEW PROCEEDINGS

(A) Review of Placement Order and Initial Service Plan. 

(1) On motion of a party, the court must review the placement order or the initial 
service plan, and may modify the order and plan if it is in the best interest of the child. 
If removal from the parent, guardian, or legal custodian is requested, at the hearing on 
the motion, the court shall follow the placement procedures in MCR 3.965(B) and (C).

(2) If the child is removed from the home and disposition is not completed, the court 
shall conduct a dispositional hearing in accordance with MCR 3.973.

(B) Petitions to Review Placement Decisions by Supervising Agency.

(1) General. The court may review placement decisions when all of the following 
apply:

(a) a child has been removed from the home;

(b) the supervising agency has made a placement decision after identifying, 
locating, and consulting with relatives to determine placement with a fit and 
appropriate relative who would meet the child's developmental, emotional, and 
physical needs as an alternative to nonrelative foster care;

(c) the supervising agency has provided written notice of the placement decision;

(d) a person receiving notice has disagreed with the placement decision and has 
given the child's lawyer-guardian ad litem written notice of the disagreement 
within 5 days of the date on which the person receives notice; and

(e) the child's lawyer-guardian ad litem determines the decision is not in the child's 
best interest.

(2) Petition for Review. If the criteria in subrule (1) are met, within 14 days after the 
date of the agency's written placement decision, the child's lawyer-guardian ad litem 
must file a petition for review.

(3) Hearing on Petition. The court must commence a review hearing on the record 
within 7 days of the filing of the petition.

(C) Disputes Between Agency and Foster Care Review Board Regarding Change In 
Placement.

(1) General. The court must conduct a hearing upon notice from the Foster Care 
Review Board that, after an investigation, it disagrees with a proposed change in 
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placement by the agency of a child who is not a permanent ward of the Michigan 
Children’s Institute.

(2) Procedure.

(a) Time. The court must set the hearing no sooner than 7 days and no later than 14 
days after receipt of the notice from the Foster Care Review Board that there is a 
disagreement regarding a placement change.

(b) Notice. The court must provide notice of the hearing date to the foster parents, 
each interested party, and the prosecuting attorney if the prosecuting attorney has 
appeared in the case.

(c) Evidence. The court may hear testimony from the agency and any other 
interested party. The court may consider any other evidence bearing upon the 
proposed change in placement. The Rules of Evidence do not apply to a hearing 
under this rule.

(d) Findings. The court must order the continuation or restoration of placement 
unless the court finds that the proposed change in placement is in the child's best 
interests.

(D) Review of Child’s Placement in a Qualified Residential Treatment Program

(1) Ex Parte Motion for Review. Within 45 days of the child’s initial placement in a 
qualified residential treatment program, the Agency shall file an ex parte motion 
requesting the court to approve or disapprove of the placement.

(a) Supporting Documents. The motion shall be accompanied by the assessment, 
determination, and documentation made by the qualified individual.

(b) Service. The Agency shall serve the ex parte motion and accompanying 
documentation on all parties.

(2) Judicial Determination. Within 14 days of filing, the court, or an administrative 
body appointed or approved by the court independently, shall review the motion, and 
any supporting documentation filed pursuant to this subrule, and issue an order 
approving or disapproving of the placement. The order shall include individualized 
findings by the court or administrative body as to:

(a) whether the needs of the child can be met in a foster family home, or if not,

(b) whether the placement of the child provides the most effective and appropriate 
level of care for the child in the least restrictive environment, and

(c) whether the placement is consistent with the goals in the permanency plan for 
the child.

The court shall serve the order on parties. The court is not required to hold a hearing 
on the ex parte motion under this subrule. 



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 438   Updated April 26, 2024 

RULE 3.967 REMOVAL HEARING FOR INDIAN CHILD

(A)Child in Protective Custody. If an Indian child is taken into protective custody 
pursuant to MCR 3.963(A) or (B) or MCR 3.974, a removal hearing must be completed 
within 14 days after removal from a parent or Indian custodian unless that parent or Indian 
custodian has requested an additional 20 days for the hearing pursuant to MCL 712B.9(2) 
or the court adjourns the hearing pursuant to MCR 3.923(G). Absent extraordinary 
circumstances that make additional delay unavoidable, temporary emergency custody 
shall not be continued for more than 45 days.

(B)Child Not in Protective Custody. If an Indian child has not been taken into protective 
custody and the petition requests removal of that child, a removal hearing must be 
conducted before the court may enter an order removing the Indian child from the parent 
or Indian custodian. 

(C)Notice of the removal hearing must be sent to the parties prescribed in MCR 3.921 in 
compliance with MCR 3.920(C)(1). 

(D)Evidence. An Indian child may be removed from a parent or Indian custodian, or, for 
an Indian child already taken into protective custody pursuant to MCR 3.963 or MCR 
3.974(B), remain removed from a parent or Indian custodian pending further proceedings, 
only upon clear and convincing evidence, including the testimony of at least one qualified 
expert witness, as described in MCL 712B.17, who has knowledge about the child-rearing 
practices of the Indian child’s tribe, that active efforts as defined in MCR 3.002 have been 
made to provide remedial services and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the 
breakup of the Indian family, that these efforts have proved unsuccessful, and that 
continued custody of the child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to result in 
serious emotional or physical damage to the child. The active efforts must take into 
account the prevailing social and cultural conditions and way of life of the Indian child’s 
tribe.

(E)A removal hearing may be combined with any other hearing.

(F)The Indian child, if removed from home, must be placed in descending order of 
preference with: 

(1)a member of the child’s extended family, 

(2)a foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the child’s tribe, 

(3)an Indian foster family licensed or approved by department, 

(4)an institution for children approved by an Indian tribe or operated by an Indian 
organization that has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs.

The court may order another placement for good cause shown in accordance with MCL 
712B.23(3)-(5). If the Indian child’s tribe has established a different order of preference than the 
order prescribed in subrule (F), placement shall follow that tribe’s order of preference as long as 
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the placement is the least restrictive setting appropriate to the particular needs of the child, as 
provided in MCL 712B.23(6).

The standards to be applied in meeting the preference requirements above shall be the 
prevailing social and cultural standards of the Indian community in which the parent or extended 
family resides or with which the parent or extended family members maintain social and cultural 
ties.

RULE 3.970 CHILD PROTECTION MEDIATION

(A) Scope and Applicability of Rule; Definitions.

(1) This rule applies to the mediation of child protective proceedings. 

(2) "Mediation" includes dispute resolution processes in which a neutral third party 
facilitates communication between parties, assists in identifying issues, and helps 
explore solutions to promote a mutually acceptable settlement. A mediator or 
facilitator has no authoritative decision-making power.

(B) ADR Plan. Each trial court that submits child protective proceedings to mediation 
processes under this rule shall either incorporate the process into its current ADR plan, or 
if the court does not have an approved ADR plan, adopt an ADR plan by local 
administrative order under MCR 2.410(B).

(C) Order for Mediation.

(1) At any stage in the proceedings, after consultation with the parties, the court may 
order that a case be submitted to mediation.

(2) Unless a court first conducts a hearing to determine whether mediation is 
appropriate, the court shall not refer a case to mediation if the parties are subject to a 
personal protection order or other protective order. The court may order mediation 
without a hearing if a protected party requests mediation. 

(3) In addition to other provisions the court considers appropriate, the order shall:

(a) specify, or make provision for selection of, the mediation provider;

(b) provide time limits for initiation and completion of the mediation process.

The court shall not order a party to pay a fee for mediation services.

(4) The order may require attendance at mediation proceedings as provided in subrule 
(E).

(D) Objections to Mediation. A party may orally object to an order to mediate or in 
writing. Cases may be exempt from mediation on the basis of the following:
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(1) Domestic abuse, unless attorneys for both parties will be present at the mediation 
session;

(2) Inability of one or both parties to negotiate for themselves at the mediation, unless 
attorneys for both parties will be present at the mediation session;

(3) Reason to believe that one or both parties' health or safety would be endangered by 
mediation;

(4) A showing that the parties have made significant efforts to resolve the issues such 
that mediation is likely to be unsuccessful; or 

(5) For other good cause shown.

(E) Attendance at Mediation Proceedings.

(1) Attendance of Counsel. The court may direct that the attorneys representing the 
parties attend mediation proceedings. If the attorney representing a party is unable to 
attend, another attorney associated with the representing attorney may attend, but must 
be familiar with the case.

(2) Presence of Parties. The court may direct that the parties to the action and other 
persons:

(a) be present at the mediation proceeding or be immediately available by some 
other means at the time of the proceeding; and

(b) have information and authority adequate for responsible and effective 
participation in the proceeding for all purposes.

The court's order may specify whether the availability is to be in person or by other 
means.

(3) Except for legal counsel, the parties may not bring other persons to the mediation 
session unless permission is first obtained from the mediator, after notice to opposing 
counsel.

(4) Failure to appear. The failure of a party to appear in accordance with this rule may 
be considered a contempt of court.

(F) Selection of the Mediator. 

(1) The parties may stipulate to the selection of a mediator. A mediator selected by 
agreement of the parties need not meet the qualifications set forth in subrule (H). The 
court must appoint a mediator stipulated to by the parties, provided the mediator is 
willing to serve within a period that would not interfere with the court's scheduling of 
the case. If the parties do not stipulate to a particular mediator, the court may select a 
Community Dispute Resolution Program (CDRP) center or other mediator who meets 
the requirements of subrule (H).
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(2) The rule for disqualification of a mediator is the same as that provided in MCR 
2.003 for the disqualification of a judge. The mediator must promptly disclose any 
potential basis for disqualification.

(G) Scheduling and Mediation Process.

(1) Scheduling. The order referring the case for mediation shall specify the time within 
which the mediation is to be completed. A copy of the order shall be sent to each party, 
the CDRP center or the mediator selected. Upon receipt of the court's order, the CDRP 
center or mediator shall promptly confer with the parties to schedule mediation in 
accordance with the order. The mediator may direct the parties to submit in advance, 
or bring to the mediation, documents or summaries providing information about the 
case.

(2) The mediator must make reasonable inquiry as to whether either party has a history 
of a coercive or violent relationship with the other party. Throughout the mediation 
process, the mediator must make reasonable efforts to screen for the presence of 
coercion or violence that would make mediation physically or emotionally unsafe for 
any participant or that would impede achieving a voluntary and safe resolution of 
issues. A reasonable inquiry includes the use of the domestic violence screening 
protocol for mediators provided by the State Court Administrative Office as directed 
by the Supreme Court. 

(3) Mediation Process. The mediator shall discuss with the parties and counsel, if any, 
the facts and issues involved. Mediation participants may ask to meet separately with 
the mediator throughout the mediation process. The mediation will continue until: an 
agreement is reached, the mediator determines that an agreement is not likely to be 
reached, the end of the first mediation session, or until a time agreed to by the parties. 
Additional sessions may be held as long as it appears to the mediator that the process 
may result in an agreement.

(4) Following their attendance at a mediation session, a party may withdraw from 
mediation without penalty at any time. 

(5) Completion of Mediation. Within two days after the completion of the mediation 
process, the CDRP center or the mediator shall so advise the court, stating only: the 
date of completion of the process, who appeared at the mediation, whether an 
agreement was reached, and whether further mediation proceedings are contemplated. 
If an agreement was reached, the CDRP center or the mediator shall submit the 
agreement to the court within 14 days of the completion of mediation. 

(6) Agreements reached in mediation are not binding unless the terms are incorporated 
in an order of the court or placed on the record and the court complies with MCR 
3.971. 

(7) Confidentiality. Confidentiality in the mediation process is governed by MCR 
2.412. However, previously uninvestigated allegations of abuse or neglect identified 
during the mediation process are not confidential and may be disclosed. The mediator 
shall advise the parties, orally and in writing, of the rules regarding confidentiality 
under MCR 2.412 and MCL 722.631.
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(H) Qualification of Mediators.

(1) To be eligible to serve as a mediator in child protection cases, a person must meet 
the following minimum qualifications:

(a) Complete a general civil or domestic relations mediation training program 
approved by the State Court Administrator providing the generally accepted 
components of mediation skills; 

(b) Have one or more of the following:

(i) Juris doctor degree, graduate degree in conflict resolution or a behavioral 
science, or 5 years of experience in the child protection field; or

(ii) 40 hours of mediation experience over two years, including mediation, co-
mediation, observation, and role-playing in the context of mediation.

(c) Upon completion of the training required under subrule (H)(1)(a), observe two 
general civil or domestic relations mediation proceedings conducted by an 
approved mediator, and conduct one general civil or domestic relations mediation 
to conclusion under the supervision and observation of an approved mediator.

(d) Complete a 15-hour advanced training program on child protection mediation 
practice and an 8-hour training program on domestic violence screening approved 
by the State Court Administrator.

(2) Approved mediators are required to complete 8 hours of advanced mediation 
training during each 2-year period. 

(3) Additional requirements may not be imposed upon mediators.

RULE 3.971 PLEAS OF ADMISSION OR NO CONTEST

(A) General. A respondent may make a plea of admission or of no contest to the original 
allegations in the petition. The court has discretion to allow a respondent to enter a plea of 
admission or a plea of no contest to an amended petition. The plea may be taken at any 
time after the authorization of the petition, provided that the petitioner and the attorney for 
the child have been notified of a plea offer to an amended petition and have been given the 
opportunity to object before the plea is accepted.

(B) Advice of Rights and Possible Disposition. Before accepting a plea of admission or 
plea of no contest, the court must advise the respondent on the record or in a writing that is 
made a part of the file:

(1) of the allegations in the petition;

(2) of the right to an attorney, if respondent is without an attorney;

(3) that, if the court accepts the plea, the respondent will give up the rights to

(a) trial by a judge or trial by a jury,

(b) have the petitioner prove the allegations in the petition by a preponderance of 
the evidence,
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(c) have witnesses against the respondent appear and testify under oath at the trial,

(d) cross-examine witnesses, and

(e) have the court subpoena any witnesses the respondent believes could give 
testimony in the respondent's favor;

(4) of the consequences of the plea, including that the plea can later be used as 
evidence in a proceeding to terminate parental rights if the respondent is a parent.

(5) if parental rights are subsequently terminated, the obligation to support the child 
will continue until a court of competent jurisdiction modifies or terminates the 
obligation, an order of adoption is entered, or the child is emancipated by operation of 
law. Failure to provide required notice under this subsection does not affect the 
obligation imposed by law or otherwise establish a remedy or cause of action on 
behalf of the parent;

(6) that appellate review is available to challenge any errors in the adjudicatory 
process, which may be challenged in an appeal from the court’s initial order of 
disposition; 

(7) that an indigent respondent is entitled to appointment of an attorney to represent 
the respondent on any appeal as of right and to preparation of transcripts; and 

(8) the respondent may be barred from challenging the assumption of jurisdiction in an 
appeal from an order terminating parental rights if they do not timely file an appeal of 
the initial dispositional order under MCR 7.204 or a delayed appeal under MCR 
3.993(C).   

(C) Appellate Review. The respondent may challenge the assumption of jurisdiction in an 
appeal from the order terminating respondent's parental rights if the court fails to properly 
advise the respondent of their right to appeal pursuant to subrule (B)(6)-(8).

(D) Voluntary, Accurate Plea.

(1) Voluntary Plea. The court shall not accept a plea of admission or of no contest 
without satisfying itself that the plea is knowingly, understandingly, and voluntarily 
made.

(2) Accurate Plea. The court shall not accept a plea of admission or of no contest 
without establishing support for a finding that one or more of the statutory grounds 
alleged in the petition are true, preferably by questioning the respondent unless the 
offer is to plead no contest. If the plea is no contest, the court shall not question the 
respondent, but, by some other means, shall obtain support for a finding that one or 
more of the statutory grounds alleged in the petition are true. The court shall state why 
a plea of no contest is appropriate.

RULE 3.972 TRIAL

(A) Time. If the child is not in placement, the trial must be held within 6 months after the 
filing of the petition unless adjourned for good cause under MCR 3.923(G). If the child is 
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in placement, the trial must commence as soon as possible, but not later than 63 days after 
the child is removed from the home unless the trial is postponed:

(1) on stipulation of the parties for good cause;

(2) because process cannot be completed; or

(3) because the court finds that the testimony of a presently unavailable witness is 
needed.

When trial is postponed pursuant to subrule (2) or (3), the court shall release the child 
to the parent, guardian, or legal custodian unless the court finds that releasing the child 
to the custody of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian will likely result in physical 
harm or serious emotional damage to the child.

If the child has been removed from the home, a review hearing must be held within 
182 days of the date of the child’s removal from the home, even if the trial has not 
been completed before the expiration of that 182-day period.

(B) Preliminary Proceedings.

(1) The court shall determine that the proper parties are present. The respondent has 
the right to be present, but the court may proceed in the absence of the respondent 
provided notice has been served on the respondent. The child may be excused as the 
court determines the child's interests require.

(2) The court shall read the allegations in the petition, unless waived.

(C) Evidentiary Matters.

(1) Evidence; Standard of Proof. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the rules 
of evidence for a civil proceeding and the standard of proof by a preponderance of 
evidence apply at the trial, notwithstanding that the petition contains a request to 
terminate parental rights.

(2) Child’s Statement. Any statement made by a child under 10 years of age or an 
incapacitated individual under 18 years of age with a developmental disability, as 
defined in MCL 330.1100a(27), regarding an act of child abuse, child neglect, 
confirmed sexual abuse, or confirmed sexual exploitation, as defined in MCL 
722.622(g), (k), (q), or (r), performed with or on the child by another person may be 
admitted into evidence through the testimony of a person who heard the child make 
the statement as provided in this subrule.

(a) A statement describing such conduct may be admitted regardless of whether 
the child is available to testify or not, and is substantive evidence of the act or 
omission if the court has found, in a hearing held before trial, that the 
circumstances surrounding the giving of the statement provide adequate indicia of 
trustworthiness. This statement may be received by the court in lieu of or in 
addition to the child's testimony.

(b) If the child has testified, a statement denying such conduct may be used for 
impeachment purposes as permitted by the rules of evidence.
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(c) If the child has not testified, a statement denying such conduct may be admitted 
to impeach a statement admitted under subrule (2)(a) if the court has found, in a 
hearing held before trial, that the circumstances surrounding the giving of the 
statement denying the conduct provide adequate indicia of trustworthiness.

(D) Recommendation by Lawyer-Guardian ad Litem. At the conclusion of the proofs, the 
lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child may make a recommendation to the finder of fact 
regarding whether one or more of the statutory grounds alleged in the petition have been 
proven.

(E) Verdict. In a child protective proceeding, the verdict must be whether one or more of 
the statutory grounds alleged in the petition have been proven.

(F) Respondent's Rights Following Trial. If the trial results in a verdict that one or more 
statutory grounds for jurisdiction has been proven, the court shall advise the respondent 
orally or in writing that: 

(1) appellate review is available to challenge any errors in the adjudicatory process, 
which may be challenged in an appeal from the court’s initial order of disposition,

(2) an indigent respondent is entitled to appointment of an attorney to represent the 
respondent on any appeal as of right and to preparation of transcripts, and 

(3) the respondent may be barred from challenging the assumption of jurisdiction if 
they do not timely file an appeal under MCR 7.204 or a delayed appeal under MCR 
3.993(C).    

(G) Right to Appellate Review. The respondent may challenge the assumption of 
jurisdiction in an appeal from the order terminating respondent's parental rights if the 
court fails to properly advise the respondent of their right to appeal pursuant to subrule 
(F)(1)-(3).

RULE 3.973 DISPOSITIONAL HEARING

(A) Purpose. A dispositional hearing is conducted to determine what measures the court 
will take with respect to a child properly within its jurisdiction and, when applicable, 
against any adult, once the court has determined following trial, plea of admission, or plea 
of no contest that one or more of the statutory grounds alleged in the petition are true.

(B) Notice. Unless the dispositional hearing is held immediately after the trial, notice of 
hearing may be given by scheduling it on the record in the presence of the parties or in 
accordance with MCR 3.920.

(C) Time. The interval, if any, between the trial and the dispositional hearing is within the 
discretion of the court. When the child is in placement, the interval may not be more than 
28 days, except for good cause.

(D) Presence of Parties.
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(1) The child may be excused from the dispositional hearing as the interests of the 
child require.

(2) The respondent has the right to be present or may appear through an attorney.

(3) The court may proceed in the absence of parties provided that proper notice has 
been given.

(E) Evidence; Reports.

(1) The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply at the initial dispositional hearing, 
other than those with respect to privileges. However, as provided by MCL 722.631, no 
assertion of an evidentiary privilege, other than the privilege between attorney and 
client, shall prevent the receipt and use, at the dispositional phase, of materials 
prepared pursuant to a court-ordered examination, interview, or course of treatment.

(2) All relevant and material evidence, including oral and written reports, may be 
received and may be relied on to the extent of its probative value. The court shall 
consider the case service plan and any written or oral information concerning the child 
from the child's parent, guardian, legal custodian, foster parent, child caring 
institution, or relative with whom the child is placed. If the agency responsible for the 
care and supervision of the child recommends not placing the child with the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian, the agency shall report in writing what efforts were made 
to prevent removal, or to rectify conditions that caused removal, of the child from the 
home.

(3) The parties shall be given an opportunity to examine and controvert written reports 
so received and may be allowed to cross-examine individuals making the reports when 
those individuals are reasonably available.

(4) Written reports, other than those portions made confidential by law, case service 
plans, and court orders, including all updates and revisions, shall be available to the 
foster parent, child caring institution, or relative with whom the child is placed. The 
foster parents, child caring institution, or relative with whom the child is placed shall 
not have the right to cross-examine individuals making such reports or the right to 
controvert such reports beyond the making of a written or oral statement concerning 
the child as provided in subrule (E)(2).

(5) Reports in the Agency’s case file, including but not limited to case services plans, 
treatment plans, substance abuse evaluations, psychological evaluations, therapists’ 
reports, drug and alcohol screening results, contracted service provider reports, and 
parenting time logs shall be provided to the court and parties no less than seven (7) 
days before the hearing.

(6)The court, upon receipt of a local foster care review board’s report, shall include the 
report in the court’s confidential social file. The court shall ensure that all parties have 
had the opportunity to review the report and file objections before a dispositional 
order, dispositional review order, or permanency planning order is entered. The court 
may at its discretion include recommendations from the report in its orders.

(F) Dispositional Orders.
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(1) The court shall enter an order of disposition as provided in the Juvenile Code and 
these rules.

(2) The court shall not enter an order of disposition until it has examined the case 
service plan as provided in MCL 712A.18f. The court may order compliance with all 
or part of the case service plan and may enter such orders as it considers necessary in 
the interest of the child.

(3) The court, on consideration of the written report prepared by the agency 
responsible for the care and supervision of the child pursuant to MCL 712A.18f(1), 
shall, when appropriate, include a statement in the order of disposition as to whether 
reasonable efforts were made:

(a) to prevent the child's removal from home, or

(b) to rectify the conditions that caused the child to be removed from the child's 
home.

(4) Medical Information. Unless the court has previously ordered the release of 
medical information, the order placing the child in foster care must include the 
following:

(a) an order that the child's parent, guardian, or legal custodian provide the 
supervising agency with the name and address of each of the child's medical 
providers, and

(b) an order that each of the child's medical providers release the child's medical 
records.

(5) Child Support. The court may include an order requiring one or both of the child’s 
parents to pay child support. All child support orders entered under this subrule must 
comply with MCL 552.605 and MCR 3.211(D).

(G) Respondent's Rights Upon Entry of Dispositional Order.  When the court enters an 
initial order of disposition following adjudication the court shall advise the respondent 
orally or in writing:

(1) that at any time while the court retains jurisdiction over the minor, the respondent 
may challenge the continuing exercise of that jurisdiction by filing a motion for 
rehearing under MCL 712A.21 or by filing an application for leave to appeal with the 
Michigan Court of Appeals,

(2) that appellate review is available to challenge the court’s initial order of disposition 
following adjudication,

(3) that an indigent respondent is entitled to appointment of an attorney to represent 
the respondent on any appeal as of right and to preparation of transcripts, and 

(4) the respondent may be barred from challenging the assumption of jurisdiction or 
the removal of the minor from a parent's care and custody in an appeal from the order 
terminating parental rights if they do not timely file an appeal under MCR 7.204 or a 
delayed appeal under MCR 3.993(C).
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(H) Right to Appellate Review. The respondent may challenge the assumption of 
jurisdiction in an appeal from the order terminating respondent's parental rights if the 
respondent's parental rights are terminated at the initial dispositional hearing pursuant to 
MCR 3.977(E). In addition, the respondent may challenge the assumption of jurisdiction 
in an appeal from the order terminating respondent's parental rights if the court fails to 
properly advise the respondent of their right to appeal pursuant to subrule (G)(2)-(4).

(I) Subsequent Review. When the court does not terminate jurisdiction upon entering its 
dispositional order, it must:

(1) follow the review procedures in MCR 3.975 for a child in placement, or

(2) review the progress of a child at home pursuant to the procedures of MCR 
3.974(A).

(J) Allegations of Additional Abuse or Neglect.

(1) Proceedings on a supplemental petition seeking termination of parental rights on 
the basis of allegations of additional abuse or neglect, as defined in MCL 722.622(g) 
and (k), of a child who is under the jurisdiction of the court are governed by MCR 
3.977.

(2) Where there is no request for termination of parental rights, proceedings regarding 
allegations of additional abuse or neglect, as defined in MCL 722.622(g) and (k), of a 
child who is under the jurisdiction of the court, including those made under MCL 
712A.19(1), are governed by MCR 3.974 for a child who is at home or MCR 3.975 for 
a child who is in foster care.

RULE 3.974 PROCEDURES FOR CHILD AT HOME; PETITION AUTHORIZED

(A) Review of Child's Progress.

(1) General. The court shall periodically review the progress of a child not in foster 
care over whom it has taken jurisdiction. 

(2) Time. If the child was never removed from the home, the progress of the child 
must be reviewed no later than 182 days from the date the petition was authorized and 
no later than 91 days after that for the first year that the child is subject to the 
jurisdiction of the court. After that first year, a review hearing shall be held no later 
than 182 days from the immediately preceding review hearing before the end of the 
first year and no later than every 182 days from each preceding hearing until the court 
terminates its jurisdiction. The review shall occur no later than 182 days after the child 
returns home when the child is no longer in foster care. If the child was removed from 
the home and subsequently returned home, review hearings shall be held in 
accordance with MCR 3.975.

(3) Change of Placement. Except as provided in subrule (C), the court may not order a 
change in the placement of a child without a hearing. If the child for whom the court 
has authorized a petition remains at home or has otherwise returned home from foster 
care, and it comes to the court’s attention at a review hearing held pursuant to subrule 
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(A)(2), or as otherwise provided in this rule, that the child should be removed from the 
home, the court may order the placement of the child. If the court orders the child to be 
placed out of the home following a review hearing held pursuant to subrule (A)(2), the 
parent must be present and the court shall comply with the placement provisions in 
MCR 3.965(C). If the parent is not present, the court shall proceed under subrule (C) 
before it may order removal. If the child is an Indian child, in addition to a hearing 
held in accordance with this rule, the court must also conduct a removal hearing in 
accordance with MCR 3.967 before it may order the placement of the Indian child.

(B)Hearing on Petition for Out-of-Home Placement.

(1)Preadjudication. If a child for whom a petition has been authorized under MCR 
3.962 or MCR 3.965 is not yet under the jurisdiction of the court and an amended 
petition has been filed to remove the child from the home, the court shall conduct a 
hearing on the petition in accordance with MCR 3.965.

(2)Postadjudication. If a child is under the jurisdiction of the court and a supplemental 
petition has been filed to remove the child from the home, the court shall conduct a 
hearing on the petition. The court shall ensure that the parties are given notice of the 
hearing as provided in MCR 3.920 and MCR 3.921. Unless the child remains in the 
home, the court shall comply with the placement provisions in MCR 3.965(C) and 
must make a written determination that the criteria for placement listed in MCR 
3.965(C)(2) are satisfied. If the court orders that the child be placed out of the home, 
the court shall proceed under subrule (D).

(C) Emergency Removal; Protective Custody.

(1) General. If a child for whom the court has authorized an original petition remains 
at home or is returned home following a hearing pursuant to the rules in this 
subchapter, the court may order the child to be taken into protective custody pending 
an emergency removal hearing pursuant to the conditions listed in MCR 3.963(B)(1) 
and upon receipt, electronically or otherwise, of a petition or affidavit of fact. If the 
child is an Indian child and the child resides or is domiciled within a reservation, but is 
temporarily located off the reservation, the court may order the child to be taken into 
protective custody only when necessary to prevent imminent physical damage or harm 
to the child. 

(2) Notice. The court shall ensure that the parties are given notice of the emergency 
removal hearing as provided in MCR 3.920 and MCR 3.921.

(3) Emergency Removal Hearing. If the court orders the child to be taken into 
protective custody under MCR 3.963, the court must conduct an emergency removal 
hearing no later than 24 hours after the child has been taken into custody, excluding 
Sundays and holidays as defined in MCR 8.110(D)(2). If the child is an Indian child, 
the court must also conduct a removal hearing in accordance with MCR 3.967 in order 
for the child to remain removed from a parent or Indian custodian. 
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(a)Preadjudication. If a child for whom a petition has been authorized under MCR 
3.962 or MCR 3.965 is not yet under the jurisdiction of the court, the emergency 
removal hearing shall be conducted in the manner provided by MCR 3.965.

(b)Postadjudication. If a child is under the jurisdiction of the court, unless the child 
is returned to the parent pending disposition or dispositional review, the court shall 
comply with the placement provisions in MCR 3.965(C) and must make a written 
determination that the criteria for placement listed in MCR 3.965(C)(2) are 
satisfied. The parent, guardian, or legal custodian from whom the child was 
removed must be given an opportunity to state why the child should not be 
removed from, or should be returned to, the custody of the parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian.

The respondent parent, guardian, or legal custodian from whom the child is 
removed must receive a written statement of the reasons for removal and be 
advised of the following rights at a hearing to be held under subrule (D):

(i) to be represented by an attorney at the hearing;

(ii) to contest the continuing placement at the hearing within 14 days; and

(iii) to use compulsory process to obtain witnesses for the hearing.

(D) Procedure Following Postadjudication Out-of-Home Placement. If the child is in 
placement under subrule (B)(2) or (C)(3)(b), the court shall proceed as follows:

(1)If the court has not held a dispositional hearing under MCR 3.973, the court shall 
conduct the dispositional hearing within 28 days after the child is placed by the court, 
except for good cause shown.

(2)If the court has already held a dispositional hearing under MCR 3.973, a 
dispositional review hearing must commence no later than 14 days after the child is 
placed by the court, except for good cause shown. The dispositional review hearing 
may be combined with the removal hearing for an Indian child prescribed by MCR 
3.967. The dispositional review hearing must be conducted in accordance with the 
procedures and rules of evidence applicable to a dispositional hearing.

(3) The court shall advise the parent, guardian, or legal custodian of the right to appeal 
the order removing the child from a parent’s care or custody.

RULE 3.975 POST-DISPOSITIONAL PROCEDURES: CHILD IN FOSTER CARE

(A) Dispositional Review Hearings. A dispositional review hearing is conducted to permit 
court review of the progress made to comply with any order of disposition and with the 
case service plan prepared pursuant to MCL 712A.18f and court evaluation of the 
continued need and appropriateness for the child to be in foster care; and to permit the 
court to approve or disapprove of the child’s initial or continued placement in a qualified 
residential treatment program.
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(B) Notice. The court shall ensure that written notice of a dispositional review hearing is 
given to the appropriate persons in accordance with MCR. 3.920 and MCR 3.921(B)(2). 
The notice must inform the parties of their opportunity to participate in the hearing and 
that any information they wish to provide should be submitted in advance to the court, the 
agency, the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child, or an attorney for one of the parties.

(C) Time. The court must conduct dispositional review hearings at intervals as follows, as 
long as the child remains in foster care:

(1) not more than 182 days after the child’s removal from his or her home and no later 
than every 91 days after that for the first year that the child is subject to the jurisdiction 
of the court. After the first year that the child has been removed from his or her home 
and is subject to the jurisdiction of the court, a review hearing shall be held not more 
than 182 days from the immediately preceding review hearing before the end of that 
first year and no later than every 182 days from each preceding review hearing 
thereafter until the case is dismissed; or

(2) if a child is under the care and supervision of the agency and is either placed with a 
relative and the placement is intended to be permanent or is in a permanent foster 
family agreement, not more than 182 days after the child has been removed from his or 
her home and no later than 182 days after that so long as the child is subject to the 
jurisdiction of the court, the Michigan Children’s Institute, or other agency as 
provided in MCR 3.976(E)(3).

A review hearing under this subrule shall not be canceled or delayed beyond the 
number of days required in this subrule, regardless of whether a petition to terminate 
parental rights or another matter is pending.

(D) Early Review Option. At the initial dispositional hearing and at every regularly 
scheduled dispositional review hearing, the court must decide whether it will conduct the 
next dispositional review hearing before what would otherwise be the next regularly 
scheduled dispositional review hearing as provided in subrule (C). In deciding whether to 
shorten the interval between review hearings, the court shall, among other factors, 
consider:

(1) the ability and motivation of the parent, guardian, or legal custodian to make 
changes needed to provide the child a suitable home environment;

(2) the reasonable likelihood that the child will be ready to return home earlier than the 
next scheduled dispositional review hearing.

(E) Procedure. Dispositional review hearings must be conducted in accordance with the 
procedures and rules of evidence applicable to the initial dispositional hearing. The 
Agency shall provide to all parties all reports in its case file, including but not limited to 
initial and updated case service plans, treatment plans, psychological evaluations, 
psychiatric evaluations, substance abuse evaluations, drug and alcohol screens, therapists’ 
reports, contracted service provider reports, and parenting time logs. The reports shall be 
provided to the parties at least seven (7) days before the hearing. The reports that are filed 
with the court must be offered into evidence. The court shall consider any written or oral 
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information concerning the child from the child's parent, guardian, legal custodian, foster 
parent, child caring institution, or relative with whom a child is placed, in addition to any 
other relevant and material evidence at the hearing. The court, on request of a party or on 
its own motion, may accelerate the hearing to consider any element of a case service plan. 
The court, upon receipt of a local foster care review board’s report, shall include the report 
in the court’s confidential social file. The court shall ensure that all parties have had the 
opportunity to review the report and file objections before a dispositional order, 
dispositional review order, or permanency planning order is entered. The court may at its 
discretion include recommendations from the report in its orders.

(F) Criteria.

(1) Review of Case Service Plan. The court, in reviewing the progress toward 
compliance with the case service plan, must consider:

(a) the services provided or offered to the child and parent, guardian, or legal 
custodian of the child;

(b) whether the parent, guardian, or legal custodian has benefited from the services 
provided or offered;

(c) the extent of parenting time or visitation, including a determination regarding 
the reasons either was not frequent or never occurred;

(d) the extent to which the parent, guardian, or legal custodian complied with each 
provision of the case service plan, prior court orders, and any agreement between 
the parent, guardian, or legal custodian and the agency;

(e) any likely harm to the child if the child continues to be separated from his or 
her parent, guardian, or custodian; 

(f) any likely harm to the child if the child is returned to the parent, guardian, or 
legal custodian; and

(g)if the child is an Indian child, whether the child’s placement remains 
appropriate and complies with MCR 3.967(F).

(2) Progress Toward Returning Child Home. The court must decide the extent of the 
progress made toward alleviating or mitigating conditions that caused the child to be, 
and to remain, in foster care. The court shall also review the concurrent plan, if 
applicable.

(3) Review of Placement in Qualified Residential Treatment Program. Where a child 
remains placed in a qualified residential treatment program, the court shall review the 
evidence submitted by the Agency, approve or disapprove of the placement, and make 
individualized findings as to:

(a) whether the needs of the child can be met through placement in a foster home; 
or if not,

(b) whether the placement provides the most effective and appropriate level of care 
for the child in the least restrictive environment; and
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(c) whether the placement is consistent with the short- and long-term goals for the 
child, as specified in the permanency plan for the child.

(G) Dispositional Review Orders. The court, following a dispositional review hearing, 
may:

(1) order the return of the child home,

(2) change the placement of the child,

(3) modify the dispositional order,

(4) modify any part of the case service plan,

(5) enter a new dispositional order, or

(6) continue the prior dispositional order.

(H) Returning Child Home Without Dispositional Review Hearing. Unless notice is 
waived, if not less than 7 days written notice is given to all parties before the return of a 
child to the home, and if no party requests a hearing within the 7 days, the court may issue 
an order without a hearing permitting the agency to return the child home.

RULE 3.976 PERMANENCY PLANNING HEARINGS

(A) Permanency Plan. At or before each permanency planning hearing, the court must 
determine whether the agency has made reasonable efforts to finalize the permanency 
plan. At the hearing, the court must review the permanency plan for a child in foster care. 
The court must determine whether and, if applicable, when:

(1) the child may be returned to the parent, guardian, or legal custodian;

(2) a petition to terminate parental rights should be filed;

(3) the child may be placed in a legal guardianship;

(4) the child may be permanently placed with a fit and willing relative; or

(5) the child may be placed in another planned permanent living arrangement, but only 
in those cases where the agency has documented to the court a compelling reason for 
determining that it would not be in the best interests of the child to follow one of the 
options listed in subrules (1)-(4).

(B) Time.

(1) An initial permanency planning hearing must be held within 28 days after a 
judicial determination that reasonable efforts to reunite the family or to prevent 
removal are not required given one of the following circumstances:

(a) There has been a judicial determination that the child’s parent has subjected the 
child to aggravated circumstances as listed in sections 18(1) and (2) of the Child 
Protection Law, 1975 PA 238, MCL 722.638.

 (b) The parent has been convicted of one of the following:
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(i) murder of another child of the parent;

(ii) voluntary manslaughter of another child of the parent;

(iii) aiding or abetting, attempting, conspiring, or soliciting to commit such a 
murder or such a voluntary manslaughter; or

(iv) a felony assault that results in serious bodily injury to the child or another 
child of the parent.

(c) The parent has had rights to one of the child’s siblings involuntarily terminated.

(2) If subrule (1) does not apply, the court must conduct an initial permanency 
planning hearing no later than 12 months after the child’s removal from the home, 
regardless of whether any supplemental petitions are pending in the case. 

(3) Requirement of Annual Permanency Planning Hearings. During the continuation 
of foster care, the court must hold permanency planning hearings beginning no later 
than 12 months after the initial permanency planning hearing. The interval between 
permanency planning hearings is within the discretion of the court as appropriate to 
the circumstances of the case, but must not exceed 12 months. The court may combine 
the permanency planning hearing with a review hearing.

(4) The judicial determination to finalize the court-approved permanency plan must be 
made within the time limits prescribed in subsections (1)-(3).

(C) Notice. The parties entitled to participate in a permanency planning hearing include 
the:

(1) parents of the child, if the parent’s parental rights have not been terminated, 

(2) child, if the child is of an appropriate age to participate, 

(3) guardian,

(4) legal custodian,

(5) foster parents, 

(6) pre-adoptive parents, 

(7) relative caregivers, and

(8) if the child is an Indian child, the child’s tribe.

Written notice of a permanency planning hearing must be given as provided in MCR 
3.920 and MCR 3.921(B)(2). The notice must include a brief statement of the purpose of the 
hearing, and must include a notice that the hearing may result in further proceedings to terminate 
parental rights. The notice must inform the parties of their opportunity to participate in the hearing 
and that any information they wish to provide should be submitted in advance to the court, the 
agency, the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child, or an attorney for one of the parties.

(D) Hearing Procedure; Evidence.
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(1) Procedure. Each permanency planning hearing must be conducted by a judge or a 
referee. Paper reviews, ex parte hearings, stipulated orders, or other actions that are 
not open to the participation of (a) the parents of the child, unless parental rights have 
been terminated; (b) the child, if of appropriate age; and (c) foster parents or 
preadoptive parents, if any, are not permanency planning hearings.

(2) Evidence. The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not apply, other than those with 
respect to privileges, except to the extent such privileges are abrogated by MCL 
722.631. At the permanency planning hearing all relevant and material evidence, 
including oral and written reports, may be received by the court and may be relied 
upon to the extent of its probative value. The court must consider any written or oral 
information concerning the child from the child's parent, guardian, custodian, foster 
parent, child caring institution, or relative with whom the child is placed, in addition to 
any other evidence offered at the hearing. The court shall obtain the child’s views 
regarding the permanency plan in a manner appropriate to the child’s age. The parties 
must be afforded an opportunity to examine and controvert written reports received 
and may be allowed to cross-examine individuals who made the reports when those 
individuals are reasonably available.

(3)The court, upon receipt of a local foster care review board’s report, shall include the 
report in the court’s confidential social file. The court shall ensure that all parties have 
had the opportunity to review the report and file objections before a dispositional 
order, dispositional review order, or permanency planning order is entered. The court 
may at its discretion include recommendations from the report in its orders.

(4) Written reports in the Agency case file, including but not limited to case service 
plans, treatment plans, substance abuse evaluations, psychological evaluations, 
therapists’ reports, drug and alcohol screens, contracted service provider reports, and 
parenting time logs, shall be provided to the court and parties no less than seven (7) 
days before the hearing.

(E) Determinations; Permanency Options.

(1) In the case of a child who will not be returned home, the court shall consider in-
state and out-of-state placement options. In the case of a child placed out of state, the 
court shall determine whether the out-of-state placement continues to be appropriate 
and in the child’s best interests. The court shall ensure that the agency is providing 
appropriate services to assist a child who will transition from foster care to 
independent living.

(2) Determining Whether to Return Child Home. At the conclusion of a permanency 
planning hearing, the court must order the child returned home unless it determines 
that the return would cause a substantial risk of harm to the life, the physical health, or 
the mental well-being of the child. Failure to substantially comply with the case 
service plan is evidence that the return of the child to the parent may cause a 
substantial risk of harm to the child's life, physical health, or mental well-being. In 
addition, the court shall consider any condition or circumstance of the child that may 
be evidence that a return to the parent would cause a substantial risk of harm to the 
child’s life, physical health, or mental well-being. If the court does not order the child 
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returned home, and the child remains in a qualified residential treatment program, the 
court shall:

(a) review the evidence submitted by the Agency, approve or disapprove of the 
placement, and make individualized findings as to:

(i) whether the needs of the child can be met through placement in a family 
foster home; or if not,

(ii) whether the placement provides the most effective and appropriate level of 
care for the child in the least restrictive environment; and

(iii) whether the placement is consistent with the short- and longterm goals for 
the child, as specified in the permanency plan of the child.

(3) Continuing Foster Care Pending Determination on Termination of Parental Rights. 
If the court determines at a permanency planning hearing that the child should not be 
returned home, it may order the agency to initiate proceedings to terminate parental 
rights. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, if the child has been in foster 
care under the responsibility of the state for 15 of the most recent 22 months, the court 
shall order the agency to initiate proceedings to terminate parental rights. If the court 
orders the agency to initiate proceedings to terminate parental rights, the order must 
specify the date, or the time within which the petition must be filed. In either case, the 
petition must be filed no later than 28 days after the date the permanency planning 
hearing is concluded. The court is not required to order the agency to initiate 
proceedings to terminate parental rights if one or more of the following apply:

(a)The child is being cared for by relatives.

(b)The case service plan documents a compelling reason for determining that 
filing a petition to terminate parental rights would not be in the best interests of the 
child. A compelling reason not to file a petition to terminate parental rights 
includes, but is not limited to, any of the following:

(i)Adoption is not the appropriate permanency goal for the child.

(ii)No grounds to file a petition to terminate parental rights exist.

(iii)The child is an unaccompanied refugee minor as defined in 45 CFR 
400.111.

(iv)There are international legal obligations or compelling foreign policy 
reasons that preclude terminating parental rights.

(c)The state has not provided the child’s family, during the period set in the case 
service plan, with the services the state considers necessary for the child’s safe 
return to his or her home, if reasonable efforts to reunify the family are required.

If the court does not require the agency to initiate proceedings to terminate 
parental rights under this provision, the court shall state on the record the reason or 
reasons for its decision.
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(4) Other Permanency Plans. If the court does not return the child to the parent, 
guardian, or legal custodian and if the agency demonstrates that termination of 
parental rights is not in the best interests of the child, the court may

(a) continue the placement of the child in foster care for a limited period to be set 
by the court while the agency continues to make reasonable efforts to finalize the 
court-approved permanency plan for the child, 

(b) place the child with a fit and willing relative, 

(c) upon a showing of compelling reasons, place the child in an alternative planned 
permanent living arrangement, or

(d) appoint a juvenile guardian for the child pursuant to MCL 712A.19a and MCR 
3.979.

The court must articulate the factual basis for its determination in the court order 
adopting the permanency plan.

RULE 3.977 TERMINATION OF PARENTAL RIGHTS

(A) General.

(1) This rule applies to all proceedings in which termination of parental rights is 
sought. Proceedings for termination of parental rights involving an Indian child, are 
governed by 25 USC 1912 in addition to this rule. 

(2) Parental rights of the respondent over the child may not be terminated unless 
termination was requested in an original, amended, or supplemental petition by:

(a) the agency,

(b) the child,

(c) the guardian, legal custodian, or representative of the child,

(d) a concerned person as defined in MCL 712A.19b(6),

(e) the state children's ombudsman, or

(f) the prosecuting attorney, without regard to whether the prosecuting attorney is 
representing or acting as a legal consultant to the agency or any other party.

(3) The burden of proof is on the party seeking by court order to terminate the rights of 
the respondent over the child. There is no right to a jury determination.

(B) Definition. When used in this rule, unless the context otherwise indicates, 
“respondent” includes

(1) the natural or adoptive mother of the child;

(2) the father of the child as defined by MCR 3.903(A)(7).
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“Respondent” does not include other persons to whom legal custody has been given by 
court order, persons who are acting in the place of the mother or father, or other persons 
responsible for the control, care, and welfare of the child.

(C) Notice; Priority. 

(1) Notice must be given as provided in MCR 3.920 and MCR 3.921(B)(3).

(2) Hearings on petitions seeking termination of parental rights shall be given the 
highest possible priority consistent with the orderly conduct of the court’s caseload.

(D) Suspension of Parenting Time. If a petition to terminate parental rights to a child is 
filed, the court may suspend parenting time for a parent who is a subject of the petition. 

(E) Termination of Parental Rights at the Initial Disposition. The court shall order 
termination of the parental rights of a respondent at the initial dispositional hearing held 
pursuant to MCR 3.973, and shall order that additional efforts for reunification of the child 
with the respondent shall not be made, if

(1) the original, or amended, petition contains a request for termination;

(2) at the trial or plea proceedings, the trier of fact finds by a preponderance of the 
evidence that one or more of the grounds for assumption of jurisdiction over the child 
under MCL 712A.2(b) have been established;

(3) at the initial disposition hearing, the court finds on the basis of clear and 
convincing legally admissible evidence that had been introduced at the trial or plea 
proceedings, or that is introduced at the dispositional hearing, that one or more facts 
alleged in the petition:

(a) are true, and

(b) establish grounds for termination of parental rights under MCL 
712A.19b(3)(a), (b), (d), (e), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), or (m);

(4) termination of parental rights is in the child’s best interests.

(F) Termination of Parental Rights on the Basis of Different Circumstances. The court 
may take action on a supplemental petition that seeks to terminate the parental rights of a 
respondent over a child already within the jurisdiction of the court on the basis of one or 
more circumstances new or different from the offense that led the court to take 
jurisdiction.

(1) The court must order termination of the parental rights of a respondent, and must 
order that additional efforts for reunification of the child with the respondent must not 
be made, if

(a) the supplemental petition for termination of parental rights contains a request 
for termination;
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(b) at the hearing on the supplemental petition, the court finds on the basis of clear 
and convincing legally admissible evidence that one or more of the facts alleged in 
the supplemental petition:

(i) are true; and

(ii) come within MCL 712A.19b(3)(a), (b), (c)(ii), (d), (e), (f), (g), (i), (j), (k), 
(l), or (m); and

(c) termination of parental rights is in the child’s best interests.

(2) Discovery and Time for Disclosures and Hearing on Petition. Parties shall make 
disclosures as detailed in MCR 3.922(A) at least 21 days prior to the termination 
hearing and have rights to discovery consistent with that rule. The hearing on a 
supplemental petition for termination of parental rights under this subrule shall be held 
within 42 days after the filing of the supplemental petition. The court may, for good 
cause shown, extend the period for an additional 21 days.

(G)Termination of Parental Rights; Indian Child

In addition to the required findings in this rule, the parental rights of a parent of an Indian 
child must not be terminated unless:

(1)the court is satisfied that active efforts as defined in MCR 3.002 have been made to 
provide remedial service and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup 
of the Indian family and that these efforts have proved unsuccessful, and 

(2)the court finds evidence beyond a reasonable doubt, including testimony of at least 
one qualified expert witness as described in MCL 712B.17, that parental rights should 
be terminated because continued custody of the child by the parent or Indian custodian 
will likely result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child. 

(H) Termination of Parental Rights; Other. If the parental rights of a respondent over the 
child were not terminated pursuant to subrule (E) at the initial dispositional hearing or 
pursuant to subrule (F) at a hearing on a supplemental petition on the basis of different 
circumstances, and the child is within the jurisdiction of the court, the court must, if the 
child is in foster care, or may, if the child is not in foster care, following a dispositional 
review hearing under MCR 3.975, a progress review under MCR 3.974, or a permanency 
planning hearing under MCR 3.976, take action on a supplemental petition that seeks to 
terminate the parental rights of a respondent over the child on the basis of one or more 
grounds listed in MCL 712A.19b(3).

(1) Time.

(a) Filing Petition. The supplemental petition for termination of parental rights 
may be filed at any time after the initial dispositional review hearing, progress 
review, or permanency planning hearing, whichever occurs first.

(b) Hearing on Petition. The hearing on a supplemental petition for termination of 
parental rights under this subrule must be held within 42 days after the filing of the 
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supplemental petition. The court may, for good cause shown, extend the period for 
an additional 21 days.

(2) Discovery, Prehearing Disclosures, and Evidence. Parties shall make disclosures as 
detailed in MCR 3.922(A) at least 21 days prior to the termination hearing and have 
rights to discovery consistent with that rule. The Michigan Rules of Evidence do not 
apply at the hearing, other than those with respect to privileges, except to the extent 
such privileges are abrogated by MCL 722.631. At the hearing all relevant and 
material evidence, including oral and written reports, may be received by the court and 
may be relied upon to the extent of its probative value. The parties must be afforded an 
opportunity to examine and controvert written reports received by the court and shall 
be allowed to cross-examine individuals who made the reports when those individuals 
are reasonably available.

(3) Order. The court must order termination of the parental rights of a respondent and 
must order that additional efforts for reunification of the child with the respondent 
must not be made, if the court finds 

(a) on the basis of clear and convincing evidence admitted pursuant to subrule 
(H)(2) that one or more facts alleged in the petition:

(i) are true; and

(ii) come within MCL 712A.19b(3).

(b) that termination of parental rights is in the child’s best interests. 

(I) Findings.

(1) General. The court shall state on the record or in writing its findings of fact and 
conclusions of law. Brief, definite, and pertinent findings and conclusions on 
contested matters are sufficient. If the court does not issue a decision on the record 
following hearing, it shall file its decision within 28 days after the taking of final 
proofs, but no later than 70 days after the commencement of the hearing to terminate 
parental rights.

(2) Denial of Termination. If the court finds that the parental rights of respondent 
should not be terminated, the court must make findings of fact and conclusions of law.

(3) Order of Termination. An order terminating parental rights under the Juvenile 
Code may not be entered unless the court makes findings of fact, states its conclusions 
of law, and includes the statutory basis for the order.

(J) Respondent's Rights Following Termination.

(1) Advice. Immediately after entry of an order terminating parental rights, the court 
shall advise the respondent parent orally or in writing that:

(a) The respondent is entitled to appellate review of the order.

(b) If the respondent is financially unable to provide an attorney to perfect an 
appeal, the court will appoint an attorney and furnish the attorney with the 
complete transcript and record of all proceedings.



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 461   Updated April 26, 2024 

(c) A request for the assistance of an attorney must be made within 21 days after 
notice of the order is given or an order is entered denying a timely filed 
postjudgment motion. The court must then give a form to the respondent with the 
instructions (to be repeated on the form) that if the respondent desires the 
appointment of an attorney, the form must be returned to the court within the 
required period (to be stated on the form).

(d) The respondent has the right to file a denial of release of identifying 
information, a revocation of a denial of release, and to keep current the 
respondent's name and address as provided in MCL 710.27.

(e) The respondent's obligation to support the child will continue until a court of 
competent jurisdiction modifies or terminates the obligation, an order of adoption 
is entered, or the child is emancipated by operation of law. Failure to provide 
required notice under this subsection does not affect the obligation imposed by law 
or otherwise establish a remedy or cause of action on behalf of the parent.

(2) Appointment of Appellate Counsel. Request and appointment of appellate counsel 
is governed by MCR 3.993.

(K) Review Standard. The clearly erroneous standard shall be used in reviewing the 
court's findings on appeal from an order terminating parental rights. On application in 
accordance with Chapter 7 of these rules, the Supreme Court may consider a claim of 
ineffective assistance of appellate counsel, and the Court will review such a claim using 
the standards that apply to criminal law.

RULE 3.978 POST-TERMINATION REVIEW HEARINGS

(A) Review Hearing Requirement. If a child remains in foster care following the 
termination of parental rights to the child, the court must conduct a hearing not more than 
91 days after the termination of parental rights and not later than every 91 days after that 
hearing for the first year following the termination of parental rights to the child. At the 
post-termination review hearing, the court shall review the child's placement in foster care 
and the progress toward the child's adoption or other permanent placement, as long as the 
child is subject to the jurisdiction, control, or supervision of the court, or of the Michigan 
Children's Institute or other agency. If the child is residing in another permanent planned 
living arrangement or is placed with a fit and willing relative and the child’s placement is 
intended to be permanent, the court must conduct a hearing not more than 182 days from 
the preceding review hearing.

(B) Notice; Right to be Heard. The foster parents (if any) of a child and any preadoptive 
parents or relative providing care to the child must be provided with notice of and an 
opportunity to be heard at each hearing.

(C) Findings. The court must make findings on whether reasonable efforts have been 
made to establish permanent placement for the child, and may enter such orders as it 
considers necessary in the best interests of the child, including appointment of a juvenile 
guardian pursuant to MCL 712A.19c and MCR 3.979.
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(D) Termination of Jurisdiction. The jurisdiction of the court in the child protective 
proceeding may terminate when a court of competent jurisdiction enters an order: 

(1) terminating the rights of the entity with legal custody and enters an order placing 
the child for adoption, or

(2) appointing a juvenile guardian under MCR 3.979 after conducting a review hearing 
under subsection (A) of this rule.

RULE 3.979 JUVENILE GUARDIANSHIPS

(A) Appointment of Juvenile Guardian; Process. If the court determines at a 
posttermination review hearing or a permanency planning hearing that it is in the child’s 
best interests, the court may appoint a juvenile guardian for the child pursuant to MCL 
712A.19a or MCL 712A.19c. 

(1) Under MCR 3.979(A), the court shall order the Department of Health and Human 
Services to:

(a) conduct a criminal record check and central registry clearance of the residents 
of the home and submit the results to the court within 7 days; and

(b) perform a home study with a copy to be submitted to the court within 28 days, 
unless a home study has been performed within the immediately preceding 365 
days, in which case a copy of that home study shall be submitted to the court. 

(2) If a child for whom a juvenile guardianship is proposed is in foster care, the court 
shall continue the child’s placement and order the information required above about 
the proposed juvenile guardian. If the information required above has already been 
provided to the court, the court may issue an order appointing the proposed juvenile 
guardian pursuant to subrule (B).

(3) If the parental rights over a child who is the subject of a proposed juvenile 
guardianship have been terminated, the court shall not appoint a guardian without the 
written consent of the Michigan Children’s Institute (MCI) superintendent. The court 
may order the Department of Health and Human Services to seek the consent of the 
MCI superintendent. The consent must be filed with the court no later than 28 days 
after the permanency planning hearing or the posttermination review hearing, or such 
longer time as the court may allow for good cause shown.

(a) If a person denied consent believes that the decision to withhold consent by the 
MCI superintendent is arbitrary or capricious, the person may file a motion with 
the court within 56 days of receipt of the decision to deny consent. A motion under 
this subsection shall contain information regarding both of the following:

(i) the specific steps taken by the person or agency to obtain the consent 
required and the results, if any, and

(ii) the specific reasons why the person or agency believes that the decision to 
withhold consent was arbitrary or capricious.
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(b) If a motion is filed alleging that the MCI superintendent’s failure to consent 
was arbitrary or capricious, the court shall set a hearing date and ensure that notice 
is provided to the MCI superintendent and all parties entitled to notice under MCR 
3.921.

(c) If a hearing is held and the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that 
the decision to withhold consent was arbitrary or capricious, the court may 
approve the guardianship without the consent of the MCI superintendent. 

The court shall determine the continuing necessity and appropriateness of the 
child’s placement. 

(B)Order Appointing Juvenile Guardian. After receiving the information ordered by the 
court under subsection (A)(1), and after finding that appointment of a juvenile guardian is 
in the child’s best interests, the court may enter an order appointing a juvenile guardian.   
The order appointing a juvenile guardian shall be on a form approved by the state court 
administrator. Within 7 days of receiving the information, the court shall enter an order 
appointing a juvenile guardian or schedule the matter for a hearing. A separate order shall 
be entered for each child.

(1)Acceptance of Appointment. A juvenile guardian appointed by the court shall file 
an acceptance of appointment with the court on a form approved by the state court 
administrator. The acceptance shall state, at a minimum, that the juvenile guardian 
accepts the appointment, submits to personal jurisdiction of the court, will not delegate 
the juvenile guardian’s authority, and will perform required duties. 

(2)Letters of Authority. On the filing of the acceptance of appointment, the court shall 
issue letters of authority on a form approved by the state court administrator. Any 
restriction or limitation of the powers of the juvenile guardian must be set forth in the 
letters of authority, including but not limited to, not moving the domicile of the child 
from the state of Michigan without court approval.   

(3)Certification. Certification of the letters of authority and a statement that on a given 
date the letters are in full force and effect may appear on the face of copies furnished 
to the juvenile guardian or interested persons.

(4)Notice. Notice of a proceeding relating to the juvenile guardianship shall be 
delivered or mailed to the juvenile guardian by first-class mail at the juvenile 
guardian’s address as listed in the court records and to his or her address as then 
known to the petitioner. Any notice mailed first class by the court to the juvenile 
guardian’s last address on file shall be considered notice to the juvenile guardian. 

(C)Court Jurisdiction; Review Hearings; Lawyer- Guardian ad Litem. 

(1) Jurisdiction. 

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the court’s jurisdiction over a 
juvenile guardianship shall continue until terminated by court order. The court’s 
jurisdiction over a juvenile under section 2(b) of the Juvenile Code, MCL 
712A.2(b), and the jurisdiction of the MCI under section 3 of 1935 PA 220, MCL 
400.203, shall be terminated after the court appoints a juvenile guardian under this 
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section and conducts a review hearing pursuant to MCR 3.975 when parental 
rights to the child have not been terminated, or a review hearing pursuant to MCR 
3.978 when parental rights to the child have been terminated. 

(b) Unless terminated by court order, the court’s jurisdiction over a juvenile 
guardianship ordered under MCL 712A.19a or MCL 712A.19c for a youth 16 
years of age or older shall continue until 120 days after the youth’s eighteenth 
birthday. Upon notice by the Department of Health and Human Services that 
extended guardianship assistance beyond age 18 will be provided to a youth 
pursuant to MCL 400.665, the court shall retain jurisdiction over the guardianship 
until that youth no longer receives extended guardianship assistance.

(2) Review Hearings. The review hearing following appointment of the juvenile 
guardian must be conducted within 91 days of the most recent review hearing if it has 
been one year or less from the date the child was last removed from the home, or 
within 182 days of the most recent review hearing if it has been more than one year 
from the date the child was last removed from the home. 

(3) Lawyer-Guardian ad Litem. The appointment of the lawyer-guardian ad litem in 
the child protective proceeding terminates upon entry of the order terminating the 
court’s jurisdiction pursuant to MCL 712A.2(b). At any time after a juvenile guardian 
is appointed, the court may reappoint the lawyer-guardian ad litem or may appoint a 
new lawyer-guardian ad litem if the court is satisfied that such action is warranted. A 
lawyer-guardian ad litem appointed under this subrule is subject to the provisions of 
MCL 712A.17d.

(D)Court Responsibilities.

(1)Annual Reviews. 

(a) Review on Condition of Child. The court shall conduct an annual review of a 
juvenile guardianship as to the condition of the child until the child’s eighteenth 
birthday. The review shall be commenced within 63 days after the anniversary date 
of the appointment of the guardian. The court may conduct a review of a juvenile 
guardianship at any time it deems necessary. If the report by the juvenile guardian 
has not been filed as required by subrule (E)(1), the court shall take appropriate 
action.

(b) Review on Extended Guardianship Assistance. If, under subrule (C)(1)(b), the 
Department of Health and Human Services has notified the court that extended 
guardianship assistance has been provided to a youth pursuant to MCL 400.665, 
the court shall conduct an annual review hearing at least once every 12 months 
thereafter to determine that the guardianship meets the criteria under MCL 
400.667. The duty to conduct an annual review hearing on extended guardianship 
assistance shall discontinue when the youth is no longer eligible for extended 
guardianship assistance. Notice of the hearing under this subrule shall be sent to 
the guardian and the youth as provided in MCR 3.920(D)(1). 

(i) The hearing conducted under this subrule may be adjourned up to 28 days 
for good cause shown. 
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(ii) If requested by the court, the guardian must provide proof at the review 
hearing that the youth is in compliance with the criteria of MCL 400.667.

(iii) Following a review hearing under this subrule, the court shall issue an 
order to support its determination and serve the order on the Department of 
Health and Human Services, the guardian, and the youth.

(c) Termination of Juvenile Guardianship. Upon receipt of notice from the 
Department of Health and Human Services that it will not continue extended 
guardianship assistance, the court shall immediately terminate the juvenile 
guardianship.

(2)Investigation. The court shall appoint the Department of Health and Human 
Services or another person to conduct an investigation of the juvenile guardianship of 
a child when deemed appropriate by the court or upon petition by the Department of 
Health and Human Services or an interested person. The investigator shall file a 
written report with the court within 28 days of such appointment and shall serve it on 
the other interested parties listed in MCR 3.921(C). The report shall include a 
recommendation regarding whether the juvenile guardianship should continue or be 
modified and whether a hearing should be scheduled. If the report recommends 
modification, the report shall state the nature of the modification.

(3)Judicial Action. After informal review of the report provided in subrule (D)(2), the 
court shall enter an order denying the modification or set a date for a hearing to be held 
within 28 days. 

(4) Upon notice of a child’s death the court shall enter an order of discharge. The court 
may schedule a hearing on the matter before entering an order of discharge.

(E)Duties and Authority of Guardian Appointed to Juvenile Guardianship. A juvenile 
guardianship approved under these rules is authorized by the Juvenile Code and is distinct 
from a guardianship authorized under the Estates and Protected Individuals Code. A 
juvenile guardian has all the powers and duties of a guardian set forth under section 5215 
of the Estates and Protected Individuals Code.

(1)Report of Juvenile Guardian. A juvenile guardian shall file a written report annually 
within 56 days after the anniversary of appointment and at other times as the court 
may order. Reports must be on a form approved by the state court administrator. The 
juvenile guardian must serve the report on the persons listed in MCR 3.921. 

(2)Petition for Conservator. At the time of appointing a juvenile guardian or during the 
period of the juvenile guardianship, the court shall determine whether there would be 
sufficient assets under the control of the juvenile guardian to require a 
conservatorship. If so, the court shall order the juvenile guardian to petition the 
probate court for a conservator pursuant to MCL 700.5401 et seq.

(3)Address of Juvenile Guardian. The juvenile guardian must keep the court informed 
in writing within 7 days of any change in the juvenile guardian’s address. 

(4) The juvenile guardian shall provide the court and interested persons with written 
notice within 14 days of the child’s death.
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(F)Revocation or Termination of Guardianship.

(1) Motion or Petition. 

(a) Revocation of Juvenile Guardianship. The court shall, on its own motion or 
upon petition from the Department of Health and Human Services or the child’s 
lawyer-guardian ad litem, hold a hearing to determine whether a juvenile 
guardianship established under this section shall be revoked.

(b) Termination of Juvenile Guardian and Appointment of Successor. A juvenile 
guardian or other interested person may petition the court for permission to 
terminate the guardianship. A petition may include a request for appointment of a 
successor juvenile guardian. 

(2) Hearing. If a petition for revocation or termination is filed with the court, the court 
shall hold a hearing within 28 days to determine whether to grant the petition to revoke 
or terminate the juvenile guardianship. The court may order temporary removal of the 
child under MCR 3.963 to protect the health, safety, or welfare of the child, pending 
the revocation or termination hearing. If the court orders removal of the child from the 
juvenile guardian to protect the child’s health, safety, or welfare, the court must 
proceed under MCR 3.974(B).

(3) Investigation and Report. In preparation for the revocation or termination hearing, 
the court shall order the Department of Health and Human Services to perform an 
investigation and file a written report of the investigation. The report shall be filed 
with the court no later than 7 days before the hearing. The report shall include the 
reasons for terminating a juvenile guardianship or revoking a juvenile guardianship, 
and a recommendation regarding temporary placement, if necessary.

(4)Notice. The court shall ensure that interested persons are given notice of the hearing 
as provided in MCR 3.920 and MCR 3.921.   The court may proceed in the absence of 
interested persons provided that proper notice has been given. The notice must inform 
the interested persons of their opportunity to participate in the hearing and that any 
information they wish to provide should be submitted in advance to the court, the 
agency, the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child, and an attorney for one of the 
parties.

(5)Action Following Motion or Petition to Revoke Juvenile Guardianship. After notice 
and a hearing on a petition to revoke the juvenile guardianship, if the court finds by a 
preponderance of evidence that continuation of the juvenile guardianship is not in the 
child’s best interests, and upon finding that it is contrary to the welfare of the child to 
be placed in or remain in the juvenile guardian’s home and that reasonable efforts 
were made to prevent removal, the court shall revoke the juvenile guardianship.   The 
court shall enter an order revoking the juvenile guardianship and placing the child 
under the care and supervision of the Department of Health and Human Services on a 
form approved by the state court administrator. Jurisdiction over the child under MCL 
712A.2(b) is reinstated under the previous child protective proceeding upon entry of 
the order revoking the juvenile guardianship. 

(6)Action Following Petition to Terminate Appointment of Juvenile Guardian. After 
notice and a hearing on a petition to terminate the appointment of a juvenile guardian, 
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if the court finds it is in the child’s best interests to terminate the appointment and if 
there is:

(a) no successor, the court shall proceed according to subrule (F)(5); or

(b) a successor, the court shall terminate the appointment of the juvenile guardian 
and proceed with an investigation and appointment of a successor juvenile 
guardian in accordance with the requirements of this rule, and the court’s 
jurisdiction over the juvenile guardianship shall continue. An order terminating a 
juvenile guardianship and appointing a successor juvenile guardian shall be 
entered on a form approved by the state court administrator.

(7)Dispositional Review Hearing. The court shall hold a dispositional review hearing 
pursuant to MCR 3.973 or MCR 3.978 within 42 days of revocation of a juvenile 
guardianship. The Department of Health and Human Services shall prepare a case 
service plan and file it with the court no later than 7 days before the hearing. 
Subsequent postdispositional review hearings shall be scheduled in conformity with 
MCR 3.974 and MCR 3.975.

RULE 3.981 MINOR PERSONAL PROTECTION ORDERS; ISSUANCE; MODIFICATION; RECISION; 
APPEAL

Procedure for the issuance, dismissal, modification, or recision of minor personal 
protection orders is governed by subchapter 3.700. Procedure in appeals related to minor personal 
protection orders is governed by MCR 3.709 and MCR 3.993.

RULE 3.982 ENFORCEMENT OF MINOR PERSONAL PROTECTION ORDERS

(A) In General. A minor personal protection order is enforceable under MCL 
600.2950(22), (25), 600.2950a(22), (25), 764.15b, and 600.1701 et seq. For the purpose of 
MCR 3.981-3.989, “minor personal protection order” includes a foreign protection order 
against a minor respondent enforceable in Michigan under MCL 600.2950l.

(B) Procedure. Unless indicated otherwise in these rules, contempt proceedings for the 
enforcement of minor personal protection orders where the respondent is under 18 years 
of age are governed by MCR 3.982-3.989.

(C) Form of Proceeding. A contempt proceeding brought in a court other than the one that 
issued the minor personal protection order shall be entitled “In the Matter of Contempt of 
[Respondent], a minor”. The clerk shall provide a copy of the contempt proceeding to the 
court that issued the minor personal protection order.

RULE 3.983 INITIATION OF CONTEMPT PROCEEDINGS BY SUPPLEMENTAL PETITION

(A) Filing. If a respondent allegedly violates a minor personal protection order, the 
original petitioner, a law enforcement officer, a prosecuting attorney, a probation officer, 
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or a caseworker may submit a supplemental petition in writing to have the respondent 
found in contempt. The supplemental petition must contain a specific description of the 
facts constituting a violation of the personal protection order. There is no fee for such a 
petition.

(B) Scheduling. Upon receiving the supplemental petition, the court must either:

(1) set a date for a preliminary hearing on the supplemental petition, to be held as soon 
as practicable, and issue a summons to appear; or

(2) issue an order authorizing a peace officer or other person designated by the court to 
apprehend the respondent.

(C) Service. If the court sets a date for a preliminary hearing, the petitioner shall serve the 
supplemental petition and summons on the respondent and, if the relevant addresses are 
known or are ascertainable upon diligent inquiry, on the respondent's parent or parents, 
guardian, or custodian. Service must be in the manner provided by MCR 3.920 at least 7 
days before the preliminary hearing.

(D) Order to Apprehend.

(1) A court order to apprehend the respondent may include authorization to:

(a) enter specified premises as required to bring the minor before the court, and

(b) detain the minor pending preliminary hearing if it appears there is a substantial 
likelihood of retaliation or continued violation.

(2) Upon apprehending a minor respondent under a court order, the officer shall 
comply with MCR 3.984(B) and (C).

RULE 3.984 APPREHENSION OF ALLEGED VIOLATOR

(A) Apprehension; Release to Parent, Guardian, or Custodian. When an officer 
apprehends a minor for violation of a minor personal protection order without a court 
order for apprehension and does not warn and release the minor, the officer may accept a 
written promise of the minor's parent, guardian, or custodian to bring the minor to court, 
and release the minor to the parent, guardian, or custodian.

(B) Custody; Detention. When an officer apprehends a minor in relation to a minor 
personal protection order pursuant to a court order that specifies that the minor is to be 
brought directly to court; or when an officer apprehends a minor for an alleged violation 
of a minor personal protection order without a court order, and either the officer has failed 
to obtain a written promise from the minor's parent, guardian, or custodian to bring the 
minor to court, or it appears to the officer that there is a substantial likelihood of retaliation 
or violation by the minor, the officer shall immediately do the following:

(1) If the whereabouts of the minor's parent or parents, guardian, or custodian is 
known, inform the minor's parent or parents, guardian, or custodian of the minor's 
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apprehension and of the minor's whereabouts and of the need for the parent or parents, 
guardian, or custodian to be present at the preliminary hearing;

(2) Take the minor

(a) before the court for a preliminary hearing, or

(b) to a place designated by the court pending the scheduling of a preliminary 
hearing;

(3) Prepare a custody statement for submission to the court including:

(a) the grounds for and the time and location of detention, and

(b) the names of persons notified and the times of notification, or the reason for 
failure to notify; and

(4) Ensure that a supplemental petition is prepared and filed with the court.

(C) Separate Custody. While awaiting arrival of the parent, guardian, or custodian, 
appearance before the court, or otherwise, a minor under 17 years of age must be 
maintained separately from adult prisoners to prevent any verbal, visual, or physical 
contact with an adult prisoner.

(D) Designated Court Person. The court must designate a judge, referee or other person 
who may be contacted by the officer taking a minor under 17 into custody when the court 
is not open. In each county there must be a designated facility open at all times at which an 
officer may obtain the name of the person to be contacted for permission to detain the 
minor pending preliminary hearing.

(E) Out-of-County Violation. Subject to MCR 3.985(H), if a minor is apprehended for 
violation of a minor personal protection order in a jurisdiction other than the jurisdiction 
where the minor personal protection order was issued, the apprehending jurisdiction may 
notify the issuing jurisdiction that it may request that the respondent be returned to the 
issuing jurisdiction for enforcement proceedings.

RULE 3.985 PRELIMINARY HEARING

(A) Time.

(1) Commencement. If the respondent was apprehended or arrested for violation of a 
minor personal protection order or was apprehended or arrested under a court order, 
and the respondent is taken into court custody or is jailed, the preliminary hearing 
must commence no later than 24 hours after the minor was apprehended or arrested, 
excluding Sundays and holidays, as defined in MCR 8.110(D)(2), or the minor must 
be released. Otherwise, the preliminary hearing must commence as soon as practicable 
after the apprehension or arrest, or the submission of a supplemental petition.

(2) General Adjournment. The court may adjourn the hearing for up to 14 days:

(a) to secure the attendance of witnesses or the minor's parent, guardian, or 
custodian, or
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(b) for other good cause shown.

(B) Procedure.

(1) The court shall determine whether the parent, guardian, or custodian has been 
notified and is present. The preliminary hearing may be conducted without a 
parent, guardian, or custodian provided a guardian ad litem or attorney appears 
with the minor.

(2) Unless waived by the respondent, the court shall read the allegations in the 
supplemental petition, and ensure that the respondent has received written notice 
of the alleged violation.

(3) Immediately after the reading of the allegations, the court shall advise the 
respondent on the record in plain language of the rights to:

(a) contest the allegations at a violation hearing;

(b) an attorney at every stage in the proceedings, and, if the court determines it 
might sentence the respondent to jail or place the respondent in secure 
detention, the fact that the court will appoint an attorney at public expense if 
the respondent wants one and is financially unable to retain one;

(c) a nonjury trial and that a referee may be assigned to hear the case unless 
demand for a judge is filed pursuant to MCR 3.912;

(d) have witnesses against the respondent appear at a violation hearing and to 
question the witnesses;

(e) have the court order any witnesses for the respondent's defense to appear at 
the hearing; and

(f) remain silent and to not have that silence used against the respondent, and 
that any statement by the respondent may be used against the respondent.

(4) The court must decide whether to authorize the filing of the supplemental petition 
and proceed formally, or to dismiss the supplemental petition.

(5) The respondent must be allowed an opportunity to deny or otherwise plead to the 
allegations. If the respondent wishes to enter a plea of admission or of nolo 
contendere, the court shall follow MCR 3.986.

(6) If the court authorizes the filing of the supplemental petition, the court must:

(a) set a date and time for the violation hearing, or, if the court accepts a plea of 
admission or no contest, either enter a dispositional order or set the matter for 
dispositional hearing; and

(b) either release the respondent pursuant to subrule (E) or order detention of the 
respondent as provided in subrule (F).

(C) Notification. Following the preliminary hearing, if the respondent denies the 
allegations in the supplemental petition, the court must:

(1) notify the prosecuting attorney of the scheduled violation hearing;
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(2) notify the respondent, respondent's attorney, if any, and respondent's parents, 
guardian, or custodian of the scheduled violation hearing and direct the parties to 
appear at the hearing and give evidence on the charge of contempt.

Notice of hearing must be given by personal service or ordinary mail at least 7 days 
before the violation hearing, unless the respondent is detained, in which case notice of 
hearing must be served at least 24 hours before the hearing.

(D) Failure to Appear. If the respondent was notified of the preliminary hearing and fails 
to appear for the preliminary hearing, the court may issue an order in accordance with 
MCR 3.983(D) authorizing a peace officer or other person designated by the court to 
apprehend the respondent.

(1) If the respondent is under 17 years of age, the court may order the respondent 
detained pending a hearing on the apprehension order; if the court releases the 
respondent it may set bond for the respondent's appearance at the violation hearing.

(2) If the respondent is 17 years of age, the court may order the respondent confined to 
jail pending a hearing on the apprehension order. If the court releases the respondent it 
must set bond for the respondent's appearance at the violation hearing.

(E) Release of Respondent.

(1) Subject to the conditions set forth in subrule (F), the respondent may be released, 
with conditions, to a parent, guardian, or custodian pending the resumption of the 
preliminary hearing or pending the violation hearing after the court considers available 
information on

(a) family ties and relationships,

(b) the minor's prior juvenile delinquency or minor personal protection order 
record, if any,

(c) the minor's record of appearance or nonappearance at court proceedings,

(d) the violent nature of the alleged violation,

(e) the minor's prior history of committing acts that resulted in bodily injury to 
others,

(f) the minor's character and mental condition,

(g) the court's ability to supervise the minor if placed with a parent or relative,

(h) the likelihood of retaliation or violation of the order by the respondent, and

(i) any other factors indicating the minor's ties to the community, the risk of 
nonappearance, and the danger to the respondent or the original petitioner if the 
respondent is released.

(2) Bail procedure is governed by MCR 3.935(F).

(F) Detention Pending Violation Hearing.
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(1) Conditions. A minor shall not be removed from the parent, guardian, or custodian 
pending violation hearing or further court order unless:

(a) probable cause exists to believe the minor violated the minor personal 
protection order; and

(b) at the preliminary hearing the court finds one or more of the following 
circumstances to be present:

(i) there is a substantial likelihood of retaliation or continued violation by the 
minor who allegedly violated the minor personal protection order;

(ii) there is a substantial likelihood that if the minor is released to the parent, 
with or without conditions, the minor will fail to appear at the next court 
proceeding; or

(iii) detention pending violation hearing is otherwise specifically authorized by 
law.

(2) Waiver. A minor respondent in custody may waive the probable cause phase of a 
detention determination only if the minor is represented by an attorney.

(3) Evidence; Findings. At the preliminary hearing the minor respondent may contest 
the sufficiency of evidence to support detention by cross-examination of witnesses, 
presentation of defense witnesses, or by other evidence. The court shall permit the use 
of subpoena power to secure attendance of defense witnesses. A finding of probable 
cause under subrule (F)(1)(a) may be based on hearsay evidence which possesses 
adequate guarantees of trustworthiness.

(4) Type of Detention. The detained minor must be placed in the least restrictive 
environment that will meet the needs of the minor and the public, and conforms to the 
requirements of MCL 712A.15 and 712A.16.

(G) Findings. At the preliminary hearing the court must state the reasons for its decision to 
release or detain the minor on the record or in a written memorandum.

(H) Out-of-County Violation. When a minor is apprehended for violation of a minor 
personal protection order in a jurisdiction other than the one that issued the personal 
protection order, and the apprehending jurisdiction conducts the preliminary hearing, if it 
has not already done so, the apprehending jurisdiction must immediately notify the issuing 
jurisdiction that the latter may request that the respondent be returned to the issuing 
jurisdiction for enforcement proceedings.

RULE 3.986 PLEAS OF ADMISSION OR NO CONTEST

(A) Capacity. A minor may offer a plea of admission or of no contest to the violation of a 
minor personal protection order with the consent of the court. The court shall not accept a 
plea to a violation unless the court is satisfied that the plea is accurate, voluntary, and 
understanding.
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(B) Qualified Pleas. The court may accept a plea of admission or of no contest conditioned 
on preservation of an issue for appellate review.

(C) Support of Plea by Parent, Guardian, Custodian. The court shall inquire of the parents, 
guardian, custodian, or guardian ad litem whether there is any reason the court should not 
accept the plea tendered by the minor. Agreement or objection by the parent, guardian, 
custodian, or guardian ad litem to a plea of admission or of no contest by a minor must be 
placed on the record if that person is present.

(D) Plea Withdrawal. The court may take a plea of admission or of no contest under 
advisement. Before the court accepts the plea, the minor may withdraw the plea offer by 
right. After the court accepts a plea, the court has discretion to allow the minor to 
withdraw the plea.

RULE 3.987 VIOLATION HEARING

(A) Time. Upon completion of the preliminary hearing the court shall set a date and time 
for the violation hearing if the respondent denies the allegations in the supplemental 
petition. The violation hearing must be held within 72 hours of apprehension, excluding 
Sundays and holidays, as defined in MCR 8.110(D)(2), if the respondent is detained. If the 
respondent is not detained the hearing must be held within 21 days.

(B) Prosecution After Apprehension. If a criminal contempt proceeding is commenced 
under MCL 764.15b, the prosecuting attorney shall prosecute the proceeding unless the 
petitioner retains an attorney to prosecute the criminal contempt proceeding. If the 
prosecuting attorney determines that the personal protection order was not violated or that 
it would not be in the interest of justice to prosecute the criminal contempt violation, the 
prosecuting attorney need not prosecute the proceeding.

(C) Preliminary Matters.

(1) The court must determine whether the appropriate parties have been notified and 
are present.

(a) The respondent has the right to be present at the violation hearing along with 
parents, guardian, or custodian, and guardian ad litem and attorney.

(b) The court may proceed in the absence of a parent properly noticed to appear, 
provided the respondent is represented by an attorney.

(c) The original petitioner has the right to be present at the violation hearing.

(2) The court must read the allegations contained in the supplemental petition, unless 
waived.

(3) Unless an attorney appears with the minor, the court must inform the minor of the 
right to the assistance of an attorney and that, if the court determines that it might 
sentence the respondent to jail or place the respondent in secure detention, the court 
will appoint an attorney at public expense if the respondent wants one and is 
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financially unable to retain one. If the juvenile requests to proceed without the 
assistance of an attorney, the court must advise the minor of the dangers and 
disadvantages of self-representation and determine whether the minor is literate and 
competent to conduct the defense.

(D) Jury. There is no right to a jury trial.

(E) Conduct of the Hearing. The respondent has the right to be present at the hearing, to 
present evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses.

(F) Evidence; Burden of Proof. The rules of evidence apply to both criminal and civil 
contempt proceedings. The petitioner or the prosecuting attorney has the burden of 
proving the respondent's guilt of criminal contempt beyond a reasonable doubt and the 
respondent's guilt of civil contempt by a preponderance of the evidence.

(G) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make specific 
findings of fact, state separately its conclusions of law, and direct entry of the appropriate 
judgment. The court must state its findings and conclusions on the record or in a written 
opinion made a part of the record.

RULE 3.988 DISPOSITIONAL HEARING

(A) Time. The time interval between the entry of judgment finding a violation of a minor 
personal protection order and disposition, if any, is within the court's discretion, but may 
not be more than 35 days. When the minor is detained, the interval may not be more than 
14 days, except for good cause.

(B) Presence of Respondent and Petitioner.

(1) The respondent may be excused from part of the dispositional hearing for good 
cause, but the respondent must be present when the disposition is announced.

(2) The petitioner has the right to be present at the dispositional hearing.

(C) Evidence.

(1) At the dispositional hearing all relevant and material evidence, including oral and 
written reports, may be received by the court and may be relied on to the extent of its 
probative value, even though such evidence may not be admissible at the violation 
hearing.

(2) The respondent, or the respondent's attorney, and the petitioner shall be afforded an 
opportunity to examine and controvert written reports so received and, in the court's 
discretion, may be allowed to cross-examine individuals making reports when such 
individuals are reasonably available.

(3) No assertion of an evidentiary privilege, other than the privilege between attorney 
and client, shall prevent the receipt and use, at the dispositional phase, of materials 
prepared pursuant to a court-ordered examination, interview, or course of treatment.
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(D) Dispositions.

(1) If a minor respondent at least 17 years of age pleads or is found guilty of criminal 
contempt, the court may impose a sentence of incarceration of up to 93 days and may 
impose a fine of not more than $500.

(2) If a minor respondent pleads or is found guilty of civil contempt, the court shall

(a) impose a fine or imprisonment as specified in MCL 600.1715 and 600.1721, if 
the respondent is at least 17 years of age.

(b) subject the respondent to the dispositional alternatives listed in MCL 712A.18, 
if the respondent is under 17 years of age.

(3) In addition to the sentence, the court may impose other conditions to the minor 
personal protection order.

RULE 3.989 SUPPLEMENTAL DISPOSITIONS

When it is alleged that a minor placed on probation for the violation of a minor personal 
protection order has violated a condition of probation, the court shall follow the procedures for 
supplemental disposition as provided in MCR 3.944.

RULE 3.991 REVIEW OF REFEREE RECOMMENDATIONS

(A) General.

(1) Before signing an order based on a referee's recommended findings and 
conclusions, a judge of the court shall review the recommendations if requested by a 
party in the manner provided by subrule (B).

(2) If no such request is filed within the time provided by subrule (B)(3), the court may 
enter an order in accordance with the referee's recommendations.

(3) Nothing in this rule prohibits a judge from reviewing a referee's recommendation 
before the expiration of the time for requesting review and entering an appropriate 
order.

(4) After the entry of an order under subrule (A)(3), a request for review may not be 
filed. Reconsideration of the order is by motion for rehearing under MCR 3.992.

(B) Form of Request; Time. A party's request for review of a referee's recommendation 
must:

(1) be in writing,

(2) state the grounds for review,

(3) be filed with the court within 7 days after the conclusion of the inquiry or hearing 
or within 7 days after the issuance of the referee's written recommendations, 
whichever is later, and

(4) be served on the interested parties by the person requesting review at the time of 
filing the request for review with the court. A proof of service must be filed.
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(C) Response. A party may file a written response within 7 days after the filing of the 
request for review.

(D) Prompt Review; No Party Appearance Required. Absent good cause for delay, the 
judge shall consider the request within 21 days after it is filed if the minor is in placement 
or detention. The judge need not schedule a hearing to rule on a request for review of a 
referee's recommendations.

(E) Review Standard. The judge must enter an order adopting the referee's 
recommendation unless:

(1) the judge would have reached a different result had he or she heard the case; or

(2) the referee committed a clear error of law, which

(a) likely would have affected the outcome, or

(b) cannot otherwise be considered harmless.

(F) Remedy. The judge may adopt, modify, or deny the recommendation of the referee, in 
whole or in part, on the basis of the record and the memorandums prepared, or may 
conduct a hearing, whichever the court in its discretion finds appropriate for the case.

(G) Stay. The court may stay any order or grant bail to a detained juvenile, pending its 
decision on review of the referee's recommendation.

RULE 3.992 REHEARINGS; NEW TRIAL

(A) Time and Grounds. Except for the case of a juvenile tried as an adult in the family 
division of the circuit court for a criminal offense, and except for a case in which parental 
rights are terminated, a party may seek a rehearing or new trial by filing a written motion 
stating the basis for the relief sought within 21 days after the date of the order resulting 
from the hearing or trial. In a case that involves termination of parental rights, a motion for 
new trial, rehearing, reconsideration, or other postjudgment relief shall be filed within 14 
days after the date of the order terminating parental rights. The court may entertain an 
untimely motion for good cause shown. A motion will not be considered unless it presents 
a matter not previously presented to the court, or presented, but not previously considered 
by the court, which, if true, would cause the court to reconsider the case.

(B) Notice. All parties must be given notice of the motion in accordance with Rule 3.920.

(C) Response by Parties. Any response by parties must be in writing and filed with the 
court and served on the opposing parties within 7 days after notice of the motion.

(D) Procedure. The judge may affirm, modify, or vacate the decision previously made in 
whole or in part, on the basis of the record, the memoranda prepared, or a hearing on the 
motion, whichever the court in its discretion finds appropriate for the case.
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(E) Hearings. The court need not hold a hearing before ruling on a motion. Any hearing 
conducted shall be in accordance with the rules for dispositional hearings and, at the 
discretion of the court, may be assigned to the person who conducted the hearing. The 
court shall state the reasons for its decision on the motion on the record or in writing.

(F) Stay. The court may stay any order, or grant bail to a detained juvenile, pending a 
ruling on the motion.

RULE 3.993 APPEALS

(A) The following orders are appealable to the Court of Appeals by right:

(1) any order removing a child from a parent's care and custody, 

(2) an initial order of disposition following adjudication in a child protective 
proceeding,

(3) an order of disposition placing a minor under the supervision of the court in a 
delinquency proceeding,

(4) an order terminating parental rights,

(5) any order required by law to be appealed to the Court of Appeals,

(6) any order involving an Indian child that is subject to potential invalidation under § 
39 of the Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, MCL 712B.1 et seq., or § 1914 of 
the Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 et seq., which includes, but is not limited 
to, an order regarding:

(a) recognition of the jurisdiction of a tribal court pursuant to MCL 712B.7, MCL 
712B.29, or 25 USC 1911;

(b) transfer to tribal court pursuant to MCL 712B.7 or 25 USC 1911;

(c) intervention pursuant to MCL 712B.7 or 25 USC 1911;

(d) extension of full faith and credit to public acts, records, and judicial 
proceedings of an Indian tribe pursuant to MCL 712B.7 or 25 USC 1911;

(e) removal of a child from the home, placement into foster care, or continuance of 
an out-of-home placement pursuant to MCL 712B.9, MCL 712B.15, MCL 
712B.25, MCL 712B.29, or 25 USC 1912;

(f) termination of parental rights pursuant to MCL 712B.9, MCL 712B.15, or 25 
USC 1912;

(g) appointment of counsel pursuant to MCL 712B.21 or 25 USC 1912;

(h) examination of reports pursuant to MCL 712B.11 or 25 USC 1912;

(i) voluntary consent to or withdrawal of a voluntary consent to a foster care 
placement or to a termination of parental right pursuant to MCL712B.13, MCL 
712B.25, MCL 712B.27, or 25 USC 1913;
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(j) foster care, pre-adoptive, or adoptive placement of an Indian child pursuant to 
MCL 712B.23; and

(7) any final order.

In any appeal as of right, an indigent respondent is entitled to appointment of an attorney 
to represent the respondent on appeal and to preparation of relevant transcripts.

(B) All orders not listed in subrule (A) are appealable to the Court of Appeals by leave.

(C) Procedure; Ineffective Assistance of Appellate Counsel; Delayed Appeals.

(1) Applicable Rules. Except as modified by this rule, chapter 7 of the Michigan Court 
Rules governs appeals from the family division of the circuit court.

(2) Ineffective Assistance of Appellate Counsel Claims. In accordance with MCR 
7.316(D), the Supreme Court may consider a claim of ineffective assistance of 
appellate counsel in cases involving termination of parental rights.

(3) Delayed Appeals; Termination of Parental Rights. The Court of Appeals may not 
grant an application for leave to appeal an order of the family division of the circuit 
court terminating parental rights if filed more than 63 days after entry of an order of 
judgment on the merits, or if filed more than 63 days after entry of an order denying 
reconsideration or rehearing.

(D) Request and Appointment of Counsel.

(1) A request for appointment of appellate counsel must be made within 21 days after 
notice of the order is given or an order is entered denying a timely filed postjudgment 
motion.

(2) If a request for appointment of appellate counsel is timely filed and the court finds 
that the respondent is financially unable to provide an attorney, the court shall appoint 
an attorney within 14 days after the respondent’s request is filed. The chief judge of 
the court shall bear primary responsibility for ensuring that the appointment is made 
within the deadline stated in this rule.

(3) The order described in subrule (D)(2) must be entered on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrator’s Office, entitled “Claim of Appeal and Order Appointing 
Counsel,” and the court must immediately send to the Court of Appeals a copy of the 
Claim of Appeal and Order Appointing Counsel, a copy of the judgment or order 
being appealed, and a copy of the complete register of actions in the case. The court 
must also file in the Court of Appeals proof of having made service of the Claim of 
Appeal and Order Appointing Counsel on the respondent(s), appointed counsel for the 
respondent(s), the court reporter(s)/recorder(s), petitioner, the prosecuting attorney, 
the lawyer-guardian ad litem for the child(ren) under MCL 712A.13a(1)(f), and the 
guardian ad litem or attorney (if any) for the child(ren). Entry of the order by the trial 
court pursuant to this subrule constitutes a timely filed claim of appeal for the 
purposes of MCR 7.204.



Chapter 3. Special Proceedings and Actions Page 479   Updated April 26, 2024 

(E) Transcripts. If the court appoints appellate counsel for respondent, the court must 
order the complete transcripts of all proceedings prepared at public expense.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 4. District Court
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 4.000 GENERAL PROVISIONS

RULE 4.001 APPLICABILITY

The rules in this chapter apply to the specific types of proceedings within the jurisdiction 
of the district and municipal courts. Except as otherwise provided in this chapter, proceedings 
under this chapter are governed by Michigan Court Rules.

RULE 4.002 TRANSFER OF ACTIONS FROM DISTRICT COURT TO CIRCUIT COURT

(A) Counterclaim or Cross-Claim in Excess of Jurisdiction.

(1) If a defendant asserts a counterclaim or cross-claim seeking relief of an amount or 
nature beyond the jurisdiction or power of the district court in which the action is 
pending, and accompanies the notice of the claim with a statement verified in the 
manner prescribed by MCR 1.109(D)(3) indicating that the defendant is justly entitled 
to the relief demanded, the clerk shall record the pleadings and present them to the 
judge to whom the action is assigned. The judge shall either order the action 
transferred to the circuit court to which appeal of the action would ordinarily lie or 
inform the defendant that transfer will not be ordered without a motion and notice to 
the other parties.

(2) Transfer of summary proceedings to recover possession of premises is governed 
under MCR 4.201(H)(2) and 4.202(I)(4) and subrules (C) and (D) of this rule.

(B) Change in Conditions.

(1) A party may, at any time, file a motion with the district court in which an action is 
pending, requesting that the action be transferred to circuit court. The motion must be 
supported by a statement verified in the manner prescribed by MCR 1.109(D)(3) 
indicating that

(a) due to a change in condition or circumstance, or

(b) due to facts not known by the party at the time the action was commenced, the 
party wishes to seek relief of an amount or nature that is beyond the jurisdiction or 
power of the court to grant.

(2) If the district court finds that the party filing the motion may be entitled to the relief 
the party now seeks to claim and that the delay in making the claim is excusable, the 
court shall order the action transferred to the circuit court to which an appeal of the 
action would ordinarily lie.

(C) Order for Transfer; Case Records.
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(1) The district court must enter all necessary orders pertaining to the certification and 
transfer of the action to the circuit court. The district court must order the moving 
party to pay the applicable statutory filing fee directly to the circuit court, unless fees 
have been waived in accordance with MCR 2.002.

(2) The district court may also order the party seeking transfer to pay the opposing 
parties the costs they have reasonably incurred up to that time that would not have 
been incurred if the action had originally been brought in circuit court.

(3) The district court must serve the order on the parties and send a copy to the circuit 
court. The clerk of the district court must prepare the case records for transfer in 
accordance with the orders entered under subrule (1) and the Michigan Trial Court 
Records Management Standards and send them to the receiving court by a secure 
method.

(4) The circuit court shall temporarily suspend payment of the filing fee and open a 
case pending payment of the filing fee and costs as ordered by the district court. The 
circuit court must notify the moving party of the new case number in the circuit court, 
the amount due, and the due date.

(5) After transfer, no further proceedings may be conducted in the district court, and 
the action shall proceed in the circuit court. The circuit court may order further 
pleadings and set the time when they must be filed.

(D) Payment of Filing and Jury Fees After Transfer; Payment of Costs.

(1) The party that moved for transfer must pay to the circuit court within 28 days of the 
date of the transfer order the applicable filing fee as ordered by the district court. No 
further action may be had in the case until payment is made. If the fee is not paid to the 
circuit court within 28 days of the date of the transfer order, the circuit court will either 
dismiss the counterclaim or cross-claim or order the case transferred back to the 
district court.

(2) If the jury fee has been paid, the clerk of the district court must forward it to the 
clerk of the circuit court to which the action is transferred as soon as possible after the 
case records have been transferred. If the amount paid to the district court for the jury 
fee is less than the circuit court jury fee, then the party requesting the jury shall pay the 
difference to the circuit court.

(3) If the court ordered payment of costs, the moving party must pay them to the 
opposing parties within 28 days of the date of the transfer order. If the costs are not 
paid within 28 days of the date of entry, the circuit court will either dismiss the 
counterclaim or cross-claim and/or order the case transferred back to the district court 
to proceed on the original claim.

RULE 4.003 REMOVAL OF ACTIONS FROM CIRCUIT COURT TO DISTRICT COURT. 

[Repealed May 8, 1997, effective July 1, 1997 - Reporter.]
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SUBCHAPTER 4.100 CIVIL INFRACTION ACTIONS

RULE 4.101 CIVIL INFRACTION ACTIONS

(A) Citation; Complaint; Summons; Warrant.

(1) Except as otherwise provided by court rule or statute, a civil infraction action may 
be initiated by a law enforcement officer serving a written citation on the alleged 
violator and filing the citation in the district court. The citation serves as the complaint 
in a civil infraction action and may be prepared electronically or on paper. The citation 
must be signed by the officer in accordance with MCR 1.109(E)(4); if a citation is 
prepared electronically and filed with a court as data, the name of the officer that is 
associated with issuance of the citation satisfies this requirement.

(a) If the infraction is a parking violation, the action may be initiated by an 
authorized person placing a citation securely on the vehicle or mailing a citation to 
the registered owner of the vehicle.

(b) If the infraction is a municipal civil infraction, the action may be initiated by an 
authorized local official serving a written citation on the alleged violator. If the 
infraction involves the use or occupancy of land or a building or other structure, 
service may be accomplished by posting the citation at the site and sending a copy 
to the owner by first-class mail. 

(2) A violation alleged on a citation may not be amended except by the prosecuting 
official or a police officer for the plaintiff.

(3) The citation serves as a summons to command

(a) the initial appearance of the defendant; and

(b) a response from the defendant as to his or her responsibility for the alleged 
violation.

(4) A warrant may not be issued for a civil infraction unless permitted by statute.

(B) Appearances; Failure to Appear; Default Judgment.

(1) Depending on the nature of the violation and on the procedure appropriate to the 
violation, a defendant may appear in person, by videoconferencing technology, by 
representation, or by mail.

(2) A defendant may not appear by making a telephone call to the court, but a 
defendant may telephone the court to obtain a date to appear.

(3) A clerk of the court may enter a default after certifying, on a form to be furnished 
by the court, that the defendant has not made a scheduled appearance, or has not 
answered a citation within the time allowed by statute.

(4) If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise to respond to any matter pending relative 
to a civil infraction action, the court:

(a) must enter a default against the defendant;
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(b) must make a determination of responsibility, if the complaint is sufficient;

(c) must impose a sanction by entering a default judgment;

(d) must send the defendant a notice of the entry of the default judgment and the 
sanctions imposed; and

(e) may retain the driver's license of a nonresident as permitted by statute, if the 
court has received that license pursuant to statute. The court need not retain the 
license past its expiration date.

(5) If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise to respond to any matter pending relative 
to a traffic civil infraction, the court

(a) must notify the secretary of state of the entry of the default judgment, as 
required by MCL 257.732, and

(b) must initiate the procedures required by MCL 257.321a.

(6) If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise to respond to any matter pending relative 
to a state civil infraction, the court must initiate the procedures required by MCL 
257.321a.

(C) Appearance by Police Officer at Informal Hearing.

(1) If a defendant requests an informal hearing, the court shall schedule an informal 
hearing and notify the police officer who issued the citation to appear at the informal 
hearing.

(2) The attendance of the officer at the hearing may not be waived.

Except when the court is notified before the commencement of a hearing of an 
emergency preventing an on-duty officer from appearing, failure of the police officer 
to appear as required by this rule shall result in a dismissal of the case without 
prejudice.

(D) Motion to Set Aside Default Judgment.

(1) A defendant may move to set aside a default judgment within 14 days after the 
court sends notice of the judgment to the defendant. The motion

(a) may be informal,

(b) may be either written or presented to the court in person,

(c) must explain the reason for the nonappearance of the defendant,

(d) must state that the defendant wants to offer a defense to or an explanation of 
the complaint, and

(e) must be accompanied by a cash bond equal to the fine and costs due at the time 
the motion is filed.

(2) For good cause, the court may

(a) set aside the default and direct that a hearing on the complaint take place, or
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(b) schedule a hearing on the motion to set aside the default judgment.

(3) A defendant who does not file this motion on time may use the procedure set forth 
in MCR 2.603(D).

(E) Response.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (4), an admission without explanation may be 
offered to and accepted by

(a) a district judge;

(b) a district court magistrate as authorized by the chief judge, the presiding judge, 
or the only judge of the district; or

(c) other district court personnel, as authorized by a judge of the district.

(2) Except as provided in subrule (4), an admission with explanation may be written or 
offered orally to a judge or district court magistrate, as authorized by the district judge.

(3) Except as provided in subrule (4), a denial of responsibility must be made by the 
defendant appearing at a time set either by the citation or as the result of a 
communication with the court.

(4) If the violation is a trailway municipal civil infraction, and there has been damage 
to property or a vehicle has been impounded, the defendant's response must be made at 
a formal hearing.

(F) Contested Actions; Notice; Defaults.

(1) An informal hearing will be held unless

(a) a party expressly requests a formal hearing, or

(b) the violation is a trailway municipal civil infraction which requires a formal 
hearing pursuant to MCL 600.8717(4).

(2) The provisions of MCR 2.501(C) regarding the length of notice of trial assignment 
do not apply in civil infraction actions.

(3) A defendant who obtains a hearing date other than the date specified in the citation, 
but who does not appear to explain or contest responsibility, is in default, and the 
procedures established by subrules (B)(4)-(6) apply.

(4) For any hearing held under this subchapter and subject to MCR 2.407(B)(5), the 
use of videoconferencing technology to conduct remote proceedings is presumed.

(G) Postdetermination Orders; Sanctions, Fines, and Costs; Schedules.

(1) A court may not increase a scheduled civil fine because the defendant has 
requested a hearing.

(2) Upon a finding of responsibility in a traffic civil infraction action, the court:

(a) must inform the secretary of state of the finding, as required by MCL 257.732; 
and
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(b) must initiate the procedures required by MCL 257.321a, if the defendant fails 
to pay a fine or to comply with an order or judgment of the court.

(3) Upon a finding of responsibility in a state civil infraction action, the court must 
initiate the procedures required by MCL 257.321a(1), if the defendant fails to pay a 
fine or to comply with an order or judgment of the court.

(4) The court may waive fines, costs and fees, pursuant to statute or court rule, or to 
correct clerical error.

(H) Appeal; Bond.

(1) An appeal following a formal hearing is a matter of right. Except as otherwise 
provided in this rule, the appeal is governed by subchapter 7.100.

(a) A defendant who appeals must post with the district court, at the time the 
appeal is taken, a bond equal to the fine and costs imposed. A defendant who has 
paid the fine and costs is not required to post a bond.

(b) If a defendant who has posted a bond fails to comply with the requirements of 
MCR 7.104(D), the appeal may be considered abandoned, and the district court 
may dismiss the appeal on 14 days' notice to the parties pursuant to MCR 7.113. 
The court clerk must promptly notify the circuit court of a dismissal and the circuit 
court shall dismiss the claim of appeal. If the appeal is dismissed or the judgment 
is affirmed, the district court may apply the bond to the fine and costs.

(c) A plaintiff's appeal must be asserted by the prosecuting authority of the 
political unit that provided the plaintiff's attorney for the formal hearing. A bond is 
not required.

(2) An appeal following an informal hearing is a matter of right, and must be asserted 
in writing, within 7 days after the decision, on a form to be provided by the court. The 
appeal will result in a de novo formal hearing.

(a) A defendant who appeals must post a bond as provided in subrule (1)(a). If a 
defendant who has posted a bond defaults by failing to appear at the formal 
hearing, or if the appeal is dismissed or the judgment is affirmed, the bond may be 
applied to the fine and costs.

(b) A plaintiff's appeal must be asserted by the prosecuting authority of the 
political unit that is responsible for providing the plaintiff's attorney for the formal 
hearing. A bond is not required.

(3) There is no appeal of right from an admission of responsibility. However, within 
14 days after the admission, a defendant may file with the district court a written 
request to withdraw the admission, and must post a bond as provided in subrule (1)(a). 
If the court grants the request, the case will be scheduled for either a formal hearing or 
an informal hearing, as ordered by the court. If the court denies the request, the bond 
may be applied to the fine and costs.
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SUBCHAPTER 4.200 LANDLORD-TENANT PROCEEDINGS; LAND CONTRACT 
FORFEITURE

RULE 4.201 SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS TO RECOVER POSSESSION OF PREMISES

(A) Applicable Rules; Forms. Except as provided by this rule and MCL 600.5701 et seq., 
a summary proceeding to recover possession of premises from a person in possession as 
described in MCL 600.5714 is governed by the Michigan Court Rules. Forms available 
for public distribution at the court clerk’s office and SCAO-approved forms located 
online may be used in the proceeding.

(B) Complaint.

(1) In General. The complaint must

(a) comply with the general pleading requirements;

(b) have attached to it a copy of any written instrument on which occupancy was or 
is based;

(c) have attached to it copies of any notice to quit and any demand for possession 
(the copies must show when and how they were served);

(d) describe the premises or the defendant's holding if it is less than the entire 
premises; and

(e) show the plaintiff's right to possession and indicate why the defendant's 
possession is improper or unauthorized.

(2) Jury Demand. If the plaintiff wants a jury trial, the demand must be made on a 
form approved by the State Court Administrative Office and filed along with the 
complaint. The jury trial fee must be paid when the demand is made or within 5 days 
of being advised of the rights and information under subrule (K)(2)(a), unless 
payment of fees is waived under MCR 2.002.

(3) Specific Requirements.

(a) If rent or other money is due and unpaid, the complaint must show

(i) the rental period and rate;

(ii) the amount due and unpaid when the complaint was filed; and

(iii) the date or dates the payments became due.

(b) If the tenancy involves housing operated by or under the rules of a 
governmental unit, the complaint must contain specific reference to the rules or 
law establishing the basis for ending the tenancy.

(c) If the tenancy is of residential premises, the complaint must allege that 
the lessor or licensor has performed his or her covenants to keep the 
premises fit for the use intended, in reasonable repair during the term of the 
lease or license, and in compliance with applicable state and local health and 
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safety laws, except when the disrepair or violation has been caused by the 
tenant’s willful or irresponsible conduct or lack of conduct, or the parties to 
the lease or license have modified those obligations, as provided for by 
statute. Plaintiff must explain any defects in this allegation, for example 
local government’s failure to inspect despite a request to do so. The relevant 
SCAO form must provide space for this explanation. A court may not refuse 
a filing based on anything in this subrule.
(d) If possession is claimed for a serious and continuing health hazard or for 
extensive and continuing physical injury to the premises pursuant to MCL 
600.5714(1)(d), the complaint must

(i) describe the nature and the seriousness or extent of the condition on which 
the complaint is based, and

(ii) state the period of time for which the property owner has been aware of the 
condition.

(e) If possession is sought for trespass pursuant to MCL 600.5714(1)(f), the 
complaint must describe, when known by the plaintiff, the conditions under which 
possession was unlawfully taken or is unlawfully held and allege that no lawful 
tenancy of the premises has existed between the parties since defendant took 
possession.

(C) Summons.

(1) The summons must comply with MCR 2.102, except that it must command the 
defendant to appear for trial in accord with MCL 600.5735(2), unless by local court 
rule the provisions of MCL 600.5735(4) have been made applicable. If a court adopts 
a local court rule under MCL 600.5735(4), both of the following apply:

(a) Pursuant to subrule (G)(1)(b), the defendant must be allowed to appear and 
orally answer the complaint on the date and time indicated by the summons.

(b) The court must abide by the remaining requirements of this rule.

(2) The summons must state whether or not the action is brought in the county or 
district in which the premises or any part of the premises is situated.

(3) The summons must also include the following advice to the defendant:

(a) The defendant has the right to employ an attorney to assist in answering the 
complaint and in preparing defenses.

(b) If the defendant does not have an attorney but does have money to retain one, 
he or she might locate an attorney through the State Bar of Michigan or a local 
lawyer referral service.

(c) If the defendant does not have an attorney and cannot pay for legal help, he or 
she might qualify for assistance through a local legal aid office.

(d) The defendant has a right to a jury trial which will be lost unless it is 
demanded in accordance with subrule (G)(4). The jury trial fee must be paid 
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when the demand is made or within 5 days of being advised of the rights and 
information under subrule (K)(2)(a), unless payment of fees is waived under 
MCR 2.002.

(e) The defendant has a right to have the case tried in the proper county, district, or 
court. The case will be transferred to the proper county, district, or court if the 
defendant moves the court for such transfer. 

(f) Written information attached to the summons regarding the local 
availability of rental and other housing assistance, including all information 
set forth in subrule (K)(2)(a).

(D) Service of Process. A copy of the summons and complaint and all attachments 
must be served on the defendant by mail. Unless the court does the mailing and 
keeps a record, the plaintiff must perfect the mail service by attaching a postal 
receipt to the proof of service. A plaintiff may also request the court mail a second 
copy of the summons and complaint and all attachments to the defendant in a court 
envelope – the same envelope as used for other court business which is clearly 
identified as coming from the court. This court mailing must be delivered to the US 
Post Office at least 7 days before the date of trial, and a record must be kept. The 
court may charge an additional fee as determined and published by the State Court 
Administrative Office. In addition to mailing, the defendant must be served in one 
of the following ways:

(1) By a method provided in MCR 2.105;

(2) By delivering the documents at the premises to a member of the defendant's 
household who is

(a) of suitable age,

(b) informed of the contents, and

(c) asked to deliver the documents to the defendant; or

(3) After diligent attempts at personal service have been made, by securely attaching 
the documents to the main entrance of the tenant's dwelling unit. A return of service 
made under this subrule must list the attempts at personal service. Service under this 
subrule is effective only if a return of service is filed showing that, after diligent 
attempts, personal service could not be made. An officer who files proof that service 
was made under this subrule is entitled to the regular personal service fee.

(E) Recording. All landlord-tenant summary proceedings conducted in open court, 
including advice of rights and information required under subrule (K)(2)(a), must 
be recorded by stenographic or mechanical means, and only a reporter or recorder 
certified under MCR 8.108(G) may file a transcript of the record in a Michigan 
court. This subsection does not apply to courts providing the advice of rights in 
accordance with subrule (K)(2)(b).
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(F) Use of Videoconferencing Technology. For any hearing held under this 
subchapter, the court must allow the use of videoconferencing technology in 
accordance with MCR 2.407 and MCR 2.408. The use of videoconferencing 
technology is presumed when providing the advice of rights and information 
required under subrule (K)(2)(a). 

(G) Appearance and Answer; Default.

(1) Appearance and Answer. The defendant or the defendant's attorney must appear 
and answer the complaint by the date on the summons. Appearance and answer may 
be made as follows:

(a) By filing a written answer or a motion under MCR 2.115 or 2.116 and serving a 
copy on the plaintiff or the plaintiff's attorney. If proof of the service is not filed 
before the hearing, the defendant or the defendant's attorney may attest to service 
on the record.

(b) By orally answering each allegation in the complaint at the hearing. The 
answers must be recorded.

(2) Right to an Attorney. If either party appears without an attorney, the court must 
inform that party of the right to retain an attorney. The court must also inform the party 
about legal aid assistance when it is available.

(3) Right to Proper Venue. If the plaintiff has indicated on the summons that the 
premises or any part of the premises is situated in a different county or district, the 
court must inform the defendant, at the hearing scheduled pursuant to section (C)(1) of 
this rule, of the right to motion the court to transfer the case to the county or district 
where the premises or any part of the premises is situated and that such a motion will 
be granted.

(a) The court may order change of venue on its own motion.

(b) A motion to change venue pursuant to this subrule and MCL 600.5706(4) may 
be made in writing before the date listed on the summons, pursuant to section 
(C)(1) of this rule, or orally in response to the court’s advisement in this subrule.

(c) Transfer of the case shall be pursuant to MCR 2.223.

(4) Jury Demand. If the defendant wants a jury trial, he or she must demand it 
orally at the first appearance or in writing within five days of being advised of 
the rights and information listed in subrule (K)(2)(a). The jury trial fee must be 
paid when the demand is made or within 5 days of being advised of the rights 
and information listed in subrule (K)(2)(a), unless payment of fees is waived 
under MCR 2.002.

(5) Default.

(a) If the defendant fails to appear on the date and time noticed by the 
summons, the court, on the plaintiff’s motion, may enter a default and may 
hear the plaintiff’s proofs in support of judgment if
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(i) personal service of process was made on the residential defendant 
under MCR 2.105, or service of process was made on the residential 
defendant under MCR 4.201(D) and the court mailed a second copy of 
the initial summons and complaint in a court envelope and a record was 
kept pursuant to subrule (D), or service of process was made on the 
commercial defendant under MCR 4.201(D); or
(ii) the plaintiff pleads and proves, with notice, a complaint under MCL 
600.5714(1)(b), (d), (e), or (f) sufficient to meet statutory and court rule 
requirements; or
(iii) the defendant also fails to appear on the date and time in which the 
trial was adjourned under subrule (K)(1); or
(iv) the defendant appears on the date and time noticed by the summons 
but fails to appear on the date and time in which the trial was adjourned 
under subrule (K)(1).

(b) If satisfied that the complaint has met pleading and proof requirements 
and a default may enter under subrule (G)(5)(a), the court must enter a 
default judgment under MCL 600.5741 and in accordance with subrule (L). 
The default judgment must be mailed to the defendant by the court clerk and 
must inform the defendant that, if applicable,

(i) he or she may be evicted from the premises;
(ii) he or she may be liable for a money judgment.

(c) If the plaintiff fails to appear, a default judgment as to costs under MCL 
600.5747 may be entered.

(d) If a default is not entered and the case is not otherwise resolved, the court 
must adjourn the trial for at least 7 days but not more than 14 days, unless a 
jury demand is made under subrule (G)(4) or good cause is shown under 
subrule (K)(1)(c). If the trial is adjourned, the court must mail notice of the 
new date to the party who failed to appear.

(H) Claims and Counterclaims.

(1) Joinder.

(a) A party may join:

(i) A money claim or counterclaim described by MCL 600.5739. A money 
claim must be separately stated in the complaint. A money counterclaim must 
be labeled and separately stated in a written answer.

(ii) A claim or counterclaim for equitable relief.

(b) Unless service of process under MCR 2.105 was made on the defendant, a 
money claim must be
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(i) dismissed without prejudice, or

(ii) adjourned until service of process is complete if the defendant does not 
appear or file an answer to the complaint.

(c) A court with a territorial jurisdiction which has a population of more than 
1,000,000 may provide, by local rule, that a money claim or counterclaim must be 
tried separately from a claim for possession unless joinder is allowed by leave of 
the court pursuant to subrule (H)(1)(e).

(d) If trial of a money claim or counterclaim

(i) might substantially delay trial of the possession claim, or

(ii) requires that the premises be returned before damages can be determined, 
the court must adjourn the trial of the money claim or counterclaim to a date no 
later than 28 days after the time expires for issuing an order of eviction. A 
party may file and serve supplemental pleadings no later than 7 days before 
trial, except by leave of the court.

(e) If adjudication of a money counterclaim will affect the amount the defendant 
must pay to prevent issuance of an order of eviction, that counterclaim must be 
tried at the same time as the claim for possession, subrules (H)(1)(c) and (d) 
notwithstanding, unless it appears to the court that the counterclaim is without 
merit.

(2) Removal.

(a) A summary proceedings action need not be removed from the court in which it 
is filed because an equitable defense or counterclaim is interposed.

(b) If a money claim or counterclaim exceeding the court's jurisdiction is 
introduced, the court, on motion of either party or on its own initiative, shall order, 
in accordance with the procedures in MCR 4.002, removal of that portion of the 
action to the circuit court, if the money claim or counterclaim is sufficiently shown 
to exceed the court's jurisdictional limit.

(I) Interim Orders. On motion of either party, or by stipulation, for good cause, a court 
may issue such interim orders as are necessary, including, but not limited to the following:

(1) Injunctions. The interim order may award injunctive relief

(a) to prevent the person in possession from damaging the property; or

(b) to prevent the person seeking possession from rendering the premises 
untenantable or from suffering the premises to remain untenantable.

(2) Escrow Orders.

(a) If trial is adjourned more than 14 days and the plaintiff shows a clear need for 
protection, the court may order the defendant to pay a reasonable rent for the 
premises from the date the escrow order is entered, including a pro rata amount per 
day between the date of the order and the next date rent ordinarily would be due. In 
determining a reasonable rent, the court should consider evidence offered 
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concerning the condition of the premises or other relevant factors. The order must 
provide that:

(i) payments be made to the court clerk within 7 days of the date of entry of the 
order, and thereafter within 7 days of the date or dates each month when rent 
would ordinarily be due, until the right to possession is determined;

(ii) the plaintiff must not interfere with the obligation of the defendant to 
comply with the escrow order; and

(iii) if the defendant does not comply with the order, the defendant waives the 
right to a jury trial only as to the possession issue, and the plaintiff is entitled to 
an immediate trial within 14 days which may be by jury if a party requests it 
and if, in the court's discretion, the court's schedule permits it. The 14-day limit 
need not be rigidly adhered to if the plaintiff is responsible for a delay.

(b) Only the court may order the disbursement of money collected under an escrow 
order. The court must consider the defendant's defenses. If trial was postponed to 
permit the premises to be repaired, the court may condition disbursement by 
requiring that the repairs be completed by a certain time. Otherwise, the court may 
condition disbursement as justice requires.

(3) Stay of Proceedings.
(a) In cases filed pursuant to MCL 600.5714(1)(a) for nonpayment of rent due 
under a residential lease or agreement, the court must stay further proceedings 
after advising the defendant of the rights and information listed in subrule 
(K)(2)(a) and adjourning the trial under subrule (K). The court must not proceed to 
judgment if the defendant has applied for rental assistance from the Michigan 
Department of Health and Human Services, local Coordinated Entry Agency, 
Housing Assessment and Resource Agency or federal Help for Homeless Veterans 
program and provides written proof to the court that the application has been 
submitted for processing not later than five days after the defendant is verbally 
informed as provided in subrule (K)(2)(a) or (b). The State Court Administrative 
Office may provide a form to evidence this requirement.

(b) The initial stay is lifted after 14 days unless the defendant demonstrates to the 
court that the application is still pending or has been approved and rental 
assistance will be received. The total stay period under this subrule must not 
exceed 28 days and is automatically lifted 28 days from the date that the initial stay 
of the proceedings began.

(J) Consent Judgment When Party Is Not Represented. The following procedures apply to 
consent judgments and orders entered when either party is not represented by an attorney.

(1) The judgment or order may not be enforced until 3 regular court business days 
have elapsed after the judgment or order was entered. The judge shall review, in court, 
a proposed consent judgment or order with the parties, and shall notify them of the 
delay required by this subrule at the time the terms of the consent judgment or order 
are placed on the record.
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(2) A party who was not represented by an attorney at the time of the consent 
proceedings may move to set aside the consent judgment or order within the 3-day 
period. Such a motion stays the judgment or order until the court decides the motion or 
dismisses it after notice to the moving party.

(3) The court shall set aside a consent judgment or order on a satisfactory showing that 
the moving party misunderstood the basis for, or the rights which were being 
relinquished in, the judgment or order.

(K) Trial.

(1) Time. 

(a) If, after advising the defendant of the rights and information listed in subrule 
(K)(2)(a) the court adjourns the trial, it must be scheduled at least 7 days but not 
more than 14 days after the initial date and time set for trial noticed by the 
summons, unless a jury demand is made under subrule (G)(4) or good cause is 
shown under subrule (K)(1)(c).

(b) After advising the defendant of the rights and information listed in subrule 
(K)(2)(a), the court must decide remaining pretrial motions and determine if there 
is a triable issue. If there is no triable issue, the court must enter judgment.

(c) The court may try the action pursuant to subrule (K), or, if good cause is 
shown, may adjourn trial up to 56 days. If the court adjourns trial for more than 14 
days, an escrow order may be entered pursuant to subrule (I)(2). The parties may 
adjourn trial by stipulation in writing or on the record, subject to the approval of 
the court.

(2) Conducting the Trial.

(a) Unless otherwise provided in subrule (K)(2), at the initial date and time set for 
trial noticed by the summons, the court must verbally inform the parties of the 
following rights and information: 

(i) The right to an attorney under subrule (G)(2).

(ii) The right to proper venue under subrule (G)(3).

(iii) The right to demand a jury trial under subrule (G)(4).

(iv) In cases filed pursuant to MCL 600.5714(1)(a) for nonpayment of rent due 
under a residential lease or agreement, the Michigan Department of Health and 
Human Services, local Coordinated Entry Agency, Housing Assessment and 
Resource Agency, or federal Help for Homeless Veterans program may be 
able to assist with payment of some or all of the rent due. Within five days of 
receiving the advice of rights and information under this subrule, the defendant 
must provide written proof to the court that an application for assistance has 
been submitted for processing under subrule (I)(3).

(v) In cases filed pursuant to MCL 600.5714(1)(a) for nonpayment of rent due 
under a residential lease or agreement, defendants do not need a judgment to 
receive assistance from the Michigan Department of Health and Human 
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Services, local Coordinated Entry Agency, or Housing Assessment and 
Resource Agency. The summons and complaint from the court case are 
sufficient for help from the state.

(vi) The availability of the Michigan and local community dispute resolution 
program office as a possible source of case resolution.

(vii) The possibility of a conditional dismissal pursuant to MCR 2.602 if 
approved by all parties. The parties must be provided with a form to effectuate 
such conditional dismissal or direct the parties to the location of the SCAO 
approved form online. 

If the defendant does not appear for trial on the date and time noticed by the 
summons and a default was not entered, the court must verbally inform the parties 
of the information in this subrule at the defendant’s first appearance and allow the 
defendant time to make a jury demand under subrule (G)(4) and to retain an 
attorney under subrule (G)(2).

(b) Courts may provide advice of rights consistent with SCAO guidance to an 
individual or group of defendants via video, computer presentation, or other 
technological means so long as the court ensures that each defendant is present 
for the entire presentation. If a defendant was previously provided advice of 
rights by the court, whether via a group presentation or individually, the court is 
not required to again provide a full advice of rights but must, on the record, 
ensure that the defendant received a full advice of rights, understood the advice 
of rights, and ask if defendant has any questions about the advice of rights.

(c) If authorized by statutory amendment, a district court magistrate may advise 
the defendant of the rights and information in subrule (K)(2)(a).

(d) Unless otherwise provided in this rule, at the date and time set for trial and after 
verbally advising the parties of the rights and information under subrule (K)(2)(a), 
the court shall adjourn the trial as provided in subrule (K)(1).

(e) Unless otherwise provided in this rule, immediately following the advice of 
rights and information required by subrule (K)(2)(a), the court may resolve the 
case without adjourning the trial, if any of the following occur:

(i) The plaintiff dismisses the complaint, with or without prejudice, and without 
any conditions.

(ii) The residential defendant is personally served under MCR 2.105(A), 
service of process was made on the residential defendant under subrule (D) and 
the court mailed a second copy of the initial summons and complaint in a court 
envelope and a record was kept pursuant to subrule (D) and fails to appear at 
the date and time set for trial noticed by the summons under subrule (K)(2)(a), 
or the commercial defendant is served under subrule (D) and fails to appear at 
the date and time set for trial noticed by the summons under subrule (K)(2)(a).

(iii) Both plaintiff and defendant are represented by counsel, and a consent 
judgment or conditional dismissal is filed with the court.
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(iv) The parties enter into a consent judgment or conditional dismissal on the 
record after knowingly and voluntarily waiving the rights identified in subrule 
(K)(2)(a) and the adjournment required by subrule (K)(2)(d). The court must 
review the defendant’s waiver of rights and the terms of the consent judgment 
or conditional dismissal. After adequate inquiry, if the court determines that a 
valid waiver exists and the terms are fair, it may enter the consent judgment or 
conditional dismissal on the record. A defendant who has consulted with an 
attorney either in person or remotely after receiving the summons and who is 
waiving these rights is presumed to have knowingly and voluntarily waived 
the rights identified in subrule (K)(2)(a).

(v) any of the circumstances listed in subrule (G)(5)(a)(ii), except for an action 
in which MCL 600.5714(1)(b) applies, is pleaded and proved, with notice, 
sufficient to meet the statutory requirements. Actions in which MCL 
600.5714(1)(b) apply shall be heard pursuant to MCL 600.5735(7).

(3) Government Reports. If the defendant claims that the plaintiff failed to comply 
with an ordinance or statute, the court may admit an authenticated copy of any relevant 
government employee’s report filed with a government agency. Objections to the 
report affect the weight given it, not its admissibility.

(4) Payment or Acceptance of Money. The payment or the acceptance of money by a 
party before trial does not necessarily prevent or delay the proceedings.

(L) Judgment.

(1) Requirements. A judgment for the plaintiff must

(a) comply with MCL 600.5741;

(b) state when and under what conditions, if any, an order of eviction will issue;

(c) separately state possession and money awards; and

(d) advise the defendant of the right to appeal or file a postjudgment motion within 
10 days.

If the judgment is in favor of the defendant, it must comply with MCL 600.5747.

(2) Injunctions. The judgment may award injunctive relief

(a) to prevent the person in possession from damaging the property; or

(b) to prevent the person seeking possession from rendering the premises 
untenantable, or from suffering the premises to remain untenantable.

(3) Partial Payment. The judgment may provide that acceptance of partial payment of 
an amount due under the judgment will not prevent issuance of an order of eviction.

(4) Costs. Only those costs permitted by MCL 600.5759 may be awarded.

(5) Notice. The court must mail or deliver a copy of the judgment to the parties. The 
time period for applying for the order of eviction does not begin to run until the 
judgment is mailed or delivered.
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(M) Order of Eviction.

(1) Request. When the time stated in the judgment expires, a party awarded possession 
may apply for an order of eviction. The application must:

(a) be written;

(b) be verified by a person having knowledge of the facts stated;

(c) if any money has been paid after entry of the judgment, show the conditions 
under which it was accepted; and

(d) state whether the party awarded judgment has complied with its terms.

(2) Issuance of Order of Eviction and Delivery of Order. Subject to the provisions of 
subrule (M)(4), the order of eviction shall be delivered to the person serving the order 
for service within 7 days after the order is filed. 

(3) Issuance Immediately on Judgment. The court may issue an order immediately on 
entering judgment if

(a) the court is convinced the statutory requirements are satisfied, and

(b) the defendant was given notice, before the judgment of a request for immediate 
issuance of the order.

The court may condition the order to protect the defendant's interest.

(4) Limitations on Time for Issuance and Execution. Unless a hearing is held after the 
defendant has been given notice and an opportunity to appear, an order of eviction 
may not

(a) be issued later than 56 days after judgment is entered,

(b) be executed later than 56 days after it is issued.

(5) Acceptance of Partial Payment. An order of eviction may not be issued if any part 
of the amount due under the judgment has been paid, unless

(a) a hearing is held after the defendant has been given notice and an opportunity 
to appear, or

(b) the judgment provides that acceptance of partial payment of the amount due 
under the judgment will not prevent issuance of an order of eviction.

(N) Postjudgment Motions. Except as provided in MCR 2.612, any postjudgment motion 
must be filed no later than 10 days after judgment enters.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, if the motion challenges a 
judgment for possession, the court may not grant a stay. The court shall grant a 
stay if

(a) the motion is accompanied by an escrow deposit of 1 month's rent, or

(b) the court is satisfied that there are grounds for relief under MCR 2.612(C), and 
issues an order that waives payment of the escrow; such an order may be ex parte.
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If a stay is granted, a hearing shall be held within 14 days after it is issued.

(2) If the judgment does not include an award of possession, the filing of the motion 
stays proceedings, but the plaintiff may move for an order requiring a bond to secure 
the stay. If the initial escrow deposit is believed inadequate, the plaintiff may apply for 
continuing adequate escrow payments in accord with subrule (I)(2). The filing of a 
postjudgment motion together with a bond, bond order, or escrow deposit stays all 
proceedings, including an order of eviction issued but not executed.

(3) If a motion is filed to set aside a default money judgment, except when grounded 
on lack of jurisdiction over the defendant, the court may not grant the motion unless

(a) the motion is accompanied by an affidavit of facts showing a meritorious 
defense, and

(b) good cause is shown.

(O) Appeals From Possessory Judgments.

(1) Rules Applicable. Except as provided by this rule, appeals must comply with MCR 
7.101 through 7.115.

(2) Time. An appeal of right must be filed within 10 days after the entry of judgment.

(3) Stay of Order of Eviction.

(a) Unless a stay is ordered by the trial court, an order of eviction must issue as 
provided in subrule (M).

(b) The filing of a claim of appeal together with a bond or escrow order of the 
court stays all proceedings, including an order of eviction issued but not executed.

(4) Appeal Bond; Escrow.

(a) A plaintiff who appeals must file a bond providing that if the plaintiff loses he 
or she will pay the appeal costs.

(b) A defendant who appeals must file a bond providing that if the defendant loses, 
he or she will pay

(i) the appeal costs,

(ii) the amount due stated in the judgment, and

(iii) damages from the time of forcible entry, the detainer, the notice to quit, or 
the demand for possession.

The court may waive the bond requirement of subrule (O)(4)(b)(i) on the 
grounds stated in MCR 2.002(C) or (D).

(c) If the plaintiff won a possession judgment, the court shall enter an escrow order 
under subrule (I)(2) and require the defendant to make payments while the appeal 
is pending. This escrow order may not be retroactive as to arrearages preceding the 
date of the posttrial escrow order unless there was a pretrial escrow order entered 
under subrule (H)(2), in which case the total escrow amount may include the 
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amount accrued between the time of the original escrow order and the filing of the 
appeal.

(d) If it is established that an appellant cannot obtain sureties or make a sufficient 
cash deposit, the court must permit the appellant to comply with an escrow order.

(P) Objections to Fees Covered by Statute for Orders of Eviction. Objections shall be by 
motion. The fee to be paid shall be reasonable in light of all the circumstances. In 
determining the reasonableness of a fee, the court shall consider all issues bearing on 
reasonableness, including but not limited to

(1) the time of travel to the premises,

(2) the time necessary to execute the order,

(3) the amount and weight of the personal property removed from the premises,

(4) who removed the personal property from the premises,

(5) the distance that the personal property was moved from the premises, and

(6) the actual expenses incurred in executing the order of eviction.

RULE 4.202 SUMMARY PROCEEDINGS; LAND CONTRACT FORFEITURE

(A) Applicable Rules. Except as provided by this rule and MCL 600.5701 et seq., a 
summary proceeding to recover possession of premises after forfeiture of an executory 
contract for the purchase of premises as described in MCL 600.5726 is governed by the 
Michigan Court Rules.

(B) Jurisdiction.

(1) Status of Premises. The proceeding may be brought when the premises are vacant 
or are in the possession of

(a) the vendee,

(b) a party to the contract,

(c) an assignee of the contract, or

(d) a third party.

(2) Powers of Court. The court may do all things necessary to hear and resolve the 
proceeding, including but not limited to

(a) hearing and deciding all issues,

(b) ordering joinder of additional parties,

(c) ordering or permitting amendments or additional pleadings, and

(d) making and enforcing writs and orders.

(C) Necessary Parties. The plaintiff must join as defendants



Chapter 4. District Court Page 499   Updated April 26, 2024 

(1) the vendee named in the contract,

(2) any person known to the plaintiff to be claiming an interest in the premises under 
the contract, and

(3) any person in possession of the premises, unless that party has been released from 
liability.

(D) Complaint. The complaint must:

(1) comply with the general pleading requirements;

(2) allege

(a) the original selling price,

(b) the principal balance due, and

(c) the amount in arrears under the contract;

(3) state with particularity any other material breach claimed as a basis for forfeiture; 
and

(4) have attached to it a copy of the notice of forfeiture, showing when and how it was 
served on each named defendant.

(E) Summons. The summons must comply with MCR 2.102 and MCL 600.5735, and 
command the defendant to appear and answer or take other action permitted by law within 
the time permitted by statute after service of the summons on the defendant.

(F) Service of Process. The defendant must be served with a copy of the complaint and 
summons under MCR 2.105.

(G) Recording. All executory contract summary proceedings conducted in open court 
must be recorded by stenographic or mechanical means, and only a reporter or recorder 
certified under MCR 8.108(G) may file a transcript of the record in a Michigan court.

(H) Answer; Default.

(1) Answer. The answer must comply with general pleading requirements and allege 
those matters on which the defendant intends to rely to defeat the claim or any part of 
it.

(2) Default.

(a) If the defendant fails to appear, the court, on the plaintiff's motion, may enter a 
default and may hear the plaintiff's proofs in support of judgment. If satisfied that 
the complaint is accurate, the court must enter a default judgment under MCL 
600.5741, and in accord with subrule (J). The default judgment must be mailed to 
the defendant by the court clerk and must inform the defendant that (if applicable)

(i) he or she may be evicted from the premises;

(ii) he or she may be liable for a money judgment.
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(b) If the plaintiff fails to appear, a default and judgment as to costs under MCL 
600.5747 may be entered.

(c) If a party fails to appear, the court may adjourn the hearing for up to 7 days. If 
the hearing is adjourned, the court must mail notice of the new date to the party 
who failed to appear.

(3) Use of Videoconferencing Technology. For any hearing held under this 
subchapter, in accordance with MCR 2.407, the court may allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology by any participant as defined in MCR 2.407(A)(1).

(I) Joinder; Removal.

(1) A party may join a claim or counterclaim for equitable relief or a money claim or 
counterclaim described by MCL 600.5739. A money claim must be separately stated 
in the complaint. A money counterclaim must be labeled and separately stated in a 
written answer. If such a joinder is made, the court may order separate summary 
disposition of the claim for possession, as described by MCL 600.5739.

(2) A court with a territorial jurisdiction which has a population of more than 
1,000,000 may provide, by local rule, that a money claim or counterclaim must be 
tried separately from a claim for possession unless joinder is allowed by leave of the 
court pursuant to subrule (I)(3).

(3) If adjudication of a money counterclaim will affect the amount the defendant must 
pay to prevent the issuance of a writ of restitution, the counterclaim must be tried at 
the same time as the claim for possession, subrules (I)(1) and (2) notwithstanding, 
unless it appears to the court that the counterclaim is without merit.

(4) If a money claim or counterclaim exceeding the court's jurisdiction is introduced, 
the court, on motion of either party or on its own initiative, shall order, in accordance 
with the procedures in MCR 4.002, removal of that portion of the action, if the money 
claim or counterclaim is sufficiently shown to exceed the court's jurisdictional limit.

(J) Judgment. The judgment

(1) must comply with MCL 600.5741;

(2) must state when, and under what conditions, if any, a writ of restitution will issue;

(3) must state that an appeal or postjudgment motion to challenge the judgment may 
be filed within 10 days;

(4) may contain such other terms and conditions as the nature of the action and the 
rights of the parties require; and

(5) must be mailed or delivered by the court to the parties. The time period for 
applying for the writ of restitution does not begin to run until the judgment is mailed or 
delivered.

(K) Order of Eviction.
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(1) Request. When the time stated in the judgment expires, a party awarded possession 
may apply for an order of eviction. The application must:

(a) be written;

(b) be verified by a person having knowledge of the facts stated;

(c) if any money due under the judgment has been paid, show the conditions under 
which it was accepted; and

(d) state whether the party awarded judgment has complied with its terms.

(2) Hearing Required if Part of Judgment Has Been Paid. An order of eviction may not 
be issued if any part of the amount due under the judgment has been paid unless a 
hearing has been held after the defendant has been given notice and an opportunity to 
appear.

(L) Appeal. Except as provided by this rule or by law, the rules applicable to other appeals 
to circuit court (see MCR 7.101-7.115) apply to appeals from judgments in land contract 
forfeiture cases. However, in such cases the time limit for filing a claim of appeal under 
MCR 7.104(A) is 10 days.

SUBCHAPTER 4.300 SMALL CLAIMS ACTIONS

RULE 4.301 APPLICABILITY OF RULES

Actions in a small claims division are governed by the procedural provisions of Chapter 
84 of the Revised Judicature Act, MCL 600.8401 et seq., and by this subchapter of the rules. After 
judgment, other applicable Michigan Court Rules govern actions that were brought in a small 
claims division.

RULE 4.302 STATEMENT OF CLAIM

(A) Contents. The statement of the claim must be in an affidavit in substantially the form 
approved by the state court administrator. Affidavit forms shall be available at the clerk's 
office. The nature and amount of the claim must be stated in concise, nontechnical 
language, and the affidavit must state the date or dates when the claim arose. The form, 
captioning, signing, and verifying of documents are prescribed in MCR 1.109(D) and (E). 

 (B) Affidavit; Signature.

(1) If the plaintiff is an individual, the affidavit must be signed by the plaintiff, or the 
plaintiff's guardian, conservator, or next friend.

(2) If the plaintiff is a sole proprietorship, a partnership, or a corporation, the affidavit 
must be signed by a person authorized to file the claim by MCL 600.8407(3).

(C) Names.
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(1) The affidavit must state the full and correct name of the plaintiff and whether the 
plaintiff is a corporation or a partnership. If the plaintiff was acting under an assumed 
name when the claim arose, the assumed name must be given.

(2) The defendant may be identified as permitted by MCL 600.8426, or as is proper in 
other civil actions.

(D) Claims in Excess of Statutory Limitation. If the amount of the plaintiff's claim 
exceeds the statutory limitation, the actual amount of the claim must be stated. The claim 
must state that by commencing the action the plaintiff waives any claim to the excess over 
the statutory limitation, and that the amount equal to the statutory limitation, exclusive of 
costs, is claimed by the action. A judgment on the claim is a bar to a later action in any 
court to recover the excess.

RULE 4.303 NOTICE

(A) Contents. The notice to the defendant must meet the requirements of MCL 600.8404. 
The court clerk shall notify the plaintiff to appear at the time and place specified with the 
books, papers, and witnesses necessary to prove the claim, and that if the plaintiff fails to 
appear, the claim will be dismissed.

(B) Certified Mail. If the defendant is a corporation or a partnership, the certified mail 
described in MCL 600.8405 need not be deliverable to the addressee only, but may be 
deliverable to and signed for by an agent of the addressee.

(C) Notice Not Served. If it appears that notice was not received by the defendant at least 
7 days before the appearance date and the defendant does not appear, the clerk must, at the 
plaintiff's request, issue further notice without additional cost to the plaintiff, setting the 
hearing for a future date. The further notice may be served as provided in MCR 2.105.

(D) Dismissal for Lack of Progress.

(1) On motion of a party or on its own initiative, the court may order that a case in 
which no progress has been made within 91 days after the last action be dismissed for 
lack of progress.

(2) The court must serve notice of the proposed dismissal on the parties at least 14 
days before the court orders the case dismissed.

(3) A dismissal under this subrule is without prejudice unless the court orders 
otherwise.

RULE 4.304 CONDUCT OF TRIAL

(A) Appearance. If the parties appear, the court shall hear the claim as provided in MCL 
600.8411. In accordance with MCR 2.407, the court may allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology by any participant as defined in MCR 2.407(A)(1). The 
trial may be adjourned to a later date for good cause.
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(B) Nonappearance.

(1) If a defendant fails to appear, judgment may be entered by default if the claim is 
liquidated, or on the ex parte proofs the court requires if the claim is unliquidated.

(2) If the plaintiff fails to appear, the claim may be dismissed for want of prosecution, 
the defendant may proceed to trial on the merits, or the action may be adjourned, as the 
court directs.

(3) If all parties fail to appear, the claim may be dismissed for want of prosecution or 
the court may order another disposition, as justice requires.

RULE 4.305 JUDGMENTS

(A) Entry of Judgments. A judgment must be entered at the time of the entry of the court's 
findings, and must contain the payment and stay provisions required by MCL 
600.8410(2).

(B) Modification; Vacation. A judgment of the small claims division may be modified or 
vacated in the same manner as judgments in other civil actions, except that an appeal may 
not be taken.

(C) Garnishment. A writ of garnishment may not be issued to enforce the judgment until 
the expiration of 21 days after it was entered. If a judgment had been ordered to be paid by 
installments, an affidavit for a writ of garnishment must so state and must state that the 
order has been set aside or vacated.

RULE 4.306 REMOVAL TO TRIAL COURT

(A) Demand. A party may demand that the action be removed from the small claims 
division to the trial court for further proceedings by

(1) signing a written demand for removal and filing it with the clerk at or before the 
time set for hearing; or

(2) appearing before the court at the time and place set for hearing and demanding 
removal.

(B) Order; Fee. On receiving a demand for removal, the court shall, by a written order 
filed in the action, direct removal to the trial court for further proceedings.

(1) The order must direct a defendant to file a written answer and serve it as provided 
in MCR 2.107 within 14 days after the date of the order.

(2) The party demanding removal must promptly serve the order on the opposing party 
and file proof of service with the court.

(3) There is no fee for the removal, order, or mailing.



Chapter 4. District Court Page 504   Updated April 26, 2024 

(C) Motion for More Definite Statement. After removal, the affidavit is deemed to be a 
sufficient statement of the plaintiff's claim unless a defendant, within the time permitted 
for answer, files a motion for a more definite statement.

(1) The motion must state the information sought and must be supported by an 
affidavit that the defendant

(a) does not have the information and cannot secure it with the exercise of 
reasonable diligence, and

(b) is unable to answer the plaintiff's claim without it.

(2) The court may decide the motion without a hearing on just and reasonable terms or 
may direct that a hearing be held after notice to both parties at a time set by the court.

(3) If the plaintiff fails to file a more definite statement after having been ordered to do 
so, the clerk shall dismiss the claim for want of prosecution.

(D) Default. On removal, if the defendant fails to file an answer or motion within the time 
permitted, the clerk shall enter the default of the defendant. MCR 2.603 governs further 
proceedings.

(E) Procedure After Removal. Except as provided in this rule, further proceedings in 
actions removed to the trial court are governed by the rules applicable to other civil 
actions.

SUBCHAPTER 4.400 MAGISTRATES

RULE 4.401 DISTRICT COURT MAGISTRATES

(A) Procedure. Proceedings involving district court magistrates must be in accordance 
with relevant statutes and rules.

(B) Duties. Notwithstanding statutory provisions to the contrary, district court magistrates 
exercise only those duties expressly authorized by the chief judge of the district or 
division.

(C) Control of Magisterial Action. An action taken by a district court magistrate may be 
superseded, without formal appeal, by order of a district judge in the district in which the 
magistrate serves.

(D) Appeals. Appeals of right may be taken from a decision of the district court magistrate 
to the district court in the district in which the magistrate serves by filing a written claim 
of appeal in substantially the form provided by MCR 7.104 within 7 days of the entry of 
the decision of the magistrate. No fee is required on the filing of the appeal, except as 
otherwise provided by statute or court rule. The action is heard de novo by the district 
court.
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(E) A district court magistrate may use videoconferencing technology in accordance with 
MCR 2.407 and MCR 6.006. 



Chapter 5. Probate Court Page 506   Updated April 26, 2024 

MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 5. Probate Court
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 5.000 GENERAL PROVISIONS

RULE 5.001 APPLICABILITY

(A) Applicability of Rules. Procedure in probate court is governed by the general rules set 
forth in chapter one and by the rules applicable to other civil proceedings set forth in 
chapter two, except as modified by the rules in this chapter.

(B) Terminology.

(1) References to the “clerk” in the Michigan Court Rules also apply to the register in 
probate court proceedings.

(2) References to “pleadings” in the Michigan Court Rules also apply to petitions, 
objections, and claims in probate court proceedings.

SUBCHAPTER 5.100 GENERAL RULES OF PLEADING AND PRACTICE

RULE 5.101 FORM AND COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION; CONFIDENTIAL RECORDS

(A) Form of Action. There are two forms of action, a “proceeding” and a “civil action.” 

(B) Commencement of Proceeding. A proceeding is commenced by filing an application 
or a petition with the court. 

(C) Civil Actions, Commencement, Governing Rules. The following actions must be titled 
civil actions and commenced by filing a complaint and are governed by the rules 
applicable to civil actions in circuit court: 

(1) Any action against another filed by a fiduciary or trustee.

(2) Any action filed by a claimant after notice that the claim has been disallowed.

(D) Records are public except as otherwise indicated in court rule and statute

RULE 5.102 NOTICE OF HEARING

A petitioner, fiduciary, or other moving party must cause to be prepared, served, and filed, 
a notice of hearing for all matters requiring notification of interested persons. It must state the 
time and date, the place, and the nature of the hearing. Hearings must be noticed for and held at 
times previously approved by the court. 
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RULE 5.103 WHO MAY SERVE

(A) Qualifications. Service may be made by any adult or emancipated minor, including an 
interested person.

(B) Service in a Governmental Institution. Personal service on a person in a governmental 
institution, hospital, or home must be made by the person in charge of the institution or a 
person designated by that person. 

RULE 5.104 PROOF OF SERVICE; WAIVER AND CONSENT; UNOPPOSED PETITION 

(A) Proof of Service. 

(1) Whenever service is required by statute or court rule, a proof of service must be 
filed promptly and before a hearing to which the document relates. If the document 
does not involve a hearing, a proof of service must be filed with the document. The 
proof of service must include a description of the documents served, the date of 
service, the manner and method of service, and the person or persons served.

(2) Except as otherwise provided by rule, proof of service of a paper required or 
permitted to be served may be by 

(a) including it at the end of the notice of hearing or other documents being filed 
with the court, or;

(b) a written statement by the individual who served the notice of hearing or other 
documents, verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3).

(3) Subrule (A)(1) notwithstanding, in decedent estates, no proof of service need be 
filed in connection with informal proceedings or unsupervised administration unless 
required by court rule.

(4) In unsupervised administration of a trust, subrule (A)(1) notwithstanding, no proof 
of service need be filed unless required by court rule. 

(B) Waiver and Consent.

(1) Waiver. The right to notice of hearing may be waived. The waiver must

(a) be stated on the record at the hearing, or

(b) be in a writing, which is dated and signed by the interested person or someone 
authorized to consent on the interested person's behalf and specifies the hearing to 
which it applies.

(2) Consent. The relief requested in an application, petition, or motion may be granted 
by consent. An interested person who consents to an application, petition, or motion 
does not have to be served with or waive notice of hearing on the application, petition, 
or motion. The consent must

(a) be stated on the record at the hearing, or
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(b) be in a writing which is dated and signed by the interested person or someone 
authorized to consent on the interested person's behalf and must contain a 
statement that the person signing has received a copy of the application, petition, 
or motion.

(3) Who May Waive and Consent. A waiver and a consent may be made 

(a) by a legally competent interested person;

(b) by a person designated in these rules as eligible to be served on behalf of an 
interested person who is a legally disabled person; or

(c) on behalf of an interested person whether competent or legally disabled, by an 
attorney who has previously filed a written appearance.

However, a guardian, conservator, or trustee cannot waive or consent with regard 
to petitions, motions, accounts, or reports made by that person as guardian, 
conservator, or trustee.

(4) Order. If all interested persons have consented, the order may be entered 
immediately.

(C) Unopposed Petition. If a petition is unopposed at the time set for the hearing, the court 
may either grant the petition on the basis of the recitations in the petition or conduct a 
hearing. However, an order determining heirs based on an uncontested petition to 
determine heirs may only be entered on the basis of testimony or a completed SCAO-
approved testimony identifying heirs form verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3). An order 
granting a petition to appoint a guardian may only be entered on the basis of testimony at a 
hearing.

RULE 5.105 MANNER AND METHOD OF SERVICE

(A) Manner of Service.

(1) Service on an interested person may be by personal service within or without the 
State of Michigan.

(2) Unless another method of service is required by statute, court rule, or special order 
of a probate court, service may be made:

(a) to the current address of an interested person by registered, certified, or 
ordinary first-class mail, or

(b) by electronic service in accordance with MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a). 

Foreign consul and the Attorney General may be served by mail or by electronic 
service in accordance with MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(3) An interested person whose address or whereabouts is not known may be served by 
publication if a declaration of intent to give notice by publication, verified under MCR 
1.109(D)(3), is filed with the court. The declaration must set forth facts asserting that 
the address or whereabouts of the interested person could not be ascertained on 
diligent inquiry. Except in proceedings seeking a determination of a presumption of 
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death based on absence pursuant to MCL 700.1208(2), after an interested person has 
once been served by publication, notice is only required on an interested person whose 
address is known or becomes known during the proceedings.

(4) The court, for good cause on ex parte petition, may direct the manner of service if

(a) no statute or court rule provides for the manner of service on an interested 
person, or

(b) service cannot otherwise reasonably be made.

(B) Method of Service.

(1) Personal Service.

(a) On an Attorney. Personal service of a document on an attorney must be made 
by

(i) handing it to the attorney personally;

(ii) leaving it at the attorney's office with a clerk or with some person in charge 
or, if no one is in charge or present, by leaving it in some conspicuous place 
there, or by electronically delivering a facsimile to the attorney's office;

(iii) if the office is closed or the attorney has no office, by leaving it at the 
attorney's usual residence with some person of suitable age and discretion 
residing there; or

(iv) sending the document by registered mail or certified mail, return receipt 
requested, and delivery restricted to the addressee; but service is not made for 
purpose of this subrule until the attorney receives the document.

(b) On Other Individuals. Personal service of a document on an individual other 
than an attorney must be made by

(i) handing it to the individual personally;

(ii) leaving it at the person's usual residence with some person of suitable age 
and discretion residing there; or

(iii) sending the document by registered mail or certified mail, return receipt 
requested, and delivery restricted to the addressee; but service is not made for 
purpose of this subrule until the individual receives the document.

(c) On Persons Other Than Individuals. Service on an interested person other than 
an individual must be made in the manner provided in MCR 2.105(C)-(G).

(2) Mailing. Mailing of a copy under this rule means enclosing it in a sealed envelope 
with first-class postage fully prepaid, addressed to the person to be served, and 
depositing the envelope and its contents in the United States mail. Service by mail is 
complete at the time of mailing.

(3) Publication. Service by publication must be made in the manner provided in MCR 
5.106.
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(4) E-mail. Unless otherwise limited or provided by this court rule or MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a)(ii), parties to a civil action or interested persons to a proceeding may 
agree to service by e-mail in the manner provided in and governed by MCR 
2.107(C)(4).

(5) Electronic Service. Electronic service of a document shall be made in accordance 
with MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a) when required.

(C) Petitioner, Service Not Required. For service of notice of hearing on a petition, the 
petitioner, although otherwise an interested person, is presumed to have waived notice and 
consented to the petition, unless the petition expressly indicates that the petitioner does not 
waive notice and does not consent to the granting of the requested prayers without a 
hearing. Although a petitioner or a fiduciary may in fact be an interested person, the 
petitioner need not indicate, either by written waiver or proof of service, that the petitioner 
has received a copy of any document required by these rules to be served on interested 
persons.

(D) Service on Persons Under Legal Disability or Otherwise Legally Represented. In a 
guardianship or conservatorship proceeding, a petition or notice of hearing asking for an 
order that affects the ward or protected individual must be served on that ward or 
protected individual if he or she is 14 years of age or older. In all other circumstances, 
service on an interested person under legal disability or otherwise legally represented must 
be made on the following:

(1) The guardian of an adult, conservator, or guardian ad litem of a minor or other 
legally incapacitated individual, except with respect to:

(a) a petition for commitment or

(b) a petition, account, inventory, or report made as the guardian, conservator, or 
guardian ad litem.

(2) The trustee of a trust with respect to a beneficiary of the trust, except that the 
trustee may not be served on behalf of the beneficiary on petitions, accounts, or reports 
made by the trustee as trustee or as personal representative of the settlor’s estate.

(3) The guardian ad litem of any person, including an unascertained or unborn person, 
except as otherwise provided in subrule (D)(1).

(4) A parent of a minor with whom the minor resides, provided the interest of the 
parent in the outcome of the hearing is not in conflict with the interest of the minor and 
provided the parent has filed an appearance on behalf of the minor.

(5) The attorney for an interested person who has filed a written appearance in the 
proceeding. If the appearance is in the name of the office of the United States attorney, 
the counsel for the Veterans' Administration, the Attorney General, the prosecuting 
attorney, or the county or municipal corporation counsel, by a specifically designated 
attorney, service must be directed to the attention of the designated attorney at the 
address stated in the written appearance.
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(6) The agent of an interested person under an unrevoked power of attorney filed with 
the court. A power of attorney is deemed unrevoked until written revocation is filed or 
it is revoked by operation of law.

For purposes of service, an emancipated minor without a guardian or conservator is 
not deemed to be under legal disability.

(E) Service on Beneficiaries of Future Interests. A notice that must be served on unborn or 
unascertained interested persons not represented by a fiduciary or guardian ad litem is 
considered served on the unborn or unascertained interested persons if it is served as 
provided in this subrule.

(1) If an interest is limited to persons in being and the same interest is further limited 
to the happening of a future event to unascertained or unborn persons, notice and 
documents must be served on the persons to whom the interest is first limited.

(2) If an interest is limited to persons whose existence as a class is conditioned on 
some future event, notice and documents must be served on the persons in being who 
would comprise the class if the required event had taken place immediately before the 
time when the documents are served.

(3) If a case is not covered by subrule (E)(1) or (2), notice and documents must be 
served on all known persons whose interests are substantially identical to those of the 
unascertained or unborn interested persons.

RULE 5.106 PUBLICATION OF NOTICE OF HEARING 

(A) Requirements. A notice of hearing or other notice required to be made by publication 
must be published in a newspaper as defined by MCR 2.106(F) one time at least 14 days 
before the date of the hearing, except that publication of a notice seeking a determination 
of a presumption of death based on absence pursuant to MCL 700.1208(2) must be made 
once a month for 4 consecutive months before the hearing.

(B) Contents of Published Notice. If notice is given to a person by publication because the 
person's address or whereabouts is not known and cannot be ascertained after diligent 
inquiry, the published notice must include the name of the person to whom the notice is 
given and a statement that the result of the hearing may be to bar or affect the person's 
interest in the matter.

(C) Affidavit of Publication. The person who orders the publication must cause to be filed 
with the court a copy of the publication notice and the publisher's affidavit stating

(1) the facts that establish the qualifications of the newspaper, and

(2) the date or dates the notice was published.

(D) Service of Notice. A copy of the notice:

(1) must be mailed to an interested person at his or her last known address if the 
person's present address is not known and cannot be ascertained by diligent inquiry;
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(2) need not be mailed to an interested person if an address cannot be ascertained by 
diligent inquiry.

(E) Location of Publication. Publication must be in the county where the court is located 
unless a different county is specified by statute, court rule, or order of the court.

RULE 5.107 OTHER DOCUMENTS REQUIRED TO BE SERVED 

(A) Other Documents to be Served. The person filing a petition, an application, a 
completed SCAO-approved testimony identifying heirs form, a completed SCAO-
approved supplemental testimony identifying heirs form, a motion or objection, a 
response or objection, an instrument offered or admitted to probate, an accounting, or a 
sworn closing statement with the court must serve a copy of that document on interested 
persons. The person who obtains an order from the court must serve a copy of the order on 
interested persons.

(B) Exceptions.

(1) Service of the papers listed in subrule (A) is not required to be made on an 
interested person whose address or whereabouts, on diligent inquiry, is unknown, or 
on an unascertained or unborn person. The court may excuse service on an interested 
person for good cause.

(2) Service is not required for a small estate filed under MCL 700.3982. 

RULE 5.108 TIME OF SERVICE 

(A) Personal. Personal service of a petition or motion must be made at least 7 days before 
the date set for hearing, or an adjourned date, unless a different period is provided or 
permitted by court rule. This subrule applies regardless of conflicting statutory provisions.

(B) Mail.

(1) Petition or Motion. Service by mail of a petition or motion must be made at least 14 
days before the date set for hearing, or an adjourned date.

(2)Application by a Guardian or Conservator Appointed in Another State.

(a)A court may appoint a temporary guardian or conservator without a hearing 
pursuant to MCL 700.5202a, MCL 700.5301a, or MCL 700.5433.

(b)If a court appoints a temporary guardian or conservator pursuant to MCL 
700.5202a, MCL 700.5301a or MCL 700.5433, the temporary guardian or 
conservator must, not later than 14 days after the appointment, serve notice of the 
appointment by mail to all interested persons.

(C) Electronic Service. Electronic service made under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a) must be made 
at least 7 days before the date set for hearing or an adjourned date.
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(D) Exception: Foreign Consul. This rule does not affect the manner and time for service 
on foreign consul provided by law.

(E) Computation of Time. MCR 1.108 governs computation of time in probate 
proceedings.

(F) Responses. A written response or objection may be served at any time before the 
hearing or at a time set by the court.

RULE 5.109 NOTICE OF GUARDIANSHIP PROCEEDINGS CONCERNING INDIAN CHILD

If an Indian child is the subject of a guardianship proceeding and an Indian tribe does not 
have exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(2): 

(1)in addition to any other service requirements, the petitioner shall notify the parent or 
Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe, by personal service or by registered mail 
with return receipt requested and delivery restricted to the addressee, of the pending 
proceedings on a petition to establish guardianship over the Indian child and of their right 
of intervention on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office. If the 
identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian, or of the Indian child’s tribe, cannot 
be determined, notice shall be given to the Secretary of the Interior by registered mail with 
return receipt requested. If a petition is filed with the court that subsequently identifies the 
minor as an Indian child after a guardianship has been established, notice of that petition 
must be served in accordance with this subrule. 

(2)the court shall notify the parent or Indian custodian and the Indian child’s tribe of all 
other hearings pertaining to the guardianship proceeding as provided in MCR 5.105. If the 
identity or location of the parent or Indian custodian, or of the Indian child’s tribe, cannot 
be determined, notice of the hearings shall be given to the Secretary of the Interior. Such 
notice may be made by first-class mail.

RULE 5.112 PRIOR PROCEEDINGS AFFECTING THE PERSON OF A MINOR 

Proceedings affecting the person of a minor subject to the prior continuing jurisdiction of 
another court of record are governed by MCR 3.205, including the requirement that petitions in 
such proceedings must contain allegations with respect to the prior proceedings.

RULE 5.113 FORM, CAPTIONING, SIGNING, AND VERIFYING OF DOCUMENTS 

(A) Form of Documents Generally. The form, captioning, signing, and verifying of 
documents are prescribed in MCR 1.109(D) and (E). If the State Court Administrative 
Office has approved a form for the particular purpose, it must be used when preparing that 
particular document for filing with the court. An application, petition, inventory, 
accounting, proof of claim, or proof of service must be verified in accordance with MCR 
1.109(D)(3).
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(B) Contents of Petitions.

(1) A petition must include allegations and representations sufficient to justify the 
relief sought and must:

(a) identify the petitioner, and the petitioner's interest in proceedings, and 
qualification to petition;

(b) include allegations as to residence, domicile, or property situs essential to 
establishing court jurisdiction;

(c) identify and incorporate, directly or by reference, any documents to be 
admitted, construed, or interpreted;

(d) include any additional allegations required by law or court rule; 

(e) except when ex parte relief is sought, include a current list of interested 
persons, indicate the existence and form of incapacity of any of them, the mailing 
addresses of the persons or their representatives, the nature of representation and 
the need, if any, for special representation.

(2) The petition may incorporate by reference documents and lists of interested 
persons previously filed with the court if changes in the papers or lists are set forth in 
the incorporating petition.

(C) Filing by Registered Mail. Except as otherwise stated in this subrule, any document 
required by law to be filed in or delivered to the court by registered mail may be filed in 
accordance with MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a). Deliveries of wills or codicils must be delivered in 
accordance with MCL 700.2515 and 700.2516.

(D) Filing Additional Documents. The court in its discretion may receive for filing a 
document not required to be filed.

RULE 5.117 APPEARANCE BY ATTORNEYS 

(A) Representation of Fiduciary. An attorney filing an appearance on behalf of a fiduciary 
shall represent the fiduciary.

(B) Appearance.

(1) In General. An attorney may generally appear by an act indicating that the attorney 
represents an interested person in the proceeding. A limited appearance may be made 
by an attorney for an interested person in a civil action or proceeding as provided in 
MCR 2.117(B)(2)(c), except that any reference to parties of record in MCR 
2.117(B)(2)(c) shall instead refer to interested persons. An appearance by an attorney 
for an interested person is deemed an appearance by the interested person. Unless a 
particular rule indicates otherwise, any act required to be performed by an interested 
person may be performed by the attorney representing the interested person.

(2) Notice of Appearance. If an appearance is made in a manner not involving the 
filing of a document served with the court or if the appearance is made by filing a 
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document which is not served on the interested persons, the attorney must promptly 
file a written appearance and serve it on the interested persons whose addresses are 
known or who are authorized users of the electronic filing system under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a) and on the fiduciary.

(3) Appearance by Law Firm.

(a) A pleading, appearance, motion, or other document filed by a law firm on 
behalf of a client is deemed the appearance of the individual attorney first filing a 
document in the action. All notices required by these rules may be served on that 
individual. That attorney's appearance continues until an order of substitution or 
withdrawal is entered. This subrule is not intended to prohibit other attorneys in 
the law firm from appearing in the action on behalf of the client.

(b) The appearance of an attorney is deemed to be the appearance of every member 
of the law firm. Any attorney in the firm may be required by the court to conduct a 
court-ordered conference or trial if it is within the scope of the appearance.

(C) Duration of Appearance by Attorney.

(1) In General. Unless otherwise stated in the appearance or ordered by the court, an 
attorney's appearance applies only in the court in which it is made or to which the 
action is transferred and only for the proceeding in which it is filed.

(2) Appearance on Behalf of Fiduciary. An appearance on behalf of a fiduciary applies 
until the proceedings are completed, the client is discharged, or an order terminating 
the appearance is entered.

(3) Termination of Appearance on Behalf of a Personal Representative. In 
unsupervised administration, the probate register may enter an order terminating an 
appearance on behalf of a personal representative if the personal representative 
consents in writing to the termination.

(4) Other Appearance. An appearance on behalf of a client other than a fiduciary 
applies until a final order is entered disposing of all claims by or against the client, or 
an order terminating the appearance is entered.

(5) Limited Scope Appearances. Notwithstanding other provisions in this section, 
limited appearances under MCR 2.117(B)(2)(c) may be terminated in accordance with 
MCR 2.117(C)(3), except that any reference to parties of record in MCR 
2.117(B)(2)(c) shall instead refer to interested persons.

(6) Substitution of Attorneys. In the case of a substitution of attorneys, the court in a 
supervised administration or the probate register in an unsupervised administration 
may enter an order permitting the substitution without prior notice to the interested 
persons or fiduciary. If the order is entered, the substituted attorney must give notice 
of the substitution to all interested persons and the fiduciary.

(D) Right to Determination of Compensation. An attorney whose services are terminated 
retains the right to have compensation determined before the proceeding is closed. 
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RULE 5.118 AMENDING OR SUPPLEMENTING PAPERS 

(A) Documents Subject to Hearing. A person who has filed a document that is subject to a 
hearing may amend or supplement the document 

(1) before a hearing if notice is given pursuant to these rules, or

(2) at the hearing without new notice of hearing if the court determines that material 
prejudice would not result to the substantial rights of the person to whom the notice 
should have been directed.

(B) Documents Not Subject to Hearing. A person who has filed a document that is not 
subject to a hearing may amend or supplement the document if service is made pursuant to 
these rules. 

RULE 5.119 ADDITIONAL PETITIONS; OBJECTIONS; HEARING PRACTICES

(A) Right to Hearing, New Matter. An interested person may, within the period allowed 
by law or these rules, file a petition and obtain a hearing with respect to the petition. The 
petitioner must serve copies of the petition and notice of hearing on the fiduciary and other 
interested persons whose addresses are known or who are authorized users of the 
electronic filing system under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(B) Objection to Pending Matter. An interested person may object to a pending petition 
orally at the hearing or by filing and serving a document which conforms with MCR 
1.109(D). The court may adjourn a hearing based on an oral objection and require that a 
proper written objection be filed and served.

(C) Adjournment. A petition that is not heard on the day for which it is noticed, in the 
absence of a special order, stands adjourned from day to day or until a day certain.

(D) Briefs; Argument. The court may require that briefs of law and fact and proposed 
orders be filed as a condition precedent to oral argument. The court may limit oral 
argument.

RULE 5.120 ACTION BY FIDUCIARY IN CONTESTED MATTER; NOTICE TO INTERESTED PERSONS; 
FAILURE TO INTERVENE 

The fiduciary represents the interested persons in a contested matter. The fiduciary must 
give notice to all interested persons whose addresses are known or who are authorized users of the 
electronic filing system under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a) that a contested matter has been commenced 
and must keep such interested persons reasonably informed of the fiduciary's actions concerning 
the matter. The fiduciary must inform the interested persons that they may file a petition to 
intervene in the matter and that failure to intervene shall result in their being bound by the actions 
of the fiduciary. The interested person shall be bound by the actions of the fiduciary after such 
notice and until the interested person notifies the fiduciary that the interested person has filed with 
the court a petition to intervene. 
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RULE 5.121 GUARDIAN AD LITEM; VISITOR 

(A) Appointment.

(1) Guardian Ad Litem. The court shall appoint a guardian ad litem when required by 
law. If it deems necessary, the court may appoint a guardian ad litem to appear for and 
represent the interests of any person in any proceeding. The court shall state the 
purpose of the appointment in the order of appointment. The order may be entered 
with or without notice.

(2) Visitor. The court may appoint a visitor when authorized by law.

(B) Revocation. If it deems necessary, the court may revoke the appointment and appoint 
another guardian ad litem or visitor.

(C) Duties. Before the date set for hearing, the guardian ad litem or visitor shall conduct 
an investigation and shall make a report in open court or file a written report of the 
investigation and recommendations. The guardian ad litem or visitor need not appear 
personally at the hearing unless required by law or directed by the court. Any written 
report must be filed with the court at least 24 hours before the hearing or such other time 
specified by the court.

(D) Evidence.

(1) Reports, Admission Into Evidence. Oral and written reports of a guardian ad litem 
or visitor may be received by the court and may be relied on to the extent of their 
probative value, even though such evidence may not be admissible under the Michigan 
Rules of Evidence.

(2) Reports, Review and Cross-Examination.

(a) Any interested person shall be afforded an opportunity to examine and 
controvert reports received into evidence.

(b) The person who is the subject of a report received under subrule (D)(1) shall be 
permitted to cross-examine the individual making the report if the person requests 
such an opportunity.

(c) Other interested persons may cross-examine the individual making a report on 
the contents of the report, if the individual is reasonably available. The court may 
limit cross-examination for good cause.

(E) Attorney-Client Privilege.

(1) During Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem. When the guardian ad litem 
appointed to represent the interest of a person is an attorney, that appointment does 
not create an attorney-client relationship. Communications between that person 
and the guardian ad litem are not subject to the attorney-client privilege. The 
guardian ad litem must inform the person whose interests are represented of this 
lack of privilege as soon as practicable after appointment. The guardian ad litem 
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may report or testify about any communication with the person whose interests are 
represented.

(2) Later Appointment as Attorney. If the appointment of the guardian ad litem is 
terminated and the same individual is appointed attorney, the appointment as 
attorney creates an attorney-client relationship. The attorney-client privilege 
relates back to the date of the appointment of the guardian ad litem.

RULE 5.125 INTERESTED PERSONS DEFINED 

(A) Special Persons. In addition to persons named in subrule (C) with respect to specific 
proceedings, the following persons must be served: 

(1) The Attorney General must be served if required by law or court rule. The Attorney 
General must be served in the specific proceedings enumerated in subrule (C) when 
the decedent is not survived by any known heirs, or the protected person has no known 
presumptive heirs.

(2) A foreign consul must be served if required by MCL 700.1401(4) or court rule. An 
attorney who has filed an appearance for a foreign consul must be served when 
required by subrule (A)(5).

(3) On a petition for the appointment of a guardian or conservator of a person on 
whose account benefits are payable by the Veterans' Administration, the Administrator 
of Veterans' Affairs must be served through the administrator's Michigan district 
counsel.

(4) A guardian, conservator, or guardian ad litem of a person must be served with 
notice of proceedings as to which the represented person is an interested person, 
except as provided by MCR 5.105(D)(1).

(5) An attorney who has filed an appearance must be served notice of proceedings 
concerning which the attorney's client is an interested person.

(6) A special fiduciary appointed under MCL 700.1309.

(7) A person who filed a demand for notice under MCL 700.3205 or a request for 
notice under MCL 700.5104 if the demand or request has not been withdrawn, 
expired, or terminated by court order.

(8)In a guardianship proceeding for a minor, if the minor is an Indian child as defined 
by the Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, MCL 712B.1 et seq., the minor’s 
tribe and the Indian custodian, if any, and, if the Indian child’s parent or Indian 
custodian or tribe is unknown, the Secretary of the Interior. 

(B) Special Conditions for Interested Persons.

(1) Claimant. Only a claimant who has properly presented a claim and whose claim 
has not been disallowed and remains unpaid need be notified of specific proceedings 
under subrule (C).
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(2) Devisee. Only a devisee whose devise remains unsatisfied, or a trust beneficiary 
whose beneficial interest remains unsatisfied, need be notified of specific proceedings 
under subrule (C).

(3) Trust as Devisee. If either a trust or a trustee is a devisee, the trustee is the 
interested person. If no trustee has qualified, the interested persons are the qualified 
trust beneficiaries described in MCL 700.7103(g)(i)(A) and the nominated trustee, if 
any. 

(4) Father of a Child Born out of Wedlock. Except as otherwise provided by law, the 
natural father of a child born out of wedlock need not be served notice of proceedings 
in which the child's parents are interested persons unless his paternity has been 
determined in a manner provided by law. 

(5) Decedent as Interested Person. If a decedent is an interested person, the personal 
representative of the decedent’s estate is the interested person. If there is no personal 
representative, the interested persons are the known heirs of the estate of the decedent, 
and the known devisees. If there are no known heirs, the Attorney General must 
receive notice.

(C) Specific Proceedings. Subject to subrules (A) and (B) and MCR 5.105(E), the 
following provisions apply. When a single petition requests multiple forms of relief, the 
petitioner must give notice to all persons interested in each type of relief:

(1) The persons interested in an application or a petition to probate a will are the

(a) devisees,

(b) nominated trustee and qualified trust beneficiaries described in MCL 
700.7103(g)(i)(A) of a trust created under the will, 

(c) heirs,

(d) nominated personal representative, and

(e) trustee of a revocable trust described in MCL 700.7605(1).

(2) The persons interested in an application or a petition to appoint a personal 
representative, other than a special personal representative, of an intestate estate are 
the

(a) heirs,

(b) nominated personal representative, and

(c) trustee of a revocable trust described in MCL 700.7605(1).

(3) The persons interested in a petition to determine the heirs of a decedent are the 
presumptive heirs.

(4) The persons interested in a petition of surety for discharge from further liability are 
the 

(a) principal on the bond,

(b) co-surety,
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(c) devisees of a testate estate,

(d) heirs of an intestate estate,

(e) qualified trust beneficiaries, as referred to in MCL 700.7103(g)(i)(A),

(f) protected person and presumptive heirs of the protected person in a 
conservatorship, and 

(g) claimants. 

(5) The persons interested in a proceeding for spouse’s allowance are the

(a) devisees of a testate estate,

(b) heirs of an intestate estate,

(c) claimants,

(d) spouse, and

(e) the personal representative, if the spouse is not the personal representative.

(6) The persons interested in a proceeding for examination or approval of an account 
of a fiduciary are: 

(a)for a testate estate, the devisees under the will (and if one of the devisees is a 
trustee or a trust, the persons referred to in MCR 5.125[B][3]),

(b)for an intestate estate, the heirs,

(c)for a conservatorship, the protected individual (if he or she is 14 years of age or 
older), the presumptive heirs of the protected individual, and the guardian ad litem, 
if any,

(d)for a final conservatorship or guardianship account following the death of the 
protected person, the personal representative, if one has been appointed,

(e)for a guardianship, the ward (if he or she is 14 years of age or older), the 
presumptive heirs of the ward, and the guardian ad litem, if any,

(f)for a revocable trust, the settlor (and if the petitioner has a reasonable basis to 
believe the settlor is an incapacitated individual, those persons who are entitled to 
be reasonably informed, as referred to in MCL 700.7603[2]), the current trustee, 
and any other person named in the terms of the trust to receive either an account or 
a notice of such a proceeding, including a trust director,

(g)for an irrevocable trust, the current trustee, the qualified trust beneficiaries, as 
defined in MCL 700.7103(g), and any other person named in the terms of the trust 
to receive either an account or a notice of such a proceeding, including a trust 
director,

(h)in all matters described in this subsection (6), any person whose interests would 
be adversely affected by the relief requested, including a claimant or an insurer or 
surety who might be subject to financial obligations as the result of the approval of 
the account.
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 (7) The persons interested in a proceeding for partial distribution of the estate of a 
decedent are the 

(a) devisees of a testate estate entitled to share in the residue,

(b) heirs of an intestate estate,

(c) claimants, and

(d) any other person whose unsatisfied interests in the estate may be affected by 
such assignment. 

(8) The persons interested in a petition for an order of complete estate settlement under 
MCL 700.3952 or a petition for discharge under MCR 5.311(B)(3) are the 

(a) devisees of a testate estate,

(b) heirs unless there has been an adjudication that decedent died testate,

(c) claimants, and 

(d) such other persons whose interests are affected by the relief requested. 

(9) The persons interested in a proceeding for an estate settlement order pursuant to 
MCL 700.3953 are the

(a) personal representative,

(b) devisees,

(c) claimants, and 

(d) such other persons whose interests are affected by the relief requested.

(10) The persons interested in a proceeding for assignment and distribution of the 
share of an absent apparent heir or devisee in the estate of a decedent are the 

(a) devisees of the will of the decedent,

(b) heirs of the decedent if the decedent did not leave a will, 

(c) devisees of the will of the absent person, and

(d) presumptive heirs of the absent person.

(11) The persons interested in a petition for supervised administration after an estate 
has been commenced are the

(a) devisees, unless the court has previously found decedent died intestate,

(b) heirs, unless the court has previously found decedent died testate,

(c) personal representative, and 

(d) claimants.

(12) The persons interested in an independent request for adjudication under MCL 
700.3415 and a petition for an interim order under MCL 700.3505 are the

(a) personal representative, and 
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(b) other persons who will be affected by the adjudication.

(13) The persons interested in a petition for settlement of a wrongful-death action or 
distribution of wrongful-death proceeds are the 

(a) heirs of the decedent, 

(b) other persons who may be entitled to distribution of wrongful-death proceeds, 
and 

(c) claimants whose interests are affected. 

(14) The persons interested in a will contest settlement proceeding are the 

(a) heirs of the decedent and 

(b) devisees affected by settlement. 

(15) The persons interested in a partition proceeding where the property has not been 
assigned to a trust under the will are the 

(a) heirs in an intestate estate or

(b) devisees affected by partition.

(16) The persons interested in a partition proceeding where the property has been 
assigned to a trust under the will are the

(a) trustee and 

(b) beneficiaries affected by the partition.

(17) The persons interested in a petition to establish the cause and date of death in an 
accident or disaster case under MCL 700.1208 are the heirs of the presumed decedent. 

(18) The persons interested in a proceeding under the Mental Health Code that may 
result in an individual receiving involuntary mental health treatment or judicial 
admission of an individual with a developmental disability to a center are the 

(a) individual,

(b) individual's attorney, 

(c) petitioner,

(d) prosecuting attorney or petitioner's attorney,

(e) director of any hospital or center to which the individual has been admitted,

(f) individual's spouse, if the spouse's whereabouts are known,

(g) individual's guardian, if any,

(h) in a proceeding for judicial admission to a center or in a proceeding in which 
assisted outpatient treatment is ordered, the community mental health program, 
and

(i) such other relatives or persons as the court may determine. 
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(19) The persons interested in a proceeding under the Mental Health Code in a petition 
for appointment of a guardian of an individual with a developmental disability are the

(a) individual,

(b) individual’s attorney,

(c) petitioner,

(d) individual’s presumptive heirs,

(e) preparer of the report or another appropriate person who performed an 
evaluation,

(f) director of any facility where the individual may be residing,

(g) individual’s guardian ad litem, if appointed, and

(h) such other persons as the court may determine.

(20) The persons interested in an application for appointment of a guardian of a minor 
by a guardian appointed in another state and in a petition for appointment of a 
guardian of a minor are 

(a) the minor, if 14 years of age or older;

(b) if known by the petitioner or applicant, each person who had the principal care 
and custody of the minor during the 63 days preceding the filing of the petition or 
application; 

(c) the parents of the minor or, if neither of them is living, any grandparents and 
the adult presumptive heirs of the minor;

(d) the nominated guardian, and

(e) if known by the petitioner or applicant, a guardian or conservator appointed by 
a court in another state to make decisions regarding the person of a minor.

(21) The persons interested in the acceptance of parental appointment of the guardian 
of a minor under MCL 700.5202 are

(a) the minor, if 14 years of age or older,

(b) the person having the minor's care, and 

(c) each grandparent and the adult presumptive heirs of the minor.

(22) The persons interested in a 7-day notice of acceptance of appointment as guardian 
of an incapacitated individual under MCL 700.5301 are the 

(a) incapacitated individual,

(b) person having the care of the incapacitated individual, and

(c) presumptive heirs of the incapacitated individual.

(23) The persons interested in an application for appointment of a guardian of an 
incapacitated individual by a guardian appointed in another state or in a petition for 
appointment of a guardian of an alleged incapacitated individual are 
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(a) the alleged incapacitated individual or the incapacitated individual, 

(b) if known, a person named as attorney in fact under a durable power of attorney,

(c) the alleged incapacitated individual's spouse or the incapacitated individual’s 
spouse,

(d) the alleged incapacitated individual's adult children and the individual's parents 
or the incapacitated individual’s adult children and parents, 

(e) if no spouse, adult child, or parent is living, the presumptive heirs of the 
individual,

(f) the person who has the care and custody of the alleged incapacitated individual 
or of the incapacitated individual, 

(g) the nominated guardian, and

(h) if known by the petitioner or applicant, a guardian or conservator appointed by 
a court in another state to have care and control of the incapacitated individual. 

(24) The persons interested in receiving a copy of the report of a guardian of a minor, 
or of a legally incapacitated individual, on the condition of a ward are: 

(a) the ward, if 14 years of age or older;

(b) the person who has principal care and custody of the ward, if other than the 
guardian; 

(c) for an adult guardianship, the spouse and adult children or, if no adult children 
are living, the presumptive heirs of the individual; and

(d) for a minor guardianship, the parents of the minor or, if neither of them is 
living, any grandparents and the adult presumptive heirs of the minor. 

(25) The persons interested in an application for appointment of a conservator for a 
protected individual by a conservator appointed in another state or for the petition for 
the appointment of a conservator or for a protective order are:

(a) the individual to be protected if 14 years of age or older,

(b) the presumptive heirs of the individual to be protected,

(c) if known, a person named as attorney in fact under a durable power of attorney,

(d) the nominated conservator, 

(e) a governmental agency paying benefits to the individual to be protected or 
before which an application for benefits is pending, and

(f) if known by the petitioner or applicant, a guardian or conservator appointed by 
a court in another state to manage the protected individual’s finances.

(26) The persons interested in a petition for the modification or termination of a 
guardianship or conservatorship or for the removal of a guardian or a conservator are 

(a) those interested in a petition for appointment under subrule (C)(20), (22), (23), 
or (25) as the case may be, and 
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(b) the guardian or conservator. 

(27) The persons interested in a petition by a conservator for instructions or approval 
of sale of real estate or other assets are 

(a) the protected individual and 

(b) those persons listed in subrule (C)(25) who will be affected by the instructions 
or order.

(28) The persons interested in receiving a copy of an inventory or account of a 
conservator or of a guardian are:

(a) the protected individual or ward, if he or she is 14 years of age or older, 

(b) the presumptive heirs of the protected individual or ward, 

(c) the claimants, 

(d) the guardian ad litem, and

(e) the personal representative, if any.

(29) The persons interested in a petition for approval of a trust under MCR 2.420 are

(a) the protected individual if 14 years of age or older,

(b) the presumptive heirs of the protected individual, 

(c) if there is no conservator, a person named as attorney in fact under a durable 
power of attorney,

(d) the nominated trustee, and 

(e) a governmental agency paying benefits to the individual to be protected or 
before which an application for benefits is pending.

(30) Interested persons for any proceeding concerning a durable power of attorney for 
health care are

(a) the patient,

(b) the patient's advocate,

(c) the patient's spouse,

(d) the patient's adult children,

(e) the patient's parents if the patient has no adult children,

(f) if the patient has no spouse, adult children, or parents, the patient's minor 
children, or, if there are none, the presumptive heirs whose addresses are known,

(g) the patient’s guardian and conservator, if any, and

(h) the patient’s guardian ad litem.

(31) Persons interested in a proceeding to require, hear, or settle an accounting of an 
agent under a power of attorney are

(a) the principal,
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(b) the attorney in fact or agent,

(c) any fiduciary of the principal, 

(d) the principal’s guardian ad litem or attorney, if any, and

(e) the principal’s presumptive heirs.

(32) Subject to the provisions of Part 3 of Article VII of the Estates and Protected 
Individuals Code, the persons interested in the modification or termination of a 
noncharitable irrevocable trust are:

(a) the qualified trust beneficiaries affected by the relief requested,

(b) the settlor,

(c) if the petitioner has a reasonable basis to believe the settlor is an incapacitated 
individual, the settlor’s representative, as referred to in MCL 700.7411(6);

(d) the trust director, if any, as referred to in MCL 700.7103(m),

(e) the current trustee, and

(f) any other person named in the terms of the trust to receive notice of such a 
proceeding.

(33) Subject to the provisions of Part 3 of Article VII of the Estates and Protected 
Individuals Code, the persons interested in a proceeding affecting a trust other than 
those already covered by subrules (C)(6), (C)(29), and (C)(32) are:

(a)the qualified trust beneficiaries affected by the relief requested,

(b) the holder of a power of appointment affected by the relief requested,

(c) the current trustee,

(d) in a proceeding to appoint a trustee, the proposed trustee,

(e) the trust director, if any, as referred to in MCL 700.7103(m), 

(f) the settlor of a revocable trust, and 

(g)if the petitioner has a reasonable basis to believe the settlor is an incapacitated 
individual, those persons who are entitled to be reasonably informed, as referred to 
in MCL 700.7603(2). 

(D) The court shall make a specific determination of the interested persons if they are not 
defined by statute or court rule.

(E) In the interest of justice, the court may require additional persons be served.

RULE 5.126 DEMAND OR REQUEST FOR NOTICE 

(A) Applicability. For purposes of this rule “demand” means a demand or request. This 
rule governs the procedures to be followed regarding a person who files a demand for 
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notice pursuant to MCL 700.3205 or MCL 700.5104. This person under both sections is 
referred to as a “demandant.”

(B) Procedure.

(1) Obligation to Provide Notice or Copies of Documents. Except in small estates 
under MCL 700.3982 and MCL 700.3983, the person responsible for serving a 
document in a decedent estate, guardianship, or conservatorship in which a demand 
for notice is filed is responsible for providing copies of any orders and filings 
pertaining to the proceeding in which the demandant has requested notification. If no 
proceeding is pending at the time the demand is filed, the court must notify the 
petitioner or applicant at the time of filing that a demand for notice has been filed and 
of the responsibility to provide notice to the demandant.

(2) Rights and Obligations of Demandant. 

(a) The demandant must serve on interested persons a copy of a demand for notice 
filed after a proceeding has been commenced.

(b) Unless the demand for notice is limited to a specified class of documents, the 
demandant is entitled to receive copies of all orders and filings subsequent to the 
filing of the demand. The copies must be served on the demandant through the 
electronic filing system if the demandant is an authorized user under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a), but if not, mailed to the address specified in the demand. If the 
copies are undeliverable, no further copies of documents need be provided to the 
demandant.

(C) Termination, Withdrawal.

(1) Termination on Disqualification of Demandant. The fiduciary or an interested 
person may petition the court to determine that a person who filed a demand for notice 
does not meet the requirements of statute or court rule to receive notification. The 
court on its own motion may require the demandant to show cause why the demand 
should not be stricken.

(2) Expiration of Demand When no Proceeding is Opened. If a proceeding is not 
opened, the demand expires three years from the date the demand is filed.

(3) Withdrawal. The demandant may withdraw the demand at any time by 
communicating the withdrawal in writing to the fiduciary and to the court. If 
withdrawn, the demandant shall not continue to be served with documents in the case.

.

RULE 5.127 VENUE OF CERTAIN ACTIONS 

(A) Defendant Found Incompetent to Stand Trial. When a criminal defendant is found 
mentally incompetent to stand trial and is referred to the probate court for admission to a 
treating facility,
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(1) if the defendant is a Michigan resident, venue is proper in the county where the 
defendant resides;

(2) if the defendant is not a Michigan resident, venue is proper in the county of the 
referring criminal court.

(B) Guardian of Property of Nonresident With a Developmental Disability. If an 
individual with a developmental disability is a nonresident of Michigan and needs a 
guardian for Michigan property under the Mental Health Code, venue is proper in the 
probate court of the county where any of the property is located. 

(C) Guardian of Individual With a Developmental Disability Who is in a Facility. If venue 
for a proceeding to appoint a guardian for an individual with a developmental disability 
who is in a facility is questioned, and it appears that the convenience of the individual with 
a developmental disability or guardian would not be served by proceeding in the county 
where the individual with a developmental disability was found, venue is proper in the 
county where the individual with a developmental disability most likely would reside if 
not disabled. In making its decision, the court shall consider the situs of the property of the 
individual with a developmental disability and the residence of relatives or others who 
have provided care.

RULE 5.128 CHANGE OF VENUE 

Reasons for Change. On petition by an interested person or on the court's own initiative, 
the venue of a proceeding may be changed to another county by court order for the 
convenience of the parties and witnesses, for convenience of the attorneys, or if an 
impartial trial cannot be had in the county where the action is pending. Procedure for 
change of venue is governed by MCR 2.222 and MCR 2.223 except that a court must also 
transfer the original of an unadmitted will or a certified copy of an admitted will.

RULE 5.131 DISCOVERY GENERALLY 

(A) Civil Actions. Discovery for civil actions in probate court is governed by subchapter 
2.300.

(B) Proceedings.

(1) Discovery in General. With the exception of mandatory initial disclosures under 
MCR 2.302(A), the discovery rules in subchapter 2.300 apply in probate proceedings, 
and, except as otherwise ordered by the court, any interested person in a probate 
proceeding is considered a party for the purpose of applying discovery rules.

(2) Mandatory Initial Disclosure.

(a) Demand or Objection. Mandatory disclosures under MCR 2.302(A) are 
required in probate proceedings if, by the time of the first hearing on the petition 
initiating the proceeding:
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(i) an interested person other than the petitioner files a demand for mandatory 
initial disclosure and properly serves the demand on all interested persons or

(ii) an interested person objects to or otherwise contests the petition, in writing 
or orally, properly serves any written objection or response on all interested 
persons, and the judge determines mandatory initial disclosure is appropriate. 
When mandatory initial disclosures are required through demand or objection, 
and except as otherwise ordered by the court, such disclosures must be made 
by the petitioner and any demandant or objecting interested person.

(b) Court Order. At any time, on its own motion or on a motion filed by an 
interested person, the court may require:

(i) mandatory disclosures and designate those interested persons who must 
make disclosures or

(ii) in a proceeding with some parties already making disclosures, an additional 
interested person or persons to make disclosures.

(c) Time for Initial Disclosures.

(i) The petitioner must serve initial disclosures within 14 days after the first 
hearing on the petition subject to a demand or objection.

(ii) The demandant or objecting interested person must serve initial disclosures 
within the later of 14 days after the petitioner’s disclosures are due or 28 days 
after the demand or objection is filed.

(iii) When mandatory disclosures are ordered pursuant to MCR 
5.131(B)(2)(b)(ii), an interested person’s disclosures are due within 21 days 
after the court’s order.

(3) Scope of Discovery in Probate Proceedings. Discovery in a probate proceeding is 
limited to matters raised in any petitions or objections pending before the court.

RULE 5.132 PROOF OF WILLS 

(A) Deposition of Witness to Will. If no written objection has been filed to the admission 
to probate of a document purporting to be the will of a decedent, the deposition of a 
witness to the will or of other witnesses competent to testify at a proceeding for the 
probate of the will may be taken and filed without notice. However, the deposition is not 
admissible in evidence if at the hearing on the petition for probate of the will an interested 
person who was not given notice of the taking of the deposition as provided by MCR 
2.306(B) objects to its use.

(B) Use of Copy of Will. When proof of a will is required and a deposition is to be taken, 
a copy of the original will or other document reproduced in accordance with the Records 
Reproduction Act, MCL 24.401 et seq., may be used at the deposition.
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RULE 5.133 OPENING WILLS ORIGINALLY FILED FOR SAFEKEEPING

If a will filed for safekeeping under MCL 700.2515 remains unopened 100 years after the 
date it was filed with a court, the will shall be opened by the probate register and maintained in 
accordance with MCR 8.302. Upon opening, the will shall be considered a will delivered after the 
death of the testator and shall be retained for the period prescribed in the record retention and 
disposal schedule established under MCR 8.119(K).

RULE 5.140 USE OF VIDEOCONFERENCING TECHNOLOGY

(A) Except as otherwise prescribed by this rule, upon request of any participant or sua 
sponte, the court may allow the use of videoconferencing technology under this chapter in 
accordance with MCR 2.407. 

(B) In a mental health proceeding, if the subject of the petition wants to be physically 
present, the court must allow the individual to be present unless the court excludes or 
waives the physical presence of the subject pursuant to MCL 330.1455. This does not 
apply to proceedings concerning a person originally committed as a result of MCL 
330.2050. 

(C) In a proceeding concerning a conservatorship, guardianship, or protected individual, if 
the subject of the petition wants to be physically present, the court must allow the 
individual to be present. The right to be present for the subject of a minor guardianship 
applies only to a minor 14 years of age or older. Subject to this right to be present and to 
MCR 2.407(B)(5), the use of videoconferencing technology is presumed in all 
uncontested petitions or motions in guardianship, conservatorship, protected individual 
and decedent estates. 

(D) Mechanics of Use. The use of videoconferencing technology under this chapter must 
be in accordance with the standards established by the State Court Administrative Office. 
All proceedings at which videoconferencing technology is used must be recorded 
verbatim by the court.

RULE 5.141 PRETRIAL PROCEDURES; CONFERENCES; SCHEDULING ORDERS 

The procedures of MCR 2.401 shall apply in a contested proceeding.

RULE 5.142 PRETRIAL MOTIONS IN CONTESTED PROCEEDINGS 

In a contested proceeding, pretrial motions are governed by the rules that are applicable in 
civil actions in circuit court.
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RULE 5.143 ALTERNATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

(A) The court may submit to mediation, case evaluation, or other alternative dispute 
resolution process one or more requests for relief in any contested proceeding. MCR 2.410 
applies to the extent possible.

(B) If a dispute is submitted to case evaluation, MCR 2.403 and 2.404 shall apply to the 
extent feasible. 

RULE 5.144 ADMINISTRATIVELY CLOSED FILE 

(A) Administrative Closing. The court may administratively close a file 

(1) for failure to file a notice of continuing administration as provided by MCL 
700.3951(3) or

(2) for other reasons as provided by MCR 5.203(D) or, after notice and hearing, upon 
a finding of good cause.

In a conservatorship, the court may administratively close a file only when there are 
insufficient assets in the estate to employ a successor or special fiduciary, or after 
notice and hearing upon a finding of good cause. 

(B) Reopening Administratively Closed Estate. Upon petition by an interested person, 
with or without notice as the court directs, the court may order an administratively closed 
estate reopened. The court may appoint the previously appointed fiduciary, a successor 
fiduciary, a special fiduciary, or a special personal representative, or the court may order 
completion of the administration without appointing a fiduciary. In a decedent estate, the 
court may order supervised administration if it finds that supervised administration is 
necessary under the circumstances.

RULE 5.151 JURY TRIAL, APPLICABLE RULES 

Jury trials in probate proceedings shall be governed by MCR 2.508 through 2.516 except 
as modified by this subchapter or MCR 5.740 for mental health proceedings.

RULE 5.158 JURY TRIAL OF RIGHT IN CONTESTED PROCEEDINGS 

(A) Demand. A party may demand a trial by jury of an issue for which there is a right to 
trial by jury by filing in a manner provided by these rules a written demand for a jury trial 
within 28 days after an issue is contested. However, if trial is conducted within 28 days of 
the issue being joined, the jury demand must be filed at least 4 days before trial. A party 
who was not served with notice of the hearing at least 7 days before the hearing or trial 
may demand a jury trial at any time before the time set for the hearing. The court may 
adjourn the hearing in order to impanel the jury. A party may include the demand in a 
pleading if notice of the demand is included in the caption of the pleading. The jury fee 
provided by law must be paid at the time the demand is filed.
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(B) Waiver. A party who fails to file a demand or pay the jury fee as required by this rule 
waives trial by jury. A jury is waived if trial or hearing is commenced without a demand 
being filed. 

RULE 5.162 FORM AND SIGNING OF JUDGMENTS AND ORDERS 

(A) Form of Judgments and Orders. A proposed judgment or order must be prepared in 
accordance with MCR 2.602(A) and MCR 1.109(D)(2).

(B) Procedure for Entry of Judgments and Orders. In a contested matter, the procedure for 
entry of judgments and orders is as provided in MCR 2.602(B).

SUBCHAPTER 5.200 PROVISIONS COMMON TO MULTIPLE TYPES OF FIDUCIARIES 

RULE 5.201 APPLICABILITY 

Except for MCR 5.204 and MCR 5.208, which apply in part to trustees and trusts, rules in 
this subchapter contain requirements applicable to all fiduciaries except trustees and apply to all 
estates except trusts.

RULE 5.202 LETTERS OF AUTHORITY 

(A) Issuance. Letters of authority shall be issued after the appointment and qualification of 
the fiduciary. If bond is ordered, the letters shall be issued after proof of bond has been 
filed with the court, unless otherwise ordered. Unless ordered by the court, letters of 
authority will not have an expiration date.

(B) Restrictions and Limitations. The court may restrict or limit the powers of a fiduciary. 
The restrictions and limitations imposed must appear on the letters of authority. The court 
may modify or remove the restrictions and limitations with or without a hearing. 

(C) Certification. A certification of the letters of authority and a statement that on a given 
date the letters are in full force and effect may appear on the face of copies furnished to the 
fiduciary or interested persons.

RULE 5.203 FOLLOW-UP PROCEDURES 

Except in the instance of a personal representative who fails to timely comply with the 
requirements of MCL 700.3951(1), if it appears to the court that the fiduciary is not properly 
administering the estate, the court shall proceed as follows:

(A) Notice of Deficiency. The court must notify the fiduciary, the attorney for the 
fiduciary, if any, and each of the sureties for the fiduciary of the nature of the deficiency, 
together with a notice to correct the deficiency within 28 days, or, in the alternative, to 
appear before the court or an officer designated by it at a time specified within 28 days for 
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a conference concerning the deficiency. Service of the notice of deficiency is complete on 
mailing to the last known address of the fiduciary or when served under MCR 
1.109(G)(6)(a).

(B) Conference, Memorandum. If a conference is held, the court must prepare a written 
memorandum setting forth the date of the conference, the persons present, and any steps 
required to be taken to correct the deficiency. The steps must be taken within the time set 
by the court but not to exceed 28 days from the date of the conference. A copy of the 
memorandum must be given to those present at the conference. If the fiduciary is not 
present at the conference, a copy of the memorandum must be mailed to the last known 
address of the fiduciary or served on the fiduciary under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).

(C) Extension of Time. For good cause, the court may extend the time for performance of 
required duties for a further reasonable period or periods, but any extended period may not 
exceed 28 days and shall only be extended to a day certain. The total period as extended 
may not exceed 56 days.

(D) Suspension of Fiduciary, Appointment of Special Fiduciary. If the fiduciary fails to 
perform the duties required within the time allowed, the court may do any of the 
following: suspend the powers of the dilatory fiduciary, appoint a special fiduciary, and 
close the estate administration. If the court suspends the powers of the dilatory fiduciary or 
closes the estate administration, the court must notify the dilatory fiduciary, the attorney 
of record for the dilatory fiduciary, the sureties on any bond of the dilatory fiduciary that 
has been filed, any financial institution listed on the most recent inventory or account 
where the fiduciary has deposited funds, any currently serving guardian ad litem, and the 
interested persons at their addresses shown in the court file. This rule does not preclude 
contempt proceedings as provided by law.

(E) Reports on the Status of Estates. The chief judge of each probate court must file with 
the state court administrator, on forms provided by the state court administrative office, 
any reports on the status of estates required by the state court administrator. 

RULE 5.204 APPOINTMENT OF SPECIAL FIDUCIARY 

(A) Appointment. The court may appoint a special fiduciary or enjoin a person subject to 
the court's jurisdiction under MCL 700.1309 on its own initiative, on the notice it directs, 
or without notice in its discretion.

(B) Duties and Powers. The special fiduciary has all the duties and powers specified in the 
order of the court appointing the special fiduciary. Appointment of a special fiduciary 
suspends the powers of the general fiduciary unless the order of appointment provides 
otherwise. The appointment may be for a specified time and the special fiduciary is an 
interested person for all purposes in the proceeding until the appointment terminates.
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RULE 5.205 ADDRESS OF FIDUCIARY 

A fiduciary must keep the court and the interested persons informed in writing within 7 
days of any change in the fiduciary's address even if the fiduciary is an authorized user of the 
electronic filing system. Any notice served on the fiduciary by the court to the last address on file 
or under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a) shall be notice to the fiduciary.

RULE 5.206 DUTY TO COMPLETE ADMINISTRATION 

A fiduciary and an attorney for a fiduciary must take all actions reasonably necessary to 
regularly administer an estate and close administration of an estate. If the fiduciary or the attorney 
fails to take such actions, the court may act to regularly close the estate and assess costs against 
the fiduciary or attorney personally.

RULE 5.207 SALE OF REAL ESTATE 

(A) Petition. Any petition to approve the sale of real estate must contain the following:

(1) the terms and purpose of the sale, 

(2) the legal description of the property,

(3) the financial condition of the estate before the sale, and

(4) an appended copy of the most recent assessor statement or tax statement showing 
the state equalized value of the property. If the court is not satisfied that the evidence 
provides the fair market value, a written appraisal may be ordered.

(B) Bond. The court may require a bond before approving a sale of real estate in an 
amount sufficient to protect the estate. 

RULE 5.208 NOTICE TO CREDITORS, PRESENTMENT OF CLAIMS

(A)Publication of Notice to Creditors; Contents. Unless the notice has already been given, 
the personal representative must publish, and a special personal representative may 
publish, in a newspaper, as defined by MCR 2.106(F), in a county in which a resident 
decedent was domiciled or in which the proceeding as to a nonresident was initiated, a 
notice to creditors as provided in MCL 700.3801. The notice must include:

(1)The name, and, if known, the date of death, and date of birth of the decedent;

(2)The name and address of the personal representative;

(3)The name and address of the court where proceedings are filed; and

(4)A statement that claims will be forever barred unless presented to the personal 
representative, or to both the court and the personal representative within 4 months 
after the publication of the notice.

(B)Notice to Known Creditors and Trustee. A personal representative who has published 
notice must cause a copy of the published notice or a similar notice to be served personally 
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or by mail on each known creditor of the estate and to the trustee of a trust of which the 
decedent is settlor, as defined in MCL 700.7605(1). Notice need not be served on the 
trustee if the personal representative is the trustee.

(1)Within the time limits prescribed by law, the personal representative must cause a 
copy of the published notice or a similar notice to be served personally or by mail on 
each creditor of the estate whose identity at the time of publication or during the 4 
months following publication is known to, or can be reasonably ascertained by, the 
personal representative.

(2)If, at the time of the publication, the address of a creditor is unknown and cannot 
be ascertained after diligent inquiry, the name of the creditor must be included in the 
published notice.

(C)Publication of Notice to Creditors and Known Creditors by Trustee. A notice that must 
be published under MCL 700.7608 must include: 

(1)The name, and, if known, date of death, and date of birth of the trust’s deceased 
settlor;

(2)The trust’s name or other designation;

(3)The date the trust was established; 

(4)The name and address of each trustee serving at the time of or as a result of the 
settlor’s death;

(5)The name and address of the trustee’s attorney, if any and must be served on known 
creditors as provided in subrule (B) above.

(D)No Notice to Creditors. No notice need be given to creditors in the following 
situations:

(1)The decedent or settlor has been dead for more than 3 years;

(2)Notice need not be given to a creditor whose claim has been presented or paid;

(3)For a personal representative: 

(a)The estate has no assets;

(b)The estate qualifies and is administered under MCL 700.3982, MCL 700.3983, 
or MCL 700.3987;

(c)Notice has previously been given under MCL 700.7608 in the county where the 
decedent was domiciled in Michigan.

(4)For a trustee, the costs of administration equal or exceed the value of the trust 
estate.

(E)Presentment of Claims. A claim shall be presented to the personal representative or 
trustee by mailing or delivering the claim to the personal representative or trustee, or the 
attorney for the personal representative or trustee, or, in the case of an estate, by filing the 

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/mileg.aspx?page=getobject&objectname=mcl-700-7501
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claim with the court and mailing or delivering a copy of the claim to the personal 
representative.

(F)A claim is considered presented

(1)on mailing, if addressed to the personal representative or trustee, or the attorney for 
the personal representative or trustee, or

(2)in all other cases, when received by the personal representative, or trustee or the 
attorney for the personal representative or trustee or in the case of an estate when filed 
with the court.

SUBCHAPTER 5.300 PROCEEDINGS IN DECEDENT ESTATES

RULE 5.301 APPLICABILITY 

The rules in this subchapter apply to decedent estate proceedings other than proceedings 
provided by law for small estates under MCL 700.3982.

RULE 5.302 COMMENCEMENT OF DECEDENT ESTATES 

(A) Methods of Commencement. A decedent estate may be commenced by filing an 
application for an informal proceeding or a petition for a formal testacy proceeding. A 
request for supervised administration may be made in a petition for a formal testacy 
proceeding. 

(1) When filing either an application or petition to commence a decedent estate, two 
copies of the death certificate must be filed with the application or petition. If the death 
certificate is not available, the petitioner may file two copies of alternative 
documentation of the decedent’s death. In either instance, the petitioner must redact 
from one of the copies being filed all protected personal identifying information as 
required by MCR 1.109(D)(9). The unredacted copy of the death certificate or 
alternative documentation must be maintained by the court as a nonpublic record.

(2) If a will that is being filed with the court for the purposes of commencing an estate 
contains protected personal identifying information, the filer must provide the will 
being filed for probate and a copy that has the protected personal identifying 
information redacted as required by MCR 1.109(D)(9).The unredacted version of the 
will must be maintained by the court as a nonpublic record.

(3) Where electronic filing is implemented, if the application or petition to commence 
a decedent estate indicates that there is a will, it is available, and that it is not already 
in the court’s possession, an exact copy of the will and any codicils must be attached to 
the application or petition. Within 14 days of the filing of the application or petition, 
the original will and any codicils must be filed with the court or the case will be 
dismissed without notice and hearing. Notice of a dismissal for failure to file the 
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original will and any codicils shall be served on the petitioner and any interested 
persons in a manner provided under MCR 5.105(B).

(4) The court is prohibited from requiring additional documentation, such as 
information about the proposed or appointed personal representative.

(B) Testimony Identifying Heirs Form. At least one completed SCAO-approved testimony 
identifying heirs and devisees must be submitted with the application or petition that 
commences proceedings. A testimony identifying heirs form must be verified under MCR 
1.109(D)(3).

(C) Preservation of Testimony. If a hearing is held, proofs included as part of the record 
are deemed preserved for further administration purposes.

(D) Petition by Parent of Minor. In the interest of justice, the court may allow a custodial 
parent who has filed an appearance to file a petition to commence proceedings in a 
decedent estate on behalf of a minor child where the child is an interested person in the 
estate.

RULE 5.304 NOTICE OF APPOINTMENT 

(A) Notice of Appointment. The personal representative must, not later than 14 days after 
appointment, serve notice of appointment by personal service or by first-class mail as 
provided in MCL 700.3705 and the agreement and notice relating to attorney fees required 
by MCR 5.313(D). No notice of appointment need be served if the person serving as 
personal representative is the only person to whom notice must be given.

(B) Publication of Notice. If the address or identity of a person who is to receive notice of 
appointment is not known and cannot be ascertained with reasonable diligence, the notice 
of appointment must be published one time in a newspaper, as defined in MCR 2.106(F), 
in the county in which a resident decedent was domiciled or in the county in which the 
proceedings with respect to a nonresident were initiated. The published notice of 
appointment is sufficient if it includes:

(1) statements that estate proceedings have been commenced, giving the name and 
address of the court, and, if applicable, that a will has been admitted to probate, 

(2) the name of any interested person whose name is known but whose address cannot 
be ascertained after diligent inquiry, and a statement that the result of the 
administration may be to bar or affect that person's interest in the estate, and 

(3) the name and address of the person appointed personal representative, and the 
name and address of the court.

(C) Prior Publication. After an interested person has once been served by publication, 
notice of appointment is only required if that person's address is known or becomes known 
during the proceedings or the person registers as an authorized user of the electronic filing 
system under MCR 1.109(G)(6)(a).
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RULE 5.305 NOTICE TO SPOUSE; ELECTION 

(A) Notice to Spouse. In the estate of a decedent who was domiciled in the state of 
Michigan at the time of death, the personal representative, except a special personal 
representative, must serve notice of the rights of election under part 2 of article II of the 
Estates and Protected Individuals Code, including the time for making the election and the 
rights to exempt property and allowances under part 4 of article II of the code, on the 
surviving spouse of the decedent within 28 days after the personal representative's 
appointment. An election as provided in subrule (C) may be filed in lieu of the notice. No 
notice need be given if the surviving spouse is the personal representative or one of 
several personal representatives or if there is a waiver under MCL 700.2205.

(B) Proof of Service. The personal representative is not required to file a proof of service 
of the notice of the rights of election.

(C) Spouse's Election. If the surviving spouse exercises the right of election, the spouse 
must serve a copy of the election on the personal representative personally or by mail. The 
election must be made within 63 days after the date for presentment of claims or within 63 
days after the service of the inventory upon the surviving spouse, whichever is later. The 
election may be filed with the court.

(D) Assignment of Dower. A petition for the assignment of dower under MCL 558.1-
558.29 must include: 

(1) a full and accurate description of the land in Michigan owned by a deceased 
husband and of which he died seized, from which the petitioner asks to have the dower 
assigned; 

(2) the name, age, and address of the widow and the names and addresses of the other 
heirs; 

(3) the date on which the husband died and his domicile on the date of his death; and 

(4) the fact that the widow's right to dower has not been barred and that she or some 
other person interested in the land wishes it set apart. 

If there is a minor or other person other than the widow under legal disability having 
no legal guardian or conservator, there may not be a hearing on the petition until after 
the appointment of a guardian ad litem for such person.

RULE 5.307 REQUIREMENTS APPLICABLE TO ALL DECEDENT ESTATES 

(A) Inventory Fee. Within 91 days of the date of the letters of authority, the personal 
representative must submit to the court the information necessary for computation of the 
probate inventory fee. The inventory fee must be paid no later than the filing of the 
petition for an order of complete estate settlement under MCL 700.3952, the petition for 
settlement order under MCL 700.3953, or the sworn statement under MCL 700.3954, or 
one year after appointment, whichever is earlier.
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(B) Notice of Continued Administration. If unable to complete estate administration 
within one year of the original personal representative’s appointment, the personal 
representative must file with the court and serve on all interested persons a notice that the 
estate remains under administration, specifying the reason for the continuation of 
administration. The notice must be served within 28 days of the first anniversary of 
appointment and all subsequent anniversaries during which the administration remains 
uncompleted.

(C) Notice to Personal Representative. At the time of appointment, the court must provide 
the personal representative with written notice of information to be provided to the court. 
The notice should be substantially in the following form or in the form specified by MCR 
5.310(E), if applicable:

“Inventory Information: Within 91 days of the date of the letters of authority, you must 
submit to the court the information necessary for computation of the probate inventory 
fee. You must also provide the name and address of each financial institution listed on 
your inventory at the time the inventory is presented to the court. The address for a 
financial institution shall be either that of the institution’s main headquarters or the 
branch used most frequently by the personal representative.

“Change of Address: You must keep the court and all interested persons informed in 
writing within 7 days of any change in your address that you have provided for 
service.”

“Notice of Continued Administration: If you are unable to complete the administration 
of the estate within one year of the original personal representative’s appointment, you 
must file with the court and all interested persons a notice that the estate remains under 
administration, specifying the reason for the continuation of the administration. You 
must give this notice within 28 days of the first anniversary of the original 
appointment and all subsequent anniversaries during which the administration remains 
uncompleted.”

“Duty to Complete Administration of Estate: You must complete the administration of 
the estate and file appropriate closing documents with the court. Failure to do so may 
result in personal assessment of costs.”

(D) Claim by Personal Representative. A claim by a personal representative against the 
estate for an obligation that arose before the death of the decedent shall only be allowed in 
a formal proceeding by order of the court.

(E) Requiring or Filing of Additional Documents. Except in formal proceedings and 
supervised administration, the court may not require the filing of any documents other 
than those required to be filed by statute or court rule. However, additional documents 
may be filed under MCR 5.113(D).
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RULE 5.308 FORMAL PROCEEDINGS 

(A) Accounts. Any account filed with the court must be in the form required by MCR 
5.310(C)(2)(c).

(B) Determination of Heirs.

(1) Determination During Estate Administration. Every petition for formal probate of 
a will or for adjudication of intestacy shall include a request for a determination of 
heirs unless heirs were previously determined. Determination of heirs is also required 
whenever supervised administration is requested. No other petition for a formal 
proceeding, including a petition to appoint a personal representative which does not 
request formal probate of a will or adjudication of intestacy, need contain a request for 
determination of heirs. The personal representative or an interested person may at any 
time file a petition for determination of heirs. Heirs may only be determined in a 
formal hearing.

(2) Determination Without Estate Administration.

(a) Petition and Testimony Identifying Heirs Form. Any person may initiate a 
formal proceeding to determine intestacy and heirs without appointment of a 
personal representative by filing a petition and a completed SCAO-approved 
testimony identifying heirs form sufficient to establish the domicile of the 
decedent at the time of death and the identity of the interested persons. A 
testimony identifying heirs form must be verified under MCR 1.109(D)(3).

(b) Notice, Publication. The petitioner must serve notice of hearing on all 
interested persons. If an interested person's address or whereabouts is not known, 
the petitioner shall serve notice on that person by publication as provided in MCR 
5.105(A)(3). The court may require other publication if it deems necessary.

(c) Order. If notice and proofs are sufficient, the court must enter an order 
determining the date of death, the domicile of the decedent at the time of death, 
whether the decedent died intestate, and the names of the heirs.

(d) Closing File. If there are no further requests for relief and no appeal, the court 
may close its file. 

RULE 5.309 INFORMAL PROCEEDINGS 

(A) Denial of Application. If the probate register denies the application for informal 
probate or informal appointment, the applicant may file a petition for a formal proceeding, 
which may include a request for supervised administration.

(B) Effect of Form of Administration in Another State or Country. The fact that any 
particular form of administration has been initiated in the estate of a decedent in another 
state or country does not preclude any other form of proceedings with respect to that 
decedent in Michigan without regard to the form of the proceeding in the other state or 
country.
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(C) Notice of Intent to Seek Informal Appointment as Personal Representative.

(1) A person who desires to be appointed personal representative in informal 
proceedings must serve notice of intent to seek appointment and a copy of the 
application on each person having a prior or equal right to appointment who does not 
renounce this right in writing before the appointment is made.

(2) Service of notice of intent to seek appointment and a copy of the application must 
be made at least 14 days by mail or 7 days by personal service before appointment as 
personal representative. If the address of one or more of the persons having a prior or 
equal right to appointment is unknown and cannot be ascertained after diligent inquiry, 
notice of the intent to file the application must be published pursuant to MCR 5.106 at 
least 14 days prior to the appointment, but a copy of the application need not be 
published.

(3) Proof of service must be filed with the court along with the application for informal 
appointment as personal representative.

(D) Publication. If the address of an heir, devisee, or other interested person entitled to the 
information on the informal probate under MCL 700.3306 is unknown and cannot be 
ascertained after diligent inquiry, the information in MCL 700.3306(2) must be provided 
by publication pursuant to MCR 5.106. Publication of notice under this rule is not required 
if a personal representative has been appointed and provided notice under MCR 5.304.

RULE 5.310 SUPERVISED ADMINISTRATION 

(A) Applicability. The other rules applicable to decedent estates apply to supervised 
administration unless they conflict with this rule.

(B) Commencement of Supervised Administration. A request for supervised 
administration in a decedent estate may be made in the petition for formal testacy and 
appointment proceedings. A petition for formal testacy and appointment proceedings 
including a request for supervised administration may be filed at any time during the 
estate proceedings if testacy has not previously been adjudicated. If testacy and 
appointment have been previously adjudicated, a separate petition for supervised 
administration may be filed at any time during administration of the estate. Whenever 
supervised administration is requested, the court must determine heirs unless heirs were 
previously determined, even if supervised administration is denied. 

(C) Filing Documents With the Court. The personal representative must file the following 
additional documents with the court and serve copies on the interested persons:

(1) Inventory. The personal representative must file an inventory as prescribed by 
MCR 5.307(A).

(2) Accountings.

(a) Time for Filing. Unless the court designates a shorter period, the personal 
representative must file accountings within 56 days after the end of the accounting 
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period. A final account must be filed when the estate is ready for closing or on 
removal of a personal representative. The court may order an interim accounting at 
any time the court deems necessary.

(b) Accounting Period. The accounting period ends on the anniversary date of the 
issuance of the letters of authority or, if applicable, on the anniversary date of the 
close of the last period covered by an accounting. The personal representative may 
elect to change the accounting period so that it ends on a different date. If the 
personal representative elects to make such a change, the first accounting period 
thereafter shall not be more than a year. A notice of the change must be filed with 
the court.

(c) Contents. All accountings must be itemized, showing in detail receipts and 
disbursements during the accounting period, unless itemization is waived by all 
interested persons. A written description of services performed must be included 
or appended regarding compensation sought by a personal representative. This 
description need not be duplicated in the order. The accounting must include 
notice that (i) objections concerning the accounting must be brought to the court's 
attention by an interested person because the court does not normally review the 
accounting without an objection; (ii) interested persons have a right to review 
proofs of income and disbursements at a time reasonably convenient to the 
personal representative and the interested person; (iii) interested persons may 
object to all or part of an accounting by filing an objection with the court before 
allowance of the accounting; and (iv) if an objection is filed and not otherwise 
resolved, the court will hear and determine the objection. 

(d) Proof of Income and Disbursements. After filing and before the allowance of 
an accounting, the personal representative must make proofs of income and 
disbursements reasonably available for examination by any interested person who 
requests to see them or as required by the court. An interested person, with or 
without examination of the proofs of income and disbursements, may file an 
objection to an accounting with the court. If an interested person files an objection 
without examining the proofs and the court concludes that such an examination 
would help resolve the objection, the court may order the interested person to 
examine the proofs before the court hears the objection.

(e) Deferral of Hearings on Accountings. Hearing on each accounting may be 
deferred in the discretion of the court. The court in any case at any time may 
require a hearing on an accounting with or without a request by an interested 
person.

(3) Notice of appointment.

(4) Fees notice pursuant to MCR 5.313.

(5) Notice to spouse.

(6) Affidavit of any required publication.

(7) Such other documents as are ordered by the court.
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(D) Tax Information. The personal representative must file with the court

(1) in the case of a decedent dying before October 1, 1993, proof that all Michigan 
inheritance taxes have been paid or

(2) in the case of an estate of a decedent dying after September 30, 1993, either

(a) if a federal estate tax return was required to be filed for the decedent, proof 
from the Michigan Department of Treasury that all Michigan estate taxes have 
been paid, or

(b) if no federal estate tax return was required to be filed for the decedent, a 
statement that no Michigan estate tax is due. 

(E) Notice to Personal Representative. When supervised administration is ordered, the 
court must serve a written notice of duties on the personal representative. The notice must 
be substantially as follows:

“Inventories: You are required to file an inventory of the assets of the estate within 91 
days of the date of your letters of authority or as ordered by the court. The inventory 
must list in reasonable detail all the property owned by the decedent at the time of 
death, indicating, for each listed item, the fair market value at the time of decedent's 
death and the type and amount of any encumbrance. If the value of any item has been 
obtained through an appraiser, the inventory should include the appraiser's name and 
address with the item or items appraised by that appraiser.

“Accountings: You are required to file annually, or more often if the court directs, a 
complete itemized accounting of your administration of the estate, showing in detail 
all the receipts and disbursements and the property remaining in your hands together 
with the form of the property. When the estate is ready for closing, you are required to 
file a final accounting and an itemized and complete list of all properties remaining. 
Subsequent annual and final accountings must be filed within 56 days after the close 
of the accounting period.

“Change of Address: You are required to keep the court and interested persons 
informed in writing within 7 days of any change in your address that you have 
provided for service.

“Notice of Continued Administration: If you are unable to complete the administration 
of the estate within one year of the original personal representative’s appointment, you 
must file with the court and all interested persons a notice that the estate remains under 
administration, specifying the reason for the continuation of the administration. You 
must give this notice within 28 days of the first anniversary of the original 
appointment and all subsequent anniversaries during which the administration remains 
uncompleted.

“Duty to Complete Administration of Estate: You must complete the administration of 
the estate and file appropriate closing documents with the court. Failure to do so may 
result in personal assessment of costs.” 
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(F) Changing from Supervised to Unsupervised Administration. At any time during 
supervised administration, any interested person or the personal representative may 
petition the court to terminate supervision of administration. The court may terminate 
supervision unless the court finds that proceeding with supervision is necessary under the 
circumstances. Termination of supervision does not discharge the personal representative.

(G) Approval of compensation of an attorney must be sought pursuant to MCR 5.313.

(H) Order of Complete Estate Settlement. An estate being administered in supervised 
administration must be closed under MCL 700.3952, using the procedures specified in 
MCR 5.311(B)(1).

RULE 5.311 CLOSING ESTATE 

(A) Closing by Sworn Statement. In unsupervised administration, a personal 
representative may close an estate by filing a sworn closing statement under MCL 
700.3954 or 700.3988.

(B) Formal Proceedings.

(1) Requirements for Order of Complete Estate Settlement under MCL 700.3952. An 
estate being administered in supervised administration must be closed by an order for 
complete estate settlement under MCL 700.3952. All other estates may be closed 
under that provision. A petition for complete estate settlement must state the relief 
requested. If the petitioner requests a determination of testacy, the petitioner must 
comply with the requirements of the statute and court rules dealing with a 
determination of testacy in a formal proceeding.

(2) Requirements for Settlement Order under MCL 700.3953. A personal 
representative or a devisee may file a petition for a settlement order under MCL 
700.3953; only in an estate being administered under a will admitted to probate in an 
informal proceeding. The petition may not contain a request for a determination of the 
decedent testacy status in a formal proceeding.

(3) Discharge. A personal representative may petition for discharge from liability with 
notice to the interested persons. A personal representative who files such a petition 
with the court must also file the documents described in MCR 5.310(C) and (D), as 
applicable, proofs of service of those documents that are required to be served on 
interested persons, and such other documents as the court may require. The court may 
order the personal representative discharged if the court is satisfied that the personal 
representative has properly administered the estate.

(4) Other Requests for Relief. With respect to other requests for relief, the petitioner 
must file appropriate documents to support the request for relief.

(5) Order. If the estate administration is completed, the order entered under MCL 
700.3952 or MCL 700.3953 shall, in addition to any other relief, terminate the 
personal representative's authority and close the estate.
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(C) Closing of Reopened Estate. After completion of the reopened estate administration, 
the personal representative shall proceed to close the estate by filing a petition under MCL 
700.3952 or MCL 700.3953 or a supplemental closing statement under MCL 700.3954. If 
a supplemental closing statement is filed, the personal representative must serve a copy on 
each interested person. If an objection is not filed within 28 days, the personal 
representative is entitled to receive a supplemental certificate of completion.

RULE 5.312 REOPENING DECEDENT ESTATE 

(A) Reopening by Application. If there is good cause to reopen a previously administered 
estate, other than an estate that was terminated in supervised administration, any interested 
person may apply to the register to reopen the estate and appoint the former personal 
representative or another person who has priority. For good cause and without notice, the 
register may reopen the estate, appoint the former personal representative or a person who 
has priority, and issue letters of authority with a specified termination date.

(B) Reopening by Petition. The previously appointed personal representative or an 
interested person may file a petition with the court to reopen the estate and appoint a 
personal representative under MCL 700.3959.

(C) Calculation of Due Dates. For purposes of determining when the inventory fee 
calculation, the inventory filing, the inventory fee payment, and the notice of continued 
administration are due, a reopened decedent estate is to be treated as a new case.

RULE 5.313 COMPENSATION OF ATTORNEYS 

(A) Reasonable Fees and Costs. An attorney is entitled to receive reasonable 
compensation for legal services rendered on behalf of a personal representative, and to 
reimbursement for costs incurred in rendering those services. In determining the 
reasonableness of fees, the court must consider the factors listed in MRPC 1.5(a). The 
court may also take into account the failure to comply with this rule.

(B) Written Fee Agreement. At the commencement of the representation, the attorney and 
the personal representative or the proposed personal representative must enter into a 
written fee agreement signed by them. A copy of the agreement must be provided to the 
personal representative.

(C) Records. Regardless of the fee agreement, every attorney who represents a personal 
representative must maintain time records for services that must reflect the following 
information: the identity of the person performing the services, the date the services are 
performed, the amount of time expended in performing the services, and a brief 
description of the services.

(D) Notice to Interested Persons. Within 14 days after the appointment of a personal 
representative or the retention of an attorney by a personal representative, whichever is 
later, the personal representative must serve on the interested persons whose interests will 
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be affected by the payment of attorney fees, a notice on a form approved by the State 
Court Administrator and a copy of the written fee agreement. The notice must state:

(1) the anticipated frequency of payment,

(2) that the person is entitled to a copy of each statement for services or costs upon 
request,

(3) that the person may object to the fees at any time prior to the allowance of fees by 
the court,

(4) that an objection may be made in writing or at a hearing and that a written 
objection must be filed with the court and a copy served on the personal representative 
or attorney.

(E) Payment of Fees. A personal representative may make, and an attorney may accept, 
payments for services and costs, on a periodic basis without prior court approval if prior to 
the time of payment

(1) the attorney and personal representative have entered a written fee agreement;

(2) copies of the fee agreement and the notice required by subrule (D) have been sent 
to all interested persons who are affected;

(3) a statement for services and costs (containing the information required by subrule 
[C]) has been sent to the personal representative and each interested person who has 
requested a copy of such statement; and

(4) no written, unresolved objection to the fees, current or past, has been served on the 
attorney and personal representative.

In all other instances, attorney fees must be approved by the court prior to payment. 
Costs may be paid without prior court approval. Attorney fees and costs paid without 
prior court approval remain subject to review by the court. 

(F) Claims for compensation, Required Information. Except when the compensation is 
consented to by all the parties affected, the personal representative must append to an 
accounting, petition, or motion in which compensation is claimed a statement containing 
the information required by subrule (C).

(G) Contingent Fee Agreements under MCR 8.121. Subrules (C), (E), and (F) of this rule 
do not apply to a contingent fee agreement between a personal representative and an 
attorney under MCR 8.121.
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SUBCHAPTER 5.400 GUARDIANSHIP, CONSERVATORSHIP, AND PROTECTIVE ORDER 
PROCEEDINGS 

RULE 5.401 GENERAL PROVISIONS 

This subchapter governs guardianships, conservatorships, and protective order 
proceedings. The other rules in chapter 5 also apply to these proceedings unless they conflict with 
rules in this subchapter. Except as modified in this subchapter, proceedings for guardianships of 
adults and minors, conservatorships, and protective orders shall be in accordance with the Estates 
and Protected Individuals Code, 1998 PA 386 and, where applicable, the Michigan Indian Family 
Preservation Act, MCL 712B.1 et seq., the Indian Child Welfare Act, 25 USC 1901 et seq., or the 
Mental Health Code, 1974 PA 258, as amended.

RULE 5.402 COMMON PROVISIONS 

(A) Petition; Multiple Prayers. A petition for the appointment of a guardian or a 
conservator or for a protective order may contain multiple prayers for relief. 

(B) Petition by Minor. A petition and a nomination for the appointment of a guardian or 
conservator of a minor may be executed and made by a minor 14 years of age or older. 

(C) Responsibility for Giving Notice; Manner of Service. The petitioner is responsible for 
giving notice of hearing. Regardless of statutory provisions, an interested person may be 
served the notice by mail, personal service, or when necessary, publication. However, if 
the person who is the subject of the petition is 14 years of age or older, notice of the initial 
hearing must be served on the person personally unless another method of service is 
specifically permitted in the circumstances. 

(D) Letters of Authority. After entering an order appointing a fiduciary, the court must 
issue letters of authority after an acceptance of appointment is filed, and if ordered, the 
filing of the fiduciary’s bond. The letters of authority shall be issued on a form approved 
by the state court administrator. Any restriction or limitation of the powers of a guardian 
or conservator must be set forth in the letters of authority. 

(E)Indian Child; Definitions, Jurisdiction, Notice, Transfer, Intervention. 

(1)If an Indian child, as defined by the Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, is 
the subject of a guardianship proceeding, the definitions in MCR 3.002 shall control.

(2)If an Indian child is the subject of a petition to establish guardianship of a minor 
and an Indian tribe has exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), the matter 
shall be dismissed. 

(3)If an Indian child is the subject of a petition to establish guardianship of a minor 
and an Indian tribe does not have exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6), 
the court shall ensure that the petitioner has given notice of the proceedings to the 
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persons prescribed in MCR 5.125(A)(8) and (C)(20) in accordance with MCR 
5.109(1). 

(a)If either parent or the Indian custodian or the Indian child’s tribe petitions the 
court to transfer the proceeding to the tribal court, the court shall transfer the case 
to the tribal court unless either parent objects to the transfer of the case to tribal 
court jurisdiction or the court finds good cause not to transfer. When the court 
makes a good-cause determination under MCL 712B.7, adequacy of the tribe, 
tribal court, or tribal social services shall not be considered. A court may 
determine that good cause not to transfer a case to tribal court exists only if the 
person opposing the transfer shows by clear and convincing evidence that either of 
the following applies:

(i)The Indian tribe does not have a tribal court.

(ii)The requirement of the parties or witnesses to present evidence in tribal 
court would cause undue hardship to those parties or witnesses that the Indian 
tribe is unable to mitigate. 

(b)The court shall not dismiss the matter until the transfer has been accepted by the 
tribal court.

(c)If the tribal court declines transfer, the Michigan Indian Family Preservation 
Act applies, as do the provisions of these rules that pertain to an Indian child (see 
MCL 712B.3 and MCL 712B.5).

 (d)A petition to transfer may be made at any time in accordance with MCL 
712B.7(3).

(4) The Indian custodian of the child, the Indian child’s tribe, and the Indian child have a 
right to intervene at any point in the proceeding pursuant to MCL 712B.7(6).

(5) If the court discovers a child may be an Indian child after a guardianship is ordered, the 
court shall do all of the following:

(a) schedule a hearing to be conducted in accordance with MCR 5.404(C) and 
MCR 5.404(F). 

(b) enter an order for an investigation in accordance with MCR 5.404(A)(2). The 
order shall be on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office and 
shall require the guardian to cooperate in the investigation. The court shall mail a 
copy of the order to the persons prescribed in MCR 5.125(A)(8), (C)(20), and 
(C)(26) by first-class mail.

(c) provide notice of the guardianship and the hearing scheduled in subrule (5)(a) 
and the potential applicability of the Indian Child Welfare Act and the Michigan 
Indian Family Preservation Act on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office to the persons prescribed in MCR 5.125(A)(8), (C)(20), and 
(C)(26) in accordance with MCR 5.109(1). A copy of the notice shall be served on 
the guardian.
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RULE 5.403 PROCEEDINGS ON TEMPORARY GUARDIANSHIP 

(A) Limitation. The court may appoint a temporary guardian in the course of a proceeding 
for permanent guardianship or pursuant to an application to appoint a guardian serving in 
another state to serve as guardian in this state.

(B) Notice of Hearing, Minor. For good cause stated on the record and included in the 
order, the court may shorten the period for notice of hearing or may dispense with notice 
of a hearing for the appointment of a temporary guardian of a minor, except that the minor 
shall always receive notice if the minor is 14 years of age or older. If a temporary guardian 
is appointed following an ex parte hearing in a case in which the notice period was 
shortened or eliminated, the court shall send notice of the appointment to all interested 
persons. The notice shall inform the interested persons about their right to object to the 
appointment, the process for objecting, and the date of the next hearing, if any. If an 
interested person objects to the appointment of a temporary guardian following an ex parte 
hearing in a case in which the notice period was shortened or eliminated, the court shall 
hold a hearing on the objection within 14 days from the date the objection is filed.

(C) Temporary Guardian for Incapacitated Individual Where no Current Appointment; 
Guardian Ad Litem. A petition for a temporary guardian for an alleged incapacitated 
individual shall specify in detail the emergency situation requiring the temporary 
guardianship. For the purpose of an emergency hearing, the court shall appoint a guardian 
ad litem unless such appointment would cause delay and the alleged incapacitated 
individual would likely suffer serious harm if immediate action is not taken. The duties of 
the guardian ad litem are to visit the alleged incapacitated individual, report to the court 
and take such other action as directed by the court. The requirement of MCL 700.5312(1) 
that the court hold the fully noticed hearing within 28 days applies only when the court 
grants temporary relief.

(D) Temporary Guardian for Minor.

(1) Before Appointment of Guardian. If necessary during proceedings for the 
appointment of a guardian for a minor, the court may appoint a temporary guardian 
after a hearing at which testimony is taken. The petition for a temporary guardian shall 
specify in detail the conditions requiring a temporary guardianship. Where a petition 
for appointment of a limited guardian has been filed, the court, before the appointment 
of a temporary guardian, shall take into consideration the limited guardianship 
placement plan in determining the powers and duties of the parties during the 
temporary guardianship.

(2) When Guardian Previously Appointed. If it comes to the attention of the court that 
a guardian of a minor is not properly performing the duties of a guardian, the court, 
after a hearing at which testimony is taken, may appoint a temporary guardian for a 
period not to exceed 6 months. The temporary guardian shall have the authority of the 
previously appointed guardian whose powers are suspended during the term of the 
temporary guardianship. The temporary guardian shall determine whether a petition to 
remove the guardian should be filed. If such a petition is not filed, the temporary 
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guardian shall report to court with recommendations for action that the court should 
take in order to protect the minor upon expiration of the term of the temporary 
guardian. The report shall be filed within 1 month of the date of the expiration of the 
temporary guardianship. 

RULE 5.404 GUARDIANSHIP OF MINOR 

(A) Petition for Guardianship of Minor. 

(1) Petition. A petition for guardianship of a minor shall be filed on a form approved 
by the State Court Administrative Office. The petitioner shall state in the petition 
whether or not the minor is an Indian child or whether that fact is unknown. The 
petitioner shall document all efforts made to determine a child’s membership or 
eligibility for membership in an Indian tribe and shall provide them, upon request, to 
the court, Indian tribe, Indian child, Indian child’s lawyer-guardian ad litem, parent, or 
Indian custodian.

(2) Investigation. Upon the filing of a petition, the court may appoint a guardian ad 
litem to represent the interests of a minor and may order the Department of Health and 
Human Services or a court employee or agent to conduct an investigation of the 
proposed guardianship and file a written report of the investigation in accordance with 
MCL 700.5204(1). If the petition involves an Indian child, the report shall contain the 
information required in MCL 712B.25(1). The report shall be filed with the court and 
served no later than 7 days before the hearing on the petition. If the petition for 
guardianship states that it is unknown whether the minor is an Indian child, the 
investigation shall include an inquiry into Indian tribal membership.

(3) Guardianship of an Indian Child. If the petition involves an Indian child and both 
parents intend to execute a consent pursuant to MCL 712B.13 and these rules, the 
court shall proceed under subrule (B). If the petition involves an Indian child and a 
consent will not be executed pursuant to MCL 712B.13 and these rules, the petitioner 
shall state in the petition what active efforts were made to provide remedial services 
and rehabilitative programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian family as 
defined in MCR 3.002(1). The court shall proceed under subrule (C).

(4) Social History. The petitioner must file a social history before a hearing is held on 
a petition for guardianship of a minor and shall do so on a form approved by the State 
Court Administrative Office. The social history for minor guardianship is confidential, 
and it is not to be released, except on order of the court, to the parties or the attorneys 
for the parties.

(5)Limited Guardianship of the Child of a Minor. On the filing of a petition for 
appointment of a limited guardian for a child whose parent is an unemancipated minor, 
the court shall appoint a guardian ad litem to represent the minor parent. A limited 
guardianship placement plan is not binding on the minor parent until consented to by 
the guardian ad litem.

(B)Voluntary Consent to Guardianship of an Indian Child.
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A voluntary consent to guardianship of an Indian child must be executed by both parents 
or the Indian custodian.

(1)Form of Consent. To be valid, the consent must contain the information prescribed 
by MCL 712B.13(2) and be executed on a form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office, in writing, recorded before a judge of a court of competent 
jurisdiction, and accompanied by the presiding judge's certificate that the terms and 
consequences of the consent were fully explained in detail and were fully understood 
by the parent or Indian custodian. The court shall also certify that either the parent or 
Indian custodian fully understood the explanation in English or that it was interpreted 
into a language that the parent or Indian custodian understood. Any consent given 
before, or within 10 days after, the birth of the Indian child is not valid. The court may 
use videoconferencing technology for the guardianship consent hearing required to be 
held under MCL 712B.13(1) and this subrule.

(2)Hearing. The court must conduct a hearing on a petition for voluntary guardianship 
of an Indian child in accordance with this rule before the court may enter an order 
appointing a guardian. Notice of the hearing on the petition must be sent to the persons 
prescribed in MCR 5.125(A)(8) and (C)(20) in compliance with MCR 5.109(1). At the 
hearing on the petition, the court shall determine:

(a)if the tribe has exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6). The court 
shall comply with MCR 5.402(E)(2). 

(b)that a valid consent has been executed by both parents or the Indian custodian 
as required by MCL 712B.13 and this subrule.

(c)if it is in the Indian child’s best interest to appoint a guardian.

(d)if a lawyer-guardian ad litem should be appointed to represent the Indian child.

(3)Withdrawal of Consent. A consent may be withdrawn at any time by sending 
written notice to the court substantially in compliance with a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office. Upon receipt of the notice, the court shall 
immediately enter an ex parte order terminating the guardianship and returning the 
Indian child to the parent or Indian custodian except, if both parents executed a 
consent, both parents must withdraw their consent or the court must conduct a hearing 
within 21 days to determine whether to terminate the guardianship.

(C)Involuntary Guardianship of an Indian Child.

(1)Hearing. The court must conduct a hearing on a petition for involuntary 
guardianship of an Indian child in accordance with this rule before the court may enter 
an order appointing a guardian. Notice of the hearing must be sent to the persons 
prescribed in MCR 5.125(A)(8) and (C)(20) in compliance with MCR 5.109(1). At the 
hearing on the petition, the court shall determine:

(a)if the tribe has exclusive jurisdiction as defined in MCR 3.002(6). The court 
shall comply with MCR 5.402(E)(2). 

(b)if the placement with the guardian meets the placement requirements in subrule 
(C)(2) and (3).
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(c)if it is in the Indian child’s best interest to appoint a guardian.

(d)if a lawyer-guardian ad litem should be appointed to represent the Indian child.

(e)whether or not each parent wants to consent to the guardianship if consents 
were not filed with the petition. If each parent wants to consent to the 
guardianship, the court shall proceed in accordance with subrule (B). 

(2)Placement. An Indian child shall be placed in the least restrictive setting that most 
approximates a family and in which his or her special needs, if any, may be met. The 
child shall be placed within reasonable proximity to his or her home, taking into 
account any special needs of the child. Absent good cause to the contrary, the 
placement of an Indian child must be in descending order of preference with:

(a)a member of the child’s extended family,

(b)a foster home licensed, approved, or specified by the child’s tribe,

(c)an Indian foster family licensed or approved by the Department of Health and 
Human Services,

(d)an institution for children approved by an Indian tribe or operated by an Indian 
organization that has a program suitable to meet the child’s needs.

The standards to be applied in meeting the preference requirements above shall be 
the prevailing social and cultural standards of the Indian community in which the 
parent or extended family resides or with which the parent or extended family 
members maintain social and cultural ties.

(3)Deviating from Placement. The court may order another placement for good cause 
shown in accordance with MCL 712B.23(3)-(5) and 25 USC 1915(c). If the Indian 
child’s tribe has established a different order of preference than the order prescribed in 
subrule (C)(2), placement shall follow that tribe’s order of preference as long as the 
placement is the least restrictive setting appropriate to the particular needs of the child, 
as provided in MCL 712B.23(6). Where appropriate, the preference of the Indian child 
or parent shall be considered.

(D)Hearing. If the petition for guardianship of a minor does not indicate that the minor is 
an Indian child as defined in MCR 3.002(12), the court must inquire if the child or either 
parent is a member of an Indian tribe. If the child is a member or if a parent is a member 
and the child is eligible for membership in the tribe, the court shall either dismiss the 
petition or allow the petitioner to comply with MCR 5.404(A)(1).

(E) Limited Guardianship Placement Plans and Court-Structured Plans.

(1) All limited guardianship placement plans and court-structured plans shall at least 
include provisions concerning all of the following:

(a) visitation and contact with the minor by the parent or parents sufficient to 
maintain a parent and child relationship;

(b) the duration of the guardianship;
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(c) financial support for the minor; and 

(d) in a limited guardianship, the reason why the parent or parents are requesting 
the court to appoint a limited guardian for the minor.

(2) All limited guardianship placement plans and court-structured plans may include 
the following:

(a) a schedule of services to be followed by the parent or parents, child, and 
guardian and 

(b) any other provisions that the court deems necessary for the welfare of the child.

(3)Modification of Placement Plan.

(a)The parties to a limited guardianship placement plan may file a proposed 
modification of the plan without filing a petition. The proposed modification shall 
be substantially in the form approved by the state court administrator.

(b)The court shall examine the proposed modified plan and take further action 
under subrules (c) and (d) within 14 days after the filing of the proposed modified 
plan.

(c)If the court approves the proposed modified plan, the court shall endorse the 
modified plan and notify the interested persons of its approval.

(d)If the court does not approve the modification, the court either shall set the 
proposed modification plan for a hearing or notify the parties of the objections of 
the court and that they may schedule a hearing or submit another proposed 
modified plan.

(F) Evidence.

(1)Involuntary Guardianship of an Indian Child. If a petition for guardianship involves 
an Indian child and the petition was not accompanied by a consent executed pursuant 
to MCL 712B.13 and these rules, the court may remove the Indian child from a parent 
or Indian custodian and place that child with a guardian only upon clear and 
convincing evidence that:

(a)active efforts have been made to provide remedial services and rehabilitative 
programs designed to prevent the breakup of the Indian family,

(b)these efforts have proved unsuccessful, and

(c)continued custody of the child by the parent or Indian custodian is likely to 
result in serious emotional or physical damage to the child. 

The evidence shall include the testimony of at least one qualified expert witness, as 
described in MCL 712B.17, who has knowledge about the child-rearing practices 
of the Indian child’s tribe. The active efforts must take into account the prevailing 
social and cultural conditions and way of life of the Indian child’s tribe. If the 
petitioner cannot show active efforts have been made, the court shall dismiss the 
petition and may refer the petitioner to the Department of Health and Human 
Services for child protective services or to the tribe for services.
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(2) Reports, Admission Into Evidence. At any hearing concerning a guardianship of a 
minor, all relevant and material evidence, including written reports, may be received 
by the court and may be relied on to the extent of their probative value, even though 
such evidence may not be admissible under the Michigan Rules of Evidence.

(3) Written Reports, Review and Cross-Examination. Interested persons shall be 
afforded an opportunity to examine and controvert written reports so received and, in 
the court's discretion, may be allowed to cross-examine individuals making reports 
when such individuals are reasonably available.

(4) Privilege, Abrogation. No assertion of an evidentiary privilege, other than the 
privilege between attorney and client, shall prevent the receipt and use of materials 
prepared pursuant to a court-ordered examination, interview, or course of treatment.

(G) Review of Guardianship for Minor.

(1) Periodic Review. The court shall conduct a review of a guardianship of a minor 
annually in each case where the minor is under age 6 as of the anniversary of the 
qualification of the guardian. The review shall be commenced within 63 days after the 
anniversary date of the qualification of the guardian. The court may at any time 
conduct a review of a guardianship as it deems necessary.

(2) Investigation. The court shall appoint the Department of Health and Human 
Services or any other person to conduct an investigation of the guardianship of a 
minor. The investigator shall file a written report with the court within 28 days after 
such appointment. The report shall include a recommendation regarding whether the 
guardianship should be continued or modified and whether a hearing should be 
scheduled. If the report recommends modification, the report shall state the nature of 
the modification.

(3) Judicial Action. After informal review of the report, the court shall enter an order 
continuing the guardianship or set a date for a hearing to be held within 28 days. If a 
hearing is set, an attorney may be appointed to represent the minor.

(H) Termination of Guardianship.

(1) Necessity of Order. A guardianship may terminate without order of the court on the 
minor's death, adoption, marriage, or attainment of majority or in accordance with 
subrule (H)(6). No full, testamentary, or limited guardianship shall otherwise 
terminate without an order of the court.

(2) Continuation of Guardianship. When a court has continued a guardianship for a 
period not exceeding one year, the court shall hold the final hearing not less than 28 
days before the expiration of the period of continuance.

(3) Petition for Family Division of Circuit Court to Take Jurisdiction. If the court 
appoints an attorney or the Department of Health and Human Services to investigate 
whether to file a petition with the family division of circuit court to take jurisdiction of 
the minor, the attorney or Department of Health and Human Services shall, within 21 
days, report to the court that a petition has been filed or why a petition has not been 
filed.
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(a) If a petition is not filed with the family division, the court shall take such 
further action as is warranted, except the guardianship may not be continued for 
more than one year after the hearing on the petition to terminate.

(b) If a petition is filed with the family division, the guardianship shall terminate 
when the family division authorizes the petition under MCL 712A.11, unless the 
family division determines that continuation of such guardianship pending 
disposition is necessary for the well-being of the child.

(4) Resignation of Limited Guardian. A petition by a limited guardian to resign shall 
be treated as a petition for termination of the limited guardianship. The parents or the 
sole parent with the right to custody may file a petition for a new limited guardianship. 
If the court does not approve the new limited guardianship or if no petition is filed, the 
court may proceed in the manner for termination of a guardianship under section 5209 
or 5219 of the Estates and Protected Individuals Code, MCL 700.5209 or MCL 
700.5219.

(5) Petition for Termination by a Party Other Than a Parent. If a petition for 
termination is filed by a party other than a parent or Indian custodian, the court may 
proceed in the manner for termination of a guardianship under section 5209 of the 
Estates and Protected Individuals Code, MCL 700.5209. 

(6)Voluntary Consent Guardianship. The guardianship of an Indian child established 
pursuant to subrule (C) shall be terminated in accordance with subrule (B)(3).

RULE 5.405 PROCEEDINGS ON GUARDIANSHIP OF INCAPACITATED INDIVIDUAL 

(A) Examination by Physician or Mental Health Professional.

(1) Admission of Report. The court may receive into evidence without testimony a 
written report of a physician or mental health professional who examined an 
individual alleged to be incapacitated, provided that a copy of the report is filed with 
the court five days before the hearing and that the report is on the form required by the 
state court administrator. A party offering a report must promptly inform the parties 
that the report is filed and available. The court may issue on its own initiative, or any 
party may secure, a subpoena to compel the preparer of the report to testify.

(2) Abrogation of Privilege. A report ordered by the court may be used in guardianship 
proceedings without regard to any privilege. Any privilege regarding a report made as 
part of an independent evaluation at the request of a respondent is waived if the 
respondent seeks to have the report considered in the proceedings.

(3) Determination of Fee. As a condition of receiving payment, the physician or 
mental health professional shall submit an itemized statement of services and expenses 
for approval. In reviewing a statement, the court shall consider the time required for 
examination, evaluation, preparation of reports and court appearances; the examiner's 
experience and training; and the local fee for similar services.
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(B) Hearings at Site Other Than Courtroom. When hearings are not held in the courtroom 
where the court ordinarily sits, the court shall ensure a quiet and dignified setting that 
permits an undisturbed proceeding and inspires the participants' confidence in the integrity 
of the judicial process.

(C) Guardian of Incapacitated Individual Appointed by Will or Other Writing.

(1) Appointment. A guardian appointed by will or other writing under MCL 700.5301 
may qualify after the death or adjudicated incapacity of a parent or spouse who had 
been the guardian of an incapacitated individual by filing an acceptance of 
appointment with the court that has jurisdiction over the guardianship. Unless the 
court finds the person unsuitable or incompetent for the trust, the court shall issue to 
the nominated guardian letters of guardianship equivalent to those that had been issued 
to the deceased guardian.

(2) Notice, Revocation. The testamentary guardian shall notify the court in which the 
testamentary instrument has been or will be filed of the appointment as guardian. The 
probating court shall notify the court having jurisdiction over the guardianship if the 
will is denied probate, and the court having the guardianship jurisdiction shall 
immediately revoke the letters of guardianship. 

RULE 5.406 TESTAMENTARY GUARDIAN OF INDIVIDUAL WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES 

(A) Appointment. If the court has not appointed a standby guardian, a testamentary 
guardian may qualify after the death of a parent who had been the guardian of an 
individual with developmental disabilities by filing an acceptance of appointment with the 
court that appointed the deceased parent as guardian. If the nominated person is to act as 
guardian of the estate of the ward, the guardian should also file a bond in the amount last 
required of the deceased guardian. Unless the court finds the person unsuitable or 
incompetent for the appointment, the court shall issue to the testamentary guardian letters 
of authority equivalent to those that had been issued to the deceased guardian.

(B) Notice, Revocation. The testamentary guardian must notify the court in which the 
testamentary instrument has been or will be filed of the appointment as guardian. The 
probating court shall notify the court having jurisdiction over the guardianship if the will 
is denied probate, and the court having the guardianship jurisdiction shall immediately 
revoke the letters of authority.

RULE 5.407 CONSERVATORSHIP; SETTLEMENTS 

A conservator may not enter into a settlement in any court on behalf of the protected 
person if the conservator will share in the settlement unless a guardian ad litem has been 
appointed to represent the protected person's interest and has consented to such settlement in 
writing or on the record or the court approves the settlement over any objection. 
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RULE 5.408 REVIEW AND MODIFICATION OF GUARDIANSHIPS OF LEGALLY INCAPACITATED 
INDIVIDUALS 

(A) Periodic Review of Guardianship.

(1) Periodic Review. The court shall commence a review of a guardianship of a legally 
incapacitated individual not later than 1 year after the appointment of the guardian and 
not later than every 3 years thereafter. 

(2) Investigation. The court shall appoint a person to investigate the guardianship and 
report to the court by a date set by the court. The person appointed must visit the 
legally incapacitated individual or include in the report to the court an explanation 
why a visit was not practical. The report shall include a recommendation on whether 
the guardianship should be modified.

(3) Judicial Action. After informal review of the report, the court shall enter an order 
continuing the guardianship, or enter an order appointing an attorney to represent the 
legally incapacitated individual for the purpose of filing a petition for modification of 
guardianship. In either case, the court shall send a copy of the report and the order to 
the legally incapacitated individual and the guardian.

(4) Petition for Modification. If an attorney is appointed under subrule (A)(3), the 
attorney shall file proper pleadings with the court within 14 days of the date of 
appointment.

(B) Petition for Modification; Appointment of Attorney or Guardian Ad Litem.

(1) Petition by Legally Incapacitated Individual. If a petition for modification or 
written request for modification comes from the legally incapacitated individual and 
that individual does not have an attorney, the court shall immediately appoint an 
attorney.

(2) Petition by Person Other Than Legally Incapacitated Individual. If a petition for 
modification or written request for modification comes from some other party, the 
court shall appoint a guardian ad litem. If the guardian ad litem ascertains that the 
legally incapacitated individual contests the relief requested, the court shall appoint an 
attorney for the legally incapacitated individual and terminate the appointment of the 
guardian ad litem. 

RULE 5.409 REPORT OF GUARDIAN; INVENTORIES AND ACCOUNTS OF CONSERVATORS 

(A) Reports. A guardian shall file a written report annually within 56 days after the 
anniversary of appointment and at other times as the court may order. Reports must be in 
the form approved by the state court administrator. The guardian must serve the report on 
the persons listed in MCR 5.125(C)(24). 

(B) Inventories.

(1) Guardian. At the time of appointing a guardian, the court shall determine whether 
there would be sufficient assets under the control of the guardian to require the 
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guardian to file an inventory. If the court determines that there are sufficient assets, the 
court shall order the guardian to file an inventory.

(2) Filing and Service. Within 56 days after appointment, a conservator or, if ordered 
to do so, a guardian shall file with the court a verified inventory of the estate of the 
protected person, serve copies on the persons required by law or court rule to be 
served, and file proof of service with the court.

(3) Contents. The guardian or conservator must provide the name and address of each 
financial institution listed on the inventory. The address for a financial institution shall 
be either that of the institution’s main headquarters or the branch used most frequently 
by the guardian or conservator. Property that the protected individual owns jointly or 
in common with others must be listed on the inventory along with the type of 
ownership and value.

(C) Accounts. 

(1) Filing, Service. A conservator must file an annual account unless ordered not to by 
the court. A guardian must file an annual account if ordered by the court. The 
provisions of the court rules apply to any account that is filed with the court, even if 
the account was not required by court order. The account must be served on interested 
persons, and proof of service must be filed with the court. The copy of the account 
served on interested persons must include a notice that any objections to the account 
should be filed with the court and noticed for hearing. When required, an accounting 
must be filed within 56 days after the end of the accounting period.

(2) Accounting Period. The accounting period ends on the anniversary date of the 
issuance of the letters of authority, unless the conservator selects another accounting 
period or unless the court orders otherwise. If the conservator selects another 
accounting period, notice of that selection shall be filed with the court. The accounting 
period may be a calendar year or a fiscal year ending on the last day of a month. The 
conservator may use the same accounting period as that used for income tax reporting, 
and the first accounting period may be less than a year but not longer than a year.

(3) Hearing. On filing, the account may be set for hearing or the hearing may be 
deferred to a later time.

(4) Exception, Conservatorship of Minor. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, no 
accounting is required in a minor conservatorship where the assets are restricted or in a 
conservatorship where no assets have been received by the conservator. If the assets 
are ordered to be placed in a restricted account, proof of the restricted account must be 
filed with the court within 28 days of the conservator's qualification or as otherwise 
ordered by the court. The conservator must file with the court an annual verification of 
funds on deposit with a copy of the corresponding financial institution statement 
attached.

(5) Contents. The accounting is subject to the provisions of MCR 5.310(C)(2)(c) and 
(d), except that references to a personal representative shall be to a conservator. A 
copy of the corresponding financial institution statement or a verification of funds on 
deposit must be filed with the court, either of which must reflect the value of all liquid 
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assets held by a financial institution dated within 30 days after the end of the 
accounting period, unless waived by the court for good cause. 

(6) Periodic Review. The court shall either review or allow accounts annually, unless 
no account is required under MCR 5.409(C)(1) or (C)(4). Accounts shall be set for 
hearing to determine whether they will be allowed at least once every three years.

(D) Service and Notice. A copy of the account must be served on the interested persons as 
provided by these rules. Notice of hearing to approve the account must be served on 
interested persons as provided in subchapter 5.100 of these rules.

(E) Procedures. The procedures prescribed in MCR 5.203, 5.204 and 5.310(E) apply to 
guardianship and conservatorship proceedings, except that references to a personal 
representative shall be to a guardian or conservator, as the situation dictates.

(F) Death of Ward. If an individual who is subject to a guardianship or conservatorship 
dies, the guardian or conservator must give written notification to the court within 14 days 
of the individual's date of death. If accounts are required to be filed with the court, a final 
account must be filed within 56 days of the date of death. 

RULE 5.411 BOND OF CONSERVATOR

In all conservatorships in which there are unrestricted assets, the court may require a bond 
in the amount the court finds necessary to protect the estate or as required by statute. No bond 
shall be required of trust companies organized under the laws of Michigan or of banks with trust 
powers unless the court orders that a bond be required.

SUBCHAPTER 5.500 TRUST PROCEEDINGS 

RULE 5.501 TRUST PROCEEDINGS IN GENERAL 

(A) Applicability. This subchapter applies to all trusts as defined in MCL 700.1107(n), 
including a trust established under a will and a trust created by court order or a separate 
document.

(B) Unsupervised Administration of Trusts. Unless an interested person invokes court 
jurisdiction, the administration of a trust shall proceed expeditiously, consistent with the 
terms of the trust, free of judicial intervention and without court order, approval, or other 
court action. Neither registration nor a proceeding concerning a trust results in continued 
supervisory proceedings.

(C) Commencement of Trust Proceedings. A proceeding concerning a trust is commenced 
by filing a petition in the court. Registration of the trust is not required for filing a petition.

(D) Appointment of Trustee not Named in Creating Document. An interested person may 
petition the court for appointment of a trustee when there is a vacancy in a trusteeship. The 
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court may issue an order appointing as trustee the person nominated in the petition or 
another person. The order must state whether the trustee must file a bond or sign and file 
an acceptance.

(E) Qualification of Trustee. A trustee appointed by an order of the court, nominated as a 
trustee in a will that has been admitted to probate shall qualify by signing and filing an 
acceptance indicating the nominee's willingness to serve. The trustee must serve the 
acceptance and order, if any, on the then known qualified trust beneficiaries described in 
MCL 700.7103(g)(i)(A) and, in the case of a testamentary trustee, on the personal 
representative of the decedent estate, if one has been appointed. No letters of trusteeship 
shall be issued by the court. The trustee or the attorney for the trustee may establish the 
trustee's incumbency by executing an affidavit to that effect, identifying the trustee and the 
trust and indicating that any required bond has been filed with the court and is in force.

(F) Transitional Rule. A trustee of a trust under the jurisdiction of the court before April 1, 
2000, may request an order of the court closing court supervision and the file. On request 
by the trustee or on its own initiative, the court may order the closing of supervision of the 
trust and close the file. The trustee must give notice of the order to all current trust 
beneficiaries. Closing supervision does not preclude any interested trust beneficiary from 
later petitioning the court for supervision. Without regard to whether the court file is 
closed, all letters of authority for existing trusts are canceled as of April 1, 2000, and the 
trustee's incumbency may be established in the manner provided in subrule (E).

RULE 5.502 SUPERVISION OF TRUSTS

If, during a trust proceeding, the court orders supervision of the trust, the court shall 
specify the terms of the supervision.

SUBCHAPTER 5.730 MENTAL HEALTH RULES

RULE 5.730 MENTAL HEALTH CODE; APPLICATION 

Except as modified by this subchapter, civil admission and discharge proceedings under 
the Mental Health Code are governed by the rules generally applicable to probate court.

RULE 5.731 ACCESS TO RECORDS

Case records filed with the court under the mental health code are public except as 
otherwise indicated in court rule or statute.

RULE 5.732 ATTORNEYS

(A) Continuing Appointment of Attorney. The attorney of record must represent the 
individual in all probate court proceedings under the Mental Health Code until the 
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attorney is discharged by court order or another attorney has filed an appearance on the 
individual's behalf. 

(B) Duties. The attorney must serve as an advocate for the individual's preferred position. 
If the individual does not express a preference, the attorney must advocate for the position 
that the attorney believes is in the individual's best interest.

(C) Waiver; Appointment of Guardian Ad Litem. The individual may waive an attorney 
only in open court and after consultation with an attorney. The court may not accept the 
waiver if it appears that the waiver is not voluntarily and understandingly made. If an 
attorney is waived, the court may appoint a guardian ad litem for the individual. 

RULE 5.733 APPOINTMENT OF INDEPENDENT EXAMINER; DETERMINATION OF FEES AND 
EXPENSES 

(A) Appointment. When an indigent individual requests an independent clinical 
evaluation, the court must appoint the physician, psychiatrist, or licensed psychologist 
chosen by the individual, unless the person chosen refuses to examine the individual or the 
requested appointment would require unreasonable expense. 

(B) Determination of Fee. In its order of appointment, a court must direct the independent 
examiner to submit an itemized statement of services and expenses for approval. In 
reviewing a fee, the court must consider: 

(1) the time required for examination, evaluation, preparation of reports, and court 
appearances; 

(2) the examiner's experience and training; and 

(3) the local fee for similar services.

RULE 5.734 SERVICE OF PAPERS; NOTICE OF SUBSEQUENT PETITIONS; TIME FOR SERVICE 

(A) Service of Papers. When required by the Mental Health Code, the court must have the 
necessary papers served. The individual must be served personally. The individual's 
attorney also must be served.

(B) Notice of Subsequent Petitions. The court must serve a copy of a petition for the 
second or continuing order of involuntary mental health treatment or petition for discharge 
and the notice of hearing on all persons required to be served with notice of hearing on the 
initial petition or application for hospitalization. 

(C) Time for Service. 

(1) A notice of hearing must be served on the individual and the individual's attorney 

(a) at least 2 days before the time of a hearing that is scheduled by the court to be 
held within 7 days or less; or

(b) at least 5 days before the time scheduled for other hearings. 
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(2) A notice of hearing must be served on other interested parties 

(a) by personal service, at least 2 days before the time of a hearing that is 
scheduled by the court to be held within 7 days or less; or 

(b) by personal service or by mail, at least 5 days before the time scheduled for 
other hearings. 

The court may permit service of a notice of hearing on the individual, the 
individual's attorney, or other interested parties within a shorter period of time with 
the consent of the individual and the individual's attorney.

RULE 5.735 ADJOURNMENT 

A hearing may be adjourned only for good cause. The reason for an adjournment must be 
submitted in writing to the court and to the opposing attorney or stated on the record.

RULE 5.737 WAIVER OF RIGHTS 

Unless a statute or court rule requires that a waiver be made by the individual personally 
and on the record, a waiver may be in writing signed by the individual, witnessed by the 
individual's attorney, and filed with the court. 

RULE 5.738 CONDITIONS AT HEARINGS 

(A) Hearings at Hospitals. When hearings are not held in the courtroom where the court 
ordinarily sits, the court shall ensure a quiet and dignified setting that permits an 
undisturbed proceeding and inspires the participants' confidence in the integrity of the 
judicial process. 

(B) Clothing. The individual may attend a hearing in personal clothing. 

(C) Restraints at Hearing. At a court hearing, the individual may not be handcuffed or 
otherwise restrained, except

(1) on the prior approval of the court, based on the individual's immediate past conduct 
indicating the individual is reasonably likely to try to escape or to inflict physical harm 
on himself or herself or others; or 

(2) after an incident occurring during transportation in which the individual has 
attempted to escape or inflict physical harm on himself or herself or others. 

RULE 5.740 JURY TRIAL 

(A) Persons Permitted to Demand Jury Trial. Notwithstanding MCR 5.158(A), only an 
individual alleged to be in need of involuntary mental health treatment or an individual 
with mental retardation alleged to meet the criteria for judicial admission may demand a 
jury trial in a civil admission proceeding. 
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(B) Time for Demand. An individual may demand a jury trial any time before testimony is 
received at the hearing for which the jury is sought. 

(C) Verdict in Commitment Proceedings. In proceedings involving possible commitment 
to a hospital or facility under the Mental Health Code, or to a correctional or training 
facility under the juvenile code, the jury's verdict must be unanimous.

(D) Fee. A jury fee is not required from a party demanding a jury trial under the Mental 
Health Code. 

RULE 5.741 INQUIRY INTO ADEQUACY OF TREATMENT 

(A) Written Report or Testimony Required. Before ordering a course of involuntary 
mental health treatment or of care and treatment at a center, the court must receive a 
written report or oral testimony describing the type and extent of treatment that will be 
provided to the individual and the appropriateness and adequacy of this treatment. 

(B) Use of Written Report; Notice. The court may receive a written report in evidence 
without accompanying testimony if a copy is filed with the court before the hearing. At the 
time of filing the report with the court, the preparer of the report must promptly provide 
the individual's attorney with a copy of the report. The attorney may subpoena the preparer 
of the report to testify. 

RULE 5.743 APPEAL BY INDIVIDUAL RECEIVING INVOLUNTARY MENTAL HEALTH TREATMENT 
WHO IS RETURNED TO HOSPITAL AFTER AUTHORIZED LEAVE 

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to an individual receiving involuntary mental health 
treatment who has been returned to a hospital following an authorized leave. 

(B) Notifications. When an individual receiving involuntary mental health treatment has 
been returned to a hospital from an authorized leave in excess of 10 days, the director of 
the hospital must, within 24 hours, notify the court of the return and notify the individual 
of the right to appeal the return and have a hearing to determine the appeal. The court must 
notify the individual's attorney or appoint a new attorney to consult with the individual 
and determine whether the individual desires a hearing. 

(C) Request and Time for Hearing. An individual who wishes to appeal must request a 
hearing in writing within 7 days of the notice to the individual under subrule (B). The 
court must schedule a requested hearing to be held within 7 days of the court's receipt of 
the request.

(D) Reports Filed With Court. At least 3 days before the hearing, the director of the 
hospital must deliver to the court, the individual, and the individual's attorney, copies of a 
clinical certificate and a current alternative treatment report.
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(E) Conduct of Hearing. At the hearing, the director of the hospital must show that the 
individual requires treatment in a hospital. The clinical certificate may be admitted in 
evidence without accompanying testimony by the preparer. However, the individual's 
attorney may subpoena the preparer of the clinical certificate to testify.

(F) Order After Hearing. If the court finds that the individual requires treatment at a 
hospital, it must dismiss the appeal and order the individual returned to the hospital. If the 
court finds that the director lacked an adequate basis for concluding that the individual 
requires further treatment in the hospital, it must do one of the following: 

(1) order the individual returned to authorized leave status; or 

(2) order treatment through an alternative to hospitalization 

(a) (if the individual was under an order of hospitalization of up to 60 days), for a 
period not to exceed the difference between 90 days and the combined time the 
individual has been hospitalized and on authorized leave status, or 

(b) (if the individual was under an order of hospitalization of up to 90 days or 
under a continuing order), for a period not to exceed the difference between 1 year 
and the combined time the individual has been hospitalized and on authorized 
leave status. 

RULE 5.743A APPEAL BY ADMINISTRATIVELY ADMITTED INDIVIDUAL RETURNED TO CENTER 
AFTER AUTHORIZED LEAVE 

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to an individual with a developmental disability who 
was admitted to a center by an administrative admission and who has been returned to a 
center following an authorized leave. 

(B) Notifications. When an administratively admitted individual has been returned to a 
center from an authorized leave in excess of 10 days, the director of the center must, 
within 24 hours, notify the court of the return and notify the individual of the right to 
appeal the return. The court must notify the individual's guardian, if any, and the parents 
of an individual who is a minor of the return and the right to appeal the return and have a 
hearing to determine the appeal. 

(C) Request for Hearing. An individual who wishes to appeal that individual's return must 
request a hearing in writing within 7 days of the notice to the individual under subrule (B). 
If the individual is less than 13 years of age, the request may be made by the individual's 
parent or guardian. The court must schedule a requested hearing to be held within 7 days 
of the court's receipt of the request. 

(D) Statement Filed With Court. At least 3 days before the hearing, the director of the 
center must deliver to the court, the individual, the individual's parents or guardian, if 
applicable, and the individual's attorney a statement setting forth: 

(1) the reason for the individual's return to the center;
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(2) the reason the individual is believed to need care and treatment at the center; and 

(3) the plan for further care and treatment.

(E) Conduct of Hearing. The hearing shall proceed as provided in § 511(4) of the Mental 
Health Code, MCL 330.1511. At the hearing, the director of the center must show that the 
individual needs care and treatment at the center and that no alternative to the care and 
treatment provided at the center is available and adequate to meet the individual's needs. 

(F) Order After Hearing. If the court finds the individual requires care and treatment at the 
center, it must dismiss the appeal and order the individual to remain at the center. If the 
court finds the director did not sustain the burden of proof, it must order the individual 
returned to authorized leave status.

RULE 5.743B APPEAL BY JUDICIALLY ADMITTED INDIVIDUAL RETURNED TO CENTER AFTER 
AUTHORIZED LEAVE 

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to an individual with mental retardation who has been 
admitted to a center by judicial order, and who has been on authorized leave for a 
continuous period of less than 1 year. 

(B) Notifications. When a judicially admitted individual has been returned to a center 
from an authorized leave in excess of 10 days, the director of the center must, within 24 
hours, notify the court of the return and notify the individual of the right to appeal the 
return and have a hearing to determine the appeal. The court must notify the individual's 
attorney or appoint a new attorney to consult with the individual and to determine whether 
the individual desires a hearing. 

(C) Request for Hearing. An individual who wishes to appeal the return must request a 
hearing in writing within 7 days of the notice to the individual under subrule (B). The 
court must schedule a requested hearing to be held within 7 days of the court's receipt of 
the request. 

(D) Statement Filed With Court. At least 3 days before the hearing, the director of the 
center must deliver to the court, the individual, and the individual's attorney a statement 
setting forth: 

(1) the reason for the individual's return to the center;

(2) the reason the individual is believed to need care and treatment at the center; and

(3) the plan for further care and treatment. 

(E) Report. The court may order an examination of the individual and the preparation and 
filing with the court of a report that contains such information as the court deems 
necessary. 
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(F) Conduct of Hearing. The court shall proceed as provided in § 511(4) of the Mental 
Health Code, MCL 330.1511(4). At the hearing, the director of the center must show that 
the individual needs care and treatment at the center, and that no alternative to the care and 
treatment provided at the center is available and adequate to meet the individual's needs. 

(G) Order After Hearing. If the court finds the individual requires care and treatment at the 
center, it must dismiss the appeal and order the individual to remain at the center. If the 
court finds the director did not sustain the burden of proof, it must do one of the following: 

(1) order the individual returned to authorized leave status; or 

(2) order the individual to undergo a program of care and treatment for up to one year 
as an alternative to remaining at the center.

RULE 5.744 PROCEEDINGS REGARDING HOSPITALIZATION WITHOUT A HEARING 

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule applies to any proceeding involving an individual 
hospitalized without a hearing as ordered by a court or a psychiatrist and the rights of that 
individual. 

(B) Notification. A notification requesting an order of hospitalization or a notification 
requesting a change in an alternative treatment program, a notice of noncompliance, or a 
notice of hospitalization as ordered by a psychiatrist, must be in writing.

(C) Service of Papers. If the court enters a new or modified order without a hearing, the 
court must serve the individual with a copy of that order. If the order includes 
hospitalization, the court must also serve the individual with notice of the right to object 
and demand a hearing. 

(D) Objection; Scheduling Hearing. An individual hospitalized without a hearing, either 
by order of the court or by a psychiatrist's order, may file an objection to the order not later 
than 7 days after receipt of notice of the right to object. The court must schedule a hearing 
to be held within 10 days after receiving the objection. 

(E) Conduct of Hearing. A hearing convened under this rule is without a jury. At the 
hearing the party seeking hospitalization of the individual must present evidence that 
hospitalization is necessary. 

RULE 5.744A PROCEEDINGS REGARDING AN INDIVIDUAL SUBJECT TO JUDICIAL ADMISSION WHO 
IS TRANSFERRED TO A CENTER FROM ALTERNATIVE SETTING

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to an individual with mental retardation under court 
order to undergo a program of care and treatment as an alternative to admission to a 
center. 
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(B) Immediate Transfer. After the court receives written notification concerning the need 
to transfer a judicially admitted individual receiving alternative care and treatment, the 
court may direct the filing of additional information and may do one of the following: 

(1) modify its original order and direct the individual's transfer to another program of 
alternative care and treatment for the remainder of the 1-year period;

(2) enter a new order directing the individual's admission to either

(a) a center recommended by the community mental health services program; or 

(b) a licensed hospital requested by the individual or the individual's family if 
private funds are to be used; or 

(3) set a date for a hearing. 

(C) Investigation Report. On receipt of notification, the court must promptly obtain from 
the community mental health services program or other appropriate agency a report 
stating 

(1) the reason for concern about the adequacy of the care and treatment being received 
at the time of the notification; 

(2) the continued suitability of that care and treatment; and

(3) the adequacy of care and treatment available at another alternative or at a center or 
licensed hospital. 

(D) Service of Papers. If the court enters a new order without a hearing, it must serve the 
interested parties with a copy of that order and a copy of the investigation report when it 
becomes available. If the order includes transfer of the individual to a center, the court 
must also serve the interested parties with written notification of the individual's right to 
object and demand a hearing. 

(E) Hearing. If within 7 days of service under subrule (D) the court receives a written 
objection from the individual or the individual's attorney, guardian, or presumptive heir, 
the court must schedule a hearing to be held within 10 days of the court's receipt of the 
objection. 

(F) Conduct of Hearing. A hearing convened under this rule is without a jury. At the 
hearing, the person seeking transfer of the individual to a center must present evidence 
that the individual had not complied with the applicable order or that the order is not 
sufficient to prevent the individual from inflicting harm or injuries on himself, herself or 
others. The evidence must support a finding that transfer to another alternative, a center or 
a licensed hospital is necessary. 

(G) Order After Hearing. The court may affirm or rescind the order issued under subrule 
(B), order a new program of care and treatment, or order discharge. The court may not 
place the individual in a center without inquiring into the adequacy of care and treatment 
for that individual at that center. 
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RULE 5.745 MULTIPLE PROCEEDINGS 

(A) New Proceedings Not Prohibited. The admission of an individual under the Mental 
Health Code may not be invalidated because the individual is already subject to a court 
order as a result of a prior admission proceeding. 

(B) Procedure. On being informed that an individual is subject to a previous court order, 
the court must: 

(1) if it was the court issuing the previous order, dismiss the new proceeding and 
determine the proper disposition of the individual under its previous order or vacate 
the previous order and proceed under the new petition; or 

(2) if the previous order was issued by another court, continue the new proceeding and 
issue an appropriate order. After entry of the order, the court with the new proceeding 
must consult with the court with the prior proceeding to determine if the best interests 
of the individual will be served by changing venue of the prior proceeding to the 
county where the new proceeding has been initiated. If not, the court with the new 
proceeding must transfer the matter to the other court.

(C) Disposition. The court may treat a petition or certificate filed in connection with the 
more recent proceeding as “notification” under MCR 5.743 or 5.744 and proceed with 
disposition under those rules. 

RULE 5.746 PLACEMENT OF INDIVIDUAL WITH A DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITY IN A FACILITY 

(A) Petition for Authorization. If placement in a facility of an individual with a 
developmental disability has not been authorized or if permission is sought for 
authorization to place the individual in a more restrictive setting than previously ordered, a 
guardian of the individual must petition the court for authorization to place the individual 
in a facility or in a more restricted setting. 

(B) Order. If the court grants the petition for authorization, it may order that: 

(1) the guardian may execute an application for the individual's administrative 
admission to a specific center; 

(2) the guardian may request the individual's temporary admission to a center for a 
period not to exceed 30 days for each admission; or 

(3) the guardian may place the individual in a specific facility or class of facility as 
defined in MCL 330.1600. 

(C) Notice of Hearing. Notice of hearing on a petition for authorization to place an 
individual must be given to those persons required to be served with notice of hearing for 
the appointment of a guardian. 
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RULE 5.747 PETITION FOR DISCHARGE OF INDIVIDUAL 

At a hearing on a petition for discharge of an individual, the burden is on the person who 
seeks to prevent discharge to show that the individual is a person requiring treatment.

RULE 5.748 TRANSITIONAL PROVISION ON TERMINATION OF INDEFINITE ORDERS OF 
HOSPITALIZATION 

If on March 27, 1996, any individual is subject to any order that may result in the 
individual's hospitalization for a period beyond March 27, 1997, a petition for a determination 
that the individual continues to require involuntary mental health treatment must be filed on or 
before the time set for the second periodic review after March 27, 1996. The petition may be for 
involuntary health treatment for a period of not more than one year. This rule expires on March 
28, 1997. 

SUBCHAPTER 5.780 MISCELLANEOUS PROCEEDINGS

RULE 5.784 PROCEEDINGS ON A DURABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY FOR HEALTH CARE OR MENTAL 
HEALTH TREATMENT

(A) Petition, Who Shall File. The petition concerning a durable power of attorney for 
health care or mental health treatment must be filed by any interested party or the patient's 
attending physician. 

(B) Venue. Venue for any proceeding concerning a durable power of attorney for health 
care or mental health treatment is proper in the county in which the patient resides or the 
county where the patient is found. 

(C) Notice of Hearing, Service, Manner and Time. 

(1) Manner of Service. If the address of an interested party is known or can be learned 
by diligent inquiry, notice must be by mail or personal service, but service by mail 
must be supplemented by facsimile, electronic mail, or telephone contact within the 
period for timely service when the hearing is an expedited hearing or a hearing on the 
initial determination regarding whether the patient is unable to participate in medical 
or mental health treatment decisions. 

(2) Waiving Service. At an expedited hearing or a hearing on an initial determination 
regarding whether the patient is unable to participate in medical or mental health 
treatment decisions, the court may dispense with notice of the hearing on those 
interested parties who could not be contacted after diligent effort by the petitioner. 

(3) Time of Service. Notice of hearing must be served at least 2 days before the time of 
a hearing on an initial determination regarding whether the patient is unable to 
participate in medical or mental health treatment decisions. Notice of an expedited 
hearing must be served at such time as directed by the court. Notice of other hearings 
must be served at such time as directed by MCR 5.108. 
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(D) Hearings. 

(1) Time. Hearings on a petition for an initial determination regarding whether a 
patient is unable to participate in a medical or mental health treatment decision must 
be held within 7 days of the filing of the petition. The court may order an expedited 
hearing on any petition concerning a durable power of attorney for health care or 
mental health treatment decisions on a showing of good cause to expedite the 
proceedings. A showing of good cause to expedite proceedings may be made ex parte.

(2) Trial. Disputes concerning durable powers of attorney for health care or mental 
health treatment decisions are tried by the court without a jury.

(3) Proof. The petitioner has the burden of proof by a preponderance of evidence on all 
contested issues except that the standard is by clear and convincing evidence on an 
issue whether a patient has authorized the patient advocate under a durable power of 
attorney for health care to decide to withhold or withdraw treatment, which decision 
could or would result in the patient's death, or authorized the patient advocate under a 
durable power of attorney for mental health treatment to seek the forced 
administration of medication or hospitalization.

(4) Privilege, Waiver. The physician-patient privilege must not be asserted.

(E) Temporary Relief. On a sufficient showing of need, the court may issue a temporary 
restraining order pursuant to MCR 3.310 pending a hearing on any petition concerning a 
durable power of attorney for health care or mental health treatment. MCR 5.784 retained 
5.31.05

SUBCHAPTER 5.800 APPEALS

RULE 5.801 APPEALS TO COURT OF APPEALS 

(A) Appeal of Right. A party or an interested person aggrieved by a final order of the 
probate court may appeal as a matter of right as provided by this rule.

Orders appealable of right to the Court of Appeals are defined as and limited to the 
following:

(1) a final order, as defined in MCR 7.202(6)(a), affecting the rights or interests of a 
party to a civil action commenced in the probate court under MCR 5.101(C); 

(2) a final order affecting the rights or interests of an interested person in a proceeding 
involving a decedent estate, the estate of a person who has disappeared or is missing, a 
conservatorship or other protective proceeding, the estate of an individual with 
developmental disabilities, or an inter vivos trust or a trust created under a will. These 
are defined as and limited to orders resolving the following matters:

(a) appointing or removing a fiduciary or trust director as defined in MCL 
700.7103(m), or denying such an appointment or removal; 
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(b) admitting or denying to probate of a will, codicil, or other testamentary 
instrument; 

(c) determining the validity of a governing instrument as defined in MCL 
700.1104(m);

(d) interpreting or construing a governing instrument as defined in MCL 
700.1104(m); 

(e) approving or denying a settlement relating to a governing instrument as defined 
in MCL 700.1104(m); 

(f) reforming, terminating, or modifying or denying the reformation, termination 
or modification of a trust;

(g) granting or denying a petition to consolidate or divide trusts;

(h) discharging or denying the discharge of a surety on a bond from further 
liability; 

(i) allowing, disallowing, or denying a claim; 

(j) assigning, selling, leasing, or encumbering any of the assets of an estate or trust; 

(k) authorizing or denying the continuation of a business;

(l) determining special allowances in a decedent's estate such as a homestead 
allowance, an exempt property allowance, or a family allowance; 

(m) authorizing or denying rights of election; 

(n) determining heirs, devisees, or beneficiaries; 

(o) determining title to or rights or interests in property; 

(p) authorizing or denying partition of property; 

(q) authorizing or denying specific performance; 

(r) ascertaining survivorship of parties; 

(s) granting or denying a petition to bar a mentally incompetent or minor wife from 
dower in the property of her living husband; 

(t) granting or denying a petition to determine cy pres; 

(u) directing or denying the making or repayment of distributions;

(v) determining or denying a constructive trust; 

(w) determining or denying an oral contract relating to a will; 

(x) allowing or disallowing an account, fees, or administration expenses; 

(y) surcharging or refusing to surcharge a fiduciary or trust director as referred to 
in MCL 700.7103(m); 

(z) determining or directing payment or apportionment of taxes; 

(aa) distributing proceeds recovered for wrongful death under MCL 600.2922; 
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(bb) assigning residue; 

(cc) granting or denying a petition for instructions; 

(dd) authorizing disclaimers.

(ee) allowing or disallowing a trustee to change the principal place of a trust’s 
administration;

(ff) adoption assistance determinations pursuant to MCL 400.115k;

(3) a final order affecting the rights and interests of an adult or a minor in a 
guardianship proceeding under the Estates and Protected Individuals Code;

(4) a final order affecting the rights or interests of a person under the Mental Health 
Code;

(5) an order entered in a probate proceeding, other than a civil action commenced in a 
probate court, that otherwise affects with finality the rights or interests of a party or an 
interested person in the subject matter; or 

(6) other appeals as provided by law.

(B) Appeal by Leave. All orders of the probate court not listed in subrule (A) are 
appealable to the Court of Appeals by leave of that court.

RULE 5.802 APPELLATE PROCEDURE; STAYS PENDING APPEAL 

(A) Procedure. Except as modified by this subchapter, chapter 7 of these rules governs 
appeals from the probate court.

(B) Record.

(1) An appeal from the probate court is on the papers filed and a written transcript of 
the proceedings in the probate court or on a record settled and agreed to by the parties 
and approved by the court.

(2) The probate register may transmit certified copies of the necessary documents and 
papers in the file if the original papers are needed for further proceedings in the 
probate court. The parties shall not be required to pay for the copies as costs or 
otherwise.

(C) Stays Pending Appeals. An order removing or appointing a fiduciary; appointing a 
special personal representative or a special fiduciary; granting a new trial or rehearing; 
granting an allowance to the spouse or children of a decedent; granting permission to sue 
on a fiduciary's bond; or suspending a fiduciary and appointing a special fiduciary, is not 
stayed pending appeal unless ordered by the court on motion for good cause.
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SUBCHAPTER 5.900 PROCEEDINGS INVOLVING JUVENILES

RULE 5.900 NOTE:

Subchapter 5.900 was deleted effective May 1, 2003, and many of its provisions relocated 
to subchapter 3.900.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 6. Criminal Procedure
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 6.000 GENERAL PROVISIONS

RULE 6.001 SCOPE; APPLICABILITY OF CIVIL RULES; SUPERSEDED RULES AND STATUTES

(A) Felony Cases. The rules in subchapters 6.000-6.500, except MCR 6.006(C), govern 
matters of procedure in criminal cases cognizable in the circuit courts and in courts of 
equivalent criminal jurisdiction.

(B) Misdemeanor Cases. MCR 6.001-6.004, 6.005(B) and (C), 6.006(A) and (C)-(E), 
6.009, 6.101-6.103, 6.104(A), 6.105-6.106, 6.125, 6.202, 6.425(D)(3), 6.427, 6.430, 
6.435, 6.440, 6.441, 6.445, 6.450, 6.451, and the rules in subchapter 6.600 govern matters 
of procedure in criminal cases cognizable in the district courts.

(C) Juvenile Cases. MCR 6.009 and the rules in subchapter 6.900 govern matters of 
procedure in the district courts and in circuit courts and courts of equivalent criminal 
jurisdiction in cases involving juveniles against whom the prosecutor has authorized the 
filing of a criminal complaint as provided in MCL 764.1f.

(D) Civil Rules Applicable. The provisions of the rules of civil procedure apply to cases 
governed by this chapter, except

(1) as otherwise provided by rule or statute,

(2) when it clearly appears that they apply to civil actions only, 

(3) when a statute or court rule provides a like or different procedure, or

(4) with regard to limited appearances and notices of limited appearance.

Depositions and other discovery proceedings under subchapter 2.300 may not be taken 
for the purposes of discovery in cases governed by this chapter. The provisions of 
MCR 2.501(C) regarding the length of notice of trial assignment do not apply in cases 
governed by this chapter.

(E) Rules and Statutes Superseded. The rules in this chapter supersede all prior court rules 
in this chapter and any statutory procedure pertaining to and inconsistent with a procedure 
provided by a rule in this chapter.

RULE 6.002 PURPOSE AND CONSTRUCTION

These rules are intended to promote a just determination of every criminal proceeding. 
They are to be construed to secure simplicity in procedure, fairness in administration, and the 
elimination of unjustifiable expense and delay.
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RULE 6.003 DEFINITIONS

For purposes of subchapters 6.000-6.800:

(1) “Party” includes the lawyer representing the party.

(2) “Defendant’s lawyer” includes a self-represented defendant proceeding without a 
lawyer.

(3) “Prosecutor” includes any lawyer prosecuting the case.

(4) “Court” or “judicial officer” includes a judge, a magistrate, or a district court 
magistrate authorized in accordance with the law to perform the functions of a 
magistrate.

(5) “Court clerk” includes a deputy clerk.

(6) “Court reporter” includes a court recorder.

(7) “Technical probation violation” means any violation of the terms of a probation 
order, including missing or failing a drug test, excluding the following:

(a) A violation of an order of the court requiring that the probationer have no contact 
with a named individual.      

(b) A violation of a law of this state, a political subdivision of this state, another state, 
or the United States or of tribal law, whether or not a new criminal offense is charged.

(c) The consumption of alcohol by a probationer who is on probation for a felony 
violation of MCL 257.625.

(d) Absconding, defined as the intentional failure of a probationer to report to his or 
her supervising agent or to advise his or her supervising agent of his or her 
whereabouts for a continuous period of not less than 60 days. 

RULE 6.004 SPEEDY TRIAL

(A) Right to Speedy Trial. The defendant and the people are entitled to a speedy trial and 
to a speedy resolution of all matters before the court. Whenever the defendant's 
constitutional right to a speedy trial is violated, the defendant is entitled to dismissal of the 
charge with prejudice.

(B) Priorities in Scheduling Criminal Cases. The trial court has the responsibility to 
establish and control a trial calendar. In assigning cases to the calendar, and insofar as it is 
practicable, 

(1) the trial of criminal cases must be given preference over the trial of civil cases, and

(2) the trial of defendants in custody and of defendants whose pretrial liberty presents 
unusual risks must be given preference over other criminal cases.

(C) Delay in Felony and Misdemeanor Cases; Recognizance Release. In a felony case in 
which the defendant has been incarcerated for a period of 180 days or more to answer for 
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the same crime or a crime based on the same conduct or arising from the same criminal 
episode, or in a misdemeanor case in which the defendant has been incarcerated for a 
period of 28 days or more to answer for the same crime or a crime based on the same 
conduct or arising from the same criminal episode, the defendant must be released on 
personal recognizance, unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the 
defendant is likely either to fail to appear for future proceedings or to present a danger to 
any other person or the community. In computing the 28-day and 180-day periods, the 
court is to exclude

(1) periods of delay resulting from other proceedings concerning the defendant, 
including but not limited to competency and criminal responsibility proceedings, 
pretrial motions, interlocutory appeals, and the trial of other charges,

(2) the period of delay during which the defendant is not competent to stand trial,

(3) the period of delay resulting from an adjournment requested or consented to by the 
defendant’s lawyer,

(4) the period of delay resulting from an adjournment requested by the prosecutor, but 
only if the prosecutor demonstrates on the record either

(a) the unavailability, despite the exercise of due diligence, of material evidence 
that the prosecutor has reasonable cause to believe will be available at a later date; 
or

(b) exceptional circumstances justifying the need for more time to prepare the 
state’s case,

(5) a reasonable period of delay when the defendant is joined for trial with a 
codefendant as to whom the time for trial has not run, but only if good cause exists for 
not granting the defendant a severance so as to enable trial within the time limits 
applicable, and

(6) any other periods of delay that in the court’s judgment are justified by good cause, 
but not including delay caused by docket congestion.

(D) Untried Charges Against State Prisoner.

(1) The 180-Day Rule. Except for crimes exempted by MCL 780.131(2), the inmate 
shall be brought to trial within 180 days after the department of corrections causes to 
be delivered to the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the warrant, 
indictment, information, or complaint is pending written notice of the place of 
imprisonment of the inmate and a request for final disposition of the warrant, 
indictment, information, or complaint. The request shall be accompanied by a 
statement setting forth the term of commitment under which the prisoner is being held, 
the time already served, the time remaining to be served on the sentence, the amount 
of good time or disciplinary credits earned, the time of parole eligibility of the 
prisoner, and any decisions of the parole board relating to the prisoner. The written 
notice and statement shall be delivered by certified mail. 

(2) Remedy. In the event that action is not commenced on the matter for which request 
for disposition was made as required in subsection (1), no court of this state shall any 
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longer have jurisdiction thereof, nor shall the untried warrant, indictment, information, 
or complaint be of any further force or effect, and the court shall enter an order 
dismissing the same with prejudice.

RULE 6.005 RIGHT TO ASSISTANCE OF LAWYER; ADVICE; APPOINTMENT FOR INDIGENTS; 
WAIVER; JOINT REPRESENTATION; GRAND JURY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Advice of Right. At the arraignment on the warrant or complaint, the court must 
advise the defendant

(1) of entitlement to a lawyer’s assistance at all court proceedings, and

(2) that the defendant is entitled to a lawyer at public expense if the defendant wants 
one and is financially unable to retain one.

The court must ask the defendant whether the defendant wants a lawyer and, if so, 
whether the defendant is financially unable to retain one.

(B) Questioning Defendant About Indigency. If the defendant requests a lawyer and 
claims financial inability to retain one, the court must determine whether the defendant is 
indigent unless the court's local funding unit has designated an appointing authority in its 
compliance plan with the Michigan Indigent Defense Commission. If there is an 
appointing authority, the court must refer the defendant to the appointing authority for 
indigency screening. If there is no appointing authority, or if the defendant seeks judicial 
review of the appointing authority’s determination concerning indigency, the court’s 
determination of indigency must be guided by the following factors:

(1) present employment, earning capacity and living expenses;

(2) outstanding debts and liabilities, secured and unsecured;

(3) whether the defendant has qualified for and is receiving any form of public 
assistance;

(4) availability and convertibility, without undue financial hardship to the defendant 
and the defendant's dependents, of any personal or real property owned;

(5) the rebuttable presumptions of indigency listed in the MIDC’s indigency standard; 
and 

(6) any other circumstances that would impair the ability to pay a lawyer's fee as 
would ordinarily be required to retain competent counsel.

The ability to post bond for pretrial release does not make the defendant ineligible for 
appointment of a lawyer. The court reviews an appointing authority’s determination of 
indigency de novo and may consider information not presented to the appointing 
authority.

(C) Partial Indigency. If a defendant is able to pay part of the cost of a lawyer, the court 
may require contribution to the cost of providing a lawyer and may establish a plan for 
collecting the contribution.
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(D) Appointment or Waiver of a Lawyer. Where the court makes the determination that a 
defendant is financially unable to retain a lawyer, it must promptly refer the defendant to 
the local indigent criminal defense system's appointing authority for appointment of a 
lawyer. The court may not permit the defendant to make an initial waiver of the right to be 
represented by a lawyer without first

(1) advising the defendant of the charge, the maximum possible prison sentence for the 
offense, any mandatory minimum sentence required by law, and the risk involved in 
self-representation, and

(2) offering the defendant the opportunity to consult with a retained lawyer or, if the 
defendant is indigent, the opportunity to consult with an appointed lawyer.

The court should encourage any defendant who appears without counsel to be screened for 
indigency and potential appointment of counsel.

(E) Advice at Subsequent Proceedings. If a defendant has waived the assistance of a 
lawyer, the record of each subsequent proceeding (e.g., preliminary examination, 
arraignment, proceedings leading to possible revocation of youthful trainee status, 
hearings, trial or sentencing) need show only that the court advised the defendant of the 
continuing right to a lawyer's assistance (at public expense if the defendant is indigent) 
and that the defendant waived that right. Before the court begins such proceedings,

(1) the defendant must reaffirm that a lawyer’s assistance is not wanted; or

(2) if the defendant requests a lawyer and is financially unable to retain one, the court 
must refer the defendant to the local indigent criminal defense system’s appointing 
authority for the appointment of one; or

(3) if the defendant wants to retain a lawyer and has the financial ability to do so, the 
court must allow the defendant a reasonable opportunity to retain one.

The court may refuse to adjourn a proceeding for the appointment of counsel or allow 
a defendant to retain counsel if an adjournment would significantly prejudice the 
prosecution, and the defendant has not been reasonably diligent in seeking counsel.

(F) Multiple Representation. When two or more indigent defendants are jointly charged 
with an offense or offenses or their cases are otherwise joined, the local indigent criminal 
defense system must appoint separate lawyers unassociated in the practice of law for each 
defendant. Whenever two or more defendants who have been jointly charged or whose 
cases have been joined are represented by the same retained lawyer or lawyers associated 
in the practice of law, the court must inquire into the potential for a conflict of interest that 
might jeopardize the right of each defendant to the undivided loyalty of the lawyer. The 
court may not permit the joint representation unless:

(1) the lawyer or lawyers state on the record the reasons for believing that joint 
representation in all probability will not cause a conflict of interests;

(2) the defendants state on the record after the court’s inquiry and the lawyer’s 
statement, that they desire to proceed with the same lawyer; and
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(3) the court finds on the record that joint representation in all probability will not 
cause a conflict of interest and states its reasons for the finding.

(G) Unanticipated Conflict of Interest. If, in a case of joint representation, a conflict of 
interest arises at any time, including trial, the lawyer must immediately inform the court. If 
the court agrees that a conflict has arisen, it must afford one or more of the defendants the 
opportunity to retain separate lawyers. The court should on its own initiative inquire into 
any potential conflict that becomes apparent, and take such action as the interests of 
justice require.

(H) Scope of Trial Lawyer’s Responsibilities. 

(1) The responsibilities of the trial lawyer who represents the defendant include

(a) representing the defendant in all trial court proceedings through initial 
sentencing,

(b) filing of interlocutory appeals the lawyer deems appropriate, and

(c) responding to any preconviction appeals by the prosecutor. Unless an appellate 
lawyer has been appointed or retained, the defendant’s trial lawyer must either:

(i) file a response to any application for leave to appeal, appellant’s brief, or 
substantive motion; or

(ii) notify the Court of Appeals in writing that the defendant has knowingly 
elected not to file a response.

(2) Unless an appellate lawyer has been appointed or retained, or if retained trial 
counsel withdraws, the trial lawyer who represents the defendant is responsible for 
filing postconviction motions the lawyer deems appropriate, including motions for 
new trial, for a directed verdict of acquittal, to withdraw plea, or for resentencing.

(3) When an appellate lawyer has been appointed or retained, the trial lawyer is 
responsible for promptly making the defendant’s file, including all discovery material 
obtained and exhibits in the trial lawyer’s possession, reasonably available upon 
request of the appellate lawyer. The trial lawyer must retain the materials in the 
defendant’s file for at least five years after the case is disposed in the trial court.

(I) Assistance of Lawyer at Grand Jury Proceedings.

(1) A witness called before a grand jury or a grand juror is entitled to have a lawyer 
present in the hearing room while the witness gives testimony. A witness may not 
refuse to appear for reasons of unavailability of the lawyer for that witness. Except as 
otherwise provided by law, the lawyer may not participate in the proceedings other 
than to advise the witness.

(2) The prosecutor assisting the grand jury is responsible for ensuring that a witness is 
informed of the right to a lawyer’s assistance during examination by written notice 
accompanying the subpoena to the witness and by personal advice immediately before 
the examination. The notice must include language informing the witness that if the 
witness is financially unable to retain a lawyer, the chief judge in the circuit court in 



Chapter 6. Criminal Procedure Page 580   Updated April 26, 2024 

which the grand jury is convened will on request refer the witness to the local indigent 
criminal defense system for appointment of an attorney at public expense.

RULE 6.006 VIDEO AND AUDIO PROCEEDINGS

(A) Generally.

(1) Except as otherwise provided by this rule, the use of videoconferencing technology 
under this rule is subject to MCR 2.407.

(2) A court may, at the request of any participant, or sua sponte, allow the use of 
videoconferencing technology by any participant in any criminal proceeding. 

(3) When determining whether to utilize videoconferencing technology, the court shall 
consider constitutional requirements, in addition to the factors contained in MCR 
2.407. 

(4) This rule does not supersede a participant’s ability to participate by telephonic 
means under MCR 2.402.

(B) Mode of Proceedings in Cases Cognizable in the Circuit Court

(1) Generally. Circuit courts may use videoconferencing technology to conduct any 
non-evidentiary or trial proceeding.

(2) Preferred Mode. The use of videoconferencing technology shall be preferred for 
the following proceedings: 

(a) initial arraignments on the information; 

(b) pretrial conferences; 

(c) motions pursuant to MCR 2.119; and 

(d) pleas.

As used in this subrule, “preferred” means scheduled to be conducted remotely subject 
to a request under MCR 2.407(B)(4) to appear in person by any participant, including 
a victim as defined by the William Van Regenmorter Crime Victim's Rights Act, MCL 
780.751 et seq., or a determination by the court that a case is not suited for 
videoconferencing under MCR 2.407(B)(5). 

(3) Presumed Mode. In all other proceedings, the in-person appearance of the parties, 
witnesses, and other participants is presumed.

(4) Trials. Notwithstanding any other provisions of these rules, the use of 
videoconferencing technology shall not be used in bench or jury trials, or any 
proceeding wherein the testimony of witnesses or presentation of evidence may occur, 
except in the discretion of the court after all parties have had notice and an opportunity 
to be heard on the use of videoconferencing technology.

(5) In-Person Demand. Nothing in this rule prevents a defendant, who otherwise has 
the right to appear in person, from demanding to physically appear in person for any 
proceeding. If there is a demand to appear in person, or a participant is found to be 
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unable to adequately use the technology, to hear or understand or be heard or 
understood, the presiding judge and any attorney of record for said participant must 
appear in person with the participant for said proceeding. Subject to MCR 
2.407(B)(5), the court must allow other participants to participate using 
videoconferencing technology.

(C) Mode of Proceedings in Cases Cognizable in the District and Municipal Court

(1) Preferred Mode. The use of videoconferencing technology shall be the preferred 
mode for conducting arraignments and probable cause conferences for in-custody 
defendants. As used in this subrule, “preferred” means scheduled to be conducted 
remotely subject to a request under MCR 2.407(B)(4) to appear in person by any 
participant, including a victim as defined by the William Van Regenmorter Crime 
Victim’s Rights Act, MCL 780.751 et seq., or a determination by the court that a case 
is not suited for videoconferencing under MCR 2.407(B)(5). 

(2) Presumed Mode. In all other criminal proceedings, the in-person appearance of 
parties, witnesses, and other participants is presumed.

(3) Videoconferencing Technology Prohibited. Notwithstanding any other provision 
of these rules and subject to constitutional rights, the use of videoconferencing 
technology shall not be used in evidentiary hearings, bench trials or jury trials, or any 
criminal proceeding wherein the testimony of witnesses or presentation of evidence 
may occur, except in the discretion of the court.

(4) Preliminary Examination. Notwithstanding anything herein to the contrary, as long 
as the defendant is either present in the courtroom or has waived the right to be 
present, district courts may use videoconferencing to take testimony from any witness 
in a preliminary examination.

(D) Mechanics of Use. The use of telephonic, voice, videoconferencing, or two-way 
interactive video technology, must be in accordance with any requirements and guidelines 
established by the State Court Administrative Office, and all proceedings at which such 
technology is used must be recorded verbatim by the court.

(E) Notwithstanding any other provision in this rule, until further order of the Court, AO 
No. 2012-7 is supended.

RULE 6.007 CONFIDENTIAL RECORDS

Records are public except as otherwise indicated in court rule or statute.

RULE 6.008 CRIMINAL JURISDICTION

(A) District Court. The district court has jurisdiction over all misdemeanors and all 
felonies through the preliminary examination and until the entry of an order to bind the 
defendant over to the circuit court.
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(B) Circuit Court. The circuit court has jurisdiction over all felonies from the bindover 
from the district court unless otherwise provided by law. The failure of the court to 
properly document the bindover decision shall not deprive the circuit court of jurisdiction. 
A party challenging a bindover decision must do so before any plea of guilty or no contest, 
or before trial.

(C) Pleas and Verdicts in Circuit Court. The circuit court retains jurisdiction over any case 
in which a plea is entered or a verdict rendered to a charge that would normally be 
cognizable in the district court.

(D) Sentencing Misdemeanors in Circuit Court. The circuit court shall sentence all 
defendants bound over to circuit court on a felony that either plead guilty to, or are found 
guilty of, a misdemeanor.

(E) Concurrent Jurisdiction. As part of a concurrent jurisdiction plan, the circuit court and 
district court may enter into an agreement for district court probation officers to prepare 
the presentence investigation report and supervise on probation defendants who either 
plead guilty to, or are found guilty of, a misdemeanor in circuit court. The case remains 
under the jurisdiction of the circuit court.

RULE 6.009 USE OF RESTRAINTS ON A DEFENDANT

(A) Instruments of restraint, such as handcuffs, chains, irons, or straitjackets, cloth and 
leather restraints, and other similar items, may not be used on a defendant during a court 
proceeding that is or could have been before a jury unless the court finds, using record 
evidence, that the use of restraints is necessary due to one of the following factors: 

(1) Instruments of restraint are necessary to prevent physical harm to the defendant or 
another person.

(2) The defendant has a history of disruptive courtroom behavior that has placed 
others in potentially harmful situations or presents a substantial risk of inflicting 
physical harm on himself or herself or others as evidenced by recent behavior. 

(3) There is a founded belief that the defendant presents a substantial risk of flight 
from the courtroom.

(B) The court’s determination that restraints are necessary must be made outside the 
presence of the jury. If restraints are ordered, the court shall state on the record or in 
writing its findings of fact in support of the order. 

(C) Any restraints used on a defendant in the courtroom must allow the defendant limited 
movement of the hands to read and handle documents and writings necessary to the 
hearing. Under no circumstances should a defendant be restrained using fixed restraints to 
a wall, floor, or furniture.

(D) If the court determines restraints are needed, the court must order restraints that reflect 
the least restrictive means necessary to maintain the security of the courtroom. A court 
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should consider the visibility of a given restraint and the degree to which it affects an 
individual’s range of movement. A court may consider, but is not limited to considering, 
participation by video or other electronic means; the presence of court personnel, law 
enforcement officers, or bailiffs; or unobtrusive stun devices.

SUBCHAPTER 6.100 PRELIMINARY PROCEEDINGS

RULE 6.101 COMPLAINT

(A) Definition and Form. A complaint is a written accusation that a named or described 
person has committed a specified criminal offense. The complaint must include the 
substance of the accusation against the accused and the name and statutory citation of the 
offense. At the time of filing, specified case initiation information shall be provided in the 
form and manner approved by the State Court Administrative Office.

(B) Signature and Oath. The complaint must be signed and verified under MCR 
1.109(D)(3). Any requirement of law that a complaint filed with the court must be sworn 
is met by this verification.

(C) Prosecutor’s Approval or Posting of Security. A complaint may not be filed without a 
prosecutor’s written approval endorsed on the complaint or attached to it, or unless 
security for costs is filed with the court.

RULE 6.102 WARRANTS AND SUMMONSES

(A) Issuance of Summons; Warrant. A court must issue an arrest warrant or a summons as 
provided in this rule if presented with a proper complaint and if the court finds probable 
cause to believe that the accused committed the alleged offense.

(B) Probable Cause Determination. A finding of probable cause may be based on hearsay 
evidence and rely on factual allegations in the complaint, affidavits from the complainant 
or others, the testimony of a sworn witness adequately preserved to permit review, or any 
combination of these sources.

(C) Summons. A court must issue a summons unless otherwise provided in subrule (D). 

(1) Form. A summons must contain the same information as an arrest warrant, except 
that it should summon the accused to appear before a designated court at a stated time 
and place. 

(2) Service and Return of Summons. A summons may be served by the court or 
prosecuting attorney by

(a) delivering a copy to the named individual; or  

(b) leaving a copy with a person of suitable age and discretion at the individual’s 
home or usual place of abode; or  
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(c) mailing a copy to the individual’s last known address.  

Service should be made promptly to give the accused adequate notice of the 
appearance date. Unless service is made by the court, the person serving the summons 
must make a return to the court before the person is summoned to appear.   

(3) If the accused fails to appear in response to a summons, the court may issue a 
bench warrant pursuant to MCR 6.103.

(D) Arrest Warrant. A court may issue an arrest warrant, rather than a summons, if any of 
the following circumstance apply

(1) the complaint is for an assaultive crime or an offense involving domestic violence, 
as defined in MCL 764.1a.  

(2) there is reason to believe from the complaint that the person against whom the 
complaint is made will not appear upon a summons.  

(3) the issuance of a summons poses a risk to public safety.  

(4) the prosecutor has requested an arrest warrant.

(E) Contents of Warrant; Court’s Subscription. A warrant must

(1) contain the accused’s name, if known, or an identifying name or description;

(2) describe the offense charged in the complaint;

(3) command a peace officer or other person authorized by law to arrest and bring the 
accused before a judicial officer of the judicial district in which the offense allegedly 
was committed or some other designated court; and

(4) be signed by the court.

(F) Warrant Specification of Interim Bail. Where permitted by law, the court may specify 
on the warrant the bail that an accused may post to obtain release before arraignment on 
the warrant and, if the court deems it appropriate, include as a bail condition that the arrest 
of the accused occur on or before a specified date or within a specified period of time after 
issuance of the warrant.

(G) Execution and Return of Warrant. Only a peace officer or other person authorized by 
law may execute an arrest warrant. On execution or attempted execution of the warrant, 
the officer must make a return on the warrant and deliver it to the court before which the 
arrested person is to be taken.

(H) Release on Interim Bail. If an accused has been arrested pursuant to a warrant that 
includes an interim bail provision, the accused must either be arraigned promptly or 
released pursuant to the interim bail provision. The accused may obtain release by posting 
the bail on the warrant and by submitting a recognizance to appear before a specified court 
at a specified date and time, provided that

(1) the accused is arrested prior to the expiration date, if any, of the bail provision;
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(2) the accused is arrested in the county in which the warrant was issued, or in which 
the accused resides or is employed, and the accused is not wanted on another charge;

(3) the accused is not under the influence of liquor or controlled substance; and

(4) the condition of the accused or the circumstances at the time of arrest do not 
otherwise suggest a need for judicial review of the original specification of bail.

RULE 6.103 FAILURE TO APPEAR

(A) In General. Except as provided in MCR 6.615(B), if a defendant fails to appear in 
court, the court must wait 48 hours, excluding weekends and holidays if the court is closed 
to the public, before issuing a bench warrant to allow the defendant an opportunity to 
voluntarily appear before the court.  

(1) This rule does not apply if the case is for an assaultive crime or domestic  violence 
offense, as defined in MCL 764.3, or if the defendant previously failed to appear in the 
case. 

 (2) If this rule does apply, the court may immediately issue a bench warrant only if the 
court has a specific articulable reason, stated on the record, to suspect any of the 
following apply:    

(a) the defendant has committed a new crime.  

(b) a person or property will be endangered if a bench warrant is not issued.  

(c) prosecution witnesses have been summoned and are present for the proceeding.  

(d) the proceeding is to impose a sentence for the crime.  

(e) there are other compelling circumstances that require the immediate issuance 
of a bench warrant. 

(3) If the defendant does not appear within 48 hours, the court must issue a bench 
warrant unless the court believes there is good reason to instead schedule the case for 
further hearing.  

(B) Show Cause. This rule does not abridge a court’s authority to issue an order to show 
cause, instead of a bench warrant, if a defendant fails to appear in court.  

(C) Release Order. The court must not revoke a defendant’s release order or forfeit bond 
during the 48-hour period of delay before a warrant is issued.  

RULE 6.104 ARRAIGNMENT ON THE WARRANT OR COMPLAINT

(A) Arraignment Without Unnecessary Delay. Unless released beforehand, an arrested 
person must be taken without unnecessary delay before a court for arraignment in 
accordance with the provisions of this rule, or must be arraigned without unnecessary 
delay by use of two-way interactive video technology in accordance with MCR 6.006(A). 
The arrested person is entitled to the assistance of an attorney at arraignment unless 
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(1) the arrested person makes an informed waiver of counsel or 

(2) the court issues a personal bond and will not accept a plea of guilty or no contest at 
arraignment.

(B) Place of Arraignment. An accused arrested pursuant to a warrant must be taken to a 
court specified in the warrant. An accused arrested without a warrant must be taken to a 
court in the judicial district in which the offense allegedly occurred. If the arrest occurs 
outside the county in which these courts are located, the arresting agency must make 
arrangements with the authorities in the demanding county to have the accused promptly 
transported to the latter county for arraignment in accordance with the provisions of this 
rule. If prompt transportation cannot be arranged, the accused must be taken without 
unnecessary delay before the nearest available court for preliminary appearance in 
accordance with subrule (C). In the alternative, the provisions of this subrule may be 
satisfied by use of two-way interactive video technology in accordance with MCR 
6.006(A).

(C) Preliminary Appearance Outside County of Offense. When, under subrule (B), an 
accused is taken before a court outside the county of the alleged offense either in person or 
by way of two-way interactive video technology, the court must advise the accused of the 
rights specified in subrule (E)(2) and determine what form of pretrial release, if any, is 
appropriate. To be released, the accused must submit a recognizance for appearance 
within the next 14 days before a court specified in the arrest warrant or, in a case involving 
an arrest without a warrant, before either a court in the judicial district in which the 
offense allegedly occurred or some other court designated by that court. The court must 
certify the recognizance and have it delivered or sent without delay to the appropriate 
court. If the accused is not released, the arresting agency must arrange prompt 
transportation to the judicial district of the offense. In all cases, the arraignment is then to 
continue under subrule (D), if applicable, and subrule (E) either in the judicial district of 
the alleged offense or in such court as otherwise is designated.

(D) Arrest Without Warrant. If an accused is arrested without a warrant, a complaint 
complying with MCR 6.101 must be filed at or before the time of arraignment. On 
receiving the complaint and on finding probable cause, the court must either issue a 
warrant or endorse the complaint as provided in MCL 764.1c. Arraignment of the accused 
may then proceed in accordance with subrule (E).

(E) Arraignment Procedure; Judicial Responsibilities. The court at the arraignment must

(1) inform the accused of the nature of the offense charged, and its maximum possible 
prison sentence and any mandatory minimum sentence required by law;

(2) if the accused is not represented by a lawyer at the arraignment, advise the accused 
that

(a) the accused has a right to remain silent,

(b) anything the accused says orally or in writing can be used against the accused 
in court,
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(c) the accused has a right to have a lawyer present during any questioning 
consented to, and

(d) if the accused does not have the money to hire a lawyer, the local indigent 
criminal defense system will appoint a lawyer for the accused;

(3) advise the accused of the right to a lawyer at all court proceedings;

(4) set a date for a probable cause conference not less than 7 days or more than 14 days 
after the date of the arraignment and set a date for preliminary examination not less 
than 5 days or more than 7 days after the date of the probable cause conference;

(5) determine what form of pretrial release, if any, is appropriate; and

(6) ensure that the accused has had biometric data collected as required by law.

The court may not question the accused about the alleged offense or request that the 
accused enter a plea.

(F) Arraignment Procedure; Recording. A verbatim record must be made of the 
arraignment.

(G) Plan for Judicial Availability. In each county, the court with trial jurisdiction over 
felony cases must adopt and file with the state court administrator a plan for judicial 
availability. The plan shall

(1) make a judicial officer available for arraignments each day of the year, or

(2) make a judicial officer available for setting bail for every person arrested for 
commission of a felony each day of the year conditioned upon

(a) the judicial officer being presented a proper complaint and finding probable 
cause pursuant to MCR 6.102(A), and

(b) the judicial officer having available information to set bail.

This portion of the plan must provide that the judicial officer shall order the arresting 
officials to arrange prompt transportation of any accused unable to post bond to the judicial 
district of the offense for arraignment not later than the next regular business day.

 RULE 6.105  VOLUNTARY APPEARANCE 

(A) In General. If a defendant, wanted on a bench or arrest warrant, voluntarily presents 
himself or herself to the court that issued the warrant within one year of the warrant 
issuance, the court must either 

(1) arraign the defendant, if the court is available to do so within two hours of the 
defendant presenting himself or herself to the court; or 

(2) recall the warrant and schedule the case for a future appearance. 

It is presumed the defendant is not a flight risk when the court sets bond or other 
conditions of release at an arraignment under this rule.  
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(B) Exceptions. This rule does not apply to assaultive crimes or domestic violence 
offenses, as defined in MCL 762.10d, or to defendants who have previously benefited 
from this rule on any pending criminal charge. 

RULE 6.106 PRETRIAL RELEASE

(A) In General. At the defendant’s arraignment on the complaint and/or warrant, unless an 
order in accordance with this rule was issued beforehand, the court must order that, 
pending trial, the defendant be

(1) held in custody as provided in subrule (B);

(2) released on personal recognizance or an unsecured appearance bond; or

(3) released conditionally, with or without money bail (ten percent, cash or surety).

(B) Pretrial Release/Custody Order Under Const 1963, art 1, § 15.

(1) The court may deny pretrial release to

(a) a defendant charged with

(i) murder or treason, or

(ii) committing a violent felony and

[A] at the time of the commission of the violent felony, the defendant was 
on probation, parole, or released pending trial for another violent felony, or

[B] during the 15 years preceding the commission of the violent felony, the 
defendant had been convicted of 2 or more violent felonies under the laws 
of this state or substantially similar laws of the United States or another 
state arising out of separate incidents, if the court finds that proof of the 
defendant's guilt is evident or the presumption great;

(b) a defendant charged with criminal sexual conduct in the first degree, armed 
robbery, or kidnapping with the intent to extort money or other valuable thing 
thereby, if the court finds that proof of the defendant's guilt is evident or the 
presumption great, unless the court finds by clear and convincing evidence that the 
defendant is not likely to flee or present a danger to any other person.

(2) A “violent felony” within the meaning of subrule (B)(1) is a felony, an element of 
which involves a violent act or threat of a violent act against any other person.

(3) If the court determines as provided in subrule (B)(1) that the defendant may not be 
released, the court must order the defendant held in custody for a period not to exceed 
90 days after the date of the order, excluding delays attributable to the defense, within 
which trial must begin or the court must immediately schedule a hearing and set the 
amount of bail.

(4) The court must state the reasons for an order of custody on the record and on a 
form approved by the State Court Administrator's Office entitled “Custody Order.” 
The completed form must be placed in the court file.
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(5)The court may, in its custody order, place conditions on the defendant, including 
but not limited to restricting or prohibiting defendant’s contact with any other named 
person or persons, if the court determines the conditions are reasonably necessary to 
maintain the integrity of the judicial proceedings or are reasonably necessary for the 
protection of one or more named persons. If an order under this paragraph is in conflict 
with another court order, the most restrictive provisions of the orders shall take 
precedence until the conflict is resolved.

(6)Nothing in this rule limits the ability of a jail to impose restrictions on detainee 
contact as an appropriate means of furthering penological goals.

(C) Release on Personal Recognizance. If the defendant is not ordered held in custody 
pursuant to subrule (B), the court must order the pretrial release of the defendant on 
personal recognizance, or on an unsecured appearance bond, subject to the conditions that 
the defendant will appear as required, will not leave the state without permission of the 
court, and will not commit any crime while released, unless the court determines that such 
release will not reasonably ensure the appearance of the defendant as required, or that such 
release will present a danger to the public.

(D) Conditional Release. If the court determines that the release described in subrule (C) 
will not reasonably ensure the appearance of the defendant as required, or will not 
reasonably ensure the safety of the public, the court may order the pretrial release of the 
defendant on the condition or combination of conditions that the court determines are 
appropriate including

(1) that the defendant will appear as required, will not leave the state without 
permission of the court, and will not commit any crime while released, and

(2) subject to any condition or conditions the court determines are reasonably 
necessary to ensure the appearance of the defendant as required and the safety of the 
public, which may include requiring the defendant to

(a) make reports to a court agency as are specified by the court or the agency;

(b) not use alcohol or illicitly use any controlled substance;

(c) participate in a substance abuse testing or monitoring program;

(d) participate in a specified treatment program for any physical or mental 
condition, including substance abuse;

(e) comply with restrictions on personal associations, place of residence, place of 
employment, or travel;

(f) surrender driver’s license or passport;

(g) comply with a specified curfew;

(h) continue to seek employment;

(i) continue or begin an educational program;
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(j) remain in the custody of a responsible member of the community who agrees to 
monitor the defendant and report any violation of any release condition to the 
court;

(k) not possess a firearm or other dangerous weapon;

(l) not enter specified premises or areas and not assault, beat, molest or wound a 
named person or persons;

(m) comply with any condition limiting or prohibiting contact with any other 
named person or persons. If an order under this paragraph limiting or prohibiting 
contact with any other named person or persons is in conflict with another court 
order, the most restrictive provision of the orders shall take precedence until the 
conflict is resolved. The court may make this condition effective immediately on 
entry of a pretrial release order and while defendant remains in custody if the court 
determines it is reasonably necessary to maintain the integrity of the judicial 
proceeding or it is reasonably necessary for the protection of one or more named 
persons.

(n) satisfy any injunctive order made a condition of release; or

(o) comply with any other condition, including the requirement of money bail as 
described in subrule (E), reasonably necessary to ensure the defendant's 
appearance as required and the safety of the public.

(E) Money Bail. If the court determines for reasons it states on the record that the 
defendant's appearance or the protection of the public cannot otherwise be assured, money 
bail, with or without conditions described in subrule (D), may be required.

(1) The court may require the defendant to

(a) post, at the defendant’s option,

(i) a surety bond that is executed by a surety approved by the court in an 
amount equal to 1/4 of the full bail amount, or

(ii) bail that is executed by the defendant, or by another who is not a surety 
approved by the court, and secured by

[A] a cash deposit, or its equivalent, for the full bail amount, or

[B] a cash deposit of 10 percent of the full bail amount, or, with the court’s 
consent,

[C] designated real property; or

(b) post, at the defendant’s option,

(i) a surety bond that is executed by a surety approved by the court in an 
amount equal to the full bail amount, or

(ii) bail that is executed by the defendant, or by another who is not a surety 
approved by the court, and secured by
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[A] a cash deposit, or its equivalent, for the full bail amount, or, with the 
court’s consent,

[B] designated real property.

(2) The court may require satisfactory proof of value and interest in property if the 
court consents to the posting of a bond secured by designated real property.

(F) Decision; Statement of Reasons.

(1) In deciding which release to use and what terms and conditions to impose, the 
court is to consider relevant information, including

(a) defendant’s prior criminal record, including juvenile offenses;

(b) defendant’s record of appearance or nonappearance at court proceedings or 
flight to avoid prosecution;

(c) defendant’s history of substance abuse or addiction;

(d) defendant’s mental condition, including character and reputation for 
dangerousness;

(e) the seriousness of the offense charged, the presence or absence of threats, and 
the probability of conviction and likely sentence;

(f) defendant’s employment status and history and financial history insofar as 
these factors relate to the ability to post money bail;

(g) the availability of responsible members of the community who would vouch 
for or monitor the defendant;

(h) facts indicating the defendant’s ties to the community, including family ties 
and relationships, and length of residence, and

(i) any other facts bearing on the risk of nonappearance or danger to the public.

(2)If the court orders the defendant held in custody pursuant to subrule (B) or released 
on conditions in subrule (D) that include money bail, the court must state the reasons 
for its decision on the record. The court need not make a finding on each of the 
enumerated factors.

(3) Nothing in subrules (C) through (F) may be construed to sanction pretrial detention 
nor to sanction the determination of pretrial release on the basis of race, religion, 
gender, economic status, or other impermissible criteria.

(G) Custody Hearing.

(1) Entitlement to Hearing. A court having jurisdiction of a defendant may conduct a 
custody hearing if the defendant is being held in custody pursuant to subrule (B) and a 
custody hearing is requested by either the defendant or the prosecutor. The purpose of 
the hearing is to permit the parties to litigate all of the issues relevant to challenging or 
supporting a custody decision pursuant to subrule (B).

(2) Hearing Procedure.
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(a) At the custody hearing, the defendant is entitled to be present and to be 
represented by a lawyer, and the defendant and the prosecutor are entitled to 
present witnesses and evidence, to proffer information, and to cross-examine each 
other’s witnesses.

(b) The rules of evidence, except those pertaining to privilege, are not applicable. 
Unless the court makes the findings required to enter an order under subrule 
(B)(1), the defendant must be ordered released under subrule (C) or (D). A 
verbatim record of the hearing must be made.

(H) Appeals; Modification of Release Decision.

(1) Appeals. A party seeking review of a release decision may file a motion in the 
court having appellate jurisdiction over the court that made the release decision. There 
is no fee for filing the motion. The reviewing court may not stay, vacate, modify, or 
reverse the release decision except on finding an abuse of discretion.

(2) Modification of Release Decision.

(a) Prior to Arraignment on the Information. Prior to the defendant’s arraignment 
on the information, any court before which proceedings against the defendant are 
pending may, on the motion of a party or its own initiative and on finding that 
there is a substantial reason for doing so, modify a prior release decision or reopen 
a prior custody hearing.

(b) Arraignment on Information and Afterwards. At the defendant’s arraignment 
on the information and afterwards, the court having jurisdiction of the defendant 
may, on the motion of a party or its own initiative, make a de novo determination 
and modify a prior release decision or reopen a prior custody hearing.

(c) Burden of Going Forward. The party seeking modification of a release decision 
has the burden of going forward.

(3) Emergency Release. If a defendant being held in pretrial custody under this rule is 
ordered released from custody as a result of a court order or law requiring the release 
of prisoners to relieve jail conditions, the court ordering the defendant’s release may, 
if appropriate, impose conditions of release in accordance with this rule to ensure the 
appearance of the defendant as required and to protect the public. If such conditions of 
release are imposed, the court must inform the defendant of the conditions on the 
record or by furnishing to the defendant or the defendant's lawyer a copy of the release 
order setting forth the conditions.

(I) Termination of Release Order.

(1) If the conditions of the release order are met and the defendant is discharged from 
all obligations in the case, the court must vacate the release order, discharge anyone 
who has posted bail or bond, and return the cash (or its equivalent) posted in the full 
amount of the bail, or, if there has been a deposit of 10 percent of the full bail amount, 
return 90 percent of the deposited money and retain 10 percent.
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(2) If the defendant has failed to comply with the conditions of release, the court may, 
pursuant to MCR 6.103, issue a warrant for the arrest of the defendant and enter an 
order revoking the release order and declaring the bail money deposited or the surety 
bond, if any, forfeited.

(a) The court must mail notice of any revocation order immediately to the 
defendant at the defendant’s last known address and, if forfeiture of bail or bond 
has been ordered, to anyone who posted bail or bond.

(b) If the defendant does not appear and surrender to the court within 28 days after 
the revocation date, the court may continue the revocation order and enter 
judgment for the state or local unit of government against the defendant and 
anyone who posted bail or bond for an amount not to exceed the full amount of the 
bail, and costs of the court proceedings, or if a surety bond was posted, an amount 
not to exceed the full amount of the surety bond. If the amount of a forfeited surety 
bond is less than the full amount of the bail, the defendant shall continue to be 
liable to the court for the difference, unless otherwise ordered by the court. If the 
defendant does not within that period satisfy the court that there was compliance 
with the conditions of release other than appearance or that compliance was 
impossible through no fault of the defendant, the court may continue the 
revocation order and enter judgment for the state or local unit of government 
against the defendant alone for an amount not to exceed the full amount of the 
bond, and costs of the court proceedings.

(c) The 10 percent bail deposit made under subrule (E)(1)(a)(ii)[B] must be 
applied to the costs and, if any remains, to the balance of the judgment. The 
amount applied to the judgment must be transferred to the county treasury for a 
circuit court case, to the treasuries of the governments contributing to the district 
control unit for a district court case, or to the treasury of the appropriate municipal 
government for a municipal court case. The balance of the judgment may be 
enforced and collected as a judgment entered in a civil case.

(3) If money was deposited on a bail or bond executed by the defendant, the money 
must be first applied to the amount of any fine, costs, or statutory assessments imposed 
and any balance returned, subject to subrule (I)(1).

RULE 6.107 GRAND JURY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Right to Grand Jury Records. Whenever an indictment is returned by a grand jury or a 
grand juror, the person accused in the indictment is entitled to the part of the record, 
including a transcript of the part of the testimony of all witnesses appearing before the 
grand jury or grand juror, that touches on the guilt or innocence of the accused of the 
charge contained in the indictment.

(B) Procedure to Obtain Records.

(1) To obtain the part of the record and transcripts specified in subrule (A), a motion 
must be addressed to the chief judge of the circuit court in the county in which the 
grand jury issuing the indictment was convened.
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(2) The motion must be filed within 14 days after arraignment on the indictment or at a 
reasonable time thereafter as the court may permit on a showing of good cause and a 
finding that the interests of justice will be served.

(3) On receipt of the motion, the chief judge shall order the entire record and transcript 
of testimony taken before the grand jury to be delivered to the chief judge by the 
person having custody of it for an in-camera inspection by the chief judge.

(4) Following the in-camera inspection, the chief judge shall certify the parts of the 
record, including the testimony of all grand jury witnesses that touches on the guilt or 
innocence of the accused, as being all of the evidence bearing on that issue contained 
in the record, and have two copies of it prepared, one to be delivered to the attorney for 
the accused, or to the accused if not represented by an attorney, and one to the attorney 
charged with the responsibility for prosecuting the indictment.

(5) The chief judge shall then have the record and transcript of all testimony of grand 
jury witnesses returned to the person from whom it was received for disposition 
according to law.

RULE 6.108 THE PROBABLE CAUSE CONFERENCE 

(A)Right to a probable Cause Conference. The state and the defendant are entitled to a 
probable cause conference, unless waived by both parties. If the probable cause 
conference is waived, the parties shall provide written notice to the court and indicate 
whether the parties will be conducting a preliminary examination, waiving the 
examination, or entering a plea. 

(B)A district court magistrate may conduct probable cause conferences when authorized 
to do so by the chief district judge and may conduct all matters allowed at the probable 
cause conference, except taking pleas and imposing sentences unless permitted by statute 
to take pleas or impose sentences.

(C)The probable cause conference shall include discussions regarding a possible plea 
agreement and other pretrial matters, including bail and bond modification. 

(D)The district court judge must be available during the probable cause conference to take 
pleas, consider requests for modification of bond, and if requested by the prosecutor, take 
the testimony of a victim.

(E)The probable cause conference for codefendants who are arraigned at least 72 hours 
before the probable cause conference shall be consolidated and only one joint probable 
cause conference shall be held unless the prosecuting attorney consents to the severance, a 
defendant seeks severance by motion and it is granted, or one of the defendants is 
unavailable and does not appear at the hearing.
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RULE 6.110 THE PRELIMINARY EXAMINATION

(A) Right to Preliminary Examination. Where a preliminary examination is permitted by 
law, the people and the defendant are entitled to a prompt preliminary examination. The 
defendant may waive the preliminary examination with the consent of the prosecuting 
attorney. Upon waiver of the preliminary examination, the court must bind the defendant 
over for trial on the charge set forth in the complaint or any amended complaint. The 
preliminary examination for codefendants shall be consolidated and only one joint 
preliminary examination shall be held unless the prosecuting attorney consents to the 
severance, a defendant seeks severance by motion and it is granted, or one of the 
defendants is unavailable and does not appear at the hearing.

(B) Time of Examination; Remedy.

(1) Unless adjourned by the court, the preliminary examination must be held on the 
date specified by the court at the arraignment on the warrant or complaint. If the 
parties consent, the court may adjourn the preliminary examination for a reasonable 
time. If a party objects, the court may not adjourn a preliminary examination unless it 
makes a finding on the record of good cause shown for the adjournment. A violation of 
this subrule is deemed to be harmless error unless the defendant demonstrates actual 
prejudice.

(2)Upon the request of the prosecuting attorney, the preliminary examination shall 
commence immediately at the date and time set for the probable cause conference for 
the sole purpose of taking and preserving the testimony of the victim, if the victim is 
present, as long as the defendant is either present in the courtroom or has waived the 
right to be present. If victim testimony is taken as provided under this rule, the 
preliminary examination will be continued at the date originally set for that event.

(C) Conduct of Examination. A verbatim record must be made of the preliminary 
examination. The court shall allow the prosecutor and the defendant to subpoena and call 
witnesses, offer proofs, and examine and cross-examine witnesses at the preliminary 
examination. The court must conduct the examination in accordance with the Michigan 
Rules of Evidence.

(D) Exclusionary Rules. 

(1)The court shall allow the prosecutor and defendant to subpoena and call witnesses 
from whom hearsay testimony was introduced on a satisfactory showing that live 
testimony will be relevant. 

(2) If, during the preliminary examination, the court determines that evidence being 
offered is excludable, it must, on motion or objection, exclude the evidence. If, 
however, there has been a preliminary showing that the evidence is admissible, the 
court need not hold a separate evidentiary hearing on the question of whether the 
evidence should be excluded. The decision to admit or exclude evidence, with or 
without an evidentiary hearing, does not preclude a party from moving for and 
obtaining a determination of the question in the trial court on the basis of
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(a) a prior evidentiary hearing, or

(b) a prior evidentiary hearing supplemented with a hearing before the trial court, 
or

(c) if there was no prior evidentiary hearing, a new evidentiary hearing.

(E) Probable Cause Finding. If, after considering the evidence, the court determines that 
probable cause exists to believe both that an offense not cognizable by the district court 
has been committed and that the defendant committed it, the court must bind the defendant 
over for trial. If the court finds probable cause to believe that the defendant has committed 
an offense cognizable by the district court, it must proceed thereafter as if the defendant 
initially had been charged with that offense.

(F) Discharge of Defendant. No Finding of Probable Cause. If, after considering the 
evidence, the court determines that probable cause does not exist to believe either that an 
offense has been committed or that the defendant committed it, the court must discharge 
the defendant without prejudice to the prosecutor initiating a subsequent prosecution for 
the same offense or reduce the charge to an offense that is not a felony. Except as provided 
in MCR 8.111(C), the subsequent preliminary examination must be held before the same 
judicial officer and the prosecutor must present additional evidence to support the charge.

(G) Return of Examination. Immediately on concluding the examination, the court must 
certify and transmit to the court before which the defendant is bound to appear the 
prosecutor's authorization for a warrant application, the complaint, a copy of the register 
of actions, the examination return, and any recognizances received.

(H) Motion to Dismiss. If, on proper motion, the trial court finds a violation of subrule 
(C), (D), (E), or (F), it must either dismiss the information or remand the case to the 
district court for further proceedings.

(I) Scheduling the Arraignment. Unless the trial court does the scheduling of the 
arraignment on the information, the district court must do so in accordance with the 
administrative orders of the trial court.

RULE 6.111 CIRCUIT COURT ARRAIGNMENT IN DISTRICT COURT

(A) The circuit court arraignment may be conducted by a district judge in criminal cases 
cognizable in the circuit court immediately after the bindover of the defendant. A district 
court judge shall take a felony plea as provided by court rule if a plea agreement is reached 
between the parties. Following a plea, the case shall be transferred to the circuit court 
where the circuit judge shall preside over further proceedings, including sentencing. The 
circuit court judge’s name shall be available to the litigants before the plea is taken.

(B) Arraignments conducted pursuant to this rule shall be conducted in conformity with 
MCR 6.113.
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(C) Pleas taken pursuant to this rule shall be taken in conformity with MCR 6.301, 6.302, 
6.303, and 6.304, as applicable, and, once taken, shall be governed by MCR 6.310.

RULE 6.112 THE INFORMATION OR INDICTMENT

(A) Informations and Indictments; Similar Treatment. Except as otherwise provided in 
these rules or elsewhere, the law and rules that apply to informations and prosecutions on 
informations apply to indictments and prosecutions on indictments.

(B) Use of Information or Indictment. A prosecution must be based on an information or 
an indictment. Unless the defendant is a fugitive from justice, the prosecutor may not file 
an information until the defendant has had or waives a preliminary examination. An 
indictment is returned and filed without a preliminary examination. When this occurs, the 
indictment shall commence judicial proceedings.

(C) Time of Filing Information or Indictment. The prosecutor must file the information or 
indictment on or before the date set for the arraignment.

(D) Information; Nature and Contents; Attachments. The information must set forth the 
substance of the accusation against the defendant and the name, statutory citation, and 
penalty of the offense allegedly committed. If applicable, the information must also set 
forth the notice required by MCL 767.45, and the defendant’s Michigan driver’s license 
number. To the extent possible, the information should specify the time and place of the 
alleged offense. Allegations relating to conduct, the method of committing the offense, 
mental state, and the consequences of conduct may be stated in the alternative. A list of all 
witnesses known to the prosecutor who may be called at trial and all res gestae witnesses 
known to the prosecutor or investigating law enforcement officers must be attached to the 
information. A prosecutor must sign the information.

(E) Bill of Particulars. The court, on motion, may order the prosecutor to provide the 
defendant a bill of particulars describing the essential facts of the alleged offense.

(F) Notice of Intent to Seek Enhanced Sentence. A notice of intent to seek an enhanced 
sentence pursuant to MCL 769.13 must list the prior convictions that may be relied upon 
for purposes of sentence enhancement. The notice must contain, if applicable, any 
mandatory minimum sentence required by law as a result of the sentence enhancement. 
The notice must be filed within 21 days after the defendant's arraignment on the 
information charging the underlying offense or, if arraignment is waived or eliminated as 
allowed under MCR 6.113(E), within 21 days after the filing of the information charging 
the underlying offense.

(G) Harmless Error. Absent a timely objection and a showing of prejudice, a court may 
not dismiss an information or reverse a conviction because of an untimely filing or 
because of an incorrectly cited statute or a variance between the information and proof 
regarding time, place, the manner in which the offense was committed, or other factual 
detail relating to the alleged offense. 
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(H) Amendment of Information or Notice of Intent to Seek Enhanced Sentence. The court 
before, during, or after trial may permit the prosecutor to amend the information or the 
notice of intent to seek enhanced sentence unless the proposed amendment would unfairly 
surprise or prejudice the defendant. On motion, the court must strike unnecessary 
allegations from the information.

RULE 6.113 THE ARRAIGNMENT ON THE INDICTMENT OR INFORMATION

(A) Time of Conducting. Unless the defendant waives arraignment or the court for good 
cause orders a delay, or as otherwise permitted by these rules, the court with trial 
jurisdiction must arraign the defendant on the scheduled date. The court may hold the 
arraignment before the preliminary examination transcript has been prepared and filed. 
Unless the defendant demonstrates actual prejudice, failure to hold the arraignment on the 
scheduled date is to be deemed harmless error.

(B) Arraignment Procedure. The prosecutor must give a copy of the information to the 
defendant before the defendant is asked to plead. Unless waived by the defendant, the 
court must either state to the defendant the substance of the charge contained in the 
information or require the information to be read to the defendant. If the defendant has 
waived legal representation, the court must advise the defendant of the pleading options. If 
the defendant offers a plea other than not guilty, the court must proceed in accordance 
with the rules in subchapter 6.300. Otherwise, the court must enter a plea of not guilty on 
the record. A verbatim record must be made of the arraignment.

(C) Waiver. A defendant represented by a lawyer may, as a matter of right, enter a plea of 
not guilty or stand mute without arraignment by filing, at or before the time set for the 
arraignment, a written statement signed by the defendant and the defendant’s lawyer 
acknowledging that the defendant has received a copy of the information, has read or had 
it read or explained, understands the substance of the charge, waives arraignment in open 
court, and pleads not guilty to the charge or stands mute.

(D) Preliminary Examination Transcript. The court reporter shall transcribe and file the 
record of the preliminary examination if such is demanded or ordered pursuant to MCL 
766.15.

(E) Elimination of Arraignments. A circuit court may submit to the State Court 
Administrator pursuant to MCR 8.112(B) a local administrative order that eliminates 
arraignment for a defendant represented by an attorney, provided other arrangements are 
made to give the defendant a copy of the information and any notice of intent to seek an 
enhanced sentence, as provided in MCR 6.112(F).

RULE 6.120 JOINDER AND SEVERANCE; SINGLE DEFENDANT

(A) Charging Joinder. The prosecuting attorney may file an information or indictment that 
charges a single defendant with any two or more offenses. Each offense must be stated in 
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a separate count. Two or more informations or indictments against a single defendant may 
be consolidated for a single trial.

(B) Postcharging Permissive Joinder or Severance. On its own initiative, the motion of a 
party, or the stipulation of all parties, except as provided in subrule (C), the court may join 
offenses charged in two or more informations or indictments against a single defendant, or 
sever offenses charged in a single information or indictment against a single defendant, 
when appropriate to promote fairness to the parties and a fair determination of the 
defendant's guilt or innocence of each offense.

(1) Joinder is appropriate if the offenses are related. For purposes of this rule, offenses 
are related if they are based on

(a) the same conduct or transaction, or

(b) a series of connected acts, or

(c) a series of acts constituting parts of a single scheme or plan.

(2) Other relevant factors include the timeliness of the motion, the drain on the parties’ 
resources, the potential for confusion or prejudice stemming from either the number of 
charges or the complexity or nature of the evidence, the potential for harassment, the 
convenience of witnesses, and the parties’ readiness for trial.

(3) If the court acts on its own initiative, it must provide the parties an opportunity to 
be heard.

(C) Right of Severance; Unrelated Offenses. On the defendant’s motion, the court must 
sever for separate trials offenses that are not related as defined in subrule (B)(1).

RULE 6.121 JOINDER AND SEVERANCE; MULTIPLE DEFENDANTS

(A) Permissive Joinder. An information or indictment may charge two or more defendants 
with the same offense. It may charge two or more defendants with two or more offenses 
when

(1) each defendant is charged with accountability for each offense, or

(2) the offenses are related as defined in MCR 6.120(B).

When more than one offense is alleged, each offense must be stated in a separate 
count. Two or more informations or indictments against different defendants may be 
consolidated for a single trial whenever the defendants could be charged in the same 
information or indictment under this rule.

(B) Right of Severance; Unrelated Offenses. On a defendant’s motion, the court must 
sever offenses that are not related as defined in MCR 6.120(B).

(C) Right of Severance; Related Offenses. On a defendant’s motion, the court must sever 
the trial of defendants on related offenses on a showing that severance is necessary to 
avoid prejudice to substantial rights of the defendant.
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(D) Discretionary Severance. On the motion of any party, the court may sever the trial of 
defendants on the ground that severance is appropriate to promote fairness to the parties 
and a fair determination of the guilt or innocence of one or more of the defendants. 
Relevant factors include the timeliness of the motion, the drain on the parties’ resources, 
the potential for confusion or prejudice stemming from either the number of defendants or 
the complexity or nature of the evidence, the convenience of witnesses, and the parties’ 
readiness for trial.

RULE 6.125 MENTAL COMPETENCY HEARING

(A) Applicable Provisions. Except as provided in these rules, a mental competency 
hearing in a criminal case is governed by MCL 330.2020 et seq.

(B) Time and Form of Motion. The issue of the defendant’s competence to stand trial or to 
participate in other criminal proceedings may be raised at any time during the proceedings 
against the defendant. The issue may be raised by the court before which such proceedings 
are pending or being held, or by motion of a party. Unless the issue of defendant’s 
competence arises during the course of proceedings, a motion raising the issue of 
defendant’s competence must be in writing. If the competency issue arises during the 
course of proceedings, the court may adjourn the proceeding or, if the proceeding is 
defendant's trial, the court may, consonant with double jeopardy considerations, declare a 
mistrial.

(C) Order for Examination.

(1) On a showing that the defendant may be incompetent to stand trial, the court must 
order the defendant to undergo an examination by a certified or licensed examiner of 
the center for forensic psychiatry or other facility officially certified by the department 
of mental health to perform examinations relating to the issue of competence to stand 
trial.

(2) The defendant must appear for the examination as required by the court.

(3) If the defendant is held in detention pending trial, the examination may be 
performed in the place of detention or the defendant may be transported by the sheriff 
to the diagnostic facility for examination.

(4) The court may order commitment to a diagnostic facility for examination if the 
defendant fails to appear for the examination as required or if commitment is 
necessary for the performance of the examination.

(5) The defendant must be released from the facility on completion of the examination 
and, if (3) is applicable, returned to the place of detention.

(D) Independent Examination. On a showing of good cause by either party, the court may 
order an independent examination of the defendant relating to the issue of competence to 
stand trial.
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(E) Hearing. A competency hearing must be held within 5 days of receipt of the report 
required by MCL 330.2028 or on conclusion of the proceedings then before the court, 
whichever is sooner, unless the court, on a showing of good cause, grants an adjournment.

(F) Motions; Testimony.

(1) A motion made while a defendant is incompetent to stand trial must be heard and 
decided if the presence of the defendant is not essential for a fair hearing and decision 
on the motion.

(2) Testimony may be presented on a pretrial defense motion if the defendant’s 
presence could not assist the defense.

RULE 6.126 DECISION ON ADMISSIBILITY OF EVIDENCE

Where the court makes a decision on the admissibility of evidence and the prosecutor or 
the defendant files an interlocutory application for leave to appeal seeking to reverse that 
decision, the court shall stay proceedings pending resolution of the application in the Court of 
Appeals, unless the court makes findings that the evidence is clearly cumulative or that an appeal 
is frivolous because legal precedent is clearly against the party’s position. If the application for 
leave to appeal is filed by the prosecutor and the defendant is incarcerated, the defendant may 
request that the court reconsider whether pretrial release is appropriate.

SUBCHAPTER 6.200 DISCOVERY

RULE 6.201 DISCOVERY

(A) Mandatory Disclosure. In addition to disclosures required by provisions of law other 
than MCL 767.94a, a party upon request must provide all other parties:

(1) the names and addresses of all lay and expert witnesses whom the party may call at 
trial; in the alternative, a party may provide the name of the witness and make the 
witness available to the other party for interview; the witness list may be amended 
without leave of the court no later than 28 days before trial;

(2) any written or recorded statement, including electronically recorded statements, 
pertaining to the case by a lay witness whom the party may call at trial, except that a 
defendant is not obliged to provide the defendant’s own statement;

(3) the curriculum vitae of an expert the party may call at trial and either a report by 
the expert or a written description of the substance of the proposed testimony of the 
expert, the expert’s opinion, and the underlying basis of that opinion;

(4) any criminal record that the party may use at trial to impeach a witness;

(5) a description or list of criminal convictions, known to the defense attorney or 
prosecuting attorney, of any witness whom the party may call at trial; and

(6) a description of and an opportunity to inspect any tangible physical evidence that 
the party may introduce at trial, including any document, photograph, or other paper, 
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with copies to be provided on request. A party may request a hearing regarding any 
question of costs of reproduction, including the cost of providing copies of 
electronically recorded statements. On good cause shown, the court may order that a 
party be given the opportunity to test without destruction any tangible physical 
evidence.

(B) Discovery of Information Known to the Prosecuting Attorney. Upon request, the 
prosecuting attorney must provide each defendant:

(1) any exculpatory information or evidence known to the prosecuting attorney;

(2) any police report and interrogation records concerning the case, except so much of 
a report as concerns a continuing investigation;

(3) any written or recorded statements, including electronically recorded statements, 
by a defendant, codefendant, or accomplice pertaining to the case, even if that person 
is not a prospective witness at trial;

(4) any affidavit, warrant, and return pertaining to a search or seizure in connection 
with the case; and

(5) any plea agreement, grant of immunity, or other agreement for testimony in 
connection with the case.

(C) Prohibited Discovery.

(1) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, there is no right to discover 
information or evidence that is protected from disclosure by constitution, statute, or 
privilege, including information or evidence protected by a defendant's right against 
self-incrimination, except as provided in subrule (2).

(2) If a defendant demonstrates a good-faith belief, grounded in articulable fact, that 
there is a reasonable probability that records protected by privilege are likely to 
contain material information necessary to the defense, the trial court shall conduct an 
in camera inspection of the records.

(a) If the privilege is absolute, and the privilege holder refuses to waive the 
privilege to permit an in camera inspection, the trial court shall suppress or strike 
the privilege holder’s testimony.

(b) If the court is satisfied, following an in camera inspection, that the records 
reveal evidence necessary to the defense, the court shall direct that such evidence 
as is necessary to the defense be made available to defense counsel. If the privilege 
is absolute and the privilege holder refuses to waive the privilege to permit 
disclosure, the trial court shall suppress or strike the privilege holder’s testimony.

(c) Regardless of whether the court determines that the records should be made 
available to the defense, the court shall make findings sufficient to facilitate 
meaningful appellate review.

(d) The court shall seal and preserve the records for review in the event of an 
appeal
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(i) by the defendant, on an interlocutory basis or following conviction, if the 
court determines that the records should not be made available to the defense, 
or

(ii) by the prosecution, on an interlocutory basis, if the court determines that 
the records should be made available to the defense.

(e) Records disclosed under this rule shall remain in the exclusive custody of 
counsel for the parties, shall be used only for the limited purpose approved by the 
court, and shall be subject to such other terms and conditions as the court may 
provide.

(D) Excision. When some parts of material or information are discoverable and other parts 
are not discoverable, the party must disclose the discoverable parts and may excise the 
remainder. The party must inform the other party that nondiscoverable information has 
been excised and withheld. On motion, the court must conduct a hearing in camera to 
determine whether the reasons for excision are justifiable. If the court upholds the 
excision, it must seal and preserve the record of the hearing for review in the event of an 
appeal.

(E) Protective Orders. On motion and a showing of good cause, the court may enter an 
appropriate protective order. In considering whether good cause exists, the court shall 
consider the parties’ interests in a fair trial; the risk to any person of harm, undue 
annoyance, intimidation, embarrassment, or threats; the risk that evidence will be 
fabricated; and the need for secrecy regarding the identity of informants or other law 
enforcement matters. On motion, with notice to the other party, the court may permit the 
showing of good cause for a protective order to be made in camera. If the court grants a 
protective order, it must seal and preserve the record of the hearing for review in the event 
of an appeal.

(F) Timing of Discovery. Unless otherwise ordered by the court, the prosecuting attorney 
must comply with the requirements of this rule within 21 days of a request under this rule 
and a defendant must comply with the requirements of this rule within 21 days of a request 
under this rule.

(G) Copies. Except as ordered by the court on good cause shown, a party’s obligation to 
provide a photograph or paper of any kind is satisfied by providing a clear copy.

(H) Continuing Duty to Disclose. If at any time a party discovers additional information or 
material subject to disclosure under this rule, the party, without further request, must 
promptly notify the other party.

(I) Modification. On good cause shown, the court may order a modification of the 
requirements and prohibitions of this rule.

(J) Violation. If a party fails to comply with this rule, the court, in its discretion, may order 
the party to provide the discovery or permit the inspection of materials not previously 
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disclosed, grant a continuance, prohibit the party from introducing in evidence the 
material not disclosed, or enter such other order as it deems just under the circumstances. 
Parties are encouraged to bring questions of noncompliance before the court at the earliest 
opportunity. Willful violation by counsel of an applicable discovery rule or an order 
issued pursuant thereto may subject counsel to appropriate sanctions by the court. An 
order of the court under this section is reviewable only for abuse of discretion.

(K) Except as otherwise provided in MCR 2.302(B)(6), electronic materials are to be 
treated in the same manner as nonelectronic materials under this rule. Nothing in this rule 
shall be construed to conflict with MCL 600.2163a.

RULE 6.202. DISCLOSURE OF FORENSIC LABORATORY REPORT AND CERTIFICATE; 
APPLICABILITY; ADMISSIBILITY OF REPORT AND CERTIFICATE; EXTENSION OF TIME; 
ADJOURNMENT

(A)This rule shall apply to criminal trials in the district and circuit courts.

(B)Disclosure. Upon receipt of a forensic laboratory report and certificate, if applicable, 
by the examining expert, the prosecutor shall serve a copy of the laboratory report and 
certificate on the opposing party’s attorney or party, if not represented by an attorney, 
within 14 days after receipt of the laboratory report and certificate. A proof of service of 
the report and certificate, if applicable, on the opposing party’s attorney or party, if not 
represented by an attorney, shall be filed with the court.

(C)Notice and Demand.

(1)Notice. If a party intends to offer the report described in subsection (B) as evidence 
at trial, the party’s attorney or party, if not represented by an attorney, shall provide the 
opposing party’s attorney or party, if not represented by an attorney, with notice of 
that fact in writing. If the prosecuting attorney intends to offer the report as evidence at 
trial, notice to the defendant’s attorney or the defendant, if not represented by an 
attorney, shall be included with the report. If the defendant intends to offer the report 
as evidence at trial, notice to the prosecuting attorney shall be provided within 14 days 
after receipt of the report. Except as provided in subrule (C)(2), the report and 
certification, if applicable, is admissible in evidence to the same effect as if the person 
who performed the analysis or examination had personally testified.

(2)Demand. Upon receipt of a copy of the laboratory report and certificate, if 
applicable, the opposing party’s attorney or party, if not represented by an attorney, 
may file a written objection to the use of the laboratory report and certificate. The 
written objection shall be filed with the court in which the matter is pending, and shall 
be served on the opposing party’s attorney or party, if not represented by an attorney, 
within 14 days of receipt of the notice. If a written objection is filed, the report and 
certificate are not admissible under subrule (C)(1). If no objection is made to the use of 
the laboratory report and certificate within the time allowed by this section, the report 
and certificate are admissible in evidence as provided in subrule (C)(1).

(3)For good cause the court shall extend the time period of filing a written objection.
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(4)Adjournment. Compliance with this court rule shall be good cause for an 
adjournment of the trial.

(D)Certification. Except as otherwise provided, the analyst who conducts the analysis on 
the forensic sample and signs the report shall complete a certificate on which the analyst 
shall state (i) that he or she is qualified by education, training, and experience to perform 
the analysis, (ii) the name and location of the laboratory where the analysis was 
performed, (iii) that performing the analysis is part of his or her regular duties, and (iv) 
that the tests were performed under industry-approved procedures or standards and the 
report accurately reflects the analyst’s findings and opinions regarding the results of those 
tests or analysis. A report submitted by an analyst who is employed by a laboratory that is 
accredited by a national or international accreditation entity that substantially meets the 
certification requirements described above may provide proof of the laboratory’s 
accreditation certificate in lieu of a separate certificate.

SUBCHAPTER 6.300 PLEAS

RULE 6.301 AVAILABLE PLEAS

(A) Possible Pleas. Subject to the rules in this subchapter, a defendant may plead not 
guilty, guilty, nolo contendere, guilty but mentally ill, or not guilty by reason of insanity. 
If the defendant refuses to plead or stands mute, or the court, pursuant to the rules, refuses 
to accept the defendant’s plea, the court must enter a not guilty plea on the record. A plea 
of not guilty places in issue every material allegation in the information and permits the 
defendant to raise any defense not otherwise waived.

(B) Pleas That Require the Court’s Consent. A defendant may enter a plea of nolo 
contendere only with the consent of the court.

(C) Pleas That Require the Consent of the Court and the Prosecutor. A defendant may 
enter the following pleas only with the consent of the court and the prosecutor:

(1) A defendant who has asserted an insanity defense may enter a plea of guilty but 
mentally ill or a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity. Before such a plea may be 
entered, the defendant must comply with the examination required by law.

(2) A defendant may enter a conditional plea of guilty, nolo contendere, guilty but 
mentally ill, or not guilty by reason of insanity. A conditional plea preserves for appeal 
a specified pretrial ruling or rulings notwithstanding the plea-based judgment and 
entitles the defendant to withdraw the plea if a specified pretrial ruling is overturned 
on appeal. The ruling or rulings as to which the defendant reserves the right to appeal 
must be specified orally on the record or in a writing made a part of the record. The 
appeal is by application for leave to appeal only.

(D) Pleas to Lesser Charges. The court may not accept a plea to an offense other than the 
one charged without the consent of the prosecutor.
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RULE 6.302 PLEAS OF GUILTY AND NOLO CONTENDERE

(A) Plea Requirements. The court may not accept a plea of guilty or nolo contendere 
unless it is convinced that the plea is understanding, voluntary, and accurate. Before 
accepting a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, the court must place the defendant or 
defendants under oath and personally carry out subrules (B)-(E).

(B) An Understanding Plea. Speaking directly to the defendant or defendants, the court 
must advise the defendant or defendants of the following and determine that each 
defendant understands:

(1) the name of the offense to which the defendant is pleading; the court is not obliged 
to explain the elements of the offense, or possible defenses;

(2) the maximum possible prison sentence for the offense and any mandatory 
minimum sentence required by law, including a requirement for mandatory lifetime 
electronic monitoring under MCL 750.520b or 750.520c;

(3) if the plea is accepted, the defendant will not have a trial of any kind, and so gives 
up the rights the defendant would have at a trial, including the right:

(a) to be tried by a jury;

(b) to be presumed innocent until proved guilty;

(c) to have the prosecutor prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant is 
guilty;

(d) to have the witnesses against the defendant appear at the trial;

(e) to question the witnesses against the defendant;

(f) to have the court order any witnesses the defendant has for the defense to 
appear at the trial;

(g) to remain silent during the trial;

(h) to not have that silence used against the defendant; and

(i) to testify at the trial if the defendant wants to testify.

(4) if the plea is accepted, the defendant will be giving up any claim that the plea was 
the result of promises or threats that were not disclosed to the court at the plea 
proceeding, or that it was not the defendant's own choice to enter the plea;

(5) if the plea is accepted, the defendant may be giving up the right to appeal issues 
that would otherwise be appealable if she or he were convicted at trial. Further, any 
appeal from the conviction and sentence pursuant to the plea will be by application for 
leave to appeal and not by right;

The requirements of subrules (B)(3) and (B)(5) may be satisfied by a writing on a form 
approved by the State Court Administrative Office. If a court uses a writing, the court 
shall address the defendant and obtain from the defendant orally on the record a 
statement that the rights were read and understood and a waiver of those rights. The 
waiver may be obtained without repeating the individual rights.
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(C) A Voluntary Plea.

(1) The court must ask the prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer whether they have 
made a plea agreement.   If they have made a plea agreement, which may include an 
agreement to a sentence to a specific term or within a specific range, the agreement 
must be stated on the record or reduced to writing and signed by the parties. The 
parties may memorialize their agreement on a form substantially approved by the 
SCAO. The written agreement shall be made part of the case file. 

(2) If there is a plea agreement, the court must ask the prosecutor or the defendant’s 
lawyer what the terms of the agreement are and confirm the terms of the agreement 
with the other lawyer and the defendant.

(3) If there is a plea agreement and its terms provide for the defendant’s plea to be 
made in exchange for a sentence to a specified term or within a specified range or a 
prosecutorial sentence recommendation, the court may

(a) reject the agreement; or

(b) accept the agreement after having considered the presentence report, in which 
event it must sentence the defendant to a specified term or within a specified range 
as agreed to; or

(c) accept the agreement without having considered the presentence report; or

(d) take the plea agreement under advisement.

If the court accepts the agreement without having considered the presentence 
report or takes the plea agreement under advisement, it must explain to the 
defendant that the court is not bound to follow an agreement to a sentence for a 
specified term or within a specified range or a recommendation agreed to by the 
prosecutor, and that if the court chooses not to follow an agreement to a sentence 
for a specified term or within a specified range, the defendant will be allowed to 
withdraw from the plea agreement. A judge’s decision not to follow the sentence 
recommendation does not entitle the defendant to withdraw the defendant’s plea.

(4) The court must ask the defendant:

(a) (if there is no plea agreement) whether anyone has promised the defendant 
anything, or (if there is a plea agreement) whether anyone has promised anything 
beyond what is in the plea agreement;

(b) whether anyone has threatened the defendant; and

(c) whether it is the defendant’s own choice to plead guilty.

(D) An Accurate Plea.

(1) If the defendant pleads guilty, the court, by questioning the defendant, must 
establish support for a finding that the defendant is guilty of the offense charged or the 
offense to which the defendant is pleading.

(2) If the defendant pleads nolo contendere, the court may not question the defendant 
about participation in the crime. The court must:
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(a) state why a plea of nolo contendere is appropriate; and

(b) hold a hearing, unless there has been one, that establishes support for a finding 
that the defendant is guilty of the offense charged or the offense to which the 
defendant is pleading.

(E) Additional Inquiries. On completing the colloquy with the defendant, the court must 
ask the prosecutor and the defendant's lawyer whether either is aware of any promises, 
threats, or inducements other than those already disclosed on the record, and whether the 
court has complied with subrules (B)-(D). If it appears to the court that it has failed to 
comply with subrules (B)-(D), the court may not accept the defendant's plea until the 
deficiency is corrected.

(F) Plea Under Advisement; Plea Record. The court may take the plea under advisement. 
A verbatim record must be made of the plea proceeding.

RULE 6.303 PLEA OF GUILTY BUT MENTALLY ILL

Before accepting a plea of guilty but mentally ill, the court must comply with the 
requirements of MCR 6.302. In addition to establishing a factual basis for the plea pursuant to 
MCR 6.302(D)(1) or (D)(2)(b), the court must examine the psychiatric reports prepared and hold 
a hearing that establishes support for a finding that the defendant was mentally ill, at the time of 
the offense to which the plea is entered. The reports must be made a part of the record.

RULE 6.304 PLEA OF NOT GUILTY BY REASON OF INSANITY

(A) Advice to Defendant. Before accepting a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity, the 
court must comply with the requirements of MCR 6.302 except that subrule (C) of this 
rule, rather than MCR 6.302(D), governs the manner of determining the accuracy of the 
plea.

(B) Additional Advice Required. After complying with the applicable requirements of 
MCR 6.302, the court must advise the defendant, and determine whether the defendant 
understands, that the plea will result in the defendant's commitment for diagnostic 
examination at the center for forensic psychiatry for up to 60 days, and that after the 
examination, the probate court may order the defendant to be committed for an indefinite 
period of time.

(C) Factual Basis. Before accepting a plea of not guilty by reason of insanity, the court 
must examine the psychiatric reports prepared and hold a hearing that establishes support 
for findings that

(1) the defendant committed the acts charged, and

(2) that, by a preponderance of the evidence, the defendant was legally insane at the 
time of the offense.
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(D) Report of Plea. After accepting the defendant's plea, the court must forward to the 
center for forensic psychiatry a full report, in the form of a settled record, of the facts 
concerning the crime to which the defendant pleaded and the defendant's mental state at 
the time of the crime.

RULE 6.310 WITHDRAWAL OR VACATION OF PLEA

(A) Withdrawal Before Acceptance. The defendant has a right to withdraw any plea until 
the court accepts it on the record.

(B) Withdrawal After Acceptance but Before Sentence. Except as provided in subsection 
(3), after acceptance but before sentence,

(1) a plea may be withdrawn on the defendant's motion or with the defendant’s 
consent, only in the interest of justice, and may not be withdrawn if withdrawal of the 
plea would substantially prejudice the prosecutor because of reliance on the plea. If the 
defendant's motion is based on an error in the plea proceeding, the court must permit 
the defendant to withdraw the plea if it would be required by subrule (C).

(2) the defendant is entitled to withdraw the plea if

(a) the plea involves an agreement for a sentence for a specified term or within a 
specified range, and the court states that it is unable to follow the agreement; the 
trial court shall then state the sentence it intends to impose, and provide the 
defendant the opportunity to affirm or withdraw the plea; or

(b) the plea involves a statement by the court that it will sentence to a specified 
term or within a specified range, and the court states that it is unable to sentence as 
stated; the trial court shall provide the defendant the opportunity to affirm or 
withdraw the plea, but shall not state the sentence it intends to impose; or

(c) a consecutive sentence will be imposed and the defendant was not advised at 
the time of his or her plea that the law permits or requires consecutive sentencing 
in his or her case.

(3)Except as allowed by the trial court for good cause, a defendant is not entitled to 
withdraw a plea under subsection (2)(a) or (2)(b) if the defendant commits misconduct 
after the plea is accepted but before sentencing. For purposes of this rule, misconduct 
is defined to include, but is not limited to: absconding or failing to appear for 
sentencing, violating terms of conditions on bond or the terms of any sentencing or 
plea agreement, or otherwise failing to comply with an order of the court pending 
sentencing.

(C) Motion to Withdraw Plea After Sentence. 

(1) The defendant may file a motion to withdraw the plea within the time for filing an 
application for leave to appeal under MCR 7.205(A)(2)(a) and (b)(i)-(iii).

(2) Thereafter, the defendant may seek relief only in accordance with the procedure set 
forth in subchapter 6.500. 
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(3) If the trial court determines that there was an error in the plea proceeding that would 
entitle the defendant to have the plea set aside, the court must give the advice or make the 
inquiries necessary to rectify the error and then give the defendant the opportunity to elect 
to allow the plea and sentence to stand or to withdraw the plea. If the defendant elects to 
allow the plea and sentence to stand, the additional advice given and inquiries made 
become part of the plea proceeding for the purposes of further proceedings, including 
appeals.

(D) Preservation of Issues. A defendant convicted on the basis of a plea may not raise on 
appeal any claim of noncompliance with the requirements of the rules in this subchapter, 
or any other claim that the plea was not an understanding, voluntary, or accurate one, 
unless the defendant has moved to withdraw the plea in the trial court, raising as a basis 
for withdrawal the claim sought to be raised on appeal.

(E) Vacation of Plea on Prosecutor’s Motion. On the prosecutor’s motion, the court may 
vacate a plea if the defendant has failed to comply with the terms of a plea agreement.

RULE 6.312 EFFECT OF WITHDRAWAL OR VACATION OF PLEA

If a plea is withdrawn by the defendant or vacated by the trial court or an appellate court, 
the case may proceed to trial on any charges that had been brought or that could have been 
brought against the defendant if the plea had not been entered.

SUBCHAPTER 6.400 TRIALS

RULE 6.401 RIGHT TO TRIAL BY JURY OR BY THE COURT

The defendant has the right to be tried by a jury, or may, with the consent of the prosecutor 
and approval by the court, elect to waive that right and be tried before the court without a jury.

RULE 6.402 WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL BY THE DEFENDANT

(A) Time of Waiver. The court may not accept a waiver of trial by jury until after the 
defendant has been arraigned or has waived an arraignment on the information, or, in a 
court where arraignment on the information has been eliminated under MCR 6.113(E), 
after the defendant has otherwise been provided with a copy of the information, and has 
been offered an opportunity to consult with a lawyer.

(B) Waiver and Record Requirements. Before accepting a waiver, the court must advise 
the defendant in open court of the constitutional right to trial by jury. The court must also 
ascertain, by addressing the defendant personally, that the defendant understands the right 
and that the defendant voluntarily chooses to give up that right and to be tried by the court. 
A verbatim record must be made of the waiver proceeding.
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RULE 6.403 TRIAL BY THE JUDGE IN WAIVER CASES

When trial by jury has been waived, the court with jurisdiction must proceed with the trial. 
The court must find the facts specially, state separately its conclusions of law, and direct entry of 
the appropriate judgment. The court must state its findings and conclusions on the record or in a 
written opinion made a part of the record.

RULE 6.410 JURY TRIAL; NUMBER OF JURORS; UNANIMOUS VERDICT

(A) Number of Jurors. Except as provided in this rule, a jury that decides a case must 
consist of 12 jurors. At any time before a verdict is returned, the parties may stipulate with 
the court’s consent to have the case decided by a jury consisting of a specified number of 
jurors less than 12. On being informed of the parties’ willingness to stipulate, the court 
must personally advise the defendant of the right to have the case decided by a jury 
consisting of 12 jurors. By addressing the defendant personally, the court must ascertain 
that the defendant understands the right and that the defendant voluntarily chooses to give 
up that right as provided in the stipulation. If the court finds that the requirements for a 
valid waiver have been satisfied, the court may accept the stipulation. Even if the 
requirements for a valid waiver have been satisfied, the court may, in the interest of 
justice, refuse to accept a stipulation, but it must state its reasons for doing so on the 
record. The stipulation and procedure described in this subrule must take place in open 
court and a verbatim record must be made.

(B) Unanimous Verdicts. A jury verdict must be unanimous.

RULE 6.411 ADDITIONAL JURORS

The court may impanel more than 12 jurors. If more than the number of jurors required to 
decide the case are left on the jury before deliberations are to begin, the names of the jurors must 
be placed in a container and names drawn from it to reduce the number of jurors to the number 
required to decide the case. The court may retain the alternate jurors during deliberations. If the 
court does so, it shall instruct the alternate jurors not to discuss the case with any other person 
until the jury completes its deliberations and is discharged. If an alternate juror replaces a juror 
after the jury retires to consider its verdict, the court shall instruct the jury to begin its 
deliberations anew.

RULE 6.412 SELECTION OF THE JURY

(A) Selecting and Impaneling the Jury. Except as otherwise provided by the rules in this 
subchapter, MCR 2.510 and 2.511 govern the procedure for selecting and impaneling the 
jury.

(B) Instructions and Oath Before Selection. Before beginning the jury selection process, 
the court should give the prospective jurors appropriate preliminary instructions and must 
have them sworn.
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(C) Voir Dire of Prospective Jurors.

(1) Scope and Purpose. The scope of voir dire examination of prospective jurors is 
within the discretion of the court. It should be conducted for the purposes of 
discovering grounds for challenges for cause and of gaining knowledge to facilitate an 
intelligent exercise of peremptory challenges. The court should confine the 
examination to these purposes and prevent abuse of the examination process.

(2) Conduct of the Examination. The court may examine prospective jurors or permit 
the attorneys for the parties to do so. If the court examines the prospective jurors, it 
must permit the attorneys for the parties to

(a) ask further questions that the court considers proper, or

(b) submit further questions that the court may ask if it considers them proper.

On its own initiative or on the motion of a party, the court may provide for a 
prospective juror or jurors to be questioned out of the presence of the other jurors.

(D) Challenges for Cause.

(1) Grounds. A prospective juror is subject to challenge for cause on any ground set 
forth in MCR 2.511(D) or for any other reason recognized by law.

(2) Procedure. If, after the examination of any juror, the court finds that a ground for 
challenging a juror for cause is present, the court on its own initiative should, or on 
motion of either party must, excuse the juror from the panel.

(E) Peremptory Challenges.

(1) Challenges by Right. Each defendant is entitled to 5 peremptory challenges unless 
an offense charged is punishable by life imprisonment, in which case a defendant 
being tried alone is entitled to 12 peremptory challenges, 2 defendants being tried 
jointly are each entitled to 10 peremptory challenges, 3 defendants being tried jointly 
are each entitled to 9 peremptory challenges, 4 defendants being tried jointly are each 
entitled to 8 peremptory challenges, and 5 or more defendants being tried jointly are 
each entitled to 7 peremptory challenges. The prosecutor is entitled to the same 
number of peremptory challenges as a defendant being tried alone, or, in the case of 
jointly tried defendants, the total number of peremptory challenges to which all the 
defendants are entitled.

(2) Additional Challenges. On a showing of good cause, the court may grant one or 
more of the parties an increased number of peremptory challenges. The additional 
challenges granted by the court need not be equal for each party.

(F) Oath After Selection. After the jury is selected and before trial begins, the court must 
have the jurors sworn.
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RULE 6.416 PRESENTATION OF EVIDENCE

Subject to the rules in this chapter and to the Michigan rules of evidence, each party has discretion 
in deciding what witnesses and evidence to present.

RULE 6.417 MISTRIAL

Before ordering a mistrial, the court must, on the record, give each defendant and the prosecutor 
an opportunity to comment on the propriety of the order, to state whether that party consents or 
objects, and to suggest alternatives.

RULE 6.419 MOTION FOR DIRECTED VERDICT OF ACQUITTAL

(A) Before Submission to the Jury. After the prosecutor has rested the prosecution’s case-
in-chief or after the close of all the evidence, the court on the defendant’s motion must 
direct a verdict of acquittal on any charged offense for which the evidence is insufficient 
to sustain a conviction. The court may on its own consider whether the evidence is 
insufficient to sustain a conviction. If the court denies a motion for a judgment of acquittal 
at the close of the government’s evidence, the defendant may offer evidence without 
having reserved the right to do so.

(B) Reserving Decision. The court may reserve decision on the motion, proceed with the 
trial (where the motion is made before the close of all the evidence), submit the case to the 
jury, and decide the motion either before the jury returns a verdict or after it returns a 
verdict of guilty or is discharged without having returned a verdict. If the court reserves 
decision, it must decide the motion on the basis of the evidence at the time the ruling was 
reserved.

(C) After Jury Verdict. After a jury verdict, the defendant may file an original or renewed 
motion for directed verdict of acquittal in the same manner as provided by MCR 6.431(A) 
for filing a motion for a new trial.

(D) Bench Trial. In an action tried without a jury, after the prosecutor has rested the 
prosecution's case-in-chief, the defendant, without waiving the right to offer evidence if 
the motion is not granted, may move for acquittal on the ground that a reasonable doubt 
exists. The court may then determine the facts and render a verdict of acquittal, or may 
decline to render judgment until the close of all the evidence. If the court renders a verdict 
of acquittal, the court shall make findings of fact.

(E) Conditional New Trial Ruling. If the court grants a directed verdict of acquittal after 
the jury has returned a guilty verdict, it must also conditionally rule on any motion for a 
new trial by determining whether it would grant the motion if the directed verdict of 
acquittal is vacated or reversed.

(F) Explanation of Rulings on Record. The court must state orally on the record or in a 
written ruling made a part of the record its reasons for granting or denying a motion for a 
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directed verdict of acquittal and for conditionally granting or denying a motion for a new 
trial.

RULE 6.420 VERDICT

(A) Return. The jury must return its verdict in open court.

(B) Several Defendants. If two or more defendants are jointly on trial, the jury at any time 
during its deliberations may return a verdict with respect to any defendant as to whom it 
has agreed. If the jury cannot reach a verdict with respect to any other defendant, the court 
may declare a mistrial as to that defendant.

(C) Several Counts. If a defendant is charged with two or more counts, and the court 
determines that the jury is deadlocked so that a mistrial must be declared, the court may 
inquire of the jury whether it has reached a unanimous verdict on any of the counts 
charged, and, if so, may accept the jury's verdict on that count or counts.

(D) Poll of Jury. Before the jury is discharged, the court on its own initiative may, or on 
the motion of a party must, have each juror polled in open court as to whether the verdict 
announced is that juror's verdict. If polling discloses the jurors are not in agreement, the 
court may (1) discontinue the poll and order the jury to retire for further deliberations, or 
(2) either (a) with the defendant's consent, or (b) after determining that the jury is 
deadlocked or that some other manifest necessity exists, declare a mistrial and discharge 
the jury.

RULE 6.425 SENTENCING; APPOINTMENT OF APPELLATE COUNSEL

(A) Presentence Report; Contents. 

(1) Prior to sentencing, the probation officer must investigate the defendant’s 
background and character, verify material information, and report in writing the 
results of the investigation to the court. The report must be succinct and, depending on 
the circumstances, include:

(a) a description of the defendant’s prior criminal convictions and juvenile 
adjudications,

(b) a complete description of the offense and the circumstances surrounding it,

(c) a brief description of the defendant’s vocational background and work history, 
including military record and present employment status,

(d) a brief social history of the defendant, including marital status, financial status, 
length of residence in the community, educational background, and other pertinent 
data,

(e) the defendant’s medical history, substance abuse history, if any, and, if 
indicated, a current psychological or psychiatric report,
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(f) information concerning the financial, social, psychological, or physical harm 
suffered by any victim of the offense, including the restitution needs of the victim,

(g) if provided and requested by the victim, a written victim’s impact statement as 
provided by law,

(h) any statement the defendant wishes to make,

(i) a statement prepared by the prosecutor on the applicability of any consecutive 
sentencing provision,

(j) an evaluation of and prognosis for the defendant’s adjustment in the community 
based on factual information in the report,

(k) a specific recommendation for disposition, and

(l) any other information that may aid the court in sentencing.

(2) On request, the probation officer must give the defendant’s attorney notice and a 
reasonable opportunity to attend the presentence interview.

(3) A presentence investigation report shall not include any address or telephone 
number for the home, workplace, school, or place of worship of any victim or witness, 
or a family member of any victim or witness, unless an address is used to identify the 
place of the crime or to impose conditions of release from custody that are necessary 
for the protection of a named individual. Upon request, any other address or telephone 
number that would reveal the location of a victim or witness or a family member of a 
victim or witness shall be exempted from disclosure unless an address is used to 
identify the place of the crime or to impose conditions of release from custody that are 
necessary for the protection of a named individual. 

(B) Presentence Report; Disclosure Before Sentencing. The court must provide copies of 
the presentence report to the prosecutor, and the defendant's lawyer, or the defendant if not 
represented by a lawyer, at a reasonable time, but not less than two business days, before 
the day of sentencing. The prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or the defendant if not 
represented by a lawyer, may retain a copy of the report or an amended report. If the 
presentence report is not made available to the prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or 
the defendant if not represented by a lawyer, at least two business days before the day of 
sentencing, the prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or the defendant if not represented 
by a lawyer, shall be entitled, on oral motion, to an adjournment of the day of sentencing 
to enable the moving party to review the presentence report and to prepare any necessary 
corrections, additions, or deletions to present to the court. The court may exempt from 
disclosure information or diagnostic opinion that might seriously disrupt a program of 
rehabilitation and sources of information that have been obtained on a promise of 
confidentiality. When part of the report is not disclosed, the court must inform the parties 
that information has not been disclosed and state on the record the reasons for 
nondisclosure. To the extent it can do so without defeating the purpose of nondisclosure, 
the court also must provide the parties with a written or oral summary of the nondisclosed 
information and give them an opportunity to comment on it. The court must have the 
information exempted from disclosure specifically noted in the report. The court’s 
decision to exempt part of the report from disclosure is subject to appellate review.
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(C) Sentencing Guidelines. The court must use the sentencing guidelines, as provided by 
law. Proposed scoring of the guidelines shall accompany the presentence report. 

(D) Sentencing Procedure.

(1) The court must sentence the defendant within a reasonably prompt time after the 
plea or verdict unless the court delays sentencing as provided by law. At sentencing, 
the court must, on the record:

(a) determine that the defendant, the defendant’s lawyer, and the prosecutor have 
had an opportunity to read and discuss the presentence report,

(b) give each party an opportunity to explain, or challenge the accuracy or 
relevancy of, any information in the presentence report, and resolve any challenges 
in accordance with the procedure set forth in subrule (D)(2),

(c) before imposing sentence

(i) provide the defendant’s attorney an opportunity to speak on the defendant’s 
behalf,

(ii) address the defendant personally in order to permit the defendant to speak 
or present any information to mitigate the sentence,

(iii) provide the prosecutor an opportunity to speak equivalent to that of the 
defendant’s attorney, and

(iv) address any victim of the crime who is present at sentencing or any person 
the victim has designated to speak on the victim’s behalf and permit the victim 
or the victim’s designee to make an impact statement,

(d) state the sentence being imposed, including the minimum and maximum 
sentence if applicable, together with any credit for time served to which the 
defendant is entitled,

(e) if the sentence imposed is not within the guidelines range, articulate the reasons 
justifying that specific departure, and

(f) order the dollar amount of restitution that the defendant must pay to make full 
restitution as required by law to any victim of the defendant’s course of conduct 
that gives rise to the conviction, or to that victim’s estate.

(2) Challenges and Corrections. 

(a) If any information in the presentence report is challenged, the court must allow 
the parties to be heard regarding the challenge, and make a finding with respect to 
the challenge or determine that a finding is unnecessary because it will not take the 
challenged information into account in sentencing. If the court finds merit in the 
challenge, determines that it will not take the challenged information into account 
in sentencing, or otherwise determines that the report should be corrected, it must 
order the probation officer to correct the report. If ordered to correct the report, the 
probation officer must provide defendant’s lawyer with an opportunity to review 
the corrected report before it is sent to the Department of Corrections, certify that 
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the report has been corrected, and ensure that no prior version of the report is used 
for classification, programming, or parole purposes.

(b) Any dispute as to the proper amount or type of restitution shall be resolved by 
the court by a preponderance of the evidence. The burden of demonstrating the 
amount of the loss sustained by a victim as a result of the offense shall be on the 
prosecuting attorney.

(3) Incarceration for Nonpayment.

(a) The court shall not sentence a defendant to a term of incarceration, nor revoke 
probation, for failure to comply with an order to pay money unless the court finds, 
on the record, that the defendant is able to comply with the order without manifest 
hardship and that the defendant has not made a good-faith effort to comply with 
the order.

(b) Payment alternatives. If the court finds that the defendant is unable to comply 
with an order to pay money without manifest hardship, the court may impose a 
payment alternative, such as a payment plan, modification of any existing payment 
plan, or waiver of part or all of the amount of money owed to the extent permitted 
by law. 

(c) Determining manifest hardship. The court shall consider the following criteria 
in determining manifest hardship:

(i) Defendant’s employment status and history.

(ii) Defendant’s employability and earning ability.

(iii) The willfulness of the defendant’s failure to pay.

(iv) Defendant’s financial resources.

(v) Defendant’s basic living expenses including but not limited to food, shelter, 
clothing, necessary medical expenses, or child support.

(vi) Any other special circumstances that may have bearing on the defendant’s 
ability to pay.

(E) Presentence Report; Retention and Disclosure after Sentencing. Regardless of the 
sentence imposed, the Department of Corrections must retain the presentence report 
reflecting any corrections ordered under subrule (D)(2). On written request or order of the 
court, the Department of Corrections must provide the prosecutor, the defendant’s lawyer, 
or the defendant if not represented by a lawyer, with a copy of the report. On written 
request, the court must provide the prosecutor, the defendant’s lawyer, or the defendant if 
not represented by a lawyer, with copies of any documents that were presented for 
consideration at sentencing, including the court’s initial copy of the presentence report if 
corrections were made after sentencing. If the court exempts or orders the exemption of 
any information from disclosure, it must follow the exemption requirements of subrule 
(B).

(F) Advice Concerning the Right to Appeal; Appointment of Counsel.
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(1) In a case involving a conviction following a trial, immediately after imposing 
sentence, the court must advise the defendant, on the record, that

(a) the defendant is entitled to appellate review of the conviction and sentence,

(b) if the defendant is financially unable to retain a lawyer, the court will appoint a 
lawyer to represent the defendant on appeal, and

(c) the request for a lawyer must be filed within 42 days after sentencing.

(2) In a case involving a conviction following a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, 
immediately after imposing sentence, the court must advise the defendant, on the 
record, that

(a) the defendant is entitled to file an application for leave to appeal,

(b) if the defendant is financially unable to retain a lawyer, the court will appoint a 
lawyer to represent the defendant on appeal, and

(c) the request for a lawyer must be filed within 42 days after sentencing.

(3) The court also must give the defendant a request for counsel form containing an 
instruction informing the defendant that the form must be completed and filed within 
42 days after sentencing if the defendant wants the court to appoint a lawyer. The court 
must give the defendant an opportunity to tender a completed request for counsel form 
at sentencing if the defendant wishes to do so.

(4) A request for counsel must be deemed filed on the date on which it is received by 
the court or the Michigan Appellate Assigned Counsel System (MAACS), whichever 
is earlier.

(5) When imposing sentence in a case in which sentencing guidelines enacted in 1998 
PA 317, MCL 777.1 et seq., are applicable, if the court imposes a minimum sentence 
that is longer or more severe than the range provided by the sentencing guidelines, the 
court must advise the defendant on the record and in writing that the defendant may 
seek appellate review of the sentence, by right if the conviction followed trial or by 
application if the conviction entered by plea, on the ground that it is longer or more 
severe than the range provided by the sentencing guidelines. 

(G) Appointment of Lawyer and Preparation of Transcript; Scope of Appellate Lawyer’s 
Responsibilities.

(1) Appointment of Lawyer and Preparation of Transcript.

(a) All requests for the appointment of appellate counsel must be granted or denied 
on forms approved by the State Court Administrative Office and provided by 
MAACS.

(b) Within 7 days after receiving a defendant's request for a lawyer, or within 7 
days after the disposition of a postjudgment motion if one is filed, the trial court 
must submit the request, the judgment of sentence, the register of actions, and any 
additional requested information to MAACS under procedures approved by the 
Appellate Defender Commission for the preparation of an appropriate order 
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granting or denying the request. The court must notify MAACS if it intends to 
deny the request for counsel.

(c) Within 7 days after receiving a request and related information from the trial 
court, MAACS must provide the court with a proposed order appointing appellate 
counsel or denying the appointment of appellate counsel. A proposed appointment 
order must name the State Appellate Defender Office (SADO) or an approved 
private attorney who is willing to accept an appointment for the appeal.

(d) Within 7 days after receiving a proposed order from MAACS, the trial court 
must rule on the request for a lawyer. If the defendant is indigent, the court must 
enter an order appointing a lawyer if the request for a lawyer is filed within 42 
days after entry of the judgment of sentence or, if applicable, within the time for 
filing an appeal of right. The court should liberally grant an untimely request as 
long as the defendant may file an application for leave to appeal. An order denying 
a request for the appointment of appellate counsel must include a statement of 
reasons and must inform the defendant that the order denying the request may be 
appealed by filing an application for leave to appeal in the Court of Appeals in 
accordance with MCR 7.205.

(e) In a case involving a conviction following a trial, if the defendant's request for 
a lawyer was filed within the time for filing a claim of appeal, the order must be 
entered on an approved form entitled "Claim of Appeal and Appointment of 
Counsel." Entry of the order by the trial court pursuant to this subrule constitutes a 
timely filed claim of appeal for the purposes of MCR 7.204. 

(f) An appointment order must direct the court reporter to prepare and file, within 
the time limits specified in MCR 7.210, the full transcript of all proceedings, and 
provide for the payment of the reporter's fees.

(g) The trial court must serve MAACS with a copy of its order granting or denying 
a request for a lawyer. Unless MAACS has agreed to provide the order to any of 
the following, the trial court must also serve a copy of its order on the defendant, 
defense counsel, the prosecutor, and, if the order includes transcripts, the court 
reporter(s)/recorder(s). If the order is in the form of a Claim of Appeal and 
Appointment of Counsel, the court must also serve the Court of Appeals with a 
copy of the order and the judgment being appealed.

(2) Scope of Appellate Lawyer's Responsibilities. The responsibilities of the appellate 
lawyer appointed to represent the defendant include representing the defendant

(a) in available postconviction proceedings in the trial court the lawyer deems 
appropriate,

(b) in postconviction proceedings in the Court of Appeals,

(c) in available proceedings in the trial court the lawyer deems appropriate under 
MCR 7.208(B) or 7.211(C)(1), and

(d) as appellee in relation to any postconviction appeal taken by the prosecutor.
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(H) Notwithstanding any other provision in this rule, until further order of the Court, if the 
defendant is indigent, a request for the appointment of appellate counsel under MCR 
6.425(F)(3) must be granted if it is received by the trial court or the Michigan Appellate 
Assigned Counsel System (MAACS) within six months after sentencing. This provision 
applies to all cases in which sentencing took place on or after March 24, 2020.

RULE 6.427 JUDGMENT

Within 7 days after sentencing, the court must date and sign a written judgment of 
sentence that includes:

(1) the title and file number of the case;

(2) the defendant’s name;

(3) the crime for which the defendant was convicted;

(4) the defendant’s plea;

(5) the name of the defendant’s attorney if one appeared;

(6) the jury’s verdict or the finding of guilt by the court;

(7) the term of the sentence;

(8) the place of detention;

(9) the conditions incident to the sentence;

(10) whether the conviction is reportable to the Secretary of State pursuant to statute, and, 
if so, the defendant's Michigan driver’s license number; and

(11) the dollar amount of restitution that the defendant is ordered to pay.

If the defendant was found not guilty or for any other reason is entitled to be discharged, 
the court must enter judgment accordingly. The date a judgment is signed is its entry date.

RULE 6.428 RESTORATION OF APPELLATE RIGHTS.

If the defendant, whether convicted by plea or at trial, was denied the right to appellate 
review or the appointment of appellate counsel due to errors by the defendant’s prior attorney or 
the court, or other factors outside the defendant’s control, the trial court shall issue an order 
restarting the time in which to file an appeal or request counsel.
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RULE 6.429 CORRECTION AND APPEAL OF SENTENCE

(A) Authority to Modify Sentence. The court may correct an invalid sentence, on its own 
initiative after giving the parties an opportunity to be heard, or on motion by either party. 
But the court may not modify a valid sentence after it has been imposed except as 
provided by law. Any correction of an invalid sentence on the court’s own initiative must 
occur within 6 months of the entry of the judgment of conviction and sentence.

(B) Time For Filing Motion.

(1) A motion to correct an invalid sentence may be filed before the filing of a timely 
claim of appeal.

(2) If a claim of appeal has been filed, a motion to correct an invalid sentence may 
only be filed in accordance with the procedure set forth in MCR 7.208(B) or the 
remand procedure set forth in MCR 7.211(C)(1).

(3) If the defendant may only appeal by leave or fails to file a timely claim of appeal, a 
motion to correct an invalid sentence may be filed within the time for filing an 
application for leave to appeal under MCR 7.205(A)(2)(a) and (b)(i)-(iii).

(4) If the defendant is no longer entitled to appeal by right or by leave, the defendant 
may seek relief pursuant to the procedure set forth in subchapter 6.500.

(C) Preservation of Issues Concerning Sentencing Guidelines Scoring and Information 
Considered in Sentencing. A party shall not raise on appeal an issue challenging the 
scoring of the sentencing guidelines or challenging the accuracy of information relied 
upon in determining a sentence that is within the appropriate guidelines sentence range 
unless the party has raised the issue at sentencing, in a proper motion for resentencing, or 
in a proper motion to remand filed in the court of appeals.

 RULE 6.430 POSTJUDGMENT MOTION TO AMEND RESTITUTION

(A) The court may amend an order of restitution entered under the Crime Victim’s Rights 
Act on a motion filed by the prosecuting attorney, the victim, or the defendant based upon 
new or updated information related to the injury, damages, or loss for which the restitution 
was ordered.

(B) Filing. The moving party must file the motion and a copy of the motion with the clerk 
of the court in which the defendant was convicted and sentenced. Upon receipt of a 
motion, the clerk shall file it under the same case number as the original conviction. If an 
appeal is pending when the motion is filed, the moving party must serve a copy on the 
appellate court.

(C) Service and Notice of Hearing. If the defendant is the moving party, he/she shall serve 
a copy of the motion and notice of its filing on the prosecuting attorney and the prosecutor 
shall then serve a copy of the motion and notice upon the victim. If the prosecutor is the 
moving party, he/she shall serve a copy of the motion and notice of its filing on the 
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defendant and the victim. If the victim is the moving party, he/she shall serve a copy of the 
motion and notice of its filing on the defendant and the prosecutor. The home address, 
home telephone number, work address, and work telephone number of the victim, if 
included on a motion to amend restitution, is nonpublic. The non-moving party is 
permitted but not required to respond. Any response to the motion shall comply with the 
time for service of the response as provided in MCR 2.119(C)(2). The court shall provide 
written notice of hearing on the motion to the defendant and prosecutor. The prosecutor 
shall then serve notice of hearing upon the victim.

(D) Appearance. As permitted by MCR 6.006(A), the court may allow the defendant to 
appear by two-way interactive video technology to conduct the proceeding between a 
courtroom and a prison, jail, or other location.

(E) Ruling. The court, in writing, shall enter an appropriate order disposing of the motion 
and, if the motion is granted, enter an order amending the restitution. If an appeal was 
pending when the motion was filed, the moving party must provide a copy of the order to 
the appellate court.

(F) Appeal. An appeal from this subsection is processed as provided by MCR 7.100 et 
seq., and 7.200 et seq.

RULE 6.431 NEW TRIAL

(A) Time for Making Motion.

(1) A motion for a new trial may be filed before the filing of a timely claim of appeal.

(2) If a claim of appeal has been filed, a motion for a new trial may only be filed in 
accordance with the procedure set forth in MCR 7.208(B) or the remand procedure set 
forth in MCR 7.211(C)(1).

(3) If the defendant may only appeal by leave or fails to file a timely claim of appeal, a 
motion for a new trial may be filed within the time for filing an application for leave to 
appeal under MCR 7.205(A)(2)(a) and (b)(i)-(iii). 

(4) If the defendant is no longer entitled to appeal by right or by leave, the defendant 
may seek relief pursuant to the procedure set forth in subchapter 6.500.

(B) Reasons for Granting. On the defendant’s motion, the court may order a new trial on 
any ground that would support appellate reversal of the conviction or because it believes 
that the verdict has resulted in a miscarriage of justice. The court must state its reasons for 
granting or denying a new trial orally on the record or in a written ruling made a part of the 
record.

(C) Trial Without Jury. If the court tried the case without a jury, it may, on granting a new 
trial and with the defendant's consent, vacate any judgment it has entered, take additional 
testimony, amend its findings of fact and conclusions of law, and order the entry of a new 
judgment.
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(D) Inclusion of Motion for Judgment of Acquittal. The court must consider a motion for a 
new trial challenging the weight or sufficiency of the evidence as including a motion for a 
directed verdict of acquittal.

RULE 6.433 DOCUMENTS FOR POSTCONVICTION PROCEEDINGS; INDIGENT DEFENDANT

(A) Appeals of Right. An indigent defendant may file a written request with the 
sentencing court for specified court documents or transcripts, indicating that they are 
required to pursue an appeal of right. The court must order the clerk to provide the 
defendant with copies of documents without cost to the defendant, and, unless the 
transcript has already been ordered as provided in MCR 6.425(G), must order the 
preparation of the transcript.

(B) Appeals by Leave. An indigent defendant who may file an application for leave to 
appeal may obtain copies of transcripts and other documents as provided in this subrule.

(1) The defendant must make a written request to the sentencing court for specified 
documents or transcripts indicating that they are required to prepare an application for 
leave to appeal.

(2) If the requested materials have been filed with the court and not provided 
previously to the defendant, the court clerk must provide a copy to the defendant. If 
the requested materials have been provided previously to the defendant, on defendant's 
showing of good cause to the court, the clerk must provide the defendant with another 
copy.

(3) If the request includes the transcript of a proceeding that has not been transcribed, 
the court must order the materials transcribed and filed with court. After the transcript 
has been prepared, court clerk must provide a copy to the defendant.

(C) Other Postconviction Proceedings. An indigent defendant who is not eligible to file an 
appeal of right or an application for leave to appeal may obtain records and documents as 
provided in this subrule.

(1) The defendant must make a written request to the sentencing court for specific 
court documents or transcripts indicating that the materials are required to pursue 
postconviction remedies in a state or federal court and are not otherwise available to 
the defendant.

(2) If the documents or transcripts have been filed with the court and not provided 
previously to the defendant, the clerk must provide the defendant with copies of such 
materials without cost to the defendant. If the requested materials have been provided 
previously to the defendant, on defendant’s showing of good cause to the court, the 
clerk must provide the defendant with another copy.

(3) The court may order the transcription of additional proceedings if it finds that there 
is good cause for doing so. After such a transcript has been prepared, the clerk must 
provide a copy to the defendant.
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(4) Nothing in this rule precludes the court from ordering materials to be supplied to 
the defendant in a proceeding under subchapter 6.500.

RULE 6.435 CORRECTING MISTAKES

(A) Clerical Mistakes. Clerical mistakes in judgments, orders, or other parts of the record 
and errors arising from oversight or omission may be corrected by the court at any time on 
its own initiative or on motion of a party, and after notice if the court orders it.

(B) Substantive Mistakes. After giving the parties an opportunity to be heard, and 
provided it has not yet entered judgment in the case, the court may reconsider and modify, 
correct, or rescind any order it concludes was erroneous.

(C) Correction of Record. If a dispute arises as to whether the record accurately reflects 
what occurred in the trial court, the court, after giving the parties the opportunity to be 
heard, must resolve the dispute and, if necessary, order the record to be corrected.

(D) Correction During Appeal. If a claim of appeal has been filed or leave to appeal 
granted in the case, corrections under this rule are subject to MCR 7.208(A) and (B).

RULE 6.440 DISABILITY OF JUDGE

(A) During Jury Trial. If, by reason of death, sickness, or other disability, the judge before 
whom a jury trial has commenced is unable to continue with the trial, another judge 
regularly sitting in or assigned to the court, on certification of having become familiar 
with the record of the trial, may proceed with and complete the trial.

(B) During Bench Trial. If a judge becomes disabled during a trial without a jury, another 
judge may be substituted for the disabled judge, but only if

(1) both parties consent in writing to the substitution, and

(2) the judge certifies having become familiar with the record of the trial, including the 
testimony previously given.

(C) After Verdict. If, after a verdict is returned or findings of fact and conclusions of law 
are filed, the trial judge because of disability becomes unable to perform the remaining 
duties the court must perform, another judge regularly sitting in or assigned to the court 
may perform those duties; but if that judge is not satisfied of an ability to perform those 
duties because of not having presided at the trial or determines that it is appropriate for 
any other reason, the judge may grant the defendant a new trial.

RULE 6.441  EARLY PROBATION DISCHARGE 

(A) Eligibility. Except as otherwise provided in statute, a probationer is eligible for early 
discharge from probation when the probationer has completed half of the original 
probationary period and all required programming. The court must notify the probationer 
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at the time of sentencing, either orally or in writing, about the probationer’s early 
probation discharge eligibility and the notice process contained in this rule. 

(B) Notice of Eligibility. The probation department may file notice with the sentencing 
court when a probationer becomes eligible for early probation discharge.  The notice must 
be served on the prosecuting attorney and probationer.  If the probation department does 
not file the notice, and the probationer has not violated probation within the last 3 months, 
the probationer may file the notice with the sentencing court and serve copies to the 
prosecuting attorney and probation department.  The prosecuting attorney must file any 
written objection to early probation discharge within 14 days of receiving service of the 
notice.  

(C) Case Review. Upon receiving notice under subrule (B), the court must conduct a 
preliminary review of the case to determine whether the probationer’s behavior warrants a 
reduction in the original probationary term. A court must not deny early discharge because 
of outstanding court-ordered fines, fees, or costs, if the probationer has an inability to pay 
and has made good-faith efforts to make payments. Before granting early discharge to a 
probationer who owes outstanding restitution, the court must consider the impact of early 
discharge on the victim and the payment of outstanding restitution. 

(D) Discharge Without a Hearing. Except as provided in subrule (E), the court must 
discharge a probationer from probation, without a hearing, if the prosecutor does not 
submit a timely objection and the court’s review in subrule (C) determines the probationer

(1) is eligible for early probation discharge; 

(2) achieved all the rehabilitation goals of probation; and 

(3) is not a specific, articulable, and ongoing risk of harm to a victim that can only be 
mitigated with continued probation supervision.  

If the probationer owes outstanding restitution but has made a good-faith effort to make 
payments, the court may retain the probationer on probation up to the maximum allowable 
probation term with the sole condition of continuing restitution payments.  

(E) Hearing Requirement. The court must hold a hearing after conducting the review in 
subrule (C) if 

(1) the prosecutor submits a timely objection, or 

(2) a circumstance identified in MCL 771.2(7) is applicable, 

(3) or the court reviewed the case and does not grant an early discharge or retain the 
probationer on probation with the sole condition of continuing restitution payment.  

If the hearing is held pursuant to MCL 771.2(7), the prosecuting attorney shall notify the 
victim of the date and time of the hearing. Both the probationer and victim, if applicable, 
must be given an opportunity to be heard at the hearing.   
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(F) Discharge After Hearing. Upon the conclusion of the hearing, the court must either 
grant early discharge or, if applicable, retain the probationer on probation with the sole 
condition of continuing restitution payments, if the probationer proves by a preponderance 
of the evidence that he or she 

(1) is eligible for early probation discharge; 

(2) achieved all the rehabilitation goals of probation; and 

(3) is not a specific, articulable, and ongoing risk of harm to a victim that can only be 
mitigated with continued probation supervision. 

(G) Impact on Sentencing. The eligibility for early probation discharge under this rule 
must not influence the court’s sentencing decision regarding the length of the original 
probationary period.  

(H) Motions. This rule does not prohibit a defendant from motioning, a probation officer 
from recommending, or the court from considering, a probationer for early discharge from 
probation at the court’s discretion at any time during the duration of the probation term.

RULE 6.445 PROBATION VIOLATION AND REVOCATION

(A) Issuance of Summons; Warrant. The court may issue a bench warrant or summons 
upon finding probable cause to believe that a probationer has committed a nontechnical 
violation of probation. The court must issue a summons, rather than a bench warrant, upon 
finding probable cause to believe a probationer has committed a technical violation of 
probation unless the court states on the record a specific reason to suspect that one or more 
of the following apply:

(1) The probationer presents an immediate danger to himself or herself, another 
person, or the public.

(2) The probationer has left court-ordered inpatient treatment without the court’s or 
the treatment facility’s permission.

(3) A summons has already been issued for the technical probation violation and the 
probationer failed to appear as ordered.

An arrested probationer must promptly be brought before the court for arraignment on 
the alleged violation.

(B) Arraignment on the Charge. At the arraignment on the alleged probation violation, the 
court must

(1) ensure that the probationer receives written notice of the alleged violation,

(2) inform the probationer whether the alleged violation is charged as a technical or 
nontechnical violation of probation, and the maximum possible jail or prison sentence, 

(3) advise the probationer that

(a) the probationer has a right to contest the charge at a hearing, and
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(b) the probationer is entitled to a lawyer’s assistance at the hearing and at all court 
proceedings, including the arraignment on the violation/bond hearing, and that a 
lawyer will be appointed at public expense if the probationer wants one and is 
financially unable to retain one,

(4) if requested and appropriate, refer the matter to the local indigent criminal defense 
system’s appointing authority for appointment of a lawyer,

(5) determine what form of release, if any, is appropriate, and

(6) subject to subrule (C), set a reasonably prompt hearing date or postpone the 
hearing.

(C) Scheduling or Postponement of Hearing. The hearing of a probationer being held in 
custody for an alleged probation violation must be held within the permissible jail 
sentence for the probation violation, but in no event longer than 14 days after the arrest or 
the court must order the probationer released from that custody pending the hearing. If the 
alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a separate criminal 
prosecution, the court may postpone the hearing for the outcome of that prosecution.

(D) Continuing Duty to Advise of Right to Assistance of Lawyer. Even though a 
probationer charged with probation violation has waived the assistance of a lawyer, at 
each subsequent proceeding the court must comply with the advice and waiver procedure 
in MCR 6.005(E).

(E) The Violation Hearing.

(1) Conduct of the Hearing. The evidence against the probationer must be disclosed to 
the probationer. The probationer has the right to be present at the hearing, to present 
evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses. The court may consider only 
evidence that is relevant to the violation alleged, but it need not apply the rules of 
evidence except those pertaining to privileges. The state has the burden of proving a 
violation by a preponderance of the evidence.

(2) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make findings in 
accordance with MCR 6.403 and, if the violation is proven, whether the violation is a 
technical or nontechnical violation of probation.

(F) Pleas of Guilty. The probationer may, at the arraignment or afterward, plead guilty to 
the violation. Before accepting a guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the probationer 
and receiving the probationer's response, must

(1) advise the probationer that by pleading guilty the probationer is giving up the right 
to a contested hearing and, if the probationer is proceeding without legal 
representation, the right to a lawyer's assistance as set forth in subrule (B)(3)(b),

(2) advise the probationer of the maximum possible jail or prison sentence for the 
offense,

(3) ascertain that the plea is understandingly, voluntarily, and accurately made, and
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(4) establish factual support for a finding that the probationer is guilty of the alleged 
violation and whether the violation is a technical or nontechnical violation of 
probation.

(G) Sentencing. If the court finds that the probationer has violated a condition of 
probation, or if the probationer pleads guilty to a violation, the court may continue 
probation, modify the conditions of probation, extend the probation period, or revoke 
probation and impose a sentence of incarceration pursuant to law. The court may not 
sentence the probationer to prison without having considered a current presentence report 
and may not sentence the probationer to prison or jail (including for failing to pay fines, 
costs, restitution, and other financial obligations imposed by the court) without having 
complied with the provisions set forth in MCR 6.425(B) and (D).

(H) Review.

(1) In a case involving a sentence of incarceration under subrule (G), the court must 
advise the probationer on the record, immediately after imposing sentence, that

(a) the probationer has a right to appeal, if the underlying conviction occurred as a 
result of a trial, or

(b) the probationer is entitled to file an application for leave to appeal, if the 
underlying conviction was the result of a plea of guilty or nolo contendere.

(2) In a case that involves a sentence other than incarceration under subrule (G), the 
court must advise the probationer on the record, immediately after imposing sentence, 
that the probationer is entitled to file an application for leave to appeal.

RULE 6.450 TECHNICAL PROBATION VIOLATION ACKNOWLEDGMENT  

(A) Acknowledgment. In lieu of initiating a probation violation proceeding under MCR 
6.445, the court may allow a probationer to acknowledge a technical probation violation 
without a hearing. The acknowledgment must be in writing and advise the probationer of 
the following information

(1) the probationer has a right to contest the alleged technical probation violation at a 
formal probation violation hearing; 

(2) the probationer is entitled to a lawyer’s assistance at the probation violation 
hearing and at all subsequent court proceedings, and that the appointing authority will 
appoint a lawyer at public expense if the probationer wants one and is financially 
unable to retain one; 

(3) the court will not revoke probation or sentence the probationer to incarceration as a 
result of the acknowledgment, but the court may continue probation, modify the 
conditions of probation, or extend probation; 

(4) if the probationer violates probation again, the court may consider the 
acknowledgment a prior technical probation violation conviction for the purposes of 
determining the maximum jail or prison sentence and probation revocation eligibility 
authorized by law; 
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(5) acknowledging a technical probation violation may delay the probationer’s 
eligibility for an early discharge from probation.  

(B) Review. Upon acknowledgment of a technical probation violation by a probationer, 
the court may continue probation, modify the conditions of probation, or extend the term 
of probation. The court may not impose a sentence of incarceration or revoke probation 
for acknowledging a technical probation violation under this rule, but the court may count 
the acknowledgment for the purpose of identifying the number of technical probation 
violations under MCL 771.4b. 

RULE 6.451 REINSTATEMENT OF CONVICTIONS SET ASIDE WITHOUT APPLICATION

A conviction that was set aside by operation of law under MCL 780.621g must be 
reinstated by the court only as provided in MCL 780.621h. The court must:

(A) provide notice and an opportunity to be heard before reinstating a conviction for 
failure to make a good faith effort to pay restitution under MCL 780.621h(3),

(B) order the reinstatement on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office,

(C) serve any order entered under this rule on the prosecuting authority and the individual 
whose conviction was automatically set aside.

An order for reinstatement of a conviction that was improperly or erroneously set aside as 
provided in MCL 780.621h(2) must advise the individual whose conviction is being reinstated 
that he or she may object to the reinstatement by requesting a hearing. The request must be filed 
with the court on a form approved by the State Court Administrative Office. 

SUBCHAPTER 6.500 POSTAPPEAL RELIEF

RULE 6.501 SCOPE OF SUBCHAPTER

Unless otherwise specified by these rules, a judgment of conviction and sentence entered 
by the circuit court not subject to appellate review under subchapters 7.200 or 7.300 may be 
reviewed only in accordance with the provisions of this subchapter.

RULE 6.502 MOTION FOR RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT

(A) Nature of Motion. The request for relief under this subchapter must be in the form of a 
motion to set aside or modify the judgment. The motion must specify all of the grounds for 
relief which are available to the defendant and of which the defendant has, or by the 
exercise of due diligence, should have knowledge.

(B) Limitations on Motion. A motion may seek relief from one judgment only. If the 
defendant desires to challenge the validity of additional judgments, the defendant must do 
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so by separate motions. For the purpose of this rule, multiple convictions resulting from a 
single trial or plea proceeding shall be treated as a single judgment.

(C) Form of Motion. The motion may not be noticed for hearing, and must be typed or 
legibly handwritten and include a verification by the defendant or defendant’s lawyer in 
accordance with MCR 1.109(D)(3). Except as otherwise ordered by the court, the 
combined length of the motion and any memorandum of law in support may not exceed 50 
pages double-spaced, exclusive of attachments and exhibits. If the court enters an order 
increasing the page limit for the motion, the same order shall indicate that the page limit 
for the prosecutor’s response provided for in MCR 6.506(A) is increased by the same 
amount. The motion must be substantially in the form approved by the State Court 
Administrative Office, and must include:

(1) The name of the defendant;

(2) The name of the court in which the defendant was convicted and the file number of 
the defendant's case;

(3) The place where the defendant is confined, or, if not confined, the defendant’s 
current address;

(4) The offenses for which the defendant was convicted and sentenced;

(5) The date on which the defendant was sentenced;

(6) Whether the defendant was convicted by a jury, by a judge without jury, or on a 
plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill, or nolo contendere;

(7) The sentence imposed (probation, fine, and/or imprisonment), the length of the 
sentence imposed, and whether the defendant is now serving that sentence;

(8) The name of the judge who presided at trial and imposed sentence;

(9) The court, title, and file number of any proceeding (including appeals and federal 
court proceedings) instituted by the defendant to obtain relief from conviction or 
sentence, specifying whether a proceeding is pending or has been completed;

(10) The name of each lawyer who represented the defendant at any time after arrest, 
and the stage of the case at which each represented the defendant;

(11) The relief requested;

(12) The grounds for the relief requested;

(13) The facts supporting each ground, stated in summary form;

(14) Whether any of the grounds for the relief requested were raised before; if so, at 
what stage of the case, and, if not, the reasons they were not raised;

(15) Whether the defendant requests the appointment of counsel, and, if so, 
information necessary for the court to determine whether the defendant is entitled to 
appointment of counsel at public expense.
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Upon request, the clerk of each court with trial level jurisdiction over felony cases 
shall make available blank motion forms without charge to any person desiring to file 
such a motion.

(D) Return of Insufficient Motion. If a motion is not submitted on a form approved by the 
State Court Administrative Office, or does not substantially comply with the requirements 
of these rules, the court shall either direct that it be returned to the defendant with a 
statement of the reasons for its return, along with the appropriate form, or adjudicate the 
motion under the provisions of these rules. When a pro se defendant files his or her first 
motion effectively seeking to set aside or modify the judgment but styles the motion as 
something other than a motion for relief from judgment, the court shall promptly notify 
the defendant of its intention to recharacterize the pleading as a motion for relief from 
judgment; inform the defendant of any effects this might have on subsequent motions for 
relief, see MCR 6.502(B), (G); and provide the defendant 90 days to withdraw or amend 
his or her motion before the court recharacterizes the motion. If the court fails to provide 
this notice and opportunity for withdrawal or amendment, or the defendant establishes that 
notice was not actually received, the defendant’s motion cannot be considered a motion 
for relief from judgment for purposes of MCR 6.502(B), (G). The clerk of the court shall 
retain a copy of the motion.

(E) Attachments to Motion. The defendant may attach to the motion any affidavit, 
document, or evidence to support the relief requested.

(F) Amendment and Supplementation of Motion. The court may permit the defendant to 
amend or supplement the motion at any time.

(G) Successive Motions.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (G)(2), regardless of whether a defendant has 
previously filed a motion for relief from judgment, after August 1, 1995, one and only 
one motion for relief from judgment may be filed with regard to a conviction.

(2) A defendant may file a second or subsequent motion based on any of the 
following:

(a) a retroactive change in law that occurred after the first motion for relief from 
judgment was filed,

(b) a claim of new evidence that was not discovered before the first such motion 
was filed, or

(c) a final court order vacating one or more of the defendant’s convictions either 
described in the judgment from which the defendant is seeking relief or upon 
which the judgment was based.

The clerk shall refer a successive motion to the judge to whom the case is assigned for 
a determination whether the motion is within one of the exceptions.

The court may waive the provisions of this rule if it concludes that there is a 
significant possibility that the defendant is innocent of the crime. For motions filed 
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under both (G)(1) and (G)(2), the court shall enter an appropriate order disposing of 
the motion.

(3) For purposes of subrule (G)(2), “new evidence” includes new scientific evidence. 
This includes, but is not limited to, shifts in science entailing changes:

(a) in a field of scientific knowledge, including shifts in scientific consensus;

(b) in a testifying expert’s own scientific knowledge and opinions; or

(c) in a scientific method on which the relevant scientific evidence at trial was 
based.

RULE 6.503 FILING AND SERVICE OF MOTION

(A) Filing; Copies.

(1) A defendant seeking relief under this subchapter must file a motion, and a copy of 
the motion with the clerk of the court in which the defendant was convicted and 
sentenced.

(2) Upon receipt of a motion, the clerk shall file it under the same number as the 
original conviction.

(B) Service. The defendant shall serve a copy of the motion and notice of its filing on the 
prosecuting attorney. Unless so ordered by the court as provided in this subchapter, the 
filing and service of the motion does not require a response by the prosecutor.

RULE 6.504 ASSIGNMENT; PRELIMINARY CONSIDERATION BY JUDGE; SUMMARY DENIAL

(A) Assignment to Judge. The motion shall be presented to the judge to whom the case 
was assigned at the time of the defendant’s conviction. If the appropriate judge is not 
available, the motion must be assigned to another judge in accordance with the court's 
procedure for the reassignment of cases. The chief judge may reassign cases in order to 
correct docket control problems arising from the requirements of this rule.

(B) Initial Consideration by Court.

(1) The court shall promptly examine the motion, together with all the files, records, 
transcripts, and correspondence relating to the judgment under attack. The court may 
request that the prosecutor provide copies of transcripts, briefs, or other records.

(2) If it plainly appears from the face of the materials described in subrule (B)(1) that 
the defendant is not entitled to relief, the court shall deny the motion without directing 
further proceedings. The order must include a concise statement of the reasons for the 
denial. The clerk shall serve a copy of the order on the defendant and the prosecutor. 
The court may dismiss some requests for relief or grounds for relief while directing a 
response or further proceedings with respect to other specified grounds.

(3) If the motion is summarily dismissed under subrule (B)(2), the defendant may 
move for reconsideration of the dismissal within 21 days after the clerk serves the 
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order. The motion must concisely state why the court's decision was based on a clear 
error and that a different decision must result from correction of the error. A motion 
which merely presents the same matters that were considered by the court will not be 
granted.

(4) If the entire motion is not dismissed under subrule (B)(2), the court shall order the 
prosecuting attorney to file a response as provided in MCR 6.506, and shall conduct 
further proceedings as provided in MCR 6.505-6.508.

RULE 6.505 RIGHT TO LEGAL ASSISTANCE

(A) Appointment of Counsel. If the defendant has requested appointment of counsel, and 
the court has determined that the defendant is indigent, the court may appoint counsel for 
the defendant at any time during the proceedings under this subchapter. Counsel must be 
appointed if the court directs that oral argument or an evidentiary hearing be held.

(B) Opportunity to Supplement the Motion. If the court appoints counsel to represent the 
defendant, it shall afford counsel 56 days to amend or supplement the motion. The court 
may extend the time on a showing that a necessary transcript or record is not available to 
counsel.

RULE 6.506 RESPONSE BY PROSECUTOR

(A) Contents of Response. On direction of the court pursuant to MCR 6.504(B)(4), the 
prosecutor shall respond in writing to the allegations in the motion. The trial court shall 
allow the prosecutor a minimum of 56 days to respond. If the response refers to transcripts 
or briefs that are not in the court's file, the prosecutor shall submit copies of those items 
with the response. Except as otherwise ordered by the court, the response shall not exceed 
50 pages double-spaced, exclusive of attachments and exhibits.

(B) Filing and Service. The prosecutor shall file the response and one copy with the clerk 
of the court and serve one copy on the defendant.

RULE 6.507 EXPANSION OF RECORD

(A) Order to Expand Record. If the court does not deny the motion pursuant to MCR 
6.504(B)(2), it may direct the parties to expand the record by including any additional 
materials it deems relevant to the decision on the merits of the motion. The expanded 
record may include letters, affidavits, documents, exhibits, and answers under oath to 
interrogatories propounded by the court.

(B) Submission to Opposing Party. Whenever a party submits items to expand the record, 
the party shall serve copies of the items to the opposing party. The court shall afford the 
opposing party an opportunity to admit or deny the correctness of the items.

(C) Authentication. The court may require the authentication of any item submitted under 
this rule.
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RULE 6.508 PROCEDURE; EVIDENTIARY HEARING; DETERMINATION

(A) Procedure Generally. If the rules in this subchapter do not prescribe the applicable 
procedure, the court may proceed in any lawful manner. The court may apply the rules 
applicable to civil or criminal proceedings, as it deems appropriate.

(B) Decision Without Evidentiary Hearing. After reviewing the motion and response, the 
record, and the expanded record, if any, the court shall determine whether an evidentiary 
hearing is required. If the court decides that an evidentiary hearing is not required, it may 
rule on the motion or, in its discretion, afford the parties an opportunity for oral argument.

(C) Evidentiary Hearing. If the court decides that an evidentiary hearing is required, it 
shall schedule and conduct the hearing as promptly as practicable. At the hearing, the rules 
of evidence other than those with respect to privilege do not apply. The court shall assure 
that a verbatim record is made of the hearing.

(D) Entitlement to Relief. The defendant has the burden of establishing entitlement to the 
relief requested. The court may not grant relief to the defendant if the motion

(1) seeks relief from a judgment of conviction and sentence that still is subject to 
challenge on appeal pursuant to subchapter 7.200 or subchapter 7.300;

(2) alleges grounds for relief which were decided against the defendant in a prior 
appeal or proceeding under this subchapter, unless the defendant establishes that a 
retroactive change in the law has undermined the prior decision; for purposes of this 
provision, a court is not precluded from considering previously decided claims in the 
context of a new claim for relief, such as in determining whether new evidence would 
make a different result probable on retrial, or if the previously decided claims, when 
considered together with the new claim for relief, create a significant possibility of 
actual innocence;

(3) alleges grounds for relief, other than jurisdictional defects, which could have been 
raised on appeal from the conviction and sentence or in a prior motion under this 
subchapter, unless the defendant demonstrates

(a) good cause for failure to raise such grounds on appeal or in the prior motion, 
and

(b) actual prejudice from the alleged irregularities that support the claim for relief. 
As used in this subrule, “actual prejudice” means that,

(i) in a conviction following a trial, 

(A) but for the alleged error, the defendant would have had a reasonably 
likely chance of acquittal; or

(B) where the defendant rejected a plea based on incorrect information 
from the trial court or ineffective assistance of counsel, it is reasonably 
likely that

(1) the prosecutor would not have withdrawn any plea offer;
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(2) the defendant and the trial court would have accepted the plea but 
for the improper advice; and

(3) the conviction or sentence, or both, under the plea’s terms would 
have been less severe than under the judgment and sentence that in fact 
were imposed.

(ii) in a conviction entered on a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill, or nolo 
contendere, the defect in the proceedings was such that it renders the plea an 
involuntary one to a degree that it would be manifestly unjust to allow the 
conviction to stand;

(iii) in any case, the irregularity was so offensive to the maintenance of a sound 
judicial process that the conviction should not be allowed to stand regardless of 
its effect on the outcome of the case;

(iv) in the case of a challenge to the sentence, the sentence is invalid.

The court may waive the “good cause” requirement of subrule (D)(3)(a) if it concludes 
that there is a significant possibility that the defendant is innocent of the crime.

(E) Ruling. The court, either orally or in writing, shall set forth in the record its findings of 
fact and its conclusions of law, and enter an appropriate order disposing of the motion.

RULE 6.509 APPEAL

(A) Availability of Appeal. Appeals from decisions under this subchapter are by 
application for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals pursuant to MCR 7.205(A)(1). The 
6-month time limit provided by MCR 7.205(A)(4)(a), runs from the decision under this 
subchapter. Nothing in this subchapter shall be construed as extending the time to appeal 
from the original judgment.

(B) Responsibility of Appointed Counsel. If the trial court has appointed counsel for the 
defendant during the proceeding, that appointment authorizes the attorney to represent the 
defendant in connection with an application for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals.

(C) Responsibility of the Prosecutor. If the prosecutor has not filed a response to the 
defendant’s application for leave to appeal in the appellate court, the prosecutor must file 
an appellee’s brief if the appellate court grants the defendant’s application for leave to 
appeal. The prosecutor must file an appellee’s brief within 56 days after an order directing 
a response pursuant to subrule (D).

(D) Responsibility of the Appellate Court. If the appellate court grants the defendant’s 
application for leave to appeal and the prosecutor has not filed a response in the appellate 
court, the appellate court must direct the prosecutor to file an appellee’s brief, and give the 
prosecutor the opportunity to file an appellee’s brief pursuant to subrule (C), before 
granting further relief to the defendant.



Chapter 6. Criminal Procedure Page 636   Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 6.600 CRIMINAL PROCEDURE IN DISTRICT COURT

RULE 6.610 CRIMINAL PROCEDURE GENERALLY

(A) Precedence. Criminal cases have precedence over civil actions.

(B) Pretrial. The court, on its own initiative or on motion of either party, may direct the 
prosecutor and the defendant, and, if represented, the defendant's attorney to appear for a 
pretrial conference. The court may require collateral matters and pretrial motions to be 
filed and argued no later than this conference.

(C) Record. Unless a writing is permitted, a verbatim record of the proceedings before a 
court under subrules (D)-(F) must be made.

(D) Arraignment; District Court Offenses.

(1) Whenever a defendant is arraigned on an offense over which the district court has 
jurisdiction, the defendant must be informed of

(a) the name of the offense;

(b) the maximum sentence permitted by law; and

(c) the defendant’s right

(i) to the assistance of an attorney at all court proceedings, including 
arraignment, and to a trial;

(ii) (if subrule [D][2] applies) to an appointed attorney; and

(iii) to a trial by jury, when required by law.

The information may be given in a writing that is made a part of the file or by 
the court on the record.

(2) An indigent defendant has a right to an appointed attorney whenever the offense 
charged requires on conviction a minimum term in jail or the court determines it might 
sentence to a term of incarceration, even if suspended.

If an indigent defendant is without an attorney and has not waived the right to an 
appointed attorney, the court may not sentence the defendant to jail or to a suspended 
jail sentence.

(3) The right to the assistance of an attorney, to an appointed attorney, or to a trial by 
jury is not waived unless the defendant

(a) has been informed of the right; and

(b) has waived it in a writing that is made a part of the file or orally on the record.

If the defendant has not waived the right to counsel, the court must refer the matter to 
the appointing authority for the assignment of counsel.
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(4) The court may allow a defendant to enter a plea of not guilty or to stand mute 
without formal arraignment by filing a written statement signed by the defendant and 
any defense attorney of record, reciting the general nature of the charge, the maximum 
possible sentence, the rights of the defendant at arraignment, and the plea to be 
entered. The court may require that an appropriate bond be executed and filed and 
appropriate and reasonable sureties posted or continued as a condition precedent to 
allowing the defendant to be arraigned without personally appearing before the court.

(E) Discovery in Misdemeanor Proceedings.

(1) The provisions of MCR 6.201, except for MCR 6.201(A), apply in all 
misdemeanor proceedings.

(2) MCR 6.201(A) only applies in misdemeanor proceedings, as set forth in this 
subrule, if a defendant elects to request discovery pursuant to MCR 6.201(A). If a 
defendant requests discovery pursuant to MCR 6.201(A) and the prosecuting attorney 
complies, then the defendant must also comply with MCR 6.201(A).

(F) Pleas of Guilty and Nolo Contendere. Before accepting a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere, the court shall in all cases comply with this rule.

(1) The court shall determine that the plea is understanding, voluntary, and accurate. In 
determining the accuracy of the plea,

(a) if the defendant pleads guilty, the court, by questioning the defendant, shall 
establish support for a finding that defendant is guilty of the offense charged or the 
offense to which the defendant is pleading, or

(b) if the defendant pleads nolo contendere, the court shall not question the 
defendant about the defendant's participation in the crime, but shall make the 
determination on the basis of other available information.

(2) The court shall inform the defendant of the right to the assistance of an attorney. If 
the offense charged requires on conviction a minimum term in jail, the court shall 
inform the defendant that if the defendant is indigent the defendant has the right to an 
appointed attorney. The court shall also give such advice if it determines that it might 
sentence to a term of incarceration, even if suspended.

(3) The court shall advise the defendant of the following:

(a) the mandatory minimum jail sentence, if any, and the maximum possible 
penalty for the offense,

(b) that if the plea is accepted the defendant will not have a trial of any kind and 
that the defendant gives up the following rights that the defendant would have at 
trial:

(i) the right to have witnesses called for the defendant’s defense at trial,

(ii) the right to cross-examine all witnesses called against the defendant,

(iii) the right to testify or to remain silent without an inference being drawn 
from said silence,
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(iv) the presumption of innocence and the requirement that the defendant’s 
guilt be proven beyond a reasonable doubt.

(4) A defendant or defendants may be informed of the trial rights listed in subrule 
(3)(b) as follows:

(a) on the record,

(b) in a writing made part of the file, or

(c) in a writing referred to on the record.

Except as provided in subrule (F)(7), if the court uses a writing pursuant to subrule 
(F)(4)(b) or (c), the court shall address the defendant and obtain from the 
defendant orally on the record a statement that the rights were read and understood 
and a waiver of those rights. The waiver may be obtained without repeating the 
individual rights.

(5) The court shall make the plea agreement a part of the record and determine that the 
parties agree on all the terms of that agreement. The court shall accept, reject or 
indicate on what basis it accepts the plea.

(6) The court must ask the defendant:

(a) (if there is no plea agreement) whether anyone has promised the defendant 
anything, or (if there is a plea agreement) whether anyone has promised anything 
beyond what is in the plea agreement;

(b) whether anyone has threatened the defendant; and

(c) whether it is the defendant's own choice to plead guilty.

(7) A plea of guilty or nolo contendere in writing is permissible without a personal 
appearance of the defendant and without support for a finding that defendant is guilty 
of the offense charged or the offense to which the defendant is pleading if

(a) the court decides that the combination of the circumstances and the range of 
possible sentences makes the situation proper for a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere;

(b) the defendant acknowledges guilt or nolo contendere, in a writing to be placed 
in the district court file, and waives in writing the rights enumerated in subrule 
(3)(b); and

(c) the court is satisfied that the waiver is voluntary.

A “writing” includes digital communications, transmitted through electronic 
means, which are capable of being stored and printed.

(8) The following provisions apply where a defendant seeks to challenge the plea.

(a) A defendant may not challenge a plea on appeal unless the defendant moved in 
the trial court to withdraw the plea for noncompliance with these rules. Such a 
motion may be made either before or after sentence has been imposed. After 
imposition of sentence, the defendant may file a motion to withdraw the plea 
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within the time for filing an application for leave to appeal under MCR 
7.105(G)(2).

(b) If the trial court determines that a deviation affecting substantial rights 
occurred, it shall correct the deviation and give the defendant the option of 
permitting the plea to stand or of withdrawing the plea. If the trial court determines 
either a deviation did not occur, or that the deviation did not affect substantial 
rights, it may permit the defendant to withdraw the plea only if it does not cause 
substantial prejudice to the people because of reliance on the plea.

(c) If a deviation is corrected, any appeal will be on the whole record including the 
subsequent advice and inquiries.

(9) The State Court Administrator shall develop and approve forms to be used under 
subrules (E)(4)(b) and (c) and (E)(7)(b).

(G) Sentencing.

(1) For sentencing, the court shall:

(a) require the presence of the defendant's attorney, unless the defendant does not 
have one or has waived the attorney's presence;

(b) provide copies of the presentence report (if a presentence report was prepared) 
to the prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or the defendant if not represented by 
a lawyer, at a reasonable time, but not less than two business days before the day 
of sentencing. The prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or the defendant if not 
represented by a lawyer, may retain a copy of the report or an amended report. If 
the presentence report is not made available to the prosecutor and the defendant’s 
lawyer, or the defendant if not represented by a lawyer, at least two business days 
before the day of sentencing, the prosecutor and the defendant’s lawyer, or the 
defendant if not represented by a lawyer, shall be entitled, on oral motion, to an 
adjournment to enable the moving party to review the presentence report and to 
prepare any necessary corrections, additions or deletions to present to the court, or 
otherwise advise the court of circumstances the prosecutor or defendant believes 
should be considered in imposing sentence. A presentence investigation report 
shall not include any address or telephone number for the home, workplace, 
school, or place of worship of any victim or witness, or a family member of any 
victim or witness, unless an address is used to identify the place of the crime or to 
impose conditions of release from custody that are necessary for the protection of a 
named individual. Upon request, any other address or telephone number that 
would reveal the location of a victim or witness or a family member of a victim or 
witness shall be exempted from disclosure unless an address is used to identify the 
place of the crime or to impose conditions of release from custody that are 
necessary for the protection of a named individual.

(c) before imposing sentence

(i) provide the defendant’s attorney an opportunity to speak on the defendant’s 
behalf,
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(ii) address the defendant personally in order to permit the defendant to speak 
or present any information to mitigate the sentence,

(iii) provide the prosecutor an opportunity to speak equivalent to that of the 
defendant’s attorney, and

(iv) address any victim of the crime who is present at sentencing or any person 
the victim has designated to speak on the victim’s behalf and permit the victim 
or the victim’s designee to make an impact statement.

(d) inform the defendant of credit to be given for time served, if any.

(e) order the dollar amount of restitution that the defendant must pay to make full 
restitution as required by law to any victim of the defendant’s course of conduct 
that gives rise to the conviction, or to that victim’s estate. Any dispute as to the 
proper amount or type of restitution shall be resolved by the court by a 
preponderance of the evidence. The burden of demonstrating the amount of the 
loss sustained by a victim as a result of the offense shall be on the prosecuting 
attorney.

(2) The court shall not sentence a defendant to a term of incarceration for nonpayment 
unless the court has complied with the provisions of MCR 6.425(D)(3).

(3) Unless a defendant who is entitled to appointed counsel is represented by an 
attorney or has waived the right to an attorney, a subsequent charge or sentence may 
not be enhanced because of this conviction and the defendant may not be incarcerated 
for violating probation or any other condition imposed in connection with this 
conviction.

(4) Immediately after imposing a sentence of incarceration, even if suspended, the 
court must advise the defendant, on the record or in writing, that:

(a) if the defendant wishes to file an appeal and is financially unable to retain a 
lawyer, the local indigent criminal defense system’s appointing authority will 
appoint a lawyer to represent the defendant on appeal, and

(b) the request for a lawyer must be made within 14 days after sentencing.

(H) Motion for New Trial. A motion for a new trial must be filed within 21 days after the 
entry of judgment. However, if an appeal has not been taken, a delayed motion may be 
filed within the time for filing an application for leave to appeal.

(I) Arraignment; Offenses Not Cognizable by the District Court. In a prosecution in which 
a defendant is charged with a felony or a misdemeanor not cognizable by the district court, 
the court shall

(1) inform the defendant of the nature of the charge;

(2) inform the defendant of

(a) the right to a preliminary examination;
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(b) the right to an attorney, if the defendant is not represented by an attorney at the 
arraignment;

(c) the right to have an attorney appointed at public expense if the defendant is 
indigent; and

(d) the right to consideration of pretrial release.

If a defendant not represented by an attorney waives the preliminary examination, 
the court shall ascertain that the waiver is freely, understandingly, and voluntarily 
given before accepting it.

RULE 6.615 MISDEMEANOR CASES

(A) Citation; Complaint; Summons; Warrant.

(1) A misdemeanor case may be initiated by one of the following procedures:

(a) Subject to the exceptions in MCL 764.9c, service by a law enforcement officer 
on the defendant of a written citation, and the filing of the citation in the district 
court. The citation may be prepared electronically or on paper. The citation must 
be signed by the officer in accordance with MCR 1.109(E)(4); if a citation is 
prepared electronically and filed with a court as data, the name of the officer that is 
associated with the issuance of the citation satisfies this requirement.

(b) The filing of a sworn complaint in the district court and the issuance of a 
summons or an arrest warrant. 

(c) Other special procedures authorized by statute.

(2) The citation may serve as a sworn complaint and as a summons to command

(a) the initial appearance of the defendant; and

(b) for misdemeanor traffic cases, a response from the defendant as to his or her 
guilt of the violation alleged.

(B) Appearances; Failure To Appear. If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise respond to 
any matter pending relative to a misdemeanor citation issued under MCL 764.9c, the court 
shall issue an order to show cause.

(1) The court may immediately issue a bench warrant, rather than an order to show 
cause, if the court has a specific articulable reason to suspect that any of the following 
apply and states it on the record: 

(a) the defendant has committed a new crime.    

(b) the defendant’s failure to appear is the result of a willful intent to avoid or 
delay the adjudication of the case.  

(c) another person or property will be endangered if a warrant is not issued. 
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(2) If a defendant fails to appear or otherwise respond to any matter pending relative to a 
misdemeanor traffic citation, the court must also initiate the procedures required by MCL 
257.321a.  

(C) Arraignment. An arraignment in a misdemeanor case may be conducted by

(1) a judge of the district, or

(2) a district court magistrate as authorized by statute and by the judges of the district.

(D) Contested Cases. A misdemeanor case must be conducted in compliance with the 
constitutional and statutory procedures and safeguards applicable to misdemeanors 
cognizable by the district court.

RULE 6.620 IMPANELING THE JURY

(A) Alternate Jurors. The court may direct that 7 or more jurors be impaneled to sit in a 
criminal case. After the instructions to the jury have been given and the case submitted, 
the names of the jurors must be placed in a container and names drawn to reduce the 
number of jurors to 6, who shall constitute the jury. The court may retain the alternate 
jurors during deliberations. If the court does so, it shall instruct the alternate jurors not to 
discuss the case with any other person until the jury completes its deliberations and is 
discharged. If an alternate juror replaces a juror after the jury retires to consider its verdict, 
the court shall instruct the jury to begin its deliberations anew.

(B) Peremptory Challenges.

(1) Each defendant is entitled to three peremptory challenges. The prosecutor is 
entitled to the same number of peremptory challenges as a defendant being tried alone, 
or, in the case of jointly tried defendants, the total number of peremptory challenges to 
which all the defendants are entitled.

(2) Additional Challenges. On a showing of good cause, the court may grant one or 
more of the parties an increased number of peremptory challenges. The additional 
challenges granted by the court need not be equal for each party.

RULE 6.625 APPEAL; APPOINTMENT OF APPELLATE COUNSEL

(A) An appeal from a misdemeanor case is governed by subchapter 7.100.

(B) If the court imposed a sentence of incarceration, even if suspended, and the defendant 
is indigent, the local indigent criminal defense system’s appointing authority must appoint 
a lawyer if, within 14 days after sentencing, the defendant files a request for a lawyer or 
makes a request on the record. If the defendant makes a request on the record, the court 
shall inform the appointing authority of the request that same day. Unless there is a 
postjudgment motion pending, the appointing authority must act on a defendant’s request 
for a lawyer within 14 days after receiving it. If there is a postjudgment motion pending, 
the appointing authority must act on the request after the court’s disposition of the pending 
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motion and within 14 days after that disposition. If a lawyer is appointed, the 21 days for 
taking an appeal pursuant to MCR 7.104(A)(3) and MCR 7.105(A)(3) shall commence on 
the day of the appointment.

(C) If indigency was not previously determined or there is a request for a redetermination 
of indigency, the court shall make an indigency determination unless the court’s local 
funding unit has designated this duty to its appointing authority in its compliance plan 
with the Michigan Indigent Defense Commission. The determination of indigency and, if 
indigency is found, the appointment of counsel must occur with 14 days of the request 
unless a postjudgment motion is pending. If there is a postjudgment motion pending, the 
appointing authority must act on the request after the court's disposition of the pending 
motion and within 14 days after that disposition. 

(D) If a lawyer is appointed, the 21 days for taking an appeal pursuant to MCR 
7.104(A)(3) and MCR 7.105(A)(3) shall commence on the day the notice of appointment 
is filed with the court.

SUBCHAPTER 6.900 RULES APPLICABLE TO JUVENILES CHARGED WITH SPECIFIED 
OFFENSES SUBJECT TO THE JURISDICTION OF THE CIRCUIT OR DISTRICT COURT

RULE 6.901 APPLICABILITY

(A) Precedence. The rules in this subchapter take precedence over, but are not exclusive 
of, the rules of procedure applicable to criminal actions against adult offenders.

(B) Scope. The rules apply to criminal proceedings in the district court and the circuit 
court concerning a juvenile against whom the prosecuting attorney has authorized the 
filing of a criminal complaint charging a specified juvenile violation instead of approving 
the filing of a petition in the family division of the circuit court. The rules do not apply to 
a person charged solely with an offense in which the family division has waived 
jurisdiction pursuant to MCL712A.4.

(C) Video and Audio Proceedings. The courts may use telephonic, voice, or 
videoconferencing technology under this subchapter as prescribed by MCR 6.006.

RULE 6.903 DEFINITIONS

When used in this subchapter, unless the context otherwise indicates:

(A) “Commitment review hearing” includes a hearing as required by MCL 769.1 to decide 
whether the jurisdiction of the court shall continue over a juvenile who was placed on 
juvenile probation and committed to state wardship.
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(B) “Commitment review report” means a report on a juvenile committed to state 
wardship for use at a commitment review hearing prepared by the Department of Health 
and Human Services pursuant to MCL 803.225 (§ 5 of the Juvenile Facilities Act).

(C) “Court” means the circuit court as provided in MCL 600.606, but does not include the 
family division of the circuit court.

(D) “Family division” means the family division of the circuit court.

(E) “Juvenile” means a person 14 years of age or older, who is subject to the jurisdiction 
of the court for having allegedly committed a specified juvenile violation on or after the 
person's 14th birthday and before the person’s 18th birthday.

(F) “Juvenile sentencing hearing” means a hearing conducted by the court following a 
criminal conviction to determine whether the best interests of the juvenile and of the 
public would be served:

(1) by retaining jurisdiction over the juvenile, placing the juvenile on juvenile 
probation, and committing the juvenile to a state institution or agency as a state ward, 
as provided in MCL 769.1; or

(2) by imposing sentence as provided by law for an adult offender.

(G) “Juvenile facility” means an institution or facility operated by the juvenile division of 
the circuit court, or a state institution or agency described in the Youth Rehabilitation 
Services Act, MCL 803.301 et seq., or a county facility or institution operated as an 
agency of the county other than a facility designed or used to incarcerate adults.

(H) “Specified Juvenile Violation” means one or more of the following offenses allegedly 
committed by a juvenile in which the prosecuting attorney has authorized the filing of a 
criminal complaint and warrant instead of proceeding in the family division of the circuit 
court:

(1) burning a dwelling house, MCL 750.72;

(2) assault with intent to commit murder, MCL 750.83;

(3) assault with intent to maim, MCL 750.86;

(4) assault with intent to rob while armed, MCL 750.89;

(5) attempted murder, MCL 750.91;

(6) first-degree murder, MCL 750.316;

(7) second-degree murder, MCL 750.317;

(8) kidnapping, MCL 750.349;

(9) first-degree criminal sexual conduct, MCL 750.520b;

(10) armed robbery, MCL 750.529;
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(11) carjacking, MCL 750.529a;

(12) bank, safe, or vault robbery, MCL 750.531;

(13) assault with intent to do great bodily harm, MCL 750.84, if armed with a 
dangerous weapon;

(14) first-degree home invasion, MCL 750.110a(2), if armed with a dangerous 
weapon;

(15) escape or attempted escape from a medium-security or high-security juvenile 
facility operated by the Department of Health and Human Services, or a high-security 
facility operated by a private agency under contract with the Department of Health and 
Human Services, MCL 750.186a; 

(16) possession of [MCL 333.7403(2)(a)(i)] or manufacture, delivery, or possession 
with intent to manufacture or deliver of 650 grams(1,000 grams beginning March 1, 
2003) or more of a schedule 1 or 2 controlled substance [MCL 333.7401(2)(a)(i)];

(17) any attempt, MCL 750.92; solicitation, MCL 750.157b; or conspiracy, MCL 
750.157a; to commit any of the offenses listed in subrules (1)-(16);

(18) any lesser-included offense of an offense listed in subrules (1)-(17) if the juvenile 
is charged with a specified juvenile violation; 

(19) any other violation arising out of the same transaction if the juvenile is charged 
with one of the offenses listed in subrules (1)-(17).

(I) “Dangerous Weapon” means one of the following:

(1) a loaded or unloaded firearm, whether operable or inoperable;

(2) a knife, stabbing instrument, brass knuckles, blackjack, club, or other object 
specifically designed or customarily carried or possessed for use as a weapon;

(3) an object that is likely to cause death or bodily injury when used as a weapon and 
that is used as a weapon, or carried or possessed for use as a weapon;

(4) an object or device that is used or fashioned in a manner leading a person to believe 
the object or device is an object or device described in subrules (1)-(3).

(J) “Magistrate” means a judge of the district court or a municipal court as defined in 
MCL 761.1(f).

(K) “Progress report” means the report on a juvenile in state wardship prepared by the 
Department of Health and Human Services for the court as required by MCL 803.223 (§ 3 
of the Juvenile Facilities Act) and by these rules.

(L) “Social report” means the written report on a juvenile for use at the juvenile 
sentencing hearing prepared by the Family Independence Agency as required by MCL 
803.224 (§ 4 of the Juvenile Facilities Act).
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(M) “State wardship” means care and control of a juvenile until the juvenile's 21st 
birthday by an institution or agency within or under the supervision of the Family 
Independence Agency as provided in the Youth Rehabilitation Services Act, MCL 
803.301 et seq., while the juvenile remains under the jurisdiction of the court on the basis 
of a court order of juvenile probation and commitment as provided in MCL 769.1.

RULE 6.905 ASSISTANCE OF ATTORNEY

(A) Advice of Right. If the juvenile is not represented by an attorney, the magistrate or 
court shall advise the juvenile at each stage of the criminal proceedings of the right to the 
assistance of an attorney. If the juvenile has waived the right to an attorney, the court at 
later proceedings must reaffirm that the juvenile continues to not want an attorney.

(B) Appointed Attorney. Unless the juvenile has a retained attorney, or has waived the 
right to an attorney, the magistrate or the court must refer the matter to the local indigent 
criminal defense system’s appointing authority for appointment of an attorney to represent 
the juvenile.

(C) Waiver of Attorney. The magistrate or court may permit a juvenile to waive 
representation by an attorney if:

(1) an attorney is appointed to give the juvenile advice on the question of waiver;

(2) the magistrate or the court finds that the juvenile is literate and is competent to 
conduct a defense;

(3) the magistrate or the court advises the juvenile of the dangers and of the 
disadvantages of self-representation;

(4) the magistrate or the court finds on the record that the waiver is voluntarily and 
understandingly made; and

(5) the court appoints standby counsel to assist the juvenile at trial and at the juvenile 
sentencing hearing.

(D) Cost. The court may assess cost of legal representation, or part thereof, against the 
juvenile or against a person responsible for the support of the juvenile, or both. The order 
assessing cost shall not be binding on a person responsible for the support of the juvenile 
unless an opportunity for a hearing has been given and until a copy of the order is served 
on the person, personally or by first class mail to the person's last known address.

RULE 6.907 ARRAIGNMENT ON COMPLAINT AND WARRANT

(A) Time. When the prosecuting attorney authorizes the filing of a complaint and warrant 
charging a juvenile with a specified juvenile violation instead of approving the filing of a 
petition in the family division of the circuit court, the juvenile in custody must be taken to 
the magistrate for arraignment on the charge. The prosecuting attorney must make a good-
faith effort to notify the parent of the juvenile of the arraignment. The juvenile must be 
released if arraignment has not commenced:
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(1) within 24 hours of the arrest of the juvenile; or

(2) within 24 hours after the prosecuting attorney authorized the complaint and 
warrant during special adjournment pursuant to MCR 3.935(A)(3), provided the 
juvenile is being detained in a juvenile facility.

(B) Temporary Detention Pending Arraignment. If the prosecuting attorney has authorized 
the filing of a complaint and warrant charging a specified juvenile violation instead of 
approving the filing of a petition in the family division of the circuit court, a juvenile may, 
following apprehension, be detained pending arraignment:

(1) in a juvenile facility operated by the county;

(2) in a regional juvenile detention facility operated by the state; or

(3) in a facility operated by the family division of the circuit court with the consent of 
the family division or an order of a court as defined in MCR 6.903(C).

If no juvenile facility is reasonably available and if it is apparent that the juvenile may 
not otherwise be safely detained, the magistrate may, without a hearing, authorize that 
the juvenile be lodged pending arraignment in a facility used to incarcerate adults. The 
juvenile must be kept separate from adult prisoners as required by law.

(C) Procedure. At the arraignment on the complaint and warrant:

(1) The magistrate shall determine whether a parent, guardian, or an adult relative of 
the juvenile is present. Arraignment may be conducted without the presence of a 
parent, guardian, or adult relative provided the local funding unit’s appointment 
authority appoints an attorney to appear at arraignment with the juvenile or provided 
an attorney has been retained and appears with the juvenile.

(2) The magistrate shall set a date for the juvenile's preliminary examination within the 
next 14 days, less time given and used by the prosecuting attorney under special 
adjournment pursuant to MCR 3.935(A)(3), up to three days' credit. The magistrate 
shall inform the juvenile and the parent, guardian, or adult relative of the juvenile, if 
present, of the preliminary examination date. If a parent, guardian, or an adult relative 
is not present at the arraignment, the court shall direct the attorney for the juvenile to 
advise a parent or guardian of the juvenile of the scheduled preliminary examination.

RULE 6.909 RELEASING OR DETAINING JUVENILES BEFORE TRIAL OR SENTENCING

(A) Bail; Detention.

(1) Bail. Except as provided in subrule (2) the magistrate or court must advise the 
juvenile of a right to bail as provided for an adult accused. The magistrate or the court 
may order a juvenile released to a parent or guardian on the basis of any lawful 
condition, including that bail be posted.

(2) Detention Without Bail. If the proof is evident or if the presumption is great that 
the juvenile committed the offense, the magistrate or the court may deny bail:

(a) to a juvenile charged with first-degree murder, second-degree murder, or
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(b) to a juvenile charged with first-degree criminal sexual conduct, or armed 
robbery,

(i) who is likely to flee, or

(ii) who clearly presents a danger to others.

(B) Place of Confinement.

(1) Juvenile Facility. Except as provided in subrule (B)(2) and in MCR 6.907(B), a 
juvenile charged with a crime and not released must be placed in a juvenile facility 
while awaiting trial and, if necessary, sentencing, rather than being placed in a jail or 
similar facility designed and used to incarcerate adult prisoners.

(2) Jailing of Juveniles; Restricted. On motion of a prosecuting attorney or a 
superintendent of a juvenile facility in which the juvenile is detained, the magistrate or 
court may order the juvenile confined in a jail or similar facility designed and used to 
incarcerate adult prisoners upon a showing that

(a) the juvenile's habits or conduct are considered a menace to other juveniles; or

(b) the juvenile may not otherwise be safely detained in a juvenile facility.

(3) Family Division Operated Facility. The juvenile shall not be placed in an 
institution operated by the family division of the circuit court except with the consent 
of the family division or on order of a court as defined in MCR 6.903(C).

(4) Separate Custody of Juvenile. The juvenile in custody or detention must be 
maintained separately from the adult prisoners or adult accused as required by MCL 
764.27a.

(C) Speedy Trial. Within 7 days of the filing of a motion, the court shall release a juvenile 
who has remained in detention while awaiting trial for more than 91 days to answer for the 
specified juvenile violation unless the trial has commenced. In computing the 91-day 
period, the court is to exclude delays as provided in MCR 6.004(C)(1)-(6) and the time 
required to conduct the hearing on the motion.

RULE 6.911 PRELIMINARY EXAMINATION

(A) Waiver. The juvenile may waive a preliminary examination if the juvenile is 
represented by an attorney and the waiver is made and signed by the juvenile in open 
court. The magistrate shall find and place on the record that the waiver was freely, 
understandingly, and voluntarily given.

(B) Transfer to Family Division of Circuit Court. If the magistrate, following preliminary 
examination, finds that there is no probable cause to believe that a specified juvenile 
violation occurred or that there is no probable cause to believe that the juvenile committed 
the specified juvenile violation, but that some other offense occurred that if committed by 
an adult would constitute a crime, and that there is probable cause to believe that the 
juvenile committed that offense, the magistrate shall transfer the matter to the family 
division of the circuit court in the county where the offense is alleged to have been 
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committed for further proceedings. If the court transfers the matter to the family division, 
a transcript of the preliminary examination shall be sent to the family division without 
charge upon request.

RULE 6.931 JUVENILE SENTENCING HEARING

(A) General. If the juvenile has been convicted of an offense listed in MCL 769.1(1)(a)-
(l), the court must sentence the juvenile in the same manner as an adult. Unless a juvenile 
is required to be sentenced in the same manner as an adult, a judge of a court having 
jurisdiction over a juvenile shall conduct a juvenile sentencing hearing unless the hearing 
is waived as provided in subrule (B). At the conclusion of the juvenile sentencing hearing, 
the court shall determine whether to impose a sentence against the juvenile as though an 
adult offender or whether to place the juvenile on juvenile probation and commit the 
juvenile to state wardship pursuant to MCL 769.1b.

(B) No Juvenile Sentencing Hearing; Consent. The court need not conduct a juvenile 
sentencing hearing if the prosecuting attorney, the juvenile, and the attorney for the 
juvenile, consent that it is not in the best interest of the public to sentence the juvenile as 
though an adult offender. If the juvenile sentence hearing is waived, the court shall not 
impose a sentence as provided by law for an adult offender. The court must place the 
juvenile on juvenile probation and commit the juvenile to state wardship.

(C) Notice of Juvenile Sentencing Hearing Following Verdict. If a juvenile sentencing 
hearing is required, the prosecuting attorney, the juvenile, and the attorney for the juvenile 
must be advised on the record immediately following conviction of the juvenile by a 
guilty plea or verdict of guilty that a hearing will be conducted at sentencing, unless 
waived, to determine whether to sentence the juvenile as an adult or to place the juvenile 
on juvenile probation and commit the juvenile to state wardship as though a delinquent. 
The court may announce the scheduled date of the hearing. On request, the court shall 
notify the victim of the juvenile sentencing hearing.

(D) Review of Reports. The court must give the prosecuting attorney, the juvenile, and the 
attorney for the juvenile, an opportunity to review the presentence report and the social 
report before the juvenile sentencing hearing. The court may exempt information from the 
reports as provided in MCL 771.14 and 771.14a.

(E) Juvenile Sentencing Hearing Procedure.

(1) Evidence. At the juvenile sentencing hearing all relevant and material evidence 
may be received by the court and relied upon to the extent of its probative value, even 
though such evidence may not be admissible at trial. The rules of evidence do not 
apply. The court shall receive and consider the presentence report prepared by the 
probation officer and the social report prepared by the Department of Health and 
Human Services.

(2) Standard of Proof. The court must sentence the juvenile in the same manner as an 
adult unless the court determines by a preponderance of the evidence, except as 
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provided in subrule (3)(c), that the best interests of the public would be served by 
placing the juvenile on probation and committing the juvenile to state wardship.

(3) Alternative Sentences For Juveniles Convicted of Certain Controlled Substance 
Offenses. If a juvenile is convicted of a violation or conspiracy to commit a violation 
of MCL 333.7403(2)(a)(i), the court shall determine whether the best interests of the 
public would be served by:

(a) imposing the sentence provided by law for an adult offender;

(b) placing the individual on probation and committing the individual to a state 
institution or agency as provided in MCL 769.1(3); or

(c) imposing a sentence of imprisonment for any term of years, but not less than 25 
years, if the court determines by clear and convincing evidence that such a 
sentence would serve the best interests of the public.

In making its determination, the court shall use the criteria set forth in subrule (4). 

(4) Criteria. The court shall consider the following criteria in determining whether to 
sentence the juvenile as though an adult offender or whether to place the juvenile on 
juvenile probation and commit the juvenile to state wardship, giving more weight to 
the seriousness of the alleged offense and the juvenile's prior record of delinquency: 

(a) the seriousness of the alleged offense in terms of community protection, 
including, but not limited to, the existence of any aggravating factors recognized 
by the sentencing guidelines, the use of a firearm or other dangerous weapon, and 
the impact on any victim;

(b) the culpability of the juvenile in committing the alleged offense, including, but 
not limited to, the level of the juvenile's participation in planning and carrying out 
the offense and the existence of any aggravating or mitigating factors recognized 
by the sentencing guidelines;

(c) the juvenile's prior record of delinquency, including, but not limited to, any 
record of detention, any police record, any school record, or any other evidence 
indicating prior delinquent behavior;

(d) the juvenile's programming history, including, but not limited to, the juvenile's 
past willingness to participate meaningfully in available programming;

(e) the adequacy of the punishment or programming available in the juvenile 
justice system; and

(f) the dispositional options available for the juvenile.

(5) Findings. The court must make findings of fact and conclusions of law forming the 
basis for the juvenile probation and commitment decision or the decision to sentence 
the juvenile as though an adult offender. The findings and conclusions may be 
incorporated in a written opinion or stated on the record.
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(F) Postjudgment Procedure; Juvenile Probation and Commitment to State Wardship. If 
the court retains jurisdiction over the juvenile, places the juvenile on juvenile probation, 
and commits the juvenile to state wardship, the court shall comply with subrules (1)-(11):

(1) The court shall enter a judgment that includes a provision for reimbursement by the 
juvenile or those responsible for the juvenile's support, or both, for the cost of care and 
services pursuant to MCL 769.1(7). An order assessing such cost against a person 
responsible for the support of the juvenile shall not be binding on the person, unless an 
opportunity for a hearing has been given and until a copy of the order is served on the 
person, personally or by first class mail to the person's last known address.

(2) The court shall advise the juvenile at sentencing that if the juvenile, while on 
juvenile probation, is convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by more than 
one year's imprisonment, the court must revoke juvenile probation and sentence the 
juvenile to a term of years in prison not to exceed the penalty that might have been 
imposed for the offense for which the juvenile was originally convicted.

(3) The court shall assure that the juvenile receives a copy of the social report.

(4) The court shall send a copy of the order and a copy of the written opinion or 
transcript of the findings and conclusions of law to the Department of Health and 
Human Services.

(5) The court shall not place the juvenile on deferred sentencing, as provided in MCL 
771.1(2).

(6) The court shall not place the juvenile on life probation for conviction of a 
controlled substance violation, as set forth in MCL 771.1(4).

(7) The five-year limit on the term of probation for an adult felony offender shall not 
apply.

(8) The court shall not require as a condition of juvenile probation that the juvenile 
report to a department of corrections probation officer.

(9) The court shall not, as a condition of juvenile probation, impose jail time against 
the juvenile except as provided in MCR 6.933(G)(2).

(10) The court shall not commit the juvenile to the Department of Corrections for 
failing to comply with a restitution order.

(11) The court shall not place the juvenile in a Department of Corrections camp for 
one year, as otherwise provided in MCL 771.3a(1).

RULE 6.933 JUVENILE PROBATION REVOCATION

(A) Issuance of Summons; Warrant. When a juvenile, who was placed on juvenile 
probation and committed to an institution as a state ward, is alleged to have violated 
juvenile probation, on finding probable cause to believe that a probationer has violated a 
condition of probation, the court may

(1) issue a summons in accordance with MCR 6.102 for the probationer to appear for 
arraignment on the alleged violation, or   
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(2) issue a warrant for the arrest of the probationer.  

An arrested probationer must promptly be brought before the court for arraignment on the 
alleged violation.   

(B) Arraignment on the Charge. At the arraignment on the alleged probation violation, the 
court must   

(1) ensure that the probationer receives written notice of the alleged violation,   

(2) advise the probationer that   

(a) the probationer has a right to contest the charge at a hearing, and   

(b) the probationer is entitled to a lawyer’s assistance at the hearing and at all 
subsequent court proceedings, and that the court will appoint a lawyer at public 
expense if the probationer wants one and is financially unable to retain one,   

(3) if requested and appropriate, appoint a lawyer,   

(4) determine what form of release, if any, is appropriate, and   

(5) subject to subrule (C), set a reasonably prompt hearing date or postpone the 
hearing.

(C) Scheduling or Postponement of Hearing. The hearing of a probationer being held in 
custody for an alleged probation violation must be held within 14 days after the 
arraignment or the court must order the probationer released from that custody pending 
the hearing. If the alleged violation is based on a criminal offense that is a basis for a 
separate criminal prosecution, the court may postpone the hearing for the outcome of that 
prosecution.   

(D) Continuing Duty to Advise of Right to Assistance of Lawyer. Even though a 
probationer charged with probation violation has waived the assistance of a lawyer, 13 at 
each subsequent proceeding the court must comply with the advice and waiver procedure 
in MCR 6.005(E).  

(E) The Violation Hearing.  

(1) Conduct of the Hearing. The evidence against the probationer must be disclosed to 
the probationer. The probationer has the right to be present at the hearing, to present 
evidence, and to examine and cross-examine witnesses. The court may consider only 
evidence that is relevant to the violation alleged, but it need not apply the rules of 
evidence except those pertaining to privileges. The state has the burden of proving a 
violation by a preponderance of the evidence.  

(2) Judicial Findings. At the conclusion of the hearing, the court must make findings in 
accordance with MCR 6.403.  



Chapter 6. Criminal Procedure Page 653   Updated April 26, 2024 

(F) Pleas of Guilty. The probationer may, at the arraignment or afterward, plead guilty to 
the violation. Before accepting a guilty plea, the court, speaking directly to the probationer 
and receiving the probationer’s response, must 

(1) advise the probationer that by pleading guilty the probationer is giving up the right 
to a contested hearing and, if the probationer is proceeding without legal 
representation, the right to a lawyer’s assistance as set forth in subrule (B)(2)(b), 

(2) advise the probationer of the maximum possible jail or prison sentence for the 
offense,

(3) ascertain that the plea is understandingly, voluntarily, and accurately made, and  

(4) establish factual support for a finding that the probationer is guilty of the alleged 
violation. 

(G) Disposition in General.

(1) Certain Criminal Offense Violations.

(a) If the court finds that the juvenile has violated juvenile probation by being 
convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by more than one year's 
imprisonment, the court must revoke the probation of the juvenile and order the 
juvenile committed to the Department of Corrections for a term of years not to 
exceed the penalty that could have been imposed for the offense that led to the 
probation. The court in imposing sentence shall grant credit against the sentence as 
required by law.

(b) The court may not revoke probation and impose sentence under subrule (G)(1) 
unless at the original sentencing the court gave the advice, as required by MCR 
6.931(F)(2), that subsequent conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable 
by more than one year's imprisonment would result in the revocation of juvenile 
probation and in the imposition of a sentence of imprisonment.

(2) Other Violations. If the court finds that the juvenile has violated juvenile 
probation, other than as provided in subrule (G)(1), the court may order the juvenile 
committed to the Department of Corrections as provided in subrule (G)(1), or may 
order the juvenile continued on juvenile probation and under state wardship, and may 
order any of the following:

(a) a change of placement,

(b) restitution,

(c) community service,

(d) substance abuse counseling,

(e) mental health counseling,

(f) participation in a vocational-technical education program,

(g) incarceration in a county jail for not more than 30 days, and

(h) any other participation or performance as the court considers necessary.



Chapter 6. Criminal Procedure Page 654   Updated April 26, 2024 

If the court determines to place the juvenile in jail for up to 30 days, and the 
juvenile is under 18 years of age, the juvenile must be placed separately from adult 
prisoners as required by law.

(3) If the court revokes juvenile probation pursuant to subrule (G)(1), the court must 
receive an updated presentence report and comply with MCR 6.445(G) before it 
imposes a prison sentence on the juvenile.

(H) Disposition Regarding Specific Underlying Offenses.

(1) Controlled Substance Violation Punishable by Mandatory Nonparolable Life 
Sentence For Adults. A juvenile who was placed on probation and committed to state 
wardship for manufacture, delivery, or possession with the intent to deliver 650 
grams(1,000 grams beginning March 1, 2003) or more of a controlled substance, MCL 
333.7401(2)(a)(i), may be resentenced only to a term of years following mandatory 
revocation of probation for commission of a subsequent felony or a misdemeanor 
punishable by more than one year of imprisonment.

(2) First-Degree Murder. A juvenile convicted of first-degree murder who violates 
juvenile probation by being convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor punishable by 
more than one year's imprisonment may only be sentenced to a term of years, not to 
nonparolable life.

(I) Review. The juvenile may appeal as of right from the imposition of a sentence of 
incarceration after a finding of juvenile probation violation.

(J) Determination of Ability to Pay. A juvenile and/or parent shall not be detained or 
incarcerated for the nonpayment of court-ordered financial obligations as ordered by the 
court, unless the court determines that the juvenile and/or parent has the resources to pay 
and has not made a good-faith effort to do so.

RULE 6.935 PROGRESS REVIEW OF COURT-COMMITTED JUVENILES

(A) General. When a juvenile is placed on probation and committed to a state institution or 
agency, the court retains jurisdiction over the juvenile while the juvenile is on probation 
and committed to that state institution or agency. The court shall review the progress of a 
juvenile it has placed on juvenile probation and committed to state wardship.

(B) Time. 

(1) Semiannual Progress Reviews. The court must conduct a progress review no later 
than 182 days after the entry of the order placing the juvenile on juvenile probation 
and committing the juvenile to state wardship. A review shall be made semiannually 
thereafter as long as the juvenile remains in state wardship.

(2) Annual Review. The court shall conduct an annual review of the services being 
provided to the juvenile, the juvenile's placement, and the juvenile's progress in that 
placement.
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(C) Progress Review Report. In conducting these reviews, the court shall examine the 
progress review report prepared by the Department of Health and Human Services, 
covering placement and services being provided the juvenile and the progress of the 
juvenile, and the court shall also examine the juvenile's annual report prepared under MCL 
803.223 (§ 3 of the Juvenile Facilities Act). The court may order changes in the juvenile's 
placement or treatment plan including, but not limited to, committing the juvenile to the 
jurisdiction of the Department of Corrections, on the basis of the review.

(D) Hearings for Progress and Annual Reviews. Unless the court orders a more restrictive 
placement or treatment plan, there shall be no requirement that the court hold a hearing 
when conducting a progress review for a court-committed juvenile pursuant to MCR 
6.935(B). However, the court may not order a more physically restrictive change in the 
level of placement of the juvenile or order more restrictive treatment absent a hearing as 
provided in MCR 6.937.

RULE 6.937 COMMITMENT REVIEW HEARING

(A) Required Hearing Before Age 19 for Court-Committed Juveniles. The court shall 
schedule and hold, unless adjourned for good cause, a commitment review hearing as 
nearly as possible to, but before, the juvenile's 19th birthday. 

(1) Notice. The Department of Health and Human Services or agency, facility, or 
institution to which the juvenile is committed, shall advise the court at least 91 days 
before the juvenile attains age 19 of the need to schedule a commitment review 
hearing. Notice of the hearing must be given to the prosecuting attorney, the agency or 
the superintendent of the facility to which the juvenile has been committed, the 
juvenile, and the parent of the juvenile if the parent’s address or whereabouts are 
known, at least 14 days before the hearing. Notice must clearly indicate that the court 
may extend jurisdiction over the juvenile until the age of 21. The notice shall include 
advice to the juvenile and the parent of the juvenile that the juvenile has the right to an 
attorney.

(2) Appointment of an Attorney. The local funding unit’s appointing authority must 
appoint an attorney to represent the juvenile at the hearing unless an attorney has been 
retained or is waived pursuant to MCR 6.905(C).

(3) Reports. The state institution or agency charged with the care of the juvenile must 
prepare a commitment report as required by MCL 769.1b(4) and 803.225(1). The 
commitment report must contain all of the following, as required by MCL 
803.225(1)(a)-(d): 

(a) the services and programs currently being utilized by, or offered to, the juvenile 
and the juvenile's participation in those services and programs;

(b) where the juvenile currently resides and the juvenile's behavior in the current 
placement;

(c) the juvenile's efforts toward rehabilitation; and

(d) recommendations for the juvenile's release or continued custody.
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The report created pursuant to MCL 803.223 for the purpose of annual reviews 
may be combined with a commitment review report.

(4) Findings; Criteria. Before the court continues the jurisdiction over the juvenile 
until the age of 21, the prosecutor must demonstrate by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the juvenile has not been rehabilitated or that the juvenile presents a 
serious risk to public safety. The rules of evidence do not apply. In making the 
determination, the court must consider the following factors:

(a) the extent and nature of the juvenile's participation in education, counseling, or 
work programs;

(b) the juvenile's willingness to accept responsibility for prior behavior;

(c) the juvenile's behavior in the current placement;

(d) the prior record and character of the juvenile and physical and mental maturity;

(e) the juvenile's potential for violent conduct as demonstrated by prior behavior;

(f) the recommendations of the state institution or agency charged with the 
juvenile's care for the juvenile's release or continued custody; and

(g) other information the prosecuting attorney or the juvenile may submit.

(B) Other Commitment Review Hearings. The court, on motion of the institution, agency, 
or facility to which the juvenile is committed, may release a juvenile at any time upon a 
showing by a preponderance of evidence that the juvenile has been rehabilitated and is not 
a risk to public safety. The notice provision in subrule (A), other than the requirement that 
the court clearly indicate that it may extend jurisdiction over the juvenile until the age of 
21, and the criteria in subrule (A) shall apply. The rules of evidence shall not apply. The 
local funding unit’s appointing authority must appoint an attorney to represent the juvenile 
at the hearing unless an attorney has been retained or the right to counsel waived. The 
court, upon notice and opportunity to be heard as provided in this rule, may also move the 
juvenile to a more restrictive placement or treatment program.

RULE 6.938 FINAL REVIEW HEARINGS

(A) General. The court must conduct a final review of the juvenile's probation and 
commitment not less than 3 months before the end of the period that the juvenile is on 
probation and committed to the state institution or agency. If the court determines at this 
review that the best interests of the public would be served by imposing any other 
sentence provided by law for an adult offender, the court may impose that sentence.

(B) Notice Requirements. Not less than 14 days before a final review hearing is to be 
conducted, the prosecuting attorney, juvenile, and, if addresses are known, the juvenile's 
parents or guardian must be notified. The notice must state that the court may impose a 
sentence upon the juvenile and must advise the juvenile and the juvenile's parent or 
guardian of the right to legal counsel.
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(C) Appointment of Counsel. If an attorney has not been retained or appointed to represent 
the juvenile, the local funding unit’s appointing authority must appoint an attorney and the 
court may assess the cost of providing an attorney as costs against the juvenile or those 
responsible for the juvenile's support, or both, if the persons to be assessed are financially 
able to comply.

(D) Criteria. In determining whether the best interests of the public would be served by 
imposing sentence, the court shall consider the following:

(1) the extent and nature of the juvenile's participation in education, counseling, or 
work programs;

(2) the juvenile's willingness to accept responsibility for prior behavior;

(3) the juvenile's behavior in the current placement;

(4) the prior record and character of the juvenile and the juvenile's physical and mental 
maturity;

(5) the juvenile's potential for violent conduct as demonstrated by prior behavior;

(6) the recommendations of the state institution or agency charged with the juvenile's 
care for the juvenile's release or continued custody;

(7) the effect of treatment on the juvenile's rehabilitation;

(8) whether the juvenile is likely to be dangerous to the public if released;

(9) the best interests of the public welfare and the protection of public security; and

(10) other information the prosecuting attorney or juvenile may submit.

(E) Credit for Time Served on Probation. If a sentence is imposed, the juvenile must 
receive credit for the period of time served on probation and committed to a state agency 
or institution.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 7. Appellate Rules
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 7.100 APPEALS TO CIRCUIT COURT

RULE 7.101 SCOPE OF RULES

(A)Scope of Rules. The rules in this subchapter govern appeals to the circuit court.

(B)Rules Do Not Affect Jurisdiction. These rules do not restrict or enlarge the appellate 
jurisdiction of the circuit court. 

RULE 7.102 DEFINITIONS

For purposes of this subchapter:

(1)“agency” means any governmental entity other than a “trial court,” the decisions of 
which are subject to appellate review in the circuit court;

(2)“appeal” means judicial review by the circuit court of a judgment, order, or decision of 
a “trial court” or “agency,” even if the statute or constitutional provision authorizing 
circuit court appellate review uses a term other than “appeal.”  “Appeal” does not include 
actions commenced under the Freedom of Information Act, MCL 15.231 et seq., 
proceedings described in MCR 3.302 through MCR 3.306, and motions filed under MCR 
6.110(H);

(3)“appeal fee” means the fee required to be paid to the circuit court upon filing an appeal 
and any fee required to be paid to the “trial court” or “agency” in conjunction with the 
appeal;

(4)“clerk” means clerk of the court;

(5)“court” means the circuit court;

(6)“date of filing” means the date of receipt of a document by the “clerk”;

(7)“entry” is as defined in MCR 7.204(A);

(8)“final judgment” or “final order” is as defined in MCR 7.202(6); and

(9)“trial court” means the district or municipal court from which the “appeal” is taken.
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RULE 7.103 APPELLATE JURISDICTION OF THE CIRCUIT COURT

(A) Appeal of Right. The circuit court has jurisdiction of an appeal of right filed by an 
aggrieved party from the following:

(1) a final judgment or final order of a district or municipal court, except a judgment 
based on a plea of guilty or nolo contendere;

(2) a final order or decision of an agency governed by the Administrative Procedures 
Act, MCL 24.201 et seq.; and

(3) a final order or decision of an agency from which an appeal of right to the circuit 
court is provided by law.

(B) Appeal by Leave. The circuit court may grant leave to appeal from:

(1) a judgment or order of a trial court when

(a) no appeal of right exists, or

(b) an appeal of right could have been taken but was not timely filed;

(2) a final order or decision of an agency from which an appeal by leave to the circuit 
court is provided by law;

(3) an interlocutory order or decision of an agency if an appeal of right would have 
been available for a final order or decision and if waiting to appeal of right would not 
be an adequate remedy; 

(4) a final order or decision of an agency if an appeal of right was not timely filed and 
a statute authorizes a late appeal; and

(5) a decision of the Michigan Parole Board to grant parole.

RULE 7.104 FILING APPEAL OF RIGHT

(A) Time Requirements. The time limit for an appeal of right is jurisdictional. See MCR 
7.103(A). Time is computed as provided in MCR 1.108. An appeal of right to the circuit 
court must be taken within: 

(1) 21 days or the time allowed by statute after entry of the judgment, order, or 
decision appealed, or

(2) 21 days after the entry of an order denying a motion for new trial, a motion for 
rehearing or reconsideration, or a motion for other relief from the judgment, order, or 
decision, if the motion was filed within:

(a) the initial 21-day period, or

(b) further time the trial court or agency may have allowed during that 21-day  
period.

(3) If a criminal defendant requests appointment of an attorney within 21 days after 
entry of the judgment of sentence, an appeal of right must be taken within 21 days 
after entry of an order:
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(a) appointing or denying the appointment of an attorney, or

(b) denying a timely filed motion described in subrule (2).

(B) Manner of Filing. To vest the circuit court with jurisdiction in an appeal of right, an 
appellant must file with the clerk of the circuit court within the time for taking an appeal:

(1) the claim of appeal, and

(2) the circuit court’s appeal fee, unless the appellant is indigent.

(C) Claim of Appeal.

(1) Form.

(a) The caption of a claim of appeal shall comply with MCR 1.109(D)(1).

(b) In an appeal from a trial court, the claim of appeal should name the parties in 
the same order as they appear in the trial court, with the added designation 
“appellant” or “appellee.”

(2) Content. The claim should state:

“[name of appellant(s)] claim[s] an appeal from the [judgment or order] entered on 
[date] in the [name of trial court] by [name of judge].”

(3) Signature. The appellant or the appellant’s attorney must date and sign the claim of 
appeal.

(D) Other Documents. The appellant shall file the following documents with the claim of 
appeal:

(1) a copy of the judgment, order, or decision appealed;

(2) a copy of the certificate of the court reporter or recorder or a statement that the 
transcript has been ordered, pursuant to MCR 7.109(B)(3)(a). If there is nothing to be 
transcribed, the appellant must file a statement so indicating; 

(3) in an agency appeal, a copy of a written request or order for a certified copy of the 
record to be sent to the circuit court;

(4) if the appellant has filed a bond, a true copy of the bond;

(5) proof that money, property, or documents have been delivered or deposited as 
required by law;

(6) a copy of the register of actions, if any;

(7) proof that the appeal fee of the trial court or agency has been tendered;

(8) anything else required by law to be filed; and

(9) proof that a copy of the claim of appeal and other documents required by this 
subrule were served on all parties, the trial court or agency, and any other person or 
officer entitled by law to notice of the appeal.
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(E) Service Requirements in Trial Court or Agency. Within the time for taking the appeal, 
the appellant shall serve on the trial court or agency from which the appeal is taken: 

(1) a copy of the claim of appeal;

(2) any fee required by law;

(3) any bond required by law as a condition for taking the appeal;

(4) in an agency appeal, a copy of a written request for a certified copy of the record to 
be sent to the circuit court; and

(5) unless there is nothing to be transcribed, the certificate of the court reporter or 
recorder or a statement that the transcript has been ordered and payment for it made or 
secured. If a statement is filed, the certificate of the court reporter or recorder must be 
filed within 7 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court.

(F) Appearance. Within 14 days after being served with the claim of appeal, the appellee 
shall file an appearance in the circuit court identifying the individual appellate attorneys. 
An appellee who does not file an appearance is not entitled to notice of further 
proceedings. 

RULE 7.105 APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL

(A) Time Requirements. An application for leave to appeal must be filed with the clerk of 
the circuit court within:

(1) 21 days or the time allowed by statute after entry of the judgment, order, or 
decision appealed, or

(2) 21 days after the entry of an order denying a motion for new trial, a motion for 
rehearing or reconsideration, or a motion for other relief from the judgment, order, or 
decision if the motion was filed within: 

(a) the initial 21-day period, or

(b) such further time as the trial court or agency may have allowed during that 21-
day period.

(3) If a criminal defendant, who has pled guilty or nolo contendere, requests 
appointment of an attorney within 21 days after entry of the judgment of sentence, an 
application must be filed within 21 days after entry of an order: 

(a) appointing or denying the appointment of an attorney, or

(b) denying a timely filed motion described in subrule (2). 

(B) Manner of Filing. To apply for leave to appeal, the appellant must file:

(1) a signed application for leave to appeal:

(a) stating the date and nature of the judgment, order, or decision appealed;

(b) concisely reciting the appellant’s allegations of error and the relief sought;
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(c) setting forth a concise argument in support of the appellant’s position on each 
issue that conforms with MCR 7.212(C); and

(d) if the order appealed is interlocutory, setting forth facts showing how the 
appellant would suffer substantial harm by awaiting final judgment before taking 
an appeal;

(2) a copy of the judgment, order, or decision appealed and the opinion or findings of 
the trial court or agency;

(3) if the appeal is from a trial court, a copy of the register of actions;

(4) if the appeal is from an agency, a copy of the written request or order for a certified 
copy of the record to be sent to the circuit court;

(5) unless waived by stipulation of the parties or trial court order, a copy of certain 
transcripts as follows:

(a) in an appeal relating to an evidentiary hearing in a civil or criminal case, the 
transcript of the evidentiary hearing, including the opinion or findings of the court 
that conducted the hearing;

(b) in an appeal challenging jury instructions, the transcript of the entire charge to 
the jury;

(c) in an appeal from a judgment in a criminal case entered pursuant to a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere, the transcripts of the plea and sentence;

(d) in an appeal from an order granting or denying a new trial, the portion of the 
transcript permitting the circuit court to determine whether the trial court’s 
decision on the motion was for a legally recognized reason based on arguable 
support in the record;

(e) in an appeal raising a sentencing issue, the transcript of the sentencing 
proceeding and the transcript of any hearing on a motion related to sentencing;

(f) in an appeal raising any other issue, the portion of the transcript substantiating 
the existence of the issue, objections or lack thereof, arguments of counsel, and 
any comment or ruling of the trial judge; or

(g) if the transcript is not yet available, the appellant must file a copy of the 
certificate of the court reporter or recorder or a statement that a transcript has been 
ordered, in which case the certificate of the court reporter or recorder must be filed 
within 7 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court. If there is nothing 
to be transcribed, the appellant must file a statement so indicating within 7 days 
after the transcript is ordered;

(6) proof that a copy of the application was served on all other parties and that a notice 
of the filing of the application was filed with the trial court or agency. If service cannot 
be reasonably accomplished, the appellant may ask the circuit court to prescribe 
service under MCR 2.107(E); and

(7) the circuit court’s appeal fee, unless the appellant is indigent. 
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(C) Answer. Any other party in the case may file, within 21 days of service of the 
application:

(1) a signed answer to the application conforming to MCR 7.212(D), and

(2) proof that a copy was served on all other parties. 

(D) Reply. Within 7 days after service of the answer, the appellant may file a reply brief 
that conforms to MCR 7.212.

(E) Decision

(1) There is no oral argument unless directed by the court.

(2) Absent good cause, the court shall decide the application within 35 days of the 
filing date.

(3) The court may grant or deny leave to appeal or grant other relief. The court shall 
promptly serve a copy of the order on the parties and the trial court or agency.

(4) If an application is granted, MCR 7.104 governs further proceedings, except that:

(a) the filing of a claim of appeal is not required,

(b) the appellant must complete the acts required by MCR 7.104(D) and (E) within 
7 days after the entry of the order granting leave to appeal, and 

(c) an appellee may file a claim of cross appeal within 14 days after service of the 
order granting leave to appeal.

(5) Unless otherwise ordered, the appeal is limited to the issues raised in the 
application.

(F) Immediate Consideration. When an appellant requires a decision on an application in 
fewer than 35 days, the appellant must file a motion for immediate consideration concisely 
stating why an immediate decision is required.

(G) Late Appeal.

(1) When an appeal of right or an application for leave was not timely filed, the 
appellant may file an application as prescribed under subrule (B) accompanied by a 
statement of facts explaining the delay. The answer may challenge the claimed reasons 
for the delay. The circuit court may consider the length of and the reasons for the delay 
in deciding whether to grant the application. 

(2) A late application may not be filed more than 6 months after entry of:

(a) the order, judgment, or decision appealed;

(b) an order denying a motion for a new trial, a motion for rehearing or 
reconsideration, or a motion for other relief from the judgment, order, or decision, 
if the motion was timely filed; or 

(c) an order denying a motion for new trial under MCR 6.610(H) or a motion to 
withdraw a plea under MCR 6.610(F)(8). 
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RULE 7.106 CROSS APPEALS

(A) Right of Cross Appeal.

(1) Any appellee may file a cross appeal when:

(a) an appeal of right is filed, or

(b) the circuit court grants leave to appeal.

(2) If there is more than one plaintiff or defendant in a civil action and one party 
appeals, any other party may file a cross appeal against all or any of the other parties as 
well as against the party who first appealed. If the cross appeal operates against a party 
not affected by the first appeal or in a manner different from the first appeal, that party 
may file a further cross appeal.

(B) Time Requirements. A cross appeal must be filed with the clerk of the circuit court 
within 14 days after the claim of appeal is served on the cross appellant or the order 
granting leave to appeal is entered.

(C) Manner of Filing. To file a cross appeal, the cross appellant must file:

(1) a claim of cross appeal in the form required by MCR 7.104(C);

(2) any required fee;

(3) a copy of the judgment, order, or decision from which the cross appeal is taken; 
and

(4) proof that a copy of the claim of cross appeal was served on all parties.

(D) Additional Requirements. The cross appellant must perform the steps required by 
MCR 7.104(D) and (E) unless compliance with this subrule would duplicate the 
appellant’s filing of the same document. The cross appellant is not required to order a 
transcript or file a court reporter’s certificate, unless the initial appeal is dismissed. 

(E) Dismissed Appeal. If the initial appeal is dismissed, the cross appeal may continue. If 
there is a transcript to be produced and the certificate of the court reporter or recorder has 
not been filed, the cross appellant must file the certificate within 14 days after the order 
dismissing the appeal. If there is nothing to be transcribed, the cross appellant must file a 
statement so indicating within 14 days after the order dismissing the appeal.

(F) Delayed Cross Appeal. A party seeking leave to take a delayed cross appeal must 
proceed under MCR 7.105(F).

RULE 7.107 AUTHORITY OF TRIAL COURT OR AGENCY

After a claim of appeal is filed or leave to appeal is granted, jurisdiction vests in the circuit 
court. The trial court or agency may not set aside or amend the judgment, order, or decision 
appealed except by circuit court order or as otherwise provided by law. In all other respects, the 
authority of the trial court or agency is governed by MCR 7.208(C) through (J). 
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RULE 7.108 STAY OF PROCEEDINGS; BOND; REVIEW

(A) General Provisions.

(1) A motion for bond or a stay pending appeal may not be filed in the circuit court 
unless such a motion was decided by the trial court. The motion must include a copy of 
the trial court’s opinion and order and a copy of the transcript of the hearing, unless its 
production has been waived. 

(2) Except as otherwise provided by rule or law, the circuit court may amend the 
amount of bond, order an additional or different bond and set the amount, or require 
different or additional sureties. The circuit court may also remand a bond matter to the 
trial court. The circuit court may grant a stay of proceedings in the trial court or stay 
the effect or enforcement of any judgment or order of a trial court on terms the circuit 
court deems just.

(B) Civil Actions.

(1) Automatic Stay. Unless otherwise provided by rule, statute, or court order, an 
execution may not issue and proceedings may not be taken to enforce an order or 
judgment until expiration of the time for taking an appeal of right.

(2) Effect of Appeal. An appeal does not stay execution unless:

(a) the appellant files a bond in an amount not less than 1-1/4 times the amount of 
the judgment or order being enforced, including any costs, interest, attorney fees, 
and sanctions assessed to date of filing the bond. When the bond is filed, the 
judgment or order shall automatically be stayed pending entry of a final order 
under MCR 7.108(B)(4)(c) to stay enforcement of the judgment even though 
objections to the bond or surety may be filed, or

(b) the trial court grants a stay with or without bond under MCR 3.604(L), MCR 
7.209(E)(2)(b), or MCL 600.2605. The stay order must conform to any condition 
expressly required by the statute authorizing review. 

(3) Bond Form and Content. The bond must:

(a) recite the names and designations of the parties and the judge in the trial court; 
identify the parties for whom and against whom judgment was entered; and state 
the amount of the judgment, including any costs, interest, attorney fees, and 
sanctions assessed; 

(b) contain the promises and conditions that the appellant will:

(i) diligently file and prosecute the appeal to decision taken from the judgment 
or order stayed, and will perform and satisfy the judgment or order stayed if it 
is not set aside or reversed;

(ii) perform or satisfy the judgment or order stayed if the appeal is dismissed;

(iii) pay and satisfy any judgment or order entered and any costs assessed 
against the principal on the bond in the circuit court, Court of Appeals, or 
Supreme Court; and
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(iv) do any other act which is expressly required in the statute authorizing 
appeal or ordered by the court;

(c) be executed by the appellant along with one or more sufficient sureties as 
required by MCR 3.604; and

(d) include the conditions provided in MCR 4.201(O)(4) if the appeal is from a 
judgment for the possession of land.

(4) Notice of Bond; Objections; Stay Orders.

(a) A copy of a bond and any accompanying power of attorney or affidavit must be 
promptly served on all parties in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107. At the 
same time, the party seeking the stay shall file a proposed stay order pursuant to 
MCR 2.602(B)(3). Proof of service must be filed promptly with the trial court in 
which the bond has been filed.

(b) Objections shall be filed and served within 7 days after service of the notice of 
bond. Objections to the amount of the bond are governed by MCR 2.602(B)(3). 
Objections to the surety are governed by MCR 3.604(E). 

(c) If no timely objections to the bond, surety, or stay order are filed, the trial court 
shall promptly enter the order staying enforcement of the judgment or order 
pending all appeals. Unless otherwise ordered, the stay shall continue until 
jurisdiction is again vested in the trial court or until further order of an appellate 
court.

(d) Any stay order must be promptly served on all parties in the manner prescribed 
in MCR 2.107. Proof of service must be filed promptly with the trial court.

(e) All hearings under this rule may be held by telephone conference as provided 
in MCR 2.402.

(5) For good cause shown, the trial court may set the amount of the bond in a greater or 
lesser amount adequate to protect the interests of the parties.

(6) A bond may be secured under MCL 600.2631.

(7) If an execution has issued, it is suspended by giving notice of filing of the bond to 
the officer holding the execution.

(C) Criminal Cases.

(1) Immediate Effect. A criminal judgment may be executed immediately even though 
the time for taking an appeal has not elapsed. The granting of bond and its amount are 
within the discretion of the trial court, subject to the applicable laws and rules on 
bonds pending appeals in criminal cases. 

(2) Bond Form and Content. If a bond is granted, the defendant must promise in 
writing:

(a) to prosecute the appeal to decision;



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 667  Updated April 26, 2024 

(b) if the sentence is one of incarceration, to surrender immediately to the county 
sheriff or as otherwise directed, if the judgment of sentence is affirmed on appeal 
or if the appeal is dismissed;

(c) if the sentence is other than one of incarceration, to perform and comply with 
the judgment of sentence if it is affirmed on appeal or if the appeal is dismissed;

(d) to appear in the trial court if the case is remanded for retrial or further 
proceedings or if a conviction is reversed and retrial is allowed;

(e) to remain in Michigan unless the court gives written approval to leave;

(f) to notify the trial court clerk in writing of a change of address; and

(g) to comply with any other conditions imposed by law or the court.

(3) Notice of Bond; Objections. A criminal defendant filing a bond after conviction 
shall give notice to the prosecuting attorney of the time and place the bond will be 
filed. The bond is subject to the objection procedure provided in MCR 3.604.

(D) Civil Infractions. An appeal bond and stay in a civil infraction proceeding is governed 
by MCR 4.101(H)(1).

RULE 7.109 RECORD ON APPEAL

(A) Content of Record. Appeals to the circuit court are heard on the original record.

(1) Appeal From Trial Court. The record is as defined in MCR 7.210(A)(1). 

(2) Appeal From Agency. The record is as defined in MCR 7.210(A)(2).

(3) Excluded Evidence. The record on appeal must include the substance of the 
excluded evidence or the transcript of proceedings in the trial court or agency 
excluding it. Excluded exhibits must be maintained by the party offering them. 

(4) Stipulations. The parties may stipulate in writing regarding any matters relevant to 
the trial court or agency record if the stipulation is made a part of the record on appeal 
and sent to the circuit court.

(B) Transcript.

(1) Appellant’s Duties; Orders; Stipulations.

(a) The appellant is responsible for securing the filing of the transcript as provided 
in this rule. Unless otherwise provided by circuit court order or this subrule, the 
appellant shall order the full transcript of testimony and other proceedings in the 
trial court or agency. Under MCR 7.104(D)(2), a party must serve a copy of any 
request for transcript preparation on the opposing party and file a copy with the 
circuit court. 

(b) On the appellant’s motion, with notice to the appellee, the trial court or agency 
may order that no transcript or some portion less than the full transcript be 
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included in the record on appeal. The motion must be filed within the time required 
for filing an appeal, and, if the motion is granted, the appellee may file any 
portions of the transcript omitted by the appellant. 

(c) The parties may stipulate that no transcript or some portion less than the full 
transcript be filed. 

(d) The parties may agree on a statement of facts without procuring the transcript 
and the statement signed by the parties may be filed with the trial court or agency 
and sent as the record of testimony in the action. 

(2) Transcript Unavailable. When a transcript of the proceedings in the trial court or 
agency cannot be obtained, the appellant shall file a settled statement of facts using the 
procedure in MCR 7.210(B)(2) unless a statute provides otherwise.

(3) Duties of Court Reporter or Recorder.

(a) Certificate. Within 7 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court, 
the court reporter or recorder shall furnish a certificate stating that the transcript 
has been ordered and payment for it made or secured and that it will be filed as 
soon as possible or has already been filed. 

(b) Time for Filing.

(i) The court reporter or recorder shall file the transcript in the trial court or 
agency within:

[A] 14 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court for an 
application for leave to appeal from an order granting or denying a motion 
to suppress evidence in a criminal case;

[B] 28 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court in an appeal 
of a criminal conviction based on a plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill, or 
nolo contendere or an appeal from the dismissal or reduction of a felony 
charge following a preliminary examination; or

[C] 56 days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the court in all other 
cases. 

(ii) The circuit court may extend or shorten these time limits in an appeal 
pending in the court on motion filed by the court reporter or recorder or a party.

(c) Copies. Additional copies of the transcripts required by the appellant may be 
ordered from the court reporter or recorder. Photocopies of the transcript furnished 
by the court reporter or recorder may also be made. 

(d) Form of Transcript.   The transcript must be prepared in the form provided by 
MCR 7.210(B)(3)(d). 

(e) Notice. Immediately after the transcript is filed, the court reporter or recorder 
shall notify the circuit court and all parties that it has been filed and file in the 
circuit court an affidavit of mailing of notice to the parties. 
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(f) Discipline. A court reporter or recorder failing to comply with the requirements 
of these rules is subject to disciplinary action, including punishment for contempt 
of court. 

(g) Responsibility When More Than One Reporter or Recorder. In a case in which 
portions of the transcript must be prepared by more than one reporter or recorder, 
the person who recorded the beginning of the proceeding is responsible for 
ascertaining that the entire transcript has been prepared, filing it, and giving the 
notice required by subrule (B)(3)(e), unless the court has designated another 
person.

(C) Exhibits. Unless otherwise ordered by the circuit court, trial court, or agency, the 
offering parties shall maintain exhibits in their possession.    

(D) Reproduction of Records. The trial court or agency shall procure copies of file 
contents as provided in MCR 7.210(D).

(E) Record on Motion. If, before the complete record on appeal is sent to the circuit court, 
a party files a motion that requires the circuit court to have the record, the trial court or 
agency shall, on request of a party or the circuit court, send the circuit court the documents 
needed.

(F) Service of the Record. Within 14 days after the transcript is filed with the trial court or 
agency, the appellant shall serve a copy of the entire record on appeal, including the 
transcripts and exhibits in his or her possession, on each appellee. However, copies of 
documents the appellee already possesses need not be served. On request, the appellant 
shall make available to the appellee exhibits incapable of being copied. Proof that the 
record was served must be promptly filed with the circuit court and the trial court or 
agency. If the filing of a transcript has been excused as provided in subrule (B), the record 
shall be served within 14 days after the filing of the transcript substitute.

(G) Transmission of Record.

(1) Within 14 days after the complete transcript has been filed or a certified copy of 
the record has been requested, the trial court or agency shall promptly send the record 
to the circuit court, except for those things omitted by written stipulation of the parties. 
The trial court may order removal of exhibits, if any, from the record. Weapons, drugs, 
or money are not to be sent unless requested by the circuit court. The trial court or 
agency shall append a certificate identifying the name of the case, listing the papers 
with reasonable definiteness, and indicating that the required fees have been paid and 
any required bond filed. The record transmitted shall include: 

(a) a register of actions in the case; 

(b) any exhibits on file;

(c) all documents and papers from the court file;

(d) all transcripts;
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(e) all opinions, findings, and orders of the trial court or agency; and

(f) the order or judgment appealed.

(2) Transcripts and all other documents which are part of the record on appeal must be 
attached in one or more file folders or other suitable hard-surfaced binders showing 
the name of the trial court or agency, the title of the case, and the file number.

(3) The circuit court must immediately send written notice to the parties when the 
record is filed in the circuit court.

(H) Return of Record. After deciding the appeal, the circuit court shall promptly send the 
original record with a certified copy of its order and any written opinion

(1) to the clerk of the Court of Appeals if a timely application for leave to appeal is 
filed in the Court of Appeals, or

(2) to the clerk of the trial court or agency from which the record was received if no 
timely application for leave to appeal is filed in the Court of Appeals. 

(I) Notice of Return of Record. The trial court or agency clerk shall promptly notify all 
parties of the return of the record. 

RULE 7.110 MOTIONS IN CIRCUIT COURT APPEALS

Motion practice in a circuit court appeal is governed by MCR 2.119. Motions may include 
special motions identified in MCR 7.211(C). Absent good cause, the court shall decide motions 
within 28 days after the hearing date.

RULE 7.111 BRIEFS

(A)Time for Filing and Service.

(1)Appellant’s Brief.

(a)Within 28 days after the circuit court provides written notice under MCR 
7.109(G)(3) that the record on appeal is filed with the circuit court, the appellant 
must file a brief conforming to MCR 7.212(C) and serve it on all other parties to 
the appeal. The time may be extended for 14 days by stipulation and order. The 
circuit court may extend the time on motion. The filing of a motion does not stay 
the time for filing a brief. 

(b)If an appellant does not file a brief within the time provided by subrule 
(A)(1)(a), the appeal may be considered abandoned, and the circuit court may 
dismiss the appeal on 14 days’ notice to the parties. Compliance with subrule 
(A)(1)(a) after notice is sent does not preclude a dismissal of the appeal unless the 
appellant shows a reasonable excuse for the late filing.

(2)Appellee’s Brief. Within 21 days after the appellant’s brief is served on the 
appellee, the appellee may file a brief. The brief must conform to MCR 7.212(D) and 
must be served on all other parties to the appeal. The time may be extended for 14 days 
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by stipulation and order. The circuit court may extend the time on motion. The filing 
of the motion does not stay the time for filing a brief.

(3)Within 14 days after the appellee’s brief is served on appellant, the appellant may 
file a reply brief. The brief must conform to MCR 7.212(G) and must be served on all 
other parties to the appeal

(4) Briefs in Cross Appeals. The filing and service of briefs by a cross appellant and a 
cross appellee are governed by subrules (A)(1)-(3).

(5)Earlier Filing and Service. For good cause shown, the circuit court may grant a 
motion to shorten the time for filing and serving briefs.

(6)Late Filing. Any party failing to timely file and serve a brief under these rules 
forfeits oral argument. For good cause shown, the court may grant a motion to 
reinstate oral argument.

(B)Length and Form of Briefs. The appellant’s brief must comply with MCR 7.212(B) 
and (C), and the appellee’s brief must comply with MCR 7.212(B) and (D).

(C)Request for Oral Argument. A party filing a timely brief is entitled to oral argument by 
writing “ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED” in capital letters or boldface type on the 
title page of the brief. 

(D)Nonconforming Briefs. If, on its own initiative or on a party’s motion, the circuit court 
concludes that a brief does not substantially comply with the requirements in this rule, it 
may order the party filing the brief to correct the deficiencies within a specified time or it 
may strike the nonconforming brief. 

RULE 7.112 MISCELLANEOUS RELIEF

In addition to its general appellate powers, the circuit court may grant relief as provided in 
MCR 7.216.

RULE 7.113 DISMISSAL

(A)Involuntary Dismissal.

(1)Dismissal. If the appellant fails to pursue the appeal in conformity with the court 
rules, the circuit court will notify the parties that the appeal shall be dismissed unless 
the deficiency is remedied within 14 days after service of the notice.

(2)Reinstatement. Within 14 days after the date of the dismissal order, the appellant 
may move for reinstatement by showing mistake, inadvertence, or excusable neglect.

(B)Voluntary Dismissal. In all cases where the parties file a signed stipulation agreeing to 
dismiss the appeal or the appellant files an unopposed motion to withdraw the appeal, the 
circuit court shall enter an order of dismissal.
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(C)Notice of Dismissal. Immediately upon entry, a copy of an order dismissing an appeal 
must be sent to the parties and the trial court or agency.

RULE 7.114 ORAL ARGUMENT; DECISION AND EFFECT OF JUDGMENT, RECONSIDERATION

(A)Oral Argument. If requested in accord with MCR 7.111(C), the court shall schedule 
oral argument unless it concludes that the briefs and record adequately present the facts 
and legal arguments, and the court’s deliberation would not be significantly aided by oral 
argument.

(B)Decision. The circuit court shall decide the appeal by oral or written opinion and issue 
an order. The court’s order is its judgment.

(C)Effect of Judgment. Unless otherwise ordered by the circuit court or the Court of 
Appeals, a judgment is effective after expiration of the period for filing a timely 
application for leave to appeal or, if such an application is filed, after the Court of Appeals 
decides the case. Enforcement is to be obtained in the trial court or agency after the record 
is returned as provided in MCR 7.109(H).

(D)Reconsideration. A motion for reconsideration is governed by MCR 2.119(F).

RULE 7.115 TAXATION OF COSTS, FEES.

(A)Right to Costs. Except as the circuit court otherwise directs, the prevailing party in a 
civil case is entitled to costs.

(B)Time for Filing. Within 28 days after the dispositive order, opinion, or order denying 
rehearing is mailed, the prevailing party may file a certified or verified bill of costs with 
the clerk and serve a copy on all other parties. Each item claimed in the bill must be 
specified. Failure to file a bill of costs within the time prescribed waives the right to costs.

(C)Objections. Any other party may file objections to the bill of costs with the clerk within 
7 days after a copy of the bill is served. The objecting party must serve a copy of the 
objections on the prevailing party and file proof of that service.

(D)Taxation. The clerk will promptly verify the bill and tax those costs available.

(E)Review. The action by the clerk will be reviewed by the circuit court on motion of 
either party filed within 7 days from the date of taxation, but on review only those 
affidavits or objections that were previously filed with the clerk may be considered by the 
court.

(F)Taxable Costs and Fees. A prevailing party may tax only the reasonable costs and fees 
incurred in the appeal, including:

(1)printing of briefs, or if briefs were typewritten, a charge of $1 per original page; 
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(2)obtaining any stay bond;

(3)the transcript and necessary copies of it;

(4)documents required for the record on appeal;

(5)fees paid to the clerk or to the trial court clerk incident to the appeal;

(6)taxable costs and fees allowed by law in appeals under MCL 600.2441;

(7)the additional costs incurred when a party to an appeal under the Administrative 
Procedures Act unreasonably refused to stipulate to shortening the record as provided 
in MCL 24.304(2); and

(8)other expenses taxable under applicable court rules or statutes.

RULE 7.116 APPEALS UNDER THE MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT SECURITY ACT

(A)Scope. This rule governs appeals to the circuit court under the Michigan Employment 
Security Act, MCL 421.1 et seq. Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through 
7.115 apply. 

(B)Time Requirements. An appeal of right from an order or decision of the Michigan 
Compensation Appellate Commission must be taken within 30 days after the mailing of 
the commission’s decision.

(C)Manner of Filing. Except as provided in subrule (B), the claim of appeal shall conform 
with MCR 7.104 and must include statements of jurisdiction and venue. In addition, proof 
that the claim of appeal was served on the Michigan Compensation Appellate 
Commission and all interested parties must be filed in the circuit court. The 
unemployment agency is a party to any appeal under MCL 421.38(3), but the Michigan 
Compensation Appellate Commission is not a party to the appeal. 

(D)Venue. Venue is determined under MCL 421.38(1). 

(E)Appearance of Appellee. Within 14 days after service of the claim of appeal, the 
appellee must file an appearance in the circuit court. 

(F)Record on Appeal. Within 42 days after the claim of appeal is served on the Michigan 
Compensation Appellate Commission, or within further time as the circuit court allows, 
the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission must transmit to the clerk of the 
circuit court a certified copy of the record of proceedings before the administrative law 
judge and the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission. The Michigan 
Compensation Appellate Commission must notify the parties that the record was 
transmitted. 

(G)Standard of Review and Decision on Appeal. Under MCL 421.38, the circuit court 
may reverse an order or decision of the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission 
only if it finds that the order or decision is contrary to law or is not supported by 
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competent, material, and substantial evidence on the whole record. In all other respects, 
MCR 7.114 applies.

RULE 7.117 APPEALS FROM THE MICHIGAN CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

(A)Scope. This rule governs appeals to the circuit court from the Michigan Civil Service 
Commission. Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through 7.115 apply. 

(B)Procedure. An appeal from a decision of the Michigan Civil Service Commission must 
comply with MCR 7.119.

(C)Commission as Party. An appeal challenging any decision, rule, or regulation of the 
Michigan Civil Service Commission must name the commission as a party and must serve 
the commission at the Office of the State Personnel Director in Lansing, Michigan.

RULE 7.118 APPEALS FROM THE MICHIGAN PAROLE BOARD

(A)Scope. This rule governs appeals to the circuit court from the Michigan Parole Board. 
Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through 7.115 apply. 

(B)No Appeal of Right. There is no appeal of right from a decision of the parole board.

(C)Access to Reports and Guidelines. Upon request, the prosecutor, the victim, and the 
prisoner shall receive the parole eligibility report, any prior parole eligibility reports that 
are mentioned in the parole board’s decision, and any parole guidelines that support the 
action taken.

(D)Application for Leave to Appeal. 

(1)Parties.

(a)Only the prosecutor or a victim may file an application for leave to appeal.

(b)The prisoner shall be the appellee.

(c)The parole board may move to intervene as an appellee.   

(2)Time Requirements. An application for leave to appeal must be filed within 28 days 
after the parole board mails a notice of action granting parole and a copy of any 
written opinion to the prosecutor and the victim, if the victim requested notification 
under MCL 780.771.

(3) Manner of Filing. An application for leave must comply with MCR 7.105, must 
include statements of jurisdiction and venue, and must be served on the parole board 
and the prisoner. If the victim seeks leave, the prosecutor must be served. If the 
prosecutor seeks leave, the victim must be served if the victim requested notification 
under MCL 780.771. 
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(a)Service on the parole board, the victim, or the prosecutor must be accomplished 
by certified mail, return receipt requested, in compliance with MCR 2.105(A)(2).

(b) Service on a prisoner incarcerated in a state correctional facility must be 
accomplished by serving the application for leave on the warden or administrator, 
along with the form approved by the State Court Administrative Office for 
personal service on a prisoner. Otherwise, service must be accomplished by 
certified mail, return receipt requested, as described in MCR 2.103(C) and MCR 
2.104(A)(2) or in compliance with MCR 2.105(A)(2). In addition to the pleadings, 
service on the prisoner must also include a notice in a form approved by the State 
Court Administrative Office advising the prisoner that: 

(i) the prisoner may respond to the application for leave to appeal through 
counsel or in propria persona, although no response is required, and that an 
indigent prisoner is entitled to appointment of counsel, and

(ii)if an order of parole is issued under MCL 791.236 before the completion of 
appellate proceedings, a stay may be granted in the manner provided by MCR 
7.108, except that no bond is required.

(c)Proof of service must be promptly filed with the clerk of the circuit court and 
must include a copy of the return receipt and, in the case of the prisoner, a copy of 
the certificate of service executed by the appropriate prison official. 

(d) If a prosecutor or victim files an application for leave to appeal, the circuit 
court shall appoint counsel for an indigent prisoner through the Michigan 
Appellate Assigned Counsel System.

(4)Venue. An application for leave to appeal a decision of the parole board may only 
be filed in the circuit court of the sentencing county under MCL 791.234(11). 

(E)Late Application. A late application for leave to appeal may be filed under MCR 
7.105(G).

(F)Stay of Order of Parole.

(1)An order of parole issued under MCL 791.236 shall not be executed until 28 days 
after the mailing of the notice of action.

(2)If an order is issued under MCL 791.235 before completion of appellate 
proceedings, a stay may be granted in the manner provided by MCR 7.108, except that 
no bond is required.

(G)Decision to Grant Leave to Appeal.

(1)The circuit court shall make its determination within 28 days after the application 
for leave to appeal is filed.

(2)If the court does not make its determination within 28 days, the court shall enter an 
order to produce the prisoner before the court for a show cause hearing to determine 
whether the prisoner shall be released on parole pending disposition of the appeal. 
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(H)Procedure After Leave to Appeal Granted. If leave to appeal is granted, MCR 
7.105(E)(4) applies along with the following: 

(1)Record on Appeal.

(a)The record on appeal shall consist of the prisoner’s central office file at the 
Department of Corrections and any other documents considered by the parole 
board in reaching its decision.

(b)Within 14 days after being served with an order granting leave to appeal, the 
parole board shall send copies of the record to the circuit court and the other 
parties. In all other respects, the record on appeal shall be processed in compliance 
with MCR 7.109.

(c)The expense of preparing and serving the record on appeal may be taxed as 
costs to a nonprevailing appellant, except that expenses may not be taxed to an 
indigent party. 

(2)Briefs. Briefs must comply with MCR 7.111, except: 

(a)the appellant’s brief is due 28 days after the record is served on the parties, and

(b)the appellee’s brief, if filed, is due 21 days after the appellant’s brief is served 
on the appellee.

(3)Burden of Proof. The appellant has the burden of establishing that the decision of 
the parole board was

(a)in violation of the Michigan Constitution, a statute, an administrative rule, or a 
written agency regulation that is exempted from promulgation pursuant to MCL 
24.207, or

(b)a clear abuse of discretion.

(4)Remand to the Parole Board. On motion by a party or on the court’s own motion, 
the court may remand the matter to the parole board for an explanation of its decision. 

(a)The parole board shall hear and decide the matter within 28 days of the date of 
the order, unless the board determines that an adjournment is necessary to obtain 
evidence or there is other good cause for an adjournment.

(b)The time for filing briefs on appeal under subrule (H)(2) is tolled while the 
matter is pending on remand.

(I)Subsequent Appeal to the Court of Appeals. An appeal of a circuit court decision is by 
application for leave to appeal to the Court of Appeals under MCR 7.205, and the Court of 
Appeals shall expedite the matter.

(J)Parole Board Responsibility After Reversal or Remand.

(1)If a decision of the parole board is reversed or remanded, the board shall review the 
matter and take action consistent with the circuit court’s decision within 28 days.
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(2)If the circuit court order requires the board to undertake further review of the file or 
to reevaluate its prior decision, the board shall provide the parties with an opportunity 
to be heard. 

(3)An appeal to the Court of Appeals does not affect the board’s jurisdiction to act 
under this subsection. 

RULE 7.119 APPEALS FROM AGENCIES GOVERNED BY THE ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES ACT

(A)Scope. This rule governs an appeal to the circuit court from an agency decision where 
MCL 24.201 et seq. applies. Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through 
MCR 7.115 apply. 

(B)Appeal of Right.

(1)Time Requirements. Judicial review of a final decision or order shall be by filing a 
claim of appeal in the circuit court within 60 days after the date of mailing of the 
notice of the agency’s final decision or order. If a rehearing before the agency is timely 
requested, then the claim of appeal must be filed within 60 days after delivery or 
mailing of the notice of the agency’s decision or order on rehearing, as provided in the 
statute or constitutional provision authorizing appellate review. 

(2)Manner of Filing.

(a)Claim of Appeal - Form. The claim of appeal shall conform with the 
requirements of MCR 7.104(C)(1), except that:

(i)the party aggrieved by the agency decision is the appellant and is listed first 
in the caption; and

(ii)the party seeking to sustain the agency’s decision is the appellee; or

(iii)if there is no appellee, then the caption may read “In re [name of appellant 
or other identification of the subject of the appeal],” followed by the 
designation of the appellant. Except where otherwise provided by law, the 
agency or another party to the case may become an appellee by filing an 
appearance within 21 days after service of the claim of appeal.

(b)Claim of Appeal – Content. The claim of appeal must:

(i)state “[Name of appellant] claims an appeal from the decision entered on 
[date] by [name of the agency],” and

(ii)include concise statements of the following:

[A]the statute, rule, or other authority enabling the agency to conduct the 
proceedings; 

[B]the statute or constitutional provision authorizing appellate review of 
the agency’s decision or order in the circuit court; and 

[C]the facts on which venue is based under MCL 24.303(1).

(c)Signature. The claim of appeal must be signed as stated in MCR 7.104(C)(3). 
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(d)Other Documents. In addition to the claim of appeal, the appellant shall also 
comply with MCR 7.104(D).

(e)Filing Requirements in the Agency. The appellant must comply with MCR 
7.104(E).

(f)Service. In addition to the service requirements found in MCR 7.104(D)(9), the 
appellant must also serve the Attorney General. 

(3)Appearance. The appellee shall file an appearance that complies with MCR 
7.104(F) within 14 days after service of the claim of appeal.

(C)Application for Interlocutory Appeal. A preliminary procedural or intermediate agency 
action or ruling is not immediately reviewable, except that a court may grant interlocutory 
appeal of a preliminary, procedural, or intermediate decision by an agency only on a 
showing that review of the final decision would not be an adequate remedy. 

(1)Time Requirements. An application for interlocutory appeal must be filed with the 
court within 14 days of the decision. 

(2)Manner of Filing. In addition to the requirements of MCR 7.105(B), the application 
must:

(a)include a jurisdictional statement citing:

(i)the statute, rule, or other authority enabling the agency to conduct 
proceedings, and

(ii)the statute or constitutional provision authorizing appellate review of the 
agency’s decision or order in the circuit court;

(b)include a statement of venue with supporting facts;

(c)set forth why review of the agency’s final decision will not be an adequate 
remedy; and 

(d)state the relief sought.

(3)Answer. An appellee may file an answer to an application for interlocutory appeal 
under MCR 7.105(C). The circuit court may require the filing of an answer. 

(4)If Application is Granted. If the application is granted, the appeal proceeds in the 
same manner as an appeal of right. 

(D)Late Appeal. The appellant may file an application for late appeal if permitted by 
statute. 

(1)Time Requirements. Unless inconsistent with the statute authorizing the appeal, the 
application must be filed within six months after entry of the agency decision or order. 

(2)Manner of Filing. In addition to the requirements of MCR 7.105(B), the application 
must include:

(a)a statement citing the statute authorizing a late appeal;

(b) a statement of facts explaining the delay; and
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(c) statements of jurisdiction and venue complying with subrules (C)(2)(a) and (b).

(3)Answer. An appellee may file an answer to the application for late appeal under 
MCR 7.105(C). The circuit court may require the filing of an answer. 

(4)If Application is Granted. If the application is granted, the appeal proceeds in the 
same manner as an appeal of right. 

(E)Stay of Enforcement. The filing of an appeal does not stay enforcement of the agency’s 
decision or order. 

(1)A party may file a motion seeking a stay in the circuit court. 

(2)For purposes of this subrule, the agency is entitled to notice even if it has not filed 
an appearance in the appeal. 

(3)The court may order a stay on appropriate terms and conditions if it finds that:

(a)the moving party will suffer irreparable injury if a stay is not granted; 

(b)the moving party made a strong showing that it is likely to prevail on the merits; 

(c)the public interest will not be harmed if a stay is granted; and

(d)the harm to the moving party in the absence of a stay outweighs the harm to the 
other parties to the proceedings if a stay is granted.

(4)If the motion for stay is granted, the circuit court may set appropriate terms and 
conditions for the posting of a bond

(a)in the amount required by any applicable statute authorizing the appeal, or

(b)in an amount and with sureties that the circuit court deems adequate to protect 
the public and the parties when there are no statutory instructions. 

(5)Temporary Stay.

(a)The circuit court may grant a temporary stay of enforcement without written 
notice only if

(i)it clearly appears from facts alleged in the motion that immediate and 
irreparable injury will result if a stay is not entered before a hearing, and

(ii)the moving party certifies to the court in writing that it made reasonable 
efforts to contact the other parties and agency, but was unsuccessful. 

(b)A temporary stay may be granted by the court until a hearing can be held. A 
hearing on a motion to dissolve a temporary stay will be heard on 24 hours’ notice, 
or less on order of the court for good cause shown, and takes precedence over all 
matters except previously filed matters of the same character. 

(F)Stipulations. The parties may stipulate regarding any issue on appeal or any part of the 
record on appeal if the stipulation is embodied in an order entered by the court. 
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(G)Additional Evidence. A motion to present proofs of alleged irregularity in procedure 
before the agency, or to allow the taking of additional evidence before the agency, is 
timely only if it is filed with or included with the claim of appeal or application. The 
appellant shall promptly notice the motion for decision. If the court orders the taking of 
additional evidence, the time for filing briefs is stayed until the taking of the evidence is 
completed.

(H)Decision. The court may affirm, reverse, remand, or modify the decision of the agency 
and may grant further relief as appropriate based on the record, findings, and conclusions. 

(1)If the agency’s decision or order is not supported by competent, material, and 
substantial evidence on the whole record, the court shall specifically identify the 
finding or findings that lack support.

(2)If the agency’s decision or order violates the Constitution or a statute, is affected by 
a material error of law, or is affected by an unlawful procedure resulting in material 
prejudice to a party, the court shall specifically identify the agency’s conclusions of 
law that are being reversed.

RULE 7.120 LICENSING APPEALS UNDER THE MICHIGAN VEHICLE CODE

(A)Scope. This rule governs appeals to the circuit court under the Michigan Vehicle Code, 
MCL 257.1 et seq., from a final determination by the Secretary of State pertaining to an 
operator’s license, a chauffeur’s license, a vehicle group designation, or an endorsement. 
Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through 7.115 apply. 

(B)Appeal of Right.

(1)Time Requirements. The time for filing an appeal of right is governed by MCL 
257.323(1). 

(2)Manner of Filing.

(a)Claim of Appeal – Form. The claim of appeal shall conform to the requirements 
of MCR 7.104(C)(1), except that the party aggrieved by the Secretary of State’s 
determination is the appellant. 

(b)Claim of Appeal – Content. The claim of appeal must:

(i)state the appellant’s full name, current address, birth date, and driver’s 
license number;

(ii)state “[name of appellant] claims an appeal from the decision on [date] by 
the Secretary of State”; and

(iii)include concise statements of the following:

[A]the nature of any determination by the Secretary of State; 

[B]the statute authorizing the Secretary of State’s determination;

[C]the subsection of MCL 257.323 under which the appeal is taken; and
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[D]the facts on which venue is based. 

(c)Signature. The claim of appeal must be signed as stated in MCR 7.104(C)(3). 

(d)Other Documents. The appellant must attach as exhibits accompanying the 
claim of appeal:

(i)a copy of the Secretary of State’s determination, and

(ii)any affidavits supporting the claim of appeal. 

(e)Service. The appellant shall serve the claim of appeal on all parties. 

(3)Appearance. The appellee shall file an appearance within 14 days that complies 
with MCR 7.104(F). 

(C)Application for Late Appeal.

(1)Time Requirements. An application for late appeal must be filed within the time set 
forth in MCL 257.323(1).

(2)Manner of Filing. In addition to the requirements of MCR 7.105(B), the application 
must comply with MCR 7.120(B)(2)(b) and must include a statement showing good 
cause for the delay. 

(3)Answer. An appellee may file an answer to the application for late appeal under 
MCR 7.105(C). The circuit court may require the filing of an answer. 

(4)If Application is Granted. If the application is granted, the appeal proceeds in the 
same manner as an appeal of right.

(D)Stay of Enforcement. The filing of a claim of appeal or an application for late appeal 
does not stay enforcement of the Secretary of State’s decision or order. The appellant may 
file for a stay of enforcement under MCL 257.323a. The appellant shall serve a copy of 
the order granting or denying the stay on the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State 
may file a motion challenging the stay. 

(E)Stipulations. The parties may stipulate regarding any issue on appeal or any part of the 
record on appeal if the stipulation is embodied in an order entered by the court. 

(F)Proceedings Under MCL 257.323(3).

(1)Briefs.The court may require briefs and may enter an order setting a briefing 
schedule. Unless otherwise ordered, briefs must comply with MCR 7.111. 

(2)Hearing. The court shall schedule a hearing under MCL 257.323(2). During the 
hearing, the court may take testimony and examine all the facts and circumstances 
relating to the denial, suspension, or restriction of the person’s license under MCL 
257.303(1)(d), MCL 257.320, MCL 257.904(10), MCL 257.904(11), MCL 257.310d, 
or for a first violation of MCL 257.625f. 

(3)Decision. For denials, suspensions, or restrictions of the person’s license under 
MCL 257.303(1)(d), MCL 257.320, MCL 257.904(10), MCL 257.904(11), MCL 
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257.310d, or for a first violation of MCL 257.625f, the circuit court may affirm, 
modify, or set aside the restriction, suspension, or denial. The circuit court, however, 
shall not order the Secretary of State to issue a restricted or unrestricted chauffeur’s 
license that would permit the person to drive a commercial motor vehicle that hauls 
hazardous materials. 

(4)Appellant’s Responsibility After Decision. Pursuant to MCL 257.323(3), the 
appellant shall file a certified copy of the circuit court’s order with the Secretary of 
State’s office in Lansing within 7 days after entry of the order for denials, suspensions, 
or restrictions of the person’s license arising under MCL 257.303(1)(d), MCL 
257.320, MCL 257.904(10), MCL 257.904(11), MCL 257.310d, or for a first violation 
of MCL 257.625f. 

(G)Proceedings Under MCL 257.323(4).

(1)Briefs. Unless otherwise ordered, the parties must file briefs complying with MCR 
7.111.

(2)Oral Argument. If requested in accord with MCR 7.111(C), the court shall schedule 
oral argument unless it concludes that the briefs and record adequately present the 
facts and legal arguments, and the court’s deliberation would not be significantly aided 
by oral argument. 

(3)Decision. The court shall confine its consideration to a review of the record 
prepared under MCL 257.322, MCL 257.625f, or MCL 257.204a for statutory legal 
issues and shall not grant restricted driving privileges. The court shall set aside the 
Secretary of State’s determination only if the appellant’s substantial rights have been 
prejudiced because the determination is:

(a)in violation of the Constitution of the United States, the Michigan Constitution, 
or a statute;

(b)in excess of the Secretary of State’s statutory authority or jurisdiction;

(c)made upon unlawful procedure that results in material prejudice to the 
appellant;

(d)not supported by competent, material, and substantial evidence on the whole 
record;

(e)arbitrary, capricious, or clearly an abuse or unwarranted exercise of discretion; 
or

(f)affected by other substantial and material error of law.

RULE 7.121 CONCEALED PISTOL LICENSE APPEALS

(A) Scope. This rule governs appeals to the circuit court under MCL 28.425d. Unless this 
rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through MCR 7.114 apply. 
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(B) Suspensions and Revocations. Failure of the county clerk to reinstate a concealed 
pistol license under MCL 28.428(2) or (6) shall be considered a failure to issue a license 
under MCL 28.425d unless otherwise noted by statute.

(C) Appeal of Right.

(1) Time Requirements. Time requirements are governed by MCR 7.104(A).

(2) Manner of Filing. 

(a) Claim of Appeal – Form. The claim of appeal shall conform with the 
requirements of MCR 7.104(C)(1), except that: 

(i) the license applicant or licensee is the appellant, and

(ii) the county clerk, department of state police, or entity taking the fingerprints 
may be the appellee.

(b) Claim of Appeal – Content. The claim of appeal must state whether the 
appellant is appealing a statutory disqualification, failure to issue a receipt, or 
failure to issue a concealed pistol license, and the facts on which venue is based.

(c) Signature. The claim of appeal must be signed as stated in MCR 7.104(C)(3). 

(d) Service. The appellant shall serve the claim of appeal on all parties. 

(e) Request for Certified Record. Within the time for filing a claim of appeal, the 
appellant shall send a written request to the county clerk to send a certified copy of 
the record to the circuit court. 

(3) Appearance. The appellee shall file an appearance that complies with MCR 
7.104(F) within 14 days after service of the claim of appeal.

(4) Briefs. Unless otherwise ordered, the parties must file briefs complying with MCR 
7.111.

(5) Oral Argument. If requested in accord with MCR 7.111(C), the court shall hold 
oral argument within 14 days after the appellee’s brief was filed or due. The court may 
dispense with oral argument under MCR 7.114(A). 

(D) Notice of Decision. The circuit court shall serve the parties with a copy of its order 
resolving the appeal. 

RULE 7.122 APPEALS FROM ZONING ORDINANCE DETERMINATIONS

(A) Scope.

(1) This rule governs appeals to the circuit court from a determination under a zoning 
ordinance by any officer, agency, board, commission, or zoning board of appeals, and 
by any legislative body of a city, village, township, or county authorized to enact 
zoning ordinances.  Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 7.101 through MCR 
7.115 apply.  This rule does not apply to legislative decisions of a city, village, 
township, or county, such as the adoption of or amendment to a zoning ordinance. 
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(2) This rule does not restrict the right of a party to bring a complaint for relief relating 
to a determination under a zoning ordinance. A party may seek a stay of enforcement 
under MCR 7.123(E).

(3) An appeal under this section is an appeal of right.

(B) Time Requirements. An appeal under this rule must be filed within the time prescribed 
by the statute applicable to the appeal. If no time is specified in the applicable statute, the 
appeal must be filed within 30 days after the certification of the minutes of the board or 
commission from which the appeal is taken or within 30 days after the board or 
commission issued its decision in writing, whichever deadline comes first.

(C) Manner of Filing.

(1) Claim of Appeal – Form. The claim of appeal shall conform to the requirements of 
MCR 7.104(C)(1), except that: 

(a) the party aggrieved by the determination shall be designated the appellant; and

(b) the city, village, township, or county under whose ordinance the determination 
was made shall be designated the “appellee,” except that when a city, village, 
township, county, or an officer or entity authorized to appeal on its behalf, appeals 
a determination as an aggrieved party, then the appellee(s) shall be designated as 
the board, commission, or other entity that made the determination and the party 
that prevailed before the board, commission, or other entity that made the 
determination. 

(2) Claim of Appeal – Content. The claim of appeal must:

(a) state “[Name of appellant] claims an appeal from the decision on [date] by 
[name of the officer or entity]”; and

(b) include concise statements of the following:

(i) the nature of the determination by the officer or entity;

(ii) the statute authorizing the officer or entity’s proceedings and 
determination;

(iii) the statute or constitutional provision under which the appeal is taken;

(iv) the facts on which venue is based; 

(v) the grounds on which relief is sought, stated in as many separate paragraphs 
as there are separate grounds alleged; and

(vi) the relief sought.

(3) Signature. The claim of appeal must be signed as stated in MCR 7.104(C)(3).

(4) Other Documents. The appellant must attach to the claim of appeal a copy of the 
order and/or minutes of the officer or entity from which the appeal is taken or must 
indicate that there is no such document to attach.
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(5) Service. Upon filing the claim of appeal, the appellant, shall serve a copy of the 
claim of appeal and all attachments upon the clerk of the city, village, township, or 
county as well as the board, commission, or other entity that made a determination that 
is the subject of the appeal. Service shall be in the manner provided in MCR 2.107, 
and appellant shall promptly file a proof of service with the court.

(D) Bond. An appellant shall not be required to post a bond unless so ordered by the court.

(E) Record on Appeal; Transmittal of the Record.

(1) The record includes the original or a copy certified by the city, village, township, 
or county clerk of the application, all documents and material submitted by any person 
or entity with respect to the application, the minutes of all proceedings, and any 
determination of the officer or entity. 

(2) Within 28 days after service of the claim of appeal, the clerk of the city, village, 
township, or county from which the appeal is taken must file the record with the court. 

(3) If the record is not available within 28 days after service of the claim of appeal, the 
clerk of the city, village, township, or county from which the appeal is taken shall 
notify the court of the estimated date of transmittal of the record.

(4) If the clerk of the city, village, township, or county postpones transmittal of the 
record or transmittal is otherwise delayed, the court may on motion or its own 
initiative exercise superintending control over the clerk to prevent delay.

(5) The clerk of the city, village, township, or county from which the appeal is taken 
must notify the appellant and appellee of the transmittal of the record to the court.

(6) Motions regarding the contents of the record or to prepare a transcript of 
proceedings before the officer or entity must be filed within 21 days after transmission 
of the record to the court. 

(F) Briefs. Unless otherwise ordered, the parties must file briefs complying with MCR 
7.111. 

(G) Decision.

(1) Appeals Under MCL 125.3606.   

(a) In an appeal from a city, village, township, or county board of zoning appeals, 
the court shall apply the standard of review under MCL 125.3606(1).

(b) If the court finds the record inadequate to review the decision or finds that 
additional material evidence exists that with good reason was not presented, the 
court shall order further zoning board of appeals proceedings on conditions that 
the court considers proper. The zoning board of appeals may modify the findings 
and decision as a result of the new proceedings or may affirm the original decision. 
The supplementary record and decision shall be filed with the court.

(c) The court may affirm, reverse, or modify the decision of the board of appeals.
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(2) Other Appeals. In an appeal from a final determination under a zoning ordinance 
where no right of appeal to a zoning board of appeals exists, the court shall determine 
whether the decision was authorized by law and the findings were supported by 
competent, material, and substantial evidence on the whole record.

(H) Notice of Decision. The court shall serve the parties with a copy of its order resolving 
the appeal.

RULE 7.123 APPEALS FROM AGENCIES NOT GOVERNED BY ANOTHER RULE

(A) Scope. This rule governs an appeal to the circuit court from an agency decision that is 
not governed by another rule in this subchapter. Unless this rule provides otherwise, MCR 
7.101 through 7.115 apply. 

(B) Appeal of Right.

(1) Time Requirements. Time requirements are governed by MCR 7.104(A).

(2) Manner of Filing.

(a) Claim of Appeal – Form. The claim of appeal shall conform to the 
requirements of MCR 7.119(B)(2)(a).

(b) Claim of Appeal – Content. The claim of appeal must:

(i) state “[Name of appellant] claims an appeal from the decision on [date] by 
[name of the agency],” and

(ii) include concise statements of the following:

[A] the nature of the proceedings before the agency;

[B] citation to the statute, rule, or other authority enabling the agency to 
conduct the proceedings;

[C] citation to the statute or constitutional provision authorizing appellate 
review of the agency’s decision or order in the circuit court; and

[D] the facts on which venue is based. 

(c) Signature. The claim of appeal must be signed as stated in MCR 7.104(C)(3). 

(d) Other Documents. The appellant must also comply with MCR 7.104(D). 

(e) Filing Requirements in the Agency. The appellant must comply with MCR 
7.104(E).

(f) Service. The appellant must comply with MCR 7.104(D)(7). 

(3) Appearance. The appellee shall file an appearance that complies with MCR 
7.104(F) within 14 days after service of the claim of appeal.

(C) Application for Leave to Appeal or for Interlocutory Appeal.

(1) Time Requirements. An application must comply with MCR 7.105(A).
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(2) Manner of Filing. An application must comply with MCR 7.105 and MCR 
7.123(B)(2)(b)(ii). An application for interlocutory appeal shall also state why review 
of the agency’s final decision will not be an adequate remedy. 

(3) Answer. An appellee may file an answer to an application that complies with MCR 
7.105(C). The circuit court may require the filing of an answer. 

(4) If Application is Granted. If the application is granted, the appeal proceeds as an 
appeal of right. 

(D) Late Appeal. The appellant may file an application for late appeal if permitted by 
statute. 

(1) Time Requirements. Unless inconsistent with the statute authorizing late appeal, 
the application must be filed within six months after entry of the agency decision or 
order.

(2) Manner of Filing. In addition to the requirements of MCR 7.105(B), the 
application must include:

(a) a statement citing the statute authorizing a late appeal;

(b) a statement of facts explaining the delay; and 

(c) statements of jurisdiction and venue complying with MCR 7.123(B)(2)(b)(ii).

(3) Answer. An appellee may file an answer to the application for late appeal under 
MCR 7.105(C). The circuit court may require the filing of an answer.

(4) If Application is Granted. If the application is granted, the appeal proceeds in the 
same manner as an appeal of right.

(E) Stay of Enforcement. The filing of an appeal or an application for leave to appeal does 
not stay enforcement of the agency’s decision or order. 

(1) A party may file a motion seeking a stay in the circuit court. 

(2) For purposes of this subrule, the agency is entitled to notice even if it has not filed 
an appearance in the appeal. 

(3) The court may order a stay on appropriate terms and conditions if it finds that:

(a) the moving party will suffer irreparable injury if a stay is not granted; 

(b) the moving party made a strong showing that it is likely to prevail on the 
merits;

(c) the public interest will not be harmed if a stay is granted; and

(d) the harm to the moving party in the absence of a stay outweighs the harm to the 
other parties to the proceedings if a stay is granted.

(4) If the motion for stay is granted, the circuit court may set appropriate terms and 
conditions for the posting of a bond:

(a) in the amount required by any applicable statute authorizing the appeal, or
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(b) in an amount and with sureties that the circuit court deems adequate to protect 
the public and the parties when there are no statutory instructions. 

(5) Temporary Stay.

(a) The circuit court may grant a temporary stay of enforcement without written 
notice only if

(i) it clearly appears from facts alleged in the motion that immediate and 
irreparable injury will result if a stay is not entered before a hearing, and

(ii) the moving party certifies to the court in writing that it made reasonable 
efforts to contact the other parties and agency, but was unsuccessful.

(b) A temporary stay may be granted by the court until a hearing can be held. A 
hearing on a motion to dissolve a temporary stay will be heard on 24 hours’ notice, 
or less on order of the court for good cause shown, and takes precedence over all 
matters except previously filed matters of the same character. 

(F) Stipulations. The parties may stipulate regarding any issue on appeal or any part of the 
record on appeal if the stipulation is embodied in an order entered by the court.

(G) Decision. The court may affirm, reverse, remand, or modify the decision of the agency 
and may grant further relief as appropriate based on the record, findings, and conclusions.

(1) If the agency’s decision or order is not supported by competent, material, and 
substantial evidence on the whole record, the court shall specifically identify the 
finding or findings that lack support.

(2) If the agency’s decision or order violates the Constitution or a statute, is affected 
by a material error of law, or is affected by an unlawful procedure resulting in material 
prejudice to a party, the court shall specifically identify the agency’s conclusions of 
law that are being reversed.

SUBCHAPTER 7.200 COURT OF APPEALS

RULE 7.201 ORGANIZATION AND OPERATION OF COURT OF APPEALS

(A) Chief Judge and Chief Judge Pro Tempore.

(1) The Supreme Court selects a judge of the Court of Appeals to serve as chief judge. 
No later than October 1 of each odd-numbered year, the Court of Appeals may submit 
the names of no fewer than two judges whom the judges of that court recommend for 
selection as chief judge.

(2) The chief judge selects a chief judge pro tempore, who fulfills such functions as the 
chief judge assigns.

(3) The chief judge and chief judge pro tempore serve a two-year term beginning on 
January 1 of each even-numbered year, provided that the chief judge serves at the 
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pleasure of the Supreme Court and the chief judge pro tempore serves at the pleasure 
of the chief judge.

(B) Court of Appeals Clerk; Filing of Documents; Forms of Documents; Signature; Fees.

(1) The court appoints a chief clerk who is subject to the requirements imposed on the 
Supreme Court clerk in MCR 7.301(C). The clerk’s office must be located in Lansing 
and be operated under the court’s direction. With the court’s approval, the clerk may 
appoint assistant and deputy clerks.

(2) The electronic filing of documents or data with the court is governed by MCR 
1.109(G). Documents that are not electronically filed with the court must be filed in 
the clerk’s office. Fees paid to a deputy clerk must be forwarded to the clerk’s office in 
Lansing. Claims of appeal, applications, motions, and complaints need not be accepted 
for filing until all required documents have been filed and the requisite fees have been 
paid.

(3) If a case is accepted for filing without all of the required documents, transcripts, or 
fees, the appellant, or the plaintiff in an original action under MCR 7.206, must supply 
the missing items within 21 days after the date of the clerk’s notice of deficiency. The 
chief judge or another designated judge may dismiss the appeal and assess costs if the 
deficiency is not remedied within that time.

(C) Sessions of Court. There are 9 regular sessions of the court each year. Except as 
otherwise required for the efficient administration of the court, each session begins on the 
first Tuesday during the months of October through June. Each session continues for the 
number of days necessary to conclude the hearing of cases scheduled for argument. The 
chief judge may order a special session.

(D) Panels. The court sits to hear cases in panels of three judges. The decision of a 
majority of the judges of a panel in attendance at the hearing is the decision of the court. 
Except as modified by the Supreme Court, a decision of the court is final. The judges must 
be rotated so that each judge sits with every other judge with equal frequency, consistent 
with the efficient administration of the court’s business. The Supreme Court may assign 
persons to act as temporary judges of the court, under the constitution and statutes. Only 
one temporary judge may sit on a three-judge panel.

(E) Assignments and Presiding Judge. Before the calendar for each session is prepared, 
the chief judge will assign the judges to each panel and the cases to be heard by them and 
designate one of them as presiding judge. A presiding judge presides at a hearing and 
performs other functions as directed by the court or the Supreme Court by rule or special 
order. The chief judge may assign a motion or any other matter to any panel.

(F) Place of Hearing. The court sits in Detroit, Lansing, Grand Rapids, or another place 
the chief judge designates. A calendar case will be assigned for hearing in the city nearest 
to the court or tribunal from which the appeal was taken, except as otherwise required for 
the efficient administration of the court’s business.
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(G) Judicial Conferences. At least once a year and at other times the chief judge finds 
necessary, the judges will meet to transact any business that properly comes before them 
and to consider proposals to amend the rules of the court and improve the administration 
of justice, including the operations of the court.

(H) Approval of Expenses. The state court administrator must approve the expenses for 
operation of the court and the expense accounts of the judges, including attendance at a 
judicial conference. The state court administrator must prepare a budget for the court.

RULE 7.202 DEFINITIONS

For purposes of this subchapter:

(1) “clerk” means the Court of Appeals clerk, unless otherwise stated;

(2) “date of filing” means the date of receipt of a document by the clerk or if 
electronically filed, the date the document is deemed filed under MCR 1.109(G)(5)(b);

(3) “entry fee” means the fee required by law or, in lieu of that fee, a motion to waive 
fees or a copy of an order appointing an attorney;

(4) “filing” means the delivery of a document to the clerk and the receipt and 
acceptance of the document by the clerk with the intent to enter it in the record of the 
court or the electronic transmission of data and documents through the electronic 
filing system as provided in MCR 1.109(G);

(5) “custody case” means a domestic relations case in which the custody of a minor 
child is an issue, an adoption case, a child protective proceeding, or a delinquency case 
in which a dispositional order removing the minor from the minor’s home is an issue;

(6) “final judgment” or “final order” means:

(a) In a civil case,

(i) the first judgment or order that disposes of all the claims and adjudicates the 
rights and liabilities of all the parties, including such an order entered after 
reversal of an earlier final judgment or order;

(ii) an order designated as final under MCR 2.604(B);

(iii) in a domestic relations action, a postjudgment order that, as to a minor, 
grants or denies a motion to change legal custody, physical custody, or 
domicile;

(iv) a postjudgment order awarding or denying attorney fees and costs under 
court rule or other law;

(v) an order denying governmental immunity to a governmental party, 
including a governmental agency, official, or employee under MCR 
2.116(C)(7) or an order denying a motion for summary disposition under MCR 
2.116(C)(10) based on a claim of governmental immunity; or
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(vi) in a foreclosure action involving a claim for remaining proceeds under 
MCL 211.78t, a postjudgment order deciding the claim.

(b) In a criminal case,

(i) an order dismissing the case;

(ii) the original sentence imposed following conviction;

(iii) a sentence imposed following the granting of a motion for resentencing;

(iv) a sentence imposed, or order entered, by the trial court following a remand 
from an appellate court in a prior appeal of right; or

(v) a sentence imposed following revocation of probation.

RULE 7.203 JURISDICTION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

(A) Appeal of Right. The court has jurisdiction of an appeal of right filed by an aggrieved 
party from the following:

(1) A final judgment or final order of the circuit court, or court of claims, as defined in 
MCR 7.202(6), except a judgment or order of the circuit court

(a) on appeal from any other court or tribunal;

(b) in a criminal case in which the conviction is based on a plea of guilty or nolo 
contendere;

An appeal from an order described in MCR 7.202(6)(a)(iii)-(v) is limited to the 
portion of the order with respect to which there is an appeal of right.

(2) A judgment or order of a court or tribunal from which appeal of right to the Court 
of Appeals has been established by law or court rule;

(B) Appeal by Leave. The court may grant leave to appeal from:

(1) a judgment or order of the circuit court and court of claims that is not a final 
judgment appealable of right;

(2) a final judgment entered by the circuit court on appeal from any other court;

(3) a final order of an administrative agency or tribunal which by law is appealable to 
or reviewable by the Court of Appeals or the Supreme Court;

(4) any other judgment or order appealable to the Court of Appeals by law or rule;

(5) any judgment or order when an appeal of right could have been taken but was not 
timely filed.

(C) Extraordinary Writs, Original Actions, and Enforcement Actions. The court may 
entertain an action for:

(1) superintending control over a lower court or a tribunal immediately below it 
arising out of an action or proceeding which, when concluded, would result in an order 
appealable to the Court of Appeals;
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(2) mandamus against a state officer (see MCL 600.4401);

(3) habeas corpus (see MCL 600.4304);

(4) quo warranto involving a state office or officer;

(5) any original action required by law to be filed in the Court of Appeals or Supreme 
Court;

(6) any action to enforce a final order of an administrative tribunal or agency required 
by law to be filed in the Court of Appeals or Supreme Court.

(D) Other Appeals and Proceedings. The court has jurisdiction over any other appeal or 
action established by law. An order concerning the assignment of a case to the business 
court under MCL 600.8301 et seq. may not be appealed to the Court of Appeals.

(E) Appeals by Prosecution. Appeals by the prosecution in criminal cases are governed by 
MCL 770.12, except as provided by MCL 770.3.

(F) Dismissal.

(1) Except when a motion to dismiss has been filed, the chief judge or another 
designated judge may, acting alone, dismiss an appeal or original proceeding for lack 
of jurisdiction.

(2) The appellant or plaintiff may file a motion for reconsideration within 21 days after 
the date of the order of dismissal. The motion will be submitted to a panel of three 
judges. No entry fee is required for a motion filed under this subrule.

(3) The clerk will not accept for filing a motion for reconsideration of an order issued 
by a three-judge panel that denies a motion for reconsideration filed under subrule (2).

RULE 7.204 FILING APPEAL OF RIGHT; APPEARANCE

(A) Time Requirements. The time limit for an appeal of right is jurisdictional. See MCR 
7.203(A). The provisions of MCR 1.108 regarding computation of time apply. For 
purposes of subrules (A)(1) and (A)(2), “entry” means the date a judgment or order is 
signed or the date that data entry of the judgment or order is accomplished in the issuing 
tribunal’s register of actions.

(1) Except where another time is provided by law or court rule, an appeal of right in 
any civil case must be taken within 21 days. The period runs from the entry of:

(a) the judgment or order appealed from;

(b) an order appointing counsel;

(c) an order denying a request for appointment of counsel in a civil case in which 
an indigent party is entitled to appointed counsel, if the trial court received the 
request within the initial 21-day appeal period; or

(d) an order deciding a postjudgment motion for new trial, rehearing, 
reconsideration, or other relief from the order or judgment appealed, if the motion 
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was filed within the initial 21-day appeal period or within any further time that the 
trial court has allowed for good cause during that 21-day period.

(2) An appeal of right in a criminal case must be taken

(a) in accordance with MCR 6.425(G)(1);

(b) within 42 days after entry of an order denying a timely motion for the 
appointment of a lawyer pursuant to MCR 6.425(G)(1);

(c) within 42 days after entry of the judgment or order appealed from; or

(d) within 42 days after the entry of an order denying a motion for a new trial, for 
directed verdict of acquittal, or to correct an invalid sentence, if the motion was 
filed within the time provided in MCR 6.419(C), 6.429(B), or 6.431(A), as the 
case may be. 

A motion for rehearing or reconsideration of a motion mentioned in subrules (A)(1)(b) 
or (A)(2)(d) does not extend the time for filing a claim of appeal, unless the motion for 
rehearing or reconsideration was itself filed within the 21- or 42-day period.

(3) When service of the judgment or order on appellant was delayed beyond the time 
stated in MCR 2.602, the claim of appeal must be accompanied by an affidavit setting 
forth facts showing that the service was beyond the time stated in MCR 2.602. 
Appellee may file an opposing affidavit within 14 days after being served with the 
claim of appeal and affidavit. If the Court of Appeals finds that service of the 
judgment or order was delayed beyond the time stated in MCR 2.602 and the claim of 
appeal was filed within 14 days after service of the judgment or order, the claim of 
appeal will be deemed timely.

(B) Manner of Filing. Except as otherwise provided in MCR 3.993(D)(3) and MCR 
6.425(G)(1), to vest the Court of Appeals with jurisdiction in an appeal of right, an 
appellant must file with the clerk within the time for taking an appeal

(1) the claim of appeal, and

(2) the entry fee.

(C) Other Documents. With the claim of appeal, the appellant must file the following 
documents with the clerk:

(1) a copy of the judgment or order appealed from;

(2) a copy of the certificate of the court reporter or recorder filed under subrule (E)(4), 
a statement by the attorney that the transcript has been ordered (in which case the 
certificate of the court reporter or recorder must be filed as soon as possible 
thereafter), or a statement by the attorney that there is no record to be transcribed;

(3) proof that a copy of the claim of appeal was served on all other parties in the case 
and on any other person or officer entitled by rule or law to notice of the appeal;

(4) if the appellant has filed a bond, a true copy of the bond;

(5) a copy of the register of actions of the lower court, tribunal, or agency; and
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(6) a jurisdictional checklist on a form provided by the clerk’s office.

(D) Form of Claim of Appeal.

(1) A claim of appeal is entitled “In the Court of Appeals.” The parties are named in 
the same order as they appear in the trial court, with the added designation “appellant” 
or “appellee” as appropriate. The claim must be substantially in the following form:

[Name of appellant], [plaintiff or defendant], claims an appeal from the [judgment or 
order] entered [date of judgment or order or date sentence imposed] in the [name of 
court or tribunal from which the appeal is taken] by [name of judge or officer who 
entered the judgment, order, or sentence]. 

(2) The claim of appeal must be dated and signed, and must list the appropriate 
business address and telephone number under the signature.

(3) If the case involves

(a) a contest as to the custody of a minor child,

(b) a case involving an adult or minor guardianship under the Estates and Protected 
Individuals Code or under the Mental Health Code or an involuntary mental health 
treatment case under the Mental Health Code, or

(c) a ruling that a provision of the Michigan Constitution, a Michigan statute, a 
rule or regulation included in the Michigan Administrative Code, or any other 
action of the legislative or executive branch of state government is invalid, 

that fact must be stated in capital letters on the claim of appeal. In an appeal specified 
in subrule (D)(3)(c), the Court of Appeals must expedite the appeal, and if the state or 
an officer or agency of the state is not a party to the appeal, the Court of Appeals must 
send copies of the claim of appeal and the judgment or order appealed from to the 
Attorney General.

(E) Trial Court Filing Requirements. Within the time for taking the appeal, the appellant 
must file in the court or the tribunal from which the appeal is taken

(1) a copy of the claim of appeal;

(2) any fee required by law;

(3) any bond required by law as a condition for taking the appeal; and

(4) unless there is no record to be transcribed, the certificate of the court reporter or 
recorder stating that a transcript has been ordered and payment for it made or secured, 
and that it will be filed as soon as possible or has already been filed.

(F) Other Requirements. Within the time for taking the appeal, the appellant must also

(1) make any delivery or deposit of money, property, or documents, and do any other 
act required by the statute authorizing the appeal, and file with the clerk an affidavit or 
other evidence of compliance;



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 695  Updated April 26, 2024 

(2) serve on all other parties in the case and on any other person or officer entitled by 
rule or law to notice of the appeal a copy of the claim of appeal and a copy of any bond 
filed under subrule (C)(4).

(G) Appearance. Within 14 days after being served with the claim of appeal, the appellee 
may file an appearance (identifying the individual attorneys of record) in the Court of 
Appeals and in the court or tribunal from which the appeal is taken. An appellee who does 
not file a timely appearance is not entitled to notice of further proceedings until an 
appearance is filed.

(H) Docketing Statement. In all civil appeals, within 28 days after the claim of appeal is 
filed, the appellant must file a docketing statement with the court clerk and serve a copy 
on the opposing parties.

(1) Contents. The docketing statement must contain the information required from 
time to time by the Court of Appeals through the office of the Chief Clerk on forms 
provided by the Clerk’s office and must set forth:

(a) the nature of the proceeding;

(b) the date of entry of the judgment or order sought to be reviewed as defined in 
MCR 7.204(A) or MCR 7.205(A), and whether the appeal was timely filed and is 
within the court’s jurisdiction;

(c) a concise, accurate summary of all facts material to consideration of the issues 
presented, but transcripts are not required at this stage;

(d) the issues presented by the appeal, including a concise summary of how they 
arose and how they were preserved in the trial court. General conclusory 
statements such as, “the judgment of the trial court is not supported by the law or 
the facts,” will not be accepted;

(e) a reference to all related or prior appeals, and the appropriate citation, if any.

(2) Amendment. The Court of Appeals may, upon motion and good cause shown, 
allow for the amendment of the docketing statement.

(3) Cross-Appeals. A party who files a cross-appeal must file a docketing statement in 
accordance with this rule within 28 days after filing the cross-appeal.

(4) Dismissal. Failure to file a timely docketing statement may result in dismissal of 
the appeal or cross-appeal under MCR 7.217.

RULE 7.205 APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL

(A) Time Requirements. The time limit for an application for leave to appeal is 
jurisdictional. See MCR 7.203(B). The provisions of MCR 1.108 regarding computation 
of time apply. For purposes of this subrule, “entry” means the date a judgment or order is 
signed, or the date that data entry of the judgment or order is accomplished in the issuing 
tribunal’s register of actions.
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(1) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, an application for leave to appeal must 
be filed within:

(a) 21 days after entry of the judgment or order to be appealed from or within other 
time as allowed by law or rule; or

(b) 21 days after entry of an order deciding a motion for new trial, a motion for 
rehearing or reconsideration, or a motion for other relief from the order or 
judgment appealed, if the motion was filed within the initial 21-day appeal period 
or within further time the trial court has allowed for good cause during that 21-day 
period.

(2) In a criminal case involving a final judgment or final order entered in that case, an 
application for leave to appeal filed on behalf of the defendant must be filed within the 
later of:

(a) 6 months after entry of the judgment or order; or

(b) 42 days after:

(i) an order appointing appellate counsel or substitute counsel, or denying a 
request for appellate counsel, if the defendant requested counsel within 6 
months after entry of the judgment or order to be appealed;

(ii) the filing of transcripts ordered under MCR 6.425(G)(1)(f), if the defendant 
requested counsel within 6 months after entry of the judgment or order to be 
appealed;

(iii) the filing of transcripts ordered under MCR 6.433, if the defendant 
requested the transcripts within 6 months after entry of the judgment or order 
to be appealed;

(iv) an order deciding a timely filed motion to withdraw plea under MCR 
6.310(C), motion for directed verdict under MCR 6.419(C), motion to correct 
an invalid sentence under MCR 6.429(B), or motion for new trial under MCR 
6.431(A); or

(v) an order deciding a timely filed motion for reconsideration of an order 
described in subrule (A)(2)(b)(iv).

A defendant relying on subrule (A)(2)(b) must provide a statement, supported by 
relevant documentation, explaining how the application meets the requirements of 
the subrule.

(3) In an appeal from an order terminating parental rights, an application for leave to 
appeal must be filed within 63 days, as provided by MCR 3.993(C)(3).

(4) Delayed Application for Leave to Appeal.

(a) For appeals governed by subrule (A)(1), when an application is not filed within 
the time provided by that subrule, a delayed application for leave to appeal may be 
filed within 6 months of the entry of a judgment or order described in that subrule.

(b) For appeals governed by subrule (A)(1) or (2), if the Court of Appeals 
dismisses a claim of appeal for lack of jurisdiction, a delayed application for leave 
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to appeal may also be filed within 21 days of the entry of the dismissal order or an 
order denying reconsideration of that order, provided that:

(i) the delayed application is taken from the same lower court judgment or 
order as the claim of appeal, and 

(ii) the claim of appeal was filed within the applicable time period in subrule 
(A)(1) or (2).

A delayed application under this rule must contain a statement of facts explaining the 
reasons for delay. The appellee may challenge the claimed reasons in the answer. The 
court may consider the length of and the reasons for delay in deciding whether to grant 
the delayed application.

(5) In a criminal case, except as provided in subrule (4)(b), the defendant may not file 
an application for leave to appeal from a judgment of conviction and sentence if the 
defendant has previously taken an appeal from that judgment by right or leave granted 
or has sought leave to appeal that was denied. 

(B) Manner of Filing. To apply for leave to appeal, the appellant must file with the clerk:

(1) an application for leave to appeal stating the date and nature of the judgment or 
order appealed from; concisely reciting the appellant’s allegations of error and the 
relief sought; setting forth a concise argument, conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C), 
in support of the appellant’s position on each issue; and, if the order appealed from is 
interlocutory, setting forth facts showing how the appellant would suffer substantial 
harm by awaiting final judgment before taking an appeal;

(2) the judgment or order appealed from; the register of actions of the lower court, 
tribunal, or agency, of the opinion or findings of the lower court, tribunal, or agency; 
and any opinion or findings reviewed by the lower court, tribunal, or agency;

(3) if the appeal is from an administrative tribunal or agency, or from a circuit court on 
review of an administrative tribunal or agency, evidence that the tribunal or agency 
has been requested to send its record to the Court of Appeals;

(4) a copy of certain transcripts, as follows:

(a) in an appeal relating to the evidence presented at an evidentiary hearing in a 
civil or criminal case, the transcript of the evidentiary hearing, including the 
opinion or findings of the court that conducted the hearing;

(b) in an appeal from the circuit court after an appeal from another court, the 
transcript of proceedings in the court reviewed by the circuit court;

(c) in an appeal challenging jury instructions, the transcript of the entire charge to 
the jury;

(d) in an appeal from a judgment in a criminal case entered pursuant to a plea of 
guilty or nolo contendere, the transcripts of the plea and sentence;

(e) in an appeal from an order granting or denying a new trial, such portion of the 
transcript of the trial as, in relation to the issues raised, permits the court to 
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determine whether the trial court’s decision on the motion was for a legally 
recognized reason and based on arguable support in the record;

(f) in an appeal raising a sentencing issue, the transcript of the sentencing 
proceeding and the transcript of any hearing on a motion relating to sentencing;

(g) in an appeal raising any other issue, such portion of the transcript as 
substantiates the existence of the issue, objections or lack thereof, arguments of 
counsel, and any comment or ruling of the trial judge.

If the transcript is not yet available, or if there is no record to be transcribed, the 
appellant must file a copy of the certificate of the court reporter or recorder or a 
statement by the appellant’s attorney as provided in MCR 7.204(C)(2). As soon as the 
transcript is available, the appellant must file it with the Court of Appeals.

(5) proof that a copy of the filed documents was served on all other parties; and

(6) the entry fee.

(C) Answer. Any other party in the case may file with the clerk, within 21 days of service 
of the application,

(1) an answer to the application conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (D), except that 
transcript page references are not required unless a transcript has been filed; and

(2) proof that a copy was served on the appellant and any other appellee.

(D) Reply. A reply brief may be filed as provided by MCR 7.212(G).

(E) Decision.

(1) There is no oral argument. The application is decided on the documents filed and, 
in an appeal from an administrative tribunal or agency, the certified record.

(2) The court may grant or deny the application, enter a final decision, grant other 
relief, or request additional material from the record.

(3) If an application is granted, the case proceeds as an appeal of right, except that the 
filing of a claim of appeal is not required and the time limits for the filing of a cross-
appeal and for the taking of the other steps in the appeal, including the filing of the 
docketing statement (28 days), and the filing of the court reporter’s or recorder’s 
certificate if the transcript has not been filed (14 days), run from the date the order 
granting leave is certified.

(4) Unless otherwise ordered, the appeal is limited to the issues raised in the 
application and supporting brief.

(F) Expedited Decision. When a party requires a decision on an application by a date 
certain, the party may file a motion for immediate consideration of the application as 
provided in MCR 7.211(C)(6). When a motion for immediate consideration is filed, the 
time for submission of the application and motion is governed by MCR 7.211(C)(6). In all 
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other respects, submission, decision, and further proceedings are as provided in subrule 
(E).

RULE 7.206 EXTRAORDINARY WRITS, ORIGINAL ACTIONS, AND ENFORCEMENT ACTIONS

(A) General Rules of Pleading. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the general rules 
of pleading apply as nearly as practicable. See MCR 1.109 and 2.111-2.113.

(B) Superintending Control, Mandamus, and Habeas Corpus. To the extent that they do 
not conflict with this rule, the rules in subchapter 3.300 apply to actions for superintending 
control, mandamus, and habeas corpus.

(C) Quo Warranto. In a quo warranto action, the Attorney General also must be served 
with a copy of each pleading and document filed in the Court of Appeals. The Attorney 
General has the right to intervene as a party on either side.

(D) Actions for Extraordinary Writs and Original Actions.

(1) Filing of Complaint. To commence an original action, the plaintiff must file with 
the clerk:

(a) a complaint, which may have supporting documents or affidavits attached;

(b) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C) to the extent possible;

(c) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on every defendant 
and, in a superintending control action, on any other party involved in the case that 
gave rise to the complaint for superintending control; and

(d) the entry fee.

(2) Answer. A defendant or any other interested party must file with the clerk within 
21 days of service of the complaint:

(a) an answer to the complaint, which may have supporting documents or 
affidavits attached;

(b) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (D) to the extent possible; 
and

(c) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on the plaintiff and 
any other interested party.

(3) Preliminary Hearing. There is no oral argument on preliminary hearing of a 
complaint. The court may deny relief, grant peremptory relief, or allow the parties to 
proceed to full hearing on the merits in the same manner as an appeal of right either 
with or without referral to a judicial circuit or tribunal or agency for the taking of 
proofs and report of factual findings. If the case is ordered to proceed to full hearing, 
the time for filing a brief by the plaintiff begins to run from the date the order allowing 
the case to proceed is certified or the date the transcript or report of factual findings on 
referral is filed, whichever is later. The plaintiff’s brief must conform to MCR 
7.212(B) and (C). An opposing brief must conform to MCR 7.212(B) and (D). In a 
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habeas corpus proceeding, the prisoner need not be brought before the Court of 
Appeals.

(E) Actions to Enforce the Headlee Amendment, Under Const 1963, art 9, § 32.

(1)Filing of Complaint. To commence an action under Const 1963, art 9, § 32, the 
plaintiff must file with the clerk:

(a) a complaint, which conforms with the special pleading requirements of MCR 
2.112(M) and indicates whether there are any factual questions that are anticipated 
to require resolution by the court and whether the plaintiff anticipates the need for 
discovery and the development of a factual record;

(b) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C) to the extent possible;

(c) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on every defendant 
and the office of the attorney general; and

(d) the entry fee. 

(2) Answer. A defendant must file with the clerk within 21 days of service of the 
complaint:

(a) an answer to the complaint, which conforms with the special pleading 
requirements of MCR 2.112(M) and indicates whether there are any factual 
questions that are anticipated to require resolution by the court and whether a 
defendant anticipates the need for discovery and the development of a factual 
record;

(b) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C) to the extent possible;

(c) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on every plaintiff.

(3) Subsequent proceedings. Following receipt of the answer:

(a) the clerk must promptly select a panel of the court by random draw and assign 
that panel to commence proceedings in the suit; and

(b) the panel of the court may deny relief or grant peremptory relief without oral 
argument; or

(c) if the panel of the court determines that the issues framed in the parties’ 
pleadings and supporting briefs solely present jurisprudentially significant 
questions of law, the panel must direct that the suit proceed to a full hearing on the 
merits in the same manner as an appeal of right and notify the parties of the date 
for the filing of supplemental briefs, if such briefs are determined to be necessary, 
and of the date for oral argument, which must be on an expedited basis; or

(d) if the panel of the court determines that the issues framed in the parties’ 
pleadings and supplemental briefs present factual questions for resolution, the 
panel must refer the suit to a judicial circuit for the purposes of holding pretrial 
proceedings, conducting a hearing to receive evidence and arguments of law, and 
issuing a written report for the panel setting forth proposed findings of fact and 
conclusions of law. The proceedings before the circuit court must proceed as 
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expeditiously as due consideration of the circuit court’s docket, facts and issues of 
law requires. Following the receipt of the report from the circuit court, the panel 
must notify counsel for the parties of the schedule for filing briefs in response to 
the circuit court’s report and of the date for oral argument, which must be on an 
expedited basis. 

(F) Enforcement of Administrative Tribunal or Agency Orders.

(1) Complaint. To obtain enforcement of a final order of an administrative tribunal or 
agency, the plaintiff must file with the clerk within the time limit provided by law:

(a) a complaint concisely stating the basis for relief and the relief sought;

(b) the order sought to be enforced;

(c) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C) to the extent possible;

(d) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on the defendant, 
the agency (unless the agency is the plaintiff), and any other interested party;

(e) the certified tribunal or agency record or evidence the plaintiff has requested 
that the certified record be sent to the Court of Appeals; and

(f) the entry fee.

(2) Answer. A defendant or any other interested party must file with the clerk within 
21 days of service of the complaint:

(a) an answer to the complaint;

(b) a supporting brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (D) to the extent possible; 
and

(c) proof that a copy of each of the filed documents was served on the plaintiff, the 
agency, and any other interested party.

(3) Preliminary Hearing. There is no oral argument on preliminary hearing of a 
complaint. The court may deny relief, grant peremptory relief, or allow the parties to 
proceed to full hearing on the merits in the same manner as an appeal of right. If the 
case is ordered to proceed to full hearing, the time for filing of a brief by the plaintiff 
begins to run from the date the clerk certifies the order allowing the case to proceed. 
The plaintiff’s brief must conform to MCR 7.212(B) and (C). An opposing brief must 
conform to MCR 7.212(B) and (D). The case is heard on the certified record 
transmitted by the tribunal or agency. MCR 7.210(A)(2), regarding the content of the 
record, applies.

RULE 7.207 CROSS-APPEALS

(A) Right of Cross-Appeal.

(1) When an appeal of right is filed or the court grants leave to appeal any appellee 
may file a cross-appeal.
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(2) If there is more than one party plaintiff or defendant in a civil action and one party 
appeals, any other party, whether on the same or opposite side as the party first 
appealing, may file a cross-appeal against all or any of the other parties to the case as 
well as against the party who first appealed. If the cross-appeal operates against a party 
not affected by the first appeal or in a manner different from the first appeal, that party 
may file a further cross-appeal as if the cross-appeal affecting that party had been the 
first appeal.

(B) Manner of Filing. To file a cross-appeal, the cross-appellant must file with the clerk a 
claim of cross-appeal in the form required by MCR 7.204(D) and the entry fee

(1) within 21 days after the claim of appeal is filed with the Court of Appeals or served 
on the cross-appellant, whichever is later, if the first appeal was of right; or

(2) within 21 days after the clerk certifies the order granting leave to appeal, if the 
appeal was initiated by application for leave to appeal.

The cross-appellant must file proof that a copy of the claim of cross-appeal was served on 
the cross-appellee and any other party in the case. A copy of the judgment or order from 
which the cross-appeal is taken must be filed with the claim.

(C) Additional Requirements. The cross-appellant must perform the steps required by 
MCR 7.204(E) and (F), except that the cross-appellant is not required to order a transcript 
or file a court reporter’s or recorder’s certificate unless the initial appeal is abandoned or 
dismissed. Otherwise the cross-appeal proceeds in the same manner as an ordinary appeal.

(D) Abandonment or Dismissal of Appeal. If the appellant abandons the initial appeal or 
the court dismisses it, the cross-appeal may nevertheless be prosecuted to its conclusion. 
Within 21 days after the clerk certifies the order dismissing the initial appeal, if there is a 
record to be transcribed, the cross-appellant must file a certificate of the court reporter or 
recorder that a transcript has been ordered and payment for it made or secured and will be 
filed as soon as possible or has already been filed.

(E) Delayed Cross-Appeal. A party seeking leave to take a delayed cross-appeal must 
proceed under MCR 7.205.

RULE 7.208 AUTHORITY OF COURT OR TRIBUNAL APPEALED FROM

(A) Limitations. After a claim of appeal is filed or leave to appeal is granted, the trial court 
or tribunal may not set aside or amend the judgment or order appealed from except 

(1) by order of the Court of Appeals, 

(2) by stipulation of the parties, 

(3) after a decision on the merits in an action in which a preliminary injunction was 
granted, or

(4) as otherwise provided by law. 



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 703  Updated April 26, 2024 

In a criminal case, the filing of the claim of appeal does not preclude the trial court 
from granting a timely motion under subrule (B).

(B) Postjudgment Motions in Criminal Cases.

(1) Within the time for filing the defendant-appellant’s brief as provided by MCR 
7.212(A)(1)(a)(iii), the defendant may file in the trial court a motion for a new trial, for 
judgment of acquittal, to withdraw a plea, or to correct an invalid sentence.

(2) A copy of the motion must be filed with the Court of Appeals and served on the 
prosecuting attorney.

(3) The trial court must hear and decide the motion within 56 days of filing, unless the 
court determines that an adjournment is necessary to secure evidence needed for the 
decision on the motion or that there is other good cause for an adjournment.

(4) Within 28 days of the trial court’s decision, the court reporter or recorder must file 
with the trial court clerk the transcript of any hearing held.

(5) If the motion is granted in whole or in part,

(a) the defendant must file the appellant’s brief or a notice of withdrawal of the 
appeal within 42 days after the trial court’s decision or after the filing of the 
transcript of any hearing held, whichever is later;

(b) the prosecuting attorney may file a cross-appeal in the manner provided by 
MCR 7.207 within 21 days after the trial court’s decision. If the defendant has 
withdrawn the appeal before the prosecuting attorney has filed a cross-appeal, the 
prosecuting attorney may file a claim of appeal or an application for leave to 
appeal within the 21-day period.

(6) If the motion is denied, defendant-appellant’s brief must be filed within 42 days 
after the decision by the trial court or the filing of the transcript of any trial court 
hearing, whichever is later.

(C) Correction of Defects. Except as otherwise provided by rule and until the record is 
filed in the Court of Appeals, the trial court or tribunal has jurisdiction

(1) to grant further time to do, properly perform, or correct any act in the trial court or 
tribunal in connection with the appeal that was omitted or insufficiently done, other 
than to extend the time for filing a claim of appeal or for paying the entry fee or to 
allow delayed appeal;

(2) to correct any part of the record to be transmitted to the Court of Appeals, but only 
after notice to the parties and an opportunity for a hearing on the proposed correction.

After the record is filed in the Court of Appeals, the trial court may correct the record only 
with leave of the Court of Appeals.

(D) Probate Actions. The probate court retains continuing jurisdiction to decide other 
matters pertaining to the proceeding from which an appeal was filed.
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(E) Supervision of Property. When an appeal is filed while property is being held for 
conservation or management under the order or judgment of the trial court, that court 
retains jurisdiction over the property pending the outcome of the appeal, except as the 
Court of Appeals otherwise orders. 

(F) Temporary Orders. A trial court order entered before final judgment concerning 
custody, control, and management of property; temporary alimony, support or custody of 
a minor child, or expenses in a domestic relations action; or a preliminary injunction, 
remains in effect and is enforceable in the trial court, pending interlocutory appeal, except 
as the trial court or the Court of Appeals may otherwise order.

(G) Stays and Bonds. The trial court retains authority over stay and bond matters, except 
as the Court of Appeals otherwise orders.

(H) Matters Pertaining to Appointment of Attorney. Throughout the pendency of an 
appeal involving an indigent person, the trial court retains authority to appoint, remove, or 
replace an attorney except as the Court of Appeals otherwise orders.

(I) Acts by Other Judges. Whenever the trial judge who has heard a case dies, resigns, or 
vacates office, or is unable to perform any act necessary to an appeal of a case within the 
time prescribed by law or these rules, another judge of the same court, or if another judge 
of that court is unavailable, another judge assigned by the state court administrator, may 
perform the acts necessary to the review process. Whenever a case is heard by a judge 
assigned from another court, the judicial acts necessary in the preparation of a record for 
appeal may be performed, with consent of the parties, by a judge of the court in which the 
case was heard.

(J) Attorney Fees and Costs. The trial court may rule on requests for costs or attorney fees 
under court rule or other law, unless the Court of Appeals orders otherwise.

RULE 7.209 BOND; STAY OF PROCEEDINGS

(A) Effect of Appeal; Prerequisites.

(1) Except for an automatic stay pursuant to MCR 2.614 or MCL 600.867, or except as 
otherwise provided under this rule, an appeal does not stay the effect or enforceability 
of a judgment or order of a trial court unless the trial court or the Court of Appeals 
otherwise orders. An automatic stay under MCR 2.614(D) operates to stay any and all 
proceedings in a cause in which a party has appealed a trial court’s denial of the 
party’s claim of governmental immunity.

(2) A motion for bond or for a stay pending appeal may not be filed in the Court of 
Appeals unless such a motion was decided by the trial court.

(3) A motion for bond or a stay pending appeal filed in the Court of Appeals must 
include a copy of the trial court’s opinion and order, and a copy of the transcript of the 
hearing on the motion in the trial court.
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(B) Responsibility for Setting Amount of Bond in Trial Court.

(1) Civil Actions and Probate Proceedings. Unless determined by law, or as otherwise 
provided by this rule, the dollar amount of a stay or appeal bond in a civil action or 
probate proceeding must be set by the trial court in an amount adequate to protect the 
opposite party.

(2) Criminal Cases. In a criminal case the granting of bond pending appeal and the 
amount of it are within the discretion of the trial court, subject to applicable law and 
rules. Bond must be sufficient to guarantee the appearance of the defendant. Unless 
bond pending appeal is allowed and a bond is filed with the trial court, a criminal 
judgment may be executed immediately, even though the time for taking an appeal has 
not elapsed.

(C) Amendment of Bond. On motion, the trial court may order an additional or different 
bond, set the amount, and approve or require different sureties.

(D) Review by Court of Appeals. Except as otherwise provided by rule or law, on motion 
filed in a case pending before it, the Court of Appeals may amend the amount of bond set 
by the trial court, order an additional or different bond and set the amount, or require 
different or additional sureties. The Court of Appeals may also refer a bond or bail matter 
to the court from which the appeal is taken. The Court of Appeals may grant a stay of 
proceedings in the trial court or stay of effect or enforcement of any judgment or order of 
a trial court on the terms it deems just.

(E) Stay of Proceedings by Trial Court.

(1) Unless otherwise provided by rule, statute, or court order, an execution may not 
issue and proceedings may not be taken to enforce an order or judgment until 
expiration of the time for taking an appeal of right.

(2) An appeal does not stay execution unless:

(a) Except in a domestic relations matter, the party seeking to stay a money 
judgment files with the court a bond in compliance with MCR 3.604 in an amount 
not less than 110% of the judgment or order being enforced, including any costs, 
interest, attorney fees, and sanctions assessed to the date of filing the bond, with 
the party in whose favor the judgment or order was entered as the obligee, by 
which the party promises to

(i) perform and satisfy the judgment or order stayed if it is not set aside or 
reversed, and

(ii) prosecute to completion any appeal subsequently taken from the judgment 
or order stayed and perform and satisfy the judgment or order entered by the 
Court of Appeals or Supreme Court; or

(b) The trial court grants a stay with or without bond, or with a reduced bond, as 
justice requires or as otherwise provided by statute (see MCL 500.3036).
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(3) The court may order, on stipulation or otherwise, other forms of security in lieu of 
the bond in subsection (E)(2)(a), including but not limited to an irrevocable letter of 
credit.

(4) When the bond is filed under subsection (E)(2)(a), the judgment or order is 
automatically stayed pending entry of a final order under subsection (G).

(5) If a stay bond filed under this subrule substantially meets the requirements of 
subrule (F), it will be a sufficient bond to stay proceedings pending disposition of an 
appeal subsequently filed.

(6) The stay order must conform to any condition expressly required by the statute 
authorizing review.

(7) If a government party files a claim of appeal from an order described in MCR 
7.202(6)(a)(v), the proceedings are stayed during the pendency of the appeal, unless 
the Court of Appeals directs otherwise. 

(F) Conditions of Stay Bond.

(1) Civil Actions and Probate Proceedings. In a bond filed for stay pending appeal in a 
civil action or probate proceeding, the appellant must promise in writing:

(a) to prosecute the appeal to decision;

(b) to perform or satisfy a judgment or order of the Court of Appeals or the 
Supreme Court;

(c) to perform or satisfy the judgment or order appealed from, if the appeal is 
dismissed;

(d) in an action involving the possession of land or judgment for foreclosure of a 
mortgage or land contract, to pay the appellee the damages which may result from 
the stay of proceedings; and

(e) to do any other act which is expressly required in the statute authorizing appeal.

(2) Criminal Cases. A criminal defendant for whom bond pending appeal is allowed 
after conviction must promise in writing:

(a) to prosecute the appeal to decision;

(b) if the sentence is one of incarceration, to surrender himself or herself to the 
sheriff of the county in which he or she was convicted or other custodial authority 
if the sentence is affirmed on appeal or if the appeal is dismissed;

(c) if the judgment or order appealed is other than a sentence of incarceration, to 
perform and comply with the order of the trial court if it is affirmed on appeal or if 
the appeal is dismissed;

(d) to appear in the trial court if the case is remanded for retrial or further 
proceedings or if a conviction is reversed and retrial is allowed;

(e) to remain in Michigan unless the court gives written approval to leave; and

(f) to notify the trial court clerk of a change of address.
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(G) Sureties and Filing of Bond; Service of Bond; Objections; Stay Orders. Except as 
otherwise specifically provided in this rule, MCR 3.604 applies. A bond must be filed with 
the clerk of the court that entered the order or judgment to be stayed.

(1) Civil Actions and Probate Proceedings. 

(a) A copy of a bond and any accompanying power of attorney or affidavit must be 
promptly served on all parties in the manner prescribed in MCR 2.107. At the 
same time, the party seeking the stay must file a proposed stay order under MCR 
2.602(B)(3). Proof of service must be filed promptly with the trial court in which 
the bond has been filed.

(b) Objections must be filed and served within seven days after service of the 
bond. Objections to the amount of the bond are governed by MCR 2.602(B)(3). 
Objections to the surety are governed by MCR 3.604(E). 

(c) If no timely objections to the bond, surety, or stay order are filed, the trial court 
must promptly enter the order staying enforcement of the judgment or order 
pending all appeals. The stay continues until otherwise ordered by the trial court or 
an appellate court.

(d) Any stay order must be promptly served on all parties in the manner prescribed 
in MCR 2.107. Proof of service must be filed promptly with the trial court.

(e) All hearings under this rule may be held by telephone conference as provided 
in MCR 2.402.

(f) For good cause shown, the trial court may set the amount of the bond in a 
greater or lesser amount adequate to protect the interests of the parties.

(g) A bond may be secured under MCL 600.2631.

(2) Criminal Cases. A criminal defendant filing a bond after conviction must give 
notice to the county prosecuting attorney of the time and place the bond will be filed. 
The bond is subject to the objection procedure provided in MCR 3.604.

(H) Stay of Execution.

(1) If a bond is filed before execution issues, and notice is given to the officer having 
authority to issue execution, execution is stayed. If the bond is filed after the issuance 
but before execution, and notice is given to the officer holding it, execution is 
suspended.

(2) The Court of Appeals may stay or terminate a stay of any order or judgment of a 
lower court or tribunal on just terms.

(3) When the amount of the judgment is more than $1000 over the insurance policy 
coverage or surety obligation, then the policy or obligation does not qualify to stay 
execution under MCL 500.3036 on the portion of the judgment in excess of the policy 
or bond limits. Stay pending appeal may be achieved by complying with that statute 
and by filing a bond in an additional amount adequate to protect the opposite party or 
by obtaining a trial court or Court of Appeals order waiving the additional bond.
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(4) A statute exempting a municipality or other governmental agency from filing a 
bond to stay execution supersedes the requirements of this rule.

(I) Ex Parte Stay. Whenever an ex parte stay of proceedings is necessary to allow a motion 
in either the trial court or the Court of Appeals, the court before which the motion will be 
heard may grant an ex parte stay for that purpose. Service of a copy of the order, with a 
copy of the motion, any affidavits on which the motion is based, and notice of hearing on 
the motion, operates as a stay of proceedings until the court rules on the motion unless the 
court supersedes or sets aside the order in the interim. Proceedings may not be stayed for 
longer than necessary to enable the party to make the motion according to the practice of 
the court and, if made, until the decision of the court.

RULE 7.210 RECORD ON APPEAL

(A) Content of Record. Appeals to the Court of Appeals are heard on the original record.

(1) Appeal From Court. In an appeal from a lower court, the record consists of the 
original documents filed in that court or a certified copy, the transcript of any 
testimony or other proceedings in the case appealed, and the exhibits introduced. In an 
appeal from probate court in an estate or trust proceeding, an adult or minor 
guardianship proceeding under the Estates and Protected Individuals Code, or a 
proceeding under the Mental Health Code, only the order appealed from and those 
petitions, opinions, and other documents pertaining to it need be included.

(2) Appeal From Tribunal or Agency. In an appeal from an administrative tribunal or 
agency, the record includes all documents, files, pleadings, testimony, and opinions 
and orders of the tribunal, agency, or officer (or a certified copy), except those 
summarized or omitted in whole or in part by stipulation of the parties. Testimony not 
transcribed when the certified record is sent for consideration of an application for 
leave to appeal, and not omitted by stipulation of the parties, must be filed and sent to 
the court as promptly as possible.

(3) Excluded Evidence. The substance or transcript of excluded evidence offered at a 
trial and the proceedings at the trial in relation to it must be included as part of the 
record on appeal.

(4) Stipulations. The parties in any appeal to the Court of Appeals may stipulate in 
writing regarding any matters relevant to the lower court or tribunal or agency record 
if the stipulation is made a part of the record on appeal and sent to the Court of 
Appeals.

(B) Transcript.

(1) Appellant’s Duties; Orders; Stipulations.

(a) The appellant is responsible for securing the filing of the transcript as provided 
in this rule. Except in cases governed by MCR 3.993(E) or MCR 6.425(G), or as 
otherwise provided by Court of Appeals order or the remainder of this subrule, the 
appellant must order from the court reporter or recorder the full transcript of 
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testimony and other proceedings in the trial court or tribunal. Once an appeal is 
filed in the Court of Appeals, a party must serve a copy of any request for 
transcript preparation on opposing counsel and file a copy with the Court of 
Appeals.

(b) In an appeal from probate court in an estate or trust proceeding, an adult or 
minor guardianship proceeding under the Estates and Protected Individuals Code, 
or a proceeding under the Mental Health Code, only that portion of the transcript 
concerning the order appealed from need be filed. The appellee may file additional 
portions of the transcript.

(c) On the appellant’s motion, with notice to the appellee, the trial court or tribunal 
may order that some portion less than the full transcript (or no transcript at all) be 
included in the record on appeal. The motion must be filed within the time required 
for filing an appeal, and, if the motion is granted, the appellee may file any 
portions of the transcript omitted by the appellant. The filing of the motion extends 
the time for filing the court reporter’s or recorder’s certificate until seven days 
after entry of the trial court’s or tribunal’s order on the motion.

(d) The parties may stipulate that some portion less than the full transcript (or 
none) be filed.

(e) The parties may agree on a statement of facts without procuring the transcript 
and the statement signed by the parties may be filed with the trial court or tribunal 
clerk and sent as the record of testimony in the action.

(2) Transcript Unavailable. When a transcript of the proceedings in the trial court or 
tribunal cannot be obtained from the court reporter or recorder, the appellant must take 
the following steps to settle the record and to cause the filing of a certified settled 
statement of facts to serve as a substitute for the transcript.

(a) No later than 56 days after the filing of the available transcripts, or 28 days 
after the filing of the available transcripts in a child custody case or interlocutory 
criminal appeal, or, if no transcripts are available, within 14 days after filing the 
claim of appeal, the appellant must file with the trial court or tribunal clerk, and 
serve on each appellee, a motion to settle the record and, where reasonably 
possible, a proposed statement of facts. A proposed statement of facts must 
concisely set forth the substance of the testimony, or the oral proceedings before 
the trial court or tribunal if no testimony was taken, in sufficient detail to provide 
for appellate review.

(b) Except as otherwise provided, the appellant must notice the motion to settle the 
record for hearing before the trial court or tribunal to be held within 21 days of the 
filing of the motion. If it is not the typical practice of a tribunal to conduct 
hearings, the motion to settle the record must be filed with the tribunal for 
consideration by the tribunal within 21 days of the filing of the motion. The motion 
must be filed and served at least 14 days before the date noticed for hearing or 
consideration to settle the record. If appellant filed a proposed statement of facts 
with the motion, appellee must file and serve on the appellant and other appellees 
an amendment or objection to the proposed statement of facts in the trial court or 
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tribunal at least seven days before the time set for the settlement hearing or 
consideration. The trial court may adopt and file the appellant’s proposed 
statement of facts as the certified settled statement of facts.

(c) The trial court or tribunal must settle any controversy and certify a settled 
statement of facts as an accurate, fair, and complete statement of the proceedings 
before it. The certified settled statement of facts must concisely set forth the 
substance of the testimony, or the oral proceedings before the trial court or tribunal 
if no testimony was taken, in sufficient detail to provide for appellate review.

(d) The appellant must file the settled statement of facts and the certifying order 
with the trial court or tribunal clerk and Court of Appeals.

(3) Duties of Court Reporter or Recorder.

(a) Certificate. Within seven days after a transcript is ordered by a party or the 
court, the court reporter or recorder must file a certificate stating:

(i) that the transcript has been ordered, that payment for the transcript has been 
made or secured, that it will be filed as soon as possible or has already been 
filed, and the estimated number of pages for each of the proceedings requested;

(ii) as to each proceeding requested, whether the court reporter or recorder 
filing the certificate recorded the proceeding; and if not,

(iii) the name and certification number of the court reporter or recorder 
responsible for the transcript of that proceeding.

(b) Time for Filing. The court reporter or recorder must give precedence to 
transcripts necessary for interlocutory criminal appeals and custody cases. The 
court reporter or recorder must file the transcript with the trial court or tribunal 
clerk within

(i) 14 days after it is ordered for an application for leave to appeal from an 
order granting or denying a motion to suppress evidence in a criminal case;

(ii) 28 days after it is ordered in an appeal of a criminal conviction based on a 
plea of guilty, guilty but mentally ill, or nolo contendere;

(iii) 42 days after it is ordered in any other interlocutory criminal appeal or 
custody case;

(iv) 91 days after it is ordered in other cases.

The Court of Appeals may extend or shorten these time limits in an appeal pending 
in the court on motion filed by the court reporter or recorder or a party.

(c) Copies. Additional copies of the transcripts required by the appellant may be 
ordered from the court reporter or recorder or photocopies may be made of the 
transcript furnished by the court reporter or recorder.

(d) Form of Transcript. The transcript must be filed in one or more volumes stating 
the title of the action, and prefaced by a table of contents showing the subject 
matter of the transcript with page references to the significant parts of the trial or 
proceedings, including the testimony of each witness by name, the arguments of 
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the attorneys, and the jury instructions. The pages of the transcript must be 
consecutively numbered on the bottom of each page. Transcripts filed with the 
court must contain only a single transcript page per document page, not multiple 
pages combined on a single document page.

(e) Notice. Immediately after the transcript is filed, the court reporter or recorder 
must notify the Court of Appeals and all parties that it has been filed and file in the 
Court of Appeals an affidavit of mailing of notice to the parties.

(f) Discipline. A court reporter or recorder failing to comply with the requirements 
of these rules is subject to disciplinary action by the courts, including punishment 
for contempt of court, on the court’s own initiative or motion of a party.

(C) Exhibits. Within 21 days after the claim of appeal is filed, a party possessing any 
exhibits offered in evidence, whether admitted or not, must file them with the trial court or 
tribunal clerk, unless by stipulation of the parties or order of the trial court or tribunal they 
are not to be sent, or copies, summaries, or excerpts are to be sent. Copies of exhibits may 
be filed in lieu of originals unless the trial court or tribunal orders otherwise. When the 
record is returned to the trial court or tribunal, the trial court or tribunal clerk must return 
the exhibits to the parties who filed them.

(D) Reproduction of Records. Where facilities for the copying or reproduction of records 
are available to the clerk of the court or tribunal whose action is to be reviewed, the clerk, 
on a party’s request and on deposit of the estimated cost or security for the cost, must 
procure for the party as promptly as possible and at the cost to the clerk the requested 
number of copies of documents, transcripts, and exhibits on file.

(E) Record on Motion. If, before the time the complete record on appeal is sent to the 
Court of Appeals, a party files a motion that requires the Court of Appeals to have the 
record, the trial court or tribunal clerk must, on request of a party or the Court of Appeals, 
send the Court of Appeals the documents needed.

(F) Service of Record. Within 21 days after the transcript is filed with the trial court clerk, 
the appellant must serve a copy of the entire record on appeal, including the transcript and 
exhibits, on each appellee. However, copies of documents the appellee already possesses 
need not be served. Proof that the record was served must be promptly filed with the Court 
of Appeals and the trial court or tribunal clerk. If the filing of a transcript has been excused 
as provided in subrule (B), the record is to be served within 21 days after the filing of the 
transcript substitute.

(G) Transmission of Record. Within 21 days after the briefs have been filed or the time for 
filing the appellee’s brief has expired, or when the court requests, the trial court or tribunal 
clerk must send to the Court of Appeals the record on appeal in the case pending on 
appeal, except for those things omitted by written stipulation of the parties. Weapons, 
drugs, or money are not to be sent unless the Court of Appeals requests. The trial court or 
tribunal clerk must append a certificate identifying the name of the case and the 
documents with reasonable definiteness and must include as part of the record:
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(1) a register of actions in the case;

(2) all opinions, findings, and orders of the court or tribunal; and

(3) the order or judgment appealed from.

Transcripts and all other documents that are part of the record on appeal must be included 
in the record and, if filed in print, must be attached in one or more file folders or other 
suitable hard-surfaced binders showing the name of the trial court or tribunal, the title of 
the case, and the file number.

(H) Return of Record Filed in Printed Form. If the record was filed in printed form, after 
the Court of Appeals disposes of the appeal, the clerk must promptly send it to

(1) the Clerk of the Supreme Court on request if an application for leave to appeal is 
filed in the Supreme Court, or 

(2) the clerk of the court or tribunal from which it was received when

(a) the period for an application for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court has 
expired without the filing of an application, and

(b) the period for filing a motion for reconsideration in the Court of Appeals has 
expired and any timely filed motion has been resolved, and

(c) the period for initiation of a special panel under MCR 7.215(J) has expired and 
any proceedings under that subrule are concluded.

(I) Disposition of Record Filed in Electronic Form. If the record is filed in electronic form, 
the Court of Appeals may dispose of the electronic record according to the standards 
established by the court. 

(J) Notice by Trial Court or Tribunal Clerk. In order that the parties may take the 
appropriate action in the trial court or tribunal under the Court of Appeals judgment, the 
trial court or tribunal clerk must promptly notify all parties of the return of the record, if 
filed in printed form, or of the expiration of the time under subrule (H)(2) if the record was 
filed in electronic form.

RULE 7.211 MOTIONS IN COURT OF APPEALS

(A) Manner of Making Motion. A motion is made in the Court of Appeals by filing:

(1) a motion stating briefly but distinctly the facts and the grounds on which it is based 
and the relief requested;

(2) the entry fee;

(3) for a motion to dismiss, to affirm, or for peremptory reversal, a supporting brief. A 
supporting brief may be filed with any other motion. A brief must conform to MCR 
7.212(B) and (C) as nearly as possible, except that page references to a transcript are 
not required unless the transcript is relevant to the issue raised in the motion. A brief is 
not required in support of a motion to affirm when the appellant argues that:
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(a) the trial court’s findings of fact are clearly erroneous;

(b) the trial court erred in applying established law;

(c) the trial court abused its discretion; or

(d) a sentence that is within the sentencing guidelines is invalid.

Instead of a brief in support of a motion to affirm in such a circumstance, the movant 
may append those portions of the transcript that are pertinent to the issues raised in the 
motion; in that case, the motion must include a summary of the movant’s position;

(4) a motion for immediate consideration under subrule (C)(6) if the party wants a 
decision on the motion on a date earlier than the answer date set forth in subrules 
(B)(2)(a)-(e);

(5) proof that the motion, the motion for immediate consideration if one has been filed, 
and any supporting documents were served on all other parties to the appeal.

(B) Answer.

(1) A party to an appeal may answer a motion by filing:

(a) an answer and

(b) proof that the answer and any supporting documents were served on all other 
parties to the appeal.

(2) Subject to subrule (3), the answer must be filed within

(a) 21 days after the motion is served on the other parties for a motion to dismiss, 
to remand, or to affirm;

(b) 35 days after the motion is served on the appellee if the motion is for 
peremptory reversal;

(c) 56 days after the motion is served on the defendant for a motion to withdraw as 
the appointed appellate attorney;

(d) 14 days after the motion is served on the other parties for a motion for 
reconsideration of an opinion or an order, to stay proceedings in the trial court, to 
strike a full or partial pleading on appeal, to file an amicus brief, to hold an appeal 
in abeyance, or to reinstate an appeal after dismissal under MCR 7.217(D);

(e) seven days after the motion is served on the other parties for all other motions.

If a motion for immediate consideration has been filed, answers to all affected motions 
must be filed within seven days or within such time as the Court of Appeals directs. 
See subrule (C)(6).

(3) In its discretion, the Court of Appeals may dispose of the following motions before 
the answer period has expired: a motion to extend time to order or file transcripts, to 
extend time to file a brief or other appellate pleading, to substitute one attorney for 
another, for oral argument when the right to oral argument was not otherwise 
preserved as described in MCR 7.212, or for an out-of-state attorney to appear and 
practice in Michigan.
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(4) A supporting brief may be filed with the answer. A brief must conform to MCR 
7.212(B) and (D) as nearly as possible, except that page references to a transcript are 
not required unless the transcript is relevant to the issue raised in the motion.

(C) Special Motions. 

(1) Motion to Remand.

(a) The appellant may move to remand to the trial court. The motion must identify 
an issue sought to be reviewed on appeal and show 

(i) that the issue is one that is of record and that must be initially decided by the 
trial court; or

(ii) that development of a factual record is required for appellate consideration 
of the issue.

A motion under this subrule must be supported by affidavit or offer of proof 
regarding the facts to be established at a hearing.

(b) A timely motion must be granted if it is accompanied by a certificate from the 
trial court that it will grant a motion for new trial.

(c) In a case tried without a jury, the appellant need not file a motion for remand or 
a motion for new trial to challenge the great weight of the evidence in order to 
preserve the issue for appeal.

(d) If a motion to remand is filed, further proceedings in the Court of Appeals are 
stayed until the motion is denied or the trial court proceedings are completed, 
unless the Court of Appeals orders otherwise.

(e) If the trial court grants the appellant relief in whole or in part,

(i) unless the Court of Appeals orders otherwise, appellant must file the brief 
on appeal or notice of withdrawal of appeal within 21 days after the trial court's 
decision or after the filing of the transcript of any hearing held, whichever is 
later.

(ii) the appellee may file a cross-appeal in the manner provided by MCR 7.207 
within 21 days after the trial court's decision. If the appellant has withdrawn 
the appeal before the appellee has filed a cross-appeal, the appellee may file a 
claim of appeal or an application for leave to appeal within the 21-day period.

(f) If the trial court denies the appellant's request for relief, appellant's brief must 
be filed within 21 days after the decision by the trial court or the filing of the 
transcript of any trial court hearing, whichever is later.

(2) Motion to Dismiss. An appellee may file a motion to dismiss an appeal any time 
before it is placed on a session calendar on the ground that

(a) the appeal is not within the Court of Appeals jurisdiction;

(b) the appeal was not filed or pursued in conformity with the rules; or

(c) the appeal is moot.
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(3) Motion to Affirm. After the appellant’s brief has been filed, an appellee may file a 
motion to affirm the order or judgment appealed from on the ground that

(a) it is manifest that the questions sought to be reviewed are so unsubstantial as to 
need no argument or formal submission; or

(b) the questions sought to be reviewed were not timely or properly raised.

The decision to grant a motion to affirm must be unanimous. An order denying a 
motion to affirm may identify the judge or judges who would have granted it but 
for the unanimity requirement of this subrule.

(4) Motion for Peremptory Reversal. The appellant may file a motion for peremptory 
reversal on the ground that reversible error is so manifest that an immediate reversal of 
the judgment or order appealed from should be granted without formal argument or 
submission. The decision to grant a motion for peremptory reversal must be 
unanimous. An order denying a motion for peremptory reversal may identify the judge 
or judges who would have granted it but for the unanimity requirement of this subrule.

(5) Motion to Withdraw. A court-appointed appellate attorney for an indigent 
appellant may file a motion to withdraw if the attorney determines, after a 
conscientious and thorough review of the trial court record, that the appeal is wholly 
frivolous.

(a) A motion to withdraw is made by filing:

(i) a motion to withdraw that identifies any points the appellant seeks to assert 
and any other matters that the attorney has considered as a basis for appeal;

(ii) a brief conforming to MCR 7.212(B) and (C) that refers to anything in the 
record that might arguably support the appeal, contains relevant record 
references, and discusses those authorities that appear to bear on the points in 
question;

(iii) proof that copies of the motion, brief in support, and notice that the motion 
may result in the conviction or trial court judgment being affirmed were served 
on the appellant by certified mail; and

(iv) proof that a copy of the motion only and not the brief was served on the 
appellee.

(b) If the appeal is available only by leave of the court, the motion must be filed 
within 56 days after the transcript is filed or within the deadline for filing a late 
application for leave to appeal, whichever comes first. The filing of such a motion, 
with the accompanying brief required by MCR 7.211(C)(5)(a)(ii), must be treated 
as the filing of an application for leave to appeal on behalf of the appellant.

(c) The motion to withdraw and supporting papers will be submitted to the court 
for decision on the first Tuesday

(i) 28 days after the appellant is served in appeals from orders of the family 
division of the circuit court terminating parental rights under the Juvenile 
Code, or
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(ii) 56 days after the appellant is served in all other appeals.

The appellant may file with the court an answer and brief in which he or she may 
make any comments and raise any points that he or she chooses concerning the 
appeal and the attorney’s motion. The appellant must file proof that a copy of the 
answer was served on his or her attorney.

(d) If the court finds that the appeal is wholly frivolous, it may grant the motion 
and affirm the conviction or trial court judgment in appeals by right or deny leave 
to appeal in appeals by leave. If the court affirms the conviction or trial court 
judgment or denies leave to appeal, the appellant’s attorney must mail to the 
appellant a copy of the transcript within 14 days after the order affirming is 
certified and file proof of that service. If the court finds any legal point arguable on 
its merits, it may deny the motion and order the court appointed attorney to 
proceed in support of the appeal or grant the motion and order the appointment of 
substitute appellate counsel to proceed in support of the appeal.

(6) Motion for Immediate Consideration. A party may file a motion for immediate 
consideration to expedite decision on another motion. The motion must state facts 
showing why immediate consideration is required. If the motion for immediate 
consideration and the motion of which immediate consideration is sought are served 
by electronic service under MCR 1.109(G)(6) or personally served under MCR 
2.107(C)(1) or (2), the motions may be submitted to the court immediately on filing. If 
mail service is used, motions may not be submitted until the first Tuesday seven days 
after the date of service, unless the party served acknowledges receipt. 

(7) Confession of Error by Prosecutor. In a criminal case, if the prosecutor concurs in 
the relief requested by the defendant, the prosecutor must file a confession of error and 
state reasons why concurrence in the relief requested is appropriate. The confession of 
error will be submitted to the court under MCR 7.211(E)(1). If the court approves the 
confession of error, the court will enter an order or opinion granting the relief and state 
the reason(s) for the approval. If the court rejects the confession of error, the court 
must state the reason(s) for the rejection, and the case will be submitted for decision 
through the ordinary processes of the court, and the confession of error will be 
submitted to the panel assigned to decide the case.

(8) Vexatious Proceedings. A party’s request for damages or other disciplinary action 
under MCR 7.216(C) must be contained in a motion filed under this rule. A request 
that is contained in any other pleading, including a brief filed under MCR 7.212, will 
not constitute a motion under this rule. A party may file a motion for damages or other 
disciplinary action under MCR 7.216(C) at any time within 21 days after the date of 
the order or opinion that disposes of the matter that is asserted to have been vexatious.

(9) Motion to Seal Court of Appeals File in Whole or in Part.

(a) Trial court files that have been sealed in whole or in part by a trial court order 
will remain sealed while in the possession of the Court of Appeals. Public requests 
to view such trial court files will be referred to the trial court.

(b) Materials that are subject to a protective order entered under MCR 2.302(C) 
may be submitted for inclusion in the Court of Appeals file in sealed form if they 
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are accompanied by a copy of the protective order. A party objecting to such 
sealed submissions may file an appropriate motion in the Court of Appeals.

(c) Except as otherwise provided by statute or court rule, the procedure for sealing 
a Court of Appeals file is governed by MCR 8.119(I). Materials that are subject to 
a motion to seal a Court of Appeals file in whole or in part must be held under seal 
pending the court’s disposition of the motion.

(d) Any party or interested person may file an answer in response to a motion to 
seal a Court of Appeals file within seven days after the motion is served on the 
other parties, or within seven days after the motion is filed in the Court of Appeals, 
whichever is later.

(e) An order granting a motion must include a finding of good cause, as defined by 
MCR 8.119(I)(2), and a finding that there is no less-restrictive means to 
adequately and effectively protect the specific interest asserted.

(f) An order granting or denying a motion to seal a Court of Appeals file in whole 
or in part may be challenged by any person at any time during the pendency of an 
appeal.

(D) Submission of Motions. Motions in the Court of Appeals are submitted on Tuesday of 
each week. There is no oral argument on motions, unless ordered by the court.

(E) Decision on Motions.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (E)(2), orders may be entered only on the 
concurrence of the majority of the judges to whom the motion has been assigned.

(2) The chief judge or another designated judge may, acting alone, enter an order 
disposing of an administrative motion. Administrative motions include, but are not 
limited to:

(a) a motion to consolidate;

(b) a motion to extend the time to file a transcript or brief;

(c) a motion to strike a nonconforming brief;

(d) a motion for oral argument in a case that has not yet been placed on a session 
calendar;

(e) a motion to adjourn the hearing date of an application, complaint, or motion;

(f) a motion to dismiss a criminal appeal on the grounds that the defendant has 
absconded;

(g) a motion to file an amicus curiae brief;

(h) a motion to allow an out-of-state attorney to appear and practice.

RULE 7.212 BRIEFS

(A) Time for Filing and Service.
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(1) Appellant’s Brief.

(a) Filing. The appellant must file a brief with the Court of Appeals within

(i) 28 days after the claim of appeal is filed, the order granting leave is 
certified, the transcript is filed with the trial court, or a settled statement of 
facts and certifying order is filed with the trial court or tribunal, whichever is 
later, in a child custody case, adult or minor guardianship case under the 
Estates and Protected Individuals Code or under the Mental Health Code, 
involuntary mental health treatment cases under the Mental Health Code, or an 
interlocutory criminal appeal. This time may be extended only by the Court of 
Appeals on motion; or

(ii) the time provided by MCR 7.208(B)(5)(a), 7.208(B)(6), or 7.211(C)(1), in 
a case in which one of those rules applies; or

(iii) 56 days after the claim of appeal is filed, the order granting leave is 
certified, the transcript is filed with the trial court or tribunal, or a settled 
statement of facts and certifying order is filed with the trial court or tribunal, 
whichever is later, in all other cases. In a criminal case in which substitute 
counsel is appointed for the defendant, the time runs from the date substitute 
counsel is appointed, the transcript is filed, or a settled statement of facts and 
certifying order is filed, whichever is later. The parties may extend the time 
within which the brief must be filed for 28 days by signed stipulation filed with 
the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals may extend the time on motion.

(b) Service. The appellant must serve the brief on all other parties to the appeal and 
file proof of that service with the brief.

(2) Appellee’s Brief.

(a) Filing. The appellee may file a brief with the Court of Appeals within

(i) 21 days after the appellant’s brief is served on the appellee, in an 
interlocutory criminal appeal, adult or minor guardianship case under the 
Estates and Protected Individuals Code or under the Mental Health Code, 
involuntary mental health treatment cases under the Mental Health Code, or a 
child custody case. This time may be extended only by the Court of Appeals on 
motion;

(ii) 35 days after the appellant’s brief is served on the appellee, in all other 
cases. The parties may extend this time for 28 days by signed stipulation filed 
with the Court of Appeals. The Court of Appeals may extend the time on 
motion.

(b) Service. An appellee’s brief must be served on all other parties to the appeal 
and proof of that service must be filed with the brief.

(3) Earlier Filing. The time for filing a brief may be shortened by order of the Court of 
Appeals on motion showing good cause.

(4) Late Filing. Any party failing to timely file a brief under this rule forfeits the right 
to oral argument.
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(5) Motions. The filing of a motion does not stay the time for filing a brief.

(B) Length and Form of Briefs. 

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this rule or by court order, briefs are limited to no 
more than 16,000 words. A self-represented party who does not have access to a word-
processing system may file a typewritten or legibly handwritten brief of not more than 
50 pages. 

 (2) The only elements of a brief included in the word or page limit are those elements 
listed in subrules (C)(6)-(8). Footnotes and text contained in embedded graphics are 
also included in the word or page limit.  

(3) A brief filed under the word limitation of this subrule must include a statement 
after the signature block stating the number of countable words. The filer may rely on 
the word count of the word-processing system used to prepare the brief.   

(4) A motion for leave to file a brief in excess of the word or page limitations must be 
filed by the due date of the brief and must accompany the proposed brief. Such 
motions are disfavored and will be granted only for extraordinary and compelling 
reasons. If the motion is denied, the movant must file a conforming brief within 21 
days after the date of the order deciding the motion.  

(5) Briefs must have at least one-inch page margins, 12-point font, and 1.5-linespaced 
text, except quotations and footnotes may be single-spaced. If a self-represented party 
is filing a typewritten brief under the page limitation exception contained in subrule 
(B)(1), the brief must have page margins of at least one-inch, 12-point font, and 
double-spaced text, except quotations, headings, and footnotes may be single-spaced.  

(C) Appellant’s Brief; Contents. The appellant’s brief must contain, in the following 
order:

(1) A title page, stating the full title of the case and in capital letters or boldface type 
“ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED” or “ORAL ARGUMENT NOT 
REQUESTED.” If the appeal involves a ruling that a provision of the Michigan 
Constitution, a Michigan Statute, a rule or regulation included in the Michigan 
Administrative Code, or any other action of the legislative or executive branch of state 
government is invalid, the title page must include the following in capital letters or 
boldface type: 

“THE APPEAL INVOLVES A RULING THAT A PROVISION OF THE 
CONSTITUTION, A STATUTE, RULE OR REGULATION, OR OTHER STATE 
GOVERNMENTAL ACTION IS INVALID”;

(2) A table of contents, listing the subject headings of the brief, including the principal 
points of argument, in the order of presentation, with the numbers of the pages where 
they appear in the brief;

(3) An index of authorities, listing in alphabetical order all case authorities cited, with 
the complete citations including the years of decision, and all other authorities cited, 
with the numbers of the pages where they appear in the brief. 
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(4) A statement of the basis of jurisdiction of the Court of Appeals.

(a) The statement concerning appellate jurisdiction must identify the statute, court 
rule, or court decision believed to confer jurisdiction on the Court of Appeals and 
the following information:

(i) the date of signing the judgment or order, or the date of data entry of the 
judgment or order in the issuing tribunal’s register of actions, as applicable to 
confer jurisdiction on the Court of Appeals under MCR 7.204 or MCR 7.205.

(ii) the filing date of any motion claimed to toll the time within which to 
appeal, the disposition of such a motion, and the date of entry of the order 
disposing of it;

(iii) in cases where appellate counsel is appointed, the date the request for 
appointment of appellate counsel was filed;

(iv) in cases where appellate counsel is retained or the party is proceeding in 
propria persona, the filing date of the claim of appeal or the date of the order 
granting leave to appeal or leave to proceed under MCR 7.206.

(b) If the order sought to be reviewed adjudicates fewer than all the claims, or the 
rights and liabilities of fewer than all the parties, the statement must provide 
enough information to enable the court to determine whether there is jurisdiction.

(5) A statement of questions involved, stating concisely and without repetition the 
questions involved in the appeal. Each question must be expressed and numbered 
separately and be followed by the trial court’s answer to it or the statement that the 
trial court failed to answer it and the appellant’s answer to it. When possible, each 
answer must be given as “Yes” or “No”;

(6) A statement of facts that must be a clear, concise, and chronological narrative. All 
material facts, both favorable and unfavorable, must be fairly stated without argument 
or bias. The statement must contain, with specific page references to the transcript, the 
pleadings, or other document or paper filed with the trial court,

(a) the nature of the action;

(b) the character of pleadings and proceedings;

(c) the substance of proof in sufficient detail to make it intelligible, indicating the 
facts that are in controversy and those that are not;

(d) the dates of important instruments and events;

(e) the rulings and orders of the trial court;

(f) the verdict and judgment; and

(g) any other matters necessary to an understanding of the controversy and the 
questions involved;

(7) The arguments, each portion of which must be prefaced by the principal point 
stated in capital letters or boldface type. As to each issue, the argument must include a 
statement of the applicable standard or standards of review and supporting authorities, 
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and must comply with the provisions of MCR 7.215(C) regarding citation of 
unpublished Court of Appeals opinions. Facts stated must be supported by specific 
page references to the transcript, the pleadings, or other document or paper filed with 
the trial court. Page references to the transcript, the pleadings, or other document or 
paper filed with the trial court must also be given to show whether the issue was 
preserved for appeal by appropriate objection or by other means. If determination of 
the issues presented requires the study of a constitution, statute, ordinance, 
administrative rule, court rule, rule of evidence, judgment, order, written instrument, 
or document, or relevant part thereof, this material must be reproduced in the brief or 
in an addendum to the brief. If an argument is presented concerning the sentence 
imposed in a criminal case, the appellant’s attorney must send a copy of the 
presentence report to the court at the time the brief is filed;

(8) The relief, stating in a distinct, concluding section the order or judgment requested;

(9) A signature; and

(10) A separately filed appendix, only as provided in section (J) of this rule.

(D) Appellee’s Brief; Contents.

(1) Except as otherwise provided in this subrule, the appellee’s brief must conform to 
subrule (C).

(2) The appellee must state whether the jurisdictional summary and the standard or 
standards of review stated in the appellant’s brief are complete and correct. If they are 
not, the appellee must provide a complete jurisdictional summary and a 
counterstatement of the standard or standards of review, and supporting authorities.

(3) Unless under the headings “Statement of Questions Involved” and “Statement of 
Facts” the appellee accepts the appellant’s statements, the appellee must include:

(a) a counter-statement of questions involved, stating the appellee’s version of the 
questions involved; and

(b) a counter-statement of facts, pointing out the inaccuracies and deficiencies in 
the appellant’s statement of facts without repeating that statement and with 
specific page references to the transcript, the pleadings, or other document or 
paper filed with the trial court, to support the appellee’s assertions.

(E) Briefs in Cross-Appeals. The filing and service of briefs by a cross-appellant and a 
cross-appellee are governed by subrules (A)-(D).

(F) Supplemental Authority. Without leave of the court, a party may file a one-page 
communication, titled “supplemental authority,” to call the court’s attention to new 
authority released after the party filed its brief. Such a communication,

(1) may not raise new issues;

(2) may only discuss how the new authority applies to the case, and may not repeat 
arguments or authorities contained in the party’s brief;
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(3) may not cite unpublished opinions.

(G) Reply Briefs. Within 21 days after service of an appellee’s or cross-appellee’s brief, 
appellant or cross-appellant may file a reply brief confined to rebuttal of the arguments in 
the appellee’s or cross-appellee’s brief. Reply briefs are limited to no more than 3,200 
words, but are otherwise governed by subrule (B). A self-represented party who does not 
have access to a word-processing system may file a typewritten or legibly handwritten 
reply brief of not more than 10 pages. 

(H) Amicus Curiae.

(1) An amicus curiae brief may be filed only on motion granted by the Court of 
Appeals. The motion must be filed within 21 days after the appellee’s brief is filed. If 
the motion is granted, the order will state the date by which the brief must be filed.

(2) The brief is limited to the issues raised by the parties. An amicus curiae may not 
participate in oral argument except by court order.

(3) Except for briefs presented on behalf of amicus curiae listed in MCR 7.312(H)(2), 
a brief filed under this rule must indicate whether counsel for a party authored the brief 
in whole or in part and whether such counsel or a party made a monetary contribution 
intended to fund the preparation or submission of the brief, and must identify every 
person other than the amicus curiae, its members, or its counsel, who made such a 
monetary contribution. The disclosure must be made in the first footnote on the first 
page of text.

(I) Nonconforming Briefs. If, on its own initiative or on a party’s motion, the court 
concludes that a brief does not substantially comply with the requirements in this rule, the 
court may order the party who filed the brief to file a supplemental brief within a specified 
time correcting the deficiencies, or it may strike the nonconforming brief.

(J) Appendix.

(1) Requirements. Except as provided in subrules (1)(a)-(f) of this rule, the appellant 
must file an individual or joint appendix with the appellant’s brief. An appellee may 
file an appendix with the appellee’s brief if the appellant’s appendix does not contain 
all the information set forth in subrule (3) of this rule. The appellee’s appendix should 
not contain any of the documents contained in the appellant’s appendix except when 
including additional pages to provide a more complete context, but should only 
contain additional information described in subrule (3) that is relevant and necessary 
to the determination of the issues on appeal. To avoid duplication in cases with more 
than one appellant or appellee, the parties are encouraged to submit a joint appendix 
under subsection (4) rather than separate appendixes. An appendix is not required in 
appeals from:

(a) Criminal proceedings.

(b) Child protective proceedings.

(c) Delinquency proceedings under chapter XIIA of the Probate Code.
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(d) Adoption proceedings under chapter X.

(e) Involuntary mental health treatment proceedings under the Mental Health 
Code.

(f) The Michigan Public Service Commission where the record is available on the 
commission’s e-docket, or the Michigan Tax Tribunal where the record is 
available on the tribunal’s tax docket lookup page. In those cases, the parties’ 
briefs must cite the document number and relevant pages in the electronic record.

(2) Form. The appendix must include a cover page or pages with the case caption that 
sets forth the parties’ names and their designations (e.g., plaintiff-appellant), along 
with the appellate court and trial court or tribunal docket numbers. The cover page(s) 
must also state whether the appendix is an “Appellant’s Appendix,” “Appellee’s 
Appendix,” or “Joint Appendix.” Following the cover page(s), the appendix must 
include a table of contents that identifies each document with reasonable specificity 
and indicates both the appendix number or letter and the page number on which the 
first page of the document appears in the appendix. An appendix must be numbered 
sequentially in a prominent location at the bottoms of the pages. When the appendix is 
composed of multiple volumes, pagination must continue from one volume to the 
next. For multiple appendix volumes, each volume must include a cover page and 
table of contents, and the first volume must contain a complete table of contents 
referencing all volumes of the appendix.

(a) For an appendix filed in paper form, one signed copy that is separately bound 
from the brief must be filed. Each separate document in the appendix must be 
preceded by a title page that identifies the appendix number or letter and the title of 
the document. The binding method should allow the easy dismantling of the 
appendix for scanning.

(b) For an appendix filed electronically:

(i) The appendix must be separate from the electronically-filed brief and 
should be transmitted as a single PDF document unless the file size is too large 
to do so, in which case the appendix should be divided into separate volumes.

(ii) The appendix must be text searchable and include bookmarks for each 
document in the appendix and for important information or sections within the 
documents.

(iii) The table of contents should, if possible without unduly burdening the 
filer, link to the documents contained in the appendix or in that volume of the 
appendix.

(3) Content. The appendix must include copies of the following documents if they 
exist: 

(a) The trial court or tribunal judgment or order(s) appealed from, including any 
written opinion, memorandum, findings of fact and conclusions of law stated on 
the record, in conjunction with the judgment or order(s) appealed from.

(b) The trial court or tribunal register of actions.
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(c) The relevant pages of any transcripts cited in support of the argument. When 
appropriate, pages that precede or follow the cited page should be included to 
provide context to the citation. Submitting entire transcripts is discouraged unless 
necessary for the understanding of an argument. If a complete trial, deposition, or 
administrative transcript is filed, an index to such transcript must be included if 
one was provided by the court reporter. Transcripts must contain only a single 
transcript page per document page, not multiple pages combined on a single 
document page. 

(d) When a jury instruction is challenged, the language of the instruction, any 
portion of the transcript containing a discussion of the instruction, and any relevant 
request for the instruction.

(e) Any other exhibit, pleading, or evidence that was submitted to the trial court 
and that is relevant and necessary for the Court to consider in deciding the appeal. 
Briefs submitted in the trial court are not required to be included in the appendix 
unless they pertain to a contested preservation issue.

(4) Joint Appendix.

(a) The parties may stipulate to using a joint appendix, so designated, containing 
the matters that are deemed necessary to fairly decide the questions involved. A 
joint appendix must meet the requirements of subrules (J)(2)and (3) and must be 
included with the initial appellant’s brief or, for a joint appendix of multiple 
appellees, with the first appellee’s brief to be filed.

(b) The stipulation to use a joint appendix may specify that any party may file, as a 
supplemental appendix, additional portions of the record not covered by the joint 
appendix.

RULE 7.213 CALENDAR CASES

(A) Mediation in Calendar Cases.

(1) Selection for Mediation.

(a) At any time during the pendency of an appeal before the Court of Appeals, the 
chief judge or another designated judge may order an appeal submitted to 
mediation. When a case is selected for mediation, participation is mandatory; 
however, the chief judge or another designated judge may remove the case on 
finding that mediation would be inappropriate. Appeals of domestic relations 
actions and protection matters are excluded from mediation under this rule.

(b) To identify cases for mediation, the Court of Appeals will review civil appeals 
to determine if mediation would be of assistance to the court or the parties. At any 
time, a party to a pending civil appeal may file a written request that the appeal be 
submitted to mediation. Such a request may be made without formal motion and is 
confidential.

(c) A party to a case that has been selected for mediation may file a request to have 
the case removed from mediation. Such a request may be made without formal 
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motion and is confidential. If the request to remove is premised on a desire to 
avoid the cost of mediation, it is not necessary to demonstrate an inability to pay 
such costs.

(d) The submission of an appeal to mediation will not toll any filing deadlines in 
the appeal unless the court orders otherwise.

(2) Mediation Procedure.

(a) Mediation must be conducted by a mediator selected by stipulation of the 
parties or designated by the court. A mediator designated by the court must be an 
attorney, licensed in Michigan, who has met the qualifications of mediators 
provided in MCR 2.411(F).

(b) Mediation must consider the possibility of settlement, the simplification of the 
issues, and any other matters that the mediator determines may aid in the handling 
or disposition of the appeal.

(c) The order referring the case to mediation must specify the time within which 
the mediation is to be completed. Within seven days after the time stated in the 
order, the mediator must file a notice with the clerk stating only the date of 
completion of mediation, who participated in the mediation, whether settlement 
was reached, and whether any further mediation is warranted.

(d) If mediation results in full or partial settlement of the case, the parties must file, 
within 21 days after the filing of the notice by the mediator, a stipulation to dismiss 
(in full or in part) under MCR 7.218(B).

(e) The mediator may charge a reasonable fee, which must be divided between and 
borne equally by the parties unless otherwise agreed and paid by the parties 
directly to the mediator. If a party does not agree on the fee requested by the 
mediator, on motion of the party, the chief judge or another designated judge must 
set a reasonable fee. In all other respects, mediator fees are governed by MCR 
2.411(D).

(f) The statements and comments made during mediation are confidential as 
provided in MCR 2.412 and may not be disclosed in the notice filed by the 
mediator under (A)(2)(c) of this rule or by the participants in briefs or in argument.

(g) Upon failure by a party or attorney to comply with a provision of this rule or 
the order submitting the case to mediation, the chief judge or another designated 
judge may assess reasonable expenses, including attorney’s fees, caused by the 
failure, may assess all or a portion of appellate costs, or may dismiss the appeal.

(3) Selection of Mediator.

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the selection of a mediator is 
governed by MCR 2.411(B).

(b) Within the time provided in the order referring a case to mediation, the parties 
may stipulate to the selection of a mediator. Such stipulation must be filed with the 
clerk of the court. If the parties do not file a stipulation agreeing to a mediator 
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within the time provided, the court will appoint a mediator from the roster of 
approved mediators maintained by the circuit court in which the case originated.

(B) Notice of Calendar Cases. After the briefs of both parties have been filed, or after the 
expiration of the time for filing the appellee’s brief, the clerk must notify the parties that 
the case will be submitted as a “calendar case” at the next available session of the court.

(C) Priority on Calendar. The priority of cases on the session calendar is in accordance 
with the initial filing dates of the cases, except that precedence must be given to:

(1) interlocutory criminal appeals; 

(2) child custody cases, guardianship cases under the Estates and Protected Individuals 
Code and under the Mental Health Code, and involuntary mental health treatment 
cases under the Mental Health Code;

(3) interlocutory appeals from the grant of a preliminary injunction;

(4) appeals from all cases involving election issues, including, but not limited to, recall 
elections and petition disputes;

(5) appeals of decisions holding that a provision of the Michigan Constitution, a 
Michigan statute, a rule or regulation included in the Michigan Administrative Code, 
or any other action of the legislative or executive branch of state government is 
invalid; 

(6) actions brought under Const 1963, art 9, §§ 29-34 (Headlee actions); and

(7) cases that the court orders expedited.

(D) Arrangement of Calendar. Twenty-one days before the first day of the session, the 
clerk must send to all parties in each calendar case notice of the designated panel, location, 
day, and order in which the cases will be called.

(E) Adjournment. A change may not be made in the session calendar, except by order of 
the court on its own initiative or in response to timely motions filed by the parties. A 
calendar case will not be withdrawn after being placed on the session calendar, except on 
a showing of extreme emergency.

RULE 7.214 ARGUMENT OF CALENDAR CASES

(A) Request for Argument. Oral argument of a calendar case is not permitted, except on 
order of the court, unless a party has stated on the title page of his or her brief in capital 
letters or boldface type “ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED.” The failure of a party to 
properly request oral argument or to timely file and serve a brief waives the right to oral 
argument. If neither party is entitled to oral argument, the clerk will list the case as 
submitted on briefs.

(B) Length of Argument. In a calendar case the time allowed for argument is 30 minutes 
for each side. When only one side is represented, only 15 minutes is allowed to that side. 
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The time for argument may be extended by the court on motion filed at least 21 days 
before the session begins, or by the presiding judge during argument.

(C) Call for Argument. The court, on each day of the session, will call the cases for 
argument in the order they appear on the session calendar as arranged.

(D) Submission on Briefs. A case may be submitted on briefs by stipulation at any time.

(E) Decision Without Oral Argument. Cases may be assigned to panels of judges for 
appropriate review and disposition without oral argument as provided in this subrule.

(1) If, as a result of review under this rule, the panel unanimously concludes that

(a) the dispositive issue or issues have been recently authoritatively decided;

(b) the briefs and record adequately present the facts and legal arguments, and the 
court’s deliberation would not be significantly aided by oral argument; or

(c) the appeal is without merit;

the panel may enter without oral argument an appropriate order or opinion 
dismissing the appeal, affirming, reversing, or vacating the judgment or order 
appealed from, or remanding the case for additional proceedings.

(2) Any party’s brief may include, at the conclusion of the brief, a statement setting 
forth the reasons why oral argument should be heard.

RULE 7.215 OPINIONS, ORDERS, JUDGMENTS, AND FINAL PROCESS FOR COURT OF APPEALS

(A) Opinions of Court. An opinion must be written and bear the writer’s name or the label 
“per curiam” or “memorandum” opinion. An opinion of the court that bears the writer’s 
name must be published by the Supreme Court reporter of decisions. A memorandum 
opinion must not be published. A per curiam opinion must not be published unless one of 
the judges deciding the case directs the reporter to do so at the time it is filed with the 
clerk. A copy of an opinion to be published must be delivered to the reporter no later than 
when it is filed with the clerk. The reporter is responsible for having those opinions 
published as are opinions of the Supreme Court, but in separate volumes containing 
opinions of the Court of Appeals only, in a form and under a contract approved by the 
Supreme Court. An opinion not designated for publication is deemed “unpublished.”

(B) Standards for Publication. A court opinion must be published if it:

(1) establishes a new rule of law;

(2) construes as a matter of first impression a provision of a constitution, statute, 
regulation, ordinance, or court rule;

(3) alters, modifies, or reverses an existing rule of law;

(4) reaffirms a principle of law or construction of a constitution, statute, regulation, 
ordinance, or court rule not applied in a reported decision since November 1, 1990;
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(5) involves a legal issue of significant public interest;

(6) criticizes existing law;

(7) resolves a conflict among unpublished Court of Appeals opinions brought to the 
Court’s attention; or

(8) decides an appeal from a lower court order ruling that a provision of the Michigan 
Constitution, a Michigan statute, a rule or regulation included in the Michigan 
Administrative Code, or any other action of the legislative or executive branch of state 
government is invalid.

(C) Precedent of Opinions.

(1) An unpublished opinion is not precedentially binding under the rule of stare 
decisis. Unpublished opinions should not be cited for propositions of law for which 
there is published authority. If a party cites an unpublished opinion, the party must 
explain the reason for citing it and how it is relevant to the issues presented. A party 
who cites an unpublished opinion must provide a copy of the opinion to the court and 
to opposing parties with the brief or other paper in which the citation appears.

(2) A published opinion of the Court of Appeals has precedential effect under the rule 
of stare decisis. The filing of an application for leave to appeal in the Supreme Court 
or a Supreme Court order granting leave to appeal does not diminish the precedential 
effect of a published opinion of the Court of Appeals.

(D) Requesting Publication.

(1) Any party may request publication of an authored or per curiam opinion not 
designated for publication by

(a) filing with the clerk a letter stating why the opinion should be published, and

(b) serving a copy on each party to the appeal not joining in the request.

Such a request must be filed within 21 days after release of the unpublished opinion or, 
if a timely motion for rehearing is filed, within 21 days after the denial of the motion.

(2) Any party served with a copy of the request may file a response within 14 days in 
the same manner as provided in subrule (D)(1).

(3) Promptly after the expiration of the time provided in subrule (D)(2), the clerk must 
submit the request, and any response that has been received, to the panel that filed the 
opinion. Within 21 days after submission of the request, the panel will decide whether 
to direct that the opinion be published. The opinion will be published only if the panel 
unanimously so directs. Failure of the panel to act within 21 days will be treated as a 
denial of the request.

(4) The Court of Appeals must not direct publication if the Supreme Court has denied 
an application for leave to appeal under MCR 7.305.

(E) Judgment.
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(1) When the Court of Appeals disposes of an original action or an appeal, whether 
taken as of right, by leave granted, or by order in lieu of leave being granted, its 
opinion or order is its judgment. An order denying leave to appeal is not deemed to 
dispose of an appeal.

(2) The clerk must send a certified copy of the opinion or order, with the date of filing 
stamped on it, to each party and, in an appeal, to the court or tribunal from which the 
appeal was received. In criminal cases, the defendant’s lawyer must promptly send to 
the defendant a copy of any opinion or order disposing of an appeal or of any order 
denying leave to appeal. An opinion or order is notice of the entry of judgment of the 
Court of Appeals.

(F) Execution and Enforcement.

(1) Routine Issuance. Unless otherwise ordered by the Court of Appeals or the 
Supreme Court or as otherwise provided by these rules,

(a) the Court of Appeals judgment is effective after the expiration of the time for 
filing an application for leave to appeal in the Supreme Court, or, if such an 
application is filed, after the disposition of the case by the Supreme Court;

(b) execution on the Court of Appeals judgment is to be obtained or enforcement 
proceedings had in the trial court or tribunal after the record has been returned (by 
the clerk under MCR 7.210(H) or by the Supreme Court clerk under MCR 7.310) 
with a certified copy of the court’s judgment or, if a printed record was not 
transmitted to the Court of Appeals, after the time specified for return of the record 
had it been transmitted.

(2) Exceptional Issuance. The court may order that a judgment described in subrule 
(E) has immediate effect. The order does not prevent the filing of a motion for 
rehearing, but the filing of the motion does not stay execution or enforcement.

(3) Reissuance of Judgment or Order. Any party may request that an opinion or order 
be reissued with a new entry date by filing a letter with the Court of Appeals setting 
forth facts showing that the clerk or attorney failed to send the judgment or order as 
provided in subrule (E)(2). The Court of Appeals will not reissue the opinion or order 
unless persuaded that it was not promptly sent as required and that the failure resulted 
in the party being precluded from timely filing a motion for reconsideration or an 
application for leave to appeal with the Supreme Court. Such request will be submitted 
to the Chief Judge for administrative decision, and the decision will be communicated 
by letter from the clerk.

(G) Entry, Issuance, Execution On, and Enforcement of All Other Orders. An order other 
than one described in subrule (E) is entered on the date of filing. The clerk must promptly 
send a certified copy to each party and to the trial court or tribunal. Unless otherwise 
stated, an order is effective on the date it is entered.

(H) Certain Dispositive Orders and Opinions in Criminal Cases; Expedited Notice to 
Prosecutor. In a criminal case, if the prosecuting attorney files a notice of a victim’s 
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request for information and proof that copies of the notice were served on the other parties 
to the appeal, then, coincident with issuing an order or opinion that reverses a conviction, 
vacates a sentence, remands a case to the trial court for a new trial, or denies the 
prosecuting attorney’s appeal, the clerk of the court must electronically transmit a copy of 
the order or opinion to the prosecuting attorney at a facsimile number or electronic mail 
address provided by the prosecuting attorney in the notice.

(I) Reconsideration.

(1) A motion for reconsideration may be filed within 21 days after the date of the order 
or the date stamped on an opinion. The motion must include all facts, arguments, and 
citations to authorities in a single document and must not exceed 3,200 words or, for 
self-represented litigants without access to a word-processing system,10 double-
spaced pages. A copy of the order or opinion of which reconsideration is sought must 
be included with the motion. Motions for reconsideration are subject to the restrictions 
contained in MCR 2.119(F)(3).

(2) A party may answer a motion for reconsideration within 14 days after the motion is 
served on the party. An answer to a motion for reconsideration must be a single 
document and not exceed 2,500 words or, for self-represented litigants without access 
to a word-processing system, seven double-spaced pages.

(3) The clerk will not accept for filing a motion for reconsideration of an order 
denying a motion for reconsideration.

(4) The clerk will not accept for filing a late motion for reconsideration.

(J) Resolution of Conflicts in Court of Appeals Decisions.

(1) Precedential Effect of Published Decisions. A panel of the Court of Appeals must 
follow the rule of law established by a prior published decision of the Court of 
Appeals issued on or after November 1, 1990, that has not been reversed or modified 
by the Supreme Court, or by a special panel of the Court of Appeals as provided in this 
rule. 

(2) Conflicting Opinion. A panel that follows a prior published decision only because 
it is required to do so by subrule (1) must so indicate in the text of its opinion, citing 
this rule and explaining its disagreement with the prior decision. The panel’s opinion 
must be published in the official reports of opinions of the Court of Appeals. 

(3) Convening of Special Panel.

(a) Poll of Judges. Except as provided in subrule (3)(b), within 28 days after 
release of the opinion indicating disagreement with a prior decision as provided in 
subrule (2), the chief judge must poll the judges of the Court of Appeals to 
determine whether the particular question is both outcome-determinative and 
warrants convening a special panel to rehear the case for the purpose of resolving 
the conflict that would have been created but for the provisions of subrule (1). 
Special panels may be convened to consider outcome-determinative questions 
only.
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(b) Effect of Pending Supreme Court Appeal. A poll must not be conducted and a 
special panel must not be convened if, at the time the judges are required to be 
polled, the Supreme Court has granted leave to appeal in the controlling case.

(c) Order. Immediately following the poll, an order reflecting the result must be 
entered. The chief clerk of the Court of Appeals must provide a copy of the order 
to the Clerk of the Supreme Court. The order must be published in the official 
reports of opinions of the Court of Appeals. 

(4) Composition of Panel. A special panel convened under this rule consists of seven 
judges of the Court of Appeals selected by lot, except that judges who participated in 
either the controlling decision or the opinion in the case at bar may not be selected.

(5) Consideration of Case by Panel. An order directing the convening of a special 
panel must vacate only that portion of the prior opinion in the case at bar addressing 
the particular question that would have been decided differently but for the provisions 
of subrule (1). The special panel must limit its review to resolving the conflict that 
would have been created but for the provisions of subrule (1) and applying its decision 
to the case at bar. The parties are permitted to file supplemental briefs and are entitled 
to oral argument before the special panel unless the panel unanimously agrees to 
dispense with oral argument. The special panel must return to the original panel for 
further consideration any remaining unresolved issues, as the case may require.

(6) Decision. The decision of the special panel must be by published opinion or order 
and is binding on all panels of the Court of Appeals unless reversed or modified by the 
Supreme Court.

(7) Reconsideration; Appeal. There is no appeal from the decision of the Court of 
Appeals as to whether to convene a special panel. As to the decision in the case at bar, 
the time limits for moving for reconsideration or for filing an application for leave to 
appeal in the Supreme Court run from the date of the order declining to convene a 
special panel or, if a special panel is convened, from the date of the decision of the 
special panel, except that, if the case is returned to the original panel for further 
consideration in accordance with subrule (5), the time limits run from the date of the 
original panel’s decision after return from the special panel. If a motion for 
reconsideration is filed, it will be submitted to the special panel, which, if appropriate, 
may refer some or all the issues presented to the original panel.

RULE 7.216 MISCELLANEOUS RELIEF

(A) Relief Obtainable. The Court of Appeals may, at any time, in addition to its general 
powers, in its discretion, and on the terms it deems just:

(1) exercise any or all the powers of amendment of the trial court or tribunal;

(2) allow substitution, addition, or deletion of parties or allow parties to be rearranged 
as appellants or appellees, on reasonable notice;

(3) permit amendment of or additions to the grounds for appeal;

(4) permit amendments, corrections, or additions to the transcript or record;
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(5) remand the case to allow additional evidence to be taken;

(6) draw inferences of fact;

(7) enter any judgment or order or grant further or different relief as the case may 
require;

(8) if a judgment notwithstanding the verdict is set aside on appeal, grant a new trial or 
other relief as necessary;

(9) direct the parties as to how to proceed in any case pending before it;

(10) dismiss an appeal or an original proceeding for lack of jurisdiction or failure of 
the appellant or the plaintiff to pursue the case in conformity with the rules.

(B) Allowing Act After Expiration of Time. When any nonjurisdictional act is required to 
be done within a designated time, the Court of Appeals may permit it to be done after 
expiration of the period on motion showing that there was good cause for delay or that it 
was not due to the culpable negligence of the party or attorney.

(C) Vexatious Proceedings; Vexatious Litigator.

(1) The Court of Appeals may, on its own initiative or on the motion of any party filed 
under MCR 7.211(C)(8), assess actual and punitive damages or take other disciplinary 
action when it determines that an appeal or any of the proceedings in an appeal was 
vexatious because

(a) the appeal was taken for purposes of hindrance or delay or without any 
reasonable basis for belief that there was a meritorious issue to be determined on 
appeal; or

(b) a pleading, motion, argument, brief, document, record filed in the case or any 
testimony presented in the case was grossly lacking in the requirements of 
propriety, violated court rules, or grossly disregarded the requirements of a fair 
presentation of the issues to the court.

(2) Damages may not exceed actual damages and expenses incurred by the opposing 
party because of the vexatious appeal or proceeding, including reasonable attorney 
fees, and punitive damages in an added amount not exceeding the actual damages. The 
court may remand the case to the trial court or tribunal for a determination of actual 
damages.

(3) Vexatious Litigator. If a party habitually, persistently, and without reasonable 
cause engages in vexatious conduct under subrule (C)(1), the court may, on its own 
initiative or on motion of another party, find the party to be a vexatious litigator and 
impose filing restrictions on the party. The restrictions may include prohibiting the 
party from continuing or instituting legal proceedings in the court without first 
obtaining leave, prohibiting the filing of actions in the court without the filing fee or 
security for costs required by MCR 7.209 or MCR 7.219, or other restriction the court 
deems just.
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RULE 7.217 INVOLUNTARY DISMISSAL OF CASES

(A) Dismissal. If the appellant, or the plaintiff in an original action under MCR 7.206, 
fails to order a transcript, file a brief, or comply with court rules, the clerk will notify the 
parties that the appeal may be dismissed for want of prosecution unless the deficiency is 
remedied within 21 days after the date of the clerk’s notice of deficiency. If the deficiency 
is not remedied within that time, the chief judge or another designated judge may dismiss 
the appeal for want of prosecution.

(B) Notice. A copy of an order dismissing an appeal for want of prosecution will be sent to 
the parties and the court or tribunal from which the appeal originated.

(C) Other Action. In all instances of failure to prosecute an appeal to hearing as required, 
the chief judge or another designated judge may take such other action as is deemed 
appropriate.

(D) Reinstatement.

(1) Within 21 days after the date of the clerk’s notice of dismissal under this rule, the 
appellant or plaintiff may seek relief from dismissal by filing a motion for 
reconsideration that shows mistake, inadvertence, or excusable neglect.

(2) The chief judge of the Court of Appeals will decide all untimely motions for 
reinstatement of an appeal.

RULE 7.218 VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL

(A) Dismissal by Appellant. In all cases where the appellant or plaintiff in an original 
action under MCR 7.206 files an unopposed motion to withdraw the appeal, the clerk will 
enter an order of dismissal.

(B) Stipulation to Dismiss. The parties to a case in the Court of Appeals may file with the 
clerk a signed stipulation agreeing to dismissal of an appeal or an action brought under 
MCR 7.206. On payment of all fees, the clerk will enter an order dismissing the appeal or 
the action under MCR 7.206, except that class actions or cases submitted on a session 
calendar may not be dismissed except by order of the Court of Appeals.

RULE 7.219 TAXATION OF COSTS; FEES

(A) Right to Costs. Except as the Court of Appeals otherwise directs, the prevailing party 
in a civil case is entitled to costs.

(B) Time for Filing. Within 28 days after the dispositive order, opinion, or order denying 
reconsideration is mailed, the prevailing party may file a certified or verified bill of costs 
with the clerk and serve a copy on all other parties. Each item claimed in the bill must be 
specified. Failure to file a bill of costs within the time prescribed waives the right to costs.
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(C) Objections. Any other party may file objections to the bill of costs with the clerk 
within seven days after a copy of the bill is served. The objecting party must serve a copy 
of the objections on the prevailing party and file proof of that service.

(D) Taxation. The clerk will promptly verify the bill and tax those costs allowable.

(E) Review. The action by the clerk will be reviewed by the Court of Appeals on motion 
of either party filed within seven days from the date of taxation, but on review only those 
affidavits or objections that were previously filed with the clerk may be considered by the 
court.

(F) Costs Taxable. A prevailing party may tax only the reasonable costs incurred in the 
Court of Appeals, including:

(1) a charge of $1 per original page for the prevailing party’s costs associated with 
preparation of appellant’s brief, appellee’s brief, a supplemental brief or a reply brief, 
not including any attachments or appendices; 

(2) any appeal or stay bond;

(3) the transcript and necessary copies of it;

(4) documents required for the record on appeal;

(5) fees paid to the clerk or to the trial court clerk incident to the appeal;

(6) taxable costs allowed by law in appeals to the Supreme Court (MCL 600.2441); 
and

(7) other expenses taxable under applicable court rules.

(G) Fees Paid to Clerk. The clerk may collect the following fees, which may be taxed as 
costs:

(1) the fee required by law for a claim of appeal, application for leave to appeal, 
application for delayed appeal, original complaint, or motion;

(2) 50¢ per page for a certified copy of a paper from a public record;

(3) $5 for certified docket entries;

(4) $1 per document for certification of a copy presented to the clerk; and

(5) 50¢ per page for a copy of an opinion; however, one copy must be given without 
charge to each party in a case.

A person who is unable to pay a filing fee may ask the court to waive the fee by filing a 
motion and an affidavit disclosing the reason for the inability.

(H) Rule Applicable. Except as provided in this rule, MCR 2.625 applies generally to 
taxation of costs in the Court of Appeals.
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(I) Violation of Rules. The Court of Appeals may impose costs on a party or an attorney 
for violation of these rules.

SUBCHAPTER 7.300 SUPREME COURT

RULE 7.301 ORGANIZATION AND OPERATION OF SUPREME COURT

(A) Chief Justice. At the first meeting of the Supreme Court in each odd-numbered year, 
the justices shall select by majority vote one among them to serve as Chief Justice.

(B) Term and Sessions. The annual term of the Court begins on August 1 and ends on July 
31. Except as provided in MCR 7.313(E), the end of a term has no effect on pending cases. 
Oral arguments are generally scheduled at sessions in October, November, December, 
January, March, April, and May. The Court will only schedule cases for argument in 
September, February, June, July, or August pursuant to an order on the Court’s own 
initiative or upon a showing of special cause by a moving party.

(C) Supreme Court Clerk

(1) Appointment; General Provisions. The Supreme Court will appoint a clerk who 
shall keep the clerk’s office in Lansing under the direction of the Court. Where the 
term “clerk” appears in this subchapter without modification, it means the Supreme 
Court clerk. The clerk may not practice law other than as clerk while serving as clerk.

(2) Duties. The clerk shall perform the following duties:

(a) Furnish bond before taking office. The bond must be in favor of the people of 
the state and in the penal sum of $10,000, approved by the Chief Justice and filed 
with the Secretary of State, and conditioned on the faithful performance of the 
clerk’s official duties. The fee for the bond is a Court expense. 

(b) Collect the fees provided for by statute or court rule. 

(c) Deposit monthly with the State Treasurer the fees collected, securing and filing 
a receipt for them. 

(d) Provide for the recording of Supreme Court proceedings as the Court directs. 

(e) Care for and maintain custody of all records, seals, books, and papers 
pertaining to the clerk’s office and filed or deposited there. 

(f) Return the original record as provided in MCR 7.310(B) after an appeal has 
been decided by the Court. 

(D) Deputy Supreme Court Clerks. The Supreme Court may appoint deputy Supreme 
Court clerks. A deputy clerk shall carry out the duties assigned by the clerk and perform 
the duties of the clerk if the clerk is absent or unable to act. 

(E) Reporter of Decisions. The Supreme Court will appoint a reporter of decisions. The 
reporter shall:



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 736  Updated April 26, 2024 

(1) prepare the decisions, including concurring and dissenting opinions, of the 
Supreme Court for publication; 

(2) write a brief statement of the facts of each case and headnotes containing the points 
made; 

(3) ensure that opinions are published in advance sheets as soon as practicable; and 

(4) ensure that bound volumes are printed as soon as practicable after the last opinion 
included in a volume is issued. 

The reasons for denying leave to appeal, as required by Const 1963, art 6, § 6 and filed 
in the clerk’s office, are not to be published and are not to be regarded as precedent. 

(F) Supreme Court Crier. The Supreme Court will appoint a court crier. The court crier 
shall 

(1) have charge of the Supreme Court courtroom and the offices and other rooms 
assigned to the Supreme Court justices; and

(2) have the power to serve an order, process, or writ issued by the Supreme Court; 
collect the fee for that service allowed by law to sheriffs; and deposit monthly with the 
State Treasurer all the fees collected, securing a receipt for them.

RULE 7.302 ELECTRONIC FILING, SERVICE, AND NOTIFICATION

(A) Electronic Filing. Documents may be filed electronically in lieu of submitting paper 
copies unless specifically required by court order.

(B) Electronic Service. A document that is electronically filed may be served 
electronically on registered users of the e-filing system at their registered email addresses.

(C) Electronic Notification. The clerk may electronically transmit or provide electronic 
access to Court notices, orders, opinions, and other communications to the parties, 
attorneys, the Court of Appeals, and the trial court or tribunal.

RULE 7.303 JURISDICTION OF THE SUPREME COURT

(A)Mandatory Review. The Supreme Court shall review a Judicial Tenure Commission 
order recommending discipline, removal, retirement, or suspension (see MCR 9.250 to 
9.253).

(B)Discretionary Review. The Supreme Court may

(1)review by appeal a case pending in the Court of Appeals or after decision by the 
Court of Appeals (see MCR 7.305); 

(2)review by appeal a final order of the Attorney Discipline Board (see MCR 9.122); 

(3)issue an advisory opinion (see Const 1963, art 3, § 8 and MCR 7.308(B)); 

(4)respond to a certified question (see MCR 7.308(A)); 
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(5)exercise superintending control over a lower court or tribunal (see MCR 7.306); 

(6)exercise other jurisdiction as provided by the constitution or by law. 

RULE 7.305 APPLICATION FOR LEAVE TO APPEAL

(A) What to File. To apply for leave to appeal, a party must file:

(1) 1 signed copy of an application for leave to appeal prepared in conformity with 
MCR 7.212(B) and consisting of the following: 

(a) a statement identifying the judgment or order appealed and the date of its entry; 

(b) the questions presented for review related in concise terms to the facts of the 
case; 

(c) a table of contents and index of authorities conforming to MCR 7.212(C)(2) 
and (3); 

(d) a concise statement of the material proceedings and facts conforming to MCR 
7.212(C)(6); 

(e) a concise argument, conforming to MCR 7.212(C)(7), in support of the 
appellant’s position on each of the stated questions and establishing a ground for 
the application as required by subrule (B); and

(f) a statement of the relief sought.

(2) 1 copy of any opinion, findings, or judgment of the trial court or tribunal relevant 
to the question as to which leave to appeal is sought and 1 copy of the opinion or order 
of the Court of Appeals, unless review of a pending case is being sought; 

(3) proof that a copy of the application was served on all other parties, and that a notice 
of the filing of the application was served on the clerks of the Court of Appeals and the 
trial court or tribunal; and 

(4) the fee provided by MCR 7.319(C)(1).

(B)Grounds. The application must show that 

(1)the issue involves a substantial question about the validity of a legislative act; 

(2)the issue has significant public interest and the case is one by or against the state or 
one of its agencies or subdivisions or by or against an officer of the state or one of its 
agencies or subdivisions in the officer’s official capacity; 

(3)the issue involves a legal principle of major significance to the state’s 
jurisprudence; 

(4)in an appeal before a decision of the Court of Appeals, 

(a)delay in final adjudication is likely to cause substantial harm, or 

(b)the appeal is from a ruling that a provision of the Michigan Constitution, a 
Michigan statute, a rule or regulation included in the Michigan Administrative 
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Code, or any other action of the legislative or executive branches of state 
government is invalid; 

(5)in an appeal of a decision of the Court of Appeals, 

(a)the decision is clearly erroneous and will cause material injustice, or 

(b)the decision conflicts with a Supreme Court decision or another decision of the 
Court of Appeals; or 

(6)in an appeal from the Attorney Discipline Board, the decision is clearly erroneous 
and will cause material injustice. 

(C) When to File. 

(1) By pass Application. In an appeal before the Court of Appeals decision, the 
application must be filed within 42 days after:

(a) a claim of appeal is filed in the Court of Appeals; 

(b) an application for leave to appeal is filed in the Court of Appeals; or

(c) an original action is filed in the Court of Appeals. 

(2) Application After Court of Appeals Decision. Except as provided in subrule 
(C)(4), the application must be filed within 42 days in civil cases, or within 56 days in 
criminal cases, after:

(a) the Court of Appeals order or opinion resolving an appeal or original action, 
including an order denying an application for leave to appeal,

(b) the Court of Appeals order or opinion remanding the case to the lower court or 
Tribunal for further proceedings while retaining jurisdiction,

(c) the Court of Appeals order denying a timely filed motion for reconsideration, 
or

(d) the Court of Appeals grants a request to publish an opinion that was originally 
released as unpublished.

(3) Interlocutory Application from the Court of Appeals. Except as provided in 
subrules (C)(1) and (C)(2), the application must be filed within 28 days after a Court 
of Appeals order that does not resolve the appeal or original action, including an order 
granting an application for leave to appeal. 

(4) Attorney Discipline Board Decision. In an appeal from an order of discipline or 
dismissal entered by the Attorney Discipline Board, the application must be filed 
within the time provided in MCR 9.122(A)(1). 

(5) Decisions Remanding for Further Proceedings. If the decision of the Court of 
Appeals remands the case to a lower court for further proceedings, an application for 
leave to appeal may be filed within 42 days in civil cases and 56 days in criminal 
cases, after the date of

(a)the Court of Appeals order or opinion remanding the case, 
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(b)the Court of Appeals order denying a timely filed motion for reconsideration of 
a decision remanding the case, or 

(c)the Court of Appeals order or opinion disposing of the case following the 
remand procedure, in which case an application may be made on all issues raised 
initially in the Court of Appeals, as well as those related to the remand 
proceedings. 

(6) Effect of Appeal on Decision Remanding Case. If a party appeals a decision that 
remands for further proceedings as provided in subrule (C)(6)(a), the following 
provisions apply: 

(a)If the Court of Appeals decision is a judgment under MCR 7.215(E)(1), an 
application for leave to appeal stays proceedings on remand unless the Court of 
Appeals or the Supreme Court orders otherwise. 

(b)If the Court of Appeals decision is an order other than a judgment under MCR 
7.215(E)(1), the proceedings on remand are not stayed by an application for leave 
to appeal unless so ordered by the Court of Appeals or the Supreme Court. 

(7) Orders Denying Motions to Remand. If the Court of Appeals has denied a motion 
to remand, the appellant may raise issues relating to that denial in an application for 
leave to appeal the decision on the merits. 

(D) Answer. A responding party may file 1 signed copy of an answer in accordance with 
MCR 7.212(B) within 28 days after service of the application. The party must file proof 
that a copy of the answer was served on all other parties. 

(E) Reply. The appellant may file 1 signed copy of a reply within 21 days after service of 
the answer, along with proof of its service on all other parties. The reply must: 

(1) contain only a rebuttal of the arguments in the answer;

(2) include a table of contents and an index of authorities; and

(3) be no longer than 3,200 words or, for self-represented litigants without access to a 
word-processing system, 10 pages, exclusive of tables, indexes, and appendixes.

(F)Nonconforming Pleading. On its own initiative or on a party’s motion, the Court may 
order a party who filed a pleading that does not substantially comply with the 
requirements of this rule to file a conforming pleading within a specified time or else it 
may strike the nonconforming pleading. The submission to the clerk of a nonconforming 
pleading does not satisfy the time limitation for filing the pleading if it has not been 
corrected within the specified time.

(G)Submission and Argument. Applications for leave to appeal may be submitted for a 
decision after the reply brief has been filed or the time for filing such has expired, 
whichever occurs first. There is no oral argument on an application for leave to appeal 
unless ordered by the Court under subrule (H)(1). 

(H) Decision.
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(1) Possible Court Actions. The Court may grant or deny the application for leave to 
appeal, enter a final decision, direct argument on the application, or issue a peremptory 
order. The clerk shall issue the order entered and provide either a paper copy or access 
to an electronic version to each party and to the Court of Appeals clerk. 

(2)Appeal Before Court of Appeals Decision. If leave to appeal is granted before a 
decision of the Court of Appeals, the appeal is thereafter pending in the Supreme 
Court only, and subchapter 7.300 applies. 

(3)Appeal After Court of Appeals Decision. If leave to appeal is denied after a 
decision of the Court of Appeals, the Court of Appeals decision becomes the final 
adjudication and may be enforced in accordance with its terms. If leave to appeal is 
granted, jurisdiction over the case is vested in the Supreme Court, and subchapter 
7.300 applies. 

(4) Issues on Appeal. 

(a) Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, an appeal shall be limited to the issues 
raised in the application for leave to appeal. 

(b) On motion of any party establishing good cause, the Court may grant a request 
to add additional issues not raised in the application for leave to appeal or not 
identified in the order granting leave to appeal. Permission to brief and argue 
additional issues does not extend the time for filing the brief and appendixes. 

(I) Stay of Proceedings. MCR 7.209 applies to appeals in the Supreme Court. When a stay 
bond has been filed on appeal to the Court of Appeals under MCR 7.209 or a stay has been 
entered or takes effect pursuant to MCR 7.209(E)(7), it operates to stay proceedings 
pending disposition of the appeal in the Supreme Court unless otherwise ordered by the 
Supreme Court or the Court of Appeals. 

RULE 7.306 ORIGINAL PROCEEDINGS

(A) Superintending Control. A complaint may be filed to invoke the Supreme Court’s 
superintending control power:

(1) over a lower court or tribunal, including the Attorney Discipline Board, when an 
application for leave to appeal could not have been filed under MCR 7.305, or

(2) over the Board of Law Examiners or the Attorney Grievance Commission. 

When a dispute regarding court operations arises between judges within a court that would 
give rise to a complaint under this rule, the judges shall participate in mediation as 
provided through the State Court Administrator’s Office before filing such a complaint. 
The mediation shall be conducted in compliance with MCR 2.411(C)(2).

(B) A complaint may be filed to invoke the Supreme Court’s original jurisdiction under 
Const 1963, art 4, § 6(19). 

(C) What to File. To initiate an original proceeding, a plaintiff must file with the clerk:
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(1) 1 signed copy of a complaint prepared in conformity with MCR 2.111(A) and (B) 
and entitled, for example, 

“[Plaintiff] v [Court of Appeals, Board of Law Examiners, Attorney Discipline Board, 
Attorney Grievance Commission, or Independent Citizens Redistricting 
Commission].”

The clerk shall retitle a complaint that is named differently.

(2) 1 signed copy of a brief conforming as nearly as possible to MCR 7.212(B) and 
(C); 

(3) proof that the complaint and brief were served on the defendant, and, for a 
complaint filed against the Attorney Discipline Board or Attorney Grievance 
Commission, on the respondent in the underlying discipline matter; for purposes of a 
complaint filed under Const 1963, art 4, § 6(19), service of a copy of the complaint 
and brief shall be made on any of the following persons: (1) the chairperson of the 
Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission; (2) the secretary of the Independent 
Citizens Redistricting Commission or (3) upon an individual designated by the 
Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission or Secretary of State as a person to 
receive service. Service shall be verified by the Clerk of the Court; and 

(4) the fee provided by MCR 7.319(C)(1). 

Copies of relevant documents, record evidence, or supporting affidavits may be attached 
as exhibits to the complaint. 

(D) Answer. 

(1) A defendant in an action filed under Const 1963, art 4, § 6(19) must file the 
following with the clerk within 7 days after service of the complaint and supporting 
brief, unless the Court directs otherwise: 

(a)   1 signed copy of an answer in conformity with MCR 2.111(C);   

(b) 1 signed copy of a supporting brief in conformity with MCR 7.212(B) and (D); 
and 

(c)   Proof that a copy of the answer and supporting brief was served on the 
plaintiff. 

(2) In all other original actions, the defendant must file the following with the clerk 
within 28 days after service of the complaint and supporting brief, unless the Court 
directs otherwise:

(a) 1 signed copy of an answer in conformity with MCR 7.212(B) and (D). The 
grievance administrator’s answer to a complaint against the Attorney Grievance 
Commission must show the investigatory steps taken and any other pertinent 
information.

(b) Proof that a copy of the answer was served on the plaintiff. 



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 742  Updated April 26, 2024 

(E) Brief by Respondent in Action Against Attorney Grievance Commission or Attorney 
Discipline Board. A respondent in an action against the Attorney Grievance Commission 
or Attorney Discipline Board may file a response brief with the clerk within 28 days after 
service of the complaint, and a proof that a copy of the response brief was served on 
plaintiff and defendant. A response brief filed under this subsection shall conform to MCR 
7.212(B) and (D).

(F) Reply Brief. 1 signed copy of a reply brief may be filed as provided in MCR 7.305(E). 
In an action filed under Const 1963, art 4, § 6(19), a reply brief may be filed within 3 days 
after service of the answer and supporting brief, unless the Court directs otherwise.

(G) Actions Against Attorney Grievance Commission; Confidentiality. The clerk shall 
keep the file in an action against the Attorney Grievance Commission or the grievance 
administrator confidential and not open to the public if it appears that the complaint relates 
to matters that are confidential under MCR 9.126. In the answer to a complaint, the 
grievance administrator shall certify to the clerk whether the matters involved in the action 
are deemed confidential under MCR 9.126. The protection provided in MCR 9.126 
continues unless and until the Court orders otherwise. 

(H) Nonconforming Pleading. On its own initiative or on a party’s motion, the Court may 
order a party who filed a pleading that does not substantially comply with the 
requirements of this rule to file a conforming pleading within a specified time or else it 
may strike the nonconforming pleading. The submission to the clerk of a nonconforming 
pleading does not satisfy the time limitation for filing the pleading if it has not been 
corrected within the specified time.

(I) Submission and Argument. Original proceedings may be submitted for a decision after 
service of the reply brief or the time for filing a reply brief has expired, whichever occurs 
first. There is no oral argument on an original complaint unless ordered by the Court. 

(J) Decision. The Court may set the case for argument as a calendar case, grant or deny the 
relief requested, or provide other relief that it deems appropriate, including an order to 
show cause why the relief sought in the complaint should not be granted. 

RULE 7.307 CROSS-APPEAL

(A) Filing. An application for leave to appeal as a cross-appellant may be filed with the 
clerk within 28 days after service of the application for leave to appeal. The cross-
appellant’s application must comply with the requirements of MCR 7.305(A). A late 
application to cross-appeal will not be accepted.

(B) Alternative arguments; new or different relief. A party is not required to file a cross-
appeal to advance alternative arguments in support of the judgment or order appealed. A 
cross-appeal is required to seek new or different relief than that provided by the judgment 
or order appealed.
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RULE 7.308 CERTIFIED QUESTIONS AND ADVISORY OPINIONS

(A) Certified Questions

(1) From Michigan Courts.

(a) Whenever a trial court or tribunal from which an appeal may be taken to the 
Court of Appeals or to the Supreme Court has pending before it an action or 
proceeding involving a controlling question of public law, and the question is of 
such public moment as to require an early determination according to executive 
message of the governor addressed to the Supreme Court, the Court may authorize 
the court or tribunal to certify the question to the Court with a statement of the 
facts sufficient to make clear the application of the question. Further proceedings 
relative to the case are stayed to the extent ordered by the court or tribunal, 
pending receipt of a decision of the Supreme Court. 

(b) If any question is not properly stated or if sufficient facts are not given, the 
Court may require a further and better statement of the question or of the facts. 

(c) The Court shall render its decision on a certified question in the ordinary form 
of an opinion, to be published with other opinions of the Court. 

(d) After the decision of the Court has been sent, the lower court or tribunal will 
proceed with or dispose of the case in accordance with the Court’s answer. 

(2) From Other Courts.

(a) When a federal court, another state’s appellate court, or a tribal court considers 
a question that Michigan law may resolve and that is not controlled by Michigan 
Supreme Court precedent, the court may on its own initiative or that of an 
interested party certify the question to the Court. 

(b) A certificate may be prepared by stipulation or at the certifying court’s 
direction, and must contain 

(i) the case title; 

(ii) a factual statement; and 

(iii) the question to be answered. 

The presiding judge must sign it, and the clerk of the federal, other state, or 
tribal court must certify it. 

(3) Briefing. The parties to the underlying proceeding shall submit briefs in 
conformity with MCR 7.312 that include a request for oral argument on the title page 
of the pleading, if oral argument is desired. Unless the Court directs a different time or 
procedure for filing, or the parties file a written stipulation agreeing to a different 
schedule;

(a) the brief and appendixes of the appellant, or the plaintiff if the underlying 
proceeding was not an appeal, are due within 35 days after the certificate is filed 
with the Court;
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(b) the brief and appendixes of an appellee, or a defendant if the underlying 
proceeding was not an appeal, are due within 28 days after service of the 
appellant’s brief; and

(c) a reply brief is due within 21 days after service of the last timely filed 
appellee’s or defendant’s brief.

Joint or individual appendixes may be filed in conformity with MCR 7.312(D).

(4) Submission and Argument. A certified question may be submitted for a decision 
after receipt of the question and after the reply is filed or the time for filing the reply 
has passed, whichever occurs first. There is no oral argument on a certified question 
unless ordered by the Court. 

(5) Decision. The Supreme Court may deny the request for a certified question by 
order, issue a peremptory order, or render a decision in the ordinary form of an opinion 
to be published with other opinions of the Court. The clerk shall send a paper copy or 
provide electronic notice of the Court’s decision to the certifying court.

(6) Costs. The Supreme Court shall divide costs equally among the parties, subject to 
redistribution by the certifying court.

(B) Advisory Opinion

(1) Form of Request. A request for an advisory opinion by either house of the 
legislature or the governor pursuant to Const 1963, art 3, § 8 may be in the form of a 
letter that includes a copy or verbatim statement of the enacted legislation and 
identifies the specific questions to be answered by the Court. One signed copy of the 
request and one set of supporting documents are to be filed with the Court.

(2) Briefing. The governor, any member of the house or senate, and the attorney 
general may file briefs in support of or opposition to the enacted legislation within 28 
days after the request for an advisory opinion is filed. Interested parties may file 
amicus curiae briefs on motion granted by the Court. The party shall file 1 signed copy 
of the brief that conforms as nearly as possible to MCR 7.312. 

(3) Submission and Argument. Advisory opinions may be submitted for a decision 
after the brief in support of the advisory opinion request has been filed. There is no 
oral argument on a request for an advisory opinion unless ordered by the Court. 

(4) Decision. The Supreme Court may deny the request for an advisory opinion by 
order, issue a peremptory order, or render a decision in the ordinary form of an opinion 
to be published with other opinions of the Court.

RULE 7.310 RECORD ON APPEALS

(A) Transmission of Record. An appeal is heard on the original papers, which constitute 
the record on appeal. When requested by the Supreme Court clerk to do so, the Court of 
Appeals clerk or the lower court clerk shall send to the Supreme Court clerk all papers or 
electronic documents on file in the Court of Appeals or the lower court, certified by the 
clerk. For an appeal originating from an administrative board, office, or tribunal, the 
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record on appeal is the certified record filed with the Court of Appeals clerk and the 
papers or electronic documents filed with the Court of Appeals clerk. 

(B) Return of Record. After final adjudication or other disposition of an appeal, the 
Supreme Court clerk shall return the original record to the Court of Appeals clerk, to the 
clerk of the trial court or tribunal in which the record was made, or to the clerk of the court 
to which the case has been remanded for further proceedings. Thereafter, the clerk of the 
lower court or tribunal to which the original record has been sent shall promptly notify the 
attorneys of the receipt of the record. The Supreme Court clerk shall provide a certified 
copy of the order or judgment entered by the Supreme Court to the Court of Appeals clerk 
and to the clerk of the trial court or tribunal from which the appeal was taken. 

(C) Stipulations. The parties may stipulate in writing regarding any matter constituting the 
basis for an application for leave to appeal or regarding any matter relevant to a part of the 
record on appeal. 

RULE 7.311 MOTIONS IN SUPREME COURT

(A) What to File. To have a motion heard, a party must file with the clerk:

(1) 1 signed copy of a motion and supporting papers, except as otherwise provided in 
this rule, stating briefly but distinctly the grounds on which the motion is based and the 
relief requested and including an affidavit supporting any allegations of fact in the 
motion; 

(2) proof that the motion and supporting papers were served on each opposing party; 
and 

(3) the fee provided by MCR 7.319(C)(2) or (3). 

(B) Submission and Argument. Motions are submitted for decisions on Tuesday of each 
week at least 14 days after they are filed, but administrative orders (e.g., on motions to 
extend time for filing a pleading, to file an amicus brief, to appear and practice, to exceed 
the page limit) may be entered earlier to advance the efficient administration of the Court. 
There is no oral argument on a motion unless ordered by the Court. 

(C) Answer. An opposing party may file 1 signed copy of an answer at any time before an 
order is entered on the motion. 

(D) Motion to Seal File. Except as otherwise provided by statute or court rule, the 
procedure for sealing a Supreme Court file is governed by MCR 8.119(I). Materials that 
are subject to a motion to seal a file in whole or in part shall be held under seal pending the 
Court’s disposition of the motion. 

(E) Motion for Immediate Consideration or to Expedite Proceedings. A party may move 
for immediate consideration of a motion or to expedite any proceeding before the Court. 
The motion or an accompanying affidavit must identify the manner of service of the 
motion on the other parties and explain why immediate consideration of the motion or 
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expedited scheduling of the proceeding is necessary. If the motion is granted, the Court 
will schedule an earlier hearing or render an earlier decision on the matter. 

(F) Motion for Rehearing.

(1) To move for rehearing, a party must file within 21 days after the opinion was filed: 

(a) 1 signed copy of a motion for rehearing; and 

(b) proof that a copy was served on each party. 

The motion for rehearing must include reasons why the Court should modify its 
opinion and shall not exceed 16,000 words or, for self-represented litigants without 
access to a word-processing system, 50 double-spaced pages. Motions for rehearing 
are subject to the restrictions contained in MCR 2.119(F)(3).

(2) Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, the timely filing of a motion for rehearing 
postpones issuance of the Court’s judgment order until the motion is either denied by 
the Court or, if granted, until at least 21 days after the filing of the Court’s decision on 
rehearing.

(3) Any party or amicus curiae that participated in the case may answer a motion for 
rehearing within 14 days after it is served by filing 

(a) 1 copy of the answer; and 

(b) proof that a copy was served on all other parties. 

(4) Unless ordered by the Court, there is no oral argument on a motion for rehearing. 

(5) The clerk shall refuse to accept for filing a late-filed motion for rehearing or a 
motion for reconsideration of an order denying a motion for rehearing.

(G) Motion for Reconsideration. To move for reconsideration of a court order, a party 
must file the items required by subrule (A) within 21 days after the date of certification of 
the order. The motion shall include all facts, arguments, and citations to authorities in a 
single document and shall not exceed 3,200 words or, for self-represented litigants 
without access to a word-processing system, 10 double-spaced pages. A copy of the order 
for which reconsideration is sought must be included with the motion. Motions for 
reconsideration are subject to the restrictions contained in MCR 2.119(F)(3). The clerk 
shall refuse to accept for filing a late-filed motion or a motion for reconsideration of an 
order denying a motion for reconsideration. The filing of a motion for reconsideration 
does not stay the effect of the order addressed in the motion.

(H) Motion to Expand Record in Cases Involving Termination of Parental Rights. In a 
case involving termination of parental rights, a respondent who claims ineffective 
assistance of appellate counsel under MCR 7.316(D) may file a motion to expand the 
record to support that claim if appellate counsel’s errors are not evident on the record. The 
motion must be filed no later than the date the application is due.
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RULE 7.312 BRIEFS AND APPENDIXES IN CALENDAR CASES AND CASES ARGUED ON THE 
APPLICATION

(A) Form and Length. Briefs in calendar cases and cases to be argued on the application 
must be prepared in conformity with subrule (B), MCR 7.212(B), (C), (D), and (G) as to 
form and length. If filed in hard copy, briefs shall be printed on only the front side of the 
page of good quality, white unglazed paper by any printing, duplicating, or copying 
process that provides a clear image. Typewritten, handwritten, or carbon copy pages may 
be used so long as the printing is legible. 

(B) Citation of Record; Summary of Arguments. 

(1) A party’s statement of facts or counterstatement of facts shall provide the appendix 
page numbers of the transcript pages, pleadings, or other documents being cited or 
referred to.

(2) If the argument of any one issue in a brief exceeds 6,500 words or, for 
selfrepresented litigants without access to a word-processing system, 20 pages, a 
summary of the argument must be included. The summary must be a succinct, 
accurate, and clear condensation of the argument actually made in the body of the brief 
and may not be a mere repetition of the headings under which the argument is 
arranged. The summary of argument is included in the brief’s word or page limit. 

(C) Cover. A brief must have a suitable cover of heavy paper. The cover page must

follow this general form:

IN THE SUPREME COURT

APPEAL FROM THE [COURT OR TRIBUNAL APPEALED FROM]

[JUDGE OR PRESIDING OFFICER]

_[Name of Party]________________,

Plaintiff-[Appellant or Appellee],

                                                                                  MSC No. _____[leave blank]______

v                                                                                COA No. ______________________

                                                                                  Trial Ct No. ____________________

_[Name of Party]________________,

Defendant-[Appellant or Appellee].
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Brief on Appeal – [Appellant or Appellee]

ORAL ARGUMENT [REQUESTED/NOT REQUESTED]

____________________________________________

Attorney for [PL or DF]-[AT or AE]

[Business Address]

__________________________

__________________________

__________________________ 

(D) Appendix. Unless the Court orders otherwise, briefs in a calendar case or in a case 
being argued on an application must be filed with an individual or joint appendix that 
conforms with the requirements, form, and content of MCR 7.212(J), except that the 
exclusions listed in MCR 7.212(J)(1)(a)-(f) do not apply to the Supreme Court. The 
individual or joint appendix must also include a copy of the Court of Appeals opinion or 
order being appealed but need not include the briefs submitted in the Court of Appeals 
unless they pertain to a contested preservation issue.

(E)Time for Filing. Unless the Court directs a different time for filing,

(1)the appellant’s brief and appendixes, if any, are due 

(a) within 56 days of the order granting the application for leave to appeal, or

(b) within 42 days of the order directing the clerk to schedule oral argument on the 
application;

(2)the appellee’s brief and appendixes, if any, are due 

(a) within 35 days after the appellant’s brief is served on the appellee in a calendar 
case, or

(b) within 21 days after the appellant’s brief is served on the appellee in a case 
being argued on the application; and

(3)the reply brief is due 

(a) within 21 days after the appellee’s brief is served on the appellant in a calendar 
case, or
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(b) within 14 days after the appellee’s brief is served on the appellant in a case 
being argued on the application.

(F) What to File. Each party shall:

(1) file 1 signed copy of a brief and 1 set of appendixes with the clerk; 

(2) serve 2 copies on each attorney who has appeared in the case for a separate party or 
group of parties and on each party who has appeared in person; 

(3) serve 1 copy on the Attorney General in a criminal case or in a case in which the 
state is a named or interested party; and

(4) file a proof of service with the clerk. 

(G) Cross-Appeal Briefs. The filing and service of cross-appeal briefs are governed by 
subrule (F). An appellee/cross-appellant may file a combined brief for the primary appeal 
and the cross-appeal within 35 days after service of the appellant’s brief in the primary 
appeal for both calendar cases and cases being argued on the application. An appellant/
cross-appellee may file a combined reply brief for the primary appeal and a responsive 
brief for the cross-appeal within 35 days after service of the cross-appellant’s brief for 
both calendar cases and cases being argued on the application. A reply to the cross-appeal 
may be filed within 21 days after service of the responsive brief in a calendar case and 
within 14 days after service of the responsive brief in a case being argued on the 
application.

(H) Amicus Curiae Briefs and Argument. 

(1) An amicus curiae brief may be filed only on motion granted by the Court except as 
provided in subsection (2) or as directed by the Court. 

(2) A motion for leave to file an amicus curiae brief (in both calendar cases and cases 
being argued on the application) is not required if the brief is presented by the 
Attorney General on behalf of the people of the state of Michigan, the state of 
Michigan, or an agency or official of the state of Michigan; on behalf of any political 
subdivision of the state when submitted by its authorized legal officer, its authorized 
agent, or an association representing a political subdivision; or on behalf of the 
Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan or the Criminal Defense Attorneys of 
Michigan. 

(3) An amicus curiae brief must conform to subrules (A), (B), (C) and (F), and,

(4) Unless the Court directs a different time for filing, an amicus brief must be filed

(a) within 21 days after the brief of the appellee has been filed or the time for filing 
such brief has expired in a calendar case, or

(b) within 14 days after the brief of the appellee has been filed or the time for filing 
such brief has expired in a case being argued on the application.

(5) Except for briefs presented on behalf of amicus curiae listed in subrule (H)(2), a 
brief filed under this rule shall indicate whether counsel for a party authored the brief 
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in whole or in part and whether such counsel or a party made a monetary contribution 
intended to fund the preparation or submission of the brief, and shall identify every 
person other than the amicus curiae, its members, or its counsel, who made such a 
monetary contribution. The disclosure shall be made in the first footnote on the first 
page of text.

(6) An amicus curiae may not participate in oral argument except by Court order.

(I) Supplemental Authority. A party may file 1 signed copy of a supplemental authority in 
conformity with MCR 7.212(F).

(J) Extending or Shortening Time; Failure to File; Forfeiture of Oral Argument.

(1) The time provided for filing and serving the briefs and appendixes may be 
shortened or extended by order of the Court on its own initiative or on motion of a 
party. 

(2) If the appellant fails to file the brief and appendixes within the time required, the 
Court may dismiss the case and award costs to the appellee or affirm the judgment or 
order appealed. 

(3) A party filing a brief late forfeits the right to oral argument. 

(K) For cases argued on the application, parties should focus their argument on the merits 
of the case, and not just on whether the Court should grant leave.

RULE 7.313 SUPREME COURT CALENDAR

(A) Definition. A case in which leave to appeal has been granted, or a case initiated in the 
Supreme Court that the Court determines will be argued at a monthly session, is termed a 
“calendar case.” 

(B) Notice of Hearing; Request for Oral Argument.

(1) After the briefs of both parties have been filed or the time for filing the appellant’s 
reply brief has expired, the clerk shall notify the parties that the calendar cases and the 
cases to be argued on the application under MCR 7.305(H)(1) will be heard at a 
monthly session of the Supreme Court not less than 35 days after the date of the notice. 
The Court may direct that a case be scheduled for argument at a future monthly 
session with expedited briefing times or may shorten the 35-day notice period on its 
own initiative or on motion of a party. 

(2) Except on order of the Court, a party who has not specifically requested oral 
argument on the title page of its brief or has forfeited argument by not timely filing its 
brief is not entitled to oral argument unless it files a motion for oral argument at least 
21 days before the first day of the monthly session. If neither party is entitled to oral 
argument, the clerk will list the case as submitted on briefs. The Court may direct that 
a case be submitted on briefs without oral argument even when a party would 
otherwise be entitled to oral argument. 



Chapter 7. Appellate Rules Page 751  Updated April 26, 2024 

(C) Arrangement of Calendar. At least 21 days before the first day of the monthly session, 
the clerk will place cases on the session calendar and arrange the order in which they are 
to be heard. The cases will be called and heard in that order except as provided in subrule 
(D). 

(D) Rearrangement of Calendar; Adjournment. At least 21 days before the first day of a 
session, the parties may stipulate to have a case specially placed on the calendar, grouped 
to suit the convenience of the attorneys, or placed at the beginning or end of the call. After 
that time, changes to the session calendar may be requested only by motion, not by 
stipulation of the parties. A motion to adjourn a case from the call after the schedule is 
released will be granted only by order upon a showing of good cause with an explanation 
of why the motion could not have been filed sooner. Costs payable to the Court may be 
imposed on the moving party for a late-filed motion to adjourn.

(E) Reargument of Undecided Calendar Cases. When a calendar case remains undecided 
at the end of the term in which it was argued, the parties may file supplemental briefs. In 
addition, by directive of the Court or upon a party’s written request within 14 days after 
the beginning of the new term, the clerk shall schedule the case for reargument. This 
subrule does not apply to a case argued on the application for leave to appeal under MCR 
7.305(H)(1).

RULE 7.314 CALL AND ARGUMENT OF CASES

(A)Call; Notice of Argument; Adjournment From Call. The Court, on the first day of each 
monthly session, will call the cases for argument in the order they stand on the calendar as 
arranged in accordance with MCR 7.313(C), and proceed from day to day during the 
session in the same order. A case may not be adjourned after being placed on the call, 
except on a showing of extreme emergency. A case may be submitted on briefs by 
stipulation at any time. 

(B)Argument.

(1) In a calendar case in which one side is or both sides are entitled to oral argument, 
the time allowed for argument shall be provided in the order granting leave. 

(2)In a case being argued on the application for leave to appeal under MCR 
7.305(H)(1), each side that is entitled to oral argument is allowed 15 minutes to argue 
unless the Court orders otherwise.

The time for argument may be extended by Court order on motion of a party filed at least 
14 days before the session begins or by the Chief Justice during the argument. 

RULE 7.315 OPINIONS, ORDERS, AND JUDGMENTS

(A)Opinions of Court. An opinion must be written and bear the authoring justice’s name 
or the label “Per Curiam” or “Memorandum Opinion.” Each justice deciding a case must 
sign an opinion. Except for affirmance of action by a lower court or tribunal by even 
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division of the justices, a decision of the Court must be made by concurrence of a majority 
of the justices voting.

(B)Filing and Publication. The Court shall file a signed opinion with the clerk, who shall 
stamp the date of filing on it. The reporter of decisions is responsible for having the 
opinions printed in a form and under a contract approved by the Court in accordance with 
MCR 7.301(E). 

(C) Orders or Judgments Pursuant to Opinions. 

(1) Entry. The clerk shall enter an order or judgment pursuant to an opinion as of the 
date the opinion is filed with the clerk. 

(2) Routine Issuance.

(a) If a motion for rehearing is not timely filed under MCR 7.311(F)(1), the clerk 
shall send a certified copy of the order or judgment to the Court of Appeals with its 
file, and to the trial court or tribunal that tried the case with its record, not less than 
21 days or more than 28 days after entry of the order or judgment. 

(b) If a motion for rehearing is timely filed, the clerk shall fulfill the 
responsibilities under subrule (C)(2)(a) promptly after the Court denies the motion 
or, if the motion is granted, enter a new order or judgment after the Court’s 
decision on rehearing. 

(3)Exceptional Issuance. The Court may direct the clerk to dispense with the time 
requirement of subrule (C)(2)(a) and issue the order or judgment when its opinion is 
filed. An order or judgment issued under this subrule does not preclude the filing of a 
motion for rehearing, but the filing of a motion does not stay execution or 
enforcement.

(4)Execution or Enforcement. Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, an order or 
judgment is effective when it is issued under subrule (C)(2)(a) or (b) or (C)(3), and 
enforcement is to be obtained in the trial court. 

(D) Entry, Issuance, Execution, and Enforcement of Other Orders and Judgments. An 
order or judgment, other than those by opinion under subrule (C), is entered on the date of 
filing. Unless otherwise stated, an order or judgment is effective the date it is entered. The 
clerk must promptly send a copy or provide electronic notification of the order or 
judgment to each party, the Court of Appeals, and the trial court or tribunal. A motion may 
not be decided or an order entered by the Court unless all required documents have been 
filed and the requisite fees have been paid. 

RULE 7.316 MISCELLANEOUS RELIEF

(A) Relief Obtainable. While a matter is pending in the Supreme Court, the Court may, at 
any time, in addition to its general powers 

(1) exercise any or all of the powers of amendment of the lower court or tribunal; 
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(2) on reasonable notice as it may require, allow substitution of parties by reason of 
marriage, death, bankruptcy, assignment, or any other cause; allow new parties to be 
added or parties to be dropped; or allow parties to be rearranged as appellants or 
appellees; 

(3) permit the reasons or grounds of appeal to be amended or new grounds to be 
added; 

(4) permit the transcript or record to be amended by correcting errors or adding 
matters that should have been included; 

(5) adjourn the case until further evidence is taken and brought before it; 

(6) draw inferences of fact; 

(7) enter any judgment or order that ought to have been entered, and enter other and 
further orders and grant relief as the case may require; 

(8) if a judgment notwithstanding the verdict is set aside on appeal, grant a new trial or 
other relief; or

(9) order an appeal submitted to mediation. The mediator shall file a status report with 
this Court within the time specified in the order. If mediation results in full or partial 
settlement of the case, the parties shall file, within 21 days after the filing of the notice 
by the mediator, a stipulation to dismiss (in full or in part) with this Court pursuant to 
MCR 7.318.

(B) Allowing Act After Expiration of Time. When, under the practice relating to appeals 
or stay of proceedings, a nonjurisdictional act is required to be done within a designated 
time, the Court may at any time, on motion and notice, permit it to be done after the 
expiration of the period on a showing that there was good cause for the delay or that it was 
not due to the culpable negligence of the party or attorney. The Court will not accept for 
filing a motion to file a late application for leave to appeal under MCR 7.305(C), a late 
application for leave to cross-appeal under MCR 7.307(A), a late motion for rehearing 
under MCR 7.311(F), or a late motion for reconsideration under MCR 7.311(G).

(C) Vexatious Proceedings; Vexatious Litigator.

(1) The Court may, on its own initiative or the motion of any party filed before a case 
is placed on a session calendar, dismiss an appeal, assess actual and punitive damages, 
or take other disciplinary action when it determines that an appeal or original 
proceeding was vexatious because 

(a) the matter was filed for purposes of hindrance or delay or is not reasonably 
well-grounded in fact or warranted by existing law or a good-faith argument for 
the extension, modification, or reversal of existing law; or 

(b) a pleading, motion, argument, brief, document, or record filed in the case or 
any testimony presented in the case was grossly lacking in the requirements of 
propriety, violated court rules, or grossly disregarded the requirements of a fair 
presentation of the issues to the Court. 
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(2) Damages may not exceed actual damages and expenses incurred by the opposing 
party because of the vexatious appeal or proceeding, including reasonable attorney 
fees, and punitive damages in an added amount not exceeding the actual damages. The 
Court may remand the case to the trial court or tribunal for a determination of actual 
damages. 

(3) Vexatious Litigator. If a party habitually, persistently, and without reasonable 
cause engages in vexatious conduct under subrule (C)(1), the Court may, on its own 
initiative or on motion of another party, find the party to be a vexatious litigator and 
impose filing restrictions on the party. The restrictions may include prohibiting the 
party from continuing or instituting legal proceedings in the Court without first 
obtaining leave, prohibiting the filing of actions in the Court without the filing fee or 
security for costs required by MCR 7.209 or MCR 7.319, or other restriction the Court 
deems just.

(D) Ineffective Assistance of Appellate Counsel Claims in Appeals Involving Termination 
of Parental Rights. If a respondent’s application for leave to appeal raises the issue of 
ineffective assistance of appellate counsel, the Court may consider the claim. In making 
its determination and in addition to any other action allowed by these rules or law, the 
Court may take the following actions:

(1) order the trial court to appoint new appellate counsel under MCR 3.993(D),

(2) allow the respondent time to retain new appellate counsel,

(3) grant a motion to expand the record under MCR 7.311(H), or

(4) remand the case to the Court of Appeals for a new appeal.

RULE 7.317 INVOLUNTARY DISMISSAL; NO PROGRESS

(A) Designation. If an appellant’s brief has not been timely filed under MCR 7.312(E)(1) 
or within the time period granted by an order extending the time for filing the brief, or if 
the appellant fails to pay the filing fee or pursue the case in substantial conformity with the 
rules, the case shall be designated as one in which no progress has been made. 

(B) Notice; Dismissal. When a case is designated as one in which no progress is made, the 
clerk shall mail or provide electronic notice to each party notice that, unless the 
appellant’s brief that conforms with the rules is filed within 21 days or a motion is filed 
seeking further extension upon a showing of good cause, the case will be dismissed. An 
administrative order dismissing an action under this rule will be sent or made 
electronically accessible to the parties and the lower court or tribunal from which the 
action arose. 

(C) Reinstatement. Within 21 days of the dismissal order, the appellant may seek 
reinstatement of the action by paying the filing fee or by filing a conforming brief along 
with a motion showing mistake, inadvertence, or excusable neglect. The clerk shall not 
accept a late-filed motion to reinstate. 
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(D) Dismissal for Lack of Jurisdiction. The Court may dismiss an appeal, application, or 
an original proceeding for lack of jurisdiction at any time.

RULE 7.318 VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL

The parties may file with the clerk a stipulation agreeing to the administrative dismissal by 
the Chief Justice of an application for leave to appeal, an appeal, or an original proceeding in 
which leave has not been granted or argument has not been directed on the application. The Court 
may deny the stipulation in a matter scheduled, or to be scheduled, for oral argument if it 
concludes that the matter should be decided notwithstanding the stipulation. Costs payable to the 
Court may be imposed on the parties in the order granting the stipulated dismissal if the case has 
been scheduled for oral argument and the stipulation is received less than 21 days before the first 
day of the monthly session.

RULE 7.319 TAXATION OF COSTS; FEES

(A)Rules Applicable. The procedure for taxation of costs in the Supreme Court is as 
provided in MCR 7.219. 

(B)Expenses Taxable. Unless the Court otherwise orders, a prevailing party may tax only 
the reasonable costs incurred in the Supreme Court, including an amount not to exceed $2 
per original page for the necessary expense of printing the briefs and appendixes required 
by these rules. 

(C) Fees Paid to Clerk. The Clerk shall collect the following fees, which may be taxed as 
costs when costs are allowed by the Court:

(1) $375 for an application for leave to appeal or an original action; 

(2) $150 for a motion for immediate consideration or a motion to expedite appeal, 
except that a prosecuting attorney is exempt from paying a fee under this subdivision 
in an appeal arising out of a criminal proceeding if the defendant is represented by a 
court-appointed lawyer; 

(3) $75 for all other motions; 

(4) 50 cents per page for a certified copy of a paper from a public record or a copy of 
an opinion; 

(5) $5 for certified docket entries; and

(6) $1 for certification of a copy presented to the clerk.

A party who is unable to pay a filing fee may ask the Court to waive the fee by filing a 
motion and an affidavit disclosing the reason for that inability. There is no fee for filing 
the motion but, if the motion is denied, the party must pay the fee for the underlying filing.

(D)Violation of Rules. The Supreme Court may impose costs on a party or an attorney 
when in its discretion they should be assessed for violation of these rules.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 8. Administrative Rules of Court
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 8.100 GENERAL ADMINISTRATIVE ORDERS

RULE 8.101 APPLICABILITY OF ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

The administrative rules of subchapter 8.100 apply to all courts established by the 
constitution and laws of Michigan, unless a rule otherwise provides.

RULE 8.103 STATE COURT ADMINISTRATOR

The state court administrator, under the Supreme Court’s supervision and direction, shall:

(1) supervise and examine the administrative methods and systems employed in the 
offices of the courts, including the offices of the clerks and other officers, and make 
recommendations to the Supreme Court for the improvement of the administration of 
the courts;

(2) examine the status of court calendars, determine the need for assistance to a court, 
and report to the Supreme Court;

(3) on receipt of the quarterly reports as provided in MCR 8.110(C)(6), investigate 
each case in an effort to determine the reason for delays, recommend actions to 
eliminate delays, and recommend further actions to expedite process to insure speedy 
trials of criminal cases;

(4) recommend to the Supreme Court the assignment of judges where courts are in 
need of assistance and carry out the direction of the Supreme Court as to the 
assignment of judges;

(5) collect and compile statistical and other data, make reports of the business 
transacted by the courts, and transmit the reports to the Supreme Court so that the 
statistics and other data may be used in taking proper action in the administration of 
justice;

(6) prepare and submit budget estimates of state appropriations necessary for the 
maintenance and operation of the judicial system;

(7) obtain reports from courts, and the judges, clerks, and other officers of the courts, 
in accordance with rules adopted by the Supreme Court on cases and other judicial 
business conducted or pending in the courts, and report on them to the Supreme Court;

(8) recommend to the Supreme Court policies for the improvement of the judicial 
system;

(9) approve and publish forms as required by these rules, and such other recommended 
forms as the administrator deems advisable; and
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(10) attend to other matters assigned by the Supreme Court.

RULE 8.104 JUDICIAL MEETINGS

(A) Meetings to be Called by State Court Administrator. The state court administrator, 
under the Supreme Court’s supervision and direction, may call

(1) an annual statewide meeting of the circuit, recorder’s, and Court of Appeals 
judges;

(2) an annual statewide meeting of the probate judges;

(3) an annual statewide meeting of the district judges; and

(4) additional statewide or regional meetings of judges as may be desirable.

(B) Presiding Officer. The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court or another person 
designated by the Chief Justice shall preside at judicial meetings called by the state court 
administrator.

(C) Secretary. The state court administrator or deputy administrator acts as secretary at 
judicial meetings called by the state court administrator.

(D) Purposes. At the meetings, the judges are to

(1) study the organization, rules, methods of procedure, and practice of the judicial 
system in general;

(2) study the problems of administration confronting the courts and judicial system in 
general; and

(3) make recommendations for

(a) modifying or ameliorating existing conditions,

(b) harmonizing and improving laws, and

(c) amending the rules and statutes relating to practice and procedure.

RULE 8.105 GENERAL DUTIES OF CLERKS

(A) Office Hours. The office of the clerk of every court of record must be open, and the 
clerk or deputy clerk must be in attendance, during business hours on all days except 
Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays, and at other times that the court is in session.

(B) Court Records and Reporting Duties. The clerk of every circuit court shall maintain 
court records and make reports as prescribed by MCR 8.119.

(C) Notice of Judgments, Orders, and Opinions. The court clerk must deliver, in the 
manner provided in MCR 2.107, a copy of the judgment, final order, written opinion, or 
findings entered in a civil action to the attorney or party who sought the order, judgment, 
opinion or findings. Except where e-Filing is implemented, if the attorney or party does 
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not provide at least one copy when filing a proposed order or judgment, the clerk, when 
complying with this subrule, may charge the reproduction fee authorized by the court’s 
local administrative order under MCR 8.119(H)(8).

(D) Filing of Assurance of Discontinuance Under MCL 445.870. The clerk of every 
judicial circuit shall, without charge, receive and file an assurance of discontinuance 
accepted by the Attorney General under MCL 445.870.

RULE 8.106 MONEY PAID INTO COURT

(A) When Court Order Required. Except as otherwise provided by law or when the money 
is in the form of cash bonds, the clerk may not perform services in handling money under 
MCL 600.2529(1)(f) without a signed order of the court.

(B) Disposition of Interest Earned. If the clerk deposits money in an interest-bearing 
account, the clerk retains as a fee one-tenth of the interest earned, but not more than $100 
each year or part of the year. The fee must be deposited in the county general fund, as 
required by law. The balance of the interest earned and the principal must be disbursed to 
the persons entitled to the balance.

(C) Accounts; Records. The accounts of the clerk with the banks in which the money is 
directed to be deposited must be kept in a single trust fund, with the designation of the 
rights in the fund appearing on the court’s records.

(D) Orders to Pay out Funds. Orders on the banks for the payment of money out of court 
are made payable to the order of the person entitled to the money or of that person’s duly 
authorized attorney, and must specify in what action or on what account the money is to be 
paid out, and the time when the judgment or order authorizing the payment was made.

(E) NSF Checks. A court may assess costs for reasonable expenses incurred for checks 
returned to the court due to insufficient funds.

RULE 8.107 STATEMENT BY TRIAL JUDGE AS TO MATTERS UNDECIDED

(A) Time. Matters under submission to a judge or judicial officer should be promptly 
determined. Short deadlines should be set for presentation of briefs and affidavits and for 
production of transcripts. Decisions, when possible, should be made from the bench or 
within a few days of submission; otherwise a decision should be rendered no later than 35 
days after submission. For the purpose of this rule, the time of submission is the time the 
last argument or presentation in the matter was made, or the expiration of the time allowed 
for filing the last brief or production of transcripts, as the case may be.

(B) Report as to Matters Undecided. On the first business day of January, April, July, and 
October of each year, every trial judge shall file a certified statement with the chief judge 
in the form prescribed by the state court administrator. The statement shall provide 
information on all matters pending during the reporting period that were not decided 
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within 56 days from submission. The judge shall state the reason that a decision was not 
made within 56 days. A report is required regardless of whether there is any case to report. 
The chief judge shall sign and file, or electronically submit, the statement with the state 
court administrator.

RULE 8.108 COURT REPORTERS AND RECORDERS

(A) Scope of Rule. This rule prescribes the duties of court reporters and recorders, the 
procedure for certifying them, the effect of noncertification, objections to certification, 
and display requirements.

(B) Attendance at Court; Taking Testimony.

(1) The court reporter or recorder shall attend the court sessions under the direction of 
the court and take a verbatim record of the following:

(a) the voir dire of prospective jurors;

(b) the testimony;

(c) the charge to the jury;

(d) in a jury trial, the opening statements and final arguments;

(e) the reasons given by the court for granting or refusing any motion made by a 
party during the course of a trial; and

(f) opinions and orders dictated by the court and other matters as may be 
prescribed by the court.

This subrule does not apply to actions tried in the small claims division of the district 
court or in the municipal courts. In the probate court proceedings, the reporter or 
recorder shall take a verbatim record of proceedings as required by law and chapter 5 
of these rules.

(2) The court reporter or recorder who begins to record a case shall take the record of 
the entire case unless he or she shows good cause for failure to do so or is otherwise 
excused by the court.

(C) Records Kept. All records, as defined in MCR 8.119(F) and regardless of format, that 
are created and kept by the court reporter or recorder belong to the court, must remain in 
the physical possession of the court, and are subject to access in accordance with MCR 
8.119(H). The court reporter or recorder who takes the testimony on the trial or the 
hearing of any case shall prefix the record of the testimony of each witness with the full 
name of the witness and the date and time the testimony was taken. At the conclusion of 
the trial of the case the reporter or recorder shall secure all of the records and properly 
entitle them on the outside, and shall safely keep them in the court according to the 
Michigan Trial Court Case File Management Standards. If the court reporter or recorder 
needs access to the records for purposes of transcribing off-site, the reporter or recorder 
may take only a reproduction of the original recording, which must be returned to the 
court upon filing of the transcript.
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(D) Transfer of Records; Inspection. If the court reporter or recorder dies, resigns, is 
removed from office, or leaves the state, records he or she created and kept in each case 
pursuant to subrule (C) must be transferred to the clerk of the court in which the case was 
tried. The clerk shall safely keep the records in accordance with the Michigan Trial Court 
Case File Management Standards and MCR 8.119(F). On order of the court, a transcript 
shall be made from the records and filed as a part of the public record in the case.

(E) Preparing Transcript. The court reporter or recorder shall prepare without delay, in 
legible English, a transcript of the records taken by him or her (or any part thereof):

(1) to any party on request. The reporter or recorder is entitled to receive the 
compensation prescribed in the statute on fees from the person who makes the request.

(2) on order of the trial court. The court may order the transcript prepared without 
expense to either party. Except when otherwise provided by contract, the court 
reporter or recorder shall receive from the appropriate governmental unit the 
compensation specified in the statute on fees for a transcript ordered by a court.

(F) Filing Transcript.

(1) After preparing a transcript upon request of a party or interested person to a case or 
on order of the trial court, the court reporter or recorder shall promptly file the 
transcript of the proceedings (or any part thereof).

(2) After an official transcript is filed, copies shall be made only from the official 
transcript filed with the court.

(3) Unless notice has been previously provided under a different rule, immediately 
after the transcript is filed, the court reporter or recorder must notify the court and all 
parties that it has been filed and file in the court an affidavit of mailing of notice to the 
parties. 

(G) Certification.

(1) Certification Requirement.

(a) Only reporters, recorders, or voice writers certified pursuant to this subrule 
may record or prepare transcripts of proceedings held in Michigan courts or of 
depositions taken in Michigan pursuant to these rules. This rule applies to the 
preparation of transcripts of videotaped courtroom proceedings or videotaped or 
audiotaped depositions, but not to the recording of such proceedings or depositions 
by means of videotaping. An operator holding a CEO certification under subrule 
(G)(7)(b) may record proceedings, but may not prepare transcripts.

(b) Proceedings held pursuant to MCR 6.102 or 6.104 need not be recorded by 
persons certified under this rule; however, transcripts of such proceedings must be 
prepared by court reporters, recorders, or voice writers certified pursuant to this 
rule.

(c) An indigent party who is represented by a nonprofit legal aid program 
providing free civil legal services to the indigent may use persons who are not 
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certified pursuant to this rule to transcribe and file depositions taken by 
videotaping or audiotaping. Such depositions shall be otherwise prepared and 
certified in accordance with this rule.

(d) Any person who acts in the capacity of a court reporter or recorder shall not 
maintain an action in the courts of this state for the collection of compensation for 
the performance of an act for which certification is required by this rule without 
alleging and proving that the person was certified under this rule at the time of the 
performance of the act. “Person” refers to both individuals and the entity or entities 
for which a court reporter or recorder performs services.

(e) Any other court rule notwithstanding, an objection to the status of a court 
reporter’s or recorder’s certification or lack thereof must be placed on the record at 
the outset of the court proceeding or deposition or that objection is waived. If the 
objection is waived, the use of transcripts of the court proceeding or deposition for 
any purpose provided in these rules shall be allowed.

(f) Prior to the beginning of any deposition taken under these rules, the court 
reporter or recorder must display to all counsel initially present, and to each other 
person attending the deposition who is not represented by counsel, proof that the 
reporter or recorder has been certified as required by this rule. Proof of such 
certification, by certification number, shall also be displayed on the title page and 
certificate page of each court and deposition transcript and on the stationery and 
business cards, if any, of each court reporter or recorder required to be certified by 
this rule.

(2) Court Reporting and Recording Board of Review.

(a) The Supreme Court shall appoint a Court Reporting and Recording Board of 
Review, composed of

(i) a Court of Appeals judge, to be the chairperson;

(ii) a circuit judge;

(iii) a probate judge;

(iv) a district judge;

(v) a court reporter who is an employee of a Michigan court;

(vi) a court recorder who is an employee of a Michigan court;

(vii) a court reporter who is not an employee of a Michigan court;

(viii) a court recorder who is not an employee of a Michigan court; and,

(ix) an attorney.

(b) Appointments to the board shall be for terms of 4 years. A board member may 
be reappointed to a new term. Initial appointments may be of different lengths so 
that no more than 3 terms expire in the same year. The Supreme Court may remove 
a member at any time.
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(c) If a position on the board becomes vacant because of death, resignation, or 
removal, or because a member is no longer employed in the capacity in which he 
or she was appointed, the board shall notify the Supreme Court Clerk and the 
Court shall appoint a successor to serve the remainder of the term.

(d) The state court administrator shall assign a staff person to serve as board 
secretary.

(3) Certification by Testing.

(a) The board shall approve administration of an examination to be offered at least 
twice each year testing knowledge and speed, and, as to a recorder, operator, or 
voice writer, familiarity with basic logging techniques and minor repair and 
maintenance procedures. The board shall determine the passing score.

(b) In order to be eligible for registration for an examination, an applicant must

(i) be at least 18 years of age,

(ii) be a high school graduate, and

(iii) not have been under sentence for a felony for a period of two years.

(c) In addition, an applicant for the certified shorthand reporter examination must 
have satisfactorily completed a post-high school approved, accredited, or 
recognized course of study in court reporting and submit documentation of same 
prior to testing.

(d) An applicant for the CER/CSMR/CEO examination must have satisfactorily 
completed a post-high school board-approved workshop or course of study, or 
other board-approved curriculum and submit documentation of same prior to 
testing.

(e) All CERs/CSMRs/CEOs who are fully certified by December 31, 2005, are 
exempt from the requirements of subparagraph (d).

(f) The certification fee is $60.

(4) Reciprocal Certification. A reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer certified in 
another state may apply to the board for certification based on the certification already 
obtained.

(5) Temporary Certification. A new reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer may 
receive one temporary certification to enable him or her to work until the results of the 
next test are released. If the person does not take the test, the temporary certification 
may not be extended unless good cause is shown. If the person takes the test and fails, 
the board may extend the temporary certification.

(6) Renewal, Review, and Revocation of Certification.

(a) Certifications under this rule must be renewed annually. The fee for renewal is 
$30. Renewal applications must be filed by August 1. A renewal application filed 
after that date must be accompanied by an additional late fee of $100. The board 
may require certified reporters, recorders, operators, and voice writers to submit, 
as a condition of renewal, such information as the board reasonably deems 
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necessary to determine that the reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer has 
used his or her reporting or recording skills during the preceding year.

(b) The board must review the certification of a reporter, recorder, operator, or 
voice writer who has not used his or her skills in the preceding year, and shall 
determine whether the certification of such a reporter, recorder, operator, or voice 
writer may be renewed without the necessity of a certification test.

(c) The board may review the certification of a reporter, recorder, operator, or 
voice writer and may impose sanctions, including revoking the certification, for 
good cause after a hearing before the board.

(d) If, after a reporter’s, recorder’s, operator’s, or voice writer’s certification is 
revoked or voided by the board and the reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer 
applies to take the certification examination and passes, the board may issue a 
conditional certification for a prescribed period imposing restrictions or conditions 
that must be met for continued certification. At the end of the conditional period, 
an unconditional certification may be issued.

(7) Designations. The board shall assign an identification number to each person 
certified. A court reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer must place the 
identification number assigned on his or her communications with the courts, 
including certificates, motions, affidavits, and transcripts. The board will use the 
following certification designations:

(a) certified electronic recorder (CER);

(b) certified electronic operator (CEO);

(c) certified shorthand reporter (CSR);

(d) certified voice writer/stenomask reporter (CSMR).

The designations are to be used only by reporters, recorders, operators, or voice writers 
certified by the board. A reporter, recorder, operator, or voice writer may be given more than one 
designation by passing different tests.

RULE 8.109 MECHANICAL RECORDING OF COURT PROCEEDINGS

(A) Official Record. Trial courts are authorized to use audio and video recording 
equipment for making a record of court proceedings. If a trial court uses audio or video 
recording equipment for making the record of court proceedings, it shall use only 
recording equipment that meet the standards as published by the State Court 
Administrative Office (i.e., the Standards for Digital Video Recording Systems, the 
Standards for Digital Audio Recording Systems), or analog equipment that the State Court 
Administrative Office has approved for use. 

(B) Operating Standards. Trial courts that use audio or video recording equipment, 
whether digital or analog, must adhere to the audio and video recording operating 
standards published by the State Court Administrative Office.
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(C) Other Recordings. On motion of an attorney or of a party appearing on his or her own 
behalf, a court may permit audio recording of a part or all of a proceeding and may permit 
photographic recording of visual exhibits. The court may regulate the manner of audio or 
photographic recording so that it does not disrupt the proceeding. An audio or 
photographic recording made under this rule may be used solely to assist in the 
prosecution or defense during the proceeding recorded; it may not be used publicly.

RULE 8.110 CHIEF JUDGE RULE

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to all trial courts: i.e., the judicial circuits of the circuit 
court, the districts of the district court, the probate court in each county or a probate 
district established by law, and the municipal courts.

(B) Chief Judge, Chief Judge Pro Tempore, and Presiding Judges of Divisions. 

(1) The Supreme Court shall select a judge to serve as chief judge of each trial court. 
Any judge seeking appointment as chief judge shall complete and submit an 
application for chief judge on the form available on SCAO’s website. The application 
will describe the criteria for selection of chief judges. SCAO will also provide an 
opportunity for any judge or judges to provide information to the Court (which will be 
kept confidential) regarding the selection of a particular person as chief judge. When 
SCAO is considering whether to consolidate a specific group of courts under the 
supervision of a single chief judge, SCAO shall inform and seek input from those 
courts. SCAO may seek additional information as needed from any court or judge 
during the appointment process, and will give respectful consideration to all applicants 
and to any information it receives.

(2) Unless a chief judge pro tempore or presiding judge is named by the Supreme 
Court, the chief judge shall select a chief judge pro tempore and a presiding judge of 
any division of the trial court. The chief judge pro tempore and any presiding judges 
shall fulfill such functions as the chief judge assigns.

(3) The chief judge, chief judge pro tempore, and any presiding judges shall serve a 
two-year term beginning on January 1 of each even-numbered year, provided that the 
chief judge serves at the pleasure of the Supreme Court and the chief judge pro 
tempore and any presiding judges serve at the pleasure of the chief judge. A chief 
judge shall attend training as required by the State Court Administrator.

(4) The Supreme Court may appoint a judge of another court to serve as chief judge of 
a trial court.

(a)Apart from the duties of a chief judge described under this rule, the chief 
probate judge has various obligations imposed by statute. If the chief judge of a 
probate court is not a probate judge, the senior probate judge shall serve as the 
chief probate judge in meeting the statutory obligations of a chief probate judge.

(b)The senior probate judge is the judge with the longest service as a probate 
judge. If two judges have the same number of years of service, the judge who 
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received the highest number of votes in the first election is the senior probate 
judge.

(C) Duties and Powers of Chief Judge.

(1) A chief judge shall act in conformity with the Michigan Court Rules, 
administrative orders of the Supreme Court, and local court rules, and should freely 
solicit the advice and suggestions of the other judges of his or her bench and 
geographic jurisdiction. If a local court management council has adopted the by-laws 
described in AO 1998-5 the chief judge shall exercise the authority and 
responsibilities under this rule in conformity with the provisions of AO 1998-5.

(2) As the presiding officer of the court, a chief judge shall:

(a) call and preside over meetings of the court;

(b) appoint committees of the court;

(c) initiate policies concerning the court’s internal operations and its position on 
external matters affecting the court;

(d) meet regularly with all chief judges whose courts are wholly or partially within 
the same county;

(e) represent the court in its relations with the Supreme Court, other courts, other 
agencies of government, the bar, the general public, and the news media, and in 
ceremonial functions;

(f) counsel and assist other judges in the performance of their responsibilities; and

(g) cooperate with all investigations conducted by the Judicial Tenure 
Commission.

(3) As director of the administration of the court, a chief judge shall have 
administrative superintending power and control over the judges of the court and all 
court personnel with authority and responsibility to:

(a) supervise caseload management and monitor disposition of the judicial work of 
the court;

(b) direct the apportionment and assignment of the business of the court, subject to 
the provisions of MCR 8.111;

(c) determine the hours of the court and the judges; coordinate and determine the 
number of judges and court personnel required to be present at any one time to 
perform necessary judicial administrative work of the court, and require their 
presence to perform that work;

(d) supervise the performance of all court personnel, with authority to hire, 
discipline, or discharge such personnel, with the exception of a judge’s secretary 
and law clerk, if any;

(e) coordinate judicial and personnel vacations and absences, subject to the 
provisions of subrule (D);
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(f) supervise court finances, including financial planning, the preparation and 
presentation of budgets, and financial reporting;

(g) request assignments of visiting judges and direct the assignment of matters to 
the visiting judges;

(h) effect compliance by the court with all applicable court rules and provisions of 
the law; and

(i) perform any act or duty or enter any order necessarily incidental to carrying out 
the purposes of this rule. As part of this obligation, the court shall continue to take 
reasonable measures to avoid exposing participants in court proceedings, court 
employees, and the general public to COVID-19. Such measures include 
continuing to provide a method or methods for filers to submit pleadings and other 
filings other than by personal appearance at the court. In addition, courts may 
waive strict adherence to any adjournment rules or policies and administrative and 
administrative and procedural time requirements as necessary.

(4) If a judge does not timely dispose of his or her assigned judicial work or fails or 
refuses to comply with an order or directive from the chief judge made under this rule, 
the chief judge shall report the facts to the state court administrator who will, under the 
Supreme Court’s direction, initiate whatever corrective action is necessary.

(5) A chief judge may relieve the judge from presiding over some or all of the judge’s 
docket with approval of the state court administrator.

(6) The chief judge of the court in which criminal proceedings are pending shall have 
filed with the state court administrator a quarterly report listing the following cases in 
a format prescribed by the state court administrator:

(a) felony cases in which there has been a delay of more than 301 days between the 
order binding the defendant over to circuit court and adjudication;

(b) misdemeanor cases and cases involving local ordinance violations that have 
criminal penalties in which there has been a delay of more than 126 days between 
the date of the defendant’s first appearance on the warrant and complaint or 
citation and adjudication;

(c) In computing the 126-day and 301-day periods, the court shall exclude periods 
of delay

(1) between the time a preadjudication warrant is issued and a defendant is 
arraigned;

(2) between the time a defendant is referred for evaluation to determine 
whether he or she is competent to stand trial and the receipt of the report; or

(3) during the time a defendant is deemed incompetent to stand trial.

(4) during the time an order is in effect that stays the disposition or proceedings 
of the case pending interlocutory appellate review.

(7) A chief judge may delegate administrative duties to a trial court administrator or 
others.
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(8) Where a court rule or statute does not already require it, the chief judge may, by 
administrative order, direct the clerk of the court to provide litigants and attorneys 
with copies of forms approved by the state court administrator. In addition, except 
when a court rule or statute specifies that the court or clerk of the court must provide 
certain forms without charge, the administrative order may allow the clerk to provide 
the forms at the cost of reproduction to the clerk.

(9) The delegation of such authority to a chief judge does not in any way limit the 
Supreme Court’s authority to exercise “general superintending control over all courts” 
under Const 1963, art 6, § 4.

(D) Court Hours; Court Holidays; Judicial Absences.

(1) Court Hours. The chief judge shall enter an administrative order under MCR 
8.112(B) establishing the court’s hours.

(2) Court Holidays; Local Modification.

(a) The following holidays are to be observed by all state courts, except those 
courts which have adopted modifying administrative orders pursuant to MCR 
8.112(B):

New Year’s Day, January 1;

Martin Luther King, Jr., Day, the third Monday in January in conjunction with 
the federal holiday;

Presidents’ Day, the third Monday in February;

Memorial Day, the last Monday in May;

Juneteenth, June 19;

Independence Day, July 4;

Labor Day, the first Monday in September;

Veterans’ Day, November 11;

Thanksgiving Day, the fourth Thursday in November; Friday after 
Thanksgiving;

Christmas Eve, December 24;

Christmas Day, December 25;

New Year’s Eve, December 31;

(b) When New Year’s Day, Juneteenth, Independence Day, Veterans’ Day, or 
Christmas Day falls on Saturday, the preceding Friday shall be a holiday. When 
New Year’s Day, Juneteenth, Independence Day, Veterans’ Day, or Christmas 
Day falls on Sunday, the following Monday shall be a holiday. When Christmas 
Eve or New Year’s Eve falls on Friday, the preceding Thursday shall be a holiday. 
When Christmas Eve or New Year’s Eve falls on Saturday or Sunday, the 
preceding Friday shall be a holiday.
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(c) Courts are encouraged to promulgate a modifying administrative order if 
appropriate to accommodate or achieve uniformity with the holiday practices of 
local governmental units regarding local public employees.

(d) With the prior approval of the chief judge, a judge may continue a trial in 
progress or dispose of judicial matters on any of the listed holidays if he or she 
finds it to be necessary.

(e) Any action taken by a court on February 12, Lincoln’s birthday, or on the 
second Monday in October, Columbus Day, shall be valid.

(3) Judicial Vacation Standard. A judge may take an annual vacation leave of 20 days 
with the approval of the chief judge to ensure docket coordination and coverage. A 
judge may take an additional 10 days of annual vacation leave with the approval of the 
chief judge. A maximum of 15 days of annual vacation unused due to workload 
constraints may be carried into the next calendar year, if approved by the chief judge. 
Vacation days do not include:

(a) attendance at Michigan judicial conferences;

(b) attendance, with the chief judge’s approval, at educational meetings or 
seminars;

(c) attendance, with the chief judge’s approval, at meetings of judicial committees 
or committees substantially related to judicial administration of justice;

(d) absence due to illness; or

(e) administrative leave, with the chief judge’s approval.

(4) Judicial Education Leave Standard. A judge is expected to take judicial education 
leave of 2 weeks every 3 years to participate in continuing legal education and training 
at Michigan judicial training programs and nationally recognized judicial education 
programs, including graduate and refresher courses. Judicial education leave does not 
include judicial conferences for which attendance is required. The use of judicial 
education leave approved by the chief judge does not affect a judge’s annual leave.

(5) Judicial Professional Leave Standard. Judges are encouraged, as part of their 
regular judicial responsibilities, to participate in professional meetings and 
conferences that advance the administration of justice or the public’s understanding of 
the judicial system; to serve on commissions and committees of state and national 
organizations that contribute to the improvement of the law or that advance the 
interests of the judicial system; and to serve on Supreme Court-appointed or in-house 
assignments or committees. The use of judicial professional leave approved by the 
chief judge does not affect a judge’s annual leave or education leave.

(6) Approval of Judicial Absences. A judge may not be absent from the court without 
the chief judge’s prior approval, except for personal illness. In making the decision on 
a request to approve a vacation or other absence, the chief judge shall consider, among 
other factors, the pending caseload of the judge involved. The chief judge shall 
withhold approval of vacation, judicial education, or judicial professional leave that 
conforms to these standards only if withholding approval is necessary to ensure the 
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orderly conduct of judicial business. The chief judge shall maintain records of 
absences to be available at the request of the Supreme Court.

RULE 8.111 ASSIGNMENT OF CASES

(A) Application. The rule applies to all courts defined in subrule 8.110(A), regardless 
whether the court is acting in the capacity of a trial court or an appellate court.

(B) Assignment. All cases must be assigned by lot, unless a different system has been 
adopted by local court administrative order under the provisions of subrule 8.112. 
Assignment will occur at the time the case is filed or before a contested hearing or 
uncontested dispositional hearing in the case, as the chief judge directs. Civil actions must 
be assigned within appropriate categories determined by the chief judge. The chief judge 
may receive fewer assignments in order to perform the duties of chief judge.

(C) Reassignment. 

(1) If a judge is disqualified or for other good cause cannot undertake an assigned case, 
the chief judge may reassign it to another judge by a written order stating the reason. 
To the extent feasible, the alternate judge should be selected by lot. The chief judge 
shall file the order with the trial court clerk and have the clerk notify the attorneys of 
record. The chief judge may also designate a judge to act temporarily until a case is 
reassigned or during a temporary absence of a judge to whom a case has been 
assigned.

(2)If a judge is reassigned under a concurrent jurisdiction plan or a family court plan, 
the successor judge will be assigned all cases filed after the date of reassignment, any 
pending matters, and postjudgment matters that relate to disposed cases. The chief 
judge shall submit a local administrative order under MCR 8.112 identifying the 
revised caseload distribution.

(D) Actions Arising out of Same Transaction or Occurrence. Subject to subrule 8.111(C),

(1) if one of two or more actions arising out of the same transaction or occurrence has 
been assigned to a judge, the other action or actions must be assigned to that judge;

(2) if an action arises out of the same transaction or occurrence as a civil action 
previously dismissed or transferred, the action must be assigned to the judge to whom 
the earlier action was assigned;

(3) the attorney for the party bringing the other action under subrule (1) or the new 
action under subrule (2) shall notify the clerk of the fact in writing in the manner 
prescribed in MCR 1.109(D)(2). An attorney who knowingly fails to do so is subject 
to disciplinary action.

(4) The chief judge may reassign cases, other than those encompassed by subrule 
8.111(D)(1), in order to correct docket control problems resulting from the 
requirements of this rule.
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RULE 8.112 LOCAL COURT RULES; ADMINISTRATIVE ORDERS

(A) Local Court Rules.

(1) A trial court may adopt rules regulating practice in that court if the rules are not in 
conflict with these rules and regulate matters not covered by these rules.

(2) If a practice of a trial court is not specifically authorized by these rules, and

(a) reasonably depends on attorneys or litigants being informed of the practice for 
its effectiveness, or

(b) requires an attorney or litigant to do some act in relation to practice before that 
court, the practice, before enforcement, must be adopted by the court as a local 
court rule and approved by the Supreme Court.

(3) Unless a trial court finds that immediate action is required, it must give reasonable 
notice and an opportunity to comment on a proposed local court rule to the members 
of the bar in the affected judicial circuit, district, or county. The court shall send the 
rule and comments received to the Supreme Court clerk.

(4) If possible, the number of a local court rule supplementing an area covered by 
these rules must correspond with the numbering of these rules and bear the prefix 
LCR. For example, a local rule supplementing MCR 2.301 should be numbered LCR 
2.301.

(B) Administrative Orders.

(1) A trial court may issue an administrative order governing only internal court 
management.

(2) Administrative orders must be sequentially numbered during the calendar year of 
their issuance. E.g., Recorder’s Court Administrative Orders Nos. 1984-1, 1984-2.

(3) Before its effective date, an administrative order must be sent to the state court 
administrator. If the state court administrator directs, a trial court shall stay the 
effective date of an administrative order or shall revoke it. A trial court may submit 
such an order to the Supreme Court as a local court rule.

RULE 8.113 REQUESTS FOR INVESTIGATION OF COURTS

(A) Submission of Request. A request for investigation of a court may be submitted to the 
state court administrator.

(B) Action by State Court Administrator. The state court administrator may

(1) attempt to informally resolve the dispute,

(2) inform the complainant that an investigation pursuant to this rule is not appropriate 
under the circumstances,

(3) direct the complainant to the Judicial Tenure Commission or the Attorney 
Grievance Commission,
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(4) request an investigation by the Judicial Tenure Commission or the Attorney 
Grievance Commission,

(5) refer a matter to the Supreme Court for possible exercise of the Supreme Court’s 
power of superintending control over the judiciary, or

(6) take any other appropriate action.

(C) Cooperation With Inquiry. Judges, court employees, and members of the bar shall 
cooperate with the state court administrator on request for assistance in inquiries pursuant 
to this rule.

(D) Review Prohibited; Action Without Prejudice to Other Proceedings. There is no 
appeal from or review of any action taken by the state court administrator under this rule, 
but nothing in this rule limits the right of any person to request an investigation by the 
Judicial Tenure Commission or the Attorney Grievance Commission or to file an action 
for superintending control in an appropriate court.

RULE 8.115 COURTROOM DECORUM; POLICY REGARDING USE OF CELL PHONES OR OTHER 
PORTABLE ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATION DEVICES 

 (A) Display of Flags. The flags of the United States and of the State of Michigan must be 
displayed in a conspicuous place adjacent to the bench at all times when court is in 
session.

(B) Judicial Robe. When acting in his or her official capacity in the courtroom, a judge 
shall wear a black robe.

(C) Use of Portable Electronic Devices in a Courthouse. 

(1) Purpose. This rule specifies the permitted and prohibited uses of portable 
electronic devices in a courthouse. A court must use reasonable means to advise 
courthouse visitors of the provisions of this rule. Any allowed use of a portable 
electronic device under this rule is subject to the authority of a judge to terminate 
activity that is disruptive or distracting to a court proceeding, or that is otherwise 
contrary to the administration of justice. This rule does not modify or supersede the 
guidelines for media coverage of court proceedings set forth in AO No. 1989-1.

(2) Definitions. The following definitions apply in this rule:

(a) “portable electronic device” is a mobile device capable of electronically 
storing, accessing, or transmitting information. The term encompasses, among 
other things, a transportable computer of any size, including a tablet, a notebook, 
and a laptop; a smart phone, a cell phone, or other wireless phone; a camera and 
other audio or video recording devices; a personal digital assistant (PDA); other 
devices that provide internet access; and any similar items.

(b) A “courthouse” includes all areas within the exterior walls of a court building, 
or if the court does not occupy the entire building, that portion of the building used 
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for the administration and operation of the court. A “courthouse” also includes 
areas outside a court building where a judge conducts an event concerning a court 
case.

(c) A “courtroom” includes the portion of a courthouse in which the actual 
proceedings take place.

(3) Photography and audio or video recording, broadcasting, or live streaming. Except 
for requests for film or electronic media coverage of court proceedings as permitted 
under AO No. 1989-1, the following restrictions apply to photography, audio 
recording, video recording, broadcasting, or live streaming in a courthouse.

(a) In a courtroom: In a courtroom, no one may use a portable electronicdevice to 
take photographs or for audio or video recording, broadcasting, or live streaming 
unless that use is specifically allowed by the Judge presiding over that courtroom.

(b) Outside a courtroom: In areas of a courthouse other than courtrooms, no one 
may photograph, record, broadcast, or live stream an individual without that 
individual’s prior express consent.

(c) Jurors: No one may photograph, record, broadcast, or live stream any juror or 
anyone called to the court for jury service.

(d) Local orders: By local administrative order, a court may adopt further 
reasonable limits on photography and audio or video recording or broadcasting in 
a courthouse that are not inconsistent with this rule.

(4) Jurors and witnesses. The following restrictions apply to use of portable electronic 
devices by jurors, including prospective jurors, and by witnesses.

(a) Jurors: Jurors must turn off their portable electronic devices while present in a 
courtroom. A court may order jurors to turn over to the court their portable 
electronic devices during deliberations. If so, the court must provide jurors with a 
phone number where they can be reached in case of an emergency during 
deliberations.

(b) Witnesses: A witness must silence any portable electronic device while in a 
courtroom, and may use a device while testifying only with permission of a judge.

(5) Attorneys, parties, and members of the public. The following provisions apply to 
use of portable electronic devices in a courtroom by attorneys, parties, and members of 
the public.

(a) Allowed uses: Attorneys, parties, and members of the public may use a 
portable electronic device in a courtroom to retrieve or to store information 
(including notetaking), to access the Internet, and to send and receive text 
messages or information. Attorneys, parties, and members of the public may use a 
portable electronic device to reproduce public court documents in a clerk’s office 
as long as the device leaves no mark or impression on the document and does not 
unreasonably interfere with the operation of the clerk’s office.

(b) Prohibited uses: Attorneys, parties, and members of the public must silence 
portable electronic devices while in the courtroom. A portable electronic device 
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may not be used, without permission of the court, to make or to receive telephone 
calls or for any other audible function while court is in session. Portable electronic 
devices may not be used to communicate in any way with any courtroom 
participant including, but not limited to, a party, a witness, or juror at any time 
during any court proceedings. Additional prohibited uses related to photography, 
recording, and broadcasting are found in 8.115(C)(3) above.

(6) Use of a portable electronic device outside a courtroom; limitations. Except as 
provided in paragraphs (3), (4) and (5) of this rule, a person may use a portable 
electronic device in a courthouse, subject to the authority of judges, Clerks of the 
Court, or court administrators to limit or terminate activity that is disruptive to court 
operations or that compromises courthouse security.

(7) Violations of this rule. If these rules are violated, the presiding judge may 
confiscate the device for the remainder of the day or order that the phone be turned off 
and put away. Violations of this rule are punishable by appropriate sanctions up to and 
including contempt of court as determined in the discretion of the court.

RULE 8.116 SESSIONS OF COURT

(A) Opening Court; Recesses. A definite time must be set for all court sessions, and the 
judge shall promptly open a session. Recesses shall be taken regularly, but should be 
short, and court must resume on time.

(B) Participants to be Punctual. Persons having business with a court must be in court and 
ready to begin at the opening of the session, and must otherwise be punctual for all court 
business.

(C) Staggered Scheduling. A judge shall stagger the docket schedule so that an attorney or 
party may be heard within a time reasonably close to the scheduled time, and, except for 
good cause, the docket shall be called in order.

(D) Access to Court Proceedings.

(1) Except as otherwise provided by statute or court rule, a court may not limit access 
by the public to a court proceeding unless

(a) a party has filed a written motion that identifies the specific interest to be 
protected, or the court sua sponte has identified a specific interest to be protected, 
and the court determines that the interest outweighs the right of access; 

(b) the denial of access is narrowly tailored to accommodate the interest to be 
protected, and there is no less restrictive means to adequately and effectively 
protect the interest; and

(c) the court states on the record the specific reasons for the decision to limit 
access to the proceeding.

(2) Any person may file a motion to set aside an order that limits access to a court 
proceeding under this rule, or an objection to entry of such an order. MCR 2.119 



Chapter 8. Administrative Rules of Court Page 775  Updated April 26, 2024 

governs the proceedings on such a motion or objection. If the court denies the motion 
or objection, the moving or objecting person may file an application for leave to 
appeal in the same manner as a party to the action.

(3) Whenever the court enters an order limiting access to a proceeding that otherwise 
would be public, the court must forward a copy of the order to the State Court 
Administrative Office.

RULE 8.117 CASE CLASSIFICATION CODES

Use of Case-Type Code. As required by MCR 1.109(D)(1)(b)(iii), the person filing a case 
initiating document must assign one case-type code from a list provided by the State Court 
Administrator according to the principal subject matter of the action (not the nature of the 
proceedings), and shall provide this code with other case initiation information required by MCR 
1.109(D)(2). The case code must be included in the caption of all other documents filed in the 
case.

RULE 8.119 COURT RECORDS AND REPORTS; DUTIES OF CLERKS

(A) Applicability. This rule applies to all records in every trial court. For purposes of this 
rule, records are as defined in MCR 1.109, MCR 3.218, MCR 3.903, and MCR 8.119(D)-
(G).

(B) Records Standards. Trial courts shall comply with the records standards in this rule, 
MCR 1.109, and as prescribed by the Michigan Supreme Court.

(C) Filing of Documents and Other Materials. The clerk of the court shall process and 
maintain documents filed with the court as prescribed by Michigan Court Rules and the 
Michigan Trial Court Records Management Standards and all filed documents must be 
file stamped in accordance with these standards. The clerk of the court may only reject 
documents submitted for filing that do not comply with MCR 1.109(D)(1) and (2), are not 
signed in accordance with MCR 1.109(E), or are not accompanied by a required filing fee 
or a request for fee waiver under MCR 2.002(B), unless already waived or suspended by 
court order. Documents prepared or issued by the court for placement in the case file are 
not subject to rejection by the clerk of the court and shall not be stamped filed but shall be 
recorded in the case history as required in subrule (D)(1)(a) and placed in the case file.   

(D) Records Kept by the Clerk of the Court. The clerk of the court shall maintain the 
following case records in accordance with the Michigan Trial Court Records Management 
Standards. Documents and other materials made nonpublic or confidential by court rule, 
statute, or order of the court pursuant to subrule (I) must be designated accordingly and 
maintained to allow only authorized access. In the event of transfer or appeal of a case, 
every rule, statute, or order of the court under subrule (I) that makes a document or other 
materials in that case nonpublic or confidential applies uniformly to every court in 
Michigan, irrespective of the court in which the document or other materials were 
originally filed.
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(1) Case History and Case Files. The clerk shall maintain records of each case 
consisting of case history (known as a register of actions) and, except for civil 
infractions, a case file in such form and style as may be prescribed by the State Court 
Administrative Office. Each case shall be assigned a case number on receipt of a case 
initiating document. The case number shall comply with MCR 1.109(D)(1)(b)(iii). In 
addition to the case number, a separate petition number shall be assigned to each 
petition filed under the juvenile code, MCL 712A.1 et seq., as required under MCR 
1.109(D)(1)(d). The case number (and petition number if applicable) shall be recorded 
in the court’s automated case management system and on the case file. The records 
shall include the following characteristics:

(a) Case History. The clerk shall create and maintain a case history of each case, 
known as a register of actions, in the court’s automated case management system. 
The automated case management system shall be capable of chronologically 
displaying the case history for each case and shall also be capable of searching a 
case by number or party name (previously known as numerical and alphabetical 
indices) and displaying the case number, date of filing, names of parties, and 
names of any attorneys of record. The case history shall contain both pre- and post-
judgment information and shall, at a minimum, consist of the data elements 
prescribed in the Michigan Trial Court Records Management Standards. Each 
entry shall be brief, but shall show the nature of each item filed, each item issued 
by the court, and the returns showing execution. The case history entry of each 
item filed shall be dated with the date of filing (if relevant) and the date and initials 
of the person recording the action, except where the entry is recorded by the 
electronic filing system. In that instance, the entry shall indicate that the electronic 
filing system recorded the action. The case history entry of each order, judgment, 
opinion, notice, or other item issued by the court shall be dated with the date of 
issuance and the initials of the person recording the action. Protected personal 
identifying information entered into the court’s case management system as 
required by MCR 1.109(D)(9)(e) shall be maintained for the purposes for which it 
was collected and for which its use is authorized by federal or state law or court 
rule; however, it shall not be included or displayed as case history, including when 
transferred to the Archives of Michigan pursuant to law.

(b) Case File. The clerk of the court shall maintain a file of each action, bearing the 
case number assigned to it, for all pleadings, process, written opinions and 
findings, orders, and judgments filed in the action, and any other materials 
prescribed by court rule, statute, or court order to be filed with the clerk of the 
court. If case file records are maintained separately from the case files, the clerk 
shall maintain them as prescribed by the Michigan Trial Court Records 
Management Standards.

(2) Calendars. The clerk may maintain calendars of actions. A calendar is a schedule 
of cases ready for court action that identifies times and places of activity.

(3) Abolished Records.

(a) Journals. Except for recording marriages, journals shall not be maintained.
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(b) Dockets. Case history replaces a docket. Wherever these rules or applicable 
statutes require entries on a docket, those entries shall be entered in the court’s 
automated case management system.

(4) Official Court Record. There is only one official court record, regardless whether 
original or suitable-duplicate and regardless of the medium. Suitable-duplicate is 
defined in the Michigan Trial Court Records Management Standards. Documents 
electronically filed with the court or generated electronically by the court are original 
records and are the official court record. A paper printout of any electronically filed or 
generated document is a copy and is a nonrecord for purposes of records retention and 
disposal. 

(E) Other Case Records. The clerk or other persons designated by the chief judge of the 
court shall maintain in the manner prescribed by these rules, other materials filed with or 
handled by the court for purposes of case processing, including but not limited to wills 
filed for safekeeping, case evaluations, exhibit logs, presentence reports, probation files, 
problem-solving court treatment files, financial statements for collections, and friend of 
the court records.

(F)Court Recordings, Log Notes, Jury Seating Charts, and Media. Court recordings, log 
notes, jury seating charts, and all other records such as tapes, backup tapes, discs, and any 
other medium used or created in the making of a record of proceedings and kept pursuant 
to MCR 8.108 are court records and are subject to access in accordance with subrule 
(H)(8)(b). 

(G)Other Court Records. All court records not included in subrules (D), (E), and (F) are 
considered administrative and fiscal records or nonrecord materials and are not subject to 
public access under subrule (H). These records are defined in the approved records 
retention and disposal schedule for trial courts.

(H)Access to Records. Except as otherwise provided in subrule (F), only case records as 
defined in subrule (D) are public records, subject to access in accordance with these rules.

(1) The clerk shall not permit any case record to be taken from the court without the 
order of the court. 

(2) A court may provide access to the public case history information through a 
publicly accessible website, and business court opinions may be made available as part 
of an indexed list as required under MCL 600.8039. 

(3) Public access to all electronic documents imported from an electronic document 
management system maintained by a court or its funding unit to the state-owned 
electronic document management system maintained by the State Court 
Administrative Office will be automatically restricted until protected personal 
identifying information is redacted from all documents with a filed date or issued date 
that precedes April 1, 2022.

(4) If a request is made for a public record that is maintained electronically, the court is 
required to provide a means for access to that record. However, the records cannot be 
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provided through a publicly accessible website if protected personal identifying 
information has not been redacted from those records. 

(5) If a public document prepared or issued by the court on or after April 1, 2022, or a 
Uniform Law Citation filed with the court on or after April 1, 2022, contains protected 
personal identifying information, the information must be redacted before it can be 
provided to the public, whether the document is provided upon request via a paper or 
electronic copy, or direct access via a publicly accessible computer at the courthouse. 
Upon receipt by the court on or after April 1, 2022, protected personal identifying 
information included in a proposed order shall be protected by the court as required 
under MCR 8.119(H) as if the document was prepared or issued by the court.

(6) The court may provide access to any case record that is not available in paper or 
digital image, as defined by MCR 1.109(B), if it can reasonably accommodate the 
request.   Any materials filed with the court pursuant to MCR 1.109(D), in a medium 
for which the court does not have the means to readily access and reproduce those 
materials, may be made available for public inspection using court equipment only. 
The court is not required to provide the means to access or reproduce the contents of 
those materials if the means is not already available. 

 (7) Unless access to a case record or information contained in a record as defined in 
subrule (D) is restricted by statute, court rule, or an order entered pursuant to subrule 
(I), any person may inspect that record and may obtain copies as provided in subrule 
(J). In accordance with subrule (J), the court may collect a fee for the cost of providing 
copies.

 (8) Every court shall adopt an administrative order pursuant to MCR 8.112(B) to

(a) make reasonable regulations necessary to protect its public records and prevent 
excessive and unreasonable interference with the discharge of its functions;

(b) establish a policy for whether to provide access for records defined in subrule 
(F) and if access is to be provided, outline the procedure for accessing those 
records;

(c) specify the reasonable cost of reproduction of records provided under subrule 
(J); and

(d) specify the process for determining costs under subrule (J).

(9) Set Aside Convictions. Access to information on set aside convictions is limited to 
a court of competent jurisdiction, an agency of the judicial branch of state government, 
the department of corrections, a law enforcement agency, a prosecuting attorney, the 
attorney general, and the governor upon request and only for the purposes identified in 
MCL 780.623. Access may also be provided to the individual whose conviction was 
set aside, that individual’s attorney, and the victim(s) as defined in MCL 780.623. The 
court must redact all information related to the set aside conviction or convictions 
before making the case record or a court record available to the public in any format.

(I) Sealed Records.
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(1) Except as otherwise provided by statute or court rule, a court may not enter an 
order that seals courts records, in whole or in part, in any action or proceeding, unless

(a) a party has filed a written motion that identifies the specific interest to be 
protected,

(b) the court has made a finding of good cause, in writing or on the record, which 
specifies the grounds for the order, and

(c) there is no less restrictive means to adequately and effectively protect the 
specific interest asserted.

(2) In determining whether good cause has been shown, the court must consider,

(a) the interests of the parties, including, where there is an allegation of domestic 
violence, the safety of the alleged or potential victim of the domestic violence, and

(b) the interest of the public.

(3) The court must provide any interested person the opportunity to be heard 
concerning the sealing of the records.

(4) Materials that are subject to a motion to seal a record in whole or in part must be 
made nonpublic temporarily pending the court’s disposition of the motion.

(5) For purposes of this rule, “court records” includes all documents and records of 
any nature that are filed with or maintained by the clerk in connection with the action.

(6) A court may not seal a court order or opinion, including an order or opinion that 
disposes of a motion to seal the record.

(7) Whenever the court grants a motion to seal a court record, in whole or in part, the 
court must forward a copy of the order to the Clerk of the Supreme Court and to the 
State Court Administrative Office.

(8) Nothing in this rule is intended to limit the court’s authority to issue protective 
orders pursuant to MCR 2.302(C) without a motion to seal or require that a protective 
order issued under MCR 2.302(C) be filed with the Clerk of the Supreme Court and 
the State Court Administrative Office. A protective order issued under MCR 2.302(C) 
may authorize parties to file materials under seal in accordance with the provisions of 
the protective order without the necessity of filing a motion to seal under this rule.

(9) Any person may file a motion to set aside an order that disposes of a motion to seal 
the record, to unseal a document filed under seal pursuant to MCR 2.302(C), or an 
objection to entry of a proposed order. MCR 2.119 governs the proceedings on such a 
motion or objection. If the court denies a motion to set aside the order or enters the 
order after objection is filed, the moving or objecting person may file an application 
for leave to appeal in the same manner as a party to the action. See MCR 8.116(D).

(J) Access and Reproduction Fees.

(1)A court may not charge a fee to access public case history information or to retrieve 
or inspect a case document irrespective of the medium in which the case record is 
retained, the manner in which access to the case record is provided (including whether 
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a record is retained onsite or offsite), and the technology used to create, store, retrieve, 
reproduce, and maintain the case record.

(2) A court may charge a reproduction fee for a document pursuant to MCL600.1988, 
except when required by law or court rule to provide a copy without charge to a person 
or other entity. 

(3)The court may provide access to its public case records in any medium authorized 
by the records reproduction act, 1992 PA 116; MCL 24.401 to 24.403.

(4)Reproduction of a case document means the act of producing a copy of that 
document through any medium authorized by the records reproduction act, 1992 PA 
116; MCL 24.401 to 24.403. 

(a)A court may charge only for the actual cost of labor and supplies and the actual 
use of the system, including printing from a public terminal, to reproduce a case 
document and not the cost associated with the purchase and maintenance of any 
system or technology used to store, retrieve, and reproduce the document.

(b)If a person wishes to obtain copies of documents in a file, the clerk shall provide 
copies upon receipt of the actual cost of reproduction. 

(c)Except as otherwise directed by statute or court rule, a standard fee may be 
established, pursuant to (H)(8), for providing copies of documents on file. 

(5)A court is not required to create a new record out of its existing records. A new 
record means the compilation of information into a format that does not currently exist 
or that cannot be generated electronically using predefined formats available through a 
court’s case management system. Providing access to documents or furnishing copies 
of documents in an existing file does not constitute creation of a new record, even 
when the output appears in a format different than the format of the original record or 
document because the output is the result of predefined formats. 

(a)A court may create a new record or compilation of records pertaining to case 
files or case-related information on request, provided that the record created or 
compiled does not disclose information that would otherwise be confidential or 
restricted by statute, court rule, or an order entered pursuant to subrule (I). 

(b)A court may charge only for the actual cost of labor and supplies and the actual 
use of the system to develop, generate, and validate the accuracy of a new record 
and not the cost associated with the purchase and maintenance of any system or 
technology used to store, retrieve, and reproduce the information or documents for 
creating a new record.

(c)If a court creates a new record, the clerk shall provide access to the new record 
upon receipt of the actual cost of creating the record. 

(K)Retention Periods and Disposal of Court Records.

For purposes of retention, the records of the trial courts include: (1) administrative and 
fiscal records, (2) case file and other case records, (3) court recordings, log notes, jury 
seating charts, and recording media, and (4) nonrecord material. The records of the trial 
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courts shall be retained in the medium prescribed by MCR 1.109. The records of a trial 
court may not be disposed of except as authorized by the records retention and disposal 
schedule and upon order by the chief judge of that court. Before disposing of records 
subject to the order, the court shall first transfer to the Archives of Michigan any records 
specified as such in the Michigan trial courts approved records retention and disposal 
schedule. An order disposing of court records shall comply with the retention periods 
established by the State Court Administrative Office and approved by the state court 
administrator, Attorney General, State Administrative Board, Archives of Michigan, and 
Records Management Services of the Department of Management and Budget, in 
accordance with MCL 399.811.

(L) Reporting Duties.

(1) The clerk of every court shall submit reports and records as required by statute and 
court rule.

(2) The clerk of every court shall submit reports or provide records as required by the 
State Court Administrative Office, without costs.

RULE 8.120 LAW STUDENTS AND RECENT GRADUATES; PARTICIPATION IN LEGAL AID CLINICS, 
DEFENDER OFFICES, AND LEGAL TRAINING PROGRAMS

(A) Legal Aid Clinics; Defender Offices. Effective legal service for each person in 
Michigan, regardless of that person’s ability to pay, is important to the directly affected 
person, to our court system, and to the whole citizenry. Law students and recent law 
graduates, under supervision by a member of the state bar, may staff public and nonprofit 
defender offices, and legal aid clinics that are organized under a city or county bar 
association or an accredited law school or for the primary purpose of providing free legal 
services to indigent persons.

(B) Legal Training Programs. Law students and recent law graduates may participate in 
legal training programs organized in the offices of county prosecuting attorneys, county 
corporation counsel, city attorneys, municipal/township attorneys, the Attorney Grievance 
Commission, and the Attorney General.

(C) Eligible Students. A student in a law school approved by the American Bar 
Association who has received a passing grade in law school courses and has completed the 
first year is eligible to participate in a clinic or program listed in subrules (A) and (B) if the 
student meets the academic and moral standards established by the dean of that school. 
For the purpose of this rule, a “recent law graduate” is a person who has graduated from 
law school within the last year. The student or graduate must certify in writing that he or 
she has read and is familiar with the Michigan Rules of Professional Conduct and the 
Michigan Court Rules, and shall take an oath which is reasonably equivalent to the 
Michigan Lawyer’s Oath in requiring at a minimum the promise to: (a) support the 
Constitution of the United States; (b) support the Constitution of the State of Michigan; (c) 
maintain the respect due to courts of justice and judicial officers; (d) never seek to mislead 
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a judge or jury by any artifice or false statement of fact or law; (e) maintain the confidence 
and preserve inviolate the secrets of the client; (f) abstain from all offensive personality; 
(g) advance no fact prejudicial to the honor or reputation of a party or witness, unless 
required by the justice of the cause; and (h) in all other respects conduct himself or herself 
personally and professionally in conformity with the high standards of conduct imposed 
upon members of the state bar of Michigan.

(D) Scope; Procedure.

(1) A member of the legal aid clinic, in representing an indigent person, is authorized 
to advise the person and to negotiate and appear on the person’s behalf in all Michigan 
courts except the Supreme Court. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, the 
indigent person that will be assisted by the student must consent in writing to the 
representation. In a situation in which a law student provides short-term, limited-scope 
legal advice by telephone in the context of a clinical program intended to assist 
indigent persons offered as part of a law school curriculum, the clinic patron shall be 
informed that:

(a)the advice provided may be rendered by a law student, and

(b)by proceeding to the consultation following notification that the advice may be 
provided by a law student, the clinic patron consents to such representation.

(2) Representation must be conducted under the supervision of a state bar member. 
Supervision by a state bar member includes the duty to examine and sign all pleadings 
filed. It does not require the state bar member to be present

(a) while a law student or graduate is advising an indigent person or negotiating on 
the person’s behalf, or

(b) during a courtroom appearance of a law student or graduate, except

(i) during an appellate argument or

(ii) in a criminal or juvenile case exposing the client to a penalty of 
imprisonment.

The supervising attorney shall assume all personal professional responsibility for 
the student’s or graduate’s work, and should consider purchasing professional 
liability insurance to cover the practice of such student or graduate.

(3) A law student or graduate may not appear in a case in a Michigan court without the 
approval of the judge or a majority of the panel of judges to which the case is assigned. 
If the judge or a majority of the panel grants approval, the judge or a majority of the 
panel may suspend the proceedings at any stage if the judge or a majority of the panel 
determines that the representation by the law student or graduate

(a) is professionally inadequate, and

(b) substantial justice requires suspension.

In the Court of Appeals, a request for a law student or graduate to appear at oral 
argument must be submitted by motion to the panel that will hear the case. The 
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panel may deny the request or establish restrictions or other parameters for the 
representation on a case-by-case basis.

(4) A law student or graduate serving in a prosecutor’s, county corporation counsel’s, 
city attorney’s, Attorney Grievance Commission’s, or Attorney General’s program 
may be authorized to perform comparable functions and duties assigned by the 
prosecuting attorney, county attorney, city attorney, Attorney Grievance Commission 
attorney, or Attorney General, except that

(a) the law student or graduate is subject to the conditions and restrictions of this 
rule; and

(b) the law student or graduate may not be appointed as an assistant prosecutor, 
assistant corporation counsel, assistant city attorney, assistant Attorney Grievance 
Commission attorney, or assistant Attorney General.

RULE 8.121 CONTINGENT FEES IN CLAIMS OR ACTIONS FOR PERSONAL INJURY, WRONGFUL 
DEATH, AND NO-FAULT BENEFITS

(A) Allowable Contingent Fee Agreements. In any claim or action for personal injury or 
wrongful death based upon the alleged conduct of another or for no-fault benefits, in 
which an attorney enters into an agreement, expressed or implied, whereby the attorney’s 
compensation is dependent or contingent in whole or in part upon successful prosecution 
or settlement or upon the amount of recovery, the receipt, retention, or sharing by such 
attorney, pursuant to agreement or otherwise, of compensation which is equal to or less 
than the fee stated in subrule (B) is deemed to be fair and reasonable. The receipt, 
retention, or sharing of compensation which is in excess of such a fee shall be deemed to 
be the charging of a “clearly excessive fee” in violation of MRPC 1.5(a), unless such fee is 
received as a result of an award of attorney fees payable pursuant to MCL 500.3148, or 
other award or sanction made pursuant to statute, court rule, or the common law.

(B) Maximum Fee. The maximum allowable fee for the claims and actions referred to in 
subrule (A) is one-third of the amount recovered.

(C) Computation.

(1) The amount referred to in subrule (B) shall be computed on the net sum recovered 
after deducting from the amount recovered all disbursements properly chargeable to 
the enforcement of the claim or prosecution of the action. In computing the fee, the 
costs as taxed and any interest included in or upon the amount of a judgment shall be 
deemed part of the amount recovered.

(2) In the case of a settlement payable in installments, the amount referred to in 
subrule (B) shall be computed using the present value of the future payments.

(a) If an annuity contract will be used to fund the future payments, “present value” 
is the actual cost of purchasing the annuity contract. The attorney for the defendant 
must disclose to the court and the parties the amount paid for the annuity contract, 
after any rebates or other discounts. 
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(b) If the defendant will make the future payments directly, “present value” is the 
amount that an entity of the same financial standing as the defendant would pay for 
an annuity contract. The court may appoint an independent expert to certify the 
“present value” as defined in this paragraph. The court may base its findings on the 
expert’s testimony or affidavit. 

(D) Agreements for Lower Fees. An attorney may enter into contingent fee arrangements 
calling for less compensation than that allowed by subrule (B).

(E) Advice to Client. An attorney must advise a client, before entering into a contingent 
fee arrangement, that attorneys may be employed under other fee arrangements in which 
the attorney is compensated for the reasonable value of the services performed, such as on 
an hourly or per diem basis. The method of compensation used by an individual attorney 
remains the attorney’s option, and this rule does not require an attorney to accept 
compensation in a manner other than that chosen by the attorney.

(F) Agreements to be in Writing. Contingent fee arrangements made by an attorney with a 
client must be in writing and a copy provided to the client.

(G) Applicability. This rule does not apply to agreements reduced to writing before May 
3, 1975. The one-third provision of subrule (B) applies to contingent fee agreements 
entered into after July 9, 1981. Earlier agreements are subject to the rule in effect at the 
time the agreement was made.

RULE 8.122 CLAIMS BY CLIENTS AGAINST ATTORNEYS

Attorneys are officers of Michigan’s one court of justice and are subject to the summary 
jurisdiction of the court. The circuit court of the county in which an attorney resides or maintains 
an office has jurisdiction, on verified written complaint of a client, and after reasonable notice and 
hearing, to enter an order for the payment of money or for the performance of an act by the 
attorney which law and justice may require. All courts have like jurisdiction over similar 
complaints regarding matters arising from actions or proceedings in those courts.

RULE 8.126 TEMPORARY ADMISSION TO THE BAR

(A) Temporary Admission. Except as otherwise provided in this rule, an out of state 
attorney may seek temporary admission as determined by this subsection. Any person who 
is licensed to practice law in another state or territory, or in the District of Columbia, of 
the United States of America, or in any foreign country, and who is not disbarred or 
suspended in any jurisdiction, and who is eligible to practice in at least one jurisdiction, 
may be permitted to appear and practice in a specific case in a court, before an 
administrative tribunal or agency, or in a specific arbitration proceeding in this state when 
associated with and on motion of an active member of the State Bar of Michigan who 
appears of record in the case. An out-of-state attorney may be temporarily admitted to 
practice under this rule in no more than five cases in a 365-day period. Permission to 
appear and practice is within the discretion of the court, administrative tribunal or agency, 
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or arbitrator and may be revoked at any time for misconduct. For purposes of this rule, an 
out-of-state attorney is one who is licensed to practice law in another state or territory, or 
in the District of Columbia, of the United States of America, or in a foreign country and 
who is not a member of the State Bar of Michigan.

(1) Procedure.

(a) Motion. An attorney seeking temporary admission must be associated with a 
Michigan attorney. The Michigan attorney with whom the out-of-state attorney is 
associated shall file with the court or administrative tribunal or agency, or 
arbitrator an appearance and a motion that seeks permission for the temporary 
admission of the out-of-state attorney. The motion shall be supported by a current 
certificate of good standing issued by a jurisdiction where the out-of-state attorney 
is licensed and eligible to practice, the document supplied by the State Bar of 
Michigan showing that the required fee has been paid and an affidavit of the out-
of-state attorney seeking temporary admission, which affidavit shall verify 

(i) the jurisdictions in which the attorney is or has been licensed or has sought 
licensure;

(ii) the jurisdiction where the attorney is presently eligible to practice;

(iii) that the attorney is not disbarred, or suspended in any jurisdiction, and is 
not the subject of any pending disciplinary action, and that the attorney is 
licensed and is in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed; and 

(iv) that he or she is familiar with the Michigan Rules of Professional Conduct, 
Michigan Court Rules, and the Michigan Rules of Evidence. 

The out-of-state attorney must attach to the affidavit copies of any disciplinary 
dispositions. The motion shall include an attestation of the Michigan attorney that 
the attorney has read the out-of-state attorney’s affidavit, has made a reasonable 
inquiry concerning the averments made therein, believes the out-of-state attorney’s 
representations are true, and agrees to ensure that the procedures of this rule are 
followed. The motion shall also include the addresses and email addresses of both 
attorneys.

(b) Fee. In each case in which an out-of-state attorney seeks temporary admission 
in Michigan, the out-of-state attorney must pay a fee equal to the discipline and 
client-protection portions of a bar member’s annual dues. The fee must be paid 
electronically to the State Bar of Michigan, in conjunction with submission of an 
electronic copy of the motion, the certificate of good standing and the affidavit to 
the State Bar of Michigan, pursuant to procedures established by the State Bar of 
Michigan. Upon receipt of the fee remitted electronically, confirmation of 
payment will issue electronically to the out-of-state attorney through the State Bar 
of Michigan’s automated process.

Within seven days after receipt of the copy of the motion and fee, the State Bar of 
Michigan must notify the court, administrative tribunal or agency, or arbitrator and 
both attorneys whether the out-of-state attorney has been granted permission to 
appear temporarily in Michigan within the past 365 days, and, if so, the number of 
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such appearances. The notification will be issued electronically, pursuant to the 
procedures established by the State Bar of Michigan. No order or other writing 
granting permission to appear in a case shall be entered by a court, administrative 
tribunal or agency, or arbitrator until the notification is received from the State Bar 
of Michigan. 

The State Bar of Michigan shall retain the discipline portion of the fee for 
administration of the request for temporary admission and disciplinary oversight 
and allocate the client-protection portion to the Client Protection Fund. If a request 
for investigation is filed with the grievance administrator against an attorney while 
temporarily admitted to practice in Michigan, the entire amount of the 
administration fee paid by that attorney for the case in which the allegations of 
misconduct arose would be transferred to the disciplinary system.

(c) Order. Following notification by the State Bar of Michigan, if the out-of-state 
attorney has been granted permission to appear temporarily in fewer than 5 cases 
within the past 365 days, the court, administrative tribunal or agency, or arbitrator 
may enter an order granting permission to the out-of-state attorney to appear 
temporarily in a case. If an order or other writing granting permission is entered, 
The Michigan attorney shall submit an electronic copy of the order or writing to 
the State Bar of Michigan within seven days. 

(d) By seeking permission to appear under this rule, an out-of-state attorney 
consents to the jurisdiction of Michigan’s attorney disciplinary system.

(B) Waiver. An applicant is not required to associate with local counsel, limited to the 
number of appearances to practice, or required to pay the fee to the State Bar of Michigan, 
if the applicant establishes to the satisfaction of the court in which the attorney seeks to 
appear that:

(1) the applicant appears for the limited purpose of participating in a child custody 
proceeding as defined by MCL 712B.3(b) in a Michigan court pursuant to the 
Michigan Indian Family Preservation Act, MCL 712B.1 et seq.; and

(2) the applicant represents an Indian tribe as defined by MCL 712B.3; and

(3) the applicant presents an affidavit from the Indian child’s tribe asserting the tribe’s 
intent to intervene and participate in the state court proceeding, and averring the 
child’s membership or eligibility for membership under tribal law; and

(4) the applicant presents an affidavit that verifies:

(a) the jurisdictions in which the attorney is or has been licensed or has sought 
licensure;

(b) the jurisdiction where the attorney is presently eligible to practice;

(c) that the attorney is not disbarred, or suspended in any jurisdiction, is not the 
subject of any pending disciplinary action, and that the attorney is licensed and is 
in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed; and
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(d) that he or she is familiar with the Michigan Rules of Professional Conduct, 
Michigan Court Rules, and the Michigan Rules of Evidence.

(5) If the court in which the attorney seeks to appear is satisfied that the out of state 
attorney has met the requirements in this subrule, the court shall enter an order 
authorizing the out of state attorney’s temporary admission.

RULE 8.127 FOREIGN LANGUAGE BOARD OF REVIEW AND REGULATION OF FOREIGN LANGUAGE 
INTERPRETERS

(A)Foreign Language Board of Review

(1) The Supreme Court shall appoint a Foreign Language Board of Review, which 
shall include:

(a)a circuit judge;

(b)a probate judge;

(c)a district judge;

(d)a court administrator;

(e)a fully-certified foreign language interpreter who practices regularly in 
Michigan courts;

(f)an advocate representing the interests of the limited English proficiency 
populations in Michigan;

(g)a prosecuting attorney in good standing and with experience using interpreters 
in the courtroom;

(h)a criminal defense attorney in good standing and with experience using 
interpreters in the courtroom;

(i) a family law attorney in good standing and with experience using interpreters in 
the courtroom

(2) Appointments to the board shall be for terms of three years. A board member may 
be appointed to no more than two full terms. Initial appointments may be of different 
lengths so that no more than three terms expire in the same year. The Supreme Court 
may remove a member at any time.

(3) If a position on the board becomes vacant because of death, resignation, or 
removal, or because a member is no longer employed in the capacity in which he or 
she was appointed, the board shall notify the state court administrator who will 
recommend a successor to the Supreme Court to serve the remainder of the term.

(4) The state court administrator shall assign a staff person to serve as executive 
secretary to the board.

(B)Responsibilities of Foreign Language Board of Review

The Foreign Language Board of Review has the following responsibilities:
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(1)The board shall recommend to the state court administrator a Michigan Code of 
Professional Responsibility for Court Interpreters, which the state court administrator 
may adopt in full, in part, or in a modified form. The Code shall govern the conduct of 
Michigan court interpreters.

(2)The board must review a complaint that the State Court Administrative Office 
schedules before it pursuant to subrule (D). The board must review the complaint and 
any response and hear from the interpreter and any witnesses at a meeting of the board. 
The board shall determine what, if any, action it will take, which may include revoking 
certification, prohibiting the interpreter from obtaining certification, suspending the 
interpreter from participating in court proceedings, placing the interpreter on 
probation, imposing any fines authorized by law, and placing any remedial conditions 
on the interpreter.

(3) Interpreter Certification Requirements

The board shall recommend requirements for interpreters to the state court 
administrator that the state court administrator may adopt in full, in part, or in a 
modified form concerning the following:

(a)requirements for certifying interpreters as defined in MCR 1.111(A)(4). At a 
minimum, those requirements must include that the applicant is at least 18 years of 
age and not under sentence for a felony for at least two years and that the 
interpreter attends an orientation program for new interpreters.

(b)requirements for interpreters to be qualified as defined in MCR 1.111(A)(6).

(c)requirements under which an interpreter certified in another state or in the 
federal courts may apply for certification based on the certification already 
obtained. The certification must be a permanent or regular certification and not a 
temporary or restricted certification. 

(d)requirements for interpreters as defined in MCR 1.111(A)(4) to maintain their 
certification.

(e)requirements for entities that provide interpretation services by 
telecommunications equipment to be qualified as defined in MCR 1.111(A)(6). 

(C)Interpreter Registration 

(1)Interpreters who meet the requirements of MCR 1.111(A)(4) and MCR 
1.111(A)(6)(a) and (b) must register with the State Court Administrative Office and 
renew their registration before October 1 of each year in order to maintain their status. 
The fee for registration is $60. The fee for renewal is $30. The renewal application 
shall include a statement showing that the applicant has used interpreting skills during 
the 12 months preceding registration. Effective 2019, renewal applications must be 
filed or postmarked on or before September 1. Any application filed or postmarked 
after that date must be accompanied by a late fee of $100. Any late registration made 
after December 31 or any application that does not demonstrate efforts to maintain 
proficiency shall require board approval. 
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(2)Entities that employ a certified foreign language interpreter as defined in MCR 
1.111(A)(4), or a qualified foreign language interpreter as defined in MCR 
1.111(A)(6) must also register with the State Court Administrative Office and pay the 
registration fee and renewal fees. 

(D)Interpreter Misconduct or Incompetence

(1)An interpreter, trial court judge, or attorney who becomes aware of misconduct on 
the part of an interpreter committed in the course of a trial or other court proceeding 
that violates the Michigan Code of Professional Responsibility for Court Interpreters 
must report details of the misconduct to the State Court Administrative Office.

(2)Any person may file a complaint in writing on a form provided by the State Court 
Administrative Office. The complaint shall describe in detail the incident and the 
alleged incompetence, misconduct, or omission. The State Court Administrative 
Office may dismiss the complaint if it is plainly frivolous, insufficiently clear, or 
alleges conduct that does not violate this rule. If the complaint is not dismissed, the 
State Court Administrative Office shall send the complaint to the interpreter by regular 
mail or electronically at the address on file with the office.

(3)The interpreter shall answer the complaint within 28 days after the date the 
complaint is sent. The answer shall admit, deny, or further explain each allegation in 
the complaint. If the interpreter fails to answer, the allegations in the complaint are 
considered true and correct. 

(4)The State Court Administrative Office may review records and interview the 
complainant, the interpreter, and witnesses, or set the matter for a hearing before the 
Foreign Language Board of Review. Before setting the matter for a hearing, the State 
Court Administrative Office may propose a resolution to which the interpreter may 
stipulate.

(5) If the complaint is not resolved by stipulation, the State Court Administrative 
Office shall notify the Foreign Language Board of Review, which shall hold a hearing. 
The State Court Administrative Office shall send notice of the date, time, and place of 
the hearing to the interpreter by regular mail or electronically. The hearing shall be 
closed to the public. A record of the proceedings shall be maintained but shall not be 
public.

(6)The interpreter may attend all of the hearings except the board’s deliberations. The 
interpreter may be represented by counsel and shall be permitted to make a statement, 
obtain testimony from the complainant and witnesses, and comment on the claims and 
evidence.

(7)The State Court Administrative Office shall maintain a record of all interpreters 
who are sanctioned for incompetence or misconduct. If the interpreter is certified in 
Michigan under MCR 1.111(A)(5) because of certification pursuant to another state or 
federal test, the state court administrator shall report the findings and any sanctions to 
the certification authority in the other jurisdiction.

(8)This subrule shall not be construed to:
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(a)restrict an aggrieved person from seeking to enforce this rule in the proceeding, 
including an appeal; or

(b)require exhaustion of administrative remedies.

(9)The State Court Administrative Office shall make complaint forms readily 
available and shall also provide complaint forms in such languages as determined by 
the State Court Administrative Office.

(10)Entities that employ interpreters are subject to the same requirements and 
procedures established by this subrule. 

RULE 8.128 MICHIGAN JUDICIAL COUNCIL

(A) Duties. There shall be a Judicial Council to make recommendations to the Supreme 
Court on matters pertinent to the administration of justice, including development of a 
strategic plan for the Michigan judicial branch and suggestions for proposals that would 
enhance the work of the courts.

(B) Diversity and Inclusion. The Judicial Council shall be representative of Michigan’s 
diverse population and regions, ensuring and advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion.

(C) Membership

(1) The membership of the Judicial Council shall consist of 29 members as follows:

(a) The Chief Justice of the Michigan Supreme Court, who shall preside over the 
council as chairperson;

(b) A Justice of the Michigan Supreme Court, nominated by the Chief Justice;

(c) The State Court Administrator;

(d) The Chief Judge of the Court of Appeals or designee;

(e) Two judges nominated by the Michigan Judges Association;

(f) Two judges nominated by the Michigan Probate Judges Association;

(g) Two judges nominated by the Michigan District Judges Association;

(h) Two judges nominated by the Association of Black Judges of Michigan;

(i) A judge nominated by the Michigan Tribal State Federal Judicial Forum;

(j) Four at-large judges;

(k) Four trial court administrators, probate or juvenile registers;

(l) Two county clerks;

(m) Three attorneys licensed to practice law in the State of Michigan;

(n) A member of the Michigan Justice for All Commission;

(o) Two members of the public who are not attorneys.
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(2) All members shall be appointed by the Supreme Court. Members serving on the 
Judicial Council by nature of their positions designated in subparagraphs (C)(1)(a), (c) 
and (d) shall serve on the Judicial Council so long as they hold that position. Of the 
remaining members appointed by the Supreme Court, one-third shall initially be 
appointed to a two-year term, one-third appointed to a three-year term and one-third 
appointed to a four-year term. All members appointed or reappointed following these 
inaugural terms shall serve three-year terms. Terms commence January 1st of each 
calendar year. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

(D) Other Committees, Task Forces, and Work Groups. The Judicial Council will 
establish such other committees, task forces, and work groups as are necessary to further 
the work of the Judicial Council.

(E) Meetings of Council. The Judicial Council shall meet regularly as needed to 
accomplish its work, but at least quarterly, at a place and on a date designated by the Chief 
Justice.

(F) Administration. The State Court Administrative Office shall staff the Judicial Council.

(G) Deliberations. In all of their deliberations and decisions, members of the Judicial 
Council shall place the welfare of the public and the judicial branch as a whole above the 
individual interests of a judicial district, court organization, or class of judge or employee.

(H) Vacancies. In the event of a vacancy on the Judicial Council, a replacement member 
shall be appointed by the Supreme Court for the remainder of the term of the former 
incumbent. After serving the remainder of the term, the new member may be reappointed 
to two full consecutive terms.

(I) Annual Report. The Judicial Council shall prepare an annual report on the status of 
judicial administration in the courts and the work of the Judicial Council.

(J) Compensation. Judicial Council members shall serve without compensation.

(K) Removal of a Member. The Supreme Court has authority to remove a Judicial Council 
member. The vacancy created when a member is removed shall be filled in accordance 
with subrule (H).

SUBCHAPTER 8.200 ADMINISTRATIVE RULES APPLICABLE IN DISTRICT COURT

RULE 8.201 ALLOCATION OF COSTS IN THIRD-CLASS DISTRICTS

(A) Duties of Clerks of Each Third-Class Control Unit Having a Clerk.

(1) On the last day of March, June, September, and December of each year, the clerk 
of each third-class control unit having a clerk (see MCL 600.8281) shall determine the 
total number of civil and criminal cases filed during the preceding three months in the 
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district and each political subdivision of the district under subrule (B). These figures 
are the total number of cases entered and commenced in that district and each political 
subdivision.

(2) The clerk shall determine the total cost of maintaining, financing, and operating the 
district court within the district.

(3) The clerk shall determine the proper share of the costs to be borne by each political 
subdivision by use of the following formula: (the number of cases entered and 
commenced in each political subdivision divided by the total number of cases entered 
and commenced in the district) multiplied by the total cost of maintaining, financing, 
and operating the district court.

(4) The clerk shall determine the proper share of the salary of the court reporter or 
recorder under MCL 600.8621(1) by use of the following formula: (the number of 
cases entered and commenced in each political subdivision divided by the total 
number of cases entered and commenced in the district) multiplied by the total salary 
of the court reporter or recorder.

(5) The clerk shall certify the figures determined under subrules (A)(3) and (4) to the 
treasurer of each political subdivision in the district. Payment by each political 
subdivision of any unpaid portion of its certified share of the cost and salaries is then 
due.

(B) Determination of Cases Entered and Commenced.

(1) In the District. The total number of cases entered and commenced in the district is 
the total number of civil and criminal cases filed in the district for the time period in 
question, excepting those cases not attributable to a specific political subdivision 
under subrules (B)(2)(b) and (B)(3)(b).

(2) In Each Political Subdivision Having a District Court Clerk. The total number of 
cases entered and commenced in each political subdivision having a district court 
clerk is the total number of civil and criminal cases filed in the political subdivision for 
the time period in question, excepting those cases involving a filing plaintiff and one 
or more defendants whose residences are outside the political subdivision where filed.

(a) Cases in which a filing plaintiff and one or more defendants reside in the same 
political subdivision are deemed to have been entered and commenced in that 
political subdivision, even though filed elsewhere for purposes of MCL 600.8104.

(b) Cases in which the filing plaintiff and one or more defendants reside outside 
the political subdivision where the case was filed, but none of the defendants 
resides in the same political subdivision as the plaintiff, are to be disregarded for 
purposes of this rule and MCL 600.8104.

(3) In Each Political Subdivision Having No District Court Clerk.

(a) The total number of cases entered and commenced for the time period in 
question in each political subdivision having no district court clerk is the total 
number of civil and criminal cases in which the filing plaintiff and one or more 
defendants reside in the political subdivision, no matter where the case is filed.
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(b) If more than one political subdivision qualifies under subrule (B)(3)(a), all are 
credited with one case for purposes of this rule and MCL 600.8104.

RULE 8.202 PAYMENT OF ASSIGNED ATTORNEYS AND TRANSCRIPT COSTS

(A) Misdemeanor Cases. The political subdivision or subdivisions responsible for 
maintaining, financing, and operating the appointing court are responsible for paying 
assigned attorneys, regardless of whether the defendant is charged with violating a state 
law or an ordinance, and regardless of whether a fine or costs are actually assessed. If a 
county board of commissioners has taken or takes formal action to relieve cities or 
townships of part or all of the cost of paying assigned attorneys, that formal action shall 
control the payment of assigned attorneys in that county.

(B) Appeals. If an indigent defendant appealing to circuit court from a district or 
municipal court conviction is entitled to an assigned attorney or a transcript, the cost shall 
be paid by the same political subdivision or divisions that were responsible for or would 
have been responsible for paying an assigned attorney under subrule (A).

RULE 8.203 RECORDS AND ENTRIES KEPT BY CLERK

The clerk of every district court shall maintain court records and make reports as 
prescribed by MCR 8.119.

RULE 8.204 BONDS FOR CLERKS, DEPUTIES, MAGISTRATES, AND OFFICIAL PROCESS SERVERS

All clerks, deputy clerks, magistrates, and official process servers of the district court must 
file with the chief judge a bond approved by the chief judge in a penal sum determined by the 
state court administrator, conditioned that the officer will

(1) perform the duties as clerk, deputy clerk, magistrate, or process server of that 
court; and

(2) account for and pay over all money which may be received by the officer to the 
person or persons lawfully entitled.

The bonds must be in favor of the court and the state.

RULE 8.205 MAGISTRATES

The court shall provide the name, address, and telephone number of each magistrate to the 
clerk of the district court for the district in which the magistrate serves.
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SUBCHAPTER 8.300 ADMINISTRATIVE RULES APPLICABLE IN PROBATE COURT

RULE 8.301 POWERS OF REGISTER OF PROBATE, DEPUTY REGISTERS, AND CLERKS

(A) Judicial Responsibility. The judges of probate are responsible for the direction and 
supervision of the registers of probate, deputy registers of probate, probate clerks, and 
other personnel employed by the court to assist in the work of the court.

(B) Entry of Order Specifying Authority.

(1) To the extent authorized by the chief judge of a probate court by a general order, 
the probate register and the deputy probate register have the authority, until the further 
order of the court, to do all acts required of the probate judge except judicial acts in a 
contested matter and acts forbidden by law to be performed by the probate register.

(2) The order of the chief judge may refer to the power

(a) to set the time and place for hearings in all matters; take acknowledgments; 
administer oaths; sign notices to fiduciaries, attorneys, and sureties; sign citations 
and subpoenas; conduct conferences with fiduciaries required to ensure prompt 
administration of estates; and take testimony as provided by law or court rule; and

(b) to sign or by device indicate the name of a judge to all orders and letters of 
authority of the court, with the same force and effect as though the judge had 
signed them. In all such cases, the register or the designated deputy must place his 
or her initials under the name of the judge.

(C) Statutory Authority. In addition to the powers which may be granted by order of the 
chief judge, the probate registers and deputy registers have the authority granted by statute 
and may take acknowledgments to the same extent as a notary public.

RULE 8.302 RECORDS AND ENTRIES KEPT BY CLERK

The clerk of every probate court shall maintain court records and make reports as 
prescribed by MCR 8.119. In addition, any unsealed testamentary document filed with the probate 
court must be safeguarded by reproducing the document in a format authorized by the Records 
Reproduction Act (MCL 24.401 et seq.) and maintaining it in accordance with the Michigan Trial 
Court Case File Management Standards.
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MICHIGAN COURT RULES OF 1985

Chapter 9. Professional Disciplinary Proceedings
Updated April 26, 2024 

SUBCHAPTER 9.100 ATTORNEY GRIEVANCE COMMISSION; ATTORNEY DISCIPLINE 
BOARD

RULE 9.101 DEFINITIONS

As used in subchapter 9.100:

(1) “board” means the Attorney Discipline Board; 

(2) “commission” means the Attorney Grievance Commission;

(3) “administrator” means the grievance administrator;

(4) “investigator” means a person specially designated by the administrator to assist 
him or her in the investigation of alleged misconduct or requested reinstatement;

(5) “attorney” or “lawyer” means a person regularly licensed, specially admitted, 
permitted to practice law in Michigan on a temporary or other limited basis, or who is 
otherwise subject to the disciplinary authority of Michigan pursuant to order or rule of 
the Supreme Court;

(6) “respondent” means an attorney named in a request for investigation or complaint, 
or proceedings for reciprocal discipline, based on a judgment of conviction, or 
transfers to inactive status under MCR 9.121;

(7) “request for investigation” means the first step in bringing alleged misconduct to 
the administrator’s attention;

(8) “complaint” means the formal charge prepared by the administrator and filed with 
the board;

(9) “review” means examination by the board of a hearing panel’s order on petition by 
the administrator, complainant, or respondent;

(10) “appeal” means judicial re-examination by the Supreme Court of the board’s final 
order on petition by the administrator, complainant, or respondent;

(11) “grievance” means alleged misconduct;

(12) “investigation” means fact finding on alleged misconduct under the 
administrator’s direction.

(13) “disbarment” means revocation of the license to practice law. 

(14) “complainant” means a person who signs a request for investigation.

(15) “disability inactive status” means inactive status to which a lawyer has been 
transferred pursuant to MCR 9.121 or a similar rule of another jurisdiction.
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(16)”disciplinary proceeding” means a proceeding commenced under this subchapter 
seeking the imposition of discipline for misconduct.

RULE 9.102 CONSTRUCTION; SEVERABILITY

(A) Construction. Subchapter 9.100 is to be liberally construed for the protection of the 
public, the courts, and the legal profession and applies to all pending matters of 
misconduct and reinstatement and to all future proceedings, even though the alleged 
misconduct occurred before the effective date of subchapter 9.100. Procedures must be as 
expeditious as possible. 

(B) Severability. If a court finds a portion of subchapter 9.100 or its application to a 
person or circumstances invalid, the invalidity does not affect the remaining portions or 
other applications. To this end the rules are severable.

RULE 9.103 STANDARDS OF CONDUCT FOR ATTORNEYS

(A) General Principles. The license to practice law in Michigan is, among other things, a 
continuing proclamation by the Supreme Court that the holder is fit to be entrusted with 
professional and judicial matters and to aid in the administration of justice as an attorney 
and counselor and as an officer of the court. It is the duty of every attorney to conduct 
himself or herself at all times in conformity with standards imposed on members of the bar 
as a condition of the privilege to practice law. These standards include, but are not limited 
to, the rules of professional responsibility and the rules of judicial conduct that are adopted 
by the Supreme Court.

(B) Duty to Assist Public to Request Investigation. An attorney shall assist a member of 
the public to communicate to the administrator, in appropriate form, a request for 
investigation of a member of the bar. An attorney shall not charge or collect a fee in 
connection with answering a request for investigation unless he or she is acting as counsel 
for a respondent in connection with a disciplinary investigation or proceeding.

(C) Duty to Assist Administrator. An attorney other than a respondent or respondent’s 
attorney shall cooperate with the administrator in the investigation, prosecution, and 
disposition of a request for investigation or proceeding under this subchapter.

RULE 9.104 GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE IN GENERAL

The following acts or omissions by an attorney, individually or in concert with another 
person, are misconduct and grounds for discipline, whether or not occurring in the course of an 
attorney-client relationship:

(1) conduct prejudicial to the proper administration of justice;

(2) conduct that exposes the legal profession or the courts to obloquy, contempt, 
censure, or reproach;

(3) conduct that is contrary to justice, ethics, honesty, or good morals;
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(4) conduct that violates the standards or rules of professional conduct adopted by the 
Supreme Court;

(5) conduct that violates a criminal law of a state or of the United States, an ordinance, 
or tribal law pursuant to MCR 2.615;

(6) knowing misrepresentation of any facts or circumstances surrounding a request for 
investigation or complaint;

(7) failure to answer a request for investigation or complaint in conformity with MCR 
9.113 and 9.115(D);

(8) contempt of the board or a hearing panel;

(9) violation of an order of discipline; or

(10) entering into an agreement or attempting to obtain an agreement, that:

(a)the professional misconduct or the terms of a settlement of a claim for 
professional misconduct shall not be reported to the administrator;

(b)the plaintiff shall withdraw a request for investigation or shall not cooperate 
with the investigation or prosecution of misconduct by the administrator; or

(c)the record of any civil action for professional misconduct shall be sealed from 
review by the administrator.

RULE 9.105 PURPOSE AND FUNDING OF DISCIPLINARY PROCEEDINGS

(A) Purpose. Discipline for misconduct is not intended as punishment for wrongdoing, but 
for the protection of the public, the courts, and the legal profession. The fact that certain 
misconduct has remained unchallenged when done by others or when done at other times 
or has not been earlier made the subject of disciplinary proceedings is not an excuse. 

(B) Funding. The legal profession, through the State Bar of Michigan, is responsible for 
the reasonable and necessary expenses of the board, the commission, and the 
administrator, as determined by the Supreme Court. 

RULE 9.106 TYPES OF DISCIPLINE; MINIMUM DISCIPLINE

Misconduct is grounds for:

(1) disbarment of an attorney from the practice of law in Michigan;

(2) suspension of the license to practice law in Michigan for a specified term, not less 
than 30 days, with such additional conditions relevant to the established misconduct as 
a hearing panel, the board, or the Supreme Court may impose, and, if the term exceeds 
179 days, until the further order of a hearing panel, the board, or the Supreme Court;

(3) reprimand with such conditions relevant to the established misconduct as a hearing 
panel, the board, or the Supreme Court may impose;

(4) probation ordered by a hearing panel, the board, or the Supreme Court under MCR 
9.121(C); or



Chapter 9. Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Page 798  Updated April 26, 2024 

(5) requiring restitution, in an amount set by a hearing panel, the board, or the 
Supreme Court, as a condition of an order of discipline.

RULE 9.107 RULES EXCLUSIVE ON DISCIPLINE

(A) Proceedings for Discipline. Subchapter 9.100 governs the procedure to discipline 
attorneys. A proceeding under subchapter 9.100 is subject to the superintending control of 
the Supreme Court. An investigation or proceeding may not be held invalid because of a 
nonprejudicial irregularity or an error not resulting in a miscarriage of justice.

(B) Local Bar Associations. A local bar association may not conduct a separate 
proceeding to discipline an attorney.

RULE 9.108 ATTORNEY GRIEVANCE COMMISSION

(A) Authority of Commission. The Attorney Grievance Commission is the prosecution 
arm of the Supreme Court for discharge of its constitutional responsibility to supervise 
and discipline Michigan attorneys and those temporarily admitted to practice under MCR 
8.126 or otherwise subject to the disciplinary authority of the Supreme Court.

(B) Composition. The commission consists of 3 laypersons and 6 attorneys appointed by 
the Supreme Court. The members serve 3-year terms. A member may not serve more than 
2 full terms. 

(C) Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson. The Supreme Court shall designate from among 
the members of the commission a chairperson and a vice-chairperson who shall serve 1-
year terms in those offices. The commencement and termination dates for the 1-year terms 
shall coincide appropriately with the 3-year membership terms of those officers and the 
other commission members. The Supreme Court may reappoint these officers for 
additional terms and may remove these officers prior to the expiration of a term. An 
officer appointed to fill a mid-term vacancy shall serve the remainder of that term and may 
be reappointed to serve up to 2 more full terms.

(D) Internal Rules.

(1) The commission must elect annually from among its membership a secretary to 
keep the minutes of the commission’s meetings and issue the required notices. 

(2) Five members constitute a quorum. The commission acts by majority vote of the 
members participating in the meeting.

(3) The commission must meet monthly at a time and place the chairperson designates. 
Notice of a regular monthly meeting is not required.

(4) A special meeting may be called by the chairperson or by petition of 3 commission 
members on 7 days’ written notice. The notice may be waived in writing or by 
attending the meeting. Special meetings may be conducted through electronic means.
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(E) Powers and Duties. The commission has the power and duty to:

(1) recommend attorneys to the Supreme Court for appointment as administrator and 
deputy administrator;

(2) supervise the investigation of attorney misconduct, including requests for 
investigation of and complaints against attorneys;

(3) supervise the administrator;

(4) when prompt action is required, seek an injunction from the Supreme Court 
enjoining an attorney’s misconduct or enjoining an attorney from engaging in the 
practice of law, even if a disciplinary proceeding concerning that conduct is not 
pending before the board;

(5) annually propose a budget for the commission and the administrator’s office, 
including compensation, and submit it to the Supreme Court for approval;

(6) submit to the Supreme Court proposed changes in these rules; and

(7) perform other duties provided in these rules.

RULE 9.109 GRIEVANCE ADMINISTRATOR

(A) Appointment. The administrator and the deputy administrator must be attorneys. The 
commission may recommend one or more candidates for appointment as administrator 
and deputy administrator. The Supreme Court shall appoint the administrator and the 
deputy administrator, may terminate their appointments at any time with or without cause, 
and shall determine their salaries and the other terms and conditions of their employment.

(B) Powers and Duties. The administrator has the power and duty to:

(1) employ or retain attorneys, investigators, and staff with the approval of the 
commission;

(2) supervise the attorneys, investigators, and staff;

(3) assist the public in preparing requests for investigation;

(4) maintain the commission records created as a result of these rules;

(5) investigate alleged misconduct of attorneys, including initiating an investigation in 
his or her own name if necessary;

(6) prosecute complaints the commission authorizes;

(7) prosecute or defend reviews and appeals as the commission authorizes; and

(8) report to the Supreme Court at least quarterly regarding the commission’s 
activities, and to submit a joint annual report with the board that summarizes the 
activities of both agencies during the past year; and

(9) perform other duties provided in these rules or assigned by the commission.

(C) Legal Counsel for the Administrator.
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(1) The administrator may appoint and retain volunteer legal counsel needed to 
prosecute proceedings under these rules.

(2) Legal counsel may

(a) commence proceedings under this subchapter;

(b) present evidence relating to disciplinary and court proceedings;

(c) prepare and file arguments and briefs;

(d) inform the administrator about the progress of cases assigned; and 

(e) perform other duties assigned by the administrator.

RULE 9.110 ATTORNEY DISCIPLINE BOARD

(A) Authority of Board. The Attorney Discipline Board is the adjudicative arm of the 
Supreme Court for discharge of its exclusive constitutional responsibility to supervise and 
discipline Michigan attorneys and those temporarily admitted to practice under MCR 
8.126 or otherwise subject to the disciplinary authority of the Supreme Court.

(B) Composition. The board consists of 6 attorneys and 3 laypersons appointed by the 
Supreme Court. The members serve 3-year terms. A member may not serve more than 2 
full terms. 

(C) Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson. The Supreme Court shall designate from among 
the members of the board a chairperson and a vice-chairperson who shall serve 1-year 
terms in those offices. The commencement and termination dates of the 1-year terms shall 
coincide appropriately with the 3-year board terms of those officers and the other board 
members. The Supreme Court may reappoint these officers for additional terms and may 
remove an officer prior to the expiration of a term. An officer appointed to fill a midterm 
vacancy shall serve the remainder of that term and may be reappointed to serve two full 
terms. 

(D) Internal Rules.

(1) The board must elect annually from among its membership a secretary to supervise 
the keeping of the minutes of the board’s meetings and the issuance of the required 
notices.

(2) Five members constitute a quorum. The board acts by a majority vote of the 
members present.

(3) The board shall meet monthly as often as necessary to maintain a current docket, 
but no less than every 2 months, at a time and place the chairperson designates. 

(4) A special meeting may be called by the chairperson or by petition of 3 board 
members on 7 days’ written notice. The notice may be waived in writing or by 
attending the meeting.

(E) Powers and Duties. The board has the power and duty to:
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(1) appoint an attorney to serve as its general counsel and executive director;

(2) appoint hearing panels, masters, monitors and mentors;

(3) assign a proceeding under this subchapter to a hearing panel or to a master, except 
that a proceeding for reinstatement under MCR 9.124 may not be assigned to a master; 

(4) on request of the respondent, the administrator, or the complainant, review a final 
order of discipline or dismissal by a hearing panel;

(5) on leave granted by the board, review a nonfinal order of a hearing panel;

(6) discipline and reinstate attorneys under these rules and exercise continuing 
jurisdiction over orders of discipline and reinstatement; 

(7) file with the Supreme Court clerk its orders of suspension, disbarment, and 
reinstatement;

(8) annually propose a budget for the board and submit it to the Supreme Court for 
approval;

(9) report to the Supreme Court at least quarterly regarding its activities, and to submit 
a joint annual report with the Attorney Grievance Commission that summarizes the 
activities of both agencies during the past year; and

(10) submit to the Supreme Court proposed changes in these rules. 

RULE 9.111 HEARING PANELS

(A) Composition; Quorum. The board must establish hearing panels from a list of 
volunteer lawyers maintained by its executive director. The board must annually appoint 3 
attorneys to each hearing panel and must fill a vacancy as it occurs. Following 
appointment, the board may designate the panel’s chairperson, vice-chairperson and 
secretary. Thereafter, a hearing panel may elect a chairperson, vice-chairperson and 
secretary. A hearing panel must convene at the time and place designated by its 
chairperson or by the board. Two members constitute a quorum. A hearing panel acts by a 
majority vote. If a panel is unable to reach a majority decision, the matter shall be referred 
to the board for reassignment to a new panel.

(B)Hearing Panelists or Masters; Discipline.

(1)An attorney shall not be appointed as a hearing panelist or master if he or she:

(a)has ever been the subject of an order that imposes discipline, or

(b)has been admonished or placed on contractual probation within the preceding 5 
years.

(2)A hearing panelist or master who becomes the subject of an order imposing 
discipline, an admonition, or placement on contractual probation shall be removed 
from the roster of hearing panelists. A hearing panelist or master who becomes the 
subject of a formal discipline proceeding shall be removed from consideration of any 
pending matter; shall be placed on the ADB’s roster of inactive panelists; and shall not 
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be assigned to a panel until the formal discipline proceeding has been resolved.   A 
hearing panelist or master who becomes the subject of an otherwise confidential 
request for investigation must disclose that investigation to the parties in the matter 
before the panelist or master, or must disqualify himself or herself from participation 
in the matter.

(C) Powers and Duties. A hearing panel shall do the following:

(1) Schedule a public hearing on a proceeding under this subchapter assigned to it 
within 56 days after the proceeding is commenced or after the date that notice of the 
reinstatement is published, except that a proceeding for reciprocal discipline shall be 
governed by MCR 9.120. A hearing must be concluded within 91 days after it is 
begun, unless the board grants an extension for good cause.

(2) Receive evidence and make written findings of fact. 

(3) Discipline and reinstate attorneys or dismiss a complaint by order under these rules 
and exercise continuing jurisdiction over its orders of discipline and reinstatement.

(4) Report its actions to the board within 35 days of the later of the filing of the 
transcript or the closing of the record, unless extended by the board chairperson.

(5) Perform other duties provided in these rules. 

RULE 9.112 REQUESTS FOR INVESTIGATION

(A) Availability to Public. The administrator shall furnish a form for a request for 
investigation to a person who alleges misconduct against an attorney. Use of the form is 
not required for filing a request for investigation.

(B) Form of Request. A request for investigation of alleged misconduct must

(1) be in writing;

(2) describe the alleged misconduct, including the approximate time and place of it;

(3) be signed by the complainant; and

(4) be filed with the administrator.

(C) Handling by Administrator.

(1) Request for Investigation of Attorney. After a preliminary review, the 
administrator shall either

(a) notify the complainant and the respondent that the allegations of the request for 
investigation are inadequate, incomplete, or insufficient to warrant the further 
attention of the commission; or

(b) serve a copy of the request for investigation on the respondent by ordinary mail 
at the respondent’s address on file with the State Bar as required by Rule 2 of the 
Supreme Court Rules Concerning the State Bar of Michigan. Service is effective at 
the time of mailing, and nondelivery does not affect the validity of service. If a 
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respondent has not filed an answer, no formal complaint shall be filed with the 
board unless the administrator has served the request for investigation by 
registered or certified mail return receipt requested.

(2) Request for Investigation of Judge. The administrator shall forward to the Judicial 
Tenure Commission a request for investigation of a judge, even if the request arises 
from the judge’s conduct before he or she became a judge or from conduct 
unconnected with his or her judicial office. MCR 9.116 thereafter governs.

(3) Request for Investigation of Member or Employee of Commission or Board, or the 
Relative of Member or Employee of Commission or Board. Except as modified by 
MCR 9.131, MCR 9.104-9.130 apply to a request for investigation of an attorney who 
is a member of or is employed by the board or the commission, or who is a relative of 
a member or employee of the board or commission.

“Relative” includes spouse, child, parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, first 
cousin, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-
in-law, mother-in-law, and father-in-law, whether natural, adopted, step or foster. The 
term also includes same-sex or different-sex individuals who have a relationship of a 
romantic, intimate, committed, or dating nature.

(D) Subpoenas.

(1) After the request for investigation has been served on the respondent, the 
commission may issue subpoenas to require the appearance of a witness or the 
production of documents or other tangible things concerning matters then under 
investigation. Upon request filed with the board, the board chairperson may quash or 
modify the subpoena if compliance would be unreasonable or oppressive. Documents 
or other tangible things so produced may be retained by the grievance administrator, 
copied, or may be subjected to nondestructive testing. Subpoenas shall be returnable 
before the administrator or a person designated by the administrator.

(2) A person who without just cause, after being commanded by a subpoena, fails or 
refuses to appear or give evidence, to be sworn or affirmed, or to answer a proper 
question after being ordered to do so is in contempt. The administrator may initiate a 
contempt proceeding before the board chairperson or his or her designee, or under 
MCR 3.606 in the circuit court for the county where the act or refusal to act occurred. 
In the event of a finding of contempt by the respondent, the respondent’s license to 
practice law may be suspended until he or she complies with the order of the board 
chairperson or his or her designee.

(3) A subpoena issued pursuant to this subrule and certified by the commission 
chairperson shall be sufficient authorization for taking a deposition or seeking the 
production of evidence outside the State of Michigan. If the deponent or the person 
possessing the subpoenaed evidence will not comply voluntarily, the proponent of the 
subpoena may utilize MCR 2.305(D) or any similar provision in a statute or court rule 
of Michigan or of the state, territory, or country where the deponent or possessor 
resides or is present.
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(4)Upon receipt of a subpoena certified to be duly issued under the rules or laws of 
another lawyer disciplinary or admissions jurisdiction, the administrator may issue a 
subpoena directing a person domiciled or found within the state of Michigan to give 
testimony and/or produce documents or other things for use in the other lawyer 
disciplinary proceedings as directed in the subpoena of the other jurisdiction. The 
practice and procedure applicable to subpoenas issued under this subdivision shall be 
that of the other jurisdiction, except that:

(a)the testimony or production shall be only in the county where the person resides 
or is employed, or as otherwise fixed by the grievance administrator for good 
cause shown; and,

(b)compliance with any subpoena issued pursuant to this subdivision and contempt 
for failure in this respect shall be sought as elsewhere provided in this subchapter.

(5) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, a subpoena issued under this rule 
may require a party or witness to appear by telephone or by videoconferencing 
technology. Telephonic proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.402, and 
videoconference proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.407.

RULE 9.113 ANSWER BY RESPONDENT

(A) Answer. Within 21 days after being served with a request for investigation under 
MCR 9.112(C)(1)(b) or such further time as permitted by the administrator, the 
respondent shall file with the administrator a written answer signed by respondent in 
duplicate fully and fairly disclosing all the facts and circumstances pertaining to the 
alleged misconduct. Misrepresentation in the answer is grounds for discipline. 
Respondent’s signature constitutes verification that he or she has read the document. The 
administrator shall provide a copy of the answer and any supporting documents, or 
documents related to a refusal to answer under MCR 9.113(B)(1), to the person who filed 
the request for investigation. If the administrator determines that there is cause for not 
disclosing some or all of the answer or documents supporting the answer, then the 
administrator need not provide those portions of the answer or the supporting documents 
to the person who filed the request for investigation.

(B) Refusal or Failure to Answer.

(1) A respondent may refuse to answer a request for investigation on expressed 
constitutional or professional grounds.

(2) The failure of a respondent to answer within the time period required under these 
rules other than as permitted in subrule (B)(1), or as further permitted by the 
administrator is misconduct. See MCR 9.104(A)(7).

(3) If a respondent refuses to answer under subrule (B)(1), the refusal may be 
submitted under seal to a hearing panel for adjudication. If a panel finds that the 
refusal was not proper, it shall direct the attorney to answer the request for 
investigation within 21 days after its order.
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(C) Attorney-Client Privilege. A person who files a request for investigation of an attorney 
irrevocably waives any attorney-client privilege that he or she may have as to matters 
relating to the request for the purposes of the commission’s investigation.

(D) Representation by Attorney. The respondent may be represented by an attorney.

RULE 9.114 ACTION BY ADMINISTRATOR OR COMMISSION AFTER ANSWER

(A) Action After Investigation. After an answer is filed or the time for filing an answer has 
expired, the administrator may 

(1) dismiss the request for investigation and notify the complainant and the respondent 
of the reasons for the dismissal,

(2) conduct further investigation. Upon completion of the investigation, the grievance 
administrator shall refer the matter to the commission for its review. The commission 
may direct that a complaint be filed, that the file be closed, that the respondent be 
admonished or placed on contractual probation with the respondent’s consent, or

(3)close a file administratively where warranted under the circumstances.

(B)Admonition. With a respondent’s consent, a respondent may be admonished by the 
commission without filing a complaint. An admonition does not constitute discipline and 
shall be confidential except as provided by this rule, MCR 9.115(J)(3) and by MCR 
9.126(D)(4).

(1)The administrator shall notify the respondent of the provisions of this rule by 
ordinary mail at the respondent’s address on file with the state bar as required by Rule 
2 of the Supreme Court Rules Concerning the State Bar of Michigan, or as otherwise 
directed by respondent.

(2)The respondent may, within 21 days of service of the admonition or such additional 
time as permitted by the administrator, notify the commission in writing that 
respondent objects to the admonition. Upon timely receipt of the written objection, the 
commission shall vacate the admonition and either dismiss the request for 
investigation or authorize the filing of a complaint. Failure of a respondent to object 
constitutes an acceptance.

(C) Contractual Probation. For purposes of this subrule, “contractual probation” means the 
placement of a consenting respondent on probation by the commission, without the filing 
of formal charges. Contractual probation does not constitute discipline, and shall be 
confidential under MCR 9.126 except as provided by MCR 9.115(J)(3).

(1) If the commission finds that the alleged misconduct, if proven, would not result in 
disbarment or a substantial suspension of a respondent’s license to practice law, the 
commission may defer disposition of the matter and place the respondent on 
contractual probation for a period not to exceed three years, provided the following 
criteria are met:
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(a) the misconduct is significantly related to respondent’s substance abuse 
problem, or mental or physical infirmity or disability,

(b) the terms and conditions of the contractual probation, which shall include an 
appropriate period of treatment, are agreed upon by the commission and the 
respondent, and

(c) the commission determines that contractual probation is appropriate and in the 
best interests of the public, the courts, the legal profession, and the respondent.

(2)A contractual probation may include one or more of these requirements:

(a)Periodic alcohol or drug testing.

(b)Attendance at support-group or comparable meetings.

(c)Professional counseling on a regular basis.

(d)An initial written diagnosis and prognosis by the provider followed by quarterly 
verification of treatment by the provider as agreed upon by the commission and the 
respondent. The provider shall notify the commission of any failure to adhere to 
the treatment plan.

(3) The respondent is responsible for any costs associated with the contractual 
probation and related treatment.

(4) Upon written notice to the respondent and an opportunity to file written objections, 
the commission may terminate the contractual probation and file disciplinary 
proceedings or take other appropriate action based on the misconduct, if

(a) the respondent fails to satisfactorily complete the terms and conditions of the 
contractual probation, or

(b) the commission concludes that the respondent has committed other misconduct 
that warrants the filing of a formal complaint.

(5) The placing of a respondent on contractual probation shall constitute a final 
disposition that entitles the complainant to notice in accordance with MCR 9.114(D), 
and to file an action in accordance with MCR 9.122(A)(2).

(D) Assistance of Law Enforcement Agencies. The administrator may request a law 
enforcement office to assist in an investigation by furnishing all available information 
about the respondent. Law enforcement officers are requested to comply promptly with 
each request.

(E)Assistance of Courts. If the grievance administrator determines that a nonpublic court 
file exists, including files on expunged convictions, and that it is relevant to a pending 
investigation concerning a respondent attorney, the administrator may request that a court 
release to the Attorney Grievance Commission the nonpublic court file. Courts are 
requested to comply promptly with each request.
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(F) Report by Administrator. The administrator shall inform the complainant and, if the 
respondent answered, the respondent, of the final disposition of every request for 
investigation.

(G) Retention of Records. All files and records relating to allegations of misconduct by an 
attorney must be retained by the commission for the lifetime of the attorney, except as 
follows:

(1)Where 3 years have passed from the conclusion of formal disciplinary action or the 
issuance of an admonishment, nonessential documents may be discarded. 

(2) The administrator may destroy the files or records relating to a closed or dismissed 
request for investigation after 3 years have elapsed from the date of dismissal or 
closing.

(3) If no request for investigation was pending when the files or records were created 
or acquired, and no related request for investigation was filed subsequently, the 
administrator may destroy the files or records after 1 year has elapsed from the date 
when they were created or acquired by the commission.

RULE 9.115 HEARING PANEL PROCEDURE

(A) Rules Applicable. Except as otherwise provided in these rules, the rules governing 
practice and procedure in a nonjury civil action apply to a proceeding before a hearing 
panel. Pleadings must conform as nearly as practicable to the requirements of subchapter 
2.100. The original of the formal complaint and all other pleadings must be filed with the 
board. The formal complaint must be served on the respondent. All other pleadings must 
be served on the opposing party and each member of the hearing panel. Proof of service of 
the formal complaint may be filed at any time prior to the date of the hearing. Proof of 
service of all other pleadings must be filed with the original pleadings. 

(B) Complaint. Except as provided by MCR 9.120, a complaint setting forth the facts of 
the alleged misconduct begins proceedings before a hearing panel. The administrator shall 
prepare the complaint, file it with the board, and serve it on the respondent and a 
respondent’s employer. The unwillingness of a complainant to proceed, or a settlement 
between the complainant and the respondent, does not itself affect the right of the 
administrator to proceed.

(C) Service. Service of the complaint and a default must be made by personal service or by 
registered or certified mail addressed to the person at the person’s last known address. An 
attorney’s last known address is the address on file with the state bar as required by Rule 2 
of the Supreme Court Rules Concerning the State Bar of Michigan. A respondent’s 
attorney of record must also be served, but service may be made under MCR 2.107. 
Service is effective at the time of mailing, and nondelivery does not affect the validity of 
the service.

(D) Answer.
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(1) A respondent must serve and file a signed answer or take other action permitted by 
law or these rules within 21 days after being served with the complaint in the manner 
provided in MCR 9.115(C). A signature constitutes verification that the respondent 
has read the answer or other response.

(2) A default, with the same effect as a default in a civil action, may enter against a 
respondent who fails within the time permitted to file an answer admitting, denying, or 
explaining the complaint, or asserting the grounds for failing to do so.

(E) Representation by Attorney. The respondent may be represented by an attorney, who 
must enter an appearance, which has the same effect as an appearance under MCR 2.117.

(F) Prehearing Procedure.

(1) Extensions. If good cause is shown, the hearing panel chairperson may grant one 
extension of time per party for filing pleadings and may grant one adjournment per 
party. Additional requests may be granted by the board chairperson if good cause is 
shown. Pending criminal or civil litigation of substantial similarity to the allegations of 
the complaint is not necessarily grounds for an adjournment.

(2) Motion to Disqualify.

(a) Within 14 days after an answer has been filed or the time for filing the answer 
has expired, each member of the hearing panel shall disclose in a writing filed with 
the board any information that the member believes could be grounds for 
disqualification under the guidelines of MCR 2.003(C), including pending 
requests for investigation filed against the member. The duty to disclose shall be a 
continuing one. The board shall serve a copy of the disclosure on each party and 
each panel member.

(b) A motion to disqualify must be filed within 14 days after the moving party 
discovers the ground for disqualification. If the discovery is made within 14 days 
of the hearing date, the motion must be made forthwith. If a motion is not timely 
filed, untimeliness is a factor in deciding whether the motion should be granted. 
All known grounds for disqualification must be included at the time the motion is 
filed. An affidavit must accompany the motion. The board chairperson shall decide 
the motion under the guidelines of MCR 2.003.

(c) The board must assign a substitute for a disqualified member of a hearing 
panel. If all are disqualified, the board must reassign the complaint to another 
panel.

(3) Amendment of Pleadings. The administrator and the respondent each may amend a 
pleading once as a matter of course within 14 days after being served with a 
responsive pleading by the opposing party, or within 15 days after serving the pleading 
if it does not require a responsive pleading. Otherwise, a party may amend a pleading 
only by leave granted by the hearing panel chairperson or with the written consent of 
the adverse party.

(4) Discovery. Pretrial or discovery proceedings are not permitted, except as follows:
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(a) Within 21 days after the service of a formal complaint, a party may demand in 
writing that documentary evidence that is to be introduced at the hearing by the 
opposing party be made available for inspection or copying. Within 14 days after 
service of a written demand, the documents shall be made available, provided that 
the administrator need not comply prior to the filing of the respondent’s answer; in 
such case, the administrator shall comply with the written demand within 14 days 
after the filing of the respondent’s answer. The respondent shall comply with the 
written demand within 14 days, except that the respondent need not comply until 
the time for filing an answer to the formal complaint has expired. Any other 
documentary evidence to be introduced at the hearing by either party shall be 
supplied to the other party no later than 14 days prior to the hearing. Any 
documentary evidence not so supplied shall be excluded from the hearing except 
for good cause shown.

(i) Within 21 days after the service of a formal complaint, a party may demand 
in writing that the opposing party supply written notification of the name and 
address of any person to be called as a witness at the hearing. Within 14 days 
after the service of a written demand, the notification shall be supplied. 
However, the administrator need not comply prior to the filing of the 
respondent’s answer to the formal complaint; in such cases, the administrator 
shall comply with the written demand within 14 days of the filing of the 
respondent’s answer to the formal complaint. The respondent shall comply 
with the written demand within 14 days, except that the respondent need not 
comply until the time for filing an answer to the formal complaint has expired. 
Except for good cause shown, a party who is required to give said notification 
must give supplemental notice to the adverse party within 7 days after any 
additional witness has been identified, and must give the supplemental notice 
immediately if the additional witness is identified less than 14 days before a 
scheduled hearing.

(ii)Within 21 days following the filing of an answer, the administrator and 
respondent shall exchange the names and addresses of all persons having 
knowledge of relevant facts and comply with reasonable requests for (1) non-
privileged information and evidence relevant to the charges against the 
respondent, and (2) other material upon good cause shown to the chair of the 
hearing panel.

(b) A deposition may be taken of a witness who lives outside the state or is 
physically unable to attend the hearing. For good cause shown, the hearing panel 
may allow the parties to depose other witnesses.

(c) The hearing panel may order a prehearing conference held before a panel 
member to obtain admissions or otherwise narrow the issues presented by the 
pleadings.

If a party fails to comply with subrule (F)(4)(a), the hearing panel or the board 
may, on motion and showing of material prejudice as a result of the failure, impose 
one or more of the sanctions set forth in MCR 2.313(B)(2)(a)-(c).



Chapter 9. Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Page 810  Updated April 26, 2024 

(5) Discipline by Consent. 

(a) In exchange for a stated form of discipline and on the condition that the plea or 
admission is accepted by the commission and the hearing panel, a respondent may 
offer to 

(i) plead no contest to or admit all or some of the facts and misconduct alleged 
in the complaint or otherwise agreed to by the parties or 

(ii) stipulate to facts and misconduct in a proceeding filed under subchapter 
9.100 not initiated by a formal complaint.

The respondent’s offer shall first be submitted to the commission. If an agreement 
is reached with the commission, the administrator and the respondent shall file 
with the board and the hearing panel a stipulation for a consent order of discipline. 
At the time of the filing, the administrator shall serve a copy of the stipulation 
upon the complainant.

(b) The stipulation shall include:

(i) admissions, which may be contained in an answer to the complaint, or a 
plea of no contest to facts sufficient to enable the hearing panel to determine 
the nature of the misconduct and conclude that the discipline proposed is 
appropriate in light of the identified misconduct;

(ii) citation to the applicable American Bar Association Standards for 
Imposing Lawyer Sanctions; and

(iii) disclosure of prior discipline.

Admonishments and contractual probations shall be filed separately and kept 
confidential until the hearing panel accepts the stipulation under this rule.

(c) Upon filing of a stipulation for a consent order of discipline, the hearing panel 
may:

(i) approve the stipulation and file a report and enter a final order of discipline; 
or

(ii) communicate with the administrator and the respondent about any concerns 
it may have regarding the stipulation. Before rejecting a stipulation, a hearing 
panel shall advise the parties that it is considering rejecting a stipulation and 
the basis for the rejection. The hearing panel shall provide an opportunity, at a 
status conference or comparable proceeding, for the parties to offer additional 
information in support of the stipulation.

(d) If a hearing panel rejects a stipulation, the hearing panel shall advise the parties 
in writing of its reason or reasons for rejecting the stipulation and allow the parties 
an opportunity to submit an amended stipulation.

(e) If a hearing panel rejects an amended stipulation, or if no amended stipulation 
is filed within 21 days after rejection of the initial stipulation, the matter shall be 
reassigned to a different hearing panel. Upon reassignment to a different hearing 
panel, 
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(i) the stipulation and any amended stipulation shall be deemed withdrawn,

(ii) statements and stipulations made in connection with the stipulation and any 
amended stipulation shall be inadmissible in disciplinary proceedings against 
the respondent and not binding on either party, and

(iii) the newly assigned hearing panel shall conduct a hearing.

(G) Hearing Time and Place; Notice. The board or the chairperson of the hearing panel 
shall set the time and place for a hearing. Notice of a hearing must be served by the board 
or the chairperson of the hearing panel on the administrator, the respondent, the 
complainant, and any attorney of record at least 21 days before the initial hearing. Unless 
the board or the chairperson of the hearing panel otherwise directs, the hearing must be in 
the county in which the respondent has or last had an office or residence. If the hearing 
panel fails to convene or complete its hearing within a reasonable time, the board may 
reassign the complaint to another panel or to a master. A party may file a motion for a 
change of venue. The motion must be filed with the board and shall be decided by the 
board chairperson, in part, on the basis of the guidelines in MCR 2.221. Notwithstanding 
MRE 615, there shall be a presumption that a complainant is entitled to be present during 
a hearing, which may only be overcome upon a finding by the panel, supported by facts 
that are particular to the proceeding, that testimony by the complainant is likely to be 
materially affected by exposure to other testimony at the hearing.

(H) Respondent’s Appearance. The respondent shall personally appear at the hearing, 
unless excused by the panel, and is subject to cross-examination as an opposite party 
under MCL 600.2161. 

(1)Where satisfactory proofs are entered into the record that a respondent possessed 
actual notice of the proceedings, but who still failed to appear, a panel shall suspend 
him or her effective 7 days from the date of entry of the order and until further order of 
the panel or the board.

(2) If the respondent, or the respondent’s attorney on his or her behalf, claims physical 
or mental incapacity as a reason for the respondent’s failure to appear before a hearing 
panel or the board, the panel or the board on its own initiative may, effective 
immediately, suspend the respondent from the practice of law until further order of the 
panel or board. The order of suspension must be filed and served as other orders of 
discipline.

(I) Hearing; Contempt.

(1) A hearing panel may issue subpoenas (including subpoenas for production of 
documents and other tangible things), cause testimony to be taken under oath, and rule 
on the admissibility of evidence under the Michigan Rules of Evidence. The oath or 
affirmation may be administered by a panel member. A subpoena must be issued in the 
name and under the seal of the board. It must be signed by a panel or board member, 
by the administrator, or by the respondent or the respondent’s attorney. A subpoenaed 
witness must be paid the same fee and mileage as a witness subpoenaed to testify in 
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the circuit court. Parties must notify their own witnesses of the date, time, and place of 
the hearing.

(2) A person who without just cause fails or refuses to appear and give evidence as 
commanded by a subpoena, to be sworn or affirmed, or to answer a proper question 
after he or she has been ordered to do so, is in contempt. The administrator may 
initiate a contempt proceeding under MCR 3.606 in the circuit court for the county 
where the act or refusal to act occurred.

(3) Upon a showing of good cause by a party, a panel may permit a witness to testify 
by telephonic, voice, or video conferencing. 

(4) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, a subpoena issued under this rule 
may require a party or witness to appear by telephone or by videoconferencing 
technology. Telephonic proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.402, and 
videoconference proceedings are subject to the provisions of MCR 2.407.

(J) Decision.

(1) The hearing panel must file a report on its decisions regarding the misconduct 
charges and, if applicable, the resulting discipline. The report must include a certified 
transcript, a summary of the evidence, pleadings, exhibits and briefs, and findings of 
fact. The discipline section of the report must also include a summary of all previous 
misconduct for which the respondent was disciplined, admonished, or placed on 
contractual probation.

(2) Upon a finding of misconduct, the hearing panel shall conduct a separate sanction 
hearing to determine the appropriate discipline. The sanction hearing shall be 
conducted as soon after the finding of misconduct as is practicable and may be held 
immediately following the panel’s ruling that misconduct has been established.

(3) If the hearing panel finds that the charge of misconduct is established by a 
preponderance of the evidence, it must enter an order of discipline. The order shall 
take effect 21 days after it is served on the respondent unless the panel finds good 
cause for the order to take effect on a different date, in which event the panel’s 
decision must explain the reasons for ordering a different effective date. The discipline 
ordered may be concurrent or consecutive to other discipline. In determining the 
discipline to be imposed, any and all relevant evidence of aggravation or mitigation 
shall be admissible, including, but not limited to, records of the board, previous 
admonitions and orders of discipline, and the previous placement of the respondent on 
contractual probation.

(4) If the hearing panel finds that the charge of misconduct is not established by a 
preponderance of the evidence, it must enter an order dismissing the complaint.

(5) The report and order must be signed by the panel chairperson and filed with the 
board and the administrator. A copy must be served on the parties as required by these 
rules.

(K) Stay of Discipline. If a discipline order is a suspension of 179 days or less, a stay of 
the discipline order will automatically issue on the timely filing by the respondent of a 
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petition for review and a petition for a stay of the discipline. If the discipline ordered is 
more severe than a suspension of 179 days, the respondent may petition the board for a 
stay pending review of the discipline order. Once granted, a stay remains effective until 
the further order of the board.

(L) Enforcement. The administrator shall take the necessary steps to enforce a discipline 
order after it is effective.

(M) Resignation by Respondent; Admission of Charges. An attorney’s resignation may 
not be accepted while a request for investigation or a complaint is pending, except 
pursuant to an order of disbarment.

RULE 9.116 JUDGES; FORMER JUDGES

(A)Judges. The administrator or commission may not take action against an incumbent 
judge, except that this rule does not prohibit an action by the administrator or commission 
against:

(1)a magistrate or referee for misconduct unrelated to judicial functions, whether 
before or during the period when the person serves as a magistrate or referee; or

(2)a visiting judge as provided in MCR 9.211(E). If the Judicial Tenure Commission 
receives a request for investigation of a magistrate or referee or visiting judge arising 
from the practice of law, the Judicial Tenure Commission shall refer the matter to the 
administrator or commission for investigation in the first instance. If the administrator 
or the commission dismisses the request for investigation referred by the Judicial 
Tenure Commission, or a request for investigation of a magistrate, referee or visiting 
judge submitted directly to the commission by a complainant, the administrator or 
commission shall notify the Judicial Tenure Commission, which may take action as it 
deems appropriate.

(B)Former Judges. The administrator or commission may take action against a former 
judge for conduct resulting in removal as a judge, and for any conduct which was not the 
subject of a disposition by the Judicial Tenure Commission or by the Court. The 
administrator or commission may not take action against a former judge for conduct 
where the court imposed a sanction less than removal or the Judicial Tenure Commission 
has taken any action under MCR 9.223(A)(1)-(5).

(C)Judicial Tenure Commission Record. The record of the Judicial Tenure Commission 
proceeding is admissible at a hearing involving a former judge. The administrator or the 
respondent may introduce additional evidence.

RULE 9.117 HEARING PROCEDURE BEFORE MASTER

If the board assigns a complaint to a master, the master shall hold a public hearing on the 
complaint and receive evidence. To the extent that MCR 9.115 may be applied, it governs 
procedure before a master. After the hearing, the master shall prepare a report containing
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(1) a brief statement of the proceedings,

(2) findings of fact, and

(3) conclusions of law.

The master shall file the report with a hearing panel designated by the board and serve a 
copy on the administrator and the respondent. Within 14 days after the report is filed, the 
administrator or the respondent may file objections to the report and a supporting brief. The panel 
must determine if the record supports the findings of fact and conclusions of law and impose 
discipline, if warranted. Further proceedings are governed by MCR 9.118.

RULE 9.118 REVIEW OF ORDER OF HEARING PANEL

(A) Review of Order; Time.

(1) The administrator, the complainant, or the respondent may petition the board in 
writing to review the order of a hearing panel filed under MCR 9.113(B), 9.115, 9.116, 
9.120, 9.121 or 9.124. The board may grant review of a nonfinal order and decide such 
interlocutory matters without a hearing. A petition for review must set forth the 
reasons and the grounds on which review is sought and must be filed with the board 
within 21 days after the order is served. The petitioner must serve copies of the 
petition and the accompanying documents on the other party and the complainant and 
file a proof of service with the board.

(2) A cross-petition for review may be filed within 21 days after the petition for review 
is served on the cross-petitioner. The cross-petition must be served on the other party 
and the complainant, and a proof of service must be filed with the board.

(3) A delayed petition for review may be considered by the board chairperson under 
the guidelines of MCR 7.205(A)(4). If a petition for review is filed more than 12 
months after the order of the hearing panel is entered, the petition may not be granted.

(B) Order to Show Cause. If a petition for review is timely filed or a delayed petition for 
review is accepted for filing, the board shall issue an order to show cause, at a date and 
time specified, why the order of the hearing panel should not be affirmed. The order shall 
establish a briefing schedule for all parties and may require that an answer to the petition 
or cross-petition be filed. An opposing party may file an answer even if the order does not 
require one. The board must serve the order to show cause on the administrator, 
respondent, and complainant at least 21 days before the hearing. Failure to comply with 
the order to show cause, including, but not limited to, a requirement for briefs, may be 
grounds for dismissal of a petition for review. Dismissal of a petition for review shall not 
affect the validity of a cross-petition for review.

(C) Hearing.

(1) A hearing on the order to show cause must be heard by a subboard of at least 3 
board members assigned by the chairperson. The board must make a final decision on 
consideration of the whole record, including a transcript of the presentation made to 
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the subboard and the subboard’s recommendation. The respondent shall appear 
personally at the review hearing unless excused by the board. Failure to appear may 
result in denial of any relief sought by the respondent, or any other action allowable 
under MCR 9.118(D).

(2) If the board believes that additional testimony should be taken, it may refer the 
case to a hearing panel or a master. The panel or the master shall then take the 
additional testimony and shall make a supplemental report, including a transcript of 
the additional testimony, pleadings, exhibits, and briefs with the board. Notice of the 
filing of the supplemental report and a copy of the report must be served as an original 
report and order of a hearing panel.

(D) Decision. After the hearing on the order to show cause, the board may affirm, amend, 
reverse, or nullify the order of the hearing panel in whole or in part or order other 
discipline. A discipline order is not effective until 28 days after it is served on the 
respondent unless the board finds good cause for the order to take effect earlier.

(E) Motion for Reconsideration; Stay. A motion for reconsideration may be filed at any 
time before the board’s order takes effect. An answer to a motion for reconsideration may 
be filed. If the discipline order is a suspension for 179 days or less, a stay of the discipline 
order will automatically issue on the timely filing by the respondent of a motion for 
reconsideration. If the discipline is greater than a 179-day suspension, the respondent may 
petition for a stay. If the board grants a stay, the stay remains effective for 28 days after 
the board enters its order granting or denying reconsideration. 

(F) Filing Orders. The board must file a copy of its discipline order with the Supreme 
Court clerk and the clerk of the county where the respondent resides and where his or her 
office is located. The order must be served on all parties. If the respondent requests it in 
writing, a dismissal order must be similarly filed and served.

RULE 9.119 CONDUCT OF DISBARRED, SUSPENDED, OR INACTIVE ATTORNEYS

(A) Notification to Clients. An attorney who has resigned under Rule 3 of the Rules 
Concerning the State Bar of Michigan, or been disbarred, or suspended, or who is 
transferred to inactive status pursuant to MCR 9.121, or who is suspended for 
nondisciplinary reasons pursuant to Rule 4 of the Supreme Court Rules Concerning the 
State Bar of Michigan, shall, within 7 days of the effective date of the order of discipline, 
resignation, the transfer to inactive status or the nondisciplinary suspension, notify all his 
or her active clients, in writing, by registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, of 
the following:

(1) the nature and duration of the discipline imposed, the transfer to inactive status, or 
the nondisciplinary suspension, or the resignation;

(2) the effective date of such discipline, transfer to inactive status, or nondisciplinary 
suspension, or resignation;
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(3) the attorney’s inability to act as an attorney after the effective date of such 
discipline, transfer to inactive status, nondisciplinary suspension, or resignation;

(4) the location and identity of the custodian of the clients’ files and records, which 
will be made available to them or to substitute counsel;

(5) that the clients may wish to seek legal advice and counsel elsewhere; provided that, 
if the disbarred, suspended, inactive, or resigned attorney was a member of a law firm, 
the firm may continue to represent each client with the client’s express written 
consent;

(6) the address to which all correspondence to the attorney may be addressed.

(B) Conduct in Litigated Matters. In addition to the requirements of subsection (A) of this 
rule, the affected attorney must, by the effective date of the order of disbarment, 
suspension, transfer to inactive status, or resignation, in every matter in which the attorney 
is representing a client in litigation, file with the tribunal and all parties a notice of the 
attorney’s disqualification from the practice of law. The affected attorney shall either file a 
motion to withdraw from the representation, or, with the client’s knowledge and consent, a 
substitution of counsel.

(C) Filing of Proof of Compliance. Within 14 days after the effective date of the order of 
disbarment, suspension, or transfer to inactive status, pursuant to MCR 9.121, or 
resignation the disbarred, suspended, inactive, or resigned attorney shall file with the 
administrator and the board an affidavit showing full compliance with this rule. The 
affidavit must include as an appendix copies of the disclosure notices and mailing receipts 
required under subrules (A) and (B) of this rule. The affidavit must set forth any claim by 
the affected attorney that he or she does not have active clients at the time of the effective 
date of the change in status. A disbarred, suspended, inactive, or resigned attorney shall 
keep and maintain records of the various steps taken under this rule so that, in any 
subsequent proceeding instituted by or against him or her, proof of compliance with this 
rule and with the disbarment or suspension order will be available.

(D) Conduct After Entry of Order Prior to Effective Date. A disbarred or suspended 
attorney, after entry of the order of disbarment or suspension and prior to its effective date, 
shall not accept any new retainer or engagement as attorney for another in any new case or 
legal matter of any nature, unless specifically authorized by the board chairperson upon a 
showing of good cause and a finding that it is not contrary to the interests of the public and 
profession. However, during the period between the entry of the order and its effective 
date, the suspended or disbarred attorney may complete, on behalf of any existing client, 
all matters that were pending on the entry date.

(E) Conduct After Effective Date of Order. An attorney who is disbarred, suspended, 
transferred to inactive status pursuant to MCR 9.121, or who resigns is, during the period 
of disbarment, suspension, or inactivity, or from and after the date of resignation, 
forbidden from:

(1) practicing law in any form;
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(2) having contact either in person, by telephone, or by electronic means, with clients 
or potential clients of a lawyer or law firm either as a paralegal, law clerk, legal 
assistant, or lawyer; 

(3) appearing as an attorney before any court, judge, justice, board, commission, or 
other public authority; and

(4) holding himself or herself out as an attorney by any means.

(F) Compensation of Disbarred, Suspended, Resigned, or Inactive Attorney. An attorney 
who has been disbarred or suspended, has resigned, or who is transferred to inactive status 
pursuant to MCR 9.121 may not share in any legal fees for legal services performed by 
another attorney during the period of disqualification from the practice of law. A 
disbarred, suspended, resigned, or inactive attorney may be compensated on a quantum 
meruit basis for legal services rendered and expenses paid by him or her prior to the 
effective date of the disbarment, suspension, resignation, or transfer to inactive status.

RULE 9.120 CONVICTION OF CRIMINAL OFFENSE; RECIPROCAL DISCIPLINE

(A) Notification of the Grievance Administrator and the Attorney Discipline Board. 

(1) When a lawyer is convicted of a crime, the lawyer, the prosecutor or other 
authority who prosecuted the lawyer, and the defense attorney who represented the 
lawyer must notify the grievance administrator and the board of the conviction. This 
notice must be given in writing within 14 days after the conviction.

(2)A lawyer who has been the subject of an order of discipline or transferred to 
inactive status by any court of record or any body authorized by law or by rule of court 
to conduct disciplinary proceedings against attorneys, of the United States, or of any 
state or territory of the United States or of the District of Columbia, or who has 
resigned from the bar or roster of attorneys in lieu of discipline by, or during the 
pendency of, discipline proceedings before such court or body shall inform the 
grievance administrator and board of entry of such order, transfer, or resignation 
within 14 days of the entry of the order, transfer, or resignation. 

(B) Criminal Conviction.

(1) On conviction of a felony, an attorney is automatically suspended until the 
effective date of an order filed by a hearing panel under MCR 9.115(J). A conviction 
occurs upon the return of a verdict of guilty or upon the acceptance of a plea of guilty 
or nolo contendere. The board may, on the attorney’s motion, set aside the automatic 
suspension when it appears consistent with the maintenance of the integrity and honor 
of the profession, the protection of the public, and the interests of justice. The board 
must set aside the automatic suspension if the felony conviction is vacated, reversed, 
or otherwise set aside for any reason by the trial court or an appellate court.

(2) In a disciplinary proceeding instituted against an attorney based on the attorney’s 
conviction of a criminal offense, a certified copy of the judgment of conviction is 
conclusive proof of the commission of the criminal offense.
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(3) The administrator may file with the board a judgment of conviction showing that 
an attorney has violated a criminal law of a state or of the United States, an ordinance, 
or tribal law pursuant to MCR 2.615. The board shall then order the attorney to show 
cause why a final order of discipline should not be entered, and the board shall refer 
the proceeding to a hearing panel for hearing. At the hearing, questions as to the 
validity of the conviction, alleged trial errors, and the availability of appellate 
remedies shall not be considered. After the hearing, the panel shall issue an order 
under MCR 9.115(J).

(4). On a pardon the board may, and on a reversal of the conviction the board must, by 
order filed and served under MCR 9.118(F), vacate the order of discipline. The 
attorney’s name must be returned to the roster of Michigan attorneys and counselors at 
law, but the administrator may nevertheless proceed against the respondent for 
misconduct which had led to the criminal charge. 

(C)Reciprocal Discipline. 

(1)A certified copy of a final adjudication by any court of record or any body 
authorized by law or by rule of court to conduct disciplinary proceedings against 
attorneys by any state or territory of the United States or of the District of Columbia, a 
United States court, or a federal administrative agency, determining that an attorney, 
whether or not admitted in that jurisdiction, has committed misconduct or has been 
transferred to disability inactive status, shall establish conclusively the misconduct or 
the disability for purposes of a proceeding under subchapter 9.100 of these rules and 
comparable discipline or transfer shall be imposed in the Michigan proceeding unless 
the respondent was not afforded due process of law in the course of the original 
proceedings, the imposition of comparable discipline or transfer in Michigan would be 
clearly inappropriate, or the reason for the original transfer to disability inactive status 
no longer exists. 

(2)Upon the filing by the grievance administrator of a certified copy of final 
adjudication described in paragraph (C)(1) with the board, the board shall issue an 
order directed to the lawyer and the administrator: 

(a)attaching a copy of the order from the other jurisdiction; and 

(b)directing, that, within 21 days from service of the order, the lawyer and 
administrator shall inform the board (i) of any objection to the imposition of 
comparable discipline or disability inactive status in Michigan based on the 
grounds set forth in paragraph (C)(1) of this rule, and (ii) whether a hearing is 
requested. 

(3)Upon receipt of an objection to the imposition of comparable discipline or 
disability inactive status raising one or more of the issues identified in paragraph 
(C)(1) of this rule, the board shall assign the matter to a hearing panel for disposition. 
The opposing party shall have 21 days to reply to an objection. If a hearing is 
requested, and the hearing panel grants the request, the hearing shall be held in 
accordance with the procedures set forth in MCR 9.115 except as otherwise provided 
in this rule. 
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(4)Papers filed under this rule shall conform as nearly as practicable to the 
requirements of subchapter 2.100 and shall be filed with the board and served on the 
opposing party and each member of the hearing panel once assigned. 

(5)The burden is on the party seeking to avoid the imposition of comparable discipline 
or transfer to disability inactive status to demonstrate that it is not appropriate for one 
or more of the grounds set forth in paragraph (C)(1). “Comparable” discipline does not 
mean that the dates of a period of disqualification from practice in this state must 
coincide with the dates of the period of disqualification, if any, in the original 
jurisdiction. 

(6)If the 21-day period discussed in paragraph (C)(2)(b) has expired without objection 
by either party, the respondent is in default, with the same effect as a default in a civil 
action, and the board shall impose comparable discipline or transfer to disability 
inactive status unless it appears that one of the grounds set forth in paragraph (C)(1) of 
this rule requires a different result, in which case the board shall schedule a hearing in 
accord with paragraph (3) of this rule. An order entered pursuant to this subparagraph 
may be set aside if the requirements of MCR 2.603(D) are established. 

(7)In the event the discipline or transfer to disability inactive status imposed in the 
original jurisdiction is stayed, any reciprocal discipline imposed in Michigan shall be 
deferred until the stay expires. 

RULE 9.121 ATTORNEY DECLARED TO BE INCOMPETENT OR ALLEGED TO BE INCAPACITATED OR 
ASSERTING IMPAIRED ABILITY 

(A) Adjudication by Court. If an attorney has been judicially declared incompetent or 
involuntarily committed on the grounds of incompetency or disability, the board, on 
proper proof of the fact, must enter an order effective immediately transferring the 
attorney to inactive status for an indefinite period and until further order of the board.

(B) Allegations of Incompetency or Incapacity.

(1) If it is alleged in a complaint by the administrator that an attorney is incapacitated 
to continue the practice of law because of mental or physical infirmity or disability or 
because of addiction to drugs or intoxicants, a hearing panel shall take action 
necessary to determine whether the attorney is incapacitated.

(a) Examination.

(i)Upon a showing of good cause that a mental or physical condition is the 
basis of respondent’s incompetency or incapacity as alleged in a complaint by 
the administrator, a hearing panel may order respondent to submit to one or 
more medical examination(s) or psychological examination(s) that are relevant 
to a condition of respondent shown to be in controversy.

(ii)If testing is ordered, the administrator and respondent may stipulate to the 
expert(s) who will conduct the examination(s), prepare a report within 28 days 
of the conclusion of the examination(s), and provide a copy of said report to 
both parties. The content of a report prepared by an expert(s) pursuant to this 
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paragraph is admissible into evidence in the proceedings, subject to relevancy 
objections.

(iii)If the administrator and/or respondent hire their own expert(s) to conduct 
the examination(s), the expert(s) will conduct the examination(s), prepare a 
report within 28 days of the conclusion of the examination(s), and provide a 
copy of said report to both parties. A report prepared pursuant to this paragraph 
is only admissible as substantive evidence upon stipulation by both parties. 
The respondent will be responsible for the expenses incurred by retaining his 
or her examiner.

(iv)On its own motion or on the motion of either party, the hearing panel may 
appoint an expert of its own selection to conduct the necessary examination(s).   
The expert so appointed will conduct the examination(s), prepare a report 
within 28 days of the conclusion of the examination(s), and provide a copy of 
said report to both parties. The content of a report prepared by an expert(s) 
pursuant to this paragraph is admissible into evidence in the proceedings 
unless, within 14 days of delivery of the report, a party objects, in which case 
either party may subpoena the expert(s) to testify at the hearing at that party’s 
expense.

(b)Expert’s Report

The expert’s report as required by paragraph (a) shall include:

(i)the expert’s resume or curriculum vitae;

(ii)a statement of facts, and a list of the tests that were administered and the test 
results;

(iii)a diagnosis, prognosis, a statement of limitations on the opinion because of 
the scope of the examination or testing, and recommendation for treatment, if 
any; and

(iv)no physician-patient privilege shall apply under this rule.

(2) The hearing panel shall provide notice to the attorney of the proceedings. Upon the 
request of a party, or on its own motion, and following a finding of good cause, a panel 
may recommend the appointment of counsel by the board to represent the respondent 
if he or she is without representation.

(3) If, after a hearing, the hearing panel concludes that the attorney is incapacitated 
from continuing to practice law, it shall enter an order transferring him or her to 
inactive status for an indefinite period and until further order of the board.

(4) Pending disciplinary proceedings against the attorney must be held in abeyance.

(5) Proceedings conducted under this subrule are subject to review by the board as 
provided in MCR 9.118.

(C) Assertion of Impaired Ability; Probation.
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(1) If, in response to a formal complaint filed under subrule 9.115(B), the respondent 
asserts in mitigation and thereafter demonstrates by a preponderance of the evidence 
that

(a) during the period when the conduct that is the subject of the complaint 
occurred, his or her ability to practice law competently was materially impaired by 
physical or mental disability or by drug or alcohol addiction,

(b) the impairment was the cause of or substantially contributed to that conduct,

(c) the cause of the impairment is susceptible to treatment, and

(d) he or she in good faith intends to undergo treatment, and submits a detailed 
plan for such treatment, the hearing panel, the board, or the Supreme Court may 
enter an order placing the respondent on probation for a specific period not to 
exceed 3 years if it specifically finds that an order of probation is not contrary to 
the public interest.

(2) If the respondent alleges impairment by physical or mental disability or by drug or 
alcohol addiction pursuant to subrule (C)(1), the hearing panel may order the 
respondent to submit to a physical or mental examination in accord with the procedure 
set forth in MCR 9.121(B)(1)(a). The panel may direct that the expense of the 
examination be paid by the respondent. A respondent who fails or refuses to comply 
with an examination order, or refuses to undergo an examination requested by the 
administrator, shall not be eligible for probation.

(3) The probation order

(a) must specify the treatment the respondent is to undergo, 

(b) may require the respondent to practice law only under the direct supervision of 
other attorneys, or

(c) may include any other terms the evidence shows are likely to eliminate the 
impairment without subjecting the respondent’s clients or the public to a 
substantial risk of harm because the respondent is permitted to continue to practice 
law during the probation period.

(4) A respondent may be placed on probation for up to 3 years. The probation order 
expires on the date specified in it unless the administrator petitions for, and the hearing 
panel, board, or court grants, an extension. An extension may not exceed 3 years. A 
probation order may be dissolved if the respondent demonstrates that the impairment 
giving rise to the probation order has been removed and that the probation order has 
been fully complied with, but only one motion to accelerate dissolution of a probation 
order may be filed during the probation period.

(5) On proof that a respondent has violated a probation order, he or she may be 
suspended or disbarred.

(D) Publication of Change in Status. The board must publish in the Michigan Bar Journal 
a notice of transfer to inactive status. A copy of the notice and the order must be filed and 
served under MCR 9.118.
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(E) Reinstatement. An attorney transferred to inactive status under this rule may not 
resume active status until reinstated by the board’s order and, if inactive 3 years or more, 
recertified by the Board of Law Examiners. The attorney may petition for reinstatement to 
active status once a year or at shorter intervals as the board may direct. A petition for 
reinstatement must be granted by a panel on a showing by clear and convincing evidence 
that the attorney’s disability has been removed and that he or she is fit to resume the 
practice of law. A panel may take the action necessary to determine whether the attorney’s 
disability has been removed, including an examination of the attorney conducted in accord 
with the procedure set forth in MCR 9.121(B)(1)(a). The panel may direct that the expense 
of the examination be paid by the attorney. If an attorney was transferred to inactive status 
under subrule 9.121(A) and subsequently has been judicially declared to be competent, a 
panel may dispense with further evidence that the disability has been removed and may 
order reinstatement to active status on terms it finds proper and advisable, including 
recertification.

(F) Waiver of Privilege. By filing a petition for reinstatement to active status under this 
rule, the attorney waives the doctor-patient privilege with respect to treatment during the 
period of his or her disability. The attorney shall disclose the name of every psychiatrist, 
psychologist, physician, and hospital or other institution by whom or in which the attorney 
has been examined or treated since the transfer to inactive status. The attorney shall 
furnish to a panel written consent for each to divulge whatever information and records 
are requested by the panel’s medical or psychological experts.

RULE 9.122 REVIEW BY SUPREME COURT

(A) Kinds Available; Time for Filing. 

(1) A party aggrieved, including the complainant, by a final order entered by the board 
on review under MCR 9.118, may apply for leave to appeal to the Supreme Court 
under MCR 7.305 within 28 days after the order is entered. If a motion for 
reconsideration is filed before the board’s order takes effect, the application for leave 
to appeal to the Supreme Court may be filed within 28 days after the board enters its 
order granting or denying reconsideration.

(2) If a request for investigation has been dismissed under MCR 9.112(C)(1)(a) or 
9.114(A), a party aggrieved by the dismissal may file a complaint in the Supreme 
Court under MCR 7.306 within 182 days after the date of the letter notifying the party 
of the dismissal.

(B) Rules Applicable. Except as modified by this rule, subchapter 7.300 governs an 
appeal.

(C) Stay of Order. If the discipline order is a suspension of 179 days or less, a stay of the 
order will automatically issue on the timely filing of an appeal by the respondent. The stay 
remains effective for 21 days following the conclusion of the appeal or further order of the 
Supreme Court. The respondent may petition the Supreme Court for a stay pending appeal 
of other orders of the board.
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(D) Record on Appeal. The original papers constitute the record on appeal. The board 
shall certify the original record and file it with the Supreme Court promptly after the briefs 
of the parties have been filed. The record must include a list of docket entries, a transcript 
of testimony taken, and all pleadings, exhibits, briefs, findings of fact, and orders in the 
proceeding. If the record contains material protected, the protection continues unless 
otherwise ordered by the Supreme Court.

(E) Disposition. The Supreme Court may make any order it deems appropriate, including 
dismissing the appeal. The parties may stipulate to dismiss the appeal with prejudice.

RULE 9.123 ELIGIBILITY FOR REINSTATEMENT

(A) Suspension, 179 Days or Less. An attorney whose license has been suspended for 179 
days or less pursuant to disciplinary proceedings may be reinstated in accordance with this 
rule. The attorney may file, not sooner than 7 days before the last day of the suspension, 
with the board and serve on the administrator an affidavit showing that the attorney has 
fully complied with all requirements of the suspension order. The affidavit must contain a 
statement that the attorney will continue to comply with the suspension order until the 
attorney is reinstated. A materially false statement contained in the affidavit is a basis for 
an action by the administrator and additional discipline. Within 7 days after the filing of 
the affidavit, the administrator may file with the board and serve on the attorney an 
objection to reinstatement based on the attorney’s failure to demonstrate compliance with 
the suspension order. If the administrator files an objection, an order of reinstatement will 
be issued only if the objection is withdrawn or a hearing panel makes a determination that 
the attorney has complied with the suspension order. An objection which cannot be 
resolved without the adjudication of a disputed issue of fact shall be promptly referred to a 
hearing panel for decision on an expedited basis. If the administrator does not file an 
objection and the board is not otherwise apprised of a basis to conclude that the attorney 
has failed to comply with the suspension order, the board must promptly issue an order of 
reinstatement. The order must be filed and served under MCR 9.118(F).

(B) Disbarment or Suspension More Than 179 Days. An attorney whose license to 
practice law has been revoked or suspended for more than 179 days is not eligible for 
reinstatement until the attorney has petitioned for reinstatement under MCR 9.124 and has 
established by clear and convincing evidence that:

(1) he or she desires in good faith to be restored to the privilege of practicing law in 
Michigan;

(2) the term of the suspension ordered has elapsed or 5 years have elapsed since his or 
her disbarment or resignation;

(3) he or she has not practiced or attempted to practice law contrary to the requirement 
of his or her suspension or disbarment;

(4) he or she has complied fully with the order of discipline;

(5) his or her conduct since the order of discipline has been exemplary and above 
reproach;
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(6) he or she has a proper understanding of and attitude toward the standards that are 
imposed on members of the bar and will conduct himself or herself in conformity with 
those standards;

(7) taking into account all of the attorney’s past conduct, including the nature of the 
misconduct which led to the revocation or suspension, he or she nevertheless can 
safely be recommended to the public, the courts, and the legal profession as a person 
fit to be consulted by others and to represent them and otherwise act in matters of trust 
and confidence, and in general to aid in the administration of justice as a member of 
the bar and as an officer of the court;

(8) he or she is in compliance with the requirements of subrule (C), if applicable; and

(9) he or she has reimbursed the client security fund of the State Bar of Michigan or 
has agreed to an arrangement satisfactory to the fund to reimburse the fund for any 
money paid from the fund as a result of his or her conduct. Failure to fully reimburse 
as agreed is ground for vacating an order of reinstatement.

(C) Reinstatement After Three Years. An attorney who, as a result of disciplinary 
proceedings, resigns, is disbarred, or is suspended for any period of time, and who does 
not practice law for 3 years or more, whether as the result of the period of discipline or 
voluntarily, must be recertified by the Board of Law Examiners before the attorney may 
be reinstated to the practice of law.

(D) Petition for Reinstatement; Filing Limitations.

(1) Except as provided in subrule (D)(3), an attorney whose license to practice law has 
been suspended may not file a petition for reinstatement earlier than 56 days before the 
term of suspension ordered has fully elapsed.

(2) Except as provided in subrule (D)(3), an attorney whose license to practice law has 
been revoked or who has resigned may not file a petition for reinstatement until 5 
years have elapsed since the attorney's resignation or disbarment.

(3) An attorney whose license to practice law has been revoked or suspended because 
of conviction of a felony for which a term of incarceration was imposed may not file a 
petition for reinstatement until the later of: 

(a) the period in subrule (D)(1) or (D)(2), as applicable in light of the discipline 
imposed; or

(b) six months after completion of the sentence, including any period of parole or 
supervised release.

(4) An attorney who has been disbarred or suspended and who has been denied 
reinstatement may not file a new petition for reinstatement until at least 1 year from 
the effective date of the most recent hearing panel order granting or denying 
reinstatement.

(E) Abatement or Modification of Conditions of Discipline or Reinstatement. When a 
condition has been imposed in an order of discipline or in an order of reinstatement, the 
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attorney may request an order of abatement discharging the lawyer from the obligation to 
comply with the condition, or an order modifying the condition. The attorney may so 
request either before or with the attorney’s affidavit of compliance under MCR 9.123(A) 
or petition for reinstatement under MCR 9.123(B). The request may be granted only if the 
attorney shows by clear and convincing evidence that a timely, good-faith effort has been 
made to meet the condition but it is impractical to fulfill the condition.

RULE 9.124 PROCEDURE FOR REINSTATEMENT

(A) Filing of Petition. An attorney petitioning for reinstatement shall file the original 
petition for reinstatement with the Supreme Court clerk and a copy with the board and the 
commission.

(B) Petitioner’s Responsibilities.

(1) Separately from the petition for reinstatement, the petitioner must serve only upon 
the administrator a personal history affidavit. The affidavit is to become part of the 
administrator’s investigative file and may not be disclosed to the public except under 
the provisions of MCR 9.126. The affidavit must contain the following information:

(a) every residence address since the date of disqualification from the practice of 
law;

(b) employment history since the time of disqualification, including the nature of 
employment, the name and address of every employer, the duration of such 
employment, and the name of the petitioner’s immediate supervisor at each place 
of employment; if requested by the grievance administrator, the petitioner must 
provide authorization to obtain a copy of the petitioner’s personnel file from the 
employer;

(c) a copy of a current driver’s license;

(d) any continuing legal education in which the petitioner participated during the 
period of disqualification from the practice of law;

(e) bank account statements, from the date of disqualification until the filing of the 
petition for reinstatement, for each and every bank account in which petitioner is 
named in any capacity;

(f) copies of the petitioner’s personal and business federal, state, and local tax 
returns from the date of disqualification until the filing of the petition for 
reinstatement, and if the petitioner owes outstanding income taxes, interest, and 
penalties, the petitioner must provide a current statement from the taxation 
authority of the current amount due; if requested by the grievance administrator, 
the petitioner must provide a waiver granting the grievance administrator authority 
to obtain information from the tax authority;

(g) any and all professional or occupational licenses obtained or maintained during 
the period of disqualification and whether any were suspended or revoked;

(h) any and all names used by petitioner since the time of disqualification;
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(i) petitioner’s place and date of birth;

(j) petitioner’s social security number;

(k) whether, since the time of disqualification, petitioner was a party or a witness 
in any civil case, and the title, docket number, and court in which the case 
occurred;

(l) whether the petitioner was a party to any civil case, including the title, docket 
number, and court in which such case was filed; the petitioner must provide copies 
of the complaints and any dispositional orders or judgments, including settlement 
agreements, in such cases;

(m) whether the petitioner was a defendant or a witness in any criminal case, and 
the title, docket number, and court in which such case was filed; the petitioner 
must provide copies of the indictments or complaints and any dispositional orders 
or judgments of conviction in cases in which the petitioner was a defendant;

(n) whether the petitioner was subject to treatment or counseling for mental or 
emotional impairments, or for substance abuse or gambling addictions since the 
time of disqualification; if so, the petitioner must provide a current statement from 
the petitioner’s service provider setting forth an evaluative conclusion regarding 
the petitioner’s impairment(s), the petitioner’s treatment records, and prognosis for 
recovery.

(2) The petitioner must, contemporaneously with the filing of the petition for 
reinstatement and service on the administrator of the personal history affidavit, remit

(a) to the administrator the fee for publication of a reinstatement notice in the 
Michigan Bar Journal.

(b) to the board the basic administrative costs required under MCR 9.128(B)(1)

(i) an administrative cost of $750 where the discipline imposed was a 
suspension of less than 3 years; 

(ii) an administrative cost of $1,500 where the discipline imposed was a 
suspension of 3 years or more or disbarment.

(3) If the petition is facially sufficient and the petitioner has provided proof of service 
of the personal history affidavit upon the administrator and paid the publication fee 
required by subrule (B)(2), the board shall assign the petition to a hearing panel. 
Otherwise, the board may dismiss the petition without prejudice, on its own motion or 
the motion of the administrator.

(4) A petitioner who files the petition before the term of suspension ordered has fully 
elapsed must file an updated petition and serve upon the administrator an updated 
personal history affidavit within 14 days after the term of suspension ordered has fully 
elapsed. All petitioners remain under a continuing obligation to provide updated 
information bearing upon the petition or the personal history affidavit.

(5) The petitioner must cooperate fully in the investigation by the administrator into 
the petitioner’s eligibility for reinstatement by promptly providing any information 
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requested. If requested, the petitioner must participate in a recorded interview and 
answer fully and fairly under oath all questions about eligibility for reinstatement.

(C) Administrator’s Responsibilities. 

(1) Within 14 days after the commission receives its copy of the petition for 
reinstatement, the administrator shall submit to the Michigan Bar Journal for 
publication a notice briefly describing the nature and date of the discipline, the 
misconduct for which the petitioner was disciplined, and the matters required to be 
proved for reinstatement. 

(2) The administrator shall investigate the petitioner’s eligibility for reinstatement 
before a hearing on it, report the findings in writing to the board and the hearing panel 
within 56 days of the date the board assigns the petition to the hearing panel, and serve 
a copy on the petitioner. 

(a) For good cause, the hearing panel may allow the administrator to file the report 
at a later date, but in no event later than 7 days before the hearing. 

(b) The report must summarize the facts of all previous misconduct and the 
available evidence bearing on the petitioner’s eligibility for reinstatement. The 
report is part of the record but does not restrict the parties in the presentation of 
additional relevant evidence at the hearing. Any evidence omitted from the report 
or received by the administrator after the filing of the report must be disclosed 
promptly to the hearing panel and to the opposing party.

(D) Hearing on Petition. A reinstatement hearing may not be held earlier than 28 days 
after the administrator files the investigative report with the hearing panel unless the 
hearing panel has extended the deadline for filing the report. The proceeding on a petition 
for reinstatement must conform as nearly as practicable to a hearing on a complaint. The 
petitioner shall appear personally before the hearing panel for cross-examination by the 
administrator and the hearing panel and answer fully and fairly under oath all questions 
regarding eligibility for reinstatement. The administrator and the petitioner may call 
witnesses or introduce evidence bearing upon the petitioner’s eligibility for reinstatement. 
The hearing panel must enter an order granting or denying reinstatement and make a 
written report signed by the chairperson, including a transcript of the testimony taken, 
pleadings, exhibits and briefs, and its findings of fact. A reinstatement order may grant 
reinstatement subject to conditions that are relevant to the established misconduct or 
otherwise necessary to insure the integrity of the profession, to protect the public, and to 
serve the interests of justice. The report and order must be filed and served under MCR 
9.118(F).

(E) Review. Review is available under the rules governing review of other hearing panel 
orders.



Chapter 9. Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Page 828  Updated April 26, 2024 

RULE 9.125 IMMUNITY

A person is absolutely immune from suit for statements and communications transmitted 
solely to the administrator, the commission, or the commission staff, or given in an investigation 
or proceeding on alleged misconduct or reinstatement. The administrator, legal counsel, 
investigators, members of hearing panels, masters, voluntary investigators, fee arbitrators, 
mentors, practice monitors, the commission, the board, and their staffs are absolutely immune 
from suit for conduct arising out of the performance of their duties.

A medical or psychological expert who administers testing or provides a report pursuant 
to MCR 9.114(C) or MCR 9.121 is absolutely immune from suit for statements and 
communications transmitted solely to the administrator, the commission, or the commission staff, 
or given in an investigation or formal disciplinary proceeding.

RULE 9.126 OPEN HEARINGS; PRIVILEGED, CONFIDENTIAL FILES AND RECORDS

(A) Investigations. Except as provided in these rules, investigations by the administrator 
or the staff are privileged from disclosure, confidential, and may not be made public. At 
the respondent’s option, final disposition of a request for investigation not resulting in 
formal charges may be made public. In addition, any interested person may inspect the 
request for investigation and the respondent’s answer thereto if a disciplinary proceeding 
has been filed.

(B) Hearings. Hearings before a hearing panel and the board must be open to the public, 
but not their deliberations.

(C) Papers. Formal pleadings, reports, findings, recommendations, discipline, reprimands, 
transcripts, and orders resulting from hearings must be open to the public. A personal 
history affidavit filed pursuant to MCR 9.124(B)(1) is a confidential document that is not 
open to the public. This subrule does not apply to a request for a disclosure authorization 
submitted to the board or the Supreme Court pursuant to subrules (D)(7) or (E)(8).

(D) Other Records. Other files and records of the board, the commission, the 
administrator, legal counsel, hearing panels and their members, and the staff of each may 
not be examined by or disclosed to anyone except

(1) the commission,

(2) the administrator,

(3) the respondent as provided under MCR 9.115(F)(4),

(4) members of hearing panels or the board,

(5) authorized employees,

(6) the Supreme Court, or

(7) other persons who are expressly authorized by the board or the Supreme Court.
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If a disclosure is made to the Supreme Court, the board, or a hearing panel, the 
information must also be disclosed to the respondent, except as it relates to an 
investigation, unless the court otherwise orders.

(E) Other Information. Notwithstanding any prohibition against disclosure set forth in this 
rule or elsewhere, the commission shall disclose the substance of information concerning 
attorney or judicial misconduct to the Judicial Tenure Commission, upon request. The 
commission also may make such disclosure to the Judicial Tenure Commission, absent a 
request, and to:

(1) the State Bar of Michigan Client Protection Fund,

(2) the State Bar of Michigan:

(a) Committee on Judicial Qualifications;

(b) Lawyers and Judges Assistance Program;

(c) District and Standing Committees on Character and Fitness; or

(d) Unauthorized Practice of Law Committee,

(3) any court-authorized attorney disciplinary or admissions agency, including any 
federal district court or federal disciplinary agency considering the licensing of 
attorneys in its jurisdiction,

(4) the Michigan Appellate Assigned Counsel System,

(5) any Michigan court considering the appointment of a lawyer in a pending matter as 
house counsel, or a standing appointment,

(6) a lawyer representing the respondent in an unrelated disciplinary investigation or 
proceeding;

(7) law enforcement agencies; or

(8) other persons who are expressly authorized by the board or the Supreme Court.

RULE 9.127 ENFORCEMENT

(A) Interim Suspension. The Supreme Court, the board, or a hearing panel may order the 
interim suspension of a respondent who fails to comply with its lawful order. The 
suspension shall remain in effect until the respondent complies with the order or no longer 
has the power to comply. If the respondent is ultimately disciplined, the respondent shall 
not receive credit against the disciplinary suspension or disbarment for any time of 
suspension under this rule. All orders of hearing panels under this rule shall be reviewable 
immediately under MCR 9.118. All orders of the board under this rule shall be appealable 
immediately under MCR 9.122. The reviewing authority may issue a stay pending review 
or appeal.

(B) Contempt. The administrator may enforce a discipline order or an order granting or 
denying reinstatement by proceeding against a respondent for contempt of court. The 
proceeding must conform to MCR 3.606. The petition must be filed by the administrator 
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in the circuit court in the county in which the alleged contempt took place, or in which the 
respondent resides, or has or had an office. Enforcement proceedings under this rule do 
not bar the imposition of additional discipline upon the basis of the same noncompliance 
with the discipline order.

RULE 9.128 COSTS

(A) Generally. The hearing panel and the board, in an order of discipline or an order 
granting or denying reinstatement, must include a provision directing the payment of costs 
within a specified period of time. Under exceptional circumstances, the board may grant a 
motion to reduce administrative costs assessed under this rule, but may not reduce the 
assessment for actual expenses. Reimbursement must be a condition in a reinstatement 
order.

(B) Amount and Nature of Costs Assessed. The costs assessed under these rules shall 
include both basic administrative costs and disciplinary expenses actually incurred by the 
board, the commission, a master, or a panel for the expenses of that investigation, hearing, 
review and appeal, if any.

(1) Basic Administrative Costs:

(a) for discipline by consent pursuant to MCR 9.115(F)(5), $750;

(b) for all other orders imposing discipline, $1,500;

(c) with the filing of a petition for reinstatement as set forth in MCR 
9.124(B)(2)(b)(i) and (ii);

(2) Actual Expenses. Within 14 days of the conclusion of a proceeding before a panel 
or a written request from the board, whichever is later, the grievance administrator 
shall file with the board an itemized statement of the commission’s expenses allocable 
to the hearing, including expenses incurred during the grievance administrator’s 
investigation. Copies shall be served upon the respondent and the panel. An itemized 
statement of the expenses of the board, the commission, and the panel, including the 
expenses of a master, shall be a part of the report in all matters of discipline and 
reinstatement.

(C) Certification of Nonpayment. If the respondent fails to pay the costs within the time 
prescribed, the board shall serve a certified notice of the nonpayment upon the respondent. 
Copies must be served on the administrator and the State Bar of Michigan. Commencing 
on the date a certified report of nonpayment is filed, interest on the unpaid fees and costs 
shall accrue thereafter at the rates applicable to civil judgments.

(D) Automatic Suspension for Nonpayment. The respondent will be suspended 
automatically, effective 7 days from the mailing of the certified notice of nonpayment, and 
until the respondent pays the costs assessed or the board approves a suitable plan for 
payment. The board shall file a notice of suspension with the clerk of the Supreme Court 
and the State Bar of Michigan. A copy must be served on the respondent and the 
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administrator. A respondent who is suspended for nonpayment of costs under this rule is 
required to comply with the requirements imposed by MCR 9.119 on suspended attorneys.

(E) Reinstatement. A respondent who has been automatically suspended under this rule 
and later pays the costs or obtains approval of a payment plan, and is otherwise eligible, 
may seek automatic reinstatement pursuant to MCR 9.123(A) even if the suspension under 
this rule exceeded 179 days. However, a respondent who is suspended under this rule and, 
as a result, does not practice law in Michigan for 3 years or more, must be recertified by 
the Board of Law Examiners before the respondent may be reinstated.

RULE 9.129 EXPENSES; REIMBURSEMENT

The state bar must reimburse each investigator, legal counsel, hearing panel member, 
board member, master, and commission member for the actual and necessary expenses the board, 
commission, or administrator certifies as incurred as a result of these rules.

RULE 9.130 MCR 8.122 CASES; ARBITRATION; DISCIPLINE; FILING COMPLAINT BY 
ADMINISTRATOR

(A) Arbitration. On written agreement between an attorney and his or her client, the 
administrator or an attorney the administrator assigns may arbitrate a dispute and enter an 
award in accordance with the arbitration laws. Except as otherwise provided by this 
subrule, the arbitration is governed by MCR 3.602. The award and a motion for entry of an 
order or judgment must be filed in the court having jurisdiction under MCR 8.122. If the 
award recommends discipline of the attorney, it must also be treated as a request for 
investigation.

(B) Complaint. If the administrator finds that the filing of a complaint in the appropriate 
court under MCR 8.122 will be a hardship to the client and that the client may have a 
meritorious claim, the administrator may file the complaint on behalf of the client and 
prosecute it to completion without cost to the client.

RULE 9.131 INVESTIGATION OF MEMBER OR EMPLOYEE OF BOARD OR COMMISSION, OR 
RELATIVE OF MEMBER OR EMPLOYEE OF BOARD OR COMMISSION; INVESTIGATION OF ATTORNEY 
REPRESENTING RESPONDENT OR WITNESS; OTHER INVESTIGATIONS CREATING THE POSSIBLE 
APPEARANCE OF IMPROPRIETY; REPRESENTATION BY MEMBER OR EMPLOYEE OF BOARD OR 
COMMISSION

(A) Investigation of Commission Member or Employee, or Relative of Member or 
Employee of Commission. If the request is for investigation of an attorney who is a 
member or employee of the commission, or a relative of a member or employee of the 
commission, the following provisions apply:

(1) The administrator shall serve a copy of the request for investigation on the 
respondent by ordinary mail. Within 21 days after service, the respondent shall file 
with the administrator an answer to the request for investigation conforming to MCR 
9.113. The administrator shall send a copy of the answer to the complainant.
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(2) After the answer is filed or the time for answer has expired, the administrator shall 
send copies of the request for investigation and the answer to the Supreme Court clerk.

(3) The Supreme Court shall review the request for investigation and the answer and 
shall either dismiss the request for investigation or appoint volunteer legal counsel to 
investigate the matter.

(4) If, after conducting the investigation, appointed counsel determines that the request 
for investigation does not warrant the filing of a formal complaint, he or she shall file a 
report setting out the reasons for that conclusion with the administrator, who shall send 
a copy of the report to the Supreme Court clerk, the respondent, and the complainant. 
Review of a decision not to file a formal complaint is limited to a proceeding under 
MCR 9.122(A)(2). If appointed counsel determines not to file a complaint, the 
administrator shall close and maintain the file under MCR 9.114(E). MCR 9.126(A) 
governs the release of information regarding the investigation.

(5) If, after conducting the investigation, appointed counsel determines that the request 
for investigation warrants the filing of a formal complaint, he or she shall prepare and 
file a complaint with the board under MCR 9.115(B).

(6) Further proceedings are as in other cases except that the complaint will be 
prosecuted by appointed counsel rather than by the administrator.

If the request is for investigation of the administrator, the term “administrator” in this 
rule means a member of the commission or some other employee of the commission 
designated by the chairperson.

“Relative” includes spouse, child, parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, first 
cousin, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-
in-law, mother-in-law, and father-in-law, whether natural, adopted, step or foster. The 
term also includes same-sex or different-sex individuals who have a relationship of a 
romantic, intimate, committed, or dating nature.

(B) Investigation of Board Member or Employee or Relative of Board Member or 
Employee. Before the filing of a formal complaint, the procedures regarding a request for 
investigation of a member or employee of the board or relative of a member or employee 
of the board, are the same as in other cases. Thereafter, the following provisions apply:

(1) The administrator shall file the formal complaint with the board and send a copy to 
the Supreme Court clerk.

(2) The chief justice shall appoint a hearing panel and may appoint a master to conduct 
the hearing. The hearing procedure is as provided in MCR 9.115, 9.117, or 9.120, as is 
appropriate, except that no matters shall be submitted to the board. Procedural matters 
ordinarily within the authority of the board shall be decided by the hearing panel, 
except that a motion to disqualify a member of the panel shall be decided by the chief 
justice.

(3) The order of the hearing panel is effective 21 days after it is filed and served as 
required by MCR 9.115(J), and shall be treated as a final order of the board. The 
administrator shall send a copy of the order to the Supreme Court clerk.
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(4) MCR 9.118 does not apply. Review of the hearing panel decision is by the 
Supreme Court as provided by MCR 9.122.

“Relative” includes spouse, child, parent, brother, sister, grandparent, grandchild, first 
cousin, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, daughter-in-law, son-
in-law, mother-in-law, and father-in-law, whether natural, adopted, step or foster. The 
term also includes same-sex or different-sex individuals who have a relationship of a 
romantic, intimate, committed, or dating nature.

(C) Investigation of Attorney Representing a Respondent or Witness in Proceedings 
Before Board or Commission. 

(1) Request by a former client. A request for investigation filed by an attorney or 
witness against his or her counsel for alleged misconduct occurring in a disciplinary 
investigation or proceeding, shall be treated under the procedures set forth in MCR 
9.112.

(2)Request by person other than former client. If a person other than the attorney’s 
former client requests an investigation for alleged misconduct committed during the 
course of that attorney’s representation of a respondent or a witness in proceedings 
before the board or the commission, the procedures in subrule (A) shall be followed. A 
request for investigation that alleges misconduct of this type may be filed only by the 
chairperson of the commission, and only if the commission passes a resolution 
authorizing the filing by the chairperson.

(D) Other Investigations Creating a Possible Appearance of Impropriety. If the 
administrator determines that an appearance of impropriety would arise if a request for 
investigation is handled in the manner prescribed by MCR 9.112(C), the administrator 
must submit the request for investigation to the Michigan Supreme Court along with a 
written explanation as to why the administrator believes an appearance of impropriety 
would arise. If the Court agrees with the administrator’s determination under this subrule, 
the Court will notify the administrator and direct that the procedures in subrule (A) be 
followed. If the Court disagrees with the administrator’s determination under this subrule, 
the Court will return the request for investigation to the administrator for an investigation 
in accordance with MCR 9.112(C).

(E) Representation by Commission or Board Member or Employee. A member or 
employee of the Attorney Grievance Commission or the Attorney Discipline Board and its 
hearing panels may not represent a respondent in proceedings before the commission, the 
board, or the Judicial Tenure Commission, including preliminary discussions with 
employees of the respective commission or board prior to the filing of a request for 
investigation.
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SUBCHAPTER 9.200 JUDICIAL TENURE COMMISSION

RULE 9.200 CONSTRUCTION

An independent and honorable judiciary being indispensable to justice in our society, 
subchapter 9.200 shall be construed to preserve the integrity of the judicial system, to enhance 
public confidence in that system, and to protect the public, the courts, and the rights of the judges 
who are governed by these rules in the most expeditious manner that is practicable and fair.

RULE 9.201 DEFINITIONS

As used in this chapter, unless the context or subject matter otherwise requires

(A) “commission” means the Judicial Tenure Commission; 

(B) “judge” means:

(1) a person who is serving as a judge or justice of any court of the judicial branch of 
state or local government by virtue of election, appointment, or assignment;

(2) a magistrate or a referee of any such court; or

(3) a person who formerly held such office if a request for investigation was filed 
during the person’s term of office. If the person is no longer a judge and the alleged 
misconduct relates to the person’s actions as a judge, it is not necessary that the 
request for investigation be filed during the former judge’s term of office; nothing in 
this paragraph deprives the Attorney Grievance Commission of its authority to 
proceed against a former judge.

(C) “respondent” is a judge against whom a request for investigation has been filed.

(D) “chairperson” is the commission chairperson and includes the acting chairperson.

(E) “master” means one or more judges or former judges appointed by the Supreme Court 
at the commission’s request to hold hearings on a complaint against a respondent.

(F) “disciplinary counsel” is the commission’s executive director or other attorney 
appointed by the commission to act as the prosecutor in negotiating settlements, 
presenting evidence at the hearing on the complaint, and in proceedings in the Supreme 
Court other than litigating a recommendation on a complaint made after a hearing before 
the commission.

(G) “commission counsel” is the attorney appointed by the commission to provide it with 
counsel whenever the commission appoints the executive director as disciplinary counsel, 
including acting in proceedings in the Supreme Court. The disciplinary counsel may not 
serve as the commission counsel in the same case.



Chapter 9. Professional Disciplinary Proceedings Page 835  Updated April 26, 2024 

(H) “request for investigation” is an allegation of judicial misconduct, physical or mental 
disability, or other circumstance that the commission may undertake to investigate under 
Const 1963, art 6, § 30, and MCR 9.220.

(I) “complaint” is a written document issued at the direction of the commission, alleging 
specific charges of misconduct in office, mental or physical disability, or some other 
ground that warrants action under Const 1963, art 6, § 30.

RULE 9.202 STANDARDS OF JUDICIAL CONDUCT

(A) Responsibility of Judge. A judge is personally responsible for the judge’s own 
behavior and for the proper conduct and administration of the court in which the judge 
presides.

(B) Grounds for Action. A judge is subject to censure, suspension with or without pay, 
retirement, or removal for conviction of a felony, physical or mental disability that 
prevents the performance of judicial duties, misconduct in office, persistent failure to 
perform judicial duties, habitual intemperance, or conduct that is clearly prejudicial to the 
administration of justice. A judge may not be ordered to pay the costs, fees, and expenses 
incurred by the commission in prosecuting the complaint.

(1) Misconduct in office includes, but is not limited to:

(a) persistent incompetence in the performance of judicial duties;

(b) persistent neglect in the timely performance of judicial duties;

(c) persistent failure to treat persons fairly and courteously;

(d) treatment of a person unfairly or discourteously because of the person’s race, 
gender, or other protected personal characteristic;

(e) misuse of judicial office for personal advantage or gain, or for the advantage or 
gain of another; and

(f) failure to cooperate with a reasonable request made by the commission in its 
investigation of a respondent.

(2) Conduct in violation of the Code of Judicial Conduct or the Rules of Professional 
Conduct may constitute a ground for action with regard to a judge, whether the 
conduct occurred before or after the respondent became a judge or was related to 
judicial office.

(3) In deciding whether action with regard to a judge is warranted, the commission 
shall consider all the circumstances, including but not limited to the age of the 
allegations and the possibility of unfair prejudice to the judge because of the staleness 
of the allegations or unreasonable delay in pursuing the matter and whether respondent 
has corrected the behavior.
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RULE 9.210 JUDICIAL TENURE COMMISSION; ORGANIZATION

(A) Appointment of Commissioners. As provided by Const 1963, art 6, § 30, the Judicial 
Tenure Commission consists of 9 persons. The commissioners selected by the judges shall 
be chosen by vote conducted by the state court administrator. The commissioners selected 
by the state bar members shall be chosen by vote conducted by the State Bar of Michigan. 
Both elections must be conducted in accordance with nomination and election procedures 
approved by the Supreme Court. Immediately after a commissioner’s selection, the 
selecting authority shall notify the Supreme Court and the Judicial Tenure Commission.

(B) Term of Office. A commissioner’s term of office shall be 3 years. To achieve 
staggered terms, the following terms shall expire in consecutive years:

(1) one of the appointments of the Governor, the judge of a court of limited 
jurisdiction, and one of the attorneys selected by the state bar;

(2) the other appointment of the Governor, the probate judge, and the other attorney 
selected by the state bar;

(3) the Court of Appeals judge, the circuit judge, and the judge selected by the state 
bar.

(C) Oath of Office. The following oath shall be administered to all members of the 
Judicial Tenure Commission:

“I do solemnly swear (or affirm) that I will support the Constitution of the United States 
and the Constitution of this state, and that I will faithfully discharge the duties of the office 
of Judicial Tenure Commission member according to the best of my ability.”

(D) Vacancy.

(1) A vacancy in the office of a commissioner occurs:

(a) when a commissioner resigns or is incapable of serving as a member of the 
commission;

(b) when a judge who is a member of the commission no longer holds the office 
held when selected;

(c) when an attorney selected by state bar members is no longer entitled to practice 
in the courts of this state; and

(d) when an appointee of the Governor becomes an attorney.

The commission shall notify the appointing authority of a vacancy.

(2) Vacancies must be filled by selection of a successor in the same manner required 
for the selection of the predecessor. The commissioner selected shall hold office for 
the unexpired term of the predecessor. Vacancies must be filled within 3 months after 
the vacancy occurs. If a vacancy occurs after the selection of a new commissioner but 
before that commissioner’s term officially begins, the commissioner-elect shall fill 
that vacancy and serve the remainder of the unexpired term.
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(3) A member may resign by submitting a resignation in writing to the commission, 
which must certify the vacancy to the selecting authority.

(E) Commission Expenses.

(1) The commission’s budget must be submitted to the Supreme Court for approval.

(2) The commission’s expenses must be included in and paid from the appropriation 
for the Supreme Court.

(3) A commissioner may not receive compensation for services but shall be paid 
reasonable and necessary expenses.

(F) Quorum and Chairperson.

(1) At its first meeting in odd-numbered years, the commission shall elect from among 
its members a chairperson, a vice-chairperson, and a secretary, each to serve 2 years. 
The vice-chairperson shall act as chairperson when the chairperson is absent. If both 
are absent, the members present may select one among them to act as temporary 
chairperson.

(2) A quorum for the transaction of business by the commission is 5.

(3) The vote of a majority of the members constitutes the adoption or rejection of a 
motion or resolution before the commission. The chairperson is entitled to cast a vote 
as a commissioner.

(4) Regular meetings at which no public hearing is scheduled may be held in person, 
by telephone, or by teleconference, provided that the telephone or teleconference 
method is a secure connection.

(G) Meetings of Commission. Meetings must be held at the call of the chairperson or the 
executive director, or upon the written request of 3 commission members.

(H) Commission Staff.

(1) The commission shall employ an executive director or equivalent person or 
persons, and such other staff members as the commission concludes are warranted, to 
perform the duties that the commission directs, subject to the availability of funds 
under its budget.

(2) The executive director, other disciplinary counsel, or any other person who is 
involved in the investigation or prosecution of a respondent

(a) shall not be present or participate in any manner in the decision of the 
commission to file a complaint, or during the deliberations of the commission to 
recommend action by the Supreme Court with regard to that respondent, and

(b) shall have no substantive ex parte communication with the commission 
regarding a complaint that the commission has authorized.

(3) Commission employees are exempt from the operation of Const 1963, art 11, § 5, 
as are employees of courts of record.
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RULE 9.211 JUDICIAL TENURE COMMISSION; POWERS; REVIEW

(A) Authority of Commission. The commission has all the powers provided for under 
Const 1963, art 6, § 30, and further powers provided by Supreme Court rule. Proceedings 
before the commission or a master are governed by these rules. The commission may 
adopt and publish internal operating procedures for its internal operation and the 
administration of its proceedings that do not conflict with this subchapter and shall submit 
them to the Supreme Court for approval.

(B) Review as an Appellate Court. The commission may not function as an appellate court 
to review the decision of a court or to exercise superintending or administrative control of 
a court, but may examine decisions incident to a request for investigation of judicial 
misconduct, disability, or other circumstance that the commission may undertake to 
investigate under Const 1963, art 6, § 30, and MCR 9.220. An erroneous decision by a 
judge made in good faith and with due diligence is not judicial misconduct.

(C) Control of Commission Action. Proceedings under these rules are subject to the direct 
and exclusive superintending control of the Supreme Court. No other court has 
jurisdiction to restrict, control, or review the orders of the master or the commission.

(D) Errors and Irregularities. An investigation or proceeding under this subchapter may 
not be held invalid by reason of a nonprejudicial irregularity or for an error not resulting in 
a miscarriage of justice.

(E) Jurisdiction Over Visiting Judges. Notwithstanding MCR 9.116(B), the Attorney 
Grievance Commission may take action immediately with regard to a visiting judge who 
currently holds no other judicial office if the allegations pertain to professional or personal 
activities unrelated to the judge’s activities as a judge.

RULE 9.212 DISQUALIFICATION OF COMMISSION MEMBER OR EMPLOYEE

(A) Disqualification From Participation. A judge who is a member of the commission or a 
justice of the Supreme Court is disqualified from participating in that capacity in 
proceedings involving the judge’s or justice’s own actions or for any reason set forth in 
MCR 2.003(C).

(B) Disqualification from Representation. A member or employee of the commission may 
not represent 

(1) a respondent in proceedings before the commission, including preliminary 
discussions with employees of the commission before the filing of a request for 
investigation; or

(2) a judge in proceedings before the Attorney Grievance Commission, or the Attorney 
Discipline Board and its hearing panels, as to any matter that was pending before the 
Judicial Tenure Commission during the member’s or the employee’s tenure with the 
commission.
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The law firm of an attorney member of the commission may not represent a respondent in 
proceedings before the commission, including preliminary discussions with employees of 
the commission before the filing of a request for investigation.

RULE 9.220 PRELIMINARY INVESTIGATION

(A) Request for Investigation. A request for investigation of a judge must be made in 
writing and verified on oath of the grievant. The commission also is authorized to act on 
its own initiative or at the request of the Supreme Court, the Chief Justice, the state court 
administrator, or the Attorney Grievance Commission.

(B) Investigation. Upon receiving a request for investigation that is not clearly unfounded 
or frivolous, the commission shall direct that an investigation be conducted to determine 
whether a complaint should be filed and a hearing held.

(C) Adjourned Investigation. If a request for investigation is filed less than 90 days before 
an election in which the respondent is a candidate, and the request is not dismissed 
forthwith as clearly unfounded or frivolous, the commission shall postpone 
itsinvestigation until after the election unless two-thirds of the commission members 
present or participating by telephone or teleconference determine that the public interest 
and the interests of justice require otherwise.

(D) Physical or Mental Examination. In the course of an investigation where a 
respondent’s physical or mental condition is at issue, the commission may require the 
respondent to submit to a physical or mental examination. Failure of the respondent to 
submit to the examination may constitute judicial misconduct. MCR 2.311(C) is 
applicable to the examination.

(E) Expediting Matters. When the integrity of the judicial system requires, the Supreme 
Court may direct that the commission expedite its consideration of any investigation, and 
may set a deadline for the commission to submit any recommendation to the Court, 
notwithstanding any other provision in this subchapter.

RULE 9.221 EVIDENCE

(A) Taking of Evidence During Investigation. The commission may take evidence before 
it or an individual member of the commission, or before the executive director or other 
member of the staff for purposes of the investigation.

(B) The commission may request that a respondent comment on any aspect of an 
investigation. The respondent shall have 21 days from the date of the request for 
comments to provide a response. The executive director may extend the response time for 
an additional 21 days. Any further request for additional time may only be granted by the 
commission or its chairperson for good cause shown. The respondent must sign the 
response, and that signature shall serve as the respondent’s attestation as to the veracity of 
the respondent’s response.
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(C) Issuance of Subpoenas. The commission may issue subpoenas for the attendance of 
witnesses to provide statements or produce documents or other tangible evidence 
exclusively for consideration by the commission and its staff during the investigation. 
Before the filing of a complaint, the entitlement appearing on the subpoena shall not 
disclose the name of a respondent under investigation. Notwithstanding any other 
provision of this rule, a subpoena issued under this rule may require a party or witness to 
appear by telephone or by videoconferencing technology. Telephonic proceedings are 
subject to the provisions of MCR 2.402, and videoconference proceedings are subject to 
the provisions of MCR 2.407.

(D) Sanctions for Contempt; Disobedience by Respondent.

(1) Contempt proceedings against a nonparty for failure to obey a subpoena issued 
pursuant to this rule may be brought pursuant to MCR 2.506(E) in the circuit court for 
the county in which the individual resides, where the individual is found, where the 
contempt occurred, or where the hearing is to be held.

(2) If a respondent disobeys a subpoena or other lawful order of the commission or the 
master, whether before or during the hearing, the commission or the master may order 
such sanctions as are just, including, but not limited to, those set forth in MCR 
2.313(B)(2)(a)-(e).

(E) Cooperation With Investigation. A judge, clerk, court employee, member of the bar, or 
other officer of a court must comply with a reasonable request made by the commission in 
its investigation. Failure to cooperate may be considered judicial misconduct or attorney 
misconduct. No court may charge the Judicial Tenure Commission for copying costs or 
certification costs, whether under MCL 600.2546 or otherwise, unless the Michigan 
Supreme Court specifically so authorizes.

RULE 9.222 FURTHER INVESTIGATION; THE “28-DAY LETTER”

(A) Before filing a complaint, the commission must give written notice to the respondent 
who is the subject of a request for investigation. The purpose of the notice is to afford the 
respondent an opportunity to apprise the commission, in writing within 28 days, of such 
matters as the respondent may choose, including information about the factual aspects of 
the allegations and other relevant issues. The notice shall specify the allegations and may 
include the date of the conduct, the location where the conduct occurred, and the name of 
the case or identification of the court proceeding relating to the conduct. The respondent 
shall sign the response and that signature shall serve as the respondent’s attestation as to 
the veracity of the respondent’s response.

(1) For good cause shown, the commission or its chairperson may grant a reasonable 
extension of the 28-day period.

(2) The Supreme Court may shorten the time periods prescribed in this and other 
provisions of this subchapter at its own initiative or at the request of the commission.
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(B) In the commission’s discretion, it may issue a “28-day letter” without having first 
requested the respondent’s comments pursuant to MCR 9.221(B).

(C) The commission may continue to investigate until it issues a complaint, at which point 
the disciplinary counsel may continue investigating as needed.

(D) If a respondent requests in response to a written notice from the commission under 
this rule, the commission may offer the respondent an opportunity to appear informally 
before the commission to present such information as the respondent may choose, 
including information about the factual aspects of the allegations and other relevant issues.

RULE 9.223 CONCLUSION OF INVESTIGATION; NOTICE

(A) If the commission determines at any time in the investigation that there are 
insufficient grounds to warrant filing a complaint, the commission may:

(1) dismiss the matter;

(2) dismiss the matter with a letter of explanation or caution that addresses the 
respondent’s conduct;

(3) dismiss the matter with or without a letter of explanation or caution that addresses 
the respondent’s conduct contingent upon the satisfaction of conditions imposed by 
the commission, which may include a period of monitoring;

(4) admonish the respondent; or

(5) recommend to the Supreme Court private censure, with a statement of reasons.

(B) Notice to Respondent. Before taking action under subrule (A)(2)-(5), the commission 
must first have given written notice to the respondent of the nature of the allegations in the 
request for investigation and afforded the respondent a reasonable opportunity to respond 
in writing, pursuant to MCR 9.221(B), MCR 9.222(A), or both.

(C) On final disposition of a request for investigation without the filing of a complaint, the 
commission shall give written notice of the disposition to the respondent who was the 
subject of the request. The commission also shall provide written notice to the grievant 
that the matter has been resolved without the filing of a complaint.

RULE 9.224 COMPLAINT

(A) Upon determining that there is sufficient evidence to believe that the respondent under 
investigation has engaged in misconduct, the commission may issue a complaint against 
that respondent.

(B) If the commission issues a complaint, it shall appoint the executive director or another 
attorney to act as disciplinary counsel. If the executive director assumes the role of 
disciplinary counsel, the commission shall appoint outside counsel to act as commission 
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counsel. If the commission appoints outside counsel to act as disciplinary counsel, the 
executive director shall serve as commission counsel.

(C) Upon issuing a complaint, the commission shall petition the Court for the appointment 
of a master.

RULE 9.225 INTERIM SUSPENSION

(A) Petition.

(1) With the filing of a complaint, the commission may petition the Supreme Court for 
an order suspending a respondent from acting as a judge until final adjudication of the 
complaint.

(2) In extraordinary circumstances, the commission may petition the Supreme Court 
for an order suspending a respondent from acting as a judge in response to a request 
for investigation, pending a decision by the commission regarding the filing of a 
complaint. In such a circumstance, the documents filed with the Court must be kept 
under seal unless the petition is granted. Conviction of a felony is grounds for 
automatic interim suspension, with or without pay, pending action by the commission. 
If the respondent is suspended without pay, the respondent’s pay shall be held in 
escrow pending the final resolution of disciplinary proceedings.

Whenever a petition for interim suspension is granted, the processing of the case shall 
be expedited in the commission and in the Supreme Court. The commission shall set 
forth in the petition an approximate date for submitting a final recommendation to the 
Court.

(3) Notwithstanding any other provision of this rule, in a matter in which a respondent 
poses a substantial threat of serious harm to the public or to the administration of 
justice, the commission may petition the Supreme Court for an order suspending a 
respondent from acting as a judge without pay in response to a request for 
investigation, pending a decision by the commission regarding the issuance of a 
complaint. The respondent’s pay shall be held in escrow pending the final resolution 
of disciplinary proceedings.

Whenever a petition for interim suspension is granted, the processing of the case shall 
be expedited in the commission and in the Supreme Court. The commission shall set 
forth in the petition an approximate date for submitting a final recommendation to the 
Court.

(B) Contents; Affidavit or Transcript. The petition must be accompanied by a sworn 
affidavit or court transcript and state facts in support of the allegations and the assertion 
that immediate suspension is necessary for the proper administration of justice.

(C) Service; Answer. A copy of the petition and supporting documents must be served on 
the respondent, who may file an answer to the petition within 14 days after service of the 
petition, unless the commission has filed a motion for immediate consideration. The 
commission must be served with a copy of the answer.
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RULE 9.230 PLEADINGS

Other than motions, the complaint and answer are the only pleadings allowed.

(A) Complaint.

(1) Filing; Service. A complaint may not be issued before the completion of a 
preliminary investigation. Upon concluding that there is sufficient evidence to warrant 
the issuance of a complaint, the commission shall direct the executive director or 
equivalent staff member to do the following:

(a) enter the complaint in the commission docket, which is a public record;

(b) retain the complaint in the commission office; and

(c) promptly serve a copy of the complaint on the respondent.

(2) Form of Complaint. A complaint must be entitled:

“Complaint Against _____, Judge. No. _____.”

A complaint must be in form similar to a complaint filed in a civil action in the circuit 
court.

(B) Answer.

(1) Filing. Within 14 days after service of the complaint, the respondent must file with 
the commission the original and 9 copies of an answer verified by the respondent.

(2) Form. The answer must be in form similar to an answer in a civil action in the 
circuit court and must contain a full and fair disclosure of all facts and circumstances 
pertaining to the allegations regarding the respondent. Willful concealment, 
misrepresentation, or failure to file an answer and disclosure are additional grounds for 
disciplinary action under the complaint.

(3) Affirmative defenses, including the defense of laches, must be asserted in the 
answer or they will not be considered.

RULE 9.231 APPOINTMENT OF MASTER

(A) The Supreme Court shall appoint a master to conduct the hearing within a reasonable 
period of the date of the petition and shall establish a date for completion of the hearing 
procedure.

(B) The master shall set a time and a place for the hearing and shall notify the respondent 
and the examiner at least 28 days in advance. The master shall rule on all motions and 
other procedural matters incident to the complaint, answer, and hearing. 
Recommendations on dispositive motions shall not be announced until the conclusion of 
the hearing, except that the master may refer to the commission on an interlocutory basis a 
recommendation regarding a dispositive motion.
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(C) The master may conduct one or more pretrial conferences, and may order a prehearing 
conference to obtain admissions or otherwise narrow the issues presented by the 
pleadings.

(D) Unless the parties agree to waive them, closing arguments at the hearing before the 
master shall be oral and take place upon conclusion of the presentation of evidence. The 
master may not adjourn or postpone closing arguments for the preparation of a transcript 
or the submission of proposed findings of fact.

(E) MCR 2.003(B) shall govern all matters concerning the disqualification of a master.

RULE 9.232 DISCOVERY

(A) Pretrial or discovery proceedings are not permitted, except as follows:

(1) At least 21 days before a scheduled public hearing,

(a) the parties shall provide to one another, in writing, the names and addresses of 
all persons whom they intend to call at the hearing, a copy of all statements and 
affidavits given by those persons, and any material in their possession that they 
intend to introduce as evidence at the hearing, and

(b) the disciplinary counsel or executive director shall provide to the respondent 
copies of all exculpatory material in its possession.

(2) The parties shall give supplemental notice to one another within 5 days after any 
additional witness or material has been identified and at least 10 days before a 
scheduled hearing.

(B) A deposition may be taken of a witness who is living outside the state or who is unable 
to attend a hearing, or otherwise as allowed for good cause shown.

(C) If a party fails to comply with subrules (A) or (B), the master may, on motion and 
showing of material prejudice as a result of the failure, impose one or more of the 
sanctions set forth in MCR 2.313(B)(2)(a)-(e).

RULE 9.233 PUBLIC HEARING

(A) Procedure. The public hearing must conform as nearly as possible to the rules of 
procedure and evidence governing the trial of civil actions in the circuit court. A 
respondent is entitled to be represented by an attorney. Disciplinary counsel shall present 
the evidence in support of the charges set forth in the complaint and at all times shall have 
the burden of proving the allegations by a preponderance of the evidence. Any employee, 
officer, or agent of the respondent’s court, law enforcement officer, public officer or 
employee, or attorney who testifies as a witness in the hearing, whether called by the 
disciplinary counsel or by the respondent, is subject to cross-examination by either party 
as an opposite party under MCL 600.2161.
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(B) Effect of Failure to Comply.

(1) If the respondent is in default for not having filed a timely answer or fails to attend 
the proceedings without being excused by the master, the commission, or the court, the 
allegations set forth in the complaint shall be deemed admitted, taken as true, and may 
form the basis for the master to make findings of fact.

(2) The respondent’s failure to testify in his or her own behalf or to submit to a 
medical examination requested by the commission or the master may be considered as 
an evidentiary fact, unless the failure was due to circumstances unrelated to the facts in 
issue at the hearing.

(C) Record. The proceedings at the hearing must be recorded by stenographic or 
mechanical means. If the master declines to admit evidence, a separate record shall be 
made so that the commission and/or the court may consider that evidence and determine 
whether to include it in the record.

RULE 9.234 SUBPOENAS

(A) Issuance of Subpoenas. The attorneys may issue subpoenas for the attendance of 
witnesses or the production of documents or other tangible evidence.

(B) Sanctions for Contempt; Disobedience by Respondent.

(1) Contempt proceedings against a nonparty for failure to obey a subpoena issued 
pursuant to this rule may be brought pursuant to MCR 2.506(E) in the circuit court for 
the county in which the individual resides, in which the individual is found, in which 
the contempt occurred, or in which the hearing is to be held.

(2) If a respondent disobeys a subpoena or other lawful order of the commission or the 
master, whether before or during the hearing, the commission or the master may order 
such sanctions as are just, including, but not limited to, those set forth in MCR 
2.313(B)(2)(a)-(e).

RULE 9.235 AMENDMENTS OF COMPLAINT OR ANSWER

The master, before the conclusion of the hearing, or the commission, before its 
determination, may allow or require amendments of the complaint or the answer. The complaint 
may be amended to conform to the proofs or to set forth additional facts, whether occurring before 
or after the commencement of the hearing. If an amendment is made, the respondent must be 
given reasonable time to answer the amendment and to prepare and present a defense against the 
matters charged in the amendment. A “28-day letter” is not required to amend a complaint.

RULE 9.236 REPORT OF MASTER

The court reporter shall prepare a transcript of the proceedings conducted before the 
master within 21 days of the conclusion of the hearing, filing the original with the commission, 
and serving copies on the respondent (or the respondent’s attorney) and disciplinary counsel, by 
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e-mail. Within 21 days after a transcript of the proceedings is provided, the master shall prepare 
and transmit to the commission a report that contains a brief statement of the proceedings and 
findings of fact and conclusions of law with respect to the issues presented by the complaint and 
the answer. On receiving the report, the commission must promptly send a copy to the respondent, 
unless the master has already done so.

RULE 9.240 OBJECTIONS TO REPORT OF MASTER

Within 28 days after the master’s report is mailed to the respondent, disciplinary counsel 
or the respondent may file with the commission an original and 9 copies of a brief in support of or 
in opposition to all or part of the master’s report. The briefs must include a discussion of possible 
sanctions and, except as otherwise permitted by the commission, are limited to 50 pages in length. 
A copy of the brief must be served on the opposite party, who shall have 14 days to respond.

RULE 9.241 APPEARANCE BEFORE COMMISSION

When the hearing before the master has concluded, the commission shall set a date for 
hearing objections to the report. Both the respondent and the disciplinary counsel may present 
oral argument at the hearing before the commission.

RULE 9.242 EXTENSION OF TIME

For good cause shown, the commission or its chairperson may extend for periods not to 
exceed 28 days the time for the filing of an answer, for the commencement of a hearing before the 
commission, for the filing of the master’s report, and for the filing of a statement of objections to 
the report of a master.

RULE 9.243 HEARING ADDITIONAL EVIDENCE

The commission may order a hearing before itself or the master for the taking of 
additional evidence at any time while the complaint is pending before it. The order must set the 
time and place of hearing and indicate the matters about which evidence is to be taken. A copy of 
the order must be sent to the respondent at least 14 days before the hearing.

RULE 9.244 COMMISSION DECISION

(A) Majority Decision.

(1) The affirmative vote of 5 commission members who have considered the report of 
the master and any objections, and who were present at an oral hearing provided for in 
MCR 9.241, or have read the transcript of that hearing, is required for a 
recommendation of action with regard to a respondent. A commissioner may file a 
written dissent.

(2) It is not necessary that a majority agree on the specific conduct that warrants a 
recommendation of action with regard to a respondent, or on the specific action that is 
warranted, only that there was some conduct that warrants such a recommendation.
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(B) Record of Decision.

(1) The commission must make written findings of fact and conclusions of law along 
with its recommendations for action with respect to the issues of fact and law in the 
proceedings, but may adopt the findings of the master, in whole or in part, by 
reference. The commission’s report must include a list of all respondent’s prior 
disciplinary actions under MCR 9.223(A)(2)-(5) or MCR 9.224 and must include an 
acknowledgment that the commission has included its consideration of any prior 
discipline in the commission’s recommended action. The list of previous disciplinary 
actions shall be submitted under seal and will be retained in a nonpublic manner. 
Disclosure of any prior disciplinary action will occur only if the information is 
relevant to any recommendation or imposed sanction.

(2) The commission shall undertake to ensure that the action it is recommending in 
individual cases is reasonably proportionate to the conduct of the respondent and 
reasonably equivalent to the action that has been taken previously in equivalent cases.

RULE 9.245 CONSENT AGREEMENTS

(A) Consent Agreements. At any time, the respondent and the disciplinary counsel (or the 
executive director acting as the putative disciplinary counsel) may enter into confidential 
negotiations. A consent agreement may

(1) include stipulated facts and an agreement as to the sanction; or

(2) include just the stipulated facts, with no agreement as to the sanction.

The parties may present a signed consent agreement to the commission, which shall 
review the matter and decide whether to accept it. If the consent agreement is filed under 
subsection (1), the parties do not file briefs and the matter is not set on the docket for 
argument following the commission’s decision, unless otherwise directed by the Court. If 
the consent agreement is filed under subsection (2), the matter proceeds pursuant to MCR 
9.250 and MCR 9.251.

(B) Commission Action. If the commission agrees to the terms set forth in the consent 
agreement in subsection (1), the commission shall issue a decision and recommendation as 
if there had been a master’s report filed. If the commission agrees to the terms set forth in 
the consent agreement in subsection (2), the stipulated facts serve in lieu of a master’s 
report and the matter then proceeds to a hearing before the commission, with the briefing 
schedule and an appearance before the commission, as set forth in MCR 9.240 and MCR 
9.241. The time for filing a brief before the commission in matters filed under subsection 
(2) shall start with the filing of the consent agreement. A copy of the consent agreement 
shall be attached to the commission’s decision. The commission’s recommendation must 
include its rationale for accepting the consent agreement as well as a list of all 
respondent’s prior disciplinary actions under MCR 9.223(A)(2)-(5) or MCR 9.224 and 
must include an acknowledgment that the commission has included its consideration of 
any prior discipline in the commission’s recommended action. The list of previous 
disciplinary actions shall be submitted under seal and will be retained in a nonpublic 
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manner. Disclosure of any prior disciplinary action will occur only if the information is 
relevant to any recommendation or imposed sanction.

(C) Prior or pending discipline actions. As part of a proposed consent agreement, the 
parties shall submit a list of all pending or previous disciplinary action taken against the 
respondent, sufficient information to understand the context of the individual 
circumstances, and the disposition of each incident. For purposes of this rule, “disciplinary 
actions” include any disposition other than a dismissal under MCR 9.223(A)(1), including 
nonsanctions under MCR 9.223(A)(2)-(5). The parties also shall include information 
about actions initiated against the respondent in proceedings other than disciplinary 
actions, including court cases for superintending control, criminal proceedings, internal 
discipline actions, or any other allegations of judicial misconduct. The list of previous 
disciplinary actions shall be submitted under seal and will be retained in a nonpublic 
manner. Disclosure of any prior disciplinary action will occur only if the information is 
relevant to any recommendation or imposed sanction.

(D) Action With Respondent’s Consent. With the consent of the respondent and the 
commission, the Supreme Court may impose a sanction or take other action at any stage of 
the proceedings under these rules.

(E) Confidentiality. A consent agreement submitted to the commission shall not be made 
public until after the commission has accepted its terms and the Court has approved it.

RULE 9.250 FILING AND SERVICE OF DOCUMENTS AFTER COMMISSION’S DECISION

(A) Within 21 days after issuing its decision and recommendation, the commission must 
file in the Supreme Court:

(1) the original record arranged in chronological order and indexed and certified;

(2) one copy of the order; and

(3) a proof of service on the respondent.

(B) The commission must serve the respondent with:

(1) notice of the filing under MCR 9.250(A)(1);

(2) 2 copies of the order;

(3) 2 copies of the index to the original record; and

(4) a copy of a portion of the original record not submitted by or previously furnished 
to the respondent.

If the commission files electronically, then the applicable court rules governing electronic 
filing apply.
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RULE 9.251 REVIEW BY SUPREME COURT

(A) Petition by Respondent. Within 28 days after being served, a respondent may file in 
the Supreme Court one copy of

(1) a petition to reject or modify the commission’s recommendation, which must:

(a) be based on the record,

(b) specify the grounds relied on,

(c) be verified, and

(d) include a brief in support; and

(2) an appendix presenting portions of the record that the respondent believes 
necessary to fairly judge the issues.

The respondent must serve the commission with one copy of the petition and one copy of 
the appendix and file proof of that service. If the respondent files electronically, then the 
applicable rules governing electronic filing apply.

(B) Role of Commission Counsel and Disciplinary Counsel. If a respondent submits a 
petition under subsection (A), commission counsel shall appear on behalf of the 
commission, submit the brief of the commission under subrule (C), and shall advocate 
only for the position recommended by the commission. Filing of documents with the 
commission shall be deemed service on commission counsel. Disciplinary counsel’s 
involvement in the case is ended, unless the matter is remanded for further proceedings 
before the commission or master.

(C) Brief of Commission. Within 21 days after respondent’s petition is served, the 
commission must file

(1) one copy of a reply brief, and

(2) proof that the respondent was served with one copy of the brief.

The commission may file one copy of an appendix containing portions of the record not 
included in the respondent’s appendix that the commission believes necessary to fairly 
judge the issues. If the disciplinary counsel files electronically, then the applicable rules 
governing electronic filing apply.

(D) Review in Absence of Petition by Respondent. If the respondent does not file a 
petition, the Supreme Court will review the commission’s recommendation on the record 
file. The Supreme Court may order that briefs be filed or arguments be presented.

(E) Form of Briefs. A brief filed under this subrule is to be similar to a brief filed in an 
appeal to the Supreme Court.

(F) Additional Evidence. The Supreme Court may, if cause is shown, order that further 
evidence be taken and added to the original record.
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(G) Submission. The clerk will place the case on a session calendar under MCR 7.313. 
Oral argument may be requested.

RULE 9.252 DECISION BY SUPREME COURT

(A) The Supreme Court shall review the record of the proceedings and file a written 
opinion and judgment, which may accept or reject the recommendations of the 
commission or modify the recommendations by imposing a greater, lesser, or entirely 
different sanction. When appropriate, the Court may remand the matter to the commission 
for further proceedings, findings, or explication.

(B) If the commission issues a decision based on a consent agreement between the 
respondent and the disciplinary counsel under subrule 9.245(A)(1) and the Court 
determines to impose a greater, lesser, or entirely different sanction, the respondent shall 
be afforded the opportunity to withdraw the consent and the matter shall be remanded to 
the commission for further proceedings.

RULE 9.253 MOTION FOR REHEARING

Unless the Supreme Court directs otherwise, the respondent may file a motion for 
rehearing within 14 days after the filing of the decision. If the Supreme Court directs in the 
decision that a motion for rehearing may not be filed, the decision is final on filing.

RULE 9.260 SERVICE

(A) Respondent. When provision is made under these rules for serving a complaint or 
other document on a respondent, the service must be made in person or by registered or 
certified mail or through an overnight delivery service to the respondent’s judicial office 
or last known residence. If an attorney has appeared for a respondent, service may be on 
the attorney in lieu of service on the respondent.

(B) Commission. Service on the commission must be made by personal delivery or by 
registered or certified mail or through an overnight delivery service to the executive 
director at the commission’s office.

(C) Disciplinary Counsel. Service on the disciplinary counsel must be made by personal 
delivery or by registered or certified mail or through an overnight delivery service to the 
disciplinary counsel at that individual’s address on record with the state bar.

(D) Alternative Service. The respondent, the respondent’s attorney, the executive director, 
disciplinary counsel, and/or commission counsel may serve one another via e-mail with a 
paper copy being sent via regular mail to the individual’s address on record with the state 
bar.
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RULE 9.261 CONFIDENTIALITY; DISCLOSURE

(A) Scope of Rule. Except as provided in this rule, all papers filed with the commission 
and all proceedings before it are confidential in nature and are absolutely privileged from 
disclosure by the commission or its staff, including former members and employees, in 
any other matter, including but not limited to civil, criminal, legislative, or administrative 
proceedings. All the commission’s investigative files and commission-generated 
documents are likewise confidential and privileged from disclosure. Nothing in this rule 
prohibits the respondent from making statements regarding the respondent’s conduct.

(B) Before Filing a Complaint.

(1) Before a complaint is filed, neither a commissioner nor a member of the 
commission staff may disclose the existence or contents of an investigation, testimony 
taken, or papers filed in it, except as needed for investigative purposes.

(2) The commission may at any time make public statements as to matters pending 
before it on its determination by a majority vote that it is in the public interest to do so, 
limited to statements

(a) that there is an investigation pending,

(b) that the investigation is complete and there is insufficient evidence for the 
commission to file a complaint, or

(c) with the consent of the respondent, that the investigation is complete and some 
specified disciplinary action has been taken.

(C) Discretionary Waiver of Confidentiality or Privilege. The commission may waive the 
confidentiality or privilege protections if:

(1) the respondent waives, in writing, the right to confidentiality or privilege;

(2) the grievant waives, in writing, the right to confidentiality or privilege;

(3) the witness whose statement, testimony, or other evidentiary item will be disclosed 
waives, in writing, the right to confidentiality or privilege; and

(4) a majority of the commission determines that the public interest will be served by 
doing so.

(D) After Filing of Complaint

(1) When the commission issues a complaint, the following shall not be confidential or 
privileged:

(a) the complaint and all subsequent pleadings filed with the commission or 
master, all stipulations entered, all findings of fact made by the master or 
commission, and all reports of the master or commission; however, all papers filed 
with and proceedings before the commission during the period preceding the 
issuance of a complaint remain confidential and privileged except where offered 
into evidence in a formal hearing; and
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(b) the formal hearing before the master or commission, and the public hearing 
provided for in MCR 9.241.

(2) This subrule neither limits nor expands a respondent’s right to discovery under 
MCR 9.232.

(3) The confidentiality or privilege of any otherwise nonpublic disciplinary action is 
waived in any proceeding on a concurrent or subsequent complaint.

(E) Disclosure to Grievant. Upon completion of an investigation or proceeding on a 
complaint, the commission shall disclose to the grievant that the commission

(1) has found no basis for action against the respondent or determined not to proceed 
further in the matter,

(2) has taken an appropriate corrective action, the nature of which shall not be 
disclosed, or

(3) has recommended that the respondent be publicly censured, suspended, removed, 
or retired from office.

(F) Public Safety Exception. When the commission receives information concerning a 
threat to the safety of any person or persons, information concerning such person may be 
provided to the person threatened, to persons or organizations responsible for the safety of 
the person threatened, and to law enforcement or any appropriate prosecutorial agency.

(G) Disclosure to State Court Administrator.

(1) The commission may refer to the state court administrator requests for 
investigation and other communications received by the commission concerning the 
conduct of a judge if, in the opinion of the commission, the communications are 
properly within the scope of the duties of the administrator. The commission may 
provide the administrator with files, records, investigations, and reports of the 
commission relating to the matter. Such a referral does not preclude action by the 
commission if the judge’s conduct is of such a nature as to constitute grounds for 
action by the commission or cannot be adequately resolved or corrected by action of 
the administrator.

(2) The commission may disclose to the administrator, upon request, the substance of 
files and records of the commission concerning a former judge who has been or may 
be assigned judicial duties by the administrator; a copy of the information disclosed 
must be furnished to the judge.

(H) Disclosure to Attorney Grievance Commission. Notwithstanding the prohibition 
against disclosure in this rule, the commission shall disclose information concerning a 
judge’s misconduct in office, mental or physical disability, or some other ground that 
warrants commission action under Const 1963, art 6, § 30, to the Attorney Grievance 
Commission upon request. Absent a request, the commission may make such disclosure to 
the Attorney Grievance Commission. In the event of a dispute concerning the release of 
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information, either the Attorney Grievance Commission or the Judicial Tenure 
Commission may petition the Supreme Court for an order resolving the dispute.

(I) Disclosure to Chief Judge. Notwithstanding the prohibition against disclosure in this 
rule, and except for those situations that involve a dismissal with explanation, the 
commission shall notify the chief judge of a court when the commission has taken action 
under MCR 9.223(A)(2)-(5) involving a magistrate or referee of that court. Upon the chief 
judge’s request, the referee or magistrate shall provide the chief judge with a copy of the 
commission’s written notice of disposition.

(J) Notwithstanding the prohibition against disclosure in this rule, upon request the 
commission may disclose some or all of the information in its possession concerning a 
judge’s misconduct in office, mental or physical disability, or some other ground that 
warrants commission action under Const 1963, art 6, § 30, to the State Bar Judicial 
Qualifications Committee, or to any other officially authorized state or federal judicial 
qualifications committee that meets or exceeds the confidentiality requirements 
established by the State Bar of Michigan in Rule 19, sec. 2 of the Rules Concerning the 
State Bar. 

(K) Notwithstanding the prohibition against disclosure in this rule, either upon request or 
on its own motion, the commission may disclose some or all of the information 
concerning a judge’s misconduct in office, mental or physical disability, or some other 
ground that warrants commission action under Const 1963, art 6, § 30, to the State Bar 
Lawyers & Judges Assistance Program. 

RULE 9.262 RECORD RETENTION

The commission shall develop a record-retention policy, which shall include a description 
of the materials that are to be stored, a list of the time for which specific materials must be 
maintained, and procedures for the disposal of records.

RULE 9.263 IMMUNITY

A person is absolutely immune from civil suit for statements and communications 
transmitted solely to the commission, its employees, or its agents, or given in an investigation or 
proceeding on allegations regarding a respondent, and no civil action predicated upon the 
statements or communications may be instituted against a grievant, a witness, or his or her 
counsel. Members of the commission and their employees and agents, masters, disciplinary 
counsel, and commission counsel are absolutely immune from civil suit for all conduct in the 
course of their official duties.

RULE 9.264 ETHICS MATERIALS AND PROGRAMS

The commission shall work with other groups and organizations, including the State Bar 
of Michigan, to develop educational materials and programs that are designed to assist judges in 
maintaining an awareness and understanding of their ethical obligations.
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SUBCHAPTER 9.300 INTERIM ADMINISTRATORS

RULE 9.301 DEFINITIONS

(A) “Affected Attorney” means an attorney who is either temporarily or permanently 
unable to practice law because the attorney has:

(1) resigned;

(2) been disbarred or suspended;

(3) disappeared;

(4) been imprisoned;

(5) abandoned the practice of law;

(6) become temporarily or permanently disabled or incapacitated;

(7) been transferred to disability inactive status pursuant to MCR 9.121; or

(8) died.

(B) “Affected Attorney’s Clients” are clients to whom the Affected Attorney is the 
attorney of record, regardless of whether the retainer agreement is with the Affected 
Attorney or the Affected Attorney’s Law Firm.

(C) “Appointed Interim Administrator” means an Interim Administrator who is appointed 
by the circuit court pursuant to MCR 9.305 to serve on behalf of the Affected Attorney.

(D) “Designated Interim Administrator” means an Interim Administrator that a Private 
Practice Attorney has designated to serve and who has accepted the designation in the 
event the Private Practice Attorney should become an Affected Attorney.

(E) “Interim Administrator” means a general term for an active Michigan attorney in good 
standing who serves on behalf of a Private Practice Attorney who becomes an Affected 
Attorney. It also means a law firm with at least one other active Michigan attorney that is 
designated to serve on behalf of a Private Practice Attorney who becomes an Affected 
Attorney.

(F) “Law Firm” means the entity in which the Affected Attorney carries out the profession 
of being a lawyer.

(G) “Private Practice Attorney” means an attorney who is an active Michigan attorney in 
good standing and who is subject to Rule 21 of the Rules Concerning the State Bar of 
Michigan, Mandatory Interim Administrator Planning.
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RULE 9.303 AFFECTED ATTORNEY WITH A FIRM

The firm of an attorney who becomes an Affected Attorney may continue to represent 
each of the Affected Attorney’s Clients without a circuit court appointment as Interim 
Administrator, provided:

(A) the firm is the Affected Attorney’s Designated Interim Administrator;

(B) the firm has at least one active Michigan attorney in good standing capable of 
competently representing the Affected Attorney’s Clients; and

(C) each Affected Client gives express written consent to the representation. Copies of the 
signed consents must be maintained with the client file.

RULE 9.305 APPOINTMENT OF INTERIM ADMINISTRATOR

(A) Commencement of Proceeding for Appointment of Interim Administrator; Service of 
Process. A proceeding for the appointment of an Interim Administrator is commenced by 
the filing of an ex parte petition by the Interim Administrator in the circuit court for the 
county in which the Affected Attorney lives, last lived, or maintains or last maintained an 
office for the practice of law. If an Interim Administrator is unable to serve, he or she must 
promptly notify the State Bar, and the State Bar must promptly identify a replacement 
Interim Administrator using the list maintained by the State Bar under Rule 21(C) of the 
Rules Concerning the State Bar of Michigan or its own staff under attorney supervision as 
a measure of last resort.

(1) The petition must set forth facts proving that

(a) the attorney is an Affected Attorney as defined in MCR 9.301(A).

(b) the appointment of an Interim Administrator is necessary to protect the 
interests of the Affected Attorney’s Clients or the interests of the Affected 
Attorney.

(c) the attorney proposed to be appointed as Interim Administrator is qualified 
under this rule.

(2) The petition must be verified or accompanied by an affidavit or declaration under 
penalty of perjury of a person having personal knowledge of the facts.

(3) The petition and any supporting documents must be served upon the Affected 
Attorney if the whereabouts of the Affected Attorney are known, the Affected 
Attorney’s estate if the Affected Attorney has died, and on the fiduciary for the 
Affected Attorney, if one has been appointed. See MCR 2.103 – 2.108. If the petition 
is filed by the Designated Interim Administrator, it must also be served upon the State 
Bar of Michigan by email at an address designated by the State Bar of Michigan 
pursuant to MCR 2.107(C)(4) or by electronic service pursuant to MCR 1.109(G)(6).
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(B) Order of Appointment. If the circuit court determines that the petitioner has proven by 
a preponderance of the evidence that the attorney is an Affected Attorney as defined in 
MCR 9.301(A) and the appointment of an Interim Administrator is necessary to protect 
the interests of the Affected Attorney’s Clients or the interests of the Affected Attorney, 
the circuit court shall appoint one or more Interim Administrators, as follows:

(1) The circuit court must appoint the Designated Interim Administrator or the Interim 
Administrator proposed by the State Bar under subrule (A), unless good cause exists to 
appoint a different Interim Administrator.

(2) If good cause exists, the circuit court may appoint additional Interim 
Administrators.

(3) The order appointing an Interim Administrator shall specifically authorize the 
Interim Administrator to:

(a) take custody of and act as signatory on any bank or investment accounts, safe 
deposit boxes, and other depositories maintained by the Affected Attorney in 
connection with the Law Firm, including all lawyer trust accounts, escrow 
accounts, payroll accounts, operating accounts, and special accounts;

(b) disburse funds to clients of the Affected Attorney or others entitled thereto; and

(c) take all appropriate actions with respect to the accounts.

(4) The order appointing an Interim Administrator takes effect immediately upon entry 
unless the circuit court orders otherwise.

(5) The circuit court may order the Interim Administrator to submit interim and final 
accountings and reports, as it deems appropriate. The circuit court may allow or direct 
portions of any accounting relating to the funds and confidential information of the 
clients of the Affected Attorney to be filed under seal.

(C) Service of Notice of Interim Administrator’s Appointment. Upon receipt of an order 
of appointment of an Interim Administrator, the petitioner must serve the Notice of 
Appointment of an Interim Administrator’s appointment, including the name and address 
of the Affected Attorney, and the name, business address, business telephone number, 
business email address, and P number of the Interim Administrator on the Affected 
Attorney, the Affected Attorney’s estate if the Affected Attorney has died, and the 
Affected Attorney’s fiduciary. If the petitioner is the Designated Interim Administrator, 
service must also be made on the State Bar of Michigan. If the petitioner is the State Bar of 
Michigan, service must also be made on the Interim Administrator. The State Bar of 
Michigan must publish the notice in the Michigan Bar Journal and on the State Bar of 
Michigan website.

(D) Objection to Appointment. Within 14 days after service of the Notice of Appointment, 
any interested person may file objections to the order of appointment of an Interim 
Administrator specifying the grounds upon which the objection is based. Although the 
filing of one or more objections does not automatically stay the order appointing Interim 
Administrator, the court may order that the appointment be stayed pending resolution of 
the objection(s).
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RULE 9.307 DUTIES AND POWERS OF THE INTERIM ADMINISTRATOR

(A) The Interim Administrator is not required to expend his or her own resources when 
exercising the duties and powers identified in this rule. If the Interim Administrator does 
expend his or her own resources, the Interim Administrator may request reimbursement 
under MCR 9.313.

(B) The general duties of the Interim Administrator are to:

(1) take custody of the files and records.

(2) take control of accounts, including lawyer trust accounts and operating accounts.

(3) review the files and other papers to identify any pending matters.

(4) promptly notify all clients represented by the Affected Attorney in pending matters 
of the appointment of the Interim Administrator. Notification shall be made in writing, 
where practicable.

(5) promptly notify all courts and counsel involved in any pending matters, to the 
extent they can be reasonably identified, of the appointment of an Interim 
Administrator for the Affected Attorney. Notification shall be made in writing, where 
practicable.

(6) deliver the files, funds, and other property belonging to the Affected Attorney’s 
Clients pursuant to the clients’ directions, subject to the right to retain copies of such 
files or assert a retaining or charging lien against such files, money, or other property 
to the extent permitted by law.

(7) take steps to protect the interests of the clients, the public, and, to the extent 
possible and not inconsistent with the protection of the Affected Attorney’s Clients, to 
protect the interests of the Affected Attorney.

(8) comply with the terms of the agreement between the Affected Attorney and the 
Interim Administrator.

(C) Inventory; Accounting; Reporting.

(1) The Interim Administrator shall file with the court an inventory of the Affected 
Attorney’s interest-bearing trust accounts for deposit of client and third-party funds 
within 35 days after entry of the order of appointment, unless an inventory has already 
been filed with the court.

(2) The Interim Administrator shall account for all receipts, disbursements, and 
distributions of money and property for the Affected Attorney, including its interest-
bearing trust accounts for deposit of client and third-party funds.

(3) The Interim Administrator shall file with the court a final written report and final 
accounting of the administration of the Affected Attorney and serve a copy of each on 
the State Bar of Michigan.

(4) The State Bar of Michigan may petition the court for an interim accounting if it has 
reason to believe the Affected Attorney’s affairs are being mismanaged.
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(D) If the Interim Administrator determines that there is a conflict of interest between the 
Interim Administrator and an Affected Attorney’s Client, the Interim Administrator must 
notify the client, the State Bar of Michigan, and the circuit court that made the 
appointment and take all appropriate action under the Michigan Rules of Professional 
Conduct.

(E) To the extent possible, the Interim Administrator may assist and cooperate with the 
Affected Attorney and/or the Affected Attorney’s fiduciary in the continuance, transition, 
sale, or winding up of the Law Firm.

(F) The Interim Administrator may purchase the Law Firm only upon the circuit court’s 
approval of the sale.

RULE 9.309 PROTECTION OF CLIENT INFORMATION AND PRIVILEGE

The appointment of the Interim Administrator does not automatically create an attorney 
and client relationship between the Interim Administrator and any of the Affected Attorney’s 
Clients. However, the attorney-client privilege applies to all communications by or to the Interim 
Administrator and the Affected Attorney’s Clients to the same extent as it would have applied to 
any communications by or to the Affected Attorney with those same clients. The Interim 
Administrator is governed by Michigan Rule of Professional Conduct 1.6 with respect to all 
information contained in the files of the Affected Attorney’s Clients and any information relating 
to the matters in which the clients were being represented by the Affected Attorney.

RULE 9.311 PROTECTION OF CLIENT FILES AND PROPERTY

The circuit court has jurisdiction over all of the files, records, and property of clients of the 
Affected Attorney and may make any appropriate orders to protect the interests of the clients of 
the Affected Attorney and, to the extent possible and not inconsistent with the protection of 
clients, the interests of the Affected Attorney, including, but not limited to, orders relating to the 
delivery, storage, or destruction of the client files of the Affected Attorney. The Interim 
Administrator may maintain client documents in paper or electronic format. The Interim 
Administrator may destroy any client document pursuant to the law office file retention policy or 
as necessary to meet ethical obligations, whichever is shorter, without returning to the court for 
permission to do so.

RULE 9.313 COMPENSATION AND REIMBURSABLE EXPENSES OF INTERIM ADMINISTRATOR

(A) Compensation and Reimbursement Available. The Interim Administrator, except as 
otherwise provided by an agreement with the Affected Attorney, is entitled to reasonable 
compensation for the performance of the Interim Administrator’s duties and 
reimbursement for actual and reasonable costs incurred in connection with the 
performance of the Interim Administrator’s duties. Reimbursable expenses include, but 
are not limited to, the costs incurred in connection with maintaining the staff, offices, and 
operation of the Law Firm and the employment of attorneys, accountants, and others 
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retained by the Interim Administrator in connection with carrying out the Interim 
Administrator’s duties.

(B) Request for Compensation or Reimbursement.

(1) The Interim Administrator may file a motion with the court that ordered the 
appointment seeking compensation or reimbursement under this rule. Unless the 
Interim Administrator and the Affected Attorney or the Affected Attorney’s estate 
have reached an agreement otherwise, the Interim Administrator will be paid from the 
Law Firm if funds are available; if funds are not available from the practice, the 
attorney may file a claim against the estate in a probate court. The claim must include 
an accounting of all receipts, disbursements, and distributions of money and property 
of the Law Firm.

(2) An Interim Administrator who was matched to an Affected Attorney through the 
list maintained by the State Bar of Michigan and who was subsequently appointed by 
the circuit court may seek payment or reimbursement from the State Bar of Michigan 
for expenses identified in subrule (A). The State Bar of Michigan will promulgate a 
process for reimbursement under this subrule.

(C) Award of Compensation or Reimbursement. The circuit court may enter a judgment 
awarding compensation and expenses to the Interim Administrator against the Law Firm, 
Affected Attorney, or any other available sources as the court may direct. The judgment 
will be a lien upon all property of any applicable Law Firm or Affected Attorney 
retroactive to the date of filing of the petition for the appointment of an Interim 
Administrator under this Rule. The judgment lien is subordinate to possessory liens and to 
non-possessory liens and security interests created prior to it taking effect and may be 
foreclosed upon in the manner prescribed by law.

RULE 9.315 LIABILITY

Every Interim Administrator, as that term is defined in MCR 9.301(E), shall obtain and 
retain professional liability insurance that covers conduct performed as an Interim Administrator 
under these rules and the Rules Concerning the State Bar of Michigan.

RULE 9.317 EMPLOYMENT OF THE INTERIM ADMINISTRATOR AS ATTORNEY FOR AN AFFECTED 
CLIENT

An Interim Administrator shall not, without the informed written consent of the Affected 
Client represent such client in a pending matter in which the client was represented by the 
Affected Attorney, other than to temporarily protect the interests of the client, or unless and until 
the Interim Administrator has concluded the purchase of the Law Firm. Any informed written 
consent by the Affected Client must include an acknowledgment that the client is not obligated to 
retain the Interim Administrator.
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